Share |

News Details 

All News

Secretary Martin Clarifies Runoff Voter Eligibility

Date: 6/7/2012

For Immediate Release                                                                               

Media Contact:
 Alex Reed,


Secretary Martin Clarifies Runoff Voter Eligibility

(June 7, 2012) LITTLE ROCK – Arkansas Secretary of State Mark Martin today issued a reminder of who is eligible to vote in the primary runoff elections currently underway.

“Voters who did not vote in the May Preferential primary may vote,” Martin said. “Voters who only voted in the nonpartisan judicial election may vote. Or voters may vote in the runoff of the party in which they originally voted.”

For example, Martin said, residents of Congressional Districts 1 and 4 who voted in the Democratic primary may vote in the current runoff election in those districts.

Residents of those districts who voted in the Republican primary are not eligible to vote in the Democratic runoff, he said.

Early voting for the runoff election began Tuesday and continues through Monday, June 11. The runoff election date is Tuesday, June 12.

“If someone did not vote in May, they can still vote in the runoff election,” Martin said. “We want to make sure voters are aware of this.” If any voter has questions, they can contact their local county clerk’s office, or can contact our Elections division at 501-682-5070.

                                                          # # #


Connect With Us