# ARKANSAS REGISTER



# **Transmittal Sheet**

\* Use only for FINAL and EMERGENCY RULES

Secretary of State Mark Martin

State Capitol, Suite 026 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094 (501) 682-3527



www.sos.arkansas.gov

For Office Use Only:					
Effective Dat	Code Number				
Name of Agency Arkan	nsas Department of Educa	ition			
Department Legal Ser	vices				
Contact_Jennifer Davis	ontact_Jennifer DavisE-mail_jennifer.davis@arkansas.gov Phone_501-682-4227				
Statutory Authority f	or Promulgating Rules	Ark. Code Ann. 6-18-1901 et seq, as amended by	Act 560 of 2015.		
Rule Title:	Arkansas Department of Ed	ducation Rules Governing the Public School Choice	e Act of 2015		
Intended Effect	ive Date		Date		
Emergency (ACA	25-15-204)	Legal Notice Published	April 16, 2015		
30 Days After Fil	ing (ACA 25-15-204)	Final Date for Public Comment	May 18, 2015		
Other	than 30 days after filing date.)	Reviewed by Legislative Council	July 15, 2015		
(Must be more	than 30 days after filing date.)	Adopted by State Agency	July 9, 2015		
Electronic Copy of Rule su	ıbmitted under ACA 25-15-	218 by:			
Jennifer Davis jennifer.davis@arkansas.gov			July 15, 2015		
Contact Person	·	E-mail Address	Date		
In Compliance	I Hereby Certify	N OF AUTHORIZED OFFICER That The Attached Rules Were Adopted rkansas Administrative Procedures Act. (ACA 25-15-2	01 et. seq.)		
		Signature			
	501-682-4227	jennifer.davis@arkansas.gov			
	Phone Number	E-mail Address Staff Attorney			
		Title			
		July 15, 2015  Date			
		Date			

### ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION RULES GOVERNING THE PUBLIC SCHOOL CHOICE ACT OF 2015 August 2015

#### 1.00 PURPOSE

- 1.01 These rules shall be known as the Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing the Public School Choice Act of 2015.
- 1.02 The purpose of these rules is to set forth the process and procedures necessary to administer the Public School Choice Act of 2015

#### 2.00 AUTHORITY

2.01 The Arkansas State Board of Education promulgated these rules pursuant to the authority granted to it by Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1901 et seq., as amended by Act 560 of 2015, and Ark. Code Ann. § 6-11-105 and 25-15-201 et seq.

#### 3.00 DEFINITIONS

As used in these rules:

- 3.01 "Nonresident District" means a school district other than a student's resident district;
- 3.02 "Parent" means a student's parent, guardian, or other person having custody or care of the student:
- 3.03 "Resident district" means the school district in which the student resides as determined under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-202;
- 3.04 "Sibling" means each of two (2) or more children having a parent in common by blood, adoption, marriage, or foster care; and
- 3.05 "Transfer student" means a public school student in kindergarten through grade twelve (12) who transfers to a nonresident district through a public school choice option under Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules.

#### 4.00 ESTABLISHMENT OF PUBLIC SCHOOL CHOICE PROGRAM

- 4.01 A public school choice program is established to enable a student in kindergarten through grade twelve (12) to attend a school in a nonresident district, subject to the limitations under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1906 and Section 7.00 of these rules.
- 4.02 Each school district shall participate in a public school choice program consistent with Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules.

- 4.03 These rules do not require a school district to add teachers, staff, or classrooms, or in any way to exceed the requirements and standards established by existing law.
- 4.04 The board of directors of a public school district shall adopt by resolution specific standards for acceptance and rejection of applications under Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules. The standards:
  - 4.04.1 May include without limitation the capacity of a program, class, grade level, or school building;
  - 4.04.2 May include a claim of a lack of capacity by a school district only if the school district has reached at least ninety percent (90%) of the maximum authorized student population in a program, class, grade level, or school building under federal law, state law, the rules for standards of accreditation, or other applicable regulations;
  - 4.04.3 Shall include a statement that priority will be given to an applicant who has a sibling or stepsibling who:
    - 4.04.3.1 Resides in the same household; and
    - 4.04.3.2 Is already enrolled in the nonresident district by choice.
  - 4.04.4 Shall not include an applicant's:
    - 4.04.4.1 Academic achievement;
    - 4.04.4.2 Athletic or other extracurricular ability;
    - 4.04.4.3 English proficiency level; or
    - 4.04.4.4 Previous disciplinary proceedings, except that an expulsion from another district may be included under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-510.
  - 4.04.5 A school district receiving transfers under the Public School Choice Act of 2013 and these rules shall not discriminate on the basis of gender, national origin, race, ethnicity, religion, or disability.
- 4.05 A nonresident district shall:
  - 4.05.1 Accept credits toward graduation that were awarded by another district; and

- 4.05.2 Award a diploma to a nonresident student if the student meets the nonresident district's graduation requirements.
- 4.06 The superintendent of a school district shall cause public announcements to be made over the broadcast media and either in the print media or on the Internet to inform parents of students in adjoining districts of the:
  - 4.06.1 Availability of the program;
  - 4.06.2 Application deadline; and
  - 4.06.3 Requirements and procedure for nonresident students to participate in the program.

#### 5.00 GENERAL PROVISIONS

- 5.01 The transfer of a student under the Arkansas Public School Choice Act of 1989 (Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-206 [repealed]) or the Public School Choice Act of 2013, is not voided by Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules and shall be treated as a transfer under Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules.
- 5.02 A student may accept only one (1) school choice transfer per school year.
  - 5.02.1 A student who accepts a public school choice transfer may return to his or her resident district during the school year.
  - 5.02.2 If a transferred student returns to his or her resident district, the student's transfer is voided, and the student shall reapply if the student seeks a future school choice transfer.
- 5.03 A transfer student attending a nonresident school under Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules may complete all remaining school years at the nonresident district.
  - 5.03.1 A present or future sibling of a student who continues enrollment in the nonresident district under Section 5.03 of these rules and applies for a school choice transfer under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1905 may enroll in the nonresident district if the district has the capacity to accept the sibling without adding teachers, staff, or classrooms or exceeding the regulations and standards established by law.
  - 5.03.2 A present or future sibling of a student who continues enrollment in the nonresident district and who enrolls in the nonresident district under Section 5.03 of these rules may complete all remaining years at the nonresident district.

- 5.04 The transfer student or the transfer student's parent is responsible for the transportation of the transfer student to and from the school in the nonresident district where the transfer student is enrolled.
  - 5.04.1 The nonresident district may enter into a written agreement with the student, the student's parent, or the resident district to provide the transportation.
  - 5.04.2 The State Board of Education may resolve disputes concerning transportation arising under Section 5.04 of these rules.
- 5.05 For purposes of determining a school district's state aid, a transfer student is counted as part of the average daily membership of the nonresident district where the transfer student is enrolled.

#### 6.00 APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER

- 6.01 If a student seeks to attend a school in a nonresident district, the student's parent shall submit an application:
  - 6.01.1 To the nonresident district which shall notify the resident district of the filing of the application;
  - 6.01.2 On the form that is attached to these rules as Attachment 1; and
  - 6.01.3 Postmarked no later than May 1 of the year in which the student seeks to begin the fall semester at the nonresident district.
- 6.02 A nonresident district that receives an application under Section 6.01 of these rules shall, upon receipt of the application, place a date and time stamp on the application that reflects the date and time the nonresident district received the application.
- 6.03 A nonresident district shall review and make a determination on each application in the order in which the application was received by the nonresident district.
- 6.04 Before accepting or rejecting an application, a nonresident district shall determine whether one of the limitations under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1906 and Section 7.00 of these rules applies to the application.
- 6.05 By July 1 of the school year in which the student seeks to enroll in a nonresident district under Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules, the superintendent of the nonresident district shall notify the parent and the resident district in writing as to whether the student's application has been accepted or rejected.

- 6.05.1 If the application is rejected, the superintendent of the nonresident district shall state in the notification letter the reason for the rejection.
- 6.05.2 If the application is accepted, the superintendent of the nonresident district shall state in the notification letter a reasonable deadline by which the student shall enroll in the nonresident district and after which the acceptance notification is null.

#### 7.00 LIMITATIONS

- 7.01 If the provisions of Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules conflict with a provision of an enforceable desegregation court order or a district's court-approved desegregation plan regarding the effects of past racial segregation in student assignment, the provisions of the order or plan shall govern.
  - 7.01.1 If a school district claims a conflict under Section 7.01 of these rules, the school district shall immediately submit proof from a federal court to the Department of Education that the school district has a genuine conflict under an active desegregation order or active court-approved desegregation plan with the interdistrict school choice provisions of this subchapter.
  - 7.01.2 A school district shall provide the information required under Section 7.01.1 of these rules to:

Office of the Commissioner ATTN: Arkansas Public School Choice Act Four Capitol Mall Little Rock, AR 72201

- 7.02 There is established a numerical net maximum limit on school choice transfers each school year from a school district, less any school choice transfers into the school district under Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules of not more than three percent (3%) of the enrollment that exists in the school district as of October 15 of the immediately preceding school year.
  - 7.02.1 For the purpose of determining the percentage of school choice transfers under Section 7.02 of these rules, siblings who are counted in the numerator as transfer students shall count as one (1) student.
  - 7.02.2 A student eligible to transfer to a nonresident district under Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-15-430(c)(1), 6-18-227, or 6-21-812 shall not count against the cap of three percent (3%) of the resident or nonresident district.

- 7.02.3 Annually by December 15, the Department of Education shall report to each school district the net maximum number of school choice transfers for the next school year.
- 7.02.4 If a student is unable to transfer due to the limits under Section 7.02 of these rules, the resident district shall give the student priority for a transfer in the first school year in which the district is no longer subject to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1906(b)(1) and Section 7.02 of these rules in the order that the resident district receives notices of applications under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1905 and Section 6.00 of these rules, as evidenced by a notation made by the district on the applications indicating date and time of receipt.

#### 8.00 APPEAL, DATA COLLECTION AND REPORTING

- 8.01 A student whose application for a transfer under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1905 and Section 6.00 of these rules is rejected by the nonresident district may request a hearing before the State Board of Education to reconsider the transfer.
  - 8.01.1 A request for a hearing before the State Board of Education shall be in writing and shall be postmarked no later than ten (10) calendar days, excluding weekends and legal holidays, after the student or the student's parent receives a notice of rejection of the application under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1905 and Section 6.00 of these rules and shall be mailed to:

Office of the Commissioner ATTN: Arkansas Public School Choice Act Appeals Four Capitol Mall Little Rock, AR 72201

- 8.01.2 Contemporaneously with the filing of the written appeal with the Office of the Commissioner, the student or student's parent must also mail a copy of the written appeal to the superintendent of the nonresident school district.
- 8.01.3 In its written appeal, the student or student's parent shall state his or her basis for appealing the decision of the nonresident district.
- 8.01.4 The student or student's parent shall submit, along with its written appeal, a copy of the notice of rejection from the nonresident school district.
- 8.01.5 As part of the review process, the student or student's parent may submit supporting documentation that the transfer would be in the best educational, social, or psychological interest of the student.
- 8.01.6 The nonresident district may submit, in writing, any additional information, evidence, or arguments supporting its rejection of the

student's application by mailing such response to the State Board of Education. Such response shall be postmarked no later than ten (10) days after the nonresident district receives the student or parent's appeal. The response of the nonresident district shall be mailed to:

Office of the Commissioner ATTN: Arkansas Public School Choice Act Appeals Four Capitol Mall Little Rock, AR 72201

- 8.01.7 Contemporaneously with the filing of its response with the Office of the Commissioner, the nonresident district must also mail a copy of the response to the student or student's parent.
- 8.01.8 If the State Board of Education overturns the determination of the nonresident district on appeal, the State Board of Education shall notify the parent, the nonresident district, and the resident district of the basis for the State Board of Education's decision.
- 8.02 The Department of Education shall collect data from school districts on the number of applications for student transfers under Section 8.00 of these rules and study the effects of school choice transfers under Arkansas Code, Title 6, Chapter 18, Subchapter 19 and these rules, including without limitation the net maximum number of transfers and exemptions, on both resident and nonresident districts for up to two (2) years to determine if a racially segregative impact has occurred to any school district.
- 8.03 Annually by October 1, the Department of Education shall report its findings from the study of the data under Section 8.02 of these rules to the Senate Committee on Education and the House Committee on Education.

#### 9.00 STATE BOARD HEARING PROCEDURES

The following procedures shall apply to hearings conducted by the State Board of Education pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1907 and Section 8.00 of these rules:

- 9.01 A staff member of the Arkansas Department of Education shall introduce the agenda item.
- 9.02 All persons wishing to testify before the State Board of Education shall first be placed under oath by the Chairperson of the State Board.
- 9.03 Each party shall have the opportunity to present an opening statement of no longer than five (5) minutes, beginning with the nonresident school district. The Chairperson of the State Board may, for good cause shown and upon request of either party, allow either party additional time to present their opening statements.

- 9.04 Each party shall be given twenty (20) minutes to present their cases, beginning with the nonresident school district. The Chairperson of the State Board may, for good cause shown and upon request of either party, allow either party additional time to present their cases.
- 9.05 The State Board of Education, at its discretion, shall have the authority to require any person associated with the application to appear in person before the State Board as a witness during the hearing. The State Board of Education may accept testimony by affidavit, declaration or deposition.
- 9.06 Every witness may be subject to direct examination, cross examination and questioning by the State Board of Education.
- 9.07 For the purposes of the record, documents offered during the hearing by the nonresident district shall be clearly marked in sequential, numeric order (1,2,3).
- 9.08 For the purposes of the record, documents offered during the hearing by the appealing party shall be clearly marked in sequential, alphabetic letters (A,B,C).
- 9.09 The nonresident school district shall have the burden of proof in proving the basis for denial of the transfer.
- 9.10 The State Board of Education may sustain the rejection of the nonresident district or grant the appeal.
- 9.11 The State Board of Education may announce its decision immediately after hearing all arguments and evidence or may take the matter under advisement. The State Board shall provide a written decision to the Department of Education, the appealing party, the nonresident district and the resident district within fourteen (14) days of announcing its decision under this section.

#### **ATTACHMENT 1**

# APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER TO A NONRESIDENT DISTRICT "ARKANSAS PUBLIC SCHOOL CHOICE ACT OF 2013 2015"

(Must Ro Submitted to Non-Resident and Resident Districts)

(Musi Be Submitted to Non-Resident <del>and Resident</del> District <del>s</del> )
APPLICANT INFORMATION
Student Name:
Student Date of Birth: Gender Male Female
Grade:
Does the applicant require special needs or programs? Yes No
Is applicant currently under expulsion? Yes No
ETHNIC ORIGIN (CHECK ONE) (For data reporting purposes only)
2 or More Races Asian African-American
Hispanic Native American/ Native Hawaiian/
Native Alaskan Pacific Islander
White
RESIDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT OF APPLICANT
District Name: County Name:
Address:
Phone:
NONRESIDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT APPLICANT WISHES TO ATTEND
THO THE STATE OF DISTINCT MILES TO MILES TO MILES TO
District Name: County Name:
Address:
Phone:
Does the applicant already have a sibling or step-sibling in attendance in this district pursuant to the Public School Choice
Act of 2013 or the Public School Choice Act of 2015? If so, please list:

PARENT OR GUARDIAN INFORMA	ATION				
Name:		Home P	hone:		
Address:		Work Pl	hone:		
Parent/Guardian Signature			_	Date:	
Pursuant to standards adopted by a non-reject applicants based on capacity of prestandards may provide for the rejection the above listed request for information transfer pursuant to the School Choice previous academic achievement, athletic level, or previous disciplinary proceeding Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-510. Priority with nonresident district shall accept credits the nonresident applicant if the applicant may filed in the nonresident district or postmate semester at the nonresident district. A request a hearing before the State Board Commissioner of Education no later that (Consult Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-1905). Choice Act of 2015 for specific procedure.	of an applicant based when that information Act. However, a nomic or other extracurriongs, except that an extra dill be given to applicate toward graduation that the east the nonresident contact and the extraction to recontact the extraction of Education the extraction of Educat	level, or a level, or directly resident resident resident resident resident resident were and district's ray 1 of action for sider the stude partmen	he submission of false or ally impacts the legal qualification district's standards shall resility, handicapping condition from another district may a siblings or step-siblings a warded by another district is graduation requirements, the year in which the application representation of Education Rules Governor the standard of the sta	se, a nonresident district's misleading information to ications of an applicant to not include an applicant's ions, English proficiency be included pursuant to attending the district. The and award a diploma to a This application must be icant would begin the fall to nonresident district may request in writing with the eives a notice of rejection.	
DISTRICT USE ONLY					
Date and Time Received by Resident District:		Date an	d Time Received by Nonre	esident District:	
Resident District LEA #:		Nonresident District LEA#:			
Student's State Identification #:					
Application Accepted	Rejected	d			
Reason for Rejection (If Applicable):					
Date Notification Sent to Parent/Guardia	an of Applicant:				
Date Notification Sent to Resident Distri	ict :				

### FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

## PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT				artment of Education	1		
	VISIC		Legal Services		:: D:-		
				FAX NO. 501-682	nier Davis 2-4249 EMAIL: jenni	fer.davis@a	arkansas gov
То	comp	oly with Ark	. Code Ann. § 25		complete the following		
SE	IORT	TITLE OF	THIS RULE	ADE Rules Gover	rning the Public School	Choice Ac	t of 2015
1.	Does	s this propos	ed, amended, or	repealed rule have a	a financial impact?	Yes 🗌	No 🖂
2.	2. Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific, technical, economic, or other evidence and information available concerning the need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the rule?  Yes   No □						No 🗌
3.			of the alternative the least costly r		nis rule determined by	Yes 🖂	No 🗌
	If an	an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:					
	(a)	How the ad	ditional benefits	of the more costly	rule justify its additiona	al cost;	
	(b)	The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;					
	(c)	Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and if so, please explain; and;					
	(d)	Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency's statutory authority; and if so, please explain.					
4.	If the	e purpose of t	his rule is to imp	lement a federal rule	or regulation, please stat	e the follow	ing:
	(a)	What is the	cost to impleme	ent the federal rule o	or regulation?		
	Cui	rrent Fiscal	<u>Year</u>		Next Fiscal Year		
General Revenue Federal Funds Cash Funds Special Revenue Other (Identify)				General Revenue Federal Funds Cash Funds Special Revenue Other (Identify)			

Total	0	Total	0	
(b) What is	the additional cost of the st	ate rule?		
Current Fiscal Year		Next Fiscal Year		
General Rev	enue	General Revenue		
Federal Fun	1			
Cash Funds		Coch Funda		
	renue			
Other (Ident	tify)	Other (Identify)		
Total	0		0	
the proposed	, amended, or repealed rule they are affected. <u>Year</u>	year to any private individual, entity? Identify the entity(ies) subject to the entity (ies) subject to the entity	ne proposed rule and	
implement t affected.	his rule? Is this the cost of	the program or grant? Please explain	n how the government is	
<b>Current Fiscal</b>	<u>Year</u>	Next Fiscal Year		
\$ 0	<u> </u>	\$ 0		
or obligation private entit	n of at least one hundred the	Questions #5 and #6 above, is there ousand dollars (\$100,000) per year to evernment, county government, muni	a private individual,	
	iore of those entitles comor	ned?		
	iore of mose entities como	ned? Yes □ No ⊠		
time of filin	agency is required by Ark. g the financial impact state		iled simultaneously	
time of filing with the final	agency is required by Ark. g the financial impact state	Yes No No Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file ment. The written findings shall be f shall include, without limitation, the	iled simultaneously	
time of filing with the final (1) a statement (2) the problem.	agency is required by Ark. g the financial impact state ancial impact and ent of the rule's basis and p	Yes No No Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file ment. The written findings shall be f shall include, without limitation, the	iled simultaneously e following:	

- (b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and justify the rule's costs;
- (4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;
- (5) a list of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;
- (6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or contributed to the problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and
- (7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without limitation, whether:
  - (a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;
  - (b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and
  - (c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve the statutory objectives.