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Explanation of Updates
Form DMS-640 has been revised to reflect the expenditure data for state fiscal year (SFY) 2005.

Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider
manual. See Section | for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual. For electronic
versions, these changes have already been incorporated.

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 (TDD only).

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance Center
at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211.

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and
remittance advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid
website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

g

Roy Ugffuiﬁ@r/
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Arkansas Division of Medical Services

Occupational, Physical and Speech Therapy for Medicaid Eligible Beneficiaries
Under Age 21
PRESCRIPTION/REFERRAL

The PCP or attending physician must use this form to prescribe medically necessary Medicaid therapy services or must
use this form to make a referral for therapy services. The provider must check the appropriate box or boxes.

[ ] Referral [ ] Treatment

EVALUATE/TREAT IS NOT A VALID PRESCRIPTION

Patient Name: Medicaid ID #:

Date Child Was Last Seen In Office:

Primary Diagnosis or ICD-9 code:

Diagnosis as Related to Prescribed Treatment:

Complete this block if this form is a prescription

Occupational Therapy (OT) Physical Therapy (PT) Speech Therapy (ST)

Minutes per week Minutes per week Minutes per week

Duration (months) Duration (months) Duration (months)

|:| Therapy Not Medically Necessary |:| Therapy Not Medically Necessary |:|Therapy Not Medically Necessary

Other Information:

Note:
oT PT ST
Expenditures for SFY05 *$26,619,993 *$14,826,859 *$26,559,204
Average Units Per Beneficiary 201 83 83
Average Cost Per Beneficiary $2,131 $1,402 $1,378
Total Beneficiaries Served 12,493 10,576 19,268

Primary Care Physician (PCP) Name (Please Print)

Attending Physician Name (Please Print)

Medicaid Provider Number

Medicaid Provider Number

By signing as the PCP or Attending Physician, | hereby certify that | have carefully reviewed each element of the
therapy treatment plan, that the goals are reasonable and appropriate for this patient, and in the event that this
prescription is for a continuing plan | have reviewed the patients progress and adjusted the plan for his or her
meeting or failure to meet the plan goals.

Physician Signature (PCP or attending Physician) Date

DMS-640 (Rev. 7-2006)



Instructions for Completion

Form DMS-640 - Occupational, Physical and Speech Therapy for Medicaid
Eligible Beneficiaries Under Age 21 PRESCRIPTION/REFERRAL

If DMS-640 is used to make an initial referral for evaluation, check the referral
box only. After receiving the evaluation results and determining that therapy is
necessary, you must use a separate DMS-640 form to prescribe the therapy.
Check the treatment box for prescription and complete the form following the
instructions below. If the referral and prescription are for previously prescribed
services, you may check both boxes.

Patient Name — Enter the patient’s full name.

Medicaid ID # - Enter the patient’s Medicaid ID number.

Physician/Physician’s office staff must complete the following:

Date Child Was Last Seen In Office — Enter the date of the last time you saw
this child. (This could be either for a complete physical examination, a routine
check-up or an office visit for other reasons requiring your personal attention.)

Primary Diagnosis — Enter the primary medical diagnosis description or ICD-9
diagnosis code.

Diagnosis as Related to Prescribed Treatment — Enter the diagnosis that
indicates or establishes medical necessity for prescribed therapy.

Prescription block — If the form is used for a prescription, enter the prescribed
number of minutes per week and the prescribed duration (in months) of
therapy.

If therapy is not medically necessary at this time, check the box.

Other Information — Any other information pertinent to the child’s medical
condition, plan of treatment, etc., may be entered.

Primary Care Physician (PCP) Name and Medicaid Provider Number — Print the
name of the prescribing PCP and his or her Medicaid provider number.

Attending Physician Name and Medicaid Provider Number — If the Medicaid-
eligible child is exempt from PCP requirements, print the name of the
prescribing attending physician and his or her Medicaid provider number.

Physician Signature and Date — The prescribing physician must sign and date
the prescription for therapy in his or her original signature.

*These therapy amounts include therapy provided in a Developmental Day
Treatment Center (DDTCS)

The original of the completed form DMS-640 must be maintained in the child’s
medical records by the prescribing physician. A copy of the completed form DMS-640
must be retained by the therapy provider.
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