. REGULATION 1005

1005. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR TRAINING (FULL-TIME AND PART-
TIME I OFFICERS) '

| (1)  Basic Police Training Course

(a)

(b)
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Each Full-Time Law Enforcement Officer, and each Part-Time I
Law Enforcement Officer who is employed and working twenty
(20) or more hours per week but less than forty (40) hours per
week, must satisfactorily complete the Basic Police Training
Course as prescribed in Specification $-9, within the time period
established in Regulation 1003(4).

Any Full-Time or Part-Time I Law Enforcement Officer who has
previously met the minimum training requirements, and hag been
separated from law enforcement for more than five (5) years but
less than ten (10) years may, at the request of the sponsoring
agency, which has either employed the individual or made a ,
conditional offer of employment to the individual, be allowed to
take a comprehensive examination prepared, administered,
scheduled and graded by ALETA/CLEST. If the law enforcement
applicant successfully passes the wrntten exam, he or she may
forego attending the full Basic Police Training Course provided he
or she attends the 40-hour Refresher Course currently offered, as
well as meet the other selection requirements, prior to being
eligible for certification.

(i) The examination will be administered at the ALETA
Campus located in East Camden, Arkansas, at a time and
date scheduled by the Comumission and will consist of
questions taken from the current edition of Arkansas

~ Criminal and Traffic Law Manual, published by Lexis
Nexis, and CLEST Rules and Regulations Manual,
published by CLEST.

(i)  Law enforcement applicants who desire to challenge the
exam must have completed a state or federal law
enforcement academy consisting of at least the current
number of required hours to cormnplete the ALETA basic
training, subject to Regulation 1008.

(11)  An applicant who fails to pass the two-hundred and fifty
(250) question examination with a minimum score of 70%
after two attempts is required to complete the basic training
course in order to be eligible for certification.
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(iii) Anyone who has been separated from law enforcement for
ten (10) years or more is required to attend a new Basic
Law Enforcement Course without exception.

Appointment or employment as an Auxiliary, Part-time II, or
Specialized Police Person during five (5) to ten (10) year period of
separation will not exclude the Full-time or Part-time I Law
Enforcement Officer from complying with the requirements of

(1)(®)-

Part-time II Law Enforcement Officers who are employed and i
working less than 20 hours per week and Auxiliary Law

Enforcement Officers will be required to satisfactorily complete

not less than 100 hours of Commission Approved law enforcement

training including a Firearms Qualification Course equivalent to

the Fireatms Qualification requirements for a Full-time Law

Enforcement Officer. Separation from law enforcement for three

(3) years will result in the Auxiliary and the Part-time II Law

Enforcement Officer being required to attend a new 100-hour

training course.

Any Full-time or Part-time I Law Enforcement Officer who fails to . "
satisfactorily complete the Basic Police Training Course within the

time period allowed by regulation 1003(4), or who once enrolled in

the Course, [ails the course or is expelled from the course, will not

be eligible for training nor certification for twenty-four (24)

months following the date of failure or expulsion from the training

course or the date of expiration of the probationary period. In the

event a Full-time or Part-time I Law Enforcement Officer fails the

course or is expelled from the course, said officer shall not be

eligible to serve, be employed, or otherwise function as a law 1
enforcement officer in this State from that date until the expiration
of twenty-four months following the date of failure or expulsion
from the training course. If an officer properly appeals his failure
or expulsion, said officer may retain his eligibility to serve as a law
enforcement officer until such time as the Commission has ruled
upon said appeal or the expiration of the time period allowed by
Regulation 1003(4), whichever occurs first.

If an officer fails to satisfactorily complete the required training in
a total of twenty (20) months from the original date of eruployment
or appointment, he shall not be eligible to be retained as a law
enforcement officer in this State.



2)

€)

)

(8

(h)

Reappointment or reemployment as a law enforcement officer will
be considered only after the person has been separated from law
enforcement for at least twenty-four (24) months. Upon
reappointment or reemployment, an officer would be eligible to
begin a new twelve (12) month probationary period.

Should the officer fail to meet the minimum training requirement
for a second time, be or she will not be eligible for certification as
a Full-Tiroe, Part-Time, Auxiliary or in any other law enforcement
officer position.

Supervisory Course ' 1

(a)  Ttis recommended, but not requiréd, that all officers promoted,
appointed or transferred to a first level supervisory position should
satisfactorily complete the Supervisory Course as prescribed in
Specification S-10.
(b)  Officers must have satisfactorily completed the Basic Police
Training Course prior to enrollment in the Supervisory Course.
Middle Management Course
(a)  The Middle Management Course shall be optional and voluntary.
Specification S-11 describes the Middle Management Course.
(b)  The Commission recommends, but does not require, that each
officer promoted, appointed or transferred to a muddle management
position should satisfactonly complete the prescribed Middle
Management Course.
©) Officers must bave satisfactorily completed a Police Supervision r;
Course before enrollment in the Middle Management Course. _ i
Executive Course
(a) Executive Coursés shall be optional and voluntary for Department
Heads. Specification S-12 describes the Executive Courses.
(b)  As acondition of course certification by the Commission,

enrollment and attendance shall be restricted to Department Heads,
Assistant Department Heads and Division Heads unless special
approval to-attend is granted by the Cormmission. Officers who are
not Department Heads should have successfully completed the
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recommended Middle Management course prior to enrollment in
an Executive Course. -

Law Enforcement Officer Refresher Cours'e

.
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(d)

The Refresher Course will be required for all Full-time and Part-
time I Law Enforcement Officers who are new employees and
completed their training in another state.

The Refresher Course will be required for all Full-time and Part-
time I Law Enforcement Officers who have previously met the
training requirements, but have been separated from law
enforcement for a period of five (5) to ten (10) years. (See
Specification S-13).

Appointment or employment as an Auxiliary, Part-time II,
Specialized Police Person during a five (5) to ten (10) year period
of separation will not exclude the Full-timme or Part-time I Law
Enforcement Officer from mandatory attendance of the Refresher
Course.

Any Full-time Officer or Part-time I Officer not required to attend
the Refresher Course may voluntanly apply, and if accepted,
receive the training.

Specialized Courses

(@)
(b)

Specialized Courses shall be optional and voluntary courses.

Specification S-14 describes the Specialized Courses.




