Arkansas Department of Human Services

Division of Medical Services
Donaghey Plaza South

P.O. Box 1437

Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437

Internet Website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us
Telephone (501) 682-8292  TDD (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191 FAX (501) 682-1197

TO: Health Care Provider - Hospital/ESRD
DATE: November 1, 2001

SUBJECT: Update Transmittal No. 58

REMOVE INSERT
Page Date Page Date
II-17 and II-18 1-1-96 II-17 and II-18 11-1-01
II-59 6-1-92 II-59 11-1-01
II-60 1-1-95 II-60 11-1-01

Explanation of Updates

Page II-17, subsection 212.41:

In Item 12, the figure, “30%”, has been deleted, and a syntax change and a spelling
correction were made.

Redundant and obsolete information has been deleted from Item 17.
Grammatical corrections were made to Item 17.

Page II-18, subsection 212.41: Obsolete information has been deleted. The previously
unnumbered paragraphs at the bottom of this page have been assigned numbers.

Item 21 is a result of these numbering assignments. It does not represent new
information.

Changes in Item 18 are spelling and grammatical corrections only.

A spelling correction has been made in Item 19.

The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act



Hospital/ESRD
Update Transmittal Number 58
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Explanation of Updates (Continued)

Page II-18, subsection 212.41 (Continued):

Item 20 describes the inpatient benefit limit. Effective for dates of service on and after
November 1, 2001, this benefit limit, which applies only to Medicaid recipients aged 21
and older, is being increased from 20 days per State fiscal year to 24 days per State
fiscal year.

Pages II-59 and II-60, Section 218.8: The references to the “20 day” inpatient benefit limit have
been changed to refer to “the annual” benefit limit. Obsolete material has been deleted.

A change bar in the left margin denotes a revision.

Attached are updated pages to file in your provider manual.

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our
Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-1461 (voice) or (501) 682-6789 and
1-877-708-8191 (TDD).

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the Arkansas Medicaid
Program at (501) 682-8502, In-State WATS 1-800-482-1141 or Out-of-State WATS
1-800-482-5850, ext. 28502, or the EDS Provider Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454
(Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

Ray Hanley, Director
Division of Medical Services
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Effective Date: 10-1-85

Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE

Revised Date: 11-1-01

212.41

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

Medicaid Utilization Management Program (Continued)

If the fifth day of an admission falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday, it is
recommended that the hospital provider call for an extension prior to the fifth day if the
physician has recommended a continued stay.

Excluded from this review program are inpatient stays for transplant procedures
including heart, liver, bone marrow, lung, skin, pancreas and kidney.

The retrospective or post payment random sample review will be continued for all
admissions, including inpatient stays of four days or less, to ensure that medical
necessity for the services is substantiated.

Admissions of retroactive eligible recipients: If eligibility is identified while the patient is
still an inpatient, the hospital may call for retrospective review of those days already
used past the original four for a determination of post authorization and concurrent
evaluation of future extended days.

If the retroeligible is not identified until after discharge, the hospital may call AFMC for
post-extension approval, if the stay exceeds four (4) days. If the length of stay is more
than 30 days, the provider may submit the entire medical record to AFMC for review of
the stay rather than call.

Out-of-state claims are subject to the determination for medical necessity for out-of-
state treatment. In addition, the claim and records will be reviewed retrospectively for
lengths of stay beyond the four days allowed. “Out-of-state” refers to non-bordering
states.

Claims submitted without calling for an extension request will result in automatic
denials of any days billed beyond the fourth day. There will be no exceptions granted
except for claims reflecting third party liability.

If a patient is transferred from one facility to another, the receiving facility must contact
AFMC within 24 hours of admitting the patient to qualify the inpatient stay. If
admission falls on a weekend or holiday, the provider may contact AFMC on the first
working day following the weekend or holiday.

The certification process for extensions of inpatient days described in this section is a
separate requirement from the prior authorization (PA) process. If a procedure requires
prior authorization, the provider must request and receive prior authorization for the
procedure code in order to be reimbursed.

An inpatient extension authorization (MUMP) and a prior authorization approval for a
procedure are assigned to the same file in the system. Therefore, if a provider requests
an extension authorization (MUMP) and requires a procedure prior authorization as
well, one number will be assigned for both services.
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Effective Date: 10-1-85

Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE
Revised Date: 11-1-01
212.41 Medicaid Utilization Management Program (Continued)
18. If a provider fails to contact AFMC for an extension of inpatient days due to the patient’s

19.

20.

21.

having private insurance or Medicare Part A and later receives a denial due to non-
covered service, lost eligibility, benefits exhausted etc., post certification of days past
the original four days may be obtained by the following procedures:

*

Send a copy of the denial notice received from the third party payer to AFMC,
P.O. Box 2424, Fort Smith, AR 72902-2424, Attention: Pre-Certification
Supervisor. Include a note requesting post certification and the full name of the
requester and a phone number where the requester may be reached. Upon
receipt of the denial copy and the provider request, an AFMC coordinator will
call the provider and obtain certification information.

If a third party insurer pays for an approved number of days, Medicaid will not grant an
extension for days beyond the number of days approved by the private insurer.

In addition to the Medicaid Utilization Management Program, there is an annual
inpatient benefit limit for recipients aged 21 and older based on the State fiscal year
(SFY), July 1 through June 30.

a.

b.

C.

d.

For dates of service before November 1, 2001, the inpatient benefit limit for
recipients aged 21 and older is 20 days per SFY.

For dates of service on and after November 1, 2001, for recipients aged 21 and
older, the inpatient hospital benefit limit is increased to 24 days. Implementation of
this increase is as follows:

Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for 20 medically necessary inpatient
hospital days for dates of service from July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002.
Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for 4 additional medically necessary
inpatient hospital days for dates of service from November 1, 2001 through June
30, 2002.

For dates of service on and after July 1, 2002, the inpatient benefit limit for
recipients aged 21 and older is 24 medically necessary days per SFY.

The Arkansas Medicaid Program does not authorize extensions of the inpatient
hospital benefit.

The inpatient hospital benefit limit does not apply to recipients under age 21 in the
Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.

PRO certification of medical necessity is required of all covered days.
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Effective Date: 10-1-85

Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE

Revised Date: 11-1-01

218.8 Transplants (Continued)

Coverage for heart, liver and non-experimental bone marrow transplants is in accordance with
the following guidelines.

Heart Transplants

Heart transplants require prior authorization. Benefits are provided for the following services
related to heart transplantation:

* Procurement (harvesting) of the organ from a cadaver donor. Cost will be
included in the hospital charges.

* Hospitalization and physician services for transplanting the heart into the
receiver.

* Post-operative care until discharged from the hospital.

Liver Transplants

Liver transplants require prior authorization. Benefits are provided for the following services
related to liver transplantation:

* Hospitalization and physician services for the removal of the organ from a living
donor.

* Procurement (harvesting) of the organ from a cadaver donor. Cost will be
included in the hospital charges.

* Hospitalization and physician services for transplanting the liver into the
receiver.

* Post-operative care until discharged from the hospital.

Heart and liver transplants are exempt from the Medicaid Utilization Management Program
(MUMP) and the annual benefit limit for inpatient hospital services. Services excluded from the
MUMP and the inpatient benefit limit are those services provided from the date of the
transplant procedure to the date of discharge.

Bone Marrow Transplants

Bone marrow transplants which the board certified specialist at the Peer Review Organization
determines appropriate are covered with prior authorization. Benefits are provided for the
following services related to bone marrow transplantation:

Hospitalization and physician services for the removal of the bone marrow.
Hospitalization and physician services for transplanting the bone marrow into
the receiver.

* Post-operative care for the donor and recipient until discharged from the
hospital.
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Effective Date: 10-1-85

Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE

Revised Date: 11-1-01

218.8 Transplants (Continued)

Non-experimental bone marrow transplants are exempt from the Medicaid Utilization
Management Program (MUMP) and the annual benefit limit for inpatient hospital services.
Services excluded from the MUMP and the inpatient benefit limit are those services provided
from the date of admission for the transplant procedure to the date of discharge.

Lung Transplants

Medically necessary lung transplants are available to eligible Medicaid recipients of all ages.
Lung transplants require prior authorization. Benefits are provided for the following services
related to lung transplantation:

* Procurement (harvesting) of the organ from a cadaver donor. Cost will be
included in the hospital charges.

* Hospitalization and physician services for transplanting the lung into the
receiver.

* Post-operative care until discharged from the hospital.

The following list of medical diagnoses or diseases are those in which it is believed patients
could benefit significantly from a lung transplant when it has been determined the disease has
reached an end stage cycle or level:

* Pulmonary Vascular Disease

Primary Pulmonary Hypertension
Eisenmenger’s Syndrome (ASD, VSD, PVA, Truncus, Other Complex

Anomalies)
* Pulmonary Hypertension secondary to Thromboembolic Disease
* Obstructive Lung Disease

Emphysema (idiopathic)

Emphysema (alpha antitrypsin deficiency)
Bronchopulmonary dysplasia

Post Transplant Obliterative Bronchiolitis

Bronchiolitis Obliterans Organizing Pneumonia (BOOP)

* % ¥ ¥ x
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DATE:
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Arkansas Department of Human Services

Division of Medical Services

Donaghey Plaza South

P.O. Box 1437

Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437

Internet Website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us

Telephone (501) 682-8292  TDD (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191 FAX (501) 682-1197

Health Care Provider - Physician/Independent Laboratory/CRNA/Radiation
Therapy Center

November 1, 2001

Update Transmittal No. 77

REMOVE INSERT
Date Page Date
4-1-01 I1I-30 11-1-01

Explanation of Updates

Page II-30, Section 224.100: Subpart A has been amended to describe revisions in the inpatient
hospital benefit limit for recipients aged 21 and over. Effective for dates of service on and after
November 1, 2001, the inpatient hospital benefit limit for recipients aged 21 and older is being
increased from 20 days per State fiscal year (SFY) to 24 days per SFY.

A change bar in the left margin denotes a revision.

Attached are updated pages to file in your provider manual.

The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act
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If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our
Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-1461 (voice) or (501) 682-6789 and
1-877-708-8191 (TDD).

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the Arkansas Medicaid
Program at (501) 682-8502, In-State WATS 1-800-482-1141 or Out-of-State WATS
1-800-482-5850, ext. 28502, or the EDS Provider Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454
(Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

Ray Hanley, Director
Division of Medical Services
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LAB/CRNA/RADIATION
THERAPY CENTER Effective Date: 7-1-84
Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE
Revised Date: 4-1-01

222 Fetal Non-Stress Test and Ultrasound Benefit Limits

The Arkansas Medicaid Program covers the Fetal Non-Stress Test and the Ultrasound when
performed in conjunction with maternity care.

procedure codes.

A. The Ultrasound is limited to two (2) per pregnancy.

B. Prior to April 1, 2000, the fetal non-stress test had a benefit limit of five (5) per
pregnancy. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2000, a prior authorization

requirement for the fetal non-stress test was implemented.

Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2001, prior authorization is no
longer required for the fetal non-stress test and a benefit limit of two (2) per pregnancy
has been implemented.

If it is necessary to exceed the Medicaid established benefit limits, the physician must request
extension of the benefit with documentation that justifies the need for additional tests and

establishes medical necessity.

223 Injections
A. The Arkansas Medicaid Program applies benefit limits to the following covered
injections.
1. Hylan G-F, (Synvisc), requires prior authorization and is limited to 3

injections per knee per lifetime.

2. Maternal measles/mumps/rubella (MMR) is payable for women age 21
through 44 who may be at risk of exposure to these illnesses. It is
limited to two (2) injections per lifetime.

3. Rho D immune globulin, human, one dose package, is limited to one (1)
per pregnancy.

B. For more information on coverage of injections see Section 223 of this manual.

For procedure codes and special billing instructions please refer to Section

Refer to Section 313.363 of this manual for

313.290 through Section 313.295 of this manual and to the CPT coding book.




Arkansas Medicaid Manual: PHYSICIAN/INDEPENDENT Page: II-30

LAB/CRNA/RADIATION
THERAPY CENTER Effective Date: 7-1-84

Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE

Revised Date: 11-1-01
224.000 Inpatient Hospital Services
224.100 Inpatient Hospital Services Benefit Limit
A. There is an annual benefit limit for general and rehabilitative hospital inpatient services

based on the State fiscal year (SFY), July 1 through June 30, for Medicaid recipients

aged 21 and older.

1. For dates of service before November 1, 2001, the inpatient benefit limit is 20 days
per SFY.

2. For dates of service on and after November 1, 2001, the inpatient benefit limit is
increased to 24 days. Implementation of this increase is as follows:

a. Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for 20 medically necessary inpatient
hospital days for dates of service from July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002.

b. Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for four additional medically necessary
inpatient hospital days for dates of service on and after November 1, 2001
through June 30, 2002.

c. For dates of service on and after July 1, 2002, the inpatient hospital benefit limit
for recipients aged 21 and older is 24 medically necessary days per SFY.

B. There is no benefit limit for general and rehabilitative hospital inpatient services for
clients under age 21 in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.

224.200 Medicaid Utilization Management Program (MUMP)

The Medicaid Utilization Management Program (MUMP) determines covered lengths of stay in
inpatient, general and rehabilitative hospitals, in state and out-of-state. The MUMP does not
apply to lengths of stay in psychiatric facilities.

Length-of-stay determinations are made by the Professional Review Organization (PRO),
Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care, Inc. (AFMC), under contract to the Arkansas Medicaid

Program.

224.210 MUMP Applicability

A. Medicaid covers up to 4 days of inpatient service with no certification
requirement, except in the case of a transfer (see subpart B, below). If a patient
is not discharged before or during the fifth day of hospitalization, additional
days are covered only if certified by AFMC.

B. When a patient is transferred from one hospital to another, the stay must be
certified from the first day.

224.220 MUMP Exemptions

A. Individuals in all Medicaid eligibility categories and all age groups, except clients
under age 1, are subject to this policy. Medicaid recipients under age 1 at the
time of admission are exempt from the MUMP policy for dates of service before
their first birthday.

B. MUMP policy does not apply to inpatient stays for bone marrow, liver, heart,
lung, skin and pancreas/kidney transplant procedures.



Arkansas Department of Human Services

Division of Medical Services
Donaghey Plaza South

P.O. Box 1437

Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437

Internet Website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us
Telephone (501) 682-8292  TDD (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191 FAX (501) 682-1197

TO: Health Care Provider - Rehabilitative Hospital
DATE: November 1, 2001

SUBJECT: Update Transmittal No. 34

REMOVE INSERT
Page Date Page Date
II-8 11-1-94 1I-8 11-1-01
I1-9 12-1-92 11-9 11-1-01

Explanation of Updates

Page II-8, Section 213:

In Item 11, the figure “30%” has been deleted and a spelling correction and a syntax
revision have been made.

In Item 16, redundant and obsolete information has been deleted and a grammatical
correction was made.

Page II-9, Section 213:
Two grammatical corrections were made to Item 17.
A spelling correction was made in Item 18.

The previously unnumbered paragraphs at the bottom of this page have been assigned
numbers.

Item 20 is a result of these numbering assignments.

Item 19 describes the inpatient hospital benefit limit. Effective for dates of service on
and after November 1, 2001, this benefit limit, which applies only to Medicaid recipients
aged 21 and older, is being increased from 20 days per State fiscal year to 24 days per

State fiscal year.

Obsolete information has been deleted.

The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act
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A change bar in the left margin denotes a revision.

Attached are updated pages to file in your provider manual.

If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our
Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-1461 (voice) or (501) 682-6789 and
1-877-708-8191 (TDD).

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the EDS Provider
Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454 (Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and
Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

Ray Hanley, Director
Division of Medical Services

Arkansas Medicaid provider manuals (including update transmittals), official
notices and remittance advice (RA) messages are available for downloading
from the Arkansas Medicaid website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us.
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Arkansas Medicaid Manual: REHABILITATIVE Page: II-8

HOSPITAL
Effective Date: 7-1-91

Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE

Revised Date: 11-1-01

213

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

Inpatient Rehabilitative Hospital Limitation (Continued)

The retrospective or post payment random sample review will be continued for all
admissions, including inpatient stays of four days or less, to ensure that medical
necessity for the services is substantiated.

Admissions of retroactive eligible recipients: If eligibility is identified while the patient is
still an inpatient, the hospital may call for retrospective review of those days already
used past the original four for a determination of post authorization and concurrent
evaluation of future extended days.

If the retroeligible is not identified until after discharge and the hospital bills and
receives a denial for any days past the original four allowed, then the hospital may call
for post extension evaluation approval of the denied days, which, if granted, may be
rebilled. If the length of stay is more than 30 days, the provider may submit the entire
medical record to AFMC for review.

Out-of-state claims are subject to the determination for medical necessity for out-of-
state treatment. In addition, the claim and records will be reviewed retrospectively for
lengths of stay beyond the four days allowed. “Out-of-state” refers to non-bordering
states.

Claims submitted without calling for an extension request will result in automatic
denials of any days billed beyond the fourth day. There will be no exceptions granted
except for claims reflecting third party liability.

If a patient is transferred from one facility to another, the receiving facility must contact
AFMC within 24 hours of admitting the patient to qualify for the inpatient stay. If
admission falls on a weekend or holiday, the provider may contact AFMC on the first
working day following the weekend or holiday.

The certification process for extensions of inpatient days described in this section is a
separate requirement from the prior authorization (PA) process. If a procedure requires
prior authorization, the provider must continue to request and receive prior
authorization for the procedure.

An inpatient extension authorization (MUMP) and a prior authorization approval for a
procedure are assigned to the same file in the system. Therefore, if a provider requests
an extension authorization (MUMP) and requires a procedure prior authorization as
well, one number will be assigned for both services.
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HOSPITAL
Effective Date: 7-1-91
Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE
Revised Date: 11-1-01
213 Inpatient Rehabilitative Hospital Limitation (Continued)
| 17. If a provider fails to contact AFMC for an extension of inpatient days due to the patient’s

18.

19.

20.

having private insurance or Medicare Part A and later receives a denial due to: non-
covered service, lost eligibility, benefits exhausted etc., post certification of days past
the original four days may be obtained by the following procedures:

Send a copy of the denial notice received from the third party payer to AFMC,
P.O. Box 2424, Fort Smith, AR 72902-2424, Attention: Pre-Certification
Supervisor. Include a note requesting post certification and the full name of the
requester and a phone number where the requester may be reached. Upon
receipt of the denial copy and the provider request, an AFMC coordinator will
call the provider to obtain certification information.

If a third party insurer pays for an approved number of days, Medicaid will not grant an
extension for days beyond the number of days approved by the private insurer.

In addition to the Medicaid Utilization Management Program, there is an annual
inpatient benefit limit for recipients aged 21 and older based on the State fiscal year
(SFY), July 1 through June 30.

a. For dates of service before November 1, 2001, the inpatient benefit limit for
recipients aged 21 and older is 20 days per SFY.

For dates of service on and after November 1, 2001, for recipients aged 21 and
older, the inpatient hospital benefit limit is increased to 24 days. Implementation of
this increase is as follows:

b.

C.

d.

Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for 20 medically necessary inpatient
hospital days for dates of service from July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002.
Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for 4 additional medically necessary
inpatient hospital days for dates of service from November 1, 2001 through June
30, 2002.

For dates of service on and after July 1, 2002, the inpatient benefit limit for
recipients aged 21 and older is 24 medically necessary days per SFY.

The Arkansas Medicaid Program does not authorize extensions of the inpatient
hospital benefit.

The inpatient hospital benefit limit does not apply to recipients under age 21 in the
Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.

PRO certification of medical necessity is required of all covered days.



Arkansas Department of Human Services

Division of Medical Services
Donaghey Plaza South

P.O. Box 1437

Little Rock, Arkansas 72203-1437

Internet Website: www.medicaid.state.ar.us
Telephone (501) 682-8292  TDD (501) 682-6789 or 1-877-708-8191 FAX (501) 682-1197

TO: Health Care Provider — Certified Nurse Midwife
DATE: November 1, 2001
SUBJECT: Update Transmittal No. 44
REMOVE INSERT
Page Dates Page Dates
I1-19 7-1-00 I1-19 11-1-01
I11-20 7-1-00 I1-20 11-1-01

Explanation of Updates

Page I1-19, subsection 213.210: In Item L the figure, “30%”, has been deleted. A spelling
correction and two syntax revisions were also made.

Page II-20, subsection 213.210: Two grammatical corrections three spelling corrections were
made to Item R.

Page II-20, subsection 213.220: Subpart A has been amended to describe revisions to the
inpatient hospital benefit limit for Medicaid recipients aged 21 and older. Effective for dates of
service on and after November 1, 2001, the inpatient hospital benefit limit will be increased
from 20 days per State fiscal year to 24 days per State fiscal year. Redundancies have been
dropped from Subpart B.

A change bar in the left margin denotes a revision.

Attached are updated pages to file in your provider manual.

The Department of Human Services is in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act
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If you need this material in an alternative format, such as large print, please contact our
Americans with Disabilities Act Coordinator at (501) 682-1461 (voice) or (501) 682-6789 and
1-877-708-8191 (TDD).

If you have questions regarding this transmittal, please contact the Arkansas Medicaid
Program at (501) 682-8502, In-State WATS 1-800-482-1141 or Out-of-State WATS
1-800-482-5850, ext. 28502, or the EDS Provider Assistance Center at 1-800-457-4454
(Toll-Free) within Arkansas or locally and Out-of-State at (501) 376-2211.

Thank you for your participation in the Arkansas Medicaid Program.

Ray Hanley, Director
Division of Medical Services
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MIDWIFE
Effective Date: 7-1-00

Subject: PROGRAM COVERAGE

Revised Date: 11-1-01

213.210

J.

Medicaid Utilization Management Program (MUMP) (Continued)

If the fifth day of an admission falls on a Saturday, Sunday or Holiday, it is
recommended that the hospital provider call for an extension prior to the fifth
day if the certified nurse-midwife has recommended a continued stay.

Inpatient stays for bone marrow, liver, heart, lung, skin and pancreas/kidney
transplant procedures are excluded from this review program.

The retrospective or post payment random sample review will be continued for
all admissions, including inpatient stays of four days or less, to ensure that
medical necessity for the services is substantiated.

Admissions of retroactive eligible recipients: If eligibility is identified while the
patient is still an inpatient, the hospital may call for retrospective review of those
days already used past the original four for a determination of post
authorization and concurrent evaluation of future extended days.

If the retroeligible is not identified until after discharge and the hospital bills and
receives a denial for any days past the original four allowed, then the hospital
may call for post extension evaluation approval of the denied days, which, if
granted, may be rebilled. If the length of stay is more than 30 days, the provider
may submit the entire medical record to AFMC to review.

Out-of-state claims are subject to the determination for medical necessity for
out-of-state treatment. In addition, the claim and records will be reviewed
retrospectively for lengths of stay beyond the four days allowed. “Out-of-state”
refers to non-bordering states.

Claims submitted without calling for an extension request will result in
automatic denials of any days billed beyond the fourth day. There will be
no exceptions granted except for claims reflecting third party liability.

If a patient is transferred from one facility to another, the receiving facility must
contact AFMC within 24 hours of admitting the patient to qualify the inpatient
stay. If an admission falls on a weekend or holiday, the provider may contact
AFMC on the first working day following the weekend or holiday.

The certification process for extensions of inpatient days described in this
section is a separate requirement from the prior authorization process. If a
procedure requires prior authorization, the provider must request and receive
prior authorization for the procedure code in order to be reimbursed.
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MIDWIFE
Effective Date: 7-1-00

Subject:

PROGRAM COVERAGE

Revised Date: 11-1-01

213.210

R.

213.220

A.

B.

Medicaid Utilization Management Program (MUMP) (Continued)

If a provider fails to contact AFMC for an extension of inpatient days due to the
patient’s having private insurance or Medicare Part A and later receives a denial
due to non-covered service, lost eligibility, benefits exhausted etc., post
certification of days past the original four days may be obtained by the following
procedures:

Send a copy of the denial notice received from the third party payer to
AFMC, P.O. Box 180001, Fort Smith, AR 72918-0001, Attention: Pre-
Certification Supervisor. Include a note requesting post certification and
the full name of the requester and a phone number where the requester
may be reached. Upon receipt of the denial copy and the provider
request, an AFMC coordinator will call the provider and obtain
certification information.

If a third party insurer pays for an approved number of days, Medicaid will not
grant an extension for days beyond the number of days approved by the private

insurer.

Benefit Limit-Inpatient Hospital Services

There is an annual benefit limit for general and rehabilitative hospital inpatient services
based on the State fiscal year (SFY), July 1 through June 30, for Medicaid recipients
aged 21 and older.

1.

2.

For dates of service before November 1, 2001, the inpatient benefit limit is 20 days
per SFY.

For dates of service on and after November 1, 2001, the inpatient hospital benefit
limit is increased to 24 days. Implementation of this increase is as follows:

a.

b.

Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for 20 medically necessary inpatient
hospital days for dates of service from July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002.
Recipients aged 21 and older are eligible for four additional medically necessary
inpatient hospital days for dates of service on and after November 1, 2001
through June 30, 2002.

For dates of service on and after July 1, 2002, the inpatient hospital benefit limit
for recipients aged 21 and older is 24 medically necessary days per SFY.

There is no inpatient hospital benefit limit for recipients under age 21 in the Child
Health Services (EPSDT) Program.



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-A
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 1a
STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF

SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: November 1, 2001
CATEGORICALLY NEEDY
1. | npati ent Hospital Services
Al inpatient adm ssions to an acute care/general hospital or
rehabilitative hospital will be allowed up to four (4) days of

service per adm ssion when determ ned inpatient care is nedically
necessary. On the fifth day of hospitalization, if the physician
determ nes the patient should not be discharged on the fifth day of
hospitalization, the hospital may contact the Professional Review
Organi zation (Arkansas Foundation for Medical Care, Inc.) and
request an extension of inpatient days. The Professional Review
Organi zation (PRO w Il then determne nedically necessary days.
Calls for extension of days may be made at any point from the
fourth day of stay through discharge. However the provider nust
accept the financial Iliability should the stay not neet the
necessary nedical criteria for inpatient services. Medi cal | y
necessary inpatient days are available to individuals under age 1
wi thout regard to the four day limt and extension procedures
requi red under the plan. Additionally, effective for dates of
service on or after Novenber 1, 2001, a benefit limt of 24 days
per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) is inposed for
reci pients age 21 and ol der. No extensions will be authorized

The benefit Iimt does not apply to recipients under age 21 in the
Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program

| npati ent hospital services required for corneal transplants and
renal transplants are subject to the MUW procedure and the 24 day
benefit limt. Refer to Attachnent 3.1-E, Page 1

| npati ent hospital services required for heart transplants, liver



transplants and non-experinmental bone marrow transplants are
excluded from the MJUW procedure and the 24 day benefit limt.
Refer to Attachnent 3.1-E, Pages 2 and 3.

| npat i ent hospi t al services required for pancr eas/ ki dney
transplants, single lung transplants and skin transplants for burns
are covered for eligible Medicaid recipients in the Child Health
Services (EPSDT) Program Refer to Attachment 3.1-E, Pages 4, 5
and 6.



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3.1-B

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 2a
STATE ARKANSAS
AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: November 1, 2001
MEDICALLY NEEDY
1. Inpatient Hospital Services

All inpatient admissions to an acute care/general hospital or rehabilitative hospital will be allowed up to
four (4) days of service per admission when determined inpatient care is medically necessary. On the
fifth day of hospitalization, if the physician determines the patient should not be discharged on the fifth
day of hospitalization, the hospital may contact the Professional Review Organization (Arkansas
Foundation for Medical Care, Inc.) and request an extension of inpatient days. The Professional Review
Organization (PRO) will then determine medically necessary days. Calls for extension of days may be
made at any point from the fourth day of stay through discharge. However the provider must accept the
financial liability should the stay not meet the necessary medical criteria for inpatient services. Medically
necessary inpatient days are available to individuals under age 1 without regard to the four day limit and
extension procedures required under the plan. Additionally, effective for dates of service on or after
November 1, 2001, a benefit limit of 24 days per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) is imposed
for recipients age 21 and older. No extensions will be authorized. The benefit limit does not apply to
recipients under age 21 in the Child Health Services (EPSDT) Program.

Inpatient hospital services required for corneal transplants and renal transplants are subject to the MUMP
procedure and the 24 day benefit limit. Refer to Attachment 3.1-E, Page 1.

Inpatient hospital services required for heart transplants, liver transplants and non-experimental bone
marrow transplants are excluded from the MUMP procedure and the 24 day benefit limit. Refer to

Attachment 3.1-E, Pages 2 and 3.

Inpatient hospital services required for pancreas/kidney transplants, single lung transplants and skin
transplants for burns are covered for eligible Medicaid recipients in the Child Health Services (EPSDT)
Program. Refer to Attachment 3.1-E, Pages 4, 5 and 6.





