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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers – Physician/Independent 
Lab/CRNA/ Radiation Therapy Center 

DATE: May 1, 2006 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #111 

REMOVE INSERT
Section Date Section Date 
203.120 10-13-03 203.120 5-1-06 

Explanation of Updates 
Section 203.120 is included to state that a primary care physician (PCP) may bill a sick visit and a 
Child Health Services (EPSDT) screening on the same date of service. 
Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes will be automatically incorporated. 
If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191.  Both telephone numbers are 
voice and TDD. 
If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance Center 
at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211. 
Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance 
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Roy Jeffus, Director 
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Physician/Independent Lab/CRNA/Radiation Therapy Center Section II 

203.120 Physician’s Role in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program 5-1-06 

The Child Health Services (EPSDT) program is a federally mandated child health component of 
Medicaid.  It is designed to bring comprehensive health care to individuals eligible for medical 
assistance from birth up to their 21st birthday.  The purpose of this program is to detect and treat 
health problems in the early stages and to provide preventive health care, including necessary 
immunizations.  Child Health Services (EPSDT) combines case management and support 
services with screening, diagnostic and treatment services delivered on a periodic basis. 

A. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) is a health care 
program designed for (1) health evaluation as soon after birth as possible; (2) repeated at 
regular recommended times; (3) to detect physical or developmental health problems and 
(4) health care, treatment and other measures to correct or improve any defects and 
chronic conditions discovered. 

1. Screening 

 The Arkansas Medicaid Program requires that all eligible EPSDT participants under 
21 years of age, must receive regularly scheduled examinations and evaluations of 
their general physical and mental health, growth, development and nutritional status. 

 These screenings must include, but are not limited to: 
a. Comprehensive health and developmental history. 
b. Comprehensive unclothed physical examination. 
c. Appropriate vision testing. 
d. Appropriate hearing testing. 
e. Appropriate laboratory tests. 
f. Dental screening services furnished by direct referral to a dentist for children 

beginning at 3 years of age. 
 Screening services must be provided in accordance with reasonable standards of 

medical and dental practice, as soon as possible in a child’s life and at intervals 
established for screening by medical, dental, visual and other health care experts. 

 An age appropriate screening may be performed when a child is being 
evaluated or treated for an acute or chronic condition.  

 The screening performed on the same date of service as an office visit for 
treatment of an acute or chronic condition may be billed as a periodic EPSDT 
screening, using the Form DMS-694.  View a DMS-694 sample form.   

 Effective for dates of service on and after May 1, 2006, the office visit for 
treatment of an acute or chronic condition may be billed as a separate visit for 
the same date of service.  The visit must be billed electronically, or on paper 
using form CMS-1500.  View a form CMS-1500 sample form.

 The primary care physician may provide the screening or refer the child to a qualified 
Medicaid provider for screening.  Primary care physician referral for ESPDT 
screening is mandatory in the 75 counties in Arkansas.  See Section I of this manual. 

2. Diagnosis 

 Diagnosis is the determination of the nature or cause of physical or mental disease 
or abnormality through the combined use of health history, physical, developmental 
and psychological examination, laboratory tests and X-rays. 

3. Treatment 

 Treatment means physician, hearing, visual services, or dental services and any 
other type of medical care and services recognized under State law to prevent or 
correct disease or abnormalities detected by screening or by diagnostic procedures. 

 Section II-1 



Physician/Independent Lab/CRNA/Radiation Therapy Center Section II 

 Physicians and other health professionals who do Child Health Services (EPSDT) 
screening may diagnose and treat health problems discovered during the screening 
or may refer the child to other appropriate sources for treatment.  If immunization is 
recommended at the time of screening, immunization(s) must be provided at that 
time, or a direct referral given. 

 If a condition is diagnosed through a Child Health Services (EPSDT) screen that 
requires treatment services not normally covered under the Arkansas Medicaid 
Program, those treatment services will also be considered for reimbursement if the 
service is medically necessary and permitted under federal Medicaid regulations.  
The PCP must request consideration for reimbursement using the EPSDT 
Prescription/Referral for Medically Necessary Services/Items not specifically included 
in the Medicaid State Plan Form DMS-693.  View or print form DMS-693. 

 Refer to Section I of this manual (Services Available through the Child Health 
Services (EPSDT) Program) for additional information. 

B. Physicians who are Child Health Services (EPSDT) providers are encouraged to refer to 
the Child Health Services (EPSDT) provider manual for additional information. 

 Physicians interested in becoming a Child Health Services (EPSDT) provider should 
contact the central Child Health Services Office.  View or print Child Health Services 
Office contact information.

 Section II-2 
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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers – Nurse Practitioner 

DATE: May 1, 2006 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #65 

REMOVE INSERT
Section Date Section Date 
203.200 10-13-03 203.200 5-1-06 

Explanation of Updates 
Section 203.200 is included to state that a primary care physician (PCP) may bill a sick visit and a 
Child Health Services (EPSDT) screening on the same date of service. 
Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes will be automatically incorporated. 
If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191.  Both telephone numbers are 
voice and TDD. 
If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance Center 
at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211. 
Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance 
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Roy Jeffus, Director 
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Nurse Practitioner Section II 

203.200 The Nurse Practitioner’s Role in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) 
Program 

5-1-06 

The Child Health Services (EPSDT) program is a federally mandated child health component of 
Medicaid.  It is designed to bring comprehensive health care to individuals eligible for medical 
assistance from birth until their 21st birthday.  The purpose of this program is to detect and 
treat health problems in the early stages and to provide preventive health care, including 
necessary immunizations.  Child Health Services (EPSDT) combines case management and 
support services with periodic screening, as well as diagnostic and treatment services delivered. 

A primary care physician (PCP) may refer a child to a nurse practitioner to administer an EPSDT 
screen.  A provider of nurse practitioner services may recommend to the PCP that an EPSDT 
screen could be necessary for any child that is thought to need one.  If a nurse practitioner 
discovers a problem as a result of an EPSDT screen, or receives a referral as a result of an 
EPSDT screen, nurse practitioner services may be provided after consulting with the child’s 
PCP. 

A. Treatment means physician, hearing, visual, dental, nurse practitioner services and any 
other type of medical care and services recognized under State law to prevent or correct 
disease or abnormalities detected by screening or by diagnostic procedures. 

B. Nurse practitioners and other health professionals who do Child Health Services (EPSDT) 
screening may diagnose and treat health problems discovered during the screening or may 
refer the child to other appropriate sources for treatment. 

C.. If a condition is diagnosed through a Child Health Services (EPSDT) screen that requires a 
treatment service not normally covered under the Arkansas Medicaid Program, the service 
will also be considered for reimbursement if it is medically necessary and permitted under 
federal Medicaid regulations. 

D. Effective for dates of service on and after May 1, 2006, nurse practitioners may bill a sick 
visit and a periodic Child Health Services (EPSDT) screening for a patient on the same 
date of service.  This visit must be billed electronically, or on paper using form CMS-1500.  
View a form CMS-1500 sample form. 

Refer to Section I of this manual for additional information.  Providers of Child Health Services 
(EPSDT) should refer to the Child Health Services (EPSDT) provider manual. 

 Section II-1 
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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers – Child Health Services 
(EPSDT) 

DATE: May 1, 2006 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #73 

REMOVE INSERT
Section Date Section Date 
242.100 12-5-05 242.100 5-1-06 

Explanation of Updates 
Section 242.100 is included to state that a primary care physician (PCP) may bill a sick visit and a 
Child Health Services (EPSDT) screening on the same date of service. 
Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes will be automatically incorporated. 
If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191.  Both telephone numbers are 
voice and TDD. 
If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance Center 
at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211. 
Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance 
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Roy Jeffus, Director 
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Child Health Services/Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment Section II 

242.100 Procedure Codes 5-1-06 

See section 212.000 for EPSDT screening terminology. 

Effective for dates of service on and after May 1, 2006, a primary care physician (PCP) may bill a 
sick visit and a Child Health Services (EPSDT) periodic screening for a patient on the same date 
of service if the screening is due to be performed. 

Claims for EPSDT medical screenings must be billed electronically or using the DMS-694 
EPSDT paper claim form.  View or print a DMS-694 sample claim form.
 
Procedure 
Code 

 
Modifier 1 

 
Modifier 2 

 
Description 

99381-99385 EP U1 EPSDT Periodic Complete Medical Screen (New 
Patient) 

99391-99395 EP U2 EPSDT Periodic Complete Medical Screen 
(Established Patient) 

994311 
994321 
994351 

EP 
EP 
EP 

 Initial Newborn Care/EPSDT screen in hospital 

991731 EP  EPSDT Periodic Vision Screen 

V5008  EP  EPSDT Periodic Hearing Screen 

D01201   CHS/EPSDT Oral Examination 

D01401   EPSDT Interperiodic Dental Screen, with prior 
authorization 

99401 EP  EPSDT Health Education - Preventive Medical 
Counseling 

364152   Collection of venous blood by venipuncture 

83655   Lead 
1 Exempt from PCP referral requirements 
2 Covered when specimen is referred to an independent lab 
 

Immunizations and laboratory tests may be billed separately from comprehensive screens. 

The verbal assessment of lead toxicity risk is part of the complete CHS/EPSDT screen.  The cost 
for the administration of the risk assessment is included in the fee for the complete screen. 

Laboratory/X-ray and immunizations associated with an EPSDT screen may be billed on the 
DMS-694 EPSDT claim form. 

Electronic and paper claims require use of the above modifiers.  When filing paper claims for an 
EPSDT screening service, type of service code “6” and the applicable modifier must be entered 
on the claim form. 

For billing on paper, immunizations must be billed with a type of service code "1.” 
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