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opening or acquisition, then the reporting period shall begin at official certification date
rather than the date of acquisition.

A. When To File

Nursing facilities will report cost on a fiscal year ending June 30. Cost reports
will be due within 75 days after the end of the reporting period. Under 16 Bed
ICF/MR providers will report cost on a calendar year basis. The cost report will
be due within 90 days of the end of the reporting period. The Arkansas Health
Center Nursing Facility and the 16 Bed and over ICF/MR providers will report
cost semi-annually (January 1 - June 30) and (July 1 - December 31) with the cost
reports being due the second Tuesday of February and August. Should the due
date fall on a Saturday, Sunday, or State of Arkansas holiday or federal holiday,
the due date shall be the following business day. Reports are to be delivered to
the Office of Long Term Care or postmarked on or before the applicable due date.

Providers who fail to submit cost reports and other required schedules and
information by the due date or extended due date have committed a Class D
Violation of Arkansas Code 20-10-205. Civil penalties associated with failure to
timely submit a cost report for Long Term Care Facilities are detailed in Section
1-11 of this Manual.

B. Extensions for Filing

If a written request for an extension is received by the Office of Long Term Care
ten or more working days in advance of the report due date and a written
extension is granted, a penalty will not be applied, provided the extended due date
is met. Each request for extension will be considered on its merit. No extension
will be granted unless the facility provides written evidence of extenuating
circumstances beyond its control, which causes a late report. In no instance will
an extension be granted for more than 30 days.

C. What to Submit

In addition to the applicable cost report forms, providers must submit the

following:
1. Most recently completed Medicare Cost Report,
2. Working trial balance and related working papers identifying the cost

report line each account is included on,
3. Detailed depreciation schedule,

4. Any work papers used to compute adjustments made on the cost report,
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C. SNF & ICF - Special Class — Arkansas Health Center Nursing Facility

1.

Revised 12/31/01

Reimbursement Methodology and Rates Effective July 1, 1983 and
Subsequent Years

The Arkansas Health Center Nursing Facility will be reimbursed on an
actual cost reimbursement system with provisions for retrospective
adjustments to ensure reimbursement of actual allowable and reasonable
costs. Per diem rates established by resident level of care shall be changed
as a result of adjustments to the semi-annual cost reports resulting from
provider corrections, desk reviews, or audits, and will be retrospectively
adjusted to the first day of the applicable cost report period.

Overpayments/Underpayments
Overpayments/underpayments resulting from Section 1-12 administrative

errors shall be handled through the vendor payment by recouping
overpayments and reimbursing underpayments.

2-8



H. Cost of specialized rehabilitative services including physical, speech,
occupational and mental health, in facilities provided by licensed therapist when
such treatment is ordered by a physician. However, these costs will not include
the direct cost of services reimbursed by Medicare Part A, Medicare Part B, or
other third party payer.”

L. Utilities. This includes electricity, natural gas, fuel oil, water, wastewater,
garbage collection and telephone. The costs of staff personal calls and
individualized resident telephone services including long distance are not
allowable.

J. Property and Equipment Expenses. Note: Effective January 12, 2001 the
reimbursement methodology for nursing facilities changed to a cost based facility
specific rate which included a fair market rental component to reimburse for
property and equipment cost in lieu of actual cost and/or lease payments.
Allowability (or unallowability) of costs as described below will not affect
nursing facility reimbursement rates. Nevertheless, nursing facilities must
continue to report costs in the manner described below in order to continue to
maintain historic cost records. Actual reimbursement to providers will be made in
accordance with the rules established in Section 2-4 A. of this Manual of Cost
Reimbursement Rules.

1. Amortization Expense — Costs associated with the origination of a loan
allowable under this section will be allowable if amortized over the life of
the loan. Costs associated with early retirement of a loan allowable under
this section may be allowable. If the amount of the interest plus any
unamortized origination fees or prepayment penalties do not exceed the
maximum amount of allowable capital interest that would have been
allowed had the debt not been paid off, then all of the interest and
unamortized costs and other prepayment penalties can be claimed as part
of the interest expense for the year. If the unamortized fees and
prepayment penalties plus interest exceed the amount that would have
been allowed then any excess can be carried forward and claimed for a
period of up to five years so long as total interest expense and
unamortized fees and prepayment penalties do not exceed the interest
amount that would have been allowable under the previous financing
arrangement.

2. Depreciation Expense - Depreciation on the facility's buildings, furniture,
equipment, leasehold improvements and land improvements.

Depreciation on capital assets, including assets for normal standby or
emergency use in which the facility is the record title holder and which
assets are used to provide covered services to Medical Assistance
Recipients, will be allowable subject to the following conditions:

Revised 12/31/01 3-11



Revised 12/31/01

b)

Generally accepted accounting principles incorporating the
straight-line method of depreciation must be used. Accelerated
methods of depreciation are not acceptable. Facilities must follow
American Hospital Association Guidelines for Depreciation as the
basis for calculation of straight-line depreciation. It is not required
to deduct salvage value from the cost of the asset for the purpose
of calculating depreciation. Component depreciation for physical
structures is not acceptable.

Depreciation expense for the year of acquisition and the year of
disposal can be computed by using: (1) the half-year method; or
(2) the actual time method.

The method and procedure for computing depreciation must be
applied from year-to-year on a consistent basis.

The assets shall be recorded at cost. Cost during the construction
of an asset, such as architectural, consulting and legal fees,
interest, etc., must be capitalized as a part of the cost of the assets.
When an asset is acquired by trade in, the cost of the new asset is
the sum of the book value of the old asset and any cash or issuance
of debt
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C. Recovery of insured loss.

D. The cost of the following items should be eliminated. In lieu of determining and
eliminating costs, the related income may be used to offset costs.

1. Income from laundry and linen service.

2. Income from employee and guest meals.

3. Income from the sale of drugs to other than residents.

4. Income from the sale of medical and surgical supplies to other than
residents.

5. Income from the sale of medical records and abstracts.

6. Income from space rented to employees and others.

7. Payment received from specialists.

8. Payments received from recipients for items not medically necessary to

the recipient; i.e., tobacco, soft drinks, personal items, etc.
E. Rebates and refunds of expenses.
F. Trade, quantity, time, and other discounts on purchases.

3-5 Special Items to Meet Needs of Residents of ICF’s/MR and the Arkansas Health Center
Nursing Facility

A. In addition to those items listed in Section 3-2, the following items will be
allowable costs for ICF’s/MR and the Arkansas Health Center Nursing Facility:

Central medical supplies

Dental Services

Drugs and pharmacy

Medical services, general physician

Therapy: physical, occupational, psychiatric, psychological, and speech
All training and habilitation services whether provided in-house or
through contractual arrangements (i.e. vocational training, sheltered
workshop, or day activity center).

A
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7. Actual costs of use of vehicles will be allowable to the extent that such
costs meet the criteria set forth in Section 3-2.K.

B. In addition to the items listed above, the following items are allowable costs for
the Arkansas Health Center Nursing Facility:

1. Actual costs of ambulance (escort services)
2. EEG and EKG services

3. Externs (residents serving internships)

4. Radiology

Direct Provider Payment Not Includable in Allowable Expenses

The direct costs of prescription drugs, physician, dental, dentures, podiatry, eye glasses,
appliances, x-rays, laboratory, and any other materials or services for which benefits are
offered by direct provider payment plans under Medical Assistance or Medicare Part B,
CHAMPUS, Blue Cross-Blue Shield, various other insurers or third-party resources are
not allowed.

Charges to Recipients, Relatives, or Recipient Representatives and Solicitations of
Contributions from Medicaid Recipients

Facilities must not charge recipients, relatives, or recipient representatives for any item
included in this manual as an allowable cost item. No provider participating in this
program can solicit contributions, donations, or gifts directly from Medicaid recipients or
family members. See 42 U.S.C. 1302a-7b (D), 42 U.S.C. 1396 (a) (g), 42 U.S.C. 447.15,
42 U.S.C. Part 1001, and 42 U.S.C. 1003.102 (b).

Revised 12/31/01 3-20



	A.When To File
	B.Extensions for Filing
	C.What to Submit
	1.Most recently completed Medicare Cost Report,
	2.Working trial balance and related working papers identifying the cost report line each account is included on,
	3.Detailed depreciation schedule,
	4.Any work papers used to compute adjustments made on the cost report,
	C.SNF & ICF - Special Class – Arkansas Health Cen
	1.Reimbursement Methodology and Rates Effective July 1, 1983 and Subsequent Years��The Arkansas Health Center Nursing Facility will be reimbursed on an actual cost reimbursement system with provisions for retrospective adjustments to ensure reimbursement
	2.Overpayments/Underpayments��Overpayments/underpayments resulting from Section 1-12 administrative errors shall be handled through the vendor payment by recouping overpayments and reimbursing underpayments.
	H.Cost of specialized rehabilitative services including physical, speech, occupational and mental health, in facilities provided by licensed therapist when such treatment is ordered by a physician.  However, these costs will not include the direct cost o
	Recovery of insured loss.
	Externs (residents serving internships)

