
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
RULES GOVERNING 

THE ARKANSAS BETTER CHANCE PROGRAM 
April  11,  2005 

 
 

SECTION 1 – REGULATORY AUTHORITY 
 
1.1 These rules are enacted pursuant to the authority of the State Board of Education's 

authority under Ark. Code Ann. 6-11-105 and 6-45-101 et seq. as amended. 
 
1.2 The Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education, Department of Human 

Services, shall coordinate and administer the Arkansas Better Chance Program, 
providing all appropriate technical assistance and program monitoring necessary to 
fulfill the requirements of Ark. Code Ann. 6-45-101 et seq., 20-78-206 and 6-11-105.  
DCCECE will annually provide the State Board of Education a list of grants which are 
recommended for funding for the next year. 

 
1.3 The State Board of Education will approve all rules developed pursuant to Act 212 of 

1991 and Act 49 of 2003 as amended and will approve all programs funded under 
the Arkansas Better Chance Program. 

 
 

SECTION 2 – PURPOSE 
 
2.1 It is the purpose of these rules to set the general guidelines for the operation of early 

childhood programs funded under the Arkansas Better Chance Program and the 
Arkansas Better Chance for School Success Program. 

 
 

SECTION 3 – DEFINITIONS 
 
3.1 ABC:  Arkansas Better Chance 
 
3.2 ABCSS:  Arkansas Better Chance for School Success.  Unless standards for ABC 

and ABCSS are listed separately, all requirements of ABC apply to ABCSS. 
 
3.3 ADE:  Arkansas Department of Education 
 
3.4 ADHS:  Arkansas Department of Human Services 
 
3.5 CDA: Child Development Associate credential 
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3.6 Core Quality Components:  The six key areas of ABC which include: 
 

� Low student to teacher ratio 
� Well-qualified & compensated staff 
� Professional development   
� Developmental Screening and Child Assessment 
� Meaningful parent and community engagement activities    
� Proven curricula and learning processes which serve as the basis of ABC 

funding levels.  
  
3.7 DCCECE:  Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education 
 
3.8 FPL: Federal Poverty Level 
 
3.9 IDEA:  Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
 
3.10 In-kind services: Support services provided at either no cost or without monetary 
exchange  
 
3.11 HIPPY:  Home Instruction for Parents of Preschool Youngsters 
 
3.12 LEA:  Local Education Agency 
 
3.13 PAT:  Parents as Teachers 
 
3.14 Single-Site Classroom:  One ABC classroom at a geographic location 
 
3.15 Multi-classroom Site:  Multiple ABC classrooms which are located on the same 

premises  
 
3.16 Shall:  Mandatory standard 
 
3.17 Should: Standard is recommended but not mandatory 
 
 

SECTION 4 – CHILD ELIGIBILITY 
 
4.1 The ABC Program serves educationally deprived children, ages birth through 5 

years, excluding a kindergarten program. The Arkansas Better Chance for School 
Success Program serves children ages 3 and 4 years from families with gross 
income not exceeding 200% of the FPL.  
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4.2 Eligible students for the ABC program shall have at least one of the following 

characteristics: 
• Low-income family (up to 200% of the FPL) 
• Parents without a high school diploma or GED 
• Low birth weight (below 5 pounds, 9 ounces) 
• Parent is under 18 years of age at child’s birth 
• Family has a history of substance abuse/addiction 
• Income eligible for Title I programs 
• Eligible for services under IDEA 
• Parent has a history of abuse or neglect or is a victim of abuse or neglect, 
• A demonstrable developmental delay as identified through screening 
• Limited English Proficiency 

  
4.3 Eligible students for the ABC for School Success program must meet the following 

qualifications: 
• Must be three or four years of age by the cutoff date set by ADE  
• Gross family income shall not exceed 200% of the FPL 
• A program is available in the area where the child resides and there is 

available space for the child to attend the program. In order to receive special 
education services a child must reside within certain district/co-op boundary 
lines. 

 
4.4 The child’s parent or guardian shall furnish documentation of eligibility and other 

required information upon request.  A list of all acceptable documentation will be 
published annually by DCCECE, including the disclosure of annual household 
income and household member information.  Children of parents or guardians 
refusing to furnish required information shall be deemed ineligible for participation in 
ABC.  Programs are responsible for verifying eligibility before the child attends and 
shall maintain copies of eligibility documentation in the child’s portfolio.   

 
4.5 The ADE and DCCECE may develop a fee schedule and establish eligibility based 

on family income for children who are not eligible under Section 4.3, but priority 
enrollment shall be provided to children eligible under Section 4.3. 

 
4.6 In rare circumstances, DCCECE, with approval from ADE, may grant waivers to 

children not meeting the eligibility criteria under Sections 4.2 or 4.3 but possessing 
multiple risk factors for learning and developmental impairment.  Requests for such 
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waivers must be submitted to DCCECE in writing and will be considered on a case 
by case basis.   

 
4.7  Children meeting certain risk factor qualifications may be eligible for home-based 

services, in addition to attending a center-based ABC program.  By July 1, 2005, 
DCCECE will establish a process by which such services may be applied for.  The 
State Board of Education will have final approval for any exception to the 
requirements of 4.2 and 4.3.    

 
 

SECTION 5 – PROGRAM/AGENCY ELIGIBILITY 
 
5.1 Any child care provider meeting the criteria below is eligible to apply for funding:   

� Located within the boundaries of the State of Arkansas 
� Licensed by DCCECE as a Child Care Center or Child Care Family Home 

with a satisfactory history OR has a facility which is licensable 
� Obtained State Quality Approval accreditation OR is eligible for such 

accreditation in the space to be used for the ABC program 
� Can provide matching funds in accordance with local to state 40:60 funding 

ratio  
 
 The local-to-state match may be waived by DCCECE if the school is in a district that 

has been designated by ADE as being in academic distress and DCCECE 
determines that the school is unable to provide the local-to-state match requirement. 
 This determination may be made only after DCCECE has assisted the school in 
identifying potential funding sources to provide local-to-state match requirements.  

 
5.2 Any provider wishing to be considered for funding must fully complete a grant 

application supplied by DCCECE.  Grant applications will be evaluated and scored by 
DCCECE on the following factors:   
� The degree to which the program can provide a developmentally appropriate 

preschool program as outlined in the grant application 
� A strategy of collaboration with the local business and education community 
� A fiscally-responsible budget which correlates to core quality components 
� A plan of action for parent involvement 

 
5.3 DCCECE will determine an acceptable cutoff score for approved applications. 

Questions and concerns regarding grant scoring should be referred to the Program 
Administrator.  The DCCECE Program Administrator or Division Director shall make 
the final determination of all grant scores.  Grant scores are final. 
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5.4 All applications shall include an appropriate budget which corresponds to the core 

quality components for ABC, details all costs associated with the program and 
demonstrates the cost effectiveness of the program and the use of federal, state, 
local and private funds in conjunction with ABC grant monies. Allowable costs 
include: 
� salaries and fringe benefits 
� instructional materials and equipment 
� staff development 
� developmental screenings 
� meaningful parent and community engagement activities 
� stipends for staff working toward a degree or credential. 

 
 

SECTION 6 – FUNDING 
 
6.1 Upon approval of an ABC application, the order of funding shall be based on criteria 

stated in Act 49 of 2003, which includes areas of the state containing: 
 

• Schools that have 75% or more students scoring below proficiency level on 
the primary benchmark exams (math and literacy) in the preceding two (2) 
school years 

• Schools designated by ADE as being in school improvement status 
• Schools located in a school district in academic distress. 

 
Other factors determining areas to be funded may include socio-economic status of 
the service area and the availability of existing quality preschool services in an area. 

 
6.2 Any program funded with ABC monies shall work in collaboration with DCCECE, 

ADE, local businesses and other early childhood providers (school districts, Head 
Start, HIPPY, private and non-profit providers, etc.) to ensure that all eligible children 
are served in the most suitable environment.  This collaboration shall include, but is 
not limited to, sharing of waiting list information and referring children to other 
programs when appropriate.  Funding for ABC programs refusing to collaborate may 
not be renewed the following year. 

 
6.3 The required local 40% match may include funding or appropriate in-kind services. 

Federal funding sources, including the cost of EPSDT screening, may be used as 
local match. 
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6.4 Arkansas Better Chance Funding (60%) for the core components of the program may 
include salaries and fringe for staff giving direct services to ABC children, 
professional development, child assessment, developmental screening, meaningful 
parent and community engagement activities, proven curricula and learning 
processes, transportation and administration. 

 
6.5 The maximum amount of funding is based upon projected child enrollment.  

Programs will be paid quarterly.  Once a grant agreement is signed, a full quarterly 
payment will be issued.  Payment for subsequent quarters will be based upon actual 
enrollment.  If actual enrollment is less than 80% of projected enrollment, the 
quarterly payment will be deducted on a per child basis.  Overpayments may be 
deducted from future funding. 

 
6.6 Payment may be delayed if programs do not comply with reporting requirements. 
 
6.7 ABC is intended to supplement, not supplant, existing funding sources. 
 
6.8 Funding, not to exceed 2% of the total ABC funding pool, shall be available from the 

ABC monies for the additional support services required of DCCECE in administering 
the ABC program.   

 
 

SECTION 7 – REPORTING 
 
7.1 Each ABC program shall submit to DCCECE two (2) financial expenditure reports 

and periodic reports detailing program statistics.  Programs shall receive guidance 
from DCCECE on the specific format of each report. 

 
7.2 A complete and final disclosure audit of each ABC Program is required and must be 

submitted annually for review to DCCECE.   Any ABC program that is annually 
reviewed by Legislative Audit may submit the summary completed by that agency.  
All final audits shall be submitted within 120 days of the program’s fiscal year 
completion. 

 
7.3 Programs that fail to adhere to a reporting deadline or respond to a request for 

information by DCCECE will be subject to corrective action as outlined in Section 20. 
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SECTION 8 – APPLICATION/RENEWAL APPLICATION 

 
8.1 The Request for Applications will specify all application procedures for an ABC 

program.  DCCECE is not obligated to review any proposal received after the 
submission deadline. 

 
8.2 If all ABC monies are not allocated or expended during any program year, the 

DCCECE may initiate an additional application period to fully obligate all available 
funds. 

 
 

SECTION 9 – MINIMUM STANDARDS/CLASSROOM PROGRAMS 
 
9.1 All ABC classroom programs shall satisfy the requirements specified in The Child 

Care Licensing Act, ACA 20-78-201 through 224 and rules and regulations enacted 
pursuant to these sections. 

 
9.2 All ABC classrooms shall maintain a license in good standing as referenced in 

Section 9.1. Any ABC program whose license is revoked shall be immediately 
terminated from the ABC program.  Programs placed on corrective action by DHS 
shall be subject to ABC corrective action as outlined in Section 20. 

 
9.3 DCCECE is directly responsible for the inspection and evaluation of programs as 

referenced in Section 9.1.   Inspections and monitoring visits may occur without prior 
notice.  This includes quality visits, program reviews or any other visit by a DCCECE 
or authorized representative. 

 
9.4 All ABC classrooms shall meet the criteria for becoming an "approved" Early 

Childhood program under the Arkansas Child Care Approval System Rules and 
Regulations, Ark. Code Ann. 6-45-103 and 106  (Supp. 1993).  An overall average of 
5.5 with a minimum of 4.5 in each sub-scale is required for the Environmental Rating 
Scale or scales that are applicable to each program.  Any program failing to meet 
these requirements is subject to corrective action up to and including termination 
from the ABC program. 

 
9.5 For each child enrolled, ABC programs shall provide a minimum of 178 instructional 

days per year and 7.5 hours per day with a minimum of seven contact hours. 
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SECTION 10 – STAFF/PUPIL RATIO FOR CLASSROOM PROGRAMS 

 
10.1 Regardless of licensing capacity, the group size in any classroom with ABC children 

shall not exceed: 
• 8 children for ages birth-18 months 
• 14 children for ages 18 months-3 years 
• 20 children for ages 3-5 years 

 
10.2 The adult-to-child ratio in any classroom with ABC children shall not exceed: 

• 1:4 (birth to 18 months) 
• 1:7 (18 months-3 years) 
• 1:10 (3 years-5 years) 

 
10.3 A minimum of 50% of the staff must remain in the classroom during rest time for 

children 3-5 years old only.  Full staffing must occur for all other ages and at all other 
times, including meals. 

 
 

SECTION 11 – STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 
 
11.1 The lead teacher shall hold a bachelor's degree or higher in early childhood 

education, elementary education, special education or Family and Consumer 
Science with an emphasis in child development AND shall hold a valid Arkansas P-4 
teacher certification.  Teachers who hold a valid K-6 license are exempt from the P-4 
requirement.  Lead Teachers must be able to demonstrate competency in the areas 
of developmentally appropriate programming, curriculum development and daily 
classroom management. 

 
11.2 For multiple classroom sites, the teacher of a second classroom shall hold, at a 

minimum, an associate degree in early childhood education or early childhood 
development.  Teachers must be able to demonstrate competency in the areas of 
developmentally appropriate programming, curriculum development and daily 
classroom management.    

 
11.3 The paraprofessional aide shall hold a minimum of one of the following: 
 

• Associate degree in early childhood education or development 
• CDA credential 
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11.4 Any substitute teacher serving in an ABC classroom more than ten (10) days in a 
program year must have a minimum of twelve (12) hours of early childhood 
education or development training.  A CDA or AA is preferred. 

 
11.5 ABC staff members who work directly with children in a Child Care Family Home 

setting must have a minimum of a CDA and must demonstrate continued 
professional development towards a higher degree in early childhood. 

 
11.6 Staff members hired before July 1, 2005 may work in an ABC program under an 

approved Deficiency Removal Plan.  DCCECE will monitor the plan to ensure 
adequate progress is being made.    

 
11.7 While adhering to the necessary qualifications, ABC programs should also strive to 

maintain an ethnically diverse staff appropriate to child enrollment. 
 
11.8 All ABC teachers and aides shall be required to participate in thirty (30) hours of staff 

development annually on topics pertinent to early childhood education. Persons who 
are obtaining an early childhood degree may count college course hours pertinent to 
early childhood education toward the required hours of staff development. 

 
11.9 Teachers and paraprofessionals shall be required to receive training in the following 

areas:   
� Arkansas Early Childhood and Infant/Toddler Education Framework 
� Pre-K ELLA (Early Literacy Learning in Arkansas) 
� Math/Science for Young Children 
� Social/Emotional Benchmarks for Young Children 
� Preschool children with special needs 
� Work Sampling Online (or assessment instrument chosen by DCCECE) 

  
The training requirements also apply to any substitute teacher who serves more than 
four (4) weeks per year in an ABC classroom.  With the exception of annual Work 
Sampling training and updates, timeframes for completing such requirements may 
vary with availability and access to the above trainings. 

 
11.10 ABC programs shall ensure that all appropriate staff members attend mandatory 

training (budgets, reporting, assessments, information technology, etc.)  Mandatory 
training shall be provided by DCCECE.  Programs with staff members not adhering 
to these requirements are subject to corrective action as outlined in Section 20. 
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11.10 The director and all staff working directly with children in an ABC program shall 
register with the Arkansas Early Childhood Professional Development System. 

 
SECTION 12 – STAFFING PATTERNS/CLASSROOM PROGRAMS 

 
12.1 Single classroom sites shall have a teacher qualified under section 11.1 and a 
 paraprofessional aide qualified under section 11.3. 
 
12.2 In multi-classroom sites, the following staffing patterns shall be adhered to: 
  Two classrooms: 

� Lead teacher qualified under section 11.1. 
� Classroom teacher qualified under section 11.2. 
� Two (2) paraprofessional aides qualified under section 11.3. 

  Three classrooms: 
� Lead teacher qualified under section 11.1. 
� Two (2) teachers qualified under section 11.2. 
� Three (3) paraprofessional aides qualified under section 11.3.               

       
Four classrooms: 
� Two (2) teachers qualified under section 11.1. 
� Two (2) teachers qualified under section 11.2. 
� Four (4) paraprofessional aides qualified under section 11.3.  

 
Lead teachers are responsible for curriculum, program planning & oversight of aides. 
  

12.3 Classrooms must be divided in such a way as to eliminate distractions and 
disruptions from other classes and provide all of the necessary elements for ABC 
classroom activity.  Permanent walls or dividers are preferable.  It is the responsibility 
of each program to demonstrate that the classroom arrangement does not impede 
learning. 

 
SECTION 13 – PROGRAM STANDARDS 

 
13.1 All early childhood programs funded by ABC monies shall be developmentally 

appropriate and individualized to meet the needs of each student enrolled.  
Guidelines published by the National Association for the Education of Young Children 
(NAEYC) and the Arkansas Early Childhood Education Framework will be used to 
determine developmental appropriateness. (Bredekamp, Sue, Editor, 
Developmentally Appropriate Practice in Early Childhood Programs Serving Children 
from Birth Through Age 8). 
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 13.2 Each program shall be equipped with toys, books and play apparatus to take care of 
the needs of the total group and to provide each child with a variety of activities 
through the day.  A variety of this equipment shall be accessible from low shelves to 
the children of all ages and shall be arranged in learning centers. 

 
13.3 The program shall be individualized to meet the needs of each student enrolled. 

Each curriculum model and the actual classroom practice will be assessed using the 
Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale or the Infant/Toddler Environment Rating 
Scale (Clifford/Harms) to ensure the model is developmentally appropriate. 

 
13.4 The program shall have a written overall curriculum plan which is arranged in 

thematic units and includes goals and objectives related to the following: 
� Cultural diversity 
� Social/Emotional development 
� Creative/Aesthetic learning 
� Cognitive/Intellectual learning 
� Physical development 
� Language 

 
13.5 The curriculum shall be supported by developmentally appropriate materials that 

encourage hands-on manipulation of real objects (manipulative) and shall 
significantly correlate to the  Arkansas Early Childhood Frameworks.   All sites must 
utilize a curriculum approved by DCCECE.  A list of approved curriculum models will 
be made available by DCCECE on an annual basis. A program wishing to use a 
curriculum not on the list may request, in writing to DCCECE, consideration of an 
additional curriculum.     

 
13.6 Children shall participate in a daily schedule that reflects a balance among the 

following types of activities: 
• Indoor/Outdoor 
• Quiet/Active 
• Individual/Small Group/Large Group 
• Gross Motor/Fine Motor 
• Child Initiated/Teacher Initiated 

 
13.7 Routine and transition times throughout the day, such as preparing for mealtime, 

shall be used as opportunities for incidental learning.  Transition times shall be 
planned to avoid frequent disruption of children's activities and long waits between 
activities. 
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13.8 Programs shall implement and maintain individual child portfolios.  At a minimum, 

portfolios shall contain the following: 
• Documentation of eligibility for ABC or ABCSS 
• Application form which includes basic child information 
• Emergency information, including non-parental contact and medical 

information 
• Parental authorization for medical care & daily pick-up 
• Field trip authorization 
• Immunization/health record 
• Record of completed health screening and developmental assessment 
• Samples of children's work 
• Teacher & parent observations and summaries of parent-teacher conferences 

 
In maintaining and updating child and family data, ABC programs shall utilize the 
information technology database selected by DCCECE. DCCECE will be responsible 
for providing mandatory training on this system. 

 
13.9 Discipline shall reflect positive guidance, be consistent and individualized for each 

child. Such discipline shall be appropriate to the child's level of understanding and 
directed toward teaching the child acceptable behavior and self-control.  Corporal 
punishment is an unacceptable method of discipline for children in ABC funded 
programs and shall not be used.  ABC programs must have the approval of DCCECE 
before involuntarily dismissing any child, unless the child’s behavior threatens the 
safety of other children.  Programs found to be in violation of this requirement shall 
be subject to corrective action. 

 
13.10 If children demonstrate inappropriate behavior which adversely affects 

developmental performance, the ABC program shall consult with the Early Childhood 
Special Education program regarding classroom modifications and interventions. 

 
13.11 The arrangement of indoor and outdoor equipment, materials and interest areas for 

each group shall provide for: 
� Accessibility to equipment and materials so that children may select and 

return them easily 
� An orderly, uncluttered atmosphere 
� Visual and/or auditory supervision of children in all areas 
� Separation of active and quiet play areas 
� Traffic patterns that avoid disruption of activities 
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13.12 At a minimum, developmentally appropriate equipment and materials of sufficient 

quantity to accommodate a sustained learning environment shall be provided in the 
following interest areas/learning centers: 

 
1. Blocks 5. Discovery/Science Sensory 
2. Dramatic Play 6. Sand/Water Play 
3. Stories/Language Development 7. Manipulative 
4. Art 8. Music 

 
13.13 The outdoor area shall be used for extension of the learning activities that occur in 

the classroom. 
 
13.14 The outdoor play area shall be developmentally appropriate and meet the Consumer 

Product Safety Commission standards for outdoor play areas.  The outdoor play area 
shall provide the following: 
� A variety of surfaces 
� An arrangement designed for appropriate flow of activities 
� Climbing and other active play items and structures 
� Open areas for running and games 
� Opportunities for dramatic play 
� Adequate storage for equipment and materials 
� Partial shade 
� Quiet, private spaces 
� A separate outdoor area equipped for infants and toddlers  (if applicable) 

 
13.15 Provision should be made through program design and networking efforts to ease 

the transition of children moving from one program or age grouping to another or to 
public  school kindergartens.  This provision must include lesson plans and specific 
activities written into the program design. 

 
13.16 ABC programs are required to provide free nutritious meals and snacks for all 

children enrolled in ABC/ABCSS. 
 
13.17 Parents or guardians of children qualified as eligible for ABC services shall not be 

required to pay any fees during ABC program hours.  This includes enrollment and 
field trip fees. 
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SECTION 14 – ASSESSMENT AND SCREENINGS 

 
14.1 DCCECE shall be responsible for the assessment of children enrolled in the ABC 

program.   
 
14.2 DCCECE and ADE shall work cooperatively to ensure that the assessments are 

conducted as required by Act 49 of 2003.   
 
14.3 Children in the ABC program shall be assessed annually to provide an indication of 

each child’s progress towards school readiness. 
 
14.4 The assessment shall address a child’s strengths, progress, and needs and shall 

serve as a central part of an effective early childhood program.  The assessment 
instrument selected by DCCECE and ADE shall be used for children enrolled in an 
ABC program.  

 
14.5 A comprehensive longitudinal study shall be implemented to evaluate the ABC 

program to ensure that the program goals are achieved.  The study will be designed 
to use sound research-based evidence to determine whether the programs meet the 
expected standards.  This research shall include children entering the program at 
ages three (3) and four (4) years and follow the children through completion of the 
fourth grade benchmark exams. Research results will be provided annually to the 
Governor and the Senate Interim Committee on Education and the House Interim 
Committee on Education.  

 
14.6 Within forty-five (45) days of entering an ABC program, each child shall receive a 

comprehensive health screening and a developmental screening to determine 
individual needs.  It is the responsibility of the parent or guardian to complete the 
health screening in a timely manner.  The program agency shall be responsible for 
completing the developmental screening and shall contact the Preschool Education 
Program in the appropriate Education Service Cooperative or local school district 
within seven (7) calendar days of a failed screening.  Programs shall comply with 
state and federal laws for Special Needs students.  A developmental screening must 
be performed annually, while a health screening is valid for two (2) years 
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14.7 The developmental screening must include, at a minimum, the following areas:   
 

• vocabulary 
• visual-motor integration 
• language and speech development 
• fine and gross motor skills  
• social skills   
• developmental milestones 

 
 The purpose of screening is to identify developmental delays and/or educational 

deficiencies.  Appropriate referrals shall be made if children require additional 
assessment.  

 
14.8 DCCECE will provide a list to programs of all acceptable developmental screening 

instruments on an annual basis. 
 
14.9 A comprehensive health screening for ABC children shall include the following 

components: 
 
  1.  Growth and nutrition 
  2.  Development assessment 
  3.  Unclothed physical 
  4.  Neurological exam 
  5.  Cardiac status 
  6.  Vision 
  7.  Hearing 
  8.  Teeth 
  9.  Lab tests (Appropriate for age & population group) 
   a.  Hematological 
   b.  Urinalysis 
  10. Immunization status 
 

DCCECE shall provide programs with a standardized form to be distributed to 
parents.  This form should be signed by the physician or nurse practitioner 
administering the health screening.  Parents or guardians shall return the signed form 
to the program.  A waiver from this requirement may be granted under Ark. Code Ann. 
6-18-701 (Repl. 1993). 
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14.10 Children shall be age appropriately immunized to attend an ABC program.  Proof of 
current immunizations or an acceptable “catch up” schedule will be required before a 
child attends an ABC program.  A waiver from this requirement may be granted 
under ACA 6-18-702 (Repl. 1993). 

 
 

SECTION 15 – PARENT AND COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT 
 
15.1 Each program shall have a plan for parent involvement which includes opportunities 

for parental input into program operation and design.  Parent involvement plans shall 
include a mechanism for parental advice and review of programmatic plans, parent 
conferences and a method to involve the parent in the child's educational experience. 

 
15.2 The program shall have an "open door" policy for parents which encourages visiting 

and participation in classroom activities. 
 
15.3 The program shall publish and utilize a parent handbook. 
 
15.4 Each program shall have a plan for community/school district/educational services 

cooperative/agency involvement, which includes a description of how cooperation 
with other service providers who are concerned with the education, welfare, health 
and safety needs of young children, will be established and maintained. Programs 
should consider providing opportunities for community representatives to participate 
in the educational activities of the classroom. 

 
 

SECTION 16 – TRANSPORTATION 
 
16.1 Any child who is less than 6 years old and weighs less than 60 pounds shall be 

restrained in a child passenger safety seat.  Any child who is at least 6 years or 
weighs at least 60 pounds must be restrained by a safety belt. (Ark. Code Ann. 27-
34-104).  Conventional school buses are exempt from this requirement except for the 
transportation of infants/toddlers. 

 
16.2    Infants and toddlers shall not be transported on school buses that are not equipped 

to accommodate required child safety seats. 
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16.3 If ABC children are transported on public school buses, the program shall submit to 
DCCECE a plan for the following: 

• Escorts to and from the bus pickup area 
• A visual identification method for buses and children to ensure children get on 

the correct bus  
• A thematic unit on bus safety to be presented to the children in the ABC 

preschool classroom at the beginning of each program year 
 

Programs must comply with child care licensing regulations on transportation and 
staff-child ratio. Programs must obtain an alternative compliance waiver from the 
Licensing Unit before deviating from any transportation requirement.  Program 
Rosters shall be used daily to track all ABC children being transported on a school 
bus.  Copies of all rosters shall be kept on file for inspection by DCCECE. 

  
16.4 Offering transportation to and from an ABC program is strictly optional.  DCCECE 

and ADE accept no liability for the transportation of children participating in an ABC 
program. 

 
SECTION 17 – OTHER PROGRAM MODELS 

 
17.1 Alternate programs may include, but are not limited to, Head Start, Home Based, 

PAT and HIPPY. These programs will comply, where applicable, with the regulations 
herein. 

 
17.2 All ABC funded alternate program models will be developmentally appropriate, meet 

applicable health and safety standards, provide developmental and health 
screenings and ensure immunizations of the child served. 

 
SECTION 18 – HIPPY REGULATIONS 

 
18.1 HIPPY programs shall meet program criteria as outlined in the contractual agreement 

signed by each site with Arkansas Children’s Hospital and HIPPY USA. 
 
18.2 Each HIPPY program serving at least 160 families must have one (1) full-time 

coordinator, holding a minimum of a bachelor’s degree in education, social work, 
sociology, psychology, or related field. Those coordinators without a related degree 
must obtain at least 12 college course hours per year. This coordinator shall also 
meet additional job requirements as described in the HIPPY USA Coordinator job 
description.  New HIPPY Coordinators must attend National HIPPY Preservice 
Training and receive certification. 
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18.3 HIPPY Home Based Educators who work 20-24 hours per week may not serve more 

than 15 families; Home Based Educators who work 25-30 hours may not serve more 
than 22 families and Home Based Educators working 31-40 hours per week may not 
serve more than 27 families.  Minimum requirements for home educators include a 
high school diploma/GED and a current CDA certificate.  All new HIPPY home-based 
educators must attend new Home-based Educators training provided by Arkansas 
State HIPPY.

 
18.4 Hiring of any HIPPY coordinator or home-based educator not meeting the 

requirements of 18.02-18.03 must be approved by DCCECE.  HIPPY staff hired prior 
to July 1, 2005 may work in an ABC HIPPY program under an approved Deficiency 
Removal Plan. DCCECE shall monitor such plans to ensure adequate progress is 
being made.   

 
18.5 HIPPY programs may serve children 3 and 4 years of age or a child who does not 

meet the compulsory school entry age.
 
18.6 The Arkansas HIPPY Training and Technical Assistance (T & TA) Office will monitor 

and assist HIPPY programs throughout the state.  Annual program site reviews and 
assessments will be forwarded to DCCECE for consideration of program compliance 
and funding renewal.  The Arkansas HIPPY T & TA Office will assist DCCECE with 
determining program compliance at the local level. 

 
18.7 HIPPY programs shall meet requirements as set forth in Sections 4-7 and 14-16. 
 
18.8 Group meetings should reflect the educational programming standards as set forth in 

Section 13 and guidelines set forth in the HIPPY model. 
 
18.9 Any enhancements designed to complement the HIPPY curriculum must be 

approved by the Arkansas HIPPY T & TA Office prior to implementation with families. 
 

SECTION 19 – PAT REGULATIONS 
            
19.1 PAT Programs shall meet program criteria as outlined in the PAT Program 

Implementation and Planning Guide. 
            
19.2 All PAT Coordinators must attend the PAT Institute Training and obtain either a 

Parent Educator Certificate or an Administrator’s Certificate.  
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19.3 Each program must have a certified Parent Educator.  The Parent Educator may also 
serve as Coordinator. 

 
19.4 PAT Parent Educators working on a part-time basis (20 hours per week) should 

serve 30 and not more than 40 children and their families. 
 
19.5 PAT Programs shall operate on a twelve month, year-round basis. Families must be 

offered twelve personal visits and six parent group meetings. 
 
19.6 PAT Programs may serve children from the prenatal period to five years of age with 

proper certification. 
 
19.7 PAT Programs must coordinate services with HIPPY Programs where both exist in 

the same community to avoid duplication of services. 
 
19.8 PAT Programs shall meet requirements as set forth in Sections 4-7 and 14-16. 
 

SECTION 20 – CORRECTIVE ACTION 
 
20.1 An ABC program found to be out of compliance with any ABC Rule or Regulation is 

subject to the implementation of a Program Improvement Plan.  Through the plan, 
programs must meet all ABC regulations within a specified time frame or be 
terminated from the ABC program.  Serious compliance deficiencies may result in 
immediate termination from the ABC program, denial of future ABC funds, repayment 
of monies and exclusion from participation in any DHS programs.  

 
20.2 Issues for corrective action may include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Founded licensing or maltreatment complaints 
• Revocation of Quality Approval status or failing to meet Quality Approval 

standards 
• Financial mismanagement 
• Late reports or missing information 
• Program deficiencies documented by DCCECE or any authorized 

representative 
• Falsification of any document or information 
• Hiring of unqualified staff 
• Staff members not meeting the requirements of a Deficiency Removal Plan 
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20.3 Any program who submits a falsified document will be subject to immediate 
termination from the ABC program, repayment of funds and possible referral of 
program officials and/or responsible employees for criminal prosecution.  

 
20.4 An ABC program may appeal any adverse action taken by DCCECE.  Such appeals 

must be in writing and be received within thirty (30) days of the notice of corrective 
action. A program wishing to appeal should send a written notice to Attention: 
DCCECE Division Director, P.O. Box 1437, Slot S-140, Little Rock, AR  72203.  The 
Division Director will make a recommendation to the State Board of Education, which 
will issue a ruling. 

 
20.5 Programs wishing to appeal any decision by the State Board of Education must 

submit a request for an Administrative Hearing in writing to the DCCECE Division 
Director within thirty (30) days of the ruling by the State Board of Education. 
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