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Dear Business Owner:

I am pleased to introduce Doing Business in Arkansas, which provides 
information for our clients interested in filing a corporation or 
business organization in Arkansas.

The handbook explores issues including:
• Choosing an entity type
• Reserving and filing a corporate name
• Avoiding common problems with document filings
• Corporate fee schedule
• Domestic entities
• Foreign  entities
• Trademarks and Service Marks

We also provide contact information for other agencies which might be 
of assistance in establishing or expanding your business.

If you need additional information or have questions, please contact the 
Arkansas Secretary of State Business and Commercial Services Division at 
501-682-3409, 1-888-233-0325 or e-mail corprequest@sos.arkansas.gov.

Sincerely,

John Thurston
Secretary of State
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Section 1

Business AND CommerCial serviCes DIVISION

Persons desiring to organize a business entity, such as a corporation or partnership in 
Arkansas, must apply to the Arkansas Secretary of State (SOS) for authority to conduct 
business or other activities. Through the Business and Commercial Services Division (BCS), 
the Arkansas SOS approves various kinds of entity transactions and issues certificates giving 
effect to these transactions. The term “business entity” is used herein, in a general sense and 
encompasses all business organizations regulated by the State of Arkansas, including
Corporations, LLCs, LPs, LLPs and some associations and cooperatives.

The BCS Division also retains the records of almost 170,000 active business entities organized or 
authorized to conduct business in Arkansas.  Records maintained in this Division are subject to 
the Freedom of Information Act (except for some franchise tax information). These files are 
public and may be inspected or copied upon request for a fee. Fees are listed on the Filing Fee 
Schedule at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.  

A. Hours and Telephone Numbers
The BCS Division is open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (except for
observed holidays) and can be reached by phone at 888-233-0325 or 501-682-3409.
Documents may be filed online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. Online filings are
normally updated within 48 hours and documentation is returned by e-mail to the
submitter. Documents may also be submitted by mail. If approved, mailed documents will
normally be filed and returned within 24 to 72 hours after the BCS Division receives them.
You may also file by bringing documents directly to our office, and if approved, they will be
processed while you wait. Any document received after 4:30 p.m. should be available for pick-
up the next business day. (To avoid delays caused by return of defective documents,
please see the Checklist for Document Filings on page 12.)

B. Services of the Business and Commercial Services Division
1. Approval of Business Entity Transactions – Arkansas Code requires many business entity
proceedings to be filed as a public record in the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office. Most
common among these transactions are the filing of Articles of Incorporation, Articles of
Organization, Amendments, Mergers and Dissolutions. Forms for the filing of these documents
are available at no charge from the BCS Division online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ or by
contacting the office. Some filings may be made through our web service at a lower fee.
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Fee payments must be submitted when the documents are presented for filing. The principal 
documents are discussed in detail in this guide, beginning on page 12. If you need additional 
assistance, the staff of the BCS Division is available to answer questions and provide help.  
However, you may need to contact a local attorney or accountant to assist you further with your 
filing and answer any legal questions you may have.

3. Preparation of Certified Copies of Documents – Many legal proceedings and business
transactions require the introduction or presentation of documents certified by the Arkansas
SOS as true and accurate copies of the records in this office. Certified copies of the entity
records in the Office of the Arkansas SOS may be introduced into evidence in all courts
within the state as prima facie evidence of the facts stated in the documents. The Arkansas
SOS may certify any entity documents on file with the BCS Division. In addition to certified
copies of documents, this office also prepares Certificates of Good Standing, Certificates of
Existence, and Certificates of No Record.

• A Certificate of Good Standing states that an entity has complied with all requirements
regulated by the Arkansas Secretary of State BCS Division. Certificates of Good
Standing can be purchased and downloaded online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.

• A Certificate of Existence states that a business entity was incorporated or admitted to
do business, whether it was in existence on a particular date, and whether it is currently
in good standing with the Arkansas SOS.

• A Certificate of No Record certifies that all available records of the Arkansas Secretary
of State’s office have been searched and that a particular entity does not appear in the
records.

• Division Hours & Phone Numbers

2. Dissemination of Information – As the official record keeper of business entity documents,
the BCS Division can provide various kinds of information on all registered business entities. The
BCS Division receives more than 2,000 telephone calls per week, most of which are from
persons either requesting information on entities or checking on the availability of corporate
names (see page 11 for a discussion of corporate names).  Information may also be acquired
online, by mail, or by visiting our office.
The following information is available online, by mail, or by telephone:

• Availability of Entity Name
• Availability of Foreign Name
• Availability of Fictitious Names
• Type of Entity and Status

• Registered Agent for Legal
Service of Process and Address

• State of Origin
• Authorized Stock
• Corporate Officers
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Because of the volume of certification requests, please submit your order as early as possible. If 
you must have the order by a particular date, inform the clerk of the date by which you must 
have your order completed and whether you wish to pick it up or have it mailed. Certification 
orders must be paid for in advance and are usually processed within 24 to 48 hours after 
payment is received by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office.

4. Legal Assistance – The BCS Division of the Arkansas SOS is not engaged in the practice of
law and cannot give legal advice or issue legal opinions. If you have specific questions regarding
a legal opinion or legal advice, please contact a private attorney or legal professional. Our staff
attorneys are available to assist with legal problems arising in connection with matters relating
directly to this office. However, they may not render legal advice or counsel individuals about
their legal rights. Complaints regarding the activities of corporate entities should be filed with
the Arkansas Attorney General’s office.

5. Forms – The BCS Division has forms available for the filing of most documents, as well as fee
schedules and other materials designed to simplify or clarify transactions with this office. All
forms are free of charge.  These items may be obtained by visiting the Arkansas Secretary of
State’s website at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ or by contacting the BCS Division.

6. Bulk Data Downloads – Listings of existing business entities, including the names
and addresses of the entity and its registered agent, are available for purchase. Lists
may be prepared by corporate type (domestic or foreign, profit or nonprofit).  The charges
for these computer printouts, data files, or other media types are calculated by the number of
records on the total order and can be purchased through the Arkansas Secretary of State’s
website at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ under the Business Entity Search.

7. Authentication of Documents for use abroad – Authentication of public documents for
use outside the United States is provided by the BCS Division in the form of an Apostille or
a Certification. The documents must be certified by an Arkansas Notary Public, State
Registrar, or Elected Official.

The Notarial Certificate or Certificate/Seal of the State Registrar or Elected Official must 
be affixed to the document. If the document is not in English, a notarized translation of the 
entire document into English must be attached. It is recommended you contact the Embassy or a 
Consulate of the country where you intend to use the document to see what type of 
authentication is accepted before applying. Fees are $10.00 for an Apostille and $5.00 for a 
Certification and are payable in advance. Requests for authentication are only accepted in 
person at the BCS office or by mail. Customers may choose whether to drop off the request for a  
later pickup or wait while the request is processed.
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Section 2

Choosing an entity type

When starting a business, you may choose from several business forms or organizations. 
A variety of organizational structures are available for transacting business in Arkansas. 
In deciding which form of business is appropriate for your venture, a lawyer, CPA, tax advisor, 
or financial advisor can provide critical information. Choosing the proper business entity is vital 
to the success of your project. This booklet outlines some of the issues involved, but is 
not a substitute for sound legal and financial advice from competent lawyers, accountants, and 
advisors.  It is only a starting point.

One of the primary considerations in selecting a business organization is protection of 
the owners of the business from liability. Other considerations include tax treatment by the 
federal and state governments, management structure, future ownership, and capitalization. 
Arkansas laws determine how particular entities should be set up and conduct their business. 
These laws are very specific and set out the legal responsibility of each business form. Taxing 
authorities and regulatory agencies also have laws that pertain to businesses. 
You can find information about choosing and setting up the proper form of business for your 
needs at libraries, small business development centers, and on the Internet. Ultimately, 
however, an attorney or a certified public accountant is probably needed to help you make 
the decision. The most common business structures are described in the following pages.

Sole Proprietorship
A business with a single owner with no formal or separate form of business structure is known 
as a sole proprietorship. The owner has sole control and responsibility of the business. A sole 
proprietorship is easily formed, allows important decisions to be made quickly, and typically has 
fewer legal restrictions.  In this situation, the owner and the business are indistinguishable. The 
business has limited life and cannot be transferred (as an entity) to others. Generally, 
paperwork for sole proprietorships is NOT filed with the Arkansas SOS; some are filed at 
the county level. (See also, Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entities below). The sole 
proprietor’s responsibilities include but are not limited to:

Sole Proprietorships:
• Obtain all capital.
• Incur personal liability for all debts and claims against the business.
• Claim all profits and losses on the owner’s personal income tax return.
• Obtain state and local business licenses and permits.
• Record the name of the business with your local county clerk.
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Partnership
A partnership is an association of two or more persons acting as co-owners of a business. 
A written agreement between the parties involved is highly recommended. This agreement 
should set out the responsibilities and obligations of the partners, as well as the percentage of 
ownership.

General Partnership
General partnerships are not required to file an official registration beyond that required for a 
sole proprietorship, but may choose to file with the Secretary of State’s office in order to be on 
record as a general partnership. Check with your advisors.

General partnerships:
• Do not protect the personal assets of the business partners from claims against

the partnership.
• Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue Service and Arkansas

Income Tax Division.
• Share its profits and losses among the partners according to their ownership percentage or

other legal means. Partners are then required to claim this income or loss on their personal
income tax return.

Limited Liability Partnership
A limited liability partnership (LLP) allows all the partners to take an active role in the 
management of the business while offering members some liability protection from actions of 
the other partners, the partnership, and the partnership employees. LLPs are most often used by 
groups of professionals such as doctors, accountants, or architects.

Limited Liability Partnerships:
• Are treated like partnerships by the Internal Revenue Service.
• Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue Service and Arkansas

Income Tax Division.
• Do not provide liability protection to individual partners for their own actions.
• Are created by filing a Qualification of Limited Liability Partnership with the Arkansas

SOS.
• Must file an annual report with the Arkansas SOS.

Limited Partnership
A limited partnership (LP) consists of general partners and limited partners. The general 
partner(s) manage the business and usually have no liability protection.  The limited partner(s) 
are usually investors that are not involved in the day-to-day operations of the business and 
whose liability is normally limited to the extent of their investment.
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Limited Partnerships:
• Are treated like a partnership by the Internal Revenue Service.
• Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue Service and Arkansas

Income Tax Division.
• Were originally developed for real estate development ventures.
• Are created by filing a Certificate of Limited Partnership with the Arkansas SOS.
• Must file an annual report with the Arkansas SOS.

Limited Liability Limited Partnership
A limited liability limited partnership (LLLP) is a type of limited partnership. One effect of 
registration is to limit the vicarious liability of the general partners in the same fashion that 
registration as an LLP limits the liability of the general partners of a general partnership.

Limited Liability Limited Partnerships:
• Are created by filing a Certificate of Limited Liability Limited Partnership.
• Are a type of Limited Partnership.
• Must file an annual report with the Arkansas SOS.
• Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue Service and Arkansas

Income Tax Division.

Corporation
A corporation is a more complex form of business organization. The corporation is a legal entity 
and exists apart from its owners or shareholders. As a separate entity, the corporation has its 
own rights, privileges and liabilities apart from the shareholders, officers and board of directors. 
A corporation can buy and sell property, enter into contracts, sue and be sued. Elected officers 
and its board of directors manage the corporation.

Corporations:
• Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas SOS.
• May be formed for profit or for nonprofit purposes.
• Are unaffected in their duration by death or transfer of shares by any of the owners.
• Require more extensive record keeping.
• For-profit corporations pay taxes on their profits; profits are distributed to the owners via

dividends and are taxable by state and federal taxing authorities.
• For-profit corporations must file annual franchise tax reports with, and pay franchise

taxes to, the Arkansas SOS.
• For-profit corporations file returns with the Internal Revenue Service and Arkansas

Income Tax Division.
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S Corporation
The S Corporation is a corporation that chooses to be taxed under Subchapter S of the Internal 
Revenue Tax Code. Being an S Corporation is a tax matter only. S Corporations are considered 
“tax pass through” business entities, meaning their profits and losses are reported by their 
owners on the owners’ personal tax returns.

S Corporations:
• Are corporations in the view of the state and comply with state corporation laws.
• Must have only one class of stock.
• Must be made up of shareholders that are individuals, estates, or trusts, but not

corporations.
• Can only have shareholders that are United States citizens or residents.
• Cannot be members of affiliated groups of corporations.
• Are limited to 75 shareholders.
• Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas SOS and the appropriate

filings with the Internal Revenue Service.
• Must file annual franchise tax reports with, and pay franchise taxes to, the Arkansas SOS.

Limited Liability Company
A limited liability company (LLC) combines many characteristics of corporations and 
partnerships. The LLC provides limited liability to its members.

Limited Liability Companies:
• Must file Articles of Organization with the Arkansas SOS.
• Allow members to manage the company themselves or to elect managers.
• Allow members to engage in management without risk of losing their limited liability

status.
• Are a relatively new form of business organization.
• May be taxed by the Internal Revenue Service as corporations or as partnerships,

depending on their structure.
• Must file annual franchise tax reports with, and pay franchise taxes to, the Arkansas SOS.
• Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue Service and Arkansas

Income Tax Division.

Series Limited Liability Company
A series LLC (SLLC) is an LLC whose agreement provides for the establishment of 1 or more 
designated series of members, managers, limited liability company interests, or assets which 
have separate rights, powers, or duties with respect to assets and liabilities.
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Series Limited Liability Companies:
• Each series can have a separate business or investment purpose.
• SLLCs provide both vertical (series to LLC) and horizontal (series-to-series)

liability protection.
• An individual can be a member/manager of more than one series, and each series can have

more than one member/manager.
• Each series must maintain its own books and records.
• The master LLC and series LLC(s), also called Protected Series or PS, must establish a

master operating agreement that, at a minimum, establishes the designated series of
transferable interest, intended limitation on liabilities, and may provide for different
classes of group of members or managers associated with a series with varying economic
and voting rights, powers, and duties.

• Because of the complexity of SLLCs, the Arkansas SOS STRONGLY encourages anyone
wanting to form this type of entity to first seek both legal and professional tax advice from
a licensed attorney and certified public accountant.

• Please contact the BCS office for further information on how to form a SLLC.

Nonprofit Corporation
Nonprofit corporations must be created for a public benefit, for mutual benefit for its members, 
or for religious purposes. Nonprofit corporation status does not guarantee that the organization 
will be granted tax-exempt status by the Internal Revenue Service, nor does it ensure that the 
contributions to the organization are tax deductible.

Becoming a nonprofit corporation is generally a prerequisite to applying for tax-exempt status 
under IRS Code, such as section 501(c)(3) or section 501(c)(4). To accommodate the vast 
number of entities choosing to file for tax-exempt status with the IRS, the Arkansas SOS 
provides a blank template, as well as the traditional nonprofit Articles of Incorporation 
template. If the nonprofit corporation intends to solicit charitable contributions, it must 
also register with the Arkansas SOS.  See Charitable Organization Registration below.

Nonprofit Corporations:
• May not have shareholders or pay dividends.
• May compensate members, officers, and trustees (in reasonable amounts) for services

rendered.
• Must have specific provisions in its Articles of Incorporation dealing with property

distribution upon dissolution.
• Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas SOS.
• Must file an annual disclosure statement with the Arkansas SOS.
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Charitable Organization Registration
Pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-28-401 through 416, Arkansas law requires a charitable organization 
wishing to solicit contributions from persons in Arkansas to register with the Arkansas SOS 
prior to engaging in any of the following: soliciting contributions, using fund-raising counsel, 
paid solicitors, professional telemarketers, or conducting a sales promotion.  
Charitable organizations are obligated to update their information when they file their 
annual financial report.  The annual financial report must be filed no later than one hundred 
eighty (180) days after the last date of the charitable organization’s fiscal year including, 
but not limited to, relationships with fund-raising counsel, paid solicitors, or commercial 
co-venturers.

Paid Solicitor Registration
Pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-28-401 through 416, Arkansas law requires paid solicitors to register 
with the Arkansas SOS. Registration is only valid for one year but may be renewed for 
additional one year periods. The registration form and all required attachments must be 
submitted at least 15 days prior to commencing performance on the contract. 

Fundraising Counsel Registration
Pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-28-401 through 416, Arkansas law requires fund-raising counsel to 
register with the Arkansas SOS. Fund-raising counsel is defined by A.C.A. § 4-28-401(6) as 
any person who, under a written agreement, plans, conducts, manages, carries on, 
advises, or acts as a consultant in connection with the solicitation of contributions on 
behalf of a charitable organization, but who does not actually solicit contributions. Registration 
is only valid for one year but may be renewed for additional one year periods with the filing of 
a new application and fee. The form, and all required attachments, must be submitted at least 
15 days prior to commencing performance on the contract.

Professional Telemarketer Registration
Pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-28-401 through 416, Arkansas law requires any person employed 
or retained by a paid telemarketer to solicit charitable contributions in Arkansas to 
register with the Arkansas SOS. This registration must be submitted within 72 hours after 
accepting employment. Registration is only valid for one year but may be renewed for 
additional one year periods with the submission of the form and the applicable fee of $10.00 per 
telemarketer.

Telephonic Sellers
Pursuant to A.C.A. §§ 4-99-101 through 112, Arkansas law requires telephonic sellers to register 
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Commercial Registered Agent
A commercial registered agent is an individual or entity that is in the business of providing 
registered agent services for registered entities in Arkansas. The primary purpose of the 
commercial registered agent is to accept service of process or other notices on behalf of  the 
entities.

Commercial Registered Agents:
• Are created by filing a Commercial Registered Agent Registration with  the Arkansas SOS.
• Are regulated by the Model Registered Agents Act (MoRAA) of 2007.

Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity
An entity that is not required to file or register in order to transact business in the state may 
choose to file a Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity Statement. This filing allows the entity to have 
its registered agent/service of process information on file with the Arkansas SOS.

Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entities:

• Are created by filing a Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity Statement with the Arkansas
SOS.

• Do not qualify as an otherwise nonqualifying entity.
• Do not provide any protection for the use of the name by the entity.

Video Service Providers
Act 276 of 2013 authorized video service providers to register with the Arkansas SOS and 
receive a Certificate of Franchise Authority. Original registration fees are $1,500 and Certificates 
are valid for a ten (10) year period. Application forms can be found online at the 
Arkansas Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.

Benefit Corporation
Act 1388 of 2013 authorized the creation of a Benefit Corporation.  It operates generally under 
the same rules as a corporation created under the new corporation code, A.C.A. § 4-27-101 et. 
seq., but must pursue a general public benefit, which is defined as a “material positive 
impact on society and the environment.” Specific public benefits may be identified also in 
the Articles of Incorporation.  An annual benefit report must be filed with the Arkansas 
SOS at the same time franchise taxes are filed.  The additional fee for filing the annual 
benefit report is $70.00.
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Section 3

Corporate names

A business entity organized or admitted to do business in Arkansas is granted the exclusive use 
of a name at the time it is file marked by the Arkansas SOS. However; according to A.C.A. 
§§ 4-27-401 through 4-27-405 and A.C.A. §§ 4-26-401 through 4-26-406, a corporate filing
with the Arkansas SOS does not necessarily give you the right to use your proposed corporate
name, assumed or fictitious name, in this state if the use violates someone else’s trade name,
trademark, or service mark rights under the trademark laws of the United States, this state,
or the common law. Prior to your use of the name, you are encouraged to re-search the names
and marks of other parties used or registered in this state, or registered in the United States
Patent and Trademark Office, or consult an attorney to determine the existence of any
conflicting rights.

A. Requirements for Corporate Name
1. The name of every Arkansas corporation must include the word “Corporation,”
“Incorporated,” “Company,” or an abbreviation of one of these words. The corporate ending
may vary due to the section of Arkansas Code under which the entity chooses to file (See
Application for Filing Articles of Incorporation, available online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/
BCS/, or by contacting our office).
2. No domestic or foreign business entity may take or assume an entity name identical
or confusingly similar to the name of any other Arkansas business entity or of any
other foreign business entity authorized to transact business in Arkansas. The name
must be distinguishable from other names on record.

B. Name Availability
1. Distinguishable names – If a proposed name contains the same word or phrase as
an existing name, the Arkansas SOS will look for additional wording, which in some way
significantly distinguishes the proposed name, such as a description of business purpose or
activity.
2. All requests for name availability searches are available by contacting a business
services representative or by conducting a name search on the Arkansas Secretary
of State’s website www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. The name searches are strictly
preliminary searches and do not guarantee the right of the filer until actual corporate
papers are filed with the Secretary of State’s office.

It is not advisable to obtain a tax ID number, buy stationery, stock certificates, literature, 
advertising or other items based upon a name availability search.
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C. Reservation of Names
1. Corporate names may be reserved prior to incorporation for a period of 120 (one hundred 

twenty) days when the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office receives the correct filing 
fee and the proper name reservation forms. The forms are available for electronic 
filing or downloading from the Secretary of State’s website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/
BCS/, visiting the office or contacting a corporate representative.  Name reservations filed 
under the corporate act are non-renewable. Name reservations filed under the LLC and LP 
acts have a one-time renewal period.

2. When a corporate name has been reserved, and the right to that name is transferred in 
writing during the 120-day period, it can only be reserved for the balance of time remaining 
on the original 120-day period. The fee for transfer of name reservation and the form can be 
found online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ or can be obtained by contacting a BCS 
corporate representative.

A. For All Documents
1. Check to see that every section of your document has been completed, including addresses 

(P.O. Box is not an acceptable address for a registered agent). Incomplete documents 
cannot be approved and will be returned to the applicant for correction.  If the separate 
franchise tax contact information form is not completed, your annual franchise tax report 
(if applicable) and/or annual report may not reach you, causing your corporation to enter 
inactive or revoked status. Franchise taxes will still accrue, even if unpaid, until the 
business is dissolved or withdrawn formally.

2. Make sure you have submitted the correct fee and, if you are paying with a check, that it 
is not more than 60 (sixty) days old. Sign your check and make it payable to the Arkansas 
Secretary of State. You may send a money order for payment, if you prefer, or may pay by 
credit/debit card by submitting your card information with your filing. Our office does not 
suggest mailing cash. A filing fee schedule may be obtained by accessing our website, 
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, writing, or calling our office or visiting the Business and 
Commercial Services Division. 

3. Confirm that all necessary parties have signed the documents. Incorporators must usually 
be at least 18 years of age. But, according to A.C.A. § 4-27-120, one or more natural persons 
who are between the ages of sixteen (16) and eighteen (18) years of age shall have a person 
who is at least twenty-one (21) years of age or older to serve on his or her behalf as an 
incorporator/organizer of a corporation or LLC.

4. File an original set of documents. Do not send copies.

Section 4

CheCklist for DoCument filings
This checklist helps to prevent some of the most common problems that delay the processing 
of documents filed with the BCS Division. Simply review the following checklist to 
ensure  your documents are complete and accurate.
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5. Be certain you are filing the correct document. Check to see if the form is for a profit, 
nonprofit, foreign, domestic, or public benefit corporation.

6. Reserve your corporate name by internet, mail, or in person at the BCS Division. Filing the 
correct forms and paying the filing fee will reserve your name (upon availability) for 120 
days. No reservations can be placed by telephone. A check for the availability 
of a corporate name by internet or telephone is only a preliminary search and does not 
guarantee the name is available. It is not advisable to buy stationery or other items based 
upon a name search.

For all documents, the business must be current in its franchise tax filings 
and payments. Franchise taxes are due annually. Failure to pay can result in the 
imposition of additional fees, penalties and interest, or even revocation of the authorization 
to do business. Franchise taxes continue to accrue, even for revoked businesses, until 
the business is dissolved, withdrawn, or merged. Any additional BCS  filings are prohibited for 
entities that fail to pay the franchise tax.

B. Articles of Incorporation For Profit and Nonprofit Entities
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Check to see if you have provided a principal office address and a physical registered agent

address in Arkansas. Post Office boxes are not acceptable.
3. Nonprofit entities must list what will be done with their assets upon dissolution. The IRS

requires specific wording in the Articles of Incorporation regarding the disposition of
assets. Please verify with the IRS, before filing with the Arkansas SOS, if you have
questions and are applying for federal nonprofit status. The IRS website is www.irs. gov.
To accommodate the vast number of entities choosing to file for 501(c)(3) status with the
IRS, the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office provides a blank template with suggested IRS
language as well as the traditional nonprofit Articles of Incorporation templates.

C. Articles of Amendment
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Be certain to state clearly the text of each amendment and identify each article being

amended.
3. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.

D. Dissolution
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.
3. Fill out and pay Final Franchise Tax Report.  All unpaid franchise taxes, penalties and
interest must be paid.
4. Fill out and return correct dissolution form and fee.
(All Non-Profit entities disregard item 3 above.)
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E. Foreign Corporation Application for Authority to Transact Business
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Be sure to complete Article 7. This requires good faith estimates in dollar amounts.
3. A Certificate of Good Standing from the entity’s domestic state must be filed with all 

Foreign Corporation Applications for Certificate of Authority to transact business in the 
state of Arkansas. This good standing must be dated within the past 30 (thirty) days.

F. Foreign Certificates of Amendment
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Be certain to state clearly the text of each amendment and identify each article being 

amended.
3. Include a certified copy of the amendment, merger, or consolidation officially filed in the 

corporation’s domestic state, dated within 60 (sixty) days.
4. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.

G. Withdrawal
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Make sure franchise taxes are current.  All unpaid franchise taxes, penalties, and interest 

must be paid.
3. Fill out annual report and/or Final Franchise Tax Report and pay franchise taxes.
4. Fill out and return the correct withdrawal form and fee.

H. Mergers
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. The agreement or plan of merger must be submitted with the Articles of Merger. The 

agreement must detail:
a. The terms and conditions of the merger;
b. The manner of converting the shares of the non-surviving corporation(s) into shares or 

other securities of the surviving corporation; and
c. A statement of the amendments to the Articles of Incorporation of the surviving 

corporation necessary and/or desirable to effect the merger.
3. The effective date of the merger shall not be prior to, nor more than 30 (thirty) days after, 

the date of the filing and approval of the Articles of Merger by the Arkansas  SOS. If the 
effective date is not stated in the Articles of Merger, the effective date shall be the date of 
filing (and approval) of the Articles of Merger by the Arkansas SOS.
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4. In a merger absorbing a domestic corporation into a foreign corporation, if the merger is
filed in the foreign corporation’s home state or country first, the surviving foreign
corporation must file a certified copy of the Certificate of Merger from the foreign
corporation’s domestic state with the Arkansas SOS within 30 (thirty) days of the
effective date of the merger. If the merger is filed in Arkansas first, the original signed
documents merging the corporation must be filed with the Arkansas SOS within 30
(thirty) days of the effective date of the merger.

5. If the surviving foreign corporation intends to transact business in Arkansas, the surviving
foreign corporation must seek admission to do business in Arkansas prior to or
contemporaneously with the filing of the Articles of Merger.

6. Make sure all annual reports and franchise taxes are current.

Section 5

entity filing fees

All filing fee schedules may be obtained by visiting our website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, 
or by writing, calling, or visiting the Arkansas Secretary of State’s BCS Division.

Section 6

availaBle formS

The following forms are available  for download from the Arkansas Secretary of State’s website, 
ww.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, visiting the office, contacting a corporate representative, or by 
electronic filing.

A. Domestic Corporations Forms
• Articles of Incorporation (also includes LLC, LP, LLP, LLLP, GP)
• Certificate of Amendment
• Change of Registered Agent Information
• Certificate of Dissolution
• Application for Reservation of Corporate Name
• Registration of Fictitious Name
• Articles of Incorporation for Nonprofit
• Annual Reports/Franchise Tax forms
• Franchise Tax Contact Information form
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B. Foreign Corporation Forms
• Statement of Corporation Seeking Authorization to do Business in Arkansas (also includes

LLC, LP, LLP, LLLP, GP)
• Change of Registered Agent Information
• Certificate of Withdrawal
• Registration of Fictitious Name
• Registration of Corporate Name
• Application for Nonprofit Corporation to do Business in Arkansas
• Certificates of Amended Certificate of Authority
• Application for Reservation of Name
• Annual Reports/Franchise Tax forms
• Franchise Tax Contact Information form

Section 7

DomestiC entities

A. Articles of Incorporation and Articles of Organization
A Corporation or LLC is formed by filing Articles of Incorporation (or Articles of Organization for
an LLC) with the Office of the Arkansas SOS. The Office of the Arkansas SOS will review and
approve these Articles and issue a Certificate, which marks the beginning of the corporate
existence. The filing must include one (1) original Articles of Incorporation or Articles
of Organization, signed by all incorporators/organizers, and contain the following information:

1. a. Name of the Corporation – Shall contain the word “Corporation,” “Incorporated,” or
     “Company,” or an abbreviation of one of these words, but not as the final word of the  
     actual company name. Final word(s) or abbreviation(s) are immediately preceded by  
     “and” or any symbol for “and.” For example, the corporate name could be “XYZ 
     Company.” But “ABC & Company” must be formally named “ABC & Company, Inc.;”
b. Name of the LLC – Shall contain the words "Limited Liability Company," "Limited

Company," or the abbreviation "L.L.C.," "L.C.," "LLC," or "LC."
2. Number of shares, which the corporation shall have the authority to issue:

a. Class (optional).
b. Series (if any).
c. Par value per share or statement that shares are without par value.
d. LLCs do not list stock information.

3. The name and physical address (P.O. Box is not accepted) of the corporation’s initial
registered agent;
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4. Name and address of each incorporator/organizer;
5. Purpose(s) for which the corporation is organized; and
6. The articles may also set forth other provisions not inconsistent with law regarding

identity of directors, limitations of purpose, management, and shareholder liability.

B. Certificate of Amendment
Subsequent to the issuance of the Certificate, the corporation or LLC may need or choose
to amend its Articles of Incorporation. The Board of Directors must adopt a resolution setting
out the proposed amendment(s) and direct they be submitted to a vote of the shareholders of
the corporation. The shareholders of the corporation entitled to vote on amendment(s) must
then vote to adopt the proposed amendment(s).  If all or a substantial number of the articles are
to be amended, Amended and Restated Articles of Incorporation may be filed, which will
supersede the original Articles of Incorporation.

For a corporation organized under the new corporation code, A.C.A. § 4-27-101 et. seq., 
an original Certificate of Amendment must be filed with the Arkansas SOS with an officer’s 
signature and the following information, pursuant to  A.C.A. §§ 4-27-1006 to 1009:

i. Name of corporation;
ii. Statements certifying the following information:

a. Article(s) which was (were) amended, plus exact wording;
b. That at a special (or regular) meeting of the stockholders of said corporation, duly

called and held at the office of the company (give city, state, and date),
the amendment(s) to the Articles of Incorporation was (were) offered and adopted;

c. If an amendment provides for an exchange, reclassification, or cancellation of issued
shares, provisions for implementing the amendment if not contained in the amendment
itself;

d. If the amendment was adopted by the incorporators or board of directors without
shareholder action, a statement to that effect and that shareholder action was not
required; and

e. An amendment approved by shareholders must list:
i. The designation, number of outstanding shares, number of votes entitled to be cast by

each voting group entitled to vote separately on the amendment, and number of votes
of each voting group indisputably represented at the meeting; and

ii. Either the total number of votes cast for and against the amendment by each voting
group entitled to vote separately on the amendment or the total number of undisputed
votes cast for the amendment by each voting group, plus a statement that the number
cast for the amendment by each voting group was sufficient for approval by that voting
group.
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For amendment filings pursuant to A.C.A. § 4-26-301 et. seq.,  please refer to the Arkansas Code 
or the template provided online by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office.

C. Change of Registered Agent Information
Every Arkansas domestic or foreign admitted corporation is required to register with the
Arkansas SOS its current principal office address in Arkansas and the name and address of
the person designated as the registered agent for service of process. If the corporation
does not have an office or facility in Arkansas, the registered agent’s address can serve as
the principal office address.  Changing the Registered Agent does not change the
franchise tax contact information or the principal office address (which must be done
separately).

The location and designation of registered agent may be changed by filing with the 
Arkansas SOS a certificate, signed by the president or other officer, which contains the 
following information:

• Name of corporation;
• Entity type;
• Previous name and street address of registered agent; and
• New name and street address of registered agent. The Agent address must be a physical

Arkansas address.
Some registered agents may choose to be filed as a commercial registered agent and comply with 
the Model Registered Agents Act (MoRAA) of 2007. A commercial registered agent can be 
either an individual or an entity and must list the following information with the Arkansas 
Secretary of State’s office:

• Name of individual or entity;
• Jurisdiction; and
• Physical and mailing address for service of process along with an additional means of

accepting service. The Agent address must be a physical Arkansas address.

D. Dissolution
A corporation may terminate its corporate existence by undergoing voluntary dissolution.
The Board of Directors must first approve a resolution proposing dissolution. That resolution
must then be adopted by a vote of the shareholders of the corporation. Upon adoption of
the resolution by the shareholders, the Board of Directors may then proceed to dissolve the
corporation by filing the Certificate of Dissolution, signed by the president or other officer of
the corporation, which contains the following information:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. Date the dissolution was authorized;
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3. If dissolution was approved by shareholders:
a. The number of total possible votes on the proposal to dissolve;
b. Either the total number of votes cast for and against dissolution or the total number of

undisputed votes cast for dissolution and a statement that the number cast for
dissolution was sufficient for approval; and

4. If the dissolution required approval by voting groups, the information in #3 above must be
provided for each individual voting group entitled to participate.

E. Fictitious Name Registration
No corporation, foreign or domestic, shall conduct any business in Arkansas under a fictitious
name unless it first files that name with the Arkansas SOS. In the case of a domestic
corporation, a form supplied or approved by the Arkansas SOS must also be filed with the
county clerk of the county in which the corporation’s registered office is located (unless
located in Pulaski County), giving the following information:

• Fictitious name under which the business is or will be conducted;
• Description of the character of the business;
• Corporate name of the applicant;
• The state of incorporation;
• Location of the registered office of the applicant corporation in Arkansas; and
• Statement that if applicant is a foreign corporation, it is admitted to and authorized to do

business in Arkansas.

F. Name Reservation
1. The exclusive right to the use of a corporate name may be reserved by any person or

corporation, foreign or domestic, by filing with the Arkansas SOS a written application to
reserve a specified corporate name. If the Arkansas SOS finds that the name is
distinguishable upon its records from any other name reserved or registered or the name of
any domestic corporation or any foreign corporation admitted to this State, it may be
reserved for the exclusive use of the applicant for a period of 120 days.

2. The applicant may transfer the right to the exclusive use of a specific corporate name to
another person or corporation by filing a Transfer of Reservation of Name form in the
Office of the Arkansas SOS.

3. A name reservation filed under the corporate code section may not be renewed nor shall the
same name be reserved on any subsequent application filed by, or for the benefit of, the
original applicant or any person, firm or corporation identified with such applicant, or any
transferee of the original applicant.

4. A name reservation filed under the limited liability company or limited partnership code
section may be renewed one (1) time by the original applicant by filing the appropriate form
and fee.
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G. Nonprofit Articles of Incorporation
Any association or persons choosing to be incorporated as a nonprofit organization shall file
under the Arkansas Nonprofit Act  by completing nonprofit Articles of Incorporation with the
Arkansas SOS. Before the Articles are prepared, a corporate name should be selected and
verified with the BCS Division (See pages 11 and 12 for a discussion of corporate names and
reservation of names). The Office of Arkansas SOS will review and approve the Articles and
issue a Certificate of Incorporation, which marks the beginning of the corporate existence. If
filing for federal tax exempt status of 501(c)(3), please refer to the special template provided by
the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office.

The Articles must include the following information:
1. Name of corporation;
2. Type of nonprofit corporation: Public-Benefit, Mutual-Benefit, or Religious Corporation;
3. List whether corporation will have members;
4. Statement of any provisions for the regulation of the internal affairs of corporation, said

purpose, and any provisions for distribution of assets upon dissolution or final liquidation
(If filing for federal tax exempt status, please check with the IRS for this statement
at www.irs.gov);

5. Physical address (P.O. Box not acceptable for registered agent) of main office, principal
place of business, and the name and address of the registered agent; and

6. Name and address of each incorporator.

Reminder: Nonprofits are required to file an annual disclosure statement by August 1.

H. Updating Annual Report / Franchise Tax Contact Information
It is imperative that all annual report and franchise tax filing entities maintain an up-to-date 
mailing address with the Arkansas SOS. The form can be electronically filed by visiting the BCS 
Website link https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/forms-fees 
and choosing the form Application for Tax Contact Address Change, or you can write a letter 
requesting the change. Tax Contact information can also be updated yearly when filing the 
entity’s annual report or franchise taxes. Franchise tax continues to accrue against all 
businesses each year until formally dissolved with the Arkansas SOS. Failure to pay franchise 
taxes will preclude businesses from making any other filings, until taxes are paid. P.O. Boxes are 
not acceptable for Registered Agents.

I. Domestic Limited Partnership
A limited partnership is a partnership formed by two (2) or more persons, has as members one

(1) or more general partners and one (1) or more limited partners.
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Two (2) or more persons desiring to form a limited partnership shall sign and swear to a 
certificate, which shall state:

• Name of the limited partnership; (Must contain the words limited partnership, L.P., or LP.);
• Physical and mailing address for designated office;
• Name and business address of each general partner; and
• Any other matters the general partners determine to include therein.

Section 8

foreign entities

A. Certificate of Authority for a Corporation or Certificate of Registration of an LLC
Any foreign corporation or LLC proposing to do intrastate business in Arkansas, or permitted to
continue to do intrastate business, shall file with the Arkansas SOS the following information,
signed by an officer of the entity:

1. Name of the corporation or LLC;
2. State, territory, or foreign country under whose laws the corporation or LLC was formed,

along with incorporation date and duration;
3. Purpose of entity;
4. Address of the general office or principal place of business in the state of origin;
5. Name and physical address (P.O. Box is not acceptable) of the registered agent upon

whom service of process is authorized in Arkansas;
6. Address of the general office or principal place of business in the jurisdiction under whose

laws the corporation was incorporated;
7. Number and par value, if any, of shares of the corporation’s capital stock owned or to be

owned by residents of this state (not required for a Foreign LLC); and
8. Certificate of Good Standing dated within a 30-day time frame from the state of origin.

B. Change of Registered Agent Information
See Section 7, Item C, page 18.

C. Certificate of Withdrawal
When a foreign corporation wishes to discontinue doing business in the state, an officer must
execute a Certificate of Withdrawal with the BCS Division. The Certificate of Withdrawal shall
set forth the following information:

1. Name of the foreign corporation;
2. State of origin; and
3. Contact name and mailing address for the withdrawing corporation.
Reminder:  Franchise taxes must be current, including the Final Report.
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D. Registration of Fictitious Name
See Section 7, Item E, page 19

E. Reservation of Corporate Name
See Section 7, Item F, page 19

F. Registration of Corporate Name
Any foreign corporation not authorized to transact business in Arkansas may register its
corporate name, provided its name is distinguishable upon the records of the Arkansas SOS
from the name of any domestic corporation existing under the laws of this state, or the name of
any foreign corporation authorized to transact business in this state, or any corporate name
reserved or registered by another corporation.

Registration of a corporate name shall be made by executing the application for registration. 
Such registration will contain the following:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. Jurisdiction under whose laws the corporation was incorporated;
3. Date of incorporation;
4. Description of business in which entity is engaged; and
5. Certificate of Good Standing under the laws of the state or territory in which the

corporation is originally incorporated (Must be dated within a 30 (thirty) day time frame).
Name registrations are renewable yearly between October 1 and December 31 by filing a renewal 
fee and form. (If a registration lapses, the corporation must complete name registration forms 
and obtain another registration for the initial fee instead of the renewal fee.)

G. Foreign Nonprofit Corporation
Prior to conducting business in Arkansas, a foreign nonprofit corporation shall first procure a
Certificate of Authority from the Arkansas SOS. Applications for such certificate of authority
shall contain the following:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. State, territory, or foreign country under whose laws the corporation was incorporated;
3. Date of incorporation;
4. Period of duration;
5. Address of its principal office or place of business in the location of original incorporation;
6. Name and physical address of its proposed registered agent for service of process in

Arkansas (P.O. boxes are not acceptable for Regiestered Agents);
7. Names and business addresses of the corporation’s current directors and officers;
8. List of corporation members if applicable;

22



9. Certificate of Good Standing under the laws of the state or territory in which the
corporation is originally incorporated (Must be dated within a 30 (thirty) day time
frame).

10. Which entity type the nonprofit would be classified as if filed as an Arkansas domestic:
a. Public-Benefit Corporation
b. Mutual-Benefit Corporation
c. Religious Corporation.

Reminder: Nonprofits are required to file an annual disclosure statement by August 1.

H. Updating Annual Report / Franchise Tax Contact Information
It is imperative that all annual report and franchise tax filing entities maintain an up-to-date
mailing address with the Arkansas SOS. The form can be electronically filed by visiting the
BCS Website link https://sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/forms-fees
and choosing the form Application for Tax Contact Address Change, or a letter requesting
the change can be submitted. Tax Contact information can also be updated yearly when
filing the entity’s annual report or franchise taxes. Franchise taxes continue to accrue
against all businesses each year until formally dissolved or withdrawn from the Arkansas
SOS. Failure to pay franchise taxes will preclude businesses from any other filings until taxes are
paid.

I. Foreign Limited Partnership
Before transacting business in Arkansas, a foreign limited partnership shall register with the
Arkansas SOS. In order to register, a foreign limited partnership shall file with the Arkansas SOS
a copy of its Certificate of Limited Partnership and all amendments thereto, duly
authenticated and certified by the proper authority. A foreign limited partnership must submit
an application to the Arkansas SOS for registration as a foreign limited partnership which is
signed and sworn to by a general partner and sets forth:

1. Name of the limited partnership;
2. State in which it was organized;
3. Date of formation;
4. General character of business;
5. Name and physical address of the agent for service of process in Arkansas (P.O. boxes are

not acceptable for Registered Agents);
6. Address of principal office in the state of organization;
7. Name and address of each general partner; and
8. Certificate of Good Standing under the laws of the state or territory in which the

corporation is originally incorporated (Must be dated within a 30 (thirty) day time frame).
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Section 9

traDemarks anD serviCe marks

Filing Trademarks and Service Marks

Individuals and entities, both foreign and domestic, may choose to register their trademarks or 
service marks with the State of Arkansas. 

A state trademark is recognized as a representation of the business and its products, and is 
denoted by “TM” as a superscript or subscript beside the mark. Only a trademark registered 
with the federal government may use the ® mark. For example, the Nike logo appears on 
products and in advertising and is considered a trademark.

A state service mark, denoted by “SM,” symbolizes the services an entity offers. For example, a 
bank provides a service, and its logo would be considered a service mark. 

A mark must be in use before being registered with the Arkansas SOS. A foreign entity may 
choose to register its trademark or service mark in the state of Arkansas even if that entity is not 
registered to conduct business in Arkansas.

To register a trademark or service mark with the Arkansas SOS, the applicant must send a 
completed application form, appropriate fee, and specimens which show the mark actually in 
use. Applications are available online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. The application 
form must reflect the date the mark was first used anywhere, and the date it was first used 
in Arkansas. The application packet must also include three (3) original specimens of the mark 
in use. These may include business cards, stationery, literature, apparel, etc. Photographs are 
not acceptable unless they depict the mark used in signage. Color printouts are only 
acceptable when showing the mark in use on a website. Submitted specimens will not be 
returned to applicant. 

Renewing and Transferring Trademarks or Service Marks

A trademark or service mark is registered for five (5) years. It may be renewed during the six-
month period prior to expiration, by repeating the application process. The mark and the 
application must reflect what is currently on file for the mark to be considered a renewal. If any 
updates or changes to the mark are to be made, the applicant must submit an application for a 
new mark. 

A trademark or service mark may be transferred to another owner upon submission to the 
Arkansas SOS the appropriate fees and notarized Assignment of Registration form, signed 
by a representative of the original mark holder (“assignor”) and a representative of the 
prospective mark holder (“assignee”).
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glossary of terms

Commercial Registered Agent: An individual 
or a domestic or foreign entity listed under 
Arkansas Code A.C.A. § 4-20-106 to receive 
service of process for a corporation. All entities 
must have a commercial registered agent or a 
non-commercial registered agent on file.

Corporation: Any company (Inc., Co., 
Incorporation, etc.) filed with the state of 
Arkansas.

Dissolution: Domestic (in-state) companies 
that have ceased doing business in Arkansas must 
formally dissolve by filing the appropriate forms 
and fees. Entities that do not complete this 
process will continue to accrue franchise taxes 
with the Arkansas SOS.

Domestic: An entity originally established to 
conduct its business in the state of Arkansas.

Entity: Refers to any and all businesses filed 
with the state of Arkansas, regardless of type.

Foreign: An entity originally established in a 
state other than Arkansas, or in another country.

Franchise Tax: A privilege tax imposed  on 
corporations, including banking corporations 
and limited liability companies that are 
incorporated in Arkansas. The tax is also 
imposed on foreign corporations and 
limited liability companies that transact 
business in Arkansas. (A.C.A. § 26-54-101) 
Franchise taxes and reports can be submitted in 
person, by mail, or on-line.  For more 
information see https://
www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-
services-bcs/franchise-tax/

Governor: A person by or under whose 
authority the powers of an entity are exercised 
and under whose direction the business and 
affairs of the entity are managed pursuant to the 
organic law and organic rules of the entity.

Limited Liability Company: Any entity that has 
filed the Articles of Organization with the state 
of Arkansas.

Nonprofit: A corporation that exists for 
religious, mutual or public benefit. Funds 
derived from its operation cannot be distributed 
to members as profits. Its tax status is 
determined by the Internal Revenue Service.

Nonprofit Annual Report:  For more 
information, see  https://www.sos.arkansas. 
gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/
franchise-tax/

For Profit: A corporation that exists to make a 
profit for its owners or shareholders. The tax 
status of the corporation is determined by the 
Internal Revenue Service.

Registered Agent: Receives service of process 
for a corporation; all entities are required to have 
a registered agent or a commercial registered 
agent on file.

Withdrawal: Foreign (out-of-state) companies 
that have ceased doing business in Arkansas 
must formally withdraw by filing the 
appropriate forms and fees. Entities not formally 
withdrawn will continue to accrue franchise 
taxes with the Arkansas SOS.
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ContaCt InformatIon

You may find the contact information below helpful in obtaining additional information about 
small businesses, the tax code, trademarks and other business questions.

Alcoholic Beverage Control
E-mail: abcadmin@dfa.state.ar.us
Phone: 501-682-1105
Fax: 501-682-2221

Arkansas Attorney General 
www.arkansasag.gov
323 Center Street, Suite 200  
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201  
Phone: 501-682-2007
1-800-482-8982

Arkansas Economic Development Commission 
www.arkansasedc.com 
Phone: 501-682-1121
Fax: 501-682-7499

Arkansas Department of Workforce Services
www.dws.arkansas.gov
501-682-2121

Arkansas Home Inspector Registration Board
www.ahib.org
Phone: 501-683-3710
Fax: 501-682-3574

Arkansas Insurance Department 
www.insurance.arkansas.gov 
Phone: 501-371-2600
Fax: 501-371-2618

Arkansas Manufactured Home Commission
Phone: 501-324-9032
Fax: 501-683-3538

Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission 
www.aogc.state.ar.us
North Division Phone: 479-646-6611 
Fax: 479-649-7656
South Division Phone: 870-862-4965 
Fax: 870-862-8823
Little Rock Phone: 501-683-5814 
Fax: 501-683-5818

Arkansas Securities Department 
www.securities.arkansas.gov 
Phone: 501-324-9260
Fax: 501-324-9268

Arkansas Small Business and Technology 
Development Center 
www.asbtdc.org
University of Arkansas at Little Rock College 
of Business Suite 260
2801 S. University
Little Rock, AR 72204
Phone: 501-683-7700 or 1-800-862-2040
Fax: 501-683-7720

Arkansas State Bank Department 
www.banking.arkansas.gov
Phone: 501-324-9019
Fax: 501-324-9028

Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy
Phone: 501-682-1520
Fax: 501-682-5538
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Contractors Licensing Board 
www.aclb.arkansas.gov 
Phone: 501-372-4661
Fax: 501-372-2247

Department of Finance and Administration 
www.dfa.arkansas.gov
Phone: 501-682-2242

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 
www.pels.arkansas.gov 
Phone: 501-682-2824
Fax: 501-682-2827

Small Business Administration 
Arkansas District Office
www.sba.gov/ar
2120 Riverfront Drive, Suite 250 
Little Rock, AR 72202-1796
Phone: 501-324-7379
Fax: 501-324-7394

United States Patent Office
www.uspto.gov/trademark
Call the Trademark Assistance Center at 
1-800-786-9199 for help on trademark matters.

Internal Revenue Service
www.irs.gov

Fayetteville
665 E. Millsap Rd
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 
Phone: 479-442-3948

Fort Smith
4905 Old Greenwood Rd.
Fort Smith, AR 72903
Hours vary by day
Phone: 479-649-8602

Jonesboro
615 S. Main St.
Jonesboro, AR 72401 
Appointment only
Phone: 870-802-0219

Little Rock
700 W. Capitol
Little Rock, AR 72201
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 
Phone:   501-396-5711

(For general information regarding other taxes that may apply to your corporation, you may wish 
to contact the Department of Finance and Administration, Revenue Division at 501-682-4775, or 
online at www.dfa.arkansas.gov.)

Notice

The information contained in this guide is for informational purposes only and should 
not be used as legal advice. If you require legal or business advice, please contact a private 
attorney or CPA. You may find information on the Arkansas Secretary of 
State’s website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. You may address questions through 
the BCS Division  at 501-682-3409 or 1-888-233-0325.
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Arkansas Secretary of State
State Capitol, Suite 256

500 Woodlane Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 682-1010
www.sos.arkansas.gov

Business and Commercial 
Services Division

1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 682-3409; (888) 233-0325
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/

Scan the QR code with 
your smartphone app 
to order certificates of 
good standing and search 
entities on the go!

Northwest Arkansas Office
300 North College, Suite 201F 

Fayetteville, AR 72701
(501) 682-5285




