224-25-5-1. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE

(a)  All Residential Builders licenses will be issued under the name
and address listed on the front of the application form. The use of any other
name may constitute a violation. It is the responsibility of the Residential
Builder licensee to inform the Committee in writing of any name, address,
ownership or any other change relating to said llcense within 15 days of such
change.

(b)  All applications fer-aResidential- Builders-licenses-in-the-State
ofArkansas must be filed in one of five categories; (1) individual, (2)
partnership, (3) corporation, (4) limited liability company or (5) limited
liability partnership. Each application must be supported by a qualifying
party, who has satlsfactorlly completed such examination as may be required

by the Committee, prior to being issued a license to-engage—inResidential
Building-in-the-State-of Arkansas: Anyone failing to pass such examination

may be reexamined at any regular examination period, upon payment of
proper fee. Should the qualifying party (business and law or trade) leave a
licensed entity, written notice shall be given within fifteen (15) days to the
Committee. The notice shall state the name and position of individual
leaving and the name and position of the individual who will replace the
departing qualifier. The replacement qualifier must be fully qualified within
thirty (30) days of the departure of the previous qualifier. Any license not
renewed within two years of expiration shall not be renewed.

224-25-5-2. LICENSE EXPIRATION & RENEWAL

(@) Expiration. All licenses te—engage—m—the—busmess—eﬁ-l%es&de&ﬂal
Building-in-the-State-ef-Arkansas shall expire at midnight of the date of its

expiration.
(b) Renewal.

(1) Renewal notices will be mailed approximately 60 days prior to
the expiration of a license. However, it shall be the responsibility of the
holder of the Residential Builders License to renew said license. Failure to
receive a renewal notice shall not excuse the failure to timely renew. A
renewal application will be considered timely filed if received by the

Committee erpost-marked by the expiration date.

(2) Renewal applications received by the Committee prior to the
expiration date of the license shall be accompanied by a renewal fee of



$50.00 and the licensee may continue to use the license until the next meeting
of the Committee following the expiration date of the license.

(3)  Renewal applications received within thirty (30) days after the
expiration of the license shall be accompanied by a $100.00 renewal fee.
UPON THE RECEIPT OF THE APPLICATION the license shall be deemed
to be reinstated until the Committee has met and acted upon the renewal.
The reinstatement of a license does not reinstate the license for the time
period between the expiration of the license and the receipt of the application
by the Committee. '

(4) Any renewal application received more than thirty (30) days
after the expiration of the license shall be accompanied by a $100.00 fee and
may be reviewed by the Committee at its next available meeting. The
applicant shall not have a valid license until said application is approved by
the Committee. A license may be renewed up until two (2) years after its
expiration date. Any license expired two (2) years or more shall not be
renewed.

(5) Any renewal application not meeting the requirements of the
Committee at its' initial review, but being placed in an "improve status" will
constitute an extension of the existing license until the next available
Committee meeting, at which time the license will expire if a new license is
not issued.

224-25-5-3. LICENSE APPLICATIONS

Any new application not complete within ninety (90) days after
original receipt in our office will become invalid. Any new application not
passing the Committee’s review will be considered invalid after ninety (90)
days from the date of its original review. During the ninety (90) day period,
the applicant may have the opportunity to make corrections or improvements
needed in the application in order to warrant the issuance of a license. After
an application becomes invalid a new application and fee must be submitted
for consideration to obtain a Centraeters License.

224-25-5-4. LICENSE FEES

(a) New Applications (Individuals or Entities Not Licensed by the
Contractors Licensing Board). All new applications by individuals or entities
not currently licensed by the Contractors Licensing Board must be
accompanied by a One Hundred Dollar ($100.00) application/licensing fee.
This fee is non-refundable. .



(b) New Applications (Individuals or Entities Currently Licensed by
the Contractors Licensing Board). Individuals or entities currently licensed
by the Contractors Licensing Board need not submit a application or
licensing fee, however, they must submit an amended class request form and
meet the requirements for Residential Builders—in—order—to—receive—a
Residential-Builders-class a license. Individuals or entities currently holding
a Building or Light Building classification from the Contractors Licensing
Board are deemed to have met all requlrements to receive a Residential
Builders class.

(¢c) Renewal Applications (Individuals or Entities Not Licensed by
the Contractors Licensing Board). All renewal applications by individuals or
entities not currently licensed by the Contractors Licensing Board must be
accompanied by a Fifty Dollar ($50.00) licensing fee, if the renewal
application is timely filed (see Rule 224-25-5-2 for untimely filed renewal
applications). This fee is non-refundable.

(d) Renewal Applications (Individuals or Entities Currently
Licensed by the Contractors Licensing Board). Individuals or entities which
have a Contractors License shall only pay the renewal fee for the Contractors
License. No additional fee is required te—-Penew—the—Reﬁdeﬁﬂal—Bw}defs
elass.

224-25-5-5. INACTIVE STATUS

A holder of a Residential license may choose to become inactive in the
State of Arkansas at the time of any renewal. A license holder who is
inactive may not bid on any contract, pull any permit, nor perform any work
for which a lieensed Residential Builder license is required. A license holder
who elects inactive status must pay all renewal fees, but is not required to
submit financial information to the Committee. A license holder who is on
inactive status may reactivate its license by making a request to the
Committee and providing all necessary information required to renew as an
active license holder. A license holder may remain on inactive status for a

period of time not to exceed six (6) consecutive years.

224-25-5-6. EXPERIENCE REQUIRED




te)}—Residential Building.

(1) In order to show appropriate experience, qualifications and
ability to perform in Residential Building, the following must be provided:

(A) Proof of four (4) years of appropriate verifiable experience in
the Building industry (commercial or residential) must be shown.

(B) Twe Three verifiable references on the forms prescribed by the
Committee.

(C) Compliance with all other state laws and regulations reasonably
connected to the performance of residential building.

(2) The Committee will take into consideration past performance,
complaints, or violations of the law or regulations of the Committee and of
the Contractors Licensing Board. :

(d)(b) Residential Remodeler.



(1) In order to show appropriate experience, qualifications and
ability to perform residential remodeling, the following must be provided:

(A) Proof of twe (2) years of appropriate verifiable experience in the
remodeling industry (commercial or residential) must be shown.

(B) Twe Three verifiable references on the forms prescribed by the
Commiittee.

(C) Compliance with all other state laws and regulations reasonably
connected to the performance of residential remodeling.

(2) The Committee will take into consideration past performance,
complaints, or violations of the law or regulations of the Committee and of

the Contractors Licensing Board.

(c) __ Specialties.

(1) In order to show appropriate experience, qualifications and
ability to perform residential specialty contacting, the following must be

provided:

(A) Proof of appropriate verifiable experience in the specialty area
(commercial or residential) must be shown.

(B) Twe Three verifiable references on the forms prescribed by the
Committee.

(C) _ Compliance with all other state laws and regulations reasonably
connected to the performance of residential remodeling.

(2)  The Committee will take into consideration past performance,

complaints, or violations of the law or regulations of the Committee and of
the Contractors Licensing Board.

¢e)}(d) A contractor holding a license from the Arkansas Contractors
Licensing Board with the classification(s) of Building (B) or Light Building
(LB) is considered to be qualified to perform Residential Building. However,
a Residential Building class must be requested in writing prior to performing
the work.



224-25-5-7. EXAMINATION REQUIRED

Unless exempted by the provisions of Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-509, no
person or entity shall be licensed by the Committee unless the individual, or a

qualifying party for an entity, has passed the written examination required by
the Committee.

224-25-5-8. EXPIRED JULY 1, 2001

224-25-5-9- FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

(a) New—Applications—and—Renewal—applications: Residential

Building Contractors, Residential Remodelers, Residential Specialty
Contractors

(1) All new and renewal applications must be submitted with a
compiled financial statement of the applicant, showing a positive net worth
excluding the applicant’s homestead and retirement accounts.

2) AlHeﬁewal—appheaﬂeﬁs—must—be—submted—wﬁh——a—ﬁnaﬂe}al

) All financial statements must be submitted on the form approved
by the Committee or in a similar format such as to provide the Committee
with the information sufficient to adequately review the financial status of the
applicant. All financial statements must be sworn to be true and correct.
Corporations, Partnerships and Limited Liability Companies, etc., must file a
business financial statement, not a personal financial statement.

(b) Limited License Residential Remodelers, Limited License.
Residential Specialty Contractors

No financial statement shall be required. A contractor holding a

Limited License is not authorized to perform a project if the cost of the work
to be done in the State of Arkansas, including, without limitation, labor and

material, is $20,000 or more.

)(c) (1) If the Committee determines that the financial information
provided by an applicant for a new or renewal license does not satisfy the
financial requirements, the Committee may, at its option, deny the
application or place the application in Improve status.
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(2) A renewal applicant who is placed in Improve status will have
its license extended until the next regular meeting of the committee thisty
30)-days, pending further information being provided and/or changes being
made by the applicant to resolve any difficulties. The license is effective
only until the next regular meeting of the Committee and will expire at the
next regular meeting unless further action is taken by the Committee.

¢e)(d) The Committee will also consider past performance, complaints
and ability to perform in determining whether to issue a new or renewal
license.

224-25-5-9. CLASSIFICATIONS

(@) A contractor licensed as Residential Building Contractor or a
Residential Remodeler is considered to be a “general contractor” and is
authorized to perform any of the “specialties” associated with the
classification in question. A contractor licensed as a Residential Specialty
Contractor is authorized to only perform the functions of the specific
specialty for which a license is held. It is the responsibility of the applicant
for a classification or a specific specialty to show appropriate experience and
qualifications in each classification requested and demonstrate the ability to
perform said classification.

(b) A licensee may perform Construction Management in the classification
its licensed.

(c) A contractor shall maintain proper personnel, financial ability and facility
to perform for the owner: coordination, development and management
expertise for the project.

(d) CLASSIFICATIONS AND SPECIALTIES — A contractor holding a
classification may perform any of the functions listed under that
classification. Performing work not listed under that classification may
constitute a violation. '

OUTLINE OF CLASSIFICATIONS

(1) Residential Building Contractor

Additions
Awnings, Canopies



Base & Paving

a. Base Construction

b. Hot & Cold Mixes

C. Surface Treatment

d. Asphalt

e. Concrete Paving
Boat Docks

Carpentry, Framing, Millwork, Cabinets

Ceilings, Wall Systems, Acoustical Treatments

Chimneys, Fireplaces

Concrete

Countertops

Demolition

Detached Garage, Storage Building, Detached Structures

Drywall

Erosion Control

Excavation

Fencing, Gates

Floors, Floor Coverings

Foundation Construction or Drilling, Pile Driving, Stabilization

Glass, Glazing, Doors, Windows

Grading & Drainage (Includes Grading, Drainage, Pipe & Structures,
Culverts, Clearing, Grubbing & Rip Rap)

Greenhouses and Sunrooms

Insulation

Interior Work

Kitchen and Bathroom Renovations

Landscaping, Irrigation, Lawn Sprinklers, Streams

Lathe, Plaster, Stucco, Dryvit, EIFS

Masonry '

Metal Building Erection

Metal Studs, Walls

New Home Construction

Overhead Doors

Painting, Wall Covering

Remodeling, Renovations, Restoration, Alterations

Retaining Walls

Roofs, Roof Decks

Siding, Soffit, Facia & Gutters

Skylights, Solar Systems

Special Coatings or Applications, Caulking, Waterproofing

Steel, Alloy, Ornamental, Metal Fabrication, Welding

Swimming Pools, Spas



Tile, Terrazzo, Marble

(2) Residential Remodeler

Additions

Awnings, Canopies

Base & Paving
a. Base Construction
b. Hot & Cold Mixes
C. Surface Treatment
d.  Asphalt
e. Concrete Paving

Boat Docks

Carpentry, Framing, Millwork, Cabinets

Ceilings, Wall Systems, Acoustical Treatments

Chimneys, Fireplaces

Concrete

Countertops

Demolition

Detached Garage, Storage Building, Detached Structures

Drywall

Erosion Control

Excavation

Fencing, Gates

Floors, Floor Coverings

Foundation Construction or Drilling, Pile Driving, Stabilization

Glass, Glazing, Doors, Windows

Grading & Drainage (Includes Grading, Drainage, Pipe & Structures,
Culverts, Clearing, Grubbing & Rip Rap)

Greenhouses and Sunrooms

Insulation

Interior Work

Kitchen and Bathroom Renovations

Landscaping, Irrigation, Lawn Sprinklers, Streams

Lathe, Plaster, Stucco, Dryvit, EIFS

Masonry

Metal Building Erection

Metal Studs, Walls

Overhead Doors

Painting, Wall Covering

Remodeling, Renovations, Restoration, Alterations

Retaining Walls

Roofs, Roof Decks



Siding, Soffit, Facia & Gutters

Skylights, Solar Systems

Special Coatings or Applications, Caulking, Waterproofing
Steel, Alloy, Ornamental, Metal Fabrication, Welding
Swimming Pools, Spas

Tile, Terrazzo, Marble

(3) SPECIALTIES (Specific)

A contractor may obtain one or more of the Specialty
Classifications by proper qualifications shown. The list of those
Specialty Classifications Is:

SPECIALTIES

Awnings & Canopies
Base & Paving

a. Base Construction

b. Hot & Cold Mixes

c. Surface Treatment

d. Asphalt

e. Concrete Paving
Boat Docks

Carpentry, Framing, Millwork, Cabinets

Ceilings, Wall Systems, Acoustical Treatments

Chimneys, Fireplaces

Communication, Computer or Sound Systems, Cabling

Concrete

Countertops

Demolition

Detached Garage, Storage Building, Detached Structures

Drywall

Excavation

Fencing, Gates

Floors, Floor Covering

Foundation Construction or Drilling, Pile Driving, Stabilization

Glass, Glazing, Doors, Windows

Grading & Drainage (Includes Grading, Drainage, Pipe & Structures,
Culverts, Clearing, Grubbing & Rip Rap)

Greenhouses and Sunrooms

Insulation

Kitchen and Bathroom Renovations

Landscaping, Irrigation, Lawn Sprinklers, Streams

Lathe, Plaster, Stucco, Dryvit, EIFS
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Masonry

Metal Studs, Walls

Overhead Doors

Painting, Wallcovering

Rebar

Retaining Walls

Roofing, Roof Decks

Siding, Soffit, Facia, Gutters

Skylights, Solar Systems

Special Coatings or Applications, Caulking, Waterproofing
Steel, Alloy, Ornamental, Metal Fabrication, Welding
Swimming Pools, Spas

Tile, Terrazzo, Marble

224-25-5-10. COMPLAINTS &
INVESTIGATIONS

(a) The purpose of the complaints procedure is to effectively deal
with issues affecting the licensure of licensees. The complaints procedure is
not intended to function as a dispute resolution process or a code enforcement
process. Any complaint registered with the Committee of alleged violations
must be submitted in writing with proper information to identify job site,
owner if possible, any name and phone numbers of individuals and any other
information that may tend to be useful in the investigation. The Complainant
must furnish his/their name, address and phone number in order to obtain any
other information that may be necessary for proper investigation. A written
response will be made to a Complainant when investigation is closed.

(b) A contractor who is licensed shall cooperate with any
investigation and provide the Committee or the Contractors Licensing Board
with all relevant information requested by the Committee or Board. The
failure to cooperate or to timely provide the Committee or Board with
relevant information as requested may constitute misconduct in the conduct
of the contractors business and may subject the contractor to the revocation
of the contractors license.

(c) The Committee may delegate to the administrator/investigator
the authority to obtain licensee compliance as may be necessary. The
administrator/investigator will conduct all investigations in such a manner

that would be complimentary to the Eicensingaw-forResidential Builders

licensing law.
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(d) Any application being denied because of a violation of Ark.
Code Ann. § 17-25-101 through 17-25-513 may become invalid and a new
application must be submitted.

224-25-5-11. HEARINGS & APPEALS
(a) All hearings and appeals of decisions of the Committee will be

held in accordance with the Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-501 et seq. and the
Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-201 et. seq.

—+d) Appeals to the Contractors Licensing Board.

(1) Appeals from decisions of the Residential Building Contractors
Committee to the Contractors Licensing Board shall be in writing and filed
with the Contractors Licensing Board within 10 calendar days of the date the
decision was served upon the respondent.

(2) A transcript of the original hearing(s) will be ordered and filed
with the Contractors Licensing Board. A copy of the transcript will be
provided to the respondent upon request. In the event the Contractors
Licensing Board affirms or modifies, but does not reverse the decision of the
Committee, the respondent will be responsible for the cost of the appeal.

12



Said cost include, but are not limited to, the cost of the transcript. Said cost
are in addition to any civil penalties or other sanction imposed.

(3)  The Contractors Licensing Board will review the decision of the
Committee in accordance with its Rules and Regulations.

224-25-5-12. DEADLINES

For any deadline that occurs on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday
proclaimed by the State of Arkansas, the time to complete that event shall be
extended until the next business day.

224-25-5-13. DEFINITIONS

(a) Ownership: When the terms His own or Its own property is
used in the Residential Builder licensing law, it shall mean sole and exclusive
right to sell or convey the property.

(b) Qualifying party: A person who has passed the appropriate
examination or is the experience qualifier for the licensee. To act as a
“qualifying party” a person must be either: (1) a sole owner; (2) a partner of
the partnership; (3) an officer of the corporation who is actively engaged in
the day to day activities of the company; (4) a member of the Limited
Liability Company who is actively engaged in the day to day activities of the
company; (5) a partner of the Limited Liability Partnership who is actively
engaged in the day to day activities of the company; or (6) a full time
employee. \

(c) Full time employee: A person who is an actual employee
of the business, not an independent contractor. The person must work, on
average, 30 or more hours a week for the business (1500 hours per year),
must not be paid as an independent contractor (not receive a “1099” for his
earnings but receive a “W-2” for his earnings). A full time employee is not
someone who is hired “job to job” as needed. Other factors to be considered
in making this determination include, but are not limited to: whether the

business pays for workman’s compensation insurance on the individual,

whether the business pays payroll taxes on the individual, the amount of
control the business has over the activities of the individual, the ownership of
the tools used by the individual and, whether the individual maintains his
own business separate from the business in question.




te)(d) Residential Remodeling: Any construction on a single-family
residence involving structural changes, improvements, repairs or additions.

H(e) Residential Building Contractor: The term “Residential
Building Contractor” as found in Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-502(2) does not
include a developer who has constructed a residential project, if the
developer:

(1) Contracts with a properly licensed contractor to perform a turnkey
project; and

(2) The licensed contractor gives a written warranty at closing of not
less than one year to the buyer of the residence.

2(f) Own residence: The term “own residence” as found in Ark.
Code Ann. § 17-25-509(c) and Ark. Code Ann. § 17-25-513 means the
personal residence, the principal place of abode, the domicile, a residence
constructed for the occupancy of the person who owns the property.

224-25-5-14. DISPLAY OF NAME AND LICENSE NUMBER

Each contractor holding a license from the Residential-Building
Centractors Committee shall display in a prominent, legible manner the

license number and contractor’s name, as licensed, in letters not less than
three inches high on a sign prominently displayed at all residential job sites.
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