	Transmittal Use only for FINAL and EMERCSecretary of State Mark Martin 500 Woodlane, Suite 026 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094 (501) 682-5070 www.sos.arkansas.gov	Sheet GENCY RULES
For Office Use Only: Effective Date	Code Number	
Name of Agency Arkansas State Medica	al Board	
Department		
Contact Kevin M. O'Dwyer	_E-mail_kodwyer@htolaw.comPhone_501	-372-4144
Statutory Authority for Promulgating Rule	es ACA §17-95-303	
Rule Title: Regulation 38 - Tel	emedicine	
Intended Effective Date (Check One)		Date 10/30/2016
Emergency (ACA 25-15-204)	Legal Notice Published	10/06/2016
 10 Days After Filing (ACA 25-15-204) Other	Final Date for Public Comment	12/13/2016
	Reviewed by Legislatice Council	10/06/2013
Electronic Copy of Rule e-mailed from: (Require	Adopted by State Agencyd under ACA 25-15-218)	
	@htolaw.com	Data
Contact Person	E-mail Address	Date
I Hereby Certi In Compliance with the Ar 501-296-1802 Phone Number	fy That The Attached Rules Were Adopted kansas Administrative Act. (ACA 25-15-201 et. seq.) Market Signature Support@armedicalboard.org E-mail Address	
Executive Secreta	ry	

1 1 .	Thue
12/13/14	
	Date

Revised 7/2015 to reflect new legislation passed in the 2015 Regular Session (Act 1258). This act changed the effective date from 30 days to 10 days after filing the rule.

Title

REGULATION 38

TELEMEDICINE

Act 887 of 2015 codified in A.C.A. §17-80-118

Requirement for all services provided by physicians using telemedicine:

- 1. A physician-patient relationship must be established in accordance with Regulation 2.8 before the delivery of services via telemedicine. A patient completing a medical history online and forwarding it to a physician is not sufficient to establish the relationship, nor does it qualify as store-andforward technology.
- 2. The following requirements apply to all services provided by physicians using telemedicine:
 - A. The practice of medicine via telemedicine shall be held to the same standards of care as traditional in-person encounters.
 - B. The physician must obtain a detailed explanation of the patient's complaint from the patient or the patient's treating physician.
 - C. If a decision is made to provide treatment, the physician must agree to accept responsibility for the care of the patient.
 - D. If follow-up care is indicated, the physician must agree to provide or arrange for such follow-up care.
 - E. A physician using telemedicine may NOT issue a prescription for any controlled substances defined as any scheduled medication under schedules II through V unless the physician has seen the patient for an inperson exam or unless a relationship exists through consultation or referral; on-call or cross-coverage situations; or through an ongoing personal or professional relationship.
 - F. The physician must keep a documented medical record, including medical history.
 - G. At the patient's request, the physician must make available to the patient an electronic or hardcopy version of the patient's medical record documenting the encounter. Additionally, unless the patient declines to consent, the physician must forward a copy of the record of the encounter to the patient's regular treating physician if that physician is not the same one delivering the service via telemedicine.
 - H. Services must be delivered in a transparent manner, including providing access to information identifying the physician in advance of the encounter, with licensure and board certifications, as well as patient financial responsibilities.
 - I. If the patient, at the recommendation of the physician, needs to be seen in person for their current medical issue, the physician must arrange to see the patient in person or direct the patient to their regular treating physician or other appropriate provider if the patient does not have a treating physician. Such recommendation shall be documented in the patient's medical record.
 - J. Physicians who deliver services through telemedicine must establish

protocols for referrals for emergency services.K. All physicians providing care via telemedicine to a patient located within the State of Arkansas shall be licensed to practice medicine in the State of Arkansas.