ARKANSAS REGISTER



Transmittal Sheet

* Use only for FINAL and EMERGENCY RULES

Secretary of State Mark Martin

State Capitol, Suite 026 Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094 (501) 682-3527





For Office		
Use Only:		
Effective Date	Code Number	
Name of Agency Department of Education		
Name of Agency		
Department_Human Resources		0.3-
Contact_Cheryl L. Reinhart	E-mail Cheryl.Reinhart@arkansas.gov Phone 501	-682-9983
Statutory Authority for Promulgating Rule	es 6-10-122, 6-10-123, 6-11-105, 6-15-1004, 6-15-170	
Rule Title: Emergency Rules Gover	•	
Intended Effective Date		Date
Emergency (ACA 25-15-204)	Legal Notice Published	N/A
30 Days After Filing (ACA 25-15-204)	Final Date for Public Comment	N/A
Other(Must be more than 30 days after filing date.)	Reviewed by Legislative Council	N/A
(Must be more than 30 days after filing date.)	Adopted by State Agency	2/12/15
Electronic Copy of Rule submitted under ACA 25-1	15-218 by:	
	heryl.Reinhart@arkansas.gov	2/18/15
Contact Person	E-mail Address	Date
I Hereby Certif	ON OF AUTHORIZED OFFICER fy That The Attached Rules Were Adopted Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act. (ACA 25-15-2	01 et. sea.)
	CX. Reinkart	17
501-682-9983	Signature Cheryl.Reinhart@arkansas.gov	
Phone Number	E-mail Address	
	Director, PLSB	
	2/18/15	

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE FEBRUARY 12, 2015

TABLE OF CONTENTS

	l – Regulatory Authority – Purpose - Definitions	
1-1.0	Regulatory Authority and Purpose	
1-2.0	Definitions	3
-	2 - Traditional Licensure	1.0
2-1.0	Instructional License Requirements	
	Standard License – Expired or No Previous License	
	Standard License – Reciprocity	
	Provisional License - Traditional	
	Provisional License – Reciprocity	16
	Provisional and Standard License - Out-of-Country Applicant	
2-2.0	Ancillary License Requirements	18
	(School Psychology, Speech Language Pathology)	
2-3.0	Endorsements, Areas and Levels of Licensure	20
Chapter :	3 – Administrator License Requirements	
3-1.0	Building-Level Administrator License	23
3-2.0	Curriculum/Program Administrator License	
3-3.0	District-Level Administrator License	
Cl 4	(Consul Description for all I to a second	
	4 - General Provisions for all Licenses	20
4-1.0	License Effective Dates	29
4-2.0	License Renewal	•
	Professional Development Requirements for Renewal	29
	Renewal of Current / Recently Expired Licenses	
	Renewal of Licenses Expired More Than One (1) Year	
4-3.0	Miscellaneous Provisions	
4-4.0	Waivers for Public Schools and School Districts	
	Contracted Positions	
	Additional Licensure Plans (ALP)	
	Administrative License Completion Plans (ALCP)	
	Substitute Teachers	41
4-5.0	Renewal of Initial or Provisional Licenses Issued Under	
	Old Rules	43
Chanter	5 – Nontraditional Licensure	
5-1.0	General Requirements for Nontraditional Licensure	45
5-2.0	Requirements for Obtaining an APPEL Provisional and	
3 2.0	Standard Teaching License	47
5-3.0	Provisional Professional Teaching License	
5-4.0	Accelerated Teaching Program Provisional and Standard License	
5-5.0	Master's Degree in Teaching Provisional and Standard License	
3-3.0	Waster's Degree in Teaching Provisional and Standard License	
	6 – Lifetime Teaching License	~ 4
6-1.0	Eligibility Requirements for Obtaining the Lifetime Teaching License	54
6-2.0	General Policies and Procedures Relating to the Lifetime Teaching License	
6-3.0	Employment of Lifetime Teaching License Holders	55
Chapter '	7 - Emergency and Effective Dates	57
Annendiv	A Areas and Levels of Licensure	58

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE

CHAPTER 1: TRADITIONAL LICENSURE

1-1.0 REGULATORY AUTHORITY AND PURPOSE

- 1-1.01 These Rules shall be known as Arkansas Department of Education Rules Governing Educator Licensure.
- 1-1.02 The State Board of Education enacts these Rules pursuant to its authority as set forth in Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-10-122, 6-10-123, 6-11-105, 6-15-1004, 6-15-1703, 6-17-401 et seq., 6-17-2601 et seq., 6-20-2204, 6-20-2305, 6-41-609, 6-61-133, 25-15-201 et seq.
- 1-1.03 The purposes of these Rules are to:
 - 1-1.03.1 Establish requirements and procedures for the issuance, licensure, relicensure, and continuance of licensure of educators in the public schools of this state, as required by Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-402;
 - 1-1.03.2 Provide for the acceptance of educator licenses by reciprocity, as required by Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-403;
 - 1-1.03.3 Implement as a prerequisite to licensure the requirement of basic-skills, pedagogical, and content-area assessments, as required by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-17-402, 6-17-601, & 6-15-1004;
 - 1-1.03.4 Implement as a prerequisite to licensure the requirement of college-level coursework in Arkansas History for certain educators, as required by Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-418;
 - 1-1.03.5 Provide for the issuance of provisional licenses, as required by Ark. Code Ann. §§ 6-17-403 & 6-17-418;
 - 1-1.03.6 Provide for the issuance of provisional and standard licenses through nontraditional programs, under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-409; and
 - 1-1.03.7 Provide for a Lifetime Teaching License, under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-2601 *et seq*.
- 1-1.04 These Rules implement Arkansas law requiring that school districts provide ten (10) professional development days in the basic contract for teachers under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-2402;

- 1-1.04.1 It is noted here that higher education shall include within educator preparation programs curriculum that addresses requirements established by Arkansas statutes governing preparation for educator licensure, including without limitation, instruction in:
 - 1-1.04.1.1 Child maltreatment, under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-61-133; and
 - 1-1.04.1.2 Information on the identification of students at risk for dyslexia and related disorders, under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-41-609.
- 1-1.05 In addition to the pathways to licensure contained in these Rules, the Arkansas Department of Career Education Program Policies and Procedures for Career and Technical Education provide other pathways to licensure for individuals who meet that Department's requirements and who:
 - 1-1.05.1 Hold a bachelor's or higher degree in the career or technical area to be taught; or
 - 1-1.05.2 Document a minimum of four (4) years of experience in the career or technical area to be taught, and hold a high school diploma or GED credential.

1-2.0 DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of these Rules:

- 1-2.01 "Accelerated Teaching Program" means a program intended for college graduates that provides intensive training and support for a period of two (2) or more years for teaching and leading in schools, including the Teach for America program, the Arkansas Teacher Corps program offered by the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, or another accelerated teaching program approved by the Department.
- 1-2.02 "Accredited College or University" means an institution of higher education that is regionally or nationally accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.
- 1-2.03 "Accredited Guidance and School Counseling Program" means a guidance and school counseling program that is offered by an accredited college or university, and the program is accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), or approved by the licensing authority of a state government.

- 1-2.04 "Accredited Speech-Language Pathology or School Psychology Program" means a speech-language pathology or school psychology program that is offered by an accredited college or university, and the program is:
 - 1-2.04.1 Nationally accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; or
 - 1-2.04.2 Nationally accredited in school psychology by the Commission on Accreditation of the American Psychological Association; or
 - 1-2.04.3 Approved by the National Association of School Psychologists; or
 - 1-2.04.4 Nationally accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.
- 1-2.05 "Accredited Educator Preparation Program" means an educator preparation program that is:
 - 1-2.05.1 Accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP); or
 - 1-2.05.2 Accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation; or
 - 1-2.05.3 Approved by the licensing authority of a state government.
- 1-2.06 "Additional Licensure Plan (ALP)" means a plan approved by the Office of Educator Licensure that allows an individual holding a Standard License or Provisional License (by reciprocity only) to accept employment or assignment in an out-of-area position, prior to completion of the requirements for the required endorsement, licensure content area, or level of licensure, for no more than three (3) years dependent on successful progress towards completion.
- 1-2.07 "Administrator License" means a five (5)-year renewable license, issued by the State Board, which allows the license holder to serve as an administrator in Arkansas public schools. Administrator licenses include:
 - 1-2.07.1 "Curriculum/Program Administrator" a school leader who is responsible for program development and administration, and who may be responsible for employment evaluation decisions, in one (1) of the following areas:
 - 1-2.07.1.1 Special Education;

- 1-2.07.1.2 Gifted and Talented Education:
- 1-2.07.1.3 Career and Technical Education;
- 1-2.07.1.4 Content Area Specialist, in a licensure content area;
- 1-2.07.1.5 Curriculum Specialist; or
- 1-2.07.1.6 Adult Education;
- 1-2.07.2 "Building-Level Administrator" a principal, assistant principal, or vice principal in an Arkansas public school or in the Arkansas Correctional Schools;
- 1-2.07.3 "District-Level Administrator" a superintendent, assistant/associate superintendent, or deputy superintendent.
- 1-2.08 "Administrator Licensure Completion Plan (ALCP)" means a plan approved by the Office of Educator Licensure that allows an individual holding a Standard License to accept employment as an administrator, prior to completion of the requirements for an Administrator License, for no more than three (3) years dependent on successful progress towards completion.
- 1-2.09 "Affected District" means a public school district that loses territory or students as a result of annexation, consolidation, or detachment.
- 1-2.10 "Ancillary License" means a five (5)-year renewable license, issued by the State Board, that does not require prior classroom teaching experience, and which allows the license holder to practice in Arkansas public schools as a School Psychology Specialist or Speech Language Pathologist.
- 1-2.11 "Approved Professional Development" means the continuing learning experiences for educator that meet the standards and focus areas under the Department's Rules Governing Professional Development.
- 1-2.12 "ArkansasIDEAS" means Internet Delivered Education for Arkansas Schools, a partnership between the ADE and the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) to provide through the AETN access to high-quality, online professional development for Arkansas licensed educators.
- 1-2.13 "Arkansas Professional Pathway to Educator Licensure Program (APPEL)" means the program administered by the Department, whose participants hold a minimum of a baccalaureate degree (and have passed the appropriate statemandated assessments) and are allowed to teach in an Arkansas public school with a Provisional Teaching License. The program requirements consist of two (2) years of teaching and instructional modules, which must be completed within three (3) years.

- 1-2.14 "Breach of Fiduciary Trust" means the wrongful misappropriation by a person of any fund or property, which had lawfully been committed to him or her in a fiduciary character.
- 1-2.15 "Certified Mentor" means a person who:
 - 1-2.15.1 Holds a current Arkansas teaching or administrator's license, unless the person is employed where the law does not require a license or the legal requirement for a teaching license is waived in the charter of a charter school; and
 - 1-2.15.2 Is certified by the Department's Office of Educator Effectiveness as trained in the state-adopted mentoring model.
- 1-2.16 "Charter School" includes an open-enrollment public charter school, limited enrollment public charter school, conversion public charter school, or other type of public charter school authorized under Arkansas law.
- 1-2.17 "Department" means the Arkansas Department of Education.
- 1-2.18 "Educational Entity" means a school district, a charter school, or an education service cooperative.
- 1-2.19 "Educational Setting" for purposes of a Lifetime Teaching License, means the employment setting where the licensed employee works, including without limitation: public school, private school, institution of higher education, education service cooperative, Department, adult education setting or other agency/organization that employs licensed teachers for educational purposes.
- 1-2.20 "Educator" means any individual holding a license issued by the State Board, specifically including, without limitation, teachers, administrators, library media specialists, and counselors.
- 1-2.21 "Endorsement" means any licensure area or licensure level that may be added only to an existing Standard License.
- 1-2.22 "Good Standing" means, for the purpose of reciprocity, that:
 - 1-2.22.1 There are no ethics proceedings or proceedings on criminal offenses for which the license would be subject to sanctions in Arkansas pending against a licensee;
 - 1-2.22.2 The licensee has not been sanctioned for an ethics violation or criminal offense for which the license would be subject to sanction in Arkansas during the two (2) most recent years of teaching experience, if any; and

- 1-2.22.3 The license has not been revoked by or is not currently under suspension in the licensing state or country based on an offense for which the license would be subject to sanction in Arkansas.
- 1-2.23 "Highly-Qualified Teacher" means a teacher who is highly qualified as defined by the Department's Rules Governing Highly Qualified Teachers Promulgated Pursuant to the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.
- 1-2.24 "Internship" means a practical administrative or curricular experience within a program of study, which provides the candidate with practice in the specific licensure content area, or in the specific administrative area and level sought.
- 1-2.25 "LEADS" is the acronym for the Leadership Excellence and Development System.
- 1-2.26 "Level of Licensure" or "Licensure Level" means the grade/age level parameter of the teaching license as identified in Appendix A, Areas and Levels of Licensure.
- 1-2.27 "Licensure Content Area" means a particular content field as recognized by the State Board. Licensure content areas are listed in Appendix A, Areas and Levels of Licensure.
- 1-2.28 "Lifetime Teaching License" means a standard Arkansas teaching license that is issued without the teacher having to meet the general renewal requirements of professional development and teaching experience. There is no fee for the Lifetime Teaching License.
- 1-2.29 "Mentoring" means the acts of a certified mentor providing support and focused feedback to a novice teacher (according to the state-adopted mentoring model) with the goal of enhancing instructional skills, classroom management, and professional behavior.
- 1-2.30 "Nontraditional Licensure Program" means an alternative licensure program under these rules, including the Arkansas Professional Pathway to Educator Licensure program, the Professional Provisional Teaching License, the Accelerated Teaching Program Provisional and Standard Teaching License, and the Master's Degree in Teaching Provisional and Standard Teaching License.
- 1-2.31 "Novice Teacher" means a licensed teacher employed under an employment contract with a public school, charter school, or school district who has less than one (1) year of public school classroom teaching experience, not including student internship or substitute teaching.

- 1-2.32 "Out-of-Area Position" means a licensed position requiring a particular license, endorsement, licensure content area, or level of licensure that the employee filling the position does not currently hold.
- 1-2.33 "Passing Score" for a state-mandated basic-skills, pedagogical, or content-area assessment means the cut score on the assessment approved by the State Board.
 - 1-2.33.1 A passing score on a basic-skills, pedagogical, or content-area assessment approved by the State Board before the currently approved version of an assessment will be accepted for three (3) years after the date the State Board discontinued or replaced the assessment provided the passing score was achieved before the date the assessment was discontinued or replaced.
 - 1-2.34.2 In lieu of the state-approved basic skills assessment, an applicant may substitute:
 - 1-2.34.2.1 A minimum composite score of 24 on the ACT with scores of at least 22 in each of the Reading,
 Mathematics, and either a 22 on the English/Writing section or a passing score on the Praxis Core Writing Section; or
 - 1-2.34.2.4 A minimum SAT composite score of 1650 in combined Math and Critical Reading, and Writing, with a minimum score of 510 in each of the Math, Critical Reading, and Writing sections.
- 1-2.35 "Preservice Teacher" means an unlicensed person admitted to an educator preparation program approved by the Department that is offered by an institution of higher education in this state.
- 1-2.36 "Private Credential Evaluation Agency" means an independent agency approved by the Department that:
 - 1-2.36.1 Is located in the United States; and
 - 1-2.36.2 Provides an educational background assessment that:
 - 1-2.36.2.1 Contains a course-by-course evaluation of the applicant's transcript;
 - 1-2.36.2.2 Indicates the applicant's major area of study and documents the candidate's cumulative grade point average;

- 1-2.36.2.3 Documents whether the applicant's out-of-country degree is equivalent to one that would have been completed at an accredited college or university in the United States;
- 1-2.36.2.4 Documents whether the out-of-country professional preparation program is equivalent to one that would have been completed at an accredited teacher educator preparation program or accredited speech-language pathology or school psychology program;
- 1-2.36.2.5 Indicates the areas of licensure represented by the out-of-country license; and
- 1-2.36.2.6 Documents which areas of licensure on the out-of-country license are equivalent to the areas of licensure approved by the State Board.
- 1-2.37 "Professional Development" means a coordinated set of planned, learning development activities for teachers that are based on research, are standards-based and that meet the focus areas for professional development required by the Department.
- 1-2.38 "Program of Study" means a curriculum that requires a candidate to demonstrate and document competency in the specific knowledge, skills, and dispositions for a particular endorsement to an educator's license, a licensure content area, or level of licensure, and is:
 - 1-2.38.1 Provided by one (1) or more accredited colleges or universities;
 - 1-2.38.2 Aligned with Arkansas Teaching Standards and the appropriate content knowledge and pedagogical competencies for the respective licensure areas: and
 - 1-2.38.3 Approved by the Department.
- 1-2.39 "Provisional License" means a temporary non-renewable license issued by the State Board that allows the license holder to teach or work in Arkansas public schools.
 - 1-2.39.1 In the nontraditional licensure context, a provisional license:
 - 1-2.39.1.1 Is available to nontraditional licensure candidates who have not completed all requirements for a Standard Arkansas teaching license; and

- 1-2.39.1.2 Is subject to revocation for failure to complete annual requirements for the applicable nontraditional licensure program.
- 1-2.40 "Provisional Professional Teaching License" means a three-year provisional license issued to an experienced professional for the purpose of teaching on a part-time or full-time basis as teacher-of-record in an Arkansas public school.
- 1-2.41 "Receiving or Resulting Public School District" means a public school district that is created or gains territory or students as the result of a consolidation, annexation, or detachment.
- 1-2.42 "Reciprocity" means the recognition of a teaching license from another state or country based on these Rules or the terms of the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) Interstate Agreement for Educator Licensure.
- 1-2.43 "School Psychology Specialist" means an individual holding an Ancillary License in School Psychology.
- 1-2.44 "Speech Language Pathologist" means an individual holding an Ancillary License in Speech Pathology.
- 1-2.45 "Standard License" means a five-year renewable license, issued by the State Board, which allows the license holder to perform professional education services for the licensure content area and licensure level specified on the license.
- 1-2.46 "Standard License Equivalent" means a current, unrestricted, non-probationary, non-provisional teaching license that allows an individual to work as a teacher, administrator, counselor, or library media specialist in another state's public schools and is in good standing with the licensing state.
- 1-2.47 "State Board" means the Arkansas State Board of Education.
- 1-2.48 "Successful Completion":
 - 1-2.48.1 In relation to post-secondary credit-hours taken to add an endorsement or administrator licensure to a license, means:
 - 1-2.48.1.1 Maintaining a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 2.7 for undergraduate-level coursework; and
 - 1-2.48.1.2 Maintaining a minimum grade-point average (GPA) of 3.00 for graduate-level coursework; and

- 1-2.48.2 In relation to background checks, means that the individual cleared both the state and federal criminal history checks and cleared the Child Maltreatment Central Registry check as provided under the ADE Rules Governing Background Checks.
- 1-2.49 "Teacher of Record" means an individual (or individuals in co-teaching assignments) who has been assigned the lead responsibility for a student's learning in a subject/course with aligned performance measures.
- 1-2.50 "Teaching Experience," for the purpose of a Lifetime Teaching License, means the experience gained while working in an educational setting as a teacher, librarian, counselor, administrator, educational consultant, substitute teacher or other licensed position.
- 1-2.51 "TESS" means the Teacher Excellence and Support System.
- 1-2.52 "Waiver", for purposes of Chapter 4 General Provisions for all Licenses, means an approval granted by the Department allowing a public school district or charter school to employ:
 - 1-2.52.1 A licensed individual in an out-of-area position for more than thirty (30) days during one (1) school year; or
 - 1-2.52.2 An unlicensed or non-degreed substitute teacher in an out-of-area position for more than thirty (30) consecutive days during one (1) semester.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE

CHAPTER 2: TRADITIONAL LICENSURE

2-1.0 STANDARD LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Standard License – Traditional (Expired or No Previous License)

- **2-1.01** The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a Standard License upon receipt of the following from an applicant who does not hold a current, valid educator license from Arkansas or another state or country:
 - 2-1.01.1 A completed application for licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 2-1.01.2 Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed all background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks.
 - 2-1.01.2.1 A preservice teacher who is disqualified from licensure or employment in a public school as a result of the background checks required under Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-410(c) may apply for a waiver of the disqualification under the Rules Governing Background Checks;
 - 2-1.01.3 An official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate basic-skills, pedagogical, and contentarea assessments as mandated by the State Board, except as noted in Section 1-2.36 of these rules:
 - 2-1.01.4 An official transcript from an accredited college or university documenting an awarded bachelor's degree or higher;
 - 2-1.0.14.1 An applicant whose post-secondary degree is from a non-accredited college or university outside of the United States, shall have his or her credentials evaluated by a Department-approved private credential evaluation agency.
 - 2-1.01.5 Documentation of successful completion of an accredited educator preparation program.

- 2-1.01.5.1 An awarded education degree from an institution inside of Arkansas shall be recognized for licensure only if the institution's Licensure Officer signs and verifies the application for licensure;
- 2-1.01.5.2 An applicant who has never been licensed and whose most recent licensure content area degree or educator preparation program was completed more than ten (10) years before the date of application shall be required to complete a current program of study as determined by an accredited educator preparation program;
- 2-1.01.6 For an applicant seeking licensure in Early Childhood (P-4), Elementary Education (K-6), Middle Childhood (4-8), or Secondary Social Studies (7-12), documentation of the successful completion of three (3) college credit-hours in Arkansas History at an accredited college or university;
 - 2-1.01.6.1 The reference to Early Childhood (P-4) here applies only to an applicant who entered a P-4 teacher education program before Fall 2015.
- 2-1.01.7 If an applicant for first-time licensure or administrator licensure or for the addition of a licensure content area, endorsement, or level of licensure, was enrolled in a program of study prior to July 1, 2015, and meets all other requirements for licensure, the Office of Educator Licensure may reference and utilize the licensure content areas, endorsements, or levels of licensure that were recognized by the State Board immediately prior to the effective date of these Rules.
- 2-1.01.8 For an applicant holding an expired license from another state, a copy of the expired license.
 - 2-1.01.8.1 An applicant holding an expired license from another state is not required to document completion of the basic-skills assessment required under Section 2-1.01.3; and
- 2-1.01.9 Documentation of the completion of the following professional development, which may be obtained on ArkansasIDEAS the applicant's teacher education program, or other method of delivery approved by the Department under the Rules Governing Professional Development:
 - 2-1.01.9.1 Two (2) hours of parental involvement;
 - 2-1.01.9.2 Two (2) hours of child maltreatment training;

- 2-1.01.9.3 Two (2) hours of teen suicide awareness and prevention; and
- 2-1.01.9.4 Dyslexia awareness.

Standard License - Reciprocity

- 2-1.02 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a Standard License upon receipt of the following from an applicant holding a current, valid educator license from another state:
 - 2-1.02.1 A completed application for licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 2-1.02.2 Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed all background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks;
 - 2-1.02.3 A copy of the out-of-state license(s) held by the applicant;
 - 2-1.02.4 Certification from the state that issued the license that the license has been in good standing for the most recent two (2) years;
 - 2-1.02.5 An official score report: (a) reflecting passing scores on the appropriate basic-skills, pedagogical, and content-area assessments required by the licensing state; or (b) if the licensing state does not require such assessments, reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate basic-skills, pedagogical, and content-area assessments as mandated by the State Board, except as noted in Section 1-2.36 of these rules.
 - 2-1.02.5.1 This requirement shall be waived upon the receipt of documentation on school district, agency, or organization letterhead of at least three (3) years of experience in another state as a licensed teacher, administrator, library media specialist, or counselor, or similar licensed experience in a licensure content area or level of licensure;
 - 2-1.02.6 An official transcript documenting an awarded bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university;
 - 2-1.02.7 Documentation of one (1) of the following:

- 2-1.02.7.1 Successful completion of a program of teacher education at an accredited college or university, but only if the applicant possesses a Standard License Equivalent;
- 2-1.02.7.2 Successful completion of an accredited educator preparation program; or
- 2-1.02.7.3 Current certification from the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards; and
- 2-1.02.8 For applicants seeking licensure in Early Childhood (P-4), Elementary Education (K-6), Middle Childhood (4-8), or Secondary Social Studies (7-12), documentation of the successful completion of three (3) college credit-hours in Arkansas History at an accredited college or university or a 45-hour professional development piece in Arkansas History through ArkansasIDEAS; and
- 2-1.02.9 Documentation of the completion of the following professional development through the Arkansas IDEAS Portal:
 - 2-1.02.9.1 Two (2) hours of parental involvement;
 - 2-1.02.9.2 Two (2) hours of child maltreatment training;
 - 2-1.02.9.3 Two (2) hours of teen suicide awareness and prevention; and
 - 2-1.02.9.4 Dyslexia awareness.
- 2-1.04 The Department may recommend to the State Board that a person's Arkansas Standard License issued by reciprocity be revoked, suspended, or placed on probation if the out-of-state license is revoked, suspended, or placed on probation, as applicable, by the issuing state for any reason that a Standard License may be revoked, suspended, or placed on probation in Arkansas.

Provisional License – Traditional

- 2-1.05 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a non-renewable, one (1) year Provisional License to an applicant who:
 - 2-1.05.1 Submits a completed application for provisional licensure, with payment of any fees (if applicable) as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 2-1.05.2 Submits proof of employment with an Arkansas public school district, open-enrollment public charter school, or other agency or organization, in a position that requires an educator license; and

- 2-1.05.3 Meets all of the requirements of Sections 2-1.01 or 2-1.02 of these Rules except for:
 - 2-1.05.3.1 Successful completion of Arkansas History coursework required by Section 2-1.01.6; or
 - 2-1.05.3.3 Submission of an official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate pedagogical assessments as mandated by the State Board, as required by 2-1.01.3.
- 2-1.05.4 The Provisional License may be converted to a Standard License upon the submission of written verification of completion of the missing requirements within the one-year term of the Provisional License.

Provisional License – Reciprocity

- 2-1.06 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a non-renewable, one (1) year Provisional License to a licensee who holds a current or expired Standard License Equivalent, and who:
 - 2-1.06.1 Submits a completed application for provisional licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 2-1.06.2 Submits proof of employment with an Arkansas public school district, open-enrollment public charter school, or other agency or organization in a position that requires an educator license; and
 - 2-1.06.3 Meets all of the requirements of Sections 2-1.01 through 2-1.04 of these Rules except for:
 - 2-1.06.3.1 Verification of the professional development required by 2-1.01.8;
 - 2-1.06.3.2 For applicants seeking licensure in Early Childhood, Elementary (K-6), Middle Childhood (4-8), or Secondary Social Studies (7-12), documentation of the successful completion of three (3) college credit-hours in Arkansas History at an accredited college or university or a 45-hour professional development piece in Arkansas History through Arkansas IDEAS; or
 - 2-1.06.3.3 Submission of an official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate

pedagogical and content-area assessments as mandated by the State Board, as required by 2-1.02.5.

2-1.06.4 The Provisional License may be converted to a Standard License upon the submission of written verification of completion of the missing requirements within the one-year term of the Provisional License.

Provisional and Standard License - Out-of-Country Applicant

- 2-1.07 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a two-year Provisional License to an applicant who holds an out-of-country license or its equivalent and who:
 - 2-1.07.1 Submits a completed application for Provisional licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 2-1.07.2 Is not a United States citizen and provides evidence satisfactory to the Department that the applicant meets the criteria of an exception under U.S.C. § 1261 for the state to issue a professional license;
 - 2-1.07.3 Submits documentation of the successful completion of a Department-approved assessment of English-language skills;
 - 2-1.07.4 Submits an official college transcript evaluation from a private credential evaluation agency approved by the Department;
 - 2-1.07.5 Submits proof of employment with an Arkansas public school district, charter school, or other agency or organization in a position that requires an educator license;
 - 2-1.07.6 Submits verification of professional development as required by 2-1.01.9; and
 - 2-1.07.7 Meets all of the requirements of Sections 2-1.02 through 2-1.04 of these Rules, except for 2-1.02.5.
- 2-1.08 In the second year of the Provisional License, the applicant shall provide to the Department documentation of:
 - 2-1.08.1 For applicants seeking licensure in Early Childhood, Elementary (K-6), Middle Childhood (4-8), or Secondary Social Studies (7-12), documentation of the successful completion of three (3) college credit-hours in Arkansas History at an accredited college or university or a 45-hour professional development piece in Arkansas History through Arkansas IDEAS.

- 2-1.08.2 Submission of an official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate basic-skills, pedagogical and content-area assessments as mandated by the State Board, as required by 2-1.02.5.
- 2-1.09 During the two (2) years of provisional licensure, an out-of-country applicant shall participate in the mentoring required of novice teachers under the Department's Rules Governing Mentoring Programs.
- 2-1.10 The Department may rescind the Provisional License for the licensee's failure to meet any of the requirements for the Provisional License.
- 2-1.11 The Provisional License may be converted to a Standard License upon completion of all requirements in Sections 2-1.07 through 2-1.09.
 - 2-1.11.1 Licensure content areas, levels, and endorsements listed on an out-of-country license may be recognized for reciprocity in accordance with the credential evaluation required in Section 2-1.06.4 of these Rules. An applicant whose licensure content area, endorsement, or level is not recognized by Arkansas shall receive the licensure content area, endorsement, or level of licensure that most closely parallels their out-of-country licensure content area, endorsement, or level.
 - 2-1.11.2 An applicant whose licensure content area, endorsement, or level is not recognized by Arkansas shall receive the licensure content area, endorsement, or level of licensure that most closely parallels their out-of-state licensure area, endorsement, or level.
- 2-1.12 The Department may recommend to the State Board that a person's Arkansas Standard License issued to an out-of-country applicant be revoked, suspended, or placed on probation if the out-of-country license is revoked, suspended, or placed on probation, as applicable, by the issuing country for any reason that a Standard License may be revoked, suspended, or placed on probation in Arkansas.

2-2.0 ANCILLARY LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

- 2-2.01 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue an Ancillary License in Speech-Language Pathology or School Psychology upon receipt of the following from an applicant, whether or not the applicant is licensed in another state:
 - 2-2.01.1 A completed application for licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);

- 2-2.01.2 Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed all background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks;
- 2-2.01.3 An official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the specialty area assessment for Speech Pathology or School Psychology as mandated by the State Board; and
- 2-2.01.4 Documentation of one (1) of the following:
 - 2-2.01.4.1 An official transcript documenting an awarded bachelor's and master's or higher degree, from an accredited college or university, in Speech Language Pathology, and either:
 - 2-2.01.4.1.1 Successful completion of a graduate-level, accredited Speech-Language Pathology program, or a degree with equivalent competencies; or
 - 2-2.01.4.1.2 Certification of Clinical Competence in Speech-Language Pathology from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; or
 - 2-2.01.4.2 An official transcript documenting an awarded master's or higher degree, from an accredited college or university, in School Psychology, or Psychology, and successful completion of a graduate-level, accredited School Psychology program.
- 2-2.02 A licensure content area, endorsement, or level of licensure shall not be added to an Ancillary License and the applicant must first obtain a Standard License, except as follows:
 - 2-2.02.1 An individual holding an Ancillary License in Speech Language Pathology or School Psychology may add a Curriculum/Program Administrator License in Special Education by meeting the criteria of 3-2.0 of these Rules.

2-3.0 ADDING ENDORSEMENTS, AREAS, AND LEVELS OF LICENSURE

General Provisions

- 2-3.01 The Office of Educator Licensure shall add an endorsement, licensure content area, or level of license to a Standard License upon receipt of the following from an applicant:
 - 2-3.01.1 A completed application for addition of area or level, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 2-3.01.2 If an endorsement requires a program of study (see Appendix A):
 - 2-3.01.2.1 An official transcript documenting successful completion of a program of study at an accredited educator preparation program, to include an internship in the licensure content area to be taught; and
 - 2-3.01.2.2 An official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate licensure content area assessment as mandated by the State Board.
 - 2-3.01.3 When a licensure content area assessment is not approved or available for a specific licensure area, the Department may use a current Principles of Learning and Teaching exam.
 - 2-3.01.4 For applicants seeking an endorsement for Elementary Education (K-6), Middle Childhood (4-8), or Secondary Social Studies (7-12), documentation of the successful completion of three (3) college credit-hours in Arkansas History at an accredited college or university or a 45-hour professional development piece in Arkansas History through Arkansas IDEAS;
 - 2-3.01.5 For applicants seeking an endorsement for Birth to Kindergarten (B-K), Elementary Education (K-6), documentation of successful completion of six (6) hours of instruction in reading that includes at a minimum theories and strategies for teaching reading, diagnosis of reading difficulties, intervention strategies for struggling readers, and disciplinary literacy, and if disciplinary literacy was not embedded in the six (6) hours, documentation of successful completion of either a 3-hour course in disciplinary literacy or a 45-hour professional development piece in disciplinary literacy through ArkansasIDEAS; and

- 2-3.01.6 For applicants seeking an endorsement for Middle Childhood (4-8) documentation of successful completion of either a 3-hour course in disciplinary literacy or a 45-hour professional development piece in disciplinary literacy through ArkansasIDEAS.
- 2-3.02 An educator may not use an endorsement as a platform for testing out of other areas and levels of licensure.

Endorsement by testing out:

- 2-3.03 The licensure content areas that may be added as an endorsement to a license by testing out are identified on Appendix A.
- 2-3.04 To add a level endorsement by testing out, the level to be added must be no more than one level above or one level below that of the original licensure level or licensure content area (See Appendix A).

Endorsement by program of study:

- 2-3.05 The areas and levels of licensure that are not eligible for testing out and require a program of study are:
 - 2-3.05.1 Any licensure level that is more than one (1) level above or one (1) level below that of the licensure level or area on the license first issued to the licensee by the Department. (See Appendix A);
 - 2-3.05.2 As noted on Appendix A; and
 - 2-3.05.3 The addition of a Curriculum/Program Administrator endorsement to an Ancillary License, an adult education license issued by the Department, or a career-technical permit that was issued pursuant to regulations established by the Arkansas Department of Career Education. No other addition or endorsement may be made to an Ancillary License, an adult education license, or a career-technical permit. An applicant must first obtain a Standard License.
 - 2-3.05.4 An individual holding a Standard License first issued with a guidance and school counseling licensure area may add Building-Level Administrator by meeting the requirements of Section 3-1.0 of these rules.

Addition of Areas and Endorsements by Reciprocity

- 2-3.06 Except as otherwise provided herein, a Standard License issued by reciprocity shall be issued for and shall reflect only those licensure content areas, endorsements, and levels of licensure that are recognized by the State Board.
 - 2-3.06.1 Licensure content areas, levels, and endorsements listed on an out-of-state license shall be recognized for licensure through reciprocity, as follows:
 - 2-3.06.1.1 An applicant from a state with a reciprocity agreement through the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) shall receive the Arkansas-equivalent licensure content areas, endorsements, or levels of licensure provided all other licensure requirements have been met.
 - 2-3.06.1.2 An applicant whose licensure content area, endorsement, or level is not recognized by Arkansas shall receive the licensure content area, endorsement, or level of licensure that most closely parallels their out-of-state licensure area, endorsement, or level.
 - 2-3.06.2 For the purpose of reciprocity, the Office of Educator Licensure may reference and utilize any licensure content area, endorsement, or level of licensure that has ever been recognized by the State Board in the past, regardless of whether the area, endorsement, or level is current.
 - 2-3.06.3 Only the licensure content areas, levels, or endorsements specifically listed on an out-of-state license shall be recognized for licensure through reciprocity.
 - 2-3.06.4 All coursework and testing completed for the purpose of adding an additional licensure area or areas for reciprocity shall first be applied to the out-of-state license before adding the new area or areas by reciprocity.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE

CHAPTER 3: ADMINISTRATOR LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

3-1.0 Building-Level Administrator License

- 3-1.01 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a Building-Level Administrator endorsement to a Standard License upon receipt of the following from an applicant holding a current, Arkansas Standard License for a licensure content area, as a school counselor that was issued as a first-time licensure content area, or for a career and technical area as provided in these rules:
 - 3-1.01.1 A completed application for licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 3-1.01.2 Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed any background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks;
 - 3-1.01.3 An official transcript documenting an awarded master's or higher degree from an accredited college or university in education, educational leadership, or a licensure content area;
 - 3-1.01.3.1 An awarded degree from an institution inside of Arkansas shall be recognized for licensure only if the institution's Licensure Officer and Education Leadership Chair sign and verify the application for licensure;
 - 3-1.01.4 If the master's degree is not in Educational Leadership, an official transcript documenting successful completion of a Department-approved, graduate-level program of study reflective of the standards for building-level administrator licensure, to include an internship aligned with Arkansas Teaching Standards and competencies, with experiences at both the K-6 and 7-12 levels;
 - 3-1.01.4.1 An applicant who has never received an administrator license and whose program of study in Educational Leadership was completed more than ten (10) years before the date of application shall be required to meet all current licensure requirements as determined by either the Department or an accredited educational leadership program;

- 3-1.01.5 An official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate administrative licensure assessment as mandated by the State Board;
- 3-1.01.6 Documentation of at least four (4) years of P-12 experience as an educator who holds a valid standard license.
 - 3-1.01.6.1 One (1) year of experience is defined as a minimum of one hundred sixty (160) days of full-time work in a single school year, either:
 - 3-1.01.6.1.1 With a minimum of fifty percent (50%) of each day directly engaged in instruction with students in a classroom setting; or
 - 3-1.01.6.1.2 As a guidance and school counselor.
 - 3-1.01.6.2 For purposes of this Chapter 6, the term "standard license" does not include an ancillary license or technical permit.
 - 3-1.01.6.3 Up to two (2) years of the experience requirement may be satisfied by equivalent working experience, including without limitation employment with an education service cooperative or the Department.
 - 3-1.01.6.4 Teaching experience in a career and technical education area as recognized by the State Board may satisfy this requirement only if the educator has obtained a bachelor's degree or higher in:
 - 3-1.01.6.4.1 The career and technical education area taught by the educator; or
 - 3-1.01.6.4.2 Another licensure content area that is related to the career and technical education area taught by the educator; and
- 3-1.01.7 Documentation that the educator has successfully completed the training for administrators and evaluators on the implementation of the Teacher Excellence and Support System.
 - 3-1.01.7.1 A person who receives a Building-Level Administrator's license shall complete the certification assessment for the

training before or after receiving the Building-Level Administrator's license.

3-2.0 Curriculum/Program Administrator License

- 3-2.01 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a Curriculum/Program
 Administrator endorsement to a Standard License upon receipt of the following
 from an applicant holding a Standard License in the relevant area, or an Ancillary
 License in Speech Language Pathology or School Psychology:
 - 3-2.01.1 A completed application for licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 3-2.01.2 Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed any background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks;
 - 3-2.01.3 An official transcript documenting an awarded master's or higher degree from an accredited college or university in education, educational leadership, or a licensure content area, or in a Career and Technical Education area recognized by the Arkansas Department of Career Education;
 - 3-2.01.3.1 An awarded degree from an Arkansas institution shall be recognized for licensure only if the institution's Licensure Officer and Education Leadership Chair sign and verify the application for licensure;
 - 3-2.01.4 If the master's degree is not in Educational Leadership, an official transcript documenting successful completion of a graduate-level program of study reflective of the standards for curriculum/program administrator licensure, to include an internship;
 - 3-2.01.4.1 An applicant who has never received an administrator license and whose program of study for curriculum/program administrator licensure was completed more than ten (10) years before the date of application shall be required to meet all current licensure requirements as determined by either the Department or an accredited educational leadership program;
 - 3-2.01.5 An official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate administrative licensure assessment as mandated by the State Board;

- 3-2.01.6 Documentation of at least four (4) years of licensed experience in the relevant area as follows:
 - 3-2.01.6.1 Special Education Classroom teaching experience in special education, or experience in speech language pathology or school psychology, while employed by a public or private school under the terms of an approved teacher employment contract and not under a purchase-service contract;
 - 3-2.01.6.2 Gifted and Talented Education Classroom teaching experience in the area of gifted and talented education;
 - 3-2.01.6.3 Career and Technical Education Classroom teaching experience in one (1) or more career and technical education areas as recognized by the State Board, if the educator has obtained a bachelor's degree or higher in:
 - 3-2.01.6.3.1 The career and technical education area taught by the educator; or
 - 3-2.01.6.3.2 Another licensure content area that is related to the career and technical education area taught by the educator, as determined by the Department; and
 - 3-2.01.6.4 Content Area Specialist Classroom teaching experience in a licensure content area;
 - 3-2.01.6.5 Curriculum Specialist Experience as a school counselor, library media specialist, or classroom teacher in any licensure content area or level of licensure; or
 - 3-2.01.6.6 Adult Education Classroom teaching experience in the area of adult education.
 - 3-2.01.6.7 One (1) year of experience is defined as a minimum of one hundred sixty (160) days of full-time work in a single school year, with a minimum of fifty percent (50%) of each day spent as a licensed classroom teacher, school counselor, or library media specialist.
 - 3-2.01.6.8 Up to two (2) years of the experience requirement may be satisfied by equivalent working experience, including without limitation employment with an education service cooperative or the Department.

3-3.0 District-Level Administrator License

- 3-3.01 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue a District-Level Administrator endorsement to a Standard License upon receipt of the following from an applicant holding a Building-Level or Curriculum/Program Administrator License:
 - 3-3.01.1 A completed application for licensure, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 3-3.01.2 Documentation that the applicant has applied for and successfully completed any background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks within the immediately preceding twelve (12) months;
 - 3-3.01.3 An official transcript documenting an awarded master's or higher degree from an accredited college or university in education, educational leadership, or a licensure content area;
 - 3-3.01.3.1 An awarded degree from an Arkansas institution shall be recognized for licensure only if the institution's Licensure Officer and Education Leadership Chair sign and verify the application for licensure;
 - 3-3.01.4 An official transcript documenting successful completion of a Department-approved, graduate-level program of study, above and beyond a master's degree, reflective of the standards for district-level administrator licensure, to include an internship;
 - 3-3.01.4.1 An applicant whose program of study for district-level administrator licensure was completed more than ten (10) years before the date of application shall be required to meet all current licensure requirements as determined by either the Department or an accredited educational leadership program;
 - 3-3.01.5 An official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the appropriate administrative licensure assessment as mandated by the State Board;
 - 3-3.01.6 Documentation of at least four (4) years of licensed experience as required by Section 3-1.01.6 or 3-2.01.6 above, or four (4) years of building-level administrator experience; and

- 3-3.01.7 Documentation of at least one (1) year of experience as a building-level or curriculum/program administrator.
 - 3-3.01.7.1 One (1) year of experience is defined as requiring a minimum of one hundred sixty (160) days of full-time work, in a single school year, with a minimum of fifty percent (50%) of each day spent as a building-level or curriculum/program administrator.
 - 3-3.01.7.2 This one-year experience requirement may be satisfied by experience with an education service cooperative or the Department, if the Department determines that the experience is substantially equivalent to building-level administration experience.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE

CHAPTER 4: GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR ALL LICENSES

4-1.0 LICENSE EFFECTIVE DATES

- 4-1.01 A Standard License, Ancillary License, or Technical Permit is a renewable license, valid for a period of five (5) years.
- 4-1.02 A first-time license is effective from the first date of issuance through December 31 of the fourth full calendar year following the year of the issue date.
 - 4-1.02.1 The first year of a first-time license issued after January 1 of the calendar year shall expire on December 31 even if the first year is not a full calendar year.
- 4-1.03 Addition of an endorsement, including an Administrator's License, licensure content area, or level of licensure to a license shall reflect the actual date of the addition and the same expiration date as the licensee's Standard License.
- 4-1.04 The renewal of a license, including all endorsements, licensure content areas, and levels of licensure for the license, is effective from January 1 of the year following the expiration date of the old license, or if the old license was expired for more than one (1) year, January 1 of the year renewed, and expires on December 31 of the year of renewal.
- 4-1.05 A Provisional License is effective on the date of issuance stated on the license and expires on the last day of the provisional license period.

4-2.0 LICENSE RENEWAL

4-2.01 Applications for license renewal may be submitted to the Office of Educator Licensure no earlier than January 1 of the year of expiration of the license.

Professional Development Requirements for License Renewal - Generally

- 4-2.02 Except as specifically provided in these Rules for Educator Licensure, no license issued by the State Board may be renewed unless the following requirements of this Section 4-2.0 are met.
 - 4-2.02.1 Every individual holding a license issued by the State Board shall document completion of the minimum hours of approved professional

- development required annually each school year under Section 4-2.03 of these Rules.
- 4-2.02.2 Professional development completion may be documented by:
 - 4-2.02.2.1 Submitting verification, by an authorized representative of the school, district, or organization employing the licensee, that the licensee has completed all professional development required during the term of the license; or
 - 4-2.02.2.2 Submitting proof of completion of professional development hours attended.
- 4-2.02.3 Professional development completion shall be waived for a teacher who is retired, as verified by the Arkansas Teacher Retirement System (ATRS).
- 4-2.02.4 A retired teacher who returns to licensed employment shall complete the professional development required for the year in which the person applies for license renewal and in each year thereafter while employed in a licensed position.

Minimum Annual Professional Development Requirements

- 4-2.03 Each educator shall obtain thirty-six (36) hours of professional development annually for renewal of an educator's license.
 - 4-2.03.1 Of the sixty (60) hours of professional development required by law or by contract annually for an educator employed with a school district, thirty-six (36) of those hours shall be credited toward renewal of the educator's license.
 - 4-2.03.2 The thirty-six (36) professional development hours under this section shall include, at a minimum:
 - 4-2.03.2.1 The professional development required in the educator's professional growth plan under the requirements of TESS or LEADS; and
 - 4-2.03.2.2 Professional development required by law or by rule.

Scheduled Professional Development

- 4-2.04 The professional development required under this Section 4-2.04 shall include content that is provided by:
 - 4-2.04.1 The Department, including ArkansasIDEAS;
 - 4-2.04.2 An institution of higher education; or
 - 4-2.04.3 A provider approved by the Department;
 - 4-2.04.4 An education service cooperative.
- 4-2.05 The two (2) hours in each area of professional development required under this Section 4-2.0 shall be counted in the school year in which the professional development is taken toward the minimum number of hours of professional development required for educators for that school year.
- 4-2.06 If an educator obtains additional hours above the minimum requirements of this Section 4-2.0, the educator may count those additional hours toward the total minimum hours of professional development required for educators for that school year.
- 4-2.07 As part of the minimum annual requirement under these Rules, a public school or school district shall make available to the appropriate educator, or an educator not employed by a public school or school district shall obtain, professional development on the following schedule:
 - 4-2.07.1 Child Maltreatment Mandated Reporter
 - 4-2.07.1.1 In the 2013-2014 school year and every fourth year thereafter, all educators shall obtain two (2) hours of professional development in:
 - (a) Recognizing the signs and symptoms of child maltreatment;
 - (b) The legal requirements of the Child Maltreatment Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 12-18-101 et seq., and the duties of mandated reporters under the Act;
 - (c) Methods for managing disclosures regarding child victims; and

- (d) Methods for connecting a victim of child maltreatment to appropriate in-school services and other agencies, programs, and services needed to provide the child with the emotional and educational support the child needs to continue to be successful in school.
- 4-2.07.1.2 The child maltreatment professional development required under this section shall be based on curriculum approved by the Arkansas Child Abuse/Rape/Domestic Violence Commission and may be obtained in-person or online.

4-2.07.2 Parent Involvement

- 4-2.07.2.1 In the 2014-2015 school year and every fourth school year thereafter, each educator shall be required to have two (2) hours of professional development designed to enhance understanding of effective parent involvement strategies.
- 4-2.07.2.2 In the 2014-2015 school year and every fourth school year thereafter, each administrator shall be required to have two (2) hours of professional development designed to enhance understanding of effective parent involvement strategies and the importance of administrative leadership in setting expectations and creating a climate conducive to parent participation.

4-2.07.3 Teen Suicide Awareness and Prevention

- 4-2.07.3.1 In the 2015-2016 school year and every fourth school year thereafter, all educators shall obtain two (2) hours of professional development in teen suicide awareness and prevention.
- 4-2.07.3.2 The required professional development under this section may be accomplished by self-review of suitable suicide prevention materials approved by the Department.

4-2.07.4 Arkansas History

4-2.07.4.1 In the 2016-2017 school year and every fourth school year thereafter, each educator who provides instruction in Arkansas history shall obtain two (2) hours of professional development in Arkansas history.

4-2.08 Professional Development Requirements for Specific Licensure Areas

4-2.08.1 Administrator

- 4-2.08.1.1 For each administrator, the annual professional development requirement shall include training in data disaggregation, instructional leadership, and fiscal management.
- 4-2.08.1.2 This training may include without limitation the Initial, Tier 1 (twelve (12) hours) and Tier 2 (four (4) hours) training required for superintendents and district designees by the Department's Rules Governing the Arkansas Financial Accounting and Reporting System and Annual Training Requirements.
- 4-2.08.1.3 An applicant for a building-level administrator license shall successfully complete the teacher evaluation professional development program.
 - 4-2.08.1.3.1 An educator who receives a building-level administrator's license shall complete the credentialing assessment for the teacher evaluation professional development program either before or after receiving the building-level administrator's license.

4-2.08.2 Athletic Coaches

At least once every three (3) years, each person employed as an athletic coach shall obtain training in recognition and management of the following events or conditions that may be encountered by a student during athletic training and physical activities:

- 4-2.08.2.1 A concussion, dehydration, or other health emergency;
- 4-2.08.2.2 An environmental issue that threatens the health or safety of students; and
- 4-2.08.2.3 A communicable disease.
- 4-2.08.2.4 The training may include a component on best practices for a coach to educate parents of students involved in athletics on sports safety.

4-2.08.3 Advanced Placement

Each hour of approved training received by educators related to teaching an Advanced Placement class for a subject covered by the College Board and Educational Testing Service shall count as professional development up to a maximum of thirty (30) hours annually.

4-2.08.4 Adult Education

Educators working solely part time in one of the following settings shall obtain thirty (30) hours of professional development annually for licensure.

- 4-2.08.4.1 Adult basic education;
- 4-2.08.4.2 General adult education;
- 4-2.08.4.3 English as a second language for adults; and
- 4-2.08.4.4 General Educational Development Test (GED®) examiners.

Renewal of Current / Recently Expired Licenses

- 4-2.09 The Office of Educator Licensure shall renew a Standard, Ancillary, or Administrator License that is current or has been expired for less than one (1) year, upon receipt of the following from a licensee:
 - 4-2.09.1 A completed application for renewal, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 4-2.09.2 Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed all background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks; and
 - 4-2.09.3 Documentation of professional development completion, as required by Section 4-2.0.
 - 4-2.09.3.1 An individual unable to document professional development completion may be eligible for a Provisional License by meeting the criteria of Section 2-1.05 of these Rules.

- 4-2.09.4 The Office of Educator Licensure may, in the last effective year of a license, automatically renew a Standard, Ancillary, or Administrator License, if:
 - 4-2.09.4.1 The licensee is employed, during the last effective year of the license, by an Arkansas public school district, charter school, education service cooperative, or the Department;
 - 4-2.09.4.2 The licensee or the licensee's employer pays any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C); and
 - 4-2.09.4.3 The Office of Educator Licensure is able to document from its records that the licensee has satisfied the background check and professional development requirements of Sections 4-2.02 through 4-2.07 and 4-2.09.2.

Renewal of Licenses Expired More Than One (1) Year

- 4-2.10 The Office of Educator Licensure shall renew a Standard, Ancillary, or Administrator License that has been expired for more than one (1) year, upon receipt of the following from a licensee:
 - 4-2.10.1 A completed application for renewal, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 4-2.10.2 Documentation that the applicant has successfully completed all background checks required by the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks; and
 - 4-2.10.3 Documentation of completion of sixty (60) or more hours of approved professional development.
 - 4-2.10.4 An individual required to take additional professional development may be eligible for a Provisional License by meeting the criteria of Section 2-1.05 of these Rules.

4-3.0 MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

- 4-3.01 A Standard or Ancillary License may reflect the highest earned degree awarded to the licensee in:
 - 4-3.01.1 Education, if the degree was awarded by an accredited teacher education program;

- 4-3.01.2 Educational Leadership, if the degree was awarded by an accredited college or university;
- 3-2.05.3 Speech-Language Pathology, if the degree was awarded by an accredited speech-language pathology program;
- 4-3.01.4 School Psychology, Psychology, or Counseling, if the degree was awarded by an accredited school psychology program; or
- 4-3.01.5 A licensure content area, if the degree was awarded by an accredited college or university.
- 4-3.02.4 Every individual holding a license issued by the State Board shall complete the child maltreatment recognition training required by Ark. Code Ann. § 6-61-133, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-709, and the Department's Rules Governing Professional Development.
- 4-3.03 An applicant who is not a U.S. citizen shall provide evidence satisfactory to the Department that the applicant meets the criteria of an exception under U.S.C. § 1261 for the state to issue a professional license.
- 4-3.04 The Office of Educator Licensure may issue a duplicate of a current license upon application of a current license holder, with payment of any applicable fees as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C).
- 4-3.05 All information and documentation submitted for an Arkansas teaching license must be accurate, authentic, and unaltered. Any license issued as a result of a violation of this Section 4-3.06 will be null and void.
- 4-3.06 The Office of Educator Licensure, as authorized by the State Board, reserves the right to amend or rescind any license that has been issued in error.
- 4-3.07 If an applicant for first-time licensure or administrator licensure or for the addition of a licensure content area, endorsement, or level of licensure, was enrolled in a program of study prior to July 1, 2015, and meets all other requirements for licensure, the Office of Educator Licensure may reference and utilize the licensure content areas, endorsements, or levels of licensure that were recognized by the State Board immediately prior to the effective date of these Rules.
- 4-3.08 Any license issued by the Department is subject to revocation by the State Board pursuant to the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks.

4-4.0 WAIVERS FOR PUBLIC SCHOOLS AND SCHOOL DISTRICTS

4-4.01 Contracted Positions (ALP/ALCP)

Except as specifically allowed by law or regulation, no person shall be employed by a public school in an out-of-area position for more than thirty (30) instructional days without a waiver issued to the school pursuant to this Section 4-4.0.

- 4-4.01.1 Schools shall aggressively seek to employ in licensed positions individuals who are licensed and highly qualified (when required) for the grade level and licensure content areas assigned.
- 4-4.01.2 When a school cannot employ a qualified individual licensed at the grade level or for the licensure content area being assigned, the school shall actively recruit a licensed individual who will work under an Administrator Licensure Plan (ALP) or Administrator Licensure Completion Plan (ALCP) towards becoming licensed and highly qualified (when required) for the grade level assigned or for the specific licensure content area assigned.
- 4-4.01.3 Notwithstanding the other provisions of this Section 4-4.0, if the State Board or the Commissioner of Education orders the suspension or removal of a superintendent or school board under authority granted under Title 6 of the Arkansas Code, the State Board or Commissioner may appoint, subject to state law and for no more than three (3) consecutive school years, one (1) or more individuals in out-of-area positions as district-level administrators for that public school district.
- 4-4.01.4 This section 4-4.01 shall not apply to:
 - 4-4.01.4.1 Non-degreed vocational-technical teachers; or
 - 4-4.01.4.2 Those persons approved by the Department to teach the grade level or subject matter of the class in the Department's distance learning program.

Additional Licensure Plan (ALP)

- 4-4.02 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue an ALP to an individual holding a Standard License and employed in an out-of-area position, upon the submission of a completed application for an ALP.
 - 4-4.02.1 An ALP is valid for a maximum of three (3) years and is not renewable.
 - 4-4.02.2 An ALP requiring a Department-approved program of study shall remain valid only so long as the applicant:

- 4-4.02.2.1 Successfully completes within the three (3) year period of the ALP any specialty-area assessment required to be designated as a highly-qualified teacher; and
- 4-4.02.2.2 Successfully completes a minimum of three (3) hours of program-of-study coursework in the first year of the ALP and a minimum of six (6) hours of Department-approved program-of-study coursework in both the second and third years.
- 4-4.03 An ALP requiring testing shall remain valid only so long as the applicant, by the end of each year of the ALP, either:
 - 4-4.03.1 Successfully completes the content-knowledge portion(s) of the required specialty-area assessment required to be designated as a highly-qualified teacher; or
 - 4-4.03.2 Successfully completes a minimum of three (3) hours of coursework in the licensure content area at an accredited college or university in the first year of the ALP and a minimum of six (6) hours of Department-approved program-of-study coursework in both the second and third years.
- 4-4.04 A school district may request an ALP for a person or a position one (1) time.
 - 4-4.04.1 If the person does not make the progress required under 4-4.02.2, he or she is not eligible for another ALP in the same licensure content area.
 - 4-4.04.2 If the person in the position for which the ALP was approved leaves the school district:
 - 4-4.04.2.1 The ALP may transfer with the person as long as the person is making the progress required under 4-4.02.2; and
 - 4-4.04.2.2 The school district may continue to use the ALP for the position until either the original expiration date of the ALP or the date the position is filled by an appropriately licensed individual.
- 4-4.05 Whether or not an ALP is issued, no person shall be employed by a public school in an out-of-area position for more than thirty (30) instructional days without a waiver issued pursuant to Section 4-4.0 of these Rules.

4-4.06 An individual holding a provisional license issued by reciprocity is eligible for an ALP subject to the remaining requirements of Sections 4-4.01 through 4-4.05.

Administrator Licensure Completion Plan (ALCP)

- 4-4.07 The Office of Educator Licensure shall issue an Administrator Licensure Completion Plan (ALCP) to an individual employed in an out-of-area position who:
 - 4-4.07.1 Submits a completed application for an ALCP;
 - 4-4.07.1.1 The application must be verified by the Educational Leadership Chair of the accredited college or university where the degree or program of study is offered;
 - 4-4.07.2 Submits proof of employment with an Arkansas public school district, charter school, or other agency or organization, in a position that requires an Administrator License;
 - 4-4.07.2.1 Employment must be verified by an authorized representative of the public school district, charter school, agency, or organization; and
 - 4-4.07.3 Meets all of the requirements of Section 3-1.01, 3-2.01, or 3-3.01 of these Rules except for:
 - 4-4.07.3.1 Successful completion of an awarded master's or higher degree as required by Section 3-1.01.3, 3-2.01.3, or 3-3.01.3;
 - 4-4.07.3.2 Successful completion of a graduate-level program of study as required by Section 3.1.01.4, 3-2.01.3, or 3-3.01.3; or
 - 4-4.07.3.3 Submission of an official score report reflecting passing scores on the appropriate administrative licensure assessment, as required by 3-1.01.5, 3-2.01.5, or 3-3.01.5.
 - 4-4.08.4 An ALCP is valid for a maximum of three (3) years, is not renewable, and shall remain valid so long as the applicant:
 - 4-4.08.4.1 Remains employed with an Arkansas public school district, charter school, or other agency or organization, in a position that requires an Administrator License;

- 4-4.08.4.2 Holds the degree required by Section 3-1.01.5, 3-2.01.5, or 3-3.01.5, or remains enrolled and actively participates in the appropriate degree program; and
- 4-4.08.4.3 Has completed, or remains enrolled and actively participates in the appropriate program of study required by Section 3.1.01.4, 3-2.01.4, or 3-3.01.4.
- 4-4.08.4.4 Active participation in a degree program or program of study means successful completion of a minimum of three (3) hours of graduate-level coursework in the first year of the ALCP, and a minimum of six (6) hours of graduate-level coursework in both the second and third years of the ALCP.
- 4-4.09.5 Whether or not an ALCP is issued, no person shall be employed by a public school in an out-of-area position for more than thirty (30) days without a waiver issued pursuant to Chapter 4, Section 4-4.0 of these Rules.

Waiver (ALP/ALCP)

- 4-4.10 The Office of Educator Licensure may grant a public school, agency, or organization a one-year waiver of the requirements of Sections 4-4.01 through 4-4.09 if it imposes an undue hardship in that a school is unable to timely fill a vacant position with a qualified individual licensed in the required licensure content area and level of licensure.
- 4-4.11 A request for waiver shall be submitted by the superintendent of the public school district or director of the charter school and shall include:
 - 4-4.11.1 A listing of all licensed employees employed by the school district or charter school, including for each licensed employee:
 - 4-4.11.1.1 Social Security number;
 - 4-4.11.1.2 Current licensure area(s);
 - 4-4.11.1.3 Whether the employee is currently employed in an out-of-area position, and if so, whether the position requires a highly-qualified teacher;
 - 4-4.11.1.4 Any prior completed Additional Licensure Plan(s) (ALP); and

- 4-4.11.1.5 All prior school years in which the employee was employed in an out-of-area position;
- 4-4.11.2 A justification for the waiver documenting the efforts of the district or charter school to find a fully licensed, highly qualified employee.

 Districts will not have to verify re-advertising for the second and third years for a position, as long as the individual holds a valid ALP or ALCP;
- 4-4.11.3 A written plan with timelines for completion of the ALP or ALCP requirements; and
- 4-4.11.4 If a waiver was granted for the same position in the prior school year, evidence that the ALP or ALCP plan timelines are being met in accordance with Sections 4-4.02, 4-4.03, or 4-4.08.
- 4-4.12 A school, district, agency, or organization shall annually apply for renewal of the waiver each additional year the employee is working under an approved ALP or ALCP. The one (1)-year waiver may be renewed two (2) times, for a maximum of three (3) years of waiver for the same position, so long as the ALP or ACLP issued to the employee remains valid and the employee meets the ALP or ALCP plan timelines.
- 4-4.13 The district superintendent or charter school director shall send written notice of the assignment of an employee to an out-of-area position to the parent or guardian of each student in the employee's classroom no later than thirty (30) school instructional days after the date of the assignment.
 - 4-4.13.1 Parental notice is not required for the out-of-area assignment of a counselor, library media specialist, or administrator.
- 4-4.14 The final decision regarding the granting of a waiver rests with the State Board.

Substitute Teachers

- **4-4.15** Since it is sometimes necessary to utilize the services of substitute personnel, public schools should select competent individuals who can be entrusted with the instructional responsibilities of the school. As much care should be given to the recruitment, selection, and utilization of those who will be used as substitutes as is given to licensed personnel.
 - 4-4.15.1 A person employed as a temporary substitute for a licensed teacher in a public school shall:
 - 4-4.15.1.1 Be a high school graduate; or

- 4-4.15.1.2 Holds a GED® test certificate.
- 4-4.15.2 No class of students in any public school shall be under the instruction of a substitute teacher for more than thirty (30) consecutive instructional days in the same class during a school year unless the substitute teacher instructing the class has:
 - 4-4.15.2.1 A bachelor's or higher degree awarded by an accredited college or university; or
 - 4-4.15.2.2 A current Standard Teaching License, Ancillary License, Provisional License, Administrator's License, or Lifetime Teaching License issued by the State of Arkansas.
- 4-4.15.3 A public school shall request a waiver for each semester, not to exceed two (2) consecutive semesters to employ a substitute teacher whenever a class of students will be receiving instructions from the substitute teacher for longer than thirty (30) consecutive instructional days unless the substitute is fully licensed in Arkansas for areas in which the substitute is employed.
- 4-4.15.4 A public school may not avoid a waiver request by:
 - 4-4.15.4.1 Relying on the license of another teacher or administrator in the building who is not the assigned substitute teacher and is not actively teaching the class;
 - 4-4.15.4.2 Terminating the services of a substitute teacher(s) prior to the thirty-first (31st) instructional day;
 - 4-4.15.4.3 Granting the substitute teacher one (1) or more days of personal or administrative leave; or
 - 4-4.15.4.4 Using any other method of circumventing the intent of the law or these rules.
- 4-4.15.5 The district superintendent or charter school director shall send written notice of the assignment of a substitute teacher to an out-of-area position to the parent or guardian of each student in the teacher's classroom no later than thirty (30) consecutive instructional days after the date of the assignment.
- 4-4.15.6 This Section 4-4.15 shall not apply to non-degreed vocational-technical teachers.

- 4-4.15.7 The superintendent of a public school district or director of a charter school may apply for a waiver from the State Board if the requirements set forth in this Section 4-4.15 impose an undue hardship on the school or district.
 - 4-4.15.7.1 A written application for waiver shall be submitted to the Department as soon as an undue hardship is determined by the superintendent or charter school director. The application letter shall include:
 - 4-4.15.7.1.1 A justification of need for the waiver;
 - 4-4.15.7.1.2 Documentation that a degreed or properlylicensed individual is not available to be employed;
 - 4-4.15.7.1.3 Instructional area that will be assigned to the substitute teacher, and
 - 4-4.02.8.1.4 The length of time the substitute will be employed.
 - 4-4.15.7.2 Waivers for use of a substitute teacher for longer than thirty (30) consecutive instructional days may be granted for only one (1) semester but may be renewed for a second (2nd) semester. Such waivers are to be submitted immediately once the substitute has been in the classroom for thirty-one (31) days.
 - 4-4.15.7.3 Applications for waivers shall be reviewed by the Department and presented to the State Board for its decision.
 - 4-4.15.7.4 The final decision regarding the granting of this waiver will rest with the State Board.
 - 4-4.15.7.5 Any school district or charter school granted this waiver will be reported in the Department's annual school district or school report card.

4-5.0 RENEWAL OF INITIAL OR PROVISIONAL LICENSES ISSUED UNDER OLD RULES

4-5.01 A licensee holding a current or expired "Initial Teaching License" issued by the State Board pursuant to the Department's Rules Governing Initial,

- Standard/Advanced Level and Provisional Teacher Licensure (eff. July 2010 or July 2007) may renew the license as a Standard License pursuant to Section 4-2.0 of these rules.
- 4-5.02 A licensee holding a current or expired "Initial Administrator License" issued by the State Board pursuant to the Department's Rules Governing Initial and Standard / Advanced Level Administrator and Administrator Arkansas Correctional School Licensure (eff. August 2003 or November 2010) may renew the license as a standard Administrator License under the applicable provisions of Chapter 3 of these rules.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE

CHAPTER 5: NONTRADITIONAL LICENSURE

5-1.0 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR NONTRADITIONAL LICENSURE

- 5-1.01 Unless specifically provided otherwise herein, each applicant for a provisional license issued under this Chapter 5 shall document the following:
 - 5-1.01.1 A completed application form for the applicable nontraditional licensure program, with payment of any fees (if applicable) as established by the State Board pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-422(h)(3)(C);
 - 5-1.01.2 Official transcript(s) documenting an awarded four-year college bachelor's degree or higher from an institution of higher education that is regionally or nationally accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.
 - 5-1.01.2.1 For out-of-country candidates, an official college transcript evaluation from a private credential evaluation agency;
 - 5-1.01.3 A minimum cumulative undergraduate or graduate grade point average (GPA) of 2.70 or a minimum GPA of 2.9 for the last 60 credit hours of coursework;
 - 5-1.01.4 An official score report reflecting passing scores, as approved by the State Board, on the state required basic skills assessment.
 - 5-1.01.4.1 An individual seeking entry into a post-baccalaureate program for first-time educator licensure may substitute passing scores, determined by the ADE from the Graduate Record Examination (GRE), the Law School Admission Test (LSAT), or the Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) in lieu of the state-approved basic skills assessment(s);
 - 5-1.01.5 An official score report evidencing passing scores on the state-required assessments for the licensure content area in which the applicant seeks to teach; and

- 5-1.01.6 Before a candidate may enter a public school classroom, the candidate shall apply for and successfully complete the required background checks by the Child Maltreatment Central Registry, Arkansas State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation as required by Ark. Code Ann.§ 6-17-410.
- 5-1.02 A Provisional Teaching License under this Chapter 5 is issued to a participant in one (1) license area (except as follows) based upon the areas and levels of teaching assignment approved by the State Board.
 - 5-1.02.1 A Middle Childhood 4-8 participant must be licensed in two (2) or more of the four (4) middle childhood licensure content areas of math, science, social studies, and language arts, and may have one (1) or more endorsements approved by the State Board.
 - 5-1.02.2 A Secondary participant may be issued a Provisional Teaching License in one (1) secondary licensure content area or in one (1) license content area with one (1) endorsement added.
 - 5-1.02.2.1 To be licensed in two (2) areas, a Secondary participant must have successfully completed all state-mandated content specific licensure assessments for both areas, and have a teaching assignment in both licensure areas.
 - 5-1.02.2.2 A Secondary participant with one (1) licensure area may add one (1) endorsement if the participant completes the required program of study, if applicable for the endorsement, successfully completes the state-mandated assessment for the endorsement, and has a teaching assignment in the endorsement area.
- 5-1.03 Unless specifically provided otherwise herein, each applicant for a Standard License issued under this Chapter 5 shall document the following:
 - 5-1.03.1 A completed application for licensure;
 - 51.03.2 Payment of the applicable licensure fee;
 - 5-1.03.3 An official score report evidencing passing scores on the state-required pedagogical assessment, basic-skills assessment, and content-area assessments for the licensure content area in which the applicant seeks to teach;
 - 5-1.03.4 For applicants seeking licensure in Middle Childhood (4-8), or Secondary Social Studies (7-12), document the successful completion of three (3) college credit hours in Arkansas History at an accredited

- college or university or a 45-hour professional development piece in Arkansas History through ArkansasIDEAS.
- 5-1.03.5 As required by the grade level or licensure content area for which the applicant seeks licensure, furnish evidence of successful completion of six (6) college credit-hours of instruction in reading that includes at a minimum theories and strategies for teaching reading, diagnosis of reading difficulties, intervention strategies for struggling readers, and disciplinary literacy, and either a 3-hour course in disciplinary literacy at an institution of higher education that is regionally or nationally accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (completed with a grade of "B" or better) or a 45-hour professional development piece in disciplinary literacy through ArkansasIDEAS.
- 5-1.03.6 Document the completion of the following professional development through the Arkansas IDEAS Portal:
 - 5-1.03.6.1 Two (2) hours of parental involvement;
 - 5-1.03.6.2 Two (2) hours of child maltreatment training;
 - 5-1.03.6.3 Two (2) hours of teen suicide awareness and prevention; and
 - 5-1.03.6.4 Dyslexia awareness.
- 5-1.04 An individual who holds a provisional license under this Chapter 5 must participate in mentoring as required for novice teachers under the Department's Rules Governing Mentoring Programs or a substantial equivalent offered by the accelerated teaching program and approved by the Department.
- 5-1.05 An applicant who is not a U.S. citizen shall provide evidence satisfactory to the Department that the applicant meets the criteria of an exception under U.S.C. § 1261 for the state to issue a professional license.

5-2.0 ARKANSAS PROFESSIONAL PATHWAY TO EDUCATOR LICENSURE (APPEL)

- 5-2.01 The following is required for admission to the APPEL program:
 - 5-2.01.1 Candidates for the APPEL program may be exempt from the standard minimum GPA requirement if all the following conditions are met:
 - 5-2.01.1.1 Have at least fifteen (15) years of experience in the field related to the teaching/licensure subject area.

- 5-2.01.1.2 Demonstrate a minimum of a 2.25 cumulative undergraduate or graduate grade point average.
- 5-2.01.1.3 Submit one (1) letter of justification from the applicant expressing the relevance of the applicants' credentials to teach the subject in question.
- 5-2.01.1.4 Have two (2) professional letters of recommendation submitted by references to the Office of Educator Effectiveness; and
- 5-2.01.1.5 Complete the regular APPEL program application process.
- 5-2.02 In addition to meeting the requirements of Section 5-1.0, to obtain a Provisional Teaching License through APPEL a candidate must:
 - 5-2.02.1 Be admitted into the APPEL program;
 - 5-2.02.2 Be assigned to an APPEL program satellite site for instructional modules and successfully complete all required APPEL program instructional modules, including the summer instructional modules.
 - 5-2.02.2.1 To maintain the Provisional Teaching License, the candidate must continue and successfully complete the school year instructional modules;
 - 5-2.02.3 Document employment as a teacher-of-record, teaching a minimum of three (3) hours per day in the appropriate licensure area(s), with a certified mentor approved by the Department in an Arkansas public school, private school (as set forth in Section 5-2.02.3.3), charter school, or education service cooperative during the provisional licensure period.
 - 5-2.02.3.1 If appropriate employment is not secured by October 1 of the year of admission into the APPEL program, the candidate shall be maintained on "hold" (one year only), until the following year.
 - 5-2.02.3.2 A candidate on "hold" shall not be issued a license and shall be required to teach the following year. (The candidate shall still be required to complete two (2) years of teaching within a three-year period.)
 - 5-2.02.3.3 A candidate may be employed in a private school setting where Common Core and other content standards adopted

by the State Board are taught and faculty are subject to an evaluation system that uses a framework substantially similar to TESS.

- 5-2.03 If the appropriate state-mandated pedagogical assessment is not successfully completed within the APPEL program period, the Provisional Teaching License will be revoked. The participant will be allowed to attend Department-scheduled remedial sessions for one (1) year, during which time the participant may attempt to pass the assessment and, if successful, will be issued a Standard Teaching License.
 - 5-2.03.1 If the pedagogical assessment is not successfully completed within the remedial year as provided under Section 5-2.03, the participant will be administratively withdrawn from the program.
- 5-2.04 An applicant for a Provisional Teaching Licensure under APPEL shall adhere to and abide by all the policies and procedures as outlined in the published APPEL Program Handbook for the year of admission.
- 5-2.05 A Provisional Teaching License is issued to an APPEL program participant at the beginning of the first year of participation in the program for:
 - 5-2.05.1 One (1) year if the participant is in a one-year program; and
 - 5-2.05.2 Two (2) years if the participant is in a two-year program.
- 5-2.06 An APPEL participant may not file an ALP or teach in an out-of-licensure area while enrolled in the APPEL program.
- 5-2.07 There are two (2) tracks in the APPEL program: a one-year program or a two-year program.
 - 5-2.07.1 Candidates with a four-year degree who have completed a program of study in the field of Education (all coursework with the exception of Student Teaching) may be eligible to complete a one-year program if their degree was awarded within five (5) years of the date of application.
 - 5-2.07.2 Candidates with a four-year degree, who have not completed a program of study in the field of Education, or those whose Education degree was awarded more than five (5) years before the date of application, must complete a two-year program.
- 5-2.08 In addition to meeting the requirements of Section 5-1.03, to obtain a Standard Teaching License, an APPEL participant shall successfully complete the APPEL program.

- 5-2.09 Annual enrollment in the APPEL program may be limited by:
 - 5-2.09.1 Licensure requirements.
 - 5-2.09.2 Licensure area and level of candidates (shortage areas may be given preference).
 - 5-2.09.3 Program capacity (in which case applications will not be accepted after capacity is reached).

5-3.0 PROVISIONAL PROFESSIONAL TEACHING LICENSE

- 5-3.01 A Provisional Professional Teaching License (PPTL) is:
 - 5-3.01.1 A nonrenewable three-year provisional license issued to an experienced professional for the purpose of teaching on a part-time or full-time basis as teacher-of-record in an Arkansas public school; and
 - 5-3.01.2 Issued for one (1) or more licensure content areas.
- 5-3.02 In addition to meeting the requirements of Sections 5-1.01 and 5-1.02, to obtain a Provisional Professional Teaching License a candidate must:
 - 5-3.02.1 Have a minimum of three (3) years of working experience in the licensure content area of the class to be taught.
 - 5-3.02.2 Be offered employment to teach classes for credit in an Arkansas public school.
 - 5-3.02.3 Submit one (1) letter of justification from the applicant expressing the relevance of the applicant's credentials to teach the subject in question.
 - 5-3.02.4 Have two (2) professional letters of recommendation submitted by references to the Office of Educator Licensure.
- 5-3.03 An individual who receives a three-year Provisional Professional Teaching License shall complete, in the first year of provisional licensure, twenty-four (24) hours of training in pedagogy as determined by the Department.
 - 5-3.03.1 The twenty-four (24) hours of training in pedagogy are in addition to and not considered a part of the annual professional development required for a Standard Teaching License.

- 5-3.04 In addition to meeting the requirements of Section 5-1.03, to obtain a Standard Teaching License, an individual holding a Provisional Professional Teaching License must:
 - 5-3.04.1 Undergo a summative evaluation at the end of three (3) years of provisional licensure.
 - 5-2.04.1.1 The applicant must have been identified by the employing school district as proficient or above on the summative evaluation; and
 - 5-3.04.3 Provide a recommendation from the superintendent of the employing school district for full licensure.

5-4.0 ACCELERATED TEACHING PROGRAM

- 5-4.01 An Accelerated Teaching Program Provisional License is a nonrenewable provisional teaching license valid for the term of the accelerated teaching program issued to a participant in an accelerated teaching program who meets the following criteria:
 - 5-4.01.1 Is a participant in an accelerated teaching program; and
 - 5-4.01.2 Is teaching in an Arkansas public school.
- 5-4.02 In addition to meeting the requirements of Section 5-1.0, to obtain a Standard Teaching License, an individual who has completed an accelerated teaching program must furnish evidence of successful completion of the accelerated teaching program.
- 5-4.03 If Arkansas History is required, an applicant who meets all requirements of Section 5-4.03 except completion of the Arkansas History requirement and who has not previously held an Accelerated Teaching Program Provisional License may complete the Arkansas History requirement under a one-year nonrenewable Provisional Teaching License. If the Arkansas History requirement is completed during the one-year provisional licensure period, the applicant may be issued a Standard Teaching License.

5-5.0 MASTER'S DEGREE IN TEACHING PROVISIONAL AND STANDARD LICENSURE

- 5-5.01 In addition to meeting the requirements of Sections 5-1.01 and 5-1.02, an individual enrolled in a master's degree in teaching program (MAT, M.Ed., or MTLL) may obtain a Provisional Teaching License if the individual:
 - 5-5.01.1 Submits evidence of enrollment in a master's degree in teaching program that:
 - 5-5.01.1.1 Is from an institution of higher education that is regionally or nationally accredited by an accrediting organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation;
 - 5-5.01.1.2 Either has attained recognition from its affiliated Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)

 Specialized Professional Association (SPA), is accredited by a CAEP recognized organization associated with the field of study, or is recommended for approval based upon results of a CAEP or state review of the program; and
 - 5-5.01.1.3 Is approved by the Department under the *ADE Policies*Governing Programs for Educator Licensure Offered By
 Institutions of Higher Education in Arkansas;
 - 5-5.01.2 Maintains a cumulative grade point average in the master's degree in teaching program of no less than 3.0 (4.0 scale);
 - 5-5.01.3 Documents employment as a teacher-of-record, teaching a minimum of three (3) hours per day in the appropriate licensure area(s).
- 5-5.03 In addition to meeting the requirements of Section 5-1.03, to obtain a Standard Teaching License under these Rules, an individual holding a master's degree in teaching (MAT, M.Ed., or MTLL) must submit official transcript(s) documenting an awarded master's degree in teaching from an accredited institution of higher education.
- 5-5.04 For an applicant who was not employed as a teacher-of-record and did not hold a Master's Degree in Teaching Provisional License under this section, a one-year, non-renewable provisional teaching license shall be available for an applicant who holds a Master's Degree in Teaching if the applicant has completed all other requirements under Section 5-5.03 but has not successfully completed:

- 5-5.04.1 The Arkansas History requirement under 5-1.03.4 if required; or
- 5-4.04.2 The instruction in reading and disciplinary literacy required under Section 5-1.03.5.
- 5-5.05 An individual receiving a Standard Teaching License under this Section 5-5.0 who was employed in a private school but not mentored under these rules while in a Master's Degree in Teaching program shall upon employment in a public school participate in mentoring as required for novice teachers under the Department's Rules Governing Mentoring Programs, unless the individual has completed mentoring or a substantial equivalent in an in-state private school or border-state private or public school settings where Common Core and other content standards adopted by the State Board are taught and faculty are subject to an evaluation system that uses a framework substantially similar to Arkansas' TESS.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE CHAPTER 6: LIFETIME TEACHING LICENSE

6-1.0 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING THE LIFETIME TEACHING LICENSE

- 6-1.01 Applicants for the Standard Lifetime shall meet the following eligibility requirements:
 - 6-1.01.1 Hold a current, or expired standard Arkansas teaching license;
 - 6-1.01.2 Be at least (62) years of age; and
 - 6-1.01.3 Either:
 - 6-1.01.3.1 Have worked in an educational setting while maintaining an Arkansas teaching license, or
 - 6-1.01.3.2 Have made significant contributions to education, educational research, or the profession of teaching through scholarly endeavors, teaching experience, excellence in teaching, or educational innovation;
- 6-1.02 Applicants shall apply for and successfully complete the criminal background checks and Child Maltreatment Central Registry check required under the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks upon application for the Lifetime Teaching License.
 - 6-1.02.1 The required background check or Child Maltreatment Central Registry check cannot be older than one year at the time of application.

6-2.0 GENERAL POLICIES AND PROCEDURES RELATING TO THE LIFETIME TEACHING LICENSE

- 6-2.01 The Department shall issue a Lifetime Teaching License upon:
 - 6-2.01.1 The applicant submitting to the Office of Educator Licensure at the Department a completed application requesting the Lifetime Teaching License, using the application form developed by the Department;
 - 6-2.01.2 The applicant meeting the eligibility requirements in Section 6-1.0 of these rules; and

- 6-2.01.3 The application being approved by the State Board.
- 6-2.02 The Lifetime Teaching License shall reflect the applicant's licensure areas at the time of the application.
- 6-2.03 A teacher holding a Lifetime Teaching License is not required to renew his or her teaching license.
- 6-2.04 A Lifetime Teaching License is subject to the same laws for revocation as any Arkansas teaching license.
- 6-2.05 A Lifetime Teaching License holder is not subject to the requirements for annual professional development, except as provided in Section 6-3.02.2 of this rule.
- 6-2.06 The Lifetime Teaching License shall terminate upon the death or legal incapacity of the license holder.

6-3.0 EMPLOYMENT OF LIFETIME TEACHING LICENSE HOLDERS

- 6-3.01 A Lifetime Teaching License holder is eligible to serve a school district, educational services cooperative or the Department in the following capacities:
 - 6-3.01.1 Substitute teacher
 - 6-3.01.2 Tutor
 - 6-3.01.3 Mentor
 - 6-3.01.4 Test Investigator
 - 6-3.01.5 Scholastic Audit Consultant
 - 6-3.01.6 Others as defined by the Department
- 6-3.02 A Lifetime Teaching License holder who becomes employed full-time or parttime by a school district, education service cooperative as a licensed educator, or by the Department in a position that requires a current license issued by the State Board shall:
 - 6-3.02.1 Apply for and successfully complete the criminal background checks and Child Maltreatment Central Registry check required under the Department's Rules Governing Background Checks; and
 - 6-3.02.2 Participate in the professional development programs as required by the employing school district, cooperative or Department.

- 6-3.02.2.1 A Lifetime Teaching License holder who has not taught or been employed in an educational setting for which a license is required for one (1) or more years shall be required to provide the Department verification of twenty (20) hours of relevant professional development prior to reentering the educational setting.
- 6-3.02.3 A school district that hires a Lifetime Teaching License holder shall notify the Department of the within thirty (30) days of the employment of the Lifetime Teaching License holder.

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION EMERGENCY RULES GOVERNING EDUCATOR LICENSURE CHAPTER 7: EMERGENCY AND EFFECTIVE DATES

7-1.01 Whereas, the State Board of Education and the Arkansas Department of Education are proposing these rule changes for the purpose of providing qualified educators in Arkansas public schools, and to remove some barriers to the recruitment and retention of persons interested in becoming licensed teachers and administrators; and

Whereas, these rules need to be implemented immediately so that school districts and educator preparation programs may plan appropriately for training and staffing educators in public schools; and

Whereas, the State Board of Education finds that imminent peril exists to the public educational health, safety and welfare of the school children in Arkansas due to the need for qualified and effective licensed educators in public schools;

Therefore the State Board of Education and the Arkansas Department of Education promulgate these rules as Emergency Rules Governing Educator Licensure pursuant to authority of Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204 in order to implement the changes needed for the proper licensure of public school teachers, administrators, and other licensed school personnel.

- 7-1.02 These Emergency Rules shall go into effect on February 12, 2015.
- 7-1.03 These Emergency Rules shall expire June 12, 2015.

CHART 1.A FIRST-TIME LICENSURE AREAS

	AVAILABLE LICENSURE LEVEL (see also Chart 3.)								
LICENSURE CONTENT AREA:	В-К	K-6	4-8	7-12	K-12	4-12	PS		
*ECH/SP.ED INTEGRATED	X								
ELEMENTARY		X							
MIDDLE CHILDHOOD (Math, Science, Lang Arts, Social			X						
Studies) Must choose any two of the four content areas listed for									
initial licensure. Any area may be added individually to a Standard									
License.									
BIOLOGY/LIFE SCIENCE				X					
CHEMISTRY				X					
PHYSICS				X					
**PHYSICAL SCIENCE				X					
ENGLISH LANG ARTS				X					
SOCIAL STUDIES				X					
PHYSICS/MATHEMATICS				X					
MATHEMATICS				X					
DRAMA				X					
SPEECH				X					
ART					X				
VOCAL MUSIC					X				
INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC					X				
DRAMA / SPEECH					X				
PHYSICAL EDU / HEALTH					X				
* SPECIAL EDUCATION					X				
FOREIGN LANGUAGES					X				
* GUIDANCE & SCHOOL COUNSELING					X				
*ADULT EDUCATION							X		
***COMPUTER SCIENCE						X			
CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION:									
BUSINESS TECHNOLOGY						X			
MARKETING TECHNOLOGY				X					
AGRICULTURE SCIENCE & TECH				X					
FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCE				X					
INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY				X					

^{*} These areas cannot be added to a standard license by testing out.

NOTE: B-K=BIRTH TO KINDERGARTEN; ECH=EARLY CHILDHOOD; SP.ED=SPECIAL EDUCATION; PS=POST-SECONDARY

^{**} The reference to physical science here applies only to an applicant who entered a physical science teacher education program before fall 2016.

^{***} Available when the content-area assessment or program of study is available

CHART 1.B ENDORSEMENT TO STANDARD LICENSE

	AVAILABLE LICENSURE LEVEL (see also Chart 3.)								
	***AGE 3-4 SP. ED.	В-К	K-6	4-8	7-12	K-12	4-12	P-12	PS
LICENSURE CONTENT AREA:									
*ECH/SP.ED INTEGRATED		X							
*AGE 3-4 ECH	X								
AGE 3-4 SP. ED	X								
ELEMENTARY			X						
MIDDLE CHILDHOOD (Math, Science, Lang Arts, Social Studies) Must choose any two of the four content areas listed for initial licensure. Any area may be added individually to a Standard License.				X					
BIOLOGY/LIFE SCIENCE					X				
CHEMISTRY					X				
PHYSICS					X				
**PHYSICAL SCIENCE					X				
EARTH SCIENCE					X				
ENGLISH LANG ARTS					X				
SOCIAL STUDIES					X				
PHYSICS/MATHEMATICS					X				
MATHEMATICS					X				
DRAMA					X				
SPEECH					X				
JOURNALISM					X				
ART			X		X	X			
VOCAL MUSIC			X		X	X			
INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC			X		X	X			
DRAMA / SPEECH						X			
PHYSICAL EDU / HEALTH			X		X	X			
* SPECIAL EDUCATION						X			
* VISUAL SPECIALIST						X			
* HEARING SPECIALIST						X			
FOREIGN LANGUAGES			X		X	X			
* GUIDANCE & SCHOOL COUNSELING						X			
*ADULT EDUCATION									X
*DYSLEXIA THERAPIST						X			
****COMPUTER SCIENCE							X		
CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION:									
BUSINESS TECHNOLOGY							X		
MARKETING TECHNOLOGY					X				
AGRICULTURE SCIENCE & TECH					X				
FAMILY & CONSUMER SCIENCE					X				
INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY					X				_

	AVAILABLE LICENSURE LEVEL (see also Chart 3.)								
	***AGE 3- 4 SP. ED.	В-К	K-6	4-8	7-12	K-12	4-12	P-12	PS
ADMINISTRATOR LICENSURE:									
*DISTRICT-LEVEL ADMINISTRATOR									
*BUILDING-LEVEL ADMINISTRATOR								X	
*CURRICULUM/PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR								X	

- These areas cannot be added to a standard license by testing out.
- The reference to physical science here applies only to an applicant who entered a physical science teacher education program before fall 2016.
- *** Must hold a special education license to test out of age 3-4 special education

 **** Available when the content-area assessment or program of study is available

NOTE: B-K=BIRTH TO KINDERGARTEN; ECH=EARLY CHILDHOOD; SP.ED=SPECIAL EDUCATION; PS=POST-SECONDARY

CHART 2. ENDORSEMENT BY PROGRAM OF STUDY ONLY

	AVAILABLE LICENSURE LEVEL						
	AGE 3-4	K-6	5-6	K-12	P-12		
EXCEPTION AREA ENDORSEMENTS: (EXCEPTION AREA ENDORSEMENTS CANNOT BE ADDED TO A STANDARD TEACHING LICENSE BY TESTING OUT.)							
LIBRARY MEDIA SPECIALIST				X			
READING SPECIALIST				X			
GUIDANCE & SCHOOL COUNSELING				X			
GIFTED & TALENTED				X			
ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE				X			
EDUCATIONAL EXAMINER				X			
COACHING				X			
INSTRUCTIONAL FACILITATOR				X			
GRADE 5-6 ENDORSEMENT (FOR 7-12 TEACHER LICENSED IN A CORE CONTENT AREA(S) OF MATH, SCIENCE, LANG ARTS OR SOCIAL STUDIES)			X				
AGE 3-4 ENDORSEMENT (FOR TEACHERS HOLDING AN ELEMENTARY K-6 LICENSE; NON-SPECIAL ED)	X						
CONTENT SPECIALIST (FOR MATH, SCIENCE AND LITERACY FOR TEACHERS HOLDING A K-6 LICENSE)		X					
DYSLEXIA THERAPIST				X			
EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP & SUPERVISION:							
DISTRICT-LEVEL ADMINISTRATOR					X		
BUILDING-LEVEL ADMINISTRATOR					X		
CURRICULUM/PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR					X		
ANCILLARY STUDENT SERVICES:							
SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGY SPECIALIST				X			
SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY				X			

CHART 3. ENDORSEMENT BY TESTING OUT

This chart is to be used in conjunction with Chart 1.

	AVAILABLE ENDORSEMENT LEVEL								
	AGE 3-4 SP. ED.	K-6	4-8	4-12	7-12	K-12			
FIRST-TIME LICENSURE LEVEL FOR ANY CONTENT AREA:									
B-K Integrated		X							
P-4*		X	X						
K-6		X	X						
1-6		X	X						
4-8		X	X	X	X				
4-12		X	X	X	X				
7-12			X	X	X				
P-8		X	X	X					
K-12			X	X	X	X			
K-12 SP. ED	X	X	X	X	X	X			

^{*} The reference to P-4 here applies only to an applicant who entered a P-4 teacher education program before Fall 2015.