Arkansas State University

Board of Trustees

February 24, 2017

Resolution 17-04

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY Contact: Jeff Hankins (501) 660-1004
ACTION ITEM: The Arkansas State University System requests approval of the campus

regulations governing operation and parking of motar vehicles.

ISSUE: Arkansas law requires that regulations for the operation and parking of motor
vehicles proposed by an institution of higher education be approved by the Board
of Trustees.

BACKGROUND:

e The Joneshoro, Beebe, Mountain Home, Newport, and Mid-South campuses of the Arkansas State University
System have promulgated regulations for the operation and parking of motor vehicles on their campuses.

e Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 25-17-307, a copy of the regulations for each campus is attached to this
resolution.

o Once approved, those regulations must be filed with the Secretary of State.

RECOMMENDATION/RESOLUTION:

Be it resolved that the regulations for the operation and parking of motor vehicles promulgated by
Arkansas State University-Jonesboro, Arkansas State University-Beebe, Arkansas State University-
Mountain Home, Arkansas State University-Newport, and Arkansas State University Mid-South are
approved, and those regulations are to be filed with the Secretary of State.

Niel Crowson, Secretary Ron Rhodes, Chair




ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY
2016-17 PARKING AND MOTOR VEHICLE REGULATIONS

ENFORCEMENT OF PARKING REGULATIONS

The enforcement of the Arkansas State University (A-State) Parking and Motor Vehicle (P/MV) Regulations is the
responsibility of the Department of Parking Services (DPS) and the University Police Department (UPD). All
regulations are enforced 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, unless noted otherwise in the regulations. The
regulations apply to all parking lots, parking structures, on- and off-street parking stalls, streets, and properties on the
A-State campus.

This document is the official statement regarding parking regulations on the A-State campus. If in doubt about any
parking or motor vehicle issue, contact DPS.

DISTRIBUTION OF PARKING PERMITS

The purchase, issuance, and distribution of parking permits is primarily conducted online through the myCampus
web portal and the Parking Services eBiz website. Limited quantities of selected parking permits are available from
the DPS office in Northpark Plaza on the A-State campus. Acquisition of a parking permit requires the registration of
only one vehicle with DPS; however, the parking permit may be displayed from any vehicle parked by the permit
holder. Vehicle information provided by a registrant is subject to verification. Completion of vehicle and parking
permit registration includes acknowledgment by the registrant that the registrant is responsible for knowing and
following the campus parking regulations. Vehicles are defined as any self-propelled vehicle having two or more
wheels.

REPOSITIONABLE STICKERS, HANG TAGS, PLACARDS, AND PRINTABLE PERMITS. Persons securing a
repositionable sticker, portable hang tag, placard, or printable permit must register the primary vehicle from which the
permit will be displayed; however, the permits are movable to any vehicle operated by a permit holder without
advance notice to DPS. Vehicle information should be updated with DPS only if there is a change in primary vehicle
information. Updates to primary vehicle information should be made by completing an online vehicle information
update through myCampus at the Parking Services eBiz website.

PERMIT GUIDELINES

Annual parking permits for 2016-17 are generally valid until 12:00 a.m. on September 1, 2017 unless otherwise noted
by DPS. Charges for parking permits are typically billed to individual university accounts unless otherwise noted by
DPS. Individuals who do not have a university account must prepay any permit fees at the Cashier Window in the
Student Union and provide a receipt of the transaction to DPS before a permit is issued.

Student parking permit fees for the Fall Semester 2016 are non-refundable after September 2, 2016. Fees for
student parking permits purchased for the Spring Semester 2017 are non-refundable after January 27, 2017. Parking
permits for staff/faculty and students for the May Interim 2017 and Summer 1 and 2 Terms 2017 will be available at
one-half the regular fee amount after May 1, 2017. Fees for student parking permits purchased for May Interim 2017,
Summer 1 and 2 Terms 2017, and August Interim 2017 are non-refundable after June 2, 2017.

All vehicles parked on the A-State campus must have a current parking permit issued by DPS properly displayed with
the exception of vehicles operated by visitors and invited guests that are parked in designated visitor parking or paid
metered or paid parking garage spaces. Faculty, staff, and students are never considered to be campus visitors or
guests for any parking purpose. Service providers, contracted employees, or other individuals who work or provide
services on the A-State campus and receive compensation for the work or services they perform are never
considered to be visitors or guests for any parking purpose and are required to purchase and display A-State parking
permits when parking a vehicle at A-State. Faculty, staff, and students must display a valid A-State parking permit
from any vehicle parked on the A-State campus. Students who are registered at another ASU System campus but
are also registered for A-State courses must purchase and display an A-State parking permit when parking on the A-
State campus. Students who are registered at another ASU System campus with classes that meet on the A-State
campus must purchase and display an A-State parking permit when parking at A-State.



Parking permits may not be altered in any manner. Parking permits may not be displayed in a manner or format not
approved by DPS.

Repositionable sticker permits must be displayed right side up (bar code at bottom) from the inside of the vehicle
windshield in the lower left (driver side) corner of the windshield. The sticker may not be displayed sideways or
upside down. The VIN number of the vehicle may not be obstructed by the sticker permit. The entire front surface of
the permit must be visible. The permit must be affixed to the interior surface of the windshield using the inherent
adhesiveness of the front surface of the permit. Alternate methods of display are not permissible including display
from the vehicle dash. No more than one repositionable permit may be displayed from a single vehicle at the same
time. Repositionable sticker permits may be moved from vehicle to vehicle by the permit holder without contacting
DPS. However, changes in primary vehicle information should be submitted to DPS through the online Parking
Services eBiz website available through the myCampus web portal.

Hang tag permits must be displayed vertically from a correctly installed rear view mirror with the front surface

(surface with permit number) facing the windshield. Hang tags may not be displayed upside down or sideways. The
entire front surface of the permit must be visible with no obstructions such as air fresheners, leis, sun visors, etc. The
regulations prohibit the display of a hang tag permit from any part of a vehicle other than a correctly installed rear view
mirror. Vehicles equipped with windshield tinting, certain rear view mirrors, and other objects that prohibit the normal
viewing and function of a hang tag permit must have another type of valid permit displayed. Also, vehicles not
equipped with a correctly installed rear view mirror must have another type of valid permit displayed. Hang tag permits
may be moved from vehicle to vehicle without contacting DPS. However, changes in primary vehicle information
should be submitted to DPS through the online Parking Services eBiz website available through the myCampus web
portal.

Parking a vehicle on the A-State campus that is not a vehicle registered with DPS does not mitigate the requirement to
display a valid and current A-State-approved parking permit. As previously noted, repositionable stickers and hang
tags are transferrable to any vehicle without contacting DPS. Vehicles parked by faculty, staff, or students must have
a valid parking permit displayed and may never be parked in visitor parking or other unauthorized zones even if a
particular vehicle is not registered with DPS. The institutional status of the driver (faculty, staff, student, vendor/
service provider, visitor/guest, etc.) rather than the registration status of the vehicle determines the authorized parking
status of the vehicle. In the absence of a standard faculty, staff, or student parking permit, temporary parking permits
are available online at the Parking Services eBiz website or from the DPS office.

Dashboard placard permits and printable permits are to be properly displayed from the driver side dash as directed
in the instructions printed on the reverse side of the placard or on the printable permit.

Replacement permits for repositionable stickers and hang tags are available for stolen permits when permit
owners file validated theft reports with UPD or another official law enforcement agency. Copies of theft reports must
be submitted to DPS to receive replacement permits. Replacement permits are also available for lost permits when
permit owners complete lost permit statement forms and submit to DPS. Replacement permit fees for lost and stolen
permits are full-price with the exception of permits stolen due to forced entry (must be verified by police inspection
indicated on police report). Permits stolen due to forced entry may be replaced with the following reduced fees: FS:
$10.00, SE: $5.00, SD: $5.00.

A-State parking permits are the responsibility of the corresponding registrant and must be removed prior to sale or
transfer of a vehicle or upon termination of employment or withdrawal from the university. Permit registrants are
responsible for all parking citations issued to vehicles from which their assigned permit is displayed. Students who
withdraw or employees who are terminated from the university must return their permits to DPS to have their
parking permits deactivated. December or May graduates who will not be registered students at A-State during the
academic term following graduation may either continue to park as students using student permits (until permit
expiration date) or may be designated as visitors for parking (student permits will be deactivated and considered
invalid). Students must contact DPS and return the parking permit to receive a change in status from student to
visitor. Otherwise, permit holders are considered to be students for parking purposes until active permits expire.
Unless students withdraw from the university, they are considered to be students for parking purposes throughout the
current academic year even if they are not registered for classes during a particular academic term.

Falsifying personal, vehicle, or permit registration information, unauthorized use of any parking permit, display of
photocopies or other objects in lieu of authorized permits, or unauthorized modification of a parking permit will result in
a falsifying information parking citation and disciplinary referral.



Permit registrants are responsible for all citations and fines issued to vehicles displaying their permits even if the
operator of the vehicle is someone other than the permit registrant. In the absence of displayed permits, registered
vehicle owners as identified by the state of registration are responsible for all citations issued to their registered
vehicles. A registered vehicle is considered to be any vehicle that is registered with DPS and/or registered with any
state motor vehicle agency. When unregistered and/or unpermitted vehicles are immobilized (booted) with a wheel
lock (boot), the driver of the vehicle must be verified by presentation of an A-State ID card or drivers license before
the boot will be released. The identified driver presenting an ID to DPS or UPD authorities at a booted vehicle will be
responsible for corresponding parking citations issued to the vehicle. If the identified driver of the vehicle has a
university account, the corresponding parking fines will be charged to their account. If the driver of the vehicle does
not have a university account, payment of the parking fines at the Cashier Window of the Student Union will be
required before the boot is released from the vehicle.

PARKING PERMITS

Student Permits

SD - $50.00

All students who park a vehicle on the A-State campus are required to display a valid student (SD) parking permit.
Student status for parking purposes does not revert to visitor or any other non-student status when a student does
not register for classes during a particular academic term such as an interim or summer term or a fall or spring
semester during the academic year. Vehicles displaying properly validated SD permits may be parked in commuter
zones or in resident zones per the regulations stated below for each type of zone. All metered or garage parking
must be paid. Students with contract parking spaces must display a current parking permit validated for their
assigned contract parking lot.

All students are limited to only one active permit. Students may not have more than one active permit registered to
their parking accounts. Exception: Students may have both a standard vehicle permit and a motorcycle permit active
at the same time.

Faculty/Staff Permits

FS - $70.00

All faculty/staff who park a vehicle on the A-State campus are required to display a valid employee parking permit.
Faculty/Staff (FS) permits are issued to full-time faculty and staff who are eligible for benefits. Employees who have
retired from A-State may receive a FS permit at no charge with the exception of those who continue to receive
compensation for campus employment. Vehicles displaying a FS permit may be parked in designated faculty/staff
zones and commuter zones and authorized resident zones. All metered or garage parking must be paid. Faculty
and staff with contract parking spaces must display a current parking permit validated for their assigned contract
parking lot.

All faculty and staff are limited to only one active permit. Faculty and staff may not have more than one active
permit registered to their parking accounts. Exception: Employees may have both a standard vehicle permit and a
motorcycle permit active at the same time.

Staff/Employee Permits

SE - $50.00

All faculty/staff who park a vehicle on the A-State campus are required to display a valid employee parking permit.
Staff/Employee (SE) permits are issued to full-time employees not wishing to purchase FS permits and to part-time
employees. SE permits may also be issued to graduate assistants who are also resident students. Resident
students who are graduate assistants may display SE permits and park in commuter parking (restrictions apply)
even during the 8:00-2:00 weekday restricted hours for resident students. The Director of Parking Services must
authorize these exceptions for graduate assistants. Vehicles displaying SE permits may be parked in commuter
zones with the exception of those operated by resident students or resident employees who may also park their
vehicles in their assigned residence zones. All metered or garage parking must be paid. Employees with contract
spaces must display a current parking permit validated for their assigned contract parking lot.

All faculty and staff are limited to only one active permit. Faculty and staff may not have more than one active
permit registered to their parking accounts. Exception: Employees may have both a standard vehicle permit and a

motorcycle permit active at the same time.



Temporary Permits

TP - $5.00

Temporary permits are issued to faculty, staff, or students. All metered and garage parking must be paid. TP
permits are valid for eight days from date of purchase.

Motorcycle Permits

MC - $10.00

All motorcycles, motor bikes, scooters, etc. must display a current motorcycle permit. Motorcycles, motor bikes,
scooters, etc. may be parked in regular commuter vehicular parking spaces or in designated motorcycle zones. All
metered and garage parking must be paid.

Business Permits

BP - $70.00

Compensated service providers are required to display business permits (BP) when parking a vehicle on the A-State
campus. BP permits are issued to service providers and vendors who are not faculty, staff, or students and who will
receive or potentially receive payment for services rendered on or for the A-State campus with the exception of
activities coordinated through the Construction Office of Facilities Management. Examples include but are not limited
to sales, equipment maintenance/repair, vendor services, cleaning services, etc. Providers of local delivery services
of pizza and other non-vendor food orders, flowers, balloons, small packages, freight, etc. are not required to display
a business permit when operating a vehicle that clearly displays the name of the business with an official logo or
other item that clearly identifies a vehicle is being used for local delivery. If the name of the business is not
displayed, a business permit is required. Vehicles displaying a business permit may be parked in faculty/staff
parking zones and commuter parking and in residence zones if the service provided relates to a facility in a
residence zone. BP permits also allow parking in service/delivery zones and approved loading docks for loading/
unloading only (30 minute time limit). Vehicles must be promptly removed when load/unload activities are complete.
All metered and garage parking must be paid.

Departmental Permits

DP - $70.00

Departmental permits (DP) are dashboard placards issued to A-State departments. DP permits are for use by
department employees who must use personal vehicles in the absence of state-owned vehicles for short-term
service/delivery activities (30 minute time limit). These placards must be requested online by vice-chancellors or
deans. DP permits allow parking in service/delivery zones and approved loading docks only. No additional
privileges are provided. Standard A-State employee permits must also be displayed. Payment must be made by the
responsible department before a DP permit will be issued.

Construction Permits

CP - No Charge

Construction permits (CP) are issued to persons who are not A-State students or employees and are working on
projects coordinated through the Planning, Design, and Construction Office of Facilities Management. CP permits
must be secured from the Construction Office. Vehicles displaying CP permits are validated to park in areas
assigned by the Construction Office. All parking regulations must be followed. Vehicles with CP permits displayed
may hot be parked in visitor parking or any restricted zone other than an official construction zone. All metered and
garage parking must be paid.

Event Permits

EP - $1.00/Day

Event permits (EP) are issued to A-State departments and other organizations for distribution to participants in
events sponsored by departments/organizations and officially sanctioned by the University. A-State faculty, staff,
and students are not permitted to use EP permits. Vehicles displaying EP permits may be parked in visitor parking,
unrestricted commuter parking, or in designated event parking zones. All metered parking must be paid; however,
vehicles displaying EP permits may be parked in non-reserved spaces in the North Parking Deck at no charge.
Requests for EP permits must be submitted online at the Parking Services website.

Campus Resident Permits

CR - No Charge

Campus resident (CR) permits are dashboard placards issued to residents of The Village. Each family unit in The
Village must purchase at least one A-State student or employee parking permit. Additional vehicies may be
validated for Village parking by displaying CR permits.

Student Health Center Permits

HC - No Charge

Student Health Center (HC) permits are dashboard placards issued by the Student Health Center. HC permits allow
students with qualifying iliness or injury to park in faculty/staff parking during the period that the permits are valid.
The permits do not allow for parking in disability parking spaces. Student (SD) permits must also be displayed. No
additional privileges are provided by HC permits.



PARKING SPACES. All A-State parking spaces are officially and visibly designated with the industry standard traffic
and parking stall painted striping found in most parking lots in most communities. Some parking stalls are head-in
(striping perpendicular to the flow of traffic), angled (striping angled to the flow of traffic), and parallel

(striping parallel to the flow of traffic). In gravel lots, official parking spaces are designated with concrete wheel
stops. Parking in areas where there are no parking stalls designated with striping or wheel stops is prohibited. This
includes such actions as parking along the curbs of parking lots, along the curbs or sides of streets, or on the grass,
dirt, sidewalks, or other surfaces of campus properties that are not designated for parking with striping or wheel
stops.

RESTRICTED PARKING ZONES

COMMUTER ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR COMMUTER STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND
STAFF from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on weekdays. Resident students may park in
commuter parking after 2:00 p.m. and before 8:00 a.m. on weekdays. Visitors
may park in commuter zones after 5:00 p.m. Commuter zones are any zones
without restricting signage, gates, curb colors, or pavement markings or other
restrictive indicators. The fine for unauthorized parking in commuter parking is
$25.00.

RESIDENT ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR RESIDENTS at all times, 24 hours a day, 7 days
a week, including evenings and weekends. Resident zones are specific to
adjacent residence facilities or neighborhoods they service and are indicated with
vertical signage. Some residence zones may also be protected by gate access.
Mechanical failure of gate access equipment (raised or broken gate arm) does
not nullify the residence zone restrictions. Parking permits must be validated for
authorized parking in resident zones. Validations are specific to the various
residence zones and not universal for all resident zones. Unauthorized vehicles
will be towed. The fine for unauthorized parking in resident zones is $25.00.

SPECIAL NOTE: On-street parking in The Village is prohibited. All residents in
The Village must park in designated parking spaces in the parking lots.

FACULTY/STAFF ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR VEHICLES DISPLAYING FS PERMITS ONLY
from 7:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. on weekdays. Persons with disabilities may also
park in faculty/staff zones with current state disability permits/plates displayed
along with ASU student or employee parking permits (with disability validation
sticker issued by Disability Services). Faculty/staff zones are marked with
vertical signage. The fine for unauthorized parking in faculty/staff zones is
$25.00.

VISITOR ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR VISTORS from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on
weekdays. Visitor parking spaces are marked with vertical signage. Faculty,
staff, and students are not considered visitors at any time for any event.
Contract employees or employees compensated for activities performed on
campus or persons providing services to A-State for pay or potential payment
are not considered visitors and need to secure and display an employee or
business permit. The fine for unauthorized parking in visitor zones is $100.00.

CONTRACT ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR CONTRACT PARKING CUSTOMERS on

weekdays between 5:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. (or 5:00 p.m. in some locations as

noted by signage). Surface contract parking lots are marked with signage and
individually-numbered spaces. Garage contract spaces are individually marked
with signage. Parking permits validated for contract parking must be displayed
in all contract zones. Mechanical failure of gate access equipment (raised or
broken gate arm) does not nullify the restrictions for contract parking. The fine
for unauthorized parking is $25.00 in surface contract zones and $50.00 in
garage contract spaces. Unauthorized vehicles in all contract zones will be
immediately towed.



FIRE ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR OFFICIAL EMERGENCY VEHICLES in the event
of an actual emergency or emergency drill. Fire zones are marked with red
pavement markings or curbs. The fine for unauthorized parking in fire zones is
$150.00. Unauthorized vehicles may also be subject to towing.

LOADING/SERVICE ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR AUTHORIZED SERVICE/DELIVERY VEHICLES
at all times. Loading/service zones are marked with yellow pavement markings
or curbs. Some loading/service zones also have additional supporting signage.
The fine for unauthorized parking in service/delivery zones is $25.00.
Unauthorized vehicles may also be subject to towing. Loading docks are
considered to be loading/service zones.

DISABILITY ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR VEHICLES DISPLAYING STATE DISABILITY
PERMITS/PLATES ONLY at all times. Disability parking spaces are marked with
vertical signage. Ramp access spaces are located adjacent to disability parking
spaces and are marked with white pavement markings or curbs. Ramp access
spaces are considered to be a part of the disability spaces for enforcement
purposes. Faculty, staff, and student vehicles must also display state issued
disability permits/plates and A-State student or employee permits with validation
stickers issued by Disability Services. The fine for unauthorized parking in
disability spaces is $150.00. Unauthorized vehicles are also subject to towing.

MOTORCYLE ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR MOTORCYCLES ONLY at all times. Motorcycle
zones are marked with vertical signage. The fine for unauthorized parking in
motorcycle zones is $25.00.

EVENT ZONES RESTRICTED PARKING FOR VEHICLES AUTHORIZED BY AN EVENT
COORDINATOR within the academic core of campus between the hours of 8:00
a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on weekdays. Some events require the display of an event
parking permit. Event zones are marked with cones, barrier tape, signs, and/or
meter hoods. The fine for unauthorized parking in event zones is $25.00.
Unauthorized vehicles will be immediately towed.

PEDESTRIAN ZONES Pedestrian zones are marked with signage and/or white hatched painted lines.
Pedestrian zones also include all campus sidewalks, pedestrian bridges, or other
infrastructure that facilitates pedestrian access and traffic. The fine for
unauthorized parking in pedestrian zones is $25.00.

DISABILITY PARKING

Vehicles parked in disability parking spaces at ASU-Jonesboro must display a current disability license plate, hang tag,
sticker, or placard issued by any state. This includes disabled veteran license plates (DV or DAV). Faculty, staff, and
students must also display a current ASU parking permit and a disability validation sticker issued by Disability Services.
Employees or students with disabilities are also authorized to park in faculty/staff zones with the permit restrictions noted
above for disability spaces. Please note that faculty/staff spaces are not official disability spaces and therefore do not
have the required dimensions, ramp access, and proximity to accessible routes to accommodate persons using mobility
devices. Faculty/staff spaces are simply offered as a courtesy to students and employees with disabilities who choose
this option.

Disability parking spaces designated “van accessible” are exclusively dedicated for persons using mechanical lifts,
wheelchairs, and other mobility devices. Disabled persons who do not use mobility devices are not authorized to park in
spaces designated as “van accessible.”

Many surface parking lots offer “universal design” spaces that have the dimensions needed to accommodate vehicles with
mechanical lifts and other mobility devices. These spaces are also open for persons with disabilities who do not use
mobility devices and are not restricted as van accessible.

Parking in disability spaces without proper permits is a serious offense. Citations issued for this violation carry a
$150.00 fine. Repeat violators will be towed and fined. Citations are also issued for not displaying a validation sticker,
for unauthorized use of “van accessible” spaces, and for blocking disability ramp space and recessed street and sidewalk
access areas.



Unauthorized transfer or use of a disability license or permit by a party other than the permit registrant is a violation of
Arkansas state law. Offenders will receive citations, Misuse of disability permits will result in confiscation of the

permits. The confiscated permits will be returned to the appropriate state office.

CONTRACT PARKING

All contract parking holders must display an A-State parking permit validated for contract parking when
parking in contract zones and spaces.

NORTH CAMPUS CONTRACT PARKING

Location: NORTH PARKING DECK

Rate: $500.00 annually for levels 1 and 2 and lower ramps; $300.00 per year for level 3 and upper ramps (in addition
to A-State parking permit fee)

CENTRAL CAMPUS CONTRACT PARKING “A” AND “B”

Location: SW-3A/SW-4 PARKING LOTS

Rate: $300.00 annually (in addition to A-State parking permit fee)

SOUTH CAMPUS CONTRACT PARKING “A” AND “B”
Location: S-17/S-16 PARKING LOTS

Rate: $300.00 annually (in addition to A-State parking permit fee)

WEST CAMPUS CONTRACT PARKING
Location: NW-1C PARKING LOT

Rate: $300.00 annually (in addition to A-State parking permit fee)

EAST CAMPUS CONTRACT PARKING
Location: N-7 PARKING LOT
Rate: $300.00 annually (in addition to A-State parking permit fee)

ALL CONTRACT ZONES ARE STRICTLY ENFORCED ON WEEKDAYS BETWEEN 5:00 A.M. AND 7:00 P.M.
(5:00 P.M. IN SOME LOCATIONS AS INDICATED ON SIGNAGE). UNAUTHORIZED VEHICLES WILL BE
IMMEDIATELY TOWED AT THE EXPENSE OF OWNER/DRIVER. APPROPRIATE CITATIONS WILL ALSO BE
ISSUED. ALL CONTRACT ZONES ARE ENFORCED DURING THE RESTRICTED HOURS EVEN WHEN GATED
ACCESS OR OTHER ACCESS RESTRICTION IS NOT OPERATIONAL OR PRESENT.

EVENT PARKING

Event parking information can be obtained through the A-State Parking Services web site at http:/
parking.astate.edu. Please note the event parking regulations above.



VISITOR PARKING

Visitors are always welcome on campus. Visitors may park in designated “V" visitor parking (no charge) or in short-
term metered parking (meters must be paid) or paid garage parking (pre-pay at pay stations). Persons parking on
campus to conduct business, work, or perform services for which payment or potential payment will be received are
not considered to be visitors. A business permit is available for these purposes (please see permit information
above).

STUDENTS, FACULTY, OR STAFF ARE NOT CONSIDERED TO BE VISITORS AT ANY TIME FOR ANY EVENT.

POST OFFICE PARKING. Parking in the U.S. Postal Service customer parking lot (NW-6) is enforced from 8:00 a.m.
until 5:00 p.m. Meonday-Friday all year long. All post office customer parking has a 20-minute time limit (60-minute limit
in disability spaces).

RESIDENT PARKING

KAYS HALL — UNIVERSITY HALL — ARKANSAS HALL — COLLEGIATE PARK = THE VILLAGE = NORTHPARK
QUADS -~ RED WOLF DEN - LIVING/LEARNING COMMUNITY (LLC) - GREEK VILLAGE - AGGIE
APARTMENTS. Residents of these facilities have restricted parking in all lots within these residence zones. The lots
are indicated with signage and may also be secured with gates, bollards, or other access restrictions. The restrictions
apply 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Residents of these facilities may not park in other campus zones between the
hours of 8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. on weekdays. Vehicles parked in these restricted residence zones must display a
current A-State permit and the appropriate residence validation specific to the lots.

Visitors to these residence facilities who are not faculty, staff, or students must park in designated visitor parking zones
(no charge) or in metered or garage parking (must be paid) between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. After the 8:00 to 5:00
business hours visitors may park in any unrestricted zones outside of these facilities. Faculty, staff, or students who
are not residents of these facilities must park outside these resident areas in a zone allowed by the parking permit
displayed. Vehicles parked in restricted resident zones without permits or with permits that do not have corresponding
residence validation will be towed immediately, including vehicles operated by visitors and by residents who fail to
display validated permits.

IMPORTANT NOTE. Resident students must park only in their assigned residence parking lots from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00
p.m. on weekdays. Resident students may park in paid contract, metered, or garage parking spaces on the A-State
campus, even during the 8:00-2:00 weekday restricted period. Resident vehicles parked in unpaid or expired metered
or garage spaces during the 8:00-2:00 period will receive at least two citations: one for expired meter/garage space
and one for parking in an unauthorized zone.

METERED/GARAGE PARKING

All persons parking in metered parking, including visitors, must pay the indicated rate for the time desired. Metered
parking costs 5 cents for each three minutes desired. All meters have two-hour time limits. Refunds are not given for
amounts paid beyond the two-hour limit. Parking meters do not provide change or refunds. Please report any meter
malfunctions to Parking Services immediately.

Parking in the North Parking Deck costs 50 cents/hour. Visitor and disability parking in the North Parking Deck is
available per the visitor and disability instructions above at no charge. Contract parking in the North Parking deck is
indicated by signage and is restricted for contract parking customers only from 5:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

PAY STATIONS. The North Parking Deck does not have parking attendants to collect payment. All payment is
completed through self-service technology. The North Parking Deck has digital pay stations located at the south
exits. The pay stations are marked with signage and the international “P” symbol that indicates a pay machine. The
pay stations accept dollar bills, dollar coins, quarters, dimes, and nickels. Credit card and Express Dollar payments
are also accepted per the instructions on the pay station. Pay stations do not provide change or refunds.

Pay-by-phone services are also available for payment of metered and garage parking on the A-State campus as
indicated on the signage affixed to the meters and pay stations.

All metered and garage parking is enforced Monday-Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Use of bicycles, skateboards, and rollerblades in the North Parking Deck is prohibited.



LOCAL DELIVERY VEHICLES/PARKING

Vehicles used for local delivery of pizza and other food orders, flowers, balloons, small packages, freight, etc. are not
required to display a permit if the name of the business is clearly displayed on the vehicle with an official business
logo or other item that clearly declares that the vehicle is used for local business delivery. If the name of the business
is not displayed, a business permit must be displayed from the vehicle. Local delivery vehicles are permitted to be
parked in designated service/delivery zones, approved loading docks, commuter parking, metered and garage
parking (must be paid), and other non-restricted areas that do not interfere with the safe operation of the campus
parking infrastructure. Delivery vehicles are not permitted in fire lanes, streets, contract parking, or other restricted

parking or non-parking areas.
TOWING, IMMOBILIZING, AND IMPOUNDING OF VEHICLES

The University reserves the right to immobilize, tow, or impound any vehicle without a current parking permit; parking
in violation of current parking regulations or Arkansas law; or parked so as to create a hazard to traffic or pedestrians.
Vehicles associated with previous unpaid parking citations may also be immobilized, towed, or impounded. Current
parking and motor vehicle regulations are posted on the web site at http://parking.astate.edu.

MOVING VIOLATIONS

Moving violations include all traffic laws as stated in the Arkansas Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws and State
Highway Commission Regulations. The official A-State citation will be sufficient as a summons for violation of these
rules and regulations. In lieu of a university citation, the violator may be issued a uniform traffic ticket which will be
adjudicated in municipal court.

OFFENSES AND PENALTIES

Operating a motor vehicle in any manner which creates a disturbance on campus may be considered a traffic
violation. This includes excessive use of sound systems, city ordinance/officer's discretion, horn, illegal exhaust
systems, squealing of tires, or placing pedestrians or other drivers in a hazardous situation.

APPEALS
An appeal of any campus parking or motor vehicle citation, or any fines or fees resulting therefrom, must be filed
online at the Parking Services eBiz website available through the myCampus web portal within seven (7) days of the
date of issue of the citation.

FINES

The responsibility for payment of fines incurred for moving and parking violations rests with the registrant. If A-State
vehicle registration is incomplete, responsibility rests with the owner and/or operator of the vehicle or driver
responding to an immobilized (booted) vehicle. Persons violating the parking and motor vehicle regulations will be
fined according to the university's system of violations listed below. The Department of Parking Services and
Parking/Motor Vehicle Committee reserve the right to revise the violations list and fines.

PARKIING VIOLATIONS LIST
(Issued by Parking Services and University Police)

Failure to display current permit $25.00
Failure to display permit properly $25.00
Failure to display license plate $25.00
Failure to display disability permit $25.00
Unauthorized parking in space/ramp access reserved for disability $150.00
Failure to display disability validation sticker $25.00
Unauthorized parking in van accessible disability space $25.00



Overtime at meter

Overtime in North Parking Deck
Unauthorized parking in contract space in North Parking Deck
Unauthorized parking in contract space in surface lot
Unauthorized parking in visitor zone
Unauthorized parking in fire lane
Unauthorized parking in service/delivery zone
Unauthorized parking in faculty/staff zone
Unauthorized parking in commuter zone
Unauthorized parking in pedestrian zone
Unauthorized zone - not a parking space
Parked in grass

Blocking fire hydrant

Unauthorized zone

Parked where prohibited by sign
Unauthorized parking in loading dock
Blocking drive or street

Blocking dumpster

Parked disregarding line

Double parked/blocking

Backed into parking space on street

Parked on wrong side of street

Failure to display residence validation
Oversized vehicle over 20 feet in length
Falsifying information

Littering

Overtime in Postal Service customer parking

MOTOR VEHICLE VIOLATIONS LIST
(Issued by University Police)

Failure to stop or yield right of way

Failure to stop at red light

Failure to yield to pedestrian on crosswalk
Disregarding railroad crossing signals/gates

Hazardous driving
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$25.00
$10.00
$50.00
$25.00
$100.00
$150.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$25.00
$85.00
$25.00

$25.00

$30.00
$30.00
$75.00
$50.00

$75.00



Wrong way $25.00

U-turn $25.00
Expired registration/tags $25.00
Failure to stop for school bus $100.00
Speeding 1 (1-10 mph over) $25.00
Speeding 2 (11-20 mph over) $35.00
Speeding 3 (20+ mph over) $50.00
Excessive noise $25.00
Stopped on street $25.00
Equipment violation $25.00
Seat belt violation $25.00

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Violators of established parking/motor vehicle regulations may be issued a uniform traffic ticket payable in

municipal court in Jonesboro, Arkansas in lieu of A-State citation.

Violation notices will be affixed to the motor vehicle or presented to the driver.

Vehicles are considered parked when left standing, stopped, or unattended for any period of time.

Arkansas State University assumes no responsibility for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its contents
at any time while it is operated or parked on the campus.

Pedestrians have the right-of-way at designated crosswalks at all times except signal controlled intersections
where pedestrians will be expected to comply with the signal.

Owners/operators of disabled vehicles (dead battery, empty fuel tank, lost keys, etc.) must notify Parking
Services or University Police immediately noting the exact location.

Vehicles are assumed abandoned if left parked and stationary for a period of two weeks. Abandoned vehicles
will be towed at the owner's expense.

Permit owners are responsible for all violations for vehicles displaying their permit.

Vehicles will not be operated on the A-State campus without required safety equipment prescribed by the vehicle
code of the State of Arkansas.

All campus vehicle accidents must be reported directly to the University Police Department.

No parking or stopping on roadways is allowed.
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Arkansas State University-Beebe

Parking and Traffic Regulations

The Arkansas State University - Beebe University Police welcome you to our campuses.

Please feel free to call upon a University Police Office at (501) 882-8851 at anytime assistance is
needed.

NO PARKING No parking at anytime unless otherwise noted.

Designated disability parking spaces including ramps. Only
vehicles displaying a current disability permit from any state,
DISABILITY or temporary ASU-Beebe disability permit may park in
Blue/White. Visitors may display a state issued disability
permit. Violators will be fined (currently $50).

WHITE / NO COLOR Unrestricted parking for students, visitors, and employees.

30-minute parking spots are available in front of buildings for
students, visitors, employees (including maintenance) for those
needing to make a quick trip into a building to pickup or leave
items. Violators will be fined (currently $20).

|

UL A T D Restricted according to signs and pavement markings

.~ MARKINGS pRSEEEES ==

i_ .

[

i. Arkansas State University-Beebe reserves the right to set aside
:. areas as necessary for special events in all parking areas of the
} EVENT PARKING University. The University also reserves the right to

| : temporarily block certain streets as necessary without notice to
i the public.




Student Handbook 6.13 TRAFFIC AND PARKING REGULATIONS

In accordance with Arkansas Code Annotated 25-17-307, the Board of Trustees of Arkansas
State University established the following rules and regulations for the registration, operation,
and parking of motor vehicles on an Arkansas State University-Beebe campus, which are binding
on all members of the faculty, staff, student body, and others utilizing the lands owned or
controlled by Arkansas State University-Beebe.

ENFORCEMENT OF PARKING REGULATIONS

The enforcement of the ASU-Beebe Parking and Motor Vehicle Regulations is the responsibility
of the University Police Department. This document contains the official word on parking
regulations on campus. If in doubt about any parking or motor vehicle issue, please contact the
University Police.

RESTRICTED PARKING AREAS

Red Restricted parking at all times unless otherwise
noted.
Blue/White Designated disability parking spaces including

ramps. Only vehicles displaying a current
disability permit from any state may park in

Blue/White.
Green Visitors and/or 30 Minute parking only
Signs/Pavement Markings Restricted by signs and pavement markings
Event Parking Arkansas State University-Beebe reserves the

right to set aside areas as necessary for special
events in all parking areas of the university.
The University also reserves the right to
temporarily block certain streets as necessary
without notice to the public.
Parking on grass, sidewalks, cross walks, building entrance, etc. is not allowed. Any other
restricted parking areas will be clearly noted.

DISABILITY PARKING

Vehicles parked in disability parking spaces at ASU-Beebe must display a current disability
license plate or placard issued by any state. Parking in disability spaces without proper permits is
a serious offense. Citations issued for this violation carry a $50.00 fine. Citations are also issued
for blocking disability ramp space, recessed street, and sidewalk access areas. Transfer of
disability license or placard is a violation of the Arkansas state law. Offenders will receive
citations.

RESPONSIBLITIES AND INFORMATION

Standard traffic regulations and definitions as enacted into the motor vehicles law of the State of
Arkansas will be enforced on university property at all times. Students and staff members are
expected to be familiar with and abide by these regulations. If a member of the university
community is not cited for breaking the traffic regulation, it does not imply that the regulation is
no longer in effect.



Pedestrians have the right-of-way at designated crosswalks at all times.

School buses, large vehicles, and other special purpose vehicles will be required to park in areas
designated by a University Police Officer.

Motorcycles, motorbikes, etc., must be operated on streets designated for normal automobile use.
Parking for non-motorized and 50 cc or less moped-type vehicles will be restricted to designated
parking areas. Bicycle racks are available on campus.

Arkansas State University-Beebe assumes NO responsibility for the care and/or protection of any
vehicle or its contents at any time while it is on campus. For protection, lock your vehicle and
place valuables in the trunk area.

All vehicle operators will observe and obey the orders of University Police Officers in
performance of their duties. This includes rendering and producing identification and registration
when requested. All campus vehicle accidents must be reported to the University Police Office.

TOWING AND IMPOUNDING VEHICLES

The University reserves the right to immobilize, tow, and/or impound any vehicle that is parked
on university property in such a way as to constitute a serious hazard or to prohibit the normal
operation of any part of the parking infrastructure at any ASU-Beebe campus. The University
Police may direct an authorized commercial garage to carry out any towing action. Violators will
be responsible for paying all costs for removal, impounding, and storage of such vehicles.
Vehicles may be held until all charges are paid.

MOVING VIOLATION

Moving violations include all traffic laws as stated in the Arkansas Motor Vehicle and Traffic
Laws and State Highway Commission Regulations. The official ASU-Beebe citation will be
sufficient as a summons for violation of these rules and regulations. In lieu of a university
citation, the violator may be issued a uniform traffic ticket, which will be adjudicated in
municipal court.

ENFORCEMENT OF REGULATIONS

1. Arkansas State University-Beebe Police Officers are constituted peace officers by action of the
Board of Trustees and under the laws of this state. They possess all authority provided by the law
for city police and county sheriffs to be exercised as required for the safety and protection of the
university community and are limited by the same constraints on abuse of power.

2. All appeals should follow the procedures as outlined.

3. Persons with unregistered vehicles, who violate the established Traffic and Parking
Regulations (parking on sidewalks, grass, red/yellow areas, crosswalks, etc.), may be issued a
uniform traffic ticket, which is payable in Municipal Court in the jurisdiction of the campus from
which it is issued.

4. Any vehicle owner, who has five (5) or more traffic or parking violation notifications during
any semester that have not been resolved (penalties paid or action completed by the Traffic
Appeals System), may have the motor vehicle being used impounded each time the vehicle is
parked on campus until outstanding charges have been resolved.

5. Any vehicle owner, who has more than eight (8) traffic or parking violations during the
academic year, will have their campus parking privileges revoked for the remainder of the
academic year.



6. Standard traffic regulations and definitions, as enacted into the motor vehicle code for the
State of Arkansas, will be used in enforcement of campus traffic regulations.

7. The City Police Department has jurisdiction rights to issue tickets on campus since Arkansas
State University-Beebe is located inside the corporate limits of the cities of Beebe, Heber
Springs, Jacksonville, and Searcy.

OFFENSES AND PENALTIES

Any operation of a motor vehicle that creates a disturbance on campus may be considered a
traffic violation. This would include such things as excessive use of horn, loud sound systems,
illegal exhaust systems, squealing of tires, or placing pedestrians or other drivers in a hazardous
situation.

A person receiving notice of a traffic or parking violation is required to pay the fine levied or
report to the University Police Office to appeal the violation notice within two (2) school days
(cxcluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays). If this is not done, the fine will be placed against
his/her account in the Cashier’s Office.

Violation notices shall be affixed to the motor vehicle or presented to the driver. Violation tickets
shall be issued in duplicate, one copy for the offender and one copy for the University Police
Office. Information on violation tickets will be forwarded to the Cashier’s Office for processing.
Traffic and parking records are kept from August 16 of one year to August 15 of the next year.

FINES

The responsibility for payment of fines incurred shall rest with the registrant. In the event
registration has not been completed, payment lies with the owner and/or operator of the vehicle.
Persons violating these rules and regulations, while using a motor vehicle on campus, may be
charged under the University’s system of administrative charges as noted. Fines for tickets
written by University Police may be paid at the Cashier’s Office.

CAMPUS VIOLATIONS LIST
$0.00 Warning
$20.00 Fine Backed into parking space (including
pulling through)
Blocking drive
Blocking dumpster
Blocking fire hydrant

Blocking loading dock/ramp
Disregarding barricades

Double parked/blocking

Driving wrong way on one way
Driving/parked on grass

Failure to stop or yield right of way
Hazardous driving

Parked disregarding painted lines
Parked in green zone exceeding 30
minutes



Parked in unauthorized zone
Parked on wrong side of street
Parked where prohibited by signage

Speeding

$50.00 Fine Parked in ramp/space reserved for
disability parking

$100.00 — $500.00 Fine Tobacco use

APPEALS
Appeals must be made to the Traffic Appeals Committee according to these rules and regulations
within two (2) school days. Appeal forms are available at the University Police Office.

TRAFFIC APPEALS COMMITTEE
The Traffic Appeals Committee will receive written appeals on parking violations and may, at its
discretion, require oral presentations. The decisions of the Committee will be final.



Arkansas State University-Mountain Home

Student Handbook Parking Regulations
Free parking is available to everyone. There is no paid or assigned parking.

Handicapped parking is available. Unauthorized vehicles parked in a handicapped space will be
towed.

Bicycle racks are located at Roller Hall, behind Integrity First Hall, and at The Vada Sheid
Community Development Center"
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4-28-16 UPDATE:

ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY — NEWPORT
PARKING and MOTOR VEHICLE REGULATIONS

The Campus Police Department welcomes you to the campuses of Arkansas State University Newport. These
guidelines are designed to furnish you how to best utilize the facilities, maintain orderly parking, and safe traffic
flow. Please feel free to call upon the Campus Police Officer at any time you may need assistance. (870)-217-
1348

In accordance with A.C.A. 25-17-307 and the Board of Trustees, ASUN has the authority to establish rules and
regulations for the registration, operation, and parking of motor vehicles on the campuses which are binding on
all members of the faculty, staff and others utilizing the lands owned or controlled by Arkansas State University-
Newport.

ASUN strives to provide adequate parking for students, employees, and visitors. Automobiles, trucks,
motorcycles and motor scooters are considered motor vehicles and their operators are required to comply with
all college parking and traffic regulations as state and municipal laws while on campus. Failure to comply may
result in the issuance of a citation and/or towing of the vehicle. Individuals receiving citations may file an appeal
with Student Affairs within seven (7) days of receiving the citation.

Campus Police Officers are constituted peace officers by action of the Board of Trustees and under the laws of
the State. Campus Police has the same authority provided by law as the city police and county sheriff to be
exercised as required for the safety and protection of the University community.

Standard traffic regulations and definitions as enacted into the motor vehicle laws of the State of Arkansas will
be enforced on University property at all times. Students and ASUN employees are expected to be familiar with
and abide by these regulations. If a member of the University community is not cited for breaking a traffic
regulation, it does not imply that the regulation is no longer in effect. Pedestrians have the right-of-way at
designated crosswalks at all times.

Operating a motor vehicle in any manner, which creates a disturbance on campus may be considered a traffic
violation. This includes excessive noise from their stereo system, illegal exhaust systems, squealing of tires, or
placing pedestrians or other drivers in a hazardous situation. All personnel, including university employees and
visitors, are expected to adhere to all campus and state regulations regarding safety procedures.

* Vehicles are considered parked when left unattended.
* The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator.
* Lack of space is not a valid excuse for violating parking regulations.

* It shall be the responsibility of any driver of a disabled vehicle to immediately contact the Campus Police
Officer or Student Affairs.

* Vehicles are assumed to be abandoned if left parked in one location for a period of two weeks. Such vehicles
may be towed at the owner’s expense.

* School buses, large vehicles and special purpose vehicles will be required to park in areas designated by the
Campus Police Officer.



* Motorcycles, motorbikes, three-wheelers, etc., must be operated on streets designed for normal automobile
use.

*Arkansas State University-Newport assumes NO responsibility for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or
its contents at any time while it is on campus.

*All vehicle operators will observe and obey the orders of the Campus Police Officer in performance of his duties.
This includes rendering and producing identification and registration when requested.

* All campus accidents must be reported to the Campus Police.

* If you lend your car, proper operation of the vehicle is still your responsibility.

* Yield the right-of-way to all pedestrians in campus crosswalks or while crossing parking lots.
TRAFFIC VIOLATION CHARGES

The responsibility for payment of fines incurred for traffic/campus violations shall rest with the operator of the
vehicle. Persons violating these rules and regulations while using a motor vehicle on campus maybe charged
under the University’s system of traffic violations listed below:

Violation Notification List

e Unauthorized parking in Handicapped zones.........cccouinicinnniniiiine e, $50.00
o Blocking fire NYArant.........cceueeieriumieinsensessmie s sssssssnssssassesesessesses s sisesssse s sessnne $20.00
e Hazardous driving (Arkansas Statute).........ccccermrrcrmcrcncie s s s $20.00
@ SPEEAING . vecvieri ettt ettt e e e e s enbeas et ses e e b s e sh bbb e $20.00
®  PATKING ON GraSS..0cusuuessvenvevisossssssvssinsssssnionionssshissisissassitioss esess seesve sessasssbars sesssasss s $10.00
®  DOUDIE-PArKE.....cveiciiiviierii et et ses s e e es bbb b bt sasassares e $10.00
e Parking in unauthorized or prohibited zone.........ccovcvnniiiii e, $10.00
o Disregard Of BarriCades......cuvuvirieesercerueeensveise e et ssseis ssnssns s soasesns $10.00
e C(Creating a disturbance with a motor vehicle........ccovvviinciniiiiininn, $10.00
o BlOCKING DUMPSTEN......... oo ivwisssiiarsssamisisinssseisssissnssssiiasi s s i s oisiasanions - $10.00
0 Seat Belt ViolatioN.wamisssassessivmmsisimaaoseasvivs@aiaatn - sessss sssass sesosssasessssa s $10.00
0 LIEEOIING ettt snsssrenssnsssssassnssessessnssenssessasessnsesseess 9 10,00

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

The ASUN Parking & Traffic Regulations are on file with the State of Arkansas in the office of the Secretary of
State. The regulations are enforced under the authority of Act 328 enacted by the General Assembly of the
State of Arkansas.

Violators of established parking/traffic regulations may be issued a uniform traffic ticket payable in municipal
court in Newport, Arkansas in lieu of ASUN campus citation.

Violators may pay their citation at the Business Office in the ASUN Larry Neil Williams Student Community
Center.



Arkansas State University Mid-South

Catalog Parking and Traffic Regulations

ASU Mid-South provides free parking and open-access lots for students, employees, and visitors
except in the area between the Reynolds Center and the Southland Greyhound Science Center,
and in the lot on the north end of the Workforce Technology Center. These areas are restricted to
authorized personnel approved by the Chancellor. In addition, the ASU Mid-South campus has
several “Handicapped Only” parking spaces. These spaces are exclusively reserved for students,
visitors, and employees whose vehicles display a current, valid handicapped placard issued by
the state. Students and employees should note that parking in handicapped spaces is a violation
of federal and state law unless the vehicle is being used for the actual transporting of the person
who holds a state-issued handicapped placard or license plate. Drivers occupying these spaces
must produce official documentation when requested by Campus Safety officers. The West
Memphis Police regularly patrol college parking lots, and offenders are subject to vehicle towing
and all applicable fines and penalties.

Employee Handbook Parking Policy

Arkansas State University Mid-South requires any vehicle that will be used as transportation on
campus, or to and from campus, be registered with the Admissions Office regardless of whether
or not the vehicle will park on campus property. There is no charge for this registration. A person
may register any number of vehicles. To do so, the registrant must complete a registration form
which includes the license tag number. One parking permit will be issued for each vehicle.
Faculty and staff are required to register their vehicles only once, updating as needed due to
vehicle sale or purchase. Students are required to register annually. These parking permits are to
be placed on the outside and positioned on the lower left side of the rear window. Employees or
students who leave cars in a space marked as Handicapped Parking must have proper
documentation. According to state law, the person to whom the handicapped parking placard or
license plate was issued must be in the car when you utilize the handicapped parking place. In
cooperation with West Memphis Police Department, unauthorized vehicles will be ticketed and
towed.

ASU Mid-South Low-Emitting, Fuel Efficient Policy (LEV)

The new preferred parking program for fuel efficient vehicles allows such vehicles to park in
specially designated spaces around the Marion Berry Renewable Energy Center on the North
Campus. To see if a vehicle qualifies under the LEV policy, please visit http://
www.greenercars.org/Leed2012.xls. To park in these identified spaces, a vehicle must be on the
list. Please note that parking in the fuel efficient spaces is based on a first-come, first-serve basis;
there is no guarantee of a preferred space. We encourage everyone who drives a fuel efficient
vehicle that qualifies to participate in this program and help support ASU Mid-South’s green
initiatives and sustainability programs.




Traffic Regulations

ASU Mid-South enforces all motor vehicle laws. In particular, 1. Campus speed limit is 15 mph.
Driving in a manner or speed that is not reasonable or proper is prohibited. 2. Crosswalks must
be respected, and pedestrians and bicycles have the right of way at all times. 3. Driving on lawns,
sidewalks and other non-roadway locations is prohibited. 4. Parking along curbs, at docks, or
other unmarked areas shall not be allowed. (Dock and service entrances are available for courier

and package delivery services only.)

Handicapped Accessible Parking

Handicapped accessible spaces must be reserved for handicapped persons; violations are subject
to fine by state/local authorities 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, without exception. Vehicles
parked in handicapped spaces must properly display a state-approved handicap parking permit
(i.e., a license plate, placard, mirror hang, etc.) as issued through the Arkansas Department of
Motor Vehicles or by authorized agencies of other states. ASU Mid-South requests a copy of this
documentation also be provided to our Human Resources Office and/or Chief of Security. ASU
Mid-South cannot issue Temporary Handicapped Parking Permits or otherwise allow vehicles
without state-approved handicapped parking permits to park in handicapped spaces for any
length of time. However, persons with a medically supported short-term disability may obtain a
temporary Handicapped Parking Permit through the Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles.



