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1. To begin using the system, visit http://bcs.sos.arkansas.gov and create a FREE user account. You may also click 
the “Apply Online” link on the Secretary of State’s Notary Public webpage at http://sos.arkansas.gov/bcs/. 

 

 
- When the log-in account has been successfully created, you will receive a confirmation email and will then be 

able to log into the system. 
 

http://bcs.sos.arkansas.gov/
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New Applicants 

1.) Obtain a surety bond – you MUST have a surety bond before you can proceed with the application 
renewal process. Contact any insurance provider to obtain a surety bond in the amount of $7,500. 

2.) Select the “notary” drop down box to select the type of application 
i. NEW Applicants will select “Notary Public Registration” 

 
 

ii. Instruction Screen will come up – Review before clicking “Continue”  
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iii. Required Exam 
1. A 25 question, multiple choice exam is now required in order to access the notary public 

application.  
2. You must answer at least 20/25 questions correctly or the system will not let you 

proceed. All answers may be found in the Arkansas Notary Public Handbook which is 
located on the Secretary of State’s Notary Public webpage.  

 

 
 
 
 

iv. Application Screen is next  
1. The applicant needs to complete all required fields. If something is not correct, such as 

names and/or counties not matching, the system will not let you proceed to the next 
screen and will give you an error message concerning each issue.  

2. Certain fields, such as email addresses and phone numbers are not required.  
a. Listing your email address will ensure you receive email updates concerning 

changes to notary laws and procedures.  
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v. The applicant will then PRINT the application and have it properly NOTARIZED.  

Mail 
- The original, notarized application to the Arkansas Secretary of State 
- Copy of the surety bond – do not send the original, please only send a photocopy. 
- $20 application fee in the form of a check or money order 

 
Submit In Person 

- You may also submit the above documents in person at the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Business and 
Commercial Services Division located at 1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250, Little Rock, AR 72201.  
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Renewals 
1.) Customer will create a FREE user account and log into the system. 
2.) From the “notary” drop down box, select “Notary Public Renewal” 

a. You can renew even if you’re expired 

 
3.) The same instruction screen as the new application will come up, click continue. 
4.) An exam is also required for anybody who is renewing an existing commission.  

 
 
 
 
 
 

5.) The applicant will then SEARCH for their current notary commission record and select the correct one: 
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If the record is not eligible for renewal, the system will give an alert: 
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6.) If the record is eligible for renewal, the current commission information will be generated, but all is editable: 

 
7.) Complete the renewal application with the applicant’s current information. If your name or address has changed 

since you last updated your notary public record, you can make any necessary changes in this screen.  
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Mail 

- The original, notarized application to the Arkansas Secretary of State 
- Copy of the surety bond – do not send the original, please only send a photocopy. 
- $20 application fee in the form of a check or money order 

 
Submit In Person 

- You may also submit the above documents in person at the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Business and 
Commercial Services Division located at 1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250, Little Rock, AR 72201.  
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Amendments/ Change of Information 

1.) The customer will create a FREE user account and log into the system. 
2.) From the “notary” drop down box, the customer will select “Notary Public Amendment” 

 
3.) An instruction screen will come up, click continue.  
4.) The customer will then SEARCH for the notary record they wish to amend – only “Good Standing” records are 

eligible for amendment. 
If a record is not eligible for amendment, an alert will appear: 

 
5.) If the record is eligible for amendment, certain data fields will be editable. 

a. Bonding agent, commission number, and commission dates are NOT editable fields. 

NOTARY PUBLIC CHANGE OF 

INFORMATION 
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6.) To change a notary’s name, the notary must correctly type their NEW name into both name fields – the fields 

labeled “Name On Application” and “Name on Bond.” While the 2nd line says “Name on Bond,” it’s really just a 
blind name entry field and is not the name as printed on the bond.  

a. If these names DO NOT match, the system will not let the customer proceed. 
7.) To change an address, the applicant must type their old address as well as the address they wish to assign as 

their new commission address. 
a. If they change counties, the applicant MUST update the county in the “Commission Information” section 

as well as in the “New Residential Address” section.   
8.) The applicant will print and sign the application.  

a. They will submit only the application if this is ONLY an address change. 
b. If it’s a name change, the applicant must also submit a certified copy of the legal document concerning 

the name change. 
 

Mail 
- The original application to the Secretary of State’s Office 
- Certified copies of supporting documents for name changes – marriage license, divorce decree, legal name 

change, etc.  
o A certified copy must be obtain from the county with whom the original document is filed. It will need to 

have an original seal of the county. A plain photocopy is not acceptable for a name change. 
  

Submit In Person 
- You may also submit the above documents in person at the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Business and 

Commercial Services Division located at 1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250, Little Rock, AR 72201.  
 


