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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Hospital, Critical Access Hospital and End-Stage 
Renal Disease Providers 

DATE: January 20, 2004 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal No. 66 

REMOVE INSERT
Section Date Section Date 
None  212.401 10-13-03 

Explanation of Updates 
Update No. 66 is being reissued to correct the policy date.  It should be dated 10-13-03 since it is the 
policy that was in effect on that date but was inadvertently omitted during the HIPAA compliance 
revision of the policy.  Provider Manual Update Transmittal No. 66 dated January 20, 2004 
supersedes Provider Manual Update No. 66 dated December 1, 2003. 

Section 212.401 has been added to restore inpatient hospital benefit limit information that was 
inadvertently omitted in a previous update transmittal. 

Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes have already been incorporated. 

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191.  Both telephone numbers are 
voice and TDD. 

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance 
Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-
2211. 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Roy Jeffus, Director 

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and 
remittance advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas 
Medicaid website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 

“The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act.” 

http://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/


Hospital/CAH/ESRD Section II 

212.401 Inpatient Hospital Services Benefit Limit 10-13-03 

A. There is no benefit limit for acute care/general and rehabilitative hospital inpatient services 
for beneficiaries under age 21 in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.  Inpatient 
services must be approved by the QIO as medically necessary. 

B. The benefit limit for acute care/general and rehabilitative hospital inpatient services is 24 
paid inpatient days per state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) for Medicaid beneficiaries 
aged 21 and older. 

C. Included in the total of paid inpatient days are any days covered by primary third party 
resources (except Medicare and Railroad Retirement) for which Medicaid receives a 
secondary-payer claim that it adjudicates as paid.  A Medicaid-secondary claim that 
adjudicates as a paid claim is counted toward the inpatient benefit limit. 

1. Medicaid, when it is secondary to a third party resource other than Medicare or 
Railroad Retirement, covers only the difference between the primary resource’s 
remittance and Medicaid’s per diem or maximum allowable fee for Medicaid-covered 
services reimbursed by the primary resource. 

2. Even when the Medicaid paid amount is $0.00 because the third party payment 
equals or exceeds Medicaid’s per diem, the days thus paid are counted toward the 
benefit limit. 

D. Extension of the 24-day inpatient benefit is unavailable. 

E. Inpatient stays that are prior authorized for heart, liver and lung transplants are not counted 
toward the 24-day inpatient benefit limit. 
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TO: Arkansas Medicaid Rehabilitative Hospital Providers 

DATE: January 20, 2004 

SUBJECT: Provider Manual Update Transmittal No. 44 

REMOVE INSERT
Section Date Section Date 
None  213.010 10-13-03 

Explanation of Updates 
Update No. 44 is being reissued to correct the policy date.  It should be dated 10-13-03 since it is the 
policy that was in effect on that date but was inadvertently omitted during the HIPAA compliance 
revision of the policy.  Provider Manual Update Transmittal No. 44 dated January 20, 2004 
supersedes Provider Manual Update No. 44 dated December 1, 2003. 

Section 213.010 has been added to restore inpatient hospital benefit limit information that was 
inadvertently omitted in a previous update transmittal. 

Paper versions of this update transmittal have updated pages attached to file in your provider 
manual.  See Section I for instructions on updating the paper version of the manual.  For electronic 
versions, these changes have already been incorporated. 

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our Americans 
with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191.  Both telephone numbers are 
voice and TDD. 

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance 
Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-
2211. 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 

 ______________________________________________________ 
 Roy Jeffus, Director 

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official notices and 
remittance advice (RA) messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas 
Medicaid website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 

“The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act.” 

http://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/


Rehabilitative Hospital Section II 

213.010 Inpatient Hospital Services Benefit Limit 10-13-03 

A. There is no benefit limit for acute care/general and rehabilitative hospital inpatient services 
for beneficiaries under age 21 in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.  Inpatient 
services must be approved by the QIO as medically necessary. 

B. The benefit limit for acute care/general and rehabilitative hospital inpatient services is 24 
paid inpatient days per state fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) for Medicaid beneficiaries 
aged 21 and older. 

C. Included in the total of paid inpatient days are any days covered by primary third party 
resources (except Medicare and Railroad Retirement) for which Medicaid receives a 
secondary-payer claim that it adjudicates as paid.  A Medicaid-secondary claim that 
adjudicates as a paid claim is counted toward the inpatient benefit limit. 

1. Medicaid, when it is secondary to a third party resource other than Medicare or 
Railroad Retirement, covers only the difference between the primary resource’s 
remittance and Medicaid’s per diem or maximum allowable fee for Medicaid-covered 
services reimbursed by the primary resource. 

2. Even when the Medicaid paid amount is $0.00 because the third party payment 
equals or exceeds Medicaid’s per diem, the days thus paid are counted toward the 
benefit limit. 

D. Extension of the 24-day inpatient benefit is unavailable. 
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