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OFFICIAL NOTICE 

DMS-2002-U-1 
 
 
 
TO: Health Care Provider – Visual Care 
 
DATE:  
 
SUBJECT: Revisions in Visual Care for Medicaid Recipients  
 
 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 2002, the following changes in 

the Visual Care Program will apply to Medicaid-eligible recipients who are 21 
years of age or older: 

 
1. The Arkansas Medicaid Program will cover one visual examination every 24 

months from the last date of service. 
 

2. The Arkansas Medicaid Program will cover one pair of eyeglasses every 24 
months from the last date of service. 

 
3. The Arkansas Medicaid Program will cover one prescription services fee 

(procedure code Z0100) every 24 months from the last date of service. 
 

4. Medicaid-eligible recipients who are 21 years of age or older will pay a 
$10.00 copayment to the visual care provider for prescription services 
(procedure code Z0100). 

 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 2002, the following change will 

apply to Medicaid recipients of all ages: 
 

The maximum allowable reimbursement rate will decrease for the following 
procedure codes to the amounts listed below: 

 
Procedure 
Code 

 

 
 

Description 

 
Medicaid Maximum 

Allowable  Reimbursement 

V0100  Vision Analysis and Diagnosis  $40.00 
Z0100  Prescription Services $35.00 

 
 

The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act.” 
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If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our 
Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-1461 (voice) or at (501) 682-
6789 and 1-877-708-8191 (TDD). 
 
If you have questions regarding this notice, please contact the EDS Provider Assistance 
Center at In-State WATS 1-800-457-4454, or locally and Out-of-State at (501)-376-2211. 
 
 
 
Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program. 
 
 
 
 
 Ray Hanley, Director 
 
 
 
 

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals, official notices and remittance advice (RA) 
messages are available for downloading from the Arkansas Medicaid website: 
www.medicaid.state.ar.us. 

 
 
 

 

http://www.medicaid.state.ar.us/
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AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF 
SERVICES PROVIDED            Revised: March 1, 2002 

CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4.b. Early and Periodic Screening and Diagnosis of Individuals Under 21 Years of Age, and Treatment of 

Conditions Found.  (Continued) 
 
 (14) RESERVED 
   
 (15) Physical Therapy and Related Services 
 
  a. Physical Therapy  
 
   (1) Services are limited to eligible Medicaid recipients in the 

Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.  
 
   (2) Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 

1999, evaluations are limited to four (4) units per State Fiscal Year (July 1 
through June 30). One unit equals 30 minutes.  Extensions of the benefit limit 
will be provided if medically necessary. 

 
   (3) Services must be prescribed by a physician and provided 

by or under the supervision of a qualified physical therapist. 
 
   (4) Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 

1999, individual and group therapy are limited to four (4) units per day.  One unit 
equals 15 minutes.  Extensions of the benefit limit will be provided if medically 
necessary.      
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     CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed 

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. 
 
 a. Podiatrists’ Services 
 
  Services are limited to two (2) visits per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30).  The 

benefit limit for State Fiscal Year 1992 will be calculated beginning with services provided on or 

after December 1, 1991.  Recipients in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program are not 

benefit limited. 

 
 b. Optometrists’ Services 
 
  Examination of eyes and provision of glasses and/or contact lens and other diagnostic 

screening, preventive and rehabilitative services and treatment of conditions found for eligible 

persons.  The following limits are imposed: 

 
  (1) One eye exam every twenty-four (24) months for eligible recipients 21 

years of age and older. 
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12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in 

diseases of the eye or by an optometrist (Continued) 
 
 d. Eyeglasses 
 
  Provision of glasses and/or contact lens for eligible recipients.  The following limits 

are imposed. 
 
  (1) One pair of glasses every twenty-four (24) months for eligible 

recipients 21 years of age and over.  Replacement of glasses, repairs to glasses or 
professional service for repairing glasses is covered for post cataract patients with 
prior authorization. 

 
  (2) One pair of glasses every twelve (12) months for eligible recipients 

under 21 years of age in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.  Under 
special circumstances, additional glasses may be authorized.  Repairs include any 
repair necessary to render the eyeglasses serviceable. 

 
  (3) Contact lens are covered if either of the following conditions are 

exhibited by the patient: 
 
    a. Medical Necessity 
    b. Cataract patients 
 
   Prior authorization is required by the Medical Assistance Section.  

Lens replacement for all recipients is allowed as medically necessary. 
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MEDICALLY NEEDY 
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4.b. Early and Periodic Screening and Diagnosis of Individuals Under 21 Years of Age, and Treatment of 

Conditions Found.  (Continued) 
 
 (14) RESERVED 
   
 (15) Physical Therapy and Related Services 
 
  a. Physical Therapy  
 
   (1) Services are limited to eligible Medicaid recipients in the 

Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.  
 
   (2) for dates of service on or after October 1, 1999, 

evaluations are limited to four (4) units per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 
30). One unit equals 30 minutes.  Extensions of the benefit limit will be provided 
if medically necessary. 

 
   (3) Services must be prescribed by a physician and provided 

by or under the supervision of a qualified physical therapist. 
 
   (4) Effective for dates of service on or after October 1, 

1999, individual and group therapy are limited to four (4) units per day.  One unit 
equals 15 minutes.  Effective Extensions of the benefit limit will be provided if 
medically necessary.   
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MEDICALLY NEEDY 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
_ 
6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed 

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law.   
 
 a. Podiatrists’ Services 
 
  Services are limited to two (2) visits per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30).  The 

benefit limit for State Fiscal Year 1992 will be calculated beginning with services provided on or 

after December 1, 1991.  Recipients in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program are not 

benefit limited. 

 
 b. Optometrists’ Services 
 
  Examination of eyes and provision of glasses and/or contact lens and other diagnostic 

screening, preventive and rehabilitative services and treatment of conditions found for eligible 

persons.  The following limits are imposed: 

 
  (1) One eye exam every twenty-four (24) months for eligible 

recipients 21 years of age and older. 
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MEDICALLY NEEDY 
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12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in 

diseases of the eye or by an optometrist (Continued) 
 

d. Eyeglasses 
 
  Provision of glasses and/or contact lens for eligible recipients.  The following limits 

are imposed. 
 
  (1) One pair of glasses every twenty-four (24) months for eligible 

recipients 21 years of age and over.  Replacement of glasses, repairs to glasses or 
professional service for repairing glasses is covered for post cataract patients with 
prior authorization. 

 
  (2) One pair of glasses every twelve (12) months for eligible recipients 

under 21 years of age in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.  Under 
special circumstances, additional glasses may be authorized.  Repairs include any 
repair necessary to render the eyeglasses serviceable. 

 
  (3) Contact lens are covered if either of the following conditions are 

exhibited by the patient: 
 
    a. Medical Necessity 
    b. Cataract patients 
 
   Prior authorization is required by the Medical Assistance Section.  

Lens replacement for all recipients is allowed as medically necessary. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  ARKANSAS 

 
A. The following charges are imposed on the categorically needy for services: 
 
          Type Charge 
Service   Deduct.          Coins.  Copay   Amount and Basis for Determination 
 
Inpatient Hospital                                                    x   10% of the hospital's per diem applied on the first        

Medicaid covered day of each admission.  [The maximum 
coinsurance for each admission does not exceed the limit specified 
in 42 CFR 447.54(c).] 

 
Prescription Services              x   $10.00 on the dispensing fee for prescription 
for Eyeglasses          services. 
 
        

    
 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
TN No.  __________________ 
 
Supersedes TN No. _____________  Approval Date  __________________  Effective Date ______________ 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  ARKANSAS 

 
A. The following charges are imposed on the medically needy for services: 
 
           Type Charge 
Service   Deduct.            Coins.  Copay   Amount and Basis for Determination 
 
Inpatient Hospital                                                          x   10% of the hospital's per diem 

applied on the first       Medicaid covered day of 
each admission.  [The maximum coinsurance for 
each admission does not exceed the limit specified 
in 42 CFR 447.54(c).] 

 
Prescription Services              x   $10.00 on the dispensing fee for prescription 
for Eyeglasses          services. 
 
        

     
 
 
 
 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
TN No.  __________________ 
 
Supersedes TN No. __________________  Approval Date  _______________________  Effective Date ___________________ 
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