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1. Inpatient Hospital Services (Continued) 
 

Non-State Public Hospital Inpatient Adjustment
 

Effective April 19, 2001 through June 30, 2005, all Arkansas non-state government-owned or operated acute 
care and critical access hospitals (that is, all acute care and critical access government hospitals within the 
state of Arkansas that are neither owned nor operated by the state of Arkansas) shall qualify for a public 
hospital inpatient rate adjustment.  Effective November 1, 2004 through June 30, 2005,  Arkansas may 
provide a public inpatient rate adjustment to non-state government owned or operated acute care 
regional medical center hospitals located outside of Arkansas (that is, acute care hospitals outside of 
Arkansas that are neither owned nor operated by any state) that - a) provide level 1 trauma and burn 
care services; b) provide level 3 neonatal care services; c) are obligated to serve all patients, regardless 
of State of origin; d) are located within a Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA) that includes 
at least 3 States, including Arkansas; e) serve as a tertiary care provider for patients residing within a 
125 mile radius; and f) meet the criteria for disproportionate share hospital under Section 1923 of the 
Social Security Act in at least one State other than the one in which the hospital is located.  The 
adjustment shall result in total payments to each hospital that are equal to but not in excess of the individual 
facility=s Medicare-related upper payment limit, as prescribed in 42 C.F.R. ∋ 447.272.  The adjustment shall 
be calculated as follows:  

 
1. Using data from the hospital=s most recently audited cost report, Arkansas shall determine each 

eligible non-state public hospital=s base Medicare per discharge rate and base Medicaid per 
discharge rate.  Base Medicare and Medicaid per discharge rates will include respective Case Mix 
Index (CMI) adjustments in order to neutralize the impact of the differential between Medicare and 
Medicaid case mixes. 

 
For hospitals who, for the most recently audited cost report year filed a partial year cost report, such 
partial year cost report data shall be annualized to determine their rate adjustment; provided that such 
hospital was licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost report year.  Hospitals with 
partial year cost reports who were not licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost 
report year shall receive pro-rated adjustments based on the partial year data. 

 
2. The base Medicare per discharge rate shall be multiplied by the applicable upper payment limit 

(percentage) specified in 42 C.F.R. ∋ 447.272 for non-state government owned or operated hospitals. 
 For example, to the extent that such federal regulation permits Medicaid payments up to 150 percent 
of the amount that would be paid under Medicare reimbursement principles, the base Medicare per 
discharge rate shall be multiplied by 150 percent.  The result shall be the adjusted Medicare per 
discharge rate.  

 
3. The base Medicaid per discharge rate shall be subtracted from the adjusted Medicare per discharge 

rate determined pursuant to step 2.  
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1. Inpatient Hospital Services (Continued) 
 

Non-State Public Hospital Inpatient Adjustment (continued)
 

4. The difference shall be multiplied by the number of Medicaid discharges at the hospital for the 
most recent audited fiscal year. The result shall be the amount of the annual Non-State Public 
Hospital Adjustment.  

 
 5. Payment shall be made on a quarterly basis within 15 days after the end of the quarter for the 

previous quarter.  Payment for SFY 2001 shall be prorated proportional to the number of days 
between April 19, 2001 and June 30, 2001 to the total number of days in SFY 2001. 

 
Effective July 1, 2005, all Arkansas non-state government-owned or operated acute care and critical access 
hospitals (that is, all acute care and critical access government hospitals within the state of Arkansas that are 
neither owned nor operated by the state of Arkansas) shall qualify for a public hospital inpatient rate 
adjustment.  Effective July 1, 2005 through December 31, 2005,  Arkansas may provide a public inpatient 
rate adjustment to non-state government owned or operated acute care regional medical center hospitals 
located outside of Arkansas (that is, acute care hospitals outside of Arkansas that are neither owned nor 
operated by any state) that - a) provide level 1 trauma and burn care services; b) provide level 3 neonatal care 
services; c) are obligated to serve all patients, regardless of State of origin; d) are located within a Standard 
Metropolitan Statistical Area (SMSA) that includes at least 3 States, including Arkansas; e) serve as a tertiary 
care provider for patients residing within a 125 mile radius; and f) meet the criteria for disproportionate share 
hospital under Section 1923 of the Social Security Act in at least one State other than the one in which the 
hospital is located.  The adjustment shall result in total payments to each hospital that are equal to but not in 
excess of the individual facility=s Medicare-related upper payment limit, as prescribed in 42 C.F.R. ∋ 
447.272.  The adjustment shall be calculated as follows:  

 
 1. Using data from the hospital=s most recently audited cost report, Arkansas shall determine each 

eligible non-state public hospital=s base Medicare per discharge rate and base Medicaid per discharge 
rate.  Base Medicare and Medicaid per discharge rates will include respective Case Mix Index (CMI) 
adjustments in order to neutralize the impact of the differential between Medicare and Medicaid case 
mixes. 

 
For hospitals who, for the most recently audited cost report year filed a partial year cost report, such 
partial year cost report data shall be annualized to determine their rate adjustment; provided that such 
hospital was licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost report year.  Hospitals with 
partial year cost reports who were not licensed and providing services throughout the entire cost 
report year shall receive pro-rated adjustments based on the partial year data. 

 
 2. The base Medicare per discharge rate shall be multiplied by the applicable upper payment limit 

(percentage) specified in 42 C.F.R. ∋ 447.272 for non-state government owned or operated hospitals. 
 For example, to the extent that such federal regulation permits Medicaid payments up to 150 percent 
of the amount that would be paid under Medicare reimbursement principles, the base Medicare per 
discharge rate shall be multiplied by 150 percent.  The result shall be the adjusted Medicare per 
discharge rate. 
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1. Inpatient Hospital Services (Continued) 
 

Non-State Public Hospital Inpatient Adjustment (continued)
 

3. The base Medicaid per discharge rate shall be subtracted from the adjusted Medicare per discharge 
rate determined pursuant to step 2.  

 
4. The difference shall be multiplied by the number of Medicaid discharges at the hospital for the 

most recent audited fiscal year. The result shall be the amount of the annual Non-State Public 
Hospital Adjustment.  

 
5. Payment shall be made on a quarterly basis within 15 days after the end of the quarter for the 

previous quarter. 
 


