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I. Administrative Policy

In accordance with A.C.A. 25-17-307, the Board of Trustees of the University of Central
Arkansas has established regulations for the operation and parking of motor vehicles on the UCA
campus. These regulations apply to all faculty, staff, students, and others utilizing the land and
streets owned or controlled by the University of Central Arkansas and are effective beginning
August 15, 2003. The University Police Department is the jurisdictional law enforcement agency
empowered under State statutes to enforce all parking and traffic regulations of the University of
Central Arkansas and the State of Arkansas on all campus and university controlled properties
and those streets adjacent to campus properties.

l. Any appropriately licensed driver choosing to park an automobile on campus or on other
UCA owned or controlled properties may do so, provided a parking permit is obtained
and provided the driver understands that the permit neither obligates the university to set
aside a space for every vehicle nor allows the driver to violate parking regulations.

2. The university reserves the right to restrict the use of an automobile on university
property if the owner or driver has abused the privilege of operating a vehicle on campus.

3. The university assumes no responsibility for a vehicle or its contents.
4. Any motor vehicle parked on property owned or controlled by the university, including

metered parking, and under the control of a student, faculty member, or staff member
must properly display a valid UCA parking permit.

5. Failure to pay fines will result in the blocking of pre-registration or the withholding of
transcripts or pay and refund checks.
6. A ticketed vehicle continuing in violation may be ticketed again as long as the violation

continues. Overtime parking will be ticketed every two hours.

7. An illegally parked, but non-ticketed vehicle, is not an indication that the regulation
being violated is no longer in effect.
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1. “Traffic and Parking Regulations” — Board Policy No. 421

Board Policy No. 421 sets forth the parking and traffic regulations applicable to all
faculty, staff and students. By action of the Board in February of 2009, the fee
structure for students changed from a “parking fee” to an “access and security fee.”
Board Policy No. 421 also establishes the fee that is charged to faculty and staff.
However, the amount of the fee to be charged for faculty and staff was not addressed
at the February 2009 meeting but needs to be addressed at this time.

The administration proposes that effective August 2010 the fee for the annual parking
fee for employees driving automobiles be increased from $51.00 to $66.00; that the
parking fee for the summer terms for employces driving automobiles be increased
from $25.00 to $33.00; and that the fee for employees riding motorcycles be increased
from $5.00 to $10.00.

The parking permit fees charged of employees have not been increased in
approximately 15 years. The increase in the permit fees is needed to allow the
University to keep up with the rising cost of providing parking structures, safety and
security measures, and the shuttle service.

Therefore, the President recommends to the Board of Trustees the following
resolution:

“BE IT RESOLVED: That the Board of Trustees approves the following
revisions to Board Policy No. 421, ‘Traffic and Parking Regulations’.”

UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL ARKANSAS
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10.

11.

12.

II.

Any person who is stopped by University Police for a violation of a traffic or parking
regulation is subject to either a university or municipal citation as determined by the
issuing officer.

Occupants of residence halls are requested not to drive to class, the cafeteria, or other
campus areas between the hours of 6:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

A traffic ticket or any other communication from a University Police officer is an official
university notice. Recipients who do not respond to such a communication face
disciplinary and/or legal action.

The Arkansas Crime Information Center furnishes the University Police Department with
information on the owners of vehicles not displaying a permit that receive tickets. These
tickets are then issued to the faculty/staff member or student whose home address match
those on the listing.

Use of any parking permit acquired through fraudulent, or otherwise improper means,
will be considered theft of services from the University of Central Arkansas. Hanging
permits will be confiscated and parking privileges may be taken away.

Traffic and Parking Services Office

The University Police Department is located at the intersection of W.J. Sowder and

Marian Ross Streets. The Department's Traffic and Parking Services Office is open for payment
of traffic fines and purchase/distribution of parking permits between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.,
Monday through Friday. All registered students and employees may obtain their parking permit
at the University Police Department 24 hours a day except for registration and fee payment days.
Temporary parking permits and parking and traffic information can also be obtained at
the University Police Communications Center 24 hours a day. As a service to the university
community, the Department's lobby and communications center is never closed.

III.

Student Parking Permits

1. Students who park vehicles on campus are required to immediately obtain and
display a parking permit. The parking permit is a transferable polyethylene
hanging permit registered in the name of the student.

2. Students should obtain their parking permit at the University Police Department
or such other place that may be designated on registration and university fee
payment days.

3. The permit must hang on the rearview mirror with the front side of the permit
facing the windshield. Failure to properly display the hanging permit will result in
the issuance of a citation.

4. All student permits expire August 15, 2010. Continuing students must obtain a
new permit each fall semester.

5. Students who forget to bring their hanging permit to campus must obtain a
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Iv.

temporary parking permit from the University Police Department prior to parking
on university property. Temporary permits are issued free of charge to students.

Faculty and Staff Parking Permits

Faculty and staff of the university who park vehicles on campus are required to
immediately purchase and display a parking permit. Student employees are not eligible
for staff parking. The parking permit for all faculty and staff employees is a transferable
polyethylene hanging permit registered in the name of the employee.

Only one hanging permit may be issued to each employee of the university. The permit
should be transferred to any vehicle the employee parks on the campus.

The permit must hang on the rearview mirror with the front side of the permit facing the
windshield. Failure to properly display the hanging permit will result in the issuance of a
citation.

Employees who forget to bring their hanging permit to campus must obtain a one-day
temporary parking permit from the University Police Department prior to parking on
university property. One-day permits are issued free of charge for employees who
possess a regular parking permit.

Lost hanging permits may be replaced by purchasing a new permit at the full annual fee.
Holders of permits are prohibited from selling or otherwise transferring their permit to
another faculty/staff member or student.

The hanging permit must be returned to the University Police Department upon
termination of employment with the University of Central Arkansas.

A temporary staff permit is available to temporary or extra-help employees whose
appointments are for a limited period of time. The fee for a one-month temporary staff
permit is $10.00. The fee paid for monthly temporary permits may be used to off-set the
cost of a regular employee parking permit should the employee's appointment be
extended.

Relatives of faculty or staff members are not eligible for a faculty/staff permit and may
not park in faculty/staff parking areas unless they themselves are regular employees of
UCA. Each parking permit is valid only for use by the person to whom it is issued.
Misuse of a faculty/staff parking permit may result in loss of parking privileges for both
the faculty/staff member and the violator.
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VL

Disabled Parking

Disabled parking spaces are provided for the benefit of physically challenged persons.
These spaces are designated by disabled signs and marked stalls. Unauthorized use of
disabled spaces, to include the loading/van access areas marked by striping, may result in
fines as well as towing and associated costs.

Physically challenged persons must obtain a blue disabled permit and must furnish the
University Police with proof of issuance of a disabled permit or license plate by the
Arkansas

Department of Finance and Administration. Such proof shall be the ADisabled Person's
Access to Parking Application Form@ issued by the state with the special plate or
placards.

Temporary disabled permits will be issued only to persons who have obtained and
displayed a regular UCA permit. Upon obvious, visible disability a temporary disabled
permit will be issued for a period of 3 - 5 days. Temporary disabled permits for a longer
period of time, not to exceed 30 working days, will be issued only with a letter from a
physician stating a need for a disabled permit and the length of time it is needed.

Visitor Parking

Visitors are welcome and are encouraged to obtain a visitor's permit at the University
Police Department prior to parking on campus. These permits will be issued after
presentation of a valid driver's license. A visitor who receives a citation for a violation of
the UCA parking rules, other than parking in a No Parking area or Disabled space, may
bring or mail the citation to the University Police Department and it will be voided.
Visitors may not park in a ANo Parking@ or ADisabled Parking@ area. Violation of ANo
Parking@ or Disabled parking statutes will result in a municipal citation with fines set by
the Municipal Court. Municipal citations cannot be dismissed by the University and
failure to respond to these citations will result in a warrant of arrest issued by the
Municipal Court.

Visitors may park in designated visitor parking lots on campus without first obtaining a
visitor parking permit. Between the hours of 6:30 A.M. and 4:30 P.M. Monday - Friday
visitor parking is provided only for persons who are not registered students or employees
of the university. Students or employees parking in visitor parking between those hours,
whether a student or staff parking permit is or is not displayed, will be subject to citation.
Students and Faculty/Staff are not allowed to use a visitors temporary permit. The
temporary will be confiscated if used by an unauthorized individual. Parking privileges
may be taken away from those involved. Faculty, Staff and students may park in visitor
parking between the hours of 4:30 P.M. and 6:30 A.M. Monday B Friday and all day
Saturday and Sunday.
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VII.  Meter Parking

1. Meter parking is designated for short-term, convenience purposes. Holders of all
types of UCA permits, except disabled permits, are required to pay when parking
at parking meters.

2. Unless otherwise indicated by sign, all meter parking spaces are limited to two

hours and enforced 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM Monday through Friday. Fifteen minute

loading/unloading meters are enforced 24 hours a day 7 days a week.

A UCA parking permit is required to park at any meter parking space.

4. Parking at a broken or non-functioning meter during the hours the meter is
enforced is a violation and may result in a citation.

w

VIII.  Motorcycles

Motorcycles, mopeds and motorbikes are not permitted on campus except in designated
parking areas located on the perimeter of the campus. Users must enter and depart the campus at
the location nearest these parking areas. Motorcycle permits are required to be placed where
easily seen.

IX.  Bicycles

Persons riding bicycles must obey all rules of the road established for motor vehicles.
Bicycles shall be parked in racks provided on campus. Bicycles parked in access ways, on
sidewalks, in areas which may obstruct disabled access or in any other improper location will be
subject to citation and impoundment. Impounded bicycles may be claimed at the University
Police Department after all fines are paid.

X. Method of Payment

1. All parking permits may be obtained at the University Police Department or at specially
designated areas during fall, spring and summer registration and fee payment.

2. Payroll deduction is available as a form of permit fee payment for full-time faculty and
staff. The annual fee will be deducted in six equal installments beginning with the
September paycheck for all continuing employees. For those employees appointed after
the start of the Fall semester, the parking fee will be deducted in installments beginning
with the employee's first paycheck. Employees who terminate before the entire annual
fee is collected will have the remaining balance deducted from their final paycheck.

3. Students who have lost their hanging permit may obtain a replacement permit at a cost of
$5.00.
4. Students may obtain replacement permits at a cost of $2.00, provided proof of destruction

of the original permit is furnished to the University Police Department.
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XI. Permit Fees

1. Student Permits — The cost for student parking permits is included in the security &
access fee assessed for each academic term. Students must obtain their hanging permit
from the Police Department Parking & Traffic Services office and display it in their
vehicle in order to avoid a citation or impoundment.

2. Faculty/Staff Permits — The cost for faculty/staff parking permits is $54-60-$66.00 per
academic year or $25:00 $33.00 for the summer terms only. Monthly faculty/staff
permits are available for $10.00 per month. The cost of the monthly permits may be
applied toward the full fee permit.

3. Motorcycle Permits — The cost for motorcycle permits faculty/staff is $5-66 $10.00.
The cost of motorcycle permits for students is included in the security and access fee.

4. Permit fees are subject to change without notice.

XII.  Parking Area Assignments and Hours

Faculty/Staff Parking - Areas marked AYellow Area@ with yellow signs, yellow lines,
or yellow parking blocks are reserved for faculty and staff vehicles displaying current yellow
hanging permits.

Resident Parking (On Campus Residence Halls and UCA Owned or Controlled
Apartments and Houses other than Residence Halls) - Areas marked AResident Parking@ with
green signs, green lines, or green parking blocks are reserved for student vehicles displaying
current green UCA hanging permits. Green decals are available only to students residing in
campus residence halls or UCA owned or controlled apartment complexes.

UCA Permit Parking - Areas marked AUCA Permit Parking@ with white signs, white
lines, or white parking blocks are reserved for student or faculty/staff vehicles displaying any
current UCA permits.

Disabled Parking - Areas marked for disabled access are al/ways reserved for vehicles
displaying current blue decals.

Visitor Parking - Areas marked for visitors are reserved for persons who are not
employees or students of the university.

Between 4:30 p.m. and 6:30 a.m., Monday through Friday, Visitor areas, Faculty / Staff
areas, and UCA Permit Parking areas are interchangeable. (Summer Hours are from 2:30 p.m. to
6:30 a.m.) They are interchangeable all day Saturday and Sunday. A current UCA decal must
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be displayed. Residence hall parking, reserved spaces for residence hall directors, physicians,
disabled spaces, and all other parking spaces or parking lots as posted are not interchangeable
and are enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

XIII.  Driving Regulations
l. All traffic and motor vehicle laws of the State of Arkansas are applicable on UCA
property and will be enforced by University Police officers. Violation of State traffic and

motor vehicle laws may subject the driver to a municipal citation with fines set by the
Municipal Court.

2. The campus speed limit is fifteen (15) miles per hour, except where conditions indicate a
slower speed is necessary.

3. One-way street driving regulations are to be observed at all times by all vehicles.

4. All STOP signs, YIELD RIGHT-OF-WAY signs, and all other regulatory or directional
signs are to be observed.

5. Pedestrians in crosswalks shall have the right-of-way.
6. It is a violation of traffic regulations to avoid a speed bump.
7. It is the driver's responsibility to be able to operate his or her vehicle safely. Anyone who

operates a vehicle on university property while under the influence of intoxicating liquor,
narcotic drugs, or opiates will be subject to arrest.

8. Failure to yield to a University Police vehicle signaling a driver to pull over to stop (via
the use of blue lights and/or siren), failure to comply with a University Police officer's
direction, or failure to cooperate with a University Police officer while the officer is
performing his official duties, will subject the violator to arrest under applicable State
statutes.

XIV. Parking Regulations

1. It is the driver's responsibility to find a legal, marked parking space and to park the
entire vehicle within the space's boundary lines. Other improperly parked vehicles in the
area shall not constitute an excuse for parking with any part of the vehicle over the line.
Severe weather is not a valid reason for violation of parking regulations. If a vehicle
experiences mechanical failure, it is the owner/driver's responsibility to have the vehicle
removed as soon as available services permit. Parking lots may not be used for vehicle
storage.

2. All parking spaces are defined by painted lines or parking blocks. Vehicles must be
parked within the painted lines or parked in front of a parking block properly spaced for
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parking.

3. Where parallel parking is required, vehicles must be parked with the right wheels to
the curb.

4. Where diagonal and head-on parking are required, vehicles should be parked with the
front toward the curb and the rear bumper toward the traffic lane.

5. No parking is allowed next to red curbs, red parking blocks or in red or candy-striped
areas. These areas are reserved for emergency vehicle access or to provide for fire code
regulations compliance and/or pedestrian/traffic safety. Unless specifically authorized by
a uniformed police officer there are no waiver periods for these areas.

6. No parking is allowed on the grass, sidewalks, or in driveways or loading zones.
7. Double parking is a violation at all times.

8. If a vehicle is parked in violation, attended or unattended, the driver may be issued a
citation.

9. Vehicles licensed by the federal, state, county, or city government are exempt from
permit requirements, but subject to compliance with other traffic and parking regulations.
Police vehicles are exempt from certain traffic and parking regulations as provided in
State statutes.

I. Personal Responsibility for Vehicles

1. The person to whom a UCA parking permit is assigned is responsible for all
violations by that vehicle. If a permitted vehicle is loaned to another driver, its
proper operations remains the permit holder’s responsibility.

2. If a vehicle without a permit is driven on campus by a permit holder, a
"Temporary Permit" must be obtained from the University Police Department.
Temporary parking permits are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Motorcycle permit holders are not eligible for temporary permits. Students are
allowed no more than four temporary parking permits per semester unless special
circumstances are approved by the Parking and Traffic Services Office.

3. Parking facilities may not be used until a current UCA parking permit is displayed
on the rearview mirror of the vehicle.

II. Towing and Impoundment of Vehicles

1. UCA reserves the right to tow and impound from its property any parked vehicle
that does not display a current parking permit, is improperly parked in a space
reserved for the disabled, is parked in a restricted zone, or has unpaid parking
tickets. Vehicles will be towed if parked in such a way as to constitute a traffic or
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pedestrian hazard or impede the access of service or emergency vehicles.
Violations which could also result in towing and possible impoundment include,
but are not limited to, parking in reserved parking spaces, parking in painted
candy-striped or red areas, parking in driveways, or double parking on the street
or in parking lots.

UCA reserves the right to tow and impound from its property any vehicle in
violation of its traffic and parking regulations until all towing fees and UCA
traffic/parking violation charges have been paid.

Appeals Process

1.

A traffic citation may be appealed within 7 days of its issuance if the recipient
believes it was issued contrary to campus traffic regulations or in error. Forms for
appeals may be obtained from the University Police Department. An appeal may
not be granted after a ticket has been paid.

Administrative determinations by the University of Central Arkansas may be
appealed to the Conway District Court in accordance with A.C.A. 25-17-307.

111. Fines for Violations

1.

All fines must be paid within 30 days from the date of issue. Fines for traffic and
parking violations which are not paid within 30 days from the date of issue of the
citation for the violation(s) will be adjusted to an amount equal to twice the
amount of the original fine(s). Failure to pay traffic and parking fines may result
in the blocking of pre-registration, or the withholding of pay and refund checks.
All fines are payable at the University Police Department from 8:00 a.m. until
4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. If the violator has their copy of the citation,
payments will be accepted at the University Police Communications Center after
hours in the form of check, money order, or credit/debit card for the exact amount
of the fine only.

The following are the parking and traffic violations and corresponding fines*
established by the University of Central Arkansas:
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