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DEPARTMENT COF ARKANSAS STATE POLICE
FINAL
“COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE RULES”

RULE 1.0 - ADOPTICN; AUTHORITY

The Department of the Arkansas State Police (“Department” or “Arkansas 3tate
Police”) hereby adopts the following rules for the implementation of the costs
for testing and re-testing of the Commercial Driver’'s License Program
(program), as set forth in Act 241 of 1989, codified as Ark., Code Ann. §8§27-23-
101, et seq., as amended, including $§27-23-108, under Act 256 of 2007, and
under the Directorfs additional authority in Ark. Code Ann. $€§25-15-201, et
sed., the Arkansas Administrative Preocedure Act, and other applicable laws.
Additional authority is under the directive(s) of the Federal Motor Carrier
Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation, to which the  State of
Arkansas adheres for continuing eligibility for receipt of federal highway
administration funds. See the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986; and
49 CFR 383.123; under subsection (a) (1), as to "8 and “P” driver’'s license
endorsements. The Department shall, from time to time, make and enact other
such rules as they become necessary for the effective administration of the
program.

Rule 2.0 - PURPOSE & PROCEDURES; COSTS; PERMITS; RENEWALS; RE-TESTS
These rules will establish and set forth the cost of application and testing
for the Commercial Driver'’s License (CDL).

Rule 2.1 - The initial application for the CDL, which includes written
knowledge exams, and skill testing shall be fifty dollars ($50); except as
hereinafter set out,,

Rule 2.2 - If an applicant fails to pass any portion of the tests on three (3)
separate dates during the testing process, he/she will be required to purchase
an additional fifty dollar ($50) application prior to the resumption of
testing. This section of the rules shall apply any time an applicant
accumulates three (3) failures on a single application.

Rule 2.3 - CDL holders wishing to obtain additional endorsements by knowledge
testing must purchase a ten dollar (510) application per endorsement. This
application is wvalid for one (1) administration of the test. If the applicant
fails the knowledge test, he/she will be required to purchase an additional ten
dellar ($10) application prior to the resumption of testing. This procedure
will apply any time an applicant fails a knowledge test for an endorsement.

Rule 2.4 -~ Upon the renewal of the CDL, the applicants—with a Hazardous
Materials endorsement 1is required to pass the knowledge test for Hazardous
Materials. The application fee is the same as outlined in Rule 2.3.

Rule 2.5 - Should a CDL holder elect to c¢btain a higher class of license, there
will be an additional skills test in the wvehicle class, as well as other
examinations set forth by statute. This procedure will entail payment of a
fifty dollar {($50) application fee.

Rule 2.6 - Instruction permits will be issued by the Arkansas State Police for
a period of six {6) months, with an allowance for one (1) renewal for up to one
{1} year. There will be no fee for instruction permits.



Rule 2.7 - In the event that the holder of a CDL shouwld have his/her driving
privileges suspended or revoked for a period of one (1) year or more, he/she
must submit for full re-test for a CDL and pay the application fee outlined in
Rule 2.1i.

Rule 2.8 - In the event a person fails any knowledge section of the CDL test,
and wishes to re-test, there will be a one (1) day waiting period before re-
testing.

Rule 3.0 - WAITING PERIODS BEFORE RE-TESTING; LIMITATIONS ON TESTING
In the event a person fails any section of a CDL skills test, and wishes to re-
test, there will be a five (5) day waiting period before re-testing.

Rule 3.1 - All Arkansas State Police CDL examiners, third party CDL examiners,
part-time or contract CDL examiners will be limited to a maximum of five (5)
CDL skills tests per day; and one (1) examiner will administer each section of
the skills test in full sequence wntil the applicant has successfully completed
the skills test, or until a failure occurs.

Rule 4.0 EFFECTIVE DATE

These Rules shall be effective on and after December 1, 2010. The Rules shall
apply to all payments made for CDL testing on or after December 1, 2010.
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