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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers – ElderChoices Home and 
Community-Based 2176 Waiver 

DATE: July 1, 2011 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #ELDER-3-10 

REMOVE INSERT 

Section Date Section Date 
212.410 7-15-09 212.410 7-1-11 

Explanation of Updates 
Section 212.410 is updated to revise policy regarding ElderChoices services provided on the date of 
admission to an inpatient facility. 
The paper version of this update transmittal includes revised pages that may be filed in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes have already been incorporated. 
If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the HP Enterprise Services Provider 
Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 
376-2211. 
If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at 501-682-0593 (Local); 1-800-482-5850, extension 2-0593 (Toll-
Free) or to obtain access to these numbers through voice relay, 1-800-877-8973 (TTY Hearing 
Impaired).  
Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance 
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Eugene I. Gessow, Director 

https://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/
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212.410 Institutionalization 7-1-11 

An individual cannot receive ElderChoices waiver services while in an institution.  However, the 
following policy will apply to any inpatient stay where Medicaid pays the facility for the date of 
admission, i.e. hospitals, nursing homes, rehab facilities, etc., for active waiver cases when the 
individual is hospitalized or enters a nursing facility. 

A. Hospitalization 

 When a waiver beneficiary enters a hospital, the DHS county office will not take action to 
close the waiver case unless the beneficiary does not return home within 30 days from the 
date of admission.  If the beneficiary has not returned home after 30 days, the DHS RN will 
notify the county office via form DHS-3330 and action will be initiated by the county office 
to close the waiver case. It is the responsibility of the provider to notify the DHS RN 
immediately via form AAS-9511 upon learning of a change in the beneficiary’s 
status. 

NOTE: The Arkansas Medicaid Program considers an individual an inpatient 
beginning with the date of admission to an inpatient facility. Therefore, 
payment to the inpatient facility begins on the date of admission. Payment 
to the inpatient facility does not include the date of discharge. 

 Payment for ElderChoices services may be allowed for the date of a 
beneficiary’s admission to an inpatient facility if the provider can provide 
verification that services were provided before the beneficiary was admitted.  
In order for payment to be allowed, providers are responsible for obtaining 
the following: 

• Copies of claim forms or timesheets listing the times that services were 
provided 

• A statement from the inpatient facility showing the time that the 
beneficiary was admitted 

This information must be submitted to DAAS within 10 working days of 
receiving a request for verification. 

 If providers are unable to provide proof that ElderChoices services were 
provided before the beneficiary was admitted to the inpatient facility, then 
payments will be subject to recoupment. ElderChoices services provided on 
the same day the beneficiary is discharged from the inpatient facility are 
billable when provided according to policy and after the beneficiary was 
discharged.   

B. Nursing Facility Admission 

 When an ElderChoices beneficiary has entered a nursing facility and it is anticipated that 
the stay will be short, the waiver case will be closed effective the date of admission, but the 
Medicaid case may be left open until the DHS county office is notified that the individual 
has returned home.  When the individual returns home, the ElderChoices case may be 
reopened effective the date of the return home if the DHS RN has provided the DHS 
county office with a copy of Page 2 of the plan of care, showing the election of 
ElderChoices.  A new assessment and medical eligibility determination will not be required 
unless the last review was completed more than 6 months prior to the beneficiary’s 
admission to the facility. 
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NOTE: Nursing facility admissions, when referenced in this section, do not include 
ElderChoices beneficiaries admitted to a nursing facility to receive facility-
based respite services. 
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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers – Alternatives for Adults with 
Physical Disabilities Waiver 

DATE: July 1, 2011 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #APDWVR-2-10 

REMOVE INSERT 

Section Date Section Date 
212.300 7-15-09 212.300 7-1-11 

Explanation of Updates 
Section 212.300 is updated to revise policy regarding attendant care services provided on the day of 
admission to an inpatient facility. 
The paper version of this update transmittal includes revised pages that may be filed in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes have already been incorporated. 
If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the HP Enterprise Services Provider 
Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 
376-2211. 
If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at 501-682-0593 (Local); 1-800-482-5850, extension 2-0593 (Toll-
Free) or to obtain access to these numbers through voice relay, 1-800-877-8973 (TTY Hearing 
Impaired).  
Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance 
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Eugene I. Gessow, Director 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/
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212.300 Temporary Absences From the Home 7-1-11 

Once an application has been approved, waiver services must be provided in order for eligibility 
to continue.  Unless stated otherwise below, the county Department of Human Services (DHS) 
office must be notified immediately by the DAAS RN/Counselor when waiver services are 
discontinued and action will be initiated by the DHS county office to close the waiver case.   

A. Absence from the Home – Institutionalization 

 An individual cannot receive waiver services while in an institution.  The following policy 
applies to any inpatient stay where Medicaid pays the facility for the date of admission, i.e. 
hospitals, nursing homes, rehab facilities, etc., for active waiver cases when the participant 
is hospitalized or enters a nursing facility for an expected stay of short duration.  

1. When a waiver beneficiary is admitted to a hospital, the DHS county office will not 
take action to close the waiver case, unless the beneficiary does not return home 
within 30 days from the date of admission.  If, after 30 days, the beneficiary has not 
returned home, the DAAS RN/Counselor will notify the DHS county office via form 
DHS-3330 and action will be initiated by the DHS county office to close the waiver 
case. 

2. If the DHS county office becomes aware that a participant has been admitted to a 
nursing facility and it is anticipated that the stay will be short (30 days or less), the 
waiver case will be closed effective the date of admission, but the Medicaid case will 
be left open.  When the participant returns home, the waiver case may be reopened 
effective the date the participant returns home. 

NOTE: The Arkansas Medicaid Program considers an individual an inpatient 
of a facility beginning with the date of admission.  Therefore, payment 
to the inpatient facility begins on the date of admission.  Payment to 
the inpatient facility does not include the date of discharge. 

  Payment for attendant care services may be allowed for the date of a 
beneficiary’s admission to an inpatient facility if the provider can 
provide verification that services were provided before the beneficiary 
was admitted.  In order for payment to be allowed, providers are 
responsible for obtaining the following: 

• Copies of claim forms or timesheets listing the times that 
attendant care was provided 

• A statement from the inpatient facility showing the time that the 
beneficiary was admitted 

  This information must be submitted to DAAS within 10 working days of 
receiving a request for verification. 

  If providers are unable to provide proof that attendant care services 
were provided before the beneficiary was admitted to the inpatient 
facility, then payments will be subject to recoupment.  Attendant care 
services provided on the same day the beneficiary is discharged from 
the inpatient facility are billable when they are provided according to 
policy and after the beneficiary was discharged. 

 When a waiver participant is absent from the home for reasons other than 
institutionalization, the DHS county office will not be notified unless the participant does not 
return home within 30 days. If, after 30 days, the participant has not returned home and the 
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providers can no longer deliver services as prescribed by the plan of care (e.g., the 
participant has left the state and the return date is unknown), the DAAS RN/Counselor  will 
notify the DHS county office. Action will be taken by the DHS county office to close the 
waiver case. No alternatives services are covered during a participant's absence. 
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