Arkansas Secretary of State
If you are registering to vote by mail:
You must provide either your driver's license number or the last four digits of your Social Security number on your Arkansas Voter Registration Application, or check the box in #9 on the application to indicate that you do not possess either a driver's license or Social Security number.
If you check the box indicating that you do not possess either a driver's license or Social Security number, you may be required to vote a Provisional Ballot when you vote for the first time unless you submit a photocopy of one of the following with your mail-in application or at the time of voting:
- Current and valid photo identification,
- A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check or paycheck that shows your name and address,
- Another government document that shows your name and address
- You must submit your application to an official voter registration agency or mail it no later than 30 days prior to an election in which you wish to vote. The postmark on a mail-in application will be considered the submission date.
- If you completed your application at a voter registration drive, the organizers must submit it to the county clerk or Secretary of State's office within 21 days of the date on the application or no later than 30 days prior to the next election.
- If you submit your application close to an election registration deadline, you are strongly advised to follow up on your registration status with your county clerk before Election Day.
- If an election deadline is looming, there is one method of application that will ensure your eligibility: apply in person with your county clerk.
- If you have not received verification from your county clerk, be sure to confirm your registration BEFORE Election Day.
Special Registration Issues
If you are registered in another state or county:
- If you have moved to Arkansas from another state, notify the voter registrar in your previous state of residence to request cancellation.
- Similarly, if you have moved from one county to another within Arkansas, you must cancel your registration in the old county and re-register in your new county of residence.
- For questions about canceling your registration, please ask your local county clerk for assistance.
If you are a college student attending college OUTSIDE of your home county:
You must decide which county you consider "home." If you intend to return to live in your home county, then list your parents' address as your residence. If you do NOT intend to return there, then list your college address as your residence. Remember: you must keep your residence address CURRENT on your voter registration. This requirement often persuades college students to use their parents' address, which may be less likely to change repeatedly.
If you are in the military:
You may register to vote in the office of the county clerk in the county in which you reside or you may register using the mail registration form. Federal Law requires that a single Federal Post Card Application (FPCA SF-76) simultaneously serves all states and territories as both a registration form and application for absentee ballot.
Military personnel may contact the Federal Voting Assistance Program (FVAP) or their Voting Assistance Officer for further information or to obtain a Federal Post Card Application (FPCA). Call 1-800-438-8683 or e-mail the program at firstname.lastname@example.org or visit the website at www.fvap.gov.
For more information, see the Arkansas Secretary of State's Military Voting information page.
If you own property in more than one county:
You must register to vote wherever you actually "live or reside." Owning property or a business in a county does not constitute residency there.