
AUTHORITY 
 
 In accordance with A.C.A. 25-17-307, the Governing Authority of the Arkansas State Hospital 
establishes the following rules and regulations for the registration, operation, and parking of motor 
vehicles on the Arkansas State Hospital campus. These rules and regulations are binding on all persons 
utilizing the lands owned or controlled by Arkansas State Hospital at Little Rock, Arkansas. Lands owned 
or controlled by the Arkansas State Hospital will henceforth be known as ASH for purposes of clarification 
in this document.  
  Arkansas State Hospital Public Safety Officers are constituted peace officers by A.C.A. 25-17-
304, and they possess all the authority provided by law for city police and county sheriffs to be exercised 
as required for the safety and protection of the ASH community. 
 Enforcement of traffic regulations on the ASH campus is the responsibility of the ASH Public 
Safety Department. All drivers will observe and obey the orders of the ASH Public Safety Officers while 
such officers are engaged in the performance of their respective duties. This includes presently and 
rendering identification and parking hangtags upon requested. 
  

ASH Parking Committee 
 

The ASH Parking Committee will consist of the following individuals: both Assistant Hospital 
Administrators; the DBHS representative; the Director of Maintenance or designee; the PSO Chief or 
designee; the Project Manager for Construction; and the Director of Nursing or designee. The Chair of the 
committee will rotate between the two ASH Assistant Administrators with each being the chair for six 
months (January through June and July through December).  The Committee will meet monthly and may 
be called for other meetings as needed. The ASH Administrator will have the authority to call the Parking 
Committee into session to rule on appeals or for other issues that might develop. 
 

REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES 
 

Registration shall be accomplished December 15-31 of each year for the upcoming year at 
locations and times specified. 
 Vehicles are defined as any self-propelled vehicle having two or more wheels. 
 All vehicles on ASH campus are required to register and display a current parking hangtag. 
Parameters for the operation and parking of motor vehicles may be viewed on the campus map. Campus 
Maps will be available in the following locations: Administration Building switchboard; Admissions’ Office; 
and the Public Safety Checkpoint. 
 Hangtags are valid from January 1st one year through December 31st each year. 
 Hangtags must be displayed by hanging on the rear view mirror so the number can be read 
through the front windshield from the outside. These hangtags can be moved from vehicle to vehicle. Do 
not tape hangtag on vehicle or lay on dash or seat. Motorcycle operators will be issued a permit that is a 
sticker, which cannot be moved to a vehicle. Motorcycle operators who also have vehicles will need to 
register these separately.  
 Lost/stolen hangtags—employee will be charged $1.00 to replace lost or stolen tags. 
 Hangtags are the responsibility of the purchaser and must be removed prior to sale or transfer of 
the vehicle or upon termination of employment. Motorcycle operators must remove these stickers by 
scraping them off.  
 Falsifying registration information, such as buying hangtags for another person is not allowed 
and these individuals will be fined $50.00 and may be subject to discipline under DHHS Policy1085 
Minimum Conduct Standards for DHHS employees. Also, any employee who allows another individual to 
purchase a hangtag for him or her will be fined $50.00 and may also be subject to discipline under DHHS 
1085.  
             Temporary Hangtags/Placards are available at the ASH Public Safety Department for staff 
members who have misplaced their hangtag. These hangtags/placards are provided at no cost and are 
valid for a maximum of seven days unless otherwise indicated on the placard/hangtag. The hangtag will 
be displayed on the rear view mirror and the placard will be displayed on the dashboard. These may also 
be used for individuals assigned here for no more than seven days or for individuals attending meetings. 
The convener of the meeting will provide Public Safety with the list of individuals attending the meeting or 
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will obtain the temporary hangtags to distribute to attendees of the meeting and may provide Public 
Safety with the list of license plates of attendees.   

Parking Lot Assignments—anyone issued a parking hangtag will park in the lot to which they 
are assigned when issued their hangtag. The color of the hangtag designates in which lot a person is 
allowed to park.  

 
RESTRICTED PARKING AREAS 

 
YELLOW CURBS  RESTRICTED PARKING at all times. 
 
RED   Reserved for Fire/Emergency Vehicles 
 
BLUE/WHITE  Designated disability parking zones.  
 
SIGNS   Restricted as posted. 
 
   
  

TOWING AND IMPOUNDING OF VEHICLES 
 
 ASH reserves the right to immobilize, tow and/or impound any vehicle that is parked on ASH 
property in such a way as to constitute a serious hazard; or any vehicle owned by a person who is not a 
DBHS/ASH employee or student having 3 or more violations in any calendar year.  
 The ASH Public Safety Department may direct any wrecker service to carry out any towing 
action. Violators will be responsible for paying all costs for removal, impounding and storage of such 
vehicles. Vehicles will be held until all charges are paid. 
 
 

PAYMENT OF VIOLATIONS/FINES 
 

A person receiving notice of a parking or traffic violation should go to Public Safety Checkpoint or 
the Public Safety Booth to pay the fine. If the Checkpoint is closed, the person must contact the Public 
Safety Booth at 686-9524 for assistance in paying this fine.  

Fines for all citations, with the exception of the booting of a vehicle, may be paid at once or may 
be mailed to the ASH Fiscal Director at 4313 West Markham, Little Rock, AR 72205. Fines are due within 
7 calendar days of the issuance of the citation. 

 If a vehicle is booted, the fine must be paid before the boot is removed.  DHHS, DBHS, ASH 
employees, ASH students and residents will receive tickets.  All others parking in restricted areas will 
have a boot placed on their car and must pay a $60.00 fine prior to removal of the boot. 

If the fine is for DBHS staff, or ASH employees who have three or more unpaid fines in a calendar 
year, this issue will be referred to their supervisor for possible disciplinary action under DHHS 1085. Signs 
will be posted in Parking Lots with instructions on how and where to pay fines. 

 
MOVING VIOLATIONS 

 
 Moving violations include all traffic laws as stated in the Arkansas Motor Vehicle and Traffic laws 
and State Highway Commission Regulations. The official ASH parking citation notice placed on vehicles 
will be sufficient as a summons for violation of these rules and regulations.  
 
 

ACCIDENTS 
 

All traffic accidents occurring on the grounds controlled by ASH must be reported immediately to 
the ASH Public Safety Department by calling on 686-9524. If you are unable to contact the number, you 
may call the main hospital number of 686-9000.  

 

 2



 
 

 
ACCESSIBLE PARKING 

 
As required, a number of parking slots have been set aside for use by disabled individuals. Each 

spot has been clearly marked with signs and blue and white paint on the space. Vehicles found illegally 
parked in these slots are subject to impoundment and a fine in addition to towing and impoundment fees. 
 Only individuals who have been issued, and are displaying, a disability license plate or placard 
issued by the State of Arkansas are permitted to park in spaces marked with blue and white stripes. ASH 
employees/students parking in accessible slots must also have a valid ASH hangtag. When applying for a 
parking permit and an employee/student has either the placard for disabled persons or license plate, the 
employee/student must produce the form that indicating the employee/student is assigned this plate or 
placard. 
  
 
 

SPECIAL EVENT PARKING 
 

Contact the ASH Public Safety Department for any special event parking requests. These will be 
reviewed by the ASH Administrator or Parking Committee. ASH reserves the right to set aside areas as 
necessary for special events in all parking areas. ASH further reserves the right to temporarily block 
certain streets as necessary without notice to the public. 

 
 

VISITOR PARKING 
  
 Visitors may park only in areas designated for visitors. Visitors who park in violation may be 
issued a citation. Visitors who come for meetings or other official business may be given temporary 
parking hangtags/placards in advance by the convener of the meeting. 
 

APPEALS 
 

 All appeals must be made within 14 days of the date of the citation or towing and impoundment of 
the vehicle. Appeals made after 14 days will not be considered. Appeal forms can be obtained at the PSO 
booth, PSO checkpoint, the ASH switchboard/information area, and the ASH Admissions’ Office.  
 Fines and penalties must be paid immediately. If the appeal is successful, the fine/penalties will 
be refunded. If fines remain unpaid for more than 6 months and are in excess of $100, the Administrator 
may order PSO to contact the DHHS Overpayment Unit of the Office of Administrative Services for 
collection. 
Once completed, the appeal form is to be hand delivered or mailed to the ASH Administrator. These can 
be mailed to the Administrator via inter office mail or regular mail at 4313 West Markham Street, Little 
Rock, AR 72205 or faxed to the Administrator at 501-686-9483. They can also be taken to the 
Administrator’s office. The ASH Administrator will have the authority to convene the ASH Parking 
Committee to rule on the appeal. The person making the appeal will be notified in writing of the outcome 
of appeal. The person may request via the appeal form to appear before the ASH Parking Committee in 
person. 

 
 

ASH PUBLIC SAFETY DEPARTMENT 
 

The ASH Public Safety Department is open 24 hours per day, seven days per week. For all 
Public Safety services call 686-9524. 

 
 

 

 3



 
 
 

PARKING VIOLATION CHARGES 
 
 The responsibilities for payment of fines incurred for traffic violations will rest with the registrant. 
In the event vehicle registration has not been completed, responsibility lies with the owner and/or operator 
of the vehicle. Persons violating the rules and regulations as stated while using a motor vehicle on 
campus will be fined under the ASH system of traffic violations listed below.  
 

VIOLATION NOTIFICATION LIST 
 
 

1. Warning  $00.00 
2. Failure to display current hangtag  $35.00 
3. Failure to display hangtag properly  $20.00 
4. Parking in wrong color lot/wrong numbered lot  $20.00 
5. Parking at yellow curb  $20.00 
6. Parking where prohibited by signs  $20.00 
7. Illegal use of, reproducing, alterations of, defacing,  

  using revoked hangtags or falsifying information  $50.00 
8. Unauthorized parking in Disabled Parking Spaces  $60.00 
9. Parking disregarding painted lines  $20.00 
10. Parking in unauthorized zone  $20.00 
11. Driving/parking on grass  $20.00 
12. Double parked/blocked  $20.00 
13. Blocking drive  $20.00 
14. Illegally parked in a loading zone in excess of 15 minutes $20.00 
15. Parking on wrong side of street  $20.00 
16. Backed in to parking space on street  $20.00 
17. Blocking fire hydrant  $20.00 
18. Illegally parked in visitor space  $20.00 
19. Illegally parked in a reserved area  $20.00 
20. Parked across sidewalk and/or crosswalk  $20.00 
21. Expired license tag  $20.00 
22. Failure to display license plate  $20.00 
23. Failure to stop or yield right of way  $25.00 
24. Driving wrong way on one way street  $20.00 
25. U turn   $20.00 
26. Reckless driving  $20.00 
27. Speeding  $35.00 
28. Other   $20.00 
 

PARKING REGULATIONS 
 

 All parking regulations will be enforced 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. All personnel, 
including visitors, are expected to adhere to all campus and state regulations regarding safety 
procedures. ASH cannot and does not assume the obligation of providing parking spaces for 
all vehicles at all times. 

 
1. The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator. 
2. Lack of space is not a valid excuse for violating a parking regulation. 
3. Standard parking/traffic regulations and definitions, as enacted in the Arkansas Motor Vehicle and 

Traffic Laws and State Highway Commission Regulations will be rigidly enforced on the ASH 
campus at all times—24 hours per day 7 days per week. Unless otherwise noted, the speed limits 
is 20 MPH on the ASH campus. 
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4. Violators of established Parking and Traffic Regulations may be issued an ASH citation. Violation 
notices will be affixed to the motor vehicle or presented to the driver. Office checkpoint or Public 
Safety  

5. Vehicles are considered parked when left stopped or unattended for any period of time. 
6. ASH assumes no responsibility for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its contents at any 

time while it is operated or parked on the campus. 
7. Pedestrians are considered to always have the right-of-way.  
8. Staff and students assigned to various ASH departments are expected to be familiar with and 

abide by the regulations at all times. The fact that any vehicle does not receive a violation notice 
while his/her vehicle is parked or operated in violation of any regulation or law does not mean or 
imply that such a regulation or law is invalid. 

9. It will be the will be the responsibility of any driver of a disabled vehicle, i.e., dead battery, out of 
gas, keys locked inside, etc., to notify the ASH Public Safety Department of the problem and the 
location of the disabled vehicle if the vehicle will be on the lot past the end of the driver’s shift. If 
the driver/owner of this vehicle has called a tow truck or repair service, please notify Public Safety. 
Failure to make notification may result in the vehicle’s being either towed or ticketed.  

10. Vehicles are assumed abandoned if left parked and stationary for a period of two weeks. Such 
vehicles will be towed at the owner's expense. 

11. Buses and other large vehicles, as well as special purpose vehicles, are required to park in areas 
designated by the ASH Public Safety Department. 

12. Employees/students are responsible for all violations by a vehicle displaying a hangtag issued in 
their name.  

13. Operating a motor vehicle in any manner which, may create a disturbance on campus, may be 
considered a traffic violation. This includes excessive use of boom box, stereo, horn, illegal 
exhaust systems, squealing of tires, or placing pedestrians or other drivers in a hazardous 
situation.  

14. Only one type of ASH hangtag is to be displayed on a vehicle at a time. (Note: this is for some 
employees who work shifts and may have separate parking areas depending on their shift 
assignment). 

15. Obey regulatory signs and barricades established by the ASH Public Safety Department. 
16. Loading zones are to be utilized for loading/unloading only.  
17. Vehicles will be parked within designated parking boundaries and in no case shall they overlap 

into or onto roadway, crosswalk or sidewalk. The fact that other vehicles are parked improperly 
shall not constitute an excuse for parking with any part of the vehicle over the line. 

18. The time limit on zones will be observed at all times. Vehicles are considered parked when left 
unattended for any period of time. 

19. A traffic ticket or any other communication from an ASH Public Safety officer, while in the 
performance of their duties, is considered to be an official ASH notice. For ASH employees, failure 
to respond will make the recipient subject to disciplinary action. 

20. If a hangtag is not visible to the officer while he is issuing a citation, the citation will be for no 
current hangtag. If, in the course of issuing a citation, the officer discovers the hangtag, the officer 
has the discretion to downgrade that ticket to improper display only. 

21. ASH reserves the right to restrict or revoke the use of an automobile on campus to anyone if the 
use of that vehicle is thought to be detrimental or if the person has abused the privilege of 
operating said vehicle on or off campus. 

  
 

HANGTAG PARKING AREAS 
 
             Each individual parking hangtag is color coded and staff, students, and others will only park in the 
parking area that is designated for that color of hangtag. 
 

MOTORCYCLES AND MOTORBIKES 
 
 Motorbikes, motor scooters, motorcycles and bicycles must be operated only on streets normally 
designated for automobile use.  
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