
Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy 
Rule 
 
 
   RULE 12-FEES   
 
  The fees for various services of the Board are as follows (must be paid in U. S. dollars): 
  

CPA EXAMINATION FEES: (Upon implementation of a computer-based         
examination, the fees and nomenclature shall no longer be applicable). 

 
First-time application fee (non refundable) .......................................................$50 
Law & Professional Responsibilities ................................................................$65 
Auditing ............................................................................................................$65 
Accounting & Reporting....................................................................................$65 
Financial Accounting & Reporting....................................................................$65 
Proctor Fee for Out-of-State Applicants ............................................................$65 

                     
             CPA EXAMINATION FEES: (Upon implementation of a computer-based examination, 

the fees and nomenclature below will be applicable) 
 

First-time application fee (non refundable)…………………………………….$50 
Candidate Testing  4  Sections (includes *NAP fees)…………..…………….$590 
Candidate Testing  3 Sections (includes *NAP fees)…………..……………..$480 
Candidate Testing  2 Sections (includes *NAP fees)…………..……………..$350 
Candidate Testing  1 Section (includes *NAP fees)………….……………..  $200 
*NAP –NASBA, AICPA, and Test Delivery Service Provider 

 
APPLICATION FEES (non refundable): 

 
CPA/PA License ................................................................................................$50 
Reciprocal Certificate ........................................................................................$50 
Registration as a Public Accountant ..................................................................$50 
Registration of Partnership, Limited Liability Company Composed of 
CPAs ..................................................................................................................$110  
Registration of Partnership, Limited Liability Company or 
Corporation Composed of PAs ..........................................................................$110  
Reinstatement ………………………………………………………… ……... $100 
Duplicate or replacement Certificate…………………………………………...$20 
Transfer of Credits From Another Jurisdiction: 
Transfer Fee for Each Part ..................................................................................$10 
 

 
ANNUAL REGISTRATION FEES 

 
License to Practice……………….…………………………................................$110  
Inactive License Status….………………………………………………………..$55    
Notification of intent to practice under “Substantial Equivalency” (SE)   
              provision…..…………………………………………...........................  $110   
Partnership, Corporations and Limited Liability Company........................……....$110  
Registration of each firm office in excess of one office…………………………. $25 
Late Fee - License to Practice/Firms/SE……………………………...per month..$25  
Late Fee - Inactive License Status..………………………………. ….per month $10 
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QUESTIONNAIRE FOR FILING PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS 
WITH THE ARKANSAS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AND JOINT INTERIM COMMITTEE 

 
DEPARTMENT/AGENCY Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy 
DIVISION  
DIVISION DIRECTOR Leveta Ray, CPA 
CONTACT PERSON Leveta Ray, CPA 
ADDRESS 101 East Capitol Ave., Suite 450, Little Rock, Arkansas 
PHONE NUMBER  682 5533 FAX NO. 682 5538 E-MAIL Leveta.ray@mail.state.ar.us
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

A. Please make copies of this form for future use. 
B. Please answer each question completely using layman terms.  You may use additional sheets, if 

necessary. 
C. If you have a method of indexing your rules, please give the proposed citation after “Short Title of this 

Rule” below. 
D. Submit two (2) copies of this questionnaire attached to the front of two (2) copies of your proposed rule 

and mail or deliver to: 
 
  Donna K. Davis 
  Subcommittee on Administrative Rules and Regulations 
  Arkansas Legislative Research 
  Bureau of Legislative Research 
  Room 315, State Capitol 
  Little Rock, AR 72201 
****************************************************************************************** 
1. What is the short title of this rule? 
 
 RULE 12 -FEES of the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy Rules 
  
2. What is the subject of the proposed rule? 
 

The Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) rules amended pertaining to licensees practicing 
public accounting which it deems consistent with or required by the public welfare. 

 
3. Is this rule required to comply with federal statute or regulations? Yes      No   
 
 If yes, please provide the federal regulation and/or statute citation. 
 
       
 
4. Was this rule filed under the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act? Yes   No   
  
 If yes, what is the effective date of the emergency rule?        
 
 When does the emergency rule expire?       
 
 Will this emergency rule be promulgated under the regular provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act? 

Yes   No   



 
5. Is this a new rule?  Yes   No    If yes, please provide a brief summary explaining the regulation. 
 
       
 

Does this repeal an existing rule?  Yes   No     If yes, a copy of the repealed rule is to be included with 
your completed questionnaire.  If it is being replaced with a new rule, please provide a summary of the rule 
giving an explanation of what the rule does. 

 
Is this an amendment to an existing rule?  Yes   No     If yes, please attach a markup showing the 
changes in the existing rule and a summary of the substantive changes.  Note:  The summary should 
explain what the amendment does, and the mark-up should be clearly labeled “mark-up”. 

 
6. Cite the state law that grants the authority for this proposed rule.  If codified, please give Arkansas Code 

citation. 
 

A.C.A. §17-12-203 (c) 
 
7. What is the purpose of this proposed rule?  Why is it necessary? 
 

The purpose of this rule is three-fold.  First the change to Rule 12 for Licensees will bring in additional 
revenues necessary to administer the Public Accountancy Law of 1975 as amended given the increasing cost 
of personnel compensation, a larger office suite, enhancement of database for managing Board registrants, 
publication of a biennial register required by A.C.A. 17-12-203.  Second, the change to Rule 12 upon 
implementation of the computerized-based CPA exam scheduled to launch in 2004 will increase the overall 
fee paid by an applicant to take the exam since it includes the fees that will be required by the American 
Institute of CPAs (AICPA), the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) and the 
delivery service testing provider. Third, there are nomenclature changes. 

 
8. Will a public hearing be held on this proposed rule? Yes  No  
 If yes, please complete the following: 

Date:  October 17, 2003 
Time:  9:00 A. M. 
Place:  101 E. Capitol, Suite 450  Little Rock, AR 

 
9. When does the public comment period expire for permanent promulgation?  (Must provide a date.) 
 
 October 17, 2003 
 
10. What is the proposed effective date of this proposed rule?  (Must provide a date.) 
 

October 27, 2003 
 
11. Do you expect this rule to be controversial? Yes     No    If yes, please explain. 
 

      
 
12. Please give the names of persons, groups, or organizations that you expect to comment on these rules. 
 Please provide their position (for or against) if known. 
 



Names Category For Against

Registrants of the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy         
Professional Associations of Accountants in Arkansas         
Applicants for the CPA examination         
              
              
              
              
              
              
              



FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT 
REVISED STATEMENT 

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY 
 

DEPARTMENT: Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy 
DIVISION:          
PERSON COMPLETING THIS STATEMENT: Leveta Ray, CPA 

101 E. Capitol Suite 450 Little Rock, AR 
TELEPHONE NO.: 501-682-5533 FAX NO.: 501-682-5538 EMAIL: leveta.ray@mail.state.ar.us 
 

FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT 
 
To comply with Act 1104 of 1995, please complete the following Financial Impact Statement and file two copies 
with the questionnaire and proposed rules. 
 
SHORT TITLE OF THIS RULE: 
 
RULE 12- FEES of the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy Rules 
 
1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule or regulation have a financial impact? 
 
 Yes  No  
 
2. If you believe that the development of a financial impact statement is so speculative as to be cost prohibitive, 

please explain. 
The CPA examination fees are changing due to the change from a paper & pencil based exam to a 
computerized exam.  With this implementation scheduled in 2004, there are many unknowns.  For example, 
an applicant will be allowed to sit for the exam four times a year instead of just two times; the applicant can 
take only one part now versus the current requirement to take all four parts of the exam if he/she had not 
conditioned (Passed two parts of the exam); the cost to the applicant will be higher due to the increased fees 
associated with a computer-based examination and passed through to the Board.  I am attaching a schedule to 
show what an applicant will have to pay to sit for the computer-based exam for four parts. I am completing 
the rest of this form for the Fees related to the increase in the Registrant fees. 
  

 
3. If the purpose of this rule or regulation is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please give the 

incremental cost for implementing the regulation.  Please indicate if the cost provided is the cost of the 
program.    

  
Current Fiscal Year  Next Fiscal Year 

     
General Revenue       General Revenue      
Federal Funds       Federal Funds      
Cash Funds  Cash Funds 
Special Revenue       Special Revenue      
Other (Identify)       Other (Identify)      
Total       Total      

REVISED STATEMENT 
4. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any party subject to the proposed, amended, or repealed rule 

or regulation?  Identify the party subject to the proposed regulation, and explain how they are affected. 



   
Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year 
$30.00 License to Practice, Entity, Substantial Equiv. $30.00 License to Practice, Entity, Substantial Equiv. 
$25.00  per month late fee for above Licensees $25.00  per month late fee for above Licensees 
$15.00  Inactive License Status $15.00  Inactive License Status 
$10.00 per month late fee-Inactive License 
Status 

$10.00 per month late fee-Inactive License Status 

 
      

     
5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to the agency to implement this regulation? 
 

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year 
$0 $0 
$      $      

 
    


	CPA/PA License $50
	Partnership, Corporations and Limited Liability Company.....


