Office of General Counsel
R " THSU Box 7744
(870) 230-5820 phone

(870) 230-5147 fax

1100 HENDERSON STREET -~ ARKADELPHIA, AR 71999-0001  WWW.HSU.EDU

June 23, 2014

VIA E-MAIL: register@sos.arkansas.qov
AND ORDINARY MAIL:

Office of the Secretary of State

Arkansas Register, Room 206

State Capitol

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

RE: Traffic Regulations
Dear Representative:
Please find enclosed with this correspondence a copy of Henderson State University’s Police
Department Traffic Regulations. Should you have any questions, or if | may be of further
assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

incerely,

/Z{Wé /@%@Wﬁ/%

Elaine Kneebone
General Counsel
Enclosure



A handbook of procedures and regulations
regarding traffic on the Henderson campus
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How to Avoid Parking Citations

. Purchase and properly display a current HSU parking permit. Properly displayed

student permits are those permanently affixed to the right rear bumper or right
lower back glass of the vehicle. Faculty/staff permits should hang from the rear
view mirror. Park only in spaces designated for your parking permit.

Do not park in zones marked with red paint or where prohibited by sign. The
areas are restricted 24 hours a day. Vehicles blocking traffic lanes, loading
zones, fire lanes, or on lawns will be cited and are subject to tow at the owners
expense.

In unpaved parking lots, park only at bumper blocks.

Do not park in zones designated for faculty/staff unless you have a faculty/staff
permit.

Do not park in zones designated as parking for disabled persons unless you
have the proper state permit. Disabled person parking spaces are restricted 24
hours a day and carry a minimum $275 fine for violations.

. Ifyou allow others to drive your motor vehicle, make sure they know where to

park. Remember that you will be charged for all citations issued to your vehicle.
Remove all HSU parking permits from your vehicle prior to sale of the vehicle. A
replacement parking permit costs only $3 when the old fragments are returned to
this office.

All vehicles must be within the boundaries of the parking space. Other vehicles in
the area improperly parked over the line shall not constitute an excuse for
parking any part of the vehicle over the line.

. Anillegally parked but un-ticketed vehicle is not an indication that the regulation

being violated is no longer in effect.

10. Current permit holders are allowed free temporary parking permits that can be

obtained through the University Police.

11.1f you receive a parking citation and wish to appeal, remember that you only have

three working days to appeal the citation.

12. All parking lots are monitored Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. until 4:30

p.m. for valid parking permits. If you are in doubt about a parking zone or
regulation, please contact the University Police at 230-5098 to obtain correct
information.



Henderson State University
Traffic Regulations

(You are responsible for complying with the rules and regulations printed in
this booklet)

AUTHORIZATION

All members of the University community holding a valid operator's license are
privileged to operate properly registered motor vehicles on the Henderson State
University campus.

The Director of University Police is Authorized to implement the enforcement of this
code directly and immediately on the University campus and to make arrests and issue
traffic citations off campus in cases where the offense was committed on campus
(Fleeing) by Act 196 of 1977 (Hot Pursuit).

Registration of Vehicles

Any student or member of the faculty or staff who owns or operates a vehicle on the
Henderson State University campus is required to register that vehicle with the
University Police and display the appropriate registration decal in the prescribed
location in the vehicle.

For students, one registration per academic year (September through August) will be
required. This registration will provide one vehicle parking decal that will be sufficient
for the Fall, Spring, and Summer terms for the current academic year. Student
registration will be made on the basis of resident, commuter, or Whispering Oaks
resident, and a separate decal will identify each group. Faculty and staff members are
required to register vehicles and are issued a permanent parking permit.

Parking lots marked Commuter Parking Only are the Arkansas Hall lot and the Haddock
Street lot. These lots offer limited parking for commuters only. Parking lots marked
Faculty Parking Only or Faculty/Staff Parking Only are reserved for the use of HSU
faculty and staff. All other lots may be used by anyone with a current HSU parking
permit be they resident, commuter, or faculty/staff. Students with Whispering Oaks
decals are restricted to the apartment complex and may not park in any lot on the main
campus between 7:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. They may park in student parking lots at the
Wells complex.

For students, there will be a $30 vehicle registration charge for each vehicle registered
in the Fall term. There will be a $20 registration charge for the Spring and Summer
terms. There will be a minimum $10 vehicle registration charge for both or each



Summer term attended. Each member of the faculty and staff may register one vehicle
and will be provided one vehicle parking permit at no charge. There will be a $20
registration charge for faculty and staff members who desire to register an additional
vehicle.

A charge of $3 will be made for each replacement decal required during the Fall and
Spring semesters and a $2 charge for the Summer terms.

A credit for a current parking decal may be requested. In order to receive a credit, the
unused decal must be returned to the University Police Office within ten (10) working
days from the date of registration for the current semester.

Vehicle registration will be accomplished during the Fall, Spring, and Summer class
registration periods. Anyone who acquired a vehicle at a later date and prior to the next
class registration shall register it within 48 hours, excluding Saturday and Sunday, from
the date it is first brought to the campus.

The current semester decal must be affixed to the vehicle in the manner prescribed by
the University Police at the time of issuance and shall constitute the final phase of
vehicle registration. Failure to affix the decal as prescribed shall be deemed a failure to
register the vehicle, and fines will be assessed according to charges outlined in Article
lll, Section 6, Administrative Charges.

The vehicle decal is the responsibility of the purchaser and must be removed prior to
the sale of the vehicle, termination of employment, or withdrawal from the University.
Decals are not transferable to any other vehicle. More than one (1) current decal will
not be displayed on a given vehicle.

Handicapped parking spaces are reserved specifically for persons who have a valid
handicapped parking permit. Temporary handicapped parking permits are available in
the Arkansas State Revenue Office.

Temporary parking permits when required by students, faculty, or staff who have
properly registered a primary vehicle and possess a current parking decal will be issued
by the University Police. Temporary parking permits will be valid up to (10) working
days (two weeks). If a permitis required for a longer period of time, contact the
University Police Department. All temporary parking permits must show the current
decal number, the license plate number of the registered vehicle, and an expiration
date. The permit should be displayed on the rear view mirror at all times while the
vehicle is on campus.

Temporary registration permits may be issued for various cogent reasons at the
discretion of the Director of the University Police. Normally these permits will be limited



to contractors and other types of vehicles engaged in temporary business activities on
campus. Visitors remaining on the University campus five (5) days or more shall be
required to register their respective vehicle(s). Either temporary or permanent decals as
determined appropriate will be issued by the Director of the University Police.

Vehicles parked in unauthorized parking areas, blocking or impeding the normal flow of
vehicular or pedestrian traffic or that create an unsafe condition will be towed away at
the owner's expense.

Driving Regulations

All drivers on the campus shall observe all of the regulations of the State of Arkansas
and the city of Arkadelphia pertaining to motor vehicle registration and operation.

In addition, the following special rules and regulations shall be observed:
A. Yield the right-of-way to all pedestrians in campus crosswalks as marked.

B. Maintain a safe speed at all times and at no time drive faster than 15 miles per hour
as this is the speed limit on the Henderson Campus.

C. Obey regulatory signs and barricades established by the University Police of
Henderson State University.

D. Observe and obey the orders of the University Police Officers while in the
performance of their respective duties. This includes rendering aid and producing
proper identification and permits as requested.

E. Report campus accidents to the University Police, phone 230-5098.
Parking Regulations

Vehicles with authorized Faculty/Staff decals may park in any area designated for
faculty or staff.

Areas marked “faculty” or “visitors” will be open to student parking from 4:30 p.m. to
7:30 a.m.

Open parking for authorized personnel is declared from 4:30 p.m. to 7:30 a.m. daily and
from 4:30 p.m. Friday through 7:30 a.m. Monday. University holidays are considered as
open parking days. Exceptions to this rule are:

A. Timed Parking Areas

B. Visitor Parking Spaces



C. No Parking Zones

D. Loading Zones

E. Service Areas

F. Reserved Spaces

G. Crosswalks

H. Handicapped Spaces

Parking in reserved spaces marked in red and unauthorized parking in handicapped
spaces are restricted at all times.

Vehicles will park on roadways in the direction of the flow of traffic, using only
authorized parking areas.

Vehicles should be parked within designated parking boundaries and in no case overlap
into or onto a roadway or crosswalk. Parking in any manner to impede the normal flow
of vehicular or pedestrian traffic is not allowed.

It is illegal to park at any time on lawn or grass areas, on any campus sidewalk, in
driveways, or in loading zones. lItis also illegal to park improperly within regular parking
areas. Inclement weather is no excuse.

Vehicles parked in unauthorized parking areas, blocking or impeding the normal flow of
vehicular or pedestrian traffic, or that create an unsafe condition will be towed away at
the owner's expense.

No-Parking Zones

The following areas and/or zones shall be observed as no-parking zones:
A. All posted areas.

B. All areas marked with red or yellow paint, solid or intermittent.

C. All driveways- these may or may not be posted.

D. Any part of a traveled roadway.

E. Within 15 feet of any fire hydrant.

F. Within 20 feet of a major intersection.

G. On any intramural field- these may not be posted.



H. On any designated crosswalk.

I. Double parking is prohibited on any street and/or lot. Service vehicles of the
University when on actual work projects are exempt from this rule providing such
parking does not constitute a hazard to vehicular or pedestrian traffic.

J. All loading zones. These zones will be utilized by commercial vehicles only.
K. All service areas.

L. All sidewalks and/or walkways.

M. All cultivated, planted, grassed, or other areas with growth.

Special parking Privileges

Special parking privileges will be afforded on the basis of the following:

A. Certified disabilities.

B. Administrative consideration.

C. Need for officially reserved spaces such as those for the President and state
vehicles. Such spaces are marked in red on the west side of Womack Hall.

Physically handicapped persons who are connected with the University and who suffer
a permanent or temporary physical disability which would be aggravated by walking
may apply at the University Police Department for special parking consideration.

The Director of the University Police shall designate for the President of the University
the reservation of certain spaces and areas for both public and private vehicles when
the official duties of the users of these spaces or areas require such reservation.

Parking spaces designated in the above categories may not be utilized by any vehicles
other than the ones for whom the designation is made. Parking permits in this category
may not be traded, bartered, sold, and/or loaned to any other individual for use on
another vehicle.

Administrative Charges

The responsibility of administrative charges incurred shall rest with the registrant. In the
event of the lack of registration, the owner and/or operator of the vehicle will be
responsible for said charges.

Persons violating these regulations while using a motor vehicle registered with the
University shall, at the option of the Director of University Police, Vice President of



Student Services, and/or President, be charged or summoned to appear before the
court of competent jurisdiction to be dealt with according to law. Persons violating these
rules and regulations while using a motor vehicle not registered with the University, or
persons violating city ordinances, shall be summoned to appear before said court.

Notice placed on the vehicle shall be sufficient as summons for the purpose of the rules
and regulations. Fines will be assessed for each violation on each traffic ticket
received.

Fines
A. Parking violations and their respective fines
1. Failure to completely accomplish vehicle registration within the authorized period $10

2. Failure to display or improperly displayed current campus decal within the first thirty
(30) days after registration $10

3. Failure to display or improperly displayed current campus decal after the first thirty
(30) days of registration $20

4. Failure to park in appropriate or designated parking areas as authorized by displayed
vehicle decal $20

5. Falsifying registration information $20

6. Use of fictitious or falsely made decal and/or obtaining stolen decals, or using a
falsely obtained decal $20

7. Refusing, reusing or discarding a traffic citation $10
8. Violations involving moving vehicles minimum of $10

9. Blocking a drive, trash dumpster, or blocking traffic (this includes blocking parked
vehicles in parking areas) $20 (In addition to the fine, the vehicle may be towed at
the owner’s expense)

10. Parking on lawn or grass area $10

11. Parking in wrong direction on roadway $10

12. Parking in reserved spaces or red zones, or no-parking zones $20
13. Parking in visitors parking $20

14. Over parking in a 15-minute or 30-minute zone $10



15. Improper parking or parking in the wrong direction $10
16. Disregarding or driving through barricade $20

17. Additional fines may be assessed as determined appropriate by the Vice President
of Student Services or the University Police.

B. Delinquency

Upon receipt of a citation for a Henderson State University traffic violation, present the
ticket for payment within five (5) days after the date on the citation. Payment will be
made to the Office of University Police located at 1125 Henderson Street. Traffic fines
not paid within ten (10) days after receipt will be transferred to the University Business
Office for final collection. An additional administrative charge of $10.00 will be
assessed by the Business Office for each transfer of traffic fines.

Appeals from Administrative Determinations

Any student wishing to appeal a notification of a violation (traffic citation) to the
University shall make said appeal in person or in writing within 72 hours after the date of
the citation. Appeals should be made through the Director of University Police. Failure
to file within the prescribed time shall constitute a forfeit of all appeal privileges.

Any member of the University faculty and staff desiring to appeal a traffic citation may
do so to the Vice President of Student Services.

An Appeals Board composed of a four (4) member panel (two students, one faculty
member, and one staff person) will meet to consider those appeals that have not been
resolved. The appeal process is available to all current parking decal holders on
campus. Appeals to the board must be filed on the appropriate form within 72 hours of
the time the citation was issued. Appeal forms may be obtained from the University
Police, 1125 Henderson Street.

The Board will review submitted appeals on a monthly basis. The results of Board
action will be provided to the individual(s) concerned within 72 hours of the date and
time of each Appeals Board meeting. A person may appear before the Board, if so
desired. Requests to appear before the Board should be so noted on the appeal form
when submitted.

An appeal must be based upon the fact that the citation was issued contrary to
University traffic regulations or is an error. Failure to cite specific factual circumstances
will automatically disallow an appeal. Information concerning the above or any
assistance may be obtained by contacting the University Police.



A $5.00 administrative cost, in addition to the assessed fine, will be charged on all
appeals that are disapproved.

Any person adversely affected by any administrative determination described shall have
the right to appeal to the Municipal Court of the City of Arkadelphia, Arkansas, where
the matter shall be heard.



