About The Office

Latest News

Arkansas Secretary of State John Thurston Launches Veteran Voter Initiative

(April 4, 2022) Little Rock, Ark - The office of the Arkansas Secretary of State, in partnership with the veteran service organization We Are The 22, announces the launch of a Veteran Voter Initiative. Throughout the month of April, representatives of both organizations will be on the road, reaching out to veterans across the state to ensure that they are both registered and ready to vote. The #ARVetsVote hashtag has been established to highlight the initiative. Click here to view the rest of the press release.


Secretary of State Thurston Presents Arkansas Diamond Award to State Capitol Police Officers

(November 9, 2021) Little Rock, Ark – Arkansas Secretary of State John Thurston presented the Arkansas Diamond Award to three members of the State Capitol Police force for recent actions in the line of duty.  Corporal Tavares Purifoy, Corporal Don Brown, and Officer Andrew Badger received the Arkansas Diamond Award, the highest honor given by the Secretary of State.


Artists Chosen for National Statuary Hall Statues
Sculptures of Daisy Bates and Johnny Cash to be Commissioned

(June 14, 2021) Little Rock, Ark –  The selection review committee for the National Statuary Hall statues of Daisy Bates and Johnny Cash met today at 1:00 p.m. to review and evaluate final scores of the finalists for each sculpture. Based on these scores, the selection review committee has recommended to Secretary of State John Thurston that Benjamin Victor of Boise, Idaho be selected to design and create the statue of Daisy Bates.  The selection review committee also recommended to Secretary Thurston that Kevin Kresse of Little Rock, Arkansas be selected to design and create the statue of Johnny Cash.  Secretary Thurston has reviewed and accepted the committee’s recommendations and will begin contractual negotiations with the selected respondents.      


Photo 1: Secretary of State John Thurston with artist Benjamin Victor
Photo 2: Secretary of State John Thurston with artist Kevin Kresse

(March 30, 2021) Little Rock, Ark -- Video of Press Conference on H.R.1 and Election Integrity with Arkansas Secretary of State John Thurston, Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge, Congressman French Hill, Senator John Boozman, and Senator Tom Cotton.

Additional coverage:
Elections bill criticized by officials from state (Arkansas Democrat-Gazette)