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PROCEDURE (II-E10):  Protective Custody of Child in Immediate 
Danger 
The Family Service Worker will: 
 

• Take the child into Protective Custody for up to 72 hours if the circumstances of the child present an 
immediate danger of severe maltreatment. The child’s health and safety will be of paramount concern. 

A 72 hour hold can be exercised on any child who is dependent as defined by the Arkansas Juvenile Code 
of 1989, § 9-27-301 et. Seq.  (See Glossary for definition of “Dependent”.) 

In cases where domestic abuse is involved (see glossary for definition of Domestic Abuse) any adult 
family/household member may file a petition for an order of protection on behalf of another family or 
household member, including a married minor.  If a minor child’s safety is a concern and the parent does 
not file an order of protection, the Family Service Worker should contact OCC to determine appropriate 
legal action.  (One legal option is to petition the court for an order of less than custody.) The worker should 
thoroughly review the Health and Safety Assessment and Risk Assessment and ensure that a safety plan is 
in place for a child before leaving a child in a home when an order for protection is filed. 

An order of protection issued by a court of competent jurisdiction in any county of this state is enforceable 
in every county of this state by any court or law enforcement officer.  An order of protection issued by a 
court of another state, federally recognized Indian tribe, or a territory shall be afforded full faith and credit 
by the courts of Arkansas and shall be enforced by law enforcement as if it were issued in Arkansas.   

• Notify the OCC attorney immediately that  Protective Custody was exercised and  request an ex parte 
emergency order from the court. 

• Make a determination whether to recommend to the court that reunification services should not be provided 
to reunite the child with his family (see Policy VI-A).  If the court determines that reunification services 
shall not be provided, a permanency planning hearing will be held within thirty (30) days after the 
determination.  It is not required that a permanency planning hearing be held as a prerequisite to the filing 
of a petition to terminate parental rights, or as a prerequisite to the court considering a petition to terminate 
parental rights. 

• Determine whether the grandparents have the right to notice and an opportunity to be heard.  In a child 
custody or dependency-neglect case, grandparents have this right if all the following conditions are present: 

• The grandchild resided with the grandparent for at least 6 consecutive months prior to the 
child’s first birthday or lived with the grandparent for at least one continuous year regardless of 
age; 

• The grandparent was the primary financial caregiver during the time the child resided with the 
grandparent; and  

• The continuous custody occurred within one year of the initiation of the custody proceeding. 

Note:  “Grandparent” does not mean a parent of a putative father of a child for the purpose of this 
determination. 

• Provide the OCC attorney with the name and address of any grandparent who is entitled to notice based on 
the above conditions. 

• Prepare an affidavit immediately and give it to the OCC attorney. 
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• Have the child thoroughly examined by a physician within 24 hours of removal.  The Family Service 
Worker may consent for medical and dental services during Protective Custody. 

• Place the child in an appropriate licensed or approved placement.  Place a child in a Provisional Relative 
Foster Home if a relative is identified and it is in the best interest of the child.  A child may be placed in the 
home of a relative on a provisional basis for up to six (6) months pending the relative’s home being opened 
as a regular foster home.  If the relative opts to have his or her home opened as a Provisional Foster Home, 
the relative shall not be paid a board payment until  the relative meets all of the foster home requirements 
and is opened as a regular foster home.  See Policy VI-A, Procedure VI-A1 “Out-Of-Home Placement 
Criteria”, VI-J and VI-J1 Out-Of –Home Placement Non-Custody Relative Placement. 

NOTE:  The child is in the custody of the department, therefore, the child shall remain in an approved 
foster home or licensed  shelter or facility, until the relative’s home is opened as a provisional home. It is 
permissible for a child to be placed on a 72 hour hold in an approved  Provisional Relative Foster Home.   

 
• Conduct a review of the home that will include a visual inspection of the home, an expedited Central 

Registry Check and expedited criminal and local background checks.  All criminal background checks for 
Provisional Relative Foster Homes must be submitted to the DCFS  Foster Care Unit by completing the 
CFS 342A (Foster Care Criminal Record Check). To receive expedited results the CFS-342A can be faxed 
to the Foster Care Unit, however, the fax must be accompanied by an email to the Foster Care Unit 
verifying that there is an original notarized copy of the CFS-342A in the possession of the Division.  There 
is no fee for criminal background checks for Provisional Relative Foster Homes.  The CFS-474 
“Provisional Foster Home Orientation Checklist” must be completed and signed when a child is placed in a 
Provisional: Relative Foster Family Home.  When a child is placed in a provisional relative foster home for 
a 72 hour hold the family must acknowledge that they will not allow the alleged perpetrator access not 
supervised by the Division until the investigation is completed and will not allow any contact with the 
alleged offender that is not approved or authorized by the Division or the court after the investigation is 
completed (if found true).  

 
The child(ren), if age appropriate, should also be interviewed about the placement with the relative to 
determine how the child feels about the placement. 

• Non-relative placements, other than approved foster homes or residential care facilities, are not permissible 
until opened as a regular approved foster home or unless the court gives custody after a written home 
evaluation is completed.  (See Procedure VI-A1 “Out-of-Home Placement Criteria” and Policy VII-A 
“Foster Parent Training, Approval and Re-evaluation.”) 

• Notify the Intake Officer of the Juvenile Division of Circuit Court. 

• Complete and route “Protective Custody/Parental Notification” (CFS-323). 

• Open an Out-of-Home Placement case. 

• Return the child to the legal custodian if the emergency necessitating Protective Custody passes or if the 
judge does not grant custody to the Department.  Protective Custody cannot be extended.  Complete the 
“Expiration of Protective Custody/Parental Notification” (CFS-336) and provide to the parent.  If the parent 
refuses to accept custody of the child, an emergency petition should be filed. 

• Notify the OCC attorney immediately if the child returns home. 

• Close the Out-of-Home Placement case. 

• Determine whether to open a non-court involved Protective Services case or initiate a petition for 
dependency/neglect. 

All hearings involving allegations and reports of child maltreatment, and all hearings involving cases of 
children in Out-of-Home placements shall be closed. 
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VI. SERVICES TO REUNIFY FAMILIES 
POLICY (VI-A): OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENT CRITERIA 
The state of Arkansas is not a voluntary placement state.  The removal of a child from his home must occur pursuant 
to a judicial order placing custody of the child with the Department.  When a child is in the custody of the Department 
of Human Services, DCFS shall ensure that the out-of-home placement is in the best interest of the child, is the least 
restrictive possible and is matched to the child’s physical and therapeutic needs. A child of a parent who is under the 
age of eighteen (18) years, and is in DHS custody, is also considered a dependent juvenile and is eligible to receive 
foster care maintenance payments and is deemed to be a recipient of aid to families with dependent children.  Titles 
XIX and XX services will be available to the child in the state in which the child resides.  No child shall be placed in the 
home of a foster parent where a records check reveals a felony conviction for child abuse or neglect, for spousal abuse, 
for a crime against children (including child pornography), or a crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault 
or homicide.  No child shall be placed in the home of a foster parent if the record check reveals a criminal conviction 
for physical assault, battery, or a drug related offense, if the offense was committed within the past five years. The 
placement decision shall be based on an individual assessment of the child’s needs.  All efforts to place a child within 
Arkansas shall be thoroughly explored and documented before consideration is given to out-of-state placement.  
Relatives shall be considered for placement first.   

After the Department removes the child or the court grants custody of the child to the Department, the child shall be 
placed in a licensed or approved foster home, shelter, or facility, or an exempt child welfare agency as defined at 
A.C.A. § 9-28-402.  The court shall not specify a particular provider for placement of any foster child.   

In an effort to preserve family connections, a child in foster care may be placed in a Provisional Relative Foster Home 
if a relative has been identified and is appropriate. A “Provisional Foster  Home” means a foster home opened for no 
more than six (6) months by DCFS for a relative of a child in the custody of the division after the division conducts (a)  
A health and safety check, including a central registry check, a criminal and local background check  on the relative 
and the appropriate people in the relative’s  home, a vehicle safety check  and (b) A visual inspection of the home of the 
relative. 

“Relative” means a person within the fifth degree of kinship by virtue of blood or adoption.  See Policy VI-J and 
Procedure VI-J1 to discuss  placement options with the relative.  

The child is in the custody of the department, therefore, the child shall remain in a licensed or approved foster home, 
shelter or facility until the relative’s home is opened as a provisional home, regular foster home or the court grants 
custody to the relative or person after a written approved home study is presented to the court. 

If the relative opts to have his or her home opened as a Provisional Foster Home, the relative shall not be paid a board 
payment until the relative meets all of the licensing requirements and DCFS standards and is opened as a regular 
foster home.  Until the relative’s home is opened as a regular foster home, the relative may apply for and receive 
benefits for which the relative may be entitled due to the placement of the child in the home, such as benefits under the 
Temporary Employment Assistance (TEA) Program or food stamps.   

If the relative’s home is not fully licensed as a foster home after six (6) months of the placement of the child in the home 
(i.e. meet all requirements and is fully approved as a foster family home): (a) The department shall remove the child 
from the relative’s home and close the relative’s provisional foster home or (b) The court shall remove custody from 
the department and grant custody of the child to the relative.   

The court shall not specify a particular provider for placement or family services, when DHS is the payer or provider.  
In all cases in which family services are ordered, the court shall determine the parent's, guardian's, or custodian's 
ability to pay, in whole or in part, for these services.  This determination and the evidence supporting it shall be made 
in writing in the court order ordering family services.  If the court determines that the parent, guardian, or custodian 
is able to pay, in whole or part, for the services, the court shall enter a written order setting forth the amounts the 
parent, guardian, or custodian can pay for the family services ordered and ordering the parent, guardian, or custodian 
to pay the amount periodically to the provider from whom family services are received. 
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When it is in the best interest of each of the children, the Department shall attempt to place siblings together while 
they are in a foster care and adoptive placement.  When it is in the best interest of each of the children, the 
Department shall attempt to place together infants with minor mothers who are in foster care.  Relatives of children 
placed in the custody of the Department shall be given preferential consideration for placement, if the relative 
caregiver meets all relevant child protection standards and it is in the child’s best interest to be placed with the 
relative caregiver.  In order to assist in placing the child with an appropriate relative, the court will order the 
parent(s) to provide the following information to the Department: 

• The names, addresses, and phone numbers of any relatives who may be placement resources for the child; 

• The names, addresses, and phone numbers and other identifying information on any putative father(s) of the 
child; 

• Any information regarding possible membership or descent from an Indian tribe; 

• Information necessary to determine financial eligibility for services or foster care.  

Placement or custody of a child in the home of a relative shall not relieve the Department of its responsibility to 
actively implement the goal of the case.  See Policy VI-J (Out-of-Home Non-DHS Custody/Relative Placements). 

If the relative meets all relevant child protection standards and it is in the child’s best interest to be placed with the 
relative caregiver, the worker shall discuss with the relative the following two (2) options for placement of the child 
in the relative’s home: 

(1) The relative becoming a DHS relative foster home; or  
(2) The relative obtaining legal custody of the child. 

The child shall remain in a licensed or approved foster home, shelter, or facility, or an exempt child welfare agency 
as defined at A.C.A. § 9-28-402(12), until the relative’s home is opened as a Provisional Relative foster home or 
regular foster home or the court grants custody of the child to the relative after a written approved home study is 
presented to the court. 

If the court grants custody of the child to the relative: 

(A) The child shall not be placed back in the custody of the Department while remaining in the home of the 
relative;  

(B) The relative shall not receive any financial assistance, including board payments, from the Department, 
except for financial assistance for which the relative has applied and for which the relative qualifies 
pursuant to the program guidelines, such as the Transitional Employment Assistance Program, Food 
Stamps, Medicaid, and federal adoption subsidy; and 

(C) The Department shall not be ordered to pay the equivalent of board payments or adoption subsidies to 
the relative as reasonable efforts to prevent removal of custody from the relative. 

Children who are in the custody of the Department shall be allowed trial placements with parents, for a period not 
to exceed thirty (30) days.   At the end of the thirty (30) days, the court shall either place custody of the child with 
the parent or the Department shall return the child to a licensed or approved foster home, shelter, or facility, or an 
exempt child welfare agency as defined in A.C.A. § 9-28-402.  

When a child leaves the custody of the Department and the court grants custody to the parent or another person, 
the Department is no longer legal custodian of the child, even if the Juvenile Division of Circuit Court retains 
jurisdiction. 

Placement shall be chosen: 
• To ensure the health and safety of a child; 

• To ensure that caretakers have the skills and training sufficient to deal with the child’s special needs 
and any disabling condition; and 

• To keep the child in close proximity to the family, if possible, to maintain enrollment in the school 
the child attended before placement. 
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The Department shall make reasonable efforts to: 

• Maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary removal of a child from his home, as long as the 
child’s safety is assured;  

• Effect the safe reunification of the child and family (if temporary out-of-home placement is necessary to 
ensure immediate safety of the child); and  

• Make and finalize alternate permanency plans in a timely manner when reunification is not appropriate or 
possible.  In determining reasonable efforts to be made with respect to a child and in making such 
reasonable efforts, the child’s health and safety is of paramount concern. 

Within 30 days of a child being placed in DHS custody, the Division will provide the parents with literature, verbal 
information, and referrals to programs for parenting, child abuse, substance abuse, sexual abuse and family 
planning. 

 
After a child is placed out of the home, reasonable efforts will be made to reunify a family, to make it possible for 
the child to safely return home.  A judicial determination pertaining to reasonable efforts to prevent removal must 
have been made within 60 days of the child’s removal from the home, otherwise the child will not be eligible for 
Title IV-E foster care maintenance payments for the duration of his stay in foster care.   Reasonable efforts to 
finalize an alternate permanency plan (i.e., place a child for adoption or with a legal guardian or permanent 
custodian) may be made concurrently with reasonable efforts to reunify a child with his family. Reasonable efforts 
shall also be made to obtain permanency for a child who has been in an out-of-home placement for more than 
twelve (12) months, or for fifteen (15) of the previous twenty-two (22) months.  

Reasonable efforts to reunite a child with his parent(s) shall not be required in all cases.  The court shall conduct 
and complete a hearing on a “no reunification services” request within fifty (50) days of the date of written notice 
to the defendants.  However, upon good cause shown, the hearing may be continued for an additional twenty (20) 
days, and the court shall enter an order determining whether or not reunification services shall be provided.  
Reunification shall not be required if a court of competent jurisdiction, including the Juvenile Division of Circuit 
Court, has determined that the parent has: 

(1) Subjected the child to aggravated circumstances; (See Glossary for the definition of aggravated 
circumstances.) 

(2) Committed murder (which would have been an offense under section 1111(a) of Title 18, USC, if 
the offense had occurred in the special maritime or territorial jurisdiction of the United States) of 
any child; 

(3) Committed voluntary manslaughter (which would have been an offense under section 1112(a) of 
Title 18, USC, if the offense had occurred in the special maritime or territorial jurisdiction of the 
United States) of any child; 

(4) Aided or abetted, attempted, conspired, or solicited to commit such a murder or such a voluntary 
manslaughter; 

(5) Committed a felony, battery, or assault that results in serious bodily injury to any child; or 

(6) Had the parental rights involuntarily terminated as to a sibling of the child; or 

(7) Abandoned an infant (not the same as “Voluntary Delivery of an Infant”, see Procedure VIII- E2).  

If reasonable efforts to reunify are determined by a court to be unnecessary, a permanency hearing must be held 
within 30 days after the court’s determination.  If the court determines no reunification services will be provided 
due to aggravating circumstances or upon recommendation from the Division or Attorney Ad Litem at 
adjudication, the Family Service Worker will have case management responsibility until the child is placed in an 
adoptive home.    

If the court recommends that reunification services should not be provided to reunite a child with his family, DHS, 
the Attorney Ad Litem or the court shall provide written notice to the defendants.   When DHS is the agency 
requesting that no reunification services be provided, it will send the written notice to the defendants in 
coordination with OCC.  The notice shall be provided to the parties at least fourteen (14) calendar days before the 
no-reunification hearing, and the notice shall identify in sufficient detail to put the family on notice, the grounds 
for recommending “no reunification services”. 
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The burden of presenting the case shall be on the requesting party.  The court shall conduct and complete a hearing 
on a “no reunification services” request within fifty (50) days of the date of written notice to the defendants.  
However, upon good cause shown, the hearing may be continued for an additional twenty (20) days.   
 
 
 

PROCEDURE (VI-A1): Out-of-Home Placement Criteria 
The Family Service Worker will: 

• Consider placement with appropriate relatives in a Kinship Foster Home.  (See Policy VII-A.) 

• Place a child in a provisional relative foster home if a relative is identified and it is in the best interest of 
the child.  A child may be placed in the home of a relative on a provisional basis for up to six (6) months 
pending the relative’s home being opened as a regular foster home.  If the relative opts to have his or her 
home opened as a provisional  foster home, the relative shall not be paid a board payment until  the 
relative meets all of the requirements and is opened as a regular foster home.   The child(ren), if age 
appropriate, should also be interviewed about the placement with the relative to determine how the child 
feels about the placement.. 

• NOTE: The child is in the custody of the department, therefore, the child shall remain in an approved 
foster home or licensed shelter or facility, until the relative’s home is opened as a provisional home. 

• Conduct a review of the home that will include a visual inspection of the home, an expedited Central 
Registry Check, criminal and local background check and a vehicle safety check.  All criminal 
background checks for Provisional  Relative Foster Homes must be submitted to the DCFS   Foster Care 
Unit by completing the CFS 342A (Foster Care Criminal Record Check) to receive expedited results.  
The CFS-342A can be faxed to the Foster Care Unit for expedited  results, however, the fax must be 
accompanied by an email to the Foster Care Unit verifying that there is an original notarized copy of the 
CFS-342A in the possession of the Division.  There is no fee for criminal background checks conducted 
for Provisional Relative Foster Homes. 

 
The review of the home will also include the completion of the CFS-446 (In-Home Consultation Visit 
Report). The worker and supervisor will expeditiously review the background check results and the In-
home consultation to determine if the home is a clean and safe environment for the child.  The home will 
be approved as a Provisional Relative Foster Home if it is appropriate and in the child’s best interest.  
Place the child in the Provisional Relative Foster Home once the home is approved and the family has 
signed the CFS-474 (Provisional Foster Home Orientation Checklist).  The worker and the family must  
complete any corrective actions necessary to bring the home into compliance with minimum licensing 
standards within six (6) months. 
 

• Request an Alternative Compliance for a Provisional Relative foster home, if appropriate.  However, 
there must be documentation that the Alternative Compliance will in no way jeopardize the health and 
safety of the child(ren) placed with the family.  All Alternative Compliance requests must go up the 
chain of command and be reviewed by the County Supervisor, Area Manager, Program Administrator 
and Assistant Director of Community Services before being presented to the DCFS Director.  The 
Alternative Compliance must be approved before the home can be approved as a provisional home. 

 
• Provide an orientation session with the family at the time of placing the child in the relative’s home. 

Complete the CFS- 474 “Provisional Foster Home Orientation Checklist” as part of the orientation.  The 
relatives must sign the completed CFS-474 before the child is left in their home.  

• Provide an initial clothing order to the child.  When a child is first placed in foster care, an initial clothing 
order may be issued.  The Family Service Worker will assess with the foster parent which clothing items 
are needed and issue the authorized amount of clothing allowance.  Purchases will be made using the 
DHS-1914 process.  The FSW will accompany the foster parent to the store to approve the purchase. 

 

• Complete all actions identified in Policy III-A “Services Case Opening and Re-Evaluation”.  Complete 
the IV-E and Medicaid application as prescribed in Procedure III-A2. 
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• Complete all of the medical exam requirements for the child including the Comprehensive Health 
Assessment see Procedure VI-D1 “Comprehensive Health Assessment and Health Plan for Children 
Receiving Out-Of-Home Placement Services”. 

• Complete all case opening functions as outlined in Policy IV-A “Services Case Plan” and IV-B “Case 
Staffings.” 

• Visit the child in the relative’s home as required in policy VII-C “ Supervision of Children in Out-Of-
Home Placement.” 

• Assist the relatives in applying for benefits. Until the relative’s home is opened as a regular foster home, 
the relative may apply for and receive benefits for which the relative may be entitled due to the 
placement of the child in the home, such as benefits under the Temporary Employment Assistance 
Program or food stamps.  

• Ensure that the family is completing the process for foster home approval.  If the relative’s home is not 
fully licensed as a foster home within six (6) months of the placement of the child in the home: (a) The 
department shall remove the child from the relative’s home and close the relative’s provisional foster 
home or (b) The court shall remove custody from the department and grant custody of the child to the 
relative. 

• Assess the situation if the family does not come into compliance within six (6) months of the placement 
of the child in the home and recommend to OCC on how the case should proceed, i.e. remain in foster 
care or have a completed approved home study and recommend custody to the relative. 

All Alternative Compliance requests must go up the chain of command and be reviewed by the County 
Supervisor, Area Manager, Program Administrator and Assistant Director of Community Services before 
being presented to the DCFS Director.   
 
The  Area Manager  will: 

• Review the request for alternative compliance 
• Assure necessary documentation is included with the request. 

If the request is appropriate, the Area  Manager  will: 
• Prepare a cover memo to the Program Administrator 

• Place the words “Alternative Compliance Request” in the subject line along with the name 
of the foster or prospective adoptive parents and their county.   

• Summarize in the body of the memo (a) What action is being requested and the issues 
pertaining to the need for an alternative compliance request, e.g., age.  (b)  One or two 
statements why this request was supported by the Area Manager. 
• Include with the request: 

(1) A copy of  the current home study 
(2) The date of the next court hearing 
(3) Copies of the Central Registry Checks 
(4) Copies of the State Police Checks 
(5) A copy of the physical, if age is the issue 
(6) Copy of the results of the FBI search, if residency is an issue 
(7) If the issue is misdemeanor or felony activity, a written explanation by the 

prospective foster/adoptive parent explaining what the offense was, why the offense 
occurred and why the offense should not prevent the approval of the request. 

The Program Administrator will: 
• Review the request for appropriateness 
• Forward the request to the Assistant Director of Community Services for review and submission 

to the DCFS Director.  
The DCFS Director can approve an Alternative Compliance for a relative home on a case-by-case basis.  
Alternative compliances will only be approved in cases where there is clear documentation that the 
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placement is in the best interest of the child.  The DCFS Director may review and approve any requests 
for alternative compliance of DCFS Policy.  The DCFS Director will review for appropriateness, requests 
for alternative compliance with CWAL standards, and will then forward the request to the Manager of 
the CWAL Unit, who will forward the request to the CWAL Board.  Any requests for alternative 
compliance with CWAL regulations and standards can only be approved by the CWAL Review Board.   

 
PROVISIONAL RELATIVE HOMES [Temporary Family Placement (No Board) Service in CHRIS] 

 
The FSW caseworker must inform the Resource Worker of a relative who is interested in becoming a Provisional 
Relative Home for a child in foster care.   
 
The Resource Worker must enter this family into CHRIS as a Provider opening two placement services: 
Temporary Family Placement (No Board) Service, and Foster Family Home Service.  The Temporary Family 
Placement (No Board) Service must be quickly approved (once the necessary requirements are received), while the 
Foster Family Home Service has Applicant Status awaiting compliance (all required checks, certifications and 
training) for approval.  In CHRIS, the family will have only one Provider Number showing two services provided by 
the family. 
 
The Resource Worker will need to coordinate with the FSW to obtain demographic information on Family Members 
and enter the information into the CHRIS Provider screens.  

 In CHRIS: 
• Click Provider button and click New button: 

General Information Screen: 
� General Information Tab: 

• Click Person radio button 
• Enter First and Last Name of Head of Household 1 

� Address/Telephone Tab: 
• Select Physical Location Address and enter address 
• Enter School District 
• Enter Phone Number 

� AKA Tab: 
• Enter Person name, if known by another name 

� Services Tab: 
• Click Placement Services radio button 

Select Temporary Family Placement (No Board) 
Enter Services Start Date 
Select Parenting Structure 
Click Add button 

• Click New button (to enter another Placement Service) 
Click Placement Services radio button 
Select Foster Family Home 
Enter Services Start Date 
Select Parenting Structure 
Click Change button 

� Contact Person Tab: 
• Contact Type: Select Person Responsible for Provider and enter name. 
• Services Provided: Highlight Select Temporary Family Placement (No Board) 

and Foster Family Home Services and click Add and OK button and click 
Change command button [Note: if the Person identified is not the Contact 
Person for both services, then, select only one service and click New button to 
enter another person for the other service.] 

Members Button: 
� Provider Household Members: 

• Household Information Tab – complete all fields on this tab for Head of 
Household 1 and Head of Household 2. 
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• Required Checks Tab – complete all necessary requirements especially Central 
Registry check and Local and State Criminal Record checks (Requested, 
Received and Passed) for both Head of Household 1 and Head of Household 2  

Relations Button: 
� Provider Household Relationships screen – complete relationships of household 

members 
Services Management Button: 
� Click OK on highlighted Temporary Family Placement (No Board) Service: 

• Admissions Button – complete fields, click Add 
• Rates Button – Payment Scale defaults to None 
• Details Button – complete mandatory fields (yellow) and click on Request 

Approval button and click on Request Approval checkbox 
Contacts Button: 
� Provider Contact Screen – click New and enter your contacts with the Provider 

selecting Placement Issues in the Purpose Select Box 
[Note: Within the next six months, the family will be meeting all requirements to become a DCFS foster family, 
such as Training Hours, and other required checks to be in compliance (refer to the CHRIS procedures for Foster 
Family Approval).]  
 
When the family has an approved Foster Family service, the Temporary Family Placement (No Board) 
service, needs to be stopped.  In CHRIS, here are the steps: 

• Click General Information Button: 
• Services Tab – enter the date in the Services End Date field, selecting the appropriate Reason for End 

Date and entering the explanation in the Comments for End Date text field. 
 

• Utilize court-ordered relative information obtained from the parent to locate and contact potential relative 
resources. 

• If the relative meets all relevant child protection standards, and it is in the child’s best interest to be placed with the 
relative caregiver, discuss with the relative the following two (2) options for placement of the child in the relative’s 
home: 

(1) The relative becoming a DHS relative foster home; or  

(2) The relative obtaining legal custody of the child.  See Policy VI-J “Out-of-Home Non-DHS Custody/Relative 
Placements”. 

• Complete the CFS-452 (Relative Placement Kinship Care/Relative Foster Care Verification) stating that the family 
does/does not want to become a relative foster home. 

• Select the Out-of-Home Placement that best fits the needs of the child. A child who has been identified as an Exempted 
From Finding Underaged Child Aggressor or Sexual Offender must not be placed in a foster home with other children, 
unless the child’s therapist feels that the child is no longer a danger to other children.  Proper documentation of this will 
be contained in the child’s hard copy file.  If the recommended placement is a facility, the facility must receive 
information regarding the allegations.  This must be documented in the Recommend Placement screen. 

• Complete the CFS-462A (Foster Home Agreement Addendum) at the time of placement. 

• Document placement selection on the “Case Plan” (CFS-6010) by keying the “Plan Goals” and the “Needs/Svc” 
screens in the “Treatment” portion of the “Case Plan” section of CHRIS.  

• Arrange at least one (1) pre-placement visit for the child before the initial placement and before any subsequent changes 
in placement if possible and appropriate. Contact the OCC Attorney immediately if child is being moved from one Out-
of-Home Placement to another.  See Procedure VII-D1. 

• Contact the OCC Attorney immediately if there is any indication that the child is a member of an Indian tribe. 

• Provide the child’s parent(s) with a copy of PUB-11 (Your Child and Foster Care). 
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Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services 

REQUEST FOR CPS CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK 
 
Authorization for Release of Confidential Information contained within the Arkansas Child Protective Services 
Central Registry. 
 
A. Type Of Application: Foster Parent       Adoptive Parent       Provisional Foster Parent       Other  
 
B. I,          authorize the Arkansas Child Protective Services Central Registry to release 

any information their files may contain concerning the undersigned and any birth/legal children or any other 
children under the age of 18 who are now or have resided in the home of the undersigned.  I understand that 
the name of any confidential informants, or other information which does not pertain to me, may not be 
released. 

 
C. This information should be addressed to:  Attn:           

 Worker/Title 
       
Office Requesting the Report 
       
Address 

 
D.         

Applicant's Signature Date SSN Age/DOB Race 
 
E. Other names I have been known by:      

  
 
F. Residential History for last 10 years: 
 

Present Address (since________, 20___):   

   
 
Previous Addresses: 

1)    3)   
   
From to  From to 
2)    4)   
   
From to  From to 

 
G. Children Now Residing or Who Have Resided In The Home: 

   
Full Name DOB/Age Relationship  Full Name DOB/Age Relationship 
   
Full Name DOB/Age Relationship  Full Name DOB/Age Relationship 
   
Full Name DOB/Age Relationship  Full Name DOB/Age Relationship 

 
 
H. This information is requested by DHS staff for internal use because   

  

Signature of Requesting Agent:    

 
I. Results:   No information found  Information found report attached 

CFS-316 (R. 00/2005) 



Instructions 
Request for Child Protective Services Central Registry Check 

CFS-316 
 
A separate form is to be completed on each applicant, and each household member age ten (10) years 
and older residing or who has resided in the applicant’s home.  All completed forms for each 
applicant(s)’ home shall be submitted in one (1) packet. 
 
Specific Instructions 
A. Indicate the type of applicant involved – i.e., foster parent, adoptive parent, provisional foster 

parent, or other person. 
B. Complete name of the person on whom the check is being made. 
C. Indicate the Office/Agency making the request. 
D. Signature of the person on whom the check is being made, as well as his/her social security 

number, date of birth, age and race. 
E. List all previous married names, maiden name (if applicable), any initial(s) used and indicate 

what name(s) each initial is for, and any aliases or nickname(s) ever used. 
F. Give complete residential history for the last 10 years starting with the present. 
G. List all children under 18 years old who are now or have resided in your home. Give full name, 

date of birth and age, and relationship to the person named in “B”. 
 
NOTE: If applicant(s) was a foster parent in another state(s) do not list the foster children placed 

by the state. 
Mail to:  Arkansas Department of Human Services 

Division of Children and Family Services 
Arkansas Child Maltreatment Central Registry 
P. O. Box 1437, S566 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437 

H. DHS Personnel may request a check when necessary for internal administrative reasons. A brief 
explanation of the reason that a check is needed shall be given. The requesting staff member shall 
sign the form. THE INFORMATION THUS REQUESTED CANNOT BE USED OUTSIDE 
OF DHS. 

I. The Child Protective Services Unit will complete this section and return a copy of this form and 
report, if applicable, to the Office requesting the information. If any information is found, a copy 
of the report and this form shall also be routed to the Manager, Foster Care Unit.  

 
NOTE: For foster parent applicant(s) – the county will receive two (2) copies of any information 

found in the Registry. One (1) copy is to be filed in the Foster Family Record and one (1) 
copy is to be given to the applicant (i.e., the adult subject or parent/legal guardian of a minor 
subject). For adoptive parent applicant(s) – no information found in the Child Protective 
Services Central Registry shall be released to the applicant(s) without a notarized request to 
the Child Protective Services Unit. 

J. Per Act 1041 of 1997, a person required to have the Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check 
shall repeat the check every two (2) years. However, adoptive parents and each member of the 
household age ten (10) years old or older, shall repeat the check every year until the adoption 
decree has been issued. Adoptive parents, and each member of the household age ten (10) years 
or older, residing out of state shall have a Child Maltreatment Central Registry Check, if 
available, in their state. 



Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services 

AR920340Z 
FOSTER CARE CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK 

Provisional Relative Foster Home   Regular Foster Home            Home Study           

 
THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY DCFS WORKER 

               

 
County Requesting Check and Report 

 
(   )       

 
Name of DCFS Worker Requesting the Check 

 
      

 

 
Telephone Number 

 
     /      

 
Title 

 
      

 

 
Street Address/County Number 

 
               

 
Area/Area Manager 

 
      

 

  City State Zip Code  Date of Request  

 

 
SEE ROUTING INSTRUCTIONS ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM 

 
Statement of Oath:  I state on oath that the representations made herein are true and correct. 
 
    
 Signature of Applicant/Employee Date 

State of Arkansas; County of ________________________.   Subscribed and sworn to me before a Notary Public 
in and for the county and state aforesaid, this _______ day of ____________________, _____. 
 
   
 Notary Public 
My Commission Expires on __________________________, _______. 

THIS SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON DOING THE CHECK 
 

                 
                 Signature of Person Doing the Check                     Date Check Completed       Date Submitted to County 

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON TO BE CHECKED 

LEGAL NAME:    
 Last (Include Jr., II, III) First Middle 
MAIDEN / ALIAS NAME:    

CURRENT 
MAILING ADDRESS:    

DATE  
OF BIRTH:   AGE:    RACE:    SEX:  Male      Female  

SOCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE OR 
SECURITY NUMBER:  IDENTIFICATION NUMBER:    

LICENSE/IDENTIFICATION DRIVER’S LICENSE 
NUMBER ISSUED BY STATE OF  EXPIRATION DATE:    
 
“I hereby authorize the Department of Human Services to obtain a Criminal Record Check through the 
Arkansas State Police in accordance with Act 1573 of 2005.” 
 
SIGNATURE:    DATE:  _____________________ 

CFS-342A (R. 00/2005) 



Instructions for CFS-342A 
Foster Care Criminal Record Check 

General Instructions 
Purpose:  The CFS-342A will be used to authorize criminal record background checks related to foster care.  
Complete one form for each foster parent applicant(s).  Also, complete one form for each household member 
age fourteen (14) years or older.  If the household members have already authorized this action, then a copy of 
the authorization must be attached.  If not, the household members are to sign the authorization on this form. 
To prevent delays caused by incomplete forms, the county supervisor should designate a person to check each 
form for accuracy and completeness. 
 
Expedited checks:  Check the appropriate box at the top of the form to identify the type of check 
requested.   Provisional Relative Foster Home checks and court ordered checks will be expedited.  
Expedited reports will be completed within 24 hours and all other checks will be completed within 30 days of 
the request.   A copy of the order or written verification of when the order was made, and by which court, must 
be attached to the request for expedited court ordered checks. 
 
Repeated checks:  Per Act 1041 of 1997, any person required to have an Arkansas State Police Record Check 
shall repeat the check every five years. 
Routing 
Send the Criminal Record Check information in an envelope stamped “CONFIDENTIAL” to: 
Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services Foster Care Unit 
P.O. Box 1437, Slot S565 
Little Rock, Arkansas  72203-1437 
Phone (501) 682-8450 
 
For expedited checks the CFS-342A can be faxed to the Foster Care Unit (501-682-5272), however, the fax 
must be accompanied by an email to Olivia.Bates@arkansas.gov verifying that there is an original notarized 
copy in the possession of the Division.  

mailto:Olivia.Bates@arkansas.gov


Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services 

AR920090Z 
STATE ADOPTIONS CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK 

  Expedited Check  Regular Check                      

 
THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY DCFS  WORKER 

       
   

       

 County Requesting Check and Report 
 

(   )       

 Name of DCFS Worker Requesting the Check 
 

      

 

 Telephone Number 
 

     /      

 Title 
 

      

 

 Street Address/County Number 
 

               

 Area/Adoption Supervisor 
 

      

 

  City State Zip Code  Date of Request  

 

 

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON TO BE CHECKED 
LEGAL NAME:    
 Last (Include Jr., II, III) First Middle 
MAIDEN / ALIAS NAME:    

CURRENT 
MAILING ADDRESS:    

DATE  
OF BIRTH:   AGE:    RACE:    SEX:  Male      Female  

SOCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE OR 
SECURITY NUMBER:    IDENTIFICATION NUMBER:    

LICENSE/IDENTIFICATION DRIVER’S LICENSE 
NUMBER ISSUED BY STATE OF   EXPIRATION DATE:  _____________________________ 
 
“I hereby authorize the Department of Human Services to obtain a Criminal Record Check through the Arkansas State 
Police in accordance with Act 1573 of 2005.” 
 
SIGNATURE:                                                                                 DATE:  _____________________ 

SEE ROUTING INSTRUCTIONS ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM
 

Statement of Oath:  I state on oath that the representations made herein are true and correct. 
 
    
 Signature of Applicant/Employee Date 

State of Arkansas; County of ________________________.  Subscribed and sworn to me before a Notary Public in 
and for the county and state aforesaid, this _______ day of ____________________, _____. 
 
   
 Notary Public 

My Commission Expires on __________________________, _______.  

THIS SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON DOING THE CHECK 
 

                 
                 Signature of Person Doing the Check                     Date Check Completed       Date Submitted to County 
 

CFS-342B (R. 00/2005) 



Instructions for CFS-342B 
State Adoptions Criminal Record Check 

General Instructions 
Purpose:  The CFS-342B will be used to authorize criminal record background checks related to adoption.  
Complete one form for each adoptive parent applicant(s).  Also, complete one form for each household member 
age fourteen (14) years or older.  If the household members have already authorized this action, then a copy of 
the authorization must be attached.  If not, the household members are to sign the authorization on this form. 
To prevent delays caused by incomplete forms, the county supervisor should designate a person to check each 
form for accuracy and completeness. 
Expedited checks:  Expedited reports will be completed within 24 hours and all other checks will be completed 
within 30 days of the request.   A copy of the order or written verification of when the order was made, and by 
which court, must be attached to the request for expedited court ordered checks. 
Repeated checks:  Per Act 1041 of 1997, any person required to have an Arkansas State Police Record Check 
shall repeat the check every five years, except adoptive parents after the adoptive decree has been issued.  
Adoptive parents shall have the State Police Record Check dated within one (1) year of placement 
Routing 
Send the Criminal Record Check information in an envelope stamped “CONFIDENTIAL” to: 

Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services Foster Care Unit 
P.O. Box 1437, Slot S565 
Little Rock, Arkansas  72203-1437 
Phone (501) 682-1569 

 
For expedited checks the CFS-342B can be faxed to the Foster Care Unit (501-682-5272), however, the fax 
must be accompanied by an email to Olivia.Bates@arkansas.gov verifying that there is an original notarized 
copy in the possession of the Division.  
 

mailto:Olivia.Bates@arkansas.gov


AR920230Z 
Division of Children and Family Services 

FOSTER PARENT CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK 
 

COUNTY         ___________ DATE    

APPLICANT’S LEGAL NAME                   
 Last (Include Jr., II, III) First Middle 

MAIDEN NAME/ALIAS NAME(s)       

CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS                          
 Street Address City State Zip Code 

DATE OF BIRTH         AGE         SEX         RACE         

  DRIVER’S LICENSE or 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER          IDENTIFICATION (ID) #        

DRIVER’S LICENSE / ID # DRIVER’S LICENSE 
 ISSUED BY STATE OF         EXPIRATION DATE         

 
  A criminal background check is required for prospective foster parents with the Division of Children and      
  Family Services 
 

I hereby authorize the Division of Children and Family Services to obtain a Criminal 
Record Check through the Arkansas State Police/Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), in 

accordance with ACT 1573 of 2005. 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE   DATE   

Send criminal background information in an envelope stamped “CONFIDENTIAL” to: 
Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services 

ATTN:  George Weber 
P. O. Box 1437, Slot S562 

Little Rock, Arkansas  72203-1437 
Phone (501) 682-8747 

 

STATEMENT OF OATH: 
“I state on oath that the representations made herein are true and correct.” 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE   DATE   
 

State of Arkansas; County of        

CFS-344B 04/2005 

Subscribed and sworn before me, a Notary Public in and for the county and 
state aforesaid, this         day of        (month),         (year). 

Notary Seal   
 NOTARY PUBLIC 

My Commission expires on  ,   (year). 
 

I.D. BUREAU USE ONLY 

 Civil Record Check @ $20.00  80000 FBI Record Check @ $24.00       
 (Prepayment Required) 



Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Children and Family Services 

PROVISIONAL FOSTER HOME ORIENTATION CHECKLIST  
 
 

 
Name of Foster Child:        County:          
 
Name of Family (Husband & Wife or Single Parent):           

 
    Each item should be checked off as it is completed. 
1.  Purpose of Orientation 
2.  Act 874 
3.  DCFS Policy  

a.  Procedure (II-E10): Protective Custody of Child in Immediate 
Danger 

b.  Policy VI-A: Out-of-Home Placement Criteria/Procedure     
VI-A1 

c.  Policy VI-J: Out-of-Home (Non-DHS) Custody/Relative 
Placements/Procedure VI-J1 

d.  Policy VII-A: Foster Parent Recruitment, Training, Approval, 
Re-evaluation, and Retention/Procedure VII-A1  

4.  Foster Home Approval Process Flow Chart 
5.  In-Home Consultation Visit Packet 

a.  CFS-452 (Relative Placement Kinship Care/Relative Foster 

Care Verification) 

b.  CFS-446 (In-Home Consultation Visit Report)  

c.  ASVSP (AR State Vehicle Safety Program) application.  

d.  CFS-593 (Additional Requirements for DCFS Drivers) 

e.  Forms VSP-1 and VSP-2 (in the ASVSP publication) 

f.  PUB -022 Standards for Approval of Foster Family Homes 

g.  PUB-04 (Minimum Licensing Standards) 

h.  CFS-316 (Request for CPS Central Registry Check) 

i.  CFS-342A (Foster Care Criminal Record Check) 

j.  CFS-349b (Request for Local Criminal Record Check) 

k.  FBI Criminal Records Check needed?    Yes    No 

l.  CFS-450 (Family Foster Home Study Application) 

m.  PUB-030 (Family Foster Parent Handbook) 

CFS-474  (00/2005) 



CFS-474  (00/2005) 

6.  Court Proceedings / Legal flow chart 
7.  Family Meetings (Staffings) 
8.  Visitation 
9.  Child Development 
10.  Overview of Loss/Separation Issues 
11.  Discipline – no corporal or degrading punishment 
12.  Financial Information 

13.  Resources 

14.  DHS and DCFS Mission Statements 
 

Please have the relative read and sign the following statements: 
I will not allow the offender access not supervised by the Division until the 
investigation is completed.  

I will not allow any contact with the offender that is not approved or 
authorized by the Division or the court after the investigation is completed 
(if found true). 

I will not receive a board payment for the relative child placed in my home 
until my home is in compliance with all Child Welfare Licensing 
Requirements (refer to CFS-452 Relative Placement Kinship Care/ 
Relative Foster Care Verification). 

I understand that if my home is not fully licensed as a foster home within 
six months of the placement of the juvenile in my home, DHS shall remove 
the juvenile from my home and close my provisional foster home, or the 
court shall remove custody from DHS and grant custody of the juvenile to 
me, if the court deems it is in the child’s best interest to do so. 
 

 

       
Relative’s Name (type or print) 

 

  
Relative’s Signature (Husband & Wife or Single Parent)     Date 

 

      ____________________________ 
Family Service Worker Name (type or print) Telephone Number 

 

  
 FSW Supervisor’s Signature (Approval)    Date 

 



CFS-474 (00/2005) 

INSTRUCTIONS 
CFS-474 

PROVISIONAL FOSTER HOME ORIENTATION CHECKLIST 
 

PURPOSE 
To ensure that all the required subjects have been covered with the relative when a provisional 
foster home is being opened. 
 

COMPLETION 
There are fourteen topics.  Check off the box next to each topic when that topic has been fully 
reviewed with the relative (provisional foster parent).  

In topic number three (3) “DCFS Policy”, check off each sub-topic (a, b, c, d) separately to 
ensure that all sub-topics have been covered. 

In topic number five (5) “In-Home Consultation Visit Packet”, check off each sub-topic (a 
through m) separately to ensure that all sub-topics have been covered. 

After all 14 topics have been fully covered with the relative (provisional foster parent), have the 
relative READ each of the four statements.  Be sure to ask the relative if he/she has any 
questions about the statements.  Answer any questions. 

In the signatures section, type or write in the relative’s complete name.  This name can be typed 
on the computer before printing out the form for use during the orientation. 

Have the relative sign and date the form. 

In the signatures section, type or write in the FSW’s complete name and telephone number.  This 
name can be typed on the computer before printing out the form for use during the orientation. 

The FSW Supervisor will sign and date the form for approval. 

 

 

ROUTING 
Give a copy of the completed form to the relative (provisional foster parent). 

Put the original form in the relative’s provisional foster home folder. 



Agency # 016.15 

 
 

“YOU ARE NOT ALONE” 
(A guide to living in foster care) 

 
 

 
Foster Care “What’s Up” 

 
“Foster care is only what you make it.” 

Charlotte U. 
This handbook was created by the Youth Advisory Board (YAB) and the Division of 

Children and Family Services (DCFS). 
 

PUB-050 (DRAFT) 
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What’s Up about Foster Care 

1. Foster care provides a substitute family life for a child who needs care for a short or long period 
of time.  The child will be placed in a home approved by the Division of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS) or in a licensed facility. 

 
2. The goal of foster care is to work toward a permanent placement for the child, preferably, return 

to the birth/legal parents. 
 

3. Foster care is a team effort involving DCFS, the family foster parents, the foster child and the 
birth/legal parents. 

 
This handbook is developed to provide the child with information he/she will need while in 
foster care.  This book is only a reference guide.  Contact the Foster parent or DCFS for any 
questions or further explanations. 

 
 
 

 

 

“You tolerate my trivia, laugh at my lunacy
and care when I cry.  That’s what I call
(TLC) tender loving care.”                  Niki J. 
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Why a Child is Placed in Care 

A child is in foster care because the birth/legal family does not function well due to social, emotional, economic 
and/or physical reason, or does not exist. Foster care provides a safe place for the child while the conditions, 
which caused the placement away from home are cleared up.  DCFS has legal custody of all children placed in 
foster care.   

When a youth is placed in foster care, he/she has been determined by the court as being a:  

• Dependent Neglected Juvenile - any child who (as a result of being abandoned, abused, or neglected), is 
at substantial risk of serious harm, or   

• Dependent Juvenile - a child whose parent is under the age of eighteen (18) and is in the custody of the 
Department of Human Services.  A dependent juvenile can also be an infant given up for adoption or a 
child whose parent or guardian is incapacitated, died or incarcerated, or   

• Family In Need of Services (FINS) - if a child is habitually disobedient to reasonable and lawful 
commands of his parents, the family may be adjudicated as a Family In Need of Services.  If it is 
necessary to protect the health and safety of the child, a FINS case can result in a child being placed in 
foster care.   

The court is the only one that can order that a child be placed in foster care, and also must issue a court order for 
DCFS to close any foster care case. 

 

“Hello! My name is Rosanna and I am from California.  I got put
into foster care in 1999 because my mother neglected me when I
was born because she was on drugs and my two sisters and brother
are no where to be found.  I wish I knew them but I don’t.  My dad
got shot selling drugs when he was 24 years old and I wish I knew
him.  Foster care is not that bad if you look at it.  They really think
that they help you if you really want them to.”                                    

                                                                         Rosanna H. 
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Placement Options for Youth in Care 

There are four options for placing a child who is in the custody of DHS. 

1. Family foster home  -  An approved private residence of one or more family members who 
cares for a child who is in DHS custody. 

2. Kinship care foster home - An approved private residence of one or more family members who 
are related to the child who is in DHS’ custody. 

3. A licensed facility. 

4. Adoption 

 
 
 

 
 

 

As a foster child, you learn to use your past 
or your current situation as your stepping 
stone instead of your downfall. 
                                            Demond B. 

 3



Visitation Policy  

Parent/Child Visitation 
Unless the courts orders otherwise, a child in foster care will have weekly visits with their parents.  If 
the child objects to visits with the parents, then the visits may be stopped. 

A child can write and/or telephone their parents, also. 

Siblings (brothers and sisters of a child) Visitation 
Siblings visits shall take place at least once every two weeks, unless it is not in the best interest of the 
child or a situation exists where it is not possible for visits to take place every two weeks, for example, a 
sibling lives in another state or a sibling is institutionalized.  In these situations a visitation schedule will 
be developed as appropriate to meet the family’s needs. 

 

 

 

There is always hope; things 
are never hopeless.                    
                                    Nicki J. 
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Rights of the Child 

Children have the right to: 
• Live with their birth/legal family, if appropriate, 
• Receive love, protection and support until they are grown up, 
• Be free from harm, neglect and abuse, 
• Receive an education, 
• Have physical care and medical attention, 

• Enjoy family life, 
• Receive discipline, 
• Receive religious and moral training, 
• Grow into independent adults, 
• Appeal a change in placement and request assistance from the 

Attorney ad litem, 
• Speak with your worker as needed, 
• A private conversation, if age-appropriate, during the weekly visits 

with the Family Service Worker to discuss the quality of care being 
provided to the child. 

 
When the right to live with the child’s own birth/legal family is in 
jeopardy, the child has the right to: 
• Be represented by legal counsel; 
• Have their legal rights protected in any judicial procedure for 

custody or guardianship. 
 
 
 
 

If you don’t stand up for yourself, no one else will. 
Golden Rule                                                 Niki J. 
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Responsibilities Of 
1. DCFS to the child are: 

• To place the child in a family foster home, kinship (relative) foster home, or other substitute care 
facility that can best serve the child’s needs; 

• To place the child close to birth/legal parents to allow frequent contact; 
• To have regular visits for the child with birth/legal parents, siblings, and others with whom there is a 

significant relationship, unless restricted by court order; 
• To have a weekly visit with the child in the foster home and include a private conversation with the 

age-appropriate child to assess the quality of care being provided; 
• To give the child honest information regarding all decisions; 
• To allow the child to participate in case planning, conferences, staffing, and court hearings, whenever 

possible and age appropriate, to assure services are provided to meet the child’s needs. 
• To keep a record for each child that includes legal documents (for example, birth certificate, Social 

Security card, court orders); 
• To help the child return to the birth/legal parents’ home at the earliest possible time or to be legally 

freed to form new family ties with relatives or adoptive parents; and 
• To prepare the child for independence. 

2. DCFS to the birth/legal parents are: 
• To offer and provide services to avoid foster care if at all possible; 
• To inform the birth/legal parents of the reason for removing the child if foster care is necessary; 
• To advise birth/legal parents what conditions must be met in order to have the child returned to the 

home; 
• To return the child to the parent’s home when the necessary changes or conditions required by the 

court or DCFS have been made and the circumstances that caused the child to be removed from the 
home have been eliminated. 

3. Birth/legal parents are: 
• To participate in staffings and court hearings; 
• To keep appointments for visits and returning calls; 
• To help develop the case plan; 
• To make necessary changes or correct conditions which prevents the child from returning home; 
• To provide financial support for the child.  The court will determine the amount of child support the 

parents should pay. 



Complaint Process for the Youth 

To resolve a complaint, the child should ask for a discussion of the problem with your Family Service 
Worker.  If the problem is not solved, the child may ask to speak with the County Office Supervisor for 
guidance. 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

When things seem bad realize they are, but 
live day by day and make the best of your 
situation.  
                                                            Kira G.
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Money to Foster Parents 

Foster care maintenance payments for a child in foster care may cover the costs of (and the cost of 
providing) food, clothing, shelter, daily supervision, school supplies, a child’s personal incidentals, 
liability insurance with respect to the child, and reasonable travel to the child’s home for visitation with 
family or other caretakers.  The amount of the child’s allowance is decided by the foster parent, based on 
the child’s age.  

Foster parents shall receive a monthly board rate according to the following chart: 

Birth through 5 years   $400.00 Monthly   

Board and Care    345.00 

Clothing      40.00 

Personal Needs      15.00 

6 through 11 years   $425.00 Monthly 

Board and Care    355.00 

Clothing      45.00 

              School and Personal Needs     25.00 

12 through 14 years   $450.00 Monthly 

Board and Care    365.00 

Clothing      55.00 

School and Personal Needs     30.00 

15 through 17 years   $475.00 Monthly 

Board and Care    375.00 

Clothing      65.00 
School and Personal Needs     35.00 
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How DCFS is Set UP 

Children and Family Services (CFS) is the Division within the Department of Human Services (DHS) 
that is responsible for child welfare programs.  These programs include child protection, family 
preservation, foster care, adoptions, Interstate Compact on Placement of Children, Interstate Compact on 
Adoption and Medical Assistance and Child Welfare Agency Licensing. 

The Director of the Department of Human Services appoints the DCFS Director.  The DCFS Director 
has an Executive Staff, which consists of four (4) Assistant Directors over program and administrative 
offices. 

Direct and contract services are provided through the Office of Community Services.  The state is 
divided into ten (10) multi-county or multi-office areas, each of which is managed by an Area Manager.  
The Area Manager oversees the County Supervisors, who each manage one county with one or more 
county offices.  The Area Manager also supervises some area-wide staff that delivers services or support 
across the entire Area. 

Three other DCFS Offices support the Office of Community Services: 

• The Office of Finance and Administrative Support is organized into the following units - Personnel, 
Financial Support, Contracts Management, and Medicaid & IV-E Eligibility. 

• The Office of Community Support consisting of the following units - Foster Care, Adoptions, 
Behavioral Treatment, Independent Living, Interstate Compact (ICPC), CAPTA and Central 
Registry. 

• The Office of Legislative Analysis, Research and Planning consisting of the Policy Unit, Planning 
Unit, Quality Assurance Unit, Training / Professional Development Unit, Child Welfare Agency 
Licensing and COA Accreditation. 
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Foster Care Services are provided by Family Service Worker (FSW) Trainees, FSW Workers, and FSW 
Specialists along with FSW Supervisors who monitor the everyday activities of the foster children. 

County and area staff are responsible for weekly visits to the foster homes, monthly visits to the 
residential facilities and therapeutic foster homes, medical appointments, providing transportation to 
foster children and parents, and ensuring all educational, mental, health and emotional needs are being 
met.  County and area staff are responsible for case planning, staffings, attending court hearing, helping 
families with housing, transportation, cash assistance, visitation between parents and sibling visits, and 
Family Preservation Services.  County and area staff are also responsible for making referrals for day 
care services, Intensive Family Services, respite care, health assessments, and Therapeutic Foster Home 
and group home referrals. 
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Don’t Quit 
When things go wrong 
as they sometimes will, 
When the road you’re 

trudging seems all uphill. 
 

When the funds are low, 
and the debts are high, 
And you want to smile, 
but you have to sigh. 

 
When care is pressing 

you down a bit- 
Rest if you must 

but don’t you quit. 
 

Success is failure 
turned inside out, 
The silver tint of 

the clouds of doubt. 
 

And you never can tell 
how close you are 

it may be near when 
it seems afar. 

 
So, stick to the fight 

when you’re hardest hit- 
It is when things go wrong 

That you mustn’t quit. 
Submitted by Cindy W. 
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DIVISION OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
STAFF DIRECTORY 

 
 

DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY 
SERVICES ..............................................................(501) 682-8772 

 
Assistant Director, Office of Community Services ..(501) 682-8771  

 
Assistant Director, Office of Community Support ..... 501) 682-8541 
 
Administrator, Program Support In-Home Services  (501) 682-8992 
  

Field Representative      (501) 682-8439  
Program Coordinator (501) 682-2447  
Manager, Central Registry (501) 682-0404  
Manager, Interstate Compact  (501) 682-0402 

  
Administrator, Program Support Out of  
Home Services ........................................................... (501) 682-8440 
 

 
Manager, Adoption Services Unit (501) 682-8473 
Manager, Behavioral Treatment Unit (501) 682-8441 
Manager, Independent Living Program (501) 682-8453 
Manager, Foster Care Unit (501) 682-1569 
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  Assistant Director, Office of Legislative Analysis,  
Research and Planning................................................... (501) 682-8544 

 
 

Manager, Policy Unit (501) 682-8750 
Manager, Mental Health Services (501) 683-2045 
Manager, Child Welfare Agency Licensing Unit (501) 321-2583 
Manager, Professional Development Unit (501) 683-2041 
Manager, Planning and Research (501) 682-1554 
Manager, Quality Assurance Unit (501) 682-9975 
COA Coordinator (501) 683-2648 

 
 

Assistant Director, Office of Financial and  
Administrative Support.................................................. (501) 682-8432  

 
Manager, Accounts Payable (501) 682-8846 
Manager, Contracts Management (501) 682-8435 
Manager, Personnel (501) 682-8754 

 
 

                    Arkansas Department of Human Services 
                               P.O. Box 1437, Slot S 560 
                                       700 Main Street 
                            Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437 
                                      Phone (501) 682-8770 
                                        Fax (501) 682-6968 
                                       TDD (501) 682-1442 

 
 

DHS "Hotline" Phone Numbers 
ARKids FIRST 1-888-474-8275 
Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-482-5964    TDD   1-800-843-6349 
Medicaid Questions   1-800-482-5431 
Medicaid Transportation  Questions  1-888-987-1200 



 
                     OTHER HELPFUL NUMBERS 

 
NOTE: If you are SUICIDAL - Please dial   1-800-SUICIDE (1-800-784-2433) 
Hours: 24 hours 
 
1. Alcoholics Anonymous 1-800-923-8722 

2. Drug Abuse Information and Referral Line (800) 662-HELP           
(1-800-662-4357) 

3. Girl’s and Boy’s Town National Hotline 1-800-448-3000 
(English/Spanish)  Hours: 24 hrs 

4. National Domestic Violence Hotline (800) 799-7233 

5. State Health Dept. prenatal care and teen pregnancy hot line:   
(800) 235-0002  

6. Planned Parenthood for birth control, emergency contraception, 
anonymous HIV testing, and prenatal care: 1-501-666-7526  

7. Rape Crisis Inc. 1-877-432-5368 

8. Runaway Hotline (800) 231-6946 

9. Shoplifters Anonymous (800) 848-9595 

10. Youth Crisis Hotline (800) 448-4663 
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How Children Can Speak Up for Themselves 

1. Youth Advisory Board (YAB) 
Mission Statement:   
The Arkansas Youth Advisory Board (YAB) are responsible youth in foster care, volunteering to 
help link youth to government and public agencies to better care for and provide services to youth in 
foster care.  YAB provides inspiration to children and young adults in Arkansas Foster Care. 

 
YAB members are in contact with other youth in their area each month to discuss issues, concerns 
and suggestions for sharing with Area DCFS staff and DCFS Central Office Staff.  The items for 
discussion may be collected during life-skills training sessions held in the areas each month or YAB 
members meet quarterly to bring information, ideas and concerns to DCFS staff and other interested 
groups and individuals. Contact the ILP State Coordinator at (501) 682-8453 to find out who your 
area YAB member is so you can let them know about things you would like to share with other 
youth and agency staff.  

 
2. The Department of Human Services (DHS) county office will inform you of other resources in your 

community. 
 

 

Things will get worse before they get better, but 
never give up.   
                                                            Kristeen J. 
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Dealing with Grief and Loss 

There are five (5) stages of the grief or loss process. 
1) Denial - In the denial stage a child will refuse to believe what has happened.  In his mind the child 
will tell himself that life is as it was before the loss.  

2) Anger - Anger is the next stage of grief.  A child may blame others or himself for the loss.  

3) Bargaining - Bargaining can be with yourself or if you are religious, with your god.  Often 
something will be offered to try to take away the truth of what has happened.  It is only human to want 
things as they were before. 

4) Depression - Depression is likely for all people that grieve for a loss.   Some of the feelings are like 
there is no purpose to life anymore or feeling guilty, like everything is your fault.  If there is a feeling 
of doing yourself any harm, professional counseling should be found immediately.  

5) Acceptance - The final stage of grief is acceptance. It is when the child realizes that life has to go 
on. The child can accept his loss.  The child should now be able to regain his energy and goals for the 
future.  
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An Example of How to Deal with Counseling (A true story) 

 
I am a sufferer of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.  I have had this disorder from the first days of my 
childhood.  When I was the ages of about five and nine I washed my hands (for fear of germs) until 
they cracked and bled.  I also had a difficult time performing daily tasks such as getting dressed, doing 
chores, and walking to school.  That is when my parents first suspected I had a problem.  I went to a 
psychiatrist and they told my parents that it was probably nothing and that little kids do weird things.  
They were wrong.  During that period of time I possessed so much shame around the fact that there 
was something wrong with me that I could not admit this secret to anyone.  This denial only added 
more difficulty to my daily routines because I had to focus on believing the lie that I was just like 
everyone else.  This lie plagued my life until I was 16 when (with the help of my nighttime prayers to 
God to take this defect away from me) I finally mustered up the courage to tell my parents that I was 
well aware and had been of this continuing problem.  If felt good to finally admit it. 

 
From that point I began to tell my psychiatrist about this secret I had.  It was very helpful to me when 
he assured me that many people have this disorder and that I didn’t have to live this way.  It was 
especially helpful when he let me know in no uncertain terms that I was not crazy. 

 
I enjoyed the meetings with my psychiatrist because he made me feel genuinely cared for, not like an 
interesting case study.  He validated my feelings about my disorder with hard textbook facts, but still 
encouraged me to be an individual.  In other words, I felt less alone because a lot of my symptoms had 
been documented, but I still felt unique.  Medication also provided me a little rest from my constant 
daily battle with my brain.  It did not cure me, but it allowed me a choice between whether or not my 
compulsions were worth my time and energy. 

 
Now that I am 24, I have a little more perspective on what worked for me as an adolescent.  The most 
helpful things to me were a supportive family, a doctor who truly cared for me, medication, as well as 
a willingness to work with these resources.  With supports like these, I don’t believe one can go wrong. 
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What did not work for me was the attitudes of certain service providers.  I felt that I was very lucky in 
finding people that really cared about helping people.  As an adult, I can now see that there are a lot of 
service providers (psychiatrists, M.S.W.’s, etc.) who are selfish and look to children with mental health 
disorders as an opportunity to better their resumes.  I have had experiences with mental health 
professionals who write you a prescription and send you on your way because they are so burned out 
that they have lost the ability to care.  I have dealt with mental health professionals who believe all a 
mentally ill person can achieve is to become a member of society that does not draw attention to 
herself.  That does not work for me. 

 
I was very fortunate for the most part growing up with OCD.  But I have also seen the stigma that is 
attached to people like me.  I have seen us chastised and silenced by “professionals.”  That is why I am 
not signing my name.  In my personal opinion, I am a professional.  I am a professional sufferer of 
O.C.D.  I am not an animal.  I am a person with family, friends, wants, needs, dreams, and the ability 
to carry them out.  I am more than another case study.  I deserve to be treated with respect and dignity. 
-- Anonymous 

 
Reprinted with permission:  Anonymous (2001). I am a sufferer of obsessive-compulsive disorder. 
Focal Point, 15(1), 12. 
 
 
Note:  If more information is needed concerning grief, loss or how to deal with counseling, please 
contact the local CFCIP Coordinator for assistance.   

At the end of the road when the light is out, and 
there is no hope in sight, just go a little further. 
                                    Charlotte U. 
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What’s Up About a Child’s Personal Information 

DCFS will protect the child’s personal information.  DCFS will not release information that can 
identify a child in foster care.  If any information is to be released to the media about the child in foster 
care, the information must be reviewed and approved by DCFS attorneys.  A judge can order that 
specific information to a specified office, agency or people be released. 

DCFS will give consideration to protecting the child’s identity and release information that will not be 
distasteful or negative to the child. 

As long as a child is not identified as a foster child, he/she can get their name in the newspaper and at 
conferences, etc.  If the child is identified as a foster child, (like for adoption recruitment) then the first 
names only is used, otherwise, permission from everyone (the judge, Attorney Ad Litem, child, and 
parents, if their rights have not been terminated) is needed to use the whole name.   
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
Resolutions for avoiding misery: 
     Choose to love- rather than hate 
     Choose to smile- rather than frown 
     Choose to build- rather than destroy 
     Choose to preserve- rather than quit 
     Choose to praise- rather than gossip 
     Choose to heal- rather than wound 
     Choose to give- rather than grasp 
     Choose to act- rather than delay 
     Choose to forgive- rather than curse  
     Choose to pray- rather than despair 
                                                       Nicki J. 
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Definitions 

1. Attorney Ad Litem –  This is the child’s attorney  who is appointed by the court.  This attorney 
must tell the judge what the child wants. 

2. CASA –  This person is a volunteer advocate that is appointed by the court.  This person will tell 
the judge what he/she feels is in the best interest of the child based on information he/she has 
gathered from the child and other people who know the child. 

3. Case Plan – A plan that DCFS makes along with the child and family that includes services 
provided to the child and family to help them reach the goal of a permanent placement of the child. 

4. Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP) – Works with youth age 14-20 who are 
interested in furthering their educational goals and who volunteer to be in the program.  The 
program provides life skills training to help prepare the youth to live on their own. 

5. Child Maltreatment – Physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional abuse, neglect, sexual exploitation 
or abandonment of a child. 

6. Foster Care -   A safe place for the child to stay while the conditions which caused the child to be 
removed from the home is eliminated. 

7. Independence – A plan for a child who will not be reunited with his/her family and no other 
permanent plan is available and termination of parental rights is not in the best interest of the child. 

 
 

You can be as happy as you decide. 
Nicki J. 
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Court Procedures and Legal Terminology 

When a child is placed in the custody of the State of Arkansas, there is a hearing (a meeting at court).  
Biological parents have the right to be represented by attorneys.  The child is represented by an 
Attorney Ad Litem who is appointed by the court to act on a minor’s behalf in a legal proceeding and 
to protect the youth’s interest in court. 

Protective Custody – If circumstances of the child or home present an immediate danger of severe 
maltreatment, the child will be taken out of the home. 

Permanency Planning Hearing – A meeting in court to review the options for placing a child in a 
permanent safe placement.  The judge may decide that DHS should have custody.  Later, the judge can 
make decisions about whether you return home or stay in care. 

Termination of Parental Rights – To free a child for adoption, when it has been determined that it is 
not a good option to reunite the child with the family. 

 
 
 
 
 

 

No matter what happens today the 
sun will still come up tomorrow and 
it will be a brand new day. 
                                                 Niki J. 
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New Independent Living Legislation 

The Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP), formerly the Title IV-E Independent Living 
Initiative) was established and formally funded in 1993 to assist teens who choose to participate in the 
program complete high school, obtain a GED and continue their post-secondary educational process. 
The program is intended to assist those teens referred to the program for the acquisition of basic life 
skills as they transition from adolescence to adulthood. The basic premises and intent of the program 
have been expanded by federal legislation.  

The 1994 Angela R. Settlement Agreement charged the Division of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS) with the responsibility to provide instruction for developing independent living skills for all 
foster teens age 14 or older for whom the case goal was not reunification. The program was prohibited 
by federal law from providing Independent Living services to teens under age 16 using federal funds. 
In early 1995, the program began including teens age 14-15 in life skills training sessions.  That was 
done without expending federal dollars.  

Since December 1999, the Chafee program can now provide age-appropriate life skills training to all 
foster teens age 14 or older. The program provides or arranges for training for teens on an individual or 
group basis, if needed and as recommended by the case manager. Teens may volunteer and be referred 
to the program to take advantage of additional services offered. Services are educational or 
employment oriented and require the teen to fulfill specific obligations and meet specific standards to 
maintain eligibility for continued Independent Living services. Assistance with educational and 
employment expenses and the initial establishment of living quarters are services that are provided 
beyond the normal scope of expenditures of the Division of Children and Family Services.  The 
program may also provide limited assistance with room and board expenses to youth age 18-21 that 
have left foster care and have chosen not to pursue post-secondary educational goals.  
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CFCIP 

The Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP) provides funds directed toward assisting 
youth that are or were in foster care to become independent adults. The program is geared toward 
youth, who are participating in an educational program, providing assistance to youth in completing 
high school or obtaining a GED, and/or continuing in post-secondary educational programs.  The 
program also provides temporary, limited assistance to youth that have aged out of care by providing 
room and board and start-up assistance. 

Assistance is also available to former foster youth who are pursuing post-secondary educational goals.  
The Educational Training Voucher Program can provide financial assistance for this goal. 

CFCIP provides support for: 

1. Children in foster care ages 14-17.   

Services for this age group include: 
• the Ansell-Casey Life Skills Assessment,  
• basic life skills training, and  
• other service, such as tutoring that can be approved on a case-by-case basis.  

2. Children who remain in DHS custody, between the ages of 18 and 21 and are engaged in post-
secondary education, including vocational training, are eligible for CFCIP.  (See page 25 for 
information on the Arkansas Education and Training Voucher Program.) 

3. If a youth was in foster care on his 18th birthday, and his foster care case is closed, he will be 
eligible for CFCIP “ After Care” and can receive assistance until age 21.  

 After Care services include:  
• limited room and board,  
• limited start-up assistance, and 
• staff services and life-skills training sessions to acquire needed skills.   

 
PUB-404 (Chafee Foster Care Independence Program Handbook) provides additional information 
concerning CFCIP and service availability. 
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Education, Employment, Housing, Health Care 

Within the Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP), Life-skills Training Curriculum, there 
are fifteen (15) categories and sub-categories of curriculum topics that should be available in each 
DCFS Area for teens to attend for life-skills training.  The areas of training include:  Money 
Management, Food Management Personal Appearance, Health, Housekeeping, Transportation, 
Educational Planning, Job Seeking Skills, Job Maintenance Skills, Emergency and Safety Skills, 
Knowledge of Community Resources, Interpersonal Skills, Legal Skills, Housing and other skills, such 
as parenting. 

 

 
 

 

Always try to be patient because as 
long as you know what you want in 
life and what it takes to get it, then 
you should be okay.       Demond B. 
24
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The Arkansas Education and Training Voucher Program  
(AR-ETV) 

 
 
What is AR-ETV? 

• A federally funded program that offers students up to $5000 a year for college and 
vocational/technical training. 

 
Who is eligible? 

• Young people who are or were in foster care and are ages 18 to 20  
• Young people adopted from foster care after the age of 16 
• Participants must be accepted into or enrolled in an accredited college or vocational/technical 

training program 
• Participation is renewable until age 23 

 
Funds can be used for: 

• Tuition 
• Books/Computers 
• School supplies 
• Living Expenses (rent, child care, health insurance, groceries, and transportation) 

 
How to apply: 

• Go to www.statevoucher.org click on Arkansas on the map 
• Fill in an application 
• Submit the paperwork 

 
Note: Please direct questions to Orphan Foundation of America, ETV Program Director, 
ar@statevoucher.org or call 1.800.950.4673. You may also contact Jim Dennis, Arkansas Statewide 
Chafee Foster Care Independence Coordinator at 1-501-682-8453. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.statevoucher.org/
mailto:ar@statevoucher.org
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If you set your mind to do
something great, don’t let
people tell you that you
can’t do it.  Go for your
goal.                   Cindy W. 
28



 
 
 
 

 29



Agency # 016.15 

 

P

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF 
HUMAN SERVICES 

 
 

DIVISION OF CHILDREN AND
FAMILY SERVICES 
Child Maltreatment Assessment Protocol 
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2 

INTRODUCTION: 
 
The following is a protocol to be used when a DCFS Family Service Worker (FSW) or the Arkansas State 
Police Crimes Against Children Division (CACD) Investigator conducts a Child Maltreatment 
Assessment.  The protocol was developed under the authority of ACA 12-12-502(a), which authorizes the 
director to promulgate regulations to carry out the Child Maltreatment Act.  It identifies and defines the 
various types of child maltreatment a FSW/CACD Investigator may encounter during an assessment.   
The protocol also identifies when and from whom an allegation of child maltreatment may be taken.  
Finally, it identifies those conditions, which must be met before an allegation of abuse or neglect can be 
founded (determined to be true).     Now, the FSW/CACD Investigator must show that a “preponderance 
of the evidence” supports the allegation of child maltreatment.  This is a higher standard of evidence and 
should be understood to mean it is “more likely than not” that abuse or neglect occurred. 
 
The Arkansas Child Maltreatment Hotline must accept reports of alleged maltreatment if the child or the 
child’s family is present in Arkansas OR the incident occurred in Arkansas.  If the child or its family live 
in another state, the Hotline shall: (1) screen out the report, (2) transfer the report to the other state’s 
hotline and (3) send a copy to the appropriate investigating agency to initiate courtesy interviews.  If the 
incident occurred in Arkansas, but the victim, parents or offender no longer reside in Arkansas the 
Hotline will accept the report and the Arkansas investigating agency will contact the other state to request 
a courtesy interview with the out-of-state subject of the report.   
 
If the nature of a child maltreatment report (Priority I or II) suggests that a child is in immediate risk 
begin the investigation immediately or as soon as possible.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
For additional information regarding all types of child maltreatment and investigative powers and 
responsibilities, see the Arkansas Child Maltreatment Act. 
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CHILD MALTREATMENT ASSESSMENT PROTOCOL 
 
 DEFINITIONS 
 
I. GENERAL: 

A. ABUSE - Any of the following acts or omissions by a parent, guardian, custodian, foster 
parent, person eighteen (18) years of age or older living in the home with a child whether 
related or unrelated to the child, or any person who is entrusted with the juvenile’s care 
by a parent, guardian, custodian, or foster parent, including, but not limited to, an agent 
or employee of a public or private residential home, child care facility, public or private 
school, or any person legally responsible for the juvenile’s welfare but excluding the 
spouse of a minor: 
• Extreme or repeated cruelty to a juvenile; 

• Engaging in conduct creating a realistic and serious threat of death, permanent or 
temporary disfigurement, or impairment of any bodily organ. 

• Injury to a juvenile’s intellectual, emotional or psychological development as 
evidenced by observable and substantial impairment of the juvenile’s ability to 
function within the juvenile’s normal range of performance and behavior. 

• Any history that is at variance with the history given. 

• Any non-accidental physical injury.  

• Any of the following intentional or knowing acts, with physical injury and without 
justifiable cause: 

1. Throwing, kicking, burning, biting or cutting a child; 

2. Striking a child with a closed fist; 

3. Shaking a child; or 

4. Striking a child age seven or older on the face or head. 

• Any of the following intentional or knowing acts, with or without injury: 

1. Striking a child age six or younger on the face or head; 

2. Shaking a child age three or younger; 

3. Interfering with a child’s breathing; 

4. Pinching, biting, or striking a child in the genital area; 

5. Tying a child to a fixed or heavy object or binding or tying a child’s limbs 
together; 

6. Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a poisonous or noxious 
substance not prescribed by a physician that has the capacity to interfere with 
normal physiological functions; 

 
5 



 DEFINITIONS 
 

 

7. Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a substance not prescribed by a 
physician that has the capacity to alter the mood of the child, including, but not limited 
to, the following: 

• Marijuana; 

• Alcohol (excluding alcohol given to a child during a recognized and established 
religious ceremony or service); 

• Narcotics; or 

• Over-the-counter drugs (if a person purposely administers an overdose to a child 
or purposely administers an inappropriate over-the-counter drug to a child and 
the child is detrimentally impacted by the overdose or the over-the-counter drug; 

8. Exposing the child to chemicals that have the capacity to interfere with normal 
physiological functions, including, but not limited to , chemicals used or generated 
during the manufacture of methamphetamine; or  

9. Subjecting a child to Munchausen’s Syndrome by Proxy or a Factitious Illness by Proxy 
if the incident is reported and confirmed by medical personnel or a medical facility. 

NOTE:  The prior list of unreasonable actions is considered illustrative and not exclusive. 

• No unreasonable action shall be construed to permit a finding of abuse without 
having established the elements of abuse. 

• “Abuse” shall not include physical discipline of a child when it is reasonable and 
moderate and is inflicted by a parent or guardian for purposes or restraining or 
correcting the child. 

• Abuse shall not include when a child suffers transient pain or minor temporary marks 
as the result of a reasonable restraint if: 

1. The person exercising the restraint is an employee of an agency licensed or 
exempted from licensure under the Child Welfare Agency Licensing Act; 

2. The agency has policy and procedures regarding restraints; 

3. No other alternative exists to control the child except for a restraint; 

4. The child is in danger of hurting himself or others;  

5. The person exercising the restraint has been trained in properly restraining 
children, de-escalation, and conflict resolution techniques; and 
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 DEFINITIONS 
 

6. The restraint is for a reasonable period of time. 

• Reasonable and moderate physical discipline inflicted by a parent or guardian shall 
not include any act that is likely to cause and which does cause injury more serious 
than transient pain or minor temporary marks. 

• The age, size and condition of the child and the location of the injury and the 
frequency of recurrence of injuries shall be considered when determining whether the 
physical discipline is reasonable or moderate. 

B. DEATH – The permanent cessation of all vital, bodily functions.  Death is not a type of 
child maltreatment.  However, it may be the result of child maltreatment.  Death can 
result from any type of child maltreatment.  When a child dies as the result of 
maltreatment, document in CHRIS the type of child maltreatment that resulted in the 
death and specify “death”  as the injury characteristic. 

C. NEGLECT - Acts or omissions of a parent, guardian, custodian, foster parent, or any 
person who is entrusted with the juvenile’s care by a parent, custodian, guardian, or 
foster parent, including, but not limited to, an agent or employee of a public or private 
residential home, child care facility, public or private school, or any person legally 
responsible under state law for the juvenile’s welfare, but excluding the spouse of a 
minor and the parents of a married minor, which constitute: 

• Failure or refusal to prevent the abuse of the juvenile when the person knows or has 
reasonable cause to know the juvenile is or has been abused; 

• Failure or refusal to provide the necessary food, clothing, or shelter, and education 
required by law, or medical treatment necessary for the juvenile’s well-being, except 
when the failure or refusal is caused primarily by the financial inability of the person 
legally responsible and no services for relief have been offered; 

• Failure to take reasonable action to protect the juvenile from abandonment, abuse, 
sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, neglect, or parental unfitness where the existence of 
such condition was known or should have been known; 

• Failure or irremediable inability to provide for the essential and necessary physical, 
mental, or emotional, needs of the juvenile including the failure to provide a shelter 
that does not pose a risk to the health or safety of the juvenile; 

• Failure to provide for the juvenile’s care and maintenance, proper or necessary 
support, or medical, surgical, or other necessary care; 
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 DEFINITIONS 
 

• Failure, although able, to assume responsibility for the care and custody of the 
juvenile or participate in a plan to assume such responsibility; or 

• Failure to appropriately supervise the juvenile that result’s in the juvenile’s being left 
alone at an inappropriate age or in inappropriate circumstances  creating a dangerous 
situation or a situation that puts the child at risk of harm.. 

D. SEXUAL ABUSE –  

• By a person ten (10) years of age or older to a person younger than eighteen (18) 
years of age: 

1. Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activity, or sexual contact 
by forcible compulsion; 

2. Indecent exposure, or forcing, the watching of pornography or live sexual activity 

• By a person eighteen (18) years of age or older to a person not his or her spouse who 
is younger than sixteen (16) years of age: 

1. Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activity, or sexual contact 
or solicitation; 

• By a sibling or caretaker to a person younger than eighteen (18) years of age: 

1. Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activity, or sexual contact 
or solicitation; 

• By a caretaker to a person younger than eighteen (18) years of age: 

1. Forcing or encouraging the watching of pornography; 

2. Forcing, permitting, or encouraging the watching of live sexual activity; 

• By a person younger than ten (10) years of age to a person younger than eighteen (18) 
years of age: 

1. Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activity, or sexual contact 
by forcible compulsion. 

II. MALTREATMENT TYPES:  
A. Most of the types of child maltreatment defined in the Child Maltreatment Assessment Protocol 

(PUB 357) were taken directly from the Arkansas Child Maltreatment Act (e.g., Kicking a Child 
and Educational Neglect). 

B. Those types of child maltreatment not defined directly by the Arkansas Child Maltreatment Act 
are clearly implied by content in the Act.  For example, “Brain Damage/Skull Fracture” in PUB 
357 is implied by “bone fracture, internal injuries” in the Act.  Additionally, “Substantial Risk of 
Death” in the Act implies “Threat of Harm” in PUB 357. 

III. ACCEPTING CHILD ABUSE HOTLINE REPORTS OF CHILD MALTREATMENT 
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NAMING AN ADULT AS THE VICTIM:  

The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child maltreatment naming an adult as 
the victim if: 

A. The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and 

B. The person making the report is one of the following: 

1. The adult victim (who was a child at the time of the maltreatment); 

2. A law enforcement officer; 

3. The victim’s counselor or therapist; or 

4. The offender’s counselor or therapist. 
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CHILD MALTREATMENT ASSESSMENT PROTOCOL 
 
ABANDONMENT (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Ark. Code Annotated 12-12-503(1 ): "Abandonment" means the failure of the parent to 
provide reasonable support and to maintain regular contact with the juvenile through 
statement or contact, when the failure is accompanied by an intention on the part of the 
parent to permit the condition to continue for an indefinite period in the future, and 
failure to support or maintain regular contact with the juvenile without just cause or an 
articulated intent to forego parental responsibility. 

 
NOTE:  Abandonment is parental conduct, which demonstrates intent to relinquish all  
parental or custodial rights and claims to the child.  Abandonment is also defined as any  
parental or caretaker conduct which evinces a settled purpose to forego parental duties  
and relinquish parental claims to the child.  Abandonment does not apply to the parents 
of a married minor, ACA 12-12-503(1)(B). 

 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
was abandoned. 
 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been abandoned due to the  
  parent or caretaker's disregard of his or her responsibilities to the child. 
 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has:  
 

• Verified that a child has been abandoned; and  
 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the parent's or guardian identity and/or 

whereabouts are unknown or that the parent or guardian is no longer demonstrating 
an interest in retaining custody or caring for the child. 
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ABUSE WITH A DEADLY WEAPON (Priority I) 
 

I. Definition - The assault or attempt to assault an individual by inflicting a wound, or 
conduct that reasonably could be expected to result in a wound, or the infliction of a 
wound, as the direct, non-accidental action of a parent or caretaker by any object which 
under the circumstances in which it is used creates a realistic and serious threat of 
causing death or serious injury.  This may also include using a weapon to threaten a 
child: 

 

A gunshot, stabbing injury, other injuries, or the attempt to inflict such injury using any 
deadly weapon. 

 

A deadly weapon is any weapon or object that, under the circumstances in which it is 
 used, is readily capable of causing death or serious physical injury. 

 

Assault is conduct, which creates a substantial risk of death or physical injury. 
 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child  
has received an injury as a result of abuse with a deadly weapon. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that abuse with a deadly weapon resulted from 
one of the following: 

 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another person, which resulted in abuse with a deadly weapon 
(failure to protect). 

.        
 
III. Founding a report 

 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has:  
 
• Verified that the parent or caretaker attempted to injure the child; or  

 

• Verified that the child currently has a wound caused by a deadly weapon or 
that    the child has received such a wound in the past (verification of past 
wounds must come from a physician, a law enforcement officer, an equally 
credible witness or by a direct admission from the alleged offender); and     

 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the wound was sustained as the 
result of abuse or neglect as defined in Section I.  

 

• Verified that a weapon was used to threaten bodily harm. 
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BONE FRACTURES (Priority I) 
 

I. Definition 
 

A fracture is a broken bone.  There are ten types of fractures, the most common being: 
 

• Chip fracture: A small piece of bone is flaked from the major part of the bone 
 

• Simple fracture: The bone is broken, but there is no external wound. 
 

• Compound fracture: The bone is broken, and there is an external wound leading down 
to the site of fracture or fragments of  bone protrude through the skin. 

 

• Comminuted fracture: The bone is broken or splintered into pieces. 
 

• Spiral fracture: Twisting causes the line of the fracture to encircle the bone in the 
form of a spiral. 

 

• Coroner fracture (metaphysical): Caused by a pulling or jerking of an extremity. 
 
II. Taking a report     
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child  
 sustained a bone fracture as a result of maltreatment. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the bone fracture resulted from one of the  
  following: 

 
• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent, caretaker, or other person 

responsible for the child’s welfare (abuse).  
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another person which resulted in a bone fracture (failure to protect). 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 
• Verified that the child currently has a bone fracture or has sustained a bone fracture in 

the past (such verification must come from a physician); and 
 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the bone fracture was sustained as the 

result of the abuse or neglect as defined in Section I.   
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BRAIN DAMAGE/SKULL FRACTURE (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Brain damage is an injury to the large, soft mass of nerve tissue contained within the 
 cranium/skull. 
 

Skull fracture is a broken bone in the skull. 
  

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child  
sustained brain damage or a skull fracture as the result of maltreatment. 

 
B.  Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe that the brain damage or skull fracture resulted 
from one of the following: 

 
• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent, caretaker or other person 

responsible for the child's welfare (abuse). 
 
• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an   

action by another person which resulted in the child sustaining brain damage 
or a skull fracture (failure to protect). 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child is currently brain damaged or has a fractured skull or has been 
brain damaged or sustained a skull fracture in the past (such verification must come 
from a physician); and 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the brain damage or skull fracture was 
sustained as the result of maltreatment as defined in Section I. 
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BURNS / SCALDING (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Burns are any tissue injury resulting from excessive exposure to thermal, chemical, 
electrical, or radioactive agents.  The effects vary according to the type, duration, and 
intensity of the agent and the part of the body involved.  Burns are usually classified as: 

 
• First degree: Superficial burns, with damage being limited to the outer layer of skin, 

which displays scorching or painful redness. 
 
• Second degree or partial thickness burn: The damage extends through the outer layer 

of the skin into the inner layers.  Blistering will be present within 24 hours. 
 
• Third degree or full thickness burn: Burns in which the skin is destroyed with damage 

extending into underlying tissues, which may be charred or coagulated.  Skin grafting 
may be required. 

 
• Scalding is a burn to the skin or flesh caused by moist heat and hot vapors, such as 

steam. 
 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
sustained a burn or was scalded as the result of maltreatment. 

 
B. Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe that the burn or scalding resulted from one of  
the following: 

 
• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 
• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 

action by another person which resulted in the burn or scalding (failure to      
protect). 
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III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that a child has been burned or scalded.  Severe burns, burns of an 
unknown origin, or burns where the injury is not consistent with the explanation 
provided for a physician or registered nurse should examine it.  This includes 
cigarette burns, or a burn in which it appears a hot instrument was applied to the 
skin.  All immersion burns (scalds) must be confirmed by a physician unless the 
alleged offender has admitted to scalding the child; and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the burn or scalding was sustained as a 

result of maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
 
 

CUTS, BRUISES, & WELTS (Priority I, referred to Crimes Against Children Division if the  
child is age 3 or under and the injury is reported by medical personnel, a medical facility,  
or law enforcement and involves injury to the head, face, neck, or torso excluding  
buttocks.  All other reports to be  referred to DCFS.) 

 
I.          Definition   

 

• Cut (laceration): An opening, incision, or break in the skin made by some external 
agent. 

 

• Bruise (ecchymosis): An injury which results in bleeding within the skin, where the 
skin is discolored but not broken. 

 

• Welt: An elevation on the skin produced by a lash, blow, or allergic stimulus.  The 
skin is not broken and the mark is reversible.   

 

NOTE: Regardless of the child’s age, depending on the location, severity and 
multiplicity of the injuries (cuts, bruises and/or welts), the case may be a Priority I. 
 

The investigation of bruises cuts or welts in or on any portion of the head, face, neck or 
abdomen that are a direct act against the child by a parent or caretaker.  This does not 
include an injury that is the result of a failure on the part of the parent or caretaker to 
safeguard the child from environmental situations that resulted in those injuries. 
 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
sustained a cut, bruise, or welt as a result of maltreatment.  For the allegation to 
be directed to the CACD, the report must come from medical personnel, a 
medical facility or law enforcement and involve injuries to the head, neck, face or 
torso excluding buttocks of a child age 3 or under.   

 
B. Usage 
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The reporter has reason to believe that the cut, bruise, or welt resulted from one of  
the following: 
• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an    
action by another person that resulted in a cut, bruise, welt (failure to   
protect). 

NOTE: The hotline shall accept a report of physical abuse involving a bruise to a 
child even if at the time of the report the bruise is not visible, but the bruising 
occurred – (a) within the past 14 days and (b) as a result of physical abuse as 
defined in the law.  

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child currently has a cut, bruise, or welt or has sustained one in 
the past (such verification may come from a physician, registered nurse, law 
enforcement    officer, observation by the Family Service Worker or by a direct 
admission from the alleged offender); and any injury must involve more than 
transient pain or minor temporary marks;  

• If the bruise was not visible at the time of the report, the existence of the bruise 
must be corroborated for the finding to be true. 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the cut, bruise, or welt was sustained 

as a result of maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
 

   Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child when it is reasonable and  
   moderate and is inflicted by a parent or guardian for purposes of restraining or  
   correcting the child.  Reasonable and moderate physical discipline should cause no  
   more than transient pain or minor temporary marks.   
 

The age, size and condition of the child and the location of the injury and the frequency 
of recurrence of injuries shall be considered when determining whether the physical 
discipline is reasonable and moderate. 
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EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT (Priority II) 
 

I. Definition 
 

Any child who is not meeting compulsory school attendance requirements because his or 
her parent or custodian is failing or refusing to enforce these attendance requirements is 
educationally neglected.  A parent or custodian is failing or refusing to enforce the state's  
compulsory attendance requirements if: 

 

• The parent or guardian having custody or charge of any child between the ages of five 
through seventeen years (by September 15 of the school year), both inclusive, fails to 
enroll and send the child to a public, private, or parochial school, or provide a home 
school for the child, or 

 

• The parent or guardian having custody or charge of a child of the above-referenced 
age disregards his or her responsibility to ensure that a child attends school, or 
actively prevents such child from attending school. 

 

Examples of educational neglect include: 
 

• The parent or custodian who does not enroll the child in school; or, 
 

• The parent or custodian who prevents a child from attending school; or, 
 

• The parent or custodian who does not take reasonable action to ensure that the 
child regularly attends school;  or, 

 

• The parent or custodian who has not made arrangements to home school the child. 
 

NOTE: Failure to follow an Individualized Educational Program (IEP) does not 
constitute educational neglect. 

 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child  
is educationally neglected. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that a child is not home schooled and is not 
attending school because: 
 

• The parent or custodian did not enroll the child in the school program; or 
 

• The parent or custodian disregards the responsibility to ensure that the child is 
attending school or the parent or custodian actively prevents the child from 
attending school; or, 

 

• The parent or custodian has not taken the necessary steps to provide home 
schooling. 
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C. Factors to be considered in taking and/or founding a report 
 

• The child's physical condition, particularly as it relates to the child's ability to 
get ready for school, and 

 
• The child's mental abilities, particularly concerning the child's ability to get     

ready for school, and 
 

• The number of days missed, and 
 

• The parent's or custodian's attempts to ensure that the child attends school, 
and 

 
• The parent or custodian has hand-delivered to the superintendent written 

notice of the parent or custodian's intent to home school the child. 
 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has:  
 

• Verified that the child is not or was not meeting mandated educational requirements; 
and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is/has been educationally 

neglected as defined in Section I; and 
 

• Verified the parent or custodian has failed to provide written notice to the     
superintendent of the intent to home school the child. 

 
• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the child is/was    

educationally neglected. 
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ENVIRONMENTAL NEGLECT (Priority II) 
 

I.  Definition 
 

The child's person, clothing, or living conditions are unsanitary to the point that the 
child's health is in  danger. .  This may include infestations of rodents, spiders, insects, 
snakes, lice, etc., human or animal feces, and rotten or spoiled food and/or garbage that 
the child can reach. 

 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
is living in the conditions noted above and that the conditions are a significant 
threat to the child's health. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child is living in conditions defined 
above as the result of disregard of duty or negligence on the part of the child's 
parent or caretaker responsible for the child's welfare. 

 

C. Factors to be considered 
 

Special attention should be paid to the age of the child, the child's physical 
condition, and the living conditions in the home in order to determine whether the 
report constitutes an allegation of harm.   
 

In addition, the following incident factors should be considered: 
 

• Severity of the conditions, 
 

• Frequency of the conditions, 
 

• Duration of the conditions, and 
 

• Chronicity or pattern of similar conditions. 
 

III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the conditions described exist or had existed; and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the unhealthful/unsanitary conditions 
are/were the result of neglect as defined in Section I; and 

 

• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above, and determined that the conditions     
represent a threat to the child's health. 

 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child was maltreated as in Section I.    
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EXTREME OR REPEATED CRUELTY TO A JUVENILE (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

The offender engages in  activity that results in  pain, suffering or grief.  Examples of 
extreme cruelty include such things as forcing a child to observe the killing of his pet,  
forcing a child to eat vomit, locking a child in a closet or tying a child into a child seat for 
an extended period with its head covered.  Milder forms of cruelty may still be identified 
as child maltreatment if there have been repeated acts by the offender.  

 

II.  Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable cause to suspect that a 
juvenile has been deliberately subjected to extreme or repeated cruelty. 

 
B. Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that a juvenile has been deliberately subjected 
to extreme or repeated cruelty. 

 
III.  Founding a Report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that a juvenile has been subjected to extreme (excessive or severe) cruelty 
and/or there is evidence that the cruelty was repeated. 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that a juvenile was subjected to extreme or 

repeated cruelty. 
 

• Documented that all other types of child maltreatment have been ruled out to ensure 
that extreme or repeated cruelty is the correct child maltreatment type.  However, 
extreme or repeated cruelty can be used in conjunction with other child maltreatment 
types. 
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FAILURE TO PROTECT (Priority I or II) 
 

I. Definition 
 

Failure of an individual responsible for the care of a child to take reasonable action to 
protect that child from maltreatment when that individual had reasonable cause to believe 
that the child was in significant danger of being maltreated. 

 

This allegation may include situations in which a person with a documented history as an 
offender of child sexual abuse is allowed to be an unsupervised caretaker of a child. 

 

NOTE: The type of maltreatment from which the caregiver failed to protect the child, 
determines the Priority Level (I or II).  This is a sub-issue when considering 
sexual abuse, physical abuse, neglect, etc. 

 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
was endangered and that an individual responsible for the care of the child failed 
to take reasonable action to protect the child. 
 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that failure to protect resulted from one of the 
following: 

 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an    
action by another person, which resulted in maltreatment to the child. 

 

• A blatant disregard by the parent or caretaker of his or her responsibilities for 
the child's welfare. 

 

III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has concluded 
that: 

 
• An individual responsible for the care of a child had or should have had reasonable    

cause to believe that the child was in significant danger of maltreatment and failed to 
take action to protect the child from that danger. 

 
NOTE: A finding of failure to protect should not be made against a caretaker who was 
              in significant fear of his or her own safety. 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that failure to protect occurred as a result of 

maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
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FAILURE TO THRIVE  (Priority I) 
 
I.  Definition 

 

A clinical term used by pediatric clinicians to describe infants and young children, 
generally 3 years of age and younger, who fail to grow as expected based on established 
growth standards for age and gender.  A central cause of failure-to-thrive is under-
nutrition, whether or not an associated organic disease is present.  Pediatric under- 
nutrition, or Failure-To-Thrive triggers an array of health problems in children and may 
be associated with long-term impairments in growth, physical and cognitive 
development, academic performance, and behavior.  The majority of children who 
demonstrate Failure-To-Thrive do not have a physical disease.  Most such situations are 
associated with problems in the child's environment.   
 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
suffers from failure to thrive.   

            

 B.        Usage 
 

  The reporter has reason to believe that the child has failure to thrive syndrome as  
                        a result of the parent's or caretaker's neglect. 
 

             C.        Factors to be considered 
 

• Central to the definition of Failure-To-Thrive is abnormal growth compared to 
children of similar age and sex, using typical national growth standards. 

 

• The child's symptoms, i.e. weight and/or velocity of growth and/or clinical 
signs of deprivation improve when the child is properly nurtured. 

 

• There appears to be significant environmental or psychosocial disruption in 
the child's family. 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

             This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child has or had failure to thrive (such verification must come from a 
physician); and 

 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the failure to thrive was at least partially a 
result of the parent or caretaker’s failure to provide for or meet the needs of the child. 
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HUMAN BITES (Priority II) 
 

I. Definition 
 

A bruise or cut in the skin caused by human teeth. 
 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
sustained a human bite as a result of maltreatment. 

 
B. Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe that the human bite resulted from one of the 
following: 

 
• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent, caretaker, or other person 

responsible for the child's welfare (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another, which resulted in a human bite (failure to protect). 

 
• The failure of the parent or caretaker to appropriately supervise the child 

resulted in human bites (inadequate supervision). 
 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child currently has a human bite or has sustained a human bite in the 
past (such verification may come from a physician, dentist, registered nurse, law 
enforcement officer, observation by the Family Service Worker, or by a direct 
admission from the alleged offender); and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the human bite was sustained as a result of 

    maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
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IMMERSION (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Interference with a child's ability to breathe by holding the child's nose and mouth under 
water or other liquid.  

 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
    has been immersed as a result of maltreatment. 

 

B.  Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe immersion resulted from one of the following: 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an    
action by another that resulted in immersion (failure to protect). 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that a child has been immersed and restricted breathing. 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the immersion occurred as a result of     
maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
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INADEQUATE CLOTHING (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Lack of adequate clothing to protect the child from the elements. 
 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
is inadequately clothed. 

 
B. Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe that a child is or recently has been inadequately 
clothed due to the parent or caretaker's disregard of his or her responsibilities. 
 

C. Incident factors to be considered 

• Frequency of the incident, 

• Duration of the incident, 

• Chronicity or pattern of similar incidents,  

• Weather conditions such as extreme heat or extreme cold. 
  

NOTE: Evidence of physical harm to the child such as frostbite, hypothermia, severe 
sunburn, or heat exhaustion is not required in order to indicate this allegation.  
Lack of clothing in the home is not sufficient to indicate a report of inadequate 
clothing unless other factors substantiate that the child is not being clothed. Other 
factors must be considered. 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the incident or circumstances occurred; and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is/has been inadequately clothed 
in accordance with Section II,B, above; and 

 

• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the clothing was not 
appropriate to protect the child from the elements. 

 

• The mere availability of clothing is not sufficient to unfound a report of inadequate 
clothing. 
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INADEQUATE FOOD (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Inadequate food is a lack of food adequate to sustain normal functioning.  It is not as 
severe as malnutrition or failure to thrive, both of which require a medical diagnosis for a 
finding of “True”. 

 

Examples include: 
 

• The child who frequently and repeatedly misses meals or who is frequently and    
repeatedly fed insufficient amounts of food. 

 

• The child who frequently and repeatedly asks a neighbor for food and other     
information substantiates that the child is not being fed. 

 

• The child who is frequently and repeatedly fed unwholesome foods when his age, 
developmental stage, and physical condition are considered. 

 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
has received/is receiving inadequate food. 

 

    B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child has not received/is not receiving 
adequate food due to the parent or caretaker's disregard of his responsibilities. 

 

C. Incident factors to be considered: 
• Frequency of the occurrence, 
• Duration of the occurrence, 
• Pattern or chronicity of occurrence, 
• Previous history of occurrences, 
• Availability of adequate food. 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has:  
 

• Verified that the incident or circumstances occurred; and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child received/is receiving inadequate 
food as the result of maltreatment as defined in Section I; and  

 

• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the amount of food 
received is not adequate to sustain normal functioning. 
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NOTE: Lack of food in the home is not sufficient to indicate a report of inadequate food unless 
other factors substantiate that the child is not being fed.  On the other hand, the mere 
availability of food in the home is not sufficient to unfound a report of inadequate food.  
Other factors must also be considered.  Do not found a report if the parents are making 
alternative arrangements to provide adequate food. 

 
 
INADEQUATE SHELTER (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Lack of shelter which is safe and which protects from the elements. 
 

Examples of inadequate shelter include, but are not limited to: 
• No housing or shelter. 

 

• Exposed, frayed electrical wiring. 
 

• Housing with structural defects that  endanger the health or safety of the child. 
 

• Housing with indoor temperatures consistently below 50 degrees Fahrenheit. 
 

• Housing which is a significant fire hazard obvious to the reasonable person. 
 

• Housing with an unsafe heat source, which poses a significant fire hazard or threat of 
asphyxiation. 

 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child  
is being inadequately sheltered. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child is being inadequately sheltered 
due to the parent or caretaker's disregard of his or her responsibilities. 

 
C. Shelter factors to be considered include: 

• Seriousness of the problem. 

• Frequency of the problem 

• Duration of the problem. 

• Pattern or chronicity of the problem. 

• Previous history of shelter-related problems. 
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III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 
• Verified that the incident or circumstances occurred; and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is being or has been inadequately 

sheltered as the results of maltreatment as defined in Section I; and 
 

• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the shelter is 
inadequate. 

 
 
INADEQUATE SUPERVISION (Priority II) 
 
I.  Definition 

 

The parent or caretaker has failed to appropriately supervise the juvenile resulting in the 
juvenile being left alone at an inappropriate age or in inappropriate circumstances that  
that creates a dangerous situation or a situation that puts the child at risk of harm. 
 
Examples include, but are not limited to: 

 
• Leaving the juvenile alone when the juvenile is too young to care for him or for          

 other children. 
 

• Leaving a juvenile alone when the juvenile has a condition that requires close 
supervision.  Such conditions may include medical conditions, behavioral, mental, or 
emotional problems, developmental disabilities, or physical handicaps. 

 
• Leaving a juvenile in the care of an inadequate or inappropriate caretaker, as 

indicated by the caretaker factors in Section II, C, below. 
 
• Being present but unable to supervise because of the caretaker's condition.  This 

includes the parent or caretaker who uses drugs or alcohol to the extent that it has the 
effect of producing a substantial state of stupor, unconsciousness, intoxication, or 
irrationality.  This also includes the parent or caretaker who cannot adequately 
supervise the juvenile because of the parent's or caretaker's medical condition, 
behavioral, mental, or emotional problems, developmental disability, or physical 
handicap.                        

• Leaving a juvenile unattended in a place that is unsafe considering their maturity, 
physical condition, and mental abilities.  
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NOTE: The mere occurrence of a parent or caretaker being arrested does NOT of self constitute 
“inadequate supervision” unless the arrest was due to child maltreatment (e.g. DWI). 

 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a 
juvenile has been/is being inadequately supervised as a result of maltreatment. 

 
B. Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that the juvenile has been/is being inadequately 
supervised due to the disregard of responsibilities by the parent or caretaker. 

 
C. Factors to be considered 

 

Caretaker factors include: 
 

• How long does it take the caretaker to reach the juvenile? 
 

• Can the caretaker see and hear the juvenile? 
 

• Is the caretaker accessible by telephone or pager? 
 

• Is the caretaker mature enough to assume responsibility for the situation? 
 

• Is the caretaker physically, mentally, and emotionally able to care for the 
juvenile? 

 

• Is the caretaker able to make appropriate judgments on the juvenile's behalf? 
 

Incident factors include: 

• Frequency of the occurrence. 

• Duration of the occurrence.  

• Time of day or night when the incident occurs. 

• Juvenile’s location. 

• Other supporting persons who have agreed to assist in supervising the    
juvenile. 
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III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has:   
 
• Verified/secured a preponderance of evidence that inadequate supervision occurred; 

and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the inadequate supervision is/was due to 
the parent or caretaker's neglect as defined in Section I; and 

 
• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the supervision was 

inadequate. 
 
INDECENT EXPOSURE (Priority I) 

 

I. Definition 
 

The exposure by a person aged 10 years or older of the person’s sexual organs for the 
purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of the person, or any other person, 
under circumstances in which the person knows the conduct is likely to cause affront or 
alarm. 

 
II. Taking a Report 
 

A.   An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable cause to suspect that a 
person age 10 years or older exposed his/her sexual organs for the purpose of 
arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of the person, or any other person, under 
circumstances in which the person knows the conduct is likely to cause affront or 
alarm. 

 
B.   Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that a person exposed his sexual organs for the 
purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of the person, or any other 
person, under circumstances in which the person knows the conduct is likely to 
cause affront or alarm. 

 

 



 
32 

III. Founding a Report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

Secured a preponderance of evidence that a person aged 10 years or older, exposed 
his/her sexual organs for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of the 
person, or any other person, under circumstances in which the person knows the conduct 
is likely to cause affront or alarm. 
 

 
INTERFERING WITH A CHILD’S BREATHING   (Priority I) 
 

This category of child maltreatment is contained within another category.  See the 
category, “Suffocation”. 

 
INTERNAL INJURIES (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Internal injury is an injury, which is not visible from the outside, e.g. an injury to the 
organs occupying the thoracic or abdominal cavities.  Such injury may result from a 
direct blow.  A person so injured may be pale, cold, perspiring freely, have an anxious 
expression, or  may seem semi-comatose.  Pain is usually intense at first, and may 
continue or gradually diminish, as patient grows worse. 

 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
sustained internal injuries as the result of maltreatment. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the internal injuries resulted from one of 
the following: 

 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to stop an action by another person that  
 resulted in internal injuries (failure to protect). 
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III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
   

• Verified that the child currently has internal injuries or has sustained internal injuries 
in the past (such verification must come from a physician); and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the internal injury was sustained as a result 

of maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
 
 

KICKING A CHILD (Priority II) 
 

I. Definition 
 

The parent or caretaker has used a foot to deliver a non-accidental sudden and forceful 
blow to any portion of the child’s body. 
 

II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
has sustained a sudden, forceful and non-accidental blow from the parent or 
caretaker’s foot. 

 
B. Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child has sustained a sudden and 
forceful non-accidental blow from the parent’s or caretaker’s foot. 

 

III. Founding a Report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child sustained a sudden and forceful 
non-accidental blow from the parent’s or caretaker’s foot. 

 
• Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child when it is reasonable and 

moderate and is inflicted by a parent or guardian for purposes of restraining or 
correcting the child.  Reasonable and moderate physical discipline should cause no 
more than transient pain or minor temporary marks.   

 

NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the location of the injury and the frequency 
of recurrence of injuries shall be considered when determining whether the physical 
discipline is reasonable and moderate. 
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LOCKOUT (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

The parent or caretaker has denied the child access to the home necessary to the safety 
and health of the child. 

 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child  
  has been locked out of the home. 
 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child has been denied access to his  
             home. 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has:  
 
• Verified that the child was denied access to the home by the parent or caretaker; and 
     
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the lockout occurred as a result of 

maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
 
 
MALNUTRITION (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Lack of necessary or proper food substances in the body caused by inadequate food, lack 
of food, or insufficient amounts of vitamins or minerals results in malnutrition.   
 
The child with malnutrition is not simply a diminutive version of a well-nourished child 
There are various physical signs of malnutrition, including the following: 

 
• A decrease in lean body mass or fat; very prominent ribs; the child may often be 

referred to as "skin and bones." 
 
• The hair is often sparse, thin, dry, and is easily pulled out or falls out spontaneously. 

 
• The child is often pale and suffers from anemia. 
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• Excessive perspiration, especially about the head. 
 

• The face appears lined and aged, often with a pinched and sharp appearance. 
 

• The skin has an old, wrinkled look with poor turgor.  Classically, skin folds hang 
loose on the inner thigh and buttock. 

 

• The abdomen is often protuberant. 
 

• There are abnormal pulses, blood pressure, stool patterns, inter-current infections, 
abnormal sleep patterns, and a decreased level of physical and mental activity.    

 
II.         Taking a report 

 
A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 

was malnourished as a result of maltreatment. 
 
            B.        Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child was malnourished due to the 
parent or caretaker’s disregard of his or her responsibilities. The malnourish must 
be non-organic in nature. 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child is/was malnourished (such verification must come from a 
physician); and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child was malnourished as a result of 

the parent or caretaker’s disregard of his or her responsibilities. 
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MEDICAL NEGLECT (Priority II) 
 
I.         Definition 
 

Lack of medical or mental treatment for a health problem or condition which, if 
untreated, could become severe enough to constitute a serious or long-term harm to the 
child; lack of follow-through on a prescribed treatment plan for a condition which could 
become serious enough to constitute serious or long-term harm to the child if the plan is 
unimplemented. 

 
II.        Taking a report 
 

A.        Acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child has 
been/is being medically neglected. 

 

            B.        Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child has not or is not receiving proper 
and necessary medical care due to the parent’s or caretaker’s disregard of his or 
her responsibilities. 

 
             C        Factors to be considered 

• Seriousness of the current health problem, 

• Probable outcome if the current health problem is not treated and the 
seriousness of that outcome, 

• Generally accepted medical benefits of the prescribed treatment, and 

• Generally recognized side effects/harm associated with the prescribed     
treatment. 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 

• Verified that the child has/had an untreated health problem, or that a prescribed 
treatment plan was unimplemented.  Such verification must come from a physician, 
registered nurse, psychologist, dentist, or by a direct admission from the alleged 
offender, and 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is/was medically neglected as 
defined above. 

• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the problem or 
condition, if untreated, could result in serious or long-term harm to the child.  Such 
verification must come from a physician, registered nurse, or dentist. 

 



 
37 

NOTE:  If the Family Service Worker determines that the parent’s decision to withhold 
medical treatment was based solely upon a religious belief, choosing instead to 
furnish the child with prayer and spiritual treatment in accordance with a 
recognized religious method of healing by an accredited practitioner, the 
investigative determination will be Exempted From Founded Due to Religious 
Exemption. 

 
IV.       Determining who is the offender 
 

When a person, usually a relative, has assumed full-time responsibility for care of the 
child but has not been appointed the child’s legal guardian or the guardianship status is 
unknown when the report is taken, both that caretaker and the child’s legal parents shall 
be named as alleged offenders.  If the legal parents did not make necessary arrangements 
for securing medical care for the child, the parents shall be indicated as offenders of 
medical neglect.  If the caretaker had attempted to secure medical care, but was unable to 
do so because the parents did not make the necessary arrangements, the caretaker shall 
not be indicated as an offender of medical neglect. 
 

 

MEDICAL NEGLECT OF DISABLED INFANTS (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

The act of withholding of appropriate nutrition, hydration, medication, or other medically 
indicated treatment from a disabled infant with a life-threatening condition.  Medically 
indicated treatment includes medical care which is most likely to relieve or correct all life 
threatening conditions and evaluations or consultations necessary to assure that sufficient 
information has been gathered to make informed medical decisions.  Nutrition, hydration, 
and medication, as appropriate for the infant’s needs, is medically indicated for all 
disabled infants.   
 
Other types of treatment are not medically indicated when: 

 

• The infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose, 
 

• The provision of the treatment would be futile and would merely prolong dying, or 
 

• The provision of the treatment would be ineffective in ameliorating or correcting all 
the life-threatening conditions. 

In determining whether treatment will be medically indicated, reasonable medical 
judgments, such as those made by a prudent physician knowledgeable about the case and 
its treatment possibilities, will be respected.  However, opinions about the infant’s future 
“quality of life” won’t bear on whether a treatment is judged to be medically indicated. 
 

NOTE:  Review FSPP Policy and Procedure Section II-F, Medical Neglect Of a 
Disabled Infant. 



 
38 

 
II.         Taking a report 
 

A.      An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a  
 disabled infant with a life-threatening condition has been/is being medically          
      neglected. 

 
            B.        Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the disabled infant has not received / is not 
receiving medically indicated treatment (including needed nutrition, hydration, 
medication, and independent evaluations and consultations) due to the parent’s or 
caretaker’s disregard of his or her responsibilities. 

             
 C.        Factors to be considered include: 

 

• Infant’s physical condition, 
 

• Seriousness of the current health problem, 
 

• Probable medical outcome if the current health problem is not treated and the 
seriousness of that outcome. 

 

• Generally accepted medical benefits of the prescribed treatment, 
 

• Generally recognized side effects/harms associated with the prescribed     
treatment, 

 

• The opinions of the Infant Care Review Committee (ICRC), if the hospital has 
an ICRC, 

 

• The judgment of the individual designated by contract for the purposes of     
coordination, consultation, and notification of cases of suspected medical     
neglect of disabled infants (Refer to FSPP II-F), and 

 

• The parent’s knowledge and understanding of the treatment and the probable 
medical outcome. 

 
D. On acceptance of this type allegation the Hot Line supervisor will be notified 

immediately.  The Hot Line supervisor will immediately notify the designated 
DCFS Child Protective Services Field Assistance Unit  (501) 682-8992. 
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III. Founding a report 
 

 This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that medical treatment (including appropriate nutrition, hydration, or             
 medication) is/was withheld from an infant; and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the infant is/has been medically neglected 

due to the parent’s or caretaker’s disregard of his or her responsibilities; and 
  

• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the treatment was        
medically indicated.  Such verification must come from a physician, and may come    
 from experts in the field of neonatal pediatrics.  Appropriate nutrition, hydration, and 
medication is medically indicated for all disabled infants. 

 
 
MENTAL INJURY (Priority II) 
 
I.         Definition 
 

Injury to the intellectual, emotional, or psychological development of a child as 
evidenced by observable and substantial impairment in the child’s ability to function in a 
normal range of performance and behavior is mental injury. 

 
II.        Taking a report 
 

A.        Any person with a reasonable cause to suspect that a child has suffered a 
substantial impairment in his or her ability to function as a result of a specific, 
non-accidental action or inaction committed by a parent or caretaker. 
 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the mental injury resulted from one of the 
following: 

 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an    
action by another person that resulted in the mental injury (failure to protect). 
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III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child has been mentally injured.  A psychiatrist, registered    
psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, professional employee of a community 
mental health center, or licensed psychological examiner must confirm that the child  
 has suffered a mental injury; and 

 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the mental injury resulted from 
maltreatment as defined in Section I.   

 

NOTE:  Under some circumstances, such as divorce, a mental injury to a child may be an 
unavoidable consequence of purposeful parental action.  When determining whether to 
found a report, the Family Service Worker should consider whether the parents or 
caretakers took reasonable action to minimize the degree of mental injury resulting 
from a necessary action or uncontrollable event. 

 
 

MUNCHAUSEN SYNDROME BY PROXY OR FACTITIOUS ILLNESS BY PROXY  (Priority II) 
 

I.          Definition 
 

A form of child maltreatment in which the parent or guardian falsifies a child’s medical 
history or alters a child’s laboratory tests or actually causes an illness or injury in a child 
in order to gain medical attention for the child which may result in innumerable harmful 
hospital procedures. 

 

II.        Taking a report 
 

A.  Acceptable reporters include medical personnel or medical facilities with 
reasonable cause to suspect that a parent or caregiver has fabricated a medical 
condition in a child. 

 

B.   Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the parent or caregiver is presenting a child 
to a health care provider for a fabricated medical condition. 

 

III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child has been presented to a health care provider with a fabricated 
medical condition.  Such verification must come from a physician, registered nurse, 
dentist, or by a direct admission from the alleged offender; and 

 

• Secured a preponderance of the evidence that the parent or caregiver has presented 
the child to a health care provider with a fabricated medical condition.  
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NEWBORN CHILD BORN WITH AN ILLEGAL SUBSTANCE IN ITS SYSTEM OR BORN 
WITH A HEALTH PROBLEM AS A RESULT OF THE PREGNANT MOTHER’S USE BEFORE 
BIRTH OF AN ILLEGAL SUBSTANCE (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 
Causing a newborn child to be born with:  

• An illegal substance present in the newborn’s bodily fluids or bodily substances as a result of 
the pregnant mother knowingly using an illegal substance before the birth of the newborn; or   

• A health problem as a result of the mother’s use before birth of an illegal substance. 

“Illegal substance” means a drug that is prohibited to be used or possessed without a prescription under 
the Arkansas Criminal Code, § 5-1-101 et seq. 
 
II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is limited to any one of the following mandated reporters, who 
have reasonable cause to suspect that a newborn has been subjected to an illegal 
substance before birth: a licensed nurse; an osteopath; a physician; a resident or intern; a 
surgeon; a licensed social worker acting pursuant to a doctor’s orders or any medical 
personnel who may be engaged in the admission, examination, care or treatment of 
persons. 

 
B. Usage    

 
The reporter has reason to believe that the newborn’s condition (having an illegal 
substance in its body and/or a health problem) is the direct result of prenatal exposure of 
the newborn to an illegal substance abused by the mother. 

If a child is stillborn and the reporter believes it died as a result of the mother’s prenatal 
illegal drug use, the hotline will accept a report of neglect.  If the mother tests positive for 
illegal drug use, but the baby tests negative for illegal drug exposure, the hotline may still 
accept the report of neglect if the reporter is not able to stipulate the child has no health 
problem.   

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the newborn has an illegal substance in its body and/or a health problem caused 
by prenatal exposure to the illegal substance, and 

 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the mother abused the illegal substance before the 
newborn was born. 

 
NOTE: The finding is “Not true” if the newborn has no illegal substance in its body and no health problem related 
to prenatal exposure to illegal substances 
NOTE: A test of the newborn’s and/or mother’s bodily fluids and bodily substances may be used as evidence to 
establish this type of neglect. 
NOTE: If the nature of a child maltreatment report (Priority II) suggests that a child is in immediate risk begin the 
investigation immediately or as soon as possible. 
NOTE: CAPTA still requires a Plan of Safe Care for all infants born  affected by prenatal drug abuse (See 
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Executive Directive SPP 2004-05 issued June 18, 2004, located in CHRISNet under “DCFS Exe Directives”).
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ORAL SEX  (Priority I) 
 

I. Definition 
 

Any contact, however slight or the attempted contact between the sex organs of one 
person and the mouth of another person when one of those persons is a child. This 
includes acts commonly known as cunnilingus and fellatio.   

 

 This form of maltreatment does not require that the offender be a caretaker of the child. 
 

II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child  
 has been involved in oral sex. 

  The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child maltreatment naming 
an adult as the victim if: 

1. The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and 

2. The person making the report is one of the following: 
• The adult victim; 
• A law enforcement officer; 
• The victim’s counselor or therapist; or 
• The offender’s counselor or therapist. 

 

B. Usage    
 

The reporter has reason to believe that oral sex resulted from one of the  
following: 

 

• A direct action by a parent or caretaker ten years of age or older (abuse); or 
 

• A direct action by any person under any of the following circumstances: 

(a) The alleged offender is ten (10) years of age or older and the alleged 
victim is under the age of eighteen and forcible compulsion was used in 
the act or attempt; or 

(b) By one person who is eighteen (18) or older to another who is under 
sixteen (16) and not the spouse of the alleged offender ; or  

(c) By one person who is a caretaker or sibling of the other who is less than 
eighteen (18) years old. 

(d) By a person younger than ten (10) years of age (underaged juvenile 
aggressor) to a person younger than eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

NOTE: Forcible Compulsion is defined as physical force or a threat, express or implied, of death 
or physical injury to or kidnapping of any person. 
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• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another person, which resulted in oral sex (failure to protect). 

 

III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child has been involved in oral sex, or the attempt to engage in oral 
sex; and 

 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the oral sex, or the attempt occurred. 
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PINCHING, BITING OR STRIKING A CHILD IN THE GENITAL AREA: (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Any act of pinching, biting or striking, directly or through clothing, a child’s genital area 
or sex organs.  The contact can be with by any part of the alleged offender or any object. 
 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
was pinched, bitten or struck in the genital area as the result of maltreatment. 

 
B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child was pinched, bitten or struck in 
the genital area as a result of one of the following: 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another person, which resulted in the child being pinched, bitten or 
struck in the genital area (failure to protect.) 

 

III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child is/was pinched, bitten or struck in the genital area; and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the pinching, biting or striking of the 
child’s genital area was sustained as a result of maltreatment as defined in Section I.  
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POISON/NOXIOUS SUBSTANCES (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Poison is any substance, including mood-altering chemicals taken into the body by 
ingestion, inhalation, injection, or absorption that interferes with normal physiological 
functions.  This includes, but is not limited to any chemical used in, or generated during, 
the manufacture of methamphetamine.  (Almost any substance, including water, can be 
poisonous if consumed in sufficient quantity; therefore, the term poison can include  an 
excessive amount of an item rather than a specific group of substances);   
Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a poisonous or noxious 
substance not prescribed by a physician that has the capacity to interfere with normal 
physiological functions; or 
Exposing a child to chemicals that have the capacity to interfere with normal 
physiological functions, including, but not limited to, chemicals used or generated during 
the manufacture of methamphetamine. 

 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
consumed, inhaled or was exposed to poison and/or a noxious substance as the 
result of maltreatment. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe the child was poisoned or ingested, inhaled or 
was exposed to a noxious substance as a result of one of the following: 

 

• The parent or caretaker does a direct, non-accidental action (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another person that resulted in the child consuming, inhaling or 
being exposed to poison or a noxious substance (failure to protect). 

 

• The offender blatantly disregards his responsibilities for the child's welfare 
(neglect). 

 

III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child has consumed, inhaled or been exposed to, poison or a noxious 
substance (as verified by chemical analysis or by a direct admission from the alleged 
offender); or 

 

• Verified that a child has been physically present, or has been in the location, during 
any phase of the manufacturing of methamphetamine or other illegal drugs, and 

 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the consumption, inhaling, or exposure to   
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the poison or noxious substance was the result of maltreatment as defined in Section 
I.   

 

NOTE: See Appendix VIII (Protocol for Family Service Workers) in the DCFS 
Policy Manual. It explains how to respond to children exposed to 
methamphetamine or methamphetamine lab related chemicals. 

 
PORNOGRAPHY/LIVE SEX ACT EXPOSURE   (Priority I) 
 

I. Definition 
 

The parent, caretaker or person forces, permits or encourages a juvenile to view or 
observe: 

•  

• Pictures, movies or videos that lack serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific 
value and that, when taken as a whole and applying contemporary community 
standards, would appear to the average person to appeal to the prurient interest; or 

• Material which depicts sexual conduct in a patently offensive manner lacking serious 
literary, artistic, political or scientific value; or 

• Any live human sexual activity.  
 

II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
has been forced, permitted or encouraged to view or observe obscene, licentious 
or offensive material or any live human sexual activity. 

  The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child maltreatment naming 
an adult as the victim if: 

1. The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and 

2. The person making the report is one of the following: 
� The adult victim; 
� A law enforcement officer; 
� The victim’s counselor or therapist; or 
� The offender’s counselor or therapist. 
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B. Usage 
 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been forced, permitted or 
encouraged to view or observe obscene, licentious or offensive material or any 
live human sexual activity. 

 

III. Founding a Report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 
 

Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child has been forced, permitted or 
encouraged to view or observe obscene, licentious or offensive material or any live 
human sexual activity. 
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SEXUAL CONTACT (Priority I) 
 

I. Definition 

Any act of sexual gratification involving the touching, directly or through clothing, of the 
sex organs, or buttocks, or anus of a person  or the breast of a female.   This includes 
encouraging  of the child to  touch  the  offender   in a sexual manner .  This further 
includes the offender requesting to touch the child in a sexual manner.  Normal 
affectionate hugging will not be construed as sexual contact. 

 
II. Taking a Report 
 

A.  An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable cause to suspect that a 
child has been the victim of sexual contact.  Evidence of sexual gratification is 
not necessary when taking or accepting a report. 

  The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child maltreatment naming 
an adult as the victim if: 

1.  The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and 

2.  The person making the report is one of the following: 
• The adult victim; 
• A law enforcement officer; 
• The victim’s counselor or therapist; or 
• The offender’s counselor or therapist. 

 
B. Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that sexual contact resulted from one of the 
following circumstances: 

 

(a) The alleged offender is ten (10) years of age or older and the alleged victim is 
under the age of eighteen and forcible compulsion was used in the act or 
attempt; or 

(b) By one person who is eighteen (18) or older  to another who is under sixteen 
(16) and not the spouse of the alleged offender ; or  

(c) By one person who is a caretaker or sibling of the other who is less than 
eighteen (18) years old. 

(d) By a person younger than ten (10) years of age (underaged juvenile aggressor) 
to a person younger than eighteen (18) years of age. 

 
Forcible Compulsion is physical force or a threat, express or implied, of death or physical injury 
to or kidnapping of any person. 
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• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an    
action by another person that resulted in sexual contact  (failure to protect). 

 
II. Founding a Report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child has been the victim of sexual 
contact. 

• There must be evidence of sexual gratification.  Evidence of sexual gratification may 
be inferred from the attendant circumstances surrounding the specific complaint of 
child maltreatment. 

 

• Normal affectionate hugging will not be construed as sexual contact. 
 
 
SEXUAL EXPLOITATION (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Allowing, permitting, or encouraging participation or depiction of the child  in 
prostitution, obscene photography , obscene filming, or obscenely depicting, obscenely 
posing, or obscenely posturing a child  for any use or purpose. 

 

This form of maltreatment does not require that the offender be a caretaker of the child. 
 

II.         Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child   
has been sexually exploited. 

  The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child maltreatment  naming 
an adult as the victim if: 

1. The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and 

2. The person making the report is one of the following: 
� The adult victim; 
� A law enforcement officer; 
� The victim’s counselor or therapist; or 
� The offender’s counselor or therapist. 

 
B. Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been sexually exploited.   
 

 

The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an action 
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by another person, which resulted in sexual exploitation. (Failure to protect). 
 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child has been sexually exploited; and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the sexual exploitation occurred.  
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SEXUAL  PENETRATION  (Priority I) 
 

I. Definition: 
 

Any penetration, however slight, of any part of the body of one person or any animal or 
object into the sex organ or anus of another person when at least one of the persons 
involved is a child. This includes acts commonly known as anal penetration, digital 
penetration, coition, coitus and copulation. 

 

This form of maltreatment does not require that the offender be a caretaker of the child. 
 

II         Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
was sexually penetrated as a result of maltreatment. 

  The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child maltreatment naming 
an adult as the victim if: 

1. The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and 

2. The person making the report is one of the following: 
• The adult victim; 
• A law enforcement officer; 
• The victim’s counselor or therapist; or 
• The offender’s counselor or therapist. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that sexual penetration of a child resulted from 
one of the following: 

 

• A direct action by any person under any of the following circumstances: 
 

(a) The alleged offender is ten (10) years of age or older and the alleged 
victim is under the age of eighteen and forcible compulsion was used in 
the act or attempt; or 

 

(b) By one person who is eighteen (18) or older to another who is under 
sixteen (16) and not the spouse of the alleged offender; or  

 

(c) By one person who is a caretaker or sibling of the other who is less than 
eighteen (18) years old. 

(d) By a person younger than ten (10) years of age (underaged juvenile 
aggressor) to a person younger than eighteen (18) years of age. 

 

Forcible Compulsion – physical force or a threat, express or implied, of death or 
physical injury to or kidnapping of any person. 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable and prudent efforts 
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to prevent an action by another person, which resulted in sexual penetration 
(failure to protect). 

 

Founding a report 

altreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 

 penetration or attempted sexual 
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 has reason to believe that a child ages three or younger has been 
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SPRAINS/DISLOCATIONS (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Sprain: trauma to a joint, which causes pain and disability depending upon the degree of 
injury to ligaments.  In a severe sprain, ligaments may be completely torn.  The signs are 
rapid swelling, heat, and disability, often discoloration and limitation of function. 
 
Discoloration: the displacement of any part, especially the temporary displacement of a 
bone from its normal position in a joint.  The types include: 

 

• Complicated dislocation: a discoloration associated with other major injuries. 
 

• Compound dislocation: a dislocation in which the joint is exposed to the external air. 
 

• Closed dislocation: a simple dislocation. 
 

• Complete dislocation: a dislocation that completely separates the surfaces of a joint. 
 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
sustained a sprain or dislocation as a result of maltreatment. 
 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that a sprain or dislocation resulted from one of 
   the following: 
 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another person that resulted in the child sustaining a sprain or 
dislocation (failure to protect). 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child currently has a sprain or dislocation or had a sprain or   
dislocation in the past (such verification must come from a physician, 
registered nurse, or by a direct admission from the alleged offender); and 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the sprain or dislocation was 
sustained as a result of maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
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STRIKING A CHILD AGE SEVEN OR OLDER ON THE FACE OR HEAD (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

The victim child, age seven or older, has sustained a blow to the face or head inflicted 
intentionally or knowingly by a parent or caretaker with either an open hand or an object. 

 

II.  Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable cause to suspect that a 
child has been intentionally or knowingly struck on the face or head by a parent 
or caretaker. 

 
B. Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been intentionally or knowingly 
struck on the face or head by a parent or caretaker. 

 
III.  Founding a Report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child ages seven or older has been 
intentionally or knowingly struck on the face or head by a parent or caretaker causing 
a physical injury. 

  
NOTE: Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child when it is reasonable and 

moderate and is inflicted by a parent or guardian for purposes of restraining or 
correcting the child.  Reasonable and moderate physical discipline should cause 
no more than transient pain or minor temporary marks.   

 

NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the location of the injury and the 
frequency of recurrence of injuries shall be considered when determining 
whether the physical discipline is reasonable and moderate. 
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STRIKING A CHILD AGE SIX OR YOUNGER ON THE FACE OR HEAD (Priority II) 
 

I. Definition 
 

The victim child aged six years or younger has sustained an intentional or knowing blow 
to the face or head inflicted by a parent or caretaker with either an open hand or an 
object. 
 

II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
aged six years or younger has been intentionally or knowingly struck on the face 
or head by a parent or caretaker. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that a child aged six years or younger has been 
intentionally or knowingly struck on the face or head by a parent or caretaker. 

 

III. Founding a Report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child aged six years or younger has been 
intentionally or knowingly struck on the face or head by a parent or caretaker with or 
without causing an injury. 
 
 

STRIKING A CHILD WITH A CLOSED FIST  (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

The parent or caretaker has used a clenched hand to intentionally or knowingly hit the 
child on any part of his body. 
 

II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable cause to suspect that a 
child has been intentionally or knowingly struck with a fist by a parent or 
caretaker. 

 
B. Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe that the child has been intentionally or 
knowingly struck with a fist by a parent or caretaker. 
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III.        Founding a Report 
 

This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child has been intentionally or 
knowingly struck and physically injured by a parent or caretaker with a closed fist. 

 
NOTE: Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child when it is reasonable and 

moderate and is inflicted by a parent or guardian for purposes of restraining or 
correcting the child.  Reasonable and moderate physical discipline should cause 
no more than transient pain or minor temporary marks.   

 

NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the location of the injury and the 
frequency of recurrence of injuries shall be considered when determining 
whether the physical discipline is reasonable and moderate. 

 
SUBDURAL HEMATOMA (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Hematoma is a swelling or mass of blood (usually clotted) confined to an organ, tissue, or 
space and caused by a break in a blood vessel. 

 

Subdural means beneath the dura mater (the outer membrane covering the spinal cord and 
brain). 

 

A subdural hematoma is located beneath the membrane covering the brain and is usually 
 the result of head injuries or the shaking of a small child or infant.  It may result in loss of 
 consciousness, seizures, mental or physical damage, or death. 
 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. Acceptable reporters are medical personnel, medical facilities or pediatric 
facilities with reasonable cause to suspect that a child sustained a subdural 
hematoma as the result of maltreatment. 

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the subdural hematoma resulted from one 
of the following: 

 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an 
action by another person that resulted in a subdural hematoma (failure to 
protect). 
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III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 

• Verified that the child currently has a subdural hematoma or has sustained a subdural 
Hematoma in the past (such verification must come from a physician); and 

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the subdural hematoma was sustained as a 

result of maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
 

 
SUBSTANCE MISUSE (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a substance not prescribed by a 
physician that has the capacity to alter the mood of the child.  The consumption of a 
substance capable of intoxication to the extent that it observably affects the child's health, 
behavior, motor coordination, judgment, or intellectual capability.  This may include 
such mood altering chemicals as cannabis (marijuana), hallucinogens, stimulants 
(including cocaine), sedatives (Valium), narcotics, or inhalants, alcohol (except alcohol 
given a child during a recognized religious ceremony or service); over-the-counter drugs 
(if a person purposely administers an overdose to a child or purposely gives an 
inappropriate over-the-counter drug to a child and the child is detrimentally impacted by 
the overdose or the over-the-counter drug. 

 
Examples of substance misuse may include, but are not limited to: 

 
• Giving a minor (unless prescribed by a physician) any amount of heroin, cocaine, 

morphine, peyote, LSD, PCP, pentazocine, or methaqualude or encouraging, 
insisting, or permitting a minor's consumption of the above substances. 

 
• Giving any mood altering substance, including alcohol or sedatives (unless prescribed 

by a physician) to an infant or toddler. 
 

• Encouraging, assisting, or permitting a child to consume alcohol, drugs, or another 
mood altering substance. 

 
• Encouraging, assisting, or permitting an adolescent to consume alcohol, drugs, or    

another mood altering substance. 
 

• Encouraging, assisting, or permitting any minor to consume alcohol, drugs, or another 
mood altering substance, even if on an infrequent basis.  
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II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
has consumed a mood altering substance as a result of maltreatment. 

 
B.       Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that the substance misuse resulted from one of   
             the following: 
 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• One or more of the foregoing persons encouraged or assisted the child's 
consumption of the mood altering substances. 

 
• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop 

another person from giving mood-altering substances to the child (failure      
to protect). 

 
• A blatant disregard to responsibilities for the child's welfare.  This includes 

the failure of the parent or caretaker to take reasonable actions to prevent the 
child from misusing mood altering substances (neglect). 

 
C. Factors to be considered 

 
The following factors should be considered when determining whether a child is 
involved in substance misuse: 

 
• Age of child. 

 
• Frequency of substance misuse. 

 
• Amount of substance consumed. 

 
• Degree of behavior dysfunction, or physical impairment linked to substance    

misuse. 
 

• The child's culture, particularly as it relates to use of alcohol in religious 
ceremonies or on special occasions. 

 
• Whether the parent's or caretaker's attempts to control an older child's       

substance misuse or to seek help for the child's substance misuse were       
reasonable under the circumstances. 
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III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 
• Verified that a child is currently involved in or has been involved in substance 

misuse; and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the substance misuse was the result of 
maltreatment as defined in Section I.   

 
• Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined that the substance misuse 

is significant enough to constitute child abuse and neglect. 
 
SUFFOCATION (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

The parent or caretaker intentionally or knowingly uses any means to interfere with a 
child’s ability to breathe.  This includes, but is not limited to choking the child, 
compressing the child’s chest, placing a binding material around the child’s neck or 
covering the child’s nose and mouth with a hand or other object that restricts breathing. 
 

II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
    has been suffocated as a result of maltreatment. 

 
B.  Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe suffocation resulted from one of the following: 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an     
action by another that resulted in suffocation (failure to protect). 

 
III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that a child has been suffocated. 
  

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the suffocation occurred as a result of         
       maltreatment as defined in Section I.   
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THREAT OF HARM  (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition 
 

Conduct of the parent or caretaker creating a realistic and serious threat of death, 
permanent or temporary disfigurement, impairment of any bodily organ, or an injury to a 
juvenile’s intellectual, emotional or psychological development as evidenced by 
observable and substantial impairment of the juvenile’s ability to function within the 
juvenile’s normal range of performance and behavior. 

 
II. Taking a report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a 
parent or caretaker’s conduct has created a realistic and serious threat of harm. 

 
B. Usage 

 
The reporter has reason to believe that the parent or caretaker’s conduct created a 
realistic and serious threat of harm that resulted from one of the following: 

 
• A non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker. 
 
• An intentional or knowing act of the parent or caretaker.        

 
III.  Founding a Report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the incident occurred; and 
 

• Determined that the child is/was facing a realistic and serious threat of harm; 
and  

 
• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the parent or caretaker created a 

significant and realistic threat of harm as defined above in  
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THROWING A CHILD (Priority II) 
 

I. Definition 
 

The parent or caretaker of the child has thrown, hurled or flung the child into an object or 
across a space. 
 

II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable cause to suspect that a 
child has been thrown, hurled, or flung by a parent or caretaker.  

 

B. Usage 
 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child has been thrown, hurled, or flung 
into an object or across space by his parent or caretaker.  

 

III. Founding a Report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child was thrown, hurled, or flung by a 
parent or caretaker into an object or across space and a physical injury occurred. 

 
NOTE: Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child when it is reasonable and moderate 

and is inflicted by a parent or guardian for purposes of restraining or correcting the 
child.  Reasonable and moderate physical discipline should cause no more than transient 
pain or minor temporary marks.   

 

NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the location of the injury and the frequency 
of recurrence of injuries shall be considered when determining whether the physical 
discipline is reasonable and moderate. 

 
 

TYING/CLOSE CONFINEMENT: (Priority II) 
 
I. Definition 
 

 Tying a  child to a fixed (or heavy) object, or binding or tying a child’s limbs together.    
 

Examples include, but are not limited to: 
 

•  
 

• Tying one or more limbs to a bed, chair, or other object except as authorized by a 
licensed physician. 

 

• Tying a child's hands or legs together. 



 
64 

II. Taking a report 
 

A.  An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause to suspect that a child 
was tied or closely confined as the result of maltreatment. 

 
B. Usage 

 

The reporter has reason to believe that the child was tied or closely confined as a 
result of one of the following: 
 

• A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (abuse). 
 

• The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable efforts to stop an    
action by another person that resulted in the child being tied or closely    
confined (failure to protect.) 

 

III. Founding a report 
 

This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after the Worker has: 
 

• Verified that the child is/was tied or closely confined; and 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the tying or close confinement was    
sustained as a result of maltreatment as defined in Section I.  If the alleged      
 offender contends that reasonable tying/close confinement was recommended 
by a physician or psychiatrist as a suggested means to ensure the child's safety 
or control the child's behavior, this must be verified by the physician or           
  psychiatrist.  
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UNDERAGED JUVENILE AGGRESSOR (UNDER 10 YEARS OF AGE) (Priority I) 
 
I. Definition: 
 

Sexual abuse by a child younger than ten (10) years of age of another child younger than 
eighteen (18) years of age.  The sexual abuse may be any of the following acts: 
 

 

• Any contact or attempted contact between the sex organ of one child and the mouth 
of another child. 

 

• Any act of sexual gratification involving the touching, directly or through clothing, of 
the sex organs, buttocks or anus of another child or the breast of a female child. 

 
 

• Any penetration, however slight, of the anus or mouth of another child by his penis  
 

• The penetration of the labia majora or anus of another child by any body member or 
foreign instrument manipulated by the child being assessed.  

 
II. Taking a Report 
 

A. An acceptable reporter is any person, who has reasonable cause to suspect that a 
child (under age 10 years) has sexually abused another child 

 

B. Usage 
  

The reported age of the child being investigated in under the age of 10. 
 

III.       Founding a Report 
 

A determination may be made only after the Worker has: 
 
 

• Established the exact age of the child being assessed and whether or not he/she has s
 sexually abused (such as the behaviors listed above) another child; and 
 
 

• Secured a preponderance of evidence that the sexual abuse or attempted sexual abuse 
either occurred or did not occur. 

 
The overall finding or determination will be one of the following: 

 

• Unfounded (unsubstantiated) - If there is no preponderance of evidence that the sexual 
abuse occurred. 

 

• Exempt From Finding (under ten years of age) – There is a preponderance of evidence 
that the sexual abuse occurred AND the child being assessed is less than ten (10) years 
old. 
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NOTE:  If there is a preponderance of evidence that the sexual abuse occurred AND the 
child being assessed is ten (10) years of age or older, then an overall finding or determination 
of “True” will fall under one of the following types of sexual child maltreatment, whichever 
is most appropriate –  
 

1. Oral Sex 
 

2. Pornography/Live Sex Act Exposure 
 

3. Sexual Contact 
 

4. Sexual Exploitation 
 

5. Sexual Penetration 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


	PROCEDURE (II-E10):  Protective Custody of Child in Immediat
	The Family Service Worker will:
	Take the child into Protective Custody for up to 72 hours if
	A 72 hour hold can be exercised on any child who is dependen
	In cases where domestic abuse is involved (see glossary for 
	An order of protection issued by a court of competent jurisd
	Notify the OCC attorney immediately that  Protective Custody
	Make a determination whether to recommend to the court that 
	Determine whether the grandparents have the right to notice 
	The grandchild resided with the grandparent for at least 6 c
	The grandparent was the primary financial caregiver during t
	The continuous custody occurred within one year of the initi
	Note:  “Grandparent” does not mean a parent of a putative fa
	Provide the OCC attorney with the name and address of any gr
	Prepare an affidavit immediately and give it to the OCC atto
	Have the child thoroughly examined by a physician within 24 
	Place the child in an appropriate licensed or approved place
	NOTE:  The child is in the custody of the department, theref
	Conduct a review of the home that will include a visual insp
	The child(ren), if age appropriate, should also be interview
	Non-relative placements, other than approved foster homes or
	Notify the Intake Officer of the Juvenile Division of Circui
	Complete and route “Protective Custody/Parental Notification
	Open an Out-of-Home Placement case.
	Return the child to the legal custodian if the emergency nec
	Notify the OCC attorney immediately if the child returns hom
	Close the Out-of-Home Placement case.
	Determine whether to open a non-court involved Protective Se
	All hearings involving allegations and reports of child malt
	VI. SERVICES TO REUNIFY FAMILIES
	POLICY (VI-A): OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENT CRITERIA

	The state of Arkansas is not a voluntary placement state.  T
	After the Department removes the child or the court grants c
	In an effort to preserve family connections, a child in fost
	“Relative” means a person within the fifth degree of kinship
	The child is in the custody of the department, therefore, th
	If the relative opts to have his or her home opened as a Pro
	If the relative’s home is not fully licensed as a foster hom
	The court shall not specify a particular provider for placem
	When it is in the best interest of each of the children, the
	The names, addresses, and phone numbers of any relatives who
	The names, addresses, and phone numbers and other identifyin
	Any information regarding possible membership or descent fro
	Information necessary to determine financial eligibility for
	Placement or custody of a child in the home of a relative sh
	If the relative meets all relevant child protection standard
	(1) The relative becoming a DHS relative foster home; or
	(2) The relative obtaining legal custody of the child.
	The child shall remain in a licensed or approved foster home
	If the court grants custody of the child to the relative:
	The child shall not be placed back in the custody of the Dep
	The relative shall not receive any financial assistance, inc
	The Department shall not be ordered to pay the equivalent of
	Children who are in the custody of the Department shall be a
	When a child leaves the custody of the Department and the co
	Placement shall be chosen:
	To ensure the health and safety of a child;
	To ensure that caretakers have the skills and training suffi
	To keep the child in close proximity to the family, if possi
	The Department shall make reasonable efforts to:
	Maintain the family unit and prevent the unnecessary removal
	Effect the safe reunification of the child and family (if te
	Make and finalize alternate permanency plans in a timely man
	Within 30 days of a child being placed in DHS custody, the D
	After a child is placed out of the home, reasonable efforts 
	Reasonable efforts to reunite a child with his parent(s) sha
	Subjected the child to aggravated circumstances; (See Glossa
	Committed murder (which would have been an offense under sec
	Committed voluntary manslaughter (which would have been an o
	Aided or abetted, attempted, conspired, or solicited to comm
	Committed a felony, battery, or assault that results in seri
	Had the parental rights involuntarily terminated as to a sib
	Abandoned an infant (not the same as “Voluntary Delivery of 
	If reasonable efforts to reunify are determined by a court t
	If the court recommends that reunification services should n
	The burden of presenting the case shall be on the requesting
	PROCEDURE (VI-A1): Out-of-Home Placement Criteria

	The Family Service Worker will:
	Consider placement with appropriate relatives in a Kinship F
	Place a child in a provisional relative foster home if a rel
	NOTE: The child is in the custody of the department, therefo
	Conduct a review of the home that will include a visual insp
	The review of the home will also include the completion of t
	Request an Alternative Compliance for a Provisional Relative
	Provide an orientation session with the family at the time o
	Provide an initial clothing order to the child.  When a chil
	Complete all actions identified in Policy III-A “Services Ca
	Complete all of the medical exam requirements for the child 
	Complete all case opening functions as outlined in Policy IV
	Visit the child in the relative’s home as required in policy
	Assist the relatives in applying for benefits. Until the rel
	Ensure that the family is completing the process for foster 
	Assess the situation if the family does not come into compli
	All Alternative Compliance requests must go up the chain of 
	The  Area Manager  will:
	Review the request for alternative compliance
	Assure necessary documentation is included with the request.
	If the request is appropriate, the Area  Manager  will:
	Prepare a cover memo to the Program Administrator
	Place the words “Alternative Compliance Request” in the subj
	Summarize in the body of the memo (a) What action is being r
	Include with the request:
	A copy of  the current home study
	The date of the next court hearing
	Copies of the Central Registry Checks
	Copies of the State Police Checks
	A copy of the physical, if age is the issue
	Copy of the results of the FBI search, if residency is an is
	If the issue is misdemeanor or felony activity, a written ex
	The Program Administrator will:
	Review the request for appropriateness
	Forward the request to the Assistant Director of Community S
	The DCFS Director can approve an Alternative Compliance for 
	PROVISIONAL RELATIVE HOMES [Temporary Family Placement (No B
	The FSW caseworker must inform the Resource Worker of a rela
	The Resource Worker must enter this family into CHRIS as a P
	The Resource Worker will need to coordinate with the FSW to 
	In CHRIS:
	Click Provider button and click New button:
	General Information Screen:
	General Information Tab:
	Click Person radio button
	Enter First and Last Name of Head of Household 1
	Address/Telephone Tab:
	Select Physical Location Address and enter address
	Enter School District
	Enter Phone Number
	AKA Tab:
	Enter Person name, if known by another name
	Services Tab:
	Click Placement Services radio button
	Select Temporary Family Placement (No Board)
	Enter Services Start Date
	Select Parenting Structure
	Click Add button
	Click New button (to enter another Placement Service)
	Click Placement Services radio button
	Select Foster Family Home
	Enter Services Start Date
	Select Parenting Structure
	Click Change button
	Contact Person Tab:
	Contact Type: Select Person Responsible for Provider and ent
	Services Provided: Highlight Select Temporary Family Placeme
	Members Button:
	Provider Household Members:
	Household Information Tab – complete all fields on this tab 
	Required Checks Tab – complete all necessary requirements es
	Relations Button:
	Provider Household Relationships screen – complete relations
	Services Management Button:
	Click OK on highlighted Temporary Family Placement (No Board
	Admissions Button – complete fields, click Add
	Rates Button – Payment Scale defaults to None
	Details Button – complete mandatory fields (yellow) and clic
	Contacts Button:
	Provider Contact Screen – click New and enter your contacts 
	[Note: Within the next six months, the family will be meetin
	When the family has an approved Foster Family service, the T
	Click General Information Button:
	Services Tab – enter the date in the Services End Date field
	Utilize court-ordered relative information obtained from the
	If the relative meets all relevant child protection standard
	The relative becoming a DHS relative foster home; or
	The relative obtaining legal custody of the child.  See Poli
	Complete the CFS-452 (Relative Placement Kinship Care/Relati
	Select the Out-of-Home Placement that best fits the needs of
	Complete the CFS-462A (Foster Home Agreement Addendum) at th
	Document placement selection on the “Case Plan” (CFS-6010) b
	Arrange at least one (1) pre-placement visit for the child b
	Contact the OCC Attorney immediately if there is any indicat
	Provide the child’s parent(s) with a copy of PUB-11 (Your Ch
	CFS-316      Jul 11 05.pdf
	Arkansas Department of Human Services
	Division of Children and Family Services
	REQUEST FOR CPS CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK
	Authorization for Release of Confidential Information contai
	A. Type Of Application: Foster Parent       Adoptive Parent 
	B. I,          authorize the Arkansas Child Protective Servi
	This information should be addressed to:  Attn:         
	Worker/Title
	     
	Office Requesting the Report
	     
	Address
	D.
	Applicant's Signature Date SSN Age/DOB Race
	E. Other names I have been known by:
	F. Residential History for last 10 years:
	Present Address (since________, 20___):
	Previous Addresses:
	1)
	3)
	From to
	From to
	2)
	4)
	From to
	From to
	G. Children Now Residing or Who Have Resided In The Home:
	Full Name DOB/Age Relationship
	Full Name DOB/Age Relationship
	Full Name DOB/Age Relationship
	Full Name DOB/Age Relationship
	Full Name DOB/Age Relationship
	Full Name DOB/Age Relationship
	H. This information is requested by DHS staff for internal u
	Signature of Requesting Agent:
	I. Results:   No information found  Information found report

	CFS-342A.pdf
	Arkansas Department of Human Services
	Division of Children and Family Services
	AR920340Z
	FOSTER CARE CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK


	Provisional Relative Foster Home   Regular Foster Home      
	THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY DCFS WORKER
	     
	     
	County Requesting Check and Report
	(   )      
	Name of DCFS Worker Requesting the Check
	     
	Telephone Number
	     /     
	Title
	     
	Street Address/County Number
	              
	Area/Area Manager
	     
	City State Zip Code
	Date of Request
	THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON TO BE CHECKED
	LEGAL NAME:
	Last (Include Jr., II, III) First Middle
	MAIDEN / ALIAS NAME:
	CURRENT
	MAILING ADDRESS:
	DATE
	OF BIRTH:   AGE:    RACE:    SEX:  Male      Female
	SOCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE OR
	SECURITY NUMBER:  IDENTIFICATION NUMBER:
	LICENSE/IDENTIFICATION DRIVER’S LICENSE
	NUMBER ISSUED BY STATE OF  EXPIRATION DATE:
	“I hereby authorize the Department of Human Services to obta
	SIGNATURE:    DATE:  _____________________
	SEE ROUTING INSTRUCTIONS ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM
	Statement of Oath:  I state on oath that the representations
	Signature of Applicant/Employee Date
	State of Arkansas; County of ________________________.   Sub
	Notary Public
	My Commission Expires on __________________________, _______
	THIS SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON DOING THE CHEC
	            
	Signature of Person Doing the Check                     Date

	CFS-342A_Instr.pdf
	Instructions for CFS-342A
	Foster Care Criminal Record Check

	General Instructions
	Purpose:  The CFS-342A will be used to authorize criminal re
	To prevent delays caused by incomplete forms, the county sup
	Expedited checks:  Check the appropriate box at the top of t
	Repeated checks:  Per Act 1041 of 1997, any person required 
	Routing
	Send the Criminal Record Check information in an envelope st
	Arkansas Department of Human Services�Division of Children a
	For expedited checks the CFS-342A can be faxed to the Foster

	CFS-342B Jun 16 05.pdf
	Arkansas Department of Human Services
	Division of Children and Family Services
	AR920090Z
	STATE ADOPTIONS CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK


	Expedited Check  Regular Check
	THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY DCFS  WORKER
	     
	     
	County Requesting Check and Report
	(   )      
	Name of DCFS Worker Requesting the Check
	     
	Telephone Number
	     /     
	Title
	     
	Street Address/County Number
	              
	Area/Adoption Supervisor
	     
	City State Zip Code
	Date of Request
	THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON TO BE CHECKED
	LEGAL NAME:
	Last (Include Jr., II, III) First Middle
	MAIDEN / ALIAS NAME:
	CURRENT
	MAILING ADDRESS:
	DATE
	OF BIRTH:   AGE:    RACE:    SEX:  Male      Female
	SOCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE OR
	SECURITY NUMBER:    IDENTIFICATION NUMBER:
	LICENSE/IDENTIFICATION DRIVER’S LICENSE
	NUMBER ISSUED BY STATE OF   EXPIRATION DATE:  ______________
	“I hereby authorize the Department of Human Services to obta
	SIGNATURE:                                                  
	SEE ROUTING INSTRUCTIONS ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM
	Statement of Oath:  I state on oath that the representations
	Signature of Applicant/Employee Date
	State of Arkansas; County of ________________________.   Sub
	Notary Public
	My Commission Expires on __________________________, _______
	THIS SECTION IS TO BE COMPLETED BY THE PERSON DOING THE CHEC
	            
	Signature of Person Doing the Check                     Date

	CFS-342B_Instr Jun 16 05.pdf
	Instructions for CFS-342B
	State Adoptions Criminal Record Check
	General Instructions
	Purpose:  The CFS-342B will be used to authorize criminal re
	To prevent delays caused by incomplete forms, the county sup
	Expedited checks:  Expedited reports will be completed withi
	Repeated checks:  Per Act 1041 of 1997, any person required 
	Routing
	Send the Criminal Record Check information in an envelope st
	Arkansas Department of Human Services�Division of Children a
	For expedited checks the CFS-342B can be faxed to the Foster

	CFS-344B - Foster Parent Criminal Record Check.pdf
	AR920230Z
	Division of Children and Family Services
	FOSTER PARENT CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK
	COUNTY         ___________ DATE


	APPLICANT’S LEGAL NAME                  
	Last (Include Jr., II, III) First Middle
	MAIDEN NAME/ALIAS NAME(s)      
	CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS                        


	Street Address City State Zip Code
	DATE OF BIRTH         AGE         SEX         RACE       
	DRIVER’S LICENSE or
	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER          IDENTIFICATION (ID) #      
	DRIVER’S LICENSE / ID # DRIVER’S LICENSE



	ISSUED BY STATE OF         EXPIRATION DATE       
	A criminal background check is required for prospective fost
	Family Services
	I hereby authorize the Division of Children and Family Servi
	APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE   DATE
	Send criminal background information in an envelope stamped 
	Arkansas Department of Human Services
	Division of Children and Family Services
	ATTN:  George Weber
	P. O. Box 1437, Slot S562

	Little Rock, Arkansas  72203-1437
	Phone (501) 682-8747

	STATEMENT OF OATH:
	“I state on oath that the representations made herein are tr
	APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE   DATE
	State of Arkansas; County of       
	Subscribed and sworn before me, a Notary Public in and for t
	state aforesaid, this         day of        (month),        
	NOTARY PUBLIC



	My Commission expires on  ,   (year).
	I.D. BUREAU USE ONLY

	Civil Record Check @ $20.00  80000 FBI Record Check @ $24.00

	CFS-474 - Provisional FH Orient Checklist - 06-17-05.pdf
	Arkansas Department of Human Services
	Division of Children and Family Services
	PROVISIONAL FOSTER HOME ORIENTATION CHECKLIST
	Name of Foster Child:        County:         
	Name of Family (Husband & Wife or Single Parent):         
	Each item should be checked off as it is completed.

	Purpose of Orientation
	Act 874
	DCFS Policy
	Procedure (II-E10): Protective Custody of Child in Immediate
	Policy VI-A: Out-of-Home Placement Criteria/Procedure     VI
	Policy VI-J: Out-of-Home (Non-DHS) Custody/Relative Placemen
	Policy VII-A: Foster Parent Recruitment, Training, Approval,
	Foster Home Approval Process Flow Chart
	In-Home Consultation Visit Packet
	CFS-452 (Relative Placement Kinship Care/Relative Foster Car
	CFS-446 (In-Home Consultation Visit Report)
	ASVSP (AR State Vehicle Safety Program) application.
	CFS-593 (Additional Requirements for DCFS Drivers)
	Forms VSP-1 and VSP-2 (in the ASVSP publication)
	PUB -022 Standards for Approval of Foster Family Homes
	PUB-04 (Minimum Licensing Standards)
	CFS-316 (Request for CPS Central Registry Check)
	CFS-342A (Foster Care Criminal Record Check)
	CFS-349b (Request for Local Criminal Record Check)
	FBI Criminal Records Check needed?    Yes    No
	CFS-450 (Family Foster Home Study Application)
	PUB-030 (Family Foster Parent Handbook)
	Court Proceedings / Legal flow chart
	Family Meetings (Staffings)
	Visitation
	Child Development
	Overview of Loss/Separation Issues
	Discipline – no corporal or degrading punishment
	Financial Information
	Resources
	DHS and DCFS Mission Statements
	Please have the relative read and sign the following stateme
	I will not allow the offender access not supervised by the D
	I will not allow any contact with the offender that is not a
	I will not receive a board payment for the relative child pl
	I understand that if my home is not fully licensed as a fost
	     
	Relative’s Name (type or print)
	Relative’s Signature (Husband & Wife or Single Parent)     D
	      ____________________________
	Family Service Worker Name (type or print) Telephone Number
	FSW Supervisor’s Signature (Approval)    Date

	CFS-474_Instr - 06-17-05.pdf
	INSTRUCTIONS
	CFS-474
	PROVISIONAL FOSTER HOME ORIENTATION CHECKLIST
	PURPOSE
	To ensure that all the required subjects have been covered w
	COMPLETION
	There are fourteen topics.  Check off the box next to each t
	In topic number three (3) “DCFS Policy”, check off each sub-
	In topic number five (5) “In-Home Consultation Visit Packet”
	After all 14 topics have been fully covered with the relativ
	In the signatures section, type or write in the relative’s c
	Have the relative sign and date the form.
	In the signatures section, type or write in the FSW’s comple
	The FSW Supervisor will sign and date the form for approval.
	ROUTING
	Give a copy of the completed form to the relative (provision
	Put the original form in the relative’s provisional foster h


	TEEN HANDBOOK -03-17-05 Printing copy 4.pdf
	“YOU ARE NOT ALONE”
	(A guide to living in foster care)
	Foster Care “What’s Up”

	“Foster care is only what you make it.”
	Charlotte U.
	This handbook was created by the Youth Advisory Board (YAB) 
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	What’s Up about Foster Care
	Foster care provides a substitute family life for a child wh
	The goal of foster care is to work toward a permanent placem
	Foster care is a team effort involving DCFS, the family fost
	This handbook is developed to provide the child with informa
	Why a Child is Placed in Care
	A child is in foster care because the birth/legal family doe
	When a youth is placed in foster care, he/she has been deter
	Dependent Neglected Juvenile - any child who (as a result of
	Dependent Juvenile - a child whose parent is under the age o
	Family In Need of Services (FINS) - if a child is habitually
	The court is the only one that can order that a child be pla
	Placement Options for Youth in Care
	There are four options for placing a child who is in the cus
	Family foster home  -  An approved private residence of one 
	Kinship care foster home - An approved private residence of 
	A licensed facility.
	Adoption
	Visitation Policy

	Parent/Child Visitation
	Unless the courts orders otherwise, a child in foster care w
	A child can write and/or telephone their parents, also.
	Siblings (brothers and sisters of a child) Visitation
	Siblings visits shall take place at least once every two wee
	Rights of the Child
	Children have the right to:
	Live with their birth/legal family, if appropriate,
	Receive love, protection and support until they are grown up
	Be free from harm, neglect and abuse,
	Receive an education,
	Have physical care and medical attention,
	Enjoy family life,
	Receive discipline,
	Receive religious and moral training,
	Grow into independent adults,
	Appeal a change in placement and request assistance from the
	Speak with your worker as needed,
	A private conversation, if age-appropriate, during the weekl
	When the right to live with the child’s own birth/legal fami
	Be represented by legal counsel;
	Have their legal rights protected in any judicial procedure 
	Responsibilities Of
	DCFS to the child are:
	To place the child in a family foster home, kinship (relativ
	To place the child close to birth/legal parents to allow fre
	To have regular visits for the child with birth/legal parent
	To have a weekly visit with the child in the foster home and
	To give the child honest information regarding all decisions
	To allow the child to participate in case planning, conferen
	To keep a record for each child that includes legal document
	To help the child return to the birth/legal parents’ home at
	To prepare the child for independence.
	DCFS to the birth/legal parents are:
	To offer and provide services to avoid foster care if at all
	To inform the birth/legal parents of the reason for removing
	To advise birth/legal parents what conditions must be met in
	To return the child to the parent’s home when the necessary 
	Birth/legal parents are:
	To participate in staffings and court hearings;
	To keep appointments for visits and returning calls;
	To help develop the case plan;
	To make necessary changes or correct conditions which preven
	To provide financial support for the child.  The court will 
	Complaint Process for the Youth
	To resolve a complaint, the child should ask for a discussio
	Money to Foster Parents
	Foster care maintenance payments for a child in foster care 
	Foster parents shall receive a monthly board rate according 
	Birth through 5 years   $400.00 Monthly
	Board and Care    345.00
	Clothing      40.00
	Personal Needs      15.00
	6 through 11 years   $425.00 Monthly
	Board and Care    355.00
	Clothing      45.00
	School and Personal Needs     25.00
	12 through 14 years   $450.00 Monthly
	Board and Care    365.00
	Clothing      55.00
	School and Personal Needs     30.00
	15 through 17 years   $475.00 Monthly
	Board and Care    375.00
	Clothing      65.00
	School and Personal Needs     35.00
	How DCFS is Set UP
	Children and Family Services (CFS) is the Division within th
	The Director of the Department of Human Services appoints th
	Direct and contract services are provided through the Office
	Three other DCFS Offices support the Office of Community Ser
	The Office of Finance and Administrative Support is organize
	The Office of Community Support consisting of the following 
	The Office of Legislative Analysis, Research and Planning co
	Foster Care Services are provided by Family Service Worker (
	County and area staff are responsible for weekly visits to t
	Don’t Quit
	When things go wrong

	as they sometimes will,
	When the road you’re
	trudging seems all uphill.
	When the funds are low,
	and the debts are high,
	And you want to smile,
	but you have to sigh.
	When care is pressing
	you down a bit-
	Rest if you must
	but don’t you quit.
	Success is failure
	turned inside out,
	The silver tint of
	the clouds of doubt.
	And you never can tell
	how close you are
	it may be near when
	it seems afar.
	So, stick to the fight
	when you’re hardest hit-
	It is when things go wrong

	That you mustn’t quit.
	Submitted by Cindy W.
	�
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	Medicaid Transportation  Questions  1-888-987-1200
	�
	OTHER HELPFUL NUMBERS
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	Mission Statement:
	The Arkansas Youth Advisory Board (YAB) are responsible yout
	YAB members are in contact with other youth in their area ea
	The Department of Human Services (DHS) county office will in
	Dealing with Grief and Loss
	There are five (5) stages of the grief or loss process.
	1) Denial - In the denial stage a child will refuse to believe what has happened.  In his mind the child will tell himself that life is as it was before the loss.
	2) Anger - Anger is the next stage of grief.  A child may blame others or himself for the loss.
	3) Bargaining - Bargaining can be with yourself or if you are religious, with your god.  Often something will be offered to try to take away the truth of what has happened.  It is
	4) Depression - Depression is likely for all people that grieve for a loss.   Some of the feelings are like there is no purpose to life anymore or feeling guilty, like everything i
	5) Acceptance - The final stage of grief is acceptance. It is when the child realizes that life has to go on. The child can accept his loss.  The child should now be able to regain

	An Example of How to Deal with Counseling (A true story)
	I am a sufferer of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.  I have ha
	From that point I began to tell my psychiatrist about this s
	I enjoyed the meetings with my psychiatrist because he made 
	Now that I am 24, I have a little more perspective on what w
	�
	What did not work for me was the attitudes of certain servic
	I was very fortunate for the most part growing up with OCD. 
	Reprinted with permission:  Anonymous (2001). I am a suffere
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	What’s Up About a Child’s Personal Information
	DCFS will protect the child’s personal information.  DCFS wi
	DCFS will give consideration to protecting the child’s ident
	As long as a child is not identified as a foster child, he/s
	Resolutions for avoiding misery:
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	Attorney Ad Litem –  This is the child’s attorney  who is ap
	CASA –  This person is a volunteer advocate that is appointe
	Case Plan – A plan that DCFS makes along with the child and 
	Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP) – Works with
	Child Maltreatment – Physical abuse, sexual abuse, emotional
	Foster Care -   A safe place for the child to stay while the
	Independence – A plan for a child who will not be reunited w
	Court Procedures and Legal Terminology
	When a child is placed in the custody of the State of Arkans
	Protective Custody – If circumstances of the child or home p
	Permanency Planning Hearing – A meeting in court to review t
	Termination of Parental Rights – To free a child for adoptio
	New Independent Living Legislation
	The Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP), formerly the Title IV-E Independent Living Initiative) was established and formally funded in 1993 to assist teens who choose t
	The 1994 Angela R. Settlement Agreement charged the Division
	Since December 1999, the Chafee program can now provide age-
	CFCIP
	The Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP) provides
	Assistance is also available to former foster youth who are 
	CFCIP provides support for:
	Children in foster care ages 14-17.
	Services for this age group include:
	the Ansell-Casey Life Skills Assessment,
	basic life skills training, and
	other service, such as tutoring that can be approved on a ca
	Children who remain in DHS custody, between the ages of 18 a
	If a youth was in foster care on his 18th birthday, and his 
	After Care services include:
	limited room and board,
	limited start-up assistance, and
	staff services and life-skills training sessions to acquire 
	PUB-404 (Chafee Foster Care Independence Program Handbook) p
	Education, Employment, Housing, Health Care
	Within the Chafee Foster Care Independence Program (CFCIP), 
	The Arkansas Education and Training Voucher Program
	(AR-ETV)
	What is AR-ETV?
	A federally funded program that offers students up to $5000 
	Who is eligible?
	Young people who are or were in foster care and are ages 18 
	Young people adopted from foster care after the age of 16
	Participants must be accepted into or enrolled in an accredi
	Participation is renewable until age 23
	Funds can be used for:
	Tuition
	Books/Computers
	School supplies
	Living Expenses (rent, child care, health insurance, groceri
	How to apply:
	Go to www.statevoucher.org click on Arkansas on the map
	Fill in an application
	Submit the paperwork
	Note: Please direct questions to Orphan Foundation of Americ
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	DEFINITIONS
	GENERAL:
	ABUSE - Any of the following acts or omissions by a parent, 
	Extreme or repeated cruelty to a juvenile;
	Engaging in conduct creating a realistic and serious threat 
	Injury to a juvenile’s intellectual, emotional or psychologi
	Any history that is at variance with the history given.
	Any non-accidental physical injury.
	Any of the following intentional or knowing acts, with physi
	Throwing, kicking, burning, biting or cutting a child;
	Striking a child with a closed fist;
	Shaking a child; or
	Striking a child age seven or older on the face or head.
	Any of the following intentional or knowing acts, with or wi
	Striking a child age six or younger on the face or head;
	Shaking a child age three or younger;
	Interfering with a child’s breathing;
	Pinching, biting, or striking a child in the genital area;
	Tying a child to a fixed or heavy object or binding or tying
	Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a 
	DEFINITIONS
	Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a 
	Marijuana;
	Alcohol (excluding alcohol given to a child during a recogni
	Narcotics; or
	Over-the-counter drugs (if a person purposely administers an overdose to a child or purposely administers an inappropriate over-the-counter drug to a child and the child is detrime
	Exposing the child to chemicals that have the capacity to in
	Subjecting a child to Munchausen’s Syndrome by Proxy or a Fa
	NOTE:  The prior list of unreasonable actions is considered 
	No unreasonable action shall be construed to permit a findin
	“Abuse” shall not include physical discipline of a child whe
	Abuse shall not include when a child suffers transient pain 
	The person exercising the restraint is an employee of an age
	The agency has policy and procedures regarding restraints;
	No other alternative exists to control the child except for 
	The child is in danger of hurting himself or others;
	The person exercising the restraint has been trained in prop
	DEFINITIONS
	The restraint is for a reasonable period of time.
	Reasonable and moderate physical discipline inflicted by a p
	The age, size and condition of the child and the location of
	DEATH – The permanent cessation of all vital, bodily functio
	NEGLECT - Acts or omissions of a parent, guardian, custodian
	Failure or refusal to prevent the abuse of the juvenile when
	Failure or refusal to provide the necessary food, clothing, 
	Failure to take reasonable action to protect the juvenile fr
	Failure or irremediable inability to provide for the essenti
	Failure to provide for the juvenile’s care and maintenance, 
	DEFINITIONS
	Failure, although able, to assume responsibility for the car
	Failure to appropriately supervise the juvenile that result’
	SEXUAL ABUSE –
	By a person ten (10) years of age or older to a person young
	Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activ
	Indecent exposure, or forcing, the watching of pornography o
	By a person eighteen (18) years of age or older to a person 
	Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activ
	By a sibling or caretaker to a person younger than eighteen 
	Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activ
	By a caretaker to a person younger than eighteen (18) years 
	Forcing or encouraging the watching of pornography;
	Forcing, permitting, or encouraging the watching of live sex
	By a person younger than ten (10) years of age to a person y
	Actual or attempted sexual intercourse, deviate sexual activ
	MALTREATMENT TYPES:
	Most of the types of child maltreatment defined in the Child
	Those types of child maltreatment not defined directly by th
	ACCEPTING CHILD ABUSE HOTLINE REPORTS OF CHILD MALTREATMENT 
	The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child m
	The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and
	The person making the report is one of the following:
	The adult victim (who was a child at the time of the maltrea
	A law enforcement officer;
	The victim’s counselor or therapist; or
	The offender’s counselor or therapist.
	CHILD MALTREATMENT ASSESSMENT PROTOCOL
	ABANDONMENT (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Ark. Code Annotated 12-12-503(1 ): "Abandonment" means the f
	NOTE:  Abandonment is parental conduct, which demonstrates i
	parental or custodial rights and claims to the child.  Aband
	parental or caretaker conduct which evinces a settled purpos
	and relinquish parental claims to the child.  Abandonment do
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	was abandoned.
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been aba
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that a child has been abandoned; and
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the parent's or gua
	ABUSE WITH A DEADLY WEAPON (Priority I)
	I. Definition - The assault or attempt to assault an individ
	A gunshot, stabbing injury, other injuries, or the attempt t
	A deadly weapon is any weapon or object that, under the circ
	Assault is conduct, which creates a substantial risk of deat
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	has received an injury as a result of abuse with a deadly we
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that abuse with a deadly 
	one of the following:
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	.
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the parent or caretaker attempted to injure th
	Verified that the child currently has a wound caused by a de
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the wound was susta
	Verified that a weapon was used to threaten bodily harm.
	BONE FRACTURES (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	A fracture is a broken bone.  There are ten types of fractur
	Chip fracture: A small piece of bone is flaked from the majo
	Simple fracture: The bone is broken, but there is no externa
	Compound fracture: The bone is broken, and there is an exter
	Comminuted fracture: The bone is broken or splintered into p
	Spiral fracture: Twisting causes the line of the fracture to
	Coroner fracture (metaphysical): Caused by a pulling or jerk
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the bone fracture re
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent, caretaker, or
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child currently has a bone fracture or has
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the bone fracture w
	BRAIN DAMAGE/SKULL FRACTURE (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Brain damage is an injury to the large, soft mass of nerve t
	Skull fracture is a broken bone in the skull.
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	sustained brain damage or a skull fracture as the result of 
	B.  Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the brain damage or 
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent, caretaker or 
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child is currently brain damaged or has a 
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the brain damage or
	BURNS / SCALDING (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Burns are any tissue injury resulting from excessive exposur
	First degree: Superficial burns, with damage being limited t
	Second degree or partial thickness burn: The damage extends 
	Third degree or full thickness burn: Burns in which the skin
	Scalding is a burn to the skin or flesh caused by moist heat
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	sustained a burn or was scalded as the result of maltreatmen
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the burn or scalding
	the following:
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that a child has been burned or scalded.  Severe bu
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the burn or scaldin
	CUTS, BRUISES, & WELTS (Priority I, referred to Crimes Against Children Division if the
	child is age 3 or under and the injury is reported by medica
	or law enforcement and involves injury to the head, face, ne
	buttocks.  All other reports to be  referred to DCFS.)
	I.          Definition
	Cut (laceration): An opening, incision, or break in the skin
	Bruise (ecchymosis): An injury which results in bleeding wit
	Welt: An elevation on the skin produced by a lash, blow, or 
	NOTE: Regardless of the child’s age, depending on the locati
	The investigation of bruises cuts or welts in or on any port
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	sustained a cut, bruise, or welt as a result of maltreatment
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the cut, bruise, or 
	the following:
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	NOTE: The hotline shall accept a report of physical abuse in
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child currently has a cut, bruise, or welt
	If the bruise was not visible at the time of the report, the
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the cut, bruise, or
	Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child when i
	moderate and is inflicted by a parent or guardian for purpos
	correcting the child.  Reasonable and moderate physical disc
	more than transient pain or minor temporary marks.
	The age, size and condition of the child and the location of
	EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	Any child who is not meeting compulsory school attendance re
	her parent or custodian is failing or refusing to enforce th
	educationally neglected.  A parent or custodian is failing o
	compulsory attendance requirements if:
	The parent or guardian having custody or charge of any child
	The parent or guardian having custody or charge of a child o
	Examples of educational neglect include:
	The parent or custodian who does not enroll the child in sch
	The parent or custodian who prevents a child from attending 
	The parent or custodian who does not take reasonable action 
	The parent or custodian who has not made arrangements to hom
	NOTE: Failure to follow an Individualized Educational Progra
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	is educationally neglected.
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a child is not home 
	The parent or custodian did not enroll the child in the scho
	The parent or custodian disregards the responsibility to ens
	The parent or custodian has not taken the necessary steps to
	C. Factors to be considered in taking and/or founding a repo
	The child's physical condition, particularly as it relates t
	The child's mental abilities, particularly concerning the ch
	The number of days missed, and
	The parent's or custodian's attempts to ensure that the chil
	The parent or custodian has hand-delivered to the superinten
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child is not or was not meeting mandated e
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is/has be
	Verified the parent or custodian has failed to provide writt
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	ENVIRONMENTAL NEGLECT (Priority II)
	I.  Definition
	The child's person, clothing, or living conditions are unsan
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child is living 
	C. Factors to be considered
	Special attention should be paid to the age of the child, th
	In addition, the following incident factors should be consid
	Severity of the conditions,
	Frequency of the conditions,
	Duration of the conditions, and
	Chronicity or pattern of similar conditions.
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the conditions described exist or had existed;
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the unhealthful/uns
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above, and determined 
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child was maltrea
	EXTREME OR REPEATED CRUELTY TO A JUVENILE (Priority II)
	Definition

	The offender engages in  activity that results in  pain, suf
	II.  Taking a Report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable c
	B. Usage

	The reporter has reason to believe that a juvenile has been 
	III.  Founding a Report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Verified that a juvenile has been subjected to extreme (exce
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a juvenile was subj
	Documented that all other types of child maltreatment have b
	FAILURE TO PROTECT (Priority I or II)
	I. Definition
	Failure of an individual responsible for the care of a child
	This allegation may include situations in which a person wit
	NOTE: The type of maltreatment from which the caregiver fail
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that failure to protect r
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	A blatant disregard by the parent or caretaker of his or her
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	An individual responsible for the care of a child had or sho
	NOTE: A finding of failure to protect should not be made aga
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that failure to protect 
	FAILURE TO THRIVE  (Priority I)
	I.  Definition
	A clinical term used by pediatric clinicians to describe inf
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B.        Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child has failur
	C.        Factors to be considered
	Central to the definition of Failure-To-Thrive is abnormal g
	The child's symptoms, i.e. weight and/or velocity of growth 
	There appears to be significant environmental or psychosocia
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child has or had failure to thrive (such v
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the failure to thri
	HUMAN BITES (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	A bruise or cut in the skin caused by human teeth.
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the human bite resul
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent, caretaker, or
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to appropriately supe
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child currently has a human bite or has su
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the human bite was 
	IMMERSION (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Interference with a child's ability to breathe by holding th
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B.  Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe immersion resulted from o
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that a child has been immersed and restricted breat
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the immersion occur
	INADEQUATE CLOTHING (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	Lack of adequate clothing to protect the child from the elem
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a child is or recent
	C. Incident factors to be considered
	Frequency of the incident,
	Duration of the incident,
	Chronicity or pattern of similar incidents,
	Weather conditions such as extreme heat or extreme cold.
	NOTE: Evidence of physical harm to the child such as frostbi
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the incident or circumstances occurred; and
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is/has be
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	The mere availability of clothing is not sufficient to unfou
	INADEQUATE FOOD (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	Inadequate food is a lack of food adequate to sustain normal
	Examples include:
	The child who frequently and repeatedly misses meals or who 
	The child who frequently and repeatedly asks a neighbor for 
	The child who is frequently and repeatedly fed unwholesome f
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child has not re
	C. Incident factors to be considered:
	Frequency of the occurrence,
	Duration of the occurrence,
	Pattern or chronicity of occurrence,
	Previous history of occurrences,
	Availability of adequate food.
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the incident or circumstances occurred; and
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child received/
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	NOTE: Lack of food in the home is not sufficient to indicate
	INADEQUATE SHELTER (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	Lack of shelter which is safe and which protects from the el
	Examples of inadequate shelter include, but are not limited 
	No housing or shelter.
	Exposed, frayed electrical wiring.
	Housing with structural defects that  endanger the health or
	Housing with indoor temperatures consistently below 50 degre
	Housing which is a significant fire hazard obvious to the re
	Housing with an unsafe heat source, which poses a significan
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	is being inadequately sheltered.
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child is being i
	C. Shelter factors to be considered include:
	Seriousness of the problem.
	Frequency of the problem
	Duration of the problem.
	Pattern or chronicity of the problem.
	Previous history of shelter-related problems.
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the incident or circumstances occurred; and
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is being 
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	INADEQUATE SUPERVISION (Priority II)
	I.  Definition
	The parent or caretaker has failed to appropriately supervis
	Examples include, but are not limited to:
	Leaving the juvenile alone when the juvenile is too young to
	Leaving a juvenile alone when the juvenile has a condition t
	Leaving a juvenile in the care of an inadequate or inappropr
	Being present but unable to supervise because of the caretak
	Leaving a juvenile unattended in a place that is unsafe cons
	NOTE: The mere occurrence of a parent or caretaker being arr
	II. Taking a report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the juvenile has bee
	C. Factors to be considered
	Caretaker factors include:
	How long does it take the caretaker to reach the juvenile?
	Can the caretaker see and hear the juvenile?
	Is the caretaker accessible by telephone or pager?
	Is the caretaker mature enough to assume responsibility for 
	Is the caretaker physically, mentally, and emotionally able 
	Is the caretaker able to make appropriate judgments on the j
	Incident factors include:
	Frequency of the occurrence.
	Duration of the occurrence.
	Time of day or night when the incident occurs.
	Juvenile’s location.
	Other supporting persons who have agreed to assist in superv
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified/secured a preponderance of evidence that inadequate
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the inadequate supe
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	INDECENT EXPOSURE (Priority I)
	Definition

	The exposure by a person aged 10 years or older of the perso
	II. Taking a Report
	A.   An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable
	B.   Usage

	The reporter has reason to believe that a person exposed his
	III. Founding a Report

	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a person aged 10 ye
	INTERFERING WITH A CHILD’S BREATHING   (Priority I)
	This category of child maltreatment is contained within anot
	INTERNAL INJURIES (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Internal injury is an injury, which is not visible from the 
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the internal injurie
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to stop an action by 
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child currently has internal injuries or h
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the internal injury
	KICKING A CHILD (Priority II)
	Definition
	The parent or caretaker has used a foot to deliver a non-acc
	Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child has sustai
	Founding a Report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child sustained
	Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child when i
	NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the locat
	LOCKOUT (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	The parent or caretaker has denied the child access to the h
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child has been d
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child was denied access to the home by the
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the lockout occurre
	MALNUTRITION (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Lack of necessary or proper food substances in the body caus
	The child with malnutrition is not simply a diminutive versi
	There are various physical signs of malnutrition, including 
	A decrease in lean body mass or fat; very prominent ribs; th
	The hair is often sparse, thin, dry, and is easily pulled ou
	The child is often pale and suffers from anemia.
	Excessive perspiration, especially about the head.
	The face appears lined and aged, often with a pinched and sh
	The skin has an old, wrinkled look with poor turgor.  Classi
	The abdomen is often protuberant.
	There are abnormal pulses, blood pressure, stool patterns, i
	II.         Taking a report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	B.        Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child was malnou
	Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child is/was malnourished (such verificati
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child was malno
	MEDICAL NEGLECT (Priority II)
	I.         Definition
	Lack of medical or mental treatment for a health problem or 
	II.        Taking a report
	A.        Acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable 
	B.        Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child has not or
	C        Factors to be considered
	Seriousness of the current health problem,
	Probable outcome if the current health problem is not treate
	Generally accepted medical benefits of the prescribed treatm
	Generally recognized side effects/harm associated with the p
	Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child has/had an untreated health problem,
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child is/was me
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	NOTE:  If the Family Service Worker determines that the pare
	IV.       Determining who is the offender
	When a person, usually a relative, has assumed full-time res
	MEDICAL NEGLECT OF DISABLED INFANTS (Priority I)
	Definition
	The act of withholding of appropriate nutrition, hydration, 
	Other types of treatment are not medically indicated when:
	The infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose,
	The provision of the treatment would be futile and would mer
	The provision of the treatment would be ineffective in ameli
	In determining whether treatment will be medically indicated
	NOTE:  Review FSPP Policy and Procedure Section II-F, Medica
	II.         Taking a report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	B.        Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the disabled infant 
	C.        Factors to be considered include:
	Infant’s physical condition,
	Seriousness of the current health problem,
	Probable medical outcome if the current health problem is no
	Generally accepted medical benefits of the prescribed treatm
	Generally recognized side effects/harms associated with the 
	The opinions of the Infant Care Review Committee (ICRC), if 
	The judgment of the individual designated by contract for th
	The parent’s knowledge and understanding of the treatment an
	On acceptance of this type allegation the Hot Line superviso
	Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that medical treatment (including appropriate nutri
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the infant is/has b
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	MENTAL INJURY (Priority II)
	I.         Definition
	Injury to the intellectual, emotional, or psychological deve
	II.        Taking a report
	A.        Any person with a reasonable cause to suspect that
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the mental injury re
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child has been mentally injured.  A psychi
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the mental injury r
	NOTE:  Under some circumstances, such as divorce, a mental i
	MUNCHAUSEN SYNDROME BY PROXY OR FACTITIOUS ILLNESS BY PROXY 
	I.          Definition
	A form of child maltreatment in which the parent or guardian
	II.        Taking a report
	A.  Acceptable reporters include medical personnel or medica
	B.   Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the parent or caregi
	Founding a report

	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child has been presented to a health care 
	Secured a preponderance of the evidence that the parent or c
	NEWBORN CHILD BORN WITH AN ILLEGAL SUBSTANCE IN ITS SYSTEM O
	I. Definition
	Causing a newborn child to be born with:
	An illegal substance present in the newborn’s bodily fluids 
	A health problem as a result of the mother’s use before birt
	“Illegal substance” means a drug that is prohibited to be us
	II. Taking a Report
	A. An acceptable reporter is limited to any one of the follo
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the newborn’s condit
	If a child is stillborn and the reporter believes it died as
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Verified that the newborn has an illegal substance in its bo
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the mother abused t
	NOTE: The finding is “Not true” if the newborn has no illega
	NOTE: A test of the newborn’s and/or mother’s bodily fluids 
	NOTE: If the nature of a child maltreatment report (Priority
	NOTE: CAPTA still requires a Plan of Safe Care for all infan
	ORAL SEX  (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Any contact, however slight or the attempted contact between
	This form of maltreatment does not require that the offender
	II. Taking a Report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child m
	The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and
	The person making the report is one of the following:
	The adult victim;
	A law enforcement officer;
	The victim’s counselor or therapist; or
	The offender’s counselor or therapist.
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that oral sex resulted fr
	following:
	A direct action by a parent or caretaker ten years of age or
	A direct action by any person under any of the following cir
	The alleged offender is ten (10) years of age or older and t
	By one person who is eighteen (18) or older to another who i
	By one person who is a caretaker or sibling of the other who
	By a person younger than ten (10) years of age (underaged ju
	NOTE: Forcible Compulsion is defined as physical force or a 
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Verified that the child has been involved in oral sex, or th
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the oral sex, or th
	PINCHING, BITING OR STRIKING A CHILD IN THE GENITAL AREA: (P
	Definition
	Any act of pinching, biting or striking, directly or through
	Taking a report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child was pinche
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child is/was pinched, bitten or struck in 
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the pinching, bitin
	POISON/NOXIOUS SUBSTANCES (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Poison is any substance, including mood-altering chemicals t
	Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a 
	Exposing a child to chemicals that have the capacity to inte
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe the child was poisoned or
	The parent or caretaker does a direct, non-accidental action
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	The offender blatantly disregards his responsibilities for t
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child has consumed, inhaled or been expose
	Verified that a child has been physically present, or has be
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the consumption, in
	NOTE: See Appendix VIII (Protocol for Family Service Workers
	PORNOGRAPHY/LIVE SEX ACT EXPOSURE   (Priority I)
	Definition

	The parent, caretaker or person forces, permits or encourage
	Pictures, movies or videos that lack serious literary, artis
	Material which depicts sexual conduct in a patently offensiv
	Any live human sexual activity.
	Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child m
	The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and
	The person making the report is one of the following:
	The adult victim;
	A law enforcement officer;
	The victim’s counselor or therapist; or
	The offender’s counselor or therapist.
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been for
	Founding a Report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child has been fo
	SEXUAL CONTACT (Priority I)
	Definition
	Any act of sexual gratification involving the touching, dire
	II. Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable caus
	The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child m
	1.  The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and
	2.  The person making the report is one of the following:
	The adult victim;
	A law enforcement officer;
	The victim’s counselor or therapist; or
	The offender’s counselor or therapist.
	Usage

	The reporter has reason to believe that sexual contact resul
	The alleged offender is ten (10) years of age or older and t
	By one person who is eighteen (18) or older  to another who 
	By one person who is a caretaker or sibling of the other who
	By a person younger than ten (10) years of age (underaged ju
	Forcible Compulsion is physical force or a threat, express o
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	Founding a Report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child has been th
	There must be evidence of sexual gratification.  Evidence of
	Normal affectionate hugging will not be construed as sexual 
	SEXUAL EXPLOITATION (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Allowing, permitting, or encouraging participation or depict
	This form of maltreatment does not require that the offender
	II.         Taking a report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child m
	The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and
	The person making the report is one of the following:
	The adult victim;
	A law enforcement officer;
	The victim’s counselor or therapist; or
	The offender’s counselor or therapist.
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been sex
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Verified that the child has been sexually exploited; and
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the sexual exploita
	SEXUAL  PENETRATION  (Priority I)
	Definition:
	Any penetration, however slight, of any part of the body of 
	This form of maltreatment does not require that the offender
	II         Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus

	The Child Abuse Hotline shall only accept reports of child m
	The alleged offender is a caretaker of any child; and
	The person making the report is one of the following:
	The adult victim;
	A law enforcement officer;
	The victim’s counselor or therapist; or
	The offender’s counselor or therapist.
	B. Usage

	The reporter has reason to believe that sexual penetration o
	A direct action by any person under any of the following cir
	The alleged offender is ten (10) years of age or older and t
	By one person who is eighteen (18) or older to another who i
	By one person who is a caretaker or sibling of the other who
	By a person younger than ten (10) years of age (underaged ju
	Forcible Compulsion – physical force or a threat, express or
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable an
	III. Founding a report

	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child was sexually penetrated; and
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the sexual penetrat
	SHAKING A CHILD AGE FOUR OR OLDER   (Priority II)
	Definition

	The parent or caretaker uses one or both hands to violently 
	Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable caus
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a child ages four or
	Founding a Report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child age four ye
	SHAKING A CHILD AGE THREE OR YOUNGER   (Priority II)
	Definition

	The parent or caretaker uses one or both hands to violently 
	Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable caus
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a child ages three o
	Founding a Report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child age three y
	SPRAINS/DISLOCATIONS (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	Sprain: trauma to a joint, which causes pain and disability 
	Discoloration: the displacement of any part, especially the 
	Complicated dislocation: a discoloration associated with oth
	Compound dislocation: a dislocation in which the joint is ex
	Closed dislocation: a simple dislocation.
	Complete dislocation: a dislocation that completely separate
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that a sprain or dislocat
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child currently has a sprain or dislocatio
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the sprain or dislo
	STRIKING A CHILD AGE SEVEN OR OLDER ON THE FACE OR HEAD (Pri
	Definition

	The victim child, age seven or older, has sustained a blow t
	II.  Taking a Report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable c
	B. Usage

	The reporter has reason to believe that a child has been int
	III.  Founding a Report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child ages seven 
	NOTE: Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child 
	NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the locat
	STRIKING A CHILD AGE SIX OR YOUNGER ON THE FACE OR HEAD (Pri
	I. Definition

	The victim child aged six years or younger has sustained an 
	Taking a Report

	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	Usage

	The reporter has reason to believe that a child aged six yea
	Founding a Report

	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that a child aged six ye
	STRIKING A CHILD WITH A CLOSED FIST  (Priority II)
	Definition
	The parent or caretaker has used a clenched hand to intentio
	Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable caus
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child has been i
	III.        Founding a Report
	This allegation may be founded only after the Worker has:
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child has been 
	NOTE: Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child 
	NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the locat
	SUBDURAL HEMATOMA (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Hematoma is a swelling or mass of blood (usually clotted) co
	Subdural means beneath the dura mater (the outer membrane co
	A subdural hematoma is located beneath the membrane covering
	II. Taking a report
	Acceptable reporters are medical personnel, medical faciliti
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the subdural hematom
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child currently has a subdural hematoma or
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the subdural hemato
	SUBSTANCE MISUSE (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	Giving a child or permitting a child to consume or inhale a substance not prescribed by a physician that has the capacity to alter the mood of the child.  The consumption of a subs
	Examples of substance misuse may include, but are not limite
	Giving a minor (unless prescribed by a physician) any amount
	Giving any mood altering substance, including alcohol or sed
	Encouraging, assisting, or permitting a child to consume alc
	Encouraging, assisting, or permitting an adolescent to consu
	Encouraging, assisting, or permitting any minor to consume a
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B.       Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the substance misuse
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	One or more of the foregoing persons encouraged or assisted 
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	A blatant disregard to responsibilities for the child's welf
	C. Factors to be considered
	The following factors should be considered when determining 
	Age of child.
	Frequency of substance misuse.
	Amount of substance consumed.
	Degree of behavior dysfunction, or physical impairment linke
	The child's culture, particularly as it relates to use of al
	Whether the parent's or caretaker's attempts to control an o
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that a child is currently involved in or has been i
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the substance misus
	Applied the factors in Section II, C, above and determined t
	SUFFOCATION (Priority I)
	Definition
	The parent or caretaker intentionally or knowingly uses any 
	II. Taking a report
	A. An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable caus
	B.  Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe suffocation resulted from
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	III. Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that a child has been suffocated.
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the suffocation occ
	THREAT OF HARM  (Priority I)
	I. Definition
	Conduct of the parent or caretaker creating a realistic and 
	II. Taking a report
	An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cause t
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the parent or careta
	A non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker.
	An intentional or knowing act of the parent or caretaker.
	III.  Founding a Report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the incident occurred; and
	Determined that the child is/was facing a realistic and seri
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the parent or caret
	THROWING A CHILD (Priority II)
	Definition

	The parent or caretaker of the child has thrown, hurled or f
	Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person who has reasonable caus
	Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child has been t
	Founding a Report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the child was throw
	NOTE: Abuse does not include physical discipline of a child 
	NOTE: The age, size and condition of the child and the locat
	TYING/CLOSE CONFINEMENT: (Priority II)
	I. Definition
	Tying a  child to a fixed (or heavy) object, or binding or t
	Examples include, but are not limited to:
	Tying one or more limbs to a bed, chair, or other object exc
	Tying a child's hands or legs together.
	II. Taking a report
	A.  An acceptable reporter is any person with reasonable cau
	B. Usage
	The reporter has reason to believe that the child was tied o
	A direct, non-accidental action of the parent or caretaker (
	The failure of the parent or caretaker to make reasonable ef
	Founding a report
	This allegation of maltreatment may be founded only after th
	Verified that the child is/was tied or closely confined; and
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the tying or close 
	UNDERAGED JUVENILE AGGRESSOR (UNDER 10 YEARS OF AGE) (Priori
	Definition:
	Sexual abuse by a child younger than ten (10) years of age o
	Any contact or attempted contact between the sex organ of on
	Any act of sexual gratification involving the touching, dire
	Any penetration, however slight, of the anus or mouth of ano
	The penetration of the labia majora or anus of another child
	Taking a Report
	An acceptable reporter is any person, who has reasonable cau
	B. Usage
	The reported age of the child being investigated in under th
	Founding a Report
	A determination may be made only after the Worker has:
	Established the exact age of the child being assessed and wh
	Secured a preponderance of evidence that the sexual abuse or
	The overall finding or determination will be one of the foll
	Unfounded (unsubstantiated) - If there is no preponderance o
	Exempt From Finding (under ten years of age) – There is a pr
	NOTE:  If there is a preponderance of evidence that the sexu
	Oral Sex
	Pornography/Live Sex Act Exposure
	Sexual Contact
	Sexual Exploitation
	Sexual Penetration
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