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Arkansas Act 1705 of 2005 established the Work Pays Progr81\1'l.....'{\l@rk PiiY..§ is 
an incentive program designed to encourage working TEA clients to' remain --_._-­
employed after closure of the TEA case while increasing their hours of work 
and/or hourly wage. Families participating in Arkansas Work Pays Jill receive a 
monthly cash assistance payment in the amount of $204 for up to 2* months, 
provided they meet the Work Pays eligibility requirements. The twenty-four (24) 
months will count toward the federal 60 month time limit but not the :state's TEA 

!I 
24 month limit. This work incentive program may be limited to 3,000: families.
.' . II
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The eligibility worker will explain the Work Pays program to the appiicant and 
provide a Work Pays pamphlet during the initial interview for TEA c~sh 
assistance. The case manager will discuss the Work Pays programlwith the 
client during on going case management activities. When the TEA base closes 
due to employment, the client will receive additional information ab9ut Work 
Pays, including a Work Pays application. . ;1
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,I10100 Work Pays Eligibility Requirements 
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~jAn individual must meet the following requirements: 

II 
1. Have care and custody of a related minor child; if' ­

2. Be a resident of the State of Arkansas;	 I 
3. Meet the citizenship or alienage requirement (Refer to TEA 2220);­
4. Apply for Work Pays within six (6) months of TEA case c1osure~! 
5. Received TEA cash assistance for at least three (3) months; ~, 
6. Have not received more that twenty-four (24) months of Arkansas Work Pays 

'IProgram Benefits.	 ': ­
7. Meet Work Hours Requirement: I 

For initial eligibility - Was engaged in paid work activities for a minimum • .	 fl
of twenty-four hours per week for the past month and meet the federal 
participation rate. jl 

•	 For on-going eligibility - must be in paid work activities fO~t a minimum of 
tWenty-four(24) hours per week and meet the federal part~fipation 

requirement for one(1) of the past three(3) months and for at least three 
(3) of the past six (6) months.	 11 
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Work Pays Eligibility Requirements TEA HU00-10102 
Determining Eligibility Ii 

! 

8. Have income below the federal poverty level for the family size; 
9. Comply with the Work Pays Personal Responsibility Agreemer)t; 
10. Comply with Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) reqdirements,
 

including assignment of support and cooperation in establishing paternity
 
and/or support unless good cause exists. ~~
 

II 
10101 Work Pays Application Process . il. 

Each month a Work Pays application will be mailed to all TEA clients whose case 
closed the prior month due to employment. This process will be co,¥,pleted by 
Central Office through a mass mailing process. For clients interest~d in applying 
for Work Pays, the application must be completed and mailed to th~ Work Pays 
Processing Unit who will determine initial eligibility. Applications re4eived at a 
local DHHS or DWS office or at a case management contractor's office will be

-I 

forwarded to the processing unit upon receipt. The Work Pays applicant must 
sign the application. If it is a two-parent household, both parents m&st sign the 
form. . II 

10102 Determining Initial Eligibility 'I
I 

il 
The client must meet the following general eligibility requirements: JI 

I 
• Have care and custody of a related minor child; I~ 
• Be a resident of the State of Arkansas; il 
• Meet the citizenship or alienage requirement; j 

,I 

In most situations, these requirements will have been established for TEA 
eligibility and do not have to be re-verified. However, if there has b~en a change, 
(e.g. a second parent moves in the household) it must be verified. I! 

Prior TEA Receipt . '.' II: 

The client must have -received at least 3 months of TEA cash assiJtance and the 
.~ 

case closed within the past 6 months with employment. This includes cases that 
close due to reaching the time limit or have been extended and ea'fnings are 
included. The 3 months do not have to be consecutive. (See exa~lple below) 

I . 
Example 1: Ms. Davis applied for Work Pays in September 2006. Her TEA case 
closed in April 2006 due to employment after receiving assistancelror 9 months. 
The client provided verification of employment with Entergy workin,g 40 hours per 

• week at $6.00 :1 
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State ofArkansas 

1.	 Have care and custody of a related minor child; 
2.	 Be a resident of the State of Arkansas; 
3.	 Meet the citizenship or alienage requirement (Refer to TEA. 

2220)'
, 

Ii
I 

4.	 Apply for Work Pays within six (6) months of TEA ~~se closure; 
5.	 Received TEA cash assistance for at least three (3) months 
6.	 Have not received more than twenty-four (24) montHs of Arkansas 

Work Pays Program benefits;,II 

7.	 Meet Work Hours Requirement; 
~	 For initial eligibility - was engaged in paid workEactivities for a 

minimum of twenty-four hours per week for th¢ past month 
and meet the federal participation rate for the past month; 

~	 For on-going eligibility - must be in paid work Ibctivities for a 
minimum of twenty-four (24) hours per week i~:md meet the 
federal participation requirement for one (I) of thJ past three (3) 
m~nths and for at least three (3) of the past six;I(6) m.ont~s. 

8.	 Have Income below the federal poverty level for th~ family size; 
9.	 Sign and comply with the Work Pays Personal :iResponsibility 

Agreement; !r 

10.	 Comply with the Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) 
requirements, including assignment of support andl!cooperation in 
establishing paternity and/or support unless good cai:Jse exists. 
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11.2 Payment	 :1 

Families participating in Arkansas Work Pays will receive 8! monthly cash 
assistance payment in the amount of $204 regardless of family size for up to 
24 months. The twenty-four months will count toward the fe~eral 60-month 
time limit but not the State's TEA 24-month limit. The $204 payment may be 
reduced if the client is found to be in non-compliance with WO~k requirements 
and/or child support enforcement requirements. ,! 

I 
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An individual will be given an extension to the federal time limit while 
participating in Work Pays. 'i" 
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