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ITEM No. V (a) 

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 
Little Rock, Arkansas '0 

MINUTE ORDER No: 

DATE PASSED: 

PAGE 1 of 

11-87 

August 

1 

11, 2011 

PAGES 

SUBJECT: 

LOCATION: 

Proposed 2011-2012 Late 

Waterfowl Codes Approval 

Statewide 

WHEREAS, at meetings on July 13-14, 2011, the AGFC reviewed and discussed 
proposals for hunting regulations for the 2011-2012 Late Migratory Bird 
Hunting Seasons, including game seasons, bag limits and taking of 
game requirements for late migratory birds; and 

WHEREAS, the Wildlife Management Bureau has been involved in drafting the 
proposed regulations, which, in turn, have been reviewed and 
considered by the Commission's Regulations Committee; and 

WHEREAS, after carefully considering the recommendations of Commission staff, as 
well as comments received from the public, the Regulations Committee 
voted to approve the option recommended specified in the attached 
document "2011-2012 Late Migratory Bird CodesD for statewide 
application; and 

WHEREAS, the proposed regulations have been communicated through a variety of 
media avenues to sportsmen and the general public throughout the state 
for review and comment; and 

WHEREAS, the various sections ofthe AGFC Code Book affected by the adoption of 
these regulations must be replaced or amended, and then legally 
certified by the Secretary of State, the Arkansas State Library and the 
Bureau of Legislative Research in accordance with applicable law. 

Now, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED, this 11th day of August 2011, that the Arkansas Game and Fish 
Commission hereby approves and adopts the attached hunting regulations, which shall become 
effective immediately for the 2011-2012 hunting license year. 
BE IT FURTHER ORDERED that the Commission staff is authorized to proceed with making the 
appropriate AGFC Code Book revisions and legal certification. 

Submitted 
by: 

Division: 

Approved: 

Approved: 

Approved: 

STAFF ApPROVAL 
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FINANCIAL I ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY 
(Attach additional pages if needed). 

DEPARTMENT: Arkansas Game and Fish Commission . 
BUREAU: Wildlife Management 
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT: David Goad 
TELEPHONE #: 501-223-6362 FAX #: 501-223-6452 
EMAIL: cdgoad@agfc.state.ar.us 
SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE: Proposed 2011-2012 Late Migratory Bird Codes 
Approval 

1. 	 Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule or regulation have a 
financial impact? 
Yes: X No: 

2. 	 Do you believe that the development of a financial impact statement is so 
speculative as to be cost prohibitive? Yes: No: X If "Yes", 
please explain: 

3. 	 If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, 
please give the incremental cost for implementing the regulation. Please 
indicate if the cost provided is the cost of the program. 
Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year 
General Revenue $ 576,300 General Revenue $ N/A 
Federal Funds $ 923,700 Federal Funds $ N/A 
Cash Funds $ N/A Cash Funds $ N/A 
Special Revenue $ N/A Special Revenue $ N/A 
Other (Identify) $ N/A Other (Identify) $ N/A 
Total $ 1,500,000 Total $ N/A 

What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any party subject to the 
proposed, amended, or repealed rule? (Estimated cost includes fees, 
administrative penalties, reporting, record keeping, equipment, 
construction, labor, professional services, revenue loss, or other costs 
associated with compliance.) Identify the party subject to the proposed 
rule, and explain how they are impacted. 

Current Fiscal Year: $ 47 	 Next Fiscal Year: $ N/A 

Party Subject to Rule: Migratory Bird Hunters 

Effect on Party Subject to Rule: Cost of license and stamps 
- ~ ~ - - .~ 

5. 	 What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to the agency to implement 
this rule? Explain the financial benefit to the agency from implementing 
this rule. 

Current Fiscal Year: $N/A 	 Next Fiscal Year: $ N/A 

mailto:cdgoad@agfc.state.ar.us


Financial Benefit to Agency: N/A 

6. 	 Do alternative means exist for accomplishing the objectives of the rules 
that might be less burdensome to small business? Yes: No: X 

Why were such alternatives not proposed: N/A 

~ 7. Compare this rule with federal and state counterparts: N/A 



Option 1 
12.15 
08-11 

Option 2 
12.15 
08-11 

Option 3 
12.15 
08-11 

12.18 
08-11 

12.20 
08-11 

Propo d 2011 2012 L t M' • t B' d C d A oval 
Proposed Changes· Red Ink 

Proposed Calendar Adjustments - Orange Ink 

Code Clarifications - Blue Ink 

DUCK, COOT AND MERGANSER SEASON RESTRICTIONS. It 

shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take ducks or coots other than, 

Dec. 7, 2010 Jan. 17. 2011 Jan. 22 Jan. 30. 2011 Nov. 19-27. Dec. 

8-23 and Dec. 26, 2011-Jan. 29, 2012. 

EXCEPTION: 

(1) Ducks, coots and mergansers may be taken during the 

Special Youth Waterfowl Hunt Code 12.27. 

PENAL TV: $200.00 to $1,000.00. 


DUCK, COOT AND MERGANSER SEASON RESTRICTIONS. It 

shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take ducks or coots other than, 

NOli. 20 28 Dec. 7, 2010 Jan. 17, 2011 and Jan. 22 Jan. 30, 2011 

Nov. 24-Dec. 4, Dec. 10-23 and Dec. 26, 2011-Jan. 29, 2012. 

EXCEPTION: 

(1) Ducks, coots and mergansers may be taken during the 

Special Youth Waterfowl Hunt Code 12.27. 

PENAL TV: $200.00 to $1,000.00. 


DUCK, COOT AND MERGANSER SEASON RESTRICTIONS. It 

shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take ducks or coots other than 

Nov. 19-27, Dec. 6, 2011-Jan. 16,2012 and Jan. 21-29, 2012. 

EXCEPTION: 

(1) Ducks, coots and mergansers may be taken during the 

Special Youth Waterfowl Hunt Code 12.27. 

PENAL TV: $200.00 to $1,000.00. 


WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE SEASON RESTRICTIONS. It shall be 

unlawful to take or attempt to take White-fronted geese other than from 

Nov. 19. 2011·Jan. 29,2012 statewide. 

PENAL TV: $200.00 to $1,000.00. 


SNOW, BLUE, ROSS' GOOSE SEASON RESTRICTIONS. It shall be 
unlawful to take or attempt to take Snow, Blue and Ross' geese other than 

'from Nov. 5-, 2011-Jan. 29. 2012 statewide. ~ 

EXCEPTION: 
(1) In compliance with Code 12.29. 

PENAL TV: $200.00 to $1,000.00. 
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12.22 	 CANADA GOOSE SEASON RESTRICTIONS. It is unlawful to 
08~11 	 take or attempt to take Canada geese other than from the zones and 

dates listed below: 
Early Canada Goose Statewide Season: 
Sept. 1-15, 2011 
Northwest Canada Goose Zone Season: 
Sept. 24-0ct. 3, 2011 
Late Canada Goose Statewide Season: 
Nov. 19,2011-Jan.29,2012 
Shooting hours are from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset in all 
seasons. 
EXCEPTION: 
(1) Holla Bend National Wildlife Refuge is closed. 
PENAL TV: $200.00 to $1,000.00. 

12.25 	 FALCONRY SEASON RESTRICTIONS. It shall be unlawful to take 
08-11 	 or attempt to take migratory birds with raptors other than during the 

regular migratory bird seasons except as follows for Ducks, Coots 
and Mergansers: February 1-15. 2012, statewide. 
PENAL TV: $100.00 to $1,000.00. 

12.27 	 SPECIAL YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNT RESTRICTIONS. It shall 
08-11 	 be unlawful for anyone other than youths, 15 years of age or 

younger, to hunt ducks, in season geese, mergansers and coots 
during the special youth waterfowl hunt on Feb. 4-5, 2012, statewide. 
Youths who have completed a hunter education course must be ' 
accompanied by an adult mentor who is 18 years of age or older. 
Youths who have not completed a hunter education course must be 
under the direct supervision of an adult mentor who is 21 years of 
age or older. Mentors may not hunt ducks, geese, mergansers or 
coots but may, if properly licensed, hunt other game in season. 
Shooting hours and bag limits are the same as the regular waterfowl 
season. 
PENAL TV: $100.00 to $1,000.00. 

12.29 	 SNOW, BLUE AND ROSS' GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER 
08~11 	 RESTRICTIONS. It shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take 

Snow, Blue and Ross' geese Jan. 30-Feb. 3 and Feb. 6-April 25. 
2012, statewide without the following: 
(A) A free Snow Goose Registration Permit number. 
(B) A valid hunting license from any state or province. 
PENAL TV: $100.00 to $1 ,ooo.oa. .­

20.12 	 SEASON RESTRICTIONS ON CAMP ROBINSON SUA. It is 
08-11 	. unlawful to take, attempt to take or possess, dove, rabbit,. squirrel, 


quail and waterfowl on Camp Robinson SUA. 


http:1,000.00
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EXCEPTIONS: 
(1) 	 Dove hunting as permitted under Commission Code 24.05. 
(2) 	 Squirrel hunting as permitted under Commission Code 24.04. 

, (3) 	 Possession of waterfowl is allowed during open season while 
accessing Dix Creek Bay or Pierce Creek Bay on Craig D. 
Campbell Lake Conway Reservoir or while camped in designated 
campsites. 

PENAL TV: $100 to $1,000 

25.02 	 HUNTING OR TRESPASSING PROHIBITED ON CERTAIN 
08-11 	 WMAS AND LAKES. It is unlawful to duck hunt and/or trespass on 

the following areas and lakes as specified herein: 
(1) 	 Bayou Meto - Closed to all trespassing (except in designated 

campsites, parking areas, and boat launch ramps) from 2 a.m. 
to 4 a.m. during duck season. 

(2) 	 Big Lake - Mallard Lake is closed to hunting. Fishing and 
non-hunting activities are allowed. 

(3) 	 Maumelle River - Closed to waterfowl hunting. All boating 
activities and trespassing is prohibited in the Restricted Area 
Zone 1 on the east end of Lake Maumelle as marked by buoy 
lines. No hunting, camping or other trespassing is allowed on 
any island on Lake Maumelle. 

(3) 	 Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d'Arc - Boats are not allowed on the 
Green Tree Waterfowl area 14 days before waterfowl season 
opens but are allowed during the regular duck season. 

(4) 	 Brewer Lake - Closed to waterfowl hunting. 
(5) 	 Camp Robinson SUA - Closed to waterfowl hunting. 
(6) 	 Cedar Creek - Closed to waterfowl hunting. 
(7) 	 Cut-Off Creek - Closed to all trespassing (except in 

deSignated campsites, parking areas and boat launch ramps) 
from 2 a.m. to 4:00 a.m. during duck season. Travel by boat 
is prohibited on Latin Drain, Firehunt Slough and Third Slough 
except during high water periods when boating access is 
possible to the Deep Slough Dam. In this case, boats may be 
used area-wide, however, boat motors may only be used on 
Cut-Off Creek and Deep Slough. 

(8) 	 Dardanelle - Waterfowl hunting is not allowed on that part of 
Big Spadra and Little Spadra Creeks lying north of the 
Missouri Pacific Railroad, east of Crawford Street, south of 1­
40, and west of Arkansas Highway103. Dogs, hunting or 
trapping devices are prohibited on Johnson County WRA. 

. 	 (9). Dave Donaldson Black River - Lake Ashbaugh and Hubbl.e 
Lake are closed to hunting although Hubble Lake is open for 
early teal season. Fishing and non-hunting activities are 
allowed. 



(10) 	 DeGray Lake - Loaded firearms are prohibited on Lower 
DeGray Lake Waterfowl Rest Area except by permitted 
participants of special hunts. 

(11) 	 Earl Buss Baxou DeView - Lake Hogue is closed to hunting. 
Fishing and non-hunting activities are allowed. 

(12) 	 Frog Bayou - Waterfowl hunters may not access inundated 
areas until 4 a.m. and must exit inundated areas by 1 p.m. 

(13) 	 . Harris Brake - Open to waterfowl hunting only Tuesday, 
Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. All day hunting is allowed 
the last two days of the last duck season. During duck 
season, other hunters must abide by same hours and days as 
duck hunters, except for those trapping and hunting 
furbearers at night. Only shotguns and archery equipment are 
allowed for hunting. Harris Brake Lake is open to Canada 
goose hunting Sept. 1-15.2011 only. 

(14) 	 Henry Gray Hurricane Lake - Waterfowl hunters may not 
access inundated area until 4 a.m. and must exit inundated 
areas by 1 p.m. 

(15) 	 Little Bayou - Closed to all trespassing (except in designated 
campsites, parking areas and boat launch ramps) from 2 a.m. 
to 4 a.m. during duck season. 

(16) 	 Petit Jean River WMA - Waterfowl impoundments are closed 
to trespass from one hour after sunset until 4 a.m. during duck 
season. 

(17) 	 Rex Hancock Black Swamp - Waterfowl hunters may not 
access inundated area until 4 a.m. and must exit inundated 
areas by 1 p.m. 

(18) 	 Rick Evans Grandview Prairie - Waterfowl hunting closed on 
all lakes and ponds. 

(19) 	 Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms - Waterfowl hunters may 
not access inundated area until 4 a.m. and must exit 
inundated areas by 1 p.m. 

(20) 	 St. Francis Forest - Waterfowl hunting ends at noon. 
(21) 	 St. Francis Sunken Lands - The Snowden Field Waterfowl 

Rest Area levee is open to foot traffic around the north end of 
the unit to allow access to public lands. 

(22) 	 Shirey Bay Rainey Brake - Closed to all trespassing (except 
in designated campsites, parking areas, and boat launch 
ramps) from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. during duck season. 

(23) 	 Craig D. Campbell Lake Conway Reservoir - Closed to 
waterfowl hunting except on the Palarm Creek, Caney 
Creek, Pierce Creek and Dix Creek Bays, waterfowl hUJ1ling. ~,.. ' .... ". - - . - - -- _., -' 

ends at noon. 
(24) 	 Lake Overcup - Waterfowl hunting ends at noon. 
(25) 	 Cane Creek Lake (Lincoln County) - Waterfowl hunting ends 

at noon. 



(26) 	 U of A Pine Tree Experimental Station WRA - North of 
Highway 306 closed to waterfowl hunting. 

(27) 	 Tommy L. Sproles Lake Pickthorne - Closed to waterfowl 
___ ._. ~!.mting.. 
(28) 	 Coal Pile Lake - Closed to hunting. Fishing and non-hunting 

activities are allowed. 

EXCEPTION: 

(1) 	 Employees or agents of the Arkansas Game and Fish 

Commission in the performance of their duties. 
PENALTY: $100 to $1,000 

25.10 	 NON-RESIDENT WATERFOWL HUNTING PERMIT 
05-01/08-11 	 REQUIREMENTS ON CERTAIN WMAs. It shall. be unlawful for non­

resident hunters to hunt waterfowl on Bayou Meto, Bell Slough/Camp 
Robinson WMA, Beryl, Anthony Lower Ouachita, Big Lake, Dr. Lester 
Sitzes, III Bois d'Arc, Cut-Off Creek, Dave Donaldson Black River, 
Earl Buss Bayou DeView, Ed Gordon Point Remove, Frog Bayou, 
Galla Creek, Harris Brake, Henry Gray Hurricane Lake, Holland 
Bottoms, Nimrod Lloyd Millwood, Petit Jean River, Rex Hancock 
Black Swamp, Seven Devils, Sheffield Nelson Dagmar, Shirey Bay 
Rainey Brake, St. Francis Sunken Lands, Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek 
Bottoms, Sulphur River and Trusten Holder WMAs and Palarm 
Creek, Caney Creek, Pierce Creek and Dix Creek bays on Craig D. 
Campbell Lake Conway Reservoir (Camp Robinson SUA), without 
first obtaining a non-resident Wildlife Management Area Waterfowl 
Hunting Permit. This permit is in addition to hunting and/or guide 
license requirements as stated in Section 03.00 Licenses. This 
permit must be in possession while hunting on these Wildlife 
Management Areas. 
PENALTY: $100.00 to $1,000.00 

25.11 	 STEVE N. WILSON RAFT CREEK BOTTOMS WMA 
05-02108-11 	 WATERFOWL HUNTING REQUIREMENTS. It shall be unlawfu~ 

during the waterfowl season, from the first day of the first 
segment of regular duck season to the last day of the last 
segment of regular duck season, to go upon any flooded or 
inundated area without first obtaining a free Steve N. Wilson Raft 
Creek Bottort)s Waterfowl Hunting Permit. This pemlit is in addition 
to hunting license requirements as stated in Section 03.00 
Licenses. +ffis.-A limited permit will be allocated through a 
combination of an on-line and a daily on-site draw system on 
Saturdays .~!1c:1 ..SUf1c!~y~_guring r~gular duck season and is in 
addition to hunting license requirements as stated in Section 
03.00 Licenses. Permits will be available for pick up and self 
check in on-site on Tuesdays and Wednesdays during regular 
duck season. The Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms WMA 

http:1,000.00


Hunting Pennit must be signed and in possession while hunting on 
the Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms WMA and returned to a 
permit collection box at the conclusion of each day's hunt and 
before e;xiting th~ WMA. Conviction(s) for violation(s) of permit 
requirements may result in the loss of hunting privileges. 
EXCEPTION: 
(1) 	 Goose hunting is open foIlO\\'ing the closure of the 

regular duck season in conjunction with state·....ide 
seasons and regulations; no permit required. No permit 
is required during the Special Youth Waterfowl Hunt (Ref. 
Code 12.27). 

PENALTY: $100.00 to $1,000.00. 

" 
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ITEM No. IV (a) 

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 

Little Rock, Arkansas 

MINUTE ORDER No: SUBJECT: 2012 Fishing Regulation 11-81 
Considerations 

DATE PASSED: August 1 J, 2011 

PAGE 1 of 1 PAGES LOCATION: Statewide 

WHEREAS, Fisheries Division has identified fishing regulation changes for optimal management ofthe state's 
fisheries; and 

WHEREAS, these regulation changes have been communicated, through a variety of media avenues, to anglers 
and the general public throughout the state for review and comment; and 

WHEREAS, having carefully considered all comments received, Fisheries Division now recommends the 
adoption ofthe regulation changes specified in the document "2012 Fishing Regulation 
Consideration List." 

WHEREAS, after carefully considering these matters, and comments and recommendations from AGFC staff 
and committee members, the Fisheries Sub-committee and Regulation Committees gave approval 
for implementing the "2012 Fishing Regulation Consideration List". 

Now, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED, THAT TIlE ARKANSAS GAME AND FISH COMMISSION HEREBY APPROVES AND 
ADOPTS TIlE CHANGES AS RECOMMENDED IN TIlE ATTACHED FISHING REGULATIONS FOR 2012, AND AUTIIORIZES TIlE 
COMMISSION STAFF TO PROCEED WITH MAKING TIlE APPROPRIATE AGFC CODE BOOK REVISIONS AND LEGAL 
CERTIFICATION. ALL REGULATION CHANGES SHALL TAKE EFFECT BEGINNING JANUARY 1,2012. 

Submitted 
by: 

Division: 

Approved: 

Approved: 

Approved: 

STAFF APPROVAL 

~~ 
Mark Oliver 
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HNANCIAL/ECONONUC~ACTSTATEMENT 

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY 
(Attach additional pages if needed) 

DEPARTMENT: Arkansas Game & Fish Commission 
BUREAU: Fisheries 
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT: Andrea Daniel 
TELEPHONE #: 223-6409 FAX #: 223-6461 EMAIL: acdaniel@agfc.state.ar.us 
SHORT TITLE OF TIDS RULE: 2011 Fisheries Regulation Considerations 

1. 	 Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule or regulation have a fmancial impact? 
Yes: No: X 

2. 	 Do you believe that the development of a financial impact statement is so speculative as to be cost 
prohibitive? Yes: No: X If "Yes", please explain: 

3. 	 If the purpose ofthis rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please give the incremental cost 
for implementing the regulation. Please indicate ifthe cost provided is the cost ofthe program. 

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year 

General Revenue $ General Revenue $ 

Federal Funds $ Federal Funds $ 

Cash Funds $ N/A Cash Funds $ N/A 

Special Revenue $ Special Revenue $ 

Other (Identify) $ Other (Identify) $ 

Total $ Total $ 


What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any party subject to the proposed, amended, or 

repealed rule? (Estimated cost includes fees, administrative penalties, reporting, record keeping, 

equipment, construction, labor, professional services, revenue loss, or other costs associated with 

compliance.) Identify the party subject to the proposed rule, and explain how they are impacted. 


Current Fiscal Year: $ N/A Next Fiscal Year: $ N/A 

Party Subject to Rule: Anglers 

Effect on Party Stlbject to Rule: Positive for the public and the agency 

5. 	 What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to the agency to implement this rule? Explain the 
fmancial benefit to the agency from implementing this rule. 

Current Fiscal Year: $ N/A Next Fiscal Year: $ N/A 

Financial Benefit to Agency: N/A 

6. 	 Do alternative means exist for accomplishing the objectives ofthe rules that might be less 

burdensome to small business? Yes: No: X 


Why were such alternatives not proposed: 

7. 	 Compare this rule with federal and state counterparts: 

mailto:acdaniel@agfc.state.ar.us


INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS FORM: 

1. ECONOMIC IMPACT - In compliance with Governor's Proclamation EO 05-04, this form must be 
completed for commercial licenses and permits and submitted at the time a regulation is proposed to the 
Commission. The form will be forwarded to the Chief of Fiscal Services Division for review. After 
review, the form will be submitted to: 

Director 
Arkansas Department ofEconomic Development 
One Capitol Mall 
Little Rock, AR 72201 

2. FINANCIAL IMPACT - After passage of any regulation changes which have a financial impact 
(including all sport, lifetime, and commercial licenses) this form must be completed and submitted to the 
Chiefof the Legal Division. The form is required for filing regulation changes with the Secretary of 
State. 

" 



2012 Fishing Regulation Consideration List 

(Red language is to be added. Red Strikethroughs are to be deleted.) 


31.01 B 	 GAME FISH POSSESSION LIMIT RESTRICTIONS. It shall be 
01-11/08-11 	 unlawful to possess more than two (2) daily limits of game fish or the 

aggregate thereof. 

Daily Limit - Alligator Gar..... ........... .......... 1 

Daily Limit - Black Basses(including not 


more than four Smallmouth). 10 

Daily Limit - Rock Bass.......... ............ ...... 10 

Daily Limit - Catfish(exc. Bullhead).......... 10 

Daily Limit - Bream(over 4"in length}....... 50 

Daily Limit - Crappie................................ 20 

Daily Limit - Muskellunge........................ 6 

Daily Limit - PickereL............................... 6 

Daily Limit - Sauger.................................. 6 

Daily Limit - Saugeye............................... 6 

Daily Limit - Striped Bass or Hybrid 


Combination......................... 6 

Daily Limit - Walleye................................ 6 

Daily Limit - White Bass........................... 25 


(yellow Bass - No Limit) 

Daily Limit - Paddlefish............................. 2 

Daily Limit Alligator Gar... ....... ................ 1 

Daily Limit - Shovel nose Sturgeon......... No Limit 


Daily Aggregate Limit....... ............ ............. 75 

Daily Limit for all sportfish on Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d'Arc Lake 

in Hempstead County & Horseshoe Bend 

Pool, Strawberry River in Izard County % daily limit 


EXCEPTIONS: 
(1) 	 LARGEMOUTH. SPOTTED, SMALLMOUTH (BLACK BASS): 

(A) 	 Ozark Zone (Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, 
Fulton, Independence, Izard, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, 
Newton, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, and 
Washington counties) - smallmouth bass minimum length 
limit of 12 inches with a daily limit of 4, except Bull Shoals 
Lake, Beaver Lake, Greers Ferry Lake, Lake Norfork, and 
Table Rock Lake (see exception 1 (B) below). 
Ozark Zone Blue Ribbon Streams (Crooked Creek and 

Buffalo River) - smallmouth bass minimum length limit of 14 

inches with a daily limit of 2. Smallmouth bass minimum 

length limit on Crooked Creek 18 inches with a daily limit of 

1: from 101 bridge downstream to the confluence with the 
White River; between the Hwy 62-412 and Hwy 62 Spur 



bridges at Pyatt. Smallmouth bass minimum length limit 
on Buffalo River 18 inches with a daily limit of 1 from 
confluence with Clabber Creek downstream to the 
confluence with the White River. 
Ozark Zone Catch and Release Area - Crooked Creek, 
along boundary of Arkansas Game and Fish Foundation 
property near Kelly's Slab Access. 
Ozark Zone Quality Streams (Kings, IlIinois,Spring, South 
Fork/Spring and Eleven Point rivers and War Eagle Creek) 
- smallmouth bass minimum length limit of 14 inches with a 
daily limit of 2, except on Kings River from Trigger Gap to 
Hwy 62 bridge: minimum length limit of 18 inches and daily 
limit of 1. 
Ouachita/Boston Zone (all Arkansas counties not included in 
the Ozark Zone) - smallmouth bass minimum length limit 
of10 inches with a daily limit of 4. 
Ouachita/Boston Zone Quality Streams (Mulberry, Caddo 
above DeGray Lake, DeGray Lake, Cossatot River, 
Ouachita River upstream from Lake Ouachita, Ouachita 
River downstream from Remmel Dam, Saline River, 
including its four headwater forks in Saline, Perry and 
Garland counties, South Fork/Ouachita, Little Missouri 
above Lake Greeson and Lake Greeson) - smallmouth bass 
minimum length limit of 12 inches with a daily limit of 2. 
Ouachita/Boston Zone Catch-and-Release Area - all 
smallmouth bass caught in Lake Ouachita including the 
Ouachita River upstream to the River Bluff access and the 
South Fork of the Ouachita River upstream to Hovel Branch 
must be immediately returned to the stream. 

(B) 	 Black Bass daily limit - six (6) on Beaver Lake, Bull Shoals, 
DeQueen Lake, Lake Jack Nolen, Norfork Lake, Lake 
Ouachita, Lake Ashbaugh in Greene County and Table 
Rock Lake, five (5) on Lake Lou Emma - Crawford County, 
and four (4) on Lake Atkins; Largemouth bass daily limit ­
six (6) on Millwood Lake, five (5) on Grandview Lake #2, 
eight (8) in Lower White Oak Lake and Lake Columbia, and 
one (1) on Mallard Lake. and the Little Missouri River.; 
Smallmouth bass daily limit is six (6) on Greers Ferry Lake. 

(C) 	 Largemouth bass caught must be immediately returned to 
the water in Marion McCollum Lake in Monroe County, Lake 
Sylvia in Perry County, Dr. Lester Sitzes III, Bois d'Arc Lake 
and Lake Hindsville in Madison County. 

(2) 	 BREAM 
(A) 	 No limit on bream four (4) inches or less in length. 

(3) 	 CATFISH 



(A) 	 No limit on catfish on Grand Lake - Chicot County, Lake 
Chicot (including that portion of Connerly Bayou downstream 
from Connerly Dam to the bayou's mouth and Ditch Bayou 
from the inlet on Lake Chicot to Ditch Bayou Dam) and 
between the main levees of the Mississippi River, from the 
confluence of the MississippiJVVhite Rivers upstream to the 
Benzal Railroad Bridge, and from the confluence of the 
Mississippi/Arkansas Rivers upstream to the Yancopin 
Railroad Bridge. No limit on blue and channel catfish from 
Red River, Sulphur River and Little River below Millwood 
Dam. 

(B) 	 Catfish daily limit five (5) on DeWitt City Park Lake ­
Arkansas County; Lake Bentonville - Benton County; Hidden 
Lake - Carroll County; Big Timber Lake and Gurdon Lake ­
Clark County; Hubble Lake - Clay County; Lake Bailey­
Conway County; Lake Cambadelle and Lake Lou Emma -
Crawford County; Marion City Park Lake - Crittenden 
County; Village Creek State Park Lakes - Cross and St. 
Francis Counties; Lake Bennett - Faulkner County; Lake 
Clearfork - Garland County; Crowley Ridge State Park Lake 
and Reynolds Park Lake - Greene County; Newark City 
Lake - Independence County; Lake June - Lafayette 
County; Ward City Park Lake - Lonoke County; Hindsville 
Lake - Madison County; Blytheville City Park Lake -
MiSSissippi County; Donald Branch Fishing Pond - Monroe 
County; Lake Sylvia - Perry County; Shady Lake - Polk 
County; Twin Lakes A & B, Camp Ferncliff, Paradise Lake -
Pulaski County; Old Davidsonville State Park Lake­
Randolph County; Forrest City Park Lake - st. Francis 
County; TnJman Baker Lake - Scott County; Cave City's 
Lakes - Sharp County; Gunner Pool and Hayden Bend Pond 
- Stone County; Devils Den State Park - Washington 
County; Spring Lake - Yell County; Kingfisher, Clubhouse 
Lakes in Petit Jean WMA, Yell County and posted U.S. 
Forest Service ponds and lakes. 

(C) 	 In addition to daily limit, ten (10) channel catfish under 16 
inches may be taken on the Arkansas River. 

(D) 	 I n addition to daily limit, ten channel catfish and ten blue 
catfish of any size may be taken in Lake Erling and Millwood 
Lake. 

(4) 	 CRAPPIE 
(A) 	 Crappie daily limit - 15 in Beaver, Table Rock, Bull Shoals, 

Norfork reservoirs, Cane Creek Lake in lincoln County and 
Gurdon Lake in Clark County. 

(B) 	 Crappie daily limit - 30 east of a line beginning at the 
Arkansas - Missouri State Line on U.S. Hwy 63 and 



described as follows: following U.S. Hwy 63 south to Hardy, 
continuing on U.S. Hwy 62 west to Ash Flat, continuing on 
U.S. Hwy 167 south to Little Rock, continuing on U.S. Hwy 
67 south to Texarkana to Arkansas - Texas state line. 

(C) 	 Crappie daily limit - 50 between the main levees of the 
Mississippi River, from the confluence of the Mississippi/ 
White Rivers upstream to the Benzal Railroad Bridge, from 
the confluence of the Mississippi/Arkansas Rivers upstream 
to the Yancopin Railroad Bridge and on 
Horseshoe Lake in Crittenden County. 

(D) 	 Crappie daily limit - 20 in Lake Chicot and Lake Monticello. 
(5) 	 WALLEYE 

(A) Walleye daily limit - 4 with an 18 inch minimum length 
limit in Beaver Lake, including all its tributaries, Bull Shoals 
Lake, Norfork Lake and Table Rock Lake, including all its 
tributaries to the Beaver Dam on the White River; Greers 
Ferry Lake including all its tributaries, daily limit - 6, only one 
of which may be 28 inches or over, with a protected slot limit 
from 20 to 28 inches. 

(6) 	 In compliance with Commission Code 31.02 (Game Fish Limits and 
Protective Slot Limits on Certain Lakes and Rivers). 

(7) 	 In compliance with Commission Code Section 35.00 (Spear 

Fishing). 


(8) 	 In compliance with Commission Code Section 42.00 (Fish Farmer). 
(9) 	 WHITE BASS, STRIPED BASS, HYBRID STRIPED BASS 

(A) 	 White Bass daily limit of 50 and possession limit of 100 while 
fishing between the main levees of the Mississippi River, 
from the confluence of the MississippilWhite Rivers 
upstream to the Benzal Railroad Bridge, and from the 
confluence of the MiSSissippi/Arkansas Rivers upstream to 
the Yancopin Railroad Bridge. 

(B) 	 Striped Bass or Hybrid Combination daily limit - 3 on Beaver 
Lake, Bull Shoals Lake, Lake Greeson, Lake Maumelle, 
Norfork Lake and Lake Ouachita; 10 when taken from the 
Arkansas River and connecting lakes. 

(C) 	 No limit on White Bass on Lake Ashbaugh and Beaver Lake 
and all tributaries including Lake Sequoyah. 

(D) 	 No limit on white bass and hybrid striped bass on Lake 
Monticello (Drew County). 

(10) ALLIGATOR GAR 
(A) 	 No alligator gar greater than 36 inches may be harvested 

from 12:00 noon May 1 to 12:00 noon July 1, statewide . 
. Alligator gar permit is required to harvest alligator gar (Refer 
to Code 32.19). 


PENALTV: $100.00 to $1,000.00. 
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31.02 GAME FISH LENGTH LIMITS AND PROTECTIVE SLOT LIMITS 
12-10/08-11 ON CERTAIN LAKES AND RIVERS 

(A) BASS: It shall be unlawful to possess black bass as follows: 
(1) 	 Less than 12 inches in length on largemouth bass in Lake 

Frierson. 
(2) 	 Less than 12 inches in length on spotted bass in Beaver 

Lake, Bull Shoals Lake, Norfork Lake and Table Rock Lake. 
(3) 	 Less than 15 inches in length on small mouth bass in Beaver 

Lake, Bull Shoals Lake, Norfork Lake and Table Rock Lake. 
(4) 	 Less than 15 inches in length on largemouth bass only in 

Beaver Lake, Big Lake National Wildlife Refuge, Blue 
Mountain Lake, Bull Shoals Lake, Caddo Fishing Pond, 
Upper and Lower Lake Cnicot (including that portion of 
Connerly Bayou downstream from Connerly Dam to the 
bayou's mouth and Ditch Bayou from the inlet on Lake 
Chicot to Ditch Bayou Dam) in Chicot County, Georgia 
Pacific Lake, Lake Greenlee, Kingfisher Lake, Greers Ferry 
Lake, Mercer Bayou (Sulphur River WMA) , Moss Creek 
Pond, Norfork Lake, Shady Lake,Table Rock Lake, and 
Arkansas River. 

(5) 	 It shall be unlawful to possess largemouth bass from 
13" to 16" in length on Lake Barnett (White County), Lake 
Austell (Cross County), Bear Creek Lake, Bob Kidd Lake, 
Lake Brewer, Lake DeGray, Dierks Reservoir (Howard 
and Sevier counties), Lee Creek Lake, Sugar Loaf Lake 
and Lake Wilhelmina (Polk County). 

(6) 	 bess than 16 inches in length on largemouth bass only in 
bake Millwood. Limit 3. 

t7t(6) 	It shall be unlawful to possess largemouth bass from 16" to 
2111 in length orto possess more than one (1) largemouth 
bass 21" or longer in Lake Atkins (Pope County) Limit 4. 

(:Sj(7) 	 It shall be unlawful to possess largemouth bass from 16" to 
21" in length in Lake Pickthorne; limit 2, only one of which 
may be 21" or longer. 

(:Bt(8) 	It shall be unlawful to possess largemouth bass from16 
inches to 21 inches in length in Lake #1 in Grandview 
WMA. Limit 2 largemouth bass (1 over 21" and 1 under 
16", or 2 under 16"). Limit on other game fish is one 
half the statewide daily limit. 

0-Gt(9) Less than 13 inches in length on largemouth bass and 
spotted bass in Lake Ouachita. 

f-1-1i( 10) It shall be unlawful to possess largemouth bass from 16" to 
18" in length or to possess more than three largemouth bass 
longer than 18" in Lower White Oak Lake and Lake 
Columbia. 



f1-2j{11) Less than 21 inches in length on largemouth bass in Mallard 
Lake. Daily limit one largemouth bass. 

~(12) Less than 18 inches in length on smallmouth bass in the 
lower Little Missouri River. 

(-141{13) It shall be unlawful to possess more than {1} largemouth 
bass 18 inches or longer in Lake SWEPCO. 

(-tat{14) Black bass greater than 16 inches in Lake Winona. 
~(15}Less than 12 inches in length on black bass in Horseshoe 

Bend Pool on the Strawberry River. 
f1-7t{ 16) Less than 13 inches in length on largemouth bass in the 

Ouachita River from Tate's Bluff Bridge (Ouachita County) to 
Felsenthal Lock and Dam (Union and Ashley Counties), 
including all waters accessible by boat from the main 
channel at normal water levels (65.0 ft. MSL at Felsenthal 
Lock and Dam and 77.0 ft. MSL at Thatcher Lock and Dam). 
Persons fishing oxbow lakes that are exempt from this 
regulation should access those waters directly and not from 
the river channel during higher water levels. 

f1-8t{17} Less than 13 inches in length on largemouth bass in the 
Saline River form Stillion Bridge {Ashley and Bradley 
Counties} to the mouth, including all waters accessible by 
boat from the main channel at normal water levels (65.0ft. 
MSL at Felsenthal Lock and Dam). Persons fishing oxbow 
lakes that are exempt from this regulation should access 
those waters directly and not from the river channel during 
higher water levels 

f1-9j(18) Largemouth bass 19-22 inches on Lake Monticello. Daily 
limit eight, only one of which may be 22 inches or longer. 

{B} 	 CRAPPIE: It shall be unlawful to possess crappie as follows: 
(1) 	 Less than 10 inches in length in Beaver, Table Rock, Bull 

Shoals and Norfork Reservoirs, Cane Creek Lake in Lincoln 
County, Lake Chicot (including that portion of Connerly 

. Bayou downstream from Connerly Dam to the bayou's 
mouth and Ditch Bayou from the inlet on Lake Chicot to 
Ditch Bayou Dam), Lake Charles and Lake Monticello. 

(2) 	 Less than 9 inches in length in Blue Mountain Lake and 
Harris Brake Lake. 

EXCEPTION: 
(1) 	 During the months of December, January and February, the 

minimum length limit is waived on Lake Monticello and the 
harvest is regulated by a 20-fish daily bag limit. The first 20 
crappie caught, regardless of size, ,must be retained: culling 
is not permitted. From March through November, harvest is 
controlled by a 10-inch minimum length, 20-fish daily bag 
limit. 

(C) 	 CATFISH (Channel, Blue and Flathead): 



(1) 	 It shall be unlawful to possess more than one catfish 
(channel, blue or flathead) greater than 34 inches in 
length from the Mississippi River along the common 
border '#ith the state of Tennessee, including oxbow 
lakes between the main levees of the Mississippi River. 

~(1)lt shall be unlawful to possess flathead catfish less than 
20 inches in length on the Ouachita River from Sandy 
Beach Access (Ouachita County) to Remmel Dam. 

(D) 	 STRIPED BASS: It shall be unlawful to possess striped bass 
less than 20 inches in length on Lake Norfork and Beaver 
Lake. 

(E) 	 SHOVELNOSE STURGEON: It shall be unlawful to possess 
Shovelnose sturgeon less than 21 inches in length. 
Shovelnose sturgeon may not be taken from the Mississippi 
River. 

EXCEP-nON: 
(1) 	 Sportfish may be snagged (except in catch and release areas) 

in accordance with Code 31.05, Hogging, Noodling and 
Snagging Game Fish Prohibited, and within the restrictive size 
limits as specified in Code 31.02. 

NOTE: Measure all fish from the front end of the lower jaw to the tip of the 

tail with fish laid flat on rule, on its side, mouth closed and tail lobes 

pressed together. 

PENALTY: $100.00 to $1,000.00. 


31.19 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY FISHING PROGRAM RESTRICTIONS. 
01·11108·11 	 (A) FAMILY FISHING PROGRAM RESTRICTIONS. 

It shall be unlawful to fish in the following waters except as 
specified herein: 
Armory Pond (Columbia County), Bob Courtway Pond (Faulkner 
County), Dr. James E. Moore Jr. Camp Robinson Firing Range 
(Faulkner County), Lake Village Community Fishing Pond (Chicot 
County), Mattocks Park Lake (Union County), Pine Bluff Regional 
Park Youth Fishing Pond (Jefferson County), Landers Lake (Pulaski 
County), Mike and Janet Huckabee Youth Fishing Pond 
(Hempstead County), Salem City Lake (Fulton County), War 
Memorial Park Pond (Pulaski County) and Craighead Forest Park 
Youth Fishing Pond (Craighead County): 
(1) 	 Fishing open only to persons under 16 years of age 

and 65 years of age and older. Properly licensed 
persons between the ages of 16 and 64 may fish if 
accompanied by a person under age 16 who is actively 
fishing. Fishing open only to holders of a disabled 
fishing (either a three-year or combination disability 
license). One properly licensed person may assist and 
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fish with the disabled fishing license holder who must 
be actively fishing. 

(2) 	 Only hand held rod or pole allowed. 
(3) 	 Largemouth bass: catch and release only. 
(4) 	 Catfish daily limit: 3 
(5) 	 Bream daily limit: 25 
(6) 	 Trout daily limit: 5 
(7) 	 Hybrid striped bass: 3 
(8) 	 Lakes open to electric trolling motors only. 
(9) 	 All other sportfishing daily limit: same as statewide. 

41.38 HARVEST RESTRICTION OF CATFISH AND STURGEON IN THE 
00-0008-o5/o8-11MISSISSIPPI RIVER. It shall be unlawful to commercially take or possess 

catfish greater than 34 inches in length from the Mississippi River along its 
common border 'Nith the state of Tennessee, or any sturgeon from the 
Mississippi River, including the Arkansas River to Dam #2, St. Francis 
River to the Huxtable Pumping Station and the White River to Montgomery 
Point Lock and Dam. 
PENALTY: $100.00 to $1,000.00 and fishing privileges may be 

suspended in accordance with Code 11.05, Revocation of 
Privileges. 

41.40 	 DR. LESTER SITZES III BOIS d'ARC LAKE (HEMPSTEAD COUNTY). 
01/-11/08-11 	 It shall be unlawful to commercial fish Bois d'Arc Lake (Hempstead 

County) other than Open noon, Feb. 1 until noon, January 1 through noon 
the last day of February 28 with 31/2 inch gill and trammel nets. 
Commercial fishermen must obtain, and have in their possession while 
fishing, a commercial permit from the district biologist at the Hope 
Regional Office and report their catch to the Hope Regional Office by 
March 15. 
PENALTY: $100.00 to $1,000.00 

45.07 SPECIFIC TROUT WATER REGULATIONS. 
08-09/08-11 

(F) 	 Dry Run Creek (from it's source on the east side of Norfork National Fish 
Hatchery below Norfork Dam to the confluence with the North Fork 
of the White River). 
(1) 	 An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole, 

and must attend it at all times. No other devices shall be 
used to catch fish. 

(2) 	 Catch and Release Stream. All trout caught must be 
immediately released. 

(3) 	 Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point shall 
be used. Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(4) 	 Chumming is prohibited. 
(5) 	 Fishing is limited to youths under age 16 and mobility 

impaired anglers. 
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(6) 	 Fishing is allowed from sunrise to sunset. 
(7) 	 Fishing from the pier on Dry Run Creek is limited to m 

Mobility impaired anglers shall fish from the mobility impaired 
access pier or boardwalk only. 

(8) 	 Mobility impaired card is required for mobility impaired 
anglers. 
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ARKANSAS STATE GAME AND FISH COMMISSION  

 

CODE BOOK 
 

The regulations in this Code Book are hereby adopted by the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission 

under authority of Amendment 35 to the Constitution of the State of Arkansas.  All laws, rules, 

regulations or orders in conflict with the regulations in this Code Book are hereby repealed by the 

Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission. 
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01.00-A AMENDMENT NO. 35 
Be it Enacted by the People of the State of Arkansas. 
That the following shall be an amendment to the Constitution: 
Section 1. The control, management, restoration, conservation and regulation of birds, fish, game and 

wildlife resources of the State, including hatcheries, sanctuaries, refuges, reservations, and all property now 
owned, or used for said purposes and the acquisition and establishment of same, the administration of the laws 
now and/or hereafter pertaining thereto, shall be vested in a Commission to be known as the Arkansas State 
Game and Fish Commission, to consist of eight members.  Seven of whom shall be active and one an associate 
member who shall be the Head of the Department of Zoology at the University of Arkansas, without voting 
power. 

Section 2. Commissioners shall have knowledge of and interest in wildlife conservation.  All shall be 
appointed by the Governor.  The first members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Governor for terms 
as follows:  One for one year, one for two years, one for three years, one for four years, one for five years, one 
for six years, and one for seven years. Each Congressional District must be represented on the Commission. 

Section 3. Upon the expiration of the foregoing terms of the said Commission, a successor shall be 
appointed by the Governor for a term of seven years, which term of seven years shall thereafter be for each 
member of the Commission.  No Commissioner can serve more than one term and none can succeed himself. 

Section 4. Each Commissioner shall take the regular oath of office provided in the Constitution and 
serve without compensation other than actual expenses while away from home engaged entirely on the work of 
the Commission. 

Section 5. A Commissioner may be removed by the Governor only for the same causes as apply to other 
Constitutional Officers, after a hearing which may be reviewed by the Chancery Court for the First District with 
right of appeal therefrom to the Supreme Court, such review and appeal to be without presumption in favor of 
any finding by the Governor or the trial court. 

Section 6. Vacancies on the Commission due to resignation or death shall be filled by appointment of 
the Governor for the unexpired term within thirty days from date of such vacancy; upon failure of the Governor 
to fill the vacancy within thirty days, the remaining Commissioners shall make the appointment for the 
unexpired term.  A Chairman shall be elected annually from the seven members of the Commission to serve one 
year. 

Section 7. The Commission shall elect an Executive Secretary whose salary shall not exceed that of 
limitations placed on other constitutional departments; and other executive officers, supervisor, personnel, office 
assistants, wardens, game refuge keepers, and hatchery employees, whose salaries and expenditures must be 
submitted to the Legislature and approved by an Act covering specific items in the biennial appropriation as 
covered by Article XVI, Section 4 of the Constitution. 

Section 8. No person shall be employed by the Commission who shall be related to any of the 
Commissioners or any other State officers within the third degree of relationship by blood or marriage.  All 
employed personnel may make arrest for violation of the game and fish laws. 

The fees, monies or funds arising from all sources by the operation and transaction of the said 
Commission and from the application and administration of the laws and regulations pertaining to birds, game, 
fish and wildlife resources of the State and the sale of property used for said purposes shall be expended by the 
Commission for the control, management, restoration, conservation and regulation of the birds, fish and wildlife 
resources of the State, including the purchases of other acquisitions of property for said purposes and for the 
administration of the laws pertaining thereto and for no other purposes.  All monies shall be deposited in the 
Game Protection Fund with the State Treasurer and such monies as are necessary including an emergency fund 
shall be appropriated by the Legislature at each legislative session for the use of the Game and Fish Commission 
as hereto set forth.  No monies other than those credited to the Game Protection Fund can be appropriated. 

All money to the credit of or that should be credited to the present Game Protection Fund shall be 
credited to the new Game Protection Fund and any appropriation made by the Legislature out of the Game 
Protection Fund shall be construed to be for the use of the new Commission and out of the new Game Protection 
Fund. 

The books, accounts and financial affairs of the Commission shall be audited by the State Comptroller 
as that department deems necessary, but at least once a year. 
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Resident hunting and fishing licenses, each, shall be One and 50/100 Dollars annually, and shall not 
exceed this amount unless a higher license fee is authorized by an Act of Legislature. 

The Commission shall have the exclusive power and authority to issue licenses and permits, to regulate 
bag limits and the manner of taking game and fish and furbearing animals, and shall have the authority to divide 
the State into zones, and regulate seasons and manner of taking game, and fish and furbearing animals therein, 
and fix penalties for violations.  No rules or regulations shall apply to less than a complete zone, except 
temporarily in case of extreme emergency. 

Said Commission shall have the power to acquire by purchase, gifts, eminent domain, or otherwise, all 
property necessary, useful or convenient for the use of the Commission in the exercise of any of its duties, and 
in the event the right of eminent domain is exercised, it shall be exercised in the same manner as now or 
hereafter provided for the exercise of eminent domain by the State Highway Commission.  All laws now in 
effect shall continue in force until changed by the Commission.  All contracts and agreements now in effect 
shall remain in force until the date of their expiration. 

This amendment shall not repeal, alter or modify the provisions of any existing special laws under the 
terms of which a County Game Commission has been created: 

The Commission shall be empowered to spend such monies as are necessary to match Federal grants 
under the Pittman-Robertson or similar acts for the propagation, conservation and restoration of game and fish. 

The amendment shall become effective July 1, 1945. 
(Proposed by Initiated Petition. Voted upon at General Election, November 7, 1944. For 115, 214; 

Against 72,797) 
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01.00-B DUTIES AND AUTHORITIES OF WILDLIFE OFFICERS 

 Wildlife Officers shall be commissioned by the Commission and shall have the right to 

apprehend persons detected of violating any of the laws or regulations of the State 

enacted for the protection of game, fish, furbearing animals and other wildlife, and to 

take such offenders before any court having jurisdiction in the county where such offense 

is committed.  Wildlife Officers shall be authorized to serve all processes issued by a 

court of competent jurisdiction relating to the enforcement of all laws and regulations 

pertaining to game, fish, furbearing animals and other wildlife of the State; to go upon 

any property outside of private dwellings, posted or otherwise, in the performance of 

their duties; to carry firearms while performing duties; and to conduct searches with or 

without a warrant according to law.  Additionally, Wildlife Officers lawfully present in 

any place may, in the performance of their duties, stop and detain any person who they 

Reasonably suspect is, or recently has been, involved in any hunting, fishing, or trapping 

activity to conduct an administrative inspection to determine whether the person is in 

compliance with the laws and regulations of the State enacted for the protection of game, fish, 

furbearing animals and other wildlife.  Wildlife Officers may request that the person sopped and 

detained immediately surrender the following items for inspection:  all kicking devices, 

licenses, permits, tags, stamps, check sheets, ice chests, game bags, game vests, wildlife, fishing 

tackle, equipment used for hunting or fishing or containers that can reasonable hold wildlife 

(reference Code 05.30).   

Sheriffs, constables and other law enforcement officers certified by the State of Arkansas, and 

special agents and employees of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, National Park Service and 

U.S. Forest Service who have been authorized to enforce laws and regulations administered by 

the U.S. Department of the Interior or U.S. Department of Agriculture shall, upon request by the 

Commission and upon proper oath or affirmation, have authority to make arrests, searches and 

seizures for violations of State game and fish laws and regulations.  They shall serve without 

compensation from the Commission in the discharge of those duties.  Wildlife Officers may be 

appointed as special agents by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and shall have the additional 

authority conferred upon them by that agency.  They shall serve without extra compensation in 

the discharge of those duties. 

 

01.00-C DEFINITION OF TERMS 

04-1 For the purposes of the Arkansas State Game and Fish Code of Regulations, the 

following terms shall be construed, respectively, to mean and include: 

ADULT GOBBLER – Male turkeys having at least one of the following characteristics: a) tail 

feathers which are the same length, b) wing feathers that have white barring all the way to the 

tip or c) a beard more than six (6) inches in length. 

ALLIGATOR DEALER – Any person, firm or corporation engaging in the sale, purchase, 

barter or exchange of an American alligator (Alligator mississippiensis) or other crocodilian 

species, or any part, nest or eggs thereof in Arkansas. 

ALLIGATOR FARMER – Any person, firm or corporation possessing an American alligator 

(Alligator mississippiensis) or other crocodilian species, or any part, nest or eggs thereof in 

Arkansas for the purpose of propagation, production or rearing. 

ALLIGATOR SNAPPING TURTLE DEALER – Any person, firm or corporation engaged 

in the sale or purchase of alligator snapping turtles. 

ALLIGATOR SNAPPING TURTLE BREEDER – Any person, firm or corporation 

possessing alligator snapping turtles for the purpose of propagation, production, rearing or sale. 

ANIMAL – An organism of the animal kingdom, as distinguished from the plant kingdom, 

including any part, product, egg or offspring thereof. 
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ANTLERLESS ELK – Any elk (male or female) not meeting requirements to be a legal bull 

elk. 

AQUACULTURE SPECIES – Any species listed on the Approved Aquaculture Species List 

(Addendum J1.00) and species not listed but allowed under Unlisted or Restricted Species 

Possession Permits. 

AQUATIC WILDLIFE – Aquatic snails, aquatic turtles, crayfish (crawfish and crawdads), 

fish (including minnows), frogs, mussels and salamanders. 

ARKANSAS RIVER BOUNDARY (Sportfishing Only) – The Arkansas Post Canal from 

Lock and Dam No. 1 to the Arkansas River and the Arkansas River from Dam No. 2 upstream 

to the Oklahoma state line, including all lakes, bays and tributary streams accessible by boat 

from the main channel except: 

 Big Bayou Meto upstream from Arkansas Highway 11; 

 Plum Bayou upstream from U.S. Highway 79; 

 Little Maumelle River upstream from Pinnacle Mountain State Park; 

 Maumelle River upstream from Lake Maumelle Dam; 

 Fourche LaFave upstream from Arkansas Highway 113; 

 Palarm Creek upstream from Interstate 40; 

 Cadron Creek upstream from the weir; 

 Point Remove Creek upstream from Arkansas Highway 113; 

 Petit Jean River upstream from Pontoon Boat Ramp at Arkansas Highway 154; 

 Illinois Bayou upstream from Russellville Waterworks Dam; 

 Big Piney and Little Piney creeks upstream from Arkansas Highway 359; 

 Horsehead Creek upstream from Interstate 40; 

 Mulberry River upstream from Interstate 40; 

 Frog Bayou upstream from Arkansas Highway 162 and Lee Creek upstream from 

Lee Creek Dam, 

 And from the first non-navigable shoal for streams entering the Arkansas River 

along the right bank descending from the Oklahoma state line to Lake Dardanelle 

Dam. 

ARTIFICIAL LURE OR FLY – Terminal fishing tackle made entirely of rubber, wood, 

metal, glass, feathers, hair, synthetic fibers or plastic, with hook attached. 

BAITFISH – Minnows, logperch, gizzard and threadfin shad, gar (other than alligator gar), 

bullhead catfish, crayfish, drum, bowfin under 6 inches, skipjack herring, brook and inland 

silversides, bigmouth, smallmouth and black buffalo, river carpsucker, banded and Ozark 

sculpin, bream 4 inches and under, and bream over 4 inches that are caught by hook and line. 

BAITING – The direct or indirect placing, exposing, depositing, distributing or scattering of 

salt, grain or other feed that could serve as a lure or attraction for wildlife to, on or over any 

areas where hunters are attempting to take them. 

BIG GAME – Alligator, black bear, deer, elk and turkey. 

BLACK BASS – Largemouth bass, redeye bass, smallmouth bass and spotted bass. 

BLOCKING OUT – The removal of the head and/or tail associated with the processing of a 

commercial fish. The blocked-out carcass (bullet) must be at least the minimum length required 

for the body of water where the commercial fish was harvested (Code 30.11). 

BONUS DEER – A harvested deer that is not included in a hunter’s statewide bag limit. 

BOX TYPE TURTLE TRAP – A floating trap designed to capture aquatic turtles, but does not 

permit capture of fish (Code 34.07). 
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BREAM – A species of the genus Lepomis, including bluegill, redear, warmouth and other 

sunfish. 

BUCK – A male deer (see LEGAL BUCK definition). 

BUCK DEER SEASON – A deer season in which no deer other than legal buck deer may be 

taken. 

BUY – To purchase, barter, exchange or trade, including any offer to purchase, barter, exchange 

or trade. 

CAPTIVITY OR HOLD CAPTIVE – The holding of living wildlife in a controlled 

environment that is manipulated by man for the purpose of exercising ownership, possession or 

control of the wildlife, and that has boundaries designed to prevent selected species from 

entering or leaving the controlled environment. 

CARCASS – The body of a dead animal. 

CASE – A container specifically designed to hold a firearm which completely encloses the 

firearm by being zipped, snapped, buckled, tied or otherwise fastened with no portion of the 

firearm exposed. 

CATCH-AND-RELEASE – The requirement that fish of a designated species must be 

immediately released into the water where caught. 

CERVID – A member of the Family Cervidae including without limitation deer, reindeer, 

moose, elk and caribou. 

CHASE FOR PLEASURE – To search for, pursue or chase game animals or other wildlife 

with the use of dogs for recreational purposes only, with no intent of hunting such game animals 

or wildlife. 

CHECKING WILDLIFE – The reporting of specific information to the Commission 

concerning harvest of alligator, bear, deer, elk and turkey by one of the following methods: 

phoning a designated number to report bear, deer or turkey harvests, electronically through the 

Commission’s on-line deer and turkey checking Web site or mobile applications, and in person 

to report harvest of elk and alligator at a designated check station. 

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE (CWD) – Fatal disease affecting the brain of cervids that 

belongs to a group of diseases called transmissible spongiform encephalopathies. 

CHUMMING – To dislodge or deposit any substance not attached to a hook which may attract 

fish. 

CITES TAG – a permit that allows shipping of certain animal pelts outside the State of 

Arkansas and assures compliance with the Convention on the International Trade of Endangered 

Species. 

CLEAN – Having no meat matter or tissue attached to the carcass. 

COMPUTER-ASSISTED HUNTING – The use of a computer or any other device, 

equipment or software to remotely control the aiming and discharge of a firearm, bow or 

crossbow to kill wildlife located in Arkansas. 

COMMERCIAL FISH – Bowfin (over 6 inches), buffalo, catfish, carp, drum, gar, paddlefish, 

sucker family, white amur and sturgeon. 

COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN – Any person who fishes with tackle designated as 

commercial tackle requiring a license and/or tag issued by the Commission. 

COMMERCIAL TACKLE – Properly licensed tackle used to catch aquatic wildlife for 

commercial purposes. 

COMMERCIAL WILDLIFE HUNTING RESORT – A facility, location, business, or 

operation that offers, for pay or other consideration, an opportunity to hunt native wildlife, other 

than pen-raised game birds, held in captivity.  Includes all contiguous land, and structures, other 

appurtenances, and improvements on the land, used for the hunting activities. 

COMMERCIAL WILDLIFE PERMIT – Any or all of the following permits: Alligator 

Farmer/Dealer, Alligator Snapping Turtle Breeder/Dealer, Resident Shell Taker and Seller, 

Shell Buyer, Non-Resident Shell Buyer, Resident Roe Taker/Seller, Resident Roe 
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Buyer/Exporter, Non-Resident Roe Buyer, Resident Fur Dealer, Non-Resident Fur Dealer, 

Special Commercial Quail, Game Bird Shooting Resort, Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort, 

Wildlife Breeder/Dealer and Wildlife Importation. 

COMMISSION – The Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission, unless otherwise 

designated. 

DEFERRED HUNTER EDUCATION (DHE) – Designates a holder of a valid Arkansas 

hunting license/permit who has deferred completion of the hunter education program. 

DISABLED – Any individual who is 100 percent permanently and totally disabled as declared 

by one or more of the following federal agencies: the U.S. Social Security Administration, the 

U.S. Department of Veteran’s Affairs or the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board. 

DOE – A female deer. 

DOE DEER SEASON – A deer season in which a doe may be taken. 

DROWNING SET – Any leg-hold trap that uses one or more of the following techniques to 

retain the target animal in water of suitable depth for drowning: a slide wire with lock, a tangle 

stake or a drowning weight. 

DUCKS (includes the following species) – All species of teal, merganser, whistling duck and 

scaup; American wigeon, American black duck, bufflehead, canvasback, gadwall, common 

goldeneye, mallard, mottled duck, northern shoveler, redhead, ring-necked duck, ruddy duck, 

northern pintail and wood duck. 

EDIBLE PORTIONS – portions of the following animals are considered edible as stated 

below: 

(a) Game Mammals: front quarters, hind quarters, loins and tenderloins.  

(b) Game Fish: fillets of fish.  

(c) Game Birds: breasts.  

(d) Frogs: hind legs.  

(e) Alligators: tails, legs, flanks, loins and tenderloins. 

EITHER-SEX – A male or a female. 

EITHER-SEX DEER SEASON – A deer season in which a doe or a legal buck may be taken. 

EMERGENCY CONDITION – Any condition involving:  

(a) imminent peril to the health, safety, or welfare of the public or the wildlife 

resources of the State; or  

(b) immediate action mandated by federal law or regulation. 

ENCLOSE – To surround wildlife using man-made barriers, including but not limited to 

fencing, walls, structures or other devices, so that the wildlife are not free to leave a particular 

environment. 

ENCLOSURE – Any area surrounded by a man-made barrier, including but not limited to 

fencing, walls, structures or other devices that prevent wildlife from leaving a particular 

environment. 

ENDANGERED SPECIES – A wildlife species or subspecies endangered or threatened with 

extinction listed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Addendum P1.00). 

FALCONRY – Caring for, training, transporting or using raptors for hunting wild game. It 

includes taking raptors from the wild to use in the sport. 

FEDERAL WATERS – Waters designated by federal law as federally controlled or under the 

jurisdiction of a department or agency of the United States Government. 

FEE LAKE – A lake in which there is a fee for fishing rights. All persons 16 years of age and 

older must possess an Arkansas fishing license. Daily limits apply. 

FERAL HOG – Any hog, including but not limited to Russian and European wild boar, which 

is roaming freely and is living in a wild or feral state. 

FIREARM – Any device designed, made, or adapted to expel a projectile through a barrel by 

using the energy generated by an explosion or burning substance, including without limitation 

muzzleloaders and modern guns (see LOADED FIREARM). 
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FISH OR FISHING – To lure, attract, collect or pursue fish species or aquatic wildlife for the 

purpose of taking or attempting to take such species by any method. 

FISH DEALER – Any person who sells live fish, including baitfish. 

FISH FARM – Waters and adjacent premises confined within a pond, tank or lake not 

connected with public waters, and under management of a fish farmer. 

FISH FARMER (AQUACULTURIST) – A person, firm, partnership or corporation engaged 

in the propagation or rearing of aquaculture species for sale. 

FREEFLOATING FISHING DEVICE – A floating fishing device unanchored or unattached 

to a stationary object. 

FURBEARERS – Badger, beaver, bobcat, coyote, gray fox, red fox, mink, muskrat, nutria, 

opossum, raccoon, river otter, spotted skunk, striped skunk and weasel. 

GAFF – To take or attempt to take fish with a hand- held or handled hook. 

GAME ANIMALS – Alligator, black bear, bobcat, coyote, deer, elk, gray fox, red fox, mink, 

opossum, eastern cottontail rabbit, swamp rabbit, raccoon, gray squirrel and fox squirrel. 

GAME BIRD SHOOTING RESORT –A facility, location, business, or operation that offers, 

for pay or other consideration, an opportunity to hunt captive-raised game birds.  Includes all 

contiguous land, and structures, other appurtenances, and improvements on the land, used for 

the hunting activities. 

GAME BIRDS – Turkey, quail, pheasant, chukar and all birds classified by the U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service as migratory game birds. 

GAME FISH – Alligator gar, black bass, white bass, striped bass, hybrid striped bass, crappie, 

catfish, trout, bream, goggle-eye, walleye, muskellunge, sauger, saugeye, paddlefish and 

pickerel. 

GEOCACHE – Items in a container (cache) placed or hidden for individuals to subsequently 

find using a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver.  

GEOCACHING – An outdoor sport, similar to “high-tech treasure hunting,” involving use of a 

Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver to find a cache. 

GUIDE – A person who provides, for monetary or any other compensation, that person’s 

personal services for the purpose of assisting others to locate, pursue, catch or hunt wildlife. 

HACKING – The temporary release of a raptor held for falconry to the wild so that it must 

survive on its own. 

HEN TURKEY – Female turkey with or without a beard. 

HIGH-FENCE ENCLOSURE – An enclosure that contains an area of at least 500 contiguous 

acres, with at least 60 percent of the acreage in forested cover that has been classified as 

timberland by the local county tax assessor, that has a perimeter fence at least 8 feet high, with 

no cross-fencing that has the effect of reducing the size of the area to less than 500 contiguous 

acres with at least 60 percent of the acreage in forested cover as herein provided. 

HOGGING – The taking of fish by the use of hands only in or under the water. 

HUNT OR HUNTING – Taking or attempting to take wildlife by any method including but 

not limited to searching, pursuing, chasing, tracking, luring, or attracting. 

HUNTING PARTY – Two or more persons hunting together. 

HYBRID RAPTOR – Offspring of birds listed as two or more distinct species. 

IMPORT OR IMPORTATION – To ship, convey, carry, transport, bring or introduce into 

Arkansas anything from outside its borders. 

IMPRINT – Bird that is hand-raised in isolation from other raptors from 2 weeks of age until it 

has fledged. An imprinted bird is considered to be so for its entire life. 

JAKE – Sub-adult male turkey having all these characteristics: longer central tail feathers, 

outermost one or two wing feathers lacking white barring all the way to the tip and a beard 6 

inches or less in length. 

KILLING DEVICE – Any firearm, bow and arrow, crossbow, compressed gas or spring-

powered pistol or rifle, blowgun, speargun, hand-thrown spear, slingshot, irritant gas device, 
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explosive device, or any other implement designed to discharge a projectile capable of killing 

wildlife. 

LARGE CARNIVORE – Tigers (Panthera tigris), African Lions (Panthera leo), or any hybrid 

thereof and all species of bears. 

LEGAL BUCK – A buck may be considered legal under the following rules as applied by this 

Code: 

(a) Buck of Choice:  A male whitetail deer. 

(b) Button Buck:  A male deer less than 12 months old with no hardened boned 

antler. 

(c) Three-point Rule: A buck having both antlers under two inches (including 

button buck) or at least one antler with at least three points, each a minimum of 

one inch long, including the tip of the main beam. (Code 21.03). 

(d) Four-point Rule: 1) A buck having both antlers under two inches (including 

button buck) or 2) a buck having at least one antler with at least four points, 

each a minimum of one inch long, including the tip of the main beam, or 3) a 

buck having at least one main beam 18 inches or more in length (Code 21.03). 

(e) WMA Special Restrictions:  Special restrictions may apply on certain WMAs 

(Code 21.03). 

LEGAL BULL ELK – An elk having at least one antler visible above the hair line. 

LEGAL TURKEY – A turkey may be considered legal under the following rules as applied by 

this Code: 

(a) Hunters 16 years and older a legal turkey is an adult gobbler or bearded hen. 

(b) Hunters 6 to 15 years of age is an adult gobbler, bearded hen or jake. 

LENGTH LIMITS –  

(a) Minimum Length Limit: The shortest length of a fish of a designated species 

that can be kept.  

(b) Maximum Length Limit: The maximum length of a fish of a designated 

species that can be kept.   

(c) Protected Length: A species/size limit that prohibits anglers from keeping fish 

within a designated size group.  Unless otherwise specified, all fish are 

measured from the front of the lower jaw with the mouth closed to the tip of the 

tail with tail lobes pressed together when laid flat on a rule, on its side. All fish 

not meeting the length limit requirements for a particular water or species must 

be immediately released into the water where caught. 

LIMITS –  

(a) Daily Limit: the maximum number of a species allowed to be taken during a 

specific 24–hour time period (midnight to midnight, unless otherwise 

specified).  

(b) Seasonal Limit: the maximum number of a species allowed to be taken during 

a specific season.  

(c) Possession Limit: the maximum number of species allowed to be possessed at 

any time.  Any fish or wildlife, excluding migratory game birds, legally taken 

for personal consumption and stored in processed form within a residence of 

the possessor shall not count toward the possession limit. 

LITTER – All waste which has been discarded or otherwise disposed of, including, but not 

limited to, convenience food and beverage packages or containers, trash, garbage, all other 

product packages or containers, and other post consumer solid wastes. 

LOADED FIREARMS – Firearms are considered loaded if shells or cartridges are in the 

chamber, magazine or cylinder. Percussion cap muzzleloading firearms are considered loaded if 

the percussion cap is on the nipple. Flintlock muzzleloading firearms are considered loaded if 
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there is powder in the flashpan. Electronic pulse ignition muzzleloaders are considered loaded if 

the ignition circuit is charged. 

MIGRATORY BIRDS – All birds protected by the Federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act of 1918 

and subsequent amendments. 

MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS – Coots, crows, doves, ducks, gallinules or moorhens, geese, 

rails, snipe and woodcock. 

MINNOWS – Small nongame fish commonly used for bait including bluntnose minnows, 

bullhead minnows, chubs, dace, fatheads, common carp under 6 inches, goldfish, shiners and 

stonerollers. 

MOBILITY IMPAIRED – A designation made by the Commission based upon a satisfactory 

showing that a person has a permanent physical condition, verified by a physician duly licensed 

to practice medicine by a state medical board, which severely impairs the person’s mobility and 

prevents him or her from being able to engage in hunting or fishing activities without the use of 

an ATV or similar specialized device for transportation. 

NATIVE WILDLIFE – Those species and sub-species of wildlife that have established, 

naturally reproducing, free-ranging, wild populations within Arkansas. 

NIGHT – The time period 30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise. 

NOODLING – The taking of fish by the use of a pole-mounted breakaway hook that detaches 

at the time of the strike or catch, or snare type device, with an attached line manipulated by 

hand when a person is in or under the water. 

NONGAME WILDLIFE – All wildlife other than furbearing or game animals, game birds and 

game fish. 

NON-NATIVE WILDLIFE – Any wildlife not defined as native wildlife. 

NONRESIDENT – A person not defined as a resident. 

NUISANCE WILDLIFE – Any wildlife creating a problem by committing damage to personal 

property or crops. 

OPEN SEASON – A time frame established by the Commission during which a designated 

species may be lawfully taken. 

PEN-RAISED QUAIL – Quail raised or hatched in captivity. 

PERSON – Any individual, firm, corporation, association, partnership or other legal entity in 

singular or plural as the context requires. All pronouns shall include the masculine, feminine 

and neuter. 

PORTABLE POP-UP BLIND – A structure used to conceal a person that can be collapsed 

and carried in its entirety by one person. 

POSSESS OR POSSESSION – Having or holding wildlife, or any property in one’s power; 

the exercise of dominion over property. Possession includes actual possession (physical 

occupancy or control over property) and constructive possession (control or dominion over 

property without actual possession or custody of the property).  

PROPAGATE OR PROPAGATION – To allow plants or animals to breed or multiply. 

PUBLIC ROAD – The traveled portion and the shoulders on each side of any road maintained 

for public travel by a city, county, state, or federal government and includes all structures within 

the limits of the right-of-way of any such road. 

PUT-AND-TAKE PAY LAKE – Private waters open to public fishing for a fee, after being 

licensed by the Commission and where no fishing license or daily limit of fish is imposed. 

RAPTOR – Migratory bird of the Order Falconiformes or the Order Strigiformes including 

bald eagles and golden eagles. 

REAR OR REARING – To maintain plants or animals to increase their size or development. 

REHABILITATION – Providing medical treatment or other care to orphaned, sick or injured 

wild animals that have come into human possession with the goal of returning the animal to the 

wild. 
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RESIDENCE – Any dwelling such as a house, manufactured home, or apartment that is 

permanently fixed in place and is owned, leased, or rented fully or in part by an individual.  

This term does not include tents; temporary lodging or rental units such as hotels, motels, 

resorts, or commercial campgrounds; recreational vehicles; mobile travel trailers; or, motor 

vehicles. 

RESIDENT –  

(a) A person who physically inhabits a bona fide residence in Arkansas for at least 

60 days and declares full-time residency. Possession of Arkansas real estate 

and/or proof of payment of associated services or utilities do not qualify the 

owner/renter as a resident if he lives out of state.  Additional facts considered in 

establishing proof of current Arkansas residency are: 

(i) Possession of a valid Arkansas driver’s license or Arkansas 

identification card. 

(ii) Possession of a valid Arkansas vehicle registration in his name and 

display of current Arkansas license tags on his vehicle. 

(iii) Other documentation may be considered. 

(b) The following persons are considered residents for purposes of this Code: 
(i) Residents of Arkansas enrolled as full-time students in colleges and 

universities outside of Arkansas. 

(ii) Nonresidents enrolled as full-time students in colleges and 

universities in Arkansas. 

(iii) Nonresident foreign exchange students attending school in 

Arkansas. 

(c) Resident foreign exchange students attending school outside of Arkansas. 
(iv) Active-duty military personnel assigned to duty stations in 

Arkansas. 

(v) Active-duty military personnel who were Arkansas residents at 

the time of entering service, regardless of where currently 

stationed. 
(d) Proof of at least one year residency must be provided when applying for the 

following licenses/permits: 

Special Guide, Alligator Farmer/Dealer, Alligator Snapping Turtle 

Breeder/Dealer, Commercial Fisherman’s and Sportfishing, Commercial 

Fisherman’s Helper, Junior/Senior Commercial Fishing, Resident Shell 

Taker/Seller, Shell Taker Helper, Shell Buyer, Resident Fish Dealer, 

Resident Roe Taker/Seller, Resident Roe Taker Helper and Resident Roe 

Buyer/Exporter. 

(e) The director or his representative shall make the final determination as to 

the resident status of any license applicant. 

ROUGH FISH – Gars, bowfin, bullhead catfish, common carp, Asian carp (grass carp, bighead 

carp, silver carp), suckers (including buffalo) and drum. 

SEINE – A fishing net that hangs vertically in the water where the ends can be drawn together 

to entrap fish. 

SEINING – The act of moving a seine by boat or human power to capture fish. 

SELL OR SALE – To exchange or deliver for money or its equivalent; to offer for sale, barter, 

exchange or trade or the act of selling, bartering, consigning, exchanging or trading. 

SHELL BUYER – Anyone who buys mussels or mussel parts from a Taker. An agent 

purchasing for a licensed buyer is not a buyer. 

SMALL GAME – Furbearers, migratory game birds, quail, rabbit and squirrel. 

SNAG – to take fish using conventional rod-and-reel tackle where the fish is impaled by the 

forceful retrieval of one or more hooks. 



 

13 

 

SNAGLINE – Commercial tackle consisting of a horizontal line with hooks or drops less than 

24 inches apart. 

SPORTFISH – See GAME FISH for definition. 

TACKLE – An apparatus or device used to take wildlife. 

TAKE – To shoot, kill, injure, trap, net, snare, spear, catch, capture or reduce to possession. 

TAXIDERMY – The art of preparing, stuffing and/or mounting wildlife and parts thereof. 

TRAP OR TRAPPING – A device to catch and hold wildlife. 

TROUT – Any members of the Salmonidae family including rainbow trout, brown trout, brook 

trout, lake trout and cutthroat trout. 

WATERFOWL – All species of coots, ducks, geese and swans. 

WATERS OF THE STATE – All streams, lakes, sloughs, bayous, marshes or any other 

waterbodies either permanent or intermittent located wholly or partially within Arkansas, with 

the exception of pay lakes and fish farms. 

WILD – To be living in a state of nature and not domesticated. 

WILDLIFE – All wild birds, mammals, fish, reptiles, amphibians and other wild aquatic forms, 

and all other wild animals, regardless of classification, whether resident, migratory or imported, 

protected or unprotected, dead or alive, and shall extend to and include any and every part of 

any individual species of wildlife, including animals living in a captive state and which lack a 

genetic distinction from members of the same species living in the wild. 

WILDLIFE CHECK METHODS – The following are the official wildlife check methods:  

(a) a designated elk check station;  

(b) the Commission on-line deer and turkey checking Web site and mobile 

applications; 

(c) a designated alligator check station; and, 

(d) the designated bear checking telephone number or the designated deer and 

turkey checking telephone number. 

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA (WMA) – Designated areas owned or controlled by the 

Commission and distinguished by certain markers and considered a separate zone with regard to 

wildlife regulations including: wildlife management area (WMA), waterfowl rest area (WRA), 

wildlife demonstration area (WDA), special use area (SUA) and state park-conservation area 

(SP-CA). 

YOUTH –  

(a) for sections of this Code pertaining to big game, “youth” means any  individual 

not less than 6 years old or more than 15 years old. 

(b) for all other sections of this Code, “youth” means an individual less than 16 

years of age. 

ZONE – An area defined by the Commission where hunting and/or fishing activities are 

regulated. 
 

01.00-D CONFISCATION AND SEIZURE 

09-07 (A) Any wildlife, including but not limited to game animals, birds and fish, that 

is taken, transported or sold in violation of any Code regulation is declared to be contraband 
and may be seized.  Upon conviction of the offender, or sooner if the court having 
jurisdiction so orders, title to the wildlife shall be forfeited to the Commission and 
such wildlife released or disposed of in compliance with Commission policy. 

(B) Any equipment, including but not limited to firearms, archery equipment, traps, 
tackle, nets, boats, lights, motors, vehicles and other fishing or hunting gear or 
devices, used in connection with a violation of any of the following Code 
regulations is declared to be contraband and may be seized: 

03.15 Non-Resident Guide License Requirements 
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05.01 Hunting Wildlife in Closed Season Prohibited (Reference Addendum Section 

A) 

05.02 Night Hunting Prohibited 

05.04 Selling Wildlife Restrictions 

05.05 Hunting from Road Prohibited 

05.06 Taking Wildlife at Night from a Boat Prohibited 

05.27 Endangered Species Protected 

05.33 Hunting or Fishing while Privileges are Suspended or Revoked Prohibited 

05.34 Suspension of Commercial Wildlife Permit Privileges 

06.11 Modern Firearms Prohibited During Muzzleloading Deer Seasons 

06.12 Possession of Firearms While Archery and Crossbow Hunting Prohibited 

07.05 Hunting Wild Turkey Over Bait Prohibited 

09.10 Wildlife Importation 

09.11 Importation of Certain Wildlife Prohibited 

12.01 Taking of Alligator Prohibited 

12.03 Restrictions on Method of Taking Alligator 

14.04 Taking of Raptors Prohibited 

15.02 Taking of Doe Deer Prohibited 

16.01 Legal Bull Elk Requirements 

16.02 Taking of Antlerless Elk Prohibited 

18.02 Wild Turkey Hen Restrictions 

20.04 Cutting Devices Prohibited on Commission-Owned WMAs 

24.08 Guiding Prohibited on All Commissioned-Owned or Controlled WMAs, WDAs 

and WRAs. 

26.01 Taking Fish with Electrical Devices, Firearms, Explosives, Toxic, Stupefying 

or Killing Substances Prohibited 

26.02 Trapping Fish Prohibited 

30.02 Commercial Fishing by Non-Resident Prohibited 

30.05 Illegal Commercial Tackle Prohibited 

30.17 Resident Roe Taker/Seller Permit Requirements 

30.18 Resident Roe Buyer/Exporter and Non-Resident Roe Buyer/Exporter Permit 

Requirements 

30.19 Roe Buyer/Exporter Reporting Requirements 

30.23 Paddlefish and Sturgeon Harvest Restrictions 

34.01 Aquatic Turtle Permit Requirements 

34.02 Qualifications for Certain Aquatic Turtle Permits  

34.03 Non-Resident Aquatic Turtle Dealer Permit Requirements 

34.04 Commercial Aquatic Turtle Harvest Restrictions 

34.05 Aquatic Turtle Tackle Restrictions 

34.06 Aquatic Turtle Tackle Tagging 

34.09 Taking or Possession of Alligator Snapping Turtles Prohibited 

34.10 Take of Chicken Turtles Prohibited 

34.11 Importation of Alligator Snapping Turtles and Chicken Turtles Prohibited 

Upon conviction of the offender, the court having jurisdiction may order title to the 

equipment forfeited to the Commission and such equipment disposed of in 

compliance with Commission policy.  Equipment confiscated may be advertised and 

sold at public auction with the proceeds of the sale to be deposited in the Game 

Protection Fund. 
(C) Procedural matters regarding seizure and forfeiture of contraband not otherwise 

addressed herein shall be governed by the provisions of Rule 15 (Disposition of 
Seized Things) of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure, as amended. 
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01.00-E CONVICTION DEFINED 

 For the purposes of the Code of Regulations, “conviction” or “convicted” means any 

adjudication of guilt; plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by the court; forfeiture of 

bail or collateral deposited to secure the person’s appearance in court; or payment of a 

fine, court cost, or court order, regardless of whether sentencing or imposition of 

sentencing has been deferred or suspended or the adjudication of guilt or the sentence is 

withheld by the court. 
 

01.00-F PRIMA FACIE EVIDENCE 

 The possession of any tackle, killing device, harvested wildlife or portions thereof in 

fields, forests, along streams or in any location known to be game cover, shall create a 

rebuttable presumption and shall be considered along with other evidence as prima facie 

evidence that the possessor is or has been hunting or fishing. 
 

01.00-G BURDEN OF PROOF FOR VIOLATION EXCEPTIONS 

 In connection with any action alleging a violation of a Commission regulation, any 

person claiming the benefit of any exception or permit under this Code shall have the 

burden of proving that the exception or permit is applicable and was valid and in force at 

the time of the alleged violation. 

 

Any person asserting self-defense as justification for violation of a Commission 

regulation shall have the burden of proving that he acted under a good faith belief that he 

was protecting himself or other persons from imminent bodily harm or serious injury. 
 

01.00-H RESTITUTION 

 Upon a person’s conviction for violation of a Commission regulation, a court of 

competent jurisdiction shall be authorized to order payment of monetary restitution by 

that person.  In addition to those penalties currently in effect, the Commission shall have 

the authority and right to seek monetary restitution, by whatever means appropriate, to 

recover the lost value of destroyed wildlife.  In determining the amount of restitution, the 

Court shall consider the values for wildlife species set by the Commission (Reference 

Addendum Q1.00). 
 

01.00-I PENALTIES UPON CONVICTION 

04-05 Unless otherwise noted, upon a person’s conviction for violation of a Commission 

regulation, a court of competent jurisdiction shall be authorized to impose a monetary 

fine and jail sentence within the following penalty ranges: 

Class 1 Offense – Fine of $100 to $1,000 and a jail sentence of 0 to 30 days 

Class 2 Offense – Fine of $250 to $2,500 and a jail sentence of 0 to 90 days 

Class 3 Offense – Fine of $500 to $5,000 and a jail sentence of 0 to 1 year 

Class 4 Offense – Fine of $1,000 to $10,000 and a jail sentence of 0 to 6 years. 

 

In lieu of a jail sentence, the court may impose community service upon conviction.  

Further, the court may suspend or revoke that person’s hunting and/or fishing licenses 

and rights.  The Commission reserves the sole authority to assign points for violations of 

Commission regulations and to administratively suspend or revoke hunting and/or fishing 

licenses and rights. 
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01.00-J ENHANCED PENALTIES 

 A person who is convicted of violating a Commission regulation and who has previously 

been convicted of violating the same or similar regulation may, at the discretion of the 

court, be subject to enhanced penalties as outlined in the below sentencing chart. 
 

 Enhanced 

Penalty for 2
nd

 

Offense 

Enhanced 

Penalty for 3
rd

 

Offense 

Enhanced Penalty 

for 4
th

 and All 

Subsequent Offenses 

Class 1 

Offense 

Same as Class 2 

Base Penalty 

Same as Class 3 

Base Penalty 

Same as Class 4 Base 

Penalty, mandatory 

jail sentence 

Class 2 

Offense 

Same as Class 3 

Base Penalty 

Same as Class 4 

Base Penalty, 

mandatory jail 

sentence 

Same as Class 4 Base 

Penalty, mandatory 

jail sentence 

Class 3 

Offense 

Same as Class 4 

Base Penalty, 

mandatory jail 

sentence 

Same as Class 4 

Base Penalty, 

mandatory jail 

sentence 

Same as Class 4 Base 

Penalty, mandatory 

jail sentence 

Class 4 

Offense 

Same as Class 4 

Base Penalty, 

mandatory jail 

sentence 

Same as Class 4 

Base Penalty, 

mandatory jail 

sentence 

Same as Class 4 Base 

Penalty, mandatory 

jail sentence 

 

01.00-K POINT SYSTEM FOR HUNTING AND/OR FISHING VIOLATIONS 

06-11 The Commission shall assign points to a person convicted of violating a Commission 

hunting or fishing regulation (Reference Addendum R1.00).  Boating regulation 

violations are not assigned points.  Upon the accumulation of 12 points for hunting 

and/or fishing violations within a three-year period, the individual will be ineligible to 

apply for all Commission permit hunts for the following three years.  The accumulation 

of 18 points for hunting and/or fishing violations within a three-year period shall result in 

the revocation of all hunting and/or fishing licenses and the rights attached thereto for 

one year, and the accumulation of 30 points within a five-year period shall result in the 

loss of all licenses and rights for three years.  A revocation of hunting and/or fishing 

licenses and rights occurring for a third time during an individual’s lifetime shall result in 

the lifetime revocation of all hunting and/or fishing licenses and rights. 

The Commission shall assign double the normal point value to a person convicted of the 

following: 

(1) Any violation of harvest regulations or Code 05.32 by a Guide License holder; 

(2) Any violation of trout harvest regulations in a trout catch and release area; 

(3) Any violation of bass harvest regulations on lakes designated as Trophy Bass 

Management Areas (Lakes Monticello, Lower White Oak, Columbia, SWEPCO, 

Pickthorne and Austelle); or 

(4) Any violation by an adult 21 years of age or older accompanying a youth. 
 

01.00-L 
DENIAL, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSES, PERMITS, TAGS 

AND STAMPS 

10-98 The Director of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission or his designated 

representative, is authorized to deny, suspend or revoke the license, permit, tag or stamp 

of any holder, and to deny the application of any applicant, upon proper notice and 
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hearing, in accordance with due process, upon reasonable cause or a showing through the 

Commission’s records or other sufficient evidence that the holder or applicant has met 

one or more of the following criteria: 

(1) accumulated points for hunting and/or fishing violations in excess of the amounts 

set forth in Code 01.00-K; 

(2) made a material misrepresentation or practiced fraud or deceit in an attempt to 

obtain or use a license, permit, tag or stamp; 

(3) permitted a fraudulent or unlawful use of his license, permit, tag or stamp; 

(4) under either federal law or another state’s law, has received a lifetime revocation of 

his or her hunting and/or fishing license, or been convicted within the past three 

years of a hunting and/or fishing violation, which, if the conviction had been 

pursuant to Arkansas law, would have been grounds for suspension or revocation, 

or 

(5) failed to comply with any term of a license, permit, tag or stamp. 

 

Upon suspension or revocation of any license, permit, tag or stamp, denial of any application 

or rights attached thereto, the director, or his designated representative, shall notify the 

holder or applicant in writing.  Any holder or applicant desiring a hearing shall notify the 

Commission in writing within 20 days after receipt of the suspension, revocation or denial 

notice.  Upon receipt of the hearing request, the Commission shall appoint a hearing officer 

and notify the holder or applicant of the date, time and location of the hearing.  The 

Commission shall cause an official record to be made of the proceedings.  Hearings shall be 

conducted in an informal manner and without necessity of adherence to the rules of evidence 

required in judicial proceedings.  Parties shall have the right to be represented by counsel, to 

submit evidence in open hearing, compel the attendance of witnesses and to cross-examine 

any witness at the hearing.  Irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious evidence shall be 

excluded by the hearing officer.  Notice may be taken of generally recognized technical or 

scientific facts within the Commission’s specialized knowledge, and the Commission’s 

experience, technical competence and specialized knowledge may be utilized in the 

evaluation of the evidence.  Based upon the evidence in the record of the proceedings, the 

hearing officer shall affirm, rescind, or modify the suspension or revocation of the license, 

permit, tag or stamp, or the denial of the application.  Decisions of the hearing officer shall 

be final and shall include findings of fact, conclusions of law and the final order.  The parties 

shall be served either personally or by mail with a copy of the final decision.  Any aggrieved 

party may, within thirty days after service of the decision, file a petition for review in the 

circuit court of Pulaski County or the county in which they reside. 
 

01.00-M REWARD SYSTEM 

09-99 The Director of the Commission, through his authorized representative and according to 

policy, may pay cash rewards up to $1,000 for information resulting in the issuance of 

citations for certain violations of Commission regulations. 
 

01.00-N EXEMPTION WHILE PERFORMING OFFICIAL DUTIES 

06-11 Employees of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, certified law enforcement 

officials, U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of Interior are exempt 

from applicable regulations if a conflict between these regulations and their official job 

duties arise. 
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01.00-O CLOSURE OF PUBLIC ACCESS AND/OR ZONES DUE TO EMERGENCY 

CONDITION 

06-11 Where the Commission finds that an emergency condition (reference Code 01.00-C, 

Emergency Condition) is affecting a designated zone or area within the State, it may, 

without prior notice or meeting, or with any abbreviated notice and meeting that it 

chooses, immediately order the closure of any of the following: 

(1)  public access to any Commission-owned or controlled property (including without 

limitation WMAs and lakes) affected by the emergency condition; and 

(2)  hunting, fishing, and/or trapping in any zone or zones affected by the emergency 

condition. 

The Director of the Commission, in consultation with the Commission Chair, is 

authorized to immediately order any such emergency closure on behalf of the 

Commission, provided that the Director promptly reports such closure to all Game and 

Fish Commissioners prior to the next regular meeting of the Commission.   

An emergency closure issued by order of the Director may be effective for no longer than 

sixty (60) days and shall expire at the earliest of the following:  

(a)  upon issuance of an order by the Commission or Director finding that need for 

the emergency closure no longer exists; or 

(b)  unless expressly extended by decision of the Commission at its next regular 

meeting, at 12:00 a.m. on the day immediately following such meeting.  

Upon prior public notice and meeting, the Commission may extend any emergency 

closure due to ongoing emergency conditions (Codes 01.00C Emergency Condition; 

02.05). 
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CHAPTER 02.00 – ZONE REGULATIONS 

 

02.01 Zone Regulation Requirements 

02.02 Wildlife Management Areas Established as Zones 

02.03 Sylamore WMA Zone Boundary Area 

02.04 Hunting Deer Prohibited Within Closed Flood Prone Regions 

02.05 Entry During Closure of Public Access and/or Zones Due to Emergency Condition 

 

* * * * *  
 

02.01 ZONE REGULATION REQUIREMENTS 

 It is unlawful to hunt or possess wildlife in the zones described herein without complying 

with regulations established for said zones (Addendum Chapter E1.00). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

02.02 WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS ESTABLISHED AS ZONES 

04-11 Each WMA (Code 01.00-C WMA) is a separate zone for which the Commission may 

establish and apply hunting regulations.  All private lands (including any combinations of 

lands separately owned, and regardless of whether such lands touch a road, creek, stream, 

river, lake or other waterbody) that are completely surrounded by WMA lands (except 

NWRs) shall be considered as inholdings.  Such inholdings shall be subject to the same 

regulations pertaining to hunting season dates, hunting hours, bag limits and hunting 

permits as the surrounding WMA. 

EXCEPTION: 

Private lands that are completely surrounded by NWR lands shall be subject to the same state 

regulations pertaining to hunting season dates, hunting hours, bag limits and hunting permits as 

the surrounding or nearest adjacent state management zone, plus any federal regulations 

pertaining to NWR inholdings. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

02.03 SYLAMORE WMA ZONE BOUNDARY AREA 

04-11 The Sylamore WMA Zone includes public and private lands meeting the criteria of a 

WMA inholding within the following boundary: 

North Unit – The area north of Arkansas Highway 14 from Allison to Big Creek; Big Creek to 

Buffalo National River; Sylamore WMA boundary line; along the eastern boundary of the 

Buffalo National River to White River; White River to Arkansas Highway 14 at Allison. The 

same hunting seasons, method of take, bag limits, shooting hours and permits for hunting which 

apply to Sylamore WMA will apply to the private land inholdings as well. 

South Unit – The area south of Arkansas Highway 14 on the Sylamore Ranger District. 

EXCEPTION: 

The use of bait to attract black bears from 30 days prior to bear season until the last day of bear 

season on the private lands on Sylamore WMA. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

02.04 HUNTING DEER PROHIBTED WITHIN CLOSED FLOOD PRONE REGIONS 

06-05 It is unlawful to hunt deer within closed Flood Prone Regions (Addendum E1.04). 

PENALTY: Class 1 

 

 

 

http://gis.agfc.com/
http://www.agfc.com/resources/Pages/wmaMaps.aspx
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02.05 
ENTRY DURING CLOSURE OF PUBLIC ACCESS AND/OR ZONES DUE TO 

EMERGENCY CONDITION 

06-11 It is unlawful to enter upon any Commission-owned or controlled property which has 

been ordered closed to public access, or to hunt, fish, or trap in any zone which has been 

ordered closed pursuant to this regulation and in compliance with Code 01.00-O. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
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CHAPTER 03.00 – LICENSE REGULATIONS 

 

03.01 License and Permit Requirements 

03.02 Fishing License Requirements 

03.03 Resident Hunting License Requirements 

03.04 Non-Resident Hunting License Requirements 

03.05 State Migratory Waterfowl Hunting Stamp Requirements 

03.06 Non-Resident Illegally Possessing Resident License 

03.07 Possession of Improper License 

03.08 Lending License Prohibited 

03.09 Counterfeiting License Prohibited 

03.10 Backdating or Altering License Prohibited 

03.11 Falsifying Information Prohibited 

03.12 License Dealer Requirement 

03.13 Charging in Excess of Authorized License Fees Prohibited 

03.14 Resident Guide License Requirements 

03.15 Non-Resident Guide License Requirements 

03.16 Hunter Education Certificate Requirements 

03.17 Boater Education Certificate Requirements 

 

* * * * *  
 

03.01  LICENSE AND PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

09-05 It is unlawful to hunt or fish when and where a license, permit, tag or stamp is required 

without having on the person the appropriate license, permit, tag or stamp.  It also is 

unlawful for any person to fail to comply with the terms of any Commission-issued 

license, permit, tag or stamp (Addendum D1.01). 

EXCEPTION: 

Hunting (other than big game), (Code 01.00-C, “Big Game”) or fishing with a valid 

confirmation or authorization number received from a telephone license order transaction 

(Confirmation or authorization numbers are valid for 14 days including the day of the 

telephone transaction.); or, a valid temporary license printed from an online license order 

transaction.  (Temporary licenses are valid for 14 days including the day of the online 

transaction.) 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

03.02 FISHING LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

09-05 It is unlawful to fish in any manner in Arkansas without possessing on the person the 

appropriate Arkansas fishing license as provided herein: 
(A) Arkansas Resident (16 years of age and older) – Resident Fisheries Conservation 

License; Resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License; Lifetime Resident Hunting and 
Fishing Sportsman's Permit; Resident 65 Plus Lifetime Fishing License (or 
Resident 65 Plus Lifetime Combination License); or Disabled Lifetime Fishing 
License (or Resident Disabled Lifetime Combination License) or Resident Disabled 
Fishing 3-Year License (or Resident Disabled Combination 3-Year License). 

(B) Non-Residents (16 years of age and older) – Non-Resident Annual Fishing License; 
Non-Resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License or Non-Resident 14-Day Trip Fishing 
License. 

(C) Persons must possess a valid Commercial Fishing Permit and Sportfishing License 
(CFS) to purchase tags for commercial tackle or to operate commercial tackle. A 
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CFS holder may purchase a Helper Permit, which will allow the permitted helper to 
operate the CFS holder’s tackle. Tackle tags may not be purchased with the Helper 
Permit. The Helper Permit does not confer sport-fishing rights. 

(D) Youths and individuals  65 years of age or older are required to purchase a 
Junior/Senior Commercial Fishing Permit only if they sell commercial species of 
fish or aquatic turtles. 

(E) In lieu of an Arkansas nonresident fishing license, Missouri resident fishing license 
holders, age 16 or older, are required to purchase a White River Border Lakes 
License (Addendum H1.04), in compliance with the White River Lakes License 
Agreement. 

EXCEPTION: 

Persons fishing in put-and-take pay lakes licensed by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  $50 to $1,000 

 
 

03.03 RESIDENT HUNTING LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

04-10 It is unlawful for any resident to hunt any wildlife by any means in Arkansas without 

possessing on the person the appropriate Arkansas hunting license as provided herein: 
(A) To hunt alligator, deer, turkey, bear or elk, the hunter must have physical 

possession of a valid Arkansas hunting license.  A temporary, internet license or a 
confirmation/authorization number from a telephone license order is not valid for 
hunting these species. 

(B) Arkansas Residents (16 years of age and older) – Small Game: Resident Wildlife 
Conservation License; Resident Sportsman’s License; Big Game: Resident Wildlife 
Conservation License (permits residents to harvest one legal deer during any deer 
season); Resident Sportsman's License; Furbearers (Hunting and Trapping): Any 
valid hunting license and a resident trappers permit.  Holders of the following 
licenses are entitled to hunt all game, except if taking waterfowl, an Arkansas 
Resident Waterfowl Stamp, Federal Waterfowl Stamp and Harvest Information 
Program (HIP) are required:  Resident Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Sportsman's 
Permit; Resident 65 Plus Lifetime Sportsman's Hunting License (or 65 Plus 
Lifetime Combination License); Resident Disabled Lifetime Sportsman's Hunting 
License (or Resident Disabled Lifetime Combination License) Resident Disabled 
Hunting 3-Year License (or Resident Disabled Combination 3-Year License). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Residents hunting on a licensed game bird shooting resort in compliance with 

regulations (Code 09.06). 

(2) In compliance with Code 04.04 and Addendum B1.14. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

03.04 NON-RESIDENT HUNTING LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

03-09 It is unlawful for any non-resident, 16 years of age or older, to hunt any wildlife by any 

means in Arkansas without possessing on the person the appropriate Arkansas hunting 

license as provided herein: 
(A) To hunt deer, turkey, bear or elk, the hunter must have physical possession of a 

valid Arkansas hunting license.  A temporary, internet license or 
confirmation/authorization number from a telephone license order is not valid for 
hunting these species.   

(B) Nonresidents hunting small game only (excluding deer, elk, turkey and bear). 

Requirements: Non-Resident Annual Small Game License, or Non-Resident 5-Day 

Small Game License for a period of said license, and Non-Resident Trapper Permit 

if trapping furbearers.  Small game may also be taken on the Non-Resident All 
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Game Licenses.  If hunting waterfowl, an Arkansas Non-Resident Waterfowl Stamp, 

Federal Waterfowl Stamp and Harvest Information Program (HIP) are required. 
(C) Nonresidents hunting deer, bear, elk and/or wild turkey. Requirements: Non-

Resident Annual All Game License (provides holder all applicable tags for deer, 
bear and turkey); Non-Resident 1-Day All Game License (provides holder one 
game tag); Non-Resident 3-Day All Game License (provides holder two game 
tags); or a Non-Resident 5-Day All Game License (provides holder three game 
tags) and a Non-Resident Trapper Permit if trapping furbearers. 

(D) Non-residents are ineligible to hunt elk using a public land permit obtained through 
the permit draw process and are also ineligible to hunt alligators. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Non-residents hunting on a licensed game bird shooting resort in compliance with 

regulations (Code 09.06). 

(2) In compliance with Code 04.04, Addendum B1.14, Addendum H1.01 and H1.03. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

 

03.05 STATE MIGRATORY WATERFOWL HUNTING STAMP REQUIREMENTS 

08-08 It is unlawful to hunt migratory waterfowl without having on the person the appropriate 

Arkansas Resident or Non-Resident Migratory Waterfowl Hunting Stamp that has been 

signed by the person in ink across the face of the stamp. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Youths. 

(2) Persons possessing a valid Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Sportsman's License. 

(3) Persons possessing a valid Resident 65 Plus Lifetime Waterfowl Permit. 

(4) Persons holding a valid universal license form issued by the Commission or its 

representative, coded DSR or DSN (Addendum D1.01) within 30 days of purchase. 

(5) In compliance with Code 04.04, Addendum B1.14 and H1.03. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

03.06 NON-RESIDENT ILLEGALLY POSSESSING RESIDENT LICENSE 

09-88\08-06 It is unlawful for any non-resident to possess while hunting, fishing or guiding any 

resident license, permit, tag or stamp issued by the Commission, or at any time to 

represent a resident license, permit, tag or stamp as his own. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Former residents possessing a valid Lifetime Hunting and Fishing Sportsman's 

License. 

(2) Former residents possessing a valid Resident 65 Plus Lifetime Waterfowl Permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

03.07 POSSESSION OF LICENSE OF ANOTHER 

02-85 It is unlawful while hunting or fishing to possess any license, permit, tag or stamp issued 

by the Commission to any other person, or at any time to represent the license, permit, 

tag or stamp of any other person as his own. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

03.08 LENDING LICENSE PROHIBITED 

02-85 It is unlawful to lend to any other person any license, permit, tag or stamp issued by the 

Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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03.09 COUNTERFEITING LICENSE PROHIBITED 

12-00 It is unlawful to counterfeit or obtain by false application any license, permit, tag, stamp 

or hunter education or boater education certificate issued by the Commission. It also is 

unlawful for any unauthorized person to sell any license, permit, tag or stamp. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 
 

03.10 BACKDATING OR ALTERING LICENSE PROHIBITED 

02-85 It is unlawful (including license dealers) to backdate or alter any license, permit, tag or 

stamp issued by the Commission or to possess any license, permit, tag or stamp issued by 

the Commission that has been altered. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

03.11 FALSIFYING INFORMATION PROHIBITED 

03-07 It is unlawful to furnish, record or provide any false information on any form, license, 

stamp, permit, affidavit or application, electronic or otherwise, furnished or used by the 

Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

03.12 LICENSE DEALER REQUIREMENT 

05-91 Authorized license dealers of the Commission are required to make available for 

inspection by an authorized agent of the Commission, a copy or stub (whichever is 

appropriate) of all licenses, permits or tags issued by dealers as required in compliance 

with remittance policy.  A license dealership may be canceled by the chief fiscal officer 

of the Commission for any of the following reasons: 
(A) Failure to comply with the above requirement. 
(B) Failure to remit on account according to Commission policy. 
(C) Failure to cooperate with Commission personnel in the performance of their duties. 
(D) Violation of any Commission regulation. 

 

License dealers canceled for these reasons may be reinstated only by the chief fiscal officer. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

03.13 CHARGING IN EXCESS OF AUTHORIZED LICENSE FEES PROHIBITED 

02-85 It is unlawful for an authorized dealer to sell any Commission-issued license or permit 

for an amount in excess of the authorized price.  Excess includes but is not limited to a 

cash fee or the requirement to rent or purchase goods or services as a condition to 

purchase the license or permit.  The dealer shall be ineligible to apply for reinstatement 

for six months thereafter.  Dealers attempting to sell licenses or permits after losing their 

authority shall have their authority permanently revoked. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

03.14 RESIDENT GUIDE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

05-02 It is unlawful for any resident to guide, aid, or assist another person, for pay or other 

consideration, in the taking of any species of wildlife by any means in Arkansas without 

possessing on the person the appropriate Arkansas guide license as provided herein: 

(A) To guide, aid, or assist another person, for pay or other consideration, in hunting in 

Arkansas, the guide must have physical possession of a valid Arkansas Resident Guide 

License/Hunting. 
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(B) To guide, aid, or assist another person, for pay or other consideration, in hunting on 

WMAs, the guide must also have physical possession of a valid Arkansas Resident 

Special Guide License. 

(C) To guide, aid, or assist another person, for pay or other consideration, in fishing in 

Arkansas, the guide must have physical possession of a valid Arkansas Resident Guide 

License/Fishing. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

 

03.15 NON-RESIDENT GUIDE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

05-02 It is unlawful for any non-resident to guide, aid or assist another person, for pay or other 

consideration, in the taking of any species of wildlife by any means in Arkansas without 

possessing on the person the appropriate Arkansas guide license as provided herein: 

(A) To guide, aid, or assist another person, for pay or other consideration, in hunting on 

land not owned or leased by the Commission, the guide must have physical possession 

of a valid Arkansas Non-Resident Guide License/Hunting.   

(B) To guide, aid, or assist another person, for pay or other consideration, in fishing in 

Arkansas, the guide must have physical possession of a valid Arkansas Non-Resident 

Guide License/Fishing. 

(C) It also is unlawful for any non-resident to exercise the rights of the Resident Special 

Guide License. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

03.16 HUNTER EDUCATION CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS 

04-07 It is unlawful for persons born after 1968 to hunt wildlife without having on the person a 

valid Arkansas hunter education certificate. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Youths hunting under direct supervision of an adult at least 21 years of age. 

(2) Persons possessing a valid hunting license/permit displaying the dealer imprinted 

code DHE (Code 01.00C, Deferred Hunter Education). Requirements for a person 

to be eligible to hunt with DHE-coded licenses/permits are as follows: 

(a) Be at least 16 years of age and born after 1968 and not hunter-education 

certified. 

(b) Be in the immediate presence of an adult hunter who is at least 21 years 

of age and possesses valid hunter education certification, or who was 

born before 1969. 

(c) A DHE-validated hunting license/permit may be obtained once in a 

lifetime. 

(d) Not eligible if convicted of prior violation of this regulation. 

(3) Any person who has successfully completed a hunter education training course 

approved by the International Hunter Education Association and has on his 

person a valid hunter education certificate issued by another state or province. 

PENALTY:  $50 to $1,000 

 

03.17 BOATER EDUCATION CERTIFICATE REQUIREMENTS 

12-00 It is unlawful for any person with a birth date after 1985 to operate a motorboat or a 

personal watercraft without having on the person a valid Arkansas boater education 

certificate. 
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EXCEPTION: 

Any person who has successfully completed a boater education training course approved by 

the National Association of State Boating Administrators and has on his person a valid 

boating education certificate issued by another state. 

PENALTY:  $50 to $1,000 
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CHAPTER 04.00 – GAME ANIMAL DAILY BAG LIMIT/POSSESSION LIMIT RESTRICTIONS 

 

04.01 Game Animal Daily Bag Limit and Possession Limit 

04.02 Migratory Bird Daily Bag Limit and Possession Limit 

04.03 Falconry Daily Bag and Possession Limit 

04.04 Snow, Blue and Ross’ Goose Conservation Order Restrictions 

 

* * * * *  
 

04.01 GAME ANIMAL BAG LIMIT AND POSSESSION LIMIT 

03-09 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take more than the bag limit or possess more than the 

possession limit of any game species or to exceed the possession limit set by the 

Commission (Addendum Chapter A1.00). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

04.02 MIGRATORY BIRD DAILY BAG LIMIT AND POSSESSION LIMIT 

 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take more than the bag limit of any migratory bird or 

to exceed the possession limit set by the Commission (Addendum Chapter B1.00). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

04.03 FALCONRY DAILY BAG AND POSSESSION LIMIT 

08-91 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take, with raptors, more than the bag limit of 

migratory birds or to exceed the possession limit set by the Commission (Addendum 

B1.12). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

04.04 SNOW, BLUE AND ROSS’ GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER RESTRICTIONS 

08-08 It is unlawful for any person to hunt snow, blue and Ross’ geese during the Conservation 

Order season (Addendum B1.14) without possessing on the person the following: 
(A) A free Snow, Blue and Ross’ Goose Registration Permit number. 
(B) A valid hunting license from any state or province. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 05.00 – GENERAL HUNTING AND FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

05.01 Hunting Wildlife in Closed Season Prohibited 

05.02 Night Hunting Prohibited 

05.03 Use of Light at Night to Hunt or Harass Wildlife Prohibited 

05.04 Selling Wildlife Restrictions 

05.05 Hunting From a Public Road or Levee Prohibited 

05.06 Transporting Firearms in a Boat at Night Restricted 

05.07 Taking Wildlife from Aircraft Prohibited 

05.08 Deadfalls, Drugs, Chemicals, Poisons, Explosives, Booby Traps Prohibited for Taking Wildlife 

05.09 Taking Wildlife Fleeing Fire, Flood Prohibited 

05.10 Depredation Permit Requirement 

05.11 Hunting Prohibited in State and National Parks 

05.12 Loaded Firearms in Corps Recreation Areas Prohibited 

05.13 Waterfowl Hunting Restrictions on Lake Catherine and Lake Hamilton 

05.14 Transportation or Control of Illegally Taken Wildlife Prohibited 

05.15 Hunting Near a Residence Prohibited 

05.16 Hunting From a Moving, Motorized Land Vehicle Prohibited 

05.17 Alligator, Bear, Deer and Turkey Tagging Requirements 

05.18 Big Game Checking Requirements 

05.19 Concealed Carry Permit Holder Provisions 

05.20 Hunter Orange/Safety Green Clothing Requirements 

05.21 Wasting Edible or Marketable Portions of Wildlife Prohibited 

05.22 Requirements to Possess Another's Wildlife 

05.23 Shipping Wildlife Requirements 

05.24 Wildlife Records Requirements for Deer Camps, Commercial Facilities, Fur Buyers and 

Taxidermists Receiving, Processing or Storing Wildlife 

05.25 Littering Prohibited 

05.26 Importation of Cervid Carcasses, Parts and Products from Areas at Risk for CWD Prohibited 

05.27 Endangered Species Protected 

05.28 Refusing Inspection by Officer Prohibited 

05.29 Immediate Disclosure of Possession of Concealed Handgun Required 

05.30 Interfering With Wildlife Officer Prohibited 

05.31 Fleeing A Wildlife Officer Prohibited 

05.32 Aiding, Accompanying, or Abetting of Violation Prohibited 

05.33 Hunting or Fishing While Rights Are Suspended or Revoked Prohibited 

05.34 Revocation of Commercial Wildlife Permit Rights 

05.35 Hunting, Fishing, Trapping, Releasing Hunting Dogs or Pursuing. Wildlife With Dogs 

Without Landowner/Lessee Permission Prohibited 

05.36 Hunting/Fishing Endangerment Prohibited 

05.37 Obstruction of Hunting, Fishing or Trapping Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
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05.01 HUNTING WILDLIFE IN CLOSED SEASON PROHIBITED 

03-08 It is unlawful to hunt any species of wildlife other than during a season opened by the 

Commission and by using legal methods for that season (Addendum Chapters A1.00; 

B1.00; C1.00).  It also is unlawful to possess any species of wildlife, or portions thereof, 

illegally taken during a closed season. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Codes 05.10; 09.15. 

PENALTY:  Small Game Class 2 and Big Game Class 3 

 

05.02 NIGHT HUNTING PROHIBITED 

04-07 It is unlawful to hunt any wildlife at night. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) The taking of bobcat, raccoon and opossum when treed by dogs at night during an 

open season for that species (Addenda A1.05; C1.09). 

(2) The taking of aquatic wildlife other than mussels by legal methods during an open 

season. 

(3) The taking of bullfrogs by legal methods during an open season. 

(4) The taking of alligators by legal methods during an open season in compliance with 

Addendum A1.10 and Code 12.03. 

(5) The checking of legally set traps or snares, but must not possess a firearm larger 

than a .22 caliber rimfire. 

(6) In compliance with Code 05.10. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

 

05.03 
USE OF ARTIFICAL LIGHTS TO VIEW OR LOCATE WILDLIFE 

PROHIBITED 

04-11 It is unlawful to shine artificial lights from any public road, or on any wildlife 

management area, for viewing or locating wildlife. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) The taking of bullfrogs and furbearers by legal methods during an open season.  

(2) The taking of alligators by legal methods during an open season in compliance with 

Addendum A1.10 and Code 12.03. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.04 SELLING WILDLIFE RESTRICTIONS 

09-07 It is unlawful to purchase, sell, offer for sale, barter or trade any species of wildlife or 

portions thereof. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Furbearer pelts and carcasses taken during a furbearer season may be sold by 

persons with valid hunting or fur dealer licenses. Purchase of furbearer pelts and 

carcasses must be in compliance with Code 17.07. 

(2) In compliance with Chapter 09.00 or Codes 26.18; 29.03; 30.01; 31.01; 32.02; 

34.01; 35.01. 

(3) Squirrel tails, deer antlers, deer hides and feathers from non-migratory game birds 

legally taken. 

(4) Legally acquired commercially raised wildlife from outside the state and 

accompanied by documentation verifying origin and in compliance with Chapter 

09.00. 

(5) Red fox, gray fox and coyote legally trapped in Arkansas may be sold by a person 

possessing a valid hunting license and Live Fox and Coyote Permit (Code 09.16). 
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(6) Commission-approved nonprofit organizations with a valid tax identification 

number may pay for the processing of game and donate the meat to needy 

individuals. 

(7) Alligator hide, meat and parts from legally harvested alligators (Codes 05.01; 

12.02; 12.03 and Addenda A1.10; C1.03) may be sold or donated in state when 

accompanied by documentation verifying origin and description of transferred 

parts. An individual alligator hide legally harvested and with an attached U.S. Fish 

and Wildlife Service CITES tag may be sold outside the state. Alligator meat or 

parts may not be sold or transferred out of state without prior written authorization 

from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 

 

05.05 HUNTING FROM A PUBLIC ROAD OR LEVEE PROHIBITED 

03-08 It is unlawful to shoot from or across any public road, or to hunt within 100 feet from the 

center of any such road.  It also is unlawful to hunt or shoot from or across the main west 

levee of the Mississippi or Arkansas rivers from the Louisiana-Arkansas state line to the 

intersection of Arkansas Highway 11 north of Grady, Lincoln County, Arkansas.  There 

shall be a rebuttable presumption that a person is hunting from a public road or levee if 

he points, aims, shoots or attempts to shoot a firearm or other killing device in a direction 

in which wildlife is present or likely to be present, including shooting at a wildlife decoy. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Persons using firearms to dispatch wildlife caught in legally set foothold or 

Conibear traps. 

(2) Licensed and permitted falconers hunting with or trapping birds of prey in 

compliance with state and federal falconry regulations. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

05.06 TRANSPORTING FIREARMS IN A BOAT AT NIGHT RESTRICTED 

12-07 It is unlawful to transport any firearm in a boat at night unless the firearm is unloaded 

and cased. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Taking frogs, fish or turtles by legal methods during open seasons. 

(2) In compliance with Codes 05.01; 05.10; 05.19; 12.03 and Addendum A1.10. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

05.07 HUNTING WILDLIFE FROM AIRCRAFT PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to hunt, drive, herd or harass wildlife from or with an aircraft. 

 PENALTY:  Class 2 

 

05.08 PROHIBITED METHODS FOR HUNTING WILDLIFE 

04-05 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife by use of computer-assisted hunting, radio tracking 

electronic equipment, deadfalls, drugs, poisons, chemicals, explosives or any device 

designed to take wildlife by the activation of a trip wire, electronic actions of a switch or 

other means that do not require the attendance of an individual to activate the device. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Rodenticides or traps may be used to control mice and rats. 

(2) In compliance with Codes 09.15; 17.01; 26.21. 

(3) Use of radio tracking electronic equipment permitted for the purpose of retrieving 

hunting dogs. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
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05.09 HUNTING WILDLIFE FLEEING FROM FIRE OR FLOOD PROHIBITED 

07-80 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife fleeing from fire or flood. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.10 DEPREDATION PERMIT REQUIREMENT 

04-11 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take any game or furbearing animal damaging crops or 

personal property without obtaining a Depredation Permit and complying with the terms 

and provisions of the permit.  Non-game wildlife, excluding migratory birds and 

endangered species, which pose a reasonable threat to persons or property, may be taken 

during daylight hours with firearms, or trapped (Code 17.01), without a Depredation 

Permit (Addendum G1.01). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Nuisance wildlife may be taken by legal methods during any open season on the 

species committing damage and in accordance with applicable bag limits. 

(2) Property owners or their designees may use live traps for removal of nuisance 

wildlife, other than bear or alligator.  Live trapping conducted in incorporated 

towns or cities must be in accordance with their local ordinances or statutes.  Live 

captured nuisance wildlife must be released unharmed outside the municipalities’ 

boundaries within 24 hours. 

(3) Beaver, muskrat, nutria, coyote, raccoon, opossum, squirrel,  armadillo and striped 

skunk may be hunted, trapped or destroyed  year-round, in any number, using 

firearms during daylight hours (Code 06.07) by landowners, lessees or their 

designees on private property where damage is occurring. 

(4) English sparrows, blackbirds, starlings and crows damaging agricultural crops or 

personal property may be taken in any number (Code 14.01). 

(5) Nuisance migratory birds taken in compliance with a permit issued by the U.S. Fish 

and Wildlife Service or in compliance with U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 

regulations. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.11 HUNTING PROHIBITED IN STATE AND NATIONAL PARKS 

03-04 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife or possess any killing device in any state or national park in 

Arkansas. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Buffalo National River WMA during an open season. 

(2) During specified hunting seasons and in designated hunting areas on Hobbs State 

Park-Conservation Area. 

(3) Shooting ranges on Hobbs State Park-Conservation Area and Ozark Folk Center, in 

compliance with rules posted at each location. 

(4) In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.12 LOADED FIREARMS IN CORPS RECREATION AREAS PROHIBITED 

07-80 It is unlawful to possess loaded firearms on U.S. Army Corps of Engineers recreation or 

public-use areas where posted. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.13 
WATERFOWL HUNTING RESTRICTIONS ON LAKE CATHERINE AND 

LAKE HAMILTON 

08-08 It is unlawful to hunt migratory waterfowl from a watercraft or other floating device on 

Lake Catherine in Garland and Hot Spring counties, or Lake Hamilton in Garland 
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County.  It also is unlawful to hunt migratory waterfowl within 1,000 feet of any 

residence, dwelling or occupied structure on Lake Catherine or Lake Hamilton. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.14 
TRANSPORTATION OR CONTROL OF ILLEGALLY TAKEN WILDLIFE 

PROHIBITED 

04-11 It is unlawful to import, export, transport, sell, receive, acquire or purchase in Arkansas 

commerce any wildlife, or parts thereof, taken, possessed, transported or sold in violation 

of any state or federal law or regulation. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.15 HUNTING NEAR A RESIDENCE PROHIBITED 

06-02, 04-11 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife with a killing device within 150 yards (or 50 yards using 

archery tackle) of a residence or building devoted to human occupancy without written 

permission from the owner or occupant. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Persons lawfully protecting themselves, others or property (Code 05.10). 

(2) Hunting on WMAs, provided no buffer zone restricting hunting has been 

established and posted by signs. 

(3) Hunters lawfully present through ownership or lease agreement. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.16 HUNTING FROM A MOVING, MOTORIZED LAND VEHICLE PROHIBITED 

04-05, 03-08 It is unlawful to hunt, drive, herd or harass wildlife from or with a moving, motorized 

land vehicle. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Code 09.15. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

05.17 ALLIGATOR, BEAR, DEER AND TURKEY TAGGING REQUIREMENTS 

04-11 (A) Immediately after harvesting a deer or turkey, and before moving the 

animal, each hunter must remove the appropriate deer or turkey tag from the 

hunter’s license and legibly fill out (in ink) the tag with all required 

information.  The original tag must be securely fastened to the antler or ear 

of a deer, or to the leg of a turkey.  SPECIAL NOTE:  The original tag must 

remain as attached to the deer or turkey.  Duplicate harvest information 

reflecting the name, address, species, sex, date taken and check 

confirmation number must remain with all other portions (if the head of the 

deer or leg of a turkey is removed) until reaching the point of final storage, 

including while the deer or turkey is in transit. 

(B) Immediately after harvesting a bear and before moving it, each hunter must legibly 

fill out (in ink) a game tag provided in the current Arkansas Hunting Guidebook, or 

use a piece of paper to make a tag, and legibly print (in ink) hunter’s name, date, 

WMA or zone number and time of harvest.  The tag must be securely fastened to 

the leg or ear of the bear. 

(C) Immediately after harvesting an alligator and before moving it, each hunter must 

attach a Temporary Alligator Possession Tag to its leg. 

(D) All youth hunters, 65+ lifetime hunting license holders, disability hunting license 

holders, holders of any permanent license issued by the Commission and those 

hunting under the Reciprocal Hunting License Agreement must legibly fill out (in 

ink) a game tag provided in the current Commission guidebook, or use a piece of 
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paper to make a tag and legibly print (in ink) hunter’s name, date, WMA or zone 

number and time of harvest.  The tag must be securely fastened to the antler or ear 

of a deer, or to the leg of a turkey. 

(E) Bonus deer with the Deer Management Assistance Program Management tags and 

special urban deer hunt tags, in accordance with Section A shall be used instead of 

license tags where applicable. 

(F) All hunters harvesting their third and fourth turkeys in Turkey Zones 17A or 17B 

must legibly fill out (in ink) a game tag provided in the current Commission 

guidebook, or use a piece of paper to make a tag and legibly print (in ink) hunter’s 

name, date, zone number and time of harvest. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

05.18 BIG GAME CHECKING REQUIREMENTS 

04-11 (A) Upon harvesting each alligator, deer, turkey, bear or elk hunters must within 24 

hours of harvest, check the game.  The hunter shall provide accurate information.  

Evidence of an animal’s sex must remain attached to the animal until checked.  

Game may be field dressed and/or quartered to aid in the removal from the field 

but the head must remain within arms length (close proximity) of all four 

quarters until checked.  After checking duplicate harvest information reflecting 

the name, address, species, sex, date taken, and check confirmation number must 

remain with all other portions (if the head of the deer or leg of the turkey is 

removed) until reaching the point of final storage, including while the deer or 

turkey is in transit.  No big game animal may be transported across state lines 

before being properly checked unless normal travel routes require said hunter to 

cross a state line in direct route to check the animal. 

(B) Hunters must check each deer or turkey within 24 hours of harvest through a 

Commission-approved checking method. 

(C) Hunters must check each alligator within 12 hours of harvest by contacting the 

Commission and following all permit requirements furnished by the Commission 

before the hunt. 

(D) Hunters must check each elk within 12 hours of harvest by presenting the elk’s 

head at a designated elk check station or to a designated AGFC employee. 

 PENALTY:  Class 2 

 

05.19 CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT HOLDER PROVISIONS 

04-11 Holders of a valid state-issued concealed handgun permit recognized and honored by the 

State of Arkansas in accordance with Arkansas Code Title 5, Chapter 73, Subchapter 3, 

may possess the handgun covered by the permit, except in places where otherwise 

prohibited under federal, state or local law or where disallowed by a landowner in 

accordance with applicable law.  Nothing in this exception is intended to supersede or 

limit the regulations of any federal, state or local authorities that prohibit the possession 

of concealed handguns on their property, including, but not limited to, the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers, the USDA Forest Service, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the 

National Park Service.  Full time certified or retired Arkansas law enforcement officers, 

meeting the requirements of Arkansas State Law 5-73-304 or full time certified or retired 

law enforcement officers nationwide meeting those requirements under Federal Law 18 

U.S. Code 926B, 926C, carrying valid I.D. issued by their agency. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
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05.20 HUNTER ORANGE/SAFETY GREEN CLOTHING REQUIREMENTS 

04-11 (A) It is unlawful to hunt wildlife, or to accompany or assist anyone in hunting 

wildlife, in zones open to firearm deer, bear or elk seasons, without wearing an 

outer garment, above the waistline, of daylight fluorescent blaze orange within 

the color range of 595-605 nanometers (hunter orange) or fluorescent chartreuse 

within the color range of 555-565 nanometers (hunter safety green) totaling at 

least 400 square inches, and a hunter orange or hunter safety green hat must be 

worn on the head and visible. 

(B) Florescent blaze orange (hunter orange) or florescent chartreuse (hunter safety green) 

totaling at least 144 square inches on each visible side and a minimum of three feet 

above the ground on each side of a portable, pop-up type ground blinds used on public 

land. 

EXCEPTION: 

While migratory bird hunting. 

PENALTY:  $50 to $1,000 
 

05.21 
WASTING EDIBLE OR MARKETABLE PORTIONS OF WILDLIFE 

PROHIBITED 

07-80, 12-05, 

08-10 

It is unlawful to allow the edible portions (Code 01.00C Edible Portions) of any big 

game, small game (except furbearers), game fish, game bird or frog normally consumed 

as food to go to waste. It also is unlawful to discard any portion of furbearers or other 

wildlife that has a legal marketable or commercial value. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Bobcats, coyotes, crows and skunks. 

(2) Squirrel tails, deer antlers, deer hides, and feathers from non-migratory game birds 

legally taken. 

(3) Nuisance wildlife (Code 05.10 and Addendum G1.01). 

(4) All rough fish (Code 01.00C Rough Fish). 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

05.22 REQUIREMENTS TO POSSESS ANOTHER'S WILDLIFE 

04-11 It is unlawful to possess wildlife, or parts of wildlife, harvested by another person unless 

accompanied by written and signed information stating the name, address, number, 

species, date harvested and hunting or fishing license number of person transferring the 

wildlife. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) A driver’s license number with state of origin may be substituted for the hunting 

license number. 

(2) A youth hunter may substitute his hunter safety card number or date of birth for a 

hunting license number. 

(3) An AGFC customer identification number may be substituted for the hunting 

license number. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.23 SHIPPING WILDLIFE REQUIREMENTS 

07-80 It is unlawful to ship or mail any wildlife from Arkansas without displaying on the 

package the name and address of shipper and the number of each species. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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05.24 
WILDLIFE RECORDS REQUIREMENTS FOR DEER CAMPS, COMMERCIAL 

FACILITIES, FUR BUYERS AND TAXIDERMISTS RECEIVING, 

PROCESSING OR STORING WILDLIFE 

04-11 It is unlawful for any deer camp, commercial butcher, commercial slaughterhouse, 

commercial meat processor, commercial cold storage facility, fur buyer or taxidermist to 

receive, process, store or possess any wildlife or parts of wildlife without maintaining 

legible records with name, address, number, species, date harvested, game check number 

(as applies to big game) and hunting license or AGFC customer identification number of 

person transferring game (Code 05.22).  Each record shall be maintained for one year 

from the date wildlife is harvested and made available for inspection upon request by a 

Commission employee. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Migratory bird preservation facilities meeting those standards as defined in 50 CFR 

§ 20, Subparts B and I. 

(2) Aquatic wildlife. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.25 LITTERING PROHIBITED 

04-06 In accordance with Arkansas Code Annotated § 8-6-406 (Littering), it is unlawful to 

drop, discard or otherwise dispose of litter on any public property in Arkansas, or on any 

property owned, leased or licensed by the Commission, or into any river, pond, lake, 

stream or other body of water in Arkansas. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.26 
IMPORTATION OF CERVID CARCASSES, PARTS AND PRODUCTS FROM 

AREAS AT RISK FOR CWD PROHIBITED 

03-09 It is unlawful to import, transport or possess in Arkansas any portion other than boneless 

meat from a cervid carcass originating from any area proclaimed by the Commission to 

have an increased risk of CWD (Addendum Chapter S1.00) or taken from a captive 

wildlife facility or enclosure outside of Arkansas. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, or cleaned skulls where no tissue is 

attached to the skull. 

(2) Cleaned teeth. 

(3) Finished taxidermy and antler products. 

(4) Hides and tanned products. 

(5) Deer or elk harvested in commercial wildlife hunting resorts in Arkansas providing 

that a CWD sample is collected (Code 09.05 and Addendum F1.01). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.27 ENDANGERED SPECIES PROTECTED 

04-07 It is unlawful to import, transport, sell, purchase, hunt or possess any threatened or 

endangered species of wildlife or parts (including without limitation those species listed 

under the Federal Endangered Species Act, 50 CFR § 17.11, 50 CFR § 17.12 and 

Addendum Chapter P1.00). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Legally acquired wildlife held under permit or held by a public zoo or museum, 

wildlife taken legally outside the state, or articles manufactured before Jan. 1, 1973. 

(2) In compliance with Codes 05.01; 12.03 and Addendum A1.10. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr
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05.28 REFUSING INSPECTION BY WILDLIFE OFFICER PROHIBITED 

03-08 It is unlawful to refuse to immediately surrender the following items to a wildlife officer 

upon request for lawful inspection: any killing device, license, permit, tag, stamp, check 

sheet, ice chest, game bag, game vest, wildlife, fishing tackle, equipment used for 

hunting or fishing or container that can reasonably hold wildlife. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

05.29 
IMMEDIATE DISCLOSURE OF POSSESSION OF CONCEALED HANDGUN 

REQUIRED 

12-07 It is unlawful for persons possessing a concealed handgun to fail to immediately disclose 

such possession to a wildlife officer during a stop or inspection (Code 05.19). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.30 INTERFERING WITH WILDLIFE OFFICER PROHIBITED 

07-80 It is unlawful to interfere with any wildlife officer engaged in the performance of official 

duties. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.31 FLEEING A WILDLIFE OFFICER PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to flee from a wildlife officer to avoid imminent inspection, detention or 

arrest is.  Fleeing a wildlife officer is a separate offense and shall not be considered a 

lesser included offense. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

Fleeing resulting in property damage: Class 3 

Fleeing resulting in personal injury or death: Class 4 

 

05.32 AIDING, ACCOMPANYING OR ABETTING PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to aid, accompany or abet another in illegally taking, attempting to take, 

possessing, buying or selling wildlife. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.33 
HUNTING OR FISHING WHILE RIGHTS ARE SUSPENDED OR REVOKED 

PROHIBITED 

05-05 It is unlawful to hunt or trap while hunting rights are suspended or revoked, or fish while 

fishing rights are suspended or revoked. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

05.34 SUSPENSION OF COMMERCIAL WILDLIFE PERMIT RIGHTS 

04-05 It is unlawful to hunt, possess, buy, sell, acquire or dispose of, in any manner, wildlife for 

commercial purposes, or otherwise exercise the rights of the commercial wildlife permit 

while those rights are suspended. 

PENALTY:  Class 4 
 

05.35 
HUNTING, FISHING, TRAPPING, RELEASING HUNTING DOGS OR 

PURSUING WILDLIFE WITH DOGS WITHOUT LANDOWNER/LESSEE 

PERMISSION PROHIBITED 

06-02, 04-05 (A) It is unlawful to hunt, fish, trap wildlife, release hunting dogs or pursue 

wildlife with dogs, upon the private property of another without having first 

obtained permission from an owner or lessee of the property. 
(B) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (A), it is unlawful for any person to 

hunt, fish, trap wildlife, release hunting dogs or pursue wildlife with dogs, upon the 
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private property of another without carrying written permission from an owner or 
lessee of the property if the property is lawfully posted or fenced in compliance 
with one of the methods provided in Ark. Code Ann. §§18-11-404-405.  The 
written permission must include the name of the person permitted upon the 
property, the signature and telephone number of the landowner or lessee, and the 
beginning and ending dates of the permission period. 

EXCEPTION: 

Written permission is not required under subsection (B) if the person hunting, fishing or 

trapping wildlife is the spouse, parent, child, sibling, uncle, aunt, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, 

niece, nephew, grandchild or grandparent of the owner or lessee of the private property and has 

actual permission of the owner or lessee. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

05.36 HUNTING/FISHING ENDANGERMENT PROHIBITED 

03-07 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife in such a manner as to endanger the life or property of 

another person. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

Endangerment resulting in property damage:  Class 3 

Endangerment resulting in personal injury or death:  Class 4 
 

05.37 OBSTRUCTION OF HUNTING, FISHING OR TRAPPING PROHIBITED 

03-07 It is unlawful to willfully obstruct or impede the participation of any individual in the 

lawful activity of hunting, fishing or trapping. Provided that nothing in this regulation 

shall prohibit a landowner or lessee from exercising his lawful right to prohibit hunting, 

fishing or trapping on his land or from exercising any other legal right. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 06.00 – KILLING DEVICE, FIREARM, AND AMMUNITION REGULATIONS 

 

06.01 Certain Killing Devices and Ammunition Prohibited for Hunting Crow, Rabbit and Squirrel 

06.02 Certain Firearms and Ammunition Prohibited During Modern Gun Deer Seasons 

06.03 Certain Firearms Prohibited During Muzzleloading Seasons 

06.04 Archery Tackle Restrictions 

06.05 Firearms Prohibited While Archery or Crossbow Hunting 

06.06 Certain Firearms and Ammunition Prohibited for Hunting Wild Turkey 

06.07 Certain Ammunition Prohibited for Hunting Furbearers 

06.08 Certain Ammunition Prohibited for Hunting Migratory Game Birds 

06.09 Certain Killing Devices Prohibited for Hunting Bear 

06.10 Certain Weapons and Ammunition Prohibited for Hunting Elk 

 

* * * * *  
 

06.01 
CERTAIN KILLING DEVICES AND AMMUNITION PROHIBITED FOR 

HUNTING CROW, RABBIT AND SQUIRREL 

03-09 It is unlawful to hunt crow, rabbit or squirrel by use of: 

(A) Rifled slugs or shot larger than No. T shot; 
(B) Rifles or pistols larger than .22 caliber rimfire; 
(C) Muzzleloading firearms larger than .40 caliber; 
(D) Traps. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Rabbit and squirrel may be taken with muzzleloading firearms larger than .40 

caliber during open muzzleloader bear and deer seasons. 

(2) Crow may be taken during open coyote and gun deer seasons with firearms legal 

for those seasons (Code 05.01 and Addendum A1.07). 

(3) Rabbits may be taken during open rabbit season with box traps having interior 

dimensions not larger than 8 inches in width and 10 inches in height, and no more 

than eight traps per individual. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.02 
CERTAIN FIREARMS AND AMMUNITION PROHIBITED DURING MODERN 

GUN DEER SEASONS 

03-06 (A) It is unlawful to hunt deer during statewide modern gun deer seasons with: 

 Prohibited muzzleloading firearms (Code 06.03); 

 Any .410 shotguns using ammunition other than slugs; 

 Any shotguns using shot smaller than No. 4 buckshot; 

 Handguns having barrels shorter than 4 inches using conventional 

straight-wall cased handgun calibers less than .357 caliber or 

bottleneck-case handgun calibers less than .22 caliber; 

 Rifles and handguns using rimfire cartridges, military or full-metal 

jacket ammunition; 

 Any centerfire rifle or handgun smaller than .22 caliber. 
(B) It also is unlawful for any person to hunt deer during modern gun deer seasons in 

Deer Zones 4, 4B, 5, 5B with any firearms other than the following:  

 Shotguns (.410 or larger) with slugs only;  
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 Legal muzzleloading long guns (Code 06.03); 

 Handguns having barrels between 4 and 10 inches in length and 

chambered specifically for straight-wall centerfire cartridge cases and 

hunting with lead and, lead alloy, soft-nose and/or hollow-point bullets 

no less than .30 caliber. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.03 CERTAIN FIREARMS PROHIBITED DURING MUZZLELOADING SEASONS 

07-07 It is unlawful to hunt deer or bear during the muzzleloading deer or bear seasons with or 

to possess: 
(A) Firearms capable of being loaded by means other than through the muzzle or of 

firing centerfire or rimfire ammunition; 
(B) Muzzleloading firearms firing more than one projectile per barrel or chamber 

(buckshot prohibited); 
(C) Muzzleloading long guns smaller than .40 caliber or with barrels shorter than 18 

inches in length; 
(D) Muzzleloading handguns with barrels less than 9 inches in length, of smaller than 

.45 caliber, and loaded with a projectile weighing less than 200 grains (.45 caliber 
or larger conical bullets, or .530 and larger round balls). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Any caliber muzzleloading handgun or (cap and ball) percussion revolver is 

 permitted to be carried when a legal muzzleloading long gun is in hunter's 

 immediate possession. 

(2) In compliance with Code 05.19. 

(3) A member of a deer camp enrolled in the Deer Management Assistance Program who 

has been issued an Unrestricted Weapon Doe Permit or Management Buck Permit may 

hunt deer in compliance with the terms of the permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.04 ARCHERY TACKLE RESTRICTIONS 

07-00 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife with any of the following archery tackle: 

 A long or compound bow with a telescopic or magnifying sight or a 

draw weight of less than 40 pounds; 

 A crossbow without a functional mechanical safety device or with a 

draw weight of less than 125 pounds; 

 Arrows with an arrowhead width of less than 7/8 inch when open; or, 

 Arrows or arrowheads containing poisons or chemicals. 

EXCEPTION: 

Small game may be hunted using arrowheads less than 7/8 inch in width. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 

06.05 FIREARMS PROHIBITED WHILE ARCHERY OR CROSSBOW HUNTING 

 It is unlawful to have a firearm in one’s immediate possession while hunting 

bear, deer or turkey with archery tackle. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Legal firearms when and where a firearms bear or deer season is open. 

(2) In compliance with Code 05.19. 
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(3) A member of a deer camp enrolled in the Deer Management Assistance Program 

who has been issued an Unrestricted Weapon Doe Permit or Management Buck 

Permit may hunt deer in compliance with the terms of the permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.06 
CERTAIN FIREARMS AND AMMUNITION PROHIBITED FOR HUNTING 

WILD TURKEY 

10-06 It is unlawful to hunt wild turkey with the use of rifles, muzzleloading firearms, 

handguns or shot larger than No. 2 common shot (.15 inch in diameter). 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.07 CERTAIN AMMUNITION PROHIBITED FOR HUNTING FURBEARERS 

03-08 It is unlawful to hunt furbearers with any rifled slug or shot size larger than No. T, or 

with any rifle or handgun ammunition other than rimfire ammunition of .22 caliber or 

smaller. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Codes 05.10; 20.02. 

(2) Bobcat, fox or coyote may be taken during daylight hours in any open bear, deer or 

turkey season with a method of take legal for that season and zone. 

(3) Bobcat, fox or coyote may be taken during daylight hours in an open season for that 

species with firearms of any caliber. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.08 CERTAIN AMMUNITION PROHIBITED FOR HUNTING MIGRATORY 

GAME BIRDS 

04-03 It is unlawful to hunt migratory game birds with lead shot larger than No. BB (.18 inches 

in diameter) or non-toxic shot larger than No. T (.20 inches in diameter) (Code 10.06). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.09 CERTAIN KILLING DEVICES PROHIBITED FOR HUNTING BEAR  

04-05 It is unlawful to hunt bear with killing devices other than those in compliance with Codes 

06.02-04. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Shotguns 20 gauge or larger with only rifled slugs may be used. 

(2) In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

06.10 
CERTAIN WEAPONS AND AMMUNITION PROHIBITED FOR HUNTING 

ELK 

04-98 It is unlawful to hunt elk with: 

(A) Muzzleloading firearms smaller than .50 caliber; 
(B) Shotguns smaller than 20 gauge; 
(C) Shot for shotguns other than slugs; 
(D) Archery tackle that is not in compliance with Code 06.04; 
(E) Crossbows; 
(F) Conventional straight-wall case handgun calibers smaller than .41 caliber (.410) or 

bottleneck-case handgun calibers smaller than .24 caliber (.244/6mm); 
(G) Modern firearms smaller than .24 caliber (6mm); 
(H) Modern firearms that are not centerfire; or 
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(I) Modern firearm ammunition with bullet weight less than 100 grains. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 07.00 – BAITING/FEEDING WILDLIFE REGULATIONS 

 

07.01 Alligator Baiting and Feeding Prohibited 

07.02 Bear Baiting and Feeding Prohibited 

07.03 Hunting Bear Over Bait Prohibited 

07.04 Hunting Migratory Game Birds Over Bait Prohibited 

07.05 Hunting Turkey Over Bait Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

07.01 ALLIGATOR BAITING AND FEEDING PROHIBITED 

04-00 It is unlawful to place or deposit foodstuffs, scent lures or other materials for the purpose 

of baiting, attracting or enticing alligators for any reason. 

EXCEPTION: 

Persons feeding alligators maintained in protected captivity for educational, scientific, 

commercial or recreational purposes.  For the purpose of this regulation, the term 

“maintained in protected captivity” means held in captivity under Commission 

authorization. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

07.02 BEAR BAITING AND FEEDING PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to place or deposit foodstuffs, scent lures, or other materials for the purpose 

of baiting, attracting or enticing bears for any reason. 

EXCEPTION: 

On private land in Bear Zones 1, 2, 5 and 5A, 30 days before the opening day of the first bear 

season until the last day of the last bear season in each respective bear zone (Code 07.03). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

07.03 HUNTING BEAR OVER BAIT PROHIBITED 

04-98, 04-05 It is unlawful to hunt bear by the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited area, where he 

knows or reasonably should know that the area is or has been baited. An area is 

considered baited for 10 days following complete removal of the bait. 

EXCEPTION: 

Bears may be hunted over bait on private lands in Bear Zones 1, 2, 5 and 5A during an open 

bear season (Code 05.01 and Addendum A1.08). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

07.04 HUNTING MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS OVER BAIT PROHIBITED 

07-01 It is unlawful to hunt migratory game birds by the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited 

area, where he knows or reasonably should know that the area is or has been baited (50 

CFR §20.21(i)).  An area is considered baited for 10 days following complete removal of 

the bait. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

07.05 HUNTING TURKEY OVER BAIT PROHIBITED 

07-01 It is unlawful to hunt wild turkey by the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited area, 

where he knows or reasonably should know that the area is or has been baited.  An area is 

considered baited for 10 days following complete removal of the bait. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 08.00 – HUNTING DOG REGULATIONS 

 

08.01 Hunting Dog Requirements 

08.02 Dogs Chasing Wildlife for Pleasure Restrictions 

08.03 Deer Dog Training Restrictions 

08.04 Hunting with Deer Dogs Prohibited 

08.05 Chasing Elk with Dogs Prohibited 

08.06 Bird Dog Training Restrictions 

08.07 Retrieving Dog Training Restrictions 

 

* * * * *  
 

08.01 HUNTING DOG REQUIREMENTS 

03-09 It is unlawful to use any dog to hunt, chase, pursue or retrieve wildlife, or to train dogs 

for such purposes, without the dog wearing a collar bearing the name, phone number and 

address of the owner. 

EXCEPTION: 

Collars are not required for waterfowl retrievers while in the act of retrieving waterfowl if the 

owner or person in charge of said retriever has on his person the collar bearing the required 

name, phone number and address. 

PENALTY:  $50 to $1,000 

 

08.02 DOGS CHASING WILDLIFE FOR PLEASURE RESTRICTIONS 

12-07 It is unlawful to use a dog to chase any wildlife for pleasure during the day from Apr. 1-

May 15 or in any open spring turkey season, or to possess a killing device while using a 

dog to chase wildlife for pleasure. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) During any muzzleloader deer season, dogs may be used to chase fox or coyote for 

pleasure only at night. 

(2) During any modern gun deer season in a zone in which it is unlawful to use a dog to 

hunt deer, dogs may be used to chase fox or coyote for pleasure only at night. 

(3) Dogs may be used to chase fox or coyote for pleasure within fox or coyote 

enclosures day or night all year. 

(4) In compliance with Codes 05.19; 08.05; 13.02; 22.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

08.03 DEER DOG TRAINING RESTRICTIONS 

12-07 It is unlawful to use a dog to chase deer for training purposes at any time or to possess a 

killing device while doing so. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Dogs may be used to chase deer for training purposes during the day from Oct. 1-

Dec. 31 in those deer zones permitted under Code 08.04, except during any 

muzzleloader deer season. 

(2) In compliance with Codes 05.19; 22.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

 

08.04 HUNTING DEER WITH DOGS PROHIBITED 

03-09 It is unlawful to use dogs for hunt deer during archery, crossbow, muzzleloader, regular 

modern gun, special youth modern gun, Christmas Holiday modern gun and doe only 

modern gun deer seasons. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) One dog controlled by leash may be used to trail wounded deer after permission has 

been obtained from a wildlife officer. 

(2) Dogs may be used for deer hunting only during the regular modern gun deer season 

in deer zones 1A, 6, 6A, 7, 8, 8A, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16A and 17. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

08.05 CHASING ELK WITH DOGS PROHIBITED 

05-98, 03-06 It is unlawful to use dogs to chase elk. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

08.06 BIRD DOG TRAINING RESTRICTIONS 

03-06 It is unlawful to use firearms, other than handguns and shotguns with blank ammunition, 

while training dogs for use in hunting game birds. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Persons may use live ammunition to take pen-raised quail or pen-raised pheasant 

for dog training in compliance with a valid Shoot-to-Kill Bird Dog Training Permit. 

(2) In compliance with Code 22.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

In addition, noncompliance with terms of issued permits shall cause revocation of permit rights 

for one year. 
 

08.07 RETRIEVING DOG TRAINING RESTRICTIONS 

06-05 It is unlawful to use live migratory game birds to certify or train dogs in retrieving. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Legally possessed captive-reared mallards (Chapter 09.00) may be taken by the use 

of shotgun with live ammunition by participants in retrieving dog field trials 

sanctioned by the American Kennel Club, National Field Retriever Association, 

North American Hunting Retriever Association, or Hunting Retrievers Club in 

compliance with a Shoot-to-Kill Retrieving Dog Training Permit. 

(2) Legally possessed captive-reared mallards (Chapter 09.00) may be taken by the use 

of shotgun with live ammunition while training waterfowl retrieving dogs in 

compliance with a Shoot-to-Kill Retrieving Dog Training Permit. 

(3) Legally possessed captive-reared mallards may be used to train or certify waterfowl 

retrieving dogs on a Commission-permitted game bird shooting resort in 

compliance with Chapter 09.00. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

In addition, noncompliance with terms of issued permits shall cause revocation of permit rights 

for one year. 
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CHAPTER 09.00 – CAPTIVE WILDLIFE/HUNTING RESORT REGULATIONS 

 

09.01 Possession of Certain Wildlife in Captivity Prohibited 

09.02 Possession of Non-Native Wildlife in Captivity Restricted 

09.03 Release of Wildlife Prohibited 

09.04 Hunting of Captive Wildlife Prohibited 

09.05 Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permit Required 

09.06 Game Bird Shooting Resort Permit Required 

09.07 Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit Required 

09.08 Special Commercial Quail Permit and Stamp Required 

09.09 Scientific Collection Permit Required 

09.10 Wildlife Importation Permit Required 

09.11 Importation of Certain Living Wildlife Prohibited 

09.12 Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit Required 

09.13 Mountain Lion Permit Required 

09.14 Native Wildlife Pets Restricted 

09.15 Falconry Permit Required 

09.16 Live Fox and Coyote Permit Required 

 

* * * * *  
 

09.01 POSSESSION OF CERTAIN WILDLIFE IN CAPTIVITY PROHIBITED 

09-07 It is unlawful to possess, hold captive, confine or enclose any live wildlife, whether 

native or non-native, migratory or imported, unless otherwise specified herein. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Accredited members of the American Zoo and Aquarium Association. 

(2) Persons possessing and holding captive wildlife in compliance with Chapter 09.00. 

(3) Persons possessing and holding captive fish, bullfrogs, mussels, aquatic turtles and 

alligators in compliance with Chapters 29.00; 30.00; 31.00; 32.00; 33.00; 34.00; 

35.00. 

(4) Persons may be permitted to possess and hold captive on a temporary basis captive-

reared mallards, pen-raised quail, coyote, fox or raccoon for the sole purpose of dog 

training or conducting field trials sanctioned by the American Kennel Club, 

National Field Retriever Association, North American Hunting Retriever 

Association, Hunting Retrievers Club, United Kennel Club, Professional Kennel 

Club, or American Coon Hunters Association upon requesting and receiving written 

approval from the Chief of Wildlife Management. 

(5) Persons determined by the Commission to be involved in bona fide scientific 

research, education or conservation efforts of significant benefit to wildlife or 

wildlife habitat, in Arkansas may be permitted to possess and hold captive wildlife 

in compliance with the terms of a special permit issued by the Chief of Wildlife 

Management. 

(6) Persons with a valid U.S. Department of Agriculture Wildlife Exhibition Permit 

may possess and hold captive wildlife allowed by that permit.  Holders of this 

permit are not exempt from subsequent regulations in Chapter 09.00. 

(7) Persons with a valid U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service migratory bird permit may 

possess migratory birds in compliance with the terms of that permit.  Holders of this 

permit are not exempt from subsequent regulations in Chapter 09.00.  Holders of a 

valid U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Raptor Propagation Permit are not required to 
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obtain a Commission Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit to propagate or distribute 

raptors. 

(8) The following species are exempt from rules regarding captive wildlife in Codes 

09.02; 09.07; 09.10: buffalo (Bos bison), emu (Dromaius novaehollandiae), llama 

(Lama glama), Muscovy duck (Cairina moschata), European domestic ferret 

(Mustela putorius), hamster (Mesocricetus auratus, Phodopus campbelli, Phodopus 

sungorus, Cricetulus griseus, Phodopus roborovskii), Guinea pig (Cavia porcellus), 

ringneck dove (Streptopelia risoria), gerbils (Subfamily Gerbillinae), common 

white mice and common white rats, and wolf/dog hybrids. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

(1) Any wildlife possessed in violation of this regulation may be declared contraband and 

subject to immediate seizure. 

(2) Upon conviction, or before, if so ordered by a court having legal jurisdiction, title to the 

wildlife shall be forfeited to the Commission and released or disposed of in compliance 

with Commission policy. 

(3) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs accrued in 

the storage, care, and maintenance of any equipment or wildlife seized in connection 

with the violation. 

(4) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the illegal wildlife and also shall be liable for the costs 

of destruction and/or disposal of the illegal wildlife, as deemed necessary by the 

Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.02 POSSESSION OF NON-NATIVE WILDLIFE IN CAPTIVITY RESTRICTED 

11-00, 09-07 (A) It is unlawful to possess captive non-native wildlife not excepted under 

Code 09.01, unless the possessor can produce written documentation that 

such wildlife was legally obtained and has been certified by an accredited 

veterinarian to be free of diseases and parasites that may pose an adverse 

risk to native wildlife. 
(B) It is unlawful for any person to possess mountain lions (Puma concolor) except in 

compliance with Codes 09.07; 09.13. 
(C) It is unlawful to possess tigers, African lions and all species of bears not in 

compliance with Ark. Code Ann. §§20-19-501-511 or Code 09.07. 

EXCEPTION: 

Wildlife listed in Code 09.01, Exception 8. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

(1) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs incurred in 

the storage, care and maintenance of any equipment, wildlife and/or fish seized in 

connection with the violation. 

(2) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the illegally possessed wildlife, and also shall be liable 

for the costs of destruction and/or disposal of the illegally possessed wildlife, as deemed 

necessary by the Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.03 RELEASE OF WILDLIFE PROHIBITED 

11-00, 09-07 It is unlawful to release wildlife into the wild without prior written approval from the 

Commission. To protect the health and safety of the public and the wildlife resources, the 

Commission and its designees are authorized to recapture or dispatch any wildlife, 

whether kept legally or illegally, that escapes from or is illegally released from captivity. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Captive-raised quail, pheasant, chukar and mallards may be released in compliance 

with a valid Game Bird Shooting Resort Permit. 

(2) Native wildlife, other than mountain lions, may be released in compliance with a 

Commission Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit or a U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Rehabilitation Permit. 

(3) Persons may be permitted on a temporary basis to possess, hold captive and release 

raccoon, fox, coyote, captive-reared mallards, pen-raised quail, or pheasant for the 

purposes of training dogs or conducting field trials sanctioned by the American 

Kennel Club, National Field Retriever Association, North American Hunting 

Retriever Association, Hunting Retrievers Club, United Kennel Club or American 

Coon Hunters Association upon requesting and receiving written approval from the 

Chief of Wildlife Management. 

(4) Persons possessing a valid Falconry Permit (Code 09.15) may release raptors in 

compliance with all federal and state falconry regulations. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 

(1) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs accrued by 

the Commission in the recapture, including all man-hours of Commission personnel, 

storage and care of any released and/or recaptured wildlife in connection with the 

violation. 

(2) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the released wildlife and shall be liable for the costs of 

destruction and/or disposal of the released wildlife, as deemed necessary by the 

Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.04 HUNTING OF CAPTIVE WILDLIFE PROHIBITED 

11-00, 09-07 It is unlawful to hunt any wildlife held captive, enclosed or confined. It also is unlawful 

for any person to introduce or place any wildlife into any environment in which it is held 

captive, enclosed or confined for the purpose of hunting such wildlife. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Codes 05.10; 08.05; 09.05; 09.06; 09.11. 

(2) Commission-approved facilities containing only red fox, gray fox and coyote (fox 

pens). 

(3) Native game animals, except black bear and elk, may be hunted in enclosures for 

non-commercial purposes without a Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permit, 

provided it is done in compliance with all statewide hunting regulations, including 

bag limits and license requirements. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

09.05 COMMERCIAL WILDLIFE HUNTING RESORT PERMIT REQUIRED 

11-00, 09-07 It is unlawful to operate or maintain a commercial wildlife hunting resort without first 

obtaining a valid Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permit from the Commission. 

Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permits for new facilities for the hunting of any 

member of the Family Cervidae shall not be issued after June 30, 2006 (Addendum 

F1.01).  For the purposes of this regulation, “new facility” means a facility that did not 

exist or was not initially permitted prior to July 1, 2006, or that has not been continuously 

permitted and operated since that date. 

EXCEPTION: 

A Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permit is not required for pens in which only red fox, 

gray fox or coyote are pursued (fox pens) unless the facility is also a high-fence enclosure in 

which other native game species are hunted as part of a commercial operation. 
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PENALTY:  Class 3 

(1) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs accrued in 

the storage, care and maintenance of any equipment and/or wildlife seized in 

connection with the violation.  

(2) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the illegal wildlife, and also shall be liable for the costs 

of destruction and/or disposal of the illegal wildlife, as deemed necessary by the 

Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.06 GAME BIRD SHOOTING RESORT PERMIT REQUIRED 

09-07 It is unlawful to operate or maintain a game bird shooting resort without first obtaining a 

valid Game Bird Shooting Resort Permit from the Commission (Addendum F1.02). 

PENALTY:  Class 3 

(1) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs accrued in 

the storage, care and maintenance of any equipment or wildlife seized in connection 

with the violation. 

(2) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the illegal wildlife and also shall be liable for the costs 

of destruction and/or disposal of the illegal wildlife, as deemed necessary by the 

Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.07 WILDLIFE BREEDER/DEALER PERMIT REQUIRED 

09-07 It is unlawful to rear, breed, propagate, produce, distribute, sell or offer for sale any 

wildlife in Arkansas without first obtaining a valid Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit from 

the Commission (Addendum F1.03). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Fish, bullfrogs, mussels, aquatic turtles and alligators in compliance with Code 

09.06 and Chapters 29.00; 30.00; 31.00; 32.00; 33.00; 34.00; 35.00. 

(2) Red fox, gray fox and coyote legally trapped in Arkansas may be sold by persons 

with a valid hunting license and Live Fox and Coyote Permit (Code 09.16). 

(3) Accredited members of the American Zoo and Aquarium Association. 

(4) Holders of U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Raptor Propagation Permits may 

propagate, distribute and sell raptors without a Commission Wildlife 

Breeder/Dealer Permit. 

(5) Holders of Game Bird Shooting Resort Permits do not need a Wildlife 

Breeder/Dealer Permit unless they are actively engaged in rearing, breeding, 

propagating, producing, distributing, selling or offering for sale, game birds or other 

wildlife. 

(6) Wildlife listed in Code 09.01, Exception 8. 

(7) In compliance with Code 09.15. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 

(1) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs accrued in 

the storage, care and maintenance of any equipment or wildlife seized in connection 

with the violation. 

(2) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the illegal wildlife and shall be liable for the costs of 

destruction and/or disposal of the illegal wildlife, as deemed necessary by the 

Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
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09.08 SPECIAL COMMERCIAL QUAIL PERMIT AND STAMP REQUIRED 

03-08 (A) It is unlawful to engage in the business of selling or offering for sale the 

dressed carcasses of pen-raised quail without first obtaining a valid Special 

Commercial Quail Permit and Stamp, and a valid Wildlife Breeder/Dealer 

Permit from the Commission. 
(B) Holders of a Special Commercial Quail Permit shall comply with the following 

requirements: 

(1) Pen-raised quail shall be harvested by means other than shooting. 

(2) Packages containing dressed pen-raised quail carcasses offered for sale 

shall bear the permit number and said number shall be applied with the 

special stamp purchased with permit. 
PENALTY:  Class 3 

For non-compliance with the terms of this permit the Commission may suspend or revoke any 

existing permit held by the violator and may refuse to issue any future permit.  Such suspension, 

revocation or refusal to issue a future permit shall be in addition to any criminal charges that 

may be filed. 
 

09.09 SCIENTIFIC COLLECTION PERMIT REQUIRED 

09-07 It is unlawful to take wildlife for scientific study without possessing on the person a valid 

Commission-issued Scientific Collection Permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

09.10 WILDLIFE IMPORTATION PERMIT REQUIRED 

09-07 (A) It is unlawful to import live wildlife into Arkansas without a valid Wildlife 

Importation Permit issued by the Commission.  This permit shall be 

required regardless of the final destination of the wildlife, whether in 

Arkansas or points beyond. It also is unlawful for any person to receive, 

acquire, purchase or possess any wildlife imported into Arkansas in 

violation of this regulation. 
(B) It is unlawful for the holder of a Wildlife Importation Permit to cause or permit any 

wild animal or bird to be imported into Arkansas under inhumane or unhealthy 
conditions (Addendum F1.04). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Fish and aquatic turtles as allowed for aquaculture under Code 35.09, other than 

those prohibited by Code 26.13. 

(2) Wildlife exchanged with other states by the Commission. 

(3) Accredited members of the American Zoo and Aquarium Association. 

(4) A Wildlife Importation Permit is not required for a nonresident falconer with a 

valid Non-Resident Arkansas Hunting License, and possessing a valid falconry 

permit from another state, to import legally possessed raptors into Arkansas for the 

purposes of hunting, provided the birds will not stay in Arkansas longer than 30 

consecutive days and are in compliance with Arkansas Livestock and Poultry 

Commission regulations relating to the entry of birds into the state. 

(5) A Wildlife Importation Permit is not required for a resident falconer with a valid 

Arkansas Hunting License, and a valid Arkansas falconry permit to import legally 

possessed raptors into Arkansas, provided they are in compliance with Arkansas 

Livestock and Poultry Commission regulations relating to the entry of birds into the 

state. 

(6) Circuses and others possessing U.S. Department of Agriculture Wildlife Exhibition 

Permits may import wildlife into or through Arkansas temporarily for the limited 
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purposes of performance or display under terms of a special permit issued by the 

Chief of Wildlife Management. 

(7) Wildlife listed in Code 09.01, Exception 8. 

(8) Up to six box turtles (Genus Terrapene) may be brought into Arkansas as pets 

without a permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 

(1) All equipment, including any form of legal tender, and all wildlife imported in violation 

of this regulation may be seized by Enforcement Officers, confiscated by the court, 

forfeited to the State and disposed of according to law (Code 01.00D). 

(2) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs incurred in 

the storage, care and maintenance of any equipment, wildlife and/or fish seized in 

connection with the violation. 

(3) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the illegally imported wildlife, and also shall be liable 

for the costs of destruction and/or disposal of the illegally imported wildlife, as deemed 

necessary by the Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.11 IMPORTATION OF CERTAIN LIVING WILDLIFE PROHIBITED 

11-00, 04-11 It is unlawful to import, ship, transport, or carry into Arkansas by any means, or to cause 

to be imported, receive, or to assist in any manner in the importation of any of the 

following living wildlife: 
(A) Any member of the Family Cervidae (cervids). 
(B) Raccoons. 
(C) Bats. 
(D) Skunks. 
(E) Coyotes that originate from or have lived in Alaska, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, 

Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, 
Texas, Wisconsin, Wyoming or Canada. 

(F) Gray and red foxes that originate or have lived in Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Illinois, 
Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New 
York, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Texas, Vermont, Wisconsin, Wyoming 
or Canada. 

(G) Rodents captured in the wild from Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, 
Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Utah or Wyoming. 

(H) All box turtles of the Genus Terrapene. 
(I) All waterfowl. 
(J) Large carnivores and mountain lions. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Wildlife exchanged with other states by the Commission. 

(2) These species may be imported on a temporary basis for bona fide scientific, 

conservation, or educational purposes under terms of a special permit issued by the 

Chief of Wildlife Management. 

(3) Large carnivores and mountain lions may be imported only by holders of valid U.S. 

Department of Agriculture Wildlife Exhibition Permits for large carnivores or 

mountain lions.  Such importation shall be done in compliance with a current 

Commission Wildlife Importation Permit. 

(4) Mallard ducks may be imported by a representative of a group designated in Code 

09.03, Exception 3, for use in an official field trial in compliance with a current 

Wildlife Importation Permit provided that ducks must have a seamless metal band 

on one leg that identifies them as a captive-raised bird.  The permit holder must 

possess documentation that the waterfowl have originated from a flock participating 

in the National Poultry Improvement Program and have tested negative for duck 
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virus enteritis within 60 days before entry into the state and such documentation 

shall be submitted to the Commission in compliance with reporting requirements in 

Code 09.10. 

(5) Mallard ducks may be imported by the holder of a Shoot-To-Kill Retrieving Dog 

Training Permit in compliance with a current Wildlife Importation Permit provided 

that ducks are identified as captive reared by one of the following methods 1) 

banding of one metatarsus with a seamless metal band; 2) removal of the hind toe 

from the right foot; 3) pinioning of a wing by removal of all or some of the 

metacarpal bones of one wing, which renders the bird permanently incapable of 

flight; 4) a readily discernible tattoo of numbers and/or letters on the web of one 

foot.  The permit holder must possess documentation that the waterfowl have 

originated from a flock participating in the National Poultry Improvement Program 

and have tested negative for duck virus enteritis within 60 days before entry into the 

state and such documentation shall be submitted to the Commission in compliance 

with reporting requirements in Code 09.10. 

(6) Pet box turtles in compliance with Code 09.10, Exception 8. 

(7) These species may be moved through the state of Arkansas with a Wildlife 

Importation Permit provided that it is done in accordance with a property issued 

U.S. Department of Agriculture VS-127 Restricted Movement Document and that 

the container the animals are in is sealed in the originating state and that seal 

remains unbroken while in the state of Arkansas. 

PENALTY: Class 3 

(1) All equipment, including any form of legal tender, and all wildlife imported in violation 

of this regulation, may be seized by Enforcement Officers, confiscated by the court, 

forfeited to the State and disposed of according to law (Code 01.00D). 

(2) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs incurred in 

the storage, care, and maintenance of any equipment, wildlife and/or fish seized in 

connection with the violation. 

(3) Any person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of any and 

all tests and/or examinations of the illegally imported wildlife as deemed necessary by 

the Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.12 WILDLIFE REHABILITATION PERMIT REQUIRED 

11-00, 03-08 It is unlawful to hunt or possess from the wild any sick, injured, orphaned, or impaired 

native wildlife, except migratory birds, for the purpose of rehabilitation without obtaining 

and complying with the terms of a valid Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit issued by the 

Commission.  A Commission Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit is not required to keep 

migratory birds for rehabilitation purposes, but a valid Migratory Bird Rehabilitation 

Permit from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is required (Addendum F1.05). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

09.13 MOUNTAIN LION PERMIT REQUIRED 

09-07 It is unlawful to possess a live mountain lion (Puma concolor) without first obtaining a 

valid Mountain Lion Permit from the Commission.  A Mountain Lion Permit will be 

issued only to a person to whom the Commission had issued a Wildlife Breeder/Dealer 

Permit for a mountain lion before Sept. 30, 2007 (Addendum F1.06). 

EXCEPTION: 

Accredited members of the American Zoo and Aquarium Association. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
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(1) All wildlife possessed in violation of this regulation may be seized by enforcement 

officers, confiscated by the court, forfeited to the State and disposed of according to 

law. (Code 01.00D). 

(2) A person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of storage, 

care and maintenance of any equipment and/or wildlife seized in connection with the 

violation. 

(3) A person convicted of violating this regulation shall be liable for the costs of tests 

and/or examinations of the illegal wildlife, and shall be liable for the costs of 

destruction and/or disposal of the illegal wildlife, as deemed necessary by the 

Commission for the protection of native wildlife. 
 

09.14 NATIVE WILDLIFE PETS RESTRICTED 

04-11 It is unlawful to possess native wildlife as pets except as follows: 

(A) Native wildlife captured from the wild: 

(1) No more than six per household of any combination of the following 

animals may be possessed as pets: 

(a) Hand-captured bobcat, coyote, deer, gray fox, red fox, 

opossum, rabbit, raccoon and squirrel; and 

(b) Hand-captured native non-game wildlife other than birds, bats, 

alligator snapping turtles, ornate box turtles, hellbenders, 

troglodytic species (cave dwellers), or those animals defined as 

endangered or threatened species. 

(2) It is unlawful for any person to remove such wildlife or their offspring 

from Arkansas except under the terms of a permit that may be issued by 

the Chief of Wildlife Management to persons who are moving to another 

state and have presented proof from that state that it is legal to import the 

wildlife. 

(3) The sale or transfer of ownership of such wildlife or their offspring is 

prohibited except as provided in (A)(7) of this regulation. 

(4) All wildlife possessed in captivity shall be maintained in enclosures, 

pens, or cages that are sufficiently strong to prevent escape of the wildlife 

and that will protect the wildlife from injury. 

(5) All adult deer kept in compliance with (A) of this regulation shall be 

confined within an enclosure that complies with the following 

requirements: 

(a) Enclosures shall have a perimeter fence that is not less than 

eight feet in height and shall be constructed so as to prohibit 

the escape of confined cervids and the ingress of native cervids. 

(b) The area of the enclosure shall not be less than 200 square feet 

for the first cervid and shall be increased in size 150 square feet 

for each additional cervid. 

(6) Males and females of the same species of game animal must be kept in 

separate enclosures, or if kept in the same enclosure, the owner shall 

provide proof that all males within the enclosure have been neutered. 

(7) Native wildlife, except white-tailed deer, kept as personal pets in 

compliance with this regulation may be transferred to a wildlife 

rehabilitation permitted by the Commission (Code 09.12) and released 

back into the wild in the county where they were captured provided such 

animals were not confined with commercially obtained, captive born 

wildlife of the same species. 
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(B) Captive born native wildlife:  No more than six per household of any commercially 
obtained, captive born native wildlife may be possessed as personal pets in 
compliance with the following restrictions: 

(1) Commercially obtained, captive born wildlife pets and/or their offspring 

shall not be confined with the same species of wild born animals and/or 

their offspring. 

(2) Owners shall maintain records of proof of legal ownership of such 

animals including licenses, bills of sale, bills of lading, receipts, invoices 

and copies of Wildlife Importation Permits or other satisfactory evidence.  

The date of acquisition, place of origin, and the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person from whom the wildlife was acquired 

shall be recorded.  Owners shall provide these records to the Commission 

upon demand. 

(3) Commercially obtained, captive born wildlife pets or their offspring shall 

only be sold in compliance with Code 09.07. 

(4) Males and females of the same species must be kept in separate 

enclosures, or if kept in the same enclosure, the owner shall provide 

proof that all males within the enclosure have been neutered. 

(5) Owners of commercially obtained or captive born white-tailed deer or elk 

that were acquired prior to June 30, 2005, and that are kept as personal 

pets may retain ownership of such animals provided they registered with 

the Wildlife Management Division by June 30, 2008, and are in 

compliance with all provisions of this regulation. 

(6) Owners must immediately test all deer and elk that die in captivity for 

CWD and forward copies of test results to the Commission within seven 

days of receipt. 

(7) All cervids kept in compliance with (B) of this regulation shall be 

confined within an enclosure that complies with the following 

requirements: 

(a) Enclosures shall have a perimeter fence that is not less than 

eight (8) feet in height and shall be constructed so as to prohibit 

the escape of confined cervids and the ingress of native cervids. 

(b) The area of the enclosure shall not be less than 200 square feet 

for the first cervid and shall be increased in size 150 square feet 

for each additional cervid. 

EXCEPTION: 

Aquatic pets taken in compliance with Code 26.26. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

09.15 FALCONRY PERMIT REQUIRED 

 It is unlawful to possess, take or transport raptors, or to use raptors to take game animals 

or game birds, without first obtaining a Falconry Permit from the Commission 

(Addendum F1.07). 

EXCEPTION: 

A nonresident falconer with a valid Non-Resident Arkansas Hunting License and a valid 

falconry permit from another state may use raptors to take wildlife during open seasons.  A 

properly permitted nonresident falconer may, without additional permit, use raptors to take 

wildlife in any regional or national falconry field trial that has been authorized by letter from the 

director of the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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09.16 LIVE FOX AND COYOTE PERMIT REQUIRED 

09-07 It is unlawful to sell or offer for sale live gray fox, red fox or coyote captured from the 

wild in Arkansas without first obtaining a Live Fox and Coyote Permit from the 

Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
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CHAPTER 10.00 – COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL REGULATIONS 

 

10.01 Compliance with Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Regulations Required 

10.02 Compliance with Federal Regulations on Refuges, Hatcheries and Sanctuaries Required 

10.03 Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp Required 

10.04 Plug Required for Migratory Bird Hunting 

10.05 Migratory Game Bird Shooting Hours Restricted 

10.06 Non-Toxic Shot Required for Waterfowl Hunting 

10.07 Harvest Information Program (HIP) Registration Required 

10.08 Compliance with USDA Forest Service Regulations Required 

 

* * * * *  
 

10.01 
COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTING 

REGULATIONS REQUIRED 

10-08 It is unlawful to hunt or possess migratory game birds in Arkansas without complying 

with all federal regulations governing such taking or possessing (including without 

limitation 50 CFR §20).  

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

10.02 COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL REGULATIONS ON REFUGES, 

HATCHERIES AND SANCTUARIES REQUIRED 

7-80 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife on national wildlife refuges or federal hatcheries or 

sanctuaries where a federal permit is required without possessing on the person a valid 

permit.  It also is unlawful to fail to comply with any federal regulation on refuges, 

sanctuaries or fish hatcheries. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

10.03 FEDERAL MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTING STAMP REQUIRED 

08-08 It is unlawful to hunt migratory waterfowl without first obtaining and having on the 

person a valid Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp.  The holder must sign the face of 

the stamp in ink. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Youths. 

(2) In compliance with Addendum B1.10. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

10.04 PLUG REQUIRED FOR MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTING 

08-08 It is unlawful to hunt any migratory game bird with a firearm other than a shotgun 

incapable of holding more than three shells in the magazine and chamber combined. 

Shotguns requiring plugs must be plugged with a one-piece filler which requires 

disassembly of the firearm for removal. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Addendum B1.10. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 
 

10.05 MIGRATORY GAME BIRD SHOOTING HOURS RESTRICTED 

09-04 It is unlawful to hunt any migratory game bird other than from 30 minutes before sunrise 

until sunset (at hunting location). 

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr
http://www.sunrisesunset.com/USA/Arkansas.asp
http://www.sunrisesunset.com/USA/Arkansas.asp


 

56 

 

 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Shooting hours for teal during the special September teal season are from sunrise to 

sunset (at hunting location). 

(2) Waterfowl hunting in the St. Francis River Floodway Waterfowl Zone ends at 

noon. 

(3) Shooting hours during the Snow, Blue and Ross’ Goose Conservation Order are 

from 30 minutes before sunrise until 30 minutes after sunset (at hunting location). 

(4) Certain wildlife management areas are subject to specific shooting hour restrictions 

(Code 24.01). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

10.06 NON-TOXIC SHOT REQUIRED FOR WATERFOWL HUNTING 

09-04 It is unlawful to possess while waterfowl hunting any shot other than steel, tungsten-iron, 

tungsten-iron (Hevi-Steel), tungsten-polymer, tungsten-matrix, bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron 

nickel-tin (TINT), tungsten-nickel iron (Hevi-Shot), tungsten-bronze-iron (TBI), 

tungsten-tin bismuth (TTB) or such shot approved as non-toxic by the U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service pursuant to 50 CFR §20.21. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

10.07 HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP) REGISTRATION REQUIRED 

04-98, 09-04 It is unlawful to hunt migratory game birds in Arkansas without possessing on the person 

proof of valid Arkansas HIP registration. 

EXCEPTION: 

Youth hunters. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

10.08 COMPLIANCE WITH USDA FOREST SERVICE REGULATIONS REQUIRED  

10-08 It is unlawful to violate any federal regulation pertaining to the protection of wildlife or 

natural resources (including without limitation 36 CFR §261, Subparts A and B) within 

the proclamation boundaries of the Ouachita, Ozark or St. Francis National Forest lands 

in Arkansas. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr
http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr
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CHAPTER 11.00 – YOUTH HUNT REGULATIONS 

 

11.01 Special Youth Modern Gun Bear Hunt Restrictions 

11.02 Special Youth Modern Gun Deer Hunt Restrictions 

11.03 Special Youth Turkey Hunt Restrictions 

11.04 Special Youth Waterfowl Hunt Restrictions 

11.05 Adult Supervision During Special Youth Hunts Required 

 

* * * * *  
 

11.01 SPECIAL YOUTH MODERN GUN BEAR HUNT RESTRICTIONS 

04-05, 04-11 It is unlawful other than a youth six to 15 years of age to harvest bear during the special 

youth modern gun bear hunt (Addendum A1.08).  

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Addendum C1.02. 

(2) In compliance with applicable regulations, hunters of all ages may harvest bear 

using archery tackle during archery and crossbow season (Code 05.01  and 

Addendum A1.08). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

11.02 SPECIAL YOUTH MODERN GUN DEER HUNT RESTRICTIONS 

04-11 It is unlawful other than a youth six to 15 years of age to harvest deer during the special 

youth modern gun deer hunt (Addendum A1.01).  The youth bag limit is the same as the 

statewide seasonal bag limit.  During these hunts either sex may be taken. A doe may be 

taken without a WMA doe quota permit during designated youth deer hunts only.  These 

are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal bag limit (Codes 15.01; 21.02; 

21.03). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) WMAs requiring a WMA deer hunt permit are closed to the special youth modern 

gun deer hunt (Codes 06.03; 21.02). 

(2) In compliance with applicable regulations, hunters of all ages may harvest deer 

using archery tackle during archery and crossbow season (Addendum A1.01 A). 

(3) In compliance with Addendum C1.01. 

(4) Commission-registered deer camps that participate in the Deer Management 

Assistance Program (DMAP) and receive deer management tags, or deer camps 

receiving Doe Deer Permits (DDP). 

(5) During the first weekend of the special youth modern gun deer hunt only, hunters 

65 years of age or older who possess a valid Arkansas hunting license and are 

accompanying a youth may harvest deer in compliance with Codes 04.01; 21.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

11.03 SPECIAL YOUTH TURKEY HUNT RESTRICTIONS 

04-11 It is unlawful other than a youth six to 15 years of age to harvest turkeys during the 

special youth turkey hunt (Addendum A1.02).  The youth bag limit is the same as the 

statewide season limit.  During these hunts jakes may be taken. 

 PENALTY:  Class 1 
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11.04 SPECIAL YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNT RESTRICTIONS 

08-08 It is unlawful for other than a youth to harvest ducks, in-season geese, mergansers and 

coots during the special youth waterfowl hunt (Addendum B1.13).  Shooting hours and 

bag limits are the same as the regular waterfowl season. 

EXCEPTION: 

Canvasbacks may not be taken. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

11.05 ADULT SUPERVISION DURING SPECIAL YOUTH HUNTS REQUIRED 

 It is unlawful for any youth who has completed a hunter education course to participate 

in a special youth hunt unless he is accompanied by an adult mentor at least 18 years old, 

and for any youth who has not completed a hunter education course to participate in a 

special youth hunt unless he is under the direct supervision of an adult mentor at least 21 

years old.  It also is unlawful for the youth’s parent or guardian to allow the youth to 

participate in any special youth hunt in violation of this regulation. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 12.00 – ALLIGATOR REGULATIONS 

 

12.01 Taking of Alligator Prohibited 

12.02 Possession of Alligator Permit Required 

12.03 Methods of Taking Alligator Restricted 

 

* * * * *  
 

12.01 TAKING OF ALLIGATOR PROHIBITED 

04-07 It is unlawful hunt, buy, sell or possess an American alligator (Alligator mississippiensis) 

or other crocodilian species, or any part, nest or eggs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Alligators taken by Commission employees or law enforcement officials while in 

performance of their official job duties. 

(2) Any alligator or other crocodilian species seized or otherwise acquired by the 

Commission may be sold. 

(3) Any cured and mounted trophies and articles manufactured from the lawfully 

acquired skins or hides or other parts of any alligator or other crocodilian species. 

(4) An alligator may be possessed for display and educational purposes in compliance 

with a written permit issued by the Chief of Wildlife Management. 

(5) Personnel authorized by the Commission and engaged in the removal of nuisance 

alligators in compliance with the current AGFC Nuisance Alligator Procedure. 

(6) In compliance with Codes 05.01; 12.03, Chapter 33.00, and Addendum A1.10. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

12.02 POSSESSION OF ALLIGATOR PERMIT REQUIRED 

04-07 It is unlawful for any person to hunt or possess an alligator where a permit or special tag 

is required by the Commission without actual possession on the person of the required 

permit and special tag. It also is unlawful for any person to fail to fully comply with all 

provisions of his alligator permit and special tag. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

12.03 METHODS OF TAKING ALLIGATOR RESTRICTED 

08-08 It is unlawful to take, hunt or possess an alligator except during the open alligator season 

(Addendum A1.10), or to use any method other than the following: 
(A) Alligator must be captured alive and securely restrained using hand-held snares or 

harpoons before dispatching.  Hand-held snares must be constructed of steel cable 
with a sliding locking device and harpoon heads must be attached to a steel-cable 
leader. 

(B) Only shotguns or shotgun-caliber bangsticks using shot size no larger than No. 4 
common shot may be used to dispatch a securely restrained alligator. 

(C) All shotguns and bangsticks must be cased and unloaded at all times until an 
alligator has been securely restrained. No other firearms or ammunition may be in 
possession of the permittee or hunting assistant. 

(D) No firearm or bangstick may be discharged within 150 yards of any residence, 
building, boat ramp or occupied campsite. 

(E) All harvested alligators must be validated at a designated check station on the day 
of harvest.  The permittee’s Temporary Alligator Possession Tag must be attached 
to the alligator immediately upon harvest and before moving it.  Upon validation at 
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the check station by a Commission employee, a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
CITES tag will be attached to the alligator. 

(F) Hunting hours during the alligator season will be from 30 minutes after sunset until 
30 minutes before sunrise.  The use of artificial lights is permitted during legal 
hunting hours. 

(G) All harvested alligators must be at least 4 feet long as measured from the tip of the 
snout to the end of the tail. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Code 05.19 and Chapter 33.00. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
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CHAPTER 13.00 – BEAR REGULATIONS 

 

13.01 Disturbing/Shooting Bears in Dens Prohibited 

13.02 Chasing Bear with Dogs Prohibited 

13.03 Shooting Radio Collared Bears Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

13.01 DISTURBING/SHOOTING BEARS IN DENS PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to shoot, harass or disturb bears in dens at any time. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

13.02 CHASING BEAR WITH DOGS PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to use dogs to chase or hunt bear for any purpose at any time. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

 

13.03 SHOOTING RADIO COLLARED BEARS PROHIBITIED 

04-11 It is unlawful to hunt bears wearing a radio telemetry collar at any time. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Code 05.10 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
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CHAPTER 14.00 – BIRD REGULATIONS 

 

14.01 Taking of Birds and Eggs Prohibited 

14.02 Taking or Harassing Ivory-Billed Woodpeckers Prohibited 

14.03 Prohibited Methods for Bird Calling on Certain Management Areas 

14.04 Taking of Raptors Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

14.01 TAKING OF BIRDS AND EGGS PROHIBITED 

03-08 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take wild birds or bird eggs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) English Sparrows. 

(2) Black birds, starlings and crows committing damage to agricultural crops or 

personal property. 

(3) Crows (Code 05.01 and Addendum A1.07). 

(4) In compliance with Code 09.15. 

(5) In compliance with 50 CFR §21.12(b). 

(6) Nuisance migratory birds taken in compliance with a U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service permit or regulation. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

14.02 TAKING OR HARASSING IVORY-BILLED WOODPECKERS PROHIBITED 

07-05, 10-05 It is unlawful to take, injure, harass, disturb or collect, or attempt to take, injure, harass, 

disturb or collect any ivory-billed woodpecker. 

PENALTY:  Class 4 
 

14.03 
PROHIBITED METHODS FOR BIRD CALLING ON CERTAIN 

MANAGEMENT AREAS 

07-05, 03-08 It is unlawful to use audio devices, including mechanical or electronic callers, musical 

instruments, recordings or similar artificial devices for simulating the call of the ivory-

billed woodpecker or any other birds on Bayou Meto WMA, Benson Creek WMA, 

Cache River NWR, Sheffield Nelson Dagmar WMA, Henry Gray Hurricane Lake WMA, 

Rex Hancock Black Swamp WMA, Trusten Holder WMA, Mike Freeze Wattensaw 

WMA and White River NWR. 

EXCEPTION: 

Game birds may be called in compliance with legal methods during open hunting seasons. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

14.04 TAKING OF RAPTORS PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to hunt or possess raptors or any parts at any time. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Code 09.15. 

(2) In compliance with 50 CFR §21.12(b). 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
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CHAPTER 15.00 – DEER REGULATIONS 

 

15.01 Legal Buck Deer Requirements 

15.02 Hunting Doe Deer Prohibited 

15.03 Antler Requirements 

15.04 Hunting Swimming Deer Prohibited 

15.05 Urban Bowhunting Deer Permit Required 

15.06 Hunting Deer From a Vessel Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

15.01 LEGAL BUCK DEER REQUIREMENTS 

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess any buck deer other than a legal buck (Code 01.00C 

Legal Buck). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Deer carcasses and parts legally harvested outside the state and accompanied by 

verification (Code 05.26). 

(2) In compliance with Chapter 09.00. 

(3) Youths may take any buck, except on Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer 

Research Area East Unit, where youths must comply with antler restrictions.  

(4) On certain WMAs (Code 21.03). 

(5) Bucks taken with the Deer Management Assistance Program Management buck 

tags. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

15.02 HUNTING DOE DEER PROHIBITED 

04-11 It is unlawful to hunt or possess doe deer. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) A doe legally taken in a zone or area declared open to doe harvest by the 

Commission (Addendum A1.01). 

(2) Deer carcasses and parts legally harvested outside the state and accompanied by 

legal verification required by state of origin (Code 05.26). 

(3) In compliance with Chapter 09.00. 

(4) Commission registered deer camps that participate in the Deer Management 

Assistance Program Management receiving doe deer permits. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

15.03 ANTLER REQUIREMENTS 

04-98 It is unlawful to remove the antlers from the carcass of a buck deer prior to checking the 

deer using an official wildlife check method. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

15.04 HUNTING SWIMMING DEER PROHIBITED 

07-80 It is unlawful to hunt, drive or capture swimming deer. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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0 

15.05 URBAN BOWHUNTING DEER PERMIT REQUIRED 

05-01 It is unlawful to hunt deer in any urban bowhunting deer zone (Addendum E1.06) 

without possessing on the person a valid Urban Bowhunting Deer Permit and complying 

with hunting and/or guide license requirements (Code 03.01). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

15.06 HUNTING DEER FROM A VESSEL PROHIBITED 

04-04 It is unlawful to hunt deer from any watercraft on public waters. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 16.00 – ELK REGULATIONS 

 

16.01 Taking or Possessing Elk Restricted 

16.02 Prohibited Methods for Taking Elk 

16.03 Driving or Herding Elk During Elk Season Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

16.01 TAKING OR POSSESSING ELK PROHIBITED 

04-98, 10-05 It is unlawful to hunt or possess an elk. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Legal bull elk taken by a permit holder and checked in a zone or area declared open 

by the Commission to the taking of legal bull elk (Addendum A1.09). 

(2) Antlerless elk taken by a permit holder and checked in a zone or area open by the 

Commission to the taking of antlerless elk (Addendum A1.09). 

(3) Elk taken in another state and accompanied by legal verification required by state of 

origin (Code 05.26). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

16.02 PROHIBITED METHODS FOR TAKING ELK 

04-98 It is unlawful to hunt elk with the use of traps, snares, nets, explosives, dogs, live decoys 

and mechanical or electronic callers. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

16.03 DRIVING OR HERDING ELK DURING ELK SEASON PROHIBITED 

04-05 It is unlawful to drive or herd elk during elk season. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 17.00 – FURBEARING ANIMAL REGULATIONS 

 

17.01 Regular Furbearing Season Trap Restrictions 

17.02 Trap Checking Requirements 

17.03 Trap Identification Requirements 

17.04 Unlawful Possession of Pelts 

17.05 Requirements for Shipping Pelts 

17.06 Bobcat and Otter Pelt Tagging Requirements 

17.07 Fur Purchasing and Selling Restrictions 

17.08 Fur Dealer Reports Required 

 

* * * * *  
 

17.01 REGULAR FURBEARING SEASON TRAP RESTRICTIONS 

04-11 It is unlawful in fields or woods to possess or use any cable-restraining device (snare) or 

trap during open furbearing animals seasons (Addendum A1.05) without complying with 

the following restrictions: 
(A) Bait Restrictions: 

Animal matter, including meat, skin, bones, feathers, hair or any other solid 

substance that used to be part of an animal, may not be used as bait within 20 feet of 

a trap set, unless it is adequately covered to prevent it being seen from above. The 

cover also must withstand wave and wind action or other normal environmental 

conditions that could cause the bait to become visible. 
(B) Permissible Land-Set Traps: 

(1) Smooth-jawed traps with a jaw spread of 6 inches or less (smooth-jawed 

traps in excess of 5 inches, measured from the inside edge of the trap at 

the dog, must have offset or rubber-padded jaws); 

(2) Size 110, 120 and 160 Conibear, or comparable body-tripping traps, with 

a jaw spread of 6 inches or less (measured on the inside edge of the trap 

from hinge-to-hinge and from top-to-bottom at the dog and may not 

exceed the specified maximum size either horizontally or vertically); and 

(3) Box traps. 
(C) Permissible Water-Set Traps: 

(1) Smooth-jawed traps with a jaw spread of 8.5 inches or less; 

(2) Conibear or comparable body-gripping traps with a jaw spread of 10 

inches or less (measured on the inside edge of the trap from hinge-to-

hinge and from top-to-bottom at the dog and may not exceed the 

specified maximum size either horizontally or vertically); and 

(3) Box traps. 
(D) Snare (Cable Restraint Device) Restrictions: 

(1) Snares are allowed in water sets; 

(2) Snares are allowed as land sets provided that snares set more than 20 feet 

from a permanent body of water have a functional “deer lock” that will 

not allow the snare to close smaller than 2.5 inches;  

(3) Land snares must be constructed of braided cable with a loop no more 

than 12 inches in diameter (side-to-side) and a lower loop no more than 

10 inches off the ground. Only snares with single-piece locks may be 

used on land; 

(4) Leg snares are prohibited; 

(5) No snare shall be set or maintained in any public road; and 
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(6) Fully extended snares may not touch any fence. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

17.02 TRAP CHECKING REQUIREMENTS 

03-09 It is unlawful to use traps without checking them daily and removing the catch.  Kill sets 

shall be checked within 72 hours. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

17.03 TRAP IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

04-11 It is unlawful to use any trap, snare or cable-restraint device for taking furbearing animals 

without a legible name and address or vehicle operator's license number or AGFC 

customer identification number or current vehicle license number (registered to the trap 

user) affixed to device. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

17.04 UNLAWFUL POSSESSION OF PELTS 

03-06 It is unlawful to possess the untanned or green pelts of any animal for which there is no 

open season in Arkansas. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Possession of pelts, legally taken in another state and accompanied by verification 

required by the state of origin; or 

(2) By a permit issued by the Commission or U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

17.05 REQUIREMENTS FOR SHIPPING PELTS 

07-80 Shipments of green pelts originating in Arkansas shall display the name, address and 

license number of shipper; date of shipment; and the words “Fur Pelts.” 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

17.06 BOBCAT AND OTTER PELT TAGGING REQUIREMENT 

03-06 It is unlawful to import bobcat or otter into Arkansas without an affixed CITES tag from 

the state of origin, or to export bobcat or otter pelts from Arkansas without a CITES tag 

affixed by a Commission employee.  It is unlawful for any person to possess an untagged 

otter (other than mounted specimens, tanned pelts or animals in the possession of a 

taxidermist) from April 1 to the beginning of otter hunting and trapping seasons 

(Addendum A1.05). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

17.07 FUR PURCHASING AND SELLING RESTRICTIONS 

03-09 The purchase of pelts or furbearer carcasses from May 1- June 30 is prohibited.  It is 

unlawful for any person to buy or resell pelts or furbearer carcasses without the 

appropriate (resident or non-resident) fur dealer license for each individual buyer or 

separate place of business. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Nonresident fur dealers buying pelts from or selling pelts to Arkansas resident fur 

dealers. 

(2) Arkansas residents purchasing tanned pelts, taxidermy mounts or whole carcasses 

of legally taken furbearers for personal use. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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17.08 FUR DEALER REPORTS REQUIRED 

03-06 Fur dealers must daily itemize and legibly complete a Fur Dealer Report, and provide 

said report for immediate inspection upon request of a Commission employee.  Fur 

Dealer Reports shall be submitted to the Commission no later than May 5 of each year. 

PENALTY:  Class 1; dealer license may be suspended for up to one year, or both.   
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CHAPTER 18.00 – WILD TURKEY REGULATIONS 

 

18.01 Prohibited Methods for Taking Wild Turkey 

18.02 Wild Turkey Hen Restrictions 

 

* * * * *  
 

18.01 PROHIBITED METHODS FOR TAKING WILD TURKEY 

04-05 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take wild turkey using the following methods: 

(1) With the use of bait, traps, snares, nets, hooks, explosives, dogs or live decoys; 

(2) While in possession of mechanical or electronic callers; or, 

(3) From a boat or other flotation device. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

18.02 WILD TURKEY HEN RESTRICTIONS 

04-99 It is unlawful to hunt or possess a wild hen turkey at any time. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) If the wild turkey hen in possession was legally taken in another state and 

accompanied by verification required by the state of origin. 

(2) Bearded hen turkeys may be taken in a zone or area open to the taking of bearded 

turkeys. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
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CHAPTER 19.00 – COMMISSON-OWNED OR CONTROLLED PROPERTY REGULATIONS 

 

19.01 Activities Prohibited Where Signs Are Posted 

19.02 Damage to Commission Property Prohibited 

19.03 Motorized Vehicle Restrictions 

19.04 Camping Restrictions  

19.05 Signs Prohibited  

19.06 Fire Restrictions/Destruction of Trees Prohibited  

19.07 Commercial Activities Prohibited 

19.08 Access Prohibited After Revocation of License 

19.09 Access Prohibited After Revocation of Fishing License 

19.10 Firearm Restrictions on Lakes and Access Areas  

19.11 Outboard Motor Size and Hazardous Wake Restrictions  

19.12 Skiing on Lakes Prohibited 

19.13 Permit and Specification Requirements for Lake Structures 

19.14 Boat Dock Lease and Operator Requirements  

19.15 Obstruction of Access Areas Prohibited 

19.16 Removal of Objects Prohibited  

19.17 Livestock Ranging Prohibited  

19.18 Geocaching  

 

* * * * *  
 

19.01 ACTIVITIES PROHIBITED WHERE SIGNS ARE POSTED 

08-89 It is unlawful to engage in any activity where signs are posted by the Commission or any 

regulatory agency prohibiting such activities, or to trespass during waterfowl season in 

specified areas marked with red paint. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.02 DAMAGE TO COMMISSION PROPERTY PROHIBITED 

02-81 It is unlawful to remove, dislodge or intentionally cause damage to any building, 

structure, sign, equipment or other property owned or controlled by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

19.03 MOTORIZED VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS 

04-09 It is unlawful to operate any motorized vehicle on Commission-owned property where no 

maintained road exists. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In designated camping areas; 

(2) Persons having a valid Mobility Impaired Access Permit may operate an ATV or 

similar specialized device for transportation in compliance with Code 20.12; or, 

(3) Persons participating in the Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research 

Area East Unit Special Mobility Impaired permit deer hunt. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.04 CAMPING RESTRICTIONS 

04-11 It is unlawful on Commission-owned or controlled property to:  

(A) camp or use any campsite more than 14 consecutive days;  

(B) allow a camp to remain unoccupied more than 48 consecutive hours;  

(C) camp in areas other than designated camping areas; or  
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(D) cause any disturbance after 10 p.m. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) A permit from the Arkansas Forestry Commission is required to camp on Poison 

Springs WMA. 

(2) Camping is prohibited on the U of A Pine Tree Experimental Station WDA. 

(3) Campers on USDA Forest Service Cooperative WMAs must comply with 

applicable Forest Service regulations. 

(4) On Camp Robinson SUA, camping is restricted to seven consecutive days per 

month in the Headquarters Campsite, unless the campsite is reserved for a special 

event.  Special event participants may camp for the term of the event, even if it is 

longer than seven consecutive days. 

(5) Camping is prohibited on Maumelle River WMA. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.05 SIGNS PROHIBITED 

04-96 It is unlawful, other than Commission employees, to erect or post any sign, notice or 

advertisement on any Commission-controlled property. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Regulatory and informational signs posted by government agencies. 

(2) Signs posted by lessee as approved under lease agreement with the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.06 FIRE RESTRICTED AND DESTRUCTION OF TREES PROHIBITED 

04-03 It is unlawful to cut or disfigure trees; to cause the burning of timber, brush or grass; to 

leave a fire without completely extinguishing it; to burn any material containing metal 

objects, or to allow a fire to escape from control on any Commission-controlled property. 

The Commission shall have the right to prohibit any or all forms of hunting or 

trespassing on any unauthorized artificial openings. 

EXCEPTION: 

As specified in the “Policies on Land Use Around Commission Lakes” (Addendum K1.01). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.07 COMMERCIAL ACTIVITIES PROHIBITED 

08-98 It is unlawful to engage in any commercial activity on Commission-owned property 

without permission from the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.08 ACCESS PROHIBITED AFTER REVOCATION OF HUNTING LICENSE 

05-01, 04-05 It is unlawful to access or go upon any Commission-owned WMA after revocation of the 

person’s hunting license for the period of such revocation. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

19.09 ACCESS PROHIBITED AFTER REVOCATION OF FISHING LICENSE 

05-01, 04-05 It is unlawful to access or go upon any Commission-owned lake after revocation of the 

person’s fishing license for the period of such revocation. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

19.10 FIREARM RESTRICTIONS ON LAKES AND ACCESS AREAS 

12-07 It is unlawful to possess a firearm on any lake, fishing access, or boating access owned or 

controlled by the Commission. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) While legally hunting waterfowl on lakes open to waterfowl hunting. 

(2) An unloaded firearm in a case may be transported by boat on Commission lakes 

and access areas during an open hunting season. 

(3) While legally hunting alligators in compliance with Codes 05.01; 12.03, and 

Addendum A1.10. 

(4) In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.11 
OUTBOARD MOTOR SIZE AND HAZARDOUS WAKE RESTRICTIONS ON 

COMMISSION-OWNED LAKES 

06-87 It is unlawful to operate any boat in such a manner as to create a wake that is hazardous 

to persons or property, or to fail to comply with the outboard motor size restrictions on 

Commission waterfowl areas as noted in Code 24.03. 

PENALTY:  $100 to $1,000 
 

19.12 SKIING ON LAKES PROHIBITED 

09-88 It is unlawful to water ski, aquaplane or to use personal watercraft defined by the U.S. 

Coast Guard as "thrillcraft" on lakes owned or controlled by the Commission. 

EXCEPTION: 

Lake Calion (Union County), Lake Enterprise (Ashley County), Grand Lake (Chicot County), 

Lake Chicot (Chicot County). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.13 PERMIT AND SPECIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR STRUCTURES  

09-07 It is unlawful to construct, own or possess platforms, floating duck blinds, piers or 

boathouses on Commission-owned or controlled lakes without a current permit from the 

Commission.  Permit numbers and registration stickers must be permanently displayed on 

a metal placard with lettering not less than three inches in height.  Party barges may be 

used on Commission-owned lakes, but may not be permanently moored to shoreline or 

used as a dwelling.  They may be temporarily moored by lakefront property owners on 

the public easement directly in front of their property, or at commercial docks. It also 

shall be unlawful to fail to comply with the requirements of Addendum K1.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.14 BOAT DOCK LEASE AND OPERATOR REQUIREMENTS FOR STRUCTURES  

08-89 It is unlawful to own or operate a boat dock where boats are rented to the public or where 

boats are kept for private owners on a rental basis on waters or property owned by the 

Commission without first entering into a lease agreement with the Commission.  Boat 

dock operators on Commission-owned property also must obtain a permit and pay an 

annual fee to the Commission before they can charge for boat launching or vehicle 

parking.  Commission employees in performance of duties are allowed free parking and 

boat launching privileges. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.15 OBSTRUCTION OF ACCESS AREAS PROHIBITED 

06-83 It is unlawful to store vehicles, vessels or any other personal property or obstruct in any 

other manner any access area, parking area, boat launching ramp or access road owned or 

controlled by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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19.16 REMOVAL OF OBJECTS PROHIBITED 

04-11 (A) It is unlawful to remove any objects from any Commission-controlled 

property, including rocks, fruits, nuts, acorns, artifacts, plants, etc., without 

permission from the Commission. 
(B) It is unlawful to remove endangered plants from Commission-owned lands without 

the issuance of a Scientific Collection Permit. 
(C) It is unlawful to remove objects from natural areas managed in conjunction with the 

Commission without a permit from Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission. 
(D) It is unlawful to remove objects from Maumelle River WMA without a permit from 

Central Arkansas Water. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.17 LIVESTOCK RANGING PROHIBITED 

07-80 It is unlawful to allow ranging by livestock on any Commission-controlled property. 

EXCEPTION: 

Under permit issued by landowner on cooperative WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

19.18 GEOCACHING 

01-07 It is unlawful to establish or maintain a geocache on any Commission-owned property 

without first obtaining a Geocaching Permit from the Commission (Addendum M1.01). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 20 – WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 

20.00 Establishment of WMAs 

20.01 Killing and Capture Devices Prohibited on WMAs 

20.02 Firearm Restrictions on WMAs 

20.03 Loaded Firearms Prohibited in Camping Areas on All WMAs 

20.04 Cutting Devices Prohibited on Commission-owned WMAs 

20.05 Baiting or Hunting on Baited Portions of WMAs Prohibited 

20.06 Structures on Commission Leased Land, Commission-owned and Cooperative WMAs 

20.07 Permit Requirements on Certain WMAs 

20.08 Season Restrictions on Camp Robinson Special Use Area 

20.09 Killing or Capture Devices and Dogs Prohibited 

20.10 Hunting from Roads Prohibited on WMAs 

20.11 Deer Hunting Prohibited During Flooding on Certain WMAs 

20.12 Mobility-Impaired Access Permit Restrictions on Commission-owned WMAs 

20.13 Dog Training Restrictions on Camp Robinson Special Use Area 

20.14 Compliance with Camp Robinson WMA and Fort Chaffee WMA Military Post Regulations 

Required 

20.15 Hunting From Motorized Land Vehicles Prohibited on WMAs 

20.16 Compliance With Terms of Permit Hunts on WMAs, WDAs and NWRs Required 

20.17 Season Restrictions During Permit Hunts on WMAs 

20.18 Camping Restrictions on WMAs During Permit Hunts 

20.19 Motorized Vehicle Restrictions on WMAs 

20.20 Horse and Mule Restrictions on Certain WMAs 

20.21 Hunting/Camping Prohibited on Electric Island WMA 

20.22 Use or Possession of Alcohol or Illegal Controlled Substances Prohibited on Commission-

Controlled WMAs 

20.23 Hunting Prohibited on Wylie Cox Field Trial Area on Ed Gordon Point Remove WMA 

20.24 Feral Hog Restrictions on WMAs 

20.25 Restrictions on all Natural Area WMAs 

 

* * * * *  
 

20.00 ESTABLISHMENT OF WMAs 

04-05 If the Commission, upon proper and thorough investigation, shall determine that 

intensified game management through the increased production of food, more rigid 

enforcement, restocking or other methods are needed in an area for the increased 

production of wildlife; the Commission may set aside and define specific areas on lands 

controlled by the Commission and suitable markers shall be put up by the Commission in 

such places as shall be determined, defining and identifying the areas as a wildlife 

management area or a wildlife demonstration area (referred to as WMA, WDA, SP-CA 

or, NWR,). All seasons/limits and regulations are the same as the surrounding zone 

unless otherwise specified in Codes. 
 

20.01 KILLING OR CAPTURING DEVICES PROHIBITED ON WMAs 

03-08 It is unlawful to hunt, trap or possess a killing or capturing device on any WMA. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) During open seasons for wildlife on WMA’s. 

(2) Ozark National Forest WMA. 
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(3) Sanctioned Shoot-to-Kill Walking Trails. 

(4) For activities authorized by the Commission. 

(5) In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.02 FIREARM RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-11 It is unlawful to possess buckshot, rifled slugs, centerfire firearms or rimfire firearms 

larger than .22 caliber on WMAs other than during open modern gun deer, bear or elk 

seasons and in compliance with Codes 06.02; 06.09; 06.10.  It is unlawful to possess 

muzzleloaders larger than .40 caliber on any WMA other than during an open 

muzzleloader or modern gun deer, bear or elk seasons and in compliance with Code 

06.03. On Commission-owned WMAs bobcat, fox and coyote may be taken during 

daylight hours with firearms of any caliber during bobcat, fox and coyote seasons on 

commission-owned WMAs and all USDA Forest Service lands, including WMAs lying 

within Ouachita National Forest and the St. Francis/Ozark National Forests. 

WMA SPECIFIC RESTRICTIONS: 
(A) Beaver Lake; Big Lake; Brushy Creek; Dave Donaldson Black River, St. Francis 

Sunken Lands; Shirey Bay Rainey Brake, Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms; U 
of A Pine Tree Experimental Station; W.E. Brewer Scatter Creek and Wedington 
WMAs – only shotguns with slugs (no buckshot allowed), or muzzleloading rifles 
(in compliance with Code 06.03) shooting a single projectile only during modern 
gun season. 

(B) Trusten Holder WMA -- within the boundaries of the Arkansas Post National 
Memorial buffer zone, discharge of any firearm is prohibited. No rifles are allowed 
on that part of Trusten Holder, including all Corps of Engineers lands, lying north 
and east of the centerline of the Arkansas River which fall within the area that lies 
east of Pendleton Bridge to just south of Dam 2 and those lands west of Tichnor 
Blacktop and Nady Road. 

(C) Big Lake WMA – it is unlawful to transport firearms in that portion of Ditch 28 on 
the Big Lake WMA without firearms being dismantled or encased. 

(D) Lafayette County WMA – no buckshot. 
(E) Bell Slough WMA – shotguns or rimfire rifles only. 
(F) Johnson County WRA on Dardanelle WMA muzzleloaders shooting a single 

projectile or shotguns with slugs only. 
(G) DeGray Lake WMA – within the boundaries of the Lower DeGray Lake Waterfowl 

Rest Area, possession of loaded firearms is prohibited.  
(H) Greers Ferry WMA – muzzleloaders allowed during the mobility impaired deer 

permit hunt.  
(I) Camp Robinson WMA – during daylight hours in January and February bobcat, fox 

and coyote may be taken with firearms of any caliber. 
(J) The farm units within Bald Knob, Cache River and Wapanocca NWRs – 

muzzleloaders shooting a single projectile, shotguns or legal handguns only. 
(K) On Maumelle River WMA, shotguns using legal, non-toxic ammunition may be 

used to take squirrel on the portion of the WMA lying west of Arkansas Highway 
10 bridge and west of Arkansas Highway 113 as designated on the public use map 
in compliance with Code 23.03. 

(L) On DeQueen Lake WMA, all property lying south of Bellah Mine Road (excluding 
property contained within the boundaries of the Dike C Firearms Unit and Jordan 
Tract Firearm Unit) – firearms are not allowed.  All COE Recreational Areas are 
closed to hunting.  Refer to COE\AGFC Public Use Map. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Private landowners within boundaries of WMAs where they maintain a bona fide 

residence, within their homes or on their own land where normal agricultural 

activity is conducted. 

(2) Trusten Holder WMA mobility impaired muzzleloader deer hunters may use 

shotguns with slugs. 

(3) In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.03 LOADED FIREARMS PROHIBITED IN CAMPING AREAS ON ALL WMAs. 

04-11 It is unlawful to possess a loaded firearm in any camping areas or parking lots on any 

WMA (Code 01.00C Firearms, Loaded). 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Code 05.19. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.04 CUTTING DEVICES AND CHEMICALS PROHIBITED ON WMAs 

03-07 It is unlawful to use or possess chemical defoliants or cutting devices, including but not 

limited to, chainsaws, handsaws, hatchets, axes, weed trimmers, or string trimmers on 

WMAs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Common hunting knives, pocket knives and pocket saws. 

(2) Land owners or their agents on cooperative WMAs and timber contractors. 

(3) Campers in designated camping areas. 

(4) Trappers using hatchets during trapping season. 

(5) By written permit issued by the Commission or designee. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.05 BAITING OR HUNTING OVER BAITED PORTIONS OF WMAs 

03-09 PROHIBITED.  It is unlawful to place, deposit or scatter any grain or other feed so as to 

constitute a lure, attraction or enticement of wildlife; or to take or attempt to take wildlife 

using bait on any WMA. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Sowing of wildlife food areas by Commission personnel. 

(2) Bait or lures used in legally set traps during an open furbearer trapping season. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

20.06 STRUCTURES ON WMAs 

 It is unlawful to build, attach or occupy any type of structure on WMAs; including but 

not limited to hunting stands, buildings, shelters, moored houseboats, etc. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Portable hunting stands and associated equipment using no metal objects screwed 

or driven into trees.  Such stands must have the owner's name and address 

permanently affixed and must be moved at least 200 yards after seven consecutive 

days. Stands may not be placed more than seven days before deer archery season 

and must be removed within seven days after the close of deer archery season. 

(2) On USDA Forest Service cooperative WMAs, portable stands must comply with 

USDA Forest Service regulations. 

(3) Structures in compliance with a Commission-issued land use permit. 

(4) In compliance with Codes 19.04; 20.18; 24.06. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
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20.07 PERMIT REQUIREMENTS ON CERTAIN WMAs 

04-04, 04-07 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take wildlife during an open season on certain WMAs 

without first obtaining the required permit (Codes 20.16; 20.17 and Addendum Chapter 

C1.00) and as specified below: 
(A) A permit is required on Bald Knob, Big Lake, Cache River, Felsenthal, Holla Bend, 

Overflow, Pond Creek and Wapanocca NWRs; Freddie Black Choctaw Island 
WMA Deer Research Area, Crossett Experimental Forest WMA; and U of A Pine 
Tree Experimental Station WDA. 

(B) A leased land permit is required for persons 16 years and older to camp, hunt or 
trap wildlife on Big Timber, Casey Jones, Cherokee, Gum Flats, Jim Kress, 
Lafayette County (except no permit is required to camp on Lafayette County), and 
Provo Leased Lands WMAs. 

(C) A permit is required to camp, hunt, fish, or for the operation of an ATV on White 
River NWR. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.08 SEASON RESTRICTIONS ON CAMP ROBINSON SPECIAL USE AREA 

 It is unlawful to hunt or possess dove, furbearing animals, rabbit, squirrel, quail and 

waterfowl, on Camp Robinson SUA. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Dove hunting in compliance with Code 23.04 and Addendum C1.08. 

(2)  Squirrel hunting in compliance with Code 23.03 and Addendum C1.07. 

(3) Possession of waterfowl is allowed during open season while accessing Dix Creek 

Bay or Pierce Creek Bay on Craig D. Campbell Lake Conway Reservoir or while 

camped in designated campsites. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.09 KILLING OR CAPTURE DEVICES AND DOGS PROHIBITED 

04-03 It is unlawful to possess any killing or capture device or to allow dogs on the Blanchard 

Springs Recreation Area. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

20.10 HUNTING FROM ROADS PROHIBITED ON WMAs 

03-09 It is unlawful to shoot across, or to hunt within 100 feet from the center line of any city, 

county, state or federal maintained road open to public vehicular traffic on WMAs.  It is 

unlawful to shoot across, or to hunt within 100 feet from the center line of any privately 

maintained road which is open to public vehicular traffic and falls under the control of 

the Commission through ownership, lease, cooperative agreement, conservation 

easement or memorandum of understanding on WMAs.  It is unlawful to place or leave 

any stand, blind or other hunting apparatus with the intent of hunting from any of these 

roads or railroad rights-of-way on WMAs.  In addition to other evidence introduced in a 

prima facie case of road hunting, there shall be a rebuttable presumption a person is 

“hunting” if the person points, aims, shoots or attempts to shoot a firearm or other killing 

device from a said road or railroad right-of-way in a direction in which game or other 

wildlife is present or likely to be present (including shooting at a game or wildlife decoy).  

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Persons engaged in a lawful action to protect their livestock. 

(2) Persons having a valid Mobility Impaired Access Permit may hunt from designated, 

signed Mobility Impaired Access Trails where public vehicular access is not 

allowed in compliance with Code 20.19. 
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(3) Persons having a valid Mobility Impaired Access Permit may hunt from the two 

specially designated abandoned railroad rights-of-way on the Moro Big Pine 

Natural Area WMA. 

(4) Small game (excluding fox, bobcat and coyote) pursued or treed by a dog or is 

under point of a dog may be taken within 100 feet from the centerline of a road on 

Big Timber, Casey Jones, Cherokee, Gum Flats, Howard County, Jim Kress, 

Lafayette County, Lake Greeson, Moro Big Pine Natural Area and Provo WMAs 

provided the road is not city, county, state or federally maintained. 

(5) Persons using foothold and Conibear (body-tripping) traps and using firearms to 

dispatch live animals caught in legally set traps. 

(6) Licensed/permitted falconers hunting with or trapping birds of prey in compliance 

with state and federal falconry regulations. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

20.11 DEER HUNTING PROHIBITED DURING FLOODING ON CERTAIN WMAs 

03-08 It is unlawful to hunt deer on WMAs as specified in Addendum E1.04: 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.12 MOBILITY-IMPAIRED ACCESS PERMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

03-08 It is unlawful to participate in the Commission’s Mobility-Impaired Access Permit 

program without complying with Addendum C1.11. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.13 DOG TRAINING RESTRICTIONS ON CAMP ROBINSON SPECIAL USE AREA 

03-07 It is unlawful to train waterfowl retrievers, rabbit dogs (beagles) and bird dogs on Camp 

Robinson SUA without a current hunting license; to fail to register before participating in 

the training of waterfowl retrievers, rabbit dogs (beagles) and bird dogs on the area; to 

possess more than eight dogs on the area; or to use live ammunition.  It also is unlawful 

for dog trainers to use the area for more than three days per week or more than two 

consecutive days in a two-week period. Registration for compartments 1-4 and 6-7 is at 

the headquarters information station. Registration for compartment 5 is at its entrance. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Individuals participating in organized field trials are not required to have a current 

hunting license. 

(2) Individuals participating in an organized field trial are not restricted to possessing 

eight dogs. 

(3) Other dog training or events may be allowed by written permit from the 

Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.14 
COMPLIANCE WITH CAMP ROBINSON WMA AND FORT CHAFFEE WMA 

MILITARY POST REGULATIONS REQUIRED 

03-06 It is unlawful to fail to comply with the military post regulations pertaining to fishing and 

hunting on Camp Robinson and Fort Chaffee WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.15 HUNTING FROM MOTORIZED LAND VEHICLES PROHIBITED ON WMAs 

04-09 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take wildlife from a motorized land vehicle on WMAs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Holders of a Mobility-Impaired Access Permit may hunt from an ATV or similar 

specialized device for transportation in compliance with Code 20.12. 
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(2) Persons participating in the Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research 

Area East Unit special mobility-impaired deer permit hunt. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.16 COMPLIANCE WITH TERMS OF PERMIT HUNTS ON WMAs REQUIRED 

10-99 It is unlawful to fail to comply with terms of permit hunts on any WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.17 SEASON RESTRICTIONS DURING PERMIT HUNTS ON WMAS 

04-11 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife during a permit hunt on any WMA without first obtaining a 

permit. All seasons not named on the permit are closed during permit hunts on WMAs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Waterfowl may be hunted during waterfowl seasons. 

(2) Other hunting seasons remain open during permit hunts on Howard County, Lake 

Greeson and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMAs for hunting without a permit. 

(3) This regulation does not apply on Gene Rush and Buffalo National River WMAs. 

(4) Squirrel hunting is allowed (shotgun only; non-toxic shot; Tuesday, Thursday and 

Saturday hunting only) on Maumelle River WMA west of the Arkansas Highway 

10 bridge during the permit deer hunts without a permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.18 CAMPING RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs DURING PERMIT HUNTS 

 It is unlawful to camp on Commission-owned or leased WMAs during a permit hunt 

without first obtaining a permit for the hunt. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) When camping with a permit holder. 

(2) Waterfowl hunters during waterfowl seasons. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.19 MOTORIZED VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-11 It is unlawful on a WMA to operate any motorized vehicle off any open access road and 

parking area; behind any gated, cabled or earthen barrier; where no road exists; on any 

trail, levee, or dam; on any food plot, wildlife opening, or fire lane; on any road that has 

been disked, seeded, or otherwise developed for wildlife; or in a direction of travel 

contrary to posted signs.  It also is unlawful for any person on a WMA to use ATVs, 

dune buggies or amphibious vehicles. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Code 20.12. 

(2) Participants in the Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research Area East 

Unit Special mobility-impaired deer permit hunt. 

(3) Motorized vehicles, except for ATVs on main access roads, may not be used on Big 

Timber Upland WDA. 

(4) ATVs are allowed on open roads and trails on Gum Flats, Provo, Lake Greeson, 

Howard County, Lafayette County, Casey Jones and Big Timber WMAs by hunters 

to access hunting locations and/or camping sites during open hunting seasons only. 

(5) Motorized vehicles and ATVs are allowed on Muddy Creek, Caney Creek and 

Winona, except on a road, temporary trailway or other area posted as closed by an 

earthen mound, gate, sign or other object.  SPECIAL NOTE: Same as USDA Forest 

Service forest-wide regulations – Ouachita National Forest. 
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(6) ATVs are allowed on open, maintained roads on Cherokee and Jim Kress WMAs 

by hunters in possession of a valid leased-land permit for the purposes of ingress 

and egress to hunting locations and/or camping sites only. 

(7) On Ozark National Forest, White Rock, Piney Creeks, Mount Magazine, Sylamore 

and St. Francis National Forest WMAs, all vehicles and off highway vehicles 

(OHVs) are subject to the USDA Forest Service OHV policy on roads and trails as 

published in CFR 36.261.1.3.  Refer to annual travel management map for 

designated uses on roads and trails. 

(8) Motorized vehicles and ATVs are prohibited on the Hope Upland WMA, except for 

Mobility-Impaired Access Permit holders in compliance with Code 20.12. 

(9) Participants in approved reserved/permitted organized events on the Camp 

Robinson SUA and persons training waterfowl retrievers in Public Use 

compartment 5 in compliance with posted signs. 

(10) Holders of AGFC Mobility Impaired Access (MIA) cards or other state issued 

Mobility Impaired Access cards may operate ATVs only on designated mobility 

impaired access areas on Moro Big Pine Natural Area.  ATVs must remain on road 

on the two purple MIA roads.  Mobility Impaired access card holders using the 

MIA roads represented in blue on the map may not hunt from the road.  ATVs may 

leave the blue MIA roads no further than 100 feet. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.20 HORSE AND MULE RESTRICTIONS ON CERTAIN WMAs 

04-11 It is unlawful to use or possess horses and mules on Commission-owned, Cherokee and 

Jim Kress WMAs during the months of October through January and April through May. 

Permits are required for organized events of more than 10 horses or mules per party 

during the remainder of the year.  Permits are available at the area headquarters and must 

be requested 14 days in advance of the event.  Horses and mules are allowed only in 

camping areas that are designated for equestrian use.  Horses in camping areas may only 

be tied to trailers or to a highline using tree saver straps.  It also is unlawful for any 

person to allow horses or mules to damage trees or other woody vegetation.  Soil 

disturbance must be restored, manure must be scattered and excess feed, hay and trash 

must be removed. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Legal hunting activities may use horses and mules during specified hunting seasons 

(Addendum Chapter C1.00). 

(2) At night during furbearing season (Addendum C1.09). 

(3) Horses and mules are prohibited on all Corps property on Trusten Holder WMA 

including Jardis Point. 

(4) Horses and mules are prohibited on the Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer 

Research Area during open deer season. 

(5) The Camp Robinson SUA is divided into seven public use compartments.  Non-

reserved/open compartments 1, 3, 4 and 7 are open year round for pleasure riding, 

except when closed for reserved events.  Compartments 2 and 5 are closed for horse 

and mule riding for pleasure.  No permit or reservation is required unless a 

participant is requesting to reserve any of the public use facilities or compartments. 

(6) All organized horse and mule events on J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain SUA are 

required to be scheduled or reserved annually by July 1 through the area manager.  

All pleasure riding is restricted to dates when no field trials are being conducted.  

The annual field trial schedule will be posted at area headquarters. 

(7) Horses and mules are prohibited for use on that portion of the Gene Rush WMA 

lying east of Searcy County Road 14 and west of the Buffalo National River 
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property line from Woolum Ford on the Buffalo National River to the intersection 

of Searcy County Roads 12 and 14. 

(8) Horses and mules are prohibited on Maumelle River WMA (except by special 

permit from Central Arkansas Water. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.21 
HUNTING AND CAMPING PROHIBITED ON ELECTRIC ISLAND WMA AND 

LAKE MAUMELLE 

04-93 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife, possess firearms or dogs, camp or build fires on Electric 

Island WMA and on any island on Lake Maumelle. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.22 
USE OR POSSESSION OF ALCOHOL OR ILLEGAL CONTROLLED 

SUBSTANCES PROHIBITED ON COMMISSION-CONTROLLED WMAs 

04-98, 04-05 It is unlawful to possess alcoholic beverages or illegal controlled substances while 

hunting on Commission-controlled WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.23 
HUNTING PROHIBITIED ON WYLIE COX FIELD TRIAL AREA ON ED 

GORDON POINT REMOVE WMA 

03-09 It is unlawful to hunt wildlife on Wylie Cox Field Trial Area. 

EXCEPTION: 

Dove hunting the first week of dove season only. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

20.24 FERAL HOG RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

05-03, 6-08 It is unlawful to: 

(A) Hunt or possess feral hogs on WMAs without complying with hunting license 
requirements during a daytime hunting season.  Feral hogs may only be shot with 
the weapons allowed for that hunting season.  During deer, turkey or elk permit 
hunts only permit holders may take, attempt to take, or possess feral hogs.  Feral 
hogs shot in compliance with this regulation may be taken from the WMA by the 
hunter or left where they were shot.  

(B) Take or attempt to take feral hogs on WMAs by the use of dogs. 
(C) Release hogs on WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

20.25 RESTRICTIONS ON ALL NATURAL AREA WMAs 

08-02, 03-08 It is unlawful to construct, place, attach or occupy a permanent hunting stand or camp on 

natural area WMAs.  It shall also be unlawful to use or possess a motorized vehicle, 

horse, mule or bicycle on natural area WMAs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Camping in designated areas on Moro Big Pine Natural Area WMA. 

(2) Motorized vehicles, horses, mules and bicycles may be used on gravel/graded roads 

on Moro Big Pine Natural Area WMA. 

PENALTY:  Class 1  
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CHAPTER 21.00 WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA BIG GAME REGULATIONS 

 

21.01 Deer Seasons and Bag Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

21.02 Deer Permit Requirements on Certain WMAs and NWRs 

21.03 Buck Deer Restrictions on Certain WMAs 

21.04 Bear Seasons and Bag Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

21.05 Alligator Seasons and Bag Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

21.06 Turkey Seasons and Bag Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

21.07 Turkey Permit Requirements on Certain WMAs and NWRs 

21.08 Elk Seasons and Bag Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

 

* * * * *  
 

21.01 DEER SEASONS AND BAG LIMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess deer on WMAs other than as set by the Commission 

(Addendum C1.01). 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

21.02 DEER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS ON CERTAIN WMAS  

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess deer during deer permit hunts on certain WMAs without 

the required permit in compliance with Code 03.01 and Addendum C1.13. 

EXCEPTION: 

Youth during the Special Modern Gun Youth Deer Hunt are exempt from WMA Doe Quota 

Permit requirements in compliance with Code 11.02. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

21.03 BUCK DEER RESTRICTIONS ON CERTAIN WMAS 

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess buck deer which fail to comply with the three-point rule 

set forth in Code 01.00C, Legal Buck, in compliance with Addendum C1.14. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

21.04 BEAR SEASONS AND BAG LIMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt bear by any method on WMAs other than in compliance with 

Addendum C1.02. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

21.05 ALLIGATOR SEASONS AND BAG LIMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAS. 

08-08 It is unlawful to hunt or possess alligator on WMAs other than in compliance with Code 

12.03 and Addendum C1.03. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

21.06 TURKEY SEASONS AND BAG LIMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt turkeys by any method on WMAs other than in compliance with 

Addendum C1.04. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

21.07 TURKEY PERMIT REQUIREMENTS ON CERTAIN WMAs  

10-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess turkey during turkey permit hunts on certain WMAs 

without the required permit in compliance with Code 03.01 and Addendum C1.16. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
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21.08 ELK SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess elk on WMAs other than in compliance with Chapter 

16.00 and Addendum C1.15. 

PENALTY:  Class 4 
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CHAPTER 22.00 - DOG REGULATIONS ON WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS 

 

22.01 Dog Restrictions on WMAs 

 

* * * * *  
 

22.01 DOG RESTRICTIONS ON WMAS 

04-11 It is unlawful hunt or pursue wildlife with the aid of dogs on WMAs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Permitted American Kennel Club, United Kennel Club, and American Coon 

Hunters Association field trials when approved by the Commission. 

(2) Quail and Rabbit Dog Training: Sept. 1-April 1, except during firearms deer hunts 

where dogs are not allowed. 

(3) Training dogs on Camp Robinson, Wylie Cox and J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain 

SUAs requires an Arkansas hunting license. Wylie Cox and J. Perry Mikles Blue 

Mountain SUAs are closed to dog training during organized field trials. On Camp 

Robinson SUA, only reserved/closed compartments are closed to dog training.  

(4) Dogs are required to hunt bobcat, opossum and raccoon at night in compliance with 

Addendum C1.09. 

(5) J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain SUA is open for training raccoon dogs at night only 

and rabbit dogs year-round except during field trials. Quail dog training from is 

allowed Oct. 1-April 1 except during firearms deer hunts where dogs are not 

allowed. 

(6) Waterfowl retrievers are allowed during open migratory bird seasons. 

(7) Dogs are allowed for fall squirrel and rabbit hunting where no modern gun or 

muzzleloader deer season is open or where dogs are allowed for modern gun deer 

hunting. 

(8) Quail and woodcock hunting with bird dog breeds only, during open season. 

(9) Specified dates during modern gun deer season on Gum Flats, Lake Greeson, Provo 

and Mount Magazine WMAs in compliance with Addendum C1.01. 

(10) Dogs are allowed for coyote, fox and bobcat hunting on Casey Jones WMA during 

the declared furbearer season when a firearms deer season is closed (Codes 21.01; 

23.06 and Addendum C1.09). 

(11) Dogs are allowed for modern gun deer season on Blue Mountain, DeGray Lake, 

Lloyd Millwood Nimrod, Dardanelle and Ozark Lake WMAs.  No dogs are allowed 

on islands except waterfowl retrievers during waterfowl season and hunting 

furbearers at night. 

(12) Dogs are allowed for fall squirrel hunting on the Casey Jones, Big Timber, DeGray 

Lake, Ozark National Forest, Piney Creeks and White Rock WMAs. 

(13) Dogs are allowed for training and/or hunting under the conditions and during the 

seasons provided by the required annual refuge hunting permit on all NWRs.  Field 

trials are prohibited unless authorized by refuge Special Use Permit. 

(14) Waterfowl retriever, rabbit dog (beagle) and bird dog training is allowed on Camp 

Robinson SUA from Sept. 15-April 1, except during firearm deer hunts where dogs 

are not allowed.  Bird dog training is also prohibited immediately following dates 

scheduled for supplemental bird releases on Camp Robinson SUA.  Camp 

Robinson personnel will establish the exact dates of supplemental bird releases after 

field trial schedules are set in July.  Dog trainers will be required to check with area 

personnel to get the dates of scheduled supplemental releases and additional dog 
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training closure periods. Waterfowl retriever training is open the entire year in 

compartment 5.  Dog training must comply with all applicable rules and 

regulations. 

(15) Employees of the National Park Service or their designees engaged in official 

duties. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 23.00 - WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA SMALL GAME REGULATIONS 

 

23.01 Quail Season Restricted on Certain WMAs 

23.02 Rabbit Season Restricted on Certain WMAs 

23.03 Squirrel Season Restricted on Certain WMAs 

23.04 Dove Season Restricted on Certain WMAs 

23.05 Non-Toxic Shot Requirements for All Small Game Hunting on Maumelle River, Rex Hancock 

Black Swamp and Beryl Anthony Lower Ouachita WMAs 

23.06 Furbearer Seasons and Bag Limits on WMAs 

23.07 Crow Season Closed on Certain WMAs 

 

* * * * *  
 

23.01 QUAIL SEASON RESTRICTED ON CERTAIN WMAs 

03-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess quail on certain WMAs other than in compliance with 

Addendum C1.05. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

23.02 RABBIT SEASON RESTRICTED ON CERTAIN WMAs 

04-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess rabbits on certain WMAs other than in compliance with 

Addendum C1.06. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

23.03 SQUIRREL SEASON RESTRICTED ON CERTAIN WMAs 

03-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess squirrels on certain WMAs other than in compliance 

with Addendum C1.07. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

23.04 DOVE SEASON RESTRICTED ON CERTAIN WMAs 

03-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess dove on certain WMAs other than in compliance with 

Addendum C1.08. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

23.05 
NON-TOXIC SHOT REQUIREMENTS FOR SMALL GAME HUNTING ON 

MAUMELLE RIVER, REX HANCOCK BLACK SWAMP AND BERYL 

ANTHONY LOWER OUACHITA WMAs 

04-11 It is unlawful to possess any shot other than approved non-toxic shot while hunting small 

game with shotguns within the Maumelle River, Rex Hancock Black Swamp and Beryl 

Anthony Lower Ouachita WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

23.06 FURBEARER SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS ON WMAs 

04-03, 3-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess furbearers on WMAs other than in compliance with 

Addendum C1.09. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

23.07 CROW SEASON CLOSED ON CERTAIN WMAs 

04-03, 03-09 It is unlawful to hunt or possess crows on certain WMAs other than in compliance with 

Addendum C1.10. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
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CHAPTER 24.00 - WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA MIGRATORY WATERFOWL 

REGULATIONS 

 

24.01 Migratory Waterfowl Hunting Access Time Restrictions on WMAs 

24.02 Hunting or Trespassing Prohibited on Certain WMAs and Lakes 

24.03 Boat Motor Restrictions on Certain WMAs 

24.04 Migratory Waterfowl Hunting Access Restrictions on WRAs 

24.05 Leaving Waterfowl Decoys Overnight Prohibited on WMAs and WRAs 

24.06 Duck Blinds Prohibited on WMAs and Commission-Owned or Controlled Lakes 

24.07 Waterfowl Shot Shell Restrictions for Certain WMAs 

24.08 Guiding Prohibited on All Commission-Owned or Controlled WMAs and WRAs 

24.09 Non-Resident Waterfowl Hunting Permit Requirements on Certain WMAs 

24.10 Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms WMA Waterfowl Hunting Requirements 

 

* * * * *  
 

24.01 
MIGRATORY WATERFOWL HUNTING ACCESS TIME RESTRICTIONS ON 

WMAs 

08-08 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take migratory waterfowl on WMAs after noon or 

remain on water-inundated areas or water courses on WMAs after 1 p.m. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Migratory waterfowl hunting is allowed during the entire day (regular shooting 

hours) of the last three days of the last duck season in compliance with Addenda 

B1.08; B1.13). 

(2) In compliance with Codes 11.04; 24.02 and Addendum B1.10. 

(3) All-day hunting is allowed on Beaver Lake, Dardanelle (except at the McKinnen 

Bottoms and Hartman waterfowl units), DeGray Lake, Fort Chaffee and Ozark 

Lake WMAs. 

(4) Navigational boating access is unrestricted on natural rivers on WMAs. 

(5) All migratory waterfowl hunting is closed on Maumelle River WMA. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

24.02 
HUNTING WATERFOWL OR TRESPASSING PROHIBITED ON CERTAIN 

WMAs AND LAKES 

08-09 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take waterfowl or trespass on certain WMAs and lakes 

in compliance with Addendum C1.12. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

24.03 BOAT MOTOR RESTRICTIONS ON CERTAIN WMAs 

04-11 Boats and boat motors shall comply with the following restrictions on certain WMAs: 

(1) Boats with motors of more than 25 horsepower and air boats may not be operated 

on Bayou Meto, Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc (excluding Dr. Lester Sitzes III 

Bois d’Arc Lake), Shirey Bay Rainey Brake and Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek 

Bottoms WMAs. 

(2) No boats allowed on Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc greentree waterfowl area 14 

days before the opening day of duck season until the opening of duck season. 

(3) No boats allowed on Bell Slough, Camp Robinson, Ed Gordon Point Remove, 

Harris Brake, Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc and Shirey Bay Rainey Brake WMAs 

greentree reservoirs from 1 p.m. until 4 a.m. during duck season, (applies to any 
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portion of any opening day of a duck segment, except during the last three days of 

the last duck season and during the special youth waterfowl hunt when boats may 

be used from 4 a.m. until 6:30 p.m. daily. 

(4) No boat motors allowed on Frog Bayou WMA. 

(5) Boat motors over 10 horsepower are prohibited on St. Francis National Forest 

WMA. 

(6) Boats are not allowed on Bayou Meto WMA from 1 p.m. until 4 a.m. during the 

duck season except as follows: 

(a) During the last three days of the last duck season and during the special 

youth waterfowl hunts when boats may be used from 4 a.m. until 6:30 p.m. 

daily. 

(b) Boating access during the duck season only from 1 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. at 

the following streams:  

(a) Mulberry Access, to include all of the Salt Bayou Ditch to the 

confluence of Little Bayou Meto. 

(b) Buckingham Flats Access to include Big Bayou Meto, and 

Cannon Brake Access to include Little Bayou Meto only on the 

Cannon Brake Impoundment. 

(7) Boats are not allowed on the Government Cypress Greentree Reservoir on Bayou 

Meto WMA. 

(8) Boats with motors greater than 50 horsepower and airboats may not be operated on 

waters on Henry Gray Hurricane Lake WMA during duck season (Addendum 

B1.08). 

(9) Airboats may not be operated on waters on Bell Slough, Beryl Anthony Lower 

Ouachita (excluding Ouachita River), Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA and 

Deer Research Area (both units, excluding Mississippi River), Cut-Off Creek, 

Cypress Bayou, Ed Gordon Point Remove, Earl Buss Bayou DeView, Galla Creek, 

Harris Brake (excluding Harris Brake Lake), Holland Bottoms (excluding Tommy 

L. Sproles Lake Pickthorne), Mike Freeze Wattensaw, Petit Jean River (excluding 

Petit Jean River and Kingfisher Lake), Seven Devils, Sheffield Nelson Dagmar, 

Sulphur River (excluding Sulphur River and Mercer Bayou) and Trusten Holder 

(excluding Arkansas River, Arkansas Post Canal, Merrisach Lake, Moore Bayou 

and Post Lake) WMAs during duck season (Addendum B1.08). 

(10) On Maumelle River WMA all boating activities and trespassing is prohibited in the 

Restricted Area Zone 1 on the east end of Lake Maumelle as marked by buoy line.  

The Unrestricted Area Zone 2 covering the central and western portions of Lake 

Maumelle is open to boating and fishing during the hours of 4 a.m. until 8 p.m., 

Nov. 1-March 31 and 24 hours a day from April 1-Oct. 31.  The use of air boats, 

aquaplanes, surfboards, motorized surfboards wind-powered surfboards, personal 

watercraft, water skis, rafts or other similar devices or vehicles on any part of Lake 

Maumelle is prohibited.  Canoes and kayaks may only be launched from the Sleepy 

Hollow access area and only operated in that portion of Lake Maumelle west of the 

Arkansas Highway 10 bridge.  Only boats with a 25 horsepower motor or less may 

launch from the Sleepy Hollow access area.  That portion of Lake Maumelle lying 

east of Arkansas Highway 10 bridge and west of the Restricted Area Zone 1 buoy 

line is not open to boats less than 14 feet in length. 

EXCEPTION: 

Boating activities by Central Arkansas Water Utility and U.S. Geological Survey personnel 

engaged in the performance of their duties are allowed in the Restricted Area Zone 1 of 

Lake Maumelle. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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24.04 MIGRATORY WATERFOWL HUNTING ACCESS RESTRICTIONS ON WRAs 

03-09 All Commission-owned or controlled WRAs are closed to access from Nov. 1-Feb. 15. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Red Slough WRA on Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc WMA is open to archery deer 

hunting Oct. 1-Nov. 6 and Henry Moore WRA on Sulphur River WMA is open to 

archery deer hunting Oct. 1-Nov. 5. 

(2) Pigeon Creek WRA on Cut-Off Creek WMA and Steve Frick WRA on Ed Gordon 

Point Remove WMA close to access the day after the modern gun deer hunt and 

reopen Feb. 1. 

(3) Johnson County WRA on Dardanelle WMA closes to access the day after the 

modern gun mobility-impaired permit hunt and reopens February 1. 

(4) Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc Lake WRA on Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc 

WMA and the Nimrod Lloyd Millwood WRA on Nimrod WMA are open for 

fishing and non-hunting access. 

(5) Winchester WRA and the Brookings moist-soil units on Dave Donaldson Black 

River WMA are open to deer muzzleloader and modern gun youth hunt permit 

holders only. 

(6) The WRAs in the moist-soil units on Shirey Bay Rainey Brake WMA are open to 

deer muzzleloader permit holders only. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

24.05 
LEAVING WATERFOWL DECOYS OVERNIGHT PROHIBITED ON WMAs 

AND WRAs 

08-07 It is unlawful to leave waterfowl decoys overnight on WMAs and WRAs. 

EXCEPTION: 

Waterfowl decoys may be left overnight beginning the Saturday before the opening day of 

the first duck season and must be removed no later than the Sunday following the last day 

of the last duck season on St. Francis Sunken Lands, Big Lake and Dave Donaldson Black 

River WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

24.06 
DUCK BLINDS PROHIBITED ON WMAs AND COMMISSION-OWNED OR 

CONTROLLED LAKES 

08-07 It is unlawful to build, erect, or take or attempt to take wildlife from duck blinds made 

from identifiable building materials, such as wire, nylon, metal or lumber, which are not 

removed at the end of each day’s hunt or at the end of the WMA’s shooting hours.  

Structures not in compliance with this code may be removed by Commission personnel 

and destroyed or otherwise disposed of in compliance with Commission policy. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Blinds on Big Lake WMA and St. Francis Sunken Lands WMA, which have been 

assigned an ID number on or before June 30, 2006, by the Commission and have 

been well constructed in the judgment of the regional wildlife supervisor, may be 

maintained in compliance with Commission guidelines.  Blinds that have 

deteriorated beyond a safe, usable condition in the judgment of the regional wildlife 

supervisor cannot be rebuilt and may be destroyed by Commission personnel.  

Existing blinds, including floating structures, may not be moved. 

(2) Retrieving dog platforms attached to a tree by strap, cable, chain or other means 

that do not penetrate the tree bark and that do not exceed 900 square inches in floor 

dimension, and have the owner’s name and home address, or vehicle license plate 

number legibly and permanently affixed, may be placed on Dave Donaldson Black 
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River, Big Lake and St. Francis Sunken Lands WMAs beginning the Saturday 

before the opening day of duck season and must be removed no later than the 

Sunday following the last day of the last duck season. 

(3) In compliance with Code 19.13. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

24.07 WATERFOWL SHOT SHELL RESTRICTIONS FOR CERTAIN WMAs 

08-08 It is unlawful to possess more than 15 shot shells or to possess shells containing shot 

larger than No, 2 while taking or attempting to take waterfowl on Bayou Meto, Bell 

Slough, Camp Robinson, Cut-Off Creek, Shirey Bay Rainey Brake and Seven Devils 

WMAs. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In camping, parking or boat launching areas. 

(2) In compliance with Addendum B1.13. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

24.08 
GUIDING PROHIBITED ON ALL COMMISSIONED-OWNED OR 

CONTROLLED WMAs 

10-00, 08-06 It is unlawful to guide waterfowl hunters on Commission-owned or controlled WMAs.  It 

also is unlawful for any person to take or attempt to take wildlife while being guided on 

Commission-owned or controlled WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

24.09 
NON-RESIDENT WATERFOWL HUNTING PERMIT REQUIREMENTS ON 

CERTAIN WMAs 

05-01, 08-05 It is unlawful for non-resident hunters to take or attempt to take waterfowl without first 

obtaining a non-resident WMA Waterfowl Hunting Permit on the following WMAs: 

Bayou Meto, Bell Slough Camp Robinson WMA, Beryl Anthony Lower Ouachita, Big 

Lake, Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc, Cut-Off Creek, Sheffield Nelson Dagmar, Dave 

Donaldson Black River, Earl Buss Bayou DeView, Ed Gordon Point Remove, Frog 

Bayou, Galla Creek, Harris Brake, Henry Gray Hurricane Lake, Holland Bottoms, 

Nimrod Lloyd Millwood, Petit Jean River, Rex Hancock Black Swamp, Seven Devils, 

Shirey Bay Rainey Brake, St. Francis Sunken Lands, Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek 

Bottoms, Sulphur River, Trusten Holder , and Pierce Creek and Dix Creek bays on Craig 

D. Campbell Lake Conway Reservoir (Camp Robinson WDA). 

This permit is in addition to hunting and/or guide license requirements as stated in Chapter 

03.00.  This permit must be in the person’s possession while taking or attempting to take 

waterfowl on these WMAs. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

24.10 
STEVE N. WILSON RAFT CREEK BOTTOMS WMA WATERFOWL 

HUNTING REQUIREMENTS 

05-02, 04-03 It is unlawful, during waterfowl season, to enter a flooded area without possessing a 

signed Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms Waterfowl Hunting Permit. 

EXCEPTION: 

Goose hunting is open following the closure of the regular duck season in conjunction with 

statewide seasons and regulations; no permit required. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 



 

91 

 

 

CHAPTER 25.00 - GAME FISH DAILY LIMIT,POSSESSION LIMIT, / LENGTH LIMIT and / 

PROTECTED LENGTH LIMIT REGULATIONS 

 

25.01 Game Fish Daily Limit Restrictions 

25.02 Game Fish Possession Limit Restrictions 

25.03 Game Fish Length Limits and Protective Length Limits on Certain Lakes and Rivers 

 

* * * * *  
 

25.01 GAME FISH DAILY LIMIT RESTRICTIONS 

10-92 It is unlawful to keep more than the daily or aggregate limit of game fish while fishing or 

transporting fish by boat during a one-day fishing trip (Code 01.00C Game Fish and 

Addenda N1.01-03). 

PENALTY:  CLASS 1 
 

25.02 GAME FISH POSSESSION LIMIT RESTRICTIONS 

01-09 It is unlawful possess more than two daily limits of game fish or the aggregate. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

25.03 
GAME FISH LENGTH LIMITS AND PROTECTIVE SLOT LIMITS ON 

CERTAIN LAKES AND RIVERS 

01-09 It is unlawful to possess game fish not in compliance with Addenda N1.01-03. 

PENALTY:  CLASS 1 
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CHAPTER 26.00 - GENERAL FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

26.01 Taking Fish With Electrical Devices, Firearms, Explosives, Toxic, Stupefying Or Killing 

Substances Prohibited 

26.02 Trapping Fish Prohibited 

26.03 Dip-Netting For Fish Prohibited 

26.04 Gaffing Fish Prohibited 

26.05 Hogging and Noodling Restricted 

26.06 Taking Fish with Bow and Arrow or Gig Restricted 

26.07 Fishing Below Dam Restricted 

26.08 Waters Restricted to Certain Fishing Tackle 

26.09 Sportfishing Season Restrictions On Certain National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) 

26.10 Blocking Streams Prohibited 

26.11 Screening Requirements for Pumping from Waters of the State 

26.12 Release of Native or Non-Native Aquatic Wildlife Prohibited 

26.13 Certain Exotic Species Prohibited 

26.14 Transportation of Zebra Mussels Prohibited 

26.15 Taking Suckers Restricted 

26.16 Gigging of Game Fish Prohibited 

26.17 Snagging Game Fish Prohibited 

26.18 Sale, Possession, or Use Of Live Bait Restricted 

26.19 Baiting with Common Carp on Certain Waters Prohibited 

26.20 Sale of Game Fish Prohibited 

26.21 Yo-Yo Fishing Restricted 

26.22 Freefloating Fishing Devices Restricted 

26.23 Trotline, Setline and Limbline Fishing Requirements 

26.24 Possession of Filleted Fish Prohibited on Length or Protected-Length-Limit Waters 

26.25 Family and Community Fishing Program Restrictions 

26.26 Aquatic Pet Restrictions 

26.27 Wild Caught Baitfish Restricted on Norfork Lake 

26.28 Alligator Gar Permit Requirements 
 

* * * * *  

 

26.01 
TAKING FISH WITH ELECTRICAL DEVICES, FIREARMS, EXPLOSIVES, 

TOXIC, STUPEFYING OR KILLING SUBSTANCES PROHIBITED 

08-89 It is unlawful to fish with electrical devices or possess electrical devices for taking fish; 

to fish with the use of firearms or explosives; or to deposit toxic, stupefying, or killing 

substances that can injure, stupefy, or kill fish into public waters or to take or attempt to 

take fish affected by such substances. 

EXCEPTION: 

Under scientific permit issued by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

26.02 TRAPPING FISH PROHIBITED 

06-81 It is unlawful to possess or use wire baskets, wire traps, log nets, box traps or other fish-

trapping devices not considered legal commercial fishing tackle. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Codes 30.12; 30.13; 32.04; 35.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 1  



 

93 

 

 

26.03 DIP-NETTING FOR FISH PROHIBITED 

08-89 It is unlawful to fish from public waters by use of dip nets unless fish are first caught by 

hook and line. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Properly licensed persons taking fish during biological or management operations 

conducted by Commission employees. 

(2) In compliance with Codes 26.06-07; 32.04. 

(3) Under scientific permit issued by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.04 GAFFING FISH PROHIBITED 

08-80 It is unlawful to gaff fish unless fish are first caught by hook and line. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.05 HOGGING AND NOODLING RESTRICTED 

01-09 It is unlawful to hog or noodle fish. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Buffalo, catfish, carp and drum may be taken by these means for personal use.  The 

portion of the state north and west of U.S. Highway 67 is open July 15-Oct 31, and 

that portion of the state south and east of U.S. Highway 67 is open June 1- Oct. 31.  

The Arkansas River is open June 1-Oct. 31.  The Mississippi River is open from 

May 1-July 15.  While engaged in hogging in these areas, it is unlawful to raise any 

part of a natural or artificial device out of the water, aiding in the capture of 

enclosed fish.  Hogging and noodling is prohibited on the Ouachita River from the 

confluence of the Little Missouri River to Remmel Dam. 

(2) Half daily limit on catfish is allowed for hogged or noodled fish. 

(3) Lake Charles and the Strawberry River below U.S. Highway 167 is open June 1-

Oct. 31. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.06 TAKING FISH WITH BOW AND ARROW OR GIG RESTRICTED 

08-06 It is unlawful to fish other than rough fish with bow and arrow or gig. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Daily limit of one alligator gar may be taken per 24-hour period (Codes 25.01; 

26.28). 

(2) Gigging is allowed 10 a.m.-midnight, Sept.15-Feb.15 statewide. 

(3) Half the daily limit of catfish in the waters being fished may be taken per day from 

noon to noon with bow and arrow July 15-May 1. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.07 FISHING BELOW DAM RESTRICTED 

08-06 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take fish within 100 yards below dams or within the 

outlet channels of Arkansas Valley Electric Cooperative Hydroelectric Plant at Barling 

and the Murray Hydroelectric Plant at North Little Rock. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) When only one pole or rod held in hand is used. 

(2) When taking rough fish with a bow and arrow. 

(3) When taking shad with a hand-held dip net for personal use only. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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26.08 WATERS RESTRICTED TO CERTAIN FISHING TACKLE 

08-07 It is unlawful to fish with any device other than rod or pole in: 

(A) Arkansas County – DeWitt City Park Lake 
Benton County – Lake Atalanta and Lake Bentonville 

Clark County – Big Timber Lake 

Carroll County – Hidden Lake 

Clark County – Gurdon Lake 

Clay County – Lake Hubble 

Conway County – Lake Bailey, Lake Roosevelt in Petit Jean State Park 

Craighead County – Craighead Forest Lake 

Crawford County – Lake Cambadelle and Lake Lou Emma 

Crittenden County – West Memphis City Parks Lake and Marion City Park Lake 
Faulkner County – Lake Bennett 

Greene County – Crowley Ridge State Park Lake and Reynolds Park Lake 

Hempstead County – Lakes 1 and 2 on the Rick Evans Grandview WMA 

Izard County (2 pole maximum limit) – Horseshoe Bend Pool on Strawberry River 

Lafayette County – Lake June 

Monroe County – Lake Greenlee 

Lonoke County – Tommy L. Sproles Lake Pickthorne and Ward City Park Lake 

Madison County – Hindsville Lake 

Monroe County – Lake Greenlee and Donald Branch Fishing Pond 

Perry County – Lake Sylvia 

Polk County – Shady Lake 

Poinsett County – Upper Lake Hogue 

Randolph County – Old Davidsonville State Park Lake 

St. Francis County – Forrest City Park Lake 

Scott County – Truman Baker Lake 

Sebastian County – Carol Cross Lake  

Stone County – Gunner Pool and Hayden Bend Pond  

Yell County – Lake Kingfisher  

Cross and St. Francis Counties – All lakes in Village Creek State Park  Washington 

County – Devil’s Den State Park Lake and posted U.S. Forest Service ponds and lakes. 

Prairie County – Mike Freeze Wattensaw WMA ponds and lakes, except oxbow lakes 

on and North Fork Lake in Montgomery County; Spring River and tributaries from 100 

yards below Dam No. 1 to the mouth of Myatt Creek; Spring River Lake. 

(B) Arkansas River from 100 yards below Dardanelle Dam to Arkansas Highway 7 bridge 

and 100 yards below Dam No. 2 to the mouth of Morgan Cut-Off; Fourche La Fave 

River from 100 yards below Nimrod Dam to Arkansas Highway 7 bridge. 
(C) Waters listed in Code 26.25. 

EXCEPTION: 

Gigging or bowfishing for rough fish is permitted in compliance with Code 26.06, in waters 

listed in Section B and in other unrestricted state waters. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.09 SPORTFISHING SEASON RESTRICTIONS ON CERTAIN NWRs 

06-85 It is unlawful to fish for sportfish on certain NWRs other than during the seasons 

specified below: 
(A) Holla Bend and White River NWRs – March 1-Oct. 31. 
(B) Wapanocca NWR – March 15-Sept. 30 during daylight hours only. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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26.10 BLOCKING STREAMS PROHIBITED 

08-80 It is unlawful to completely block or dam streams. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.11 
SCREENING REQUIREMENTS FOR PUMPING FROM WATERS OF THE 

STATE 

08-80 It is unlawful to withdraw, by relift or pump, water from public waters without first 

securely screening intake pipes of relifts or pumps. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

26.12 RELEASE OF NATIVE OR NON-NATIVE AQUATIC WILDLIFE PROHIBITED 

10-02 It is unlawful to release native or non-native aquatic wildlife, including their eggs, into 

the waters of the state without the written permission of the Commission. 

Excess baitfish (including crayfish) shall not be released alive into public waters.  Any request 

for importation of salmonids and salmonid eggs must be accompanied by a disease-free 

certification conducted under the guidelines set forth by the American Fisheries Society Fish 

Health Blue Book -- Procedures for the Detection and Identification of Certain Fish Pathogens, 

Fourth Edition. 

EXCEPTION: 

Aquatic species may be released into the waters from which they were taken. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

26.13 CERTAIN EXOTIC SPECIES PROHIBITED 

08-04 It is unlawful to import, transport, or possess any species commonly known as snakehead 

(Family Channidae), walking catfish, stickleback, Mexican banded tetra, piranha or rusty 

crayfish (Orconectes rusticus).  These species may be possessed for display and 

educational purposes by written permit approved by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

26.14 TRANSPORTATION OF ZEBRA MUSSELS PROHIBITED 

08-96 It is unlawful to knowingly transport zebra mussels within Arkansas. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.15 TAKING SUCKERS RESTRICTED 

08-99, 3-02 It is unlawful to take more than 20 suckers daily or to possess more than two daily limits 

taken by gigging, hogging or snagging.  Legal methods for taking suckers are as follows: 

(1) Hogging/Noodling in compliance with Code 26.05. 

(2) Gigging in compliance with Code 26.06. 

(3) Sport fishing tackle, including snagging in compliance with Code 26.17. 

(4) Commercial tackle in compliance with Chapter 30.00. 
(5) Gigging of suckers is allowed 10 a.m.-midnight, Sept. 15-Feb. 15 statewide. 

(6) Snagging of suckers is allowed sunrise-sunset, April 1-Feb. 15 statewide. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.16 GIGGING OF GAME FISH PROHIBITED 

08-80 It is unlawful to gig game fish at any time. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.17 SNAGGING GAME FISH PROHIBITED 

08-07 It is unlawful to snag game fish. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) From the bank within 100 yards below a dam (prohibited below the Upper White Oak 

Lake Dam). 

(2) From a boat from 100 yards below all locks and dams on the Arkansas River to the 

downstream entrance point of the lock structure, and from 100 yards below Dam No. 2 

to the boat-launching ramps immediately below the dam. 

(3) From the bank below Beaver Dam, from the Corps of Engineers "No Fishing Beyond 

This Point" sign, downstream to the first Corps of Engineers boat ramp on the left 

descending bank April 15-June 15. 

(4) Daily limit:  With the exception of catfish and paddlefish, no more than half the daily 

game fish limit may be taken by snagging, or the lesser whole number nearest half the 

limit, when the limit is an odd number. 

(5) Snagging must be discontinued once the daily limit of any species of game fish has 

been harvested. 

(6) Game fish snagged must be retained for personal use and applied to the daily limit. 

(7) Catfish may be snagged Jan. 1-Feb. 15 on the Black River from the Missouri state line 

to the Spring River confluence and on the St. Francis River from the Missouri state line 

to the Payneway Structure, with a daily limit of five catfish (no more than two of which 

may be flathead catfish). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.18 SALE, POSSESSION OR USE OF LIVE BAIT RESTRICTED 

08-06 It is unlawful to sell as bait, possess while fishing, or use as bait live aquatic animals 

other than insects, freshwater shrimp, worms and baitfish as defined in Code 01.00C 

Baitfish. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.19 BAITING WITH COMMON CARP ON CERTAIN WATERS PROHIBITED 

08-06 It is unlawful to use common carp as bait in the following waters: 

Benton County – Crystal Lake  

Calhoun County – Tri-County Lake  

Carroll County – Lake Keatherwood 

Clark County -- Gurdon Lake 

Columbia County -- Lake Columbia  

Conway County -- Lake Cargile, Lake Overcup  

Drew County -- Lake Monticello  

Faulkner County -- Craig Campbell D. Lake Conway Reservoir  

Grant County -- Cox Creek Lake  

Hempstead County -- Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc Lake, Rick Evans Grandview Prairie 

WMA Lakes 1 and 2, Mike and Janet Huckabee Lake  

Howard County -- Gillham Lake, Dierks Lake  

Lincoln County -- Cane Creek Lake  

Madison County -- Lake Hindsville  

Ouachita County -- Upper and Lower White Oak Lakes  

Perry County -- Harris Brake Lake  

Polk County -- Lake Wilhelmina, Irons Fork Lake  

Pope County -- Lake Atkins  

Scott County -- Truman Baker Lake, Lake Hinkle  

Sebastian County -- Sugarloaf Lake  

Sevier County -- DeQueen Lake  
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Washington County -- Bob Kidd Lake, Devil’s Den State Park Lake, Lake Elmdale, Lake 

Fayetteville, Wilson Lake   

White County -- Lake Barnett and Tom’s Lake  

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.20 SALE OF GAME FISH PROHIBITED 

07-87 It is unlawful to buy, sell, possess for sale, or offer for sale any game fish. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Code 30.11 when taken by commercial fishermen. 

(2) Game fish raised in licensed fish-farming operations. 

(3) Bream 4 inches or less. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

26.21 YO-YO FISHING RESTRICTED 

01-09 It is unlawful for a person to fish more than 30 yo-yos or other mechanical fishing 

devices or to leave such unattended (out of sight or hearing) during daylight hours, or to 

suspend more than one yo-yo or mechanical device from any horizontal line, wire, limb 

or support.  Stakes used for mounting yo-yos or limblines on Commissioned-owned lakes 

must be made from wood or cane and must be removed from the lake when not in use.  

Yo-yos must be clearly labeled with the name and address, vehicle operator’s license 

number, or current vehicle license number of the person using such equipment.  These 

regulations shall apply to all yo-yos left in place whether "set" or "tripped" (disabled). 

PENALTY:  $50 to $1,000 
 

26.22 FREEFLOATING FISHING DEVICES RESTRICTED 

06-88 It is unlawful to fish in excess of 20 freefloating fishing devices (jugs) and to fail to 

attend such devices at all times.  All freefloating fishing devices must be plainly labeled, 

in a durable manner, with the name and address, vehicle operator's license number, or 

current vehicle license number of the person using such equipment. 

EXCEPTION: 

Freefloating Fishing Devices are not required to be attended from sunset to sunrise. 

PENALTY:  $50 to $1,000 

 

26.23 TROTLINE, SETLINE AND LIMBLINE FISHING REQUIREMENTS 

08-06 It is unlawful to use trotlines, setlines and limblines with drops or hooks less than 24 

inches apart statewide; to use any trotline or snagline below any lock and dam on the 

Arkansas River from the dam to the nearest arrival point navigation marker downstream; 

or to fail to run any line and remove catch daily.  All trotlines, setlines and limblines 

must be clearly labeled with the name and address, vehicle operator’s license number, or 

current vehicle license number of the person using such equipment.  Information must be 

attached on each line at the bank end.  Unlabeled lines shall be removed and destroyed by 

the Commission.  It is also unlawful for to fish any more than 100 hooks at any time 

between the main levees of the Mississippi River (Code 26.08). 
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EXCEPTION: 

Trotlines that otherwise comply with the provisions of this regulation may be used on Lake 

Maumelle, except in areas where signs prohibiting use of trotlines are posted by the 

Commission or Central Arkansas Water Authority. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.24 
POSSESSION OF FILLETED FISH PROHIBITED ON LENGTH OR 

PROTECTED-LENGTH-LIMIT WATERS 

08-91, 08-10 It is unlawful to possess filleted fish or fish with head or tail removed while fishing from 

shore, boat or transporting fish by boat on catch-and-release areas and length or 

protected-length-limit waters as described in Codes 25.01-03. 

PENALTY:  Class 1  
 

26.25 FAMILY AND COMMUNITY FISHING PROGRAM RESTRICTIONS 

01-09, 08-10 (A) FAMILY FISHING PROGRAM RESTRICTIONS 

The restrictions in this subsection shall apply to the following waters: 

Chicot County -- Lake Village Community Fishing Pond  

Columbia County -- Armory Pond  

Craighead County -- Craighead Forest Park Youth Fishing Pond  

Faulkner County -- Bob Courtway Pond, Dr. James E. Moore Jr. Camp Robinson Firing 

Range  

Fulton County -- Salem City Lake  

Hempstead County -- Mike and Janet Huckabee Youth Fishing Pond  

Jefferson County -- Pine Bluff Regional Park Youth Fishing Pond  

Pulaski County -- Landers Lake, War Memorial Park Pond  

Union County -- Mattox Park Lake  

RESTRICTIONS: 

(1) Fishing is open only to youths or persons 65 years of age or older. All other 

properly licensed persons may fish if accompanied by a youth who is actively 

fishing.  Fishing is also open to holders of a disabled fishing license (either a 

three-year or combination disability license).  One licensed person may assist 

and fish with an actively fishing disabled fishing license holder. 

(2) Only hand-held rod or pole allowed. 

(3) Largemouth bass:  catch and release only. 

(4) Catfish daily limit:  3 

(5) Bream daily limit:  25 

(6) Trout daily limit:  5 

(7) Hybrid striped bass:  3 

(8) Lakes open to electric trolling motors only. 

(9) All other sportfishing daily limit:  same as statewide. 

(B) COMMUNITY FISHING PROGRAM RESTRICTIONS 

The restrictions in this subsection shall apply to the following waters: 

Baxter County -- Amon’s Lake  

Benton County -- Lake Springdale 

Clark County -- Clear Lake  

Crittenden County -- Tilden Rodgers Park Pond  

Garland County -- Family Park Pond, Entergy Park Pond  

Jefferson County -- Martin Luther King Jr. Park Pond in Pine Bluff  

Lonoke County -- Cabot Community Pond, Mike Freeze England Community Pond  

Miller County – Lake Dieffenbacher 

Pike County -- John Benjamin Glenwood Community Pond  
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Pope County -- Pleasant View Park Pond  

Pulaski County -- all lakes, ponds and streams managed by the City of Little Rock 

Parks and Recreation Department within the city limits of Little Rock, Cherrywood 

Lake,  Lake Valencia, Little Rock Air Force Base Pond, North Little Rock City Park 

waters, Pinnacle Mountain State Park Pond, Sherwood  

Municipal City Pond, Willow Beach Park Pond  

White County -- Searcy City Lake 

Saline County -- Sunset Lake  

Sebastian County -- Carol Ann Cross Pond  

Sebastian County -- Wells Lake, Fort Chaffee  

Yell County -- Dardanelle City Park Ponds, Yell County Wildlife Federation Pond  
Washington County -- Murphy Park Pond  

RESTRICTIONS: 

(1) Only hand held rod or pole allowed. 

(2) Largemouth bass:  catch and release only. 

(3) Catfish daily limit:  3 

(4) Bream daily limit:  25 

(5) Trout daily limit:  5 

(6) Hybrid striped bass:  3 

(7) Lakes open to electric trolling motors only. 

(8) All other sportfish daily limit:  same as statewide. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.26 AQUATIC PET RESTRICTIONS. 

08-02 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take by any method other than those described in Code 

32.04, or by hand, and possess alive any aquatic wildlife species other than six of each 

species per household.  The sale or purchase of such wildlife or their progeny, or their 

release into waters other than those from which they were collected, is prohibited. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Game fish may be taken only in compliance with Chapter 26.00. 

(2) Alligator snapping turtles, hellbenders, troglodytic (cave-dwelling) species or those 

animals defined as endangered species may not be taken. 

(3) Legally obtained baitfish are exempt from the six of each species per household 

provision. 

(4) Commercial fish may be taken only in compliance with Chapter 30.00. 

(5) Collecting in compliance with a scientific collection permit or other special use permit 

issued by the Commission. 

(6) Permitted fish farms in compliance with Chapter 35.00. 

(7) Licensed commercial fishermen in compliance with Chapter 30.00. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

26.27 WILD-CAUGHT BAITFISH RESTRICTED ON NORFORK LAKE 

01-09 It is unlawful to use live wild-caught baitfish on Norfork Lake unless the bait was caught 

on Norfork Lake or in its watershed above the lake.  Bait purchased from a licensed 

dealer may be used on Norfork Lake. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

26.28 ALLIGATOR GAR PERMIT REQUIREMENT 

08-09 It is unlawful for residents 16 or older to harvest any alligator gar without a valid 

Alligator Gar Permit in addition to a fishing license in compliance with Code 03.02. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 27.00 - TROUT FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

27.01 Trout Permit Requirements 

27.02 Trout Limit, Size and Possession Restrictions 

27.03 Herding Trout Prohibited 

27.04 Transfer of Trout by Guides Restricted 

27.05 Possession of Filleted Trout Prohibited on Length/Slot Limit Waters 

27.06 Rainbow Trout Retention Restricted 

27.07 Specific Trout Water Regulations 

 

* * * * *  
 

27.01 TROUT PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

01-09 It is unlawful for persons 16 or older to keep trout or to fish without a valid trout permit 

on the following waters:  the Beaver Lake Tailwater from Beaver Dam to the boundary 

signs at Houseman Access; the Lake Greeson Tailwater, from Narrows Dam to Muddy 

Fork Road (low-water bridge); the Little Red River, from Greers Ferry Dam to the 

Arkansas Highway 305 bridge; the North Fork of the White River downstream of 

Norfork Dam; and the White River, from Bull Shoals Dam to the Arkansas Highway 58 

bridge at Guion. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Chapter 36.00. 

(2) Persons possessing a Lifetime Resident Hunting and Fishing Sportsman's Permit. 

(3) Persons possessing a Resident 65 Plus Lifetime Trout Permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

27.02 TROUT LIMIT AND POSSESSION RESTRICTIONS 

01-09 It is unlawful to keep more than the daily or aggregate limit of trout while fishing or 

transporting fish by boat during a one-day fishing trip.  It is unlawful to possess more 

than the aggregate limit or two daily limits of trout (Code 01.00C Limits and Addenda 

N1.01). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

27.03 HERDING TROUT PROHIBITED 

 It is unlawful to drive, pursue, harass or rally trout for the intended purpose of 

concentrating or congregating trout. 

PENALTY Class 1 
 

27.04 TRANSFER OF TROUT BY GUIDES RESTRICTED 

08-04 It is unlawful for licensed commercial guides to transfer trout to another person so the 

recipient's legal daily or possession limit is exceeded. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

27.05  RAINBOW TROUT RETENTION RESTRICTED 

08-02, 08-04 It is unlawful to release a rainbow trout after it has been placed on a stringer, within a 

fish basket, live well, ice chest or retained by any other device. 
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EXCEPTION: 

Rainbow trout longer than 16 inches may be temporarily retained (for no more than 30 

minutes) in a live well for measurement, weighing and photographing before release on 

Bull Shoals and Norfork tailwaters. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

27.06  SPECIFIC TROUT WATER REGULATIONS 

01-09 It is unlawful to fail to comply with the restrictions in Addendum N1.03. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 28.00 - SPEARFISHING GAME FISH REGULATIONS 

 

28.01 Spearing Game Fish Restricted 

28.02 Divers Flag Requirement for Spearfishing 

28.03 Cleaning Speared Fish Before Leaving Water Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

28.01 SPEARING GAME FISH RESTRICTED 

08-95 It is unlawful to take game fish with spearguns other than as specified below: 

(A) June 15-March 15 from sunrise to sunset in Beaver, Blue Mountain, Bull Shoals, 
DeGray, Greers Ferry, Harris Brake, Norfork, Table Rock lakes, lakes Catherine, 
Conway, Erling, Greeson, Hamilton, Millwood, Nimrod, Ouachita, and all 
impoundments created by the locks and dams on the Arkansas River. 

(B) The taking of black bass is prohibited in Beaver, Bull Shoals, Table Rock lakes, 
Lake Millwood and Lake Norfork. 

(C) The taking of flathead catfish is prohibited March 15-July 15. 
(D) No more than half of the daily game fish limit (Codes 25.01-02) may be taken by 

speargun, or the lesser whole number nearest half when the limit is an odd number. 
(E) The possession of spearguns in public waters other than waters specified in this 

section is prohibited. 
(F) Catfish and rough fish may be taken during spearfishing season on Gillham, Dierks 

and DeQueen lakes. (Note closed season in C above for flathead catfish). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

28.02 DIVERS FLAG REQUIREMENT FOR SPEARFISHING 

06-82 It is unlawful to spearfish without displaying a standard divers flag (no less than 12 

inches wide and 12 inches long, red and white diagonal stripe), from the boat or other 

flotation device at least 12 inches above the surface of the water. It also is unlawful to 

spearfish more than 300 feet from the divers flag. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

28.03 CLEANING SPEARED FISH BEFORE LEAVING WATER PROHIBITED 

08-80 It is unlawful for spearfishermen to clean fish while on the body of water where the fish 

were taken. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 29.00 - BULLFROG REGULATIONS 

 

29.01 Bullfrog Season/Limit Restriction 

29.02 Prohibited Methods for Taking Bullfrogs 

29.03 Sale of Bullfrogs Prohibited 

29.04 License Requirements for Sale of Bullfrogs by Fish Farmers 

 

* * * * *  
 

29.01 BULLFROG SEASON/LIMIT RESTRICTION 

06-88 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take bullfrogs other than from noon April 15-Dec. 31.  

It also is unlawful for any person to take more than 18 bullfrogs in one day or to possess 

more than 36 bullfrogs.  The daily limit of bullfrogs means bullfrogs taken in a 24-hour 

period from noon to noon. 

EXCEPTION: 

Holders of Fish farmer permits, their regular employees and persons in possession with 

written permission from the permittee (Code 29.04). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

29.02 PROHIBITED METHODS FOR TAKING BULLFROGS 

08-80 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take bullfrogs other than by hands, hand nets, hook 

and line, gig, spear or long bow and arrow. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Codes 29.04; 35.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

29.03 SALE OF BULLFROGS PROHIBITED 

07-87 It is unlawful to sell, buy, or offer for sale bullfrogs taken in Arkansas. 

EXCEPTION: 

Outside the established bullfrog season, fish farmers holding a valid bullfrog permit (Code 

29.04) shall be limited to the taking of bullfrogs only on those specific ponds, 

impoundments, and drainages where valid fish-farming operations are occurring. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

29.04 LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR SALE OF BULLFROGS BY FISH FARMERS 

08-80 It is unlawful for fish farmers or their employees to sell or offer to sell bullfrogs without 

a bullfrog permit, or fail to supply an invoice with each sale or shipment indicating the 

date, bullfrog permit number and number of bullfrogs sold or shipped. 

PENALTY:  Class 1  
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CHAPTER 30.00 COMMERICAL FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

30.01 Commercial Fisherman’s Permit and Reporting Requirements 

30.02 Commercial Fishing by Non-Residents Prohibited 

30.03 Commercial Tackle License Requirements 

30.04 Commercial Tackle Tag Requirements 

30.05 Illegal Commercial Tackle Prohibited 

30.06 Net Lead or Wing Length Requirements 

30.07 Net Lead or Wing Proximity Requirements 

30.08 Blocking Streams with Nets Prohibited 

30.09 Seining at Night Prohibited 

30.10 Possession of Game Fish by Commercial Fishermen Prohibited 

30.11 Undersized Commercial Fish Prohibited 

30.12 Slat Type Fish Trap and Fiddler Size Hoop Net Restrictions 

30.13 Possession and Use of Fiddler Size Hoop Nets and Slat Type Fish Traps Restricted to Certain 

Public Waters 

30.14 Combining Commercial Fishing and Sport Fishing Prohibited 

30.15 Commercial Fishing Season Restrictions 

30.16 Commercial Fisherman Reporting Requirements 

30.17 Resident Roe Taker/Seller Permit Requirements 

30.18 Resident Roe Buyer/Exporter and Non-Resident Roe Buyer/Exporter Permit Requirements 

30.19 Roe Buyer/Exporter Reporting Requirements 

30.20 Paddlefish and Sturgeon Possession Restrictions on White River, Arkansas River and Border 

Waters 

30.21 Cutting or Mutilation of Paddlefish and Sturgeon Prohibited 

30.22 Harvest Restriction of Catfish and Sturgeon in Mississippi River 

30.23 Paddlefish and Sturgeon Harvest Restrictions 

30.24 Restricted Commercial Fishing in Arkansas River Navigation System 

30.25 Commercial Fishing Restrictions in Certain Waters 

 

* * * * *  
 

30.01 
COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN’S PERMIT AND REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS 

09-07 It is unlawful to purchase commercial tackle tags or to operate commercial tackle, or sell 

or attempt to sell wild-caught commercial aquatic wildlife without a current commercial 

fisherman’s permit and sportfishing license.  A bill of sale or receipt of transfer with a 

commercial fisherman’s permit number must accompany all sales to fish markets, 

processors or retailers of fish or fish parts in each transaction. Bills of sale must be 

retained by the purchaser for a period of 12 months and made available for inspection by 

the Commission. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Applies only to the sale of commercial fish or fish parts from a commercial 

fisherman to a fish market, processor or retailer. 

(2) Youths or individuals 65 years of age or older are required to purchase a 

Junior/Senior commercial fishing permit if they plan to sell commercial species of 

fish. 

(3) A person with a commercial fisherman helper’s permit in his immediate possession 

may operate the properly tagged tackle of a licensed commercial fisherman. The 

holder of a commercial fishermen’s permit and sportfishing license shall be fully 
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responsible for supervising the actions of the person using the commercial 

fisherman helper’s permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.02 COMMERCIAL FISHING BY NON-RESIDENTS PROHIBITED 

08-05 It is unlawful for nonresidents to assist or participate in commercial harvest operations or 

to possess commercial fish, mussels, crayfish, aquatic turtles or commercial tackle 

associated with commercial harvest on Arkansas waters. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Addenda H1.01-03. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.03 COMMERCIAL TACKLE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

08-03 It is unlawful to fail to obtain the appropriate commercial tackle license for each gill net, 

trammel net, fish seine, hoop net, slat trap, fiddler net, snag line, trotline, limbline, throw 

line, set hook, or turtle tackle (hoop nets and box type traps) used in Arkansas waters. 

Commercial fishermen may not use commercial tackle for sport-fishing in waters open to 

commercial fishing. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Fish caught with trotlines, limblines, throw lines and set hooks while sport-fishing 

may be kept for personal use only.  

(2) In compliance with Code 35.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.04 COMMERCIAL TACKLE TAG REQUIREMENTS 

06-87 Metal tags issued with commercial tackle licenses must be attached to the tackle as 

specified: 
(A) Gill net, trammel net and fish seine tags must be attached to one end of the float 

line.  If over 100 yards, an additional tag is required for each additional 100 yards 
or fractional part. 

(B) Hoop net and fiddler net tags must be attached to first hoop at the opening of the 
net. 

(C) Slat trap tags must be attached to the first rib nearest the front opening of each trap. 
(D) Trotline, snagline, throw line, limbline and set hook tags (same tag used for each of 

these tackles) must be attached to each line at the bank end.  If over 100 feet, an 
additional tag is required for each additional 100 feet or fractional part. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.05 ILLEGAL COMMERCIAL TACKLE PROHIBITED 

 It is unlawful to use any tackle for commercial purposes other than as specified below:  

properly licensed drag seines; hoop nets, with or without wings or leads; where 

permitted, fiddler nets with or without wings or leads;  where permitted, slat traps; 

trammel nets; gill nets; limb lines; set lines; trotlines; and, snag lines in waters open to 

commercial fishing. 
(A) Hoop nets, leads, heart and leads or wings minimum square bar mesh size -- 2½ 

inches when wet and with thread not less than 15 gauge. 
(B) Fiddler nets (where permitted by Code 30.13) minimum square bar mesh size one 

and 1½ inches when wet.  Thread size not less than 15 gauge.  Wings or leads 
prohibited. 

(C) Commercial fish seines, minimum square bar mesh size -- 3½ inches. 
(D) Commercial gill and trammel nets, minimum square bar mesh size -- 3½ inches. 
(E) Trotlines and snaglines must be run daily and catch removed. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Code 35.01; 35.04. 

(2) For purposes of taking paddlefish in the Arkansas River above Dam 2 during the 

paddlefish season, it is unlawful to fish or possess any nets other than 3½-inch 

mesh or 6-inch or larger mesh in the same waters while fishing for paddlefish. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 

30.06 NET LEAD OR WING LENGTH REQUIREMENTS 

06-85 It is unlawful to use any lead or wing of any type connection with hoop, barrel or pond 

nets in excess of 100 yards. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.07 NET LEAD OR WING PROXIMITY REQUIREMENTS 

06-85 It is unlawful for any lead or wing of any type to be set within 100 yards of another lead 

or wing. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.08 BLOCKING STREAMS WITH NETS PROHIBITED 

03-87 It is unlawful to block horizontally from water's edge to water's edge more than half of 

the width of any stream with nets, leads, wings or seines. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.09 SEINING AT NIGHT PROHIBITED 

06-85 It is unlawful to use fish seines at night in waters of the state. 

EXCEPTION: 

Between the main levees of the Mississippi River. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.10 POSSESSION OF GAME FISH BY COMMERCIAL FISHERMEN PROHIBITED 

09-88 It is unlawful for commercial fishermen to possess game fish while engaged in 

commercial fishing or while possessing commercial tackle or commercial fish. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Catfish 16 inches or longer. 

(2) Alligator gar. 

(3) In compliance with Codes 30.11; 30.14; 35.01. 

(4) Bream for bait. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 

30.11 UNDERSIZED COMMERCIAL FISH PROHIBITED 

01-09 It is unlawful for commercial fishermen to possess catfish or buffalo less than 16 inches 

or paddlefish and sturgeon of any size taken from waters of the state. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Only 12-inch or larger blue and channel catfish may be taken in waters specified in 

Code 30.13. 

(2) Holders of a current resident roe taker/seller permit or resident roe buyer/exporter 

permit in compliance with Codes 30.17-18 may possess paddlefish 37 inches or 

longer in Dardanelle and Ozark lakes of the Arkansas River; 36 inches or longer in 

the open portion of the Arkansas River below Dardanelle Lock and Dam, 

downstream to the Yancopin railroad bridge on the Arkansas River and downstream 

to Norrell Lock and Dam on the Arkansas Navigation Canal;32 inches or longer in 

the open portion of the White River; and, 34 inches or longer for all other waters 
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open to paddlefish harvest or sturgeon when in season.  Paddlefish shall be 

measured from the front of the eye to the fork of the tail with the fish laid flat on a 

rule.  Catfish and sturgeon harvest in the Mississippi River must be in compliance 

with Code 30.22. 

(3) Flathead catfish must be 20 inches or longer on the Ouachita River from Sandy 

Beach Access in Ouachita County to the confluence of the Caddo River. 

(4) Sturgeon harvested from the waters legal for harvest must be at least 21 inches from 

the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail. 

(5) Sixteen-inch size limit on blue catfish taken by commercial gear in the Arkansas 

River from the Arkansas Highway 7 bridge in Yell County to the Oklahoma state 

line. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.12 SLAT TYPE FISH TRAP AND FIDDLER SIZE HOOP NET RESTRICTIONS 

08-93 It is unlawful to use any slat type fish trap or fiddler size net in public waters listed in 

Code 30.13 other than as specified below: 
(A) Maximum slat trap length -- 6 feet. 
(B) Maximum round slat trap diameter -- 24 inches. 
(C) Maximum square trap width and height -- 24 inches. 
(D) Minimum of 7½-inch (width) by 3½-inch (length) unobstructed slots evenly spaced 

around perimeter of the rear portion of catch area. Slat material must be wood or 
plastic. 

(E) Fiddler net mesh of any nonmetallic thread or filament material of nylon or cotton 
with minimum square bar mesh size 1½-inches with thread size not less than 15 
gauge and wings or leads are prohibited. 

(F) In compliance with Code 30.04. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.13 
POSSESSION AND USE OF FIDDLER SIZE HOOP NETS AND SLAT TYPE 

FISH TRAPS RESTRICTED TO CERTAIN PUBLIC WATERS 

01-09 It is unlawful to use or possess fiddler size hoop nets or slat type fish traps in any waters 

of the state other than those specified below: 
(A) Arkansas River, including all impoundments, from the mouth of the Mississippi 

River to Arkansas/Oklahoma state line. 
(B) L'Anguille River from the mouth of the St. Francis River to the point of origin. 
(C) Little River from its mouth to the Corps of Engineers boat ramp on the west side of 

Little River below Millwood Dam. 
(D) All waters of the Mississippi River bounding Arkansas. 
(E) Red River from the Louisiana state line to the Oklahoma state line. 
(F) St. Francis River from the mouth at the Mississippi River to the Missouri state line 

in Clay County. 
(G) Old Town Lake, Phillips County. 
(H) Only slat traps may be used in the White River from the Interstate 40 bridge to its 

mouth.  Fiddler size hoop nets are prohibited in the White River from Interstate 40 
bridge to its mouth; and all lakes, bays or other bodies of water connected to White 
River as specified, whether or not accessible by boat from the main channel. 

(I) All lakes, bays or other bodies of water, other than tributary streams, connected to 
waters specified, when accessible by boat from the main channel. 

(J) Bay Ditch, (Cross, Poinsett and Craighead counties) from its mouth upstream to 
U.S. Highway 63 in Craighead County. 

(K) St. Francis Floodway Diversion Ditch from its mouth upstream to U.S. Highway 63 
in Poinsett County. 
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(L) Cypress Bayou (Whiskey Chute) in Phillips County (slat traps only). 
(M) Sulphur River from the mouth of the Red River to the Texas state line. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Fiddler size hoop nets prohibited in the Arkansas River from the Arkansas Highway 

7 bridge in Yell County to the Arkansas/Oklahoma state line; and in Old Town 

Lake, Phillips County. 

(2) Slat traps may be fished from noon Sept. 30-noon June 1 in Millwood Lake and 

year-round in Little River above Millwood Lake to the Oklahoma state line. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.14 COMBINING COMMERCIAL FISHING AND SPORT FISHING PROHIBITED 

06-85 It is unlawful for a commercial fisherman to sport-fish in the same waters where he is 

engaged in commercial fishing. 

EXCEPTION: 

When fishing slat traps only. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.15 COMMERCIAL FISHING SEASON RESTRICTIONS 

08-06 (A) The following waters are open year-round to legal commercial tackle as 

defined in Code 30.05: 

ARKANSAS RIVER from its mouth to the Arkansas/Oklahoma state line including 

that part of the Arkansas River from the Ozark Dam to the Arkansas/Oklahoma state 

line, bounded on the north by the Union Pacific Railroad and on the south by Arkansas 

Highway 22 in compliance with Codes 30.24-25; 

ARKANSAS WATERS between the main levees of the Mississippi River.  All lakes, 

bays or other bodies of water, other than tributary streams, connected to waters as 

specified above, when accessible by boat, from the main channel except as limited by 

Addendum Chapter H1.00; 

BLACK RIVER from its mouth to the Missouri state line; 

CACHE RIVER and lakes accessible by boat from the river; 

FOURCHE La FAVE RIVER from its mouth to the Arkansas Highway 7 bridge in 

Perry County; 

LITTLE RIVER from its mouth in Hempstead and Little River counties upstream to 

the Corps of Engineers boat ramp on west bank of river below Millwood Lake Dam; 

OUACHITA RIVER from the Louisiana state line to the confluence of the Caddo 

River; 

PETIT JEAN RIVER from its mouth to the Arkansas Highway 10 bridge in Yell 

County; 

RED RIVER in Hempstead, Lafayette, Little River and Miller counties; 

ST. FRANCIS RIVER upstream to the mouth of the Left Hand Chute of Little River 

in Poinsett County; 

SALINE RIVER from its confluence with the Ouachita River upstream to the Stillion 

railroad bridge in Ashley and Bradley Counties; 

SULPHUR RIVER from its mouth to the Texas state line; 

WHITE RIVER upstream from its mouth to 100 yards below Dam No. 1 at Batesville 

in Independence County; 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Emergency Closures listed in Chapter 38.00. 

(2) Flathead catfish, bowfin, drum, and gar may not be taken or possessed by 

commercial fishermen on the Ouachita River from Smackover Creek to the 

northern boundary of Felsenthal NWR. 
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(3) Blue catfish, flathead catfish, bowfin, drum and gar may not be taken or possessed 

by commercial fishermen on the Ouachita River from the northern boundary of 

Felsenthal NWR to the Louisiana state line, all waters within Felsenthal NWR, and 

from the Saline River from its mouth within Felsenthal NWR upstream to the 

Stillion railroad bridge. 

(4) Island 40 Chute in Crittenden County is closed to commercial fishing except noon, 

Nov. 1-noon, March 30, or when accessible by boat from the Mississippi River. 

(5) The section of the Ouachita River between the confluence of the Little Missouri 

River and the confluence of the Caddo River shall be closed to all commercial 

fishing from Jan. 1-March 31. 

 
(B) The following waters are closed year-round to commercial fishing: 

Lake Erling, including all tributaries upstream from 100 yards below Lake Erling 

Dam to Arkansas Highway 313 in Lafayette County; All lakes owned and/or 

operated by Arkansas State Parks, USDA Forest Service, AGFC (excluding all 

natural lakes on Commission WMAs within counties not designated as closed); 

Columbia County Lake in Columbia County; Dorcheat Bayou from its headwaters in 

Nevada County to the Arkansas/Louisiana state line; Horseshoe Lake in Crittenden 

County; Saline River above the Arkansas Highway 278 in Bradley County; Lake 

Wallace in Drew and Chicot counties; Lake Chicot (from Connerly Bayou Dam to 

the Ditch Bayou Dam, inclusive) in Chicot County; Hensley Lake in Jefferson 

County; Lake Maumelle in Pulaski County; White Oak Bay (Ozark Lake/Arkansas 

River); Morgan Point Bendway Lake in Desha County; Little Missouri River and all 

lakes in the Hot Springs Village Area of Saline County. 

EXCEPTION: 

Hoop nets shall not be used on Grand Lake (Chicot County). 

 
(C) The following counties or other parts are open year-round to legal commercial 

fishing unless noted closed in Section B or other Chapter 30 Commission Codes. 
Legal gill and trammel nets may be fished in the following counties only from 
noon, Sept. 30 to noon, May 1: 

Arkansas (Emergency Closure Code 38.01), Ashley (Emergency Closure Codes 

38.04-06), Bradley (Emergency Closure Codes 38.03; 38.06), Calhoun (Emergency 

Closure Codes 38.03-04; 38.06), Chicot, Clay, Columbia (Dorcheat Bayou closed in 

(B) above; also see Emergency Closure Code 38.02), Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, 

Dallas, Desha, Drew (see Emergency Closure Codes 38.04-05), Greene, Hempstead, 

Independence, Jackson, Jefferson (see Emergency Closure Code 38.01), Lafayette, 

Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke (see Emergency Closure Code 38.01), 

Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Nevada (Dorcheat Bayou closed in (B) above), 

Ouachita, Phillips, Poinsett, Prairie (see Emergency Closure Code 38.01), Pulaski 

(see Emergency Closure Code 38.01), Randolph, St. Francis, White, Woodruff and 

Union (see Emergency Closure Code 38.06) counties. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) For waters in the above counties located within the White River NWR below 

Arkansas Highway 1, gill and trammel net season is from noon, Sept. 30-noon, 

Nov. 30 and from noon, March 1-noon, Sept. 30 when accessible by boat from the 

White River and the White River is above 23.5 feet on the St. Charles gauge. All 

commercial fishermen must obtain a special use permit from the White River NWR 

manager prior to fishing refuge waters. 
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(2) Saline River and backwaters from Stillion railroad bridge in Ashley and Bradley 

Counties to the Arkansas Highway 278 bridge in Bradley County are closed all year 

to gill and trammel nets. 

(3) Open waters in Independence County include White River, Black River and oxbow 

lakes that are north of Arkansas Highway 14 and east of Arkansas Highway 122 

and Arkansas Highway 25.  Landowner permission will be required for oxbow 

lakes that are not accessible from the Black River. 

 
(D) The following counties are closed year-round to commercial fishing unless open in 

Section A or other 3 Commission Codes:  Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clark, 
Cleburne, Cleveland, Conway, Crawford, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, 
Grant, Hot Spring, Howard, Izard, Logan, Johnson, Madison, Marion, 
Montgomery, Newton, Perry, Pike, Polk, Pope, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, 
Sevier, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington and Yell counties. When a river or 
stream forms the boundary between opened and closed counties, that boundary 
segment shall be open to tackle legal in the open county, unless closed in other 
Codes. 

EXCEPTION: 

That part of Saline River south of Arkansas Highway 371 (old Arkansas Highway 24) in 

Howard and Sevier counties is open year around to hoop nets. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.16 COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 It is unlawful for a commercial fisherman to fail to report annually, on forms supplied by 

the Commission, his or her harvest of alligator gar or other such species for which 

harvest information may be required. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

30.17 RESIDENT ROE TAKER/SELLER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

12-01, 09-07 It is unlawful to take, sell or possess paddlefish or sturgeon, or their parts, including eggs 

(roe), without a current resident roe taker/seller permit. A commercial fishing license is 

required to purchase a resident roe taker/seller permit. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) A person with a resident roe taker/helper permit may harvest or assist in the harvest 

of paddlefish or sturgeon when in the immediate presence of a permitted toe 

taker/seller. The holder of a roe taker/seller or roe buyer/exporter permit shall be 

responsible for supervising the actions of the person using the roe taker/helper’s 

permit. 

(2) Sportfishermen in compliance with Code 25.02. 

(3) Permitted fish farmers in compliance with Code 35.10. 

(4) Paddlefish and sturgeon meat may be sold to individuals only for personal use as 

long as a bill of sale containing the name and permit number of the authorized 

harvester, species, total pounds of meat received, and the name of the purchaser 

accompanies the meat.  

(5) Paddlefish/sturgeon meat and/or roe can be transported by an authorized 

representative of a legally permitted resident roe taker/seller if accompanied by a 

bill of lading or bill of sale indicating the name and permit number of the 

authorizing resident taker/seller and including the species, number of pounds of roe 

or meat per species, and if being sold, the name of the purchaser.  A true bill of 

lading or bill of sale must accompany the shipment to the final destination. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
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30.18 
RESIDENT ROE BUYER/EXPORTER AND NON-RESIDENT ROE 

BUYER/EXPORTER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

12-01, 09-06 It is unlawful to buy or export across the state line paddlefish or sturgeon, or their parts, 

including eggs (roe), without a current resident roe buyer/exporter permit or non-resident 

buyer/exporter permit, as applicable.  Licensed commercial fishermen who hold current 

resident roe buyer/exporter permit may also take paddlefish and sturgeon in compliance 

with applicable season, size and tackle regulations. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Code 25.02. 

(2) Permitted fish farmers in compliance with Code 35.10. 

(3) Paddlefish and sturgeon meat may be purchased only from permitted roe 

taker/sellers and roe buyer/exporters in compliance with Code 30.01. 

(4) Paddlefish/sturgeon meat and/or roe can be transported by an authorized 

representative of a legally permitted resident buyer/exporter if accompanied by a 

bill of lading or bill of sale, indicating the name and permit number of the 

authorizing resident buyer/exporter and including the species, number of pounds of 

roe or meat per species, and if being sold, the name of the purchaser. A true bill of 

lading or bill of sale must accompany the shipment to the final destination. 

(5) Paddlefish, sturgeon or their meat (excluding eggs or roe) may be purchased for 

personal use without purchasing either a resident/non-resident roe buyer/exporter 

permit in compliance with this code. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

30.19 ROE BUYER/EXPORTER REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

12-01 Resident roe buyers/exporters or non-resident roe buyers/exporters must submit monthly, 

on or before the 16th of each month, reports of roe-buying transactions for the preceding 

month on forms provided by the Commission. Resident roe buyers/exporters also must 

report their take of roe. Failure to maintain accurate records will result in permit 

revocation and no renewal. These forms shall be completed at the time of purchase and 

available for inspection by Commission personnel at any reasonable time. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

30.20 
PADDLEFISH AND STURGEON POSSESSION RESTRICTIONS ON WHITE 

RIVER, ARKANSAS RIVER AND BORDER WATERS 

11-08 It is unlawful to commercially take, attempt to take, or possess paddlefish or sturgeon, or 

their parts including eggs (roe), from: 
(A) That part of the White River, immediately above the Newport Access and 

proceeding upstream to the boat ramp at Jacksonport State Park, and from the 
confluence of Black River upstream to Dam 1 at Batesville. 

(B) The following border waters with Louisiana:  Red River in Hempstead, Lafayette, 
Little River, and Miller counties; Ouachita River from the Louisiana state line to 
100 yards below Felsenthal Lock and Dam; Bayou Bartholomew from the 
Louisiana state line to its source in Jefferson County; Bodcau Bayou from the 
Louisiana state line to the base of Lake Erling Dam; Boeuf River from the 
Louisiana state line to its source in Chicot County; and Bayou Macon from the 
Louisiana state line to its source in Desha County. 

(C) The portion of the Arkansas River extending from Trimble Lock and Dam upstream 
to the Arkansas/Oklahoma state line except for during permitted special seasons 
determined by the Commission. 

 

 



 

112 

 

EXCEPTION: 

Paddlefish or their eggs may be possessed, but not harvested, on the White River from 

Newport Access upstream to the boat ramp at Jacksonport State Park. 

PENALTY:  Class 4 
 

30.21 
CUTTING OR MUTILATION OF PADDLEFISH AND STURGEON 

PROHIBITED 

10-02, 08-10 It is unlawful to possess a cut or mutilated paddlefish or sturgeon while on the water 

unless the eggs have been removed and at least 2 inches of one ovary remains attached to 

each fish.  Mutilation includes tearing or disfiguring of paddlefish in any way near the 

vent area.  A 12-gauge needle may be used to determine the presence of eggs.  Eggs must 

be kept in separate containers, one fish per container. 

EXCEPTION: 

Fish may be blocked out but the carcass must be at least the legal minimum length limit for 

the water being fished. 

PENALTY:  Class 4 

 

30.22 
HARVEST RESTRICTION OF CATFISH AND STURGEON IN THE 

MISSISSIPPI RIVER 

08-00, 08-05 It is unlawful to commercially take, attempt to take, or possess catfish longer than 34 

inches from the Mississippi River along its common border of Tennessee, or any 

sturgeon from the Mississippi River, including the Arkansas River to Dam 2, St. Francis 

River to the Huxtable Pumping Station and the White River to Montgomery Point Lock 

and Dam. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 

30.23 PADDLEFISH AND STURGEON HARVEST RESTRICTIONS 

12-01, 11-08 It is unlawful to take, attempt to take, or possess paddlefish or sturgeon, or their parts, 

including eggs (roe), from waters of the state from midnight, April 10-sunrise, Nov. 20. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Permitted resident roe buyers/exporters and permitted non-resident roe buyers may 

possess processed roe only with proper reports of transactions described in Code 

30.19. 

(2) In compliance with Code 25.02. 

(3) Permitted fish farmers in compliance with Code 35.10. 

(4) Sturgeon may be taken midnight Nov. 15–sunrise, May 1. 

(5) Dardanelle and Ozark pools of Arkansas River are closed to the harvest and 

possession of paddlefish, sturgeon, or their parts, including eggs (roe) from 

midnight, March 31-sunrise, Dec.1. 

PENALTY:  Class 4 
 

30.24 
RESTRICTED COMMERCIAL FISHING IN ARKANSAS RIVER 

NAVIGATION SYSTEM 

09-07 It is unlawful to fish with gill nets, trammel nets, trotlines, snaglines and hoop nets in 

waters between arrival point signs and any lock and dam. 

EXCEPTION: 

Hoop nets may be fished below Dam 2 only when fished from the launching ramp below 

the dam on the Arkansas County side to the mid-point of the river, downstream to the boat 

ramp on the Desha County side and the entire river downstream to Morgan Cut-Off. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 



 

113 

 

 

30.25 COMMERCIAL FISHING RESTRICTIONS IN CERTAIN WATERS 

08-01, 08-10 (A) Corning Lake or Long Lake in Clay County: trotlines, throw line, 

limblines or snag lines are prohibited. 
(B) Lake Dardanelle: Commercial tackle of any type prohibited from noon, March 1-

noon, Nov. 30 in the waters of Dardanelle Lake north of the Missouri Pacific 
Railroad in Pope, Johnson and Franklin counties, Dardanelle Bay in Yell County, 
and south of signs posted on Shoal Bay, Cane Creek Bay, Six Mile Creek at O-
Kane Island Access, and south of Arkansas Highway 22 in Delaware Bay in Logan 
County. 

(C) Lake Dardanelle: Gill and trammel nets must be anchored so they are not within 3 
feet of the water surface except noon, Dec. 1-noon, April 1.  

(D) Steel Bend – Old River Lake (Pulaski County):  From noon, Oct. 1-noon, 
March 1, only legal size gill and trammel nets may be used. Participants must 
register with the district fisheries biologist and provide monthly landing records. 

(E) Big Lake National Wildlife Refuge:  March 1-Oct. 31 with 3 inch or larger 
square bar mesh gill and trammel nets. 

(F) Lake Millwood with legal gill and trammel nets noon, Sept. 30–noon, May 1, and 
slat traps other than noon, Sept. 30-noon, June 1. Lake Millwood is open year-
round to other legal commercial fishing. 

(G) Nimrod Lake and Blue Mountain Lake:  Other than noon, Oct. 1-noon, March 
1.  All common carp caught must be removed from these lakes. Commercial 
fishermen must register prior to fishing with the local district fisheries biologist and 
must submit monthly catch records to the local district fisheries biologist by the 15th 
of the following month.  Only legal-sized gill and trammel nets or larger. 

(H) Entergy Nuclear Power Plant:  No commercial fishing in the discharge bay Nov. 
1-March 1. 

(I) Cadron Creek and Point Remove Creek:  Legal commercial tackle during the 
commercial fishing season noon, Sept. 30-noon, May 1 on Cadron Creek -- from its 
mouth to Arkansas Highway 287 on its east fork in Faulkner County, North Cadron 
Creek -- from its mouth to Arkansas Highway 285 in Faulkner County; Point 
Remove Creek -- from its mouth up the east fork to Arkansas Highway 95 and the 
Kissire Bridge on the west fork in Conway County. 

(J) Sheffield Nelson Dagmar WMA: Open to commercial fishing noon, Jan. 1 until 
the last day of February.  

(K) First Old River Lake (Miller County): Open noon, Nov. 1 until noon the last 
day of February, with legal gill and trammel nets. Commercial fishermen must 
obtain, and have in their possession while fishing, a commercial permit from the 
district biologist at the Hope Regional Office and report their catch to the Hope 
Regional Office by March 15. 

(L) Grand Lake (Chicot County): Commercial fishing with slat traps noon, Nov. 1-
noon, March 1.  

(M) Ouachita River between the confluences of the Little Missouri River and the 
confluence of the Caddo River:  Daily possession limit is 10 catfish (combination 
of channel, blue, flathead) while using commercial tackle.  Nets must be run daily 
and catch removed (Code 30.05). 

(N) Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc Lake (Hempstead County): Open noon, Feb. 1 
until noon the last day of February, with legal gill and trammel nets.  Commercial 
fishermen must obtain, and have in their possession while fishing, a commercial 
permit from the district biologist at the Hope Regional Office and report their catch 
to the Hope Regional Office by March 15. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 31.00 - FRESH-WATER MUSSEL REGULATIONS 

 

31.01 Mussel Shell Taker/Seller and Shell Buyer License and Reporting Requirements 

31.02 Mussel Shell Size Restrictions 

31.03 Mussel Taker Tackle Restrictions 

31.04 Non-Resident Mussel Buyer Requirements 

31.05 Harvest of Mussels Restricted to Daylight Hours Only 

31.06 Divers Flag Requirement 

31.07 Mussel Harvest Restrictions 

31.08 Mussel Sanctuary Zone 

 

* * * * *  
 

31.01 
MUSSEL SHELL TAKER/SELLER AND SHELL BUYER LICENSE AND 

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

08-95 It is unlawful to take, attempt to take, buy, sell, or offer for sale freshwater mussels for 

commercial purposes without a current resident shell taker/seller's license, a resident 

shell buyer's license or a non-resident shell buyer's license.  A person with a shell taker's 

helper permit may harvest or assist only in the immediate presence of a licensed 

shelltaker.  Licensed resident or non-resident shell buyers may purchase up to four shell 

buyer's agent permits which may be transferred between employees of the licensed shell 

buyer. Only residents can hold an agent permit, and agents can purchase only for their 

licensed buyer.  For the purposes of this chapter, “resident” means any person who has 

established a bona fide residence in Arkansas for at least 12 months and declares 

themselves a citizen of Arkansas. 

BUYERS: Quarterly reports of mussel-buying transactions must be submitted by shell buyers 

on or before the 1st of January, April, July and October on forms provided by the Commission. 

SELLERS: Shell Taker/Seller’s License holders shall furnish the Commission the number of 

pounds of each species of mussels taken in Arkansas and sold out of state on or before Feb. 1 on 

forms provided by the Commission. 

Failure to maintain accurate reports will result in license revocation and no renewal.  These 

records shall be maintained monthly and made available for inspection by authorized 

Commission personnel at any reasonable time. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

31.02 MUSSEL SHELL SIZE RESTRICTIONS 

08-02 It is unlawful to take, attempt to take, sell, or offer for sale mussels or mussel shells of 

sizes less than minimum diameter or length. 
(1) Mussel shells shall be measured by minimum diameter except for elongated shells. 
(2) The minimum diameter shall be 4 inches for washboards, 2¾ inches for mapleleaf 

and threeridge, 2¼ inches for hickorynut, threehorn wartyback and monkeyface, 
and 2½ inches for all other round shells.  Minimum length shall be 4 inches for 
bleufers, yellow sandshell, muckets, pistolgrip, spike, Ouachita kidneyshell and 
bankclimber. 

(3) All undersized shells, western fanshell, black sandshell and rabbitsfoot must be 
immediately returned to the water. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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31.03 MUSSEL TAKER TACKLE RESTRICTIONS 

08-96 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take mussels with any method other than hand-picking 

and crowfoot bars 20 feet or less in length, or to possess any tackle or equipment on the 

water for taking mussels except as specified. It also is unlawful for any person to operate 

more than one boat while taking or attempting to take mussels. It also is unlawful for any 

person to operate a boat under power equipped with more than four crowfoot bars for the 

taking of mussels for commercial purposes. 

EXCEPTION: 

Only hand-picking is allowed for mussel harvest in the St. Francis River, its tributaries and 

diversion ditches. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

31.04 NON-RESIDENT MUSSEL BUYER REQUIREMENTS 

08-89 It is unlawful for any non-resident to purchase mussels without a current non-resident 

shell buyer's permit (Code 30.02.). 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

31.05 HARVEST OF MUSSELS RESTRICTED TO DAYLIGHT HOURS  

05-91 It is unlawful to take, attempt to take, or kill mussels from sunset to sunrise. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

31.06 DIVERS FLAG REQUIREMENT 

05-91 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take mussels by diving without displaying a standard 

divers flag (no less than 12 inches wide and 12 inches long, red and white diagonal 

stripe), from the boat or other flotation device at least 12 inches above the surface of the 

water.  It also is unlawful for any person to take or attempt to take mussels by diving 

more than 300 feet from a divers flag. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

31.07 MUSSEL HARVEST RESTRICTIONS 

08-00 (A) Waters in the following counties (including Arkansas waters between the 

main levees of the Mississippi River) are open year-round to commercial 

musseling:  Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Cleveland, Clay, 

Columbia, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, 

Greene, Hempstead, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, 

Little River, Lonoke, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, 

Phillips, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Union, White and 

Woodruff, unless closed in (C) below. 
(B) The following counties are closed to commercial musseling:  Baxter, Benton, 

Boone, Carroll, Clark, Cleburne, Conway, Crawford, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, 
Garland, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Logan, Johnson, Madison, 
Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Perry, Pike, Polk, Pope, Saline, Scott, Searcy, 
Sebastian, Sevier, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington and Yell. 

EXCEPTION: 

In the counties closed above, mussels may be taken year-round for commercial purposes in 

the following river/stream segments: 

ARKANSAS RIVER from the Pulaski County line upstream to the Oklahoma 

state line (including all waters of Dardanelle Lake, Ozark Lake and Pool 13);  

PETIT JEAN RIVER from its mouth upstream (including Blue Mountain Lake) 

to Arkansas Highway 217;  
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FOURCHE LA FAVE RIVER from its mouth (including Nimrod Lake) 

upstream to the Arkansas Highway 27 bridge;  

CADRON CREEK from its mouth upstream to Arkansas Highway 287 on its east 

fork in Faulkner County;  

NORTH CADRON CREEK from its mouth upstream to Arkansas Highway 285 

in Faulkner County;  

POINT REMOVE CREEK from its mouth upstream to Kissire Bridge in 

Conway County;  

WHITE RIVER from the Jackson/Independence County line upstream to 100 

yards below Dam No. 1 at Batesville; 

STRAWBERRY RIVER from the Lawrence/Sharp County line upstream to the 

Arkansas Highway 58 bridge in Sharp County; and, all lakes, bays or other bodies 

of water, other than tributary streams, connected to waters specified above, when 

accessible by boat from the main channel. When a river or stream forms the 

boundary between open and closed counties, that boundary segment shall be open. 

(C) The following waters are closed to commercial musseling:  

Lake Erling including all tributaries upstream from 100 yards below Lake Erling 

Dam to Arkansas Highway 313 in Lafayette County;  

All lakes owned and/or operated by the Arkansas Department of Parks and 

Tourism, the USDA Forest Service, Commission-owned waters (excluding Grand 

Lake and all natural channel scar lakes on WMAs in open counties); 

Bayou Meto Bayou, in compliance with Code 38.01; 

Columbia County Lake in Columbia County; 

Horseshoe Lake in Crittenden County; 

Lake Wallace in Drew and Chicot County; 

Upper and Lower Lake Chicot (from Connerly Bayou Dam to the Ditch Bayou 

Dam) in Chicot County;  

Lake Maumelle in Pulaski County; 

Black River in Randolph County closed from 100 yards above Old Davidsonville 

State Park downstream to 100 yards below the park’s lower boundary, and 

All lakes in Hot Springs Village in Saline County. 

(D) NWRs may have further restrictions.  Check with the refuge manager. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

31.08 MUSSEL SANCTUARY ZONE 

09-97, 09-07 It is unlawful to take, attempt to take, or possess mussels in the following areas: 

Black River in Clay County from ¼ mile upstream to ¼ mile downstream of the U.S. Highway 

62 bridge; 

Ouachita River upstream from the U.S. Highway 79B bridge at Camden; 

Spring River upstream of the U.S. Highway 62 bridge at Imboden; 

St. Francis River in St. Francis County from I-40 bridge downstream to the Arkansas Highway 

50 bridge at Madison; 

St. Francis River from the mouth of the Tyronza River to the operational railroad bridge; 

White River in Monroe County from the mouth of Roc Roe Bayou 3½ miles downstream to the 

mouth of Big Creek; 

White River from Cooper Bend (river mile 232.3) in Jackson County for 2.3 miles downstream 

to Shaden Bend (river mile 230) in Woodruff County; and,  

Cache River from the mouth of Bayou DeView to the confluence with the White River. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 32.00 - BAITFISH REGULATIONS 

 

32.01 Commercial Baitfish Tackle License Requirements 

32.02 Fish Dealer License Requirements 

32.03 Exporting Baitfish from Public Waters Prohibited 

32.04 Baitfish Tackle Restrictions 

32.05 Taking Baitfish Immediately Below Dams Prohibited 

32.06 Taking Baitfish for Commercial Purposes in Certain Waters Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

32.01 COMMERCIAL BAITFISH TACKLE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

08-02 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take baitfish for sale from waters of the state without a 

tackle license and attaching a metal tag issued with license to tackle. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

32.02 FISH DEALER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

08-02 It is unlawful to offer for sale or sell live fish (including baitfish) without an Arkansas 

fish dealers license (resident or non-Resident) or an Arkansas fish farmers permit.  A 

license is required for each separate business location.  Game fish may not be taken from 

the wild and sold, in compliance with Code 26.20.  Residents of states charging a higher 

non-resident fee shall be charged an equivalent amount. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Licensed fishing guides are not required to purchase a fish dealer’s license when 

providing baitfish during the act of guiding. 

(2) Minnows may be sold at the permitted facility where grown in compliance with 

Code 35.01. 

(3) Marine and tropical aquatic wildlife commonly distributed in the aquarium trade 

may be sold without special permit, as long as they are held only in closed 

aquarium systems and not otherwise prohibited. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

32.03 EXPORTING BAITFISH FROM WATERS OF THE STATE PROHIBITED 

08-02 It is unlawful to export any baitfish taken from waters of the state. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

32.04 BAITFISH TACKLE RESTRICTIONS 

09-07 It is unlawful to use tackle for taking or attempting to take baitfish from waters of the 

state other than as specified below.  Only baitfish may be retained for bait, and all other 

species of fish must be immediately returned to the waters where taken.  The tackle 

allowed for taking baitfish is as follows: 
(A) Seines not in excess of 50 feet long and 4 feet in depth with square mesh of 1/4 

inch. 
(B) Square traps or lifts not exceeding 6 feet by 6 feet by 3 feet in depth, and round 

traps not exceeding 3 feet in diameter and 6 feet long with up to 1/2 inch wire or 
mesh and throat size of 2 inches square mesh. 

(C) Throw nets and casting nets with square mesh not larger than 1 inch, or shad trawl 
nets with square mesh not larger than 1 inch. 

(D) Plastic, glass or wire mesh minnow traps not in excess of 1 gallon capacity with 
throat size of not more than 1.5 inches. 
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(E) Hand-operated dip nets or lifts with up to 1 inch square bar mesh used to take legal 
baitfish for personal use while in the act of sport fishing day or night, and all other 
species of fish are immediately returned to the waters where taken. The use of any 
seine, lift, throw net or shad trawl net at night other than as specified is prohibited. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

32.05 TAKING BAITFISH IMMEDIATELY BELOW DAMS PROHIBITED 

11-08 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take baitfish within 100 yards below dams or similar 

constructions. 

EXCEPTION: 

Shad may be taken in compliance with Code 32.04. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

32.06 
TAKING BAITFISH FOR COMMERCIAL PURPOSES IN CERTAIN WATERS 

PROHIBITED 

08-02 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take baitfish for commercial purposes in:  The Caddo 

River and that portion of the Little Missouri River and its tributaries above Ozan Creek in 

Pike County; all waters north of U.S. Highway 70 in Howard County; and all waters in 

Benton, Carroll, Clark, Crawford, Franklin, Lawrence, Madison, Montgomery, Newton, 

Polk, Sebastian, Sevier and Washington counties. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 33.00 - ALLIGATOR FARMER REGULATIONS 

 

33.01 Alligator Farmer/Dealer Permit Requirements. 

33.02 Alligator Farmer/Dealer General Provisions 

33.03 Specifications and Facility Standards for Alligator Farms 

33.04 Harvest and Sale of Alligators 

 

* * * * *  
 

33.01 ALLIGATOR FARMER/DEALER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

02-91, 02-99 It is unlawful for an alligator farmer or dealer to possess, buy or sell alligators or any 

other crocodilian species, or any part, nest or eggs of an alligator or other crocodilian 

species without a valid alligator farmer/dealer permit.  Any person who has previously 

been convicted of any violation of the rules of the Commission relating to the legal 

taking of any alligator or other crocodilian species shall not be eligible to receive an 

alligator farmer/dealer permit for five years after the date of the conviction.  The 

Commission may issue an alligator farmer/dealer permit to applicants complying with the 

following requirements: 
(A) Submission of a completed application on a form provided by the Commission and 

a site plan of the facilities demonstrating compliance with the specifications and 
facility standards (Code 33.03).  Holding areas must be enclosed, providing no 
route of ingress or egress which could allow mixing of wild and captive stocks; 

(B) Satisfactory inspection of the proposed site by an enforcement officer of the 
Commission;  

(C) In compliance with all applicable U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U. S. Department 
of Agriculture and Arkansas Department of Health requirements for alligators; and, 

(D) Payment of the applicable permit fee. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

33.02 ALLIGATOR FARMER/DEALER GENERAL PROVISIONS 

02-99 It is unlawful to fail to comply with the provisions listed in Addendum O1.01 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 
 

33.03 SPECIFICATIONS AND FACILITY STANDARDS FOR ALLIGATOR FARMS 

02-99 It is unlawful to fail to comply with provisions listed in Addendum O1.02. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 

33.04 HARVEST AND SALE OF ALLIGATORS 

02-99 It is unlawful to fail to comply with provisions listed in Addendum O1.03. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 34.00 - AQUATIC TURTLE REGULATIONS 

 
34.01 Aquatic Turtle Permit Requirements 

34.02 Qualifications for Certain Aquatic Turtle Permits 

34.03 Non-Resident Aquatic Turtle Dealer Permit Requirements 

34.04 Commercial Aquatic Turtle Harvest Restrictions 

34.05 Aquatic Turtle Tackle Restrictions 

34.06 Aquatic Turtle Tackle Tagging 

34.07 Aquatic Turtle Harvest Transaction and Reporting Requirements 

34.08 Possession of Sport Fish by Aquatic Turtle Harvesters Prohibited 

34.09 Take or Possession of Alligator Snapping Turtles Prohibited 

34.10 Take of Chicken Turtles Prohibited 

34.11 Importation of Alligator Snapping Turtles and Chicken Turtles Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

34.01 AQUATIC TURTLE PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

09-05, 09-07 Non-residents are not permitted to harvest aquatic turtles.  It is unlawful for a resident to 

operate tackle, harvest, propagate, purchase or sell wild-caught aquatic turtles for 

commercial purposes without the following permits: 
(A) A commercial fisherman permit and sport fishing license, and either an aquatic 

turtle harvest permit or a junior aquatic turtle harvest permit (for resident youths) 
are required to harvest and sell wild aquatic turtles.  

(B) The bearer of an aquatic turtle harvest helper permit may assist in the harvest or 
operate the properly tagged tackle of a licensed aquatic turtle harvester or dealer. 

(C) A commercial fisherman permit and sport fishing license, and an aquatic turtle 
dealer permit are required to engage in the harvest, propagation, purchase, sale or 
export of wild-caught aquatic turtles. 

(D) An aquatic turtle farmer permit is required to engagee in the propagation, sale or 
export of propagated aquatic turtles.  This permit does not allow for the purchase, 
barter, trade, exchange or sale of wild-caught turtles. 

(E) An alligator snapping turtle breeder/dealer permit is required to possess, buy, sell or 
offer to sell alligator snapping turtles or their eggs. Alligator snapping turtles longer 
than 5 inches curved carapace length may not be sold, bartered, traded, or 
transferred without written approval of the Commission. An affidavit form provided 
by the Commission specifying the transaction type (transfer or sale), party type 
(individual or business), and number of turtles, shall be submitted to the 
Commission. 

All sales of wild-caught aquatic turtles shall follow all transaction and reporting requirements 

(Code 34.07) in this chapter. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Fish farmer permittees may harvest and sell turtles from their facilities with an 

aquatic turtle harvest permit. 

(2) Fish markets selling only dressed turtles for human consumption in Arkansas are 

not required to have an aquatic turtle dealer permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

34.02 QUALIFICATIONS FOR CERTAIN AQUATIC TURTLE PERMITS 

09-05/09-07 The following conditions shall be met to qualify for and maintain an aquatic turtle farmer 

permit, alligator snapping turtle breeder/dealer permit or aquatic turtle dealer permit (if 

turtles will be held more than 30 days). 
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(A) A site plan must be provided with the permit application, including legal and 
physical descriptions of all facilities, and a sketch map showing the location and 
approximate size of all ponds/impoundments used to hold or propagate aquatic 
turtles.  

(B) All sites shall be inspected and approved by Commission personnel prior to 
issuance of a permit. 

(C) Holding ponds/impoundments shall be fenced and maintained in such a manner as 
to prevent the egress of captives and ingress of wild stock. 

(D) Facilities shall be subject to random inspection by Commission personnel. 
(E) Permittees shall follow all transaction and reporting requirements for harvest of 

wild-caught turtles in compliance with Code 34.07. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

34.03 NON-RESIDENT AQUATIC TURTLE DEALER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

09-05, 09-07 It is unlawful for non-residents to purchase, sell, or offer to purchase or sell aquatic 

turtles in Arkansas without a non-resident Aquatic turtle dealer permit and shall follow 

all transaction and reporting requirements (Code 34.07). 

EXCEPTION: 

Non-residents may purchase aquatic turtles from holders of aquatic turtle harvest/dealer/farmer 

permits without a non-resident aquatic turtle dealer permit if turtles are being shipped directly 

out of Arkansas to the buyer, or if the buyer is picking up and transporting a purchase out of 

Arkansas. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

34.04 COMMERCIAL AQUATIC TURTLE HARVEST RESTRICTIONS 

08-90, 09-07 (A) It is unlawful to take or attempt to take aquatic turtle eggs from the wild. 

(B) It is unlawful to take or attempt to take aquatic turtles for commercial 

purposes by any means other than hoop nets or box type turtle traps. 

Hoop nets are only allowed in the following counties and/or bodies of 

water: 
Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot (Exception 2), Cleveland, Clay, 

Columbia (Exception 2), Craighead, Crittenden (Exception 2), Cross, Dallas, Desha, 

Drew (Exception 2), Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette 

(Exception 2), Lawrence (Exception 2), Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Miller, 

Mississippi, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Phillips, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, 

Randolph (Exception 2), St. Francis, Saline, Union, White and Woodruff counties; 

and the Arkansas River, from its mouth to the Arkansas/Oklahoma state line, 

including that part of the Arkansas River from the Ozark Dam to the 

Arkansas/Oklahoma state line, bounded on the north by the Union Pacific Railroad 

and on the south by Arkansas Highway 22 in compliance with Code 30.25.  

Arkansas waters between the main levees of the Mississippi River. All lakes, bays or 

other bodies of water, other than tributary streams, connected to waters as specified 

above, when accessible by boat, from the main channel except as limited by 

Addendum Chapter H1.00.  

When a river or stream forms the boundary between opened and closed counties, 

that boundary segment shall be open to tackle legal in the open county. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Bayou Meto Bayou in compliance with Code 38.01. 

(2) The following waters are closed to hoop net traps: 

Eleven-Point River (Randolph County);  

Spring River (Lawrence and Randolph counties); 
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Lake Erling, including all tributaries upstream from 100 yards below Lake Erling 

Dam to Arkansas Highway 313  (Lafayette County);  

All Commission-owned lakes (excluding all natural lakes on WMAs in counties 

listed above);  

Lake Columbia (Columbia County); 

Horseshoe Lake (Crittenden County);  

Lake Wallace (Drew and Chicot Counties); 

Upper and Lower Lake Chicot (Connerly Bayou to Ditch Bayou Dam inclusive) 

(Chicot County); 

and Grand Lake (Chicot County). 

(3) USDA Forest Service lakes, State Park lakes and lakes owned by municipalities or 

property-owner associations are closed to commercial turtle trapping, unless 

specifically opened. 

(4) Turtles caught with commercial fishing gear, in waters open to commercial fishing, 

may be kept by those in possession of an aquatic turtle harvest or aquatic turtle 

dealer permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

34.05 AQUATIC TURTLE TACKLE RESTRICTIONS 

11-08 It is unlawful to take or attempt to take aquatic turtles other than as specified below: 

(A) Hoop nets with ramp netting attached to the first hoop and throat opening restricted 
by parallel lines attached to the second hoop. Maximum throat opening 1 inch by 3 
feet (where throat lines attach to hoop).  Minimum mesh size 1½ inches square bar 
mesh.  Wings or leads may not be used.  Nets to be set with throat horizontal and in 
such a manner that a portion of the enclosure remains above water surface at all 
times. 

(B) Box type traps (basking traps) with an open top that is above the water surface.  All 
other trap surfaces must be fully closed and incapable of taking fish.  Box type 
turtle traps may not exceed 4x4x4 feet in dimension. 

(C) Turtle trappers must check and remove catch from all hoop nets at least once during 
each 24-hour period and from all box traps at least once every 72-hours. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Legal commercial fishing hoop nets (fingered throats) when appropriately tagged 

and commercially fished in waters open to their use. 

(2) Fish farmers when removing aquatic turtles from their permitted facilities. 

(3) Private pond owners when removing aquatic turtles from their ponds for non-

commercial purposes. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

34.06 AQUATIC TURTLE TACKLE TAGGING 

08-90, 09-05 It is unlawful to fail to attach the proper tag to each turtle trap net or box type trap as 

specified below: 
(A) Turtle net tags must be attached to the first hoop at the opening of the net. 
(B) Box-type trap tags must be attached to the side of the trap and be visible above the 

waterline. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Fish farmers when removing aquatic turtles from their permitted facilities. 

(2) Private pond owners when removing aquatic turtles from their ponds for non-

commercial purposes. 

PENALTY:   Class 1 
 

34.07 AQUATIC TURTLE TRANSACTION AND REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

09-05, 08-10 (A) It is unlawful for aquatic turtle harvest, junior aquatic turtle harvest, and 

aquatic turtle dealer permittees to fail to mail or deliver to the Commission 

on or before the 10th of each month a legibly completed and itemized 

aquatic turtle harvest form provided by the Commission for all wild-caught 

aquatic turtles harvested during the prior month.  A copy of this form shall 

be retained by the permittee for a period of 12 months and made available 

for inspection by any agent of the Commission. 
(B) Aquatic turtle harvest, aquatic turtle dealer, non-resident turtle dealer, aquatic turtle 

farmer, and alligator snapping turtle breeder/dealer permittees must comply with 
the following: 

(1) An invoice, bill of sale or true bill of lading must accompany all turtle 

sales shipped or transported in intrastate or interstate commerce to the 

final destination and must contain the following information: 

(a) Name, address, and telephone number of buyer and seller; 

(b) Permit number of seller, and, 

(c) Number and species of turtles in shipment. 

(2) Permittees may have turtles transported by their authorized 

representatives if accompanied with a true bill of lading or bill of sale as 

described above.  
(C) It is unlawful for alligator snapping turtle breeder/dealer permittees to fail to mail or 

deliver to the Commission by the 10th of each month a legibly completed, itemized 
transaction record of all alligator snapping turtles purchased, sold, bartered, traded, 
or transferred during the prior month transactions were made. This transaction 
record shall include the names, addresses and phone numbers of all persons 
involved in the sale, purchase, barter, trade or transfer of alligator snapping turtles. 
Transaction records shall be recorded on a form provided by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 1; Second offense shall result in the revocation of the permit. 
 

34.08 
POSSESSION OF SPORT FISH BY AQUATIC TURTLE HARVESTERS 

PROHIBITED 

08-90, 08-06 It is unlawful for permitted aquatic turtle harvesters to sport-fish or possess game fish in 

the same waters where the permittee is engaged in turtle trapping. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Rough fish caught in turtle traps may be retained for use as bait. 

(2) If hoop nets or box-type traps are baited with fish, only rough fish may be used. 

(3) Fish farmers on their permitted facilities. 

PENALTY:  Class 1; Second offense shall result in revocation of the aquatic turtle harvest 

permit or aquatic turtle dealer permit. 
 

34.09 
TAKING OR POSSESSION OF ALLIGATOR SNAPPING TURTLES 

PROHIBITED 

01-94, 09-05 It is unlawful to kill, take, attempt to take, or possess alligator snapping turtles, their eggs 

or other parts from the wild. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) A legally acquired alligator snapping turtle may be possessed for display and 

educational purposes by written authorization approved by the Commission. Such 

authorizations specifically do not allow for the propagation, sale, or exchange of 

these turtles in any form without written authorization from the Commission. 

(2) In compliance with Code 34.11. 

(3) Fish farmers for immediate relocation and release of alligator snapping turtles 

removed from their permitted facilities. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

34.10 TAKE OF CHICKEN TURTLES PROHIBITED 

09-05 It is unlawful to kill, take, or attempt to take chicken turtles, their eggs or other parts from 

the wild. 

EXCEPTION: 

Chicken turtles in legal possession as of Jan. 1, 2006 and their progeny thereafter in 

compliance with Codes 34.02; 34.04. 

PENALTY:  Class 3 
 

34.11 
IMPORTATION OF ALLIGATOR SNAPPING TURTLES AND CHICKEN 

TURTLES PROHIBITED 

02-98, 09-05 It is unlawful to import alligator snapping turtles and chicken turtles into Arkansas. 

PENALTY:  Class 3  
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CHAPTER 35.00 - FISH FARMER/DEALER REGULATIONS 

 

35.01 Fish Farmer Permit Requirements 

35.02 Fish Farmer Sales Records Requirements 

35.03 Fish Farmer Bill of Lading Requirements 

35.04  Fish Farmer Tackle Requirements 

35.05 Transportation or Sale of White Crappie Prohibited 

35.06 Rearing or Propagating Aquatic Wildlife in Confinement Restricted 

35.07 Fishing in Caged Fish Confinements Prohibited 

35.08 Operating Lakes as a Fish Farm Prohibited 

35.09 Possession, Rearing, Propagation or Sale of Restricted and Unlisted Aquaculture Species By 

Fish Farmers Prohibited 

35.10 Paddlefish and Sturgeon Roe Regulations 

35.11 Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia Virus (VHSV) Fish Importation Regulation 

35.12 Permit Required to Possess Silver Carp, Bighead Carp, Diploid Black Carp or European 

Rudd 

 

* * * * *  
 

35.01 FISH FARMER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

10-06 It is unlawful for fish farmers to possess, propagate or sell aquaculture species without a 

current fish farmer permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

35.02 FISH FARMER SALES RECORDS REQUIREMENTS 

01-09 It is unlawful for fish farmers to fail to maintain legible records including those required 

by Code 35.03, indicating sales and shipments and to reveal records to an enforcement 

officer for inspection upon request.  Records must be retained for a minimum of three 

years. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

35.03 FISH FARMER BILL OF LADING REQUIREMENTS 

08-04 It is unlawful for fish farmers to fail to furnish bill of lading or bill of sale as specified 

below. 
(A) A bill of sale or true bill of lading must be immediately supplied to each purchaser 

of fish indicating the species, number or weight of fish sold, name of the purchaser, 
and name and permit number of the fish farmer making transaction and accompany 
shipment to final destination. 

(B) The name and address of the consignor and consignee must be indicated on a true 
bill of lading for fish shipped or transported in intrastate and interstate commerce. 

(C) The original fish farmer's permit number must be indicated on each and every bill 
of sale, invoice, or bill of lading covering each fish transaction. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

35.04 FISH FARMER TACKLE REQUIREMENTS 

10-02 It is unlawful for fish farmers to use or transport illegal commercial tackle without first 

complying with Code 35.02. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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35.05 TRANSPORTATION OR SALE OF WHITE CRAPPIE PROHIBITED 

08-04 It is unlawful for fish farmers to transport, sell or deliver white crappie in excess of 6 

inches in length. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

35.06 
REARING OR PROPAGATING AQUATIC WILDLIFE IN CONFINEMENT 

RESTRICTED 

08-04 It is unlawful to rear or propagate aquatic wildlife in confinement in waters of the state 

without complying with Code 35.01 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

35.07 FISHING IN CAGED FISH CONFINEMENTS PROHIBITED 

08-04 It is unlawful to fish or otherwise disturb aquaculture species contained in fish 

confinements for production or rearing of aquaculture species. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

35.08 OPERATING LAKES AS A FISH FARM PROHIBITED 

08-00 It is unlawful to operate a lake as a fish farm without control structures to prevent the 

inflow of water from adjacent streams, creeks, bayous, or rivers and without first 

removing all wild fish present in compliance with a plan approved by the Commission. 

PENALTY: Class 1 
 

35.09 
POSSESSION, REARING, PROPAGATION OR SALE OF RESTRICTED AND 

UNLISTED AQUACULTURE SPECIES BY FISH FARMERS PROHIBITED 

08-04 It is unlawful for fish farmers to possess, rear, propagate or sell aquaculture species not 

listed on the Approved Aquaculture Species List (Addendum Chapter J1.00) without a 

restricted species possession permit or an unlisted aquaculture species permit from the 

Commission. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) The sale of native crayfish and turtle species that naturally colonize in culture 

facilities is allowed if not otherwise prohibited. 

(2) Marine and tropical aquatic wildlife commonly distributed in the aquarium trade 

may be sold without special permit, as long as they are held only in closed 

aquarium systems and not otherwise prohibited. 

(3) The rearing and sale of turtles as allowed under Chapter 34.00. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 
 

35.10 PADDLEFISH AND STURGEON ROE REGULATIONS 

12-01, 08-04 It is unlawful for a fish farmer to sell, offer to sell, or buy paddlefish, sturgeon or their 

parts, including eggs (roe), without a resident roe taker/seller permit, resident roe 

buyer/exporter permit, or a non-resident roe buyer permit in compliance with Code 

30.16.  Fish farmers in possession of a resident roe buyer/exporter permit, or a non-

resident roe buyer permit will be required to follow the reporting requirements as stated 

in Code 30.16. 

PENALTY:   Class 3 
 

35.11 
VIRAL HEMORRHAGIC SEPTICEMIA VIRUS (VHSV) FISH IMPORTATION 

REGULATION 

06-07, 10-07 It is unlawful to import, transport or otherwise receive into Arkansas live fish and/or 

fertilized eggs from any VHSV-positive state without a valid fish farm health inspection 

permit issued by the Commission and  in compliance with the provisions of the permit. 
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All persons wishing to ship live fish or fish eggs into Arkansas from VHSV-positive 

states must obtain the fish farm health inspection permit and a copy of the permit must 

accompany all shipments into the state, even if the fish are transported by a third party. 

Any person hauling live fish through Arkansas from VHSV-positive states are prohibited 

from discharging water from fish-hauling tanks in Arkansas.  All shipments of live fish 

or eggs coming into Arkansas must be accompanied by an invoice or bill of lading that 

clearly describes the origin(s) of all fish and/or eggs in the shipment (Addendum I1.01).  

PENALTY:  Class 3 

 
 

35.12 
PERMIT REQUIRED TO POSSESS SILVER CARP, BIGHEAD CARP, DIPLOID 

BLACK CARP OR EUROPEAN RUDD 

10-02 It is unlawful to possess live silver carp, bighead carp, diploid black carp or European 

rudd without a current restricted species possession permit. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 36.00 - PUT-AND-TAKE PAY LAKE REGULATIONS  

 

36.01 Put-and-Take Pay Lake License Requirements 

36.02 Put-and-Take Pay Lake Guest Registering Requirements 

36.03 Isolation of Put-and-Take Pay Lakes Required 

36.04 Put-and-Take Pay Lake Stocking Restrictions 

 

* * * * *  
 

36.01 PUT-AND-TAKE PAY LAKE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

08-90 It is unlawful to operate a put-and-take pay lake without a current put-and-take pay lake 

license.  The license number, species, weight and number of fish taken must be on an 

invoice issued to each person leaving the premises with fish.  The license shall be 

displayed at the put-and-take pay lake location where it is clearly visible to guests. 

PENALTY:   Class 1 
 

36.02 PUT-AND-TAKE PAY LAKE GUEST REGISTERING REQUIREMENTS 

08-80 It is unlawful for an operator of a put-and-take pay lake to fail to maintain a register 

indicating the date, names and addresses of persons fishing, and to make the register 

available for inspection by an enforcement officer upon request. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

36.03 ISOLATION OF PUT-AND-TAKE PAY LAKES REQUIRED 

08-80 It is unlawful to operate a put-and-take pay lake unless access of fish to and from waters 

of the state is prevented. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

36.04 PUT-AND-TAKE PAY LAKE STOCKING RESTRICTIONS 

08-80 It is unlawful to stock fish taken from waters of the state in put-and-take pay lakes. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CHAPTER 37.00 - BOATING REGULATIONS 

 

37.01 Vessel Operation and Equipment Requirements for State Waters 

37.02 Vessel Operation and Equipment Requirements for Federal Waters 

37.03 Boating Restrictions Below Corps of Engineers Dams 

37.04 Boating Restrictions on Corps of Engineers Lakes 

37.05 Skiing Prohibited in Bay Town/Indian Bay Area 

37.06 Skiing Restrictions on Mellwood Lake 

37.07 Skiing Prohibited in White River/LaGrue Bayou Confluence Area 

37.08 Outboard Motor Restrictions on Buffalo National River 

37.09 Outboard Motor Restrictions on Eleven Point River 

37.10 Vessel Restrictions in Arkansas and White River Navigational Canal 

37.11 Possession or Use of Glass Containers Within the Banks of Navigable Waterways Prohibited 

 

* * * * *  
 

37.01 
VESSEL OPERATION AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR STATE 

WATERS 

10-01 It is unlawful to operate motorboats or vessels or manipulate any water skis, aquaplane, 

personal watercraft or similar device on waters of this state in violation of any provision 

of Ark. Code Ann. §27-101-101 et seq. or Ark. Code Ann. §5-76-101 et seq. (Addendum 

L1.01) 

PENALTY:  As provided for in ACA Title 27, Chap. 101 and Title 5, Chap. 76. 
 

37.02 
VESSEL OPERATION AND EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR FEDERAL 

WATERS 

10-01 It is unlawful to operate motorboats or vessels or manipulate any water skis, aquaplane, 

personal watercraft or similar device on federal waters in violation of any provision of 

Ark. Code Ann. §27-101-101 et seq. or Ark. Code Ann. §5-76-101 et seq. (Addendum 

L1.01) 

PENALTY:  As provided for in ACA Title 27, Chap. 101 and Title 5, Chap. 76. 
 

37.03 BOATING RESTRICTIONS BELOW CORPS OF ENGINEERS DAMS 

08-80 It is be unlawful for any vessel to enter within 300 feet downstream below any dam 

constructed by the Corps of Engineers on any stream or impoundment in Arkansas. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Commercial river traffic. 

(2) Boats used by the Corps of Engineers. 

(3) Contractors working on construction or maintenance of dams. 

(4) Enforcement officers. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 
 

37.04 BOATING RESTRICTIONS ON CORPS OF ENGINEERS LAKES 

08-80 It is unlawful to operate a vessel in any manner contrary to signs, markers or buoys 

placed by the Corps of Engineers controlling speed, skiing or operation of vessels. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 
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37.05 SKIING PROHIBITED IN BAY TOWN/INDIAN BAY AREA 

08-80 It is unlawful to water ski in the Bay Town/Indian Bay area of White River where 

prohibiting signs are posted. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 
 

37.06 SKIING RESTRICTIONS ON MELLWOOD LAKE 

08-80 It is unlawful to water ski on Mellwood Lake north of the section line common to 

Sections 30 and 31, Township 5 south, Range 2 east of the 5th principal meridian in 

Phillips County. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 
 

37.07 
SKIING PROHIBITED IN WHITE RIVER/LAGRUE BAYOU CONFLUENCE 

AREA 

08-80 It is unlawful to water ski within 1,500 feet in any direction of the confluence of LaGrue 

Bayou and White River. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 
 

37.08 OUTBOARD MOTOR RESTRICTIONS ON BUFFALO NATIONAL RIVER 

08-07 It is unlawful to use an outboard motor on the Buffalo River upstream from Erbie Ford, 

or use outboard motors larger than 10 horsepower from Erbie Ford to the White River. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 

 

37.09 OUTBOARD MOTOR RESTRICTIONS ON ELEVEN POINT RIVER 

08-07 It is unlawful to use outboard motors larger than 30 horsepower at the propeller or jet 

pump on the Eleven Point River. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 
 

37.10 
VESSEL RESTRICTIONS IN ARKANSAS AND WHITE RIVER 

NAVIGATIONAL CANAL 

08-80 It is unlawful to operate any vessel in the Arkansas and White River Navigational Canal 

between Dam No.1 (Norrell Dam) and the lower guardwall of the dam. 

EXCEPTION: 

When the tailwater elevation exceeds 104 MSL and Corps of Engineers signs are covered. 

PENALTY:  Not to exceed $50 
 

37.11 
POSSESSION OR USE OF GLASS CONTAINERS WITHIN THE BANKS OF 

NAVIGABLE WATERWAYS PROHIBITED 

05-02 It is unlawful to possess or use glass containers within the banks of navigable waterways 

of this State or otherwise fail to comply with the provisions of Arkansas Code §8-6-418 

(Addendum L1.03). 

PENALTY:  As provided for in Ark. Code Ann. 8-6-418 (Fine not to exceed $500) 



 

131 

 

 

CHAPTER 38.00 - TEMPORARY AND EMERGENCY ORDERS 

 

38.01 Closure to All Commercial Harvest on Bayou Meto Bayou 

38.02 Emergency Closure to Fishing on Big Creek Tributary in Columbia County 

38.03 Emergency Closure to Commercial Fishing on Part of Champagnolle Creek in Calhoun 

County and Moro Creek in Calhoun and Bradley Counties 

38.04 Closure to All Commercial Fishing on Cut-Off Creek 

38.05 Emergency Closure to Commercial Fishing on Bayou Bartholomew 

38.06 Commercial Fishing For Certain Fish Prohibited in Lower Ouachita River and Ouachita 

River Flood Plain South of Smackover Creek, Saline River and Saline River Flood Plain 

South of Arkansas Highway 278 

 

* * * * *  
 

38.01 CLOSURE TO ALL COMMERCIAL HARVEST ON BAYOU METO BAYOU 

08-95 The Arkansas State Board of Health has quarantined Bayou Meto Bayou pursuant to law 

due to the contamination of the fish in the waters. The Commission has declared a 

closure to all commercial harvest in the waters described below: 

Big Bayou Meto and all tributaries extending 5 miles above their confluence with the bayou 

from the Arkansas Highway 11 bridge at the Jefferson/Arkansas County line to the headwaters 

of Bayou Meto and all overflow lakes, sloughs and bayous including Little Bayou Meto north of 

Arkansas Highway 88 and all water exchange ditches between Little Bayou Meto and Big 

Bayou Meto. 

EXCEPTION: 

Bayou Meto and all associated overflow lakes, sloughs, and tributaries are reopened to 

commercial harvest from the Arkansas Highway 13 bridge in Lonoke County downstream 

to the bayou's confluence with the Arkansas River. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 

38.02 
EMERGENCY CLOSURE TO FISHING ON BIG CREEK TRIBUTARY IN 

COLUMBIA COUNTY 

03-90 The Commission has declared an emergency closure to all fishing in Big Creek tributary 

in Columbia County from the intersection of the tributary with Arkansas Highway 82B 

and L&NW Railroad in Magnolia downstream to its confluence with Big Creek.  The 

fishing ban will be for an indefinite period until the Arkansas Department of Health 

determines that the human health risk no longer exists. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

38.03 
EMERGENCY CLOSURE TO COMMERCIAL FISHING ON PART OF 

CHAMPAGNOLLE CREEK IN CALHOUN COUNTY AND MORO CREEK IN 

CALHOUN AND BRADLEY COUNTIES 

04-97 Due to an Arkansas Department of Health fish consumption advisory, the Commission 

has closed commercial fishing in the following waters: 

(1) Champagnolle Creek from its mouth to Arkansas Highway 4, including all of Little 

Champagnolle Creek in Calhoun County. 

(2) Moro Bay (Creek) from its mouth to Arkansas Highway 160. 

The closure will be for an indefinite period, pending results of further sampling. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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38.04 CLOSURE TO COMMERCIAL FISHING ON CUT-OFF CREEK 

 The Commission has closed all commercial fishing in the following waters:  Cut-Off 

Creek from the Arkansas Highway 35 Bridge in Drew County to the creek's confluence 

with Bayou Bartholomew in Ashley County 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

38.05 
EMERGENCY CLOSURE TO COMMERCIAL FISHING ON BAYOU 

BARTHOLOMEW 

01-94 It is unlawful to commercial fish or use commercial tackle in Bayou Bartholomew 

between Arkansas Highway 35 in Drew County and Arkansas Highway 82 in Ashley 

County including all lakes, bays or other bodies of water, other than tributary streams. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
 

38.06 

COMMERCIAL FISHING FOR CERTAIN FISH PROHIBITED IN LOWER 

OUACHITA RIVER AND OUACHITA RIVER FLOOD PLAIN SOUTH OF 

SMACKOVER CREEK, SALINE RIVER AND SALINE RIVER FLOOD PLAIN 

SOUTH OF U.S. HIGHWAY 278 

04-97 The Arkansas Department of Health has revised fish consumption advisories for certain 

fish in the lower Ouachita River and Saline River as specified below.  These waters, 

including oxbows and overflow lakes when accessible by boat from the main channel, are 

open to legal commercial tackle as defined in Codes 30.05 and 30.15.  The oxbows and 

overflow lakes within Ouachita River flood plain when not accessible by boat from the 

main channel are open noon, Sept. 30-noon, May 1, to legal gill and trammel nets. 

(1) Flathead catfish, bowfin, drum and gar may not be taken or possessed by 

commercial fishermen in the Ouachita River, oxbows and overflow lakes from 

Smackover Creek to the northern boundary of Felsenthal NWR. 

(2) Flathead catfish, blue catfish, bowfin, drum and gar may not be taken or possessed 

by commercial fishermen on the Ouachita River oxbows and overflow lakes within 

Felsenthal NWR downstream to the Louisiana state line; any and all waters within 

Felsenthal NWR; and, the Saline River from its mouth within the Felsenthal NWR 

to the Stillion railroad bridge in Ashley and Bradley Counties. 

(3) Flathead catfish, blue catfish, bowfin, drum, gar and redhorse suckers may not be 

taken or possessed by commercial fishermen on the Saline River from the Stillion 

railroad bridge upstream to the U.S. Highway 278 bridge in Bradley County. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 
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CERTIFICATION 

 

 

 

This is to certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the rules and regulations approved and adopted by the 

Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission as amended in official meeting assembled at Little Rock, Arkansas 

on NEW DATE, and subsequent meetings and amendments thereafter and certified to the Secretary of State as 

provided by law, pursuant to the powers, duties, and authorities in the Commission duly vested by Amendment 

35 to the Constitution of the State of Arkansas. 

 

 

 Dated this XXth day of MONTH, 2011. 

 

  

 

 Loren Hitchcock, Director 

 Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 
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ARKANSAS GAME AND FISH COMMISSION 

CODE BOOK ADDENDUM 

 

 

 

ADDENDUM INDEX 

 

A1.00 Game Seasons and Limits 

B1.00 Migratory Game Bird Seasons and Limits 

C1.00 Wildlife Management Area Seasons and Limits 

D1.00 License 

E1.00 Zone Descriptions 

F1.00 Captive Wildlife / Hunting Resorts  

G1.00 Depredation Permit General Provisions   

H1.00 Reciprocal License Agreements 

I1.00 Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia Virus (VHSV) Importation Requirements 

J1.00 Approved Aquaculture Species List 

K1.00 Land Use Policy 

L1.00 Title 27 Arkansas Boating Laws 

M1.00 Geocaching 

N1.00 Game Fish Restrictions and Limits 

O1.00 Alligator Farmer Restrictions 

P1.00 Threatened and Endangered Species List 

Q1.00 Restitution Values for Wildlife Species 

R1.00 Points for Hunting and Fishing Violations 

S1.00 List of CWD Positive Areas 
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CHAPTER A1.00 

GAME SEASONS AND LIMITS 

 

A1.01 Deer Season and Limits 

A1.02 Wild Turkey Season and Limits 

A1.03 Quail Season and Limits 

A1.04 Rabbit Season and Limits 

A1.05 Furbearer Season and Limits 

A1.06 Squirrel Season and Limits 

A1.07 Crow Season and Limits 

A1.08 Bear Season and Limits 

A1.09 Elk Season and Limits 

A1.10 Alligator Season and Limits 

 

* * * * *  
 

A1.01 DEER SEASON AND LIMITS 

04-11 (A) ARCHERY AND CROSSBOW 

Zones 1, 1A,2, 3, 4, 4A, 4B, 5, 5A, 5B, 6, 6A,7, 8,8A, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 16A 

and 17:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012 (Codes 06.04-05). 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.01). 

(B) MODERN GUN 

Zones 1,1A, 2, 3, 6, 6A, 7, 8, 8A, 10 and 11:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4, 2011. 

Zone 4:  Nov. 12-13, 2011. 

Zone 5:  Nov. 12-13 and Nov. 19-20, 2011. 

Zones 4A, 5A, 14 and 15:  Nov. 12-Dec. 11, 2011.   

Zones 4B and 5B:  Nov. 12-20, 2011. 

Zones 9, 12 and 13:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18, 2011. 

Zones 16, 16A and 17:  Nov. 12-Dec. 25, 2011.   

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.01). 

(2) Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) Deer Management Tags. 

 

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY MODERN GUN DEER HUNT 

Zones 1,1A, 2, 3, 4, 4A, 4B, 5, 5A, 5B, 6,6A, 7, 8,8A, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 16A 

and 17:  Dec. 26-28, 2011   

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) WMAs closed during modern gun deer season are excluded from the Christmas Holiday Deer 

Hunt (Addendum C1.01). 

(2) WMAs requiring a permit for the modern gun or muzzleloader deer season are excluded from 

the Christmas Holiday Deer Hunt (Addendum C1.01). 

(3) In compliance with applicable WMA regulations (Addendum C1.01). 

(4) Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) Deer Management Tags. 

 

SPECIAL YOUTH MODERN GUN DEER HUNT 

All deer zones:  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.01). 



 

136 

 

(2) WMAs requiring a WMA deer permit are closed to the Special Modern Gun Deer Youth Hunt 

(Addendum C1.01). 

(3) Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) Deer Management Tags. 

 

DOE ONLY MODERN GUN DEER HUNT 

Zones 6A, 8A, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 16A and 17:  Oct. 31-Nov. 4, 2011.   

Zones 1, 1A, 2, 3, 4, 4A, 4B, 5, 5A, 5B, 6, 7, 8 and 11:  Closed.   

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with regulations (Code 11.02).  

(2) In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.01). 

(3) Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) Deer Management Tags. 

 

(C) MUZZLELOADER 

Zones 1, 1A, 2, 3, 4A, 5A, 6,6A, 7, 8, 8A, 10, 11, 13, 14 and 15:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-

19, 2011. 

Zones 9, 12, 13, 16, 16A and 17:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Zones 4, 4B, 5 and 5B:  Closed. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In areas open during regular gun deer seasons. 

(2) In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.01). 

(3) Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP) Deer Management Tags. 

LIMIT  

Statewide seasonal limit of six deer, no more than two legal bucks using any legal 

method. 

Zones 2, 6, 7, 8 and 11: Seasonal bag limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  

No more than two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No 

more than two legal bucks and one doe may be taken with firearms (doe may be taken 

during the muzzleloader season or with modern gun Nov. 12-13, 2011. 

Zone 3: Seasonal bag limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No more than 

two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two 

legal bucks and one doe may be taken with firearms (doe may be taken during the 

muzzleloader season or with modern gun Nov. 12-13, Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Zones 1 and 1A:  Seasonal bag limit of four deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No 

more than two legal bucks or up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more 

than two legal bucks or up to two does may be taken with firearms (doe may be taken 

during the muzzleloader season or with modern gun Nov. 12-16, Dec. 26-28, 2011.   

Zones 4, 4B, 5 and 5B:  Seasonal bag limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  

No more than two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No 

more than two legal bucks and one doe may be taken with firearms.   

Zones 4A and 5A:  Seasonal bag limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No 

more than two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more 

than two legal bucks or up to two does may be taken with firearms.   

Zones 6A and 8A: Seasonal bag limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No 

more than two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more 

than two legal bucks and one doe may be taken with firearms (doe may be taken during 

the muzzleloader season or with modern gun Oct. 31-Nov. 4, Nov. 12-16, 2011.  

Zone 10:  Seasonal bag limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No more than 

two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two 

legal bucks and one doe may be taken with firearms (doe may be taken during the 

muzzleloader season or with modern gun Oct. 31-Nov. 4, Nov. 12-16, Dec. 26-28, 2011.   
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Zones 12 and 17:  Seasonal bag limit of six deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No more 

than two legal bucks or up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than 

two legal bucks or up to six does may be taken with firearms. 

Zones 13, 14 and 15:  Seasonal bag limit of four deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No 

more than two legal bucks or up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more 

than two legal bucks and two does may be taken with firearms.  

Zones 9, 16 and 16A:  Seasonal bag limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  

No more than two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No 

more than two legal bucks or up to two does may be taken with firearms.   

Youths six to 15 years of age hunting during the Special Youth Modern Gun Deer Hunt 

and hunters 65 years of age or older with an Arkansas hunting license accompanying 

youth hunters may harvest does Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012 in accordance with the 

zone firearm doe bag limits. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Commission registered deer camps that participate in the Deer Management Assistance Program 

(DMAP) receiving deer management tags or those camps receiving Doe Deer Permits (DDP) 

and bonus deer on certain WMAs (Addendum C1.01) do not apply toward an individual 

seasonal limit. 

(2) Subject to applicable limit restrictions on WMAs (Addendum C1.01). 

 

A1.02 WILD TURKEY SEASON AND LIMITS 

03-09 No jakes (sub-adult male turkeys’, except youth hunters may harvest one jake.  No more than one 

legal turkey may be taken per day and no more than two legal turkeys may be taken in any 

combination of turkey zones. 

(A) WILD TURKEY FIREARMS AND ARCHERY/CROSSBOW SEASONS: 

Zones 1, 2, 3, 4B, 5, 5B, 6, 7, 7A, 8, 9, 10 and 17: April 16-May 3, 2011. 

Zones 4, 4A, 5A and 9A:  April 16-26, 2011. 

Zone 1A: Closed. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.04). 

(2) In compliance with regulations (Code 11.03). 

 

SPECIAL YOUTH TURKEY SEASON 

Zones 1, 2, 3, 4, 4A, 4B, 5, 5A, 5B, 6, 7, 7A, 8, 9, 9A, 10 and 17:  April 9-10, 2011. 

Zone 1A:  Closed.    

LIMIT 

Firearm and Archery/Crossbow:  

Statewide seasonal limit of two legal gobblers or bearded hens. 

Zones 1, 2, 3, 4B, 5, 5B, 6, 7, 7A, 8, 9, 10 and 17:  Two adult gobblers or bearded hens.   

Zones 4, 4A, 5A and 9A:  One adult gobbler or bearded hen. 

Youth hunters may only take one jake. 

 

A1.03 QUAIL SEASON AND LIMITS  

03-09 Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 statewide. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.05). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit six, possession limit 12. 
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A1.04 RABBIT SEASON AND LIMITS  

03-09 Sept. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012 statewide. 

EXCEPTION:  

In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.06). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit eight, possession limit 16. 

 

A1.05 FURBEARER SEASON AND LIMITS   

03-09 (A) Gray Fox, Mink, Red Fox and Striped Skunk Hunting: Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 

29, 2012 (day hunting only).  

LIMIT:  Daily limit two per species, possession unlimited. 

(B) Opossum Hunting:  Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (day or night hunting; dogs 

are required to hunt at night). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit two, possession unlimited. 

(C) Bobcat Hunting:  Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (dogs allowed to hunt bobcat 

during the day; dogs required to hunt bobcat at night) and during turkey season (day hunting 

only; no dogs allowed).   

LIMIT:  Daily limit two, possession unlimited. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Dogs are not allowed in deer zones where a firearms deer season is in progress that 

prohibits the use of dogs. 

(2) During youth turkey hunts, only youth may take bobcats. 

(D) Coyote Hunting:  Sunrise, July 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (dogs allowed to hunt coyote 

during the day; coyote may not be hunted at night) and during turkey season (day hunting only;  

no dogs allowed). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Dogs are not allowed in deer zones where a firearms deer season is in progress that 

prohibits the use of dogs. 

(2) During youth turkey hunts, only youth may take coyotes. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(E) River Otter Hunting:  Sunrise, Nov. 12, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (day hunting only). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit two, possession unlimited. 

(F) Raccoon Hunting:  Sunset, July 1-Sunrise, Aug. 31, 2011 (night hunting only; dogs required).  

Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, March 31, 2012 (day or night hunting; dogs are required for 

hunting at night). 

LIMIT:  July 1-Nov. 11 daily limit four, possession unlimited. 

 Nov. 12-March 31 daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(G) Muskrat, Nutria and Beaver Hunting:  Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, March 31, 2012 (day 

hunting only). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(H) Badger, Spotted Skunk (Civet Cat) and Weasel Hunting:  Closed. 

(I) Furbearer Trapping (Other than Beaver, Coyote, Muskrat and Nutria):  Sunrise, Nov.12, 

2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012.   

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(J) Beaver, Muskrat and Nutria Trapping:  Sunrise, Nov. 12, 2011-Sunset, March 31, 2012. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(K) Coyote Trapping: Sunrise, Aug.1, 2011-Sunset, March 31, 2012. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 
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EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with Codes 05.01; 05.10; 09.14. 

(2) In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.09). 

(3) Coyotes committing damage to domestic animals or personal property may be taken in 

compliance with Code 05.10. 

 

A1.06 SQUIRREL SEASON AND LIMITS  

03-09 May 21, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012 and May 15, 2012-Feb. 28, 2013 statewide. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.07). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit eight, possession limit 32. 

 

A1.07 CROW SEASON AND LIMITS   

03-09 Sept. 3, 2011-Feb. 24, 2012, Thursdays-Mondays only (124 days). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Crows may be taken while committing damage to domestic animals or personal property. 

(2) In compliance with WMA regulations (Addendum C1.10).  

LIMIT:  No limit 

 

A1.08 BEAR SEASON AND LIMITS 

03-09 (A) ARCHERY/CROSSBOW 

Zone 1: Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011. 

Zone 2: Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011. 

Zones 3, 4, 5, 5A, 6 and 7: Closed. 

(B) MUZZLELOADER 

Zones 1 and 2:  Oct. 22-30, 2011. 

Zones 3, 4, 5, 5A, 6 and 7: Closed. 

(C) MODERN GUN 

Zone 1: Nov. 7-30, 2011. 

Zone 2:  Sept. 15-16, 2011 and Nov. 7-30, 2011. 

Zone 5:  Dec. 3-11, 2011, Arkansas lands east of the Mississippi River are closed. 

Zone 5A:  Nov. 26-Dec. 11, 2011, Arkansas lands east of the Mississippi River are closed.    

Zones 3, 4, 6 and 7:  Closed. 

 

SPECIAL YOUTH MODERN GUN BEAR HUNT 

Zones 1 and 2:  Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Zones 3, 4, 5, 5A, 6 and 7:  Closed. 

 

ZONE QUOTA 

Zone 5:  Quota 35 bears. 

Zone 5A:  Quota 15 bears.  

Zones 1, 2, 5 and 5A:  Hunters in must comply with the terms and conditions outlined in the 

current Arkansas Hunting Guidebook. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In compliance with WMA regulations.  (Addendum C1.02) 

(2) In compliance with Chapter 09.00 and Code 11.01 

LIMIT:  Individual seasonal limit of one bear statewide. 
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A1.09 ELK SEASON AND LIMITS 

04-98/03-09 Compartments 1, 2, 3 and 4:  Sept. 26-30, 2011 by permit only.   

Compartments 1, 2, 3, 4 and Boone, Carroll, Madison, Newton and Searcy Counties:  Dec. 5-9, 

2011 by permit only. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Chapter 09.00. 

LIMIT:  Individual seasonal limit of one elk. 

 

A1.10 ALLIGATOR HUNTING SEASON AND LIMITS 

08-09 Zones 1 and 3:  Sept. 16-19 and Sept. 23-26, 2011 by permit only. 

Zones 2, 4 and 5:  Closed. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with Chapter 33.00. 

LIMIT:  Individual seasonal limit of one alligator.  
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CHAPTER B1.00 

MIGRATORY GAME BIRD SEASONS AND LIMITS 

 

B1.01 Mourning and Eurasian Collared Dove Season and Limits 

B1.02 Teal Season and Limits 

B1.03 Rail (Virginia and Sora) Season and Limits 

B1.04 Woodcock Season and Limits 

B1.05 Common Snipe Season and Limits 

B1.06 Purple Gallinule Season and Limits 

B1.07 Common Moorhen Season and Limits 

B1.08 Duck, Coot and Merganser Season and Limits 

B1.09 White-Fronted Goose Season and Limits 

B1.10 Snow, Blue and Ross’ Goose Season and Limits 

B1.11 Canada Goose Season and Limits 

B1.12 Falconry Season and Limits 

B1.13 Special Youth Waterfowl Hunting Season and Limits 

B1.14 Snow, Blue and Ross’ Goose Conservation Order Season and Limits 

 

* * * * *  
 

B1.01 MOURNING AND EURASIAN COLLARED DOVE SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Sep. 3-Oct. 30 and Dec. 26, 2011-Jan. 6, 2012. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with WMA regulations. 

LIMIT:  Mourning dove:  Daily limit 15, possession limit 30.  

Eurasian collared-doves:  No daily or possession limit.  Eurasian collared-doves must 

remain fully feathered in the field and while being transported from the field. 

 

B1.02 TEAL SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Sept. 10-25, 2011. 

EXCEPTION: 

Teal may be taken in compliance with Code 04.02 and Addendum B1.08. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit four, possession limit eight. 

  

B1.03 RAIL (VIRGINIA AND SORA) SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Sept. 10-Nov. 18, 2011. 

 LIMIT:  Daily limit 25, possession limit 25. 

 

B1.04 WOODCOCK SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Nov. 5-Dec. 19, 2011. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit three, possession limit six. 

 

B1.05 COMMON SNIPE SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 15, 2012. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit eight, possession limit 16. 

 

B1.06 PURPLE GALLINULE SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Sept. 1-Nov. 9, 2011. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit 15, possession limit 30. 
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B1.07 COMMON MOORHEN SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Sept. 1-Nov. 9, 2011. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit 15, possession limit 30. 

 

B1.08 DUCK, COOT AND MERGANSER SEASON AND LIMITS 

08-10 Nov. 20–28, Dec. 7, 2010- Jan. 17, 2011 and Jan. 22-30, 2011. 

EXCEPTION: 

Ducks, coots and mergansers may be taken during the Special Youth Waterfowl Hunt (Code 11.04). 

LIMIT 

COOT: Daily limit 15, possession limit 30. 

DUCKS: Daily limit six.  No more than four mallards (no more than two of which may 

be females), two pintails, one mottled duck, two scaup, three wood ducks, two redheads, 

one black duck and one canvasback. 

Possession limit no more than two daily limits. 

MERGANSERS: Daily limit of five (no more than two of which may be hooded 

mergansers). 

Possession limit no more than two daily limits. 

EXCEPTION: 

Bayou Meto WMA daily duck limit:  Daily limit of four ducks which may include no 

more than three mallards (no more than two of which may be females), two pintails, one 

mottled duck, two scaup, three wood ducks, two redheads, one black duck and one 

canvasback.  

Bayou Meto WMA Mergansers limits:  Daily limit of four (no more than two of which 

may be hooded mergansers). 

 

B1.09 WHITE-FRONTED GOOSE SEASON AND LIMITS 

08-10 Nov. 20-Jan. 30, 2010 statewide. 

LIMIT:   Daily limit two, possession limit four. 

 

B1.10 SNOW, BLUE AND ROSS’ GOOSE SEASON AND LIMITS 

08-10 Nov. 6-Jan. 30, 2011 statewide. 

EXCEPTION: 

In compliance with the Addendum B1.14. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit 20, no possession limit. 

 

B1.11 CANADA GOOSE SEASON AND LIMITS 

07-11 Early Canada Goose Statewide Season:  Sept.1-5, 2011. 

Northwest Canada Goose Zone Season:  Sept. 24-Oct. 3, 2011. 

Late Canada Goose Statewide Season:  Nov. 20, 2010-Jan. 30, 2011. 

Shooting hours are from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset statewide. 

EXCEPTION: 

Holla Bend NWR is closed. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit two.  Possession limit four. 

EXCEPTION: 

The daily limit is five Canada geese from Sept. 1-15, 2011, possession limit 10. 

 

B1.12 FALCONRY SEASON AND LIMITS 

08-10 Feb.1-15, 2011, statewide. 

LIMIT:  No more than three migratory birds in any one day, possession limit six. 
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B1.13 SPECIAL YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNTING SEASON AND LIMITS 

08-10 Feb. 5-6, 2011, statewide. 

LIMIT:  Same as statewide. 

 

B1.14 SNOW, BLUE AND ROSS’ GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER SEASON 

08-10 AND LIMITS 

Jan. 31-Feb. 4 and Feb. 7-April 25, 2011, statewide. 

LIMIT:  No limit. 
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CHAPTER C1.00 

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA SEASONS AND LIMITS 

 

 

C1.01 Deer Season and Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

C1.02 Bear Season and Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

C1.03 Alligator Seasons and Limits Restrictions on WMAs 

C1.04 Wild Turkey Seasons and Limits Restrictions on WMAs 

C1.05 Quail Season and Limits on WMAs 

C1.06 Rabbit Season and Limits on WMAs 

C1.07 Squirrel Season and Limits on WMAs 

C1.08 Mourning and Eurasian Collared Dove Season and Limits on WMAs 

C1.09 Furbearer Season and Limits on WMAs 

C1.10 Crow Season and Limits on WMAs 

C1.11 Mobility Impaired Access Permit Restrictions 

C1.12 Waterfowl Season Restrictions on WMAs 

C1.13 Deer Permit Requirements on Certain WMAs 

C1.14 Buck Deer Restrictions on Certain WMAs 

C1.15 Elk Seasons and Bag Limit Restrictions on WMAs 

C1.16 Turkey Permit Requirements on Certain WMAs 

 

* * * * *  
 

C1.01 DEER SEASON AND LIMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-11 BALD KNOB NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: (all units): Oct. 22-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt) (Farm Unit only): Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt) (Farm Unit only): Nov. 12-13-15, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions).  No more than two 

bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than 

one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe may be taken during muzzleloader season (all units). 

No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe may be taken during the modern gun 

permit hunt.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler 

restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 

20.07; 20.02-03). 

BAYOU DES ARC WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks or up to 

two does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is three deer, no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

or up to two does; these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

BAYOU METO WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, 2011. 
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Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks. No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle. No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader permit hunt.  No more than one legal buck and one 

doe may be taken during the modern gun permit hunt (Codes 21.02-03). 

BEAVER LAKE WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the modern gun special youth 

hunt is two deer no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe, these are not 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

BELL SLOUGH WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

BENSON CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

BERYL ANTHONY/LOWER OUACHITA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle. No more than two legal bucks and four does 

may be taken during muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the modern gun 

special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) and four does, 

these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

BIG CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov.12-Dec.11 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and no 

more than one doe may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons. Limit 

during the modern gun special youth hunt is three deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler 

restrictions) and one doe, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit 

(Code 11.02). 

BIG LAKE NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 
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Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions).  No more than 

two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only 

(Codes 20.07; 21.03). 

BIG LAKE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Closed. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-13, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks may be 

taken during the modern gun season (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to one doe, 

these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

BIG TIMBER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and four does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 

11.02; 20.07). 

BLEVINS WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and four does, these are not bonus deer and will count towards the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

BLUE MOUNTAIN WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and one 

doe may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  A Blue Mountain 

WMA does quota permit is required to harvest a does during the muzzleloader and modern 

gun deer seasons.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is three deer no more 

than two bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe (a WMA doe quota permit is not 

required), these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 

21.02). 

BREWER LAKE CYPRESS CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 
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BRUSHY CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Closed. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-20, and Dec. 26-28, 2011.  Seasonal limit of three deer; no more 

than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with 

archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and one doe may be taken during the modern 

gun seasons.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is three deer:  no more than 

two bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe, these are not bonus deer and will count 

toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

BUFFALO NATIONAL RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during the modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe.  This is not a bonus deer and will 

count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

CACHE RIVER NWR 

Archery: (all units).  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  (all units).  Oct. 22-26, 2011 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt - all units):  Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Modern Gun:  (all units permit hunt).  Nov. 12-20, 2011.  

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions).  No more than 

two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle (all 

units).  No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe may be taken during each 

muzzleloader season (all units).  No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe 

may be taken during the modern gun permit hunt (all units).  Limit during the modern gun 

special youth hunt is one buck (no antler restrictions) or doe (all units), this is not a bonus 

deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 20.07; 21.02-03). 

CAMP ROBINSON SUA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun: Nov. 12-14, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe may 

be taken during the modern gun permit hunt (Code 21.02). 

CAMP ROBINSON WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Nov. 19-20, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Oct. 29-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 24-25 and Nov. 26-27, 2011.  Seasonal limit of two 

deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up to two does may be 

taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe may be taken during 

the muzzleloader and modern gun permit hunts.  Limit during the modern gun youth permit 

hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count 

towards the seasonal limit (Code 21.02). 
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CANEY CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and one 

doe may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  A Caney Creek WMA 

doe quota permit is required to harvest a doe during the muzzleloader and modern gun 

seasons.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is three deer:  no more than two 

bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe (a WMA doe quota permit is not required), these 

are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 21.02). 

CASEY JONES WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and four does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 

11.02; 20.07). 

CATTAIL MARSH WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only.  

CEDAR CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

CHEROKEE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season or Nov. 12-13, 2011 of the modern gun 

season.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler 

restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit.  (Codes 

11.02; 20.07) 

CHEROKEE PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

COVE CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 
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Firearms:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

CROSSETT EXPERIMENTAL FOREST WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader season (Code 20.07). 

CUT-OFF CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Codes 21.02-03). 

CYPRESS BAYOU WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or the modern gun permit hunts (Code 21.02). 

DARDANELLE WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012.  Johnson County, Horsehead Creek and Bob Young 

WRAs: Oct. 1-31, 2011 and Feb. 1-12, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Special Mobility Impaired Permit Hunt: Johnson County WRA only:  Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks may be 

taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  No more than 

two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to two does may be taken during the Johnson County 

WRA Special Mobility Impaired Permit Hunt.  Limit during the modern gun special youth 

hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe, these are not 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 21.02-03). 

DAVE DONALDSON BLACK RIVER WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 29-Nov. 2, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Modern Gun: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader permit hunt.  Limit during the modern gun youth 

permit hunt is one deer:  buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, these are not bonus deer and 

will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 20.02; 21.02). 

DEGRAY LAKE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (mobility impaired permit hunt):  Oct. 24-26, 2011. 
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Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken by archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and two does 

may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  No more than two bucks 

(no antler restrictions) or up to two does may be taken during the muzzleloader mobility 

impaired permit hunt.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is four deer:  no more 

than two bucks (no antler restrictions) and two does, these are not bonus deer and will count 

toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 21.02-03). 

DEPARTEE CREEK WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012.   

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks or up to 

two does may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is three deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

or up to two does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

DEQUEEN LAKE WMA 

Archery (all open units): Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (firearms units only): Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (firearms units only) (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 

2012. 

Modern Gun (firearms units only): Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal bag limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal 

bucks or up to four does may be taken by archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and 

two does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is four deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and two does, these are not bonus deer and will count towards the seasonal bag limit (Codes 

11.02; 20.02). 

DEVIL’S KNOB NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks may be 

taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

or up to one doe, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

DR. LESTER SITES, III BOIS D’ARC WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012.  Red Slough WRA:  Oct. 1-Nov. 4, 2011. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Code 21.02). 
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EARL BUSS BAYOU DEVIEW WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

ED GORDON POINT REMOVE WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Oct. 29-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-13, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe may 

be taken during the modern gun permit hunts (Codes 21.02-03). 

ELECTRIC ISLAND WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

ETHEL WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

FALCON BOTTOMS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

FELSENTHAL NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-15, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions).  A doe must be 

harvested and checked before a buck may be harvested during any season.  No more than 

two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No 

more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or up to two does may be taken during 

muzzleloader permit hunt.  No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or up to two does 

may be taken during the modern gun permit hunt (Codes 20.07; 21.02-03). 

FT. CHAFFEE WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Nov. 26 and Nov. 27, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 19 and Nov. 20, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during them muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Code 21.02). 

FREDDIE BLACK CHOCTAW ISLAND WMA DEER RESEARCH AREA 

East Unit 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Dec. 31, 2011. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 22-24, 2011. 

Modern Gun (mobility impaired permit hunt):  Oct. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Nov. 25-27, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Dec. 3-5, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks (which may consist of one type A 

buck and one type B buck or two type B bucks).  The combined doe limit per person for the 
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archery, muzzleloader and modern gun seasons is two.  A doe must be harvested and 

checked before a legal type A buck may be harvested during any season, except during the 

modern gun youth permit hunt Limit during the modern gun youth permit hunt is four deer.  

Youth are allowed to harvest a type A buck without first harvesting and checking a doe, up 

to two type B bucks if no type A buck is harvested, and up to two does.  All harvested does 

and type B bucks are “Bonus Deer” and do not count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 

20.07; 21.02-03). 

West Unit 

Archery:  Closed. 

Muzzleloader:  Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt):  Nov. 19-20, Nov. 25-27 and Dec. 3-4 and Dec. 10-11, 

2011. 

Seasonal limit of three (3) deer; no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) and two does, 

these deer are not bonus deer and will count towards the seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

FROG BAYOU WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

GALLA CREEK WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  Limit during the modern gun youth permit 

hunt is two deer, one buck (no antler restrictions) and one doe, this is not a bonus deer and 

will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

GARRETT HOLLOW NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

GENE RUSH WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-20 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during the modern gun season (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is two deer, no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) and one doe (a WMA 

doe quota permit is not required), these are not bonus deer and will count toward the 

seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 21.02). 

GREERS FERRY LAKE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (mobility impaired permit hunt):  Nov. 1-3, 2011. 

Muzzleloader (youth permit hunt): Dec. 27-28, 2011. 

Modern Gun: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck (no antler 
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restrictions) or one doe may be taken during the muzzleloader mobility impaired permit 

hunt.  Limit during the muzzleloader youth permit hunt is one deer, buck (no antler 

restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count towards the seasonal limit (Codes 

21.02-03). 

GUM FLATS WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-23, Dec. 3-14 (dogs allowed) and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun seasons.  Limit during the modern gun 

special youth hunt is two deer no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) and no more 

than one doe, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 

11.02; 20.07). 

H. E. FLANAGAN PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

HALL CREEK BARRENS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012.  

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal bag limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks 

or up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.   

HAROLD E. ALEXANDER SPRING RIVER WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun: Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Code 21.02) 

HARRIS BRAKE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

HENRY GRAY HURRICANE LAKE WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Codes 21.02-03). 

HOBBS STATE PARK-CONSERVATION AREA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Modern Gun (mobility impaired permit hunt):  Oct. 22-23, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Dec. 3-7, 2011. 
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Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe may 

be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts.  Limit during the modern gun 

special youth hunt and the modern gun mobility impaired permit hunt is one deer, buck (no 

antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit 

(Codes 21.02-03). 

HOLLA BEND NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1-Dec. 6, 2011. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt):  Dec. 10, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two bucks (no 

antler restrictions) or up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  Limit during the 

modern gun youth permit hunt is one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count towards the seasonal limit (Codes 20.07; 21.02-03). 

HOLLAND BOTTOMS WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 22-24 and Nov. 25-27, 2011. 

Modern Gun: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one either-sex may be taken 

during the muzzleloader permit hunt (Code 21.02). 

HOPE UPLAND WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  Limit during the modern gun youth hunt 

is two deer  no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or up to two does, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

HOWARD COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-20 and Dec. 3-11, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts.  Limit during the 

modern gun youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus 

deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

HOWARD HENSLEY SEARCY COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 21.03). 
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IRON MOUNTAIN NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

J. PERRY MIKLES BLUE MOUNTAIN SUA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Oct. 8-9, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 16-17, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the modern gun permit hunt.  Limit during the modern gun youth hunt 

is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count 

toward the seasonal limit (Code 21.02). 

JAMESTOWN INDEPENDENCE COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season or Nov. 12-13, 2011 of the modern gun 

season.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler 

restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

JIM KRESS WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season or Nov. 12-13, 2011 of the modern gun 

season.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler 

restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 

11.02; 20.07). 

JONES POINT WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012.  

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.   

KINGSLAND PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal bag limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks 

or up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.   

LAFAYETTE COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 
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Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and four does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 

11.02; 20.07). 

LAKE GREESON WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Muzzleloader (mobility impaired hunt):  Oct. 8-9, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-20 and Dec. 3-14, 2011 (dogs allowed). 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader hunt or muzzleloader mobility impaired hunt or the 

modern gun permit hunt.  Limit during the modern gun youth hunt is one deer, buck (no 

antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit.  

(Codes 21.02-03). 

LEE COUNTY WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec.11 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks or two 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is three deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

or up to two does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

LITTLE BAYOU WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader permit hunt (Code 21.02). 

LITTLE RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and two 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is four deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and two does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

LOAFER’S GLORY WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. Oct. 22-30, 2011. 
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Modern Gun (Special Youth Hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-20, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

MAUMELLE RIVER WMA 

Archery (permit hunts): Oct. 1-31, Nov. 1-30 and Dec. 1-31, 2011. 

Firearms: Closed.  

Seasonal bag limit of three deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck 

and two does may be taken by permit with archery tackle only (Code 21.02). 

MCILROY MADISON COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe may 

be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Code 21.02). 

MIKE FREEZE WATTENSAW WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts.  Limit during the 

modern gun youth permit hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

MORO BIG NATURAL AREA PINE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16, Nov. 25-29, Dec. 10-14 and Dec. 26-30, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or up to six does 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts.  Limit during the 

modern gun youth permit hunt is six deer, one buck (no antler restrictions) or up to six does, 

this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

MOUNT MAGAZINE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 (dogs allowed Nov. 24-Dec. 4) and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season.  No more than two legal bucks may be taken 

during the modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to one doe, 

these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 
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MUDDY CREEK WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov.12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and one 

doe may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  A Muddy Creek WMA 

doe quota permit is required to harvest a doe during the muzzleloader and modern gun 

seasons.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is three deer:  no more than two 

bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe (a WMA doe quota permit is not required), these 

are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 21.02). 

NACATOCH RAVINES NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

NIMROD LLOYD MILLWOOD WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal buck may be 

taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

or up to one doe, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

NORFORK LAKE WMA 

Archery: All Units.  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Chapin Point and Indian Head Units closed.  Seward Point, Bennett’s Bayou 

and Fulton County Units Oct. Oct. 22-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Seward Point, Bennett’s Bayou and Fulton County 

Units: Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012.  Chapin Point and Indian Head Units closed. 

Modern Gun:  Seward Point, Bennett’s Bayou and Fulton County Units: Nov. 12-20, 2011.  

Chapin Point and Indian Head Units closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck may be 

taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

OVERFLOW NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two bucks (no restrictions).  A doe must be 

harvested and checked before a buck may be harvested during any season.  No more than 

two bucks (no restrictions) and two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than 

one buck (no restrictions) and one doe may be taken during the muzzleloader hunt; refuge 

permit required (Codes 20.07; 21.02-03). 
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OZAN WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks and 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and four does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

OZARK LAKE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks may be 

taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

or up to one doe, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

OZARK NATIONAL FOREST WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during the modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will 

count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

PALMETTO FLATS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle. 

PETIT JEAN RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011.   

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle. No more than two legal bucks and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season.  No more than two legal bucks may be taken 

during the modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to one doe, 

these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 
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PINE CITY NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

PINEY CREEKS WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader deer season.  No more than one legal buck may be 

taken during modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will 

count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

POISON SPRINGS WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks and 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and four does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

POND CREEK NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Oct. 15-16, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Dec. 3-4, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions).  The first deer 

harvested can be a buck or doe. A doe must be harvested and checked at the refuge check 

station before a second buck may be harvested with any weapon. No more than two bucks 

(no antler restrictions) and two doe may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one 

buck (no antler restrictions) or up to two does may be taken during muzzleloader season; 

refuge permit required.  No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or up to two does 

may be taken during modern gun youth permit hunt.  No more than one buck (no antler 

restrictions) and one doe may be taken during modern gun permit hunt (Codes 20.07; 21.02-

03). 

PRAIRIE BAYOU WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  Three deer, no more than two 

legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth permit hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is 

not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 20.11; 21.02). 
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PROVO WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun: Nov. 12-23, Dec. 3-14 (dogs allowed) and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

 Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun seasons.  Limit during the modern gun 

special youth hunt is two deer:  no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) and one doe, 

these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 11.02; 20.07). 

RAILROAD PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer, no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

RAINEY WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks may be 

taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

or up to one doe, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

REX HANCOCK BLACK SWAMP WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun: Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Codes 21.02-03). 

RICK EVANS GRANDVIEW PRAIRIE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 15-Dec. 4, 2011. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck and 

two does may be taken by permit with archery tackle only.  Doe harvested on this area are 

bonus deer and do not count against the statewide seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

RING SLOUGH WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks 

and one doe may be taken with archery tackle only. 

RIVER BEND WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 
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during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

ROBERT L. HANKINS MUD CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012.   

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

ROTH PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

ST. FRANCIS NATIONAL FOREST WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26 and Oct. 29-Nov. 2, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks. 

No more than two legal bucks or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No 

more than one legal buck or one doe may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun 

permit hunts.  Limit during the modern gun youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler 

restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 

21.02-03). 

ST. FRANCIS SUNKEN LANDS WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-13 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and one 

doe may be taken during the modern gun seasons.  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is three deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe, these 

are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

SANDHILLS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

SCOTT HENDERSON GULF MOUNTAIN WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe may 

be taken during muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts (Code 21.02). 

SEVEN DEVILS WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 29-31, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov.12-Dec. 18 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 
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Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and four 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is six deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and four does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

SHEFFIELD NELSON DAGMAR WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-16, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or the modern gun permit hunts (Codes 21.02-03). 

SHIREY BAY RAINEY BRAKE WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 29-Nov. 2, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader permit hunt.  Limit during the modern gun youth 

permit hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will 

count towards the seasonal bag limit (Codes 20.02; 21.02). 

SLIPPERY HOLLOW NATURAL AREA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

SMOKE HOLE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle. 

SPRING BANK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 11 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and two 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is four deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and two does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 

11.02). 

STATELINE SANDPONDS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks 

or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle. 
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STEVE N. WILSON RAFT CREEK BOTTOMS WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle. Limit during the modern gun youth 

permit hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will 

count towards the seasonal limit (Codes 21.02-03). 

SULPHUR RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012.  Henry Moore WRA:  Oct. 1-Nov. 4, 2011. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec.11 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and two 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader and modern gun seasons.  Limit during the 

modern gun special youth hunt is four deer, no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) 

and no more than two does, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit 

(Code 11.02). 

SWEDEN CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

SYLAMORE WMA 

North Unit: 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-20 and Nov. 25-27, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during the modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is two deer:  no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) and one doe, these are 

not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

South Unit: 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader season.  No more than one legal buck may be taken 

during the modern gun season (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun special 

youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer and will 

count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

TERRE NOIRE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle only. 
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TRUSTEN HOLDER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Special Mobility Impaired Permit Hunt (Merrisach Park Area only):  Noon, Nov. 16-

Noon, Nov. 18, 2011.  This hunt is administered by the Corps of Engineers. 

Modern Gun: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and two 

does may be taken during the muzzleloader permit hunt.  No more than one legal buck and 

one doe may be taken during the mobility impaired muzzleloader permit hunt.  Doe taken 

during the special mobility impaired permit hunt are bonus deer and do not count toward the 

seasonal limit.  (Contact Corp of Engineers at 870 548-2291 for specific application criteria; 

application period July 5-Sept. 5) (Codes 21.02-03). 

TWO BAYOU CREEK WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

U OF A PINE TREE EXPERIMENTAL STATION WDA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt):  Oct. 22-26, 2011. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Nov. 12-16 and Nov. 25-29, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck or one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader or modern gun permit hunts.  Limit during the 

modern gun youth permit hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe.  This is not a 

bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Codes 20.07; 21.02-03). 

W. E. BREWER SCATTER CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-13, Nov. 19-20 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks may be 

taken during the modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun 

special youth hunt is two deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to one 

doe, these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

WAPANOCCA NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-13, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions).  No more than 

two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No 

more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe may be taken during the modern gun 

permit hunt (Codes 20.07; 21.02-03) 

WARREN PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of six deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to six does may be taken with archery tackle only. 
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WEDINGTON WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1-Dec. 31 2011. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth permit hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun (permit hunt):  Dec. 12-13, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one buck (no antler 

restrictions) or one doe may be taken during the modern gun permit hunt.  Limit during the 

modern gun youth permit hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a 

bonus deer and will count towards the seasonal limit (Codes 20.02; 21.02). 

WHITE CLIFFS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of four deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to four does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

WHITEHALL WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only.   

WHITE RIVER NWR 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012 (north unit).  Oct. 1-Dec. 31, 2011 (south unit).  Oct. 1-

Nov. 30, 2011 (Kansas Lake Area). 

Muzzleloader (permit hunt): Oct. 22-24, 2011 (north and south units). 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 25-28, 2011 (north unit). 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 (north and south units). 

Modern Gun (permit hunt): Nov. 12-14, 2011 (north unit and south units). 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 15-16, 2011 (north unit).  Closed (Kansas Lake Area). 

Cook’s Lake Area (youth permit hunt):  Dec. 3-4, 2011. 

Cook’s Lake Area (mobility impaired permit hunt):  Dec. 9-11, 2011. 

Season limit of three deer; no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions).  No more than 

two bucks (no antler restrictions) or up to three does may be taken with archery tackle (both 

units).  No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe may be taken during the 

Oct. 22-24 muzzleloader permit hunt (both units).  No more than one buck (no antler 

restrictions) may be taken during the Oct. 25-28 muzzleloader hunt (no does allowed) (north 

unit only).  No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe may be taken during 

the Nov. 12-14 modern gun permit hunt (north and south units).  No more than one buck (no 

antler restrictions) may be taken during the Nov. 15-16 modern gun permit hunt (no does 

allowed) (north unit only).  No more than one buck (no antler restrictions) or one doe may be 

taken during the Nov. 5-6 modern gun special youth hunt (north and south units).  Cooks 

Lake Area Dec. 3-4:  no more than one buck (no antler restrictions) and one doe may be 

taken during the modern gun permit youth hunt. Cooks Lake area Dec. 9-11:  no more than 

one buck (no antler restrictions) and one doe may be taken during the modern gun permit 

mobility impaired hunt. Cooks Lake Area:  deer harvested during the modern gun youth 

permit hunt and mobility impaired permit hunt are bonus deer and do not count in the 

hunter’s statewide seasonal limit (Codes 20.07; 21.02-03). 

WHITE ROCK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 
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Seasonal limit of two deer; no more than one legal buck.  No more than one legal buck or up 

to two does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than one legal buck and one doe 

may be taken during the muzzleloader deer season.  No more than one legal buck may be 

taken during the modern gun seasons (no does allowed).  Limit during the modern gun 

special youth hunt is one deer, buck (no antler restrictions) or doe, this is not a bonus deer 

and will count toward the seasonal limit (Code 11.02). 

WINONA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30 and Dec. 17-19, 2011. 

Modern Gun (special youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 and Jan. 7-8, 2012. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-Dec. 4 and Dec. 26-28, 2011. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle.  No more than two legal bucks and one 

doe may be taken during the muzzleloader season or Nov. 12-13, 2011 of the modern gun 

season.  A Winona WMA doe quota permit is required to harvest a doe during the 

muzzleloader or modern gun seasons.  Limit during the modern gun special youth hunt is 

three deer:  no more than two bucks (no antler restrictions) and one doe, (a WMA doe quota 

permit is not required), these are not bonus deer and will count toward the seasonal limit 

(Codes 11.02; 21.02). 

WITTSBURG NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery: Oct. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

Firearms: Closed. 

Seasonal limit of three deer; no more than two legal bucks.  No more than two legal bucks or 

up to three does may be taken with archery tackle only. 

 

C1.02 BEAR SEASON AND LIMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAs 

04-11 BALD KNOB NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BAYOU DES ARC WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BAYOU METO WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BEAVER LAKE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

BELL SLOUGH WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

BENSON CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

BERYL ANTHONY LOWER OUACHITA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BIG CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BIG LAKE NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 
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BIG LAKE WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BIG TIMBER WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011 (only on that part of the area in zone 2).  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011 (only on that part of the area in bear zone 2).  Statewide 

limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 (only on that part of the area in bear zone 2).  

Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011 (only on that part of the area in bear zone 

2).  Statewide limit. 

BLEVINS WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

BLUE MOUNTAIN WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

BREWER LAKE CYPRESS CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BRUSHY CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BUFFALO NATIONAL RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

CACHE RIVER NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CAMP ROBINSON SUA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

CAMP ROBINSON WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

CANEY CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

CASEY JONES WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CATTAIL MARSH WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CEDAR CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CHEROKEE WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011 (only on that part of the area in zone 2).  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 

2011 (only that part of the area in zone 1). 
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Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16, 2011 (only on that part of the area in zone 2) and Nov. 7-30, 

2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

CHEROKEE PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

FREDDIE BLACK CHOCTAW ISLAND WMA DEER RESEARCH AREA 

Archery/Firearms (both units):  Closed. 

COVE CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CROSSETT EXPERIMENTAL FOREST WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CUT-OFF CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CYPRESS BAYOU WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

DARDANELLE WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

DAVE DONALDSON BLACK RIVER WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

DEGRAY LAKE WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

DEPARTEE CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

DEQUEEN LAKE WMA 

Archery (all open units):  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader (firearms units only):  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (firearms units only) (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (firearms units only):  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

DEVIL’S KNOB NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

DR. LESTER SITZES, III BOIS D’ARC WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

EARL BUSS BAYOU DEVIEW WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

ED GORDON POINT REMOVE WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader: Closed. 

Modern Gun:  Oct. 29-30 and Nov. 12-13, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

ELECTRIC ISLAND WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

 



 

170 

 

ETHEL WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

FALCON BOTTOMS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

FELSENTHAL NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

FT. CHAFFEE WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

FROG BAYOU WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

GALLA CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Closed. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

GARRETT HOLLOW NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

GENE RUSH WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit.  

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-20, 2011. Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

GREERS FERRY LAKE WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

GUM FLATS WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

H. E. FLANAGAN PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

HALL CREEK BARRENS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

HAROLD E. ALEXANDER SPRING RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-26, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-16, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

HARRIS BRAKE WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

HENRY GRAY HURRICANE LAKE WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

HOBBS STATE PARK-CONSERVATION AREA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Nov. 12-16, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit.  

Modern Gun:  Dec. 3-7, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

HOLLA BEND NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

HOLLAND BOTTOMS WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 
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HOPE UPLAND WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

HOWARD COUNTY WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

HOWARD HENSLEY SEARCY COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

IRON MOUNTAIN NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

J. PERRY MIKLES BLUE MOUNTAIN SUA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

JAMESTOWN INDEPENDENCE COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-13, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

JIM KRESS WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

JONES POINT WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

KINGSLAND PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

LAFAYETTE COUNTY WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

LAKE GREESON WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

LEE COUNTY WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

LITTLE BAYOU WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

LITTLE RIVER WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

LOAFER’S GLORY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-20, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

PALMETTO FLATS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

TWO BAYOU CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 
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MAUMELLE RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Oct 1-31 and Nov. 1-30, 2011 (deer permit holders only.  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

MCILROY/MADISON COUNTY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-26, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-16, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

MIKE FREEZE WATTENSAW WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

MORO BIG PINE NAT URAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

MT. MAGAZINE WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.   Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

MUDDY CREEK WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

NACATOCH RAVINES NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

NIMROD LLOYD MILLWOOD WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

NORFORK LAKE WMA 

Archery (all units):  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Chapin Point and Indian Head Units closed.  Seward Point, Bennett’s Bayou 

and Fulton County Units Oct. Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Chapin Point and Indian Head Units closed.  Seward Point, 

Bennett’s Bayou and Fulton County Units Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Chapin Point and Indian Head Units closed.  Seward Point, Bennett’s Bayou 

and Fulton County Units Nov. 12-20, 2011.  Statewide limit.   

(Addendum A1.08) 

OVERFLOW NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

OZAN WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

OZARK LAKE WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

OZARK NATIONAL FOREST WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 
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PALMETTO FLATS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

PETIT JEAN RIVER WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011. Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011. Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

PINE CITY NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

PINEY CREEKS WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

POISON SPRINGS WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

POND CREEK NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

PRAIRIE BAYOU WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

PROVO WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

RAILROAD PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

RAINEY WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011 .  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

REX HANCOCK BLACK SWAMP WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

RICK EVANS GRANDVIEW PRAIRIE WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

RING SLOUGH WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

RIVER BEND WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

ROBERT L. HANKINS MUD CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

ROTH PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

ST. FRANCIS NATIONAL FOREST WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

ST. FRANCIS SUNKEN LANDS WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 
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SANDHILLS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SCOTT HENDERSON GULF MOUNTAIN WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-26, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-16, 2011 (deer permit holders only).  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

SEVEN DEVILS WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SHEFFIELD NELSON DAGMAR WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SHIREY BAY RAINEY BRAKE WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SMOKE HOLE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

SLIPPERY HOLLOW NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SPRING BANK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

STATELINE SANDPONDS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

STEVE N. WILSON RAFT CREEK BOTTOMS WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SULPHUR RIVER WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SWEDEN CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SYLAMORE WMA 

North Unit 

Archery: Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader: Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt): Nov. 5-6, 2011 .  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 12-20 and Nov. 25-27, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

South Unit 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

TERRE NOIRE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

TRUSTEN HOLDER WMA 

Archery: Dec. 3-11, 2011 (closed on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service property on Trusten 

Holder WMA).  Statewide limit. 

Firearms:  Closed. 

U OF A PINE TREE EXPERIMENTAL STATION WDA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WAPANOCCA NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 
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WARREN PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

MIKE FREEZE WATTENSAW WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WEDINGTON WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WHITE CLIFFS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WHITEHALL WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WHITE RIVER NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  All Units closed. 

WHITE ROCK WMA 

Archery:  Oct. 1-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

(Addendum A1.08) 

W.E. BREWER SCATTER CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WINONA WMA 

Archery:  Sept. 15-Nov. 30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Muzzleloader:  Oct. 22-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun (youth hunt):  Nov. 5-6, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

Modern Gun:  Sept. 15-16 and Nov. 7-30, 2011.  Statewide limit. 

WITTSBURG NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

 

C1.03 ALLIGATOR SEASONS AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

04-11 All WMAs are closed. 

EXCEPTION 

On Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc and designated portions of Trusten Holder WMAs alligators may be 

hunted Sept. 16-19 and Sept. 23-26, 2011 by permit only. 

LIMIT 

Individual seasonal limit of one alligator. 

 

C1.04 WILD TURKEY SEASONS AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

10-10 In compliance with Code 01.00C Legal Turkey. 

BALD KNOB NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BAYOU DES ARC WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

BAYOU METO WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

(Code 21.07) 

BEAVER LAKE WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BELL SLOUGH WMA 

Firearms (permit hunt): See Camp Robinson WMA (Code 21.07). 
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BENSON CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

BERYL ANTHONY LOWER OUACHITA WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

(Code 21.07) 

BIG CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

BIG LAKE NWR 

Archery/Firearms: Closed. 

BIG LAKE WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey (Code 21.07). 

BIG TIMBER WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys (Code 21.07). 

BLEVINS WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

BLUE MOUNTAIN WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

BREWER LAKE CYPRESS CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BRUSHY CREEK WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

BUFFALO NATIONAL RIVER WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

CACHE RIVER NWR 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011 in hunt units 1 and 3.  One legal turkey.  

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011 in hunt unit 1.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011 in hunt unit 3.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  See Rex Hancock Black Swamp WMA for hunt unit 2 dates and 

limits (Code 21.07). 

CAMP ROBINSON SUA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

CAMP ROBINSON WMA 

Firearms (permit hunt) (includes Bell Slough WMA): April 11-13, April 18-20 and April 

25-27, 2011. One legal turkey (Code 21.07). 

CANEY CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

CASEY JONES WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.  

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys (Code 21.07). 

CATTAIL MARSH WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 
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CEDAR CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 10-27, 2010.  Two legal turkeys. 

CHEROKEE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys (Code 21.07). 

CHEROKEE PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

COVE CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

CROSSETT EXPERIMENTAL FOREST WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

CUT-OFF CREEK WMA 

Archery:  April 13, April 20, April 27 and May 2-6, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, April 22-24 and April 29-May 1, 2011.  One legal 

turkey.   

(Code 21.07) 

Hunting ends at 1 p.m. daily for permit hunts. 

CYPRESS BAYOU WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

DARDANELLE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

DAVE DONALDSON BLACK RIVER WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 3-4, 2010.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

DEGRAY LAKE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

DEPARTEE CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

DEVIL’S KNOB NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

DR. LESTER SITZES, III BOIS D’ARC WMA 

Archery: April 25-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.  

Firearms: (permit hunt): April 16-18 and April 22-24, 2011.  One legal turkey.  (Code 

21.07) 

EARL BUSS BAYOU DEVIEW WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

ED GORDON POINT REMOVE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Wiley Cox Field Trial Area is closed to hunting. 

ELECTRIC ISLAND WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 
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ETHEL WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

FALCON BOTTOMS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

FELSENTHAL NWR 

Archery:  Other than during permit hunts, areas are restricted to archery hunting and are 

open April 19-May 3, 2011.  Closed during turkey gun permit hunts.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.  

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

(Code 21.07) 

Turkeys must be checked at designated check stations. 

FORT CHAFFEE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.  

FREDDIE BLACK CHOCTAW ISLAND WMA AND DEER RESEARCH AREA 

East Unit 

Archery:  April 13, April 20, April 27 and May 2-6, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.  

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, April 22-24 and April 29-May 1, 2011.  One legal 

turkey.  

(Code 21.07) 

West Unit 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

FROG BAYOU WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

GALLA CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

GARRETT HOLLOW NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms: Closed. 

GENE RUSH WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

GREERS FERRY LAKE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

GUM FLATS WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey.  

(Code 21.07) 

H. E. FLANAGAN PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

HAROLD E. ALEXANDER SPRING RIVER WMA 

Archery:  May 2-6, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, April 22-24 and April 29-May 1, 2011.  One legal 

turkey.   

(Code 21.07) 
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HARRIS BRAKE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

HENRY GRAY HURRICANE LAKE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

HOBBS STATE PARK-CONSERVATION AREA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

HOLLA BEND NWR 

Archery:  April 18-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-17, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

(Code 21.07) 

Turkeys harvested during the Firearms hunts must be checked at area headquarters. 

HOLLAND BOTTOMS WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18 and April 22-24, 2011.  One legal turkey (Code 

21.07). 

HOWARD COUNTY WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

HOWARD HENSLEY SEARCY COUNTY WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

IRON MOUNTAIN NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

J. PERRY MIKLES BLUE MOUNTAIN SUA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

JAMESTOWN INDEPENDENCE COUNTY WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

JIM KRESS WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

(Code 21.07) 

JONES POINT WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

LAFAYETTE COUNTY WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, 2011.  One legal turkey.  

(Code 21.07) 

LAKE GREESON WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

LEE COUNTY WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 
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LITTLE BAYOU WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

LITTLE RIVER WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

LOAFER’S GLORY WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

MCILROY MADISON COUNTY WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18 and April 22-24, 2011.  One legal turkey (Code 

21.07). 

MIKE FREEZE WATTENSAW WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18 and April 22-24, 2011.  One legal turkey (Code 

21.07). 

MORO BIG PINE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery:  May 2-6, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, April 22-24 and April 29-May 1, 2011.  One legal 

turkey. 

(Code 21.07) 

MT. MAGAZINE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

MUDDY CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

NACATOCH RAVINES NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

NIMROD LLOYD MILLWOOD WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

NORFORK LAKE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

OVERFLOW NWR 

Archery/Crossbow: April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms: Closed. 

OZAN WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

OZARK LAKE WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

OZARK NATIONAL FOREST WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 
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PALMETTO FLATS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

PETIT JEAN RIVER WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

PINE CITY NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

PINEY CREEKS WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

POISON SPRINGS WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

POND CREEK NWR 

Archery:  Other than during permit hunt, areas are restricted to archery hunting and are open 

April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  March 26-27, 2011.  One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey.  

(Code 21.07) 

PRAIRIE BAYOU WMA 

Firearms: (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

PROVO WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

(Code 21.07) 

RAILROAD PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

RAINEY WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 3-4, 2010.  Two legal turkeys.   

April 10-27, 2009.  Two legal turkeys. 

REX HANCOCK BLACK SWAMP WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt) (includes Cache River NWR Unit 2 lands within an area 

bounded by U.S. Highway 64 on north, Arkansas Highway 17 on east, Arkansas 

Highway 38 on south and Arkansas Highway 33 on west):  April 9-10, 2011.  One legal 

turkey. 

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-17 and 23-24, 2011.  One legal turkey.  (Code 21.07) 

RICK EVANS GRANDVIEW PRAIRIE WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt) (includes Hope Upland WMA):  April 9-10, 2011.  One 

legal turkey (Code 21.07). 

RING SLOUGH WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

RIVER BEND WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

ROBERT L. HANKINS MUD CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 
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ROTH PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

ST. FRANCIS NATIONAL FOREST WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011.  Two legal turkeys. 

ST. FRANCIS SUNKEN LANDS WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011. One legal turkey. 

SANDHILLS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011. One legal turkey. 

SCOTT HENDERSON GULF MOUNTAIN WMA 

Archery:  May 2-6, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, April 22-24 and April 29-May 1, 2011. One legal 

turkey.   

(Code 21.07) 

SEVEN DEVILS WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

SHEFFIELD NELSON DAGMAR WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SHIREY BAY RAINEY BRAKE WMA 

Firearms (permit hunts): April 16-18, April 22-24 and April 29-May 1, 2011. One legal 

turkey. 

(Code 21.07) 

SLIPPERY HOLLOW NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

SMOKE HOLE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011.  One legal turkey. 

SPRING BANK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011. One legal turkey. 

STATELINE SANDPONDS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011. One legal turkey. 

STEVE N. WILSON RAFT CREEK BOTTOMS WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SULPHUR RIVER WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18 and April 22-24, 2011. One legal turkey. 

(Code 21.07) 

SWEDEN CREEK NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

SYLAMORE WMA 

North and South Units 

Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms (permit hunt):  April 16-18, 2011. One legal turkey (Code 21.07). 

Firearms:  April 20-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 
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TERRE NOIRE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

TRUSTEN HOLDER WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt):  April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

(Code 21.07) 

TWO BAYOU CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

U OF A PINE TREE EXPERIMENTAL STATION WDA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey.   

(Code 21.07) 

WAPANOCCA NWR 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WARREN PRAIRIE NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

WEDINGTON WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

WHITE CLIFFS NATURAL AREA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011. One legal turkey. 

WHITEHALL WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-26, 2011. One legal turkey. 

WHITE RIVER NWR 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011 (both units). Two legal turkeys. 

WHITE ROCK WMA 

 Firearms (youth hunt):  April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

W.E. BREWER SCATTER CREEK WMA 

Firearms (youth permit hunt): April 9-10, 2011. One legal turkey. 

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two bearded turkeys, no more than one jake (Code 

21.07). 

WINONA WMA 

Firearms (youth hunt): April 9-10, 2011. Two legal turkeys.   

Firearms:  April 16-May 3, 2011. Two legal turkeys. 

WITTSBURG NATURAL AREA WMA 

Archery/Firearms:  Closed. 

 

C1.05 QUAIL SEASON AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

04-11 Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Holland Bottoms WMA – (Tuesdays and Saturdays only). 
(2) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Harold E. Alexander Spring River WMA – Quail hunting ends at 

Noon. 

(3) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Norfork Lake WMA (Chapin Point and Indian Head Units) - quail 

hunting ends at Noon. 
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(4) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 7, 2010 in Compartment A.  No permit required.  Nov. 30, Dec. 3, 7, 10 and 

14, 2011, in Compartments 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 on Scott Henderson Gulf Mountain Quail 

Demonstration Area.  Permit required.  Limit: 5 per person. 

(5) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Hope Upland WMA (Tuesdays only).  Limit: 4. 

(6) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Ed Gordon Point Remove and Galla Creek WMAs (weekends 

only).  Limit 4. 

(7) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Big Timber Upland SUA.  Quail permit required; hunters must 

complete a Hunter Report Form after each hunt. 

(8) Dec. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Ft. Chaffee WMA.  

(9) Nov. 1, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012 on Felsenthal and Overflow NWRs. 

(10) Nov. 1, 2011-Feb. 5, 2012 on Prairie Bayou.  Limit 4. 

(11) Closed within Big Lake NWR, Camp Robinson SUA, Electric Island, Holla Bend NWR, J. 

Perry Mikles Blue Mountain SUA, Johnson County WRA, Horsehead Creek and Bob Young 

WRA on Dardanelle, Maumelle River, Pond Creek NWR, Rick Evans Grandview Prairie, 

Robert L. Hankins Mud Creek, Mike Freeze Wattensaw (closed only on the Quail Habitat 

Restoration Area), Wapanocca NWR, White River NWR, and Wedington WMAs. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit six, possession limit 12. 

 

C1.06 RABBIT SEASON AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

04-11 Sept. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Sept. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2011 on Hope Upland and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMAs 

(Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays only). 

(2) Sept. 3, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012 on Felsenthal, Pond Creek and Overflow NWRs 

(3) Oct. 1-Dec. 6, 2011 on Holla Bend NWR. 

(4) Sept. 1-Nov. 30, 2011 on White River NWR (South Unit). 

(6) Sept. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012 on Prairie Bayou.  Limit 4. 

(7) Closed within Camp Robinson SUA, Electric Island WMA, J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain 

SUA, Wylie Cox SUA on Ed Gordon Point Remove WMA, Johnson County, Horsehead Creek 

and Bob Young WRAs on Dardanelle WMA. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit eight, possession limit 16. 

 

C1.07 SQUIRREL SEASON AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

04-11 May 21, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012 and May 15, 2012-Feb. 28, 2013. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Sept. 1-Feb. 29, 2012 on Big Lake NWR and Waponocca NWR. 

(2) May 21-Sept. 28, 2011 on Camp Robinson SUA. 

(3) Sept. 3, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012 on Camp Robinson WMA, Harold E. Alexander Spring River, Hope 

Upland (Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays only), Lafayette County, Maumelle River 

(Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays only) and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMAs 

(Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays only). 

(4) Sept. 3, 2011-Jan. 31, 2012 on Felsenthal, Pond Creek and Overflow NWRs. 

(5) Oct. 1-Dec. 6, 2011 on Holla Bend NWR. 

(6) Sept. 1 -Nov. 30, 2011 on White River NWR (South Unit). 

(7) Sept. 1, 2011-Feb. 29, 2012 on Bald Knob, Cache River and White River (North unit) WMAs. 

(7) Spring Squirrel closed on Electric Island, Johnson County WRA on Dardanelle and Wylie Cox 

SUA on Ed Gordon Point Remove WMAs. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit eight, possession limit 32. 
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C1.08 MOURNING AND EURASIAN COLLARED DOVE SEASON AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

07-11 Sept. 3-Oct. 30 and Dec. 26, 2011-Jan 6, 2012. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Camp Robinson SUA and Wylie Cox SUA on Ed Gordon Point Remove WMA - first two 

weeks of statewide season. 

(2) Hope Upland and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMA - open Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays only during statewide dove seasons. 

(3) Holland Bottoms WMA - ends at noon each day. 

(4) J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain WDA - closed during authorized field trials. 

(5) Bald Knob and Cache River NWRs - ends at noon each day. 

(6) Maumelle River WMA – closed. 

LIMIT:  Mourning Doves:  Daily limit 15, possession 30. 

  Eurasian Collared Doves:  Daily limit is unlimited, possession unlimited. 

 

C1.09 FURBEARER SEASON AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

04-11 (A) Gray Fox, Mink, Red Fox and striped Skunk Hunting:  Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 

29, 2012 (day hunting only). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit two per species, possession unlimited. 

(B) Opossum Hunting:  Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (day or night hunting; dogs 

are required for hunting at night). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit two, possession unlimited. 

(C) Bobcat Hunting:  Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (dogs required to hunt bobcat at 

night) and during turkey season (day hunting only; no dogs allowed). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Closed on WMAs where a turkey or squirrel season is closed. 

(2) During youth turkey hunts, only youths may take bobcat. 

(3) Ed Gordon Point Remove WMA:  Closed to bobcat hunting unless other hunting 

seasons are open. 

(4) Hope Upland and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMA:  Closed to bobcat hunting 

except open on Tuesday during daylight hours only. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit two, possession unlimited. 

(D) Coyote Hunting:  Sunrise, July 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (dogs not allowed to hunt coyote) 

and during turkey season (day hunting only; no dogs allowed). 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Closed on WMAs where a turkey or squirrel seasons is closed. 

(2) During youth turkey hunts, only youths may take coyote. 

(3) Ed Gordon Point Remove WMA:  Closed to coyote hunting unless other hunting 

seasons are open. 

(4) Hope Upland and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMA:  Closed to coyote hunting 

except open on Tuesday during daylight hours only. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(E) River Otter Hunting:  Sunrise, Nov. 12, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (day hunting only). 

LIMIT:  Daily limit two, possession unlimited. 

(F) Raccoon Hunting:  Sunset, July 1-Sunrise, Aug. 31, 2011 (night hunting only; dogs are 

required). Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012 (day or night hunting; dogs are required 

for hunting at night).  March 1-31, 2012 (night hunting only; dogs are required). 

LIMIT:  July 1- Feb. 29 season daily limit four, possession unlimited. 

March 1-31 season daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(H) Muskrat, Nutria and Beaver Hunting:  Sunrise, Sept. 1, 2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(I) Badger, Spotted Skunk (Civet Cat) and Weasel Hunting:  Closed. 
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(J) Furbearer Trapping (Other than Beaver, Coyote, Muskrat and Nutria):  Sunrise, Nov. 12, 

2011-Sunset, Feb. 29, 2012. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(K) Beaver Muskrat and Nutria Trapping:  Sunrise, Nov. 12, 2011-Sunset, March 31, 2012.   

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

(L) Coyote Trapping:  Aug. 1, 2011-March 31, 2012. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) Only enclosed, pull-activated dog-proof traps may be utilized on Camp Robinson SUA. 

(2) Cedar Creek, Electric Island and Maumelle River WMAs are closed to all furbearer hunting and 

trapping. 

(3) J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain SUA is closed to all trapping and raccoon hunting.  Chase for 

pleasure or training purposes only is permitted year-round.  Closed during field trails. 

(4) Furbearer hunting and trapping allowed under the conditions, seasons and limits provided by the 

required annual refuge hunting permit or refuge trapping permit on all NWRs. 

(5) Buffalo National River, Camp Robinson WMA and Ditch 28 on Big Lake WMA are closed to 

all trapping. 

(6) Bobcat, coyote and fox hunting with dogs allowed on Casey Jones WMA in accordance with 

Code 22.01. 

 

C1.10 CROW SEASON AND LIMITS ON WMAs 

04-11 All WMAs:  Sept. 3, 2011-Feb. 24, 2012.  Thursdays-Mondays only.   

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) All NWRs, Maumelle River and Electric Island WMAs: - closed. 

(2) Hope Upland and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMAs - Open Thursdays and Saturdays only 

during the statewide season. 

(3) Camp Robinson SUA - Sept. 3-28, 2011. 

LIMIT:  Daily limit unlimited, possession unlimited. 

 

C1.11 MOBILITY IMPAIRED ACCESS PERMIT RESTRICTIONS 

(A) A person who is permanently mobility impaired may apply to the Commission to receive a 

Mobility Impaired Access Permit allowing the person to access designated areas and to use an 

All-Terrain Vehicle or similar form of specialized motorized transportation for certain access 

uses on Commission-owned WMAs. To qualify, an applicant must submit a completed official 

form with certification from a physician duly licensed to practice medicine by a state medical 

board attesting the applicant either: 

(1) Has a permanent physical condition severely impairing the applicant’s mobility and 

requiring permanent use of a brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair or 

walker; or 

(2) Is permanently restricted by lung disease to such an extent the applicant’s forced 

expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, 

or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60mm/hg of room air at rest; or 

(3) Has a permanent physical condition requiring use of portable oxygen; or 

(4) Has a permanent cardiac condition to the extent the applicant’s functional limitations are 

classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to current standards set by the 

American Heart Association. 

(B) Upon issuance of a Mobility Impaired Access Permit, the following terms and conditions shall 

apply: 

(1) The Mobility Impaired Access Permit is not a license to hunt or fish.  While engaging in 

hunting or fishing activities, a Mobility Impaired Access Permit holder must have on his 
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or her person the appropriate hunting or fishing license, permits, and/or stamps in 

addition to the Mobility Impaired Access Permit. 

(2) Only ATVs or other similar specialized transportation devices with three or more 

wheels may be used.  No two-wheel ATVs or trailers may be used. 

(3) Upon the receipt of and successful processing of a Mobility Impaired Access Permit 

application, the Commission shall issue two (2) Mobility Impaired Access Permit Tags 

to the applicant.  One tag must remain on the Mobility Impaired Access Permit holder at 

all times while engaged in any hunting or fishing activity on any Commission-owned 

WMA.  The second tag must be clearly displayed on his or her ATV or other similar 

specialized transportation device while engaged in any hunting or fishing activity on any 

Commission-owned WMA. 

(4) The ATV or other similar specialized transportation device shall only be used for the 

following purposes: 

(a) To travel on graveled, all-weather roads unless otherwise posted as closed to 

vehicular traffic. 

(b) To travel on designated, signed Mobility Impaired Access Trails. 

(c) To travel off graveled, all-weather roads and designated, signed Mobility Impaired 

Access Trails during muzzleloader and modern gun deer seasons; the allowable 

distance traveled off graveled, all-weather roads and designated, signed Mobility 

Impaired Access Trails is a minimum of 100 feet from the center line in compliance 

with Code 05.05 (Hunting From Road Prohibited) and a maximum of 300 feet; 

ATV use within this special access zone is specifically for placement of hunting 

stands and bona fide hunting activities.  Mobility Impaired Access Permit holders 

must maintain clear visual contact with his or her ATV or other similar specialized 

transportation device at all times while engaged in hunting or fishing activities on 

any Commission-owned WMA. 

(d) Travel off graveled, all-weather roads and designated, signed Mobility Impaired 

Access Trails, as well as outside the special access zone is permitted only for the 

retrieval of big game taken by the Mobility Impaired Access Permit holder.  

(e) If a condition exists where a single helper is required to 

assist the Mobility Impaired Access Permit holder, this helper must first be 

approved through issuance of a Mobility Impaired Access Helper Permit issued by 

the Regional Wildlife Supervisor for a particular Wildlife Management Area; for 

safety concerns, the helper must ride a separate ATV and remain within eyesight or 

normal voice range of the Mobility Impaired Access Permit holder at all times.  If 

the Mobility Impaired Access Permit holder is incapable of safely operating an 

ATV or other similar specialized transportation device, the helper may be approved 

by the Regional Wildlife Supervisor to accompany the Mobility Impaired Access 

Permit holder and operate an ATV or similar specialized transportation device that 

is designed to safely carry two persons; no additional passengers are allowed. 

(f) During all ATV or similar specialized transportation device use, all weapons must 

be unloaded and firearms must be cased at all times. 

 

C1.12 WATERFOWL SEASON RESTRICTIONS ON WMAS 

(1) Bayou Meto: No trespassing (except in designated campsites, parking areas, and boat 

launch ramps) from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. during duck season. 

(2) Big Lake:  Mallard Lake is closed to hunting.  Fishing and non-hunting activities are 

allowed. 

(3) Brewer Lake Cypress Creek, Camp Robinson WDA and Cedar Creek: Closed to 

waterfowl hunting. 

(4) Cane Creek Lake (Lincoln County):  Waterfowl hunting ends at noon. 
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(5) Cole Pile Lake – Closed to hunting.  Fishing and non-hunting activities are allowed. 

(6) Cut-Off Creek:  No trespassing (except in designated campsites, parking areas and boat 

launch ramps) from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. during duck season. Travel by boat is prohibited on 

Latin Drain, Firehunt Slough and Third Slough except during high water periods when 

boating access is possible to the Deep Slough Dam. In this case, boats may be used area-

wide, however, boat motors may only be used on Cut-Off Creek and Deep Slough. 

(7) Dardanelle: Waterfowl hunting is not allowed on that part of Big Spadra and Little 

Spadra creeks lying north of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, east of Crawford Street, south 

of I-40, and west of Arkansas Highway 103.  Dogs, hunting or trapping devices are 

prohibited on Johnson County WRA.   

(8) Dave Donaldson Black River: Lake Ashbaugh and Hubble Lake are closed to hunting, 

although Hubble Lake is open for early teal season. Fishing and non-hunting activities are 

allowed. 

(9) DeGray Lake: Loaded firearms are prohibited on Lower DeGray Lake WRA except by 

permitted participants of special hunts. 

(10) Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc: Boats are not allowed on the Green Tree Waterfowl 

area 14 days before waterfowl season opens, but are allowed during the regular duck 

season.   

(11) Earl Buss Bayou DeView: Lake Houge is closed to hunting. Fishing and non-hunting 

activities are allowed. 

(12) Frog Bayou: Waterfowl hunters may not access inundated areas until 4 a.m. and must 

exit inundated areas by 1 p.m. 

(13) Harris Brake: Open to waterfowl hunting only Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and 

Sunday. All-day hunting is allowed the last two days of the last duck season. During duck 

season, other hunters must abide by same hours and days as duck hunters, except for 

those trapping and hunting furbearers at night. Only shotguns and archery equipment are 

allowed for hunting. Harris Brake Lake is open to Canada goose hunting every Sept. 1-

15. 

(14) Henry Gray Hurricane Lake:  Waterfowl hunters may not access inundated area until 4 

a.m. and must exit inundated areas by 1 p.m. 

(15) Craig D. Campbell Lake Conway Reservoir:  Closed to waterfowl hunting, except on 

the Pierce Creek and Dixs Creek Bays, waterfowl hunting ends at noon.  

(16) Lake Overcup:  Waterfowl hunting ends at noon. 

(17) Little Bayou:   Closed to all trespassing (except in designated campsites, parking areas 

and boat launch ramps) from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. during duck season 

(18) Maumelle River:  Closed to waterfowl hunting.  All boating activities and trespassing is 

prohibited in the Restricted Area Zone 1 on the east end of Lake Maumelle as marked by 

buoy lines.  No hunting, camping or other trespassing is allowed on any island on Lake 

Maumelle. 

(19) Petit Jean River:  Waterfowl impoundments are closed to trespass from one hour after 

sunset until 4 a.m. during duck season. 

(20) Rex Hancock Black Swamp:  Waterfowl hunters may not access inundated area until 4 

a.m. and must exit inundated areas by 1 p.m. 

(21) Rick Evans Grandview Prairie:  Waterfowl hunting closed on all lakes and ponds. 

(22) Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms:  Waterfowl hunters may not access inundated 

area until 4 a.m. and must exit inundated areas by 1 p.m. 

(23) St. Francs Forest:  Waterfowl hunting ends at noon. 

(24) St. Francis Sunken Lands:  The Snowden Field Waterfowl Rest Area levee is open to 

foot traffic around the north end of the unit to allow access to public lands. 

(25) Shirey Bay Rainey Brake:  Closed to all trespassing, except in designated campsites, 

parking areas, and boat launch ramps, from 2 a.m. to 4 a.m. during duck season. 
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(26) Tommy L. Sproles Lake Pickthorne:  Closed to waterfowl hunting. 

(27) U of A Pine Tree Experimental Station WDA: North of Highway 306 closed to 

waterfowl hunting. 

 

C1.13 DEER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS ON CERTAIN WMAS 
04-11 (A) Buck and/or Doe: Bayou Meto (firearms), Bald Knob NWR (modern gun), Dr. Lester 

Sitzes, III Bois d’Arc (firearms), Cache River NWR (modern gun), Camp Robinson 
SUA (modern gun), Camp Robinson WMA (firearms), Freddie Black Choctaw Island 
WMA Deer Research Area East Unit (firearms), Cut-Off Creek (firearms), Cypress 
Bayou (firearms), Sheffield Nelson Dagmar (firearms), Dave Donaldson Black River 
(muzzleloader), Ed Gordon Point Remove (modern gun), Felsenthal NWR (modern 
gun), Fort Chaffee (firearms), Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research 
Area both units (firearms), Scott Henderson Gulf Mountain (firearms), Harold E. 
Alexander Spring River (firearms), Henry Gray Hurricane Lake (firearms), Hobbs 
SP-CA (firearms), Holla Bend NWR (archery), Holland Bottoms (muzzleloader), 
Howard County (firearms), J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain SUA (modern gun), Lake 
Greeson (firearms), Little Bayou (muzzleloader), Maumelle River WMA (archery), 
McIlroy Madison County (firearms), Moro Big Pine Natural Area, Overflow NWR 
(muzzleloader), Pond Creek NWR (modern gun), Rex Hancock Black Swamp 
(firearms), Rick Evans Grandview Prairie (archery), St. Francis National Forest 
(firearms), Shirey Bay Rainey Brake (muzzleloader), Trusten Holder (muzzleloader), 
U of A Pine Tree Experimental Station WDA (firearms), Wedington (firearms), 
Wapanocca NWR (modern gun), Mike Freeze Wattensaw (firearms) and White River 
NWR (firearms). 

(B) Doe: Blue Mountain (firearms), Caney Creek (firearms) and Muddy Creek (firearms) 
WMAs. 

(C) Mobility-Impaired: DeGray Lake, (muzzleloader), Freddie Black Choctaw Island 
WMA Deer Research Area East Unit (modern gun), Johnson County WDA on 
Dardanelle (modern gun), Greers Ferry Lake (muzzleloader), Hobbs (modern gun), 
Lake Greeson (muzzleloader), Merrisach Park on Trusten Holder (muzzleloader or 
shotguns allowed) and White River NWR (modern gun). 

(D) Youth: Camp Robinson WMA (modern gun), Dave Donaldson Black River WMA 
(modern gun), Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research Area East and 
West Units (modern gun), Galla Creek (modern gun), Greers Ferry WMA 
(muzzleloader), Hobbs SP-CA (modern gun), Hope Upland (modern gun), Holla 
Bend NWR (modern gun), J. Perry Mikles Blue Mountain SUA (modern gun), Pond 
Creek NWR (modern gun), Prairie Bayou (modern gun), St. Francis National Forest 
(modern gun), Shirey Bay Rainey Brake (modern gun), Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek 
Bottoms (modern gun), and White River NWR (modern gun). 

 

 

C1.14 BUCK DEER RESTRICTIONS ON CERTAIN WMAS 

04-11 (1) On Lafayette County and St. Francis National Forest WMAs, a buck deer must have 

(A) both antlers under 2 inches (button buck included); or 

(B) at least one antler with at least four points a minimum of 1 inch long, 

including the main beam, 

(2) On Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research Area East Unit (including 

youths during the youth permit hunt) and Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMAs a 

buck must have: 

(A) both antlers under 2 inches (button buck included); or 

(B) an inside spread of 15 inches or more in width; or 

(C) at least one main beam 18 inches or more in length.  
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(3) On, Henry Gray Hurricane Lake, Rex Hancock Black Swamp, Sheffield Nelson 

Dagmar, U of A Pine Tree Experimental Station and Mike Freeze Wattensaw WMAs, 

a buck must have: 

(A) at least one antler with at least four points a minimum of 1 inch long, 

including the main beam; or, 

(B) have four total points or less, including the main beam (button buck 

included). 

(4) On Johnson County WRA on Dardanelle WMA any buck deer may be legally 

harvested during a firearm permit hunt. 

(5) On DeGray Lake and Greers Ferry Lake WMAs, any buck deer may be legally 

harvested during the deer muzzleloader mobility-impaired hunt. 

(6) On Hobbs SP-CA, any buck deer may be legally harvested during the deer modern 

gun mobility-impaired hunt. 

(7) On Moro Big Pine Natural Area and Ed Gordon Point Remove WMAs a buck must 

have: 

(A) both antlers under 2 inches (button buck included); or 

(B) an inside spread of 12 inches or more in width; or 

(C) at least one main beam 15 inches or more in length. 

(8) On Bald Knob, Big Lake, Cache River, Felsenthal, Holla Bend, Overflow, Pond 

Creek, Wapanocca and White River NWRs any buck deer may be legally harvested 

during all deer hunts. 

(9) On Bayou Meto, Cut-Off Creek and Trusten Holder WMAs a buck must have: 

(A) both antlers under two inches (including button buck); or  

(B) at least one antler with at least four points including the tip of the main beam, 

each a minimum of one inch long; or 

(C) at least one main beam 18 inches or more in length. 

(10) In compliance with Code 11.02. 

 

C1.15 ELK SEASONS AND BAG LIMIT RESTRICTIONS ON WMAS 

04-11 Sept. 26-30 and Dec. 5-9, 2011 on Buffalo National River and Gene Rush WMAs. 

LIMIT:  Individual annual limit of one elk.  

 

C1.16 TURKEY PERMIT REQUIREMENTS ON CERTAIN WMAS 
10-10 (A) Quota:  Bell Slough WMA, Beryl Anthony Lower Ouachita WMA, Dr. Lester Sitzes, 

III Bois d’Arc WMA, Cache River NWR (Unit 2), Camp Robinson WMA, Freddie 
Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research Area (east unit), Cut-Off Creek WMA, 
Felsenthal NWR, Gulf Mountain WMA, Harold E. Alexander Spring River, Holla 
Bend NWR, Holland Bottoms, Lafayette County, McIlroy Madison County WMA, 
Mike Freeze Wattensaw WMA, Moro Big Pine Natural Area WMA, Pond Creek 
NWR, Rex Hancock Black Swamp WMA, Shirey Bay Rainey Brake WMA, 
Sylamore WMA and Sulphur River WMA. 

(B) Youth:  Bayou Meto WMA, Beryl Anthony Lower Ouachita WMA, Big Lake WMA, 
Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research Area (east unit), Cut-Off Creek 
WMA, Felsenthal NWR, Gulf Mountain WMA, Harold E. Alexander Spring River 
WMA, Holla Bend NWR, Holland Bottoms WMA, Hope Upland WMA, Lafayette 
County WMA, McIlroy Madison County WMA, Mike Freeze Wattensaw WMA, 
Moro Big Pine Natural Area WMA, Pond Creek NWR, Rex Hancock Black Swamp 
WMA, Rick Evans Grandview Prairie WMA, Sulphur River WMA, Trusten Holder 
WMA, U of A Pine Tree Experimental Station WDA and W.E. Brewer Scatter Creek 
WMA. 
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(C) A Lease Land Permit is required for persons 16 years and older to camp, hunt or trap 
wildlife on Big Timber, Casey Jones, Cherokee, Gum Flats, Jim Kress, Lafayette 
County and Provo WMAs.  ATVs, motorcycles and bicycles allowed on open, 
maintained roads on Cherokee and Jim Kress WMAs by hunters in possession of a 
Leased-Land Permit for ingress and egress to hunting locations and/or camping sites 
only 
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CHAPTER D1.00 

LICENSE 

 

D1.01 Licenses, Permits, Stamps, Tags, Costs, and Expiration Dates 

 

* * * * *  

 

D1.01 LICENSES, PERMITS, STAMPS, TAGS, COSTS AND 

03-09 EXPIRATION DATES 

 

SPORT FISHING:    CODE   COST  EXP. DATE 

Alligator Gar Fishing Permit   AGP  Free  Dec. 31 

Resident Fisheries Conservation License FSH  $10.50  ** 

Resident 3-Day Trip License   RT3  $6.50  * 

Resident Disabled Fishing 3-Yr License RDF  $10.50  + 

Resident Disabled Combination 3-Yr License RDC  $35.50  + 

Non-Resident Annual Fishing License NRF  $40.00  ** 

Non-Resident 14-Day Trip Fishing License N14  $22.00  * 

Non-Resident 7-Day Trip Fishing License NT7  $17.00  * 

Non-Resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License NT3  $11.00  * 

Arkansas Trout Permit   TPR  $5.00  ** 

Non-Resident Trout Permit   TPN  $12.00  ** 

White River Border Lakes License  WRL  $10.00  ** 

Resident Guide License/Fishing  GLF  $25.00  ** 

Non-Resident Guide License/Fishing GNF  $150.00  ** 

 

SPECIAL AND COMMERCIAL FISHING: 

Hoop Nets (with or w/o leads), Turtle Nets HN  $4.00  Dec. 31 

Slat Traps & Fiddler Nets   FS  $12.50  Dec. 31 

Commercial Trotlines (inc. snaglines, throw- 

  lines, limb lines, set hooks) per 100 ft TL  $5.00  Dec. 31 

Box Traps Turtle Trap   TT  $2.00  Dec. 31 

Commercial Tackle (Seine, Trammel & Gill Nets) 

  100 yds. or fractional part thereof per tag SNS  $15.00  Dec. 31 

  Commercial Fisherman's Permit 

  & Sportfishing License   CFS  $25.00  Dec. 31 

Commercial Fisherman's Helper Permit CFH  $25.00  Dec. 31 

Junior/Senior Commercial Fishing Permit JSC  $14.50  Dec. 31 

Alligator Farmer/Dealer Permit.  AFP  $200.00  June 30 

Alligator Tags      $4.00  June 30 

Alligator Snapping Turtle Breeder/ 

  Dealer Permit    AST  $100.00  June 30 

Aquatic Turtle Harvest Permit   THP  $100.00  Dec. 31 

Aquatic Turtle Harvest Helper Permit TH  $50.00  Dec. 31 

Junior Aquatic Turtle Harvest Permit JTH  $25.00  Dec. 31 

Aquatic Turtle Dealer Permit   TDR  $250.00  Dec. 31 

Non-Resident Aquatic Turtle Dealer Permit TDN  $500.00  Dec. 31 

Aquatic Turtle Farmer Permit   TBP  $100.00  Dec. 31 

Resident Shell Taker and Seller  STS  $100.00  Dec. 31 

Shell Taker Helper Permit   SH  $100.00  Dec. 31 

Shell Buyer     SBR  $1,000.00 Dec. 31 
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Non-Resident Shell Buyer   SBN  $2,000.00 Dec. 31 

Shell Buyer's Agent Permit   SA  $100.00  Dec. 31 

Resident Fish Dealer    MD  $10.00  Dec. 31 

Non-Resident Fish Dealer   FDN  $250.00  Dec. 31 

Minnow Dealer Tackle (Minnow 

  (Seine, Traps or Lifts)   MS  $5.00  Dec. 31 

Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit  VHS  $200.00  +++ 

Fish Farmer (Aquaculturist) Permit  FF  $25.00  Dec. 31++ 

Bull Frog Permit (Must have valid Fish 

  Farmer Permit)    BP  $25.00  Dec. 31  

Resident Roe Taker/Seller Permit  RTS  $500.00  Dec. 31 

Resident Roe Taker/Helper Permit  RH  $100.00  Dec. 31 

Resident Roe Buyer/Exporter Permit RBE  $1,000.00 Dec. 31 

Non-Resident Roe Buyer Permit  RBN  $2,000.00 Dec. 31 

Commercial Boat Dock Permit  BDN  $25.00  Dec. 31 

Commercial Boat Dock (User Fee)  BPL  $150.00  Dec. 31 

Private Boat House/Irrigation (Single) BHS  $10.00  Dec. 31 

Private Pier/Irrigation    DPS  $10.00  Dec. 31 

Irrigation Permit    IP  $10.00  Dec. 31 

Put & Take Pay Lake    PLO  $150.00  Dec. 31 

 

HUNTING LICENSE AND PERMITS: 

Deferred Hunter Education   DHE  Free  * 

Resident Wildlife Conservation License HNT  $10.50  June 30 

Resident Sportsman's Permit   RS  $25.00  June 30   

Resident Disabled Hunting 3-Yr License RDH  $25.00  + 

Resident Disabled Combination 3-Yr License RDC  $35.50  + 

Non-Resident Annual All Game License NBG  $300.00  June 30 

Non-Resident 5-Day All Game License AG5  $150.00  * 

Non-Resident 3-Day All Game License  AG3  $100.00  * 

Non-Resident 1-Day All Game License  AG1  $50.00  * 

Non-Resident Annual Small Game License NRH  $80.00  June 30 

Non-Resident 5-Day Small Game License SG5  $55.00  * 

Non-Resident Trappers Permit  NFT  $125.00  June 30 

Private Lands Elk Permit   PLE  $35.00  **** 

Arkansas Resident Waterfowl Stamp DSR  $7.00  June 30 

Arkansas Non-Resident Waterfowl Stamp DSN  $20.00  June 30 

AGFC Leased Lands Permit (Hunting, Trapping and Camping) 

  Casey Jones WMA.    LCJ  $20.00  ** 

  Big Timber WMA.    LBT  $20.00  ** 

  Cherokee WMA.    LCH  $20.00  ** 

  Gum Flats WMA    LGF  $20.00  ** 

  Provo WMA     LPR  $20.00  ** 

  Lafayette County WMA   LLC  $20.00  ** 

  Jim Kress WMA     LJK  $20.00  ** 

Falconry Permit Apprentice   FPA  $25.00  *** 

Falconry Permit General   FPG  $25.00  *** 

Falconry Permit Master   FPM  $25.00  *** 

Resident Guide License/Hunting  GLH  $25.00  June 30 

Non-Resident Guide License/Hunting GNH  $150.00  June 30 

Resident Special Guide License  GLS  $150.00  June 30 
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Non-Resident WMA Waterfowl Hunting 

  Permit (5-day trip)    NW5  $10.00  * 

Non-Resident WMA Seasonal Waterfowl  

Hunting Permit    NWP  $100.00  June 30 

 

HUNTING COMMERCIALIZATION: 

Resident Trappers Permit    TP  Free  June 30 

Resident Fur Dealer    FD  $50.00  June 30 

Non-Resident Fur Dealer   NFD  $100.00  June 30 

Special Commercial Quail Permit  CQP  $25.00  June 30 

Game Bird Shooting Resort Permit  CSR  $150.00  June 30 

Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permit. CHR  $500.00  June 30 

Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit  WBD  $50.00  June 30 

Wildlife Importation Permit   WTP  $25.00  June 30 

Mountain Lion Permit    MLP  $50.00  June 30 

Live Fox and Coyote Permit   FCP  $25.00  June 30 

 

LIFETIME LICENSE: 

Resident 65 Plus Lifetime 

Fishing License    PLF  $10.50  Non-Expiring 

Resident 65 Plus Lifetime 

  Sportsman's Hunting License 

  and Permit     PLH  $25.00  Non-Expiring 

Resident 65 Plus Lifetime 

  Combination License   PLC  $35.50  Non-Expiring 

Resident 65 Plus Lifetime   

  Waterfowl Permit    PLD  $7.00  Non-Expiring 

Resident 65 Plus Lifetime    

  Trout Permit     PLT  $5.00  Non-Expiring 

Non-Expiring Lifetime Resident Hunting  

  & Fishing Sportsman's Permit  LSP  $l,000.00  Non-Expiring 

       *Good from requested day of issue for period of license. 

      **Good for 1 year from date of purchase. 

   ****Expires when the zone quota has been reached (Addendum A1.09). 

 *****Good for that season only. 

     + Good for 3 years from date of purchase. 

    ++Fee applies to initial purchase.  No fee for annual renewal. 

 +++Permit is annual permit issued in two (2) six month intervals. 
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CHAPTER E1.00 

ZONE DESCRIPTIONS 

 

E1.01 Deer Zone Descriptions 

E1.02 Turkey Zone Descriptions 

E1.03 Bear Zone Descriptions 

E1.04 Flood Prone Regions 

E1.05 Private Land Elk Zone Descriptions 

E1.06 Establishment of Urban Bowhunting Deer Zones 

E1.07 Canada Goose Zone Descriptions 

E1.08 St. Francis Floodway Waterfowl Zone 

E1.09 Alligator Management Zone Descriptions 

 

* * * * *  
 

E1.01 DEER ZONE DESCRIPTIONS 

03-09 Zone 1 – Northwestern Arkansas. From northwestern corner of Arkansas; south on the Arkansas-

Oklahoma state line to U.S. Highway 62; east on U.S. Highway 62 to Arkansas Highway 16 at 

Fayetteville; east on Arkansas Highway 16 to Kings River; north on Kings River to the Arkansas-

Missouri state line; west on the Arkansas-Missouri state line to the northwestern corner of 

Arkansas. 

 

Zone 1A – Southwestern portion of northwestern Arkansas. From Arkansas-Oklahoma state line 

and U.S. Highway 62; south on the Arkansas-Oklahoma state line toI-540; east on I-540 to I-40; 

east on I-40 to U.S. Highway71; north on U.S. Highway 71 to Forest Service Road 1564B near 

Winslow; east on  Forest Service Road 1575A to Forest Service Road 1580A near Brannon; east 

on Forest Service Road 1580A to Arkansas Highway 295; north on Arkansas Highway 295 to 

Arkansas Highway16; west on Arkansas Highway 16 to U.S. Highway 62 at Fayetteville; west on 

U.S. Highway 62 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line.  

 

Zone 2 – Western half of north-central Arkansas.  From intersection of Arkansas-Missouri state 

line and Kings River; south on Kings River to Arkansas Highway 16; east on Arkansas Highway 

16 to Arkansas Highway 21 near Fallsville; north on Arkansas Highway 21 to Arkansas Highway 

16 near Swain; east on Arkansas Highway 16 to Arkansas Highway 27 near Tilly; north on 

Arkansas Highway 27 to Arkansas Highway 254; east on Arkansas Highway 254 to U.S. 

Highway 65 at Dennard; north on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 66 at Leslie; east on 

Arkansas Highway 66 to Arkansas Highway 58 at Mountain View; east on Arkansas Highway 58 

to the White River; north on the White River to U.S. Highway 62; west on U.S. Highway 62 to 

Arkansas Highway 14 at Yellville; west on Arkansas Highway 14 to U.S. Highway 65; north on 

U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas-Missouri state line; west on Arkansas-Missouri state line to Kings 

River.  

Zone 3 – Eastern half of north-central Arkansas. From intersection of Arkansas-Missouri state 

line and U.S. Highway 65; south on U.S.  Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 14; east on Arkansas 

Highway 14 to U.S. Highway 62 at Yellville; east on U.S. Highway 62 to White River; south on 

White River to Black River; north on Black River to Current River; north on Current River to 

Arkansas-Missouri state line; west on Arkansas-Missouri state line to western edge of Bull Shoals 

Lake. 

 

Zone 4 (section 1) – Western portion of northeastern Arkansas.  From intersection of Current 

River and Arkansas-Missouri state line; south on Current River to Black River; south on Black 

http://www.agfc.com/hunting/Documents/DeerMap.pdf
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River to White River; south on White River to Arkansas Highway 14; east on Arkansas Highway 

14 to Arkansas Highway 17; south on Arkansas Highway 17 to Arkansas Highway 14; east on 

Arkansas Highway 14 to Arkansas Highway 145; south on Arkansas Highway 145 to Arkansas 

Highway 37; south on Arkansas Highway 37 to Arkansas Highway 42; east on Arkansas Highway 

42 to Arkansas Highway 1 near Cherry Valley; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to U.S. Highway 

63; north on U.S. Highway 63 to Arkansas Highway 228; east on Arkansas Highway 228 to U.S. 

Highway 412; east on U.S. Highway 412 to Arkansas Highway 141; north on Arkansas Highway 

141 to U.S. Highway 62; east on U.S. Highway 62 to Arkansas Highway 139; north on Arkansas 

Highway 139 to Arkansas-Missouri state line; west on Arkansas-Missouri state line to Current 

River. 

 

Zone 4A (section 1) – Western portion of east-central Arkansas.  From intersection of I-40 and 

U.S. Highway 49 near Brinkley; south on U.S. Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 39; south on 

Arkansas Highway 39 to Arkansas Highway 316; east on Arkansas Highway 316 to Arkansas 

Highway 318; east on Arkansas Highway 318 to Arkansas Highway 20; east on Arkansas 

Highway 20 to Phillips County Road 422 at Modoc; east on Phillips County Road 422 to the 

Mississippi River Levee; north on the Mississippi River Levee to U.S. Highway 49; north on U.S. 

Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 1 at Walnut Corner; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to I-40 at 

Forrest City; west on I-40 to U.S. Highway 49 near Brinkley. 

 

Zone 4 (section 2) – Eastern portion of northeastern Arkansas.  From U.S. Highway 62 and the 

St. Francis River at the Arkansas-Missouri state line; west on U.S. Highway 62 to U.S. Highway 

49; south on U.S. Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 1 near Jonesboro; south on Arkansas 

Highway 1 to Arkansas Highway 163; south on Arkansas Highway 163 to Arkansas Highway 42; 

east on Arkansas Highway 42 to Arkansas Highway 77 near Turrell; south on Arkansas Highway 

77 to Old River Road; east on Old River Road to Island 40 Road; east on Island 40 Road to 

Mississippi River Levee; north on the Mississippi River Levee to the Arkansas-Missouri state 

line; west on the Arkansas-Missouri state line to the St. Francis River; on the St. Francis River to 

U.S. Highway 62. 

 

Zone 4A (section 2) – Eastern portion of east-central Arkansas.  From intersection of I-40 and the 

Mississippi River Levee at West Memphis; south on the Mississippi River Levee to Arkansas 

Highway 131 at Seyppel; north on Arkansas Highway 131 to Arkansas Highway 147; south on 

Arkansas Highway 147 to Arkansas Highway 38; west on Arkansas Highway 38 to St. Francis 

County Road 619; south on St. Francis County Road 619 to Crittenden County Road 47; south on 

Crittenden County Road 47 to Arkansas Highway 147; north on Arkansas Highway 147 to 

Crittenden County Road 285; south on Crittenden County Road 285 to the Mississippi River 

Levee; south on the Mississippi River Levee to its end near the St. Francis River;  on a line due 

west from this point to the St. Francis River; north on the St. Francis River to I-40 near Madison; 

east on I-40 to the Mississippi River Levee at West Memphis. 

 

Zone 4B (section 1) – Western portion of central-northeastern Arkansas. From U.S. Highway 49 

and Arkansas Highway 42 near Hickory Ridge; south on U.S. Highway 49 to I-40 near Brinkley; 

east on I-40 to Arkansas Highway 1 near Forrest City; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to Arkansas 

Highway 42 near Cherry Valley; west on Arkansas Highway 42 to U.S. Highway 49. 

 

 

Zone 4B (section 2) – Eastern portion of central-northeastern Arkansas. From Arkansas highways 

42 and 163 near Birdeye; south on Arkansas Highway 163 to U.S. Highway 64; east on U.S. 

Highway 64 to St. Francis River Levee; south on the St. Francis River Levee to I-40; east on I-40 

to the Mississippi River Levee; north on Mississippi River Levee to Island 40 Road; west on 



 

197 

 

Island 40 Road to Old River Road; west on Old River Road to Arkansas Highway 77; north on 

Arkansas Highway 77 to Arkansas Highway 42 near Turrell; west on Arkansas Highway 42 to 

Arkansas Highway 163 near Birdeye. 

 

Zone 5 – Northern portion of Crowley’s Ridge.  From intersection of Arkansas Highway 1 and 

Arkansas Highway 42 near Cherry Valley; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to U.S. Highway 49 at 

Jonesboro; north on U.S. Highway 49 to U.S. Highway 62; north on U.S. Highway 62 to St. 

Francis River; north on St. Francis River to Arkansas-Missouri state line; west on Arkansas-

Missouri state line to Arkansas Highway 139; south on Arkansas Highway 139 to Arkansas 

Highway 141; south on Arkansas Highway 141 to U.S. Highway 412; west on U.S. Highway 412 

to Arkansas Highway 228; west on Arkansas Highway 228 to U.S. Highway 63; south on U.S. 

Highway 63 to Arkansas Highway 1 at Jonesboro; south on Arkansas Highway 1 to Arkansas 

Highway 163; south on Arkansas Highway 163 to Arkansas Highway 42; west on Arkansas 

Highway 42 to Arkansas Highway 1 near Cherry Valley.  

 

Zone 5A – Southern portion of Crowley’s Ridge.  From I-40 and Arkansas Highway 1 at Forrest 

City; south on Arkansas Highway 1 to U.S. Highway 49 at Walnut Corner; south on U.S. 

Highway 49 to Mississippi River Levee; north on Mississippi River Levee to FDR 1901 (low 

road); north on FDR 1901 to St. Francis National Forest boundary; north and east on St. Francis 

National Forest boundary to Mississippi River; north on Mississippi River to St. Francis River; 

north on St. Francis River to I-40 near Madison; west on I-40 to Arkansas Highway 1 at Forrest 

City. 

 

Zone 5B (section 1) – Central portion of Crowley’s Ridge.  From intersection of Arkansas 

Highway 42 and Arkansas Highway 1 near Cherry Valley; south on Arkansas Highway 1 to I-40 

near Forrest City; east on I-40 to St. Francis River Levee; north on St. Francis River Levee to U.S. 

Highway 64; west on U.S. Highway 64 to Arkansas Highway 163; north on Arkansas Highway 

163 to Arkansas Highway 42 near Birdeye, west on Arkansas Highway 42 to Arkansas Highway 

1. 

 

Zone 6 – South-central portion of northwestern Arkansas.  From I-40 and U.S. Highway 71; north 

on U.S. Highway 71 to Forest Service Road 1564B near Winslow; east on Forest Service Road 

1564B to Forest Service Road 1575 A; north on Forest Service Road 1575A to Forest Service 

Road 1580A near Brannon; east on Forest Service Road 1580 A to Arkansas Highway 295; north 

on Arkansas Highway 295 to Arkansas Highway 16; east on Arkansas Highway 16 to Arkansas 

Highway 254 near Tilly; east on Arkansas Highway 254 to U.S. Highway 65 near Dennard; south 

on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 95 near Clinton; south on Arkansas Highway 95 to 

Arkansas Highway 124; west on Arkansas Highway 124 to Arkansas Highway 105; north on 

Arkansas Highway 105 to Arkansas Highway 27; south on Arkansas Highway 27 to Arkansas 

Highway 164; west on Arkansas Highway 164 to Arkansas Highway 123; south on Arkansas 

Highway 123 to U.S. Highway 64 near Lamar; east on U.S. Highway 64 to  I-40; west to 

intersection of  I-40 and U.S. Highway 71.  

 

Zone 6A –Southeastern portion of northwestern Arkansas.  From intersection of Arkansas 

Highway 16 and U.S. Highway 65 at Clinton; east on Arkansas Highway 16 to Arkansas Highway 

92 at Greers Ferry; east on Arkansas Highway 92 to Arkansas Highway 25 at Drasco; north on 

Arkansas Highway 25 to Arkansas Highway 87 at Concord; south on Arkansas Highway 87 to 

U.S. Highway 167 near Pleasant Plains; north on U.S. Highway 167 to White River at Batesville; 

north on White River to Arkansas Highway 58 near Guion; west on Arkansas Highway 58 to 

Arkansas Highway 14; west on Arkansas Highway 14 to Arkansas Highway 66 at Mountain 
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View; west on Arkansas Highway 66 to U.S. Highway 65 at Leslie; south on U.S. Highway 65 to 

Clinton. 

 

Zone 7 – Western portion of Arkansas River Valley.  From intersection of I-540 and Arkansas-

Oklahoma state line; north to I-540 to I-40; east on I-40 to Arkansas Highway 9 at Morrilton; 

south on Arkansas Highway 9 to Arkansas Highway 10 at Perry; west on Arkansas Highway 10 to 

Arkansas Highway 23 at Booneville; south on Arkansas Highway 23 to U.S. Highway 71; north 

on U.S. Highway 71 to Arkansas Highway 96; west on Arkansas Highway 96 to Arkansas-

Oklahoma state line; north on Arkansas-Oklahoma state line to I-540. 

 

Zone 8 – Northern portion of central Arkansas.  From intersection of Arkansas Highway 16 and 

U.S. Highway 65 at Clinton; south on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 92 at Bee Branch; 

east on Arkansas Highway 92 to Arkansas Highway 225; south on Arkansas Highway 225 to 

Arkansas Highway 107; south on Arkansas Highway 107 to Arkansas Highway 36 near Naylor; 

west on Arkansas Highway 36 to U.S. Highway 64; west on U.S. Highway 64 to U.S. Highway 

65B; south on U.S. Highway 65B to Arkansas Highway 60; west on Arkansas Highway 60 to 

Arkansas Highway 9; north on Arkansas Highway 9 to I-40 near Morrilton; west on I-40 to U.S. 

Highway 64 at Lamar; west on U.S. Highway 64 to Arkansas Highway 123; north on Arkansas 

Highway 123 to Arkansas Highway 164; east on Arkansas Highway 164 to Arkansas Highway 

27; north on Arkansas Highway 27 to Arkansas Highway 105; south on Arkansas Highway 105 to 

Arkansas Highway 124 at Jerusalem; east on Arkansas Highway 124 to Arkansas Highway 95 

near Cleveland; north on Arkansas Highway 95 to Arkansas Highway 16 at Clinton. 

 

Zone 8A – Northern portion of central Arkansas.  From U.S. Highway 167 and White River at 

Batesville; south on White River to Arkansas Highway 14 at Newport; east on Arkansas Highway 

14 to U.S. Highway 67; south on U.S. Highway 67 to Arkansas Highway 36; west on Arkansas 

Highway 36 to Arkansas Highway 305; south on Arkansas Highway 305 to Arkansas Highway 31 

at Floyd; north on Arkansas Highway 31 to Arkansas Highway 5; south on Arkansas Highway 5 

to Arkansas Highway 310; west on Arkansas Highway 310 to Arkansas Highway 36; west on 

Arkansas Highway 36 to Arkansas Highway 107; north on Arkansas Highway 107 to Arkansas 

Highway 225; north on Arkansas Highway 225 to Arkansas Highway 92; west on Arkansas 

Highway 92 to U.S. Highway 65 at Bee Branch; north on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 

16 at Clinton; east on Arkansas Highway 16 to Arkansas Highway 92 at Greers Ferry; east on 

Arkansas Highway 92 to Arkansas Highway 25; north on Arkansas Highway 25 to Arkansas 

Highway 87 at Concord; south on Arkansas Highway 87 to U.S. Highway 167 near Pleasant 

Plains; north on U.S. Highway 167 to White River at Batesville. 

 

Zone 9 – East-central Arkansas.  From intersection of Arkansas Highway 14 and U.S. Highway 

67 near Newport; south on U.S. Highway 67 to  I-40 in North Little Rock; west on I-40 to I-30; 

west on I-30 to Arkansas River; south on Arkansas River to U.S. Highway 79B; north on U.S. 

Highway 79B to U.S. Highway 79; north on U.S. Highway 79 to Arkansas Highway 152; east on 

Arkansas Highway 152 to U.S. Highway 165; south on U.S. Highway 165 to Arkansas River; 

northeast on Arkansas River to confluence with Arkansas Post Canal; east on Arkansas Post 

Canal to confluence with White River; southeast on Arkansas-Desha county line, following White 

River to Missouri-Pacific railroad; northeast on Missouri-Pacific railroad to intersection of 

western line of Section 9, T8S, R1W; north on western line of Section 9 to southwestern corner of 

Section 4, T8S, R1W; north along western line of Section 4 to north line of T8S, R1W; east along 

north line of T8S, R1W to intersection of Missouri-Pacific railroad; northeast on Missouri-Pacific 

railroad to intersection of Mississippi River Levee south of Snow Lake; northeast on Mississippi 

River Levee to Phillips County Road 422; west on Phillips County Road 422 to Arkansas 

Highway 20 at Modoc; west on Arkansas Highway 20 to Arkansas Highway 318; west on 
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Arkansas Highway 318 to Arkansas Highway 316; west on Arkansas Highway 316 to Arkansas 

Highway 39 at Turner; north on Arkansas Highway 39 to U.S. Highway 49; north on U.S. 

Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 42 at Hickory Ridge; west on Arkansas Highway 42 to 

Arkansas Highway 37; north on Arkansas Highway 37 to Arkansas Highway 145; north on 

Arkansas Highway 145 to Arkansas Highway 14 to Arkansas Highway 17; north on Arkansas 

Highway 17 to Arkansas Highway 14; west on Arkansas Highway 14 to White River; west on 

Arkansas Highway 14 to U.S. Highway 67 near Newport. 

 

Zone 10 – Central Arkansas River Valley.  From intersection of U.S. Highway 67 and Arkansas 

Highway 36; west on Arkansas Highway 36 to Arkansas Highway 305; south on Arkansas 

Highway 305 to Arkansas Highway 31 at Floyd; north on Arkansas Highway 31 to Arkansas 

Highway 5; south on Arkansas Highway 5 to Arkansas Highway 310; west on Arkansas Highway 

310 to Arkansas Highway 36; west on Arkansas Highway 36 to U.S. Highway 64; west on U.S. 

Highway 64 to U.S. Highway 65B; south on U.S. Highway 65B to Arkansas Highway 60; west on 

Arkansas Highway 60 to Arkansas Highway 9; south on Arkansas Highway 9 to Arkansas 

Highway 10 at Williams Junction; east on Arkansas Highway 10 to I-430; west on I-430 to  I-30; 

east on I-30 to I-40; east on  I-40 to U.S. Highway 67; north on U.S. Highway 67 to Arkansas 

Highway 36. 

 

Zone 11 – West-central Arkansas.  From intersection of Arkansas Highway 9 and Arkansas 

Highway 10 at Perry; west on Arkansas Highway 10 to Arkansas Highway 23 at Booneville; 

south on Arkansas Highway 23 to U.S. Highway 71; north on U.S. Highway 71 to Arkansas 

Highway 96; west on Arkansas Highway 96 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line; south along 

Arkansas-Oklahoma state line to Arkansas Highway 8; east on Arkansas Highway 8 to junction of 

U.S. Highway 71; south on U.S. Highway 71 to Arkansas Highway 246; east on Arkansas 

Highway 246 to Arkansas Highway 84 at Athens; east on Arkansas Highway 84 to U.S. Highway 

70 at Salem; east on U.S. Highway 70 to U.S. Highway 270; west on U.S. Highway 270 to 

Arkansas Highway 227; north on Arkansas Highway 227 to Arkansas Highway 192; east on 

Arkansas Highway 192 to Arkansas Highway 7; north on Arkansas Highway 7 to Forest Service 

Access Road 2; east on Forest Service Access Road 2 to Forest Service Access Road 46; east on 

Forest Service Access Road 46 to Weyerhaeuser Road 24330; south on Weyerhaeuser Road 

24330 to Weyerhaeuser Road 24000; east on Weyerhaeuser Road 24000 to Arkansas Highway 9; 

north on Arkansas Highway 9 to Arkansas Highway 10 at Perry. 

 

Zone 12 – Central and south-central Arkansas.  From intersection of I-30 and Arkansas River; 

west on I-30 to Arkansas Highway 51; south on Arkansas Highway 51 to Arkansas Highway 26; 

west on Arkansas Highway 26 to Arkansas Highway 27 at Murfreesboro; south on Arkansas 

Highway 27 to Arkansas Highway 355 at Mineral Springs; south on Arkansas Highway 355 to 

Arkansas Highway 32 at Saratoga; west on Arkansas Highway 32 to Millwood Dam at Little 

River; downstream on Little River to Red River; downstream on Red River to  I-30; east on I-30 

to Arkansas Highway 29; south on Arkansas Highway 29 to Arkansas-Louisiana state line; east 

on Arkansas-Louisiana state line to Bayou Bartholomew; north on Bayou Bartholomew to U.S. 

Highway 79B; north on U.S. Highway 79B to Arkansas River; north on Arkansas River to U.S. 

Interstate I-30. 

 

Zone 13 – Northwestern part of south-central Arkansas.  From intersection of I-30 and U.S. 

Highway 70; west on  I-30 to Arkansas Highway 51; south on Arkansas Highway 51 to Arkansas 

Highway 26; west on 26 to U.S. Highway 278 at Center Point; west on U.S. Highway 278 to U.S. 

Highway 70 at Dierks; west on U.S. Highway 70 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line; north on 

Arkansas-Oklahoma state line to Arkansas Highway 246; east on Arkansas Highway 246 to U.S. 

Highway 71; south on U.S. Highway 71 to Arkansas Highway 8; east on Arkansas Highway 8 to 
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Arkansas Highway 84 at Athens; east on Arkansas Highway 84 to U.S. Highway 70 at Salem; 

east on U.S. Highway 70 to U.S. Highway 270; west on U.S. Highway 270 to Arkansas Highway 

227; north on Arkansas Highway 227 to Arkansas Highway 192; east on Arkansas Highway 192 

to Arkansas Highway 7; north on Arkansas Highway 7 to Forest Service Access Road 2; east on 

Forest Service Access Road 2 to Forest Service Access Road 46; east on Forest Service Access 

Road 46 to Weyerhaeuser Road 24330; south on Weyerhaeuser Road 24330 to Weyerhaeuser 

Road 24000; east on Weyhaeuser Road 24000 to Arkansas Highway 9; north on Arkansas 

Highway 9 to Arkansas Highway 10 at Williams Junction; east on Arkansas Highway 10 to I-430; 

south on I-430  to  I-30; southwest on I-30 to U.S. Highway 70.  

 

Zone 14 – Southwestern Arkansas.  From intersection of U.S. Highway 70 and Arkansas-

Oklahoma state line; east on U.S. Highway 70 to U.S. Highway 278 at Dierks; east on U.S. 

Highway 278 to Arkansas Highway 26; east on Arkansas Highway 26 to Arkansas Highway 27; 

south on Arkansas Highway 27 to Arkansas Highway 355 at Mineral Springs; south on Arkansas 

Highway 355 to Arkansas Highway 32 at Saratoga; west on Arkansas Highway 32 to Millwood 

Dam at Little River; downstream on Little River to Red River; west on Red River to U.S. 

Highway 71; north on Highway 71 to Arkansas Highway 32 near Ashdown; west on Arkansas 

Highway 32 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line; north on Arkansas-Oklahoma state line to U.S. 

Highway 70. 

 

Zone 15 – Southwestern part of south-central Arkansas.  From I-30 and Arkansas Highway 29 at 

Hope; south on Arkansas Highway 29 to Arkansas-Louisiana state line; west on Arkansas-

Louisiana state line to intersection of Arkansas-Louisiana-Texas state lines; north along Arkansas-

Texas state line to  Red River; west on Red River to intersection of Arkansas-Texas-Oklahoma 

state lines; north along Arkansas-Oklahoma state line to Arkansas Highway 32; east on Arkansas 

Highway 32 to U.S. Highway 71 near Ashdown; south on U.S. Highway 71 to Red River; east on 

Red River to I-30 near Fulton; east on I-30 to Arkansas Highway 29 at Hope. 

 

Zone 16 – Southeastern Arkansas.  From Arkansas River and U.S. Highway 79B; north on U.S. 

Highway 79B to U.S. Highway 79; north on U.S. Highway 79 to Arkansas Highway 152; east on 

Arkansas Highway 152 to U.S. Highway 165; south on U.S Highway 165 to the 

Arkansas/Mississippi River Levee; south on the Arkansas/Mississippi River Levee to Gould 

Road; west on Gould Road to Arkansas Highway 1; south on Arkansas Highway 1 to Arkansas 

Highway 138; west on Arkansas Highway 138 to Bayou Bartholomew; north along Bayou 

Bartholomew to U.S. Highway 79B; north on U.S. Highway 79B to the Arkansas River. 

 

Zone 16A – Southern portion of southeastern Arkansas.  From Mississippi River Levee and 

Arkansas-Louisiana state line; west along Arkansas-Louisiana state line to Bayou Bartholomew; 

north along Bayou Bartholomew to Arkansas Highway 138; east on Arkansas Highway 138 to 

Arkansas Highway 1; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to Gould Road; east on Gould Road to 

Mississippi River Levee; south on Mississippi River Levee to Arkansas-Louisiana state line. 

 

Zone 17 – Arkansas land within Mississippi River Levee.  Arkansas land between Arkansas-

Tennessee state line, Arkansas-Mississippi state line and Mississippi River Levee and other lands 

described:  From Mississippi River Levee and Arkansas-Missouri state line, south on Mississippi 

River Levee to  Arkansas Highway 131 at Seyppel; north on Arkansas Highway 131 to Arkansas 

Highway 147; south on Arkansas Highway 147 to Arkansas Highway 38; west on Arkansas 

Highway 38 to St. Francis County Road 619; south on St. Francis County Road 619 to Crittenden 

County Road 47; south on Crittenden County Road 47 to Arkansas Highway 147; north on 

Arkansas Highway 147 to Crittenden County Road 285; south on Crittenden County Road 285 to 

Mississippi River Levee; south on Mississippi River Levee to its end near the St. Francis River;  
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on a line due west from this point to the St. Francis River;  along the St. Francis River to the 

Mississippi River to the southeastern boundary of St. Francis National Forest; west and south 

along St. Francis National Forest boundary to intersection of FDR 1901 (low road); south along 

FDR 1901 to Mississippi River Levee in Helena; south on Mississippi River Levee to Missouri-

Pacific railroad south of Snow Lake; south and west along the Missouri-Pacific railroad to 

intersection of north line of Section 1, T8S, R1W; west along Township line to northwestern 

corner of Section 4, T8S, R1W; south along western line of Section 4, T8S, R1W to north line of 

Section 9, T8S, R1W; south along western line of Section 9, T8S, R1W to Missouri-Pacific 

railroad; south and west along Missouri-Pacific railroad to White River; northwest on Arkansas-

Desha county line, following White River to Arkansas Post Canal; west along Arkansas Post 

Canal to Arkansas River; southwest on Arkansas River to U.S. Highway 165 at Pendleton Bridge; 

south on U.S. Highway 165 to Arkansas/Mississippi River Levee; south on Arkansas-Mississippi 

River Levee to Arkansas-Louisiana state line. 

 

E1.02 TURKEY ZONE DESCRIPTIONS 

10-04 Zone 1A - Northwest Arkansas.  Start at northwest corner of Arkansas; then south on Arkansas-

Oklahoma state line to U.S. Highway 62; east on U.S. Highway 62 to I-540 near Fayetteville; 

north on I-540 to U.S. Highway 62; northeast on U.S. Highway 62 to Arkansas Highway 37 at 

Gateway; north on Arkansas Highway 37 to Arkansas-Missouri line; west along line to northwest 

corner of Arkansas. 

 

Zone 1 - Western portion of north-central Arkansas.  Start at junction of Arkansas-Missouri state 

line and Arkansas Highway 37; south on Arkansas Highway 37 to U.S. Highway 62 at Gateway; 

west on U.S. Highway 62 to I-540; south on I-540 to Arkansas Highway 16 at Fayetteville; east 

on Arkansas Highway 16 to Arkansas Highway 74; east on Arkansas Highway 74 to U.S. 

Highway 412 at Huntsville; east on U.S. Highway 412 to Arkansas Highway 392 at Little 

Arkansaw; south on Arkansas Highway 392 to Arkansas Highway 397; south on Arkansas 

Highway 397 to Arkansas Highway 43; southwest on Arkansas Highway 43 to Arkansas 

Highway 74 near Ponca; east on Arkansas Highway 74 to Arkansas Highway 123 at Piercetown; 

north on Arkansas Highway 123 to Buffalo River at Carver; east along Buffalo River to U.S. 

Highway 65; south on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 66 at Leslie; east on Arkansas 

Highway 66 to Arkansas Highway 14 at Mountain View; east on Arkansas Highway 14 to 

Arkansas Highway 58; north on Arkansas Highway 58 to White River near Guion; northwest 

along White River to U.S. Highway 412 at Cotter; west on U.S. Highway 412 to Arkansas 

Highway 14 at Yellville; northwest on Arkansas Highway 14 to U.S. Highway 65 at Omaha; 

north on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas-Missouri state line;  west along line to Arkansas Highway 

37. 

 

Zone 2 - Southwestern and south central portions of northwestern Arkansas.  Start at U.S. 

Highway 62 and Arkansas-Oklahoma state line; go south along line to I-40 near Van Buren; east 

on I-40 to U.S. Highway 64 at Clarksville; east on U.S. Highway 64 to Arkansas Highway 164; 

east on Arkansas Highway 164 to Arkansas Highway 7; south on Arkansas Highway 7 to 

Arkansas Highway 27 at Dover; north on Arkansas Highway 27 to Arkansas Highway 105 near 

Hector; south on Arkansas Highway 105 to Arkansas Highway 124; east on Arkansas Highway 

124 to Arkansas Highway 95; north on Arkansas Highway 95 to U.S. Highway 65 at Clinton; 

north on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 16; east on Arkansas Highway 16 to Arkansas 

Highway 92 at Greers Ferry; east on Arkansas Highway 92 to Arkansas Highway 25 near Drasco; 

northeast on Arkansas Highway 25 to Arkansas Highway 87 near Concord; east on Arkansas 

Highway 87 to Arkansas Highway 157; east on Arkansas Highway 157 to Arkansas Highway 14; 

east on Arkansas Highway 14 to White River at Oil Trough; northwest along White River to 

Arkansas Highway 58 near Guion; south on Arkansas Highway 58 to Arkansas Highway 14; west 

http://www.agfc.com/hunting/Documents/TurkeyMap.pdf
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on Arkansas Highway 14 to Arkansas Highway 66 at Mountain View; west on Arkansas 

Highway 66 to U.S. Highway 65 at Leslie; north on U.S. Highway 65 to Buffalo River; west 

along Buffalo River to Arkansas Highway 123 at Carver; south on Arkansas Highway 123 to 

Arkansas Highway 74 at Piercetown; west on Arkansas Highway 74 to Arkansas Highway 43 

near Ponca;  north on Arkansas Highway 43 to Arkansas Highway 397; north on Arkansas 

Highway 397 to Arkansas Highway 392; west on Arkansas Highway 392 to U.S. Highway 412; 

west on U.S. Highway 412 to Arkansas Highway 74 at Huntsville;  west on Arkansas Highway 

74 to Arkansas Highway 16; west on Arkansas Highway 16 to I-540 near Fayetteville; north on I-

540 to U.S. Highway 62; west on U.S. Highway 62 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line; south along 

line to I-40. 

 

Zone 3 - Eastern half of north central Arkansas.  Start at Arkansas-Missouri state line and U.S. 

Highway 65; south on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 14 at Omaha; east on Arkansas 

Highway 14 to U.S. Highway 412 at Yellville; east on U.S. Highway 412 to White River at 

Cotter; southeast along White River to the Black River near Jacksonport; north along Black River 

to the Current River near Pocahontas;  north along Current River to Arkansas-Missouri state line;  

west along line to U.S. Highway 65. 

 

Zone 4 - Western portion of northeast and east central Arkansas.  Start at Arkansas-Missouri state 

line and Current River;  south along Current River to Black River near Pocahontas; south along 

Black River to White River near Jacksonport; east along White River to Arkansas Highway 14 at 

Newport; east on Arkansas Highway 14 to U.S. Highway 67; south on U.S. Highway 67 to I-40 

near Little Rock; east on I-40 to I-440; south on I-440 to U.S. Highway 165; south on U.S. 

Highway 165 to Arkansas Highway 15 at England; south on Arkansas Highway 15 to Arkansas 

Highway 88; south on Arkansas Highway 88 to U.S. Highway 79; north on U.S. Highway 79 to 

U.S. Highway 165 at Stuttgart; south on U.S. Highway 165 to Arkansas Highway 130 at DeWitt;  

north on Arkansas Highway 130 to Arkansas Highway 33; north on Arkansas Highway 33 to I-

40; east on I-40 to U.S. Highway 49 at Brinkley; south on U.S. Highway 49 to U.S. Highway 70; 

west on U.S. Highway 70 to Arkansas Highway 302; south on Arkansas Highway 302 to 

Arkansas Highway 86 near Clarendon; south on Arkansas Highway 86 to Arkansas Highway 17 

at Holy Grove; south on Arkansas Highway 17 to Arkansas Highway 1; north on Arkansas 

Highway 1 to Arkansas Highway 316; east on Arkansas Highway 316 to Arkansas Highway 318; 

south on Arkansas Highway 318 to Arkansas Highway 20; east on Arkansas Highway 20 to 

Mississippi River Levee; north on Levee to U.S. Highway 49 at Helena; west on U.S. Highway 

49 to Arkansas Highway 1 at Walnut Corner; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to Arkansas 

Highway 1B at Jonesboro; north on Arkansas Highway 1B to U.S. Highway 63;  north on U.S. 

Highway 63 to Arkansas Highway 228 at Sedgwick;  north on Arkansas Highway 228 to U.S. 

Highway 412; east on U.S. Highway 412 to Arkansas Highway 141; north on Arkansas Highway 

141 to U.S. Highway 62 at McDougal; east on U.S. Highway 62 to Arkansas Highway 139 near 

Pollard;  north on Arkansas Highway 139 to Arkansas-Missouri state line; west along line to 

Current River.   

 

Zone 4A - Northeast Arkansas.  Start at U.S. Highway 62 and St. Francis River at the Arkansas-

Missouri state line;  west on U.S. Highway 62 to U.S. Highway 49 at Piggott;  south on U.S. 

Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 1 at Jonesboro;  south on Arkansas Highway 1 to Arkansas 

Highway 163;  south on Arkansas Highway 163 to Arkansas Highway 214;  east on Arkansas 

Highway 214 to Arkansas Highway 373;  south on Arkansas Highway 373 to Arkansas Highway 

163;  south on Arkansas Highway 163 to U.S. Highway 64;  east on U.S.  Highway 64 to St. 

Francis River;  south along St. Francis River to U.S. Highway 79 at Cody;  north on U.S. 

Highway 79 to I-40;  east on I-40 to Mississippi River Levee;  north along levee to Arkansas-
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Missouri state line;  west along line to St. Francis River;  north along St. Francis River to U.S. 

Highway 62. 

 

Zone 4B - Southern portion of southeast Arkansas.  Start at Bayou Bartholomew and Arkansas-

Louisiana state line;  north along Bayou Bartholomew to U.S. Highway 79 near Pine Bluff;  north 

on U.S. Highway 79 to U.S. Highway 65;  south on U.S. Highway 65 to U.S. Highway 165;  east 

on U.S. Highway 165 to the Arkansas-Mississippi River Levee just south of the Pendleton Bridge 

on the Arkansas River;  south along levee to Arkansas-Louisiana state line;  west along line to 

Bayou Bartholomew. 

 

Zone 5 - Central portion of northeast Arkansas.  Start at Arkansas-Missouri state line and 

Arkansas Highway 139;  south on Arkansas Highway 139 to U.S. Highway 62; west on U.S. 

Highway 62 to Arkansas Highway 141; south on Arkansas Highway 141 to U.S. Highway 412;  

west on U.S. Highway 412 to Arkansas Highway 228;  south on Arkansas Highway 228 to U.S. 

Highway 63;  south on U.S. Highway 63 to Arkansas Highway 1B;  south on Arkansas Highway 

1B to Arkansas Highway 1;  north on Arkansas Highway 1 to U.S. Highway 49;  north on U.S. 

Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 62;  northwest on Arkansas Highway 62 to St. Francis River;  

north along St. Francis River to Arkansas-Missouri state line;  west along line to Arkansas 

Highway 139. 

 

Zone 5A - Central portion of northeast and east central Arkansas.  Start at Arkansas Highway 1 

and Arkansas Highway 163 at Jonesboro;  south on Arkansas Highway 1 to U.S. Highway 79 at 

Marianna;  east on U.S. Highway 79 to St. Francis River at Cody;  north along St. Francis River 

to U.S. Highway 64 at Parkin;  west on U.S. Highway 64 to Arkansas Highway 163 at Levesque;  

north on Arkansas Highway 163 to Arkansas Highway 373;  north on Arkansas Highway 373 to 

Arkansas Highway 214;  west on Arkansas Highway 214 to Arkansas Highway 163;  north on 

Arkansas Highway 163 to Arkansas Highway 1. 

  

Zone 5B - Eastern portion of east-central Arkansas.  Start at junction of Arkansas Highway 1 and 

U.S. Highway 79 at Marianna;  north on U.S.  79 to I-40;  east on I-40 to Mississippi River levee;  

south along levee to Arkansas Highway 131 at Seyppel;  north on Arkansas Highway 131 to 

Arkansas Highway 147;  south to Arkansas Highway 38;  east on Arkansas Highway 38 to 

County Line Rd.;  south to Mississippi River levee;  south along levee to its end near St. Francis 

River;  on a line due west from this point to the St. Francis River;  southeast along St. Francis 

River to the Mississippi River to the southeast boundary of the St. Francis National Forest; west 

and south along the St. Francis National Forest boundary to the intersection of FDR 1901 (low 

road); south along FDR 1901 to its intersection of the Mississippi River Levee in Helena;  west 

on U.S. Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 1;  north on Arkansas Highway 1 to U.S. Highway 79.  

 

Zone 6 - Arkansas River Valley.  Start at I-40 and Arkansas-Oklahoma state line;  south along 

line to Arkansas Highway 96;  east on Arkansas Highway 96 to U.S. Highway 71 at Mansfield;  

south on U.S. Highway 71 to Arkansas Highway 23 at Elm Park;  north on Arkansas Highway 23 

to Arkansas Highway 10 at Booneville;  east on Arkansas Highway 10 to Arkansas Highway 9 at 

Perry;  south on Arkansas Highway 9 to Arkansas Highway 60;  east on  Arkansas Highway 60 to 

U.S. Highway 64 at Conway;  east on U.S. Highway 64 to Arkansas Highway 36;  north on 

Arkansas Highway 36 to Arkansas Highway 310;  east on Arkansas Highway 310 to Arkansas 

Highway 5;  north on Arkansas Highway 5 to Arkansas Highway 31;  south on Arkansas 

Highway 31 to U.S. Highway 67 at Beebe;  north on U.S. Highway 67 to Arkansas Highway 14 

at Newport;  west on Arkansas Highway 14 to White River at Newport;  west along White River 

to Arkansas Highway 14 at Oil Trough;  west on Arkansas Highway 14 to Arkansas Highway 

157;  south on Arkansas Highway 157 to Arkansas Highway 87;  west on Arkansas Highway 87 
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to Arkansas Highway 25 at Concord;  west on Arkansas Highway 25 to Arkansas Highway 92 at 

Drasco;  west on Arkansas Highway 92 to Arkansas Highway 16 at Greers Ferry;  west on 

Arkansas Highway 16 to U.S. Highway 65;  south on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 95 

at Clinton;  west on Arkansas Highway 95 to Arkansas Highway 124;  west on Arkansas 

Highway 124 to Arkansas Highway 105;  north on Arkansas Highway 105 to Arkansas Highway 

27;  west on Arkansas Highway 27 to Arkansas Highway 7 at Dover;  north on Arkansas 

Highway 7 to Arkansas Highway 164;  west on Arkansas Highway 164 to U.S. Highway 64;  

west on U.S. Highway 64 to I-40 at Clarksville;  west on I-40 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line. 

 

Zone 7 - West central Arkansas.  Start at Arkansas Highway 4 and Arkansas-Oklahoma state line 

near Cove;  east on Arkansas Highway 4 to U.S. Highway 71;  south on U.S. Highway 71 to 

Arkansas Highway 246;  east on Arkansas Highway 246 to Arkansas Highway 84 at Athens;  east 

on Arkansas Highway 84 to U.S. Highway 70 at Salem;  east on U.S. Highway 70 to Arkansas 

Highway 8 at Glenwood;  south on Arkansas Highway 8 to Arkansas Highway 84 at Amity;  east 

on Arkansas Highway 84 to I-30 near Social Hill;  north on I-30 to I-430;  north on I-430 to 

Arkansas Highway 10;  west on Arkansas Highway 10 to Arkansas Highway 9 at Williams 

Junction;  north on Arkansas Highway 9 to Arkansas Highway 10;  west on Arkansas Highway 

10 to Arkansas Highway 23 at Booneville;  south on Arkansas Highway 23 to U.S. Highway 71 

at Elm Park;  north on U.S. Highway 71 to Arkansas Highway 96 at Mansfield;  west on 

Arkansas Highway 96 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line;  south along line to Arkansas Highway 

4.    

 

Zone 7A - Central Arkansas.  Start at I-430 and I-30 near Mabelvale;  north on I-430 to Arkansas 

Highway 10;  west on Arkansas Highway 10 to Arkansas Highway 9;  north on Arkansas 

Highway 9 to Arkansas Highway 60 near Perryville;  east on Arkansas Highway 60 to U.S. 

Highway 64 at Conway;  east on U.S. Highway 64 to Arkansas Highway 36 at Hamlet;  north on 

Arkansas Highway 36 to Arkansas Highway 310 at Mt. Vernon;  east on Arkansas Highway 310 

to Arkansas Highway 5;  north on Arkansas Highway 5 to Arkansas Highway 31;  south on 

Arkansas Highway 31 to U.S. Highway 67 near Beebe;  south on U.S.  Highway 67 to I-40;  east 

on I-40 to I-440;  south on I-440 to I-30;  south on I-30 to I-430. 

 

Zone 8 - Northern portion of southwest Arkansas.  Start at U.S. Highway 70 and Arkansas-

Oklahoma state line near Ultima Thule;  east on U.S. Highway 70 to U.S. Highway 278 at Dierks;  

south on U.S. Highway 278 to Arkansas Highway 26 at Center Point;  east on Arkansas Highway 

26 to Arkansas Highway 51;  east on Arkansas Highway 51 to I-30 at Arkadelphia;  north on I-30 

to Arkansas Highway 84 at Social Hill;  west on Arkansas Highway 84 to Arkansas Highway 8 at 

Amity;  north on Arkansas Highway 8 to U.S. Highway 70 at Glenwood;  south on U.S. Highway 

70 to Arkansas Highway 84 at Salem;  west on Arkansas Highway 84 to Arkansas Highway 246 

at Athens;  west on Arkansas Highway 246 to U.S. Highway 71;  north on U.S. Highway 71 to 

Arkansas Highway 4 near Cove;  west on Arkansas Highway 4 to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line;  

south along line to U.S. Highway 70.  

 

Zone 9 - Central and south central Arkansas.  Start at Arkansas-Oklahoma state line and the Little 

River near Dogtown;  southeast along Little River to Red River at Fulton;  south along Red River 

to U.S. Highway 82 at Garland;  east on U.S. Highway 82 to Arkansas Highway 29 at Lewisville;  

south on Arkansas Highway 29 to Arkansas-Louisiana state line;  east along line to Bayou 

Bartholomew;  north along Bayou Bartholomew to U.S. Highway 79 at Pine Bluff;  north on U.S. 

Highway 79 to Arkansas River;  northwest along Arkansas River to I-440;  south on I-440 to I-30;  

south on I-30 to Arkansas Highway 51 at Arkadelphia;  west on Arkansas Highway 51 to 

Arkansas Highway 26;  west on Arkansas Highway 26 to U.S. Highway 278 at Center Point;  
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north on U.S. Highway 278 to U.S. Highway 70 at Dierks;  west on U.S. Highway 70 to 

Arkansas-Oklahoma state line;  south along line to the Little River near Dogtown. 

 

Zone 9A - Southwest Arkansas.  Start at the Arkansas-Oklahoma state line and the Little River;  

south and east along state line to Arkansas Highway 29 at Arkana;  north on Arkansas Highway 

29 to U.S. Highway 82 at Lewisville;  west on U.S. Highway 82 to Red River;  north along Red 

River to Little River;  northwest along Little River to Arkansas-Oklahoma state line.   

 

Zone 10 - Southeast portion of east central Arkansas.  Start at I-440 and Arkansas River near 

Little Rock;  southeast along Arkansas River to U.S. Highway 79 at Pine Bluff;  south along U.S. 

Highway 79 to U.S. Highway 65;  south on U.S. Highway 65 to U.S. Highway 165 at Dumas;  

north and east on U.S. Highway 165 to the Pendleton Bridge on the Arkansas River;  northeast on 

the  

Arkansas River to the Arkansas River-White River shipping canal; east on the shipping canal to 

the White River, southeast on the Arkansas-Desha county line following the White River to the 

Missouri-Pacific Railroad;  northeasterly along railroad to the northwest corner of Section 4, T8S, 

R1W;  east along Township line to the Missouri-Pacific Railroad with the North line Section 1, 

T8S, R1W;  northeasterly along Missouri Pacific railroad to Mississippi River levee south of 

Snow Lake;  north along levee to Arkansas Highway 20 near Elaine;  west on Arkansas Highway 

20 to Arkansas Highway 318;  north on Arkansas Highway 318 to Arkansas Highway 316;  west 

on Arkansas Highway 316 to Arkansas Highway 1;  south on Arkansas Highway 1 to Arkansas 

Highway 17 at Cross Roads;  north on Arkansas Highway 17 to Arkansas Highway 86 at Holly 

Grove;  north on Arkansas Highway 86 to Arkansas Highway 302 near Clarendon;  north on 

Arkansas Highway 302 to U.S. Highway 70;  east on U.S. Highway 70 to U.S. Highway 49;  

north on U.S. Highway 49 to I-40 at Brinkley;  west on I-40 to Arkansas Highway 33;  south on 

Arkansas Highway 33 to Arkansas Highway 130;  south on Arkansas Highway 130 to U.S. 

Highway 165 at Dewitt;  north on U.S. Highway 165 to U.S. Highway 79 at Stuttgart;  south on 

U.S. Highway 79 to Arkansas Highway 88;  north on Arkansas Highway 88 to Arkansas 

Highway 15;  north on Arkansas Highway 15 to U.S. Highway 165 at England;  north on U.S. 

Highway 165 to I-440;  south on I-440 to Arkansas River.  

 

Zone 17 - Arkansas lands within the Mississippi River Levee.  All Arkansas lands lying between the 

Arkansas-Tennessee state line, the Arkansas-Mississippi state line and the Mississippi River Levee and 

other lands described as follows:  from the Mississippi River Levee at the Arkansas-Missouri state line, 

south to Arkansas Highway 131 at Seyppel; north to Arkansas Highway 147  south to Arkansas 

Highway 38; west on Arkansas Highway 38 to County Line Road; south to the Mississippi River Levee 

to its end near the St. Francis River;  on a line due west from this point to the St. Francis River;  along 

the St. Francis River to the Mississippi River to the southeast boundary of the St. Francis National 

Forest; west and south along the St. Francis National Forest boundary to the intersection of FDR 1901 

(low road); south along FDR 1901 to its intersection of the Mississippi River Levee in Helena; south on 

the Mississippi River Levee to the Missouri-Pacific Railroad south of Snow Lake; southwesterly along 

the railroad to the intersection with the North line of Section 1, T8S, R1W; west along the Township line 

to the Northwest corner of Section 4, T8S, R1W;  south to the Missouri-Pacific Railroad; southwesterly 

along the railroad to the White River; northwest on the Arkansas-Desha County line following the White 

River to the intersection of the Arkansas River-White River shipping canal; west on the shipping canal 

to the Arkansas River; southwest on the Arkansas River to U.S. Highway 165 at the Pendleton Bridge; 

south and west on U.S. Highway 165 to the Arkansas-Mississippi River Levee; south on the levee to the 

Arkansas state line. 
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E1.03 BEAR ZONE DESCRIPTIONS 

03-08 Zone 1 - Start at the junction of Interstate 40 and the Oklahoma state line;  east to the junction of 

Interstate 40 and U.S. 67; north and east on U.S. Highway 67 to the Missouri state line; west along the 

Arkansas and Missouri state line to the Oklahoma state line; and south along the Oklahoma state line to 

the junction of Interstate 40. 

 

Zone 2 - Start at the junction of Interstate 40 and the Oklahoma state line;  east on Interstate 40 to 

Interstate 430; south on Interstate 430 to Interstate 30; south and west on Interstate 30 to Arkansas 

Highway 51; south on Arkansas Highway 51 to Arkansas Highway 26; west on Arkansas Highway 26 to 

U.S. Highway 278 at Center Point; west on U.S. Highway 278 to U.S. Highway 70 at Dierks; west on 

U.S. Highway 70 to the Oklahoma state line; and north along the Oklahoma state line to Interstate 40. 

 

Zone 3 - Start at the junction of Interstate 30 and Arkansas Highway 51; south on Arkansas Highway 51 

to Arkansas Highway 26; west on Arkansas Highway 26 to U.S. Highway 278 at Center Point; west on 

U.S. Highway 278 to U.S. Highway 70 at Dierks; west on U.S. Highway 70 to the Oklahoma state line; 

south along the Oklahoma state line to the Red River; east along the Red River to U.S. 71; south on U.S. 

71 to Interstate 30; and north and east on Interstate 30 to Arkansas Highway 8 near Arkadelphia. 

 

Zone 4 - Start at Interstate 30 and the Texas state line at Texarkana;  north and east on Interstate 30 to 

U.S. 65; south on U.S. 65 to Lake Village; east on U.S. 82 to the Mississippi River; south along the 

Mississippi River to the Louisiana state line; west along the Louisiana state line to the Texas state line; 

and north to Interstate 30. 

 

Zone 5 - Start at the junction of U.S. 165 and the Arkansas River (at Pendleton Bridge); north on U.S. 

165 to State Route 130 at DeWitt; north on State Route 130 to State Route 33; north on State Route 33 

to U.S. Highway 79; north and  east on U.S. Highway 79 to U.S. Highway 49; south and east on U.S. 

Highway 49 to the Mississippi River Levee; south on the Mississippi River Levee to the confluence of 

the Mississippi and Arkansas Rivers; north and west along the Arkansas River to the junction of the 

Arkansas River and U.S. 165 (at Pendleton Bridge).  Arkansas lands lying east of the Mississippi River 

are closed. 

  

Zone 5A - Start at the junction of U.S. 165 and the Arkansas River (at Pendleton Bridge); south on U.S. 

165 to the junction of U.S. 165 and U.S. 65; south on U.S. 65 to the junction of U.S. 65 and U.S. 82; east 

on U.S. 82 to the Mississippi River; north on the Mississippi River to the confluence of the Mississippi 

and the Arkansas Rivers; north and west along the Arkansas River to the junction of the Arkansas River 

and U.S. 165 (at Pendleton Bridge).  Arkansas lands lying east of the Mississippi River are closed. 

 

Zone 6 - Start at Interstate 40 at the Tennessee state line; west on Interstate 40 to the junction of 

interstate 440; south on Interstate 440 to U.S. 65; south on U.S. 65 to the junction of U.S. 165; north on 

U.S. 165 to State Route 130 at DeWitt; north on State Route 130 to State Route 33; north on State Route 

33 to U.S. Highway 79; north and east on U.S. Highway 79 to U.S. Highway 49; south and east on U.S. 

Highway 49 to the Mississippi River; and up the Mississippi River to Interstate 40. 

 

Zone 7 - Start at Interstate 40 and the Tennessee state line;  go west on Interstate 40 to U.S. 67; north 

and east on U.S. 67 to the Missouri state line; follow the Missouri state line around the Missouri boot 

heel to the Mississippi River; and down the Mississippi River to Interstate 40. 

 

E1.04 FLOOD PRONE REGIONS 

08-05 REGION A – Beginning at the junction of Arkansas Highway 1 and U.S. Highway 63; south on 

Arkansas Highway 1 to Arkansas Highway 64; west on U.S. Highway 64 to U.S. Highway 49; north on 

U.S. Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 42; west on Arkansas Highway 42 to Arkansas Highway 37; 

http://www.agfc.com/hunting/Documents/BearMap.pdf
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north on Arkansas Highway 37 to Arkansas Highway 14; east on Arkansas Highway 14 to Arkansas 

Highway 37; north on Arkansas Highway 37 Arkansas Highway 18; west on Arkansas Highway 18 to 

Arkansas Highway 384; east on Arkansas Highway 384 to U.S. Highway 67; north on U.S. Highway 67 

to Arkansas Highway 230; east on Arkansas Highway 230 to Arkansas Highway 91; south on Arkansas 

Highway 91 to Arkansas Highway 18; south on Arkansas Highway 18 to Arkansas Highway 226; east 

on Arkansas Highway 226 to U.S. Highway 49; north on U.S. Highway 49 to U.S. Highway 63; south 

on U.S. Highway 63 to Arkansas Highway 1.  

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region A will be closed to all deer hunting when the Cache River 

gauge at Patterson reaches 12 feet.  This restriction shall be lifted when the Cache River gauge at 

Patterson falls to or below 11 feet.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be 

obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC website @ www.agfc.com.    

 

REGION B - Beginning at the junction of Arkansas Highway 17 and U.S. Highway 67; south on U.S. 

Highway 67 to Arkansas Highway 36; east on Arkansas Highway 36 to Arkansas Highway 323; south 

on Arkansas Highway 323 to Arkansas Highway 11; south on Arkansas Highway 11 to Arkansas 

Highway 38; east on Arkansas Highway 38 to Arkansas Highway 33; north on Arkansas Highway 33 to 

Arkansas Highway 17; north on Arkansas Highway 17 to U.S. Highway 67. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region B will be closed to all deer hunting when the White River 

gauge at Augusta reaches 31 feet.  This restriction will be lifted when the White River gauge at Augusta 

falls below 30 feet and the White River gauge at Georgetown falls to or below 19 feet.  BOTH 

CONDITIONS MUST EXIST AT THE SAME TIME FOR THE REGION TO BE OPENED.  Current 

gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by 

accessing the AGFC website @ www.agfc.com. 

 

REGION C - Beginning at the junction of U.S. Highway 49 and Arkansas Highway 38; west on 

Arkansas Highway 38 to Arkansas Highway 33; north on Arkansas Highway 33 to U.S. Highway 64; 

west on U.S. Highway 64 to Arkansas Highway 33; north on Arkansas Highway 33 to Arkansas 

Highway 17; north on Arkansas Highway 17 to U.S. Highway 67; north on U.S. Highway 67 to 

Arkansas Highway 384; east on Arkansas Highway 384 to Arkansas Highway 18: east on Arkansas 

Highway 18 to Arkansas Highway 37; south on Arkansas Highway 37 to Arkansas Highway 14; west of 

Arkansas Highway 14 to Arkansas Highway 37; south on Arkansas Highway 37 to Arkansas Highway 

42; east on Arkansas Highway 42 to U.S. Highway 49; south on U.S. Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 

38.  

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Regions C will be closed to all deer hunting when the Cache 

River gauge at Patterson reaches 11 feet.  This restriction shall be lifted when the Cache River Gauge at 

Patterson falls to or below 9.5 feet.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be 

obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC website @ www.agfc.com. 

 

REGION D – Beginning at the junction of Arkansas Highway 11 and Arkansas Highway 38; east on 

Arkansas Highway 38 to U.S. Highway 49; south on U.S. Highway 49 to U.S. Highway 70; west on 

U.S. Highway 70 to Arkansas Highway 302; west on Arkansas Highway 302 to U.S. Highway 79; south 

on U.S. Highway 79 to Arkansas Highway 33; north on Arkansas Highway 33 to U.S. Highway 70; west 

on U.S. Highway 70 to Arkansas Highway 11; north on Arkansas Highway 11 to Arkansas Highway 38. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region D will be closed to all deer hunting when the White River 

gauge at Clarendon reaches 28 feet.  This restriction will be lifted when the White River Gauge at 

Clarendon falls to or below 27 feet.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be 

obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC website @ www.agfc.com. 
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REGION E - Beginning at the junction of Arkansas Highway 1 and Arkansas Highway 153; north on 

Arkansas Highway 153 to Arkansas Highway 33; north on Arkansas Highway 33 to U.S. Highway 79; 

north on U. S. Highway 79 to Arkansas Highway 86; south on Arkansas Highway 86 to Arkansas 

Highway 17; south on Arkansas Highway 17 to Arkansas Highway 1; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to 

Arkansas Highway 316; east on Arkansas Highway 316 to Arkansas Highway 318; east on Arkansas 

Highway 318 to Arkansas Highway 20; east on Arkansas Highway 20 to Arkansas Highway 44; south 

on Arkansas Highway 44 to Phillips County Road 533; west on Phillips County Road 533 to Phillips 

County Road 529; north on Phillips County Road 529 to Phillips County Road 514; west on Phillips 

County Road 514 to the White River Levee; south on the White River Levee to the pipeline right of 

way; west on the pipeline right of way to Ethel County Road; west on Ethel County Road to Arkansas 

Highway 17; north on Arkansas Highway 17 to Arkansas Highway 1; west on Arkansas Highway 1 to 

Arkansas Highway 153. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region E will be closed to all deer hunting when the White River 

gauge at St. Charles reaches 26 feet.  This restriction will be lifted when the White River gauge at St. 

Charles falls to or below 23.5 feet.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be 

obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC website @ www.agfc.com. 

 

REGION F – Beginning at the junction of Arkansas Highway 44 and Tichnor Blacktop County Road at 

Tichnor; west on Arkansas Highway 44 to the right of way on the north/south power line; north then 

northwest on the power line right of way to Arkansas Highway 17; north on Arkansas Highway 17 to 

Arkansas Highway 152; east on Arkansas Highway 152 to the pipeline right of way; northeast on the 

pipeline right of way to Arkansas Highway 17; north on Arkansas Highway 17 to Ethel; east on Ethel 

County Road to the pipeline right of way; east on the pipeline right of way to the White River Levee; 

north on the White River Levee to Phillips County Road 514; east on Phillips County Road 514 to 

Phillips County Road 529; south on Phillips County Road 529 to Phillips County Road 533; east on 

Phillips County Road 533 to Arkansas Highway 44; south on Arkansas Highway 44 to Arkansas 

Highway 85 at Crumrod; south on Arkansas Highway 85 to County Road 76; northeast on County Road 

76 to the Mississippi River levee; southeast on the Mississippi River levee to the west line of Section 31, 

T7S, R2E;  south on the west line of Section 31, T7S, R2E to the west line of Section 6, T8S, R2E; south 

on the west line of Section 6, T8S, R2E to the Arkansas-Mississippi State line; south on Arkansas-

Mississippi State line to the mouth of the White River; upstream on the main channel of the White River 

to the White River Cut Off; southwest on the White River Cut Off to the Arkansas River; upstream on 

the main channel of the Arkansas River to the west line of Section 29, T8S, R2W; north on the west line 

of Section 29, T8S, R2W to West Medina Lane County Road; southeast on West Medina Lane County 

Road to Nady County Road; northeast on Nady County Road to Tichnor Blacktop Road; north on 

Tichnor Blacktop Road to Arkansas Highway 44.  

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region F will be closed to all deer hunting when the White River 

gauge at St. Charles reaches 23.5 feet and the gauge at Lock and Dam No. 1 on the Arkansas River has 

reached 145 feet MSL.  BOTH CONDITIONS MUST EXIST AT THE SAME TIME FOR THE 

REGION TO BE CLOSED.  This restriction will be lifted when the White River gauge at St. Charles 

falls to or below 21.5 feet and the gauge at Lock and Dam #1 on the Arkansas River falls to or below 

143 feet MSL.  BOTH CONDITIONS MUST EXIST AT THE SAME TIME FOR THE REGION TO 

BE OPENED.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be obtained by calling 

AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC website @ www.agfc.com. 

 

REGION G - Beginning at the main channel of the Mississippi River at the Helena Bridge and U.S. 

Highway 49; north on U.S. Highway 49 to Arkansas Highway 20; west on Arkansas Highway 20 to 

Arkansas Highway 44; west on Arkansas Highway 44 to Arkansas Highway 85; south on Arkansas 
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Highway 85 to County Road 76; northeast on County Road 76 to the Mississippi River Levee; southeast 

on the Mississippi River Levee to the west line of Section 31,T7S, R2E; south on the west line of 

Section 31, T7S, R2E to the west line of Section 6, T8S, R2E; south on the west line of Section 6, T8S, 

R2E to the Arkansas-Mississippi State line; north on the Arkansas-Mississippi State line to the 

Mississippi River bridge at Helena on U.S. Highway 49. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region G will close to all deer hunting when the 

Mississippi River gauge at Helena reaches 44 feet.  This restriction shall be lifted when the 

Mississippi River gauge at Helena falls to or below 42 feet.  Current gauge readings and flood 

prone region closures can be obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC 

website @ agfc.com. 

 

REGION H - Beginning at the junction of Arkansas Highway 44 and Tichnor Blacktop Road at 

Tichnor; south on Tichnor Blacktop Road to Nady County Road; southwest on Nady County 

Road to west Medina Lane County Road; northwest on west Medina Lane County Road to the  

west line of Section 29, T8S, R2W; south on the west line of Section 29, T8S, R2W to the main 

channel of the Arkansas River; downstream (southeast) on the main channel of the Arkansas 

River to the White River Cut Off; northeast on the White River Cut Off to the main channel of the 

White River; downstream (southeast) on the main channel of the White River to the Arkansas-

Mississippi State line; southwest on the Arkansas-Mississippi State line to the Mississippi Old 

River Chute on the north end of Ashbrook Island; southwest on the Mississippi Old River Chute 

to the transfer canal for the Connelly Bayou Pumping Plant; southwest on the transfer canal to the 

Connelly Bayou Pumping Plant and Connelly Bayou; southwest on Connelly Bayou to the 

junction of Arkansas Highway 144; west on Arkansas Highway 144 to Arkansas Highway 257; 

north on Arkansas Highway 257 to U.S. Highway 65; north on U.S. Highway 65 to Arkansas 

Highway 1 at McGehee; north on Arkansas Highway 1 to the junction of U.S. Highway 165; 

north on U.S. Highway 165 to Arkansas Highway 44; west on Arkansas Highway 44 to the 

junction of Arkansas Highway 44 and Tichnor Blacktop Road. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region H will close to all deer hunting when the 

Mississippi River gauge at Arkansas City reaches 37 feet.  This restriction shall be lifted when the 

Mississippi River gauge at Arkansas City falls to or below 35 feet.  Current gauge readings and 

flood prone region closures can be obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC 

website @ agfc.com. 

 

REGION I - Beginning at the Arkansas-Louisiana State line and U.S. Highway 65; north on U.S. 

Highway 65 to Arkansas Highway 257; south on Arkansas Highway 257 to Arkansas Highway 

144; east on Arkansas Highway 144 to Connelly Bayou; northeast on Connelly Bayou to the 

Connelly Bayou Pumping Plant and the pumping plant transfer canal; northeast on the transfer 

canal to the Mississippi Old River Chute; northeast up the Mississippi Old River Chute to the 

Arkansas-Mississippi State line; southwest along the Arkansas-Mississippi State line to the 

Arkansas-Louisiana State line; west along the Arkansas-Louisiana State line to its intersection 

with U.S. Highway 65 on the Arkansas-Louisiana State line. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Flood Prone Region I will close to all deer hunting when the 

Mississippi River gauge at Greenville reaches 48 feet.  This restriction shall be lifted when the 

Mississippi River gauge at Greenville falls to or below 46 feet.  Current gauge readings and flood 
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prone region closures can be obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC 

website @ agfc.com. 

 

BLACK RIVER FLOOD PRONE REGION - Beginning at the junction of Highway 62 and Highway 

67 at Pocahontas, go south on Highway 67 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 304, go east on 

Arkansas Highway 304 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 304 and Arkansas Highway 90 at 

Delaplaine, go north on Arkansas Highway 90 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 90 and Arkansas 

Highway 135, go north on Arkansas Highway 135 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 135 and 

Arkansas Highway 162, go west on Highway 62 to the junction of Highway 62 and Highway 67 at 

Corning, go south on Highway 67 to the junction of Highway 67 and Highway 62 at Pocahontas.  

Including Dave Donaldson Black River WMA mitigation units 100, 101 and 102, which lie in Clay 

County north of U.S. Highway 62. 

 

Mitigation Unit 100:  portions of Sections 25, 26, 34 and 35, T21N, R5E, which lie north and west of the 

black River and east of the main levee. 

 

Mitigation Unit 101:  portions of Sections 33 and 34, T21N. R5E, and portions of Sections 3 and 4, 

T20N, R5E, which lie south and east of the Black River. 

 

Mitigation Unit 102:  portions of Section 36 T22N, R5E, and portions of Section 1, T21N, R5E, which 

lie south of the Missouri border and wet of the Black River. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Black River Flood Prone Region will be closed to all deer hunting when the 

Black River gauge at Corning exceeds 11 feet and will remain closed until the Corning gauge falls 

below 9.5 feet.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be obtained by calling 

AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC website @ agfc.com. 

 

ST. FRANCIS RIVER FLOOD PRONE REGION - Beginning at Marked Tree and go north on 

Arkansas Highway 140 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 135 at Lepanto,  north on Arkansas 

Highway 135 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 18 at Black Oak,  north to the junction of Arkansas 

Highway 139 at Monette,  north to the Arkansas-Missouri state line,  north along the Arkansas-Missouri 

line to the junction of U. S. Highway 412,  west to Arkansas Highway 135,  south on Arkansas Highway 

135 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 18 and Arkansas Highway 158,  south on State Arkansas 

Highway 158 to the junction of Arkansas Highway 69 and U. S. Highway 63 at Trumann,  south on U. 

S. Highway 63 to Payneway,  east to the junction of U. S. Highway 63 and Arkansas Highway 140 at 

Marked Tree. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  St. Francis River Flood Prone Region will be closed to all deer hunting when 

the St. Francis River gauge at Oak Donnick reaches 216 MSL and shall remain closed until the Oak 

Donnick gauge falls below 215 MSL.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be 

obtained by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC www.website @ www.agfc.com. 

 

SHIREY BAY RAINEY BRAKE FLOOD PRONE ZONE - State Arkansas Highway 25 at 

Powhatan; south on Arkansas Highway 25 to Strawberry River  downstream to the confluence of 

Strawberry River and Black River,  upstream on Black River to the mouth of Big Running Water Creek  

upstream on Big Running Water Creek to Clover Bend  north from Clover Bend on hard surface county 

road to Powhatan. 

 

Conditions for Closing:  Shirey Bay Rainey Brake Flood Prone Zone will be closed to all deer hunting 

when the Black River gauge at Black Rock reaches 23.0 and will reopen when the Black River gauge at 
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Black Rock falls below 19.0.  Current gauge readings and flood prone region closures can be obtained 

by calling AGFC toll free and by accessing the AGFC website @ www.agfc.com. 

 

FLOOD PRONE WMAS  

Conditions for Closing: 

(A) Big Lake WMA closes when the Seven Mile access gauge exceeds 236 MSL. 

(B) Benson Creek Natural Area WMA closes when Flood Prone Region D closes. 

(C) Brushy Creek WMA closes when Flood Prone Region A closes. 

(D) Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA and Deer Research Area closes when the gauge at 

Arkansas City on the Mississippi River exceeds 31 feet and will remain closed until the 

gauge falls to 29 feet or below. 

(E) Sheffield Nelson Dagmar WMA closes when Flood Prone Region D closes. 

(F) Dave Donaldson Black River WMA, including the mitigation units located north of AR 

State Highway 62, closes when the Black River Flood Prone Region closes. 

(G) Earl Buss Bayou DeView WMA closes when Flood Prone Region A closes. 

(H) Henry Gray Hurricane Lake WMA closes when the White River gauge at Augusta 

exceeds 26 feet and will remain closed until the gauge falls to 14 feet or below at 

Georgetown. 

(I) Rex Hancock Black Swamp WMA closes when the Cache River gauge at Patterson 

exceeds 10 feet and will remain closed until Cache River falls below 8.5 feet. 

(J) St. Francis Sunken Lands WMA closes when the St. Francis River Flood Prone Region 

closes. 

(K) Trusten Holder WMA closes when Flood Prone Regions F and H close.   WMA lands 

lying east of Tichnor Blacktop Road, Nady Road and all WMA lands lying east of the 

Arkansas River below the Nady Road and west of the Medina Road intersection, except 

the WMA lands lying south of the White River Cut Off close when Flood Prone Zone F 

closes.  WMA lands lying west of Tichnor Blacktop Road and Nady Road to the 

Pendleton Bridge and land lying east of the Arkansas River and south of the White River 

Cut Off close when Flood Prone H closes. 

(L) Mike Freeze Wattensaw WMA closes when Flood Prone Region D closes. 

(M) Whitehall WMA closes when Flood Prone Region A closes. 

(N) Shirey Bay Rainey Brake WMA closes when the Shirey Bay Rainey Brake Flood Prone 

Region closes. 

(O) Steve N. Wilson Raft Creek Bottoms WMA closes when Flood Prone Region B closes. 

 

Flood prone region closures can be obtained by calling AGFC toll-free numbers. Notices of 

closures are updated by 3 p.m. daily and will be effective at midnight for the next day’s hunt. 

 

E1.05 PRIVATE LAND ELK ZONE DESCRIPTION 

02-98/03-07 Start at the northwest corner of Carroll County-Arkansas-Missouri State line; south along the 

Carroll-Benton County line to the Carroll-Madison County; south along the Madison-Benton 

County line to the Madison-Washington County line; south along the Madison-Washington 

County line to the Madison-Crawford County line; east on the Madison-Crawford County line to 

the Madison-Franklin County line; east on the Madison-Franklin County line to the Madison-

Johnson County line; east along the Madison-Johnson County line to the Newton-Johnson County 

line; east along the Newton-Johnson  County-line to the junction of the Newton-Pope County line; 

east along the Newton-Pope County line to the Searcy-Pope County line; east along the Searcy-

Pope County line to the Searcy-Van Buren County line; northeast along the Searcy-Van Buren 

County line to the Searcy-Stone County line; north along the Searcy-Stone County line to the 

Searcy-Marion County line; west along the Searcy-Marion County line to the Boone-Marion 

http://www.agfc.com/
http://www.agfc.com/hunting/Documents/ElkMap.pdf


 

212 

 

County line; north along the Boone-Marion County line to the Arkansas-Missouri State line; west 

on the Arkansas-Missouri State line to the northwest corner of Carroll County.  

EXCEPTION: 

Boxley Valley Elk Viewing Area: Intersection Arkansas Highway 74 and Highway 43; east on 

Arkansas Highway 74 to intersection of the National Park Service authorization boundary; south 

on the National Park Service authorization boundary to the intersection of the U. S. Forest Service 

authorization boundary, west on the U. S. Forest Service authorization boundary to the 

intersection of the National Park Service authorization boundary; north on the National Park 

Service authorization boundary to Highway 43; southeast on Highway 43 to intersection of 

Arkansas Highway 74. 

 

 

E1.06 ESTABLISHMENT OF URBAN BOWHUNTING DEER ZONES 

05-01/10-02 Any city, town or incorporated area within the state may submit to the Commission a 

written request to establish an urban bowhunting deer zone.  Such request must contain a 

precise boundary description of the area or areas within the city, town or incorporated 

area sought to be included in the zone.  Upon review and approval of the request by the 

Commission Chief of Wildlife Management, the Director may order the establishment of 

the zone for the purpose of issuing urban bowhunting deer permits in accordance with 

Code 15.05. 

 

E1.07 CANADA GOOSE ZONE DESCRIPTIONS 

08-02/08-07 NORTHWEST CANADA GOOSE ZONE:  Benton, Carroll, Boone, Marion, Baxter, 

Washington, Madison, Newton, Searcy, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Pope, Van Buren, 

Sebastian, Logan, Conway, Faulkner, Scott, Yell, Perry and Pulaski counties. 

SOUTHWEST CANADA GOOSE ZONE:  Polk, Montgomery, Garland, Saline, Hot Spring, 

Clark, Pike, Howard, Sevier, Little River, Hempstead, Miller and Lafayette counties. 

 

E1.08 ST. FRANCIS FLOODWAY WATERFOWL ZONE 

09-03 All lands within the St. Francis flood control main levees from Highway 412 east of 

Paragould south to Highway 63 South at Marked Tree. 
 

E1.09 ALLIGATOR ZONE DESCRIPTIONS 

04-07  Zone 1 – Southwest Arkansas. Start at the northwest corner of Sevier County; south on the 

Arkansas-Oklahoma State line to the Red River; east on the Red River following the Arkansas-

Texas State line coinciding with the southern boundary of Little River County; south on the 

Arkansas-Texas State line to the Louisiana State line; east on the Arkansas-Louisiana State line to 

the southeast corner of Lafayette County; north on the Lafayette-Columbia County line to the 

Nevada County line; west on the Lafayette-Nevada County line to the Hempstead County line; 

north on the Hempstead-Nevada County line to the Pike County line; west on the Pike-

Hempstead County line to the Howard County line; north on the Howard-Pike County line to US 

Highway 70; west on US Highway 70 to the Saline River; north on the Saline River to the 

northeast corner of Sevier County; west on the Sevier-Howard County line to the Polk County 

line; west on the Polk-Sevier County line to the Arkansas-Oklahoma State line. 

 

Zone 2 – South Central Arkansas. Start at the southwest corner of Columbia County on the 

Arkansas-Louisiana State line; east on the Arkansas-Louisiana State line to Arkansas Highway 

275; north on Arkansas Highway 275 to US Highway 63; north on US Highway 63 to US 

Highway 79; north on US Highway 79 to the White River; north on the White River to Interstate 

40; west on Interstate 40 to Interstate 440; east on Interstate 440 to US Highway 67; north on US 

Highway 67 to US Highway 64; west on US Highway 64 to Interstate 40; west on Interstate 40 to 
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Arkansas Highway 27; south on Arkansas Highway 27 to Arkansas Highway 10; east on 

Arkansas Highway 10 to Arkansas Highway 9; south on Arkansas Highway 9 to Arkansas 

Highway 5; north on Arkansas Highway 5 to Interstate 30; west on Interstate 30 to US Highway 

70; west on US Highway 70 to the Pike-Howard County line; south on the Pike-Howard County 

line to the Hempstead County line; east on the Hempstead-Pike County line to the Nevada County 

line; south on the Nevada-Hempstead County line to the Lafayette County line; south on the 

Lafayette-Nevada County line to the southwest corner of Nevada County; east on the Lafayette-

Nevada County line to the Columbia County line; south on the Columbia-Lafayette County line to 

the Arkansas-Louisiana State line. 

 

Zone 3 – Southeast Arkansas. Start at the intersection of Arkansas Highway 275 and the 

Arkansas-Louisiana State line (Union County); east on the Arkansas-Louisiana State line to the 

Mississippi River; north on the Arkansas-Mississippi State line to US Highway 49; north on US 

Highway 49 to US Highway 79; south on US Highway 79 to US Highway 63; south on US 

Highway 63 to Arkansas Highway 275; south on Arkansas Highway 275 to the Arkansas-

Louisiana State line. 

 

Zone 4 – Northeast Arkansas. Start at the junction of Interstate 40 and Interstate 440 (Pulaski 

County); east on Interstate 40 to the White River; south on the White River to US Highway 79; 

north on US Highway 79 to US Highway 49; south on US Highway 49 to the Mississippi River; 

north on the Arkansas-Mississippi State line to the Tennessee State line; north on the Arkansas-

Tennessee State line to the Missouri State line; west on the Arkansas-Missouri State line to the St. 

Francis River; south on the St. Francis River to the Craighead County line; west on the Craighead-

Greene County line to the Lawrence County line; south on the Lawrence-Craighead County line 

to the Jackson County line; west on the Jackson-Lawrence County line to US Highway 67; south 

on US Highway 67 to the Jackson-White County line; west on the Jackson-White County line to 

the Independence County line; west on the Independence-White County line to the Cleburne 

County line; south on the Cleburne-White County line to the Faulkner County line; south on the 

Faulkner-White County line to US Highway 64; east on US Highway 64 to US Highway 67; 

south on US Highway 67 to Interstate 440;  east on Interstate 440 to Interstate 40. 

 

Zone 5 – Northwest Arkansas. Start at the northwest corner of Sevier County on the Arkansas-

Oklahoma State line; east on the Sevier-Polk County line to the Howard County line; east on the 

Howard-Sevier County line to the Saline River; the south on the Saline River to US Highway 70; 

east on US Highway 70 to Interstate 30; east on Interstate 30 to Arkansas Highway 5; south on 

Arkansas Highway 5 to Arkansas Highway 9; the north on Arkansas Highway 9 to Arkansas 

Highway 10; west on Arkansas Highway 10 to Arkansas Highway 27; north on Arkansas 

Highway 27 to Interstate 40; east on Interstate 40 to US Highway 64; east on US Highway 64 to 

the Faulkner-White County line; north on the Faulkner-White County line to the Cleburne County 

line; east on the Cleburne-White County line to the Independence County line; east on the 

Independence-White County line to the Jackson County line; south on the Jackson-White County 

line to US Highway 67; the north on US Highway 67 to the Jackson-Lawrence County line; east 

on the Jackson-Lawrence County line to the Craighead County line; east on the Craighead-

Lawrence County line to the Greene County line; east on the Greene-Craighead County line to 

the St. Francis River; north on the St. Francis River to the Missouri State line; north on the 

Arkansas-Missouri State line to the northeast corner of Clay County; west on the Arkansas-

Missouri State line to the Arkansas-Oklahoma State line; the south on the Arkansas-Oklahoma 

State line to the northwest corner of Sevier County. 
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CHAPTER F1.00 

CAPTIVE WILDLIFE/HUNTING RESORT 

 

F1.01  Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Requirements 

F1.02  Game Bird Shooting Resort Requirements 

F1.03  Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit Requirements 

F1.04  Wildlife Importation Permit Requirements 

F1.05  Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit Requirements 

F1.06  Mountain Lion Permit Requirements 

F1.07  Falconry Permit Requirements 

 

* * * * *  
 

F1.01 COMMERCIAL WILDLIFE HUNTING RESORT REQUIREMENTS 

(A) Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permits may  

be issued to applicants complying with the following requirements: 

(1) The applicant must be at least 18 years old and shall not have been convicted of, or 

entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for, violating any federal, state or 

municipal law governing captive wildlife, illegal appropriation or 

commercialization of wildlife, or cruelty to animals within five years of 

application date. 

(2) The applicant shall provide to the Commission, in writing, proof from the county 

judge or sheriff and any municipal planning commission or board with 

jurisdiction, stating that the applicant’s hunting resort shall be in compliance with 

all local ordinances.   

(3) The applicant shall submit a written application (available from the Commission) 

for each facility to be permitted.  

(B) The requested permit shall be denied if:  

(1) The applicant fails to meet any of the issuance criteria set forth in this addendum 

chapter; 

(2) The applicant fails to disclose material information required, makes false 

statements as to any material fact in connection with the application, or supplies 

false information or makes a false statement on the application; 

(3) The Commission finds, through further inquiry or investigation, the issuance of 

the permit may be potentially harmful to the wildlife resources of the State. 

(C) Commercial wildlife hunting resorts must comply with the following: 

(1) Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort Permits must be obtained at least 60 days 

before hunting begins. Operators must notify the Commission upon any change of 

ownership or enclosure size.  

(2) Native game animals, except black bear, may be hunted within commercial 

wildlife hunting resorts in accordance with statewide hunting regulations and 

license requirements. Such high-fence enclosures shall be at least 500 contiguous 

acres of free range (no cross-fencing) with a fence at least 8 feet in height around 

the perimeter. 

(3) Deer and elk may be hunted within commercial wildlife hunting resorts with any 

legal method of take for deer or elk hunting from October-February.  Limits do not 

apply. An elk permit is not required. 

(4) High-fence enclosures shall have at least 60 percent forested cover classified as 

timberland by the county tax assessor. 
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(5) Hunting, chasing, herding or corralling deer or elk with dogs within a commercial 

wildlife hunting enclosure is prohibited. 

(6) Hunting non-native wildlife within a high-fence enclosure is prohibited. 

(7) The perimeter fencing of a high-fence enclosure must be posted at least every 300 

feet with yellow signs marked with “Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort” in 

black letters at least 4 inches tall. 

(8) All cervids held captive under this permit that die, including those harvested by 

hunters, shall be tested for chronic wasting disease by the Arkansas Livestock and 

Poultry Commission at the expense of the permit holder. The permit holder shall 

submit the results of such testing to the Commission within seven days of receipt. 

(9) Permit holders whose facilities, including enclosures, pens and cages, are not in 

compliance with this addendum chapter shall be notified in writing and shall have 

10 days to correct the violation. 

(10) If the violation has not been corrected in 10 days, the Commission may revoke any 

existing permit and may refuse to issue any future permit to the violator. Such 

revocation or refusal to issue a future permit shall be in addition to any criminal 

charges that may be filed. 

(D) Reporting and Record-Keeping Requirements: 

(1) Owners or operators of commercial wildlife hunting resorts must keep legible and 

complete records showing the name and current address of each hunter, the date, 

number of wildlife and sex of each animal taken. 

(2) Records shall include evidence of legal possession of all wildlife kept under this 

permit, including licenses, bills of sale, bills of lading, receipts, invoices or other 

satisfactory evidence of ownership. Records shall include the date of acquisition, 

place of origin, and the name, address and telephone number of the person from 

whom the wildlife was acquired. 

(3) Records must be retained throughout the time the wildlife is possessed by the 

permittee or for five years, whichever is longer. 

(4) Permit holders shall submit a completed Commercial Wildlife Hunting Resort 

Harvest Report (form available from the Commission) by May 1.  

(E) Disease Testing and Control: 

(1) The director of the Commission, in consultation with the director of the Arkansas 

Livestock and Poultry Commission, or their designees, shall determine 

mechanisms and procedures for control of diseases and parasites in captive wildlife 

within Arkansas. Such mechanisms and procedures shall include, but not be 

limited to, examination, testing, quarantine and slaughter or destruction of 

individual animals and/or herds that are, or in the opinion of the Commission may 

be, infected with a disease or parasite that may have significant detrimental effect 

on native wildlife, other captive wildlife, livestock or the public health of the 

citizens of Arkansas. 

(2) Examinations, testing, quarantine and slaughter of captive wildlife shall be 

conducted at the expense of the owner. As a condition of any permit issued under 

this addendum chapter, the Commission may require the captive wildlife be 

quarantined for a period specified by the Commission. 

(F) Facility and Enclosure Requirements: 

(1) All wildlife possessed in captivity shall be maintained in enclosures that are 

sufficiently strong to prevent escape of the wildlife and will protect the wildlife 

from injury. 

(2) Enclosures shall be kept in good repair at all times and gates shall be securely 

fastened with latches or locks.  
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(3) Permit holders whose facilities, including enclosures, are not in compliance with 

this addendum chapter shall correct the violation within 10 days of notification, or 

sooner if so ordered by the Commission. 

(4) If the violation has not been corrected within required time, the Commission may 

revoke or suspend any existing permit and may refuse to issue any future permit. 

Such revocation, suspension or refusal to issue a future permit shall be in addition 

to any criminal charges that may be filed.  

(F) Inspection: 

(1) Permit holders shall allow agents of the Commission to enter and inspect the 

premises, including books, records or permits required to be kept and any wildlife 

and/or facilities kept under authority of permit. 

(2) Each permittee shall pen the captive wildlife in suitable pens and restrain them for 

inspection, at a reasonable time, when requested to do so by an agent of the 

Commission. 

(G) Permit Renewal, Transfer, Suspension And Revocation: 

(1) Persons in violation of the terms of this permit, this addendum chapter, 

Commission Codes, or convicted of violating associated regulations of the U.S. 

Fish and Wildlife Service, shall be notified in writing and shall have 20 days to 

respond with just cause as to why their permit should not be suspended or revoked.  

(2) If after 20 days just cause has not been given, the Commission may suspend or 

revoke any existing permit held by the violator and may refuse to issue future 

permits. Permit suspension, revocation or refusal shall be in addition to any 

criminal charges that may be filed.  

(3) Upon revocation, permit holder must remove by legal means all captive wildlife 

within the time designated in the revocation, not to exceed 60 days, and failure to 

do so shall result in the Commission taking action, per Commission policy, at the 

permit holder’s expense. 

 

F1.02 GAME BIRD SHOOTING RESORT REQUIREMENTS 

(A) Game Bird Shooting Resort Permits may be issued to applicants complying with the 

following requirements: 

(1) The applicant must be at least 18 years old and shall not have been convicted of, or 

entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for, violating any federal, state or 

municipal law governing captive wildlife, illegal appropriation or 

commercialization of wildlife, or cruelty to animals within five years of application 

date. 

(2) The applicant shall provide to the Commission, in writing, proof from the county 

judge or sheriff and any municipal planning commission or board with jurisdiction, 

stating the applicant’s resort shall be in compliance with all local ordinances.   

(3) The applicant shall submit a written application (available from the Commission) 

for each facility to be permitted. 

(B) The requested permit shall be denied if:  

(1) The applicant fails to meet any of the issuance criteria set forth in this addendum 

chapter; 

(2) The applicant fails to disclose material information required, makes false statements 

as to any material fact in connection with the application, or supplies false 

information or makes a false statement on the application; 

(3) The Commission finds, through further inquiry or investigation, the issuance of the 

permit may be potentially harmful to the wildlife resources of the State. 

(C) Permit Requirements: 
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(1) Holders of a Game Bird Shooting Resort Permit shall comply with the following 

requirements: 

(a) The resort operator shall release only the number of game birds intended to be 

harvested each day, less the number of birds released but not harvested the 

previous hunt; 

(b) The resort owner shall release only the number of captive-reared mallards 

intended to be harvested each day and, after hunting is completed, shall capture 

all non-harvested mallards released for the hunt and return them to their 

enclosure. 

(c) All acreage in the shooting resort will be contiguous and not exceed 1,500 

acres; 

(d) The perimeter of each game bird shooting resort must be posted at least every 

300 feet with yellow signs marked with “Game Bird Shooting Resort” in black 

letters at least 4 inches tall. 

(e) Operators of Game Bird Shooting Resorts may release captive- reared mallards 

for the sole purpose of flight training during daylight hours July 1-Sept. 1. After 

flight training has been completed, captive-reared mallards shall be returned to 

their enlclosure before sunset. 

(f) Permit holders whose facilities, including enclosures, pens and cages, are not in 

compliance with this addendum chapter shall be notified in writing and shall 

have 10 days to correct the violation. 

(g) If the violation has not been corrected in 10 days, the Commission may revoke 

any existing permit and may refuse to issue any future permit to the violator. 

Such revocation or refusal to issue a future permit shall be in addition to any 

criminal charges that may be filed. 

(D) Reporting and Record-Keeping Requirements:  

(1) Owners or operators of game bird shooting resorts must keep legible and complete 

records (on forms provided by the Commission) showing the name and current 

address of each hunter, the date, number and type of birds released each day and the 

number taken by each hunter. 

(2) Records shall include evidence of legal possession of all wildlife kept under this 

permit, including licenses, bills of sale, bills of lading, receipts, invoices or other 

satisfactory evidence of ownership. Records shall include the date of acquisition, 

place of origin, and the name, address and telephone number of the person from 

whom the wildlife was acquired. 

(3) Records must be retained throughout the time the wildlife is possessed by the 

permittee or for five years, whichever is longer. 

(4) Permit holders shall submit a completed Game Bird Shooting Resort Daily Release 

and Harvest Report (form available from the Commission) by May 1.   

(E) Disease Testing and Control: 

(1) The director of the Commission, in consultation with the director of the Arkansas 

Livestock and Poultry Commission, or their designees, shall determine mechanisms 

and procedures for control of diseases and parasites in captive wildlife within 

Arkansas. Such mechanisms and procedures shall include, but not be limited to, 

examination, testing, quarantine and slaughter or destruction of individual animals 

and/or herds or flocks that are, or in the opinion of the Commission may be, 

infected with a disease or parasite that may have significant detrimental effect on 

native wildlife, other captive wildlife, livestock or the public health of the citizens 

of Arkansas. 

(2) Examinations, testing, quarantine and slaughter of captive wildlife shall be 

conducted at the expense of the owner. As a condition of any permit issued under 
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this addendum chapter, the Commission may require the captive wildlife be 

quarantined for a period specified by the Commission. 

(F) Facility and Caging Requirements: 

(1) Birds possessed in captivity shall be maintained in buildings or covered pens that 

prevent escape, protect the birds from injury and prevent entry of wild birds. 

(2) Enclosures shall be kept in good repair at all times and gates shall be securely 

fastened with latches or locks.  

(3) Permit holders whose facilities, including enclosures, are not in compliance with 

this addendum chapter shall correct the violation within 10 days of notification, or 

sooner if so ordered by the Commission. 

(4) If the violation has not been corrected within the required time, the Commission 

may revoke or suspend any existing permit and may refuse to issue any future 

permit. Such revocation, suspension or refusal to issue a future permit shall be in 

addition to any criminal charges that may be filed.  

(G) Harvest Identification Requirements: 

 Any person in possession of game birds harvested from a game bird shooting resort shall 

have on his person written information stating the name and address of the hunter who 

harvested the game birds, the number, species and harvest date of the game birds, and the 

name and address of the resort. 

(H) Inspection: 

1) Permit holders shall allow agents of the Commission to enter and inspect the 

premises, including books, records or permits required to be kept and any wildlife 

and/or facilities kept under authority of permit. 

(2) Each permittee shall pen the captive wildlife in suitable pens and restrain them for 

inspection, at a reasonable time, when requested to do so by an agent of the 

Commission.  

(I) Permit Renewal, Transfer, Suspension and Revocation:  

(1) Persons in violation of the terms of this permit, this addendum chapter, 

Commission Codes, or convicted of violating associated regulations of the U.S. 

Fish and Wildlife Service, shall be notified in writing and shall have 20 days to 

respond with just cause as to why their permit should not be suspended or revoked.  

(2) If after 20 days just cause has not been given, the Commission may suspend or 

revoke any existing permit held by the violator and may refuse to issue future 

permits. Permit suspension, revocation or refusal shall be in addition to any 

criminal charges that may be filed.  

(3) Upon revocation, permit holder must remove by legal means all captive wildlife 

within the time designated in the revocation, not to exceed 60 days, and failure ton 

do so shall result in the Commission taking action, per Commission policy, at the 

permit holder’s expense. 

 

F1.03 WILDLIFE BREEDER/DEALER PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

(A) Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permits may be issued to applicants complying with the 

following requirements: 

(1) The applicant must be at least 18 years old and shall not have been convicted of, or 

entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for, violating any federal, state or 

municipal law governing captive wildlife, illegal appropriation or 

commercialization of wildlife, or cruelty to animals within five years of the 

application date. 

(2) The applicant shall provide to the Commission, in writing, proof from the county 

judge or sheriff and any municipal planning commission or board with jurisdiction, 

stating that the applicant’s facility shall be in compliance with all local ordinances.   



 

219 

 

(3) The applicant shall submit a written application (available from the Commission) 

for each facility to be permitted. 

(B) The requested permit shall be denied if:  

(1) The applicant fails to meet any of the issuance criteria set forth in this addendum 

chapter; 

(2) The applicant fails to disclose material information required, or makes false 

statements as to any material fact in connection with the application, or supplies 

false information or makes a false statement on the application; 

(3) The Commission finds, through further inquiry or investigation, the issuance of the 

permit may be potentially harmful to the wildlife resources of the State. 

(4) The applicant is seeking to permit a new facility for: 

(a) Rearing, breeding, propagating, producing, distributing or possessing large 

carnivores or mountain lions. 

(b) Rearing, breeding, propagating, producing or distributing any member of the 

cervidae family. 

(c) The importation, propagation, sale, transfer, barter or distribution of box turtles 

(genus Terrapene). 

(5) The applicant is seeking a Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit for waterfowl on 

properties where poultry is raised for sale, show or exhibition. 

(C) Permit Requirements: 

(1) The applicant shall supply satisfactory evidence stock has been/will be secured 

from a legal source. 

(2) Stock may be slaughtered in accordance with established husbandry practices for 

slaughter of domestic livestock. 

(3) Fencing of enclosures in which deer, elk or other big game animals are to be held 

shall consist of a permanent deer-proof fence at least 8 feet tall and constructed in a 

manner that prohibits escape of captive wildlife and prohibits entry of native 

wildlife. 

(4) Waterfowl hatched in wildlife breeder/dealer facilities shall be banded with a 

seamless metal band. 

(5) Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit holders for cervids shall only sell live cervids to 

Arkansas residents who possess a current Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit for 

cervids, Arkansas residents who possess a current Commercial Wildlife Hunting 

Resort Permit for cervids or to buyers outside Arkansas. 

(6) Live bobwhite quail sold to Arkansas residents who do not possess a Wildlife 

Breeder/Dealer Permit or Game Bird Shooting Resort Permit must be banded by the 

permit holder. 

(D) Reporting and Record-keeping Requirements:  

(1) Legible records of all wildlife acquisitions and dispositions, including births, 

deaths, sales, slaughter and transport, shall be kept. 

(2) Records shall include evidence of legal possession of all wildlife kept under the 

permit, including licenses, bills of sale, bills of lading, receipts, invoices or other 

satisfactory evidence of ownership. Records shall include date of acquisition, place 

of origin, and the name, address and telephone number of the person from whom 

the wildlife was acquired. 

(3) Records of sale shall include the name, address and telephone number of the person 

to whom the wildlife was sold, and the number of each species sold to each person. 

(4) Records must be retained throughout the time the wildlife is possessed by the 

permittee or for five years, whichever is longer. 
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(5) Holders of Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permits shall submit legible,  complete monthly 

reports (forms available from the Commission) of their inventory and any births, 

deaths, sales or purchases of wildlife by the fifth of the following month.  

(6) Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit holders who possess cervids in facilities larger than 

25 acres where the animals are allowed free range may report an estimated 

inventory number based on a Commission-approved survey technique. 

(E) Disease Testing and Control: 

(1) The director of the Commission, in consultation with the director of the Arkansas 

Livestock and Poultry Commission, or their designees, shall determine mechanisms 

and procedures for control of diseases and parasites in captive wildlife within 

Arkansas. Such mechanisms and procedures shall include, but not be limited to, 

examination, testing, quarantine and slaughter or destruction of individual animals 

and/or herds or flocks that are, or in the opinion of the Commission may be, 

infected with a disease or parasite that may have significant detrimental effect on 

native wildlife, other captive wildlife, livestock or the public health of the citizens 

of Arkansas. 

(2) Examinations, testing, quarantine and slaughter of captive wildlife shall be 

conducted at the expense of the owner. As a condition of any permit issued under 

this addendum chapter, the Commission may require the captive wildlife be 

quarantined for a period specified by the Commission. 

(3) All Cervids that die in captivity must be tested for chronic wasting disease. Copies 

of test results shall be forwarded to the Commission within seven days of receipt. 

(4) Captive Cervid facilities must be in compliance with all Arkansas Livestock and 

Poultry Commission requirements. 

(5) Permitted Wildlife Breeder/Dealer facilities in which birds are kept are required to 

adhere to Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission requirements regarding 

pullorum-typhoid disease tests and are encouraged to participate in the National 

Poultry Improvement Plan. 

(6) Each Wildlife Breeder/Dealer facility where waterfowl are kept is required to test 

60 birds for duck virus enteritis using the PCR technique every May. Facilities 

containing less than 60 birds shall test all birds in stock. Samples shall be taken by a 

licensed veterinarian and submitted to the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry 

Commission at the owner’s expense. Copies of test results shall be forwarded to the 

Commission within seven days of receipt. 

(7) Flocks testing positive for duck virus enteritis shall be quarantined or destroyed by 

the owner or operator within 14 days and the carcasses disposed of in accordance 

with Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission regulations.  

(F) Facility and Caging Requirements: 

All wildlife possessed under a Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit in Arkansas shall be 

maintained in a permanent enclosure, pen, or cage strong enough to prevent escape of the 

wildlife and protect them from injury. Birds must be kept in buildings or covered pens 

that prevent escape and that do not allow entry of wild birds. Enclosures shall be kept in 

good repair at all times and gates shall be securely fastened with latches or locks. 

Enclosures, pens or cages considered unsafe by Commission personnel must be repaired 

or reconstructed within 10 days or as specified by the Commission. 

(1)  Facilities containing large carnivores and mountain lions shall meet the following 

requirements: 

(a) A written plan of action shall be prepared and a copy submitted with permit 

application for use in the following events: Severe damage to enclosures from 

fire, wind, floods or other natural forces; animals attacking and/or injuring 

humans, and animals escaping enclosures. Plans should identify the location 
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of temporary holding facilities and necessary mechanisms to safely transport 

large carnivores to these facilities. Recapture plans shall outline procedures 

for handling and recapturing escaped large carnivores. Plans should include a 

list of safety equipment which shall be available for use. The Commission 

shall immediately be notified upon the escape of any large carnivores or 

mountain lions. In the event of sickness, the name, address, phone number, 

and signature of the veterinarian who has agreed to care for the animal shall 

be provided. 

(b) A perimeter fence sufficient to deter entry by the public, at least 8 feet tall 

shall completely surround cages where animals are housed or exercised 

outdoors. Perimeter fences that allow objects to be passed through them, such 

as chain link or welded wire, shall be at least 3 feet from cages or exercise 

areas. 

(c) Warning signs must be posted at the entrance to the property. 

(d) All cages or enclosures shall be equipped with an entrance or device that 

allows a keeper to enter or exit a cage without providing an avenue of escape 

to an animal (such as a double-gated entry door, interconnected cages that can 

be isolated from each other, a lock-down area, or other comparable device). 

Safety entrances shall be constructed of materials of equivalent strength as 

those prescribed for cage construction. Doors or gates in perimeter fences 

shall be locked when unattended. 

(e) Cages shall be equipped with a lockout area that allows the keeper access 

while the animal is contained in a separate area. 

(f) Cages shall be well braced and securely anchored at ground level to prevent 

escape by digging or erosion. The fasteners and fittings used in construction 

shall be of equivalent strength to the material required for cage construction. 

(g) In facilities containing tigers, African lions and bears cage construction 

materials shall consist of at least 9-gauge chain link or equivalent materials. 

In facilities containing mountain lions, cage construction materials shall 

consist of at least 11-gauge chain link or equivalent materials. Juvenile 

animals may be kept in incubation or rearing facilities not meeting these 

standards until they weigh more than 25 pounds. 

(h) Cages containing a single African lion, tiger or bear shall have a cage floor at 

least 300 square feet and shall be at least 8 feet tall. For each additional 

animal the cage size shall be increased 100 square feet. 

(i) Cages containing a single mountain lion shall have a cage floor at least 200 

square feet and shall be at least 8 feet tall. For each additional animal the cage 

size shall be increased 100 square feet. 

(j) Large carnivores and mountain lions may temporarily be housed in cages or 

enclosures smaller than specified in this chapter while being transported, 

while in veterinary care or while being quarantined, provided temporary 

caging is large enough for the animal to stand up, lie down and turn around 

without touching the sides of the enclosure or another animal. 

(k) Open-top outdoor exercise areas are allowed providing they have vertical 

walls at least 12 feet tall, topped by either: an inward-angled overhang at an 

angle between 35 and 55 degrees, which is at least 2 feet long and of equal 

strength as the cage walls; or, two strands of electric fencing, one of which is 

1 foot below the top of the vertical wall, and the other at the top of the wall or 

the upper 3 feet of the interior of the fence consists of sheer, solid metal. 

Animals may not be left in exercise areas overnight. 
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(l) Permit holders whose facility, including enclosures, pens and cages, is not in 

compliance with this Commission Addendum Chapter shall be notified in 

writing and shall have 10 days to correct the violation. 

(m) If the violation has not been corrected in 10 days of notification, the 

Commission may revoke any existing permit and may refuse to issue any 

future permit. Such revocation or refusal to issue a future permit shall be in 

addition to any criminal charges that may be filed.  

(G) Inspection: 

(1) Any person issued a Wildlife Breeder/Dealer Permit shall allow entry, at any 

reasonable hour, to Commission employees or their agents to inspect any wildlife 

and/or facilities kept under authority of the permit. 

(2) Each permittee shall pen the captive wildlife in suitable pens and restrain them 

for inspection, at a reasonable time, when requested to do so by the employee or 

agent. 

(H) Renewal, Transfer, Suspension and Revocation: 

(1) Permits may be revoked for failure to comply with the terms of the permit or with 

the terms of this Commission Addendum Chapter. 

(2) Persons in violation of the terms of this permit, violation of the Commission 

Addendum, or upon conviction of associated regulations of the U.S. Fish and 

Wildlife Service, shall be notified in writing of such violations and shall have 20 

days to respond. 

(3) If, at the end of 20 days, just cause has not been given, the Commission may 

suspend or revoke any existing permit and refuse to issue any future permit. 

Permit suspension, revocation or refusal shall be in addition to any criminal 

charges that may be filed. 

(4) Upon revocation, permit holder must legally remove all captive wildlife within 

the time designated in the revocation, not to exceed 60 days, and failure to do so 

shall result in the Commission taking action, per Commission policy, at the 

permit holder’s expense. 

 

F1.04 WILDLIFE IMPORTATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

(A) Eligibility and Application Requirements:  

(1) The applicant must be at least 18 years old and shall not have been convicted of, 

or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for, violating any federal, state or 

municipal law governing captive wildlife, illegal appropriation or 

commercialization of wildlife, or cruelty to animals within five years of the 

application date. 

(2) The applicant shall submit a written application (available from the Commission) 

for each facility to be permitted. 

(B) The requested permit shall be denied if: 

(1) The applicant fails to meet any of the issuance criteria set forth in this addendum 

chapter; 

(2) The applicant fails to disclose material information required, or makes false 

statements as to any material fact in connection with the application, or supplies 

false information or makes a false statement on the application; 

(3) The Commission finds, through further inquiry or investigation, the issuance of 

the permit may be potentially harmful to the wildlife resources of the State. 

(C) Permit Requirements: 

(1) Wildlife Importation Permit holders may import wildlife into or transport wildlife 

through the state under the following conditions provided that prior to 

transportation the permit holder possesses the following documentation: 
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(a) Written proof of the origin and destination of each animal. 

(b) Documentation for each animal to demonstrate they have not been kept 

in, or originated from, a location from which importation has been restricted 

in accordance with Code 09.11. 

(c) A completed AGFC Veterinary Examination Record Form upon which an 

accredited veterinarian has certified each animal to be free of 

diseases/parasites. 

(2) The Wildlife Importation Permit and issued documentation required in Chapter 

(C) (1) of this Commission Addendum must accompany each animal during 

transport. 

(a) All documentation required in Chapter (C) (1) of this Commission 

Addendum Chapter shall be submitted by the permit holder to the 

Commission’s Wildlife Management Bureau within seven days of the 

permitted importation. 

(b) Failure to comply may result in suspension or revocation of any existing 

permit held by the violator, and denial of any future permits. Additionally, 

criminal charges may be filed. 

 

F1.05 WILDIFE REHABILITATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

(A) Eligibility and Application Requirements: 

(1) A Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit applications must comply with the following: 

(a) The applicant must be at least 18 years old and shall not have been convicted 

of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for, violating any federal, 

state or municipal law governing captive wildlife, illegal appropriation or 

commercialization of wildlife, or cruelty to animals within five years of the 

application date. 

(b) The applicant shall be a resident of Arkansas with a bona fide or actual 

residence within the state. 

(c) The applicant shall provide to the Commission, in writing, proof from the 

county judge or sheriff and any municipal planning commission or board with 

jurisdiction, stating that the applicant’s facility shall be in compliance with all 

local ordinances.   

(d) An application for the permit shall be submitted on a form supplied by the 

Commission. 

(e) Applications will include the signature, address and phone number of a 

licensed veterinarian who will assist the applicant by providing consulting 

and referral services regarding animal rehabilitation and treatment. 

(2) General Class Wildlife Rehabilitation Permits may be issued based upon 

documented applicant experience in accordance with one of the following 

methods:  

(a) Persons who submit written documentation (on a form supplied by the 

Commission) of at least 250 hours experience in the care of sick, injured, 

orphaned or otherwise impaired wildlife. Such documentation must include a 

description of the specific training or experience acquired, and the dates and 

locations where acquired. The applicant also shall submit a reference from a 

permitted rehabilitator based upon personal knowledge. Additional 

documentation may consist of records of prior permits for rehabilitation 

issued by other states or the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, employment 

records of wildlife rehabilitative facilities, training course certificates, or 

other documentation of experience. 
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(b) Persons who held a rehabilitation permit issued by the Commission or any 

other state within the last five years. 

(c) Wildlife rehabilitators certified by the International Wildlife Rehabilitation 

Council who submit a reference from a permitted rehabilitator based upon 

personal knowledge. 

(3) Apprentice Class Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit applicants shall meet all the 

eligibility and application requirements of sub-chapter A (1) of this code and shall 

have a sponsor with a current General Class Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit.  

(B) Permit Requirements: 

(1) Wildlife shall be cared for at the location listed in the Wildlife Rehabilitation 

Permit. 

(2) Apprentice class wildlife rehabilitators under the supervision of a general class 

wildlife rehabilitator may possess or care for no more than 20 baby opossums or 

six other individual animals at a time.  

(3) Wildlife undergoing rehabilitation or medical treatment shall not be hunted, bred 

or displayed to the public. 

(4) Rehabilitated native wildlife shall be released at a time and into a habitat suitable 

to sustain it in, or adjacent to, the county in which it was captured. Wildlife shall 

not be released within the limits of any incorporated city or town and shall be 

released in compliance with any local regulations. 

(5) When necessary, euthanasia shall be by an acceptable method set forth by the 

International Wildlife Rehabilitation Council/National Wildlife Rehabilitators 

Association’s current “Minimum Standards for Wildlife Rehabilitation.” 

(6) Wildlife with permanent physical impairments may be kept for educational use 

upon approval of the chief of the Wildlife Management Division and in 

compliance with U.S. Department of Agriculture regulations regarding display of 

wild animals.  Permittee shall not transfer permanently impaired wildlife to 

unauthorized individuals. 

(7) Animals that die from causes other than disease while in the custody of the 

permittee shall be disposed of in accordance with local or state laws or be offered 

to a museum, university, or other educational facility. 

(8) Animals that die of disease must be destroyed in a manner that does not allow the 

spread of the disease to other animals or humans and must be reported to the 

Commission within 48 hours. 

(9) Permittees receiving any species classified as endangered or threatened shall 

notify the Little Rock office of the Commission’s Wildlife Management Division 

within 48 hours of the receipt of the animal. 

(10) Permittees shall not require a fee associated with wildlife rehabilitation services 

or for the pick-up, delivery or acceptance of sick, injured, orphaned or otherwise 

impaired wildlife. This limitation shall not apply to professional fees charged by a 

licensed veterinarian for treatment or other services requested by a permitted 

wildlife rehabilitator. This regulation does not in any way prohibit nor discourage 

the public from making voluntary donations to rehabilitators for animal care and 

facility maintenance. 

(11) Permittees are not agents of the Commission and may not represent themselves as 

such. 

(12) Rehabilitation facilities shall comply with International Wildlife Rehabilitation 

Council/National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association’s “Minimum Standards for 

Wildlife Rehabilitation.” 

(13) Permittees who care for foxes, skunks or bats, must maintain records of pre-

exposure rabies vaccination treatment.  
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(C) Reporting and Record Keeping: 

(1) All permit holders shall maintain a log of each animal taken into custody. The log 

shall include date the animal was received, county of origin, treatment, condition 

and disposition, and shall be subject to inspection by Commission personnel at 

any reasonable time. 

(2) Permit holders shall submit annual reports (Jan. 1-Dec. 31) on a form provided by 

the Commission. Annual reports shall be due  Jan. 31. 

(D) Facility and Caging Requirements: 

(1) All wildlife shall be kept in pens/cages that meet the “Basic Requirements for 

Housing Wild Animals and Minimum Housing Guidelines” set forth by the 

current International Wildlife Rehabilitation Council/National Wildlife 

Rehabilitators Association’s “Minimum Standards for Wildlife Rehabilitation” 

unless otherwise authorized by the Commission. 

(2) Wildlife possessed in captivity shall be maintained in enclosures, pens, or cages 

that are strong enough to prevent escape and protect them from injury. 

(3) Cages, fencing, and guardrails shall be kept in good repair at all times and gates 

shall be secured with latches or locks. Enclosures, pens, or cages considered 

unsafe by Commission personnel must be repaired within 10 days of inspection or 

as specified by the Commission. 

(4) Permit holders whose facilities, including enclosures, pens and cages, are not in 

compliance with this Addendum Chapter shall be notified in writing and shall 

have 10 days to correct the violation. 

(5) If the violation has not been corrected in 10 days, the Commission may revoke 

any permit and refuse to issue future permits. Permit revocation or refusal shall be 

in addition to any criminal charges that may be filed. 

(E) Inspection:  

(1) Holders of a Wildlife Rehabilitation Permit shall allow entry, at reasonable hours, 

to Commission employees or agents to inspect the wildlife, facilities, books, 

records, or permits required by the permit. 

(2) Permit holders shall hold the captive wildlife in suitable pens and restrain them 

for inspection, at a reasonable time, when requested to do so by Commission 

employees or agents. 

(F) Renewal, Transfer, Suspension and Revocation: 

(1) Wildlife Rehabilitation Permits shall expire Jan. 31 each year.  Permits may be 

reviewed following receipt and approval by the Commission of a permit renewal 

application, and an annual report for the previous calendar year in accordance 

with Addendum F1.05(C)(2). 

(2) Permits may be revoked for violation of the terms of this permit, violation of the 

Commission Code, or upon conviction of associated regulations of the U.S. Fish 

and Wildlife Service. 

(3) Permit holders shall be notified in writing of such violations and shall have 20 

days to respond with just cause as to why their permit should not be suspended or 

revoked. 

(4) If just cause has not been given in 20 days, the Commission may suspend or 

revoke any permit held by the violator and refuse to issue future permits. 

Additionally, criminal charges may be filed. 

(5) Upon revocation, permit holder must legally remove all captive wildlife within 

the time designated in the revocation, not to exceed 60 days, and failure to do so 

shall result in the Commission taking action, per Commission policy, at the 

permit holder’s expense. 
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F1.06 MOUNTAIN LION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

(A) Eligibility and Application Requirements: 

(1) A Mountain Lion Permit shall not be issued to any person until the applicant has 

demonstrated satisfactory compliance with the following requirements: 

(a) The applicant must be at least 18 years old and shall not have been convicted 

of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere for, violating any federal, 

state or municipal law governing captive wildlife, illegal appropriation or 

commercialization of wildlife, or cruelty to animals within five years of the 

application date. 

(b) The applicant shall provide to the Commission, in writing, proof from the 

county judge or sheriff and any municipal planning commission or board with 

jurisdiction, stating that the applicant’s facility shall be in compliance with all 

local ordinances.   

(c) The applicant shall submit a written application (available from the 

Commission) for each facility to be permitted. 

(2) The permit shall be denied if: 

(a) The applicant fails to meet any of the issuance criteria set forth in this 

addendum chapter; 

(b) The applicant fails to disclose material information required, or makes false 

statements as to any material fact in connection with the application, or 

supplies false information or makes a false statement on the application; 

(c) The Commission finds, through further inquiry or investigation, the issuance 

of the permit may be potentially harmful to the wildlife resources of the State. 

(B) Facility and Caging Requirements: 

(1) Facilities containing mountain lions shall meet facility and caging requirements 

described in Addendum F1.03. 

(C) Reporting and Recordkeeping:  

(1) Legible records of all wildlife acquisitions and dispositions, including births, 

deaths, slaughter and transport, shall be kept throughout the time the wildlife is 

possessed or for five years, whichever is longer. 

(2) Records shall include evidence of legal possession of all wildlife kept under the 

permit, including licenses, bills of sale, bills of lading, receipts, invoices or other 

satisfactory evidence of ownership. Records shall include date of acquisition, 

place of origin, and the name, address and telephone number of the person from 

whom the wildlife was acquired. 

(3) The Commission shall be notified within 72 hours of any change in the number of 

mountain lions kept within the facility.   

(D) Disease Testing and Control: 

(1) The Commission shall determine mechanisms and procedures for control of 

diseases and parasites in captive mountain lions within Arkansas. Such 

mechanisms and procedures shall include, but not be limited to, examination, 

testing, quarantine and slaughter or destruction of animals that are, or in the 

opinion of the Commission may be, infected with a disease or parasite that may 

have significant detrimental effect on native wildlife, other captive wildlife, 

livestock or the public health of Arkansans. 

(2) Examinations, testing, quarantine and slaughter of captive wildlife shall be 

conducted at the expense of the owner.  

(E) Inspection: 

(1) Commission employees or agents may inspect the facility, all records associated 

with the activities relating to the permit, and any mountain lions kept under 

authority of the permit at any reasonable hour.  
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(2) Each permittee shall hold the mountain lion in a suitable pen and restrain it for 

inspection, at a reasonable time, when requested to do so by an employee or agent 

of the Commission. 

(F) Permit Renewal, Transfer, Suspension and Revocation:  

(1) Permits may be revoked by this Agency for failure to comply with the terms of 

the permit or with the terms of this Addendum Chapter. 

(2) Persons in violation of the terms of this permit, violation of the Commission 

Code, or upon conviction of associated regulations of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service, shall be notified in writing of such violations and shall have 20 days to 

respond with just cause as to why their permit should not be suspended or 

revoked. 

(3) If after 20 days just cause has not been given, the Commission may suspend or 

revoke any permit held by the violator and refuse to issue future permits. 

Additionally, criminal charges may be filed. 

(4) Upon revocation, permit holders must legally remove all captive wildlife within 

the time designated in the revocation, not to exceed 60 days. Failure to do so shall 

result in the Commission taking action, per Commission policy, at the permit 

holder’s expense. 

 

F1.07 FALCONRY PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

(A) Eligibility and Application Requirements: 

(1) A Falconry Permit shall not be issued to any person until the applicant has 

demonstrated satisfactory compliance with the following requirements: 

(a) Applicants must pass a written examination meeting federal standards with a 

score of at least 80%. 

(b) The applicant must possess a valid Arkansas hunting license. 

(c) Apprentice Class applicants shall be at least 14 years of age and shall have a 

sponsor for a period of two years.  The sponsor of an apprentice must hold a 

General or Master class falconry permit.  A sponsor shall have no more than 

three apprentices at any one time.  An apprentice falconer may possess only 

one of the following, which must be taken from the wild and may not obtain 

more than one replacement raptor during any 12 month period:   

(2) American Kestrel (Falco sparverius) 

(3) Red-tailed hawk (Buteo jamaicensus) 

(a) General Class applicants shall be at least 18 years of age and shall have at 

least two years experience in falconry at the apprentice level.  A general 

falconer may possess not more than two raptors and may not obtain more 

than two raptors for replacement during any 12 month period.  A general 

falconer may not take, transport, or possess any golden eagle (Aquila 

chrysaetos), or any species listed as threatened or endangered by federal law 

except when birds of listed species were bred in captivity. 

(b) Master Class applicants shall have at least five years experience in falconry at 

the general class level and shall possess not more than three raptors and may 

not obtain more than two raptors for replacement birds during any 12 month 

period.  Master falconers may not take, transport, or possess a golden eagle 

unless authorized in writing by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Master 

falconers may not take, transport, or possess as a part of the three bird limit, 

more than one raptor listed as threatened in federal regulation, except when 

birds listed as threatened or endangered were bred in captivity. 
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(B) Permit Requirements: 

It shall be unlawful for holders of Falconry Permits to fail to comply with the following 

requirements:  

(1) Raptors may be taken from the wild by Permittees for the purpose of falconry 

only, and then only as follows: 

(a) Young birds not capable of flight (EYASSES) may be taken only by a 

General or Master class falconer on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and 

Mondays only, from March 1 through July 31.  No more than two eyasses 

may be taken by a falconer during this period.  The AGFC (Falconry 

Coordinator) must be notified of the location of Cooper’s hawk and Sharp-

shinned hawk nests prior to taking of an eyas.  Falconers must leave at least 

two chicks in the nest when taking an eyas of either of these two species.  

Only eyasses of the following species may be taken: red-tailed hawk, red-

shouldered hawk, broad-winged hawk, Coopers hawk, sharp-shinned hawk, 

American kestrel, great horned owl. 

(b) First year (Passage) birds may be taken on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and 

Mondays only, from Sept. 1-Jan. 31, except that marked raptors or jessed 

raptors held under permit may be re-trapped at any time. Passage peregrines 

may be taken from Sept. 20-Oct. 20, 2011 by an Arkansas resident falconer 

who has been issued an Arkansas Passage Peregrine Falcon Permit by the 

Commission in accordance with requirements stated on that permit. 

(c) Only American kestrels and great horned owls may be taken when over one 

year old, except that raptors other than threatened or endangered species 

taken under a depredation or special purpose federal permits may be used by 

general and master falconers. No more than two raptors can be taken during 

any 12 months in the two combined taking periods except for the re-trapping 

of escaped falconry. 

i. Take of falconry birds from the wild by non-resident falconers will be 

allowed to take one legal raptor per year in Arkansas provided the state of 

their residence reciprocates such approval for Arkansas falconers. Non-

resident falconers must first purchase an Arkansas non-resident hunting 

license.  The taking of a legal raptor by a non-resident must comply with 

Arkansas regulations. 

ii. Raptors must be taken only in a humane manner. Any device used to take 

birds of prey shall be labeled with the name, address and phone number 

of the falconer and must be attended to continually by the falconer.  No 

eggs may be taken from raptor nests. 

(2) No Permittee shall purchase, offer for sale, sell or barter any native raptor 

acquired from the wild.  Permittees may transfer raptors obtained from the wild to 

other Permittees within the state when no money or other consideration is 

involved. Falconers may purchase captive bred raptors that are banded with a 

numbered seamless, permanent federal leg marker.  Such captive bred raptors 

utilized for falconry shall not be treated as threatened or endangered. 

(3) Another federally permitted person may care for the birds of a Permittee for a 

period not to exceed 30 days, if written authorization from the Permittee 

accompanies the birds when they are transferred.  If the period of care exceeds 15 

days, the Commission must be informed of this action within three days of this 

transfer, who is caring for them and approximately how many days they will be in 

the care of the second person. 

(4) Falconry Permittees shall notify the Commission in writing of the death, loss or 

release of their raptors within 15 days of occurrence.  Each dead bird shall be 
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frozen and surrendered upon request to the Commission along with the band, if 

any, from that bird. Dead birds may be buried or burned 30 days after written 

notification of the death to the Commission, provided that the Commission has 

not requested disposal by other means. 

(5) A falconry permit holder must obtain written permission from the chief of the 

Wildlife Management Division before intentionally releasing into the wild any 

species of raptor not indigenous to Arkansas. 

(6) Feathers from captive falconry raptors may be possessed, retained and exchanged 

by Permittees for imping purposes only. 

(7) Resident falconers may take wildlife only within the specific seasons and limits, 

except that non-migratory game species, with the exception of bobwhite quail, 

may be taken outside of the specified falconry seasons with a daily limit of one 

per raptor per day. 

(8) Except as provided above, the Permittee must leave any accidentally killed 

animal where it lies, except that the raptor may feed upon the animal prior to 

leaving the site of the kill. 

(C) Reporting and Record Keeping Requirements: 

(1) Permittees shall report to the AGFC by July 31, each year a listing of all raptors 

possessed on June 30 by species, marker number (if any), sex, age, date and 

source of acquisition. 

(2) Permittees must submit a properly completed federal form 3-186-A (Migratory 

Bird Acquisition/Disposition Report) to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife regional office 

within five days of taking, acquiring, purchasing, transferring, receiving, losing or 

disposing of any raptor.  No raptor may be possessed under a falconry permit 

unless the Permittee has a properly completed form 3-186-A for each bird 

possessed. 

(D) Facility and Caging Requirements: 

(1) Applicant’s facilities for the keeping of raptors and equipment shall be inspected 

and certified to meet the following standards.  Permittees must keep all facilities 

and equipment at or above these standards at all times. Facilities and equipment 

may be re-inspected by Commission personnel at any time and any raptors 

removed when it is judged to be in the best interest of the raptor. 

(2) Indoor facilities (mews) shall be large enough to allow the raptor to fully extend 

its wings and allow easy access for care of the raptor(s) housed in the facility. 

Raptors shall be tethered or separated by partitions and there shall be adequate 

perches, as secure door easily closed and at least one window protected on the 

inside by vertical bars spaced narrower than the width of the bird’s body. The 

floor shall be well drained and permit easy cleaning. 

(3) Outdoors areas shall be fenced and covered with netting or wire or roofed except 

that perches more than six and one half feet (6 ½’) high need not be covered or 

roofed. The enclosed area should be large enough to insure that birds flying from 

a perch cannot strike the fence. Raptors shall be provided adequate perches and 

protection from excessive sun, wind and inclement weather. 

(4) Applicants for falconry permits shall possess the following equipment: 

(a) At least one pair of Alymeri jesses or similar type constructed of pliable 

leather or suitable synthetic material for use when any raptor is flown free. 

(b) At least one flexible, weather resistant leash and one strong swivel of 

acceptable falconry design. 

(c) A suitable bath container for each raptor two to six (2”-6”) inches deep and 

wider than the length of the raptor. 

(d) A weathering area outdoor perch of acceptable design for each raptor. 
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(e) A reliable scale or balance suitable for weighing the raptors held and 

graduated to increments of no more than one half (1/2) ounce or 15 grams. 

(5) A raptor may be transported or held in temporary facilities for a period not to 

exceed 30 days. Temporary facilities shall be provided with an adequate perch 

protected from excessive temperature and excessive disturbance. 

(E) Inspection: 

(1) Any person, firm or corporation issued a Falconry Permit under this Code chapter 

shall allow entry, at any reasonable hour, to employees or agents of the 

Commission upon the premises where the permitted activity is conducted. 

Commission employees or agents may enter such premises to inspect the facility, 

any and all records associated with the activities relating to the permit, and any 

birds kept under authority of the permit.  

(F) Permit Renewal, Transfer, Suspension and Revocation:  

(1) Permits may be revoked by this Agency for failure to comply with the terms of 

the permit or with the terms of this Addendum Chapter. 

(2) Persons in violation of the terms of this permit, violation of the Commission 

Code, or upon conviction of associated regulations of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service, shall be notified in writing of such violations and shall have twenty days 

to respond with just cause as to why their permit should not be suspended or 

revoked. 

(3) If, at the end of the 20 day period, just cause has not been given, this Agency may 

suspend or revoke any existing permit held by the violator and may refuse to 

issue any future permit.  Such suspension, revocation or refusal to issue a future 

permit shall be in addition to any criminal charges that may be filed. 

(4) Upon revocation, permit holder must legally remove all captive wildlife within 

the time designated in the revocation, not to exceed 60 days, and failure to do so 

shall result in the Commission taking action, per Commission policy, at the 

permit holder’s expense. 
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CHAPTER G1.00 

DEPREDATION PERMIT GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

G1.01 Depredation Permit General Provisions 

 

* * * * *  
 

G1.01 DEPREDATION PERMIT GENERAL PROVISIONS 

04-05 The following general requirements shall apply with respect to all Depredation Permits: 

(A) Landowners or their designees with Depredation Permits may be approved to use any of the 

following methods to control nuisance wildlife: 

(1) Any trapping method legal for use in the fur-trapping season. Conibear or comparable 

body-gripping traps with jaw spreads of up to 10 inches may be used inside buildings. 

Cage-style live traps may be used.  Traps set in the outdoors must be marked in 

accordance with Code 17.03. 

(2) Firearms may be used day or night if specifically approved by the Commission employee 

issuing the permit. 
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CHAPTER H1.00 

RECIPROCAL LICENSE AGREEMENTS 

 

H1.01 Reciprocal Hunting and Fishing Licenses Agreement on Lands and Waters Bordering the State of 

Mississippi and the State of Arkansas 

H1.02 Reciprocal Licenses Agreement Between Arkansas and Missouri - St. Francis River 

H1.03 Reciprocal Licenses Agreement on the Mississippi River Between the State of Tennessee and the 

State of Arkansas 

H1.04 White River Lakes License Agreement Between Arkansas Game and Fish Commission and 

Missouri Department of Conservation. 

 

* * * * *  
 

H1.01 RECIPROCAL HUNTING AND FISHING LICENSE AGREEMENT ON LANDS 

06-00 AND WATERS BORDERING THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI AND THE STATE OF 

ARKANSAS 

The Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks and the Arkansas Game and Fish 

Commission hereby enter into a reciprocal agreement to recognize the resident sport fishing, resident 

hunting licenses, and the resident commercial fishing licenses of the two states on flowing waters of the 

Mississippi River and all waters between the main levees of the Mississippi River of the two states, 

excluding the St. Francis, White, and Arkansas Rivers.  This exclusion also includes all oxbow lakes 

whose entrance requires passage through the mouth of the St. Francis, White and Arkansas Rivers.  The 

following provisions shall apply: 

 

Resident hunting and resident sport fishing licenses of either state shall abide by all laws and/or 

regulations pertaining to seasons, daily and creel limits, possession limits size limits, tagging 

requirements and all other laws and/or regulations of the state in which the hunting or fishing takes 

place. 

(A) Resident Sport Fishing (excludes taking frogs).  A sport fishing licensee shall abide by the creel 

limits, size limits, and shall use trotlines and other fishing equipment in accordance with the 

laws and regulations (excluding frogs) of the state in which the person is fishing. 

(B) Resident Commercial Fishing.  A resident commercial fishing licensee shall abide by the creel 

and size limits, and shall use tackle and other fishing equipment in accordance with the laws and 

regulations of the state in which the gear is being fished. 

(C) Resident Hunting (Migratory Waterfowl Only).  Migratory waterfowl may be hunted upon the 

flowing waters of the Mississippi River, waters accessible by boat from the main channel of the 

Mississippi River, and state line lakes by a licensee of either state during the period when the 

season is open and coincidental in both states, and according to the laws, and possession limits, 

and all other rules and regulations promulgated by the state issuing the license. 

(D) Resident Hunting (Other Than Migratory Waterfowl). 

(1) Current Mississippi resident hunting licenses shall be valid only on Arkansas lands that 

lie east of the main channel of the Mississippi River and on Mississippi lands that lie 

on the west side of the main channel of the Mississippi River. 

(2) Current Arkansas resident hunting licenses shall be valid only on Mississippi lands that 

lie west of the main channel of the Mississippi River and on Arkansas lands that lie 

east of the main channel of the river. 

(E) Resident licensees of either state shall have unrestricted ingress and egress through the other 

state for the purpose of hunting and fishing in accordance with the provisions of the agreement. 

For the purpose of this agreement, the state line will be that depicted on the Department of the 

Interior's Geological Survey quadrangle maps. 
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 Nothing herein shall be construed to allow any person to hunt, fish or go upon the lands of 

another landowner or entity without their permission for recreational purposes.  Floodwater 

which has overflowed the natural banks of a public waterway in Mississippi is not a part of the 

public waterway. 

This agreement may be cancelled by the directors of either state’s wildlife agency upon sixty 

(60) days' written notice. 

 

H1.02 RECIPROCAL LICENSE AGREEMENT BETWEEN ARKANSAS AND  

11-92 MISSOURI -- ST. FRANCIS RIVER 

The Missouri Department of Conservation and the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission hereby enter 

into a cooperative agreement to recognize the sport fishing and resident commercial fishing and 

commercial musseling licenses of the two states on the flowing waters of the St. Francis River, forming 

a common boundary between the State of Missouri and the State of Arkansas, in accordance with the 

following provisions: 

(A) A sport fishing licensee or resident of either state legally exempt from license requirements shall 

abide by the creel limits, size limits and shall use trotlines and other fishing equipment in 

accordance with the laws and regulations of the state in which the license is issued or 

exemption authorized. 

(B) A resident commercial fishing licensee shall abide by the creel and size limits and shall use 

tackle and other fishing equipment in accordance with the laws and regulations of the state in 

which the license is issued. 

(C) A resident commercial musseling licensee shall abide by the seasons and size limits and shall 

use only methods and equipment in accordance with the laws and regulations of the state in 

which the license is issued. 

(D) Licensees of either state shall have unrestricted ingress and egress through the other state for the 

purpose of fishing in accordance with the provisions of the agreement. 

 

Fishermen or musselers licensed in only one state cannot fish or take mussels in the tributaries, bayous 

or backwaters of the St. Francis River in the other state except as specifically provided herein. 

This agreement became effective Jan. 1, 1993, and may be canceled by the Director of the Missouri 

Department of Conservation or the Director of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission upon 60 days 

written notice. 

 

H1.03 RECIPROCAL LICENSE AGREEMENT ON THE MISSISSIPPI RIVER BETWEEN 

12-06 STATE OF TENNESSEE AND STATE OF ARKANSAS 

The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency and the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission hereby enter 

into a cooperative agreement to recognize the sport fishing and hunting licenses and the commercial 

fishing licenses of the two states on the flowing waters of the Mississippi River, adjacent sloughs, 

bayous, and old river runs which are accessible by boat from the river proper and the old river chutes 

forming  a common boundary, excluding wildlife management areas established by either state and the 

Wolfe, Loosahatchie, Hatchie, Forked Deer and Obion Rivers, in accordance with the following 

provisions: 

(A) SPORT FISHING. 

 A sport fishing licensee shall abide by all laws, rules, regulations and proclamations of the state 

in which they are fishing.  Exception to that being Tennessee/Arkansas sportfishers on Ikes 

Chute, Hopefield Chute (Dacus Lake), Mosquito Lake, Mound City Lake, Island 40 Chute and 

Lake Neark, who shall comply with Arkansas Game and Fish Commission regulations 

governing sportfish creel and size limits.  

(B) COMMERCIAL FISHING. 

A resident commercial fishing licensee shall abide by all laws, rules, regulations and 

proclamations of the state in which they are fishing.  Arkansas resident commercial fishers 
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fishing commercial tackle in Tennessee waters under the terms of this agreement shall comply 

with Tennessee commercial tackle tagging requirements.  Tennessee resident commercial 

fisher’s tackle tagging requirements are legal in Arkansas under the terms of this agreement. 

(C) HUNTING (MIGRATORY WATERFOWL ONLY).  

Migratory waterfowl may be hunted upon the waters described herein by a licensee of either 

state during the period when the season is open and coincidental in both states, and  shall abide 

by the laws, rules, regulations and proclamations of the state in which they are hunting.  For the 

purpose of waterfowl hunting, the state line will be that depicted on the Department of the 

Interior's Geological Survey quadrangle maps. 

(D) A person holding a non-resident license/permit issued by either state shall be afforded the same 

privileges as a licensed/permitted resident of that state except for commercial fishing purposes.  

Persons holding non-resident Tennessee commercial fishers licenses are not allowed to 

commercial fish or to assist/help in commercial fishing in Arkansas under the terms of this 

agreement.  

(E) Licensees of either state shall have unrestricted ingress and egress through the other state for the 

purpose of hunting and fishing in accordance with the provisions of this agreement, except for 

areas and ramps closed by law to commercial fishing gear or activities.  Hunters and fishermen 

licensed in only one state cannot hunt or fish in the tributaries, bayous or backwaters of the 

Mississippi River in the other state except as specifically provided herein.  Hunters or fishers 

cannot hunt or fish from, nor attach any device or equipment to private property, in either state, 

without the landowner’s permission. 

 

Nothing herein shall be construed to allow any person to hunt, fish, or go upon the lands of another 

landowner or entity without their permission.  Floodwater which has overflowed the natural banks of a 

public waterway is not part of the public waterway and permission of the landowner must be obtained. 

 

It shall be incumbent on each individual hunter or fisherman to identify the state line. 

 

This agreement may be cancelled by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency’s Executive Director or 

the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission’s Director upon sixty (60) days written notice. 

 

H1.04 WHITE RIVER LAKES LICENSE AGREEMENT BETWEEN ARKANSAS GAME AND 

01-09 FISH COMMISSION AND MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION 

The Missouri Department of Conservation and the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission hereby 

establish a White River Border Lakes License to fish the impounded waters of Bull Shoals, Norfork and 

Table Rock Lakes with the following provisions: 

(A) Any person age 16 and older possessing a valid Missouri resident fishing permit or Arkansas 

resident fishing license, or who is legally exempted from those license requirements, and 

possessing the White River Border Lake License may fish in the Missouri and Arkansas 

impounded waters of Bull Shoals, Norfork and Table Rock Lakes. 

(B) All anglers shall abide by the laws and regulations of the state in which they are fishing. 

(C) The White River Border Lakes License is not valid for possession of trout. 

(D) The White River Border Lakes License is valid for all impounded portions of these lakes except 

for the designated trout waters on Table Rock Lake upstream from the Houseman Access in 

Arkansas. 

(E) The annual cost of the White River Border Lakes License will be $10 and may be changed at 

any time with the mutual agreement of both agencies.  Revenue generated from the sale of this 

license will be disbursed annually to the states, such that, Missouri Department of Conservation 

would gain all revenue from the sale of this license to Arkansas residents and Arkansas Game 

and Fish Commission would gain all revenue for the sale of this license to Missouri residents. 
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This agreement became effective March 1, 2001.  It may be cancelled by the Missouri 

Conservation Commission or the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission or modified by mutual 

agreement. 
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CHAPTER I1.00 

VIRAL HEMORRHAGIC SEPTICEMIA VIRIS IMPORTATION REQUIREMENTS 

 

I1.01 Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia Virus (VHSV) Fish Importation Requirements 

 

* * * * *  
 

I1.01 VIRAL HEMORRHAGIC SEPTICEMIA VIRUS FISH IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

For purposes of these requirements, the following definitions shall apply: 

(1) Appropriate Fish Sample -- 150 fish representing all fish lots and culture units present 

on a farm or facility. The ratio of fish lots on the farm or facility should be reflected in the 

composition of the sample. The sample should not be collected from tanks or raceways 

used for short-term storage of fish produced in other culture units.  

(2) Appropriate Season -- the first day of spring until the first day of summer and the first 

day of fall until the first day of winter.  

(3) Appropriate Testing Methods -- cell culture followed by an appropriate confirmatory 

test. The protocol must be as described in the inspection section of the most recent edition 

of “American Fisheries Society – Fish Health Section Blue Book,” or must be conducted 

according to approved protocols in a laboratory listed by the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service approved to test for VHSV. 

(4) Culture Units -- ponds, raceways, cages or other containments used to rear fish. 

(5) Farm-raised -- fish that spend their entire life (egg to sale) on a farm or commercial 

facility. 

(6) Lot -- a group of fish of the same age, from the same broodfish, and that live on a single 

farm or facility in water from the same source. 

(7) Qualified Independent Party -- a veterinarian,  a fish health inspector certified by the 

Fish Health Section of the American Fisheries Society, or an employee of a state agency 

recognized as a competent authority for fish health and assigned by that agency to collect 

fish inspection samples and verify biosecurity. 

(8) Qualified Testing Laboratory -- any state, federal, or private laboratory recognized by 

the AGFC as competent to conduct fish inspections. 

(9) VHSV-free Water Source -- water from a well, borehole or spring (the spring must be 

covered and free of fish) which does not contain VHSV. 

(10) VHSV-positive State -- any state in the U.S. or any Canadian province listed by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture’s Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service as positive for 

viral hemorrhagic septicemia virus (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, 

Ohio, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, Ontario and Quebec). 

(A) A Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit may be issued to persons who submit on 

forms supplied by the Commission satisfactory documentary proof including the 

following information: 

(1) Proof an appropriate fish sample has been collected by a qualified 

independent party during the appropriate season and submitted to a fish 

health inspection laboratory for analysis; 

(2) Inspection reports from a qualified testing laboratory asserting the sample 

tested negative for VHSV by appropriate testing methods; and 

(3) Written documentation from a qualified independent party asserting the fish 

are farm-raised, the farm or facility uses a VHSV-free water source, and fish 

or eggs to be shipped to Arkansas have not been mixed with, or potentially 

contaminated by, fish or water not meeting standards specified for a Fish 
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Farm Health Inspection Permit.  To be eligible for a Fish Farm Health 

Inspection Permit, a farm or facility must provide written documentation 

from a qualified independent party verifying the farm or facility has a 

biosecurity plan sufficient to prevent contamination of permit-eligible fish by 

ineligible fish or by water not from a VHSV-free source, and the farm or 

facility follows the biosecurity plan without exception. The fish health 

inspection report must be no more than 60 days old from the date of reported 

test results at time of application for Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit from 

Commission. 

(B) An annual Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit is issued in two six-month 

intervals in compliance with Addendum D1.01.  The first interval is Jan. 1-June 

30, and the second interval is July 1-Dec. 31.  The second interval of the permit 

will be issued only after new semi-annual testing results are submitted to the 

Commission. Annual renewal may be granted based upon submission to the 

Commission of new documents as described in (C) above that include new semi-

annual testing results.  Failure to conduct a semi-annual inspection will result in a 

one-year suspension of the Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit. 

(C) Exceptions:  A Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit shall not be required for 

import of live fish from a VHSV-positive state if: 

(1) The fish are moving to a state-inspected slaughter facility meeting the 

following criteria: 

a. The slaughter facility must discharge wastewater into a municipal sewage 

system that includes wastewater disinfection. 

b. The slaughter facility must either render or compost offal, including 

carcasses. 

(2) The fish are moving to a qualified diagnostic facility for disease testing. 

(3) The fish are ornamentals and meet the following criteria: 

a. The fish are moving directly to a home aquarium. 

b. The fish are moving to wholesale or retail distributors of ornamental fish 

and will be held in aquaria, tanks or lined pools. 
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CHAPTER J1.00 

APPROVED AQUACULTURE SPECIES LIST 

 
J1.01 Approved Aquaculture Species List (Oct. 1, 2002) 

 

* * * * *  
 
The intent of this list is to delineate species that pose minimal threat to Arkansas’ aquatic biota.  These species 

may be freely imported into the state, and traded within the state, for aquaculture purposes.  This does not 

approve the release of any species into the public waters of the state. 

 

 

J1.01 APPROVED AQUACULTURE SPECIES LIST 

Class Crustacea  

Family Cambaridae 

Procambarus acutus (White River Crayfish) 

Procambarus clarkii (Red Swamp Crayfish) 

Family Palaemonidae 

*Macrobrachium rosenbergii (Malaysian Prawn) – certified disease-free 

(certification must be posted on-site) 

 Class Osteichthyes 

Family Polyodontidae 

Polyodon spathula (Paddlefish) 

Family Lepisosteidae 

Lepisosteus oculatus (Spotted Gar) 

Lepisosteus osseus (Longnose Gar) 

Lepisosteus platostomus (Shortnose Gar) 

Family Amiidae  

Amia calva (Bowfin) 

Family Anguillidae 

Anguilla rostrata (American Eel) 

Family Clupeidae 

Alosa chrysochloris (Skipjack Herring) 

Dorosoma cepedianum (Gizzard Shad) 

Dorosoma petenense (Threadfin Shad) 

Family Salmonidae 

* Oncorhynchus clarki (Cutthroat Trout)  

* Oncorhynchus mykiss (Rainbow Trout)  

* Salmo trutta (Brown Trout)  

* Salvelinus fontinalis (Brook Trout)  

* Salvelinus namaycush (Lake Trout)  

Family Esocidae 

Esox americanus (Grass Pickerel) 

Esox niger (Chain Pickerel) 

Family Cyprinidae 

* Carassius auratus (Goldfish, including ornamentals)  

* Ctenopharyngodon idella (Grass Carp)  

* Mylopharyngodon piceus (Black Carp) – TRIPLOIDS ONLY 

Cyprinella venusta (Blacktail Shiner) 

* Cyprinus carpio (Common Carp, including koi) 
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Hybognathus nuchalis (Miss. Silvery Minnow) 

Luxilus chrysocephalus (Striped Shiner) 

Lythrurus umbratilis (Redfin Shiner) 

Notemigonus crysoleucas (Golden Shiner) 

Notropis atherinoides (Emerald Shiner) 

Notropis boops (Bigeye Shiner) 

Notropis buchanani (Ghost Shiner) 

Notropis volucellus (Mimic Shiner) 

Opsopoeodus emiliae (Pugnose Minnow) 

Pimephales notatus (Bluntnose Minnow) 

Pimephales promelas (Fathead Minnow) 

Pimephales vigilax (Bullhead Minnow) 

Semotilus atromaculatus (Creek Chub) 

Family Catostomidae 

Erimyzon oblongus (Creek Chubsucker) 

Erimyzon sucetta (Lake Chubsucker) 

Hypentelium nigricans (Northern Hogsucker) 

Ictiobus bubalus (Smallmouth Buffalo) 

Ictiobus cyprinellus (Bigmouth Buffalo) 

Ictiobus niger (Black Buffalo) 

Minytrema melanops (Spotted Sucker) 

Moxostoma erythrurum (Golden Redhorse) 

Catostomus commersoni (White Sucker) 

Family Ictaluridae 

Ictalurus furcatus (Blue Catfish) 

Ameiurus melas (Black Bullhead) 

Ameiurus natalis (Yellow Bullhead) 

Ameiurus nebulosus (Brown Bullhead) 

Ictalurus punctatus (Channel Catfish) 

Noturus gyrinus (Tadpole Madtom) 

Noturus nocturnus (Freckled Madtom) 

Pylodictis olivaris (Flathead Catfish) 

Family Aphredoderidae 

Aphredoderus sayanus (Pirate Perch) 

Family Cyprinidontidae 

Fundulus notatus (Blackstripe Topminnow) 

Fundulus olivaceus (Blackspotted Topminnow) 

Family Poeciliidae 

Gambusia affinis (Mosquitofish) 

Family Atherinidae 

Labidesthes sicculus (Brook Silverside) 

Family Percichthyidae 

Morone chrysops (White Bass) 

Morone mississippiensis (Yellow Bass) 

* Morone saxatilis (Striped Bass) 

Family Centrarchidae 

Centrarchus macropterus (Flier) 

Lepomis cyanellus (Green Sunfish) 

Lepomis gulosus (Warmouth) 

Lepomis humilis (Orangespotted Sunfish) 

Lepomis macrochirus (Bluegill) 
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Lepomis marginatus (Dollar Sunfish) 

Lepomis megalotis (Longear Sunfish) 

Lepomis microlophus (Redear Sunfish) 

Lepomis punctatus (Spotted Sunfish) 

Micropterus dolomieui (Smallmouth Bass) 

Micropterus punctulatus (Spotted Bass) 

Micropterus salmoides (Largemouth Bass) 

Pomoxis annularis (White Crappie) – < 6 inches 

Pomoxis nigromaculatus (Black Crappie) 

Elassoma zonatum (Banded Pygmy Sunfish) 

Family Percidae 

Percina caprodes (Logperch) 

Stizostedion canadense (Sauger) 

Stizostedion vitreum (Walleye) 

Family Sciaenidae 

Aplodinotus grunniens (Freshwater Drum) 

Family Cichlidae 

* Oreochromis aureus (Blue Tilapia) 

* Oreochromis mossambicus (Mozambique Tilapia) 

* Oreochromis niloticus (Nile Tilapia) 

 Class Amphibia 

Family Ranidae 

Rana catesbeiana (Bullfrog) 

Rana sphenocephala (Southern Leopard Frog) 

 

* Denotes nonnative species 

 

VHS Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit 

It shall be unlawful for any person to import, transport or otherwise receive into the state of Arkansas 

live fish and/or fertilized eggs from any VHSV-positive state (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, 

New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and Ontario and Quebec) without first obtaining a valid Fish 

Farm Health Inspection Permit issued by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission and complying with 

the provisions of said permit.  All persons wishing to ship live fish or fish eggs  into Arkansas from 

VHSV-positive States must first obtain the Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit and a copy of the permit 

must accompany all shipments into the state, even if the fish are transported by a third party.  

Furthermore, any person hauling live fish through Arkansas from VHS positive states are prohibited 

from discharging water from fish hauling tanks while within the state.   All shipments of live fish or eggs 

coming into Arkansas must be accompanied by an invoice or bill of lading that clearly describes the 

origin(s) of all fish and/or eggs in the shipment.  Additionally, the fish health inspection report must be 

no more than 60 days old from date of reported test results at time of application for Fish Farm Health 

Inspection Permit from Commission. 

A Fish Farm Health Inspection Permit shall be an annual permit that is issued in two (2) six-month 

intervals (refer to Addendum D1.01).  The first interval will cover the period of January 1 to June 30, 

and the second interval will cover the period of July 1 to December 31.  The second interval of the 

permit will be issued only after new semi-annual testing results are submitted to the Commission.  For 

additional information, please refer to Addendum D1.01, I1.01 and Code 35.11. 
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Hybrids 

It is our intent that production or sale of any hybrid is permissible if both parent species are  

included on the Approved Aquaculture Species List. 

 
Wild Crayfish 

The harvest and sale of native Arkansas crayfish species that naturally colonize aquaculture ponds 

and are cultured incidental to production of other aquaculture species is allowed. 

 
Wild Turtles 

The harvest and sale of native Arkansas turtle species that naturally colonize aquaculture ponds 

and are cultured incidental to production of other aquaculture species is allowed, unless the 

species is protected by other codes see Code Chapter 34.00. 

 
Aquarium Species 

It is not the intent of this policy to constrain aquarium trade.  Marine and tropical aquatic species 

commonly distributed in the aquarium trade may be sold without special permit, as long as they  

are held only in closed aquarium systems and are not prohibited by other codes (e.g.  

Code 26.13). 

 
Restricted Species 

Some species are well established in Arkansas aquaculture but under criticism at regional and/or 

national levels.  While we do not currently restrict the trade in these species, persons possessing or 

desiring to possess these species are  required to apply to AGFC for a Restricted Species 

Possession Permit.  This permit will detail the location of their facilities, measures taken to 

eliminate the possibility of escape, and the numbers and species to be held (these numbers are best 

estimates and will only be updated when permit is renewed for the next year). The permitted 

culture of any restricted aquaculture species shall be conducted in a responsible manner that 

minimizes the possibility of escape.  Permitted aquaculturists are required to construct a barrier 

that prevents escape of juvenile and adult fishes from culture ponds.  Pond drainpipes should be 

double screened prior to any pond drainage with at least one screen being of a mesh size small 

enough to prevent the passage of any permitted fish present in the pond.  These and any other 

measures listed on the application to eliminate the possibility of escape will be considered the 

“best management practices” that the applicant agrees to implement.  AGFC will maintain records 

of the number and location of these species in the state, and determine if sufficient precautions are 

taken to prevent escape into the waters of the state.  AGFC will review applications based on the 

best information available to evaluate the potential for escape. If this potential is acceptably low,  

AGFC will grant a no-cost special holding permit for these species, renewable annually.  In the 

event that restricted aquatic organisms are released or escape from a permitted facility into waters 

of the state, the permitee shall notify the AGFC immediately.  The permittee shall not be 

responsible for unforeseen occurrences such as floods, lightning or sabotage.  Facilities with 

ponds prone to flooding shall limit culture of Restricted Species to areas least likely to become 

inundated.  Holders of Restricted Species Possession Permits are expected to assure that buyers of 

these species in Arkansas also have an approved permit.  Failure to comply with permit terms or 

inability to show adequate measures of escape prevention may result in permit denial or 

revocation. 

 

The species covered by these permits include the following: 

 Family Cyprinidae 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix (Silver Carp) 

Hypophthalmichthys nobilis (Bighead Carp) 
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Diploid Mylopharyngodon piceus (Black Carp) 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus (European Rudd) 

 

***NOTE*** THE BELOW ARE NOW LISTED AS INJURIOUS SPECIES  

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix (Silver Carp) 

Hypophthalmichthys nobilis (Bighead Carp) 

 

The injurious wildlife listing means that under the Lacey Act it is illegal to import or to transport live 

bighead carp, including viable eggs or hybrids of the species, across state lines, except by permit for 

zoological, education, medical, or scientific purposes.  

 

EXAMPLE 1:  A producer maintains diploid black carp to produce triploid black carp for  

sale to catfish farmers to control snails in their ponds.  The individual has previously applied  

for a Restricted Species Possession Permit for diploid black carp, documenting sufficient  

measures to prevent escape and been issued a no-cost permit.  The individual may sell  

triploid black carp to his customers and may sell diploid black carp to other black carp  

producers after ensuring that they also have Restricted Species Possession Permits to  

possess diploid black carp. 

EXAMPLE 2:  A food fish producer purchases bighead carp, holds them in raceways for  

a few days, then ships them to an out-of-state fish market.  The individual has previously  

applied for a Restricted Species Possession Permit for bighead carp, easily documenting  

sufficient measures to prevent escape (held in raceways with blocked egress) and been  

issued a no-cost permit.  The individual is then able to purchase the fish, hold them, and  

ship them to other markets (assuming it is in compliance with regulations of the  

destination state). 

 

Turtles 

The turtle species listed below are native to Arkansas and may be cultured by those who  

obtain a Commercial Turtle Dealer/Breeder Permit from the Commission and report  

production by species (Commission Chapter 34.00). 

 

Family Chelydridae 

Chelydra serpentina (Common Snapping Turtle) 

Family Emydidae 

Chrysemys picta dorsalis (Southern Painted Turtle) 

Deirochelys reticularia miaria (Western Chicken Turtle)  

Graptemys geographica (Common Map Turtle)  

Graptemys ouachitensis (Ouachita Map Turtle)  

Graptemys pseudogeographica kohnii (Mississippi Map Turtle)  

Pseudemys concinna (River Cooter)  

Trachemys scripta elegans (Redeared Slider) 

Family Kinosternidae 

Kinosternon subrubrum hippocrepis (Mississippi Mud Turtle)  

Sternotherus carinatus (Razorback Musk Turtle)  

Sternotherus oderatus (Common Musk Turtle)  

Family Trionychidae 

Apolone spinifera (Spiny Softshell) 

Trionyx muticus muticus (Midland Smooth Softshell)  
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Other Species Covered under Separate Permits 

The following species are governed by separate code and have their own permit requirements.  

This policy does not seek to add any further permitting requirements for these species. 

 

Family Alligatoridae 

Alligator mississippiensis (American Alligator) – Federal Permit Required 

Family Chelydridae 

Macroclemys temminckii (Alligator Snapping Turtle) – AST Farmer/Dealer Permit 

Required 

 

Permits to Culture Unlisted Species 

Requests to import and culture species not listed in this policy will be evaluated on a  

case-by-case basis.  The burden of proof will rest with the applicant to show measures 

are in place to prevent the possibility of escape will have no significant ecological  

impact (i.e. species can not survive in waters of Arkansas due to temperature, salinity,  

or other environmental factor).  The permitted culture of any unlisted aquaculture species  

shall be conducted in a responsible manner that excludes the possibility of escape from  

culture ponds.  Permitted aquaculturists are required to construct a barrier that prevents  

escape of juvenile and adult fishes from culture facilities.  The applicant will also need to 

provide justification as to the need to import the species into the state and why species listed  

in this policy will not fill the need.  In the event that unlisted aquatic organisms are released  

or escape from a permitted facility into waters of the state, the permittee shall notify the  

AGFC immediately.  

EXAMPLE 1:  A producer in southern Arkansas wishes to raise yellow perch.  This  

species is not native to Arkansas and has begun to show up in reservoirs in the north  

part of the state.  Since the habitat in the producer’s area is hostile to yellow perch (water  

chemistry and summer temperatures), AGFC issues an Unlisted Aquaculture Species Permit. 

EXAMPLE 2:  A producer wants to grow Australian redclaw crayfish.  This species is not  

native to Arkansas (or the U.S.) but is found in comparable latitudes in Australia.  The  

producer’s plans are to raise them inside in heated raceways and have no discharge.  This  

is found to eliminate the chance of escape and AGFC issues an Unlisted Aquaculture  

Species Permit. 

 
PERMIT PROCESSING PROCEDURES 

Permit Renewal 

Restricted Species Possession Permits and Unlisted Aquaculture Species Permits will be issued 

on an annual basis to correspond with expiration dates of Fish Farmer Permits.  The Arkansas 

Game and Fish Commission is responsible for providing renewal notices to permit holders six 

weeks in advance of permit expiration date.  Existing permits will remain in effect past listed 

expiration date if a renewal application is pending. 

 
Permit Review 

Restricted Species Possession Permits and Unlisted Aquaculture Species Permits are granted at 

the approval of the AGFC.  The AGFC may solicit input as needed in the review of individual 

applications. 
 
Modification of Lists 

Any individual may petition AGFC to add or remove species on the Approved Aquaculture 

Species List or the Restricted Aquaculture Species List.  The petition must provide thorough 

documentation of why a species should or should not be included on a list.  Petitions should 
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address the biological threat of the species, including native range, habitats utilized, movement 

patterns, spawning requirements, reproductive rate, food habits, and temperature and water 

quality limitations.  They should include documentation of any introductions or escapes outside 

the species native range.  They should also evaluate the potential impacts to native species 

through predation, competition, disease transmission, and displacement.  Petitions should 

include copies of all pertinent reference material. 

 

Petitions to add or remove species on the Approved Aquaculture Species List or the Restricted 

Aquaculture Species List will be responded to by the Chief of Fisheries after consultation with 

an advisory board representing: Arkansas State Aquaculture Coordinator, Stuttgart National 

Aquaculture Research Center, Aquaculture / Fisheries Center at UAPB, U S Fish & Wildlife 

Service, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, and Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 

staff. 
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CHAPTER K1.00 

LAND USE POLICY 

 

K1.01 Policies on Land Use Around Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Lakes 

 

* * * * *  
 

K1.01 POLICIES ON LAND USE AROUND ARKANSAS GAME AND FISH COMMISSION 

LAKES 
 

By Order of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 

 

Updated January 21, 2010 
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1.0  Introduction 

The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission (the Commission, AGFC) has built many lakes throughout 

the state in an effort to provide fishing for the citizens of Arkansas.  The Game and Fish Commission 

controls, manages and maintains these lakes within the established boundaries of ownership.  Around 

each Commission-owned lake a state boundary of ownership exists.  The size and extent of the state-

owned boundary varies depending on the lake.  These lands are necessary to provide for fluctuating 

water levels, to control and protect the public investments and to insure public use and access to the 

shoreline of these lakes.  The Commission attempts to maintain boundary markings, however if 

construction and/or land-clearing activities are anticipated, it is the landowner’s responsibility to locate 

all boundaries by a survey based on the metes and bounds land description.  

    

2.0  Definitions 

2.1  Buffer Strip – Commission-owned land surrounding a lake.  Width varies between lakes, but can be from 

20 to 100 feet in width.  Adjacent landowners are responsible for determining location of any boundary 

line prior to initiating activities that may encroach on the buffer strip.  The buffer strip is public property 

and is open to the public at all times.   

 

2.2  Lakefront Property - private property that directly adjoins the Arkansas Game and Fish 

Commission buffer strip.  No other properties will be considered lakefront properties.  Only 

lakefront property owners may request permits for and construct such permitted structures on the 

Commission-owned buffer strips and lakes. 

 

2.3  Mean Sea Level (msl)  –  A measurement of the average height of the ocean’s surface; used as a 

standard in reckoning land elevation. 
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2.4  Metes and bounds survey –  A survey of land by references to courses and distances around the 

tract, e.g. “Thence North 40 degrees West 1320 feet to a 1” pipe”.  As opposed to a description of a 

tract of land within a subdivision, e.g. “Lot 6, Wooded Hills Subdivision”.  The metes and bounds 

survey is typically seen in the rural or non-urban areas such as around AGFC lakes and WMA’s. 

 

3.0 Permits 

3.1 General Information –Applications for all permits are provided in the Appendix.  Applicants should 

allow at least 30 days to process the permit application(s). Permits are not transferable upon resale 

or transfer of ownership of the property.  It is the current landowner’s responsibility to disclose the 

Policy on Land Use on AGFC Lakes upon resale or transfer of ownership of his/her property.  New 

lakefront landowners purchasing properties with an existing pier, boathouse, boat slide or irrigation 

system must apply for a new permit and number in the new property owner’s name.  Proof of home 

ownership is required.  All permits must be renewed annually.  A new registration sticker will be 

sent with the renewed permit.   New property owners are responsible for permitting or removing the 

structure within 90 days of taking possession.  Structures not removed or permitted during that time 

are subject to removal by the Commission at the property owner’s expense. 

 

3.3 Agreement – The Application(s) for permits must be completed and signed by the lakefront 

property owner.  In signing the application(s) the lakefront property owner agrees to comply with 

all applicable requirements outlined in the AGFC Land Use Policy and to repair or remove 

boathouses, piers, boat slides, or irrigation units should they at any time deteriorate to be in 

violation of the Policy.  The landowner assumes all liability associated with said structures.  A 

copy of private boathouse, boat slide, or pier construction plans, dimensions, and list of materials 

to be used and a copy of the plat map with the boathouse, boat slide, pier, or irrigation unit location 

marked must accompany the Application.  Failure of not sending in all required information will 

result in delay of permit issuance. 

 

3.4 Permit Display Requirements and Fees 

Piers, boathouses, boat slides, and irrigation units must display the Arkansas Game and Fish 

Commission permit number on the structure.  Permit numbers must be a minimum of 3 inches in 

height.  Along with issuance of the permit, you will receive a metal placard and a colored 

registration sticker for each boathouse, boat slide, pier, or irrigation pump.   The permit numbers 

shall be placed on the left side of the placard and the registration sticker shall be placed to the right 

of the permit numbers on the placard.  Permit numbers must be clearly visible, legible and of a 

color that contrasts with that of the metal placard.  The placard must be placed on the side of the 

structure facing the center of the lake, making it visible at all times.  Boat slides and irrigation units 

must have the placard attached to a 4”x 4” post that is securely set in the ground, as a part of or 

near the structure.  The placard must also be placed at least 3 feet above the ground or normal 

water elevation of the lake.  The metal placard cannot be placed on doors.  Each year upon renewal 

of the permit, you will receive a new registration sticker to place on the placard.  If a placard must 

be replaced, contact the Licensing Division at (501) 223-6300 or 1(800) 364-GAME. 

 

 Pier, boathouse, or boat slide fee (for each structure):  $10.00 

 

 Irrigation Permit fee (Fee required only if you do not have a boathouse and/or pier. Metal 

placard must be placed on a post near the irrigation unit.  Refer to Section 4.6):  $10.00          

 

 Metal Placard(s) fee (For use on boathouses/boat slides/piers/irrigation units.  This fee covers 

all required metal placards for each landowner.):  $25.00 

 

 Replacement placard fee:  $5.00 per placard 
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4.0  Activities Requiring a Permit 

4.1 Summary of Activities 

 

Boathouses   Piers    Irrigation using lake  

Shoreline Stabilizations Herbicides and Pesticides        water (Permit required  

Dredging for Boat Access Deepening the Shoreline only if you do not have  

 Boat Slides a permitted boathouse and/or pier) 

 

4.2  Shoreline Stabilization - Lakefront property owners may sometimes need to stabilize a shoreline 

adjacent to their property that is eroding due to wave action.  A permit from the District Fisheries 

Supervisor must be obtained before beginning such work.  An application form is included.  A site 

plan drawing indicating dimensions and descriptions of the work to be performed and the materials 

to be used must accompany the application. 

 

A 404 permit may be required from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACOE) depending on 

the size and scope of stabilization work requested.  Contact your local USACOE office to 

determine if the permit is required. 

 

Only approved materials may be used for stabilization work.  Approved materials consist of:  

riprap placed over landscape fabric; cedar revetments, log cribs and vegetative cover.  You must 

have AGFC approval for placement of any fill material on the buffer strip.  The Arkansas Stream 

Team Program has further guidelines for acceptable stabilization work.  Call your local District 

Fisheries Supervisor for more information. 

 

No other manipulation of the shoreline will be permitted.  It is not permissible to: 

 

1. Extend or cut into the shoreline in any manner 

2. Dig canals 

3. Construct a private boat launch 

4. Construct a retaining wall 

5. Construct swimming beaches. 

6. Place any fill material on the buffer strip without AGFC approval 

 

4.3  Lake Dredging - Deepening of the lake area near the shoreline is allowed only to create a boat lane 

from shallow to deeper water when it otherwise would be impassable.  This operation must be 

carried out when the lake is drawn down for maintenance or fishery purposes.  No other deepening 

is allowed.  A permit must be obtained before any work is started.  A permit application form is 

attached.  All material removed during deepening must be disposed of on the lakefront property 

owner's lot.  You must have AGFC approval for placement of any fill material on the buffer strip.  

Excavated material may not be hauled away without prior written approval from the District 

Fisheries Supervisor.  Mitigation for removal of spawning habitat may be required (i.e. 

construction of spawning beds using creek gravel).  A 404 Permit from the USACOE may be 

required. 

 

4.4  Herbicide and Pesticide Use – Only chemicals approved by the United States Dept. of Agriculture 

for aquatic weed control may be used.  Chemicals must be applied per the manufacturer’s 

recommendations.  Chemical application must be confined to the area of the lake directly in front 

of the property owner’s lakefront lot.  Prior to herbicide application, property owner must obtain a 

permit from the District Fisheries Supervisor. 

 

4.5  Boathouses, Boat Slides and Piers – Lakefront property owners may obtain permits to build one 

pier and either one boathouse or one boat slide on the Commission-owned property adjacent to 

their lakefront property.  Landowners may not have both a boathouse and a boat slide.  
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Boathouses, piers and boat slides must be separate structures, although they may be located in 

close proximity to each other.  Construction of a new pier, boathouse or boat slide may only begin 

after first obtaining the necessary permit from the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission.  Permit 

applications are attached.  Commission personnel may also inspect the site before structures are 

built. 

 

Boathouses, piers and boat slides may only be built using plans available from the Arkansas Game 

and Fish Commission and with approved materials.  No other designs and material will be allowed 

for construction on Commission property.  Plans for:  floating boathouses, floating piers, fixed 

boathouses, fixed piers, and boat slides are provided.  Commercially made piers, boathouses, and 

boat slides will be approved if they fall within the allowable dimensions.  Framing of 

commercially made piers, boathouses, and boat slides may be made of galvanized metal. 

 

Piers, boathouses and/or boatslides are the sole property of the permit holder and may be locked or 

gated at the entrance.  Permit holders bear all responsibility and liability for upkeep and any injury 

resulting from the use of the structure.   

   

4.5.1 Dimensions & Design – Piers may be either fixed or floating and must not exceed a total 

length of 50 feet and total width of 8 feet.  Piers may include a “T” or “L” constructed at the end, 

measuring no more than 8 feet by 16 feet in size, but total length of pier may not exceed 50 feet.  

Piers must be placed a minimum of 1.0 feet above normal lake elevation.  Roofs are not allowed 

on piers.   

 

Boathouses may be either fixed or floating.  Boathouses shall not exceed 24 feet in length and 16 

feet in width and shall not have a walkway from shore to boathouse longer than 16 feet in length 

and 8 feet in width.  Roofing is required on boathouses and shall be metal.  Sheathing to enclose 

the boathouses is optional and shall be metal in an earth toned shade.  Inside dimensions of boat 

slip can be variable as long as the structure does not exceed 16 feet wide and 24 feet long.  

Sleeping, living or toilet facilities in boathouses are prohibited.   

 

Boat slides must be permanently fixed to the shoreline and cannot be floating.  Boat slides cannot 

completely cross the buffer strip, and they cannot change the configuration of the shoreline in any 

manner (digging/excavation is not allowed).  Boat slides shall not exceed 20 feet in length and 8 

feet in width.  Handrails are allowed as long as they fit within the allowed dimensions.  Roofs are 

not allowed on boat slides. 

 

Placement and extension of piers, boathouses and/or boat slides into the lake must not encroach on 

an imaginary extension of the landowner’s existing property lines.  No guide lines or cables may 

be affixed to the shore to stabilize a pier, boathouse or boat slide. 

 

4.5.2 Materials – All posts shall be 4”x 4” minimum pressure treated lumber and shall be spaced 

no more than 8 feet apart (8 foot spacing recommended).  Posts may be driven or set in concrete.  

Deck framing shall be 2”x 6” minimum pressure treated lumber. Decking shall be 5/4” x 6” or 2”x 

6” minimum pressure treated lumber.  Railings shall be 2”x 6” pressure treated lumber with mid-

rail height of 18 inches and height of top-rail shall be 36 inches.  Floor joists:  On 16” centers use 

2” x 8” minimum pressure treated lumber.  On 12” centers, use 2” x 6” minimum pressure treated 

lumber.  Fasteners shall be galvanized, stainless or coated steel screws.  Floating structures must 

be buoyed with encapsulated floatation.  Floating structures may not be stabilized by using cables, 

guidelines, or poles attached to concrete anchors along the shoreline or on the buffer strip.  

Floating structures should utilize anchors in the lake or use standing pipe and guides.   
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A hand-cranked or battery operated winch/come-along system is allowed on boathouses, boat 

slides and piers as long as it does not change the configuration of the structure and must be 

mounted on a post (minimum 4” x 4” pressured treated lumber).  

 

Rollers for boat house lifts and boat slides shall be constructed of galvanized metal or plastic.  

Alternatively, runners constructed of 2” x 4” pressure treated lumber, covered with marine carpet 

may be used. 

 

4.5.3 Electrical – All electrical improvements must meet or exceed State of Arkansas and local 

codes.  All electrical fixtures attached to piers and/or boathouses must be a minimum of 3 feet 

above normal pool elevation.  All electric power lines attached to piers and boathouses must be 

encased in conduit and attached at least 3 feet above normal pool elevation.  Any electric power 

lines that traverse AGFC property must be encased and buried according to State of Arkansas and 

local codes.  Light poles are not allowed.  Submerged electrical wiring is prohibited on the entire 

lake.  

 

4.5.4 Maintenance – Piers, boathouses and boat slides must be maintained to be safe and 

functional and in good repair at all times.  Failure of structures to pass inspection by the Arkansas 

Game and Fish Commission will be grounds for revocation of permit, mandatory removal and 

potential fine. Repairs must be made within 90 days of receiving notice of need to repair.  Repairs 

will be made at the adjacent landowner’s expense. 

 

4.5.5 Inspections – Arkansas Game and Fish Commission personnel may inspect piers, boat slides 

and boathouses at any time.  Property owner will be informed of maintenance needs and have 90 

days to make stated repairs.  Repairs will be made at the adjacent landowner’s expense. 

   

4.5.6 Existing Structures – Boathouses, piers, and retaining walls that were in place prior to 

January 1, 2008 and that do not conform to these regulations may be left in place until major 

repairs are needed.  At that time the structure must be removed.  Boat slides in place as of 

September 2009 will be permitted if they meet the specified dimensions (Section 4.5.1) and are 

not in need of major repairs.  All new structures must comply with the AGFC Land Use Policy 

and a new permit issued.  Joint boathouses will not be re-permitted and retaining walls may not be 

replaced.  Structures not brought into compliance when major repairs are needed must be 

removed by property owner within 60 days at their own expense. 

 

4.6  Lawn Irrigation – Lakefront property owners may pump water out of AGFC-owned lakes for 

lawn/garden irrigation needs.  Irrigation for agricultural/commercial purposes will not be 

permitted.  Those property owners with a currently permitted boathouse/pier/boatslide will not be 

required to pay irrigation permit fees or purchase a metal placard for irrigation purposes.  Those 

property owners without a current boathouse/pier/boatslide permit must apply for an annual 

Irrigation Permit for irrigation purposes as well as purchase a metal placard for the irrigation unit.  

No submersible pumps will be allowed.  Relift pumps with no more than 1.5 horsepower may be 

used.  Relift pumps may be located on an existing boathouse, pier or the landowner’s property.  

Intake pipes must have screening on them.  No part of the pump may be on the AGFC property 

(buffer strip).  Discharge or intake lines may traverse AGFC property.  If electric power lines 

traverse AGFC property, they must be encased and buried according to State of Arkansas and 

local codes.  Intake pipes must have screening on them.  The discharge outlet from the pump must 

be no more than 1 ½ -inch inside diameter within 5.0 feet of the pump and prior to dispersal for 

irrigation. 

 

Water withdrawal for irrigation is prohibited when the lake elevation reaches 1.0 foot below 

normal lake elevation. 
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5.0  Activities Allowed without a Permit 

 

5.1  Summary of Activities 

Walkways (non-elevated) Removing Dead Timber from AGFC buffer strip 

Clearing brush   

Planting trees and shrubbery 

Fish attractors 

 

5.2  Walkways - Walkways may be built of wood, brick, or stone.  Walkways cannot be elevated above 

ground level and must be open to public use at all times.   

 

5.3  Removing Dead Timber - The lakefront landowner may remove dead timber on Commission buffer 

strip only between the lake and the owner’s lot.  If a tree falls on the buffer strip and does not 

cause property damage, AGFC is not obligated to remove the tree.  If the adjacent landowner 

wants to remove the tree, the District Fisheries Supervisor for that area must be contacted for 

approval.  AGFC will not pay for damages caused to boathouses and/or piers from fallen trees.  If 

a tree is threatening a house or structure on private property, AGFC will pay for the removal of the 

tree (please contact your District Fisheries Supervisor as soon as possible).  If structures on private 

property are damaged due to fallen trees, a claim for damages may be submitted through the state 

Claims Commission.  No dead timber may be removed from the lake. 

 

5.4  Clearing brush - Lakefront landowners may clear weeds and brush on the adjacent Commission 

buffer strip.  Trees with trunks measuring up to 6 ½ inches in circumference (total measurement 

around the trunk of the tree) (equal to 2 inches in diameter) at waist height may be considered 

brush and may be cut.  In no case may live trees, with trunks greater than 6 ½ inches in 

circumference (2 inches in diameter) be defaced, damaged, or cut down.  Trees damaged by storms 

or other natural causes may be removed with the District Fisheries Supervisor’s approval. 

 

5.5  Plants, Trees and Shrubbery – Lakefront property owners may plant ornamental trees, shrubbery, and 

grasses.  Plantings cannot be used to form a fence or impede public access of the buffer strip.   

 

5.6  Fish Attractors – Fish habitat may be constructed using brush, tree tops, Christmas trees, and other 

natural organic material.  Fish attractors cannot be constructed so as to present a boating hazard.  

Fish attractors constructed from rock, plastics, or other non-biodegradable material must be 

approved by the District Fisheries Supervisor.  Fish attractor designs and ideas are available in the 

Commission publication “How to Build Fish Shelters.”  Consult with the District Fisheries 

Supervisor for recommendations. 

 

 

6.0  Activities Not Allowed at Anytime (Any items that obstruct public access on the buffer strip) 

6.1 Summary of Activities  

 

Storage of any type of personal property Storage sheds    Concrete slabs or patios 

Water wells   Gardens               Septic systems  

Fences     Burning      

Discharges     Doghouses     

Private boat ramps    Satellite Dishes 

Livestock     Permanently moored party barges 

Cutting trees (sections 5.3 & 5.4)   Seawalls or Retaining Walls   

Animal pens Light Poles (Section 4.5.3)     

 

If you have any questions regarding whether your proposed activity is prohibited or allowable 

please call the Fisheries Division at (501) 223-6371. 
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6.2 Septic Systems – Septic tanks and field lines are prohibited on Commission property.  All septic 

construction on private lakefront property must comply with Arkansas State Health Department 

and Department of Environmental Quality rules and regulations. 

 

6.3 Wells – No new wells will be allowed on Commission property. 

 

6.4 Discharges – No discharges of any kind will be allowed on Commission property or into the lake 

including:  septic discharge, gray water and discharge from individual sewage treatment systems. 

 

6.5 Fences and Fencing – Fences are not allowed on Commission property. Fencing is not allowed 

under the lake’s surface. 

 

6.6 Gardens – Gardens are not allowed on Commission property. 

 

6.7 Personal Property –Storage of personal property is not allowed on Commission property.  Personal 

property includes but is not limited to:  old car bodies, appliances, truck beds, building material, 

boat trailers, campers, etc. Permanent structures of any kind are not allowed on Commission 

property with the exception of permitted boathouses, boat slides and piers.  Permanent structures 

include, but are not limited to:  storage buildings, concrete slabs or patios, satellite dishes, 

doghouses, animal pens, boat ramps, seawalls, retaining walls, etc.   

 

6.8 Boundary Markers – Tampering with or removal of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 

survey markers, which delineate property boundaries, is not allowed. 

 

6.9 Livestock – No new livestock operations will be allowed on Commission property.  (Existing 

livestock operations may not deny access to the Commission-owned buffer strip). 

 

6.10 Burning – Burning is not allowed on Commission property. 

 

6.11 Party Barges – Permanently moored party barges are not allowed. 

 

6.12 Motorized Vehicles – Operation of any motorized vehicle is prohibited on Commission property 

(with the exception of riding lawnmowers, which may only be used to mow the buffer strip 

adjacent to the vehicle user/landowner’s property). 

 

7.0  Lake Regulations on Commission-Owned Lakes 

7.1  Firearms – Firearms are prohibited except while legally hunting waterfowl on those lakes open to 

waterfowl hunting. 

 

7.2  Wakes – Hazardous wakes may not be created while operating a boat. 

 

7.3  Skiing/Personal Water Craft – Water skiing and use of personal watercraft such as jet skis, and 

other similar craft not designed for recreational fishing are not permitted with the exceptions of:  

Lake Calion (Union County), which does not fall under this policy.  

 

7.4  Floating Structures – No floating structures are allowed with the exception of permitted boathouses 

and piers. 

 

7.5  Commercial Facilities – Commercial dock and launch facilities are only allowed when and where 

they are properly permitted.  Operators of such facilities must obtain a permit and pay an annual 

fee before they can charge for boat launching, vehicle parking or dock rental.  Commission 

employees in the performance of duties must be allowed free parking and launching privileges. 
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7.6  Obstructing Public Access – Obstruction or storage of vessels or equipment on any Commission 

access area, parking area, boat launching ramp or access road is prohibited. 

 

7.7  Stakes/Pipes – Driving rebar, or any non-woody material, into the substrate of the lake is 

prohibited. 

 

7.8  Electrical Lines – Submerged electrical wiring is prohibited on the entire lake. 

 

8.0  Violations and Variances 

Violations of this policy may result in, but are not limited to, fines from $100 to $1,000 and the loss of permit 

privileges (refer to regulations provided below).  Variances will only be considered under extraordinary 

circumstances and a written request must be sent to the District Fisheries Supervisor.  Written approval for a 

variance must be received prior to commencing any construction or activity for which the variance is 

requested.  Variances are intended to address needs for public safety and environmental health and not matters 

of private convenience.  Upon the District Fisheries Supervisors review, written requests for any variances will 

be submitted to the Chief of Fisheries for approval.   

 

19.02 DAMAGE TO COMMISSION PROPERTY PROHIBITED 

02-81 It is unlawful to remove, dislodge or intentionally cause damage to any building, 

structure, sign, equipment or other property owned or controlled by the Commission. 

PENALTY:  Class 2 

 
19.03 MOTORIZED VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS 

04-09 It is unlawful to operate any motorized vehicle on Commission-owned property where no 

maintained road exists. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) In designated camping areas; 

(2) Persons having a valid Mobility Impaired Access Permit may operate an ATV or 

similar specialized device for transportation in compliance with Code 20.12; or, 

(3) Persons participating in the Freddie Black Choctaw Island WMA Deer Research 

Area East Unit Special Mobility Impaired permit deer hunt. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 
03.01 LICENSE AND PERMIT REQUIREMENTS 

09-05 It is unlawful to hunt or fish when and where a license, permit, tag or stamp is required 

without having on the person the appropriate license, permit, tag or stamp.  It also is 

unlawful for any person to fail to comply with the terms of any Commission-issued 

license, permit, tag or stamp. 

EXCEPTION: 

Hunting (other than big game), (Code 01.00-C, “Big Game”) or fishing with a valid 

confirmation or authorization number received from a telephone license order 

transaction (Confirmation or authorization numbers are valid for 14 days including the 

day of the telephone transaction.); or, a valid temporary license printed from an online 

license order transaction.  (Temporary licenses are valid for 14 days including the day of 

the online transaction.) 

PENALTY: Class 1 

 
19.13 PERMIT AND SPECIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR STRUCTURES  

09-07 It is unlawful to construct, own or possess platforms, floating duck blinds, piers or 

boathouses on Commission-owned or controlled lakes without a current permit from the 

Commission.  Permit numbers and registration stickers must be permanently displayed on 

a metal placard with lettering not less than three inches in height.  Party barges may be 
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used on Commission-owned lakes, but may not be permanently moored to shoreline or 

used as a dwelling.  They may be temporarily moored by lakefront property owners on 

the public easement directly in front of their property, or at commercial docks. It also 

shall be unlawful to fail to comply with the requirements of Addendum K1.01. 

PENALTY:  Class 1 

 

9.0  Commission owned Boundaries 

Lake     Elevation        Distance (Feet) 

 

Atkins       319.0’ msl     metes and bounds survey 

Barnett       350.5’ msl    100 feet 

      (379.5’ msl flowage easement) 

Bentonville    1276.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey (easement 

only) 

Bob Kidd    1169.5’ msl   metes & bounds survey  

Cane Creek      175.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey  

Charles         280.0’ msl      50 feet 

Conway      263.0’ msl      20 feet 

Cox Creek      260.0’ msl      50 feet 

Crystal       997.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey 

Elmdale    1238.2’ msl   metes & bounds survey 

Frierson      367.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey 

Gurdon         222.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey  

Harris Brake      280.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey    

Hindsville    Shoreline   highest level plus 50 feet 

Hinkle       790.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey  

Horsehead   670.0’ msl                 contour plus 50 feet (no elevation) 

Jack Nolen      520.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey 

Overcup      307.0’ msl      50 feet 

Pine Bluff      207.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey 

Poinsett         306.8’ msl    100 feet 

Sugar Loaf      650.0’ msl   metes & bounds survey 

Tri-County      194.3’ msl      50 feet 

Lower White Oak     202.0’ msl      50 feet 

Upper White Oak     212.0’ msl      50 feet 

Wilhelmina    1006.0’ msl      50 feet 

Note: Normal pool elevation for Upper and Lower White Oak Lakes is 4 feet below the boundary line 

elevation listed above. 

 

Landowner should consult with a licensed surveyor to determine the extent of ownership and precise 

boundary locations.  The above is provided for reference only. 

 

10.0  Appendix 

10.1  Application for Boathouse / Boat Slide / Pier 

 

10.2  Application for Irrigation (For those landowners who do not have a pier, boathouse or boat slide) 

 

10.3  Plans and Specifications for Boathouses, Piers and Boat Slides 

 

10.4  Application for Shoreline Stabilization / Dredging 

 

10.5  Application for Herbicide Use on Aquatic Vegetation 
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10.6  Fisheries Division Districts and Contacts 

 

10.7  U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Contact Map 

APPLICATION FOR BOATHOUSE / BOAT SLIDE / PIER / IRRIGATION ON PUBLIC LAND 

 

LAKEFRONT PROPERTY OWNER COMPLIANCE AGREEMENT 

 (Please print or type) 

 

Name________________________________________________________________________________ 

  (First)     (Middle)   (Last) 

Mailing 

Address______________________________________________________________________________  

 

City_______________________________________ Zip Code__________________________________ 

 

Lake Address_________________________________________________________________________ 

 

City_______________________________________ Zip Code__________________________________  

 

Home Phone__________________  Business Phone__________________   County_________________ 

 

Date of Birth__________________  Height______________  Eye Color____________ 

 

Sex_______________  

 

Driver’s License Number or Social Security Number __________________________________   

 

(Please check no more than one pier and one boathouse or boat slide) 

PIER: Floating: ______ BOATHOUSE: Floating:   

Fixed:      Fixed:   

 

BOAT SLIDE: Fixed:  _______ 

 

(There is a $10.00 permit fee for each structure and a $25.00 fee for all required metal placards.) 

 

Please check box if you will be irrigating with lake water.  (If you have a boathouse/pier/boatslide and will 

be irrigating, there is no additional cost.  If you do not have a boathouse/pier/boatslide and will be 

irrigating with lake water, you must complete the Irrigation Application, pay a $10.00 permit fee and 

purchase a metal placard for the irrigation unit.)  

 

Location of Structure(s) and/or Irrigation System 

 

Lake: ________________________________________________________________________   

           

Sub-Division: _________________________________________________________________   

          

Lot:      Block:          

 

 

 

 

 

Failure to send in all required information will result in a delay of issuance of permit. 
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Check-off list of documents you must provide with this application: 

 

___ Proof of property ownership ___ Plat showing location of     

                                                                                           pier/boathouse/boat slide 

                                                                 (Available from Circuit Clerk) 

 

___ Construction plans listing structure dimensions 

 

AGREEMENT 

 

By signing this document, I have read and hereby agree to comply with ALL ITEMS listed in the AGFC Land Use 

Policy, as revised time to time.  I further agree to build any structure(s) using Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 

plans, maintain the structure(s) listed on this application in good repair and to remove structure(s) if they at any 

time are damaged or deteriorated beyond repair or abandoned. I also understand that I accept all liability associated 

with said structures.  I understand that I must renew my permit annually by paying the applicable fees and that a 

Commission employee may inspect my property at any time.  I also understand my failure to abide by this 

agreement may result in fines and/or mandatory removal of the structure(s). 

 

Requested activity cannot commence until receipt of approved permit.   

 

PLEASE MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO ARKANSAS GAME AND FISH COMMISSION 

OR 

 

VISA/MASTERCARD/DISCOVER#____________________________________________ 

EXP. DATE_____________________________ 

 

           

APPLICANT SIGNATURE 

           

DATE 

Send completed form, other information and application fees to:   

 

Arkansas Game & Fish Commission 

      #2 Natural Resources Dr. 

      Little Rock, AR  72205  

 

Do not write below this line (Office use only) 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Application Received:_________________________________ 

(Date and Initial) 

Site Visit:___________________________________ 

     (Approving AGFC Biologist / Wildlife Officer Date and Sign) 

 

Permit Approved as Submitted:_____________ 

 

Permit Approved with Modifications:____________ (Modifications noted on project site plan  

      and scope of work) 

Permit Denied:____________ 
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APPLICATION FOR IRRIGATION ON PUBLIC LAND 

LAKEFRONT PROPERTY OWNER COMPLIANCE AGREEMENT 

 

 (Please print or type) 

 

Name_________________________________________________________________________ 

  (First)     (Middle)   (Last) 

Mailing Address_______________________________________________________________________ 

 

City_______________________________________ Zip Code____________________________ 

 

Lake Address___________________________________________________________________ 

 

City_______________________________________ Zip Code____________________________ 

 

Home Phone__________________  Business Phone__________________   County___________ 

 

Date of Birth__________________  Height______________  Eye Color____________ 

 

Sex_______________  

 

Driver’s License Number or Social Security Number __________________________________   

 

 

(There is a $10.00 permit fee for irrigation and a $25.00 fee for metal placard for each irrigation system.) 

 

Location of Irrigation System 

 

Lake: ________________________________________________________________________  

            

Sub-Division: _________________________________________________________________  

           

Lot:     Block:         

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Failure to send in all required information will result in a delay of issuance of permit. 
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AGREEMENT 

 

By signing this document, I have read and hereby agree to comply with ALL ITEMS listed in the AGFC Land 

Use Policy, as revised from time to time.  I further agree to comply with Section 4.6:  Lawn Irrigation.  I 

understand that I must renew my permit annually by paying the applicable fees and that a Commission 

employee may inspect my property at any time.  I also understand my failure to abide by this agreement may 

result in fines and/or mandatory removal of the irrigation system(s). 

 

Requested activity cannot commence until receipt of approved permit.    

 

PLEASE MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO ARKANSAS GAME AND FISH 

COMMISSION OR 

 

VISA/MASTERCARD/DISCOVER#____________________________________________ 

EXP. DATE_____________________________ 

 

           

APPLICANT SIGNATURE 

 

           

DATE 

 

Send completed form, other information and application fees to:   

 

Arkansas Game & Fish Commission 

      #2 Natural Resources Dr. 

      Little Rock, AR  72205  

 

Do not write below this line (Office use only) 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

Application Received:_________________________________ 

(Date and Initial) 

 

Site Visit:_______________________________________________________ 

 (Approving AGFC Biologist / Wildlife Officer Date and Sign) 

 

Permit Approved as Submitted:_____________ 

 

Permit Approved with Modifications:______(Modifications noted on project site plan  

     and scope of work) 

Permit Denied:________  
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APPLICATION FOR SHORELINE STABILIZATION / DREDGING 

WORKTO BE PERFORMED ON PUBLIC LAND/WATER 

 

LAKEFRONT PROPERTY OWNER COMPLIANCE AGREEMENT 

(Please print or type) 

 

Name_________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Mailing Address_______________________________________________________________________ 

 

City________________________________________Zip Code___________________________ 

 

Lake Address_______________________________________________________________________ 

 

City________________________________________Zip Code___________________________ 

 

Home Phone_____________________  Business Phone_____________________ 

 

County__________________ 

 

Location of Affected Area 

 

Lake:           

 

Sub-Division:           

 

Lot:     Block:      

 

 

Materials and Methods to Be Used 

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

           

 

 

 

AGREEMENT 

 

 

By signing this document, I have read and hereby agree to comply with ALL ITEMS listed in the AGFC Land 

Use Policy, as revised from time to time.  I further agree to conduct shoreline stabilization / dredging work 

according to recommendations from the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission District Fisheries Supervisor. 

 

I understand that I must submit further application should the scope of this work at any time exceed the 

previously outlined specifications or if further shoreline / dredging work is needed in the future.  I also 
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understand that a Commission employee may inspect my property at any time and that my failure to abide by 

this agreement may result in fines and/or mandatory reconstruction of the area according to the District Fisheries 

Supervisor’s recommendations. 

 

           

APPLICANT SIGNATURE 

 

           

DATE 

 

Send completed form, other information listed below and application fees to:  

 

Arkansas Game & Fish Commission 

      #2 Natural Resources Dr. 

      Little Rock, AR  72205 

 

 

 

Attach a project site plan and scope of work describing work to be done, dimensions, and materials used.  Allow 

up to six weeks for the application to be reviewed, a site visit scheduled, and permit to be processed. 

 

 

 

 

 

Do not write below this line (Office use only) 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

Application Received:_________________________________ 

(Date and Initial) 

 

 

Site Visit:___________________________________ 

   (Date and Initial) 

 

 

Permit Approved as Submitted:_____________ 

 

Permit Approved with Modifications:____________ (Modifications noted on project site plan and  

     scope of work) 

Permit Denied:____________  
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Herbicide Treatment Permit Application 

 

Please fill out application and return to address listed below.   

 

Applicant’s Name: First ___________________  Last __________________________________ 

 

Mailing Address: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

City: _________________________________ State: __________ Zip code: ________________ 

 

Lake Street Address: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Home Phone: _______________________ Work Phone: ________________________________ 

 

 

Signature: 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Date: _________________________________________ 

 

 

All chemicals must be applied according to manufacturer’s label directions. Misuse of chemicals may 

result in revocation of permit. 

 

 

 

Mailing Address:                        Arkansas Game & Fish Commission 

      #2 Natural Resources Dr. 

      Little Rock, AR  72205 

 

 

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

To be filled out by Fisheries Commission personnel: 

 

Herbicide approved: __________________________________________________ 

 

Fisheries approval: ___________________________________________________ 

 

Date: ___________________________ 

 

 

This permit will only be valid through the calendar year indicated in the date section of this permit. 

Treatment for the next season will require another permit. 
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CHAPTER L1.00 

TITLE 27 ARKANSAS BOATING LAW 

 

L1.01 Title 27 Boating Laws 

L1.02 Operation of Motorboats of Motorboats while Intoxicated  

L1.03 Possession or Use of Glass Containers on Navigable Waterways 

 

* * * * *  
 

L1.01 TITLE 27 BOATING LAWS 

 

SUBTITLE 7 – WATER COURSES and NAVIGATION 

 

Chapter 100 

General Provisions (Reserved) 

 

Chapter 101 

Watercraft 

 

Subchapter 1 – General Provisions 

 

 

27-101-101  POLICY. 

It is declared to be the policy of this state to promote safety for persons and property in and connected 

with the use, operation, and equipment of vessels and to promote uniformity of laws relating thereto. 

 

27-101-102  APPLICABILITY -- EFFECT on ORDINANCES, REGULATIONS, ETC. 

(a) The provisions of this chapter and of other applicable laws of this state shall govern the operation, 

equipment, numbering, and all other matters relating thereto whenever any vessel shall be 

operated on the waters of this state or when any activity regulated by this chapter shall take place 

thereon. 

(b) Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to: 

(1) Prevent the adoption of any ordinance or local law relating to operation and equipment of 

vessels, the provisions of which are identical to, or are not in conflict with, the provisions 

of this chapter, amendments thereto, or regulations issued thereunder; 

(2) Grant the use or power to the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission or to any person to 

authorize the use of any vessel on any waters of this state where the use of vessels shall be 

prohibited; 

(3) Permit the use of vessels on any municipally or privately owned city water supply in 

violation of the applicable laws, rules, or regulations that may have been or may be 

established for the protection of the public health in preserving the water supply for human 

consumption. 

 

27-101-103 DEFINITIONS. 

As used in this chapter unless otherwise specified in the particular subchapter:  

(1) "Commission" means the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission; 

(2) "Length" means the extreme deck fore-and-aft measurement of a vessel; 

(3) "Marina" means a dock or basin providing moorings for motorboats and offering supply, repair, 

or other services for remuneration; 
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(4) "Marine sanitation device" means equipment that is identified by the United States Coast Guard 

as meeting the standards of the United States Environmental Protection Agency to eliminate the 

discharge of untreated sewage from vessels and is a device that receives, treats, retains, or 

discharges sewage; 

(5) "Motorboat" means any vessel operated upon water and which is propelled by sail or machinery, 

whether or not the machinery is the principal source of propulsion but shall not include a vessel 

that has a valid marine document issued by the United States Customs Service or any federal 

agency successor thereto; 

(6) "Operate" means to navigate or otherwise use a motorboat or a vessel; 

(7) "Operator" means a person who is controlling the speed and direction of a vessel or a person who 

is in direct physical control of a vessel; 

(8) (A) “Owner" means a person other than a lienholder having the property in or title to a 

motorboat.  

(B) "Owner" includes a person entitled to the use or possession of a motorboat subject to an 

interest in another person reserved or created by agreement and securing payment or 

performance of an obligation, but "owner" excludes a lessee under a lease not intended as 

security; 

(9) "Person" means an individual, partnership, firm, corporation, association, or other entity; 

(10) "Personal watercraft" means a vessel which uses an inboard motor powering a water jet pump as 

its primary source of motive power and which is designed to be operated by a person sitting, 

standing, or kneeling on the vessel rather than in the conventional manner of sitting or standing 

inside the vessel; 

(11) "Vessel" means every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane on the water, used or 

capable of being used as a means of transportation; 

(12) (A) "Water sport activity" means an activity that involves a person being towed by a motorboat, 

personal watercraft, or other vessel in waters of this state. 

(B) "Water sport activity" shall include, but not be limited to, any of the following activities: 

(i) Water skiing; 

(ii) Wake boarding; 

(iii) Wake surfing; 

(iv) Water tubing; 

(v) Water sledding; or 

(vi) Barefooting. 

(C) "Water sport activity" does not include organized water carnivals, water skiing exhibitions, 

or other organized water sports exhibitions; and 

(13) (A) "Waters of this state" means any public waters within the territorial limits of the State of 

Arkansas.  

(B) However, waters that are confined within a pond, tank, or lake, situated entirely on the 

premises of a single owner, and that except under abnormal flood conditions are in no way 

connected by water or with any other flowing stream or body of water or with any other 

body of water not situated on the premises of the owner are declared to be privately owned 

waters and shall not be construed to be waters of this state. 

 

27-101-104  PENALTIES. 

(a) Any person who violates any provision of 27-101-202(8), 27-101-203, 27-101-301, 27-101-303 - 

27-101-306, and 27-101-308 - 27-101-312 shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject 

to a fine of not less than on hundred dollars ($100) and not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars 

($250) for each violation. 

(b) Any person who violates any provision of 27-101-202(2)-(6), (9), and (13) and 27-101-204 shall 

be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than one hundred dollars 

($100) and not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500) for each violation. 
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(c) Any person who violates any provision of 27-101-202(1), (7), (10), (11), or (12) shall be guilty of 

a misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) and 

not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisonment not to exceed six (6) months, or 

both fine and imprisonment, for each violation. 

 

27-101-105  ENFORCEMENT - FAILURE to OBEY OFFICER. 

(a) (1)(A) It shall be the duty of every sheriff, deputy sheriff, state police officer, and enforcement 

officers of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission to enforce the provisions of 

subchapters 1-3 of this chapter. 

(B) Certified law enforcement officers of the Department of Parks and Tourism and 

municipal police officers may enforce the provisions of subchapters 1-3 of this chapter. 

(2) In the exercise thereof, they shall have the authority to stop and board any vessel subject 

to subchapters 1-3 of this chapter, and to investigate any accident or violation involving 

vessels subject to subchapters 1-3 of this chapter. 

(3) Upon investigation, they may direct the operator of any vessel in violation of subchapters 

1-3 of this chapter to return to the dock where the voyage originated or to the nearest 

dock if appropriate. 

(b) Failure to follow the directive of a law enforcement officer as set forth in subsection (a) of this 

section shall constitute a separate offense in addition to any violations with which the operator 

may be charged. 

(c) Any Person who violates the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and 

subject to a fine not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250) or imprisonment not to exceed 

three (3) months, or both. 

 

27-101-106  JURISDICTION. 

Jurisdiction to try offenses under this subchapter shall be in the courts of the county where the person 

owning or operating the boat resides or in the county where the offense is committed or in any county 

through or by which the boat is being run or operated on the waters of this state at the time of the 

violation of this subchapter. 

 

27-101-107   ESTABLISHMENT of RULES and REGULATIONS. 

(a) The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission shall cooperate with agencies of the federal 

government in establishing rules and regulations with reference to the operation of vessels on any 

waters of this state that are maintained or controlled by adequate regulations on federally 

controlled waters for the promotion of safety in the operation of vessels. 

(b) Any law enforcement office of a subdivision of this state may make, at any time, but only after 

public notice, formal application to the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission for special rules 

and regulations with reference to the operation of vessels on any waters within its territorial limits 

including, but not limited to, the establishment and marking of speed limits and no-wake zones 

and shall set forth therein the reasons which make the special rules or regulations necessary or 

appropriate. 

(c) (1) The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission shall consider the application and approve the 

special rules and regulations or disapprove them and state in writing the commission's 

reasons for disapproving them within ninety (90) days of their submission or the rules 

and regulations shall be considered properly adopted by ordinance or local law. 

(2) However, nothing in this subchapter shall prevent the Arkansas Game and Fish 

Commission from making special rules and regulations with reference to the operation of 

vessels on any waters within the territorial limits of any subdivision of this state where 

the local law enforcement office has not established a water patrol. 

 

27-101-108 FILING and PUBLICATION of RULES and REGULATIONS. 
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(a) A copy of the regulations adopted pursuant to this subchapter and of any amendments thereto 

shall be filed in the office of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission and in the office of the 

Secretary of State and the county clerk of each county of this state where they shall be preserved 

as a public record. 

(b) Rules and regulations shall be published by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission in a 

convenient form. 

 

27-101-109  REMISSION of FINES. 

All fines collected for violations of subchapters 1-3 of this chapter shall be remitted to the issuing law 

enforcement office to be used by that office for the administration and enforcement of subchapters 1-3 of 

this chapter. 

 

27-101-110  DEPOSIT of FUNDS in STATE TREASURY. 

All fees collected by the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration under the provisions 

of subchapters 1-3 of this chapter shall be deposited as special revenues in the State Treasury to the credit 

of the Special Revenue Fund Account of the State Apportionment Fund.  All these funds shall be credited 

to the Boating Safety Account, which is established on the books of the State Treasurer, State Auditor, 

and the Chief Fiscal Officer of the State. 

 

27-101-111  DISTRIBUTION of  FUNDS. 

(a) The State Treasurer, on or before the fifth of the month next following the month during which 

the funds shall have been received by him, shall distribute the funds in the manner provided in 

this section: 

(1) Three percent (3%) of the amount to the Constitutional Officers Fund and the State 

Central Services Fund to be used for defraying the necessary expenses of the state 

government; and 

(2) Ninety-seven percent (97%) of the amount thereof, as follows: 

(A) Eight percent (8%) to the Constitutional Officers Fund and the State Central 

Services Fund. 

(B) Thirty-four percent (34%) to the Game Protection Fund for use by the Arkansas 

Game and Fish Commission as provided by law. 

(C) Thirty-four percent (34%) to the County Aid Fund, which, on or before the tenth of 

the month following the end of each calendar quarter, shall be remitted by state 

warrants to the various county treasurers in the proportions thereof as between the 

respective counties that the total fees produced from each county bears to the total 

of the fees produced from all counties as certified by the Director of the 

Department of Finance and Administration to the State Treasurer. 

(D) Twenty-four percent (24%) to the Marine Sanitation Fund for use by the 

Department of Health to administer a marine sanitation program. 

(b) Upon receipt of any fees, each county treasurer shall deposit them into the county treasury to the 

credit of the boating safety and enforcement fund, if the county sheriff of that county has 

established a patrol on the waterways within the county. 

(c) (1) In the event the county sheriff has not established a patrol on the waterways within the 

county and if either the county or any city or town within a county, or both, has 

established an emergency rescue service, each county treasurer shall deposit his county's 

share of the total fees collected into the county emergency rescue fund for use exclusively 

by either the county or the cities within the county, or both, for operating and maintaining 

emergency rescue services within the county and cities of the county.  After the treasurer 

receives the funds, he shall divide the funds in the county emergency rescue funds 

equally among the county and the cities within the county, if any, having emergency 

rescue services.   
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(2) Otherwise, the fees shall be deposited into the Game Protection Fund for use by the 

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. 

 

Subchapter 2 -- Operation 

 

27-101-201  LIABILITY of OWNER or LESSEE of VESSEL FOR INJURY or DAMAGE 

(a) The owner, renter, operator, or lessee of a vessel shall be liable for any injury or damage 

occasioned by the negligent operation of a vessel, whether negligence consists of violating the 

provisions of the statutes of this state or neglecting to observe such ordinary care and such 

operation as the rules of the common law require. 

(b) (1) The owner shall not be liable, however, unless the vessel is being used with his or her 

express or implied consent. 

(2) (A) The owner shall not be strictly liable to a renter, operator, or lessee for any injury 

or damage occasioned by the negligent operation of the vessel by the renter, 

operator, or lessee.  

(B) The liability of the owner for injury or damage suffered by a renter, operator, or 

lessee shall be determined by comparing the fault of the owner and the fault of the 

renter, operator, or lessee in accordance with §§16-55-216 and 16-64-122. 

(c) It shall be presumed that the vessel is being operated with the knowledge and consent of the 

owner if, at the time of the injury or damage, it is under the control of his or her spouse, father, 

mother, brother, sister, son, daughter, or other immediate member of the owner's family.  

(d) Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to relieve any other person from any liability 

that he or she would otherwise have, but nothing contained in this section shall be construed to 

authorize or permit any recovery in excess of injury or damage actually incurred. 

 

27-101-202  RESTRICTIONS on MANNER of OPERATION. 

No person: 

(1) Shall operate any motorboat or vessel or manipulate any water skis, aquaplane, personal 

water craft, or similar device in a reckless or negligent manner that endangers the life, 

limb, or property of any person;  including, but not limited to, weaving through congested 

vessel traffic, operating within one hundred feet (100') of a towboat that is underway, 

jumping the wake of another vessel too close to such other vessel, or when visibility 

around such other vessel is obstructed and swerving at the last possible moment to avoid 

collision shall constitute reckless operation of a vessel; 

(2) Shall operate a motorboat on the waters of this state at a rate of speed that creates a 

hazardous wash or wake upon approaching or passing vessels, including, but not limited 

to, a wake that causes other vessels to take-on water, or a wake sufficient to toss 

occupants of other vessels about in a manner to cause injury or the risk of injury; 

(3) Shall operate a motorboat upon the waters of this state within one hundred feet (100') of a 

designated recreation area, dock, pier, raft, float, anchored boat, dam, intake structure, or 

other obstruction at a speed exceeding five (5) miles per hour unless a contrary speed 

limit shall have been established in the designated area.  However, in no case shall any 

motorboat be driven in a manner or at a speed that exceeds the safe and reasonable limits 

under existing circumstances; 

(4) Shall operate or manipulate any vessel, tow rope, or other device by which the direction 

or location of water skis, an aquaplane, or similar device may be affected or controlled in 

a way that causes the water skis, aquaplane, or similar device, or any person thereon, to 

collide with or strike against any object or persons; 

(5) Shall operate a vessel on any waters of this state for towing a person or persons on water 

skis, or an aquaplane, personal water craft, or similar device, unless there is in the vessel 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE_OL.NFO%3Ar%3A8e62$cid=ARCODE_OL.NFO$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_16-55-216$3.0#JD_16-55-216
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE_OL.NFO%3Ar%3A8ff7$cid=ARCODE_OL.NFO$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_16-64-122$3.0#JD_16-64-122
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a person, twelve (12) years of age or older, in addition to the operator, in a position to 

observe the progress of the person or persons being towed.  However, if the towing boat 

is equipped with a wide-angle convex marine rear-view mirror in a position to observe 

the skiers being towed, the above requirement shall not apply; 

(6) Shall operate a vessel on any waters of this state towing a person on water skis, or an 

aquaplane, or similar device; nor shall any person engage in water-skiing, aquaplaning, or 

similar activity at any time between the hours from one-half (1/2) hour after sunset to 

one-half (1/2) hour before sunrise.  However, the provisions of this subdivision (6) do not 

apply to night water-skiing or aquaplaning on controlled areas designated for those 

purposes where adequate lighting is provided; 

(7) Shall operate any motorboat or vessel or manipulate any water skis, aquaplane, or similar 

device while intoxicated or under the influence of any narcotic drug, barbiturate, or 

marijuana or while under any physical or mental disability so as to be incapable of 

operating the motorboat or vessel safely under prevailing circumstances; 

(8) Shall load any vessel used on the waters of this state with passengers or cargo beyond its 

safe carrying capacity, as indicated on the manufacturers capacity plate, or power any 

vessel with an outboard motor which exceeds the maximum horsepower rating specified 

by the manufacturer. In addition, no person shall load a boat without a capacity plate, in a 

manner that is unsafe or that results in the sinking or capsizing of the boat; 

(9) If operating a motorboat of twenty-six feet (26') or less in length, shall allow any person 

to ride or sit on the gunwales or on the decking over the bow of the vessel while 

underway unless the vessel is equipped with adequate guards or railing to prevent 

passengers from being lost overboard.  However, this restriction shall not apply to 

persons occupying the gunwales or the decking over the bow for necessary purposes such 

as mooring or casting off; 

(10) If owning or having control of a motorboat of ten horsepower (10 HP) or more, shall 

permit a person under twelve (12) years old to operate the motorboat of ten horsepower 

(10 HP) or more except under the direct visible and audible supervision of a parent, 

guardian, or other person over seventeen (17) years in age; 

(11) Shall operate any vessel or manipulate any water skis, aquaplane, personal water craft or 

similar device in a grossly negligent manner that results in serious injury or death to any 

person; or 

(12) Shall operate a vessel upon the waters of this state in a negligent manner, including, but 

not limited to: 

(A) Inattentive operation; 

(B) Failure to keep a proper lookout; 

(C) Failure to observe the Inland Navigation Rules of the Road, as implemented by the 

United States Coast Guard; or  

(D) Operating in a manner which results in a collision with another vessel or object.  

 

27-101-203 EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS. 

(a) (1) Every vessel shall have aboard: 

(A) One (1) Type I, II, III, or V, if used according to its approved conditions, personal 

flotation device (PFD) which is U.S. Coast Guard approved, in good and 

serviceable condition, and of proper size for each person on board; 

(B) If carrying or using any inflammable or toxic fluid in any enclosure for any 

purpose, and if not an entirely open motorboat, an efficient natural or mechanical 

ventilation system which shall be capable of removing resulting gases prior to and 

during the time the motorboat is occupied by any person; 

(C) Additional equipment designed to promote the safety of navigation and of persons 

that the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission may find to be appropriate and 
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for which it has provided in its rules and regulations.  However, before making 

those rules and regulations, or changes or additions thereto, the Arkansas State 

Game and Fish Commission shall hold public hearings, after reasonable notice 

thereof, of any proposed rule or regulation to be adopted; 

(D) In addition, every vessel sixteen feet (16') and longer shall have aboard one (1) 

Type IV throwable PFD.   

(2) Each person being towed in a water sport activity must wear or have securely upon his or 

her body a life preserver or buoyant vest of the types described in subdivision (a)(1)(A) 

of this section in good and serviceable condition at all times while engaging in the water 

sport activity.   

(3) In addition, all occupants of personal water craft must wear a Personal Flotation Device 

of the types described above while aboard the vessel.   

(4) Occupants of a vessel who are twelve (12) years of age or younger must wear personal 

flotation devices of the types described above securely fastened to their persons at all 

times while aboard any vessel, unless such occupants are within the enclosed area of a 

houseboat or cruiser, unless underway, or within the area enclosed by railings on a party 

barge, cruiser, or houseboat, unless underway.   

(5) In addition, the requirements of subdivisions (a)(1)(A) and (D) and (a)(2)-(4) of this 

section shall not be applicable to organized water carnivals, water-skiing exhibitions, or 

other organized water sports exhibitions, or to persons participating in those activities or 

exhibitions. 

(6) When in operation during hours of darkness on waters under the jurisdiction of the 

United States, a motorboat's lighting shall be in accordance with the following 

specifications: 

(A) Class A and Class 1 under twenty-six feet (26') - combination red and green light 

on bow, with red on the port side and green on the starboard side and a white 

horizon light aft, on the stern, that is visible for three hundred sixty (360) degrees 

of the compass; 

(B) Class 2 and Class 3, twenty-six feet (26') to not more than sixty-five feet (65') - 

twenty-point white light forward, red port and green starboard side lights and white 

horizon light aft; and 

(C) Lights must conform to the specifications contained in the U.S. Coast Guard Inland 

Rules of Navigation; 

(7) When in operation during hours of darkness on state controlled waters, a motorboat's 

lighting shall be sufficient to make the motorboat's presence and location known to any 

and all other vessels within a reasonable distance. 

(b) No person shall operate or give permission for the operation of a motorboat which is not equipped 

as required by subsection (a) of this section or modification thereof; 

(c) The use of dry stack headers or pipes extending directly from the engine of a motorboat which 

does not have any type of muffler is prohibited except for motorboats competing in a sanctioned 

regatta or boat race and for those motorboats while on trial runs during a period not to exceed 

forty-eight (48) hours immediately preceding such regatta or race and for those motorboats while 

competing in official trials for speed records during a period not to exceed forty-eight (48) hours 

immediately following the regatta or race and only on the body of water where the regatta or boat 

race is being held; 

(d) No vessel used on the waters of this state shall be equipped with a siren, except vessels used by 

law enforcement officers. 

(e) (1) (A) No person shall operate a motorboat equipped by the manufacturer with a lanyard-

type engine cutoff switch while the engine is used to propel the boat without 

attaching the lanyard to the operator, the operator's clothing, or, if the operator is 
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wearing a personal flotation device, to the device as appropriate for the specific 

vessel.  

(B) However, if a motorboat equipped with a lanyard-type switch is a houseboat or a 

pontoon boat or is traveling less than five (5) miles per hour, the lanyard shall not 

be required to be attached to the operator, the operator's clothing, or the operator's 

personal flotation device.  

(2) As used in this subsection, "lanyard-type engine cutoff switch" means an emergency 

engine or motor shut-off switch that attaches by a lanyard to the person operating the 

motorboat and that is constructed and installed in a manner so that when in use, the 

switch will immediately shut off the boat's engine or motor if the operator falls overboard 

or is removed from the normal operating station of the boat.  

(3) This subsection (e) does not apply to flat-bottomed boats operated on the tailwaters of a 

trout fishery nor to flat-bottomed boats operated for duck hunting purposes during duck 

season.  

 

27-101-204  DUTIES of a BOAT LIVERY OWNER. 

(a) The owner of a boat livery shall cause to be kept a record of: 

(1) The name and address of the person or persons hiring any vessel 

(2) The registration number of the vessel if the vessel is designed or permitted    to be 

operated as a motorboat;  

(3) The departure date and time; 

(4) The expected time of return; 

(5) The number of persons to be on board the vessel; 

(b) The record shall be preserved for at least six (6) months; 

(c) Neither the owner of a boat livery nor his or her agent or employee shall permit a vessel owned or 

permitted by him or her to depart from his or her premises unless the boat livery has provided the 

vessel with the equipment required under § 27-101-203(a) and any rules made under that section.  

 

27-101-205  COLLISION or ACCIDENT. 

(a) It shall be the duty of the operator of a vessel involved in a collision, accident, or other casualty, 

so far as he or she can do so without serious danger to his or her own vessel, crew, and 

passengers, if any, to render to other persons affected by the collision, accident, or other casualty 

assistance that may be practicable and that may be necessary in order to save them from or 

minimize any danger caused by the collision, accident, or other casualty and also to give his or 

her name, address, and identification of his or her vessel in writing to any person injured and to 

the owner of any property damaged in the collision, accident, or other casualty. 

(b) In the case of collision, accident, or other casualty involving a vessel, if the collision, accident, or 

other casualty results in death or injury to a person or damage to property in excess of five 

hundred dollars ($500) or the disappearance of a person from a vessel under circumstances that 

indicate death or injury, the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission or local sheriff's 

department having an established water patrol shall be immediately notified in order for an 

investigation to be conducted. In addition, the operator of the vessel shall submit a Department of 

Transportation, United States Coast Guard Form CG-3865 to the Arkansas State Game and Fish 

Commission Boating Safety Office within ten (10) working days. 

(c) When a person operating a vessel is involved in a collision, accident, or other casualty resulting in 

loss of human life or when there is reason to believe death may result, or a law enforcement 

officer has reasonable cause to believe that the person, while operating a vessel, is intoxicated or 

under the influence of any narcotic drug, barbiturate, or marijuana or while under any physical or 

mental disability so as to be incapable of operating the vessel safely under the prevailing 

circumstances, a law enforcement officer shall request and the person shall submit to a chemical 

test of the person's blood, breath, or urine in accordance with the provisions of § 5-76-104, even 
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if the person is fatally injured, for the purpose of determining the alcohol or controlled substance 

content of his or her blood, breath, or urine.  

 

(d) In accordance with any request duly made by an authorized official or agency of the United 

States, any information compiled or otherwise available to the Arkansas State Game and Fish 

Commission pursuant to this section shall be transmitted to that official or agency of the United 

States. 

(e) Any law enforcement agency in the State of Arkansas investigating a boating accident will 

forward a copy of the completed accident report to the Boating Safety Office of the Arkansas 

State Game and Fish Commission within thirty (30) days of the accident.  

(f) (1) It shall be unlawful for any person involved in a boating accident to purposely leave the 

scene of the accident without complying with the requirements in subsections (a) and (b) 

of this section. 

(2) Violation of this subsection shall be punishable with a fine of not less than two hundred 

fifty dollars ($250) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500). 

(3) In the event the accident resulted in grave personal injury or death, violations of this 

section shall be a Class D felony and, upon conviction, punished accordingly. 

  

27-101-206  LAW ENFORCEMENT VESSELS EXEMPTION. 

Law enforcement vessels while being used in the enforcement of this chapter shall be exempt from the 

provisions of Section 27-101-202; however, this exemption does not relieve the operator of the 

responsibility to operate his vessel in a reasonable and prudent manner that does not endanger life, limb, 

or property. 

 

27-101-207  LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIRED. 

(a) (1) (A) It shall be unlawful for the owner of a motorboat of more than fifty horsepower 

(50HP) or a personal watercraft to allow the operation of the motorboat or 

personal watercraft unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy which has 

been issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in this state. 

(B) The insurance policy must provide at least fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) of 

liability coverage per occurrence. 

(2) This section does not apply to a motorboat or personal watercraft owned by the United 

States, a state government, or any political subdivision thereof. 

(b) (1) (A) Failure to present proof of liability insurance coverage if the motorboat or 

personal watercraft is involved in an accident creates a rebuttable presumption 

that the motorboat or personal watercraft is uninsured. 

(B)(i) For the purposes of this section, “Proof of Insurance” shall consist of a policy 

declaration page or other documentation which reflects the motorboat or personal 

watercraft coverage furnished to the insured by the insurance company which can 

be conveniently carried in the motorboat or personal watercraft. 

(ii) Insurance companies shall not be required to provide proof of insurance which 

may be conveniently carried as required in subdivision (b)(1)(B)(i) of this section 

if the insurance coverage is provided as part of a homeowner’s insurance policy. 

(2) Upon a showing that liability coverage required by this section was in effect at the time 

of arrest, the judge may dismiss the charge imposed under this section, and the penalties 

shall not be imposed. 

(c) (1) However, if the operator of the motorboat or personal watercraft is involved in an 

accident on the waters of this state and the motorboat or personal watercraft was not 

insured as required by this section, the owner of the motorboat or personal watercraft 

shall be deemed guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.  
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(2) (A) For the first violation of subsection (a) of this section, the penalty shall be a 

mandatory fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than two hundred 

fifty dollars ($250.00) 

(B) For a second offense, the penalty shall be a fine of not less than two hundred fifty 

dollars ($250.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00) for the second 

offense, and the minimum fine shall be mandatory. 

(C) For a third or subsequent offense, the penalty shall be mandatory fine of not less 

than five hundred dollars ($500.00) nor more than one thousand dollars 

($1,000.00) or a sentence of up to one (1) year in jail or both. 

(d) All fines collected under this section shall be deposited as special revenues in the State Treasury 

and credited to the Boating Safety Account Fund and then distributed by the State Treasurer to 

the Game Protection Fund to be used by the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission for the 

purpose of establishing, maintaining, and operating a program of boater training and boater safety 

throughout the state. 

 

Subchapter 3 – Motorboat Registration and Numbering 

 

27-101-301  IDENTIFYING NUMBER REQUIRED. 

Every motorboat on the waters of this state shall be numbered.  No person shall operate or give 

permission for the operation of any motorboat on the waters of this state unless: 

(1) The motorboat is numbered: 

(A) In accordance with this subchapter; or 

(B) In accordance with applicable federal law; or 

(C) In accordance with a federally approved numbering system of another state; and 

unless 

(2) (A) The certificate of number awarded to the motorboat is in full force and  

Effect and; 

(B) The identifying number set forth in the certificate of number is displayed on each 

side of the bow of the motorboat. 

 

27-101-302  EXCEPTIONS 

A motorboat shall not be required to be numbered under this subchapter if it is: 

(1) Already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it 

pursuant to federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state, 

provided that the boat shall not have been within this state for more than ninety (90) 

consecutive days; 

(2) A motorboat from a country other than the United States temporarily using the waters of 

this state; 

(3) A motorboat whose owner is the United States, a state, or a subdivision thereof; 

(4) A ship's lifeboat; or 

(5) A newly purchased motorboat that is operated for a period not to exceed twenty (20) 

working days from the date of purchase, provided that the owner or operator of the 

motorboat has aboard the vessel the bill of sale or acceptable proof of purchase indicating 

the date of purchase, the name and address of the owner, and description and Hull 

Identification Number of the vessel. 

 

27-101-303  ESTABLISHMENT of SYSTEM – DISTRIBUTION 

(a) The Arkansas Game and Fish Commission shall establish a system of identification numbering 

for all motorboats used in this state pursuant to this subchapter. 
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(b) In the event that an agency of the United States Government shall have in force an overall system 

of identification numbering for motorboats within the United States, the numbering system 

employed pursuant to this subchapter by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission shall be in 

conformity therewith. 

(c) The Commission shall assign to each county in this state a block of identification numbers for 

motorboats registered in each county. 

(d) The identification numbers shall be assigned to each county in the state, and it shall be the duty of 

the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration to issue the identification numbers 

to the owners of motorboats in accordance with the provisions of subchapters 1-3 of this chapter. 

 

27-101-304  FILING of APPLICATION - ISSUANCE of CERTIFICATE. 

(a) The owner of each motorboat for which numbering is required by this state shall file an 

application for a number within thirty (30) calendar days after the date of purchase with the 

Director of the Department of Finance and Administration on forms approved by the Arkansas 

State Game and Fish Commission. 

(b) The application shall be signed by the owner of the motorboat and shall be accompanied by a fee 

as provided in 27-101-306 and by proof that the motorboat , if it is equiped with more than fifty 

horsepower (50HP), or personal watercraft is covered by a liability insurance policy issued by an 

insurance company authorized to do business in this state. 

(c) Upon receipt of the application in approved form, accompanied by proof that the motorboat has 

been duly assessed or listed for assessment and, if it is equiped with more than fifty horsepower 

(50HP) or is personal watercraft, is covered by a liability insurance policy issued by an insurance 

company authorized to do business in this state, the director of the department shall enter the 

application upon the records of his office and issue to the applicant a certificate of number stating 

the number awarded to the motorboat and the name and address of the owner. 

(d) (1) The certificate of number shall be issued in triplicate, with the original copy to be furnished 

the owner of the motorboat.  

(2) The duplicate shall be retained as a record by the director.  

(3) The triplicate copy shall be furnished to the Commission to be retained for a period of five 

(5) years. 

(e) The certificate of number shall be pocket sized and shall be available at all times for inspection 

on the motorboat for which it is issued whenever the motorboat is in operation. 

(f) In the event that an agency of the United States Government shall have in force  

in the United States an over-all system of identification numbering for boats covered by this 

chapter, then the numbering system required by this subchapter and the commission shall be in 

conformity therewith. 

 

27-101-305  DISPLAY of NUMBER. 

(a) (1) The owner shall procure and attach to each side of the bow of the motorboat numbers 

conforming to the certificate of number issued to the owner by the Director of the 

Department of Finance and Administration. 

 (2) The numbers to be procured and attached shall be at least three inches (3") in height and 

of block character, and shall be attached to the forward half of each side of the vessel and 

clearly visible, pursuant to federal law, and attached in such a manner and position on the 

boat as may be prescribed by the rules and regulations of the Arkansas Game and Fish 

Commission in order that they may be clearly visible. 

(b) The numbers shall be maintained in legible condition. 

(c) No number other than the number awarded to a motorboat or granted reciprocity provided for in 

27-101-302(1) shall be painted, attached, or otherwise displayed on either side of the bow of the 

motorboat. 
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27-101-306  NUMBERING PERIOD - EXPIRATION - RENEWAL. 

(a) The certificates of numbers issued pursuant to subchapters 1-3 of this chapter may be for a period 

of three (3) years. 

(b) The Director of the Department of Finance and Administration shall establish a system in a 

manner that the expiration dates of the various certificates of numbers will be evenly distributed 

throughout the year and each year thereafter, to the end that boat certificates of numbers will be 

renewable as uniformly as practicable throughout each of the twelve (12) months of the license 

year in each year. 

(c) Upon request, the director shall assign to any owner of two (2) or more boats the same 

registration period. 

(d) (1) A fee based on the length of the motorboat as set forth in this subsection shall be charged 

for the issuance of a certificate of number and for each renewal of each certificate of 

number. 

(2) The fee to be collected for certificates shall be as follows: 

   FEE CATEGORY   3 YEARS 

  Vessels less than 16 feet in length    $   7.50 

  Vessels 16 feet to less than 26 feet   $ 15.00 

  Vessels 26 feet to less than 40 feet   $ 51.00 

  Vessels more than 40 feet    $105.00 

(e) Notice shall be given to the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission of each certificate of 

number renewed and of the transfer of any certificate of number. 

(f) Every certificate of number awarded pursuant to this subchapter shall continue in full force and 

effect until the expiration of each numbering period unless sooner terminated or discontinued in 

accordance with the provisions of this subchapter. 

(g) Certificates of number may be renewed by the owner in the same manner as is provided in this 

section for initially securing the certificate and upon payment of the fee as set forth in this section 

except that the certificate of a motorboat shall not be renewed if it is equiped with more than fifty 

horsepower (50HP) or is personal watercraft unless proof is presented that it is covered by a 

liability insurance policy issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in this state. 

(h) Unless the certificate of number is renewed on or before the fifteenth day following the expiration 

thereof, it shall lapse and shall no longer be of any force and effect unless renewed in the manner 

prescribed in this subchapter. 

 

27-101-307  REGISTRATION AFTER PURCHASE of an OUTBOARD MOTOR. 

When a motorboat is licensed pursuant to this subchapter, if the owner has, since the previous registration 

of a boat, purchased an outboard motor for use on the boat, as a condition of registering the boat, the 

owner shall furnish the serial number of the motor to the Revenue Division of the Department of Finance 

and Administration. 

 

 

 

 

 

27-101-308  RECIPROCITY. 

(a) The owner of a motorboat already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been 

awarded to it pursuant to then-operative federal law or federally approved numbering system of 

another state shall record the number prior to operating the motorboat on the waters of this state 

in excess of ninety (90) days reciprocity period provided for in 27-101-304. 

(b) The recordation shall be in the manner and pursuant to the procedure required for the award of a 

number under 27-101-304, except that no additional or substitute number shall be issued. 
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27-101-309  CHANGE of BOAT OWNERSHIP. 

(a) Should the ownership of a motorboat change, the new owner shall file an application with the 

Director of the Department of Finance and Administration for the transfer of the certificate of 

number of the motorboat to the new owner within thirty (30) calendar days after the date of 

ownership change. 

(b) Upon receipt of the application, the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration 

shall cancel the certificate of number issued to the former owner of the motorboat and shall assign 

the number to the new owner of the motorboat and shall issue a certificate of number to the new 

owner. 

(c) The application for transfer of the certificate of number shall be accompanied by a fee of two 

dollars ($2.00). 

 

27-101-310  DESTROYED or ABANDONED BOATS. 

(a) Whenever any motorboat numbered under the provisions of subchapters 1-3 of this chapter shall 

be destroyed or abandoned, its owner shall notify the Director of the Department of Finance and 

Administration, within fifteen (15) days after the destruction or abandonment, and the certificate 

of number of the motorboat shall be terminated. 

(b) The Director of the Department of Finance and Administration shall notify the Arkansas Game 

and Fish Commission of the termination of any certificate of number. 

 

27-101-311  PUBLIC RECORDS. 

All records of the Revenue Division of the Department of Finance and Administration and of the 

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission made or kept pursuant to this subchapter shall be public records. 

 

27-101-312  REGISTRATION FORMS and CERTIFICATES. 

All necessary registration certificates and other forms required by this chapter shall be furnished to the 

Department of Finance and Administration by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. 

 

27-101-313 -- 27-101-319  RESERVED. 

 

Subchapter 5 – Boater Safety 

 

27-101-501  PROGRAM of BOATER TRAINING and BOATER SAFETY – BOATER 

EDUCATION CERTIFICATE. 

(a) The General Assembly finds and determines that: 

(1) The regulation of boating and boaters in the state is the primary responsibility of the 

Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission under Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 

35; 

(2) Most boating accidents in the state are due primarily to the lack of training or the 

improper training of boaters; 

(3) The establishment of a boater training and safety program in this state would greatly 

improve and facilitate boater safety in this state; and 

(4) It is the purpose and intent of this section to authorize the Arkansas State Game and Fish 

Commission to establish and operate a boater safety and training program in this state. 

(b) (1) The commission is authorized and encouraged to establish, maintain, and operate a 

program of boater training and boater safety in this state.  

(2) Beginning Jan. 1, 2010, the program shall include, without limitation: 

(A)(i) A course of instruction designed to teach the safe and proper handling of 

motorboats, personal watercraft, and any other related matters as shall be deemed 

appropriate by the commission. 
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(ii)  With regard to personal watercraft, the course of instruction shall include 

electronic simulation of personal watercraft operation and actual hands-on 

familiarization with the personal watercraft. 

(B)(i) A written examination that shows the applicant's ability to have common 

knowledge to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a 

motorboat and a personal watercraft. 

(ii)  The examination shall be administered in person at a time and place designated 

by the commission. 

(3) The course of instruction may be offered in cooperation with schools, private clubs and 

organizations, and may be offered by the commission in areas where requested and where 

other sponsorship is unavailable. 

(4) The commission shall also prepare and disseminate information on water safety to the 

public, including informational pamphlets, which shall be made available at popular 

tourist locations.  

(c) The commission may adopt and enforce rules and regulations it shall deem appropriate and 

necessary to properly carry out the purposes and intent of this section. 

(d) (1) In order to operate a motorboat or a personal watercraft in Arkansas, all Arkansas 

residents born on or after Jan. 1, 1986, and of legal age to operate a motorboat or personal 

watercraft must have successfully completed: 

(A) An approved commission safe boating course and examination under subdivision 

(b)(2) of this section to obtain a permanent boater education certificate; or 

(B) A questionnaire to obtain a temporary boater education certificate under 

subsection (d)(4) of this section. 

(2) The commission shall issue boating education certificates and furnish a copy of the state 

laws pertaining to the operation of a motorboat or personal watercraft or informational 

material based on these laws to persons successfully completing an approved safe boating 

course and examination. 

(3) Valid boating education certificates issued by other states to non-residents shall be 

honored by this state if the boating education course is approved by the National 

Association of State Boating Law Administrators. 

(4) Prior to operating a motorboat or a personal watercraft on the waters of this state, a non-

resident or resident born on or after Jan. 1, 1986, and of legal age to operate a motorboat 

or a personal watercraft may obtain a temporary boater education certificate, which shall 

be valid for thirty (30) days, by completing a questionnaire developed by the 

commission. 

(5) (A) The application of any person under eighteen (18) years of age for a permanent 

or temporary boater education certificate shall be signed and verified before a 

person authorized to administer oaths by either the custodial parent or guardian 

of the applicant. 

(B) For purposes of this section, duly authorized agents of the commission shall be 

authorized to administer oaths without charge. 

 

Subchapter 6 – Personal Watercraft 

 

27-101-601  DEFINITIONS 

As used in this subchapter: 

“Personal watercraft” means a vessel, less than sixteen (16) feet in length, propelled by a water pump or 

other machinery as its primary source of motor propulsion and which is designed to be operated by a 

person sitting, standing, or kneeling thereon, rather than being operated by a person sitting or standing 

inside the vessel. 
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27-101-602  REGULATION of  PERSONAL WATERCRAFT 

(a) (1) No person shall operate a personal watercraft unless each person aboard is wearing a 

Type I, Type II, Type III, or Type V personal flotation device approved by the United 

States Coast Guard. 

(2) Provided, no person aboard a personal watercraft shall use an inflatable personal flotation 

device to meet the personal flotation device requirement of this subdivision (a)(2). 

(b) A person operating a personal watercraft equipped by the manufacturer with a lanyard-type 

engine cutoff switch shall attach such lanyard to his person, clothing, or personal flotation device 

as appropriate for the specific vessel. 

(c) No person shall operate a personal watercraft at any time between thirty (30) minutes after 

sundown and thirty (30) minutes before sunrise. 

(d) No person under sixteen (16) years of age shall operate a personal watercraft on the waters of this 

state, except: 

(1) A person at least twelve (12) years of age may operate a personal watercraft if a person at 

least eighteen (18) years of age is aboard the vessel who: 

(A) Was born before Jan. 1, 1986, or has a valid boater education certificate; and 

(B) Is in a position to take immediate control of the vessel; or  

(2) A person under twelve (12) years of age may operate a personal watercraft if a person at 

least twenty-one (21) years of age is aboard the vessel who: 

(A) Was born before Jan. 1, 1986, or has a valid boater education certificate; and 

(B) Is in a position to take immediate control of the vessel. 

(e) (1) Every personal watercraft shall at all times be operated in a reasonable and prudent 

manner.  No person shall operate a personal watercraft in an unsafe or reckless manner. 

(2) Unsafe personal watercraft operation shall include, but not limited to the following: 

(A) Becoming airborne or completely leaving the water while crossing the wake of 

another vessel within one hundred (100’) feet of the vessel creating the wake; 

(B) Weaving through congested traffic; 

(C) Operating at greater than slow no-wake speed within one hundred feet (100’) of 

an anchored or moored vessel, shoreline, dock, pier, swim float, marked swim 

area, swimmer, surfer, person engaged in angling or any manually propelled 

vessel; and 

(D)(i) Operating contrary to the rules of the road or following too close to another 

vessel, including another personal watercraft 

(ii) For the purposes of this section, following too close shall be construed as 

proceeding in the same direction and operating at a speed in excess of ten miles 

per hour (10 m.p.h.) when approaching within one hundred feet (100’) to the rear 

or fifty feet (50’) to the side of another motorboat or sailboat which is underway 

unless such vessel is operating in a channel too narrow to keep the required 

distance, in which case a personal watercraft maybe operated at a speed which is 

reasonable and prudent for the existing conditions. 

(f) No person who owns a personal watercraft or who has charge over or control of a personal 

watercraft shall authorize or knowingly permit the personal watercraft to be operated in violation 

of this subchapter. 

 

27-101-603  TOWING WATERSKIERS 

(a) No person shall operate a personal watercraft towing another person on water skis or other device 

unless the personal watercraft has on board, in addition to the operator, an observer who shall 

monitor the progress of the person being towed. 

(b) No person shall operate a personal watercraft towing another person on water skis or other device 

unless the total number of persons operating, observing, and being towed does not exceed the 
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specified number of passengers as identified by the manufacturer as the maximum safe load for 

the vessel. 

 

27-101-604  REGULATION of PERSONAL WATERCRAFT LIVERIES 

(a) A personal watercraft livery shall carry liability insurance in an amount of not less than five 

hundred thousand dollars ($500,000). 

(b) Operators of rental personal watercraft shall be required by livery operators to view a personal 

watercraft instructional video approved by the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission 

Boating Safety Office. 

(c) A personal watercraft livery shall provide for the operator of rental personal watercraft in print 

prior to rental the boating regulations peculiar to the area of rental, including, but not limited to, 

no-entry zones, no-wake zones, channel routes and water hazards, and tidal flow, where 

applicable. 

(d) A personal watercraft livery shall provide the operator of rental personal watercraft with all 

equipment required under state law. 

 

(e) A personal watercraft livery may not enter into a lease for rental agreement for a personal 

watercraft with any person under eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

27-101-605 EXEMPTIONS 

(a) The provisions of 27-101-602 shall not apply to a person participating in an officially sanctioned 

regatta, race, marine parade, tournament, or exhibition. 

(b) Law enforcement officers and emergency response personnel engaged in the performance of their 

duties shall be exempt from the provisions of this subchapter. 

(c) The provisions of 27-101-604(d) shall not apply to the State of Arkansas, including state 

agencies, boards, and commissions, nor its political subdivisions such as counties and 

municipalities. However, the remaining provisions of this subchapter, including 27-101-604(a)-

(c) shall apply. 

 

27-101-606 PENALTIES 

Each violation of this subchapter shall be punishable by a fine not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor 

more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) except that the fine for violating 27-101-602(e) shall be no less 

than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) 

 

27-101-607 SCOPE 

The provisions of this subchapter shall be supplemental and in addition to any  

other laws and regulations relating to boats or other watercraft. 

 

Subchapter 7 – Boat Identification Act 

 

27-101-702 DEFINITIONS. 

As used in this subchapter: 

(1) (A) "Boat identification number" means a number assigned to boating equipment by the 

manufacturer of the boating equipment or the Boating Law Administrator's Office of the 

Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission.  

(B) "Boat identification number" shall include the following:  

(i) A hull identification number;  

(ii) An outboard motor serial number;  

(iii) Any other number placed on a piece of boating equipment under assignment from 

the office; or  
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(iv) Any other distinguishing number or mark assigned to a piece of boating equipment 

by the manufacturer for identification purposes; and  

(2) "Boating equipment" means:  

(A) A motorboat, personal watercraft, or other vessel as defined under § 27-101-103; or  

(B) An outboard motor. 

 

27-101-703. BOATING EQUIPMENT WITHOUT BOATING IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS.  

(a) It is unlawful for a person to knowingly buy, receive, dispose of, sell, offer for sale, or have in his 

or her possession boating equipment on which the boat identification number has been removed, 

defaced, covered, altered, or destroyed for the purpose of concealing or misrepresenting the 

identity of the boating equipment. 

(b) (1) A person who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found guilty of a violation under 

subsection (a) of this section is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.  

(2) A person who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found guilty of a second or 

subsequent offense under this section is guilty of a Class D felony. 

 

27-101-704 ALTERING OR CHANGING BOATING IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS.  

(a) It is unlawful for a person with fraudulent intent to deface, destroy, or alter the boating 

identification number or to place a boating identification number on boating equipment that was 

not assigned by the manufacturer or the Boating Law Administrator of the Arkansas State Game 

and Fish Commission.  

(b) A person who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found guilty of a violation under 

subsection (a) of this section is guilty of a Class C felony. 

 

27-101-705. MUTILATION OF BOATING IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS. 

(a) It shall be unlawful for a person or other entity to have in his, her, or its possession boating 

equipment with a boating identification number that has been mutilated to the extent that it cannot 

be read. 

(b) If a piece of boating equipment has been stolen and recovered with a mutilated boating 

identification number, then a court of competent jurisdiction shall:  

(1) Authorize the rightful owner of the boating equipment to continue the use of the 

equipment; and  

(2) Direct the owner of the boating equipment to have the original boating identification 

number replaced or restenciled on the piece of boating equipment.  

(c) A person who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found guilty of a violation under 

subsection (a) of this section is guilty of a Class D felony. 

 

L1.02 OPERATION OF MOTORBOATS WHILE INTOXICATED 

 

CHAPTER 76 

OPERATION OF MOTORBOATS WHILE INTOXICATED 

 

5-76-101  DEFINITIONS. 

As used in this chapter: 

(1) "Controlled Substance" means a drug, substance, or immediate precursor in Schedules I through 

VI of the Uniform Controlled Substance Act, 5-64-101 et seq.; 

(2) "Intoxicated" means influenced or affected by the ingestion of alcohol, a controlled substance, 

any intoxicant, or any combination thereof, to such a degree that the operator's reactions, motor 

skills and judgment are substantially altered and the operator, therefore, constitutes a clear and 

substantial danger of physical injury or death to himself or others; 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE_OL.NFO%3Ar%3A111d8$cid=ARCODE_OL.NFO$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_27-101-103$3.0#JD_27-101-103
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(3) (A) “Motorboat” means any vessel operated upon water and that is propelled by machinery, 

whether or not the machinery is the principal source of propulsion. 

(B) "Motorboat" includes personal watercraft as defined in § 27-101-103(10);  

(4) "Operator" means a person who is controlling the speed and direction of a motorboat or a person 

who is in direct physical control of the motorboat; 

(5) "Underage" means any person who is under twenty-one (21) years of age and may not legally 

consume alcoholic beverages in Arkansas; and  

(6) "Waters" means any public waters within the territorial limits of the State of Arkansas.  

 

5-76-102  UNLAWFUL ACTS. 

(a) No person shall operate any motorboat on the waters of this state while: 

(1) Intoxicated; or 

(2) There is an alcohol concentration in the person's breath or blood of eight-hundredths 

(0.08) or more based upon the definition of breath, blood, and urine concentration in § 5-

65-204. 

(b) (1) In the case of a motorboat or device, only if the certified law enforcement officer has 

probable cause to believe that the operator of the motorboat is operating while intoxicated 

or operating while there is an alcohol concentration of eight-hundredths (0.08) in the 

person's breath or blood, the certified law enforcement officer may administer and may 

test the operator at the scene by using a portable breathtesting instrument or other 

approved method to determine if the operator may be operating a motorboat or device in 

violation of this section. 

(2) The consumption of alcohol or the possession of an open container aboard a vessel does 

not in and of itself constitute probable cause. 

(c) (1) (A) For a first offense, a person violating this section shall be punished by 

imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for not more than one (1) year or by 

a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) nor more than one 

thousand dollars ($1,000) or by both fine and imprisonment. 

a. In addition, the court shall order the person not to operate a motorboat for a 

period of ninety (90) days. 

(2) (A)(i) For a second offense within a three-year period, a person violating this section 

shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more 

than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and by imprisonment in the 

county or municipal jail for not more than one (1) year. 

(ii)  The sentence shall include a mandatory sentence that is not subject to suspension 

or probation of imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for not less than 

forty-eight (48) consecutive hours or community service for not less than twenty 

(20) days. 

(B) In addition, the court shall order the person not to operate a motorboat for a 

period of one (1) year. 

(3) (A) For a third or subsequent offense within a three-year period, a person violating 

this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars 

($1,000) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) and by imprisonment in 

the county or municipal jail for not less than sixty (60) days nor more than one 

(1) year, to include a minimum of sixty (60) days which shall be served in the 

county or municipal jail and that shall not be probated or suspended. 

(B) In addition, the court shall order the person not to operate a motorboat for a 

period of three (3) years. 

(4) Any person who operates a motorboat on the waters of this state in violation of a court 

order issued pursuant to this section shall be imprisoned for ten (10) days. 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE%3Ar%3A7b14$cid=ARCODE$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_5-65-204$3.0#JD_5-65-204
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE%3Ar%3A7b14$cid=ARCODE$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_5-65-204$3.0#JD_5-65-204
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(d) A person who has been arrested for violating this section shall not be released from jail, under 

bond or otherwise, until the alcohol concentration is less than eight-hundredths (0.08) in the 

person's breath or blood and the person is no longer intoxicated. 

(e) (1) In any criminal prosecution of a person charged with violating subsection (a) of this 

section, the amount of alcohol in the defendant's blood at the time of or within four (4) 

hours of the alleged offense, as shown by chemical analysis of the defendant's blood, 

urine, breath, or other bodily substance, gives rise to the following: 

(A) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration of four-hundredths (0.04) or 

less in the defendant's blood, urine, breath, or other bodily substance, it is 

presumed that the defendant was not under the influence of intoxicating liquor; 

and 

(B) If there was at that time an alcohol concentration in excess of four-hundredths 

(0.04) but less than eight-hundredths (0.08) in the defendant's blood, urine, 

breath, or other bodily substance, this fact does not give rise to any presumption 

that the defendant was or was not under the influence of intoxicating liquor, but 

this fact may be considered with other competent evidence in determining the 

guilt or innocence of the defendant. 

(2) The provisions of subdivision (e)(1) of this section shall not be construed as limiting the 

introduction of any other relevant evidence bearing upon the question of whether or not 

the defendant was intoxicated. 

(3) (A) A record or report of a certification, rule, evidence analysis, or other document 

pertaining to work performed by the Office of Alcohol Testing of the Department 

of Health under the authority of this chapter shall be received as competent 

evidence as to the matters contained in the record or report in a court of this state, 

subject to the applicable rules of criminal procedure, when duly attested to by the 

Director of the Department of Health or his or her assistant, in the form of an 

original signature or by certification of a copy. 

(B) A document described in subdivision (e)(3)(A) of this section is self-

authenticating. 

(f) The fact that any person charged with violating subsection (a) of this section is or has been 

legally entitled to use alcohol or a controlled substance does not constitute a defense against any 

charge of violating subsection (a) of this section. 

(g) Any fine for a violation of this chapter shall be remitted to the issuing law enforcement office to 

be used by the law enforcement office for the administration and enforcement of this chapter. 

(h) Neither reckless operation of a motorboat nor any other boating or water safety infraction is a 

lesser included offense under a charge in violation of this section. 

 

History. Acts 1995, No. 518, §§ 2-4, 6, 11, 12, 14; 2001, No. 561, §§ 25-27; 2005, No. 1461, § 1; 2007, 

No. 827, §§ 107, 108, 109.5-76-102  

5-76-103  PENALTIES. 

(a) In addition to any other penalty provided in § 5-76-102, any person who pleads guilty or nolo 

contendere to or who is found guilty of violating § 5-76-102 is required to complete an alcohol 

education program as prescribed and approved by the Arkansas Highway Safety Program or an 

alcoholism treatment program as approved by the Office of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention. 

(b) The alcohol education program may collect a program fee of up to fifty dollars ($50.00) per 

enrollee to offset program costs. 

(c) (1) A person ordered to complete an alcoholism treatment program under this section may be 

required to pay, in addition to the costs collected for treatment, a fee of up to twenty-five 
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dollars ($25.00) to offset the additional costs associated with reporting requirements 

under this chapter. 

(2) The alcohol education program shall report semiannually to the Arkansas Highway 

Safety Program all revenue derived from this fee. 

(d) (1) Within ten (10) days after the conviction or forfeiture of bail of a person upon a charge of 

violating any provision of this subchapter, every magistrate or judge of a court not of 

record or clerk of the court of record in which the conviction was had or bail was 

forfeited shall prepare and forward to the Office of Driver Services an abstract of the 

record of the court covering the case in which the person was convicted or forfeited bail 

for the purpose of determining the number of previous offenses under § 5-65-104(a)(4). 

(2) The abstract described in subdivision (d)(1) of this section shall be certified to be true and 

correct by the magistrate, judge, or clerk of the court required to prepare it. 

 

History. Acts 1995, No. 518, § 5; 1997, No. 788, § 2; 1997, No. 1341, § 2; 2007, No. 1196, § 2. 

 

5-76-104  IMPLIED CONSENT. 

(a) (1) Any person who operates a motorboat or is in actual physical control of a motorboat in 

this state shall be deemed to have given consent, subject to the provisions of subsection 

(c) of this section, to a chemical test or tests of his or her blood, breath, or urine for the 

purpose of determining the alcohol or controlled substance content of his or her blood if: 

(A) The operator is arrested for any offense arising out of acts alleged to have been 

committed while the person was operating while intoxicated or operating while 

there was an alcohol concentration of at least eight-hundredths (0.08) in the 

person's breath or blood; or 

(B) The person is involved in an accident while operating a motorboat; or 

(C) At the time the person is arrested for operating while intoxicated, the law 

enforcement officer has reasonable cause to believe that the person, while 

operating a motorboat, is intoxicated or has an alcohol concentration of eight-

hundredths or more in his or her breath or blood. 

(2) Any person who is dead, unconscious, or otherwise in a condition  

rendering the person incapable of refusal, shall be deemed not to have withdrawn the 

consent provided by subsection (a)(1) of this section, and the test may be administered 

subject to the provisions of subsection (c) of this section. 

(3) (A) When a person operating a motorboat is involved in an accident resulting in loss 

of human life, or where there is reason to believe that death may result, a law 

enforcement officer shall request and the person shall submit to a chemical test or 

tests of the person’s blood, breath, or urine for the purpose of determining the 

alcohol or controlled substance content of his or her breath or blood.  

(B) The law enforcement officer shall cause the test or tests to be administered to the 

person, including a person fatally injured. 

(b) (1) If a court determines that a law enforcement officer had reasonable cause to believe an 

arrested person had been operating a motorboat in violation of 5-76-102(a) and the 

person refused to submit to the test upon request of the law enforcement officer, the court 

shall levy a fine not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) and not to exceed two 

thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and suspend the operating privileges of the person 

for a period of six (6) months, in addition to any other suspension imposed for violating 

5-76-102(a). 

(2) If a person operating a motorboat is involved in an accident resulting in loss of human 

life and the person refuses to submit to a test upon the request of the law enforcement 

officer, the court shall levy a fine of not less than two thousand five hundred dollars 

($2,500) and not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) and suspend the operating 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE%3Ar%3A7a73$cid=ARCODE$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_5-65-104$3.0#JD_5-65-104
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privileges of the person for a period of two (2) years, in addition to any other suspension 

imposed for violating 5-76-102(a). 

(c) (1) The chemical test or tests shall be administered at the direction of a law enforcement 

officer having reasonable cause to believe the person to have been operating a motorboat 

while intoxicated or while there is an alcohol concentration of eight-hundredths (0.08) or 

more in the person's breath or blood. 

(2) The law enforcement agency by which that officer is employed shall designate which of 

the aforesaid tests shall be administered, and the agency shall be responsible for paying 

all expenses incurred in conducting the tests. 

(A) If the person tested requests that additional tests be made, as authorized in 

subsection (g) of this section, the cost of the additional tests shall be borne by the 

person tested. 

(B) If any person shall object to the taking of his blood for a test, as authorized 

herein, the breath or urine of the person may be used to make the analysis. 

(d) (1) Chemical analyses of the person's blood, urine, or breath, to be considered valid under the 

provisions of this chapter, must be performed according to methods approved by the State 

Board of Health or by an individual possessing a valid permit issued by the Department 

of Health for that purpose. 

(2) The Department of Health is authorized to approve satisfactory techniques or methods, to 

ascertain the qualifications and competence of individuals to conduct such analyses, and 

to issue permits which shall be subject to termination or revocation at the discretion of 

the Department of Health; 

(e) (1) When a person submits to a blood test at the request of a law enforcement officer, blood 

may be drawn by a physician or a person acting under the direction and supervision of a 

physician. 

(2) This limitation shall not apply to the taking of breath or urine specimens. 

(3) No person, institution, or office in this state who withdraws blood for the purpose of 

determining alcohol or controlled substance content thereof at the request of a law 

enforcement officer shall be held liable for violating any of the criminal laws of this state 

in connection therewith, nor shall any physician, institution, or person acting under the 

direction or supervision of a physician be held liable in tort for the withdrawal of such 

blood unless such persons are negligent in connection therewith, or the blood is taken 

over the objections of the subject. 

(f) Upon request of the person who submits to a chemical test or tests at the request of a law 

enforcement officer, full information concerning the test shall be made available to him or his 

attorney. 

(g) (1) The person tested may have a physician, a qualified technician, registered nurse, or other 

qualified person of his own choice administer a complete chemical test in addition to any 

test administered at the direction of a law enforcement officer. 

(2) The law enforcement officer shall advise the person of this right. 

(3) The refusal or failure of a law enforcement officer to advise such person of this right and 

to permit and assist the person to obtain such test shall preclude the admission of 

evidence relating to the test taken at the direction of a law enforcement officer. 

 

5-76-105  CHEMICAL ANALYSIS. 

(a) (1) Every instrument used to determine the alcohol content of the breath for the purpose of 

determining if the person was operating a vessel, etc. while intoxicated or with an alcohol 

concentration of eight-hundredths (0.08) or more shall be so constructed that the analysis 

is made automatically when a sample of the person's breath is placed in the instrument 

and without any adjustment or other action of the person administering the analysis, and 
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the instrument shall be so constructed that the blood alcohol content is shown by visible 

digital display on the instrument and on an automatic readout. 

(2) The machine performing the chemical analysis must have been certified at least once in 

the last three (3) months preceding the arrest, and the operator thereof must have been 

properly trained and certified. 

(3) Any such breath analysis made by or through the use of a machine or instrument that 

does not conform to the requirements prescribed in this subsection shall be inadmissible 

in any criminal or civil proceeding. 

(b) (1) Nothing in this section shall be deemed to abrogate a defendant's right of cross-

examination of the person who performs the calibration test or check on the instrument, 

the operator of the instrument, or a representative of the Office of Alcohol Testing. 

(2) The testimony of the appropriate analyst or official may be compelled by subpoena given 

ten (10) days prior to the date of hearing or trial, in which case, the records and reports 

shall be admissible through the analyst or official, who shall be subject to cross-

examination by the defendant or his counsel. 

 

5-76-106  AUTHORITY of STATE BOARD of HEALTH. 

(a) The State Board of Health is authorized to adopt appropriate regulations to carry out the intent 

and purposes of this chapter, and only machines or instruments approved by the board as meeting 

the requirements of this section and 5-76-105 and regulations of the board shall be used for 

making the breath analysis for determining flood alcohol content. 

(b) (1) The State Board of Health is specifically authorized to limit by its regulations the types or 

models of testing devices which may be approved for use in Arkansas for the purposes 

set forth in this chapter. 

(2) The approved types or models shall be specified by manufacturer's name and model. 

 

5-76-107 UNLAWFUL ACTS by UNDERAGE OPERATOR. 

(a) No underage person shall operate any motorboat on the waters of this state while:  

(1) Intoxicated; or 

(2) There is an alcohol concentration in the underage person's breath or blood of two-

hundredths (0.02) but less than eight-hundredths (0.08) based upon the definition of 

breath, blood, and urine concentration in § 5-65-204.  

(b) (1) A certified law enforcement officer may test an underage person who operates a 

motorboat using a portable breath-testing instrument or other approved method to 

determine if the underage person may be operating a motorboat or device in violation of 

this section only if the certified law enforcement officer has probable cause to believe 

that:  

(A) The underage person is operating the motorboat while intoxicated; or  

(B) The underage person is operating the motorboat while there is an alcohol 

concentration of two-hundredths (0.02) but less than eight-hundredths (0.08) in 

the underage person's breath or blood.   

(2) The consumption of alcohol or the possession of an open container of an alcoholic 

beverage aboard a vessel does not alone constitute probable cause. 

 

5-76-108. FINES for VIOLATING § 5-76-107. 

(a) Any person who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found guilty of violating § 5-76-107 

shall be fined not less than: 

(1) One hundred dollars ($100) and not more than five hundred dollars ($500) for the first 

offense;  

(2) Two hundred dollars ($200) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for the 

second offense; and  

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE_OL.NFO%3Ar%3A228a$cid=ARCODE_OL.NFO$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_5-65-204$3.0#JD_5-65-204
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE_OL.NFO%3Ar%3A2445$cid=ARCODE_OL.NFO$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_5-76-107$3.0#JD_5-76-107
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(3) Five hundred dollars ($500) and not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) for the third 

or subsequent offense.  

(b) For the purpose of determining the amount of a fine under this section, an underage person who 

has one (1) or more previous convictions for a violation of § 5-76-102 is deemed to have a 

conviction for a violation of § 5-76-107 for each conviction for a violation of § 5-76-102. 

 

L1.03 POSSESSION OR USE OF GLASS CONTAINERS ON NAVIGABLE WATERWAYS  

8-6-418. Possession or use of glass containers on navigable waterways. 

(a)(1) Except for containers for medicinal substances contained in a first-aid kit or prescribed by a 

licensed physician, and except as provided under subdivision (a)(2) of this section, no person 

shall possess or use glass containers within a vessel within the banks of Arkansas' navigable 

waterways. 

(2) A person engaged in removing glass previously discarded by others and found within the banks 

of an Arkansas navigable waterway may not be charged with a violation of this section on the 

basis of possession of glass, if while underway and upon a waterway, he or she transports the 

removed glass securely in a trash container.  

(b)(1) A person entering, traveling upon, or otherwise using Arkansas' navigable waterways by canoe, 

kayak, inner tube, or other vessel easily susceptible to swamping, tipping, rolling, or otherwise 

discharging its contents into a waterway, and transporting foodstuffs or beverages shall:  

(A) Transport all foodstuffs and beverages in a sturdy container and ensure that the container 

is made to seal or lock in the contents to prevent the contents from spilling into the water;  

(B)(i) Carry and affix to the vessel a trash container or bag suitable for containing his or her 

refuse, waste, and trash materials and capable of being securely closed.  

(ii) The trash container or bag shall be either a sturdy container, of a construction similar to a 

sturdy container, or a bag of mesh construction;  

(C)(i) Except as provided under subdivision (b)(1)(C)(ii) of this section, transport all his or her 

refuse, waste, and trash either in a sturdy container or in a trash container to a place 

where the refuse, waste, and trash may be safely and lawfully disposed of.  

(ii) A person engaged in removing items of refuse, waste, and trash materials previously 

discarded by others and found by him or her within the banks of an Arkansas navigable 

waterway and that are too large to be transported in a trash container or bag, may not be 

charged with a violation of this section on the basis of possession and transportation of 

the refuse, waste, and trash; and  

(D) At all times other than when a beverage is securely contained in a sturdy container or a 

trash container as in subdivisions (b)(1)(A)-(C) of this section, keep the beverage 

attached to or held within a floating holder or other device designed to prevent the 

beverage from sinking beneath the surface of the waterway.  

(2) Neither a sturdy container nor a trash container may be required of a person traveling without 

foodstuffs or beverages.  

(c)(1) A violation of this section shall be a misdemeanor and each violation may be prosecuted as a 

separate offense.  

(2) Each violation shall be punishable by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500).  

(d) For purposes of this section:   

(1) "Navigable waterway" means any navigable river, lake, or other body of water used or 

susceptible to being used in its natural condition by canoe, kayak, innertube, or other vessel easily 

susceptible to swamping, tipping, or rolling and located wholly or partly within this state;  

(2) "Sturdy container" shall not include a container that is:  

(A) Primarily constructed of styrofoam; or  

(B) So constructed that it may be easily broken; and  

(3) "Vessel" shall not include a houseboat, party barge, johnboat, runabout, ski boat, bass boat, or 

similar craft not easily susceptible to swamping, tipping, or rolling. 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE_OL.NFO%3Ar%3A243b$cid=ARCODE_OL.NFO$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_5-76-102$3.0#JD_5-76-102
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/NXT/gateway.dll?f=id$id=ARCODE_OL.NFO%3Ar%3A2445$cid=ARCODE_OL.NFO$t=document-frame.htm$an=JD_5-76-107$3.0#JD_5-76-107
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CHAPTER M1.00 

GEOCACHING 

 

M1.01 Geocache Requirements 

 

* * * * *  
 

M1.01 GEOCACHE REQUIREMENTS 

(1) Persons placing geocaches on AGFC property must be at least 16 years old and have 

an approved Geocache Permit (applications available through the Commission). 

(2) Permitted caches must be placed where designated by the Commission and must be 

clearly and permanently marked with the permit number. 

(3) Permit holders failing to renew their permit must notify the Commission in writing, 

remove the cache from Commission property and remove all postings of the 

geocache location.  

(4) The Commission may remove any geocache without notice and revoke permits if:  

the holder fails to comply with the terms and conditions of the permit; the permit 

holder fails to remove a physical cache upon permit expiration; or, the geocache has 

caused environmental damage, poses a public safety hazard or causes user group 

conflicts.  

(5) Caches may not be buried.  Vegetation or stones cannot be disturbed to place a cache 

without written approval of the Commission.  The use of dead, downed debris to 

assist in concealing the cache is allowed.  

(6) Metal detectors may not be used in cache searches. 
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CHAPTER N1.00 

GAME FISH RESTRICTIONS AND LIMITS 

 

 

N1.01 Game Fish Daily Limits 

N1.02 Length and Protected Length Limits on Certain Lakes and Rivers 

N1.03 Specific Trout Water Regulations 

 

* * * * *  
 

N1.01 GAME FISH DAILY LIMITS 

Alligator Gar     1 

Black Basses (including not 

more than four Smallmouth) 10 

Bream (over 4 inches length)  50 

Catfish (exc. Bullhead)   10 

Crappie      20 

Rock Bass     10 

Muskellunge     6 

Paddlefish     2 

Pickerel     6 

Sauger      6 

Saugeye     6 

Shovelnose Sturgeon   No Limit 

Striped Bass or Hybrid (Combination) 6 

Trout (including not more than:  

2 brown trout, 2 cutthroat  

trout, 2 brook trout)  5 

Walleye     6 

White Bass     25 

Yellow Bass     No Limit 

 

Daily Aggregate Limit   75 

 

Daily Limit for all sportfish on Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc Lake, Horseshoe Bend Pool 

of the Strawberry River in Izard County and Lake 1 on Rick Evans Grandview Prairie 

WMA ½ daily limit. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(1) BLACK BASS (LARGEMOUTH, SPOTTED, SMALLMOUTH): 

(A) Smallmouth bass: 

Ozark Zone (Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Cleburne, Fulton, 

Independence, Izard, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Newton, Randolph, 

Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, and Washington counties) – smallmouth 

bass minimum length limit of 12 inches with a daily limit of four, except 

Bull Shoals, Beaver, Table Rock Lakes and Lake Norfork (see Ex. 1(B) 

below).  

Ozark Zone Blue Ribbon Streams – Crooked Creek from Arkansas 

Highway 101 bridge downstream to the confluence with the White River; 

between the U.S. Highway 62-412 and U.S. Highway 62 Spur bridges at 
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Pyatt – smallmouth bass minimum length limit 18 inches, daily limit of 

one.  Buffalo River from confluence with Clabber Creek downstream to the 

confluence with the White River – smallmouth bass minimum length limit 

18 inches, daily limit of one.  All other water of Crooked Creek and 

Buffalo River – smallmouth bass minimum length limit of 14 inches, daily 

limit of two. 

Ozark Zone Catch-and-Release Area – Crooked Creek, along boundary 

of Arkansas Game and Fish Foundation property near Kelley’s Slab 

Access. 

Ozark Zone Quality Streams – Kings River from Trigger Gap to U.S. 

Highway 62 bridge smallmouth bass minimum length limit of 18 inches, 

daily limit of one. 

All other water of the Kings, Illinois, Spring, South Fork of the Spring and 

Eleven Point rivers and War Eagle Creek – smallmouth bass minimum 

length limit of 14 inches, daily limit of two. 

Ouachita/Boston Zone (all Arkansas counties not included in the Ozark 

Zone) – smallmouth bass minimum length limit of 10 inches, daily limit of 

four. 

Ouachita/Boston Zone Quality Streams – (Mulberry, Caddo above 

DeGray Lake, DeGray Lake, Cossatot River, Ouachita River upstream 

from Lake Ouachita, Ouachita River downstream from Remmel Dam, 

Saline River, including its four headwater forks in Saline, Perry and 

Garland counties, South Fork/Ouachita, Little Missouri above and below 

Lake Greeson) – smallmouth bass minimum length limit of 12 inches, 

daily limit of two. 

Ouachita/Boston Zone Catch-and-Release Area – all smallmouth bass 

caught in Lake Ouachita including the Ouachita River upstream to the 

River Bluff access and the South Fork of the Ouachita River upstream to 

Hovel Branch must be immediately returned to the stream. 

(B) Largemouth bass: 

Grandview Lake 2 – daily limit five. 

Lower White Oak Lake and Lake Columbia – daily limit eight. 

Mallard Lake and Little Missouri River – daily limit one. 

Dr. Lester Sitzes III Bois d’Arc Lake, Marion McCollum Lake, Lake 

Sylvia and Lake Hindsville – Largemouth bass caught must be 

immediately returned to the water. 

(C) Black Bass (all species combined):  

Beaver, Bull Shoals, DeQueen, Norfork, Table Rock lakes, Lakes  

Jack Nolen, Ouachita, Ashbaugh – daily limit six.Lake Lou Emma – daily 

limit five. 

Lake Atkins – daily limit four. 

(2) BREAM: 

No limit on bream 4 inches or shorter.  

(3) CATFISH: 

(A) No limit on catfish on Grand Lake - Chicot County, Lake Chicot (including 

that portion of Connerly Bayou downstream from Connerly Dam to the 

bayou’s mouth and Ditch Bayou from the inlet on Lake Chicot to Ditch 

Bayou Dam) and between the main levees of the Mississippi River, from 

the confluence of the Mississippi/White Rivers upstream to the Benzal 

Railroad Bridge, and from the confluence of the Mississippi/Arkansas 

Rivers upstream to the Yancopin Railroad Bridge.  No limit on blue and 
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channel catfish from Little River (below Millwood Dam) Red and Sulphur 

Rivers. 

(B) Catfish daily limit five on: 

DeWitt City Park Lake (Arkansas County); Lake Bentonville (Benton 

County); Hidden Lake (Carroll County); Big Timber Lake and Gurdon 

Lake (Clark County); Hubble Lake (Clay County); Lake Bailey (Conway 

County); Lake Cambadelle and Lake Lou Emma (Crawford County); 

Marion City Park Lake (Crittenden County); Village Creek State Park 

Lakes (Cross and St. Francis Counties); Lake Bennett (Faulkner County); 

Lake Clearfork (Garland County); Crowley Ridge State Park Lake and 

Reynolds Park Lake (Greene County); Newark City Lake (Independence 

County); Lake June (Lafayette County); Ward City Park Lake (Lonoke 

County); Hindsville Lake (Madison County); Blytheville City Park Lake 

(Mississippi County); Donald Branch Fishing Pond (Monroe County); 

Lake Sylvia (Perry County); Shady Lake (Polk County); Twin Lakes A and 

B, Camp Ferncliff, Paradise Lake (Pulaski County); Old Davidsonville 

State Park Lake (Randolph County); Forrest City Park Lake (St. Francis 

County); Truman Baker Lake (Scott County); Cave City's Lakes (Sharp 

County); Gunner Pool and Hayden Bend Pond (Stone County); Devils Den 

State Park (Washington County); Spring Lake, Kingfisher, Clubhouse 

Lakes in Petit Jean WMA (Yell County) and posted USDA Forest Service 

ponds and lakes. 

(C) In addition to daily limit, 10 channel catfish under 16 inches may be taken 

on the Arkansas River. 

(D) In addition to daily limit, 10 channel catfish and 10 blue catfish any size 

may be taken in Lake Erling and Millwood Lake. 

(4) CRAPPIE: 

(A) Crappie daily limit – 15 in Beaver, Table Rock, Bull Shoals, Norfork 

reservoirs, Cane Creek Lake (Lincoln County) and Gurdon Lake (Clark 

County). 

(B) Crappie daily limit – 30 east of a line beginning at the Arkansas–Missouri 

State Line on U.S. Highway 63 and described as follows:  following U.S. 

Highway 63 south to Hardy, continuing on U.S. Highway 62 west to Ash 

Flat, continuing on U.S. Highway 167 south to Little Rock, continuing on 

U.S. Highway 67 south to Texarkana to Arkansas/Texas state line. 

(C) Crappie daily limit – 50 between the main levees of the Mississippi River, 

from the confluence of the Mississippi/White Rivers upstream to the 

Benzal Railroad Bridge, from the confluence of the Mississippi/Arkansas 

Rivers upstream to the Yancopin Railroad Bridge and on Horseshoe Lake 

(Crittenden County). 

(D) Crappie daily limit – 20 in Lake Chicot and Lake Monticello. 

(5) WALLEYE: 

(A) Beaver Lake and its tributaries; Table Rock Lake and its tributaries to 

Beaver Dam; Bull Shoals Lake, and Norfork Lake – minimum length limit 

of 18 inches, daily limit four. 

(B) Greers Ferry Lake and its tributaries – protected slot limit of 20-28 inches, 

daily limit of six (only one of which may be longer than 28 inches). 

(C) In compliance with Addendum N1.02 and Code Chapter 28.00. 
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(6) WHITE BASS, STRIPED BASS, HYBRID STRIPED BASS: 

(A) White bass: 

Between the main levees of the Mississippi river, from the confluence of 

the Mississippi and White rivers upstream to the Benzal Railroad Bridge, 

and from the confluence of the Mississippi and Arkansas rivers upstream to 

the Yancopin Railroad Bridge – daily limit of 50, possession limit of 100.  

Beaver Lake and its tributaries; lakes Ashbaugh, Sequoyah and Monticello 

– no limit. 

(B) Striped bass and hybrid striped bass (combined):  Beaver, Bull Shoals and 

Norfork lakes; lakes Greeson, Maumelle, and Ouachita – daily limit three.  

Arkansas River and connecting lakes – daily limit 10.  Lake Monticello – 

no limit. 

(7) ALLIGATOR GAR: 

Alligator gar longer than 36 inches may not be harvested from noon, May 

1-noon, July 1, statewide.  Alligator Gar Permit is required to harvest 

alligator gar (Code 26.28). 

(8) TROUT (BROOK, BROWN, CUTTHROAT, RAINBOW): 

(A) Brown trout:  

White River (Bull Shoals Tailwater) and North Fork White River (Norfork 

Tailwater) – minimum length 24 inches, daily limit one.  Spavinaw Creek 

(Benton County) west of Arkansas Highway 59 and Spring River – 

minimum length 16 inches, daily limit two.  Little Red River (Greers Ferry 

Tailwater) from Greers Ferry Dam to Arkansas Highway 305 Bridge – 

protected slot limit of 16-24 inches, daily limit of five (only one of which 

may be longer than 24 inches). 

White River (Beaver Tailwater) from Beaver Dam to boundary signs at 

Houseman Access – protected slot limit of 13-16 inches, daily limit of five 

(only one of which may be longer than 16 inches).  Little Missouri River, 

from Narrows Dam to Arkansas Highway 27 Bridge – all brown trout must 

be released immediately. 

(B) Cutthroat trout: 

White River (Bull Shoals Lake Tailwater), North Fork White River 

(Norfork Tailwater), Spavinaw Creek (Benton County) west of Arkansas 

Highway 59, Spring River – minimum length 16 inches, daily limit of two. 

(C) Brook trout: 

White River (Bull Shoals Lake Tailwater), North Fork White River 

(Norfork Tailwater), Spavinaw Creek (Benton County) west of Arkansas 

Highway 59, Spring River – minimum length 14 inches, daily limit two. 

 

All fish measurements must follow procedures listed in Code 01.00-C Length Limit definition. 

 

N1.02 LENGTH AND PROTECTED LENGTH LIMITS ON CERTAIN LAKES AND 

RIVERS 

(A) BLACK BASS – It is unlawful to possess black bass as follows: 

(1) Largemouth bass less than 12 inches on Lake Frierson. 

(2) Spotted bass less than 12 inches on Beaver, Bull Shoals, Norfork and Table 

Rock lakes. 

(3) All black bass less than 12 inches in Horseshoe Bend Pool on the 

Strawberry River. 

(4) Largemouth and spotted bass less than 13 inches on Lake Ouachita. 
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(5) Largemouth bass 13-16 inches on lakes Austell (Cross County), Barnett 

(White County), Brewer, DeGray, Wilhelmina (Polk County), Bear Creek, 

Bob Kidd; Lee Creek; Sugar Loaf Lake, and Dierks Reservoir (Howard 

and Sevier counties). 

(6) Largemouth bass less than 13 inches on the Ouachita River from Tate’s 

Bluff Bridge (Ouachita County) to Felsenthal Lock and Dam (Union and 

Ashley counties), including all waters accessible by boat from the main 

channel at normal water levels (65.0 ft. MSL at Felsenthal Lock and Dam 

and 77.0 ft. MSL at Thatcher Lock and Dam).  Persons fishing oxbow 

lakes that are exempt from this regulation should access those waters 

directly and not from the river channel during higher water levels.  

(7) Largemouth bass less than 13 inches on the Saline River from Stillion 

Bridge (Ashley and Bradley counties) to its mouth, including all waters 

accessible by boat from the main channel at normal water levels (65.0 ft. 

MSL at Felsenthal Lock and Dam and 77.0 ft. MSL at Thatcher Lock and 

Dam).  Persons fishing oxbow lakes that are exempt from this regulation 

should access those waters directly and not from the river channel during 

higher water levels.  

(8) Smallmouth bass less than 15 inches on Beaver, Bull Shoals, Norfork and 

Table Rock lakes. 

(9) Largemouth bass less than 15 inches on Beaver Lake, Big Lake NWR, 

Blue Mountain, Bull Shoals, Georgia Pacific, Greers Ferry, Kingfisher, 

Norfork, Shady and Table Rock lakes; Caddo Fishing Pond; Upper and 

Lower Lake Chicot (including Connerly Bayou downstream from Connerly 

Dam to the bayou’s mouth and Ditch Bayou from the inlet on Lake Chicot 

to Ditch Bayou Dam); Lake Greenlee, Mercer Bayou (Sulphur River 

WMA); Moss Creek Pond, and the Arkansas River. 

(10) Largemouth bass less than 16 inches on Lake Millwood.  Daily limit three. 

(11) Black bass greater than 16 inches in Lake Winona. 

(12) Largemouth bass 16-21 inches on Lake Atkins.  Daily limit four (only one 

of which may be longer than 21 inches). 

(13) Largemouth bass 16-21 inches on Tommy L. Sproles Lake Pickthorne.  

Daily limit two (only one of which may be longer than 21 inches). 

(14) Largemouth bass 16-21 inches in Lake 1 in Rick Evans Grandview Prairie 

WMA. Daily limit two largemouth bass (only one of which may be longer 

than 21 inches). 

(15) Largemouth bass 16-18 inches on Lower White Oak Lake and Lake 

Columbia.  Daily limit eight (three of which may be longer than 18 inches). 

(16) Largemouth bass daily limit 10 (only one of which may be longer than 18 

inches) on Lake SWEPCO. 

(17) Smallmouth bass less than 18 inches on the lower Little Missouri River. 

(18) Largemouth bass less than 21 inches on Mallard Lake.  Daily limit one. 

(19) Largemouth bass 19-22 inches on Lake Monticello.  Daily limit eight, only 

one of which may be longer than 22 inches. 

(B) CRAPPIE:  It is unlawful to possess crappie as follows: 

(1) Less than 10 inches in Beaver, Table Rock, Bull Shoals and Norfork 

Reservoirs; Cane Creek Lake in Lincoln County; Lake Chicot (including 

Connerly Bayou downstream from Connerly Dam to the bayou’s mouth 

and Ditch Bayou from the inlet on Lake Chicot to Ditch Bayou Dam); 

Lake Charles, and Lake Monticello. 

(2) Less than 9 inches on Blue Mountain and Harris Brake lakes. 
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  EXCEPTION: 

(1) From December-February, the minimum length limit is waived 

on Lake Monticello and the harvest is regulated by a 20-fish 

daily limit.  The first 20 crappie caught, regardless of size, must 

be kept. Culling is not permitted.  From March-November, 

harvest is controlled by a 10-inch minimum length, daily limit of 

20.  

(C) CATFISH (channel, blue and flathead): 

(1) It is unlawful to possess more than one catfish (channel, blue or flathead) 

longer than 34 inches from the Mississippi River along the common border 

with Tennessee, including oxbow lakes between the main levees of the 

Mississippi River. 

(2) It is unlawful to possess flathead catfish less than 20 inches on the 

Ouachita River from Sandy Beach Access (Ouachita County) to Remmel 

Dam. 

(D) STRIPED BASS:  It is unlawful to possess striped bass less than 20 inches on 

Lake Norfork and Beaver Lake.  

(E) SHOVELNOSE STURGEON:  It is unlawful to possess shovelnose sturgeon less 

than 21 inches.  Shovelnose sturgeon may not be taken from the Mississippi River. 

EXCEPTION: 

(1) Sportfish may be snagged (except in catch-and-release areas) in compliance with Codes 

26.05; 26.17 and within the restrictive size limits in this addendum chapter. 

 

 

N1.03 SPECIFIC TROUT WATER REGULATIONS 

(A) Beaver Tailwater (White River from 100 yards below Beaver Dam to boundary 

signs at Houseman Access). 

(1) No fishing, boating or wading within 100 yards of Beaver Dam.  

(2) An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish other than as 

specified for the paddlefish-snagging season. 

(3) Bait fishing allowed only with a single, barbless hooking point (barbed 

shaft bait holder hooks allowed). 

(4) From April 15-June 15, snagging game fish is legal only from 100 yards 

below Beaver Dam from the Corps of Engineers “No Fishing Beyond This 

Point” sign downstream to the first Corps of Engineers boat ramp on the 

left descending bank to the first boat-launching ramp.  Snagging must 

cease after half the daily limit of any game fish has been snagged.  

Snagged fish of any species shall not be released. 

(5) Special Regulation Area: 

Artificial Lures Only Area/No Bait Zone from approximately 0.5 mile 

below Beaver Dam to approximately 100 yards upstream of Parker Bend 

Access, as indicated by signs. 

(a) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point shall be 

used.  Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(b) Chumming is prohibited. 

(B) Bull Shoals Tailwater (White River from 100 yards below Bull Shoals Dam to 

Arkansas Highway 58 Bridge at Guion). 

(1) No fishing, boating or wading within 100 yards of Bull Shoals Dam. 

(2) An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 
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(3) Special Regulation Areas: 

(a) Bull Shoals Dam Catch-and-Release Area – Open to fishing from 

Feb. 1-Oct. 31 from 100 yards below Bull Shoals Dam to the 

upstream boundary of Bull Shoals/White River State Park, as 

indicated by signs. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures or flies shall be used.  All hooking 

points must be barbless.  Natural or scented baits are 

prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(b) Bull Shoals Dam Closed Area – the area 100 yards below Bull 

Shoals Dam to the wing dike at the Bull Shoals/White River State 

Park Trout Dock.  This area is closed to fishing or wading Nov. 1-

Jan. 31. 

(c) Bull Shoals Dam Seasonal Brown Trout Catch-and-Release Area, 

Nov. 1-Jan. 31.  From the wing dike at Bull Shoals/White River 

State Park Trout Dock to the downstream boundary of the Bull 

Shoals/White River State Park. 

(1) All brown trout must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures or flies shall be used.  All hooking 

points must be barbless.  Natural or scented baits are 

prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(4) No fishing 30 minutes after sunset-30 minutes before 

sunrise. 

(d) Rim Shoals Catch-and-Release Area (near Cotter).  From sign 

immediately above mouth of Jenkins Creek to the first electric 

power line downstream, as indicated by signs. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures or flies shall be used.  All hooking 

points must be barbless.  Natural or scented baits are 

prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(e) Monkey Island Catch-and-Release Area (between Reds Landing 

Access and Chesmond Ferry Access), from the upstream end of 

Monkey Island to mouth of Moccasin Creek, as indicated by signs. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures or flies shall be used.   All hooking 

points must be barbless.  Natural or scented baits are 

prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited.  

(C) Norfork Tailwater (North Fork of the White River from 100 yards below Norfork 

Dam to the confluence of the White River). 

(1) No fishing, boating or wading within 100 yards below Norfork Dam. 

(2) An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 

(3) Chain dragging is prohibited.  It is unlawful to drag chains or other objects 

from boats, capable of destroying aquatic vegetation. 

(4) Special Regulation Areas: 
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(a) Norfork Catch-and-Release Area – from the downstream end of 

Long Hole to the Bill Ackerman River Ridge Walk-in Access 

(about 1-2 miles), as indicated by signs. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures or flies shall be used.  All hooking 

points must be barbless.  Natural or scented baits are 

prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(D) Greers Ferry Tailwater (Little Red River from 100 yards below Greers Ferry 

Dam to the Arkansas Highway 305 Bridge). 

(1) No fishing, boating or wading within 100 yards of Greers Ferry Dam.  

(2) An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish.  Only a single 

hooking point per pole may be used for bait-fishing. 

(3) Special Regulation Areas: 

(a) JFK Special Regulations Area (at John F. Kennedy Park below 

Greers Ferry Dam) – from 100 yards downstream from Greers 

Ferry Dam to approximately 0.5 miles downstream to the last 

Greer’s Ferry National Fish Hatchery effluent outfall in John F. 

Kennedy Park, as indicated by signs. 

(1) Only artificial lures with barbless hooks shall be used. 

(2) Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(b) Cow Shoals Seasonal Catch-and-Release Area, Oct. 1-Dec. 31.  

From the head of Cow Shoals to the mouth of Canoe Creek, as 

indicated by signs. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point 

shall be used.  Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(4) Closed to night fishing (half hour before sunset to half 

hour before sunrise). 

(c) Mossy Shoals Special Regulations Area – from the head of 

Dunham Shoals downstream to the end of Mossy Shoals, as 

indicated by signs. 

(1) Only artificial lures with barbless hooks shall be used. 

(2) Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(E) Collins Creek (from its source in John F. Kennedy Park below Greers Ferry Dam 

to the confluence of the Little Red River). 

(1) An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 

(2) Catch-and-Release Stream.  All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(3) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point shall be used.  

Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(4) Chumming is prohibited. 

(5) Fishing is limited to youths upstream of the wooden vehicle bridge in John 

F. Kennedy Park. 

(6) Fishing is allowed from sunrise to sunset. 
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(7) Downstream of the wooden vehicle road bridge in John F. Kennedy Park, 

anglers with a fishing license and a trout permit may fish when 

accompanying a youth under age 16 in the act of fishing. 

(F) Dry Run Creek (from its source on the east side of Norfork National Fish 

Hatchery below Norfork Dam to the confluence with the North Fork of the White 

River). 

(1) An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 

(2) Catch-and-Release Stream.  All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(3) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point shall be used.  

Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(4) Chumming is prohibited. 

(5) Fishing is limited to youths. 

(6) Fishing is allowed from sunrise to sunset. 

(7) Fishing from the pier on Dry Run Creek is limited to mobility-impaired 

anglers only. 

(8) Mobility-impaired card is required for mobility-impaired anglers in 

compliance with Addendum C1.11. 

(G) Blanchard Spring Mirror Lake (in Ozark National Forest Blanchard Spring, 

from its source to the confluence with North Sylamore Creek, including Mirror 

Lake). 

(1) An angler shall use no more than two fishing rods or poles and must attend 

them at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 

(H) Spring River, from 100 yards below Dam No. 1 at Mammoth Spring State Park to 

the mouth of Myatt Creek. 

(1) An angler shall use no more than two fishing rods or poles and must attend 

them at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 

(I) Spavinaw Creek (Benton County), from its source downstream to the Arkansas 

Highway 59 bridge. 

(1) An angler shall use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 

(2) Catch and Release Stream.  All trout caught must be immediately released.  

(3) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point shall be used.  

Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(4) Chumming is prohibited. 

(J) Narrows Tailwater – Little Missouri River from 100 yards below Narrows Dam 

(Lake Greeson) downstream to the low-water bridge (Arkansas Highway 27 

Bridge). 

(1) An angler shall use no more than two fishing rods or poles and must attend 

them at all times.  No other devices shall be used to catch fish. 

(2) Special Regulation Areas: 

(a) Narrows Catch-and-Release Area – from 100 yards below Narrows 

Dam downstream to the upstream boundary of Riverside Park Access. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point 

shall be used.  Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(b) Narrows Summer Catch-and-Release Area – May 1-Oct. 15. 

Downstream from the upstream boundary of the Riverside Park 

Access to the gas line crossing above River Ridge Pool. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 
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(2) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point 

shall be used.  Natural or scented baits are not allowed. 

(3) Chumming is not allowed. 

(c) Narrows Winter Catch-and-Release Area – Oct. 16-April 30. From 

approximately 300 yards downstream of Hinds Bluff Access to 

approximately 300 yards upstream of Old Factory Site (Weir 2), as 

indicated by signs. 

(1) All trout caught must be immediately released. 

(2) Only artificial lures with a single, barbless hooking point 

shall be used.  Natural or scented baits are prohibited. 

(3) Chumming is prohibited. 

(K) Big Spring (at Cotter) from its source to the confluence with the White River. 

(1) Fishing is limited to youths and disabled anglers. Youths must be 

accompanied by an adult when fishing.  Adult disabled anglers must carry 

proof they are 100 percent permanently and totally disabled (Code 01.00-C 

Disabled) and possess a sport fishing, lifetime fishing, or combination 

hunting and fishing license, plus a trout permit. 

(2) An angler may use no more than one fishing rod or pole and must attend it 

at all times.  No other devices may be used to catch fish. 

(3) All fish caught must be released.   

(4) Only artificial lures with barbless hook(s) may be used.  Natural or scented 

baits are prohibited.   

(5) Chumming is prohibited.   

(6) Fishing is allowed from sunrise to sunset. 

(7) No fishing in the swimming hole at the upstream end of Big Spring, as 

indicated by signs. 

(8) No motorized boats allowed in Big Spring. 

(9) Fishing derbies must be requested, and permitted in writing by AGFC 

District 2 fisheries biologist, and can include fishing with natural or 

scented baits, and harvest of trout. 
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CHAPTER O1.00 

ALLIGATOR FARMER RESTRICTIONS 

 

O1.01 Alligator Farmer/Dealer General Provisions  

O1.02 Specifications and Facility Standards for Alligator Farms  

O1.03 Harvest and Sale of Alligator Restrictions 

 

* * * * *  
O1.01 ALLIGATOR FARMER/DEALER GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(A) Shipping tickets, invoices or bills of lading shall be maintained for all alligators 

purchased or sold to verify they have been obtained from a legal source and not 

from the wild stock of the state, and complete written records of all changes in 

alligator stock shall be maintained for a minimum of five years from the date of 

each transaction to verify sources of supply and disposition of alligator stock. 

(B) Facilities and records shall be subject to random inspection by enforcement officers 

of the Commission; 

(C) Upon request or inspection by the Commission, an alligator farmer/dealer shall 

disclose ownership of all alligators and provide documentation of inventory of 

initial and subsequent numbers of all alligator eggs and alligators.  Documentation 

shall demonstrate the inventory is commensurate with production and survival 

levels for captive populations in compliance with biological standards adopted by 

the Commission or the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

(D) Each alligator farmer/dealer shall report annually to the Wildlife Management 

Division by Jan. 31 on a form supplied by the Commission all activities that have 

occurred during the previous calendar year (Jan. 1-Dec. 31), including, but not 

limited to: the number of live alligators (separated by sizes); the number of eggs 

collected and hatched; information on the purchase and sale of alligators, hides and 

parts; and the numbers of alligator deaths. Failure to accurately complete this form 

may result in the non-renewal or revocation of the Alligator Farmer/Dealer Permit. 

(E) The advertisement or representation of caimans or crocodiles as alligators is 

prohibited. 

(F)  No alligator farmer/dealer or his or her employees shall receive or transfer any 

alligator, eggs or hides except in compliance with Commission regulations. 

(G) Permits to establish and operate alligator farms are not transferable. 

 

O1.02 SPECIFICATIONS AND FACILITY STANDARDS FOR ALLIGATOR FARMS  

(A) An alligator farm must contain suitable land and habitat to support a population of 

adult alligators in outside breeding ponds and adequate area for the construction of 

holding houses for young alligators up to three years of age. There must be a 

reliable source of fresh water and equipment for pumping and changing water. 

Breeding ponds shall be fenced around the perimeters with woven wire or board 

fences of sufficient height (minimum 4 feet) and tightness, constructed to prevent 

the escape or entrance of any size of alligator.  Fences shall be buried or otherwise 

secured at the bottom to prevent entrance or escape.  Breeding ponds must have at 

least one area at least 6 feet deep and suitable nesting sites. 

(B) Pens or holding facilities shall be constructed to prevent the egress and ingress of 

alligators.  The alligator farmer shall provide rearing tanks of concrete, fiberglass, 
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plastic or metal construction for alligators less than 4 feet.  Alligators less than 2 

feet shall be housed separately from those 2-4 feet. On-site propagation facilities 

shall provide ponds, nest sites and space for breeding adults and artificial 

incubators. 

(C) Holding houses containing an adequate number of artificial tanks shall be provided 

for growing small alligators 6 feet or less.  A sufficient number of tanks shall be 

provided to allow for segregation by age/size/classes, and each tank shall be 

permanently numbered to facilitate accurate record keeping.  There shall be 

sufficient space in each tank for all alligators to completely submerge under water 

at one time and enough dry area to run around for basking purposes.  A properly 

constructed tank will consist of 2/3 water for 1/3 dry area.  The overall size of the 

tank shall depend upon the number of alligators held, but as a general standard 

each alligator should have enough space to submerge without having contact with 

another alligator.  Holding tanks shall be designed to permit periodic cleaning of 

water and a complete change of water at least every other day. 

(D) An alligator farmer shall provide security sufficient to ensure no alligators, eggs, or 

other parts can be moved in or out of the alligator farm without the farmer’s 

knowledge. 

(E) Permitted alligator farms shall be subject to inspection by Commission personnel at 

any time. 

(F) An alligator farmer shall make all alligator eggs produced on the farm available for 

inspection by Aug. 1 of each nesting year.  All alligator eggs shall be in containers 

having not more than one layer of eggs in at least one incubation facility on each 

alligator farm. Only viable alligator eggs will be credited to the egg inventory. 

Eggs laid after Aug. 1 may be collected and added to the egg inventory only if egg 

development characteristics indicate a laying date after Aug. 1 and nests are 

verified by Commission personnel prior to being collected. 

(G) A controlled environmental chamber complete with an incubator shall be provided 

for hatching of eggs.  The chamber shall also contain a sufficient number of 

holding tanks to accommodate anticipated hatchlings and to provide a suitable 

environment for newborn alligators. 

 

O1.03 HARVEST AND SALE OF ALLIGATORS RESTRICTIONS 

(A) Alligators at least 23 inches raised on a permitted alligator farm, skins, or products 

of such captive-reared alligators may be sold only upon written approval from the 

Commission and in compliance with the restrictions below.  An alligator farmer 

also may use any product from a captive-reared alligator less than 23 inches that 

dies from natural causes, but only in compliance with the following restrictions: 

(1) No alligator shall be skinned unless the alligator farmer/dealer first obtains 

written approval from the Commission. Records must be provided to 

verify that each alligator to be harvested was hatched and captive-reared 

on the farm or otherwise obtained from a legal source. 

(2) Any alligator killed under authority of this section shall be tagged 

immediately with a tag furnished by the Commission.  The tag shall 

remain attached to the alligator hide until finally processed by the 

fabricator.  It is unlawful for any alligator farmer, dealer or processor to 

possess untagged alligator hides. 

(3) Identifying tags issued to farms are property of the Commission. Alligator 

tags will be issued to a permitted alligator farmer upon request at least two 

weeks before scheduled harvest, subject to verification of available stock 

by Commission personnel.  Unused tags must be returned to the 
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Commission by Jan. 15 the year after the tags expire. Possession of 

Commission alligator tags by persons other than permitted alligator 

farmers shall be unlawful. Tags are to be used only on skins and on live 

alligators (one tag per alligator) shipped directly to a licensed abattoir. 

(4) The meat of any alligator legally harvested may be consumed by the 

alligator farmer and his immediate family but shall not be sold or 

transferred except as provided in these regulations. 

(B) An alligator farmer/dealer may sell, barter, exchange, give or loan any live 

alligators of at least 23 inches provided written approval is first obtained from the 

Commission for each transfer.  If sold, bartered, or exchanged in interstate 

commerce or foreign trade, the legal requirements of the state or country involved 

in the transaction must also be satisfied. 

(C) Any request for written approval to sell, barter, exchange give or loan any live 

alligators must be made in writing at least two weeks before the proposed 

transaction date, contain the name and address of the proposed buyer, reference the 

dealer’s permit number or other authority for possession and describe each alligator 

by length, belly size, and sex, if known.  

(D) A live alligator under 23 inches may be sold, loaned or donated to an accredited 

zoological park or to an Arkansas state or federal agency for educational use 

provided written approval is first obtained from the Commission.  The request for 

approval must be made in writing by both the alligator farmer/dealer and the 

educator, describe each alligator by length, belly size, and sex, if known, detail 

where each alligator will be housed and list the party responsible for the care and 

housing of each alligator. 

(E) The Commission shall not approve the transfer of live alligators or alligator eggs 

outside of their native range unless the alligator farmer/dealer obtains prior written 

approval from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. 

(F) Alligator meat lawfully acquired through production on a permitted alligator farm 

may be sold to wholesale food distributors, food and nonfood meat processors, 

restaurants and canneries, provided that: 

(1) Any alligator meat sold shall be packaged in cardboard cartons, and each 

carton shall be sealed with a label clearly stating that it contains alligator 

meat, the number of pounds of meat enclosed, the name of the seller and 

buyer, the tag number corresponding to the alligator hide from which the 

meat was taken, and the date of sale.  No more than 5 pounds of meat shall 

be included per carton and cartons shall be used only one time.  Failure to 

properly mark cartons of alligator meat or possession of alligator meat in 

cartons improperly marked shall be considered a violation. 

(2) Alligator farmers/dealers shall maintain detailed written records of all 

alligator meat sales.  These records shall be open to inspection by 

Commission personnel and shall include for each carton of meat sold the 

data indicated on the carton label as specified in (F)(1) above.  

(3) All alligator meat purchased by the type business listed above shall be 

retained in the original carton until the meat is prepared for consumption or 

processing.  All cartons containing alligator meat labeled in compliance 

with these regulations shall be shipped only within Arkansas or to those 

states allowing the sale of alligator meat. 

(4) Alligator farmers/dealers handling alligator meat for human consumption 

shall comply with the sanitation requirements of federal, state and local 

authorities. 
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(G) Alligator hides and other products, except meat, may be sold in compliance with 

the following: 

(1) Alligator farmers/dealers may sell the hides, feet, viscera or skeletal parts 

of alligators when all such sales are documented to show the kind and 

quantity of items sold and the name and address of each buyer who 

purchases for resale. Any packaged alligator parts must be sealed with a 

label that clearly states the hide tag number(s) of the alligator(s) from 

which the parts came, the names and addresses of the buyer and seller, the 

date of the sale, and the number and kind of parts included. 

(2) No person shall sell any hide or other product manufactured from a 

crocodilian species (other than an American alligator) that has been 

declared to be endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service without prior written approval from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service. 
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CHAPTER P1.00 

THREATENED AND ENDANGERED SPECIES LIST 

 

P1.01 Animals – 24 Listings 

 

* * * * *  
 

P1.01 ANIMALS -- 24 LISTING 

Status Species/Listing Name 

E  Bat, gray (Myotis grisescens) 

E  Bat, Indiana (Myotis sodalis) 

E  Bat, Ozark big-eared (Corynorhinus (=Plecotus) townsendii ingens) 

E  Beetle, American burying (Nicrophorus americanus) 

T  Cavefish, Ozark (Amblyopsis rosae) 

E  Crayfish, cave (Cambarus aculabrum) 

E  Crayfish, cave (Cambarus zophonastes) 

E  Curlew, Eskimo (Numenius borealis) 

T  Darter, leopard (Percina pantherina) 

T  Fatmucket, Arkansas (Lampsilis powellii) 

E  Mucket, pink (pearlymussel) (Lampsilis abrupta) 

E  Mussel, scaleshell (Leptodea leptodon) 

E  Panther, Florida (Puma (=Felis) concolor coryi) 

E  Pearlymussel, Curtis (Epioblasma florentina curtisii) 

E  Pocketbook, fat (Potamilus capax) 

E  Pocketbook, Ouachita rock (Arkansia wheeleri) 

E  Pocketbook, speckled (Lampsilis streckeri) 

T  Shagreen, Magazine Mountain (Mesodon magazinensis) 

T  Shiner, Arkansas River Arkansas R. Basin (Notropis girardi) 

E  Sturgeon, pallid (Scaphirhynchus albus) 

E  Tern, least interior pop. (Sterna antillarum) 

E  
Wolf, gray Lower 48 States, except where delisted and where EXPN. 

Mexico. (Canis lupus) 

E  Woodpecker, ivory-billed entire (Campephilus principalis) 

E  Woodpecker, red-cockaded (Picoides borealis) 
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CHAPTER Q1.00 

RESTITUTION VALUES FOR WILDLIFE SPECIES 

 

Q1.01 Restitution Values for Wildlife Species 

 

* * * * *  
 

Q1.01 RESTITUTION VALUES FOR WILDLFIE SPECIES 

SPECIES RANGE VALUE 

Alligator snapping turtle $100-250 $150 

American alligator $300-1,000 $500 

American coot $10-30 $15 

American woodcock $20-40 $30 

Amphibian $20-100 Varies 

Bachman’s warbler $1,000-5,000 $2,000 

Bald eagle $1,000-5,000 $2,000 

Bats, other $5-20 $5 

Beaver $5-25 $10 

Black Bear $250-750 $500 

Black duck $50-150 $100 

Black-tailed jackrabbit $75-150 $100 

Blue-winged teal $30-75 $40 

Bobcat $75-200 $150 

Bobwhite quail $30-75 $50 

Bufflehead $30-75 $40 

Canada goose $100-200 $150 

Canvasback $75-200 $100 

Common bird, others $25-75 $40 

Common snipe $20-40 $30 

Cottontail rabbit $10-30 $20 

Coyote $10-50 $20 

Crow $1-10 $3 

Eastern spotted skunk $10-40 $25 

Elk $750-2,500 $1,500 

Fox squirrel $10-30 $20 

Gadwall $20-50 $30 

Goldeneye $30-75 $40 

Gray bat $250-750 $300 

Gray fox $30-100 $50 

Gray squirrel $10-30 $20 

Green-winged teal $20-50 $30 

Hooded merganser $30-75 $50 

Indiana bat $250-750 $300 

Interior least tern $1,000-5,000 $2,000 

Ivory-billed woodpecker $1,000-5,000 $2,500 

Lesser scaup $20-50 $30 

Lizard $1-5 $1 

Long-tailed weasel $50-150 $75 

Mallard $30-75 $50 
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Mergansers, other $20-50 $30 

Mink $25-75 $40 

Moorhen/Purple gallinule $30-75 $50 

Mountain lion $1,000-5,000 $2,500 

Mourning dove $20-40 $30 

Muskrat $5-20 $8 

Nutria $5-20 $5 

Opossum $10-40 $20 

Ozark big-eared bat $250-750 $500 

Peregrine falcon $1,000-5,000 $2,500 

Pintail $30-75 $50 

Raccoon $25-75 $40 

Raptors $25-100 $50 

Rare bird, other $200-500 $250 

Red fox $75-150 $100 

Red-cockaded woodpecker $1,000-5,000 $2,000 

Redhead $30-75 $40 

Ringneck duck $20-50 $30 

Ringtail $75-150 $100 

River otter $100-250 $250 

Ruddy duck $10-30 $20 

Ruffed grouse $250-750 $350 

Shoveler $20-40 $20 

Small mammal, other $1-10 $3 

Snake $5-20 $10 

Snow goose $40-100 $50 

Stripped skunk $5-20 $5 

Swamp rabbit $50-150 $100 

Turtle, other $5-20 $15 

Uncommon bird, other $100-250 $100 

Virginia/Sora rail $20-50 $30 

White-fronted goose $40-100 $75 

Wigeon $30-75 $40 

Wild turkey $250-500 $350 

Woodchuck $20-50 $25  

Wood duck $30-75 $50 

 

For restitution values for fish and mussels refer to the “Investigation and Monetary Values 

of Fish and Freshwater Mussel Kills”, American Fisheries Society Special Publication 30 

and also the AGFC Fisheries Bureau. 
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CHAPTER R1.00 

POINTS FOR HUNTING AND FISHING VIOLATIONS 

 

R1.01 Points for Hunting and Fishing Violations 

 

* * * * *  
 

R1.01 POINTS FOR HUNTING AND FISHING VIOLOATIONS 

CODE 

NUMBER 
TYPE OF VIOLATION POINTS 

03.09 Counterfeiting License 18 

03.15 Special Guide License Requirements 18 

05.01 Hunting Wildlife in Closed Season – Big Game 30 

05.01 Hunting Wildlife in Closed Season – Small Game 12 

05.02 Night Hunting 30 

05.04 Selling Wildlife Restrictions ** 

 
**A conviction for violating this regulation may result in 

lifetime revocation of all hunting and/or fishing privileges. 
 

05.05 Hunting from Road Prohibited 18 

05.17 Alligator, Bear, Deer, and Turkey Tagging Requirements 12 

05.18 Big Game Checking Requirements 12 

05.27 Endangered Species 30 

05.33 Hunting or Fishing after Revocation of License Prohibited 30 

05.35 

Hunting, Fishing, Trapping, Releasing Hunting Dogs or 

Pursuing Wildlife with Dogs without Landowner/Lessee 

Permission Prohibited 

9 

05.36 Hunting/Fishing Endangerment Prohibited 12 

 

Assessment of additional points dependent upon severity of 

violation.  A conviction for violating this regulation may 

result in the assessment of additional violation points up to 

and including lifetime revocation of privileges when 

associated with the following occurrences: 

 

 With Property Damage 18 

 With Personal Injury 30 

 With Human Fatality Lifetime 

07.03 Hunting Bear Over Bait 9 

07.05 Hunting Wild Turkey Over Bait Prohibited 18 

08.02 Dogs Prohibited During Deer Season 12 

12.01 Taking of Alligators Prohibited 18 

13.01 Disturbing/Shooting Bears in Dens Prohibited 18 

14.04 Taking of Raptors Prohibited 18 

16.01 Legal Bull Elk Requirements 18 

16.02 Taking of Antlerless Elk Prohibited 18 

20.24(B) Feral Hog Restrictions on WMAs 30 

20.24(C) Releasing Feral Hogs – Restrictions on WMAs 30 

24.08 Guiding Prohibited on all AGFC-owned or controlled 

WMAs (Guides) 
18 
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CODE 

NUMBER 
TYPE OF VIOLATION POINTS 

24.08 Guiding Prohibited on all AGFC-owned or controlled 

WMAs  

(Guided Hunters) 

9 

26.01 Taking Fish with Electrical Devices, Firearms, Explosives, 

Toxic or Killing Substances 
30 

26.22 Sale of Game Fish 18 

29.03 Sale of Bull Frogs 18 

30.17 Resident Roe Taker/Seller Permit Requirements 18 

30.18 Resident Roe Buyer/Exporter and Non-Resident Roe 

Buyer/Exporter Permit Requirements 
18 

30.19 Roe Buyer/Exporter Reporting Requirements 18 

30.02 Commercial Fishing by Non-Resident Prohibited 18 

30.20 Paddlefish and Sturgeon Possession Restrictions on White 

River, Arkansas River and Border Waters 
18 

30.21 Cutting or Mutilations of Paddlefish and Sturgeon 

Prohibited 
30 

30.23 Paddlefish and Sturgeon Harvest Restrictions 18 

31.01 Mussel Shell Taker, Buyer and Seller License and 

Reporting Requirements 
18 

34.01 Aquatic Turtle Permit Requirements 18 

34.03 Aquatic Non-Resident Turtle Dealer Permit 18 

34.04 Commercial Aquatic Turtle Harvest Restrictions 9 

34.05 Aquatic Turtle Tackle Restrictions 9 

34.07 Aquatic Turtle Transaction and Reporting Requirements 9 

34.08 Possession of Sportfish by Aquatic Turtle Harvesters 

Prohibited 
9 

34.09 Take or Possession of Alligator Snapping Turtles 

Prohibited 
18 

34.10 Take of Chicken Turtles Prohibited 9 

34.11 Importation of Alligator Snapping Turtles and Chicken 

Turtles Prohibited 
18 

38.06 Commercial Fishing for Certain Fish Prohibited in Lower 

Ouachita River 
18 

All others All other violations 6 
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CHAPTER S1.00 

LIST OF CWD POSITIVE AREAS 

 

S1.01 List of CWD Positive Areas 

 

* * * * *  
 

S1.01 LIST OF CWD POSITIVE AREAS 

The following states and Canadian provinces are designated CWD positive:  Alberta, 

Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan*, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, 

New York, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, 

Saskatchewan and any other state or province where a positive case of CWD has been 

confirmed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture or Canadian Food Inspection 

Agency. 

*States and provinces where CWD has been found only in captive cervids. 
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