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What is a Notary Public? 
A notary public acts as an official and unbiased witness to the identity of a person who 
appears before the notary. This person may be taking an oath, giving written testimony, or 
acknowledging his/her signature on a legal document. 

Identity is critical. The notary must be certain that the person appearing before him/her is who 
that person claims to be. Personal appearance before the notary is required. A notary cannot 
notarize a document by video or remotely. 

A notary public cannot notarize his/her own signature, or a document to which the notary is 
party, or a document from which the notary would gain direct or indirect financial benefit. 

A notary is authorized by law to perform certain notarial acts. Each notarial act has legal 
significance and affects the legal rights of others. Statutes referred to in this booklet may be 
viewed at www.arkleg.state.ar.us under the “Arkansas Code” tab. 

Application and Renewal Process
Qualification

Under Arkansas law, a notary public is appointed and commissioned by the Secretary of State. 
Each applicant must complete an application stating: 

1. The applicant is a legal resident of Arkansas, or a legal resident of an adjoining state and 
employed or operating a business in Arkansas, or a nonresident spouse of a United States 
military service member employed or operating a business in Arkansas. 

2. The applicant is a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien. (Include a copy of a 
recorded Declaration of Domicile.) 

3. The applicant is at least eighteen (18) years old. 
4. The applicant is able to read and write English. 
5. A prior notary commission has not been revoked in the past ten (10) years. 
6. The applicant has not been convicted of a felony. 
7. The applicant’s residential address, or if the applicant lives in an adjoining state, or a 

nonresident spouse of a United States military service member, employed or operating a 
business in Arkansas, list both the business and residential address. 

8.  The applicant has reviewed the law concerning notaries public and understands the duties of 
a notary public. 

http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/
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Applying to be a Notary Public 

Please refer to the Notary System User Guide on our website for more details. 

Step 1: Obtain Surety Bond 

• A surety bond in the amount of $7,500 is required.

• You must purchase either a surety bond executed by a surety insurer authorized to do
business in the state of Arkansas or a surety contract from a general business Arkansas
corporation which has registered with the Arkansas Insurance Department and
otherwise complied with all requirements under Arkansas law.

• List your name on your surety bond as you want it to appear on your official seal of office
o Note: Use a name you are comfortable with; if you don’t commonly sign your

middle name or middle initial, don’t put it on your bond application.

Step 2: Online Notary Account 

• Create your free account at http://bcs.sos.arkansas.gov.

o Click on “Login” on the upper right hand corner.

o Click on “Create an online account” and follow the password creation rules.

o You will need to create a new account even if you already have an online account
created prior to 01/25/2024.

o If you are renewing a notary commission that is either expired or within 60 days of
expiration see later pages for Renewing Your Notary. 

Step 3: Complete Exam 

• A multiple choice exam is required for all notary applicants. Use the link provided in your
online application to access the exam.

• A minimum score of 80% is passing.

• In addition to this handbook, study resources such as Frequently Asked
Questions (FAQs), Apostille & Certification brochure, and free online notary
training are available on our website.

http://bcs.sos.arkansas.gov/
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Step 4: Complete the Secretary of State Application 
You must complete all the required information at this time. 

• Electronically sign your name on the application exactly as it is printed and signed on
your surety bond.

• You must upload a copy of your Surety Bond and the Notary Exam Certificate.

• Your residential address must be listed to establish eligibility.

• If you are an Arkansas resident, your county of commission is the county where
you reside.

• If you live in an adjoining state that borders Arkansas, you must list your residential
address in the other state AND your employer’s street address in Arkansas to
establish eligibility.

• If you are a nonresident spouse of a United States military service member, employed or
operating a business in Arkansas, you must list your residential address AND your
employer’s or business’s street address in Arkansas to establish eligibility. If you are a
resident of the state of Arkansas, you need only provide your residential address.

• Email addresses are requested, but not required.

Step 5: Submit your Application 

• You will pay online with a credit or debit card. A convenience fee will be charged and
reflected on your receipt.
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• If you are a nonresident spouse of a United States military service member employed or
operating a business in Arkansas, you will need to include the following in addition to
the above mentioned items:

o  One (1) copy of a United States Department of Defense DD Form 1173 or a United
States Department of Defense DD Form 1173-1, otherwise known as a Uniformed
Services Identification and Privilege Card.

• If an email address was provided on the application, you will receive a notification when
your application has been accepted and processed.

Step 6: Oath of Commission Certificate 

• If your application is approved, you will be issued two (2) Oath
of Commission Certificates. These will be mailed to you. If you
filed online, this will be available in the online portal.

• Review the Oath of Commission Certificates for accuracy:

o Name spelled correctly;

o Proper county of commission;
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Note: Contact the Secretary of State’s Office immediately if any of the printed information 
is incorrect. 

Step 7: County’s recorder of deeds 

• Take both Oath of Commission Certificates and your surety bond to the recorder of
deeds in your county of commission. In most cases, it is the circuit clerk and
occasionally it may be the county clerk.

• The notary applicant will sign both Oath of Commission Certificates in the presence
of the clerk, officially swearing and affirming that you will faithfully perform your duties
as a notary public. The clerk will also sign all certificates.

• The circuit clerk will file your Oath of Commission Certificate and your original bond in
his or her office, affix their file mark, and may return either or both to you.

• There will be a separate fee paid to the county for this filing.

Step 8: Secretary of State 

• Return one (1) of the original completed Oath of Commission Certificates with the
circuit clerk’s file mark, by mail or in person, as soon as possible. Your commission is
not valid until you file the completed Oath of Commission Certificate with both the
county recorder of deeds and the Secretary of State.

• Your county may offer to send the certificate in for you. It is still your responsibility to
ensure it has been filed with the Secretary of State’s Office in a timely manner.

• After you return one (1) of the completed Oath of Commission Certificates, you will
receive your Certificate of Commission.

Step 9: Seal of Office 

• After you receive your Certificate of Commission, you may purchase
your official seal of office. (See page 7 for notary seal requirements.)

• You will purchase your stamp from the company of your choosing. The
Secretary of State’s Office does not make or issue stamps.

Note: Many stamp makers will want to see a completed Certificate of Commission 
before issuing the seal of office. 
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Renewing Your Notary  

A notary’s commission is for a term of ten (10) years. If you are a notary that is seeking to renew 
your commission or have an expired notary commission, you should file an amendment  to 
renew your through your online notary account. See detailed instructions in our Notary System 
User Guide. A new bond will need to be secured and submitted with the amendment and 
application fee. You will also need to pass the notary exam.  

Changes in Personal Information 

If a notary changes his or her name or address that is on file with the Secretary of State, the 
notary must file an amendment within thirty (30) days of the change.  

Name Change  

At this time, the Name Change cannot be filed in the online portal. The Notary will need to print out the Change 
of Information form that is on our website. Along with the amendment form, the notary will need to submit (by 
mail) a certified copy of a marriage license, divorce decree, or court document concerning a legal 
name change. A certified copy will include an official seal of the county, many times this is a 
raised or embossed seal, and will have an original signature of the authorizing county official. A 
plain photocopy of the legal document is not sufficient. The Secretary of State’s Office will issue 
a document reflecting the change in the notary’s name. 

The notary must purchase a new seal of office.  

Change of address 

If the change of residential address occurs within the same county that the notary is 
commissioned, the amendment form can be filed in the online portal. 

Notaries who move from one county to another within Arkansas must have their 
commission transferred to the new county of residence through the circuit clerk.  See detailed 
instructions in our user guide.  

The notary must purchase a new seal of office that reflects the new county.  
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Arkansas notaries who live out of state 

Arkansas notaries who live out of state but have a notary commission based upon their 
employer’s information must submit a change of personal information form and have their 
commission transferred to the new county of employment in Arkansas. An Arkansas notary 
commission for an out of state resident is only valid as long as they maintain employment in 
Arkansas or, if a nonresident spouse of a United States military service member, maintain 
employment or operate a business in Arkansas. 

Notary Supplies 
Seal of office 

Each notary public must have a seal of office, which can be either a rubber stamp or a metal 
embosser. The seal MUST be in blue or black ink and include the following information: 

• The notary public’s official name as written in his/her official signature
• The notary’s county of commission – the county where his/her bond is filed
• The words “Notary Public” and “Arkansas”
• Notary public’s commission expiration date
• Notary public’s commission number

The seal of office may NOT include: 
• Great Seal of the State of Arkansas
• Outline of the State of Arkansas

The notary seal must be clear, legible, and capable of photographic reproduction. When using an 
embosser, you must use blue or black ink with the embosser to ensure it can be photocopied. 
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When notarizing a document, the notary public must sign his or her official signature, as on file 
with the Secretary of State’s Office, on every notary certificate, in blue or black ink, and affix his 
or her seal under or near his or her signature in blue or black ink. 

When a notary obtains a new seal of office due to a change in personal information, or if a notary 
resigns a commission before its expiration date, the notary should immediately destroy the 
previous seal of office. 

An employer may pay for an employee’s notary commission, seal and bond, but the employer 
may not “revoke” the commission, even if the notary leaves employment. The notary commission 
is issued to the individual and remains valid until its expiration date or until resigned by that 
individual. This includes the bond, seal of office, and any supporting documents. 

Facsimile signature 

The notary may use a facsimile signature and seal, such as a stamp or engraved reproduction, 
in blue or black ink, in lieu of the manual signature and rubber or embossed seal on 
commercial documents, except on deeds or other documents for conveying real estate. If a 
facsimile signature or seal is to be used, the notary must first file with the Secretary of State’s 
office his or her manual signature, a description of the type of commercial documents to be 
notarized, and the name, manual signature, and written consent of any other persons signing 
the commercial documents. 

Notary register or journal 

A register or journal offers an excellent way of recalling past notarial acts. If a notary is called 
upon to testify in court, a register or journal may help establish what actually took place. The 
notary’s records and official papers are admissible as evidence in all Arkansas courts. The law 
does not require a notary to keep any record of his or her official acts, but it is recommended that 
each notary keep a register or journal. 

Suggested Format: 

1. Date of notarial act 
2. Type of act performed 
3. Type of document involved 
4. Name and address of each person whose signature was notarized 
5. Signature of each person whose signature was notarized 
6. A “notes” section of personal annotations 
7. Itemized list of fees collected 
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Powers and Duties 

Under Arkansas law, a notary has the power to perform the following basic notarial acts: 

1. Swearing witnesses 
2. Taking affidavits 
3. Administer oaths 
4.  Taking depositions under Rule 28 of the Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure and Rule 28 of 

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 
5. Taking acknowledgments of deeds and other instruments in writing and authorized by 

law to be acknowledged 
A notary’s jurisdiction extends to any part of the state of Arkansas during his or her 10-year term 
and is not limited to the notary’s county of commission. However, Arkansas notaries may not 
notarize documents in another state under their Arkansas seal of office. 

Identification 

The notary’s greatest responsibility is to be certain of the identity of each person whose 
signature he or she will notarize. It is advised to require some form of photographic identification, 
unless the notary personally recognizes the person whose signature is to be notarized. 

Nothing is specified in Arkansas law concerning “acceptable” identification. However, it is 
your responsibility to ensure that the identification presented to you satisfactorily proves the 
identity of the person appearing before you at the time of notarization. A government issued 
identification card that includes the signer’s picture and signature is recommended. 

Notarial Acts 
Oaths 
An oath is a formal statement by which a person appearing before a notary swears (or affirms): 

1. That the statement or group of statements is the truth; or 
2. That the testimony he or she will give will be the truth; or 
3. That he or she will faithfully perform the duties of a corporate office. 
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Sample oath to administer to corporate officials: 

State of Arkansas 

County of   
“I,   , hereby enter into the position of   on behalf of 
  corporation. I affirm that I will fulfill these duties to the best of my ability and 
perform in accordance with the law and in the best interest of the corporation.” 

 

Signature of Person Taking the Oath  
[Seal of Office] 

 
 

Signature of Notary 

Acknowledgments 
An acknowledgment is a formal statement by a person that a document is his or her own act. 
The act of the notary who takes an acknowledgment is called an acknowledgment statement. A 
proper certificate of acknowledgment should include a statement of the date for which his or her 
commission expires. 

Suggested Form for Acknowledgment: 

State of Arkansas 

County of   

On this the  day of  , 20 , before me, (name of notary), the undersigned 
notary, personally appeared (name(s) of signer(s)) known to me (or satisfactorily proven) to be 
the person whose name(s) is/are subscribed to the within instrument and acknowledged that 
he/she/they executed the same for the purposes therein contained. 

In witness whereof I hereunto set my hand and official seal. 
 

 
 

Signature of Notary Public 

 
My Commission expires:  

[Seal of Office] 
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Affidavits 

An affidavit is simply a sworn, written statement of facts to which some person (the “Affiant”) 
swears or affirms before an officer authorized to administer oaths. It must clearly state the name 
of the person swearing (or affirming) that the statements are true and complete. The notary 
witnesses the signature and identity of the affiant. 

Suggested Form for Affidavits: 

I,   (Name of Affiant) being duly sworn, depose and say as 
follows: 

1. Written statement. 

2. Written statement. 

3. Written statement. 

Signature of Affiant 

State of Arkansas 

County of   

Acknowledged before me, this   day of   ,   . 

 

Signature of Notary Public 

My commission expires:  [Seal of Office] 

Depositions 

Arkansas court rules require all depositions to be attested by a certified court reporter. If this is 
not done, the deposition will not be accepted by Arkansas courts. Notaries who are not court 
reporters should not accept depositions as an act of their notarial office. 

A deposition is a form of oral testimony, transcribed for use in legal proceedings. A notary may 
have two functions in connection with depositions. First, the notary may be asked to take the 
witness’ oath to tell the truth. Second, after the deposition has been transcribed, the notary may 
be asked to certify that the written transcript is a complete and accurate record of what was 
said at the deposition. 
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Photocopies 

A notary may certify a photocopy as being a true and perfect copy of the original document, 
provided the document is not a vital record or a public record. 

Examples of Vital Records: 

• Birth certificates 

• Death certificates 

Examples of Public Records: 

• Marriage license 

• Divorce decree 

• Court order 

A notary may NOT certify a photocopy of any vital or public record or documents issued 
by the US Department of State or Immigration.  A notary may certify copies of passports 
and drivers licenses.  

The notary must supervise the photocopying, or make the copy him or herself. The 
notary may keep a copy for his or her records to later ascertain that the certified 
document has not been altered. 

 

Sample wording for certifying photocopies: 

State of Arkansas 
County of   

“I,  [Name of Notary], certify this is a true and perfect copy of the original document 
[insert type of document] presented to me on this   day of   , 20   . 

 
 

Notary’s Signature 

My commission expires:   [Seal of Office]
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Using a Mark to Sign 

If the signer of the document uses a mark instead of a signature, the mark is considered legal on a 
notarized document when: 

• The mark is made in the presence of the notary 
• The mark is witnessed by at least one (1) disinterested person 
• The notary public writes below the signature done by mark: 

“Mark affixed by (name of signer by mark) in the presence of (name(s) of witnesses)” 

Physically Unable to Sign 

If the person who is supposed to sign the document cannot physically sign or make a mark on a 
document to be notarized, a disinterested third party may sign the name of the original signer if: 

• The original signer directs the disinterested third party to sign the name of the principal 
in the presence of two (2) disinterested witnesses and the notary 

• Each disinterested witness signs his or her name beside the signature in the presence of 
the notary 

• The notary public writes below the signature: 

“Signature affixed by (name of third party) at the direction and in the 
presence of (name of principal unable to sign or make a mark) and also in the 
presence of (names of two witnesses) 

• The notary public properly notarizes the completed notarial certificate 

 

Proper Notarization Procedures 

Before Notarizing A Document 

Before a notary begins the process of notarizing the document, the notary needs to be conscious 
of the situation. In addition to verifying the identity of the signer(s), the notary needs to check 
that the signer(s): 

1. Understand the nature of the document they are about to sign 
2. Appear to be acting of their own free will 
3. Use letter or characters that are understood by both the signer(s) and notary 
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4.  Communicate directly with the notary in a language understood by both the 
client(s) and notary 

 
Complete Notarial Certificate 

The notarial certificate is the part of the document that the notary public completes. This is 
typically found at the conclusion of the document and appears under the signature lines for the 
signer(s) of the document. This is often referred to as the Acknowledgment Statement. 

In order for a notarial certificate to be considered complete, it must include the 
following information: 

1. The official signature of the notary public as on file with the Secretary of 
State’s Office 

2. The seal of the notary public in compliance with Arkansas notary law 

3. The venue or location of the notarial act. This is where the notary and document 
signer(s) were physically located at the time of notarization. This county is not 
dependent on the notary’s county of commission and often may be a county 
different than the notary’s county of commission. 

Example: 

State of Arkansas 

County of [Where You’re Witnessing The Signature] 

4. The date of the notarial act 

Mistakes with the Acknowledgment Statement 

In an Acknowledgment Statement, a notary is verifying who is signing the document and when 
and where the signing takes place. When completing an Acknowledgment Statement, you as the 
notary public must witness the signature. 

The rest of the certificate states your credentials as a notary public, including your county 
of commission, your commission expiration date, your official notary signature, and your 
seal of office. 
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Example: 

Signature you personally witness 

Printed name of signature 

State of Arkansas 

County of  

On this the   day of   , 20   , before me, (name of notary), the 
undersigned notary, personally appeared (name(s) of signer(s)) known to me (or satisfactorily 
proven) to be the person whose name(s) is/are subscribed to the within instrument and 
acknowledged that he/she/they executed the same for the purposes therein contained. 

In witness whereof I hereunto set my hand and official seal. 

Signature of Notary Public  Jane Doe 
[Seal of Office] 

My commission expires (Print Commission Expiration Date)  

Incomplete Notarial Certificates 

It is imperative that a notary public do their job properly and this includes following the 
law. Not properly completing the notarial certificate can cause harm to the signer(s) of the 
document. The following instances would render a notarial certificate incomplete: 

1. The information included within the notarial certificate is known or believed by the
notary to be false

2. The notary places their signature or seal on a notarial certificate that is incomplete

3. The official signature and/or seal of the notary is placed on the document at a time other
than when the document is signed by the client in the physical presence of the
notary public (or as provided for Electronic Notarizations)

4. A notary places their seal and/or signature on a document before it is signed by the client(s)
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The notary’s signature and stamp are the finishing touches, not the complete notarization. There 
will always need to be a certificate of acknowledgment that explains what happened at the time 
of notarization: when, where, and who. 

Correct: 
State of Arkansas 
County of  
Subscribed and sworn to 
before me on this   day of , 
20 . 

Jane Doe 
Signature of Notary Public 
[APPLICATION OF SEAL] 

Incorrect: 

Jane Doe 
Signature of Notary Public 
[APPLICATION OF SEAL] 

It is not required that the certificate contain the printed name of the signer, but it is advised, 
especially if multiple people are required to sign the same document. 

When the notarial certificate includes the name of the signer, you, as the notary, are verifying that 
this person personally appeared before you at the time of notarization. 
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Example: 

Signature of signer #1 Signature of signer #2 

State of Arkansas 

County of  

Subscribed and sworn to before me on this   day of , 20  by 
(name of signer #1) and (name of signer #2). 

Signature of Notary Public Jane Doe 

My commission expires: 
(Print Commission Expiration Date) 

[Seal of Office] 

If multiple people must sign the same document, but cannot both appear before the same notary 
at the same time, each person who signs the document will need a separate acknowledgment 
certificate, with identical wording, for the notary who witnesses their individual signatures. 

Note: Any information in the notary’s certificate should be completed by the notary before 
the certificate is signed and sealed by the notary. This prevents somebody from inserting 
false material into the certificate after it has left the notary’s possession. 

Notario Publico 

In 2005, the Arkansas General Assembly enacted legislation regarding notaries who advertise as 
“notario,” “notario publico,” or other similar terms. (See A.C.A. § 4-109-101 et seq.) Those notaries 
are required to include in the advertisement the following notice in both English and Spanish: 

“I am not a licensed attorney and cannot engage in the practice of law. I am not a representative 
of any governmental agency with authority over immigration or citizenship and I cannot offer 
legal advice or other assistance regarding immigration.” 
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Notarial Acts for a Corporation: 

A corporate employee may notarize documents to which his/her employer is a party, as long as 
he/she is not personally involved or acting as a representative of the corporation. 
However, if the notary is personally involved or acting as a representative of a corporation 
which is a party to the document, the notary may not perform any notarial acts concerning 
that document. 

Fees 

Arkansas notaries are not required to charge for their services. If a notary does charge, the 
amount must be reasonable and disclosed to and agreed upon by both the client(s) and the 
notary prior to the notarial act taking place. (See A.C.A. § 21-6-309) 

Penalty/Revocation 

A notary public violating Arkansas law in respect to witnessing signatures shall be guilty of 
a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 or up to one (1) year in jail. In 
addition, his or her commission shall be revoked and he or she cannot be recommissioned for 
ten (10) years. 

The Secretary of State’s Office may investigate possible violations upon a signed complaint from 
any person (See. A.C.A. § 21-14-112). Any complaint regarding a notary must be made in writing to 
the Secretary of State at the below address. A copy of the document containing the notarization 
in question should be included with the written complaint. Completion of a complaint form 
provided the Secretary of State is the best method for filing a complaint. 

Arkansas Secretary of State Legal Division 
State Capitol, Suite 256 
500 Woodlane Street 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094 

The Secretary of State does not have the authority to investigate criminal matters such as 
forgery or fraud. Those who wish to proceed with investigating criminal violations by a notary 
should contact their own attorney, local law enforcement, or the local prosecuting attorney to 
pursue the matter through the judicial system. 



Electronic 
Notarizations 
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Electronic Notarizations 
What is an electronic notary public? 

An eNotary is a Notary Public who notarizes documents electronically via the use of a digital 
signature and digital notary seal to notarize digital documents and validate with a digital 
certificate. This can be done in-person or remotely (also known as remote online notarization or 
RON) using an approved RON solution provider. 

What is electronic notarization? 

This refers to notarizing a document by means of an electronic signature — using an electronic 
process to “sign” an electronic document. Approved RON technology also includes secure video 
capabilities, identity proofing, credential analysis tools, and a recording of the notarial act. 

How is this done in Arkansas? 

Any Arkansas notary public in good standing is eligible to apply for an electronic notary commission. 
The application will be done through an online amendment.  

All applicants for an electronic notary commission must complete eNotary specific training 
through the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Office and pass a required exam. 

You will find a list of approved solution providers on the Secretary of State’s website. Some 
providers offer both eNotary and RON solutions. After you have received your certificate 
of electronic commission from the Secretary of State’s Office, you may apply to the solution 
provider of your choice. 

Each solution provider will have individual requirements and procedures. When you have 
registered with a solution provider, they will provide your electronic signature and seal. RON 
solutions include additional capabilities. 

Term and Renewal 

The commission for electronic notarization runs concurrently with the traditional commission, 
expiring on the same date. The date the electronic notary applicant successfully passes the 
required exam is the date upon which their electronic notary commission will begin. The term 
of the electronic notary commission shall not extend past the expiration date of the surety bond 
for the traditional notary public commission. Renewal of an electronic commission follows the 
same process as the amendment application:  
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1. You must be a notary in good standing and apply to the Secretary of State’s Office
through an online amendment,

2. Complete online training and an exam. This link can be found on our website.

3. Upload the training certificate by filing the eNotary Training Amendment.

4. Select an electronic notary solution provider(s) from the list of approved providers.

Refresher training required 

Electronic notaries must complete training through the Secretary of State’s Office every two 
years to remain current on requirements, best practices, and protocols. Your solution provider 
is aware of these requirements, and the Secretary of State’s Office will certify completion of 
training to the solution provider. 

One month prior to that two-year training date, you may receive notification that you must complete refresher 
training through the Secretary of State’s Office. If the training is not completed by the due date, the solution provider 
will suspend the notary’s access to the electronic system. The suspension will remain in effect until the notary has 
completed the training and a new enotary application amendment 

The notary’s journal 

You are encouraged to maintain a notarial journal. Some solution providers include features that 
automatically create a journal entry as you complete the notarial certificate; others have optional 
journaling. Remember that your notary journal is admissible as evidence in Arkansas courts and 
can be valuable protection for you. 

Notarization fees 

Electronic Notaries are not required to charge for their services. If a fee is charged, it must be 
reasonable and agreed upon by both the notary and the document signer(s) prior to the notarial 
act taking place. 

What is the process for electronic notarization? 

This will depend on the solution provider you choose. Some offer signature pads. Others are 
done by keyboard. Some solutions are restricted to computers, while others work across 
operating systems and platforms, so you can use your mobile device. RON solutions have 
secure audio/video, recording capabilities and tools to assist with identity verification as part of 
their solution. 
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Physical Proximity 

The eNotary must use an approved eNotary solution provider and the eNotary and signers must 
be in the same physical location at the time the document is electronically signed and notarized. 
An eNotary that utilizes approved remote online notarization (RON) solution providers must 
be in Arkansas but do not have to be in the physical presence of the signer(s). 

An electronic notary public that does not use approved RON technology shall not perform an 
electronic notarial act if the document signer(s) do not appear in person before the electronic 
notary at the time of notarization. 

Notarial Certificate is required 

Standard notary practices still apply to electronic notarizations. Simply adding an electronic 
signature to a document is not a notarization. The document must include a section stating 
what you are doing: a certificate of affidavit, etc. Your solution provider may have options 
including prepared certificates to add to a document for signing. Please review pages 13-17 of this 
handbook for more information. 

Verification of identity is required 

You are also still required to verify the signer’s identity. 
The electronic notary public shall not under any circumstances base identification merely 
upon familiarity with the electronic signature of the signer or an electronic verification process 
that authenticates the electronic signature of the signer when the signer is not in the physical 
presence of the electronic notary public. RON solution providers use identity proofing and 
credential analysis tools to assist in verifying identity. 

Change of Information 

Specific personal information is filed with the Secretary of State’s Office when you are 
commissioned as an enotary, including your name, county of commission, physical residential 
address and, if you’re an out-of-state notary, your physical work address. If any of that 
information changes, you are required to notify the Secretary of State’s Office within thirty 
days of the change. The amendment to the notary’s record is done through a web portal on the 
Secretary of State’s Business and Commercial Services website at http://bcs.sos.arkansas.gov. 

When you apply for an electronic commission, you must provide your primary and a secondary 
e-mail address. If either e-mail address changes, you must notify the Secretary of State’s office
within thirty days of that change.

http://bcs.sos.arkansas.gov/


23 

Various solution providers will have individual requirements for updating personal information. 
You must complete the requirements of your solution provider as well as notifying the Secretary 
of State’s Office of any changes of personal information. 

Denial or revocation of electronic commission 

The liability, sanctions, and remedies for the improper performance of electronic notarial 
acts are the same under law for the improper performance of a regular notarial act. Your 
electronic commission is contingent upon your being a notary in good standing. If your 
traditional paper commission is revoked for any reason, your electronic commission will be 
simultaneously revoked. 

The procedures for investigation and revocation of an electronic commission are identical to the 
procedures of a traditional paper commission. 

If a notary’s commission is revoked, the electronic notary may be required by law enforcement or 
the courts to disclose access information used to affix their electronic seal and/or signature. 

If a notary’s commission is revoked, the Secretary of State’s Office will notify the solution 
provider, and the solution provider will revoke the notary’s access to the electronic system. 

If a notary’s commission is revoked, the notary may apply for a new commission after ten (10) 
years have passed since the revocation. 

Glossary of Electronic Notary Terms 
Applicant: A person applying to register as an Arkansas Electronic Notary Public. 

Communication technology: an electronic device or process that allows an online notary public 
and remotely located individual to communicate with each other simultaneously by sight and sound. 

Credential analysis: a process or service operating according to criteria approved by the 
Secretary of State through which a third person affirms the validity of a government-issued 
identification credential through review of public and proprietary date sources. 

Credible witness: an individual appearing before an online notary public by means of 
communication technology who identifies the principal and is personally known to the online 
notary public or can be identified by the online notary public on the basis of remote presentation 
by the individual of a government-issued identification credential. 

Electronic: Relating to technology having electrical, digital, magnetic, wireless, optical, 
electromagnetic, or similar capabilities. 

Electronic Document: Information that is created, generated, sent, communicated, received or 
stored by electronic means. 
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Electronic Notarial Act: An official act by a notary public performed with respect to an 
electronic document and using electronic means authorized by the Secretary of State. 

Electronic Notarial Certificate: The portion of a notarized document that is completed by 
the notary public and bears the signature and official seal, official title, commission number, 
expiration date and all other information required in the notarial certificate of a traditionally 
notarized document. 

Electronic Notary: A notary public in Arkansas who has registered with the Arkansas 
Secretary of State and possesses the capability of performing electronic notarial acts. 

Electronic Notary Seal: Information within a notarized document that contains information about 
the notary public including their official name, jurisdiction of appointment, commission number, 
expiration date and any other information required on their seal of office used on paper documents. 

Electronic Signature: An electronic sound, symbol, or process attached to or logically associated 
with an electronic document and executed or adopted by a person with the intent to sign the 
electronic document. 

Identity proofing: a process or service operating according to criteria approved by the Secretary 
of State through which a third person affirms the identity of an individual through review of 
personal information from public and proprietary data sources. 

Non-repudiation: The inability of the signer of an electronic document to deny his or her 
electronic signature without a factual basis. 

Notary Public Electronic Signature: The form of electronic signature that has been approved 
by the Arkansas Secretary of State as an acceptable means for an electronic notary to affix his or 
her official signature to an electronic document that is being notarized. 

Online notarial act: a notarial act performed by means of communication technology. 

Online notary public: an electronic notary public who has been authorized by the Secretary of 
State to perform online notarial acts. 

Physical Proximity: The principal (document signer) and the notary public are physically close 
enough to see, hear, communicate and give identification credentials to each other without 
reliance on an electronic device such as a telephone, computer, video camera or facsimile machine. 

Real-time audio and visual: approved technology by which all parties can see and hear the 
other parties simultaneously. 

Registration or register: A separate commission is issued to a notary public to perform 
electronic notarial acts under the laws of the State of Arkansas. 



Remote presentation: a transmission to the online notary public through communication 
technology of an image of a government-issued identification credential that is of sufficient 
quality to enable the online notary public to identify the individual seeking the online notary 
public’s services and perform credential analysis. 

Remotely located individual: an individual who is not within physical proximity to a 
notary public. 

Solution Provider: A business entity (i.e. corporation, partnership, etc.) that has submitted 
an application, meets standards, and has been approved by the Arkansas Secretary of State to 
offer electronic notarial acts or online notarial acts or solutions to duly commissioned electronic 
notaries public. 

Tamper Evident: Any changes to an electronic document display evidence of the change. 

Traditional notary public: A person commissioned by the Arkansas Secretary of State to 
perform notarial acts pursuant to A.C.A § 21-14-101 et seq. 

Unique to the notary public/under the sole control: The device or system the notary uses to 
sign and seal the document must be accessible only by the notary, and attributed to the specific 
notary, not any other person or entity. 

Notes 



Mail Notary applications to: 
Arkansas Secretary of State 

Business and Commercial Services Division 
1401 West Capitol Avenue Suite 250 

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 

Phone: (501) 682-3409 
Toll Free: (888) 233-0325 

www.sos.arkansas.gov 

http://www.sos.arkansas.gov/


Scan the QR code with 
your smartphone app 
for information on 
Notaries and eNotaries 
on the go! 

Arkansas Secretary of State 
State Capitol, Suite 256 
500 Woodlane Street 

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 
(501) 682-1010

www.sos.arkansas.gov 

Business and Commercial 
Services Division 

1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 

(501) 682-3409; (888) 233-0325
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/

Northwest Arkansas Office 
300 North College, Suite 201F 

Fayetteville, AR 72701 
(501) 682-5285

Rev. 03-2024 

http://www.sos.arkansas.gov/
http://www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/
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