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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers – Rehabilitative Services for 
Persons with Mental Illness 

DATE: July 1, 2011 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #RSPMI-1-11 

REMOVE INSERT 

Section Date Section Date 
___ ___ 217.001 7-1-11 

217.101 9-1-10 ___ ___ 

    

Explanation of Updates 

The content in Section 217.101 is moved to Section 217.001 and is updated to include beneficiary 
age ranges. Section 217.101 is removed as a result. 

The paper version of this update transmittal includes revised pages that may be filed in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes have already been incorporated. 

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the HP Enterprise Services Provider 
Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 
376-2211. 

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at 501-682-0593 (Local); 1-800-482-5850, extension 2-0593 (Toll-
Free) or to obtain access to these numbers through voice relay, 1-800-877-8973 (TTY Hearing 
Impaired).  

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance 
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Eugene I. Gessow, Director 
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217.001 Youth Outcome Questionnaire (YOQ
®
) 7-1-11 

The Y-OQ
®
 2.01, the Y-OQ

®
 SR, the Arkansas Indicators and the OQ

®
-45.2 are instruments for 

measuring service/treatment effectiveness and treatment planning. 

The OQ
®
 instruments are user friendly to both the beneficiaries and to the provider.  For the 

beneficiary, they are brief and easy to understand.  For the provider, they are easy to administer. 

Frequency 

Providers must follow the OQ
® 

Clinician Guide specialized for the State of Arkansas located at 
https://www.oqarkansas.com/oqa.  At a minimum, the OQ

®
 instruments must be administered 

within 14 days of entering care, then every 90 days to coincide with Periodic Review of 
Treatment Plans and at discharge. At a minimum, the Arkansas Indicators must be administered 
every 90 days.  The OQ

®
 instruments and Arkansas Indicators are required for all beneficiaries 

ages 4 through 17.  The instruments must be administered to beneficiaries ages 18 to 21 unless 
they have a documented certification of Serious Mental Illness (SMI).  Documentation of clinical 
exceptions to frequencies stated in the OQ

®
 Clinical Guide must be included in the clinical 

record. 

Documentation Requirements 

If the parent or legal guardian for children/adolescents under the age of 16 is not available to 
complete the Y-OQ

®
2.01 or Arkansas Indicators, the provider must have documentation 

indicating barriers to obtaining the Y-OQ
®
2.01 and Arkansas Indicators.  Documentation must 

include attempts to obtain the Y-OQ
®
2.01, OQ

®
-45.2 and Arkansas Indicators at the scheduled 

frequency.  

If a Y-OQ
®
2.01 or OQ

®
-45.2 indicates regression or lack of adequate progress, the provider must 

revise the treatment plan or explain the reason for the continuation of the treatment plan in the 
progress notes. 

Without documentation of the YOQ, providers’ claims are subject to recoupment as explained in 
Section 228.335. 
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