ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY - OZARK CAMPUS
TRAFFIC/PARKING INFORMATION

Traffic Regulations:

By authority of the Board of Trustees and in accordance with Act 328 of 1967, Arkansas Tech University requires

all members of the faculty, staff, student body and classified personnel to register motor vehicles which they

own or operate on the Ozark Campus or on lands controlled by the University. All régistrants shall abide by all

traffic and parking regulations.

Registration of vehicles shall be accomplished at the time of regular registration for the fall, spring or summer
semesters at the Office of Student Accounts. All faculty, staff and students must present a current Arkansas
Tech University 1D card before a parking permit will be issued. All vehicles on campus are required to register
and display a current parking permit. Vehicles are defined as any self-propelled vehicle having two or more

wheels.

Parking permits are valid from August 15" one year through August 15" of the next year. After securing a

of Student Accounts, charges are assessed to the student’s account. Parking

or so the number can be read through the front
ehicle or laid on the dash or seat. These permits

parking permit at the Office
permits must be displayed by hanging on the rear view mirr

windshield from the outside; they may not be taped on the v
can be moved from vehicle to vehicle. Parking permits are the responsibility of the purchaser and must be

~ removed prior to sale or transfer of the vehicle, upon termination of employment, or withdrawal from the
_ school. If a hangtag is lost or stolen it will be the responsibility of the student or school employee to purchase a
replacement permit. There is no refund for permit cost. Parking violations may result in a fine being charged to

a student’s account.

The Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus will enforce the following violations on campus property and will

collect fines as stated in the list below.

Violation Fine
Warning $00.00
Failure to display current hang tag $20.00
Unauthorized Handicapped Parking $100.00
parking Where Prohibited by Signs $20.00
Parking in and Unauthorized Zone $20.00
Blocking $20.00
Failure to Stop or Yield Right of Way $25.00
Reckless/Careless Driving $50.00
$35.00

Speeding



Moving Violations

Reckless Driving- A.C.A. § 27-50-308 states that any person who drives a vehicle in such a manner as to indicate
a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.

Careless Driving- A.C.A. § 27-51-104 states that it is unlawful to operate any vehicle in a careless manner as to
evidence a failure to keep a proper lookout for other traffic, vehicular or otherwise, or in a manner as to
evidence a failure to maintain proper control. Careless driving may also include, but is not limited to the
following:

-Driving onto or across private property to avoid intersections, signs,
-Driving in such a manner, or at such speed, as to cause skidding, spinning,
-Driving too close to, or colliding with, parked or stopped vehicles, fixtures,
-Driving of vehicle with any part or object extended, in such fashion as to endanger persons or property.

-To operate a vehicle wherein or whereon passengers are located in such manner to be a danger to themselves.
and such inattention is not reasonable and

or other traffic control devices.
or sliding of tires or vehicle.
persons, or objects adjacent to road.

-To operate a vehicle in any manner, when the driver is inattentive,
prudent in maintaining vehicular control.

Campus Parking:

All vehicles should have a parking permit, which can be obtained from the Office of Student Accounts. The cost
of the Parking Permit is $15.00. Arkansas Tech University Department of Public Safety will enforce violations that
occur on campus property. Local law enforcement agencies may also enforce violations of state law that occur

on campus property.

Parking for the Handicapped: ’
Any vehicle found to be parked in an area designated for exclusive use of disabled persons (as defined in Section

75, 266-22 of Act 772) shall be subject to impoundment by the appropriate law enforcement agency according
to Section 12 of Act 772, and the owner will be subject to a fine not less than $25 or not more than $100 for

each offense plus applicable towing, impounding, and related fees.

Handicapped Parking Decals:

Handicapped parking decals may be obtained at the Ar
persons who are temporarily or permanently disabled,
be used anywhere in the State of Arkansas. A statemen

Kkansas State Revenue Office. Decals may be used by
and are good for the duration of the disability, and may
t from a physician is necessary to obtain the decal.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
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The Department of Public Safety is located on campus at 1511 North Boulder
and is open Monday thru Friday 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., and Sunday 8 a.m. to 5
p.m. excluding holidays. For all services call 479-968-0222 or, for emergencies
on campus, call 911.

PARKING VIOLATION CHARGES
The responsibilities for payment of fines incurred for traffic violations will rest

with the registrant. In the event vehicle registration has not been completed,
responsibility lies with the owner and/or operator of the vehicle. Persons violating
the rules and regulations as stated while using a motor vehicle on campus will be
fined under the University's system of traffic violations listed below.

VIOLATION NOTIFICATION LIST

1. Failure to display current hangtag $35
2. Failure to display hangtag properly $20
3. Parking in wrong color lot/wrong letter lot $20
4. Parking at yellow curb $20
5. Parking where prohibited by signs $20
6. lllegal use of, reproducing, alterations of, defacing,
using revoked hangtags or falsifying registration information §75
7. Unauthorized handicap parking $100
8. Parked disregarding painted lines 520
9. Parking in unauthorized zone $20
10. Driving/parking on grass $20
11. Double parked/blocking $20
12. Blocking drive §25
13. Blocking dumpster 520
14. Loading zone beyond 15 minute time limit 520
15. Parking on wrong side of street $20
16. Backed into parking space on street 520
17. Blocking fire hydrant/zone S60
18. Parked in visitor space $20
19. Parking in reserved area 820
20. Across sidewalk and/or crosswalk 520
21. Expired license tab $20
22. Failure to display license plate $20
23. Failure to stop or yield right of way §25
24. Driving wrong way on one-way $20
25. U-turn 820
26. Reckless driving S50
27. Improper Equipment $20
28. Speeding $35
29. Security violation (propping doors open, etc.) §25
30. Reusing Citation §75
31. Jaywalking $25
32. Excessive Noise/Disorerly Conduct $25
33. Emergency Call Station Violation S125
34. Other $20
35. Bicycles Blocking Access $35
36. Bicycles locked to Ramps/Access S75
37. Failure to Display Bicycle Registration 520

40. Warning S0

o

V.

AUTHORITY

In accordance with A.C.A. 25-17-307, the Board of Trustees of Arkansas Tech University
establishes the following rules and regulations for the registration, operation, and
parking of motor vehicles on Arkansas Tech University campuses. These rules and
regulations are binding on all members of the faculty, staff, student body and others
utilizing the lands owned or controlled by Arkansas Tech University. Lands owned or
controlled by Tech will henceforth be known as the CAMPUS for purposes of clarification
in this brochure.

Arkansas Tech Department of Public Safety officers are constituted peace officers by
A.C.A. 25-17-305, by action of the Board of Trustees, and under the laws of this state
possess all the authority provided by law for city police and county sheriffs to be
exercised as required for the safety and protection of the University community.

Enforcement of traffic regulations on the Tech campus is the responsibility of the Department
of Public Safety. All drivers will observe and obey the orders of the Department of Public
Safety officers while such officers are engaged in the performance of their respective duties.
This includes producing and rendering identification and hangtags requested.

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLYING WITH ALL RULES AND REGULATIONS

REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES

Registration shall be accomplished at the time of regular registration for the fall, spring
or summer semesters at the Department of Public Safety or at locations and times
specified. Only one hangtag may be registered per person and only one vehicle per
person shall be parked on campus.

Vehicles are defined as any self-propelled vehicle having two or more wheels.

All vehicles on Tech campuses are required to register and display a current parking
hangtag. Parameters for the operation and parking of motor vehicles may be viewed on
the campus map.

Hangtags are valid from August 15 one year through August 15 of the next year. After
securing a hangtag at the Department of Public Safety, charges are assessed to the
individual's account at the Office of Student Accounts.

Hangtags must be displayed by hanging on the rear view mirror so the number can be read
through the front windshield from the outside. These hangtags can be moved from vehicle
to vehicle. Do not tape hangtag on vehicle or lay on dash or seat.

Lost/stolen hangtags are full price for replacement.
Summer term hangtags will be one-half the original cost.

Hangtags are the responsibility of the purchaser and must be removed prior to sale
or transfer of the vehicle or upon termination of employment or withdrawal from the university.

Falsifying registration information, such as buying hangtags for another person
in his/her name will be fined $75.00. Also, the person who allows another individual to
purchase a hangtag for him/her will be fined $75.00.

Charges will be assessed at the time of registration of the vehicle as follows for all
faculty, staff and students and other non-Tech employees.

A. $30.00 for the calendar year (August 15 through August 15)

B. $30.00 from the beginning of the second semester through August 15

C. $15.00 for summer term

Hangtag fees are non-refundable

Temporary Hangtags are available at the Department of Public Safety for faculty, staff

and students who have misplaced their hangtag. These hangtags are provided at no cost
and are valid for a maximum of two weeks.

RESTRICTED PARKING AREAS
YELLOW CURBS RESTRICTED PARKING at all times.
FIRE ZONES As marked.

RED No students or ineligible employees between 7:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through
Friday.

BLUE/WHITE Designated disability parking zones. This includes ramps as well
as parking spaces.

SIGNS Restricted by signs as posted.
ANY ATHLETIC OR DRILL FIELD No parking at any time. These will not be posted.

Arkansas Tech University reserves the right to set aside areas as necessary for special
events in all parking areas of the University. The University further reserves the right to
temporarily block certain streets as necessary without notice to the public.

TOWING AND IMPOUNDING OF VEHICLES

The University reserves the right to immobilize, tow and/or impound any vehicle that
is parked on University property in such a way as to constitute a serious hazard; or any
vehicle owned by a violator having three or more violations in any academic year.

The Department of Public Safety may direct an authorized commercial garage
to carry out any towing action. Violators will be responsible for paying all costs
for removal, impounding and storage of such vehicles. Vehicles may be held until all
charges are paid.

If your vehicle is booted, you have the right to contest it at a hearing. This does not
apply to ticketings. Hearings will be conducted Monday-Friday at the Doc Bryan Student
Services Building, beginning at 9 a.m. You must contest the boot by the next business
day or waive all your future rights to contest.

The boot may be removed after outstanding tickets are paid or as a finding of
the hearing. There is no additional fee for the placement or removal of this
boot. If you feel this boot has been placed on this vehicle erroneously or if
you have any other questions, you may contact the Department of Public Safety 24 hours
a day at 479-968-0222.

PAYMENT OF VIOLATIONS/FINES

A person receiving notice of a parking or traffic violation should go to the student
accounts office, Doc Bryan Student Services Center, to pay the fine placed against his/her
account. The office is closed on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays. Check the PARKING
AND TRAFFIC REGULATIONS for a listing of all fines for violations.

MOVING VIOLATIONS

Moving violations include all traffic laws as stated in the Arkansas Motor Vehicle and
Traffic laws and State Highway Commission Regulations. The official Tech parking
citation notice placed on vehicles will be sufficient as a summons for violation
of these rules and regulations. In lieu of a University citation, the violator may be issued
a uniform traffic ticket which will be adjudicated in Municipal Court.

Additional violations/rules are as follows:
Speed limit on campus is 20 mph unless otherwise posted.
No U-turns.

Yield the right-of-way to all pedestrians in campus crosswalks.

ACCIDENTS

All traffic accidents occurring on the campus or grounds controlled by the
University must be reported immediately to the Department of Public Safety by
calling on campus 479-968-0222. If you are unable to contact the number, call 911 on
campus and ask that the Tech officer on duty be dispatched to your location.

DISABILITY PARKING

As required, a number of parking spaces have been set aside for use by handicapped
individuals only. Each space has been marked with signs and or blue and white paint
on the space. If these spaces are full, you may park in any color zone but not in spaces
marked as loading zones, timed parking and reserved as long as you display your valid
disability license plate or placard. Vehicles found illegally parked in these spaces are
subject to towing and impoundment fees.

Only individuals who have been issued, and are displaying, a disability license plate
or placard issued by the State of Arkansas are permitted to park in spaces marked with
blue and white stripes. Vehicles must also have valid Tech hangtag.

License plates, decals and placards may be obtained from the State Revenue Office at
105 South Rodchester, Russellville, AR. For information, call 479-968-1526.

Transfer of a disability license or placard is a violation of the Arkansas state law.
The offender will be ticketed accordingly.

TEMPORARY DISABILITY PARKING

Persons requesting temporary disability status for parking must be authorized by the
Tech Health and Wellness Center located in Dean Hall and, if eligible, then obtain
a special Temporary hangtag from the Department of Public Safety. You will then be eligible
to park in the areas marked RED or handicapped space only for the dates specified.

SPECIAL EVENT PARKING
Contact the Department of Public Safety at 479-968-0222 or email at dps@atu.edu

VISITOR PARKING

Visitors are always welcome on campus and may park in any non-restricted area.
Currently enrolled students or employees are not considered visitors. Visitor
spaces are never considered part of open parking.

Visitors, please secure a visitor's hangtag at no cost at the Department of Public Safety
or through the office you are visiting by presenting a valid driver's license and the
correct license plate for the vehicle they are operating on the Tech campus.

Visitors with the hangtag may use any color parking area. Visitors without the hangtag
may park only in the areas marked “Visitors Only.” Visitors who park in violation may
be issued a parking citation.

MOTORCYCLES AND MOTORBIKES

Motorbikes, motor scooters, motorcycles and bicycles must be operated only
on streets normally designated for automobile use. A hangtag must be displayed
if parked on campus or an optional decal may be affixed to the left front fork.

APPEALS

All appeals will be dealt with according to the rules and regulations stated in this
booklet. All appeals must be made within three school days. Appeals made after three
school days will not be considered.

All faculty, staff and student appeals should follow the above procedures.
Appeal forms are available at Department of Public Safety.

HANGTAG PARKING AREAS

FACULTY/STAFF ONLY
Vehicles with authorized RED hangtags may park in areas marked in red
or in any authorized parking location on campus.

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF UNIVERSITY COMMONS, JONES AND ROUSH ONLY
Vehicles with authorized GREEN hangtags must park in areas marked
in green on the map except during “open parking” hours.

Lots F, G, M, N, Q Lots I and ] are overflow

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF BROWN, CRITZ, HUGHES, M STREET, NUTT,
PAINE, TUCKER, TURNER, AND WILSON HALL ONLY
Vehicles with authorized ORANGE hangtags must park in areas marked
in orange on the map except during “open parking” hours.

Lots CC, DD, EE, FF, KK, NN, VV, K, West M Street, T, U, W, Y, and
X, as marked

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF CARAWAY ONLY
Vehicles with authorized BROWN hangtags must park in areas marked in
olive on the map except during “open parking” hours.

Lot MM
STADIUM SUITES/BASWELL HALL

Vehicles with authorized DARK BLUE hangtags must park in dark blue
areas marked on the map except during “open parking” hours.

Lots TT, RR, SS AND QQ as marked Lot UU is overflow

Vehicles with authorized hangtags must park in areas marked
in yellow on the map except during “open parking” hours.

LotsA,B,C,D,J,K, L R, S, Z AA, BB, 00, UU, XX, YY, ZZ,
and E, F as marked

VISTA PLACE/SOUTH HALL
Vehicles with authorized BLACK AND YELLOW STRIPED hangtags must
park in areas marked with yellow and white stripes on the map or in areas
marked in yellow on the map except during “open parking” hours.

LotsA B,C D,], K L R, S, Z AA, BB, GG, 00, UU, and
E, F as marked

ALL AUTHORIZED STREET PARKING WILL BE MARKED BY SIGNS.
RESIDENT HALL PARKING AREAS DO NOT APPLY TO OPEN PARKING HOURS.

LOTS 00 AND QQ ARE NOT OPEN PARKING AREAS ON HOME FOOTBALL GAME DAYS.

MC = Motorcycle Only

PARKING REGULATIONS
All parking regulations will be enforced 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.
1. The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator.

2. Lack of space is not a valid excuse for violating a parking regulation.

w

. Standard parking/traffic regulations and definitions, as enacted in the Arkansas
Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws and State Highway Commission Regulations will be
rigidly enforced on the Tech campus at all times, including legal holidays and the
time between semesters when classes are not in session.

Ea

Violators of established Parking and Traffic Regulations may be issued a Uniform
Traffic Ticket payable in Municipal Court in Russellville, Arkansas, in lieu of a
Tech citation.

1S

. Violation notices will be affixed to the motor vehicle or presented to the driver.
Payment may be either mailed or paid in person at the Student Accounts Office
in the Doc Bryan Building.

o

Vehicles are considered parked when left standing, stopped or unattended for any
period of time.

~

It is illegal to re-use a ticket.

s

Pedestrians have the right-of-way at designated crosswalks at all times except
at signal-controlled intersections where pedestrians will be expected to comply
with the signal.

e

Students, faculty and staff members are expected to be familiar with and abide by
the regulations at all times. The fact that any vehicle does not receive a violation
notice while his/her vehicle is parked or operated in violation of any regulation
or law does not mean or imply that such a regulation or law is invalid.

10. Due to evolving changes, signage will superceed zones as marked on the map.

. Vehicles are assumed abandoned if left parked and stationary for a period of two
weeks. Such vehicles will be towed at the owner's expense.

12. School buses and other large vehicles, as well as special purpose vehicles,
are required to park in areas designated by the Department of Public Safety.

w

_You are responsible for all violations by a vehicle displaying a hangtag issued
in your name. If you lend your car, proper operation of the vehicle is still
your responsibility.

14. Only one type of Tech hangtag is to be displayed on a vehicle at a time.

i

. Obey regulatory signs and barricades established by the Department of Public
Safety.

16. Vehicles will not be operated on the Tech campus without required safety
equipment prescribed by the vehicle code of the State of Arkansas.

17. Vehicles parked in parallel parking spaces must be parked with the passengers’ door
to the curb with flow of traffic.

18. Loading zones around residence halls are to be utilized by students for loading/
unloading. A maximum of 15 minutes will be observed at all times.

19. Vehicles will be parked within designated parking boundaries and in no case
shall they overlap into or onto roadway, crosswalk or sidewalk. The fact that other
vehicles are parked improperly shall not constitute an excuse for parking with any
part of the vehicle over the line.

20. The time limit on 15 minute zones will be observed at all times.

21. A traffic ticket or any other communication from a Department of Public
Safety officer, while in the performance of his duties, is considered to be an
official University notice. Failure to respond will make the recipient subject
to disciplinary action.

2

N

. If a hangtag is not visible to the officer while he is issuing a citation, the citation
will be for no current hangtag. If, in the course of issuing a citation, the officer
discovers the hangtag, he has the discretion to downgrade that ticket to improper
display only.

2

w

. Windshields, side wings, side or rear windows may not be obstructed with any sign,
sunshield, sun visor, poster or other transparent material other than a certificate
or sticker required by state law or campus regulations. This will include writing on
vehicle windows with shoe polish.

24. No boats, campers or trailers allowed to park on campus.

GENERAL INFORMATION

Open parking hours will be declared from 5 p.m. to 7:30 a.m. daily and from 5 p.m.
on Friday through 7:30 a.m. on Monday. School holidays are considered as “open
parking” days. Residence hall parking areas are not open parking areas.

1. Operating a motor vehicle in any manner which may create a disturbance
on campus may be considered a traffic violation. This includes excessive use
(determined by city ordinance or officer's discretion) of boom box, stereo, horn,
illegal exhaust systems, squealing of tires or placing pedestrians or other drivers
in a hazardous situation.

S}

. All personnel, including visitors, are expected to adhere to all campus and state
regulations regarding safety procedures.

w

. All residence hall students who own or operate registered vehicles must use the
parking areas assigned to that residence hall. Residence hall parking lots are
color-coded.

4. Arkansas Tech University cannot and does not assume the obligation of
providing parking spaces for all vehicles at all times.

o

. Arkansas Tech University does not assume responsibility for the care and
protection of any vehicle or its contents while said vehicle is operated or parked
on the campus or lands controlled by the University.

6. Vehicles that do not qualify for registration or “approved as safe” by the State of
Arkansas are not permitted on the campus at any time. Disabled and abandoned
vehicles will be turned over to the State Police for disposal according to law.

-

. Mechanical work other than minor repairs such as replacement of vehicle battery
or flat tires will not be permitted on the Tech campus.

8. Arkansas Tech University reserves the right to restrict or revoke the use of an
automobile on campus to anyone if the use of that vehicle is thought to be
detrimental to the academic achievement of any student or if the person has
abused the privilege of operating said vehicle on or off campus.

9. It shall be the responsibility of any driver of a disabled vehicle (i.e. dead battery,
out of gas, keys locked in car, etc.) to immediately notify the Department of
Public Safety of the problem and location of the disabled vehicle. Failure to
make notification may result in the vehicle's being either towed or given a ticket.
Abandoned vehicles shall be towed at the owner’s expense.

10 Flagrant disregard of campus parking and traffic regulations will result in the vehicle
being towed to storage and parking privileges on campus revoked. Towing and
storage charges will be assessed prior to the release of the vehicle to the owner.
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Administration Building - 29

Alumni House - 34

Band Practice Field - 55

Baswell Residence Hall - 43

Baswell Techionery - 52

Brown Residence Hall - 7

Caraway Residence Hall - 33

Chambers Cafeteria - 23

Chartwells Athletic Complex - 39
Corley Hall - 15

Crabaugh Hall - 30

Critz-Hughes Student Housing Complex - 6
Dean Hall - 9

Doc Bryan Student Services Center - 20
Energy Center - 17
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Garden Park Student Housing - 42

Hindsman Tower - 53

Hull Physical Education Building - 31
Jones Residence Hall - 16

M Street Residence Hall - 54
McEver Hall - 14

Norman Hall - 37

Nutt Residence Hall - 8

Old Art Building - 32

Paine Residence Hall - 11

Public Safety - 27

Ross Pendergraft Library and Technology Center - 13
Rothwell Hall - 22

Roush Residence Hall - 19

Stadium Suites Student Housing - 36
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Stroupe Building - 3

Tech Field - 1

Techionery - 24

Temporary Nursing Building - 41
Thone Stadium at Buerkle Field - 35
Tomlinson Hall - 28

Tucker Coliseum - 21

Tucker Residence Hall - 5

Turner Residence Hall - 10
University Commons Apartments - 18
Visiting Team Dressing Facility - 38
W.O. Young Building - 25

Williamson Hall - 2

Wilson Residence Hall - 4
Witherspoon Hall - 12
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