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Explanation of Updates

Sections 201.100 and 201.200 are included to add language regarding participation and enrollment
requirements for Private Duty Nursing providers. Language has also been added to comply with the
Medicaid Fairness Act of 2005. The Arkansas Department of Health has been changed to the
Division of Health.

Section 203.000 has been revised to add new language that sets forth Arkansas Medicaid
participation requirements and enrollment procedures for Private Duty Nursing providers in states
not bordering Arkansas.

Section 204.000 is included to replace the word “recipient” or “recipients” with “beneficiary” or
“beneficiaries”. This has been done throughout most sections of this update.
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Section 205.000 is included to add additional information concerning documentation that all
providers are required to maintain to comply with the Medicaid Fairness Act of 2005.

Section 226.000 has been renamed, “Appealing an Adverse Action” and a statement referring
providers to section | of this manual. This language complies with the Medicaid Fairness Act of
2005.

Section 232.000 is included to change the department name to the Arkansas Department of Health
and Human Services and to change the abbreviation from DHS to DHHS.

Section 242.130 is included to add procedure code A6549 to the list of payable medical supplies as
a result of the 2006 HCPCS Procedure Code Conversion. Procedure code B4100 is also being
added as a payable code. It was inadvertently omitted.

Section 242.430 is included to explain that procedure code A6549 has specific billing instructions.

Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider
manual. See Section | for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual. For electronic
versions, these changes will be automatically incorporated.

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 (TDD only).

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance Center
at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211.

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and
remittance advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid
website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

Roy J’éf’fus,@f@ftj /
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201.100 Private Duty Nursing Services Providers 7-1-06

Providers of Private Duty Nursing Services (PDN) must meet the following criteria in order to be
eligible for participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program:

A. The PDN provider must have either a Class A or Class B license issued by the Arkansas
Division of Health. It must be designated on the license that the PDN agency is a provider
of extended care services.

1. A copy of the license must accompany the provider application and Medicaid
contract.

2. Subsequent licensure must be provided when issued by the Arkansas Division of
Health.

a. Subsequent license renewal must be forwarded to Provider Enroliment within
30 days of issue. If the renewal documents have not been received within the
30-day deadline, the provider will have an additional and final 30 days to
comply.

b.  Failure to ensure that current licensure is on file with Provider Enrollment will
result in termination from the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

3.  For purposes of review under the Arkansas Medicaid Program, agencies enrolled as
Class B operators providing private duty nursing services must adhere to those
standards governing quality of care, skill and expertise applicable to Class A
operators.

B. The PDN provider must complete a provider application (form DMS-652), Medicaid
contract (form DMS-653) and a Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and
Certification (Form W-9). View or print a provider application (form DMS-652), a
Medicaid contract (form DMS-653) and a Request for Taxpayer Identification Number
and Certification (Form W-9).

C. Enrollment as a Medicaid provider is conditioned upon approval of a completed provider
application and the execution of a Medicaid provider contract. Persons and entities that
are excluded or debarred under any state or federal law, regulation, or rule, are not eligible
to enroll, or to remain enrolled as Medicaid providers.

D. The Private Duty Nursing provider must adhere to all applicable professional standards of
care and conduct.

Providers who have agreements with Medicaid to provide other services to Medicaid
beneficiaries must have a separate provider application and Medicaid contract to provide private
duty nursing services. A separate provider number is assigned.

201.200 School District or Education Service Cooperative Private Duty 7-1-06
Nursing Services Providers

Arkansas Medicaid will enroll Arkansas school districts and Education Service Cooperatives
(ESC) as Private Duty Nursing Services (PDN) providers when the following criteria are met:

A.  The school district or Education Service Cooperative must complete a provider application
(form DMS-652), Medicaid contract (form DMS-653) and a Request for Taxpayer
Identification Number and Certification (Form W-9). View or print a provider application
(form DMS-652), a Medicaid contract (form DMS-653) and a Request for Taxpayer
Identification Number and Certification (Form W-9).

B.  The school district or ESC must be certified by the Arkansas Department of Education
(ADE) as a Local Educational Agency (LEA). The ADE will provide verification of LEA
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certification to the Provider Enrollment Unit of the Arkansas Division of Medical Services.
Subsequent certifications must be provided when issued.

1. Subsequent certifications must be forwarded to Provider Enroliment within 30 days of
issue. If the certification has not been received within the 30-day deadline, the
provider will have an additional and final 30 days to comply.

2. Failure to ensure that current certification is on file with Provider Enrollment will result
in termination from the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

C. Enrollment as a Medicaid provider is conditioned upon approval of a completed provider
application and the execution of a Medicaid provider contract. Persons and entities that
are excluded or debarred under any state or federal law, regulation, or rule, are not eligible
to enroll, or to remain enrolled as Medicaid providers.

D. The Private Duty Nursing provider must adhere to all applicable professional standards of
care and conduct.

203.000 Private Duty Nursing Service Providers in States Not Bordering 7-1-06
Arkansas

A. Providers in states not bordering Arkansas are called limited services providers because
they may enroll in Arkansas Medicaid only after they have provided care to an Arkansas
Medicaid beneficiary and have a claim to file, and because their enrollment automatically
expires.

1. A non-bordering state provider may send a claim to Medicaid Provider Enrollment
and Medicaid Provider Enrollment will forward by return mail a provider manual and a
provider application and contract. View or print Medicaid Provider Enrollment
Unit contact information.

2.  Alternatively, a non-bordering state provider may download the provider manual and
provider application materials from the Arkansas Medicaid website,
www.medicaid.state.ar.us, and then submit the application and claim to the
Medicaid Provider Enrollment Unit.

B. Limited services providers remain enrolled for one year.

1. If alimited services provider treats another Arkansas Medicaid beneficiary during the
year of enrollment and bills Medicaid, the enrollment may continue for one year past
the newer claim’s last date of service, if the provider keeps the enrollment file
current.

2.  During the enrollment period the provider may file any subsequent claims directly to
EDS.

3. Limited services providers are strongly encouraged to submit claims through the
Arkansas Medicaid website because the front-end processing of web-based claims
ensures prompt adjudication and facilitates reimbursement.

204.000 Records Requirements 7-1-06

DHHS requires retention of all records for five (5) years. Providers of Private Duty Nursing
Services (PDN) must keep and make available to authorized representatives of the Arkansas
Division of Medical Services, the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit, representatives of the
Department of Health and Human Services and its authorized agents or officials, records which
include:

A.  Medicaid contract (form DMS-653) to participate in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

B. Copy of the license of the registered nurse (RN) and/or licensed practical nurse (LPN)
providing private duty nursing services.
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C. Documentation verifying that RNs or LPNs are CPR certified.

D. Documentation that the RN or LPN has received in-service training on the particular
patient’s equipment and care needs.

E.  Written contracts between contract personnel and the agency.
Statistical, fiscal and other records necessary for reporting and accountability.

G. Copies of the approved Request for Private Duty Nursing Services Prior Authorization and
Prescription Initial Request or Recertification (Form DMS-2692). View or print form DMS-
2692 and instructions for completion.

H. Signed and dated notes on the condition and progress of each patient.

l. The patient’s PDN care plan (Home Health Certification and Plan of Care (form CMS-485),
including written justifications of any modification in the PDN care plan or prescription of
service by the physician. View or print form CMS-485.

J. Any additional or special documentation deemed necessary by the provider or required by
DMS.

K.  Documentation of PDN services provided to each eligible beneficiary, including the date,
the actual time of day each service was delivered and the signature of the person who
actually provided the service.

205.000 Retention of Records 7-1-06

A.  Private Duty Nursing Services providers must maintain all records for a period of five (5)
years from the date of service or until all audit questions, appeal hearings, investigations or
court cases are resolved, whichever is longer.

B. Private Duty Nursing Services providers must contemporaneously create and maintain
records that completely and accurately explain all evaluations, care, diagnoses and any
other activities in connection with any Medicaid beneficiary.

C. Private Duty Nursing providers furnishing any Medicaid-covered good or service for which
a prescription is required by law, by Medicaid rule, or both, must have a copy of the
prescription for such good or service. The provider must obtain a copy of the prescription
within five (5) business days of the date the prescription is written.

D. Private Duty Nursing providers must maintain a copy of each relevant prescription in the
Medicaid beneficiary’s records and follow all prescriptions and care plans.

E. The Private Duty Nursing provider must immediately make available to the Division of
Medical Services, its contractors and designees and the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit all
records related to any Medicaid beneficiary.

F. At the time of an audit by the Division of Medical Services, Medicaid Field Audit Unit, all
documentation must be immediately made available at the provider's place of business
during normal business hours. In the case of recoupment, there will be no more than thirty
days allowed after the date of the recoupment notice in which additional documentation will
be accepted. Additional documentation will not be accepted after the thirty-day period.

Failure to furnish records upon request may result in sanctions.

210.000 PROGRAM COVERAGE 10-13-03

211.000 Introduction 7-1-06
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The Arkansas Medicaid Program is designed to assist eligible Medicaid beneficiaries in obtaining
medical care within the guidelines specified in this manual.

212.000 Scope 7-1-06

Private duty nursing services are those medically necessary services that are provided by a
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse under the direction of the beneficiary’s physician, to
a beneficiary in his or her place of residence, a Division of Developmental Disabilities Services
(DDS) community provider facility or a public school. For purposes of the Medicaid program,
private duty nursing services are those medically necessary services related to the coverage
described in Section 213.000 and delivered by a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse, as
required by the State Nurse Practice Act. The registered nurse or licensed practical nurse
providing services may not be a family member or taking on the role of a family member of the
Medicaid beneficiary as described in Section 212.100.

212.200 Private Duty Nursing Service Locations 7-1-06

A. Medicaid-eligible, ventilator-dependent beneficiaries age 21 and older may receive Private
Duty Nursing Services (PDN). PDN services may be provided only in the beneficiary’s own
home and as necessary when the Medicaid beneficiary’s normal life activities temporarily
take the beneficiary away from the home. For purposes of this rule, normal life activity
means routine work, school, church, office or clinic visits, shopping and social interactions
with friends and family. The private duty nurse may accompany the beneficiary but may
not drive. Normal life activities do not include non-routine or extended home absences.

B.  For Medicaid-eligible beneficiaries under the age of 21, PDN services are covered in the
following locations:

1. The beneficiary’s home. PDN services may be provided only in the beneficiary’s own
home and as necessary when the Medicaid beneficiary’s normal life activities
temporarily take the beneficiary away from the home. For purposes of this rule,
normal life activity means routine work, school, church, office or clinic visits, shopping
and social interactions with friends and family. The nurse may accompany the
beneficiary but may not drive. Normal life activities do not include non-routine or
extended home absences.

2. A public school. A school’s location may be an area on or off-site based on
accessibility for the student. When a student’s education is the responsibility of the
school district in which that student resides, “school” as a place of service for
Medicaid-covered services is any location, on-site or away from the site of an actual
school building or campus, at which the school district is discharging that
responsibility.

a.  When a child is attending school at a DDS community provider facility because
the school district has contracted with the facility to provide educational
services, the place of service is “school”.

b.  When the home is the educational setting for a child who is enrolled in the
public school system, “school” is considered the place of service.

C. The student’s home is not considered a “school” place of service when a parent
elects to home school a child.

3. A DDS community provider facility.

C. PDN services are not covered at/or in a hospital, boarding home, nursing facility,
residential care facility, or an assisted living facility.

213.000 Coverage of Private Duty Nursing Services 7-1-06
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Private Duty Nursing Services (PDN) may be covered for individuals who meet the following
requirements:

A. Medicaid-eligible ventilator-dependent beneficiaries when determined medically necessary
and prescribed by a physician.

B. Medicaid-eligible beneficiaries under age 21 who are:

1. Inthe Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program, and

2. High technology non-ventilator dependent beneficiary requiring at least two (2) of the
following services, unless the beneficiary requires an extremely high level of one (1)
service making a home care plan impossible without private duty nursing services:

a. Intravenous Drugs (e.g. chemotherapy, pain relief, or prolonged IV antibiotics)
b. Respiratory — Tracheostomy or Oxygen Supplementation

C. Total Care Support for ADLs and close patient monitoring

d. Hyperalimentation — parenteral or enteral

PDN services may be provided by a registered nurse and/or licensed practical nurse as directed
by the beneficiary’s physician.

All PDN services require prior authorization by the Medicaid Program. Refer to Section 220.000
of this manual for information on the prior authorization process.

213.200 Coverage of Private Duty Nursing Medical Supplies 7-1-06

The Arkansas Medicaid Program covers Private Duty Nursing Services (PDN) medical supplies.
Supplies are limited to $80.00 per month, per beneficiary.

Refer to Section 242.130 of this manual for PDN nursing supplies.

214.000 Medical Criteria and Guidelines for Coverage of Private Duty 7-1-06
Nursing Services for Ventilator-Dependent Beneficiaries

The following medical criteria and guidelines are utilized in evaluating coverage of private duty
nursing services for a ventilator-dependent beneficiary:

A.  Selection of Patient
1. Medical: The patient must have a related diagnosis requiring ventilator support.
These diagnoses are:
a. Neuromuscular disease involving the respiratory muscles
Brainstem respiratory center dysfunction
Severe thoracic cage abnormalities
Intrinsic lung disease
Lung disease associated with cardiovascular disorders

® oo o

Each patient must have cardiovascular stability.

2. Social: The patient must depend upon family members to provide support at home
for medical and non-medical care on an ongoing basis.

3.  Cost Effectiveness: The cost of private duty nursing care should not exceed the cost
for acute inpatient hospital care.

B.  Specific factors to be assessed

1. Medical
a. Mechanical ventilator support is necessary for at least six (6) hours per day and
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weaning has been tried but was unsuccessful.

Frequent ventilator adjustments are unnecessary.

Oxygen supplementation at or below an inspired fraction of 40% (F102@0.40).
There are no anticipated needs for frequent re-hospitalizations.

There is a record of reasonable expectation of normal or near-normal growth
while receiving ventilator support. (This criterion applies to children only.)

® oo

2. Social/Emotional/Environmental: Major commitments on the part of family and
community are mandatory to meet the beneficiary’s extraordinary needs. Specific
components include:

a. Stable parent or parent figures.

b Caregivers understanding of beneficiary’s condition.
C. Primary care physician.
d

Family must ID at least one (1) additional family member and/or community
person beyond the immediate family.

e. Demonstrated interest and ability in the care of the patient related to trach care,
ventilator management, drug administration, feeding needs and developmental
stimulation.

An adequate physical environment within the home.
Support system.
Family composition.

Sufficient resources within the community including emergency medical
services, educational and vocational programs and other support programs.

j- Identified stressors.
k. Financial status.
l. Transportation requirements.

> a -

215.000 Criteria For Coverage of High Technology, Non-Ventilator 7-1-06
Dependent Beneficiaries In the Child Health Services (EPSDT)
Program

Specific factors to be assessed:

A. Medical

1. Technology dependent children consist of those with medical technology including
but not limited to the following. Each category requires a variety of services. The
technology dependence is life threatening and requires attention around the clock
with 2 or more of the below categories being present. The constancy of care
exceeds the family’s ability to care for the patient at home on a long-term basis
without the assistance of home nursing care.

a. Intravenous Drugs (e.g., chemotherapy, pain relief or prolonged IV antibiotics)
b. Respiratory -- Tracheostomy or Oxygen Supplementation
C. Total Care Support for ADLs and close patient monitoring
d. Hyperalimentation — parenteral or enteral
2. The technology dependence may be related to any of the following diagnoses.

a.  Severe neuromuscular, respiratory or cardiovascular disease not requiring
mechanical ventilatory support.

b.  Chronic liver or gastrointestinal disorders with associated nutritional
compromise.

C. Multiple congenital anomalies or malignancies with severe involvement of vital
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body functions.
d.  Serious infections that require prolonged treatment.

B. Social/Emotional/Environmental

Major commitments on the part of the child’s family and community are mandatory to meet
the child’s extraordinary needs. Specific components include:

1.  Stable parent or parent figures.

2 Caregivers understanding of beneficiary’s condition.
3.  Primary care physician.
4

Family must ID at least one (1) additional family member and/or community person
beyond the immediate family.

o

Demonstrated interest and ability in the care of the patient related to trach care, drug
administration, feeding needs and developmental stimulation.

An adequate physical environment within the home.
Support system.

Family composition.

© o N o

Sufficient resources within the community including emergency medical services,
educational and vocational programs and other support programs.

10. Identified stressors.
11. Financial status.

12. Transportation requirements.

216.000 Exclusions 7-1-06

Private duty nursing services will not be authorized for a beneficiary in a boarding home,
hospital, nursing facility, residential care facility or any other institutional setting or health care
facility.

222.000 Request for Prior Authorization 7-1-06

A request for prior authorization for private duty nursing services must originate with the provider.
The provider is responsible for completion of the Request for Private Duty Nursing Services Prior
Authorization and Prescription Initial Request or Recertification (form DMS-2692) and obtaining
the required medical information. Form DMS-2692 must be signed by the beneficiary’s physician
with documentation that a physical examination was performed within 12 months of the
beginning of the initial request or the recertification. View or print form DMS-2692 and
instructions for completion.

For PDN services in the beneficiary’s home a social/environmental evaluation indicating a
commitment on the part of the beneficiary’s family to provide a stable and supportive home
environment must accompany the request for prior authorization. Refer to Section 224.000 of
this manual for additional information required for the initial request.

All PA requests for Medicaid-eligible beneficiaries will be evaluated by the Division of Medical
Services, Utilization Review (UR) Section, to determine the level of care and amount of nursing
services to be authorized. View or print Utilization Review Section contact information.

The UR Section will notify the provider of the approval or denial of the PDN services PA request
within 15 working days following the receipt of the PA request. If the PA request for PDN
services is approved, page 5 of form DMS-2692 will be returned to the provider with the number
of hours approved indicated on the form. The PA number will be assigned after the provider
sends in documentation of the actual hours worked.
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NOTE: The prior authorization number MUST be entered on the claim form filed for
payment of these services. The initial PA approval will only be authorized for a
maximum of 90 days. A new request must be made for services needed for a
longer period of time. Recertification may be authorized for a maximum of six (6)
months. Refer to Section 224.000 of this manual for information regarding
recertification of PDN services. The effective date of the PA will be the date the
patient begins receiving PDN services or the day following the last day of the
previous PA approval.

Providers are cautioned that a prior authorization approval does not guarantee payment.
Reimbursement is contingent upon eligibility of both the beneficiary and provider at the time
service is provided and upon completeness and timeliness of the claim filed for the service. The
provider is responsible for verifying the beneficiary’s eligibility.

225.000 Filing for Prior Authorization 7-1-06

To request prior authorization, the Private Duty Nursing Services (PDN) provider must complete
and forward the original and one copy of Form DMS-2692 to the Division of Medical Services
Utilization Review Section. View or print the DMS Utilization Review Section contact
information.

A copy of the form should be retained in the provider’s records.

Additional documentation is required for PDN services for eligible Medicaid beneficiaries under
age 21. The following documentation must be provided:

A.  Current medical and surgical history
B.  Current psychosocial assessment

C. Current PDN care plan (Home Health Certification and Plan of Care — form CMS-485)
View or print form CMS-485.

New requests for PDN services should be sent to the Division of Medical Services, Utilization
Review Section (UR) as early as possible after the medical need for private duty nursing is
identified.

Providers must submit requests for prior authorization of PDN services within 30 days of the
beginning date of service. Providers assume the risk of services ultimately being found not
medically necessary. When PDN services are approved by UR at the level requested, the
effective date of the prior authorization will be retroactive to the beginning date of service.

226.000 Appealing An Adverse Action 7-1-06

Please see section 190.000 et al for information regarding administrative appeals.

232.000 Rate Appeal Process 7-1-06

A provider may request reconsideration of a Program decision by writing to the Assistant
Director, Division of Medical Services. This request must be received within 20 calendar days
following the application of policy and/or procedure or the notification of the provider of its rate.
Upon receipt of the request for review, the Assistant Director will determine the need for a
Program/Provider conference and will contact the provider to arrange a conference if needed.
Regardless of the Program decision, the provider will be afforded the opportunity for a
conference, if he or she so wishes, for a full explanation of the factors involved and the Program
decision. Following review of the matter, the Assistant Director will notify the provider of the
action to be taken by the Division within 20 calendar days of receipt of the request for review or
the date of the Program/Provider conference.
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If the decision of the Assistant Director, Division of Medical Services is unsatisfactory, the
provider may then appeal the question to a standing Rate Review Panel established by the
Director of the Division of Medical Services which will include one member of the Division of
Medical Services, a representative of the provider association and a member of the Department
of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Management Staff, who will serve as chairman.

The request for review by the Rate Review Panel must be postmarked within 15 calendar days
following the natification of the initial decision by the Assistant Director, Division of Medical
Services. The Rate Review Panel will meet to consider the question(s) within 15 calendar days
after receipt of a request for such appeal. The question(s) will be heard by the panel and a

recommendation will be submitted to the Director of the Division of Medical Services.

240.000

241.000

BILLING PROCEDURES

Introduction to Billing

10-13-03

7-1-06

Private Duty Nursing providers use the CMS-1500 form to bill the Arkansas Medicaid Program
on paper for services provided to eligible Medicaid beneficiaries. Each claim may contain
charges for only one beneficiary.

Section 1l of this manual contains information about Provider Electronic Solutions (PES) and
other available options for electronic claim submission.

242.130

Medical Supplies Procedure Codes

7-1-06

The following HCPCS procedure codes must be used when billing the Arkansas Medicaid
Program for medical supplies.

A4206 A4216 A4217 A4221 A4222 A4253
A4256 A4259 A4265 A4310 A4311 A4312
A4313 A4314 A4315 A4316 A4320 A4322
A4326 A4327 A4328 A4330 A4338 A4340
A4344 A4346 A4347 A4348 A4351 A4352
A4354 A4355 A4356 A4357 A4358 A4359
A4361 A4362 A4364 A4367 A4369 A4371
A4397 A4398 A4399 A4400 A4402 A4404
A4405 A4406 A4414 A4452 A4454 A4455
A4558 A4560 A4561 A4562 A4623 A4624
A4625 A4626 A4628 A4629 A4TT2 A4927
A5051 A5052 A5053 A5054 A5055 A5061
A5062 A5063 A5071 A5072 A5073 A5081
A5082 A5093 A5102 A5105 A5112 A5113
A5114 A5119 A5121 A5122 A5126 A5131
A6154 A6234 A6241 A6242 A6248 A6441
A6442 A6443 Ab444 A6445 A6446 A6447
A6448 A6449 A6450 A6451 A6452 A6453
A6454 A6455 A7520 A7521 A7522 A7524
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A7525 B4086 B4100 EO776

National HCPCS Codes

Required Modifier

Procedure Description

Code

A6257 Transparent Film, each (16 square inches or less)

A6258 Transparent Film, each (more than 16, but less than 48
square inches)

A6259 Transparent Film, each (more than 48 square inches)

A6216 Gauze Pad, Medicated or Non-Medicated, each (16 square

A6219 inches or less)

A6228

A6220 Gauze Pads, Medicated or Non-Medicated, each (more than

A6229 16, but less than 48 square inches)

A6217

A6221 Gauze Pads, Medicated or Non-Medicated, each (more than

A6230 48 square inches)

A6218

A4450 Gauze, Non-Elastic, Per Roll (1 linear yard)

A6245 Hydro gel Dressing, each (16 square inches or less)

A6242

A6246 Hydro gel Dressing, each (more than 16, but less than 48
square inches)

A6247 Hydro gel Dressing, each (more than 48 square inches)

A6244

A6248 Hydro gel Dressing, each (1 ounce)

A6237 Hydrocolloid Dressing, each (16 square inches or less)

A6234

A6238 Hydrocolloid Dressing, each (more than 16, but less than 48

A6235 square inches)

A6236 Hydrocolloid Dressing, each (more than 48 square inches)

A6239

A6196 Alginate Dressing, each (16 square inches or less)

A6197 Alginate Dressing, each (more than 16, but less than 48
square inches)

A6198 Alginate Dressing, each (more than 48 square inches)

A6197 uB Alginate Dressing, each (1 linear yard)

A6209 Foam Dressing, each (16 square inches or less)

A6210 Foam Dressing, each (more than 16, but less than 48 square
inches)

A6211 Foam Dressing, each (more than 48 square inches)

A6200 Composite Dressing, each (16 square inches or less)
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National HCPCS Codes

Required Modifier

Procedure Description

Code

A6201 Composite Dressing, each (more than 16, but less than 48
square inches)

A6202 Composite Dressing, each (more than 48 square inches)
A4253 UB Blood Glucose test or reagent strip for home blood glucose
monitor, per 25 strips

A4353 Urinary intermittent catheter with insertion tray

A4394 Ostomy deodorant, all types, per ounce

A4365 Adhesive remover wipes, 50 per box

A4368 Ostomy filters, any type, each

A4483 Tracheostomy vent-heat moisture device

L8239* Stocking (Jobst)

A6549* Gradient compression stocking, not otherwise specified

*  Refer to section 242.430.

242.200 Place of Service and Type of Service Codes 7-1-06
Electronic
Place of Service Paper Claims Claims
Patient’'s home 4 12
DDS Facility (for beneficiaries under age 21, not school 5 52
age)
Public School (for beneficiaries under age 21) S 03

Type of Service (paper only)

1-Private Duty Nursing Services

S-Public School (for beneficiaries under age 21) NOTE: Type of service code “S” requires
the LEA number of the school district in Field 19 of the CMS-1500.

242.410 Private Duty Nursing Billing Procedures 7-1-06

Private duty nursing services (PDN) are billed on a per unit basis. One unit equals one hour.
Arkansas Medicaid will reimburse for the actual amount of cumulative PDN time on a monthly
basis. Service time of less than one hour may not be rounded up to a full hour.

Type of service code “1” must be used when filing paper claims. Public schools must use type of
service code “S” when filing paper claims for beneficiaries under age 21.

Refer to Sections 242.110 and 242.120 for PDN procedure codes for single patient care and
multiple patient care.
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242.430 Private Duty Nursing Medical Supplies 7-1-06

Procedure code L8239 must be prior authorized. Form DMS-679 may be used to request prior
authorization. View or print form DMS 679.

Procedure code A6549, with types of service “S” and “1”, must be manually priced. Procedure
code A6549 with a type of service of “1” requires a prior authorization (PA).

Refer to Section 242.130 for procedure codes of covered medical supplies.
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