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RULE B-42  - SEISMIC RULES AND REGULATIONS 
 

 Any person or entity desiring to perform field seismic operations within the State 
of Arkansas shall make application on AOGC Form 19, to the Oil and Gas 
Commission for a permit to do so.  Each application as filed shall be 
accompanied by a registration fee of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars and No/100 
($250.00) or such sum as the Commission may prescribe therefore not exceeding 
the sum of Five Hundred Dollars and No/100 ($500.00) together with a bond 
wherein said applicant is principal and a corporate surety approved by the 
Commission authorized to do business in the State of Arkansas for the use and 
benefit of the Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission in the penal sum of Fifty 
Thousand Dollars and No/100 ($50,000.00) (or such larger amount as may be 
prescribed by the Commission not to exceed Two Hundred Fifty Thousand 
Dollars and No/100 ($250,000.00)) on AOGC Form 19B, conditioned that said 
principal shall comply with Acts 1991, No. 5, (Ark. Code Ann. (1987) § 15-71-114) 
as by law required and the orders, rules, and regulations of said Commission as 
promulgated thereunder.  Any such application, required registration fee and 
bond amount shall be submitted and approved by the Director prior to 
commencing field seismic operations. As used herein, “field seismic operations” 
is defined as any geophysical method utilizing certain instruments operating 
under the laws of physics respecting gravity, vibration or sound, magnetism and 
electricity or instruments used to measure geochemical variations to determine 
conditions below the surface of the earth which may contain oil or gas and is 
inclusive of but not limited to the preliminary line survey, the acquisition of 
necessary permits, the selection and marking of shot-hole locations, necessary 
clearing of vegetation, shot-hole drilling, implantation of charge, detonation 
and backfill of shot-hole as required under General Rule B-10. 

 
 The person or entity proposing to conduct such seismic operations shall file an 

application (AOGC FORM 19) accompanied by the information and drawings 
to be submitted therewith together with such additional information, if any, as 
the Commission may require to identify the area within which such operations 
are proposed to be conducted and the course and route thereof.  Any 
substantial variations or departures therefrom shall be promptly reported to the 
Commission by the filing of amended or supplemental drawings reflecting the 
same.  No entry shall be made by any person or entity upon the lands upon 
which such seismic operations are to be conducted without the person or entity 
having first given notice as provided in Ark. Code Ann. (1987) §15-72-203 to the 
surface owner of the lands upon which such operations are to be conducted.    
All vehicles utilized by the prime seismic contractor or its agents shall be clearly 
identified by signs or markings readily legible during daylight hours from a 
distance of fifty feet (50’) while the vehicle is stationary indicating the name of 
such contractor. 



 
 Any person or entity desiring to perform field seismic operations within the State 

of Arkansas may accompany the application as filed for a permit to do so with 
a request, in writing, that said application with all information and drawings 
required to be submitted therewith be kept confidential for a period not to 
exceed twelve (12) months from the date of filing said application with said 
Commission, provided that said application and the information and drawings 
submitted therewith, when pertinent, may be introduced in evidence in any 
public hearing before the Commission or any court, regardless of the request 
that such be kept confidential. 

 
 No shot-hole shall be drilled nor charge detonated within two hundred feet 

(200’) of any residence, water well or other structure without having first secured 
the express written authority of the owner and occupant thereof and the prime 
contractor shall be absolutely liable for the damages resulting therefrom.  
Seismic permits will be required to be obtained from the owner or owners of 
lands lying within the scaled distance schedule as hereinafter set forth based 
upon a charge weight of seventy (70) FT/LB ½: 

 
      MAXIMUM          
   ALLOWABLE 
 DISTANCE TO       CHARGE  
 STRUCTURE (FT) WEIGHTS (LBS) 
             50 (*)   0.5 
  100 (*)    2.0 
  150 (*)    4.5 
  200    8.0 
           250  12.0 
          300  18.0 
         350  25.0 
 
(*)  Requires special permit and authorization and imposes absolute liability on 
prime contractors for damages. 
 
The maximum allowable charge weight (lbs.) is 25.0 unless the permittee 
requests and secures the prior written authorization from the Director of 
Production and Conservation of the Oil and Gas Commission regardless of the 
distance from the shot-hole to the structure. 
 
All bonds required to be filed shall remain in effect so long as the permittee is 
conducting field seismic operations in the State of Arkansas and until such bond 
is released by the Commission upon evidence being provided that all damages 
resulting from such operations have been settled and released. 
 


