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OFFICIAL NOTICE

DMS-2004-R-16

TO: Health Care Provider — Physician

DATE: October 1, 2004

SUBJECT: Home Dialysis — Physician’s Professional Services
L. Introduction

This Official Notice is in relation to Official Notice DMS-2004-L-13, DMS-2004-
CA-3, DMS-2004-Z-2 and DMS-2004-R-11.

A. Effective for dates of service on and after October 1, 2004, Arkansas
Medicaid will cover peritoneal dialysis performed by an appropriately
trained patient and/or caregiver in the home setting.

B. Additionally, effective for dates of services on and after October 1, 2004,
Medicaid will cover up to 15 training sessions for home dialysis provided
by the ESRD facility or outpatient hospital clinic certified by Medicare to
provide home peritoneal dialysis and training.

II. Coverage of Physician Services

A. Physician services for home peritoneal dialysis and training include
selection of patient to receive home dialysis training and oversight of the
training provided by the clinic. Medicaid may cover additional training
when additional training is medically necessary.

B. The patient’s attending physician must request any additional training in
writing, document and certify the medical necessity of additional
training. Requests must be forwarded to:

Arkansas Division of Medical Services
Utilization Review (UR) Section

P. O. Box 1437, Slot S413

Little Rock, AR 72203-1437

The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act.
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C. Physician professional services will be reimbursed a global rate of $532 if
the client completes the training. A rate of $18.40 per training session
will be reimbursed to the physician if the client does not complete the
training.
D. Physicians filing claims for their professional services must use CPT

procedure codes 90989 for completed course and 90993 when the
course is not completed.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

Roy Jeffus, Director

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our
Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-6789 and 1-877-708-8191. Both
telephone numbers are voice and TDD.

If you have questions regarding this notice, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance
Center at in-state WATS 1-800-457-4454, or locally and out of state at (501) 376-2211.

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals, official notices and remittance advice (RA)
messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website:
www.medicaid.state.ar.us.
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