
 

Parking Regulations 

All parking regulations will be enforced 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. 

1. The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator. 
  

2. Lack of space is not a valid excuse for violating a parking regulation. 
  

3. Standard parking/traffic regulations and definitions, as enacted in the Arkansas Motor 
Vehicle and Traffic Laws and State Highway Commission Regulations will be rigidly enforced 
on the Tech campus at all times, including legal holidays and the time between semesters 
when classes are not in session. 
  

4. Violators of established Parking and Traffic Regulations may be issued a Uniform Traffic 
Ticket payable in Municipal Court in Russellville, Arkansas, in lieu of a Tech citation. 
  

5. Violation notices will be affixed to the motor vehicle or presented to the driver. Payment may 
be either mailed or paid in person at the student accounts office in the Doc Bryan Building. 
  

6. Vehicles are considered parked when left standing, stopped or unattended for any period of 
time. 
  

7. Arkansas Tech University assumes no responsibility for the care and/or protection of any 
vehicle or its contents at any time while it is operated or parked on the campus. 
  

8. Pedestrians have the right-of-way at designated crosswalks at all times except 
at signal-controlled intersections where pedestrians will be expected to comply with the 
signal. 
  

9. Students, faculty and staff members are expected to be familiar with and abide by the 
regulations at all times. The fact that any vehicle does not receive a violation notice while 
his/her vehicle is parked or operated in violation of any regulation law does not mean or 
imply that such a regulation or law is invalid. 
  

10. It will be the responsibility of any driver of a disabled vehicle, i.e., dead battery, out of gas, 
keys locked inside, etc., to immediately notify the Department of Public Safety of the problem 
and the location of the disabled vehicle. 
  

11. Vehicles are assumed abandoned if left parked and stationary for a period of two weeks. 
Such vehicles will be towed at the owner's expense. 
  

12. School buses and other large vehicles, as well as special purpose vehicles, are required to 
park in areas designated by the Department of Public Safety. 
  

13. You are responsible for all violations by a vehicle displaying a hangtag issued in your name. 
If you lend your car, proper operation of the vehicle is still your responsibility. 
  



14. Only one type of Tech hangtag is to be displayed on a vehicle at a time. 
  

15. Obey regulatory signs and barricades established by the Department of Public Safety. 
  

16. Vehicles will not be operated on the Tech campus without required safety equipment 
prescribed by the vehicle code of the State of Arkansas. 
  

17. Vehicles parked in parallel parking spaces must be parked with the passengers’ door to the 
curb with flow of traffic. 
  

18. Loading zones around residence halls are to be utilized by students for loading/unloading. A 
maximum of 15 minutes will be observed at all times. 
  

19. Vehicles will be parked within designated parking boundaries and in no case shall they 
overlap into or onto roadway, crosswalk or sidewalk. The fact that other vehicles are parked 
improperly shall not constitute an excuse for parking with any part of the vehicle over the 
line. 
  

20. The time limit on 15 minute zones will be observed at all times. Vehicles are considered 
parked when left unattended for any period of time. 
  

21. A traffic ticket or any other communication from a Public Safety officer, while in the 
performance of his duties, is considered to be an official University notice. Failure to respond 
will make the recipient subject to disciplinary action. 
  

22. If a hangtag is not visible to the officer while he is issuing a citation, the citation will be for no 
current hangtag. If, in the course of issuing a citation, the officer discovers the decal, he has 
the discretion to downgrade that ticket to improper display only. 
  

23. Windshields, side wings, side or rear windows may not be obstructed with any sign, 
sunshield, sun visor, poster or other transparent material other than a certificate or sticker 
required by state law or campus regulations. This will include writing on vehicle windows with 
shoe polish. 

24. No boats, campers or trailers allowed to park on campus. 

 

Parking Information 

Open parking hours will be declared from 5:00 PM to 7:30 AM daily and from 5:00 PM on Friday 
through 7:30 AM on Monday. School holidays are considered as “open parking” days. Residence 
hall parking areas are not open parking areas. 

1. Operating a motor vehicle in any manner which may create a disturbance on campus may be 
considered a traffic violation. This includes excessive use (determined by city ordinance or 
officer's discretion) of boom box, stereo, horn, illegal exhaust systems, squealing of tires or 
placing pedestrians or other drivers in a hazardous situation. 
  



2. All personnel, including visitors, are expected to adhere to all campus and state regulations 
regarding safety procedures. 
  

3. All resident hall students who own or operate registered vehicles must use the parking areas 
assigned to that residence hall. Residence hall parking lots are color-coded. 
  

4. Arkansas Tech University cannot and does not assume the obligation of providing parking 
spaces for all vehicles at all times. 
  

5. Arkansas Tech University does not assume responsibility for the care and protection of any 
vehicles or its contents while said vehicle is operated or parked on the campus or lands 
controlled by the University. 
  

6. Vehicles that do not qualify for registration or “approved as safe” by the State of Arkansas 
are not permitted on the campus at any time. Disabled and abandoned vehicles will be 
turned over to the State Police for disposal according to law. 
  

7. Mechanical work other than minor repairs such as replacement of vehicle battery or flat tires 
will not be permitted on the Tech campus. 
  

8. Arkansas Tech University reserves the right to restrict or revoke the use of an automobile on 
campus to anyone if the use of that vehicle is thought to be detrimental to the academic 
achievement of any student or if the person has abused the privilege of operating said 
vehicle on or off campus. 
  

9. It shall be the responsibility of any driver of a disabled vehicle (i.e. dead battery, out of gas, 
keys locked in car, etc.) to immediately notify the Public Safety Department of the problem 
and location of the disabled vehicle. Failure to make notification may result in the vehicle’s 
being either towed or given a ticket. Abandoned vehicles shall be towed at the owner’s 
expense. 
  

10. Flagrant disregard of campus parking and traffic regulations will result in the vehicle being 
towed to storage and parking privileges on campus revoked. Towing and storage charges 
will be assessed prior to the release of the vehicle to the owner. 
  

DISABILITY PARKING 

As required, a number of parking slots have been set aside for use by permanently handicapped 
individuals only. Each space has been marked with signs and or blue and white paint on the space. 
If these spaces are full, you may park in any color zone but not in spaces marked as loading zones, 
timed parking and reserved as long as you display your valid disability license plate or placard. 
Vehicles found illegally parked in these spaces are subject to towing and impoundment fees. 

Only individuals who have been issued, and are displaying, a disability license plate or placard 
issued by the State of Arkansas are permitted to park in spaces marked with blue and white stripes. 
Vehicles must also have valid Tech hangtag. 

License plates, decals and placards may be obtained from the State Revenue Office at 105 South 
Rodchester, Russellville, AR. For information, call 479-968-1526. 



Transfer of a disability license or placard is a violation of the Arkansas state law. The offender will be 
ticketed accordingly. 

TEMPORARY DISABILITY PARKING 

Persons requesting temporary disability status for parking must be authorized by the Tech Health 
and Wellness Center located in Dean Hall and, if eligible, then obtain a special Temporary hangtag 
from UPD. You will then be eligible to park in the areas marked RED or handicapped space only for 
the dates specified. 

SPECIAL EVENT PARKING 

Contact the Department of Public Safety at 479-968-0222 or email at dps@atu.edu. 

VISITOR PARKING 

Visitors are always welcome on campus and may park in any non-restricted area. Currently enrolled 
students or employees are not considered visitors. 

Visitors, please secure a visitor's hangtag at no cost at the Public Safety Department or through the 
office you are visiting. 

Visitors with the hangtag may use any color parking area. Visitors without the hangtag may park only 
in the areas marked “Visitors Only.” Unrestricted parking for visitors is only permitted on 
Homecoming, Family Day, open parking hours and other designated University functions. Visitors 
who park in violation may be issued a parking citation. 

MOTORCYCLES AND MOTORBIKES 

Motorbikes, motor scooters, motorcycles and bicycles must be operated only on streets normally 
designated for automobile use. A hangtag must be displayed if parked on campus or an optional 
decal may be affixed to the left front fork. 

 

Appeals 

All appeals will be dealt with according to the rules and regulations stated in the Parking Booklet. All 
appeals must be made within three school days. Appeals made after three school days will not be 
considered. 

All faculty, staff and student appeals should follow the stated procedures. 

Appeal forms are available at the Department of Public Safety building, located at 1511 North 
Boulder. 

 

 

mailto:dps@atu.edu


Hangtag Parking Areas 

FACULTY/STAFF ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized RED hangtags may park in areas marked in red or in any authorized 
parking location on campus. 
  

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF JONES AND ROUSH ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized GREEN hangtags must park in areas marked in green on the map except 
during “open parking” hours. 

Lots F, G, M, N, Q  Lots I and J are overflow 
  

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF PAINE/TURNER ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized LIGHT BLUE hangtags must park in areas marked in blue on the map 
except during “open parking” hours. 

Lots K, U, T and W as marked  
  

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF WILSON,CRITZ, AND HUGHES ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized BROWN hangtags must park in areas marked in brown on the map except 
during “open parking” hours. 

Lots FF, KK, VV, West M street, and QQ as marked 

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF NUTT, BROWN, AND TUCKER HALL ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized ORANGE hangtags must park in areas marked in orange on the map 
except during “open parking” hours. 

Lots CC, DD, EE, NN, Y, and X as marked 

 
  

UNIVERSITY COMMONS APARTMENT STUDENTS ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized GRAY hangtags must park in areas marked in gray on the map except 
during “open parking” hours. 

Lot I Lot J is overflow 
  

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF CARAWAY ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized OLIVE hangtags must park in areas marked in olive on the map except 
during “open parking” hours. 

Lot MM 
 
 
STADIUM SUITES/BASWELL HALL 



Vehicles with authorized DARK BLUE hangtags must park in dark blue areas marked on the map 
except during "open parking" hours. 

Lots TT, RR, SS 
  

COMMUTER STUDENTS ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized YELLOW hangtags must park in areas marked in yellow on the map except 
during “open parking” hours. 

Lots A, B, C, D, J, K, L, R, S, Z, AA, BB, JJ, OO, UU 
  

VISTA PLACE (Res life students) / SOUTH HALL 
Vehicles with authorized BLACK AND YELLOW STRIPED hangtags must park in areas marked with 
yellow and white stripes on the map or in areas marked yellow on the map except during "open 
parking" hours. 

Lots A, B, C, D, J, K, L, R, S, Z, AA, BB, GG, JJ, OO, UU 

 

Vehicle Registration 

Registration shall be accomplished at the time of regular registration for the fall, spring or summer 
semesters at the Department of Public Safety or at locations and times specified. Only one hangtag 
may be registered per person. 

Vehicles are defined as any self-propelled vehicle having two or more wheels. 

All vehicles on Tech campus are required to register and display a current parking hangtag. 
Parameters for the operation and parking of motor vehicles may be viewed on the campus map. 

Hangtags are valid from August 15th one year through August 15th of the next year. After securing a 
hangtag at the Public Safety Department, charges are assessed to the individual’s account at the 
Office of Student Accounts. 

Hangtags must be displayed by hanging on the rear view mirror so the number can be read through 
the front windshield from the outside. These hangtags can be moved from vehicle to vehicle. Do not 
tape hangtag on vehicle or lay on dash or seat. 

Lost/stolen hangtags are full price for replacement. 

Summer term hangtags will be one-half the original cost. 

Hangtags are the responsibility of the purchaser and must be removed prior to sale or transfer of the 
vehicle or upon termination of employment or withdrawal from the university. 



Falsifying registration information, such as buying hangtags for another person in his/her name will 
be fined $75.00. Also, the person who allows another individual to purchase a hangtag for him/her 
will be fined $75.00. 

Charges will be assessed at the time of registration of the vehicle as follows for all faculty, staff and 
students and other non-Tech employees. 

A. $30.00 for the calendar year (August 15 through August 15) 
  

B. $30.00 from the beginning of the second semester through Aug. 15 
  

C. $15.00 for summer term 
 
Hangtag fees are non-refundable 

Temporary Hangtags are available at the Public Safety Department for faculty, staff and students 
who have misplaced their hangtag. These hangtags are provided at no cost and are valid for a 
maximum of seven days. 

 

Violations & Fines 

The responsibilities for payment of fines incurred for traffic violations will rest with the registrant. In 
the event vehicle registration has not been completed, responsibility lies with the owner and/or 
operator of the vehicle. Persons violating the rules and regulations as stated while using a motor 
vehicle on campus will be fined under the University’s system of traffic violations listed below. 

Violations and fines  

WARNING $00.00 

Failure to display current hangtag $35.00 

Failure to display hangtag properly $20.00 

Parking in wrong color lot/wrong letter lot $20.00 

Parking at yellow curb $20.00 

Parking where prohibited by signs $20.00 

Illegal use of, reproducing, alterations of, defacing, 
using revoked hangtags or falsifying registration information 

$75.00 

Unauthorized handicap parking $100.00 

Parked disregarding painted lines $20.00 

Parking in unauthorized zone $20.00 

Driving/parking on grass $20.00 

Double parked/blocking $20.00 

Blocking drive $25.00 

Blocking dumpster $20.00 

Loading zone beyond 15 minute time limit $20.00 

Parking on wrong side of street $20.00 

Backed into parking space on street $20.00 



Blocking fire hydrant $60.00 

Parked in visitor space $20.00 

Parking in reserved area $20.00 

Across sidewalk and/or crosswalk $20.00 

Expired license tab $20.00 

Failure to display license plate $20.00 

Failure to stop or yield right of way $25.00 

Driving wrong way on one-way $20.00 

U-turn $20.00 

Reckless driving $50.00 

Improper Equipment $20.00 

Speeding $35.00 

Security violation (propping doors open, etc.) $25.00 

Other (see comments) $20.00 

AUTHORITY 

In accordance with A.C.A. 25-17-307, the Board of Trustees of Arkansas Tech University establishes 
the following rules and regulations for the registration, operation, and parking of motor vehicles on 
the Arkansas Tech University campus. These rules and regulations are binding on all members of 
the faculty, staff, student body and others utilizing the lands owned or controlled by Arkansas Tech 
University at Russellville, Arkansas. Lands owned or controlled by Tech will henceforth be known as 
the CAMPUS for purposes of clarification in this brochure. 

Arkansas Tech University Department of Public Safety officers are constituted peace officers by 
A.C.A. 25-17-305, by action of the Board of Trustees, and under the laws of this state possess all 
the authority provided by law for city police and county sheriffs to be exercised as required for the 
safety and protection of the University community. 

Enforcement of traffic regulations on the Tech campus is the responsibility of the Department of 
Public Safety All drivers will observe and obey the orders of the Public Safety officers while such 
officers are engaged in the performance of their respective duties. This includes producing and 
rendering identification and hangtags requested. 

The Russellville Police Department has jurisdictional rights to issue tickets on campus since 
Arkansas Tech University is located inside the corporate limits of the city of Russellville. 
 
YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLYING WITH ALL RULES AND REGULATIONS 

 

 



UNIVERSITY COUNSEL 

Administration Building Room 21 J
 

J 509 Nonh Boulder Avenue
 
Russellville. AR 72801-2222
 

phone: 479·964·0824
 
fax: 479-890-6493
 

www.atu.edu 

September 9, 201 1
 

Arkansas Secretary of State
 
Elections Division, Room 026
 
Arkansas State Capitol' 

~
 

Little Rock, AR 72201 "
 

RE:	 Arkansas Tech University - Ozark Campus 
Parking Rules and Regulations 

Dear Sir or Madame: 

Enclosed, please find two copies of the 2011-2012 Arkansas Tech University Parking and Traffic 
Regulations for the Ozark campus. Pursuant to A.C.A. §25-17-307(b), please file these 
documents in your office. Please return the file-marked extra copy to me in the enclosed self­
addressed envelope. 

Thank you for your assistance in this matter. IfI can provide any additional information, please 
do not hesitate to contact me directly at (479) 964-0824, or tpennington@atu.edu. 

Thomas W. Pennington 
University Counsel 
Arkansas Tech University 

TWP/cc 

Enclosures 

FILED 
ro, ,. 

SEP 122011 
... Arkansas 
Secretary of State 
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ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY - OZARK CAMPUS
 

TRAFFIC/PARKING INFORMATION
 

Traffic Regulations: 

By authority of the Board of Trustees and in accordance with Act 328 of 1967, Arkansas Tech University requires 

all members of the faculty, staff, student body and classified personnel to register motor vehicles which they 

own or operate on the Ozark Campus or on lands controlled by the University. All registrants shall abide by all 

traffic and parking regulations. 

Registration of vehicles shall be accomplished at the ti.me of regular registration for the fall, spring or summer I
, 

semesters at the Office of Student Accounts. All faculty, staff and students must present a current Arkansas I 
Tech University ID card before a parking permit will be issued. All vehicles on campus are required to register. 

:; \. ',. ',,-and.displaya cwr,eot parking permit. '\'ehicles are defined as any self-propelled .vehicle.having twoar more' 
'. - ,.' , ­ ,.,1

wheels.··· i 
Parking permits are valid from August 15'h one year through August 15th of the next year. After securing a 

parking permit at the Office of Student Accounts, charges are assessed to the student's account. Parking 

permits must be displayed by hanging on the rear view mirror so the number can be read through the front 

windshield from the outside; they may not be taped on the vehicle or laid on the dash or seat. These permits 

can be moved from vehicle to vehicle. Parking permits are the responsibility of the. purchaser and mUst be 

removed prior to sale or transfer of the v.e!li~.ie, upon termination of emplGyment, orwithdrawal from the 

t ) 
", 

school. If a hangtag is lost or stolen it will be the responsibility of the student or school employee to purchase a 

replacement permit. There is no refund fer permit cost. Parking violations may result in a fine being charged to 

a student's account. 

The Arkansas Tech University-Ozark will enforce the following violations on campus property and will collect 

fines as stated in the list below. 

Violation Fl'ic 

Warning $00.00 

Failure to display current hang tag $20.00 

Unauthorized Handicapped Parking $100.00 

III..Parking Where Prohibited by Signs $20.00 III 

~ -C)- lIlll)-
Parking in and Unauthorized Zone $20.00 

fz1 C"oI Ill .... 
til 0

."'" C:;>o. 
Ill ...Blocking $20.00 ~ - .lltlllJ-t Q.. ...... 

UJ «c:I 
, Failure to Stop or Yield Right of Way $25.00 IZt en .. 

u 
, c.: 

'''l
Reckless/Careless Driving $50.00 

Speeding $35.00 



Moving Violations 

t' '''\ , i	 Reckless Driving- A.C.A. § 27-50-308 states that any person who drives a vehicle in such a manner as to indicate 

a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving. 

Careless Driving- A.C.A. § 27-51-104 states that it is unlawful to operate any vehicle in a careless manner as to
 

evidence a failure to keep a proper lookout for other traffic, vehicular or otherwise, or in a manner as to
 

evidence a failure to maintain proper control. Careless driving may also include, but is not limited to the
 

following:
 

-Driving onto or across private property to avoid intersections, signs, or other traffic control deVices.
 

-Driving in such a manner, or at such speed, as to cause skidding, spinning, or sliding of tires or vehicle.
 

-Driving too close to, or colliding with, parked or stopped vehicles, fixtures, persons, or objects adjacent to road.
 

-Driving.of vehicle with any part or object extended, in such fashion as to endanger persons or property. ..
 

-To operate:a.vehiclgwherein orwhereonpassengers are located in such manner to be a danger to themselves.'" _....
 

-To operate ;:vehicle in any manner, when the driver is Inattentive,andsuth inattention is not reasonable and
 

prudent in maintaining vehicular control.
 

Campus Parking:
 

All vehicles should have a parking permit, which can be obtained from the Office of Student Accounts. The cost
 

of the Parking Permit is $15.00. Arkansas Tech University Department of Public Safety will enforce violations that
 

occur.on campus property. Local law enforcement agencies may al,s:l ehforce violations of state law that occur
 

on campus property.
 

Parking for the Handicapped:
 

Any vehicle found to be parked in an area designated·for exclusi\'e use of disabled persons (as defined in Section
 

75,266-22 of Act 772) shall be subject to impoundment by the a'ppropriate law enforcement agency according
 

to Section 12.of Act 772, and the owner will be subject to a fine not less than $25 or not more than $100 for
 

. each offense plus applicable towing, impounding, and related fees.
 

Handicapped parking Decals:
 

Handicapp~d parking decals may be obtained at the Arkansas State Revenu'e Office. Decals may be used by
 

persons who are temporarily or permanently disabled, and are good for the duration of the disability, and may
 

be used anywhere in the State of Arkansas. A statement from a physician is necessary to obtain the decal.
 


