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1. Inpatient Hospital Services (Continued) 

 

Non-State Public Hospital Inpatient Adjustment (continued) 

 

4. The difference shall be multiplied by the number of Medicaid discharges at the hospital for the 

most recent audited fiscal year. The result shall be the amount of the annual Non-State Public 

Hospital Adjustment.  

 

5. Payment shall be made on a quarterly basis within 15 days after the end of the quarter for the 

previous quarter.  Payment for SFY 2001 shall be prorated proportional to the number of days 

between April 19, 2001 and June 30, 2001 to the total number of days in SFY 2001. 

 
Effective July 1, 2005, all Arkansas non-state government-owned or operated acute care and critical access 

hospitals (that is, all acute care and critical access government hospitals within the state of Arkansas that are 

neither owned nor operated by the state of Arkansas) shall qualify for a public hospital inpatient rate 

adjustment.  Effective April 1, 2009, Arkansas may provide a public inpatient rate adjustment to non-state 

government owned or operated acute care regional medical center hospitals located outside of Arkansas (that 

is, acute care hospitals outside of Arkansas that are neither owned nor operated by any state) that - a) provide 

level 1 trauma and burn care services; b) provide level 3 neonatal care services; c) are obligated to serve all 

patients, regardless of State of origin and ability to pay; d) are located within a Standard Metropolitan 

Statistical Area (SMSA) that includes at least 3 States, including Arkansas; e) serve as a tertiary care provider 

for patients residing within a 125 mile radius; and f) meet the criteria for disproportionate share hospital under 

Section 1923 of the Social Security Act in at least one State other than the one in which the hospital is 

located.  The adjustment shall result in total payments to each hospital that are equal to but not in excess of 

the individual facility’s Medicare-related upper payment limit, as prescribed in 42 C.F.R. §447.272.  The 

adjustment shall be calculated as follows:  

 

1. Using data from the hospital’s most recently audited cost report, Arkansas shall determine each 

eligible non-state public hospital’s base Medicare per discharge rate and base Medicaid per discharge 

rate.  Base Medicare and Medicaid per discharge rates will include respective Case Mix Index (CMI) 

adjustments in order to neutralize the impact of the differential between Medicare and Medicaid case 

mixes. 

 

For hospitals who, for the most recently audited cost report year filed a partial year cost report, such 

partial year cost report data shall be annualized to determine their rate adjustment; provided that such 

hospital was licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost report year.  Hospitals with 

partial year cost reports who were not licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost 

report year shall receive pro-rated adjustments based on the partial year data. 

 

2. The base Medicare per discharge rate shall be multiplied by the applicable upper payment limit 

(percentage) specified in 42 C.F.R. §447.272 for non-state government owned or operated hospitals.  

For example, to the extent that such federal regulation permits Medicaid payments up to 150 percent 

of the amount that would be paid under Medicare reimbursement principles, the base Medicare per 

discharge rate shall be multiplied by 150 percent.  The result shall be the adjusted Medicare per 

discharge rate. 
 


