HIGHER EDUCATION OPPORTUNITIES GRANT
PROGRAM
RULES AND REGULATIONS

RULE 1 — ORGANIZATION AND STRUCTURE

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education (ADHE) shall administer the
Higher Education Opportunities Grant Program within the policies set by the
Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board. All formal communications
shall be addressed to or signed by the Director of the Arkansas Department of
Higher Education or his/her designee.

The Director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education has the final
responsibility for selecting grant recipients pursuant to the provisions of Act
1030 of 2007 and subsequent legislation, and program rules and regulations.

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education shall follow the provisions of

the Administrative Procedures Act when functioning under Act 1030 of 2007
and subsequent legislation.

RULE 2 — GRANT ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

Eligibility Criteria

An applicant must meet the following requirements to be eligible to receive the
Higher Education Opportunities Grant:

A. The applicant must be a citizen of the United States or a permanent
resident alien.

B. The applicant shall have been a resident of the State of Arkansas for at
least (12) months prior to graduation from an Arkansas high school or
the date of notification of successful completion of the General
Educational Development Test in Arkansas and at least one parent or
legal guardian shall have maintained Arkansas residency for the same
period of time.

C. The applicant must have graduated from high school in Arkansas or
successfully completed the General Educational Development Test in
Arkansas after December 31, 2006.The applicant shall apply within
twelve (12) months of graduating from an Arkansas high school or
earning a High School Graduate Equivalent (as defined in Rule 7 —
Program Definitions).



. The applicant shall be enrolled in an approved institution of higher

education as a full-time or part-time first-time student, as defined by the
Department of Higher Education, within twelve (12) months of high
school graduation or notification of successful completion of the
General Educational Development Test.

. The applicant must be enrolled full-time or part-time (as defined in Rule

7 — Program Definitions) per academic semester.

. The applicant must be enrolled in a program of study that leads to or is

creditable towards a baccalaureate degree. These programs include
baccalaureate degree programs, associate degree programs, and
nursing school diplomas, which require concurrent college enroliment.

. Applicants must certify that they are drug-free and must pledge in

writing on the application form to refrain from the use or abuse of illegal
substances. This pledge includes alcohol for applicants under twenty-
one years of age.

. Applicants must demonstrate financial need as defined below:

1. An applicant whose family includes one (1) unemancipated child
under the age of 24 shall have a family adjusted gross income
(AGI) not exceeding $25,000 per year, as reported on the Free
Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at the time of
application for the program, plus an additional $5,000 of AGI per
year for each additional child under the age of 24 at the time of
application to the program.

2. Any student who claims to be emancipated or independent must
be eligible to receive federal financial aid as an independent
student as defined by federal regulations.

3. The Department of Higher Education may increase the income
requirements using the Federal Consumer Price Index, if
sufficient funds become available.

4. The Department of Higher Education may exercise professional
judgment in determining family income levels when special
circumstances exist that can be documented.

Continued Eligibility

If sufficient funds are available, the grant shall be awarded for one
academic year and renewed annually if the recipient maintains a 2.0
cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale.



RULE 3 — APPLICATION PROCESS

Application

Students must submit an application for the Higher Education Opportunities
Grant Program to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education. The
Arkansas Department of Higher Education will provide Higher Education
Opportunities Grant Program application forms on the Department’s financial
aid website. The Arkansas Department of Higher Education will also provide
application forms to any individual upon request. The applicant must complete
the Higher Education Opportunities Grant application to be considered for the
grant. The applicant must also complete the Free Application for Federal
Student Aid (FAFSA).

Submission of Application and Application Deadline

Students must submit an application within twelve (12) months of high school
graduation or notification of successful completion of the General Educational
Development Test to ADHE. The application deadline date is June 1 for
applicants enrolling in the fall term and November 1 for applicants enrolling in
the spring term. Applications received after the established deadline date will
not be considered for a scholarship for the upcoming term, but the application
will stay on file and be considered for future terms provided the applicant still
meets the eligibility requirements. The student is responsible for submitting the
application and all supporting documentation in a timely manner.

*If any deadline date occurs on a weekend or holiday, the deadline will be
extended to the following business day.

***A one-time extension of application deadline will exist for high school
graduates and high school graduate equivalents during 2007. The
application deadline for these applicants will be October 1, 2007 for the
Fall 2007 term and January 1, 2008 for the Spring 2008 term.

Amount of Grant

The amount of the annual grant awarded to each recipient shall be as follows:

A. A full-time recipient shall be awarded in the amount of one thousand
dollars ($1,000) per academic year;

B. A part-time recipient shall be awarded in the amount of five hundred
dollars ($500) per academic year.

Award Notification and Prioritization of Awards

During times of funding shortages under the Higher Education Opportunities
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VI.

Grant Program, the Department of Higher Education shall first award those
students who received an award in the previous academic year. If sufficient
funds are not available to renew the Higher Education Opportunities Grants of
prior years’ recipients, the available funds will be pro-rated among those
recipients.

New applicants will receive the second funding priority. Should sufficient
funds be unavailable to award all new applicants, awards will be prioritized
beginning with the neediest students first.

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education shall notify each eligible
applicant of his/her award. The award notice includes the student's name,
address, social security number, the actual amount the student is eligible to
receive, and the student's first institutional choice as indicated on the
application form. The award notice also explains the Arkansas Department of
Higher Education’s disbursement procedures and conditions, as detailed in
Rule 4, of the Higher Education Opportunities Grant.

Eligible Award Notification

Students who are determined to be eligible for participation in the Higher
Education Opportunities Grant Program but who have not indicated which
Arkansas institution of higher education they will attend shall be classified as
eligible. The Arkansas Department of Higher Education shall notify the
students of their status as eligible. The notice provides instructions for
receiving an award and defines the recipient's responsibilities.

Ineligible and Incomplete Notification

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education shall notify applicants who are
determined to be ineligible and provide the reason for ineligibility. They will
also be given instructions on how to correct any information on the application
they believe to be incorrect. Applicants who fail to submit complete
applications, or who fail to supply the required documentation to process the
application, will be classified as Incomplete. The Arkansas Department of
Higher Education shall notify these students of their status. The Incomplete
notice provides a list of the incomplete items and the actions necessary for
completion.

RULE 4 — GRANT PAYMENT POLICIES

Limits of Payment
A. Payment of Grants

The Arkansas Department of Higher Education shall disburse grant
funds to the approved institution of the student's choice. The Arkansas
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Department of Higher Education shall send funds to the institution via
electronic funds transfer or state warrant. After verification of full-time or
part-time enrollment, the institution will disburse the grant funds to the
student according to the institution's disbursement procedures. The
grant fund payment will correspond to academic terms or equivalent
time periods at the eligible institution not to include summer terms. The
Higher Education Opportunities Grant will be disbursed in equal
disbursements during the fall and spring term. In no instance may the
entire amount of the grant disbursement for an educational year be paid
to or on behalf of such student in advance nor may a student receive
grant payments at more than one (1) institution for the same academic
term.

B. Transfer of Grants to Another Approved Institution

A recipient who has received a Higher Education Opportunities Grant
may transfer the grant to another approved Arkansas institution of
higher education, provided that:

1. The student notifies the Arkansas Department of Higher
Education, in writing, of the change of status by October 1 for
the fall term and by February 1 for the spring term;

2. When transferring institutions between the fall and spring
terms, the student must submit a transcript to ADHE, which
certifies that the student has maintained a 2.0 GPA at the
institution the student is leaving.

C. Renewal of Grant
The grant recipient shall receive a grant for one (1) academic year,
renewable for up to a total cumulative award amount of $4,000,
provided the recipient maintains at least a 2.0 cumulative grade point
average on a 4.0 scale.

A student may not use these funds for educational purposes beyond
the baccalaureate degree.

D. Cancellation of the Grant
1. The award will be terminated for any of the following reasons:

a. Failure to maintain at least a 2.0 cumulative grade point
average on a 4.00 scale.

b. Failure to receive funds for three (3) academic terms
(terms do not have to be consecutive).



2. The recipient is responsible for notifying, in writing, the Arkansas
Department of Higher Education of any change in status (i.e.
transfer to another eligible institution in Arkansas, change in
name, etc.) before appropriate deadline dates. Failure to provide
written notification may result in the cancellation of the grant for
that term.

E. Military Service

Recipients who are members of the Arkansas National Guard or Armed
Forces Reserve units who are called to active duty for reasons other
than regular unit training and are unable to complete the current term
will be allowed to repeat the missed term without loss of grant credit. In
addition, they will be placed in deferred status until six months after
release from active duty, at which time they must be re-enrolled in an
approved institution.

F. Repayment of Grant

If the recipient of a grant withdraws, drops out, or is expelled on or after
the first day of class of a payment period, the institution will determine
whether the student received an overpayment of financial aid funds for
non-institutional expenses. Overpayment is the difference between the
amount received as cash disbursements and the amount incurred for
non-institutional costs during the portion of the payment period that the
student was actually enrolled. It is the institution's responsibility to
contact students and recover overpayments.

G. Refunds

The Higher Education Opportunities Grant Program is entitled to a
refund of the grant amount, for that semester, if the recipient of a grant
withdraws, drops out, or is expelled on or after his or her first day of
class of the payment period and the situation falls under the refund
policy of the institution. The institution shall pay the refund to the
Arkansas Department of Higher Education.

H. Overpayment

If the award of a Higher Education Opportunities Grant results in an
overpayment to the student according to the state law governing the
anti-stacking of scholarships, the institution shall follow the ADHE policy
in reducing the student’s financial package to prevent the student from
receiving funds above the federally recognized cost of attendance.



RULE 5 — INSTITUTIONAL RESPONSIBILITIES

College/University Responsibilities
A. Administrative Agreement

The chief executive officer of the eligible institution is responsible for
appointing one representative from the financial aid office to act as
administrator of the Higher Education Opportunities Grant Program and
to receive all communications, forms, etc. This representative is
responsible for verification, data and compliance with all program rules
and regulations. The institution must comply with all rules and
regulations in order to maintain continued eligibility status.

B. Disbursement Records

The institution shall maintain information on the student indicating
disbursement of grant funds.

C. Institutional Verification

The institution shall provide certification of full-time or part-time
enrollment, as of the close of business on the eleventh day of classes,
by completing a Verification Roster each semester after registration.
The Verification Roster is an alphabetical listing by institution of all
persons receiving the award for a given academic term. The certifying
official is responsible for completing the verification rosters each term.
The Arkansas Department of Higher Education shall provide
Verification Rosters to the Financial Aid Administrator for each term as
needed. The Verification Rosters shall be returned to the Arkansas
Department of Higher Education by November 1 for the fall term and by
April 1 for the spring term. The Arkansas Department of Higher
Education shall also provide continuing eligibility rosters to the Financial
Aid Administrator before the end of the spring term. The continuing
eligibility rosters shall be returned to the Arkansas Department of
Higher Education no later than June 15 to ensure that adequate time is
provided to notify students of their status in the program.

D. Deadlines for Disbursement of Funds

The deadline for disbursement of funds is no later than 10 days after
receipt of funds. Any outstanding funds not disbursed by these dates
must be returned to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education. For
those students whose applications are received by ADHE too late to
allow disbursement by these dates, disbursement will be made within
10 working days of receipt of the verification roster and receipt of funds.

E. Due Diligence



The institution will exercise due diligence in providing complete,
accurate, and timely information as requested by the Arkansas
Department of Higher Education on any Higher Education Opportunities
Grant recipient or former recipient. In addition, the institution will
exercise due diligence in complying with all the rules and regulations of
the Higher Education Opportunities Grant Program. The Arkansas
Department of Higher Education shall periodically review the
institution's records concerning this program in an effort to exercise its
due diligence requirements as a steward of state funds.

RULE 6 — GRANT RECIPIENT’'S RESPONSIBILITIES

It is the recipient's responsibility to notify the Arkansas Department of Higher
Education of any change in status within 21 days. Changes in status will

include:
o Change in name
. Change in permanent address
. Change in institution

Failure to notify the Arkansas Department of Higher Education of a change of
status may affect future eligibility.

RULE 7 — PROGRAM DEFINITIONS

The following definitions are used in the Higher Education Opportunities Grant

Program:

ACADEMIC YEAR

APPROVED INSTITUTION

fall semester, spring semester, and first and second
summer terms in that order.

a public-supported or private, non-profit postsecondary
institution with its primary headquarters located in
Arkansas that is eligible to receive Title IV Federal student
aid funds

OR

Only under conditions set forth in A.C.A. 6-82-1007, a
public or private nursing school located in Arkansas that is
approved by the State Board of Nursing and which does
not discriminate against employees on the basis of race,
color, religion, sex, age, handicap or national origin,



CITIZEN

ELIGIBLE APPLICANT

FIRST-TIME FRESHMAN

FULL-TIME STUDENT

HIGH ScHOOL GRADUATE

EQUIVALENT

INDEPENDENT STUDENT

LEGAL GUARDIAN

PART-TIME STUDENT

PROFESSIONAL JUDGMENT

consistent with the provisions of applicable state and
federal law.

a person who is a U.S. citizen or a permanent resident
alien. If the recipient is not a U.S. citizen, but a
permanent resident alien, the recipient must attach a copy
of the permanent resident alien card to the application.

any applicant who meets the eligibility criteria established
in Rule 2.

any student currently enrolled as a first-year college
student, who has never previously been enrolled as a
first-year college student. High school students who
complete their senior year of high school while enrolled in
a community college or two/four-year college will be
considered first-time freshmen in the first year of college
enrollment following high school graduation.

twelve college credit hours or its equivalent per semester
for the first semester and fifteen (15) credit hours or the
equivalent thereatfter.

any student between sixteen (16) and eighteen (18) years
of age who successfully passes the General Educational
Development Test in Arkansas during the twelve-month
period immediately preceding the year of application to
this program.

a student who meets the conditions to be deemed as
independent for federal financial aid purposes.

a person who by court order has been appointed to act in
the place of an individual's parent.

six college credit hours or its equivalent per semester for
students

Authority of ADHE professional staff that allows for the
special consideration of applications or renewal requests
when situations exist that prohibit the student from
meeting the exact guidelines as stated, when specific
documentation provided by the student, high school, or
approved institution shows that the student meets the
objectives or purpose of the program.



TUITION

UNEMANCIPATED CHILD

charges levied for attendance at an eligible institution of
higher education including mandatory fees charged to all
full-time or part-time students by the approved institution.

a child who is claimed on a parent or legal guardian's
income tax return as a dependent and does not meet any
of the requirements of an independent student as defined
above.
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