FACE Your

VOTE

Arkansas'

What you
need to know
about
Arkansas’s new
Voter 1I.D. Law

\ A voter education message from
SECRETARY OF STATE
MARK MARTIN

www.FaceYourVote.org



FACE Your

TE

A new Arkansas law, Act 595 of 2013, requires all voters to present
photo identification when voting. The law lists several acceptable
forms of photo I.D. and explains how to obtain a Voter LI.D. card if
you do not have any photo identification.

What are some examples of acceptable Photo 1.D.?

Arkansas Driver’s license
Arkansas Photo identification card

* & o

Concealed handgun carry license

*

U.S. passport
State or federal government employee identification

* o

U.S. military identification

*

Student I.D. card from an accredited post-secondary
institution in Arkansas (community college, university,
trade school, etc.)

¢ Public assistance I.D. card

What if I don’t have any form of photo 1.D.?

Qualified electors who do not have any photo I.D. can obtain a free
Voter L.D. card issued by their county clerk’s office.

Who needs to get a Voter L.D. from the county clerk?

Registered voters who have no other form of photo I.D. If you have
any acceptable form of photo L.D. (like those listed above), you are
not eligible to receive an Arkansas Voter I.D. Card.

How do I get a free photo L.D.?

Go to your county clerk’s office. You will be required to complete
an application and sign an oath, swearing you do not have any
kind of photo identification.
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You must also provide certain information to the clerk:

*

A photo or non-photo identity document that includes your
full legal name and date of birth

Documents that show your name and residential address

Evidence of registration or proof of application to register
to vote

What will the clerk accept as proof of identity?

Documents that contain your full legal name and date of birth,
such as:

*

*

*

Original or certified copy of a birth certificate
Copy of marriage license application

Notarized copy of state or federal tax return filed for the
previous calendar year

Paycheck or pay stub including the imprinted name of the
applicant’s employer
Original Medicare or Medicaid statement

Original annual Social Security statement for the current or
preceding calendar year

Certified school record or transcript for the current or
preceding calendar year

Naturalization document

DD-214 issued by the federal government to members of
the military

What is documentation of name and residential
address?
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*

*

Utility or cable bill issued within the last 60 days
Bank statement issued within the last 60 days

Notarized copy of state or federal tax return filed for the
previous calendar year

Continued on page 6




Examples of accepted forms of photo
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Be sure you take an acceptable form of photo LD.
with you to the polls. If you don't have one,
contact your county clerk for a free Voter LD.




(Documentation of name and address, continued from page 2)

¢ Current, valid residential rental contract or receipt for
rental payment within last 60 days

¢+ Homeowner’s insurance policy or bill for current or
preceding calendar year

¢ Mortgage, payment coupon, deed or property tax bill for
current or preceding calendar year

¢ Personal property tax bill for current or preceding
calendar year

¢ Current automobile registration receipt

¢ W-2 issued by employer for the preceding calendar year.

What if I am applying to register to vote?

The county clerk will process the voter registration application

in the usual manner. The Voter 1.D. card will not be prepared until
the clerk has validated the registration information and processed
the application. The Voter I.D. card will be mailed to the mailing
address on the application.

Can I use my Voter L.D. card for general identification
purposes?

No. The Voter L.D. card will include the statement: This card is
valid for the sole purpose of voter identification in an election and
for no other purpose.

How long is the Voter L.D. valid?
The Voter I.D. card is valid as long as you live in the same county

where it was issued, and you remain registered to vote.

What if I move to another county?

If you move to a different county, you must either return the
Voter L.D. card to the county clerk who issued the card, or turn it
in to the county clerk of your new residence.
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What if I lose my card?

If you lose your Voter L.D. card, you may apply for a new one.
You must swear to an affidavit that your card was lost or
misplaced. You must swear that you did not give or provide
the Voter L.D. card to someone else. You must complete a new
application by following the process explained above.

You should know:

The county clerk will take a color photograph of you when you
apply for a Voter L.D. card. You must not wear sunglasses, a hat,
headgear or any other item that disguises or conceals your face.

Are there exceptions?

A person who lives in a long-term or residential care facility
licensed by the state does not have to show a photo L.D.

As an alternative, they can provide documentation from the
facility administrator, stating they are a resident of the facility.

When absentee voters return their completed ballots, they must
include photocopies of an approved photo L.D. or other documents
showing their name and address. Examples may include a bank
statement or utility bill.

But what if...?

If a person cannot provide photo identification at the polls, the
person may cast a provisional ballot.

The provisional ballot will be counted if the voter returns to the
county clerk or county election commission by noon the Monday
after the election with either proof of identity or an affidavit
swearing the voter has no photo I.D. because of indigence or a
religious objection to being photographed.




A new Arkansas law,
Act 595 of 2013, requires
that voters show
photo identification to vote.

Is it cunrent? Is it valid?
If your photo ID. has an
expiration date,
it cannot have expired
more than four years before
the election in which you're voting.

If you don't have any of the types
of photo IL.D. shown here, contact
your county clerk to get a
FREE Voter ILD. card
before you head to the polls.

Learn more about the new
Voter I.D. law and other voting info at

www.FaceYourVote.org
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