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PARKING MAP &
TRAFFIC REGULATIONS
ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
(www.azu.cdwpsalc)

The Department of Public Safe.y is located on campus al 1511 North Boulder and
ic open Monday thru Friday 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., cxcluding holidays. 1'or all scrvices
call 479-968-0222 or, for emergencies cn caripus, call 911,

PARKING VIOLATION CHARGES
The responsibilities for payrent of finss incurred for traffic violaticns wil rest
with the reg’strant. In Lhe event vehicle registetion has nol been completec
responsibility lics with the owner and/cr operator of the vehicle. Perscns viozaticg
the rules and regulations as staed while :s'ng a motor vehicle on campus vill be
lined ur der the University's system of ra fic violations lis.ed belc w.

VIOLATION NOTIFICATION LIST

1. Failure to disp ay current hengzag 535

2. kailure to disp.ay 2angtag properly 520

3. Parding in wreng color lot/wrong letter lot 20

4. Parding al yellow curb 520

5. Paring where prohibited ty signs 520

6. llegel use of, reproducitg, alterations of, defacing,

using revoked hangtags ot falsifying rogistration information 75

7. Unauthorized diszbled parking <100

8. Parced disreoarding painted lincs 20

9. Parcing in unanthorized zone 520

10. Driving/arking on grass 20
1. Doudle parked/blocking S20
12. Blocking drive §25
13. Plocking dumpser 20
14, Loading zone beyond 15 minate lime firil 20
15, Parsing on wrorg sice of strect S20
16, Backed into parking space on straet 20
17 Blocking firc hydrant/z0ae 560
18 Parzed in visitor space 20
19, Par<ing in reserved area $20
20. Across sidewalk and/or crosswalk S20
21, Cxpired license lab $20
22, lailure to disp ay liconse plate 520
23 Failure 1o slcp or y'e ¢ ight of w; $25
24. Lriving wrong way on onc-way $20
25 U-un 20
26, Reckloss driving $50
27 (mproner Equipment 520
2. Speeding $35
29, Security violation (propping doors cper , etc.) $25
30, Reusing Citetion §75
31 faywalking 25
52, Excessive Noise/Disorderly Concucl $25
33, Emergercy Call Station Violation $125
34. Other 20
35, Bicycles Blocking Access 535
36. Bicycles lockad te Rarps Access S5
37. Failure Lo Display Bicycle Registration $20
40, Viaming 30

41, Impound Fee $20

AUTHORITY

In eccordance with ACA. 25-17-307, the Boad of Trustess f Akansas Tech Universily
cetablishes tac following rules and regulations for the registration, oacration, and
park’ng of motor vehic'es 07 Arkansas Tech University campusss. These rules and
regulalions are binding 01 a1 memlers of the faculty sla’l, student Lody and ofrers.
wrilzzing the ands owned o cortrollec by Arkansas Tect. Univarsity. Lands ownec o
controlled by Tech will henceforth be known as the CAMPUS for purposes of clarificat’on
in this brochure.

Arzansas Tech Departmen: o° Public Safety off cers are constituted peace officers by
ACA. 25-17-305, by action of the Board of Tn:stees, ard under the laws of this state
possess all Lhe authorily provided by law 1o cily police and ccunly sherills Lo be
cxerc'sed as reguired for the safety and protection of tae University community.

Lnlereenent ol Lralfic segulations on the Tech can pusis he responsikili.y of the Departmen.
cf Publ'c Safety. All drive's will observe and obey the crders of the Department of Pub'ic
Safety officers while siich « fficers are engiged in the pe-f rmance of their respective duties.
This includes prodcing and rendering identilication anc hanglags requestec

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLYING WITH ALL RIILES AND REGULATIONS

REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES

Registralion shal” be accomplished lor all Lerins of allendance by surcl asing a har glag
en-line thru your Onelech account. All instructions pertinent to obtaining a hargtag
wll be provided

Vehicles are defincd as any scl-prepelled vchicle having tvio of more whels

Al vehic es on Tech camouses are recuired Lo register and display a current parking
hangzag. Paramcters for <he operaton and parking of motor vehicles may b viewed on
the campuis map.

Hargtags arc valid from August (5 through August 15 of thc next year and cherges
wil be from August 15 thro1gh August 15 of the next year at §30.00 for all tarms of
allendance.

Hangengs m st be displayed by Far ging on the rear view mirror so the nimber czn be read
Urough the . windshield fre 1 Uhe outside. These hangtags can be e ved ‘rom vehicle
t vl Do not tape hangtag on vehicle or lay on cash or scat

LosUstolen hanglags are [ull price for replacemer L
Summer term hangtaes will be one-half the original cost

Horgtags are the resoonsibiity of tc purchasar and must be removad pror to sale
ortransfer of tha vehicle ~r upon terryination of employraent or with drawal from the tnversity.
Talsifying registration information, such as buying hangtags for another peson
in hisher nam e will be fined $75.00. Also, the person whe allows another infividua’ to
Lurchase 3 hanglag for hitm/her will be lined $75.00.

Charges will be assessed at the time of registration of the vehicle s follws for all
factlly, stall and stedents and other non-Tech employees

A. $30.00 for the calendar year (August 15 through August 15)

B. $30.00 from the beginning of the second semester through August 15
C. $30.00 for summer term

Hangtag fees are non-refundable

Temporary Har gtags are avalasle at the Departmant of Pualic Safety for feculty, staff
and students wh.o have misglaced Uieir hangleg. These har glags are provided al no cos.
and arc valid for a maximur. of two wecks

RESTRICTED PARKING AREAS
YELLOW CURBS RESTRICTED PARKING at all times.
FIRE ZONES As marked.

RED No students a1 ir eligible emplayees hetween 7:30 2.m. anc 5 p.m. Moncay throvgh
Friday

BLUEWHITE Designated disability parking zones. Th's includes ramps as vell
as parsing spaces

SIGNS Restricted by signs as postec
ANY ATHLETIC OR DRILL FIELD No parking at any time. These vill nct te posted

Arkansas ‘Tech University rescrves the right to et aside arcas as nocessary for soccial
events in all parkirg areas of the Unicersity. The University further reserves the right to
temporarily block certain streets s necessary without natice t the public

TOWING AND IMPOUNDING OF VEHICLES

The Universily reserves Lie right Lo immobilize, Low and/or imoound any velicle Uha.
is parked on Universicy property in such a way as to constitutc a serious hazard; or aay
vehicle owned by a violator nav'ng three or more violations in any acadzric vear.

The Department of Public Safety mey dircct an euthor’zed commercial garage
tn carry out zny towng action. Volatars will he respansin‘e for paying all costs
for removal, imp oun ling and slorage of such veaicles. Vehiclas may be held talil sl
charecs arc pa'c.

1l your vehicle is booled, you have the right Lo conlest it al a heering. This does 1o.
apply to ticketings. Hearings wi | be conductec Monday-1r'cay at the hoc Hryan Student
Services Buildng, beginning =t 9 a.m. Yo must contest the boot by the next business.
day or waive all your future rights to contest.

The bool may be removed aller outstanditg Lickels are paid or as a findng of
the hoaring, There is ro additioral fee for the placement or removal of this
boot. I you feel thig koot has been placec on this veh'cle emoneously or if
you have ary other questions, you may cortact the Departmens of Public Sa‘cty 24 hours
a day = 4799680222

PAYMENT OF VIOLATIONS/FINES

A persen receiving notice of a parking or traffic viclatior. shoild go to the studens
accour s olfice, Doc Bryan Sluder L Services Cenler, (o pay lhe line p aced against hisfher
accourt. The office is closed on Saturdays, Sundays anc holideys. Check tae PARKING
AND TRAFFIC REGULATIONS for a listng of al”fines for vinlations

MOVING VIOLATIONS

Movir g violations inclde all traffic laws as statad in the Arkansas Metor Vehicle and
Teelic laws and Slate ighway Corn’sson Regulations. The clfica Tech parking
citetion notice placed on vehicles wil ke sufficient 35 a sunmons for violaton
of thesa rules ar d reglations. [n lieu of a University citazion, the violator may be issted
a unilcnn trallic ticket which will be adju icated it Municipal Court

Additional violations/rules are as follows:
Speed limit on campus is 20 mph unless otherwise posted.
No U-turns.

Vield the right-of-way to all

in campus

ACCIDENTS

Al traffic accidents occurring on the campus or grounds controlled by the
University must be reported immediately to the Department of Public Safety by
calling on campus 479-968-0222. [f you are unable to contact the number, call 911 on
campus and sk thal Lhe Tech fficer on duty be fisnalche | 1o your loation

DISABILITY PARKING

As required a number of parking spaces have Leen sel aside (o use by disab'ed indi-
vidue.s cnly. Eact. space has teen marked wita siens anc o: blue and white paiat on
the space. If these spaces are full. cu may park in zny color zone but not in spaces
marked as loading zones, limed | erkng end reserved &5 long &5 you display your valid
disadlity licerss2 plate or piacard. Vehicles fotad illceally parked in -hasc spaces are
sudject to tewing anc impouncmert fees,

Only individuals who heve teen issued, and are displaying a disabled license plate
or placard issued by the State of Arkar sas ars permitted to oark in spaces marked with
blue and vihite strines. Veh'cles must 4lso have valid Tech hangtig,

license oletes, cecals and placa-ds may te odtained f-om the S:ate Revenue Office at
105 South Roudchester, Russellville, AR. For irformation, call 479-968-1526

T-ensfer of a disablity license o placard is a violation of the Arkaisas state leiw.
The offeader will be lickeled sccordingly.
TEMPORARY DISABILITY PARKING

Percons requesting lemporary disabilily status lor parking mus. be authorized by the
tfech Health and Wellness Center located in bean Hall ard, if cligible. then obtan
aspecial Temporary hang-ag frem the Department of Pabli= Safety. You vl then be el'gibe
1o perk 1 Ure areas marked RED or GiseLled space only for Uie Cales soecified

SPECIAL EVENT PARKING

Conlac. the Deparlnen. o. Public Salely al 470-968-0222 or etail 4l dps@alt e

VISITOR PARKING

Visitors &rc alway welcome on campus and may park in any non-restricted arca
Currently enrolled students or employees are not considered visitors. Visitor
spices are never considered part of open parking

Visitors, please secure a visitor's hangtag a: no cost at the Dzpatment of Public Safety
o thioagh the office you re Visitirg by presentng a valic drivers ‘icense and the
cortec. Lcense plate for LLe vehicle ey are opeceling on Lhe Tech canpus

Visilors wilh _he Eanglag may use any co'or parking area. Visilors w houl Lhe hanglag
may park on'y in the arcas narked “Visiters Unly” Vis:z07s who park in violation ay
be issted a perk/ng citation.

MOTORCYCLES AND MOTORBIKES
Motorbikes, motor scooters, motorcycles and alcycles must be operated only

on streets normally desigrated for automobile use. A hangtag must be displayed
il parked o carpus or an oplione decal may be al ixed .o he lell FFont fork

APPEALS

All appeals will De dealt with according Lo he rules end regula.ions slatec in this
pamphlcz. All studerts, faculty anc staff warting to appeal a citation must appeal
taeir citation on-line thm OneTach. Appeals madle after three schoo’ deys will T ot be
considerec. All instructons pertaning Lo the appesl process will be orovided

HANGTAG PARKING AREAS

FACULTY/STAFF ONLY
Vohic cs with avthorized RED hargtags may vark in arcas marsed in rod
0" in any authorized par¢ing ‘ocatior on campus. This does not include areas
designated “Visilo=
RESIDENT STUDENTS OF UNIVERSITY COMMONS, |ONES AND ROUSH ONLY
Vehic es with atthorized GREEN hangtags must par in arcas marked
in green on -he mar ex-ert durng “spen padng” hours
LotsF, G, M, N, Q Lots | and ] are overflow
RESIDENT STUDENTS OF BROWN, CRITZ, HUGHES. M STREET. NUTT,
PAINE. TUCKER. TURNER. AND WILSON HALL ONLY
Vehic'es with aLthorized ORANGE kanglags must jark i areas marked
incrange on Lhe map except during “cpet. varking” hours.
Lots CC, DD, EE, FF, KK, NN, WV, K, West M Street, T, U, W, ¥, and
X, as marked
RESIDENT STUDENTS OF CARAWAY ONLY
Vehic es with authorized BROWN hengzags must pak in areas markec in
olive on the man excent curing “open parkiag” hours.

Lot MM

STADIUM SUITES/BASWELL HALL
Vehic'cs with atthorizcd DARK BLUE hangtags must park in dar< b ue
arens markec on the mzp except during "open parking” haurs

Lots TT, RR, SS AND QQ as marked Lot UU is overflow

Vehices with atthorized hangtags must park in arcas marked
in yellow on the map except during ‘open parkirg” ho-s

Lots A, B, C,D, ], K, L, R, S, Z, AA, BB, 00, UU, XX, YY, ZZ,
and E, F as marked

VISTA PLACE/SOUTH HALL
Vehic'es with authorized BLACK AND YELLOW STRIPED | sniglags us.
park in ercas marked with yellow and white stripes on the map or in arca
marced in yellow on the mép except during “open parking” hours
Lots A, B, C, D, ], K, L, R, S, Z, AA, BB, GG, 00, UU, and

E, F as marked

ALL AUTHORIZED STREET PARKING WILL BE MARKED BY SIGNS.
RESIDENT HALL PARKING AREAS DO NOT APPLY TO OPEN PARKING HOURS.

ARE NOT OPEN PARKING ARI N HOME \ME

MC = Motorcycle Only

* Arkansas Teck University dees not discriminate on the basis of color, sex, sexual orientation, gender
ilentity, race. uge, national origin, religion, veterun status, genetic information, or disability in any
of ts practics, policis, or procedures. This includes, bui is not limited lo, emploment, admissions,
educational services, programs or activities whici it operates, or financial aid. The Arkansas Teck
Affirmative Action officer can be reached by calling (179) 198-6020.

PARKING REGULATIONS

All parking regulations will be enforced 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.
1. The rasaonsibility for Fnding a lagel parking space vests witt tae vehicle operator.
2. 1ack o space is not a valid excusc for vicleting 3 perking regulation

3. Standerd parking Uil regulatons and definitions, #s enected it the Arkansas
Motor Vehicle and Traflic 1 aws and Szatc Highway Commission Regulations will be
igidly enforced on the Tech campus at all times, including legal holidays and the
lime betwzen semesters when dasses are nol in sess’on.

4. Violators of eszablished Parking and Traffic Regulations may be issued a Unifaim
Tallic Tickel payable in Municipal Court in Russellville, Akansas, in Jieu of s
“fech citat'on,

5. Vicletion notices will Le affixed o Uie molor vehicle or preseiled Lo Lhe driver
Payment mey be cither mailed or paid 'n person at the Student Accounts Office
in the Dac Bryan Building.

6. Vehicles are considercd parked when loft stending, stoaped or Jrattendad for any
oeriod of time,

7. Itis illogal to re-use a ticket

8. Pecestiens have the right-ol-way al designaled crosswalks al all times except
at signal-controlled “ntersections where pedestrians will be expected to comply
with the s'gnal

9. Students, facalty ard sta’f members are expected to be familiar with and abide by
the reguations at =Il times. The fact tha any vehicle does not receive 4 vio ation
notice waile his"rer vehic'e s parked or operated in violation ol any reg’ation
or law docs ot can or ‘mply zhax s.ich a regulation or law is invalid,

10. Due Lo evolving changes signage will supercede zones as marked on _he map,

11 Vehicles are assumed abanconed if left narked #nd stationery for a period of two
weeks. Such vehicles will be towed al Uie owner's expet.sc.

12.School buses ard other ‘srge vehicles, as well a5 specal purpose vehicles
are roquired -0 park in arcas designared by the Deparment of bublic Safcty.

13, You are responsitle for al violations by 4 vehicle displaying 4 Farglag issued
in your name. If you lend your cac proper opezetion of the vehicle is stll
‘your rasaonsibility.

14. Only oneype of Tech hangag is to be displayed on a vehicle at & time.

15. Obey regalatory s'gns and ba~icades established by the Department o Public
Safety.

16.Venicles will nt be operated on the Tech campus withoul required salely
cquipment prescribed by the vehicle code of the State of Arkanses.

17. Vehicles parked i parallel parking speces must be parked with the passengers’ door
to the curb with flow of traffic.

18. Lueding zones around residence halls are o be ulilized Ly students fc- loading/
unloacine. A maximum of 15 minutes will be observed at all times.

19. Vehicles will be parked with'n designated perking bouncaries and i1 no case
shall tacy overlap into ot onto roacway, crosswals or sidewalk. The act that other
vahiclas are parked improperly stall rot constitute an excase for parking with any
varl of the velicle cver Lhe line.

20, The t'me limit on 15 minute zones vil” be observed at all times.

21. A traffic ticket or any other communication ‘rom. a Department of Public
Safety officer, whi'e in the perormar.ce of his duties, is corsidered to be ¢n
official Universi y no ice. Failtre Lo respond will make the recipient sabject
to disciplirary action.

221" a hangteg is nol visible Lo the officer while he is issuing & <itation, the ilation
will ac tor no current hengzag. I, in the course of issuing a citation. the ctficer
disccvers the hangtag, he 1as the discetion to dewr grade that ticke: to improper
display oaly.

23. Wincshizlds, side wings, side or rzar windews may rot be obstructec with any sign,
sunshield sun visor, poster o ol e~ L-msparent material ¢12e- 177 a cerlificale
ar sticker requzed by stete law or campus regulations. This will include witing on
vehicle windows with stoe polish

24. No boas, campors o- trailers allowed to park on campus

GENERAL INFORMATION

Open parking hours will be declared fom 3 pir_ to 7:30 a.m. daily and from 5 p.m,
on Hiday throust 730 a 01 Monday School holidaye arc considered as “open

pardng days. Residence hall parking areas are not open parking areas.

1. Overaling a molor vehicle in any manner which may creete a disturbance
or. carpus may be considored a traffic violation. This includes cxcassive use
(determined by 7y ordirance cr officer' Ciscretion) of boom bo, sterea, horn
Tlegil exhausl systems, sqaealirg of lres or placing pedestrians or olhe- drivers
'n a hazardous situation.

2. All nersonnel, including visilors, are 2xpecled lo achere e all camyus anc sizle
tegulaticns regarding safety procedurcs.

3. All res'Cence hall students who own or operale reg'stered vehicles sl use IFe
parking zrcas assigned tc that residence hall. Resideace Fall pariing ‘ots ere
color-coded.

Arkansas ‘Tech University cennot ard docs 107 essume the otligation of
providing parking spaces for all veticles at all times.

Arkansas Tech Uriversity cocs nct assume respongitility for the care and
protection of any veaicle or its contents while said vehic'e is operated or parked
on the camy us o lands con.rclled by the University.

6. Vehicles that dn no- qualy for registratior. or “aporoved s safe’ oy the State of
Atkenses are rol permilled on 19 campus al any time. D'satle | and abandoned
vehicles will be tumed ovar to the State Police [o: Gisposal according to law

7. Mechanical we tk other Unan minor -epairs such as rew acement o vehicle baltery
or fla:tires will not be permitted on the Tech campus

8 Arkansas Tech University reserves Uie righ. Lo restrict or revoke the use of an
auromobile on campus to enyone if the sc of that vehicle is thought to be
dezrimerta to <he academic achievement of ary studeat or if the person has
abused Lke privlege of opeeling said vehicle on or off camy us.

9. I shall be the responsiaility ~f any driver of a disablec vehicle (i.e. dead hattery,
ouL o gas keys locked in car, elc) Lo immediately notily the Deparlment of
Public Satcty of the problem and location of the disabled veticle. Failure to
make notification may result 'n the vehicle's beine either towed or given ¢ ticzet,
Abancored vehic'es snall be tovied at the owner’s expense.

10 Flagrart disregarc of campus parking and treffc reguatior's will result in the vehicle
being lowed 10 s orage axd parking privileges on campus rev ked. Towing and
storage charges will be asscssed! price to the relcase of the vehicle to tac owner



WEST I STRERT

WEST M STREET

FAST L STREET
EAST M STREET

B FGEND

Administration Building - 29

Alumni House - 34

Band Practice Field - 55
Baswell Residence Hall - 43
Baswell Techionery - 52

Brown Building - 26

Brown Residence Hall - 7
Browning Hall - 32

Campus Recreation Fields - 56
Campus Recreation Offices - 42
Caraway Residence Hall - 33
Chambers Cafeteria - 23
Chartwells Athletic Complex - 39
Corley Hall - 15

Crabaugh Hall - 30

Critz-Hughes Student Housing Complex - 6

EAST N STREET

Dean Hall - 9

Doc Bryan Student Services Center - 20
Energy Center - 17

Hindsman Tower - 53

Hull Physical Education Building - 31
Jones Residence Hall - 16

M Street Residence Hall - 54

McEver Hall - 14

Norman Hall - 37

Nutt Residence Hall - 8

Paine Residence Hall - 11

Public Safety - 27

Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center - 13
Rothwell Hall - 22

Roush Residence Hall - 19

Stadium Suites Student Housing - 36

i
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=
*

NORTH EL PASO STREET

ARKANSAS FIGHWAY 7

Stroupe Building - 3

Tech Field - 1

Techionery - 24

Temporary Nursing Building - 41
Thone Stadium at Buerkle Field - 35
Tomlinson Hall - 28

Tucker Coliseum - 21

Tucker Residence Hall - 5

Turner Residence Hall - 10
University Commons Apartments - 18
Visiting Team Dressing Facility - 38
W.O. Young Building - 25

Williamson Hall - 2

Wilson Residence Hall - 4

Witherspoon Hall - 12

ARKANSAS TECH

WEST R STREET

TECH IS A
TOBACCO-FREE
caMPUS

VISITOR

PARKING

EMERGENCY
CALL STATION

®0®

UNIVERSITY

RED Faculty/Staff
GREEN Residence Hall
BROWN Residence Hall

DARK BLUE Residence Hall

YELLOW Off Campus

%, STRIPED Vista Place and South Hall
ORANGE Residence Hall
Visitor Parking

DISABLED PARKING

*Purking rules enforced year round.




