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Dear Business Owner:

I am pleased to introduce Doing Business in Arkansas, which provides 
information for our clients interested in filing a corporation or business 
organization in Arkansas.

The handbook explores issues including:
	 • Choosing an entity type
	 • Reserving and filing a corporate name
	 • Avoiding common problems with document filings
	 • Corporate fee schedule	
	 • Domestic entities
	 • Foreign  entities
	 • Trademarks and Service Marks

We also provide contact information for other agencies which might be of 
assistance in establishing or expanding your business.

If you need additional information or have questions, please contact the 
Arkansas Secretary of State Business and Commercial
Services Division at 501-682-3409, 1-888-233-0325 
or e-mail corprequest@sos.arkansas.gov.

Sincerely,

John Thurston
Secretary of State

John Thurston
k

Arkansas Secretary of State 
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Business Services Office
Section 1

Persons desiring to organize a business entity such as a corporation or 
partnership in Arkansas must apply to the Arkansas Secretary of State for 
authority to conduct business or other activities.  Through the Business 
and Commercial Services Division, the Secretary of State approves various 
kinds of entity transactions and issues certificates giving effect to these 
transactions. The term “business entity” is  used herein, in a general sense 
and encompasses all business organizations regulated by the State of 
Arkansas, including Corporations, LLCs, LPs, LLPs and some associations 
and cooperatives.

The Business and Commercial Services Division also retains the records of 
almost 140,000 active business entities organized or authorized to conduct 
business in Arkansas.  Records maintained in this Division are subject to the 
Freedom of Information Act (except for some franchise tax information). 
These files are public and may be inspected or copied upon request for a fee. 
Fees are listed on the Filing Fee Schedule at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.  

A. Hours and Telephone Numbers
The Business and Commercial Services Division is open from 8:00 a.m. 
to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday and can be reached by phone at  
888-233-0325 or 501-682-3409. Documents may be filed online at 
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. Online filings are normally updated within 
48 hours and originals are returned by mail to the submitter. Documents may 
also be submitted by mail. If approved, mailed documents will normally be 
filed and returned within 24 to 72 hours after the Business and Commercial 
Services Division receives them. You may also file by bringing documents 
directly to our office, and if approved, they will be processed while you 
wait. Any document received after 4:30 p.m. should be available for pick-
up the next business day. (To avoid delays caused by return of defective 
documents, please see the Checklist for Document Filings on page 11.)

B. Services of the Business and Commercial Services Division
1. Approval of Business Entity Transactions – Arkansas Code requires 
many business entity proceedings to be filed as a public record in 
the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office. Most common among these 
transactions are the filing of Articles of Incorporation, Articles of 
Organization, Amendments, Mergers, and Dissolutions. Forms for the 
filing of these documents are available at no charge from the Business 
and Commercial Services Division online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/
BCS/, or by contacting the office. Some filings may be made through our 
web service at a lower fee. Fee payments must be submitted when the 
documents are presented for filing. The principal documents are discussed 
in detail in this guide, beginning on page 14. If you need additional
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assistance, the staff of the Business and Commercial Services Division is 
available to answer questions and provide help.  However, you may need to 
contact a local attorney or accountant to assist you further with your filing 
and answer any legal questions you may have.

2. Dissemination of Information – As the official record keeper of business 
entity documents, the Business and Commercial Services Division can 
provide various kinds of information on all registered business entities. 

The Business and Commercial Services Division receives more than 2,000 
telephone calls per week, most of which are from persons either requesting 
information on entities or checking on the availability of corporate names 
(see page 9 for a discussion of corporate names).  Information may also be 
acquired online, by mail or by visiting our office.

The following information is available online or by telephone:

3. Preparation of Certified Copies of Documents – Many legal 
proceedings and business transactions require the introduction or 
presentation of documents certified by the Secretary of State as true and 
accurate copies of the records in this office. Certified copies of the entity 
records in the Office of the Arkansas Secretary of State may be introduced 
into evidence in all courts within the state as prima facie evidence of 
the facts stated in the documents. The Arkansas Secretary of State may 
certify any entity documents on file with the Business and Commercial 
Services Division. In addition to certified copies of documents, this office 
also prepares Good Standing Certificates, Certificates of Existence, and 
Certificates of Due and Diligent Search.

	 • A Certificate of Good Standing states that an entity has complied with
	 all requirements regulated by the Arkansas Secretary of State Business 
	 and Commercial Services Division. Certificates of Good Standing can be 
	 purchased and downloaded online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.

	 • A Certificate of Existence states that a business entity was incorporated 
	 or admitted to do business, whether it was in existence on a particular 
	 date, and whether it is currently in good standing with the 
	 Arkansas Secretary of State.

	 • Division Hours & Phone Numbers
	 • Availability of Entity Name
	 • Availability of Foreign Name
	 • Availability of Fictitious Names
	 • Type of Entity and Status

	 • Registered Agent for Legal
	 • Service of Process and Address
	 • State of Origin
	 • Authorized Stock
	 • Corporate Officers
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	 • A Certificate of Due and Diligent Search certifies that all available 
	 records of the Secretary of State’s office have been searched and that 
	 a particular entity does not appear in the records.

Because of the volume of certification requests, please submit your order as 
early as possible. If you must have the order by a particular date, inform the 
clerk of the date by which you must have your order completed and whether 
you wish to pick it up or have it mailed. Certification orders must be paid for 
in advance and are usually processed within 24 to 48 hours after payment is 
received by the Secretary of State’s office.

4. Legal Assistance – The Business and Commercial Services Division of the 
Arkansas Secretary of State is not engaged in the practice of law and cannot 
give legal advice or issue legal opinions. If you have specific questions 
regarding a legal opinion or legal advice please contact a private attorney 
or legal professional. Our staff attorneys are available to assist with legal 
problems arising in connection with matters relating directly to this office. 
However, they may not render legal advice or counsel individuals about their 
legal rights. Complaints regarding the activities of corporate entities should 
be filed with the Arkansas Attorney General’s office.

5. Forms – The Business and Commercial Services Division has forms 
available for the filing of most documents, as well as fee schedules and 
other materials designed to simplify or clarify transactions with this office.  
All forms are free of charge.  These items may be obtained by visiting the 
Arkansas Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ or by 
contacting the Business and Commercial Services Division.

6. Bulk Data Downloads – Listings of existing business entities, including 
the names and addresses of the entity and its registered agent, are available 
for purchase. Lists may be prepared by corporate type (domestic or foreign, 
profit or nonprofit).  The charges for these computer printouts, data files or 
other media types are calculated by the number of records on the total order 
and can be purchased through the Arkansas Secretary of State’s website at 
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ under the BCS Online Services Section.

7. Authentication of Documents for use abroad ‑ Authentication of 
public documents for use outside the United States is provided by the 
Business and Commercial Services Division in the form of an Apostille or 
a Certification.  The documents must be issued in the State of Arkansas or 
certified by an Arkansas Notary Public, State Registrar, or Elected Official. 
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The Notarial Certificate or Certificate/Seal of the State Registrar or 
Elected Official must be affixed to the document. If the document is not 
in English, a notarized translation of the entire document into English 
must be attached. It is recommended you contact the Embassy or a 
Consulate of the country where you intend to use the document to see 
what type of authentication is accepted before applying. Fees are $10.00 
for an Apostille and $5.00 for a Certification and  are payable in advance. 
Requests for authentication are only accepted in person at the BCS office 
or by mail. Customers may choose whether to drop off the request for a  
later pickup or wait while the request is processed.

Choosing an Entity Type
Section 2

When starting a business, you may choose from several business forms 
or organizations. A variety of organizational structures are available for 
transacting business in Arkansas. In deciding which form of business is 
appropriate for your venture, a lawyer, CPA, tax advisor or financial advisor 
can provide critical information. Choosing the proper business entity is 
vital to the success of your project. This booklet outlines some of the issues 
involved, but is not a substitute for sound legal and financial advice from 
competent lawyers, accountants and advisors.  It is only a starting point.

One of the primary considerations in selecting a business organization is 
protection of the owners of the business from liability. Other considerations 
include tax treatment by the federal and state governments, management 
structure, future ownership, and capitalization. Arkansas laws determine how 
particular entities should be set up and conduct their business. These laws are 
very specific and set out the legal responsibility of each business form. Taxing 
authorities and regulatory agencies also have laws that pertain to businesses.  

There is much written about choosing and setting up the proper form 
of business for your needs. Information can be found at libraries, small 
business development centers and on the Internet. Ultimately, however,  an 
attorney or a certified public accountant  is probably needed to help you 
make the decision. The most common business structures are described in 
the following pages.

Sole Proprietorship
A business with a single owner with no formal or separate form of 
business structure is known as a sole proprietorship. The owner has sole 
control and responsibility of the business. A sole proprietorship is easily 
formed, allows important decisions to be made quickly, and typically has 
fewer legal restrictions.  In this situation the owner and the business  
are indistinguishable. 
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The business has limited life and cannot be transferred (as an entity) to 
others.  Generally, paperwork for sole proprietorships is NOT filed with the 
Secretary of State; some is filed at the county level.  (See also, Nonfiling/
Nonqualifying Entites below). The sole proprietor’s responsibilities include 
but are not limited to:
	 Sole Proprietorships 
	 • Obtain all capital
	 • Incur personal liability for all debts and claims against the business
	 • Claim all profits and losses on the owner’s personal income tax return
	 • Obtain state and local business licenses and permits
	 • Record the name of the business with your local county clerk 

Partnership
A partnership is an association of two or more persons acting as co-owners 
of a business. A written agreement between the parties involved is highly 
recommended.  This agreement should set out the responsibilities and 
obligations of the partners, as well as the percentage of ownership.

General Partnership
General partnerships are not required to file official registration beyond that 
required for a sole proprietorship, but may choose to file with the Secretary 
of State’s office in order to be on record as a general partnership. Check with 
your advisors.
	 General partnerships:
	 • Do not protect the personal assets of the business partners from 	    
	    claims against the partnership.
	 • Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.
	 • Share their profits and losses among the partners according to their
	    ownership percentage or other legal means. Partners are then
	    required to claim this income or loss on their personal income tax return.

Limited Liability Partnership
A limited liability partnership (LLP) allows all the partners to take an active 
role in the management of the business while offering members some 
liability protection from actions of the other partners, the partnership 
and the partnership employees. LLPs are most often used by groups of 
professionals such as doctors, accountants or architects.
	 Limited Liability Partnerships:
	 • Are treated like partnerships by the Internal Revenue Service.
	 • Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.
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	 • Do not provide liability protection to individual partners for 
	    their own actions.
	 • Are created by filing a Qualification of Limited Liability Partnership   
	    with the Secretary of State.
	 • Must file an annual report with the Arkansas Secretary of State.

Limited Partnership
A limited partnership (LP) consists of general partners and limited partners. 
The general partner(s) manage the business and usually have no liability 
protection.  The limited partner(s) are usually investors that are not 
involved in the day-to-day running of the business and whose liability is 
normally limited to the extent of their investment.
	 Limited partnerships:
	 • Are treated like a partnership by the Internal Revenue Service.
	 • Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.
	 • Were originally developed for real estate development ventures.
	 • Are created by filing a Certificate of Limited Partnership with the
	    Secretary of State.
	 • Must file an annual report with the Arkansas Secretary of State.

Limited Liability Limited Partnership
A limited liability limited partnership (LLLP) is a type of limited partnership 
which registers with the Secretary of State as an LLLP. One effect of 
registration is to limit the vicarious liability of the general partners in the 
same fashion that registration as an LLP limits the liability of the general 
partners of a general partnership.
	 Limited Liability Limited Partnerships:
	 • Are created by filing a Certificate of Limited Liability Limited Partnership.
	 • Are a type of Limited Partnerships.
	 • Must file an annual report with the Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • Are required to file information returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.

Corporation
A corporation is a more complex form of business organization. The 
corporation is a legal entity and exists apart from its owners or shareholders. 
As a separate entity, the corporation has its own rights, privileges and 
liabilities apart from the shareholders, officers and board of directors. A 
corporation can buy and sell property, enter into contracts, sue and be sued. 
Elected officers and its board of directors manage the corporation.
	 Corporations:
	 • Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas
	    Secretary of State.
	 • May be formed for profit or for nonprofit purposes.
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	 • Are unaffected in their duration by death or transfer of shares by any 
	    of the owners.
	 • Require more extensive record keeping.
	 • For-profit corporations pay taxes on their profits; profits are 
	    distributed to the owners via dividends and are taxable by state and 
	    federal taxing authorities.
	 • For-profit corporations must file annual franchise tax reports with, and 
	    pay franchise taxes to, the Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • For-profit corporations file returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.

S Corporation
The S Corporation is a corporation that chooses to be taxed under 
Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Tax Code. Being an S Corporation is a 
tax matter only. S Corporations are considered “tax pass through” business 
entities, meaning their profits and losses are reported by their owners on 
the owners’ personal tax returns.
	 S Corporations:
	 • Are corporations in the view of the state and comply with state
	    corporation laws.
	 • Must have only one class of stock.
	 • Must be made up of shareholders that are individuals, estates, or
	    trusts, but not corporations.
	 • Can only have shareholders that are United States citizens or residents.
	 • Cannot be members of  affiliated groups of corporations.
	 • Are limited to 75 shareholders.
	 • Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas
	    Secretary of State and then the Internal Revenue Service.
	 • Must file annual franchise tax reports with, and pay francise taxes to,  the 
	    Arkansas Secretary of State.

Limited Liability Company
A limited liability company (LLC) combines many characteristics of corporations 
and partnerships. The LLC provides limited liability to its members.
	 Limited Liability Companies:
	 • Must file Articles of Organization with the Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • Allow members to manage the  company themselves or to 
	    elect managers.
	 • Allow members to engage in management without risk of losing
	    their limited liability status.
	 • Are a relatively new form of business organization.
	 • May be taxed by the Internal Revenue Service as corporations or as
	    partnerships, depending on their structure.
	 • Must file annual franchise tax reports with, and pay franchise taxes to, 
	    the Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • Are required to file information returns with the Internal Revenue 
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.
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Nonprofit Corporation
Nonprofit corporations must be created for a public benefit, for 
mutual benefit for its members, or for religious purposes. Nonprofit 
corporation status does not guarantee that the organization will be 
granted tax-exempt status by the Internal Revenue Service, nor does it 
ensure that the contributions to the organization are tax deductible.

Becoming a nonprofit corporation is generally a prerequisite to applying 
for tax-exempt status under IRS Code, such as section 501(c)(3) or section 
501(c)(4). To accommodate the vast number of entities choosing to 
file for tax-exempt status with the IRS, the Arkansas Secretary of State 
provides a blank template, as well as the traditional nonprofit articles of 
incorporation templates. If the nonprofit corporation intends to solicit 
charitable contributions, it must also register with the Arkansas Secretary 
of State.  See Charitable Organization Registration below.
	 Nonprofit Corporations:
	 • May not have shareholders or pay dividends.
	 • May compensate members, officers, and trustees (in reasonable
	    amounts) for services rendered.
	 •  Must have specific provisions in its Articles of Incorporation dealing 
	    with property distribution upon dissolution.
	 • Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas
	    Secretary of State.
	 • Must file an annual disclosure statement with the Arkansas 
	    Secretary of State.

Charitable Organization Registration
Effective January 1, 2018 and pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4‐28‐401 through 
416, Arkansas law requires a charitable organization wishing to solicit 
contributions from persons in this state to register with the Secretary of 
State prior to engaging in any of the following: soliciting contributions, 
using fund‐raising counsel, paid solicitors, or professional telemarketers, or 
conducting a sales promotion.

Charitable organizations are obligated to update their information 
submitted at registration if any of the information is updated or changes, 
and must file an annual financial report (due August 1st) including but 
not limited to relationships with fund‐raising counsel, paid solicitors, or 
commercial coventurers.

Paid Solicitor Registration
Effective January 1, 2018 and pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-28-401 through 
416, Arkansas law requires paid solicitors to register with the Secretary 
of State. Registration is only valid for one year but may be renewed for 
additional one-year periods. The registration form and all required 
attachments must be submitted at least 15 days prior to commencing 
performance on the contract.
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Fundraising Counsel Registration
Effective January 1, 2018 and pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-28-401 through 416, 
Arkansas law requires fund-raising counsel to register with the Secretary 
of State. Fund-raising counsel is defined by A.C.A. § 4-28-401(6) as any 
person who, under a written agreement, plans, conducts, manages, carries 
on, advises, or acts as a consultant in connection with the solicitation 
of contributions on behalf of a charitable organization, but who does 
not actually solicit contributions. Registration is only valid for one year 
but may be renewed for additional one-year periods with the filing of a 
new application and fee. The form and all required attachments must be 
submitted at least 15 days prior to commencing performance on the contract.
Professional Telemarketer Registration
Effective January 1, 2018 and pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-28-401 through 416, 
Arkansas law requires the registration of any person employed or retained 
by a paid telemarketer to solicit charitable contributions in Arkansas. This 
registration must be submitted within 72 hours after accepting employment. 
Registration is only valid for one year but may be renewed for additional 
one-year periods with the submission of the form and the applicable fee 
$10.00 per telemarketer.
Telephonic Sellers
Effective January 1, 2018 and pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-99-101 through 
112, Arkansas law requires the registration of telephonic sellers wishing 
to do business in Arkansas. This registration must be submitted ten (10) 
days prior to beginning business in the state. Registration is only valid for 
one year but may be renewed for additional one-year periods with the 
submission of the registration form and the applicable fee of $100.
Commercial Registered Agent
A commercial registered agent is an individual or entity that is in the 
business of providing registered agent services for registered entities in
Arkansas. The primary purpose of the commercial registered agent is to 
accept service of process or other notices on behalf of the entities.
	 Commercial Registered Agents:
	 • Are created by filing a Commercial Registered Agent Listing with  the 
	    Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • Are regulated by the Model Registered Agents Act (MoRAA) of 2007.
Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity
An entity that is not required to file or register in order to transact business 
in the state may choose to file a Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity Statement. 
This filing allows the entity to have its registered agent/service of process 
information on file with the Secretary of State.
	 Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entities:
	 • Are created by filing a Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity Statement
	    with the Secretary of State.
	 • Do not qualify as an otherwise nonqualifying entity.
	 • Do not provide any protection for the use of the name by the entity.
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Video Service Providers
Act 276 of 2013 authorized video service providers to register with the 
Arkansas Secretary of State and receive a Certificate of Franchise Authority.   
Original registration fees are $1,500 and Certificates are valid for a ten year 
period.  Application forms can be found online at the Arkansas Secretary of 
State’s website at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.

Benefit Corporation
Act 1388 of 2013 authorized the creation of a Benefit Corporation.  It operates 
generally under the same rules as a corporation created under the new 
corporation code, A.C.A. § 4-27-101 et. seq, but must pursue a general public 
benefit, which is defined as a “material positive impact on society and the 
environment.”  Specific public benefits may be identified also in the articles 
of incorporation.  An annual benefit report must be filed with the Secretary 
of State at the same time franchise taxes are due.  The fee for filing the annual 
benefit report is $70.00.

Section 3

Corporate Names
A business entity organized or admitted to do business in Arkansas is granted 
the exclusive use of a name at the time it is file marked by the Arkansas 
Secretary of State. However, according to  A.C.A. §§ 4-27-401 through 4-27-
405 and A.C.A. §§ 4-26-401 through 4-26-406  a corporate filing with the 
Arkansas Secretary of State does not necessarily give you the right to use 
your proposed corporate name, assumed or fictitious name in this state if the 
use violates someone else’s trade name, trademark, or service mark rights 
under the trademark laws of the United States, this state, or the common 
law. Prior to your use of the name, you are encouraged to research the names 
and marks of other parties used or registered in this state, or registered in 
the United States Patent and Trademark Office, or consult an attorney to 
determine the existence of any conflicting rights.

A. Requirements for Corporate Name
	 1. The name of every Arkansas corporation must include the word
	  “Corporation,” “Incorporated,” “Company,” or an abbreviation of one of 
	  these words. The corporate ending may vary due to the section of 
	  Arkansas Code under which the entity chooses to file (See Application 
	  for Filing Articles of Incorporation, available online at 
	  www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, or by contacting our office). 

	 2. No domestic or foreign business entity may take or assume an entity 
	  name identical to the name of any other Arkansas business entity 
	  or of any other foreign business entity authorized to transact business 
	  in Arkansas. The name must be distinguishable from other names 
	  on record.
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B. Name Availability
	 1. Distinguishable names – If a proposed name begins with the same 
	  word or phrase as an existing name, the Arkansas Secretary of 		
	  State will look for additional wording, which in some way significantly 
	  distinguishes the proposed name, such as a description of business 
	  purpose or activity.

	 2. All requests for name availability searches are available by contacting a
	  business services representative  or by conducting a name search on the 
	  Secretary of State’s website www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. The name 
	  searches are strictly preliminary searches and do not guarantee the 
	  right of the filer until actual corporate papers are filed with the 
	  Secretary of State’s office.

It is not advisable to buy stationery, stock certificates, literature, advertising or 
other items based upon a name availability search.

C. Reservation of Names
	 1. Corporate names may be reserved prior to incorporation for a period 
	  of 120 days when the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office receives 
	  the correct filing fee and the proper name reservation forms. The 
	  forms are available for electronic filing or downloading from the 
	  Secretary of State’s website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, visiting 
	  the office or contacting a corporate representative.  Name 
	  reservations filed under the corporate act are non-renewable. Name 
	  reservations filed under the LLC and LP acts have a one-time 
	  renewal period.

	 2. When a corporate name has been reserved, and the right to that name 
	  is transferred in writing during the 120-day period, it can only be 
	  reserved for the balance of time remaining on the original 120-day 
	  period. The fee for transfer of name reservation and the form can 
	  be found online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ or can be 
	  obtained by contacting a Business and Commercial Services 
	  corporate representative.
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Checklist for Document Filings
Section 4

This checklist helps to prevent some of the most common problems that 
delay the processing of documents filed with the Business and Commercial 
Services Division. Simply review the following checklist to ensure that your 
documents are complete and accurate.
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A. For All Documents

	 1. Check to see that every section of your document has been 
completed, including address (P.O. Box is not an acceptable address 
for a  registered agent). Incomplete documents cannot be approved 
and will  be returned to the applicant for correction.  If the separate 
franchise tax contact information form is not completed, your 
annual franchise tax report (if applicable) and/or annual report 
may not reach you, causing your corporation to enter inactive or 
revoked status.  Franchise taxes will still accrue, even if unpaid, 
until the business is dissolved or withdrawn formally.

	 2. Make sure you have submitted the correct fee and that your check is not 
	  more than 60 days old. Sign your check and make it payable to the 
	  Arkansas Secretary of State (A filing fee schedule may be obtained by 
	  accessing our website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, writing or 
	  calling our office or visiting the Business and Commercial Division). 

	 3. Confirm that all necessary parties have signed the documents. 
	  (Incorporators must be at least 18 years of age.)

	 4. File an original set of documents. Do not send copies.

	 5. Be certain you are filing the correct document. Check to see if the 
	  form is for a profit, nonprofit, foreign, domestic, or public 
	  benefit corporation.

	 6. Reserve your corporate name by Internet, mail, or in person at the
	  Business and Commercial Services Division. Filing the correct forms
	  and paying the filing fee will reserve your name (upon availability) 
	  for 120 days. No reservations can be placed by telephone. A check for 
	  the availability of a corporate name by Internet or telephone is only 
	  a preliminary search and does not guarantee the name is available. 
	  It is  not advisable to buy stationery or other items based upon a 
	  name search.

For all documents, the business must be current in its franchise tax filings 
and payments. Franchise taxes are due annually. Failure to pay can 
result in the imposition of additional fees, penalties and interest, or even 
revocation of the authorization to do business. Franchise taxes continue 
to accrue even for revoked businesses until the business is dissolved or 
withdrawn. Any additional BCS  filings are prohibited for entities that fail to 
pay franchise tax.



B. Articles of Incorporation For Profit and Nonprofit Entities
	 1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2. Check to see if you have provided a principal office address and a 
	  physical registered agent address in Arkansas. Post Office boxes are 
	  not acceptable.
	 3. Nonprofit entities must list what will be done with their assets 
	  upon dissolution. The IRS requires specific wording in the Articles of 
	  Incorporation regarding the disposition of assets. Please verify 
	  with the IRS, before filing with the Arkansas Secretary of State, if 
	  you have questions and are applying for federal nonprofit status. The 
	  IRS website is www.irs.gov. To accommodate the vast number of 
	  entities choosing to file for 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, the Arkansas 
	  Secretary of State’s office provides a blank template with suggested 
	  IRS language as well as the traditional nonprofit articles of 
	  incorporation templates.

C. Articles of Amendment
	 1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2. Be certain to state clearly the text of each amendment and identify 
	  each article being amended.
	 3. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.

D. Dissolution
	 1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.
	 3. Fill out and pay Final Franchise Tax Report.  All unpaid franchise 
	  taxes, penalties and interest must be paid.
	 4. Fill out and return correct dissolution form and fee.
	  (All tax exempt entities disregard items 2 and 3 above.)

E. Foreign Corporation Application for Authority to Transact Business
	 1.  Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2. Be sure to complete Article 7. This requires good faith estimates in 
	 dollar amounts.
	 3.  A Certificate of Good Standing from the entity’s domestic state must 
	 be filed with all Foreign Corporation Applications for Certificate of
	 Authority to Transact Business in the state of Arkansas. This good 
	 standing must be dated within the past 30 days.

F. Foreign Certificates of Amendment
	 1.  Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2.  Be certain to state clearly the text of each amendment and identify  
	 each article being amended.
	 3.  Include a certified copy of the amendment, merger or consolidation 
	 officially filed in the corporation’s domestic state, dated within 60 days.
	 4.  Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.
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G. Withdrawal
	 1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2. Make sure franchise taxes are current.  All unpaid franchise taxes, 	  
	  penalties and interest must be paid.
	 3. Fill out annual report and/or Final Franchise Tax Report and pay 
	  franchise taxes.
	 4. Fill out and return the correct withdrawal form and fee.

H. Mergers
	 1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2. The agreement or plan of merger must be submitted with the
	  Articles of Merger. The agreement must detail:
	   a. The terms and conditions of the merger;
	   b. The manner of converting the shares of the non-surviving 
	    corporation(s) into shares or other securities of the surviving 
	    corporation; and
	   c. A statement of the amendments to the Articles of Incorporation 
	    of the surviving corporation necessary and/or desirable to effect 
	    the merger.
	 3. The effective date of the merger shall not be prior to, nor more than 
	  30 days after, the date of the filing and approval of the Articles of
	  Merger by the Secretary of State. If the effective date is not stated 
	  in the Articles of Merger, the effective date shall be the date of filing 
	  (and approval) of the Articles of Merger by the Secretary of State.
	 4. In a merger absorbing a domestic corporation into a foreign 
	  corporation, if the merger is filed in the foreign corporation’s home state 
	  or country first, the surviving foreign corporation must file a certified 
	  copy of the Certificate of Merger from the foreign corporation’s domestic 
	  state with the Arkansas Secretary of State within 30 days of the effective 
	  date of the merger. If the merger is filed in Arkansas first, the original 
	  signed documents merging the corporation must be filed with the 
	  Arkansas Secretary of State within 30 days of the effective date 
	  of the merger.
	 5. A surviving foreign corporation must seek admission to do business in 
	  Arkansas prior to or contemporaneously with the filing of the
	  Articles of Merger. If the surviving foreign corporation does not intend 
	  to transact business in Arkansas, it must surrender to the Arkansas
	  Secretary of State the Certificate of Admission and all amended
	  Certificates of Admission of all non-surviving foreign corporations 
	  that were parties to the merger.
	 6. Make sure all annual reports and franchise taxes are current.

14
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Entity Filing Fees
Section 5

Available Forms
Section 6

All filing fee schedules may be obtained by visiting our website, 
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, or by writing, calling or visiting the 
Arkansas Secretary of State’s Business and Commercial Services Division.

The following forms are available  for download from the Arkansas
Secretary of State’s website, ww.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, or visiting the 
office, contacting a corporate representative  or by electronic filing.
A. Domestic Corporations Forms

• Articles of Incorporation (also includes LLC, LP, LLP, LLLP, GP)
• Certificate of Amendment
• Change of Registered Agent Information
• Certificate of Dissolution
• Application for Reservation of Corporate Name
• Registration of Fictitious Name
• Articles of Incorporation for Nonprofit
• Annual Reports/Franchise Tax forms
• Franchise Tax Contact Information form

B. Foreign Corporation Forms
• Statement of Corporation Seeking Authorization to do Business in 	

Arkansas (also includes LLC, LP, LLP, LLLP, GP)
• Change of Registered Agent Information
• Certificate of Withdrawal
• Registration of Fictitious Name
• Registration of Corporate Name
• Application for Nonprofit Corporation to do Business 
   in Arkansas
• Certificates of Amended Certificate of Authority
• Application for Reservation of Name
• Annual Reports/Franchise Tax forms
• Franchise Tax Contact Information form



Domestic Entities
Section 7

A. Articles of Incorporation
A corporation is formed under the Arkansas General Corporation Act by 
filing Articles of Incorporation with the Office of the Secretary of State. 
Before the Articles are prepared, a corporate name should be selected and 
reserved with the Business and Commercial Services Division office of the 
Secretary of State (See pages 9 and 10 for discussion of corporate names and 
reservation of names).  The Office of the Secretary of State will review and 
approve these Articles and issue a Certificate of Incorporation, which marks 
the beginning of the corporate existence. 

The filing must include one original of the Articles of Incorporation, signed 
by all incorporators, and contain the following information:
	 1. Name of the Corporation – Shall contain the word “Corporation,”
	  “Incorporated,” or “Company,” or an abbreviation of one of these 
	  words, but not as the final word of the actual company name. 
	  Final word(s) or abbreviation(s) are immediately preceded by “and” 
	  or any symbol for “and.” For example, the corporate name could be 
	  “XYZ Company.” But “ABC & Company” must be formally named “ABC 
	  & Company, Inc.;”
	 2. Number of shares, which the corporation shall have the authority 
	  to issue:
	   a.  Class (optional)
	   b. Series (if any)
	   c. Par value per share or statement that shares are without par value;
	 3. The name and physical address (P.O. Box is not accepted) of the 
	  corporation’s initial registered agent;
	 4. Name and address of each incorporator;
	 5. Purpose(s) for which the corporation is organized; and
	 6. The articles of incorporation may also set forth other provisions not 
	  inconsistent with law regarding identity of directors, limitations of 
	  purpose, management and shareholder liability.

B. Certificate of Amendment
Subsequent to the issuance of the Certificate of Incorporation, the 
corporation may need or choose to amend its Articles of Incorporation. 
The Board of Directors must adopt a resolution setting out the proposed 
amendment(s) and direct that they be submitted to a vote of the 
shareholders of the corporation. The shareholders of the corporation 
entitled to vote on amendments must then vote to adopt the proposed 
amendment(s).  If all or a substantial number of the articles are to be 
amended, Amended and Restated Articles of Incorporation may be filed, 
which will supersede the original Articles of Incorporation. 

16



17

For a corporation organized under the new corporation code, 
A.C.A. § 4-27-101 et. Seq. an original of the Certificate of Amendment must 
be filed with the Arkansas Secretary of State with an officer’s signature and 
the following information, pursuant to  A.C.A. § 4-27-1006 to 1009:

	 1. Name of corporation;
	 2. Statements certifying the following information:
	   a. Article(s) which was (were) amended, plus exact wording;
	   b. That at a special (or regular) meeting of the stockholders of said 

 corporation, duly called and held at the office of the company (give 
city, state, and date), the amendment(s) to the Articles of
Incorporation was (were) offered and adopted; 

	   c. If an amendment provides for an exchange, reclassification, or 
cancellation of issued shares, provisions for implementing the 
amendment if not contained in the amendment itself;

	   d. If the amendment was adopted by the incorporators or board of 
directors without shareholder action, a statement to that effect 
and that shareholder action was not required; and

	   e. An amendment approved by shareholders must list:
i. The designation, number of outstanding shares, number of 

votes entitled to be cast by each voting group entitled to vote 
separately on the amendment, and number of votes of each 
voting group indisputably represented at the meeting; and

ii. Either the total number of votes cast for and against 
the amendment by each voting group entitled to vote 
separately on the amendment or the total number of 
undisputed votes cast for the amendment by each voting 
group, plus a statement that the number cast for the 
amendment by each voting group was sufficient for approval 
by that voting group.

For amendment filings pursuant to A.C.A. § 4-26-301 et. seq.,  please refer 
to the Arkansas Code or the template provided online by the Arkansas 
Secretary of State’s office.

C. Change of Registered Agent Information

Every Arkansas domestic or foreign admitted corporation is required to 
register with the Arkansas Secretary of State its current principal office 
address in Arkansas and the name and address of the person designated as 
the registered agent for service of process. If the corporation does not have an 
office or facility in Arkansas, the registered agent’s address can serve as the 
principal office address.  Changing the Registered Agent does not change the 
franchise tax contact information (which must be done separately).



The location of the principal office, the designation of registered agent, 
or both, may be changed by filing with the Arkansas Secretary of State a 
certificate, signed by the president or other officer, which contains the 
following information:

• Name of corporation;
• Entity type;
• Previous name and street address of registered agent; and 
• New name and street address of registered agent.

Some registered agents may choose to be filed as a commercial registered 
agent and comply with the Model Registered Agents Act (MoRAA) of
2007. A commercial registered agent can be either an individual or an entity 
and must list the following information with the Arkansas Secretary of 
State’s office:

• Name of individual or entity;
• Jurisdiction; and
• Physical and mailing address for service of process along with an
  additional means of accepting service.

D. Dissolution
A corporation may terminate its corporate existence by undergoing 
voluntary dissolution. The Board of Directors must first approve a 
resolution proposing dissolution. That resolution must then be adopted 
by a vote of the shareholders of the corporation. Upon adoption of the 
resolution by the shareholders, the Board of Directors may then proceed 
to dissolve the corporation by filing the Certificate of Dissolution, signed 
by the president or other officer of the corporation, which contains the 
following information:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. Date the dissolution was authorized;

	 3. If dissolution was approved by shareholders:
	   a. The number of total possible votes on the proposal to dissolve;
	   b. Either the total number of votes cast for and against dissolution 

or the total number of undisputed votes cast for dissolution and a 
statement that the number cast for dissolution was sufficient for 
approval; and

	 4. If the dissolution required approval by voting groups, the information 
in #3 above must be provided for each individual voting group 
entitled to participate.
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E. Fictitious Name Registration
No corporation, foreign or domestic, shall conduct any business in 
Arkansas under a fictitious name unless it first files that name with the 
Arkansas Secretary of State.

In the case of a domestic corporation, a form supplied or approved by 
the Secretary of State must also be filed with the county clerk of the 
county in which the corporation’s registered office is located (unless 
located in Pulaski County), giving the following information:

• Fictitious name under which the business is or will be conducted;
• Description of the character of the business;
• Corporate name of the applicant;
• The state of incorporation;
• Location of the registered office of the applicant corporation in
   Arkansas; and
• Statement that if applicant is a foreign corporation, it is admitted to 
   and authorized to do business in Arkansas.

F. Name Reservation
	 1. The exclusive right to the use of a corporate name may be reserved by 

any person or corporation, foreign or domestic, by filing with 
the Arkansas Secretary of State a written application to reserve a 
specified corporate name. If the Secretary of State finds that the 
name is distinguishable upon its records from any other name 
reserved or registered or the name of any domestic corporation or 
any foreign corporation admitted to this State, it may be reserved for 
the exclusive use of the applicant for a period of 120 days.

	 2. The applicant may transfer the right to the exclusive use of a specific 
corporate name to another person or corporation by filing a Transfer 
of Reservation of Name form in the Office of the Secretary of State.

	 3. A name reservation filed under the corporate code section may not be 
renewed nor shall the same name be reserved on any subsequent 
application filed by, or for the benefit of, the original applicant or any 
person, firm or corporation identified with such applicant, or any 
transferee of the original applicant.

	 4. A name reservation filed under the limited liability or limited 
partnership code section may  be renewed one time by the original 
applicant by filing the appropriate form and fee.



G. Nonprofit Articles of Incorporation
Any association or persons choosing to be incorporated as a nonprofit 
organization shall file under the Arkansas Nonprofit Act  by completing 
nonprofit Articles of Incorporation with the Secretary of State. Before the 
Articles are prepared, a corporate name should be selected and verified 
with the Business and Commercial Services Division (See pages 9 and 10 
for a discussion of corporate names and reservation of names). The Office of 
Secretary of State will review and approve the Articles and issue a Certificate 
of Incorporation, which marks the beginning of the corporate existence.

If filing for federal tax exempt status of 501(c)(3), please refer to the special 
template provided by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office.
The articles must include the following information:
	 1. Name of corporation;
	 2. Type of nonprofit corporation: Public-Benefit, Mutual-Benefit or

 Religious Corporation;
	 3. List whether corporation will have members;
	 4. Statement of any provisions for the regulation of the internal affairs of 

corporation, said purpose, and any provisions for distribution of assets 
upon dissolution or final liquidation (If filing for federal tax exempt 
status, please check with the IRS for this statement at www.irs.gov);

	 5. Physical address (P.O. Box not acceptable for registered agent) of main 
office, principal place of business, and the name and address of the 
registered agent; and

	 6. Name and address of each incorporator.
Reminder: Nonprofits are required to file an annual disclosure 
statement by August 1, every year.

H. Updating Annual Report / Franchise Tax Contact Information

It is imperative that all annual report and franchise tax filing entities maintain 
an up-to-date mailing address with the Arkansas Secretary of State.  The form 
can be downloaded or electronically filed by visiting the BCS Website  link 
https://www.ark.org/sos/ofs/docs/index.php and choosing the form, 
Application for Tax Contact Address Change. Tax Contact information can 
also be updated yearly when filing the entity’s annual report or franchise 
taxes. Franchise tax continues to accrue against all businesses each year 
until formally dissolved with the Arkansas Secretary of State.  Failure to pay 
franchise taxes will preclude businesses from making any other filing, until 
taxes are paid.
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Foreign Entities
Section 8

A. Certificate of Authority
Any foreign corporation proposing to do intrastate business in Arkansas, or 
permitted to continue to do intrastate business, shall file with the Arkansas 
Secretary of State the following information, signed by an officer of the entity:
	 1. Name of the corporation;
	 2. State, territory or foreign country under whose laws the corporation 

was incorporated along with incorporation date and duration;
	 3. Purpose of entity;
	 4. Address of the general office or principal place of business in the state 

of origin;
	 5. Name and physical address (P.O. Box is not acceptable) of the resident 

agent upon whom service of process is authorized in Arkansas;
	 6. Address of the general office or principal place of business in the 

jurisdiction under whose laws the corporation was incorporated;
	 7. Number and par value, if any, of shares of the corporation’s capital 

stock owned or to be owned by residents of this state; and
	 8. Certificate of Good Standing dated within a 30-day time frame from 

the state of origin.

B. Change of Registered Agent Information
See Section 7, Item C, pages 16-17.

C. Certificate of Withdrawal
When a foreign corporation wishes to discontinue doing business in the 
state, an officer must execute a Certificate of Withdrawal with the Business 
and Commercial Services Division.

The Certificate of Withdrawal shall set forth the following information:
1. Name of the foreign corporation;
2. State of origin; and
3. Contact name and mailing address for the withdrawing corporation.
Reminder:  Franchise taxes must be current.

I. Domestic Limited Partnership
A limited partnership is a partnership formed by two or more persons, has as 
members one or more general partners and one or more limited partners.

Two or more persons desiring to form a limited partnership shall sign and 
swear to a certificate, which shall state:

• Name of the limited partnership; (Must contain the words limited 
partnership, L.P., or LP.);
• Physical and mailing address for designated office;
• Name and business address of each general partner; and
• Any other matters the general partners determine to include therein.
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D. Registration of Fictitious Name
See Section 7, Item F, page 18

E. Reservation of Corporate Name
See Section 7, Item G, pages 18-19

F. Registration of Corporate Name

Any foreign corporation not authorized to transact business in Arkansas 
may register its corporate name, provided its name is distinguishable 
upon the records of the Secretary of State from the name of any domestic 
corporation existing under the laws of this state, or the name of any foreign 
corporation authorized to transact business in this state, or any corporate 
name reserved or registered by another corporation.

Registration of a corporate name shall be made by executing the application 
for registration. Such registration will contain the following:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. Jurisdiction under whose laws the corporation was incorporated;
3. Date of incorporation;
4. Description of business in which entity is engaged; and
5. Certificate of Good Standing under the laws of the state or territory in
 which the corporation is originally incorporated (Must be dated within 
 a 30-day time frame). 

Name registrations are renewable yearly between October 1 and
December 31 by filing a renewal fee and form. (If a registration lapses, the 
corporation must complete name registration forms and obtain another 
registration for the initial fee instead of the renewal fee.)

G. Foreign Nonprofit Corporation

Prior to conducting business in Arkansas, a foreign nonprofit corporation 
shall first procure a Certificate of Authority from the Secretary of State.
Application for such certificate of authority shall contain the following:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. State, territory, or foreign country under whose laws the corporation 
 was incorporated;
3. Date of incorporation;
4. Period of duration;
5. Address of its principal office or place of business in the location of 
 original incorporation;
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6. Name and physical address of its proposed registered agent for 
 service of process in Arkansas;
7. Names and business addresses of the corporation’s current directors 
 and officers;
8. List of corporation members if applicable; and
9. Which entity type the nonprofit would be classified as if filed as an
 Arkansas domestic:

a. Public-Benefit Corporation
b. Mutual-Benefit Corporation
c. Religious Corporation.

Reminder: Nonprofits are required to file an annual disclosure statement 
by August 1 each year.

H. Updating Annual Report / Franchise Tax Contact Information

It is imperative that all annual report and franchise tax filing entities 
maintain an up-to-date mailing address with the Arkansas Secretary of 
State.  The form can be downloaded or electronically filed by visiting 
the BCS Website link https://www.ark.org/sos/ofs/docs/index.php 
and choosing the form, Application for Tax Contact Address Change.  Tax 
Contact information can also be updated yearly when filing the entity’s 
annual report or franchise taxes.  Franchise tax continues to accrue against 
all businesses each year until formally dissolved or withdrawn from the 
Arkansas Secretary of State.   Failure to pay franchise taxes will preclude 
businesses from any other filing until taxes are paid. 

I. Foreign Limited Partnership

Before transacting business in Arkansas, a foreign limited partnership 
shall register with the Arkansas Secretary of State. In order to register, a 
foreign limited partnership shall file with the Secretary of State a copy of 
its Certificate of Limited Partnership and all amendments thereto, duly 
authenticated and certified by the proper authority.
A foreign limited partnership must submit an application to the Arkansas 
Secretary of State for registration as a foreign limited partnership which is 
signed and sworn to by a general partner and sets forth:

1. Name of the limited partnership;
2. State in which it was organized;
3. Date of formation;
4. General character of business;



Trademarks and Service Marks
Section 9

5. Name and physical address of the agent for service of process 
 in Arkansas;
6. Address of principal office in the state of organization;
7. Name and address of each general partner; and
8. Copy of the Certificate of Limited Partnership (or equivalent 
 document) and all amendments thereto. (Must be certified by the 
 Secretary of State of the state of origin, dated within 60 days.)

Filing Trademarks and Service Marks
Individuals and entities, both foreign and domestic, may choose to 
register their trademarks or service marks with the state of Arkansas. 
A state trademark is recognized as a representation of the business and 
its products, and is denoted by “TM” as a superscript or subscript beside 
the mark. Only a trademark registered with the federal government may 
use the ® mark. For example, the Nike logo appears on products and in 
advertising and is  considered a trademark.

A state service mark, denoted by “SM,” symbolizes the services an entity 
offers. For example, a bank provides a service, and its logo would be 
considered a service mark. 

A mark must be in use before being registered with the Arkansas Secretary 
of State. A foreign entity may choose to register its trademark or service 
mark in the state of Arkansas even if that entity is not registered to 
conduct business in Arkansas.

To register a trademark or service mark with the Arkansas Secretary of 
State, the applicant must send a completed application form,  appropriate 
fee and specimens which show  the mark actually in use.  Applications are 
available online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.  The application form 
must reflect the date the mark was first used anywhere, and the date it 
was first used in Arkansas. The application packet must also include three 
original specimens of the mark in use. These may include business cards, 
stationery, literature, apparel, etc. Photographs are not acceptable unless 
they depict the mark used in signage. Color printouts are only acceptable 
when showing the mark in use on a website. 
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Renewing and Transferring Trademarks or Service Marks
A trademark or service mark is registered for five years. It may be 
renewed during the six-month period prior to expiration, by repeating 
the application process. The mark and the application must reflect what 
is currently on file for the mark to be considered a renewal. If any updates 
or changes to the mark wish to be made, the applicant must submit an 
application for a new mark. 

A trademark or service mark may be transferred to another owner upon 
submission to the Arkansas Secretary of State of the appropriate fees and 
notarized Assignment of Registration form, signed by a representative 
of the original mark holder (“assignor”) and a representative of the 
prospective mark holder (“assignee”).
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Commercial Registered Agent: An 
individual or a domestic or foreign 
entity listed under Arkansas Code 
A.C.A. § 4-20-106 to receive service 
of process for a corporation. All 
corporations must have a commercial 
registered agent or a non-commercial 
registered agent on file. 

Corporation: Any company (Inc., Co., 
Incorporation, etc.) filed with the state 
of Arkansas

Dissolution: Domestic (in-state) 
companies that have ceased doing 
business in Arkansas must formally 
dissolve by filing the appropriate forms 
and fees. Entities not formally dissolved 
that do not complete this process will 
continue to accrue franchise taxes with 
the Secretary of State.

Domestic: An entity originally 
established to conduct its business in 
the state of Arkansas.

Entity: Refers to any and all 
businesses filed with the state of 
Arkansas, regardless of type.

Foreign: An entity originally 
established in a state other than 
Arkansas, or in another country.

Franchise Tax: A privilege tax imposed  
on corporations, including banking 
corporations and limited liability com-
panies that are incorporated in Arkan-
sas. The tax is also imposed on foreign 
corporations and limited liability com-
panies that transact business in Ar-
kansas. (A.C.A. 26-54-101) Franchise 
taxes and reports can be submitted in 
person, by mail, or on-line.  For more 
information see bit.ly/BCS_FAQ

Governor: A person by or under 
whose authority the powers of an 
entity are exercised and under whose 
direction the business and affairs of 
the entity are managed pursuant to 
the organic law and organic rules of 
the entity.

Nonprofit: A corporation that exists 
for religious, mutual or public benefit. 
Funds derived from its operation 
cannot be distributed to members as 
profits. Its tax status is determined by 
the Internal Revenue Service.

Nonprofit Annual Report:  For 
more information, see  
bit.ly/ARNonprofitReport

For Profit: A corporation that exists 
to make a profit for its owners or 
shareholders. The tax status of the 
corporation is determined by the 
Internal Revenue Service.

Registered Agent: Receives service 
of process for a corporation; all 
corporations are required to have 
a registered agent or a commercial 
registered agent on file.

Withdrawal: Foreign (out-of-state) 
companies that have ceased doing 
business in Arkansas must formally 
withdraw by filing the appropriate 
forms and fees. Entities not formally 
withdrawn that do not complete this 
process will continue to accrue franchise 
taxes with the Secretary of State.

Glossary of Terms
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Contact Information
You may find the contact information below helpful in obtaining additional 
information about small businesses, the tax code, trademarks and other 
business questions.

Alcoholic Beverage Control
E-mail: abcadmin@dfa.state.ar.us
Phone: 501-682-1105
Fax: 501-682-2221

Arkansas Attorney General
www.ag.arkansas.gov
323 Center Street, Suite 200
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: 501-682-2007
1-800-482-8982

Arkansas Economic 
Development Commission
www.arkansasedc.com
Phone: 501-682-1121
Fax: 501-682-7394

Arkansas Department of
Workforce Services
www.state.ar.us/esd/

Arkansas Home Inspector
Registration Board
http://www.ahib.org
Phone: 501-683-3710
Fax: 501-244-2333

Arkansas Insurance Department
www.insurance.arkansas.gov
Phone: 501-371-2600
Fax: 501-371-2618

Arkansas Manufactured 
Home Commission
Phone: 501-324-9032
Fax: 501-683-3538

Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission
www.aogc.state.ar.us
North Division Phone: 479-646-6611
Fax: 479-649-7656
South Division Phone: 870-862-4965
Fax: 870-862-8823
Little Rock Phone: 501-683-5814
Fax: 501-683-5818

Arkansas Securities Department
www.securities.arkansas.gov
Phone: 501-324-9260
Fax: 501-324-9268
Arkansas State Board of

Arkansas Small Business and
Technology Development Center
www.asbtdc.org
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
College of Business Suite 260
2801 S. University
Little Rock, AR 72204
Phone: 501-683-7700 or 
1-800-862-2040
Fax: 501-683-7720

Arkansas State Bank Department
www.accessarkansas.org/bank
Phone: 501-324-9019
Fax: 501-324-9028

Arkansas State Board of 
Public Accountancy
Phone: 501-682-1520
Fax: 501-682-5538
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Contractors Licensing Board
www.arkansas.gov/clb
Phone: 501-372-4661
Fax: 501-372-2247

Department of Finance 
and Administration
http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa

Professional Engineers and 
Land Surveyors
www.arkansas.gov/pels
Phone: 501-682-2824
Fax: 501-682-2827

Small Business Administration
Arkansas District Office
www.sba.gov/ar
2120 Riverfront Drive, Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72202-1796
Phone: 501-324-7379
Fax: 501-324-7394

United States Patent Office
www.uspto.gov/main/ trademarks. htm
Call the Trademark Assistance
Center at 1-800-786-9199 for help on 
trademark matters.

(For general information regarding other taxes that may apply to your 
corporation, you may wish to contact the Department of Finance and 
Administration, Revenue Division at 501-682-4775, or online at 
www.arkansas.gov/dfa.)

Notice
The information contained in this guide is for informational purposes only 
and should not be used as legal advice. If you require legal or business 
advice, please contact a private attorney or CPA. You may find information 
on the Arkansas Secretary of State’s website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. 
You may address questions through the Business and Commercial Services 
Division at 501-682-3409 or 1-888-233-0325.

Fayetteville
35 E. Mountain
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Phone: 479-442-3948

Fort Smith
4905 Old Greenwood Rd.
Fort Smith, AR 72903
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Phone: 479-649-8602

Jonesboro
615 S. Main St.
Jonesboro, AR 72401
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
(Closed for lunch 11:30 a.m.- 12:30 p.m.)
Phone: 870-802-0219

Little Rock
700 W. Capitol
Little Rock, AR 72201
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Phone: 501-324-5111

Internal Revenue Service
www.irs.gov
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Doing 
Business

in
Arkansas

John Thurston
Secretary of State

Arkansas Secretary of State
Business and Commercial Services Division
1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094
501-682-3409; 888-233-0325
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ 		  Revised 1-2019

Scan the QR code with your 
smartphone app to order 

certificates of good standing
 and search entities 

on the go!


