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FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT: Department of Workforce Services
DIVISION: Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT:  Derwin Taylor

TELEPHONE NO._501-683-1353 FAX NO. 501-683-1351 EMAIL: derwin.taylor@arkansas.gov

To comply with Act 1104 of 1995, please complete the following Financial Impact Statement and file two
copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE

Amendment to Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA) State Plan Arkansas Title IV-A, TANF and
TEA forms 1412,1413 and Policy Sections 3660-3660.4

1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial impact?
Yes No X

8 Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule affect small businesses?
Yes No X

If yes, please attach a copy of the economic impact statement required to be filed with the
Arkansas Economic Development Commission under Arkansas Code § 25-15-301 et seq.

3. If you believe that the development of a financial impact statement is so speculative as to be cost
prohibited, please explain.
NA

4, If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please give the incremental

cost for implementing the rule. Please indicate if the cost provided is the cost of the program.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year
General Revenue General Revenue
Federal Funds Federal Funds
Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special Revenue Special Revenue
Other (Identify) Other (Identify)

Total NA Total NA




What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any party subject to the proposed, amended, or
repealed rule? Identify the party subject to the proposed rule and explain how they are affected.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ 0 $ 0

What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to the agency to implement this rule? Is this the cost
of the program or grant? Please explain.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ 0 $ 0




STATE PLAN CHANGES

6.5 Extended Support Service

Such families are deemed financially eligible for Extended Support services if they
were eligible for TANF cash assistance in the month prior to case closure due to
employment. Such services will include one year of extended Medicaid coverage for
those who meet the eligibility criteria under federal law for such coverage and one
year of extended child care assistance at no cost with an additional year of child
care assistance based on the current Division of Child Care fee scale.
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3. A child under the age of 18 who is under court-ordered supervision.
4. A child under age 18 who would be required to be included in the TEA grant, if not

for the receipt of SSI or foster care payments.

A child described above who is living in the home of the TEA participant and for whom
he or she exercises care and responsibility will be covered by the child care guarantee
regardless of whether the child is included in the TEA cash assistance unit. This
includes “family cap” children.

The age limits listed above apply to all eligible children where child care is paid by
DWS.

Items 3 and 4 must be verified by the participant by providing necessary proof to the
DWS Workforce Specialist.

3655.1 Guidelines For Payment Of Child Care Services
Child care (including relative care) for TEA participants will be purchased from eligible
providers through the DHS Child Care Certificate Program.

The county cap rate is the local market rate determined and established by the Division
of Child Care and Early Childhood Education. The county cap rate is based on:

e an 8-10 hour day of care, and
¢ established rates per child.

The maximum absentee days that may be paid by TEA each trimester are as follows:

e For the months of July through October:
12 absentee days, not to exceed 6 days in any month

¢ For the months of November through February:
16 absentee days, not to exceed 8 days in any month

e For the months of March through June:
12 bsentee days, not to exceed 6 in any month.

In situations where care exceeding 10 hours per day is required, extended care will be
provided.

Note: Providers will not charge TEA participants for registration or activity fees.

Child care payments authorized to individuals providing care will be accomplished
utilizing the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education (DCCECC)
Automated Child Day Care System.

60
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Any month in which a child care provider bills DHS for five (5) or more days will count as
a month toward a participant's 24 cumulative months of ESS child care. If more than
one child receives child care services, at least one of the children must receive child
care services for five days for the month to count toward the limit. (See example below).
A day in which any part of the day is billed counts towards the limit.

For purposes of the lifetime count, this policy is retroactive to September 2001. Any
month, beginning with September 2001, in which five (5) or more days were billed for a
child will count toward the lifetime limit.

Example: The participant has two children who received child care services at a local
daycare center. Both children were at the daycare center for three days during the
month for which the services were billed. This will not count as a month towards the
participant’s 24 month lifetime limit as neither child received at least five days of child
care services.

If a participant has not needed child care prior to obtaining employment, but later
requests child care to accept or maintain employment, the participant may receive ESS
child care assistance.

3660.2 Minimum Hours of Work Requirement

To receive ESS child care assistance at no cost during the first twelve months at least
one of the following conditions must be met:

¢ earnings alone caused the family to be income ineligible for TEA, or

o the participant is employed an average minimum of 20 hours per week.

To receive ESS child care assistance during the second year, a participant must be
employed an average of 25 hours per week .

Note: Income is not considered the first year, just required hours. When the participant
makes an initial request for ESS child care, their declaration of the number of hours
worked is accepted. The Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education,
(DCCECE) worker will only verify hours the second six months of the first year. During
the second year, the DCCECE worker will verify both hours and income because hours
of employment and income are both considered when determining where the participant
falls on the fee scale. If the verified hours are less than 20, or the earnings are not
sufficient to cause TEA ineligibility, the ESS child care assistance case will be closed.

The participant will be advised of the minimum hours of work requirement prior to
authorization of the ESS child care via form DCO-1413, Notice of ESS Child Care
Lifetime Limit and Minimum Hours of Work Requirement.
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At each authorization the participant will be notified via DCO-1412, TEA Notice of Child
Care Action, of the number of months remaining in his or her lifetime limit.

3660.3 Verification of Hours of Employment
Local offices responsible for keying child care will follow the procedures outlined in this

section.

At the initial request for ESS child care assistance, the participant’s declaration
regarding the number of hours worked per week or the amount of earnings received will
be accepted. However, prior to renewal of the authorization for the second six months of
the first twelve months, the hours of employment or earnings must be verified. Form
TEA-1414, ESS Child Care Request for Verification of Earnings and Hours of
Employment, will be sent to the participant to request the verification. If the verified
hours of employment are less than 20 hours per week and the earnings are not
sufficient to cause TEA ineligibility, the ESS child care case will be closed after
appropriate notice.

The participant must return the completed form TEA-1414, ESS Child Care Request for
Verification of Earnings and Hours of Employment, and provide verification of income
and number of hours of employment per week for the second year of ESS child care
assistance (See TEA policy 3660.4). If the verified hours of employment are less than
the required minimum hours the ESS child care case will be closed after appropriate
notice.

Failure to verify income and the hours of employment will result in the ESS child care
case being closed after appropriate notice.

The participant will be advised of the closure via TEA-1412, Child Care Notice of Action.
The child care provider must also be notified that the child care case is being closed via
TEA-1404, Termination or Change of Service.

3660.4 Division of Child Care Fees

The fee scale is used by the worker in the second year of ESS/CC to determine the
percentage of the child care payment for which the family will be responsible (See
Appendix C).

This will be determined using earnings information reported by the participant for each
employed TEA adult participant and verified by the worker. The fee scale is used as
follows:

1. Take the total gross wages for each adult participant and multiply by

e 4.334 if paid weekly
o 2.167 if paid bi-weekly
e 2 if paid semi-monthly
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o 1 if paid monthly
2. Total the monthly earned income for all employed TEA adult participants;

3. The parent or caretaker relative who is employed at least 30 hours per week will
receive a $100.00 work-related deduction from his or her gross income. If the adult
participant is employed less than 30 hours per week, no deduction is allowed.

4. Add the unearned income to the earned income total (after appropriate deductions).

5. Use the total income amount in #4 to determine which income group the family
belongs, according to family size (parents or caretaker relative and siblings).

6. The fee percentage the participant will be required to pay can be found on the
bottom row of the scale. A different fee rate is found beneath each income level and
ranges from 0% to full rate. (Refer to Appendix C .)

3660.5 Participant’s Responsibility to Pay ESS Fees to Provider
The following will be explained to the participant:

1. The participant’s responsibility for paying registration and activity fees (as
determined by the provider).

2. The amount the participant is expected to pay to the provider (fee scale);
3. The participant’s responsibility for making timely payments to the child care provider:

4. When and how often payments will be made will be based on arrangements made
between the participant and provider; and

. Failure to pay required fees may result in termination of ESS/CC benefits.

3660.6 When the Participant Fails to Pay Required Fees

When the child care provider notifies the local office that the participant has failed to pay
the required fee, the worker will obtain the following information from the provider:

e total amount of delinquent fee;
e time period for which fees are owed; and
e date last payment was made by the participant.

Using the above information, the worker will notify the participant that the ESS/CC case
will be closed within ten (10) calendar days of the date of the notice. The notice will
include the reason(s) why the action is being taken and steps the participant can take to
avoid the action. To avoid closure the participant must:
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Arkansas Department of Workforce Services
Transitional Employment Assistance
Child Care Notice of Action

TO: FROM:

DATE:

Section |. Notice of Action
The following action(s) has been taken regarding your eligibility for child care assistance:

[ ] No change was made regarding your eligibility for child care assistance.

|| The amount of child care that you pay has changed. DWS will pay $ and you will pay
per to the child care provider effective .

[ 1 Your child care assistance will end on

Section ll. Notice of TEA Extended Child Care (ESS CC) Authorization

[ ] 12 Months No Cost ESS Child Care
Because your TEA cash assistance case closed while you were employed, you are currently receiving
ESS Child Care. You are currently in the month of receiving ESS Child Care assistance at no
cost to you. This is to notify you that you have months of ESS Child Care remaining in your 12
months of no-cost child care.

[ ] 12 Months Sliding Fee Scale Child Care
Because you have previously received 12 months of ESS Child Care at no cost to you, you are now

receiving ESS Child Care on a cost-sharing basis. You are currently in the month of your 24 months
lifetime limit of ESS Child Care. You have months of ESS Child Care remaining in your lifetime limit.
DWS will pay $ and you will pay $ per to the childcare provider effective

Section Il REASON FOR ACTION

Our policy supporting this action is TEA policy .

This action will be taken on . You may appeal this action by filing your request for a hearing by
(30 days from date of notice). Benefits may continue at the current level if you file your request
by (within 10 days from date of notice). If assistance is continued at its present level or

reinstated until a decision is reached, you may be required to repay the additional benefits if the hearing
decision is not in your favor.

PLEASE READ PAGE 2 OF THIS NOTICE FOR INFORMATION ABOUT WHAT TO DO IF YOU DISAGREE
WITH THIS ACTION AND YOUR RIGHT TO A HEARING.

If you become unemployed, you must report this change within 10 days of the date the change occurs. By
reporting in a timely manner, you will preserve any remaining months of this benefit. If you continue to receive
ESS child care assistance while you are not employed, you will be required to repay all ESS Child Care
assistance received during that time and you may be subject to prosecution for fraud and fined and/or
imprisoned,

DWS Workforce Specialist Sighature Phone Number
TEA-1412 (09/05/11) Page 10f2



Section IV: Your Right to a Hearing

If you disagree with the action the agency plans to take/has taken, you may request and receive a
hearing. If you request a hearing by the date shown in Section Ill on the front of this form, child care
assistance will continue pending a hearing. If assistance is continued at its present level or reinstated
until a decision is reached, you may be required to repay the additional benefits if the hearing decision
is not in your favor. The latest you may file an appeal is 30 calendar days from the date of this notice.
However, benefits will not be continued pending the hearing if your appeal is filed after the date shown
in the box on the front of this form.

Section V: How to File for a Hearing

If you are not satisfied with the decision on your case, you may request a hearing by completing form
DHS-1200 (Appeal for a Hearing), or by writing the Appeals and Hearings Section, P. O. Box 1437,
Slot N401, Little Rock, AR 72203-1437. Form DHS-1200 can be obtained from the DHS county office
or DWS local office.

Section VI: Your Right to Representation

If you request a hearing, you have the right to appear in person and to be represented by a lawyer or
other person you select. You may contact the Helpline Center for Arkansas Legal Services at
1-800-952-9243 to request legal aid (if available in your area).

Prior to the hearing, you and/or your representative have the right to review your record and any other
evidence that will be presented at the hearing. You have the right to present evidence in your own
behalf, to bring witnesses and to question any person who is presented as a witness against you.

Section VII: Your Responsibility to Report Changes

It is your responsibility to report changes in school attendance, employment, earned income, and any
other changes that could affect your eligibility for child care. Changes must be reported within 10
calendar days to your child care worker. Failure to report changes may result in an overpayment and
action may be taken by DHS or DWS to collect the overpayment. You may also be subject to
prosecution for fraud and fined and/or imprisoned.

TEA-1412 (09/05/11) Page 2 of 2



Instructions
TEA-1412
Child Care Notice of Action
Purpose

Form TEA-1412, Child Care Notice of Action, is used to notify a TEA participant or a former TEA
participant of any action taken regarding ESS child care assistance and of the number of months
remaining in the Extended Supportive Services (ESS) Child Care 24 month lifetime limit. Form
TEA-1412 will be sent to the ESS Child Care participant at each re-authorization.

Completion

Section | = TEA Child Care

The DWS Workforce Specialist will indicate the action taken by checking and completing the
appropriate item.

Section Il — Extended Support Services Child Care

e 12 Month No Cost ESS Child Care - The DWS Workforce Specialist will check the box and
complete the number of months the participant has received ESS Child Care and the
number of months remaining in the 12 months of no cost Child Care.

¢ 12 Months Sliding Fee Child Care - The DWS Workforce Specialist will check the appropriate
boxes and complete information in the spaces provided.

Section Ill - Reason for Action - A clear and concise statement as to the reason for the action will be
shown in the space provided. This statement should be specific and in language the participant can
be expected to understand. The specific TEA manual policy reference will be shown. In the
appropriate spaces, the DWS Workforce Specialist will complete the date the action has been or will
be taken and the date by which the participant may appeal the action. This date will be 10 days
following the date form TEA-1412 is sent. (The participant has 30 calendar days in which to appeal
the action, however the appeal must be filed within 10 days of the date the form is sent in order to
continue receiving benefits pending the hearing.)

Routing
Form TEA-1412 will be mailed to the participant. A copy will be filed in Section 5 of the case file.
Retention

The TEA-1412 will be retained for five years. Refer to the Arkansas General Records Retention
Schedule for additional information.

TEA-1412 (09/05/11)



Arkansas Department of Workforce Services
Transitional Employment Assistance
Notice of ESS Child Care Lifetime Limit
& Minimum Hours of Work Requirement

Date:
To: From:

This is to notify you that Arkansas state law has limited TEA Extended Support Service
(ESS) Child Care assistance to a lifetime maximum of 24 months. The first 12 months
you receive ESS Child Care will be at no cost to you. You may be required to pay a
portion of your child care expenses during months 13-24 of ESS Child Care assistance
based on a sliding fee scale and your household's income.

Any month in which your child care provider bills 5 days of care for your child(ren) will
count as one of your 24 months.

To receive ESS Child Care assistance, you are required to work a minimum
number of hours per week as shown below:

First 12 months (no cost

e You must be working at least 20 hours per week, or your earnings must be
enough to cause you to be ineligible for TEA cash assistance.

12 Months on Sliding Fee Scale

e Months 13-24 (sliding fee) 25 hours per week minimum

TEA-1413 (09/05/11) Page 1 of 1



Arkansas Department of Workforce Services
Public Notice and Request for Public Comment

In accordance with the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Program Final
Rule (45 CFR Part 260, et al), the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services (ADWS)
has amended its State Plan, specifically section 6.5 Extended Support Services for Title
IV-A of the Social Security Act. Pursuant to Arkansas Code 20-76-444, ADWS issues
proposed changes to the Transitional Employment Assistance (TEA) policies and forms.

ADWS requests public comment on the amended section of the State Plan, policies and
forms. Hard copies of the amendments are available at TANF — 4" Floor, #2 Capitol
Mall, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201.

All comments must be submitted in writing no later than COB, Monday, July 11, 2011.
Please submit written comments to Department of Workforce Services (TANF), Attn:
Derwin Taylor, PO Box 2981, Little Rock, Arkansas 72203 or

Derwin.Tavlor@arkansas.gov.




