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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers — ARKids First-B

DATE: November 15, 2011

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #ARKIDS-3-11

REMOVE INSERT

Section Date Section Date

221.100 6-1-10 221.100 11-15-11
222.900 11-15-11

Explanation of Updates

Section 221.100 is updated to include substance abuse treatment services as covered services for
the ARKids First-B program.

Section 222.900 is inserted to include information regarding substance abuse treatment services
procedure codes.

The paper version of this update transmittal includes revised pages that may be filed in your provider
manual. See Section | for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual. For electronic
versions, these changes have already been incorporated.

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the HP Enterprise Services Provider
Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501)
376-2211.

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at 501-682-0593 (Local); 1-800-482-5850, extension 2-0593 (Toll-
Free) or to obtain access to these numbers through voice relay, 1-800-877-8973 (TTY Hearing
Impaired).

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website:
www.medicaid.state.ar.us.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

Eugene I. Gessow, Director

www.arkansas.gov/dhs
Serving more than one million Arkansans each year


https://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/

ARKids First-B Section Il
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221.100 ARKids First-B Medical Care Benefits 11-15-11

Listed below are the covered services for the ARKids First-B program. This chart also includes
benefits, whether Prior Authorization or a Primary Care Physician (PCP) referral is required, and

specifies the cost-sharing requirements.

Program Services

Benefit Coverage and

Restrictions

Prior
Authorization/ PCP
Referral*

Co-payment/
Coinsurance/
Cost Sharing
Requirement”

Ambulance Medical Necessity None $10 per trip
(Emergency Only)

Ambulatory Surgical  Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Center

Certified Nurse- Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Midwife

Chiropractor Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Dental Care Routine dental care None — PA for inter-  $10 per visit

(No Orthodontia)

periodic screens

Durable Medical

Medical Necessity

PCP Referral and

20% of Medicaid

Equipment $500 per state fiscal year Prescription allowed amount
(July 1 through June 30) per DME item
minus the cost-share
coinsurance/cost-share.

Covered items are listed in
Section 262.120

Emergency Dept. Services

Emergency Medical Necessity None $10 per visit

Non-Emergency Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit

Assessment Medical Necessity None $10 per visit

Family Planning Medical Necessity None None

Federally Qualified Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit

Health Center

(FQHC)

Home Health Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit

(20 visits per state fiscal
year (July 1 through June

30)

Hospital, Inpatient

Medical Necessity

PA on stays over 4
days if age 1 or over

20% of first
inpatient day

Hospital, Outpatient

Medical Necessity

PCP referral

$10 per visit

Current Dental Terminology (including procedure codes, nomenclature, descriptors and other data contained therein)
is copyright © 2009 American Dental Association. All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS Apply.
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Program Services

Benefit Coverage and
Restrictions

Prior
Authorization/ PCP
Referral*

Co-payment/
Coinsurance/
Cost Sharing
Requirement”

Immunizations All per protocol PCP or None
Administered by
ADH
Laboratory & X-Ray = Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Medical Supplies Medical Necessity PCP Prescriptions None
Benefit of $125/mo. PA required on
Section 262.110 exceeding $125/mo
Mental and Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Behavioral Health, PA on treatment
Outpatient services
Nurse Practitioner Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Physician Medical Necessity PCP referral to $10 per visit
specialist and
inpatient
professional
services
Podiatry Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Prenatal Care Medical Necessity None None
Prescription Drugs Medical Necessity Prescription Up to $5 per
prescription
(Must use
generic and
rebate

manufacturer, if
available)

Preventive Health All per protocol PCP Administration  None
Screenings or PCP Referral

Rural Health Clinic Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit
Speech Therapy Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit

4 evaluation units (1 unit
=30 min) per state fiscal
year

4 therapy units (1 unit=15
min) daily

Authorization
required on
extended benefit of
services

Current Dental Terminology (including procedure codes, nomenclature, descriptors and other data contained therein)
is copyright © 2009 American Dental Association. All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS Apply.



ARKids First-B Section Il

Co-payment/

Prior Coinsurance/
Benefit Coverage and Authorization/ PCP  Cost Sharing
Program Services Restrictions Referral* Requirement”
Substance Abuse Medical Necessity Psychiatrist or $10 per visit
Treatment Services Physician
(SATS) Prescription (See

Section 221.000 of
SATS manual)

Prior Authorization
required for all
substance abuse
treatment services,
except codes HO001
& T1007 when billed
with no modifier.
Codes H0001 &
T1007 require prior
authorization when
billed with a modifier
(See Section
231.100 of SATS
manual).

Prior Authorization
required on
extended benefit of
services (See
Section 230.000 of
SATS manual)

Vision Care

Eye Exam One (1) routine eye exam None $10 per visit
(refraction) every 12
months

Eyeglasses One (1) pair every 12 None None
months

"Refer to your Arkansas Medicaid specialty provider manual for prior authorization and PCP
referral procedures.

“ARKids First-B beneficiary cost-sharing is capped at 5% of the family’s gross annual income.

""ARKids First-B beneficiaries will pay a maximum of $5.00 per prescription. The beneficiary will
pay the provider the amount of co-payment that the provider charges non-Medicaid purchasers
up to $5.00 per prescription.

222.900 Substance Abuse Treatment Services 11-15-11

Current Dental Terminology (including procedure codes, nomenclature, descriptors and other data contained therein)
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Substance Abuse Treatment Services procedure codes may be billed by Medicaid enrolled
Substance Abuse Treatment Services providers for ARKids First-B beneficiaries. Refer to
Section Il of the Substance Abuse Treatment Services provider manual for service definitions,
information regarding reimbursement, prior authorization and extension of benefits and other
information.

Current Dental Terminology (including procedure codes, nomenclature, descriptors and other data contained therein)
is copyright © 2009 American Dental Association. All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS Apply.



