
FINAL RULE MARK-UP 
 

RULE B-4  -  IDENTIFICATION OF WELLS 
 
Hereafter every person drilling for oil or gas in the State of Arkansas, or operating, owning or 
controlling or in possession of any well, drilled for oil or gas, shall paint or stencil and post and 
keep posted in a conspicuous place near the well, the name of the person, corporation, company, 
or association drilling, operating, owning or controlling the well, the name of the farm and the 
number of the well. 
 



FINAL 
 

RULE B-12  -  CASING PULLER’S PERMITS AND BONDS
 
Before any person shall hereafter engage in the business of pulling casing from any oil or gas 
well in this state for compensation, or shall hereafter engage in the business of purchasing 
abandoned wells, with intention of salvaging casing therefrom, such person shall apply for and 
obtain from the Commission, a permit to engage in such business. Before the Commission shall 
issue any such permit to any person to engage in the business mentioned in this paragraph, such 
person shall be required to file with the Commission a bond executed by such person, as 
principal, and some surety company satisfactory to the Commission as surety, in the principal 
sum of $5,000.00 conditioned that such sum shall be paid the state of Arkansas for the use and 
benefit of the Commission, in the event the principal shall fail to plug an oil or gas well from 
which the principal pulls casing in the State of Arkansas without complying with the rules of the 
Commission. 

 
The Commission shall issue said permits for a term not less that one year, nor more than three 
years, and the bond required according to the foregoing provisions shall be for a term co-
extensive with the terms of the permit. 
 
The Commission will revoke the permit of any person, firm or corporation issued according to the 
foregoing provisions of this rule, if upon hearing held, with a reasonable notice to the holder of 
said permit, and at which the holder of the permit is allowed to be heard and to examine 
witnesses, it is ascertained by the Commission that the holder of the permit in the conduct of his 
business has failed to comply with any regulation established by the statutes of the state, or the 
rules and regulations of the Commission. 
 
The permit so issued shall not be transferable from one person to another and one person shall not 
operate under the permit of another. 
 
Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of Rule B-12, as amended, shall 
be subject to a penalty of not to exceed One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) a day for each and 
every day of such violation, and for each and every act of violation, such penalty to be recovered 
in the manner set out in Act 105 of the Fifty-Second General Assembly of the State of Arkansas 
for the year 1939. 
 



FINAL 
 

RULE B-22  -  RUBBISH OR DEBRIS
 

 Any rubbish or debris that might constitute a fire hazard shall be removed to a distance of at least 
one hundred fifty (150) feet from the vicinity of wells, tanks and pump stations.  All waste shall 
be burned or disposed of in such manner as to avoid creating a fire hazard or polluting streams 
and fresh water strata.

 
 



FINAL 
 

RULE B-25  -  SEPARATORS 
  

 All flowing wells must be produced through an approved oil and gas separator. 
 



Final 
 

RULE B-28  -  EMULSION, B.S., AND WASTE OIL
 
 Wells producing oil shall be operated in such manner as will reduce as much as practicable the 

formation of emulsion and B.S.  These substances and waste oil shall not be allowed to pollute 
streams or cause surface damage.
 


