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Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission 
Effective:  April 1, 2002        
Dewayne Kimbrell, Assistant Director     FINAL RULE 
           

Act 317 of 1973                            
 
 REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE DISBURSEMENT OF 
               STATE FUNDS APPROPRIATED FOR THE PAYMENT OF PREMIUMS 
                        AND CONSTRUCTION AT FAIRS AND LIVESTOCK SHOWS 
 
 

It is the purpose of this regulation to provide rules, set goals, and provide incentives for 

the greatest uniform good of the fairs and livestock shows in Arkansas.  It is by this method of  

government providing goals, not solutions, that the best of the democratic free enterprise system 

is brought to reality.  Each participating fair association, through its knowledge of local abilities,  

attributes and assets, is able to freely provide its own unique solutions to these problems. 

 

I. APPLICATION FOR FUNDS  

A. Application forms prescribed and furnished by the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry  

Commission must be completed in full and contain all the information and submitted NO  

  LATER THAN MAY 30. 

 

B. Applications received by the Livestock and Poultry Commission will be reviewed by an  

advisory committee, as provided by Section 6, for approval or disapproval of any  

classification with decision being made on the basis of descriptive title of such 

classification. 

 

II.  LIVESTOCK SHOW AND FAIR ASSOCIATIONS SHALL BE CREDITED WITH  

  GRADE POINTS BASED ON THE FOLLOWING CRITERIA:  

A. Duration of Fair: 

1. Thirty (30) points for a three-day fair. 

2. Forty (40) points for a four-day fair. 

3. Fifty (50) points for a five-day fair. 

4. Sixty (60) points for a six-day fair or longer. 
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B. One (1) point for each exhibitor from that county who, during the same fiscal year, 

   enter an exhibit in both the Arkansas State Fair and their county and district fair. 

 

C. One (1) point for each One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) or greater part thereof that the  

county or district association provided for paying premiums in addition to state funds 

appropriated for that purpose during a fiscal year, accounted for by canceled checks. 

State premiums shall not be used to compute these points.  This claim shall be 

supported by canceled checks at the time of application.  Fairs will furnish a list of all 

animals sold in the premium sale, indicating weight and market value.  $25,000.00 

maximum allowable for points. 

 

D. Ten (10) points for publication of a fair catalog or commercially published tabloid.  

 

E. One hundred (100) points for verified attendance by at least one officer or  

representative of the county or district fair association at the Arkansas Fair Managers  

Association annual seminar.  One hundred (100) points for each additional 

member up to five (5) members. 

 

F. Three (3) points for each voting member of the local applicant county or district fair  

managers association present at at least four meetings during the year.  Twenty-seven 

(27) points maximum number to be awarded. 

 

G. Twenty (20) points if an admission fee (any amount) is charged or accepted for  

attendance to the fair.  Other objective methods of attendance verification would be  

   acceptable---subjective estimates not acceptable.  The Arkansas Livestock and Poultry 

Commission will be the final judge. 

 

H. Five (5) points if a statement appears in the published catalog that only purebred,  

pureblood (one purebred parent) livestock or animals equal to Breed Association  
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Herd Book quality are admitted.  (poultry and rabbits are excepted.) 

 

I. Five (5) points if numbered gate tickets with stubs are sold. 

 

J. Ten (10) points for a new exhibit never used at the applicant fair before.  Not just a  

change in title or new description of an already existing exhibit.  (Points awarded one  

time only.)  (Limit of 5) 

 

K. Ten (10 ) points for each percentage increment of county population attending the fair 

up  to 50%, 

Fifteen (15) points 50% to 75%, and 

Twenty (20) points 75% to a total of 100% 

 

L. One (1) point for each exhibitor, and one (1) point for each of the allowable classes  

entered in your fair.  Three Hundred (300) points maximum allowable for clothes line 

art exhibitors.  (See attached listing of allowable classes of exhibits.) 

 

M. No state premium shall be paid for baby shows, beauty contests, games of skill or  

gambling, horse or dog shows in which a human is judged in preference to a product 

or 

animal. 

 

N. Deduction of one hundred (100) points if fair does not publish the Livestock and  

Poultry Commission's Livestock Exhibition Regulations in catalog or tabloid and 

assist in the enforcement thereof.  Deduction of 200 points if any livestock are allowed 

to be exhibited without examination of health papers by a designated person and made  

available to Livestock and Poultry Commission personnel for approval. 

 

O. Deduction of one hundred (100) points for failure to file premium application along  

with canceled checks and listings by MAY 30 of each year.  If the application is not  
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received by the Commission within 30 days after May 30, the fair will not receive any 

state premium funds. 

 

P. Each county fair will receive 4 points for each first and second place winners in the  

food preservation division that show at their district fair.  Each district fair will receive 

   2 points for each 25 jars of food preservation entered at that level.  District fairs will  

receive 5 points for each blue ribbon winner entered at the state fair. 

 

Q. County fairs will receive 10 points for entering rabbits at their district fair.  District  

fairs will receive 5 points for each county entering rabbits at the district fair. 

 

R. County fairs that enter chickens at their district fair will receive 10 points. 

 

S. County fairs will receive 3 points for each head of livestock up to 25 head and 2 points  

for each for the next 25 head entering their district fair.  Each district fair will receive 

one point for each head of livestock up to 100 head and one point for each 25 head  

thereafter entered at the district fair.  Each district fair will receive 5 points for each of  

its respective counties that show junior livestock at the district fair. 

 

T. County and/or district fairs will receive one hundred and fifty (150) points if they 

appointed a delegate who attended the Arkansas Fair Managers Convention in  

January.  An additional one hundred and fifty (150) points will be awarded to that  

county and/or district if its delegate attended the meeting with the Board of the 

Arkansas Fair Managers and the General Session. 
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 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR RECEIVING FUNDS FOR PREMIUM AND  

 CONSTRUCTION PURPOSES 

 

1. Must have a long-term lease of at least 10 years with a rollover clause or own 

fairgrounds.  Must file a copy of lease or proof of ownership with the Livestock 

and Poultry Commission. 

 

2. Fair must take place during the months of July-October of each year unless it is a 

Junior District Fair.  All county fairs must be held prior to their district fair 

(effective in 1990). 

 

3. Fair must have a duration of at least 3 days. 

 

4. Fair must produce and circulate a catalog or tabloid. 

 

5. Fair must have a fair board, elected on a countywide basis as called and presided 

over by fair board election procedures (procedure is to be in the association's by-

laws), with officers consisting of president or chairman, vice-president or vice-

chairman, secretary and treasurer.  Fair board shall consist of no less than eight 

members.  District fairs must have a voting board member from each county in 

their district, elected by that county.  Copy of by-laws of each board must be filed 

with the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Commission. 

 

6. Fair must bear name of county, district, or state fair. 

 

7. Each fair must offer at least 10 approved classifications of exhibits.  One must be 

livestock, as offered in catalog or tabloid. 

 

8.  Must be able to document through point system that fair is continually improving 

and making progress or at least maintaining status quo. 
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9. Out-of-state junior exhibitors shall not be qualified to receive Arkansas state 

premium funds.  If counties allow exhibitors from other counties or districts, they 

will only be able to pay premiums from that association’s local funds or by 

approval of the Fair Administrator, unless that county does not have a fair.  When 

out-of-state junior exhibitors are allowed to show with Arkansas junior exhibitors, 

the Arkansas junior exhibitors shall be placed in an Arkansas class regardless of 

how they place in overall competition.  Arkansas junior exhibitors shall have 

priority over out-of-state junior exhibitors in entry or by barn space set aside for 

Arkansas exhibitors. 

 

10. Must file as a non-profit organization as recorded by the by-laws of the association 

or other documents furnished to the Commission. 

 

11. Accounting Records – Must establish and maintain proper internal controls to 

assure that all funds of the fair are properly receipted, recorded and disbursed 

with appropriate accounting records, reconciliations and source documents in 

support of transactions.  Must adhere to the following procedures: 

• Maintain reconciled bank statements containing all cancelled checks. 

• Maintain supportive invoices and contracts for all construction expenditures 

to be attached to cancelled checks.   

• Maintain transaction ledger that is reconciliable to bank statements, i.e. 

deposits and expenditures. 

• Maintain separate bank accounts for local operating funds, state premiums and 

state construction. 

• Accounting duties must be separated so that no one individual has complete 

control or authority over financial transactions 

• Two signatures required on construction fund checks over $100.  One 

signature required on premium checks. 

• Accurate method through numbered tickets to account for gate admission 

receipts and submission of 41/2% surcharge to the Livestock and Poultry 
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Commission.   Admission receipts must be documented through bank deposits 

reflecting such purpose. 

• Officials handling financial matters must be covered by fidelity bond. 

• File annual itemized listings of all premium and construction expenditures 

reflecting check numbers in sequence, payee, amount and premium 

classification or construction purpose. 

• All records must be maintained for a period of five (5) years.  Adhere to 

guidelines for the use of state premium and construction funds. (See attached) 

 

Issued in Hot Springs, Arkansas on February 21, 2002. 

 

 

        ____________________________ 

        Phil Wyrick, Executive Director 

        Ark. Livestock & Poultry Commission 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ATTACHMENT NO.  1 
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ALLOWABLE EXHIBIT CATEGORIES 

 
 

Beef Cattle-Senior   Handicraft or Crafts-Senior 

Beef Cattle-Junior   Handicraft or Crafts-Junior 

Dairy Cattle-Senior   Home Furnishings-Senior 

Dairy Cattle-Junior   Home Furnishings-Junior 

Swine-Senior    Art-Senior 

Swine Junior    Art-Junior (300 points maximum for clothes line art) 

Goats-Senior    Flowers-Senior 

Goats-Junior    Flowers-Junior 

Sheep-Senior    Floral Arrangements-Senior 

Sheep-Junior    Floral Arrangements-Junior 

Poultry-Senior    Educational Booths-Senior 

Poultry-Junior    Educational Booths-Junior 

Rabbits-Senior   Hobbies-Senior 

Rabbits-Junior    Hobbies-Junior 

Horses-Senior    Apiary-Senior 

Horses-Junior    Apiary-Junior 

Food Preservation-Senior  Aquaculture-Senior 

Food Preservation-Junior  Aquaculture-Junior 

Clothing-Senior 

Clothing-Junior 

Household Arts-Senior 

Household Arts-Junior 

Field Crops-Senior 

Field Crops-Junior 

Food Preparation-Senior 

Food Preparation-Junior 
ATTACHMENT 2 

GUIDELINES FOR STATE FUNDS 
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PREMIUM FUNDS: 
 
An “EXHIBITOR” is a person who enters a display or product in the fair.  Each unit is not considered an exhibitor, 
but a person may be counted as an exhibitor in each classification in which he/she has an entry. 
 
Funds disbursed by the Commission shall be used only for the purpose of paying awards on approved entry 
classifications.  The exhibitors must be residents of this state. 
 
Exhibitors shall be ineligible to receive funds from more than one (1) county association during any fiscal year. 
 
Funds cannot be disbursed to county, district, state, and 4-States fairs until an officer of the respective association 
has furnished a bond to the Commission for the amount of funds due. 
 
Each fair must complete check register from and forward to our office no later than 90 days after the conclusion of 
fair each year. 
 
State premium funds are not approved for such classifications as beauty contests, baby shows, antique shows, skills 
contests, purchased machinery such as cars and farm equipment or other noncreative categories which, in our 
opinion, would be nonproductive, including horse or dog shows in which a human is judged in preference to a 
product or animal.  This does not preclude fair associations from using their local funds for these purposes. 
 
State premium funds CANNOT be used in paying expenses for judges such as fees, travel, meals, etc. 
 
State premium funds CANNOT be used for construction purposes of any form nor can they be used for purchasing 
land for the association. 
 
State premium funds MAY be used in purchasing awards such as trophies and ribbons. 
 
Any unspent state balances remaining each fiscal year must be refunded to the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry 
Commission. 
 
CONSTRUCTION FUNDS: 
 
May be used on lands owned by the fair association or under a long-term lease for construction and repair of 
buildings and facilities, site clearing, grubbing, excavation, drainage, construction and repair of streets, electrical 
distribution, street and flood lighting facilities, fencing and paying existing indebtedness.  Paint used in painting 
buildings or facilities at the fairgrounds is an allowable expense.  See attached listing of allowable expenditures. 
 
Fair associations must file a bond with the Commission covering the amount of state funds due. 
 
Construction funds CANNOT be used for paying premiums at or for acquiring sites for county or district fairs. 
 
Construction funds are appropriated once each biennium (every 2 years) and are disbursed when released by the 
Governor. 
 
Any unspent balances remaining at the end of each biennium must be refunded to the Arkansas Livestock and 
Poultry Commission. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
ATTACHMENT NO.  3 
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ALLOWABLE CONSTRUCTION EXPENDITURES 
 

 
• Constructing new buildings 
• Renovating existing buildings 
• Repairing existing buildings 
• Site clearing, grubbing, excavation, drainage and sewer 
• Repair of streets, electrical distribution, streets and flood lighting facilities, 

fencing and paying existing indebtedness for such purposes 
• All improvements to grounds that remain on the fairgrounds under the control 

of the fair association 
• Labor used for the purposes listed 
• Painting facilities 
• Building materials 
• Parking lots 
• Arenas 
• Bleachers 
• Stalls 
• Water systems 
• Concession Stands 
• Ticket Booths 
• Pens 
• Bathrooms 
• Stages 
• Ground Maintenance 
 
Contact Livestock and Poultry Commission auditors or Commission office if 
unsure about expenditures. 
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