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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Health Care Providers – ARKids First- B 

DATE July 1, 2006 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal #33 

REMOVE INSERT
Section Date Section Date 
221.100 7-1-04 221.100 7-1-06 
224.000 10-1-03 224.000 7-1-06 
250.000 10-1-03 250.000 7-1-06 

Explanation of Updates 
Section 221.100 is included to inform providers that ARKids First-B participants have an annual 
cumulative cost-sharing maximum. 

Section 224.000 is included to inform providers that effective 7-1-06 the ARKids First-B family’s annual 
cumulative cost-sharing maximum is limited to 5% per year of the family’s gross income.  The cost-
sharing maximum is recalculated and the cumulative cost-sharing counter is reset each July 1. 

Section 250.000 is included to provide clarity about certain reimbursement situations unique to the 5% 
cost-sharing maximum. 

Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider manual.  
See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic versions, these 
changes have already been incorporated. 

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans with 
Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 (TDD only). 

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance Center at 1-
800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211. 

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and remittance 
advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Roy Jeffus, Director 

www.arkansas.gov/dhhs 
Serving more than one million Arkansans each year 

http://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/


 



ARKids First-B Section II 

221.100 ARKids First-B Medical Care Benefits 7-1-06
 
Program Services Coverage Limits on Benefit Prior 

Authorization/ PCP 
Referral 

Co-payment/ 
Coinsurance 

Ambulance 
(Emergency Only) 

Medical Necessity None $10 per trip 

Ambulatory Surgical 
Center 

Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Certified Nurse-
Midwife 

Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Chiropractor Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Dental Care 
(No Orthodontia) 

Routine dental care None $10 per visit 

Durable Medical 
Equipment 

Medical Necessity 
$500 per state fiscal year 
(July 1 through June 30) 
minus the coinsurance 

PCP Referral and 
Prescription 

20% of 
Medicaid 
allowed 
amount per 
DME item 

Emergency Dept. Services   

Emergency Medical Necessity None $10 per visit 

Non-Emergency Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Assessment Medical Necessity None $10 per visit 

Family Planning Medical Necessity None None 

Federally Qualified 
Health Center 
(FQHC) 

Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Home Health Medical Necessity 
(10 visits per state fiscal year 
(July 1 through June 30) 

PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Hospital, Inpatient Medical Necessity PA on stays over 4 
days if age 1 or over 

20% of first 
inpatient day 

Hospital, Outpatient Medical Necessity PCP referral $10 per visit 

Immunizations All per protocol PCP or 
Administered by 
ADH 

None 

Laboratory & X-Ray Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Medical Supplies Medical Necessity 
Limited to $125/mo unless 
benefit extension is approved 

PCP Prescriptions None 

Mental and 
Behavioral Health, 
Outpatient 

Medical Necessity  PCP Referral  
PA on treatment 
services 

$10 per visit 

Nurse Practitioner Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

  



ARKids First-B Section II 

Program Services Coverage Limits on Benefit Prior 
Authorization/ PCP 
Referral 

Co-payment/ 
Coinsurance 

Physician Medical Necessity PCP referral to 
specialist and 
inpatient 
professional 
services 

$10 per visit 

Podiatry  Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Prenatal Care Medical Necessity None None 

Prescription Drugs Medical Necessity Prescription $5 per 
prescription 
(Must use 
generic and 
rebate 
manufacturer, 
if available) 

Preventive Health 
Screenings 

All per protocol PCP Administration 
or PCP Referral 

None 

Rural Health Clinic Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Speech Therapy Medical Necessity PCP Referral $10 per visit 

Vision Care   

Eye Exam One (1) routine eye exam 
(refraction) every 12 months 

None $10 per visit 

Eyeglasses One (1) pair every 12 months None None 

Refer to your Arkansas Medicaid provider manual for prior authorization and PCP referral 
procedures. 

ARKids First-B participant cost-sharing is capped at 5% of the family’s gross annual income. 

224.000 Cost Sharing 7-1-06

Co-payment or coinsurance will apply to all ARKids First-B Waiver services, with the exception of 
immunizations, preventive health screenings, family planning, prenatal care, eyeglasses and 
medical supplies.  Co-payments or coinsurancel range from $5.00 per prescription to 20% of the 
first day’s hospital Medicaid per diem. 

Effective July 1, 2006, ARKids First-B families will have an annual cumulative cost-sharing 
maximum of 5% of their gross family income; the annual period is July 1 through June 30 (state 
fiscal year (SFY).  The ARKids First-B participant’s annual cumulative cost-sharing maximum will 
be recalculated and the cumulative cost sharing counter will be reset to zero on July 1 each year. 

The cost sharing provision will require providers to check and be alert to certain details about the 
ARKids First-B participants cost sharing obligation in order for this process to work smoothly.  
The following is a list of guidelines for providers: 

1. On the day service is delivered to the ARKids First-B participant, the provider should 
access the eligibility verification system to determine if the ARKids First-B participant 
has current ARKids First-B coverage and whether or not the ARKids First-B 
participant has met their cumulative cost sharing maximum. 

  



ARKids First-B Section II 

2. The provider should check the remittance advice received with the claim submitted 
on the ARKids First-B participant which will contain an explanation stating that the 
ARKids First-B participant has met their cost sharing cap. 

3. It is strongly urged that providers submit their claims as quickly as possible to EDS 
for payment so that the amount of the ARKids First-B participant’s co-payment can 
be posted to their cost share file and the amount is added to the accrual. 

 

250.000 REIMBURSEMENT 7/1/06

Reimbursement for services provided to ARKids First-B participants is based on the current 
Medicaid reimbursement methodology of the corresponding Medicaid program or service. 

ARKids First-B family’s annual 5% cost-sharing maximum 

When Providers Are Required To Refund a Co-pay or Coinsurance 

Providers will be required to refund to ARKids First-B families the amount that the provider 
collected from the family for cost-sharing if, at the time the claim is submitted and processed, the 
system determines that the family’s cumulative cost-sharing maximum has been met.  This may 
happen even though the family was required to provide cost-sharing on the date of service, when 
the provider waits a period of time to submit the claim to Medicaid. 

Example:  The family has not met its cost-sharing maximum on the date of service so the 
provider collects the required cost-share amount.  The provider submits the claim two months 
later.  In the interim, the family’s annual cumulative cost-sharing maximum has been met and the 
family will not be required to cost-share again until the next SFY.  The system cannot track cost-
sharing until the claim is processed.  In this case, even though the family was required to cost-
share on the date of service, that amount is not in the system until the claim is processed.  On 
the date the claim processed, the family had met its obligation for cost-sharing (i.e. other claims 
were processed), so the provider will need to refund to the family the amount that the family paid.  
There will be a statement on the remittance advice that states that the cost-sharing maximum 
has been met and that Medicaid is paying the full Medicaid allowed rate for the service. 

  


