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FINAL RULE 
SEED REGULATION CHANGES 

 
 
Changes to the regulations in Circular 10: Regulations on the Sale of Planting Seed in 
Arkansas (Under Authority of Sections 2-16-207 - 2-16-209, A .S.A. 1947), and in Circular 15: 
Official Standards for Seed Certification in Arkansas (Under Act 73, sections 2-18-101 - 2-18-
108 A.S.A. 1947).    
 
 
 
 
CIRCULAR 10 
 
SECTION 2.  LICENSING--REPORTING--LABELING. 
 
I.  Treating Plants Must be Licensed.  All seed treating plants that treat seed in Arkansas must have a 
license from the State Plant Board.  All licenses expire June 30 of each year and must be renewed.  
The annual license fee shall be $250.00. 
 
SECTION 5.  FEES AND SERVICES. 
 
C.  Schedule of Fees: 
 
  1. REGULATORY SAMPLES --  There are no fees charged for regulatory 

samples unless copies of test results are requested, then fees are the 
same as for service samples. 

 
  2. SERVICE SAMPLES 
                               
  COMPLETE PURITY OR GERM ONLY 
ALFALFA  $16.00  $12.00 
BAHIAGRASS  $16.00  $12.00 
BARLEY $16.00  $ 8.00 
BEAN (garden & field) $16.00  $ 8.00 
BERMUDAGRASS  $16.00  $12.00 
BLUEGRASS  $16.00  $12.00 
BLUESTEM  $50.00  $40.00 
CLOVER  $16.00  $12.00 
CORN $16.00  $ 8.00 
COTTON $16.00  $ 8.00 



 

 
Page 2 of  5

DALLISGRASS  $16.00  $12.00 
FESCUE  $16.00  $12.00 
JOHNSONGRASS  $16.00  $12.00 
LESPEDEZA  $16.00  $12.00 
LOVEGRASS  $16.00  $12.00 
MILLET  $16.00  $12.00 
MUSTARD  $16.00  $12.00 
OATS $16.00  $ 8.00 
OKRA $16.00  $ 8.00 
PEAS (garden & field) $16.00  $ 8.00 
PEANUTS $16.00  $ 8.00 
RICE $16.00  $ 8.00 
RYE $16.00  $ 8.00 
RYEGRASS  $16.00  $12.00 
SORGHUM $16.00  $ 8.00 
SOYBEANS $16.00  $ 8.00 
TURNIP/RAPE  $16.00  $12.00 
VETCH $16.00  $ 8.00 
WHEAT $16.00  $ 8.00 
VEGETABLES  $16.00  $12.00 
 

THE TESTING FEE FOR CROPS NOT LISTED WILL BE THE SAME AS A LISTED 
CROP WITH SIMILAR COMPLEXITY.  CALL THE PLANT BOARD FOR EXACT FEE 
INFORMATION. 

 
 
VIGOR TEST $12.00 - Seed vigor comprises those properties which determine the potential for 
rapid uniform emergence and development of normal seedlings under a wide range of field conditions. 
 

Accelerated Aging (soybeans, wheat):  Places seed under stress conditions of high 
temperature and humidity to estimate longevity of seed in warehouse storage and 
predict stand establishment. 

 
Cool Test (cotton):  Places seed under stress conditions of cool temperatures, 
simulating early planting conditions. 

 
Complete Seedling Count (garden beans):  Normal seedlings are classified as strong 
or weak based on presence of seedling structures. 

 
 
 
 4.  License Fee - Tonnage Fee - Cost of Permit Labels: 
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a) The annual fee for a Seed Labeler's license shall be $250.00.  
The annual fee for registration of a subsidiary location (distributing agricultural 
field-crop seed within or into Arkansas) shall be $250.00. 

 
b) Persons using the Reporting System shall pay 10 cents each hundred pounds of 

seed (Tonnage Fee). 
 

c) The cost of permit labels issued with only the seedsman's name, address, and 
permit number shall be 10 cents each. 

 
d) The cost of permit labels completely printed for certified seed failing to meet the 

standards shall be 10 cents each. 
 

e) The cost of permit labels completely printed on all other seed shall be 10 cents 
each. 

 
f) The annual fee for a certification permit for all applicants to certify seed shall be 

$100.00 on acreage of 100 acres or less.  Those applicants having a current and 
valid Seed Labeler's license shall be exempt from this requirement,.  Certification 
applicants with acreage greater than 100 acres are required to have a valid Seed 
Labeler’s license.  Each seedsman and/or retail facility participating in the Bulk 
Certified Seed Program must have in force a current Arkansas Bulk Certification 
Permit for each location where bulk certified seed will be sold.  Records of 
production and sale of seed grown for certification may be inspected by the Plant 
Board or its representative during normal business hours.  Any planting seed 
sold as non-certified shall comply fully with Subsection B of Section 2 of the 
Regulations. 

 
 
Circular 15 
GENERAL SEED CERTIFICATION STANDARDS 
 
G.  Application: The State Plant Board will furnish application blanks for certifying seed.  The 
dates for filing applications on the various crops are as follows: 
 
  Small Grains (oats, wheat, rye, barley)............................................April 1 
  Red, white and crimson clover and watermelons.............................April 20 
  Fescue, vetch and okra....................................................................May 15 
  Corn.................................................................................................June 1 
  Rice, cotton, lespedeza and cowpeas.............................................July 1 
  Soybeans........................................................................................August 15 
  Sorghum.........................................................................................September 1 
 
 Applications should be made on or before the above dates. Late applications may be 
accepted provided they can be processed and the inspection made without jeopardizing the 
handling of those applications filed prior to the deadline date.  The fee for late applications will 
be an additional $50.00 for each variety applied on.  The applicant must have in force a valid 
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Seed Dealer’s License or Certification Permit (Refer to Circular 10: Regulations on the Sale of 
Planting Seed in Arkansas, Section 5. Fees. 
 
H.  Fees: The application fee and the acreage inspection fee shall be paid at the time the 
application is filed for all crops except cotton.  The acreage inspection fee on cotton shall be 
paid prior to the time the field inspection is made. 
 

1.  The application fee for all crops for each variety shall be $20.00 and the acreage 
inspection fee shall be $1.50 per acre for all crops, except rice, which shall be $2.25 per 
acre. 

 
2. (a) Tags/Labels: 

Printed pressure-sensitive labels.................................................... 10 cents each 
  Printed pressure-sensitive labels for  
  approved reusable bulk containers................................................. 8 cents/50 lbs 
   

Unprinted tags and labels may be purchased at one-half the price of printed 
tags/labels when ordered in quantities of 5,000 or more.  No refunds will be made 
for unused tags/labels. 

 
(b) Blue Tag Bags/Approved Reusable Containers: 

 Those applicants equipped and approved to label Blue Tag Grade 
seed on the containers shall report the amount in each lot so labeled. 
  Blue Tag Bags......................................................................... 
8 cents/bag 
   
Approved reusable containers: 

    Q-Bit Container......................................................... 8 cents/50 lbs. 
    Superbags................................................................ 8 cents/bushel  
 

(c) Bulk Certificates: 
Those applicants selling crops eligible for bulk certification shall report the 
amount of each lot sold on bulk certificates and pay 8cents/bushel 

 
Bulk Certificate forms (used for all sales including a movement of the 
seed)....$0.25 each. 

 
 
P. Certification of Seed in Bulk: 

 
2. Application for Bulk Certification: 

b. Each seedsman and/or retail seed facility must have in force a current 
Arkansas Bulk Certification Permit for each location where bulk seed will 



 

 
Page 5 of  5

be sold.  Each facility will be subject to inspection by the Plant Board to 
assure acceptable procedures are being used in handling, storing, 
dispensing and record keeping for maintaining identity of bulk certified 
seed.  The Bulk Certification Permit fee is $10 for each Retail location. 

 
 4. Records/Bulk Certificate Fees: 

a. The serially numbered bulk certified seed certificate takes the place of the 
certified seed tag. The buyer must receive a certificate for each load of bulk 
certified seed. The required labeling information of the seed sold will be pre-
printed on the certificates or written in ink on the bulk certificate at the time of the 
sale.  A copy of the certificate and any voided certificate must be returned to the 
seed certification office at the end of the season. 

 
Bulk Certificates (used for all sales including a movement of the seed) from a 
Certified Dealer/Producer to a Bulk Retail Facility or farmer will cost $0.25 each. 

 
Copies of bulk certificates and a fee of $0.08 per bushel for the total amount sold 
as bulk certified shall be returned to the certification office at the end of each crop 
season (Jan. 15th for wheat). 

 
 
 
 
 
 


