Regulation No. 6

CONTRIBUTION PAYMENTS AND REPORTS,
PAYMENTS IN LIEU OF CONTRIBUTIONS, ADVANCE
PAYMENTS, AND WAGE REPORTS

The following regulation is hereby amended, promulgated and adopted by the
Director, Arkansas Department of Workforce Services, pursuant to 11-10-701, 11-10-
713, 11-10-401-403, 11-10-318 and 11-10-716:

(A)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this Paragraph (A), each employing unit,

(2)

3)

(4)

which is or becomes an employer under the provisions of the Arkansas

Department of Workforce Services Law, including those who elect to make

payments in lieu of contributions under Section 11-10-713 of the law, shall

file with the Department of Workforce Services an Employer's Quarterly

Contribution and Wage Report on report forms provided by the

Department of Workforce Services, either on its own initiative or at the

request of such employing unit. The report shall be filed on a quarterly

basis in accordance with the due dates specified in paragraph B, below.

The report shall contain:

(&) The employer’s name, Department of Workforce Services account
number, and address at which payroll records are kept.

(b)  The name and Social Security number of each worker employed by
the employer during the calendar quarter.

(c) The total wages, as defined in Arkansas Code 11-10-215, paid to
each individual in his employ with respect to the calendar quarter
designated on the report form.

(d)  Any other information that may be requested on the form.

Employers may submit their quarterly contribution and wage reports on

their own paper provided each sheet is no larger than 8 %2” by 11” in size,

that it contains all of the information required under Paragraph (A) (1),

above, and that it is in the same format as the report form prescribed by

the Department of Workforce Services.

All employers required to report W-2 copy A information on magnetic

media tape to the Social Security Administration, pursuant to 26 CFR

Section 301.6011-2, are likewise required to report quarterly wage

information to the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services on

magnetic-media—tape5-%"or 3 %2" diskette or CD effective January 1,

1998 2008, and, after proper notification, Electronic Data Interchange via

Internet access. Employers not required to report by tape or diskette by

the Social Security Administration may do so as an option. These

employers may also report via Internet access.

All employing units that are employers by virtue of the fact that they are

care recipients receiving personal care services pursuant to an Arkansas
Medicaid program and that have less than three years of benefit risk may
have the required information reported by an entity under contract with the




(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

(F)

state to provide fiscal/lemployer agent services for Arkansas Medicaid
programs. The information may be reported under a single account
number_established by the fiscal/lemployer agent. The fiscal/employer
agent shall be liable for all contributions, penalties, and interest related to
the account. The fiscal/lemployer agent shall maintain separate records
for each employer for which it reports on the account.

With respect to wages paid for employment for any calendar year,

contributions shall become due and payable on a calendar quarter basis.

The contribution payment together with the quarterly Contribution and

Wage Report shall be due and payable in the following manner:

(1) The first calendar quarter shall be due and payable during the
month of April of the calendar year.

(2)  The second calendar quarter shall be due and payable during the
month of July of the calendar year.

(3) The third calendar quarter shall be due and payable during the
month of October of the calendar year.

(4)  The fourth calendar quarter shall be due and payable during the
month of January of the next calendar year.

(5) An employer as defined in (A) (3) above may, after January 1,
1998, and after proper notification, be required to submit
contribution payments to this agency by electronic funds transfer.

(6) An employer, effective July 1, 2003, and after proper notification,
may submit contribution payments by a credit card approved by the
Arkansas Department of Workforce Services.

All contribution payments and reports shall include all contributions with

respect to wages paid for employment in all pay periods ending within the

calendar quarter to which the payment and report has reference.

Wages earned for employment, the exact amount of which, or the person

to whom payable was not determined during any previous pay period

shall, for the purposes of this regulation, be reported in the pay period in
which they are actually paid.

The receipt date of any contribution payment or report shall be the day on

which it is received either by the Department of Workforce Services in the

State Administrative Office at Little Rock, Arkansas, or by a field

representative of the Department of Workforce Services, except that the

receipt date of any contribution payment or report mailed to the

Department of Workforce Services shall be the day it was postmarked as

received in the mails by the United States Postal Service. The receipt

date of any contribution payment by electronic funds transfer shall be the
day it is received by this Department's bank account date that the
remittance is transferred to the Department.

Upon the written request of any employer filed with the Director on or

before the due date of any contribution payment, the Director, for good

cause shown, may grant in writing an extension of time for the filing of a

Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report and the payment of the

contribution due thereon, but---




(G)

(H)

0]

()

(K)

(L)

(1) no extension for the filing of the contribution report and the payment
of the contribution due thereon shall exceed thirty (30) days; and

(2)  no extension shall postpone the filing of the contribution report and
the payment of the contribution due thereon beyond the fifteenth
day preceding the last day for filing tax returns under the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act.

If any employer who has been granted an extension fails to file
his Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report within the extension
period, the penalty provision of the Law shall apply, and, if any
employer fails to pay the contribution due on the report within the
extension period, interest shall be payable from the original due
date as if no extension has been granted.

The first contribution payment, together with the contribution report of any
employing unit who becomes an employer under this Law, shall be due
and payable during the calendar month next following the close of the
calendar quarter in which he becomes an employer.
The certification on each Employer's Quarterly contribution and Wage
Report shall be signed by:
(1) the individual, if the employer is an individual, or
(2) the president, vice president, or other principal officer, if the
employer is a corporation, or
(3) a responsible and duly authorized agent having knowledge of its
affairs, if the employer is an individual partnership, other
unincorporated organization, governmental employing unit, or a
group account.
Whenever the Director finds the collection of contributions from any
particular employer may be jeopardized because of bankruptcy or removal
or other factors, he may advance the due date of such employer's
contributions to such date, succeeding the period with respect to which
they have accrued, as he deems advisable, or may in his discretion, upon
such finding or upon the request of an employer, prescribe payment of
contributions from such employer monthly rather than quarterly.
At the end of each calendar quarter, or as soon thereafter as possible, the
Department of Workforce Services shall send to each employing unit,
which makes payments in lieu of contributions, except State government
employing units, a quarterly listing of benefit charges showing the amount
of regular and extended benefits paid to claimants during such quarter
based on wages paid by such employing unit and charged to such
employing unit.
Refunds of excess advance payments made by reimbursable employers
under Arkansas Code 11-10-713 shall be made if the employing unit
requests the refund within thirty (30) days after the date on which the
Director mails or otherwise delivers the overpayment notice to the
employing unit at the end of a calendar year.
At the end of each calendar quarter, or as soon thereafter as possible, the
Director shall bill the Department of Finance and Administration of the



State of Arkansas for all regular and extended benefits chargeable to
State government employing units. The Department of Finance and
Administration shall pay such billings within thirty (30) days after the date
the Director mails or otherwise delivers such billings to the Department of
Finance and Administration.
This amended regulation shall take effect and be in full force on and after July-1,-2003
January 1, 2008.




