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STATE ARKANSAS 
 
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - 
OTHER TYPES OF CARE               Revised: July 1, 2004 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
26. Personal care services furnished to an individual who is not an inpatient or resident of a hospital, nursing 

facility, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or institution for mental disease that are (A) 
authorized for the individual by a physician in accordance with a service plan, (B) provided by an individual 
who is qualified to provide such services and who is not a member of the individual’s family, and (C) 
furnished in a home or, at the State’s option, another location. 

 
(a) Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2004, Personal Care Aide Services are 

reimbursed per unit of service, based on the lesser of the amount billed or the Title XIX 
(Medicaid) maximum charge allowed.  One unit equals fifteen (15) minutes.  The Title XIX 
maximum charge allowed is $13.84 per hour, which is $3.46 per 15-minute unit. 

 
 
 
 



Arkansas Department of Human Services 
Division of Medical Services 
Donaghey Plaza South 

 P.O. Box 1437 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437 
Internet Website:  www.medicaid.state.ar.us 
Telephone (501) 682-8292 TDD (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191 
FAX (501) 682-1197 

TO: Arkansas Medicaid Personal Care Providers 

DATE: July 1, 2004 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal No. 56 

REMOVE INSERT 
Section Date Section Date 
217.110 10-13-03 217.110 7-1-04 
250.000 10-13-03 250.000 7-1-04 
262.310 10-13-03 262.310 7-1-04 
262.410 10-13-03 262.410 7-1-04 

Explanation of Updates 
Arkansas Act 17 of 2003, Section 18, 1st Extraordinary Session, requires the Arkansas Department 
of Human Services to increase the maximum allowed hourly reimbursement in the Arkansas 
Medicaid Personal Care Program from $12.35 to $13.84.  Effective for dates of service on and after 
July 1, 2004, Arkansas Medicaid defines a unit of service in the Personal Care Program as 15 
minutes of personal care aide service.  Reimbursement for a 15-minute unit of service will be the 
lesser of the amount billed or the Medicaid maximum allowable fee, which is $3.46. 

Section 217.110, part A, 2: References to “service-time increments” have been changed to “units”. 

Section 250.000: In part B, the reference to one hour as a unit of service has been changed to 15 
minutes.  Parts C, D and E have been deleted. 

Section 262.310: This section has been renamed.  It replaces former sections 262.310, 262.311 and 
262.312. 

Section 262.410, Field 24, items F and G: References to “service-time increments” have been 
changed to “units”.  Other revisions to section 262.410 have been made only to improve the 
readability and relevance of the text and do not represent new policy. Paper versions of this update transmittal include pages to file in your provider manual.  See Section I 
for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  The changes made in this update 
transmittal will be incorporated automatically into electronic versions of the Personal Care provider 
manual. 

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191.  Both telephone numbers are 
voice and TDD. 

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance 
Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-
2211. 

“The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act.” 
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Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Roy Jeffus, Director 

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and 
remittance advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas 
Medicaid website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 

 

 

http://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/


Personal Care Section II 

 

217.110 Provider Notification of Benefit Extension Determinations 7-1-04

A. DMS will approve or deny the request—or ask for additional information—within two 
weeks. 

B. DMS reviewers will advise the provider of their decision by means of the Provider 
Notification page of form DMS-618.  View or print form DMS-618. 

1. 

a. 
Notification of benefit extension approval includes: 

The procedure code approved, 
b. 
c. 
d. 

The total number of units approved for the procedure code, 
The benefit extension control number and 
The approved beginning and ending dates of service. 

2. The DMS reviewers who approved or denied the request sign and date the 
notification. 

 

PROPOSED 

  



Personal Care Section II 

 
 

250.000 REIMBURSEMENT 7-1-04

A. Reimbursement for personal care services is the lesser of the amount billed or the 
Arkansas Title XIX (Medicaid) maximum allowed fee. 

B. Reimbursement for Arkansas medicaid Personal Care services is based on a 15-minute 
unit of service.  

PROPOSED 

  



Personal Care Section II 

 
 

262.310 Unit Billing  7-1-04

A. Fifteen minutes of authorized, documented and logged personal care equals one unit of 
personal care aide service. 

B. Providers may not bill for less than fifteen minutes of service; however personal care aides’ 
time spent providing services for a single client may be accumulated during a single, 24-
hour calendar day, and the sum divided by 15 to calculate the number of units of service 
provided during that day. 

C. The estimated daily maximum service time in the client's service plan is the upper limit for 
daily billing. 

D. In a single claim transaction, a provider may bill only for service time accumulated within a 
single day for a single client. 

E. There is no "carryover" of time from one day to another or from one client to another. 

F. The aide's time spent on documentation and logging activities may be included as service 
time for the service being documented.  No other administrative activities qualify as service 
time. 

PROPOSED 

  



Personal Care Section II 

 

 

262.410 Completion of CMS-1500 Claim Form 7-1-04

PROPOSED 

Field Name and Number Instructions for Completion 

1. Type of Coverage This field is not required for Medicaid. 

1a. Insured’s I.D. Number Enter the patient’s 10-digit Medicaid identification 
number. 

2. Patient’s Name Enter the patient’s last name and first name. 

3. Patient’s Birth Date  Enter the patient’s date of birth in MM/DD/YY format 
as it appears on the Medicaid identification card. 

 Sex Check “M” for male or “F” for female. 

4. Insured’s Name Required if there is insurance affecting this claim.  
Enter the insured’s last name, first name and middle 
initial. 

5. Patient’s Address Optional entry.  Enter the patient’s full mailing 
address, including street number and name, (post 
office box or RFD), city name, state name and zip 
code. 

6. Patient Relationship to Insured Check the appropriate box indicating the patient’s 
relationship to the insured if there is insurance 
affecting this claim. 

7. Insured’s Address Required if insured’s address is different from the 
personal care client’s address. 

8. Patient Status This field is not required for Medicaid. 

9. Other Insured’s Name If patient has other insurance coverage as indicated 
in Field 11D, enter the other insured’s last name, first 
name and middle initial.   

a. Other Insured’s Policy or 
Group Number 

Enter the policy or group number of the other insured. 

b. Other Insured’s Date of 
Birth 

This field is not required for Medicaid. 

Sex This field is not required for Medicaid. 

c. Employer’s Name or 
School Name 

Enter the name of the other insured’s employer or 
school, when applicable. 

d. Insurance Plan Name or 
Program Name 

Enter the name of the other insured’s insurance 
company. 

10. Is Patient’s Condition Related 
to: 

 

a. Employment Check “YES” if the patient’s condition is employment 
related (current or previous).  If the condition is not 
employment related, check “NO.” 

 

  



Personal Care Section II 

 

PROPOSED 

b. Auto Accident  Check the appropriate box if the beneficiary’s 
condition is auto accident related.  If “YES”, enter the 
place (two letter state postal abbreviation) where the 
accident occurred.  Check “NO” if the condition is not 
auto accident related. 

c. Other Accident Check “YES” if the beneficiary’s condition is other 
accident related.  Check “NO” if it is not other 
accident related. 

10d. Reserved for Local Use This field is not required for Medicaid. 

11. Insured’s Policy Group or 
FECA Number 

Enter the insured’s policy group or FECA number. 

a. Insured’s Date of Birth This field is not required for Medicaid. 

 Sex This field is not required for Medicaid. 

b. Employer’s Name or 
School Name 

Enter the name of the insured’s employer or school. 

c. Insurance Plan Name or 
Program Name 

Enter the name of the insurance company. 

d. Is There Another Health 
Benefit Plan? 

Check the appropriate box indicating whether there is 
another health benefit plan.   

12. Patient’s or Authorized 
Person’s Signature 

This field is not required for Medicaid. 

13. Insured’s or Authorized 
Person’s Signature 

This field is not required for Medicaid. 

14. Date of Current: 

Illness 
Injury 
Pregnancy 

Required only if the services provided are related to 
an accident.  When applicable, enter the date of the 
accident. 

15. If Patient Has Had Same or 
Similar Illness, Give First Date 

This field is not required for Medicaid. 

16. Dates Patient Unable to Work 
in Current Occupation  

This field is not required for Medicaid. 

17. Name of Referring Physician or 
Other Source 

Enter the referring physician’s name.  A primary care 
physician (PCP) referral is required for Arkansas 
Medicaid Personal Care services, unless the 
beneficiary is exempt from PCP enrollment. 

17a. I.D. Number of Referring 
Physician 

Enter the referring physician’s 9-digit Arkansas 
Medicaid individual provider number. 

18. Hospitalization Dates Related 
to Current Services 

Not applicable to the Personal Care Program. 

19. Reserved for Local Use LEA# - When the provider is a public school or an 
education service cooperative that is billing for 
services performed in a public school, enter the Local 
Education Agency (LEA) number of the school district 
in which the client resides. 

20. Outside Lab? This field is not required for Medicaid. 

  



Personal Care Section II 

 

PROPOSED 

21. Diagnosis or Nature of Illness 
or Injury 

Enter the pertinent diagnosis codes from ICD-9-CM.  
Up to four diagnoses may be listed. 

22. Medicaid Resubmission Code Not required by Medicaid 

 Original Ref No. Not required by Medicaid 

23. Prior Authorization Number Enter the prior authorization or benefit extension 
control number when applicable. 

24. A. Dates of Service Enter the “from” and “to” dates of service, in 
MM/DD/YY format, for each billed service.  

1. On a single claim detail (one charge on one line), 
bill only for services within a single calendar 
month.  

2. Providers may bill, on the same claim detail, for 
two (2) or more sequential dates of service within 
the same calendar month when the provider 
furnished equal amounts of service on each day 
of the span. 

B. Place of Service Enter the appropriate place of service code.  See 
Section 262.200 for codes. 

C. Type of Service  Enter the appropriate type of service code.  See 
Section 262.200 for codes. 

D. Procedures, Services or 
Supplies 

 

 CPT/HCPCS Enter the correct CPT or HCPCS procedure code 
from Sections 262.100 through 262.140. 

 Modifier Enter the applicable modifier(s). 

E. Diagnosis Code Enter a diagnosis code that corresponds to a 
diagnosis in Field 21.  If preferred, simply enter the 
corresponding line number (“1,” “2,” “3,” “4”) from 
Field 21 on the appropriate line in Field 24E instead 
of reentering the actual corresponding diagnosis 
code.  Enter only one diagnosis code or one 
diagnosis code line number on each claim detail.  If 
two or more diagnosis codes apply to a service, use 
the code most appropriate to that service. 

F. $ Charges Enter the charge for the service.  This charge should 
be the provider’s usual charge to private clients.  If 
billing for more than one unit of service, enter the 
total charge for the number of units in the claim detail.

G. Days or Units Enter the applicable units of service (in whole 
numbers) for the period indicated in Field 24A.   

H. EPSDT/Family Plan Enter “E” if the personal care services are a result of 
a Child Health Services (EPSDT) screening/referral. 

I. EMG Emergency - This field is not required for Medicaid. 

J. COB Coordination of Benefit - This field is not required for 
Medicaid. 

K. Reserved for Local Use Not applicable to the Arkansas Medicaid Personal 
Care Program. 

  



Personal Care Section II 

 

PROPOSED 

25. Federal Tax I.D. Number Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).  This 
field is not required for Medicaid.  The information is 
carried in the provider’s Medicaid file.  If it changes, 
please contact the Provider Enrollment Unit. 

26. Patient’s Account No. This optional entry is for accounting purposes.  Enter 
the beneficiary’s account number.  Up to 16 numeric 
or alphabetic characters will be accepted. 

27. Accept Assignment This field is not required for Medicaid.  Providers 
automatically accept assignment when billing 
Medicaid. 

28. Total Charge Enter the total of Field 24F.  This field should contain 
a sum of charges for all services indicated on the 
claim form.  (See NOTE below Field 30.) 

29. Amount Paid Enter the total amount received from other sources 
toward payment of this claim.  The source(s) of 
payment should be indicated in Field 11 and/or Field 
9.  Do not enter any amount previously paid by 
Medicaid.  Do not enter any payment by the 
beneficiary, unless the beneficiary has an insurer that 
requires co-pay.  In such a case, enter the sum of the 
insurer’s payment and the beneficiary’s co-pay, 
without regard to whether the beneficiary has 
remitted the co-pay amount.  (See NOTE below Field 
30.) 

30. Balance Due Enter the net charge, which is calculated by 
subtracting the amount indicated in Field 29 from the 
total charge. 
NOTE:  For Fields 28, 29 and 30, up to 28 lines may 
be billed per claim.  To bill a continued claim, enter 
the page number of the continued claim here (e.g., 
“page 1 of 3”, “page 2 of 3”).  On the last page of the 
claim, enter the total charges due. 

31. Signature of Physician or 
Supplier, Including Degrees or 
Credentials 

An authorized individual must sign and date the 
claim, certifying that the services were furnished in 
accordance with the rules and regulations set forth in 
this provider manual and official Medicaid 
correspondence.  “Provider’s signature” is defined as 
a provider’s actual signature, a rubber stamp of the 
provider’s signature, an automated signature, a 
typewritten signature or the signature of an individual 
authorized by the provider rendering the service.  The 
name of the personal care provider (i.e., school, 
agency etc.) is not acceptable.  

32. Name and Address of Facility 
Where Services Were 
Rendered (If Other Than Home 
or Office) 

Enter the name and address of the service location (if 
other than the beneficiary’s home) specifying the 
street, city, state and zip code. 

33. Physician’s/Supplier’s Billing 
Name, Address, ZIP Code & 
Phone # 

Enter the personal care provider’s name and 
complete address.  A telephone number is requested 
but not required. 

  



Personal Care Section II 

 

  

PROPOSED 

PIN # This field is not required for Arkansas Medicaid 
Personal Care. 

GRP # Enter the 9-digit Arkansas Medicaid Personal Care 
provider number.  
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