
Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy 

RULE 13 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

Pursuant to the provisions of the Act, the Board prescribes the following regulations amending 
requirements of continuing education to be met from time to time by licensees in order to 
maintain the highest standard of proficiency in the profession of public accountancy. 

13.1 Definitions that are applicable to Rule 13: 

(a) Continuing Professional Education (CPE): An integral part of lifelong learning 
required to provide competent professional accounting service to the public.  The 
set of activities that enables accounting professionals to maintain and increase their 
professional competence. 

(b) Group Program: An educational process designed to permit a participant to learn a 
given subject through interaction with an instructor and other participants either in 
a classroom setting or using the Internet (non-interactive Internet courses will not 
qualify in this area). 

(c) Independent Study: An educational process designed to permit a participant to learn 
a given subject under a learning contract with a CPE program sponsor (all 
independent study must be approved in advance by the Arkansas State Board of 
Public Accountancy). 

(d) Self-study Program: An educational process designed to permit a participant to 
learn a given subject without major involvement of an instructor.  Self-study 
programs use a pilot test (a sampling of at least three individuals) to measure the 
average completion time from which the recommended CPE credit is determined.  

(e) Authorship:  An educational process designed to permit a participant to increase 
professional competence through research and writing articles, books or CPE 
programs.  For the writer to receive CPE credit, the article, book, or CPE program 
must be in the subject areas specified in Rule 13.2(a)(1) and formally accepted in 
writing for publication. 

13.2 BASIC REQUIREMENTS  

(a) An applicant for renewal of a license must have completed acceptable continuing 
education, except as otherwise provided in Section 13.2(b), in the amount of 120 
hours within 36 months or 40 hours within 12 months immediately preceding 
January 1 of the year for which the license is renewed, and further provided that: 
(1) All license holders shall complete at least 60% of the required hours in the 

subject areas of accounting, accounting ethics, attest, taxation, computer 
science (see rule 13.3h) or management advisory services. 

(2)  License holders engaged in any attest or compilation function shall 
complete at least 20% of the required hours in the subject areas of attest and 
accounting theory/practice. 

(3) All license holders must complete at least 4 hours of CPE in the area of 
accounting professional conduct and ethics during the 36-months 
immediately preceding January 1, 2005.   Beginning January 1, 2005, any 
36-month reporting cycle must contain at least 4 hours of CPE in the area of 
accounting professional conduct and ethics (pro-rated if the initial license is 
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issued after January 1, 2005, but a minimum of 1 hour is required). 

(b) The Board may make exceptions for reasons of individual hardship including, but 
not limited to, health, military service, foreign residency, or other good cause.  No 
exception shall be made solely because of age or retirement. 

(c) Responsibility for documenting the acceptability of the continuing education 
requirement rests with the applicant, who must retain such documentation for a 
period of five (5) years following the end of the year of completion of the 
continuing education hours. 

13.3 PROGRAMS WHICH QUALIFY 

(a) A program qualifies as acceptable continuing education if it is a formal program of 
learning which contributes directly to the professional competence of an individual 
licensed to practice as a public accountant.  The responsibility for substantiating 
that a particular program meets the requirements of this paragraph rests solely upon 
the licensee. 

(b) Continuing education programs requiring attendance will qualify only if 

(1) An outline of the program is prepared in advance and preserved. 

(2) The program is at least one hour (fifty-minute period) in length, excluding 
meal time and business session.  Credit shall be based on contact hours.  A 
50-minute period will be considered as being equal to one hour.  One-half 
CPE credit hours (equal to 25 minutes) are permitted after the first hour has 
been earned in a given program.  Hours devoted to preparation by the 
participant shall not be counted as a contact hour. 

(3) The program is conducted by a qualified instructor.  A qualified instructor 
or discussion leader is anyone whose background, training, education or 
experience makes it appropriate for her/him to lead a discussion on the 
subject matter of the particular program.  A lecturer or discussion leader 
shall be afforded CPE credit for preparation and presentation for a program 
for twice the number of CPE hours applicable for participants to the extent 
that it the program contributes to the professional accounting competence of 
the applicant.  Such credit does not pertain to the teaching of academic 
courses or other CPE courses that do not meet the criteria of Rule 13.3(a).  
Repetition of the same course material in the same year will not be 
allowable for credit as continuing education. 

(4) A record of registration or attendance is maintained. 

(5) The sponsor of the program is either approved registered or exempt from 
registration pursuant to the provisions of Rule 13.4. 

(c) The following programs are examples deemed to qualify, provided Subsection 
13.3(a) and (b) are met: 

(1) Programs or seminars sponsored by accredited higher educational 
institutions [see Rule 13.4(f)(2)], government agencies, NASBA, 
professional organizations of Certified Public Accountants and Public 
Accountants, firms of Certified Public Accountants and Public Accountants, 
and industrial firms that meet the guidelines of Rule 13.3(b). 
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(2) Technical sessions at meetings of recognized national and state accounting 
organizations and their chapters. 

(3) University or college courses offered by accredited institutions [see Rule 
13.4(f)(2)] through classroom, correspondence, or distance learning. 

i. Credit courses.  Each semester hour credit shall equal 15 hours 
towards the requirement.  A quarter hour credit shall equal 10 hours. 

ii. Non-credit short courses.  Credit is computed by contact hours. 

(d) Individual study programs (distance learning, independent study and self study) for 
which evidence of satisfactory completion is issued by the provider organization 
prior to January 1 of the year for which the license is being renewed may qualify.  
The Board shall accept the hours of continuing education credit recommended by 
the provider organization (subject to the constraints of Rule 13.3(b)(2)).  NASBA’s 
Quality Assurance Services (QAS) hours will be accepted if the course is QAS 
registered.  Sponsors of such programs, excluding those offered by providers listed 
in paragraphs (c1), (c2), and (c3) above, must be registered or exempt from 
registration pursuant to the provisions of Rule 13.4 (see Rule 13.3(f) below). 

(e) Articles, books, or CPE programs, as indicated in Rule 13.1(a)(5), may qualify for 
self-declared CPE credit if the article, book or CPE program contributes to the 
professional competence of the licensee and has been formally accepted for 
publication in writing prior to the effective date of the license year (see Rule 13.3(f) 
below). 

(f) Combined credit awarded in paragraphs 13.3(d) and 13.3(e) above shall not exceed 
60 percent of the total CPE hours required. 

(g) Acceptable continuing education will not include any education leading to 
completion of the requirements to acquire a CPA certificate.  Included in this 
category is (1) any academic work necessary to qualify to take the CPA 
Examination [per Board Rule 3.3(b)] and (2) any CPA Review courses or course(s) 
offered for the specific purpose of preparing to take the CPA Examination. 

(h) Computer science (see Rule 13.2(a)(1) above) does not include tutorials and/or 
related videos. 

(i) Continuing education programs offered in other jurisdictions that have comparable 
CPE rules to the Arkansas Board’s rules.   The burden of proof on comparable CPE 
lies with the licensee will be accepted. 

(j) In the case of an Arkansas reciprocal license, continuing education programs that 
have been accepted for fulfillment of the CPE credit in the jurisdiction of the 
original license will be accepted. 

13.4 APPROVED SPONSORS  
(a) The sponsor of any continuing education program(s), which is not exempt under 

Rule 13.4(f), must, prior to offering such program(s) register as follows: 

(1) Those sponsors offering programs totaling more than 16 credit hours per 
year, or offering programs more than 5 times per year must register with the 
National Registry of CPE Sponsors, administered by the National 
Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA); sponsors of such 
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programs in self-study format may register with NASBA’s QAS as an 
alternative to, or in addition to, registration with the National Registry of 
CPE Sponsors. 

(2) Those sponsors offering programs which total 16 credit hours or less per 
year and offering programs 5 times or less per year must either register with 
the National Registry of CPE Sponsors administered by NASBA or register 
with the Board annually using a registration form prescribed by the Board); 
sponsors of such programs in self-study format may register with NASBA’s 
Quality Assurance Services as an alternative to, or in addition to, 
registration with the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. 

(b) The sponsor of any continuing education program registered with NASBA’s 
National Registry of CPE Sponsors or Quality Assurance Service shall comply with 
the requirements of the Registry or the Quality Assurance Service, respectively. 
Those sponsors registering with the Board as well as those exempt under Rule 
13.4(f) shall keep detailed records of the following: 

(1) The date and location of the program presentation; 

(2) The names of each instructor or discussion leader; 

(3) A list of licensees attending each program presentation, and the license 
numbers of such attendees; and 

(4) A written outline of the program presentation. 

(c) The records required by subparagraph 13.4(b) shall be retained for a period of 5 
years after the end of the year of each program presentation. 

(d) The sponsor of any continuing education program approved or exempt from 
registration pursuant to this rule must advise attendees of such approval or 
exemption, together with the sponsor number, subject code and the number of 
continuing education hours allowable. 

(e) The Board may withdraw approval of any continuing education program if the 
sponsor of such program fails to comply with the provisions of this Rule. 

(f) The following are exempt from registering with the Board and the NASBA 
Registry of CPE Sponsors: 

(1) Professional accounting and legal organizations such as the American 
Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Arkansas Society of Certified 
Public Accountants, the National Society of Public Accountants, the 
Arkansas Society of Public Accountants, NASBA, the Institute of 
Management Accountants, the American Accounting Association, the 
American Bar Association, the Arkansas Bar Association, and other similar 
organizations: 

(2) Universities or colleges that are accredited per Rule 3.3(a) or (b). 

(3) Firms, both accounting and industrial, offering organized in-firm education 
programs which meet the requirements of Rule 13.3(a); and  

(4) Governmental entities.   
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13.5 CPE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
(a) Applicants for renewal of a license must submit with their annual registration a 

representation that the applicant has met the CPE requirement for issuance of a 
license together with a CPE statement, in a form prescribed by the Board, showing 
the continuing education programs and hours completed during the twelve months 
immediately preceding January 1 of the year for which the license is being 
renewed.   The applicant must retain all supporting documentation for the programs 
and hours for five (5) years following the end of the year of completion. 

(b) The CPE statement shall show the following: 

(1) NASBA registration number, or an E if the sponsor is exempt; 

(2) Sponsoring organizations; 

(3) Location of program; 

(4) Title of program or description of content; 

(5) Dates attended and/or completed and submitted;  

(6) Hours claimed; and   

(7) Other information as designated by the Board. 

(c) On an annual basis, the Board will audit the CPE statements of a selected number 
of licensees, and those licensees will be required to submit support documentation 
acceptable to the Board as part of the audit process. 

13.6 NONCOMPLIANCE AND SANCTIONS  

(a) Should a licensee report less than the required number of CPE hours, the licensee 
shall complete the balance of the CPE hours for the reporting period and provide 
the Board with appropriate documentation no later than January 31 of the following 
CPE reporting period.  Delinquent CPE hours reported to the Board under Section 
13.6 shall first apply to the deficiency and any remaining CPE hours shall be 
applied to the current CPE reporting period. 

(b) Should a licensee fail to timely report CPE hours in conjunction with the renewal 
application or fail to timely file a report on completion of the balance of the CPE 
hours as provided in paragraph (a) of this section, the Board shall serve notice of 
noncompliance upon the licensee.  The notice shall state the nature of the 
noncompliance.  The licensee shall, within thirty (30) days of the date of the notice, 
deliver acceptable documentation to the Board that the licensee has successfully 
completed the minimum CPE hours to correct the noncompliance. 

(c) In addition to the notice of noncompliance described above, the Board may 
institute a proceeding to impose disciplinary action against a licensee who fails to 
comply with any provision under Rule 13.  The disciplinary action for a licensee 
who completes the minimum number of CPE hours during the period provided in 
paragraph (a) of this section shall be a monetary penalty unless the Board 
determines that other disciplinary action is appropriate.  The disciplinary action for 
a licensee who failed to obtain the minimum CPE hours before the date for 
correction of the delinquency under paragraph (a) of this section or who completed 
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the minimum CPE hours after notice of noncompliance under paragraph (b) of this 
section may be suspension of the license unless the Board determines other 
disciplinary action to be appropriate. 

(d) A licensee who has been suspended pursuant to this section may file a petition for 
reinstatement which shall state the reasons for noncompliance, that the licensee is 
presently in compliance, any other material information and that the licensee has 
not performed any of the services set forth in A.C.A. §17-12-505 since the 
suspension under this section.  The petitioner may request a hearing and the Board 
may require additional CPE hours as a condition of reinstatement.  Any 
reinstatement shall be subject to the provisions of Rule 13.8. 

13.7  INACTIVE STATUS  

(a) A licensee who complies with this Rule 13.7 shall be granted an exception to the 
continuing education requirement of A.C.A. §17-12-502.  

(b) To qualify for this exception, the licensee must annually pay the appropriate 
inactive status registration fee as determined by the Board and complete a form 
prescribed by the Board. 

(c) A licensee on inactive status shall not perform any of the services set forth in 
A.C.A. §17-12-505.  If the licensee performs any such services, he shall be subject 
to discipline by the Board pursuant to A.C.A. § 17-12-601, et seq. or §17-12-105. 

(d) A person on inactive status may convert to active status as follows: 

(1) Complete a form prescribed by the Board and submit payment of the 
appropriate fee(s) (initial or upgrade) for active status.  

(2) Comply with CPE requirements under these rules for the renewal period 
following reinstatement on a pro rata basis, such hours to be computed at a 
rate of 3 1/3 hours per month from the date of reinstatement to the end of 
the renewal period in which reinstatement occurs. 

(3) Comply with the appropriate condition below: 

i. If inactive for less than three (3) years, the licensee must deliver 
documentation acceptable to the Board showing completion of the 
total CPE number of hours that would have been required under Rule 
13.2(a).   

ii. If inactive for three (3) years or more, the licensee must develop and 
deliver to the Board a proposed program of CPE as specified in Rule 
13.2(a) (to include four hours of accounting professional conduct and 
ethics). All work must be completed during the 36-month period 
preceding the date of application). 

13.8 ACTIVATION OF DELINQUENT, SUSPENDED OR REVOKED LICENSES 

(a) A person whose license is delinquent, suspended or revoked and who applies for 
active status will be subject to the same CPE requirements as those who wish to 
activate inactive licenses (see Rule 13.7).  
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