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Arkansas Secretary of State
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Dear Business Owner:

I am pleased to introduce Doing Business in Arkansas, which provides 
information for our clients interested in filing a corporate or business 
organization in Arkansas.

The handbook explores issues including:
	 • Choosing an entity type
	 • Reserving and filing a corporate name
	 • Avoiding common problems with document filings
	 • Corporate fee schedule
	 • Domestic corporations
	 • Foreign corporations
	 • Trademarks and Service Marks

We also provide contact information for other agencies which might 
be of assistance in establishing or expanding your business.

If you need additional information or have questions, please contact 
the Arkansas Secretary of State Business and Commercial
Services Division at 501-682-3409, 1-888-233-0325 
or e-mail corprequest@sos.arkansas.gov.

Sincerely,

Mark Martin
Secretary of State
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Business Services Office
Persons desiring to organize a corporation in Arkansas must apply to the 
Arkansas Secretary of State for authority to conduct business or other 
activities as a corporation. Through the Business and Commercial Services 
Division, the Secretary of State approves various kinds of corporate 
transactions and issues certificates giving effect to these transactions. The 
terms “corporation” and “corporate” are here used in a general sense and 
encompass all business organizations regulated by the state of Arkansas, 
including LLC, LP, LLP and some associations and cooperatives.

The Business and Commercial Services Division also retains 
the records of almost 140,000 active corporations organized or 
authorized to conduct business in Arkansas. All records maintained 
in this office are subject to the Freedom of Information Act (except 
for some franchise tax information). These files are public and may 
be inspected or copied upon request for a fee. (Fees are listed on the 
Filing Fee Schedule at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.)

A. Hours and Telephone Numbers
The Business and Commercial Services Division is open from 8 a.m. 
to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday and can be reached by phone at 
888-233-0325 or 501-682-3409. Documents may be filed online at www.
sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. Online filings are updated within 48 hours and 
originals are returned by mail to the submitter. Documents may also be 
submitted by mail. If approved, mailed documents will normally be filed 
and returned within 24 to 72 hours after the Business and Commercial 
Services Division receives them. You may also file by bringing documents 
directly to our office, and if approved, they will be processed while you 
wait. Any document received after 4:30 p.m. will be available for pick-
up the next business day. To avoid delays caused by return of defective 
documents, please see the Checklist for Document Filings, page 10.

B. Services of the Business and Commercial Services Division
1. Approval of Corporate Transactions – Arkansas Code requires 
many corporate proceedings to be filed as public record in the Arkansas 
Secretary of State’s office. Most common among these transactions 
are the filing of Articles of Incorporation, Amendment, Merger, and 
Dissolution. Forms for the filing of these documents are available at no 
charge from the Business and Commercial Services Division online at 
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, or by contacting the office. Some filings 
may be made through our web service at a lower fee. Fee payments must 
be submitted when the documents are presented for filing. The principal 
corporate documents are discussed in detail in this guide, beginning 
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on page 14. However, if you need additional assistance, the staff of the 
Business and Commercial Services Division is available to answer 
questions and provide help.  You can contact a local attorney or accountant.

2. Dissemination of Information – As the official record keeper of 
corporate documents, the Business and Commercial Services Division 
can provide various kinds of information on all registered corporations. 

The Business and Commercial Services Division receives more than 
2,000 telephone calls per week, most of which are from persons either 
requesting information on entities or checking on the availability of 
corporate names. (See page 8 for a discussion of corporate names.) 
Information may also be acquired online, by mail or by visiting our office.

The following information is available online or by telephone:

3. Preparation of Certified Copies of Documents – Many legal 
proceedings and business transactions require the introduction or 
presentation of documents certified by the Secretary of State as true 
and accurate copies of the records in this office. Certified copies of the 
corporate records in the office of the Arkansas Secretary of State may 
be introduced into evidence in all courts within the state as prima facie 
evidence of the facts stated in the documents. The Arkansas Secretary 
of State may certify any corporate documents on file with the Business 
and Commercial Services Division. In addition to certified copies of 
documents, this office also prepares Good Standing Certificate, Certificate 
of Existence, and Certificate of Due and Diligent Search.

	 • A Certificate of Good Standing state that an entity has complied with 
all requirements regulated by the Arkansas Secretary of State Business 
and Commercial Services Division. Certificates of Good Standing can be 
purchased and downloaded online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.

	 •A Certificate of Existence states that a corporation was incorporated 
or admitted to do business, whether it was in existence on a particular 
date, and whether it is currently in good standing with the Arkansas 
Secretary of State.

	 • A Certificate of Due and Diligent Search certifies that all available 
records of the Secretary of State’s office have been searched and that a 
particular corporation does not appear in the records.
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	 • Availability of Entity Name
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	 • Registered Agent for Legal
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Because of the volume of certification requests, please submit your order 
as early as possible. If you must have the order by a particular date, inform 
the clerk of the date by which you must have your order completed and 
whether you wish to pick it up or have it mailed. Certification orders must 
be paid for in advance and are usually processed within 24 to 48 hours 
after payment is received by the Secretary of State’s office.

4. Legal Assistance – The Business and Commercial Services Division 
of the Arkansas Secretary of State is not engaged in the practice of law 
and cannot give legal advice or issue legal opinions. If you have specific 
questions regarding a legal opinion or legal advice please contact a private 
attorney or legal professional. Our staff attorney is available to assist with 
legal problems arising in connection with matters relating directly to this 
office. However, he may not render legal advice or counsel individuals 
about their legal rights. All complaints regarding corporate entities must 
be filed with the Arkansas Attorney General’s office.

5. Forms – The Business and Commercial Services Division has forms 
available for the filing of most documents, as well as fee schedules and 
other materials designed to simplify or clarify transactions with this office.  
All forms are free of charge. These items may be obtained by visiting the 
Arkansas Secretary of State’s web site at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ or 
by contacting the Business and Commercial Services Division.

6. Bulk Data Downloads – Listings of existing corporations, including 
the names and addresses of the corporation and its registered agent, 
are available for purchase. Lists may be prepared by corporate type 
(domestic or profit, nonprofit, and foreign). The charges for these 
computer printouts, data files or other media types are calculated by the 
number of records on the total order and can be purchased through the 
Arkansas Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ 
under the BCS Online Services Section.

7. Authentication of Documents for use abroad ‑ Authentication 
of public documents for use outside the United States is provided by 
the Business and Commercial Services Division States in the form of an 
Apostille or a Certification. The documents must be Arkansas issued or 
certified by an Arkansas notary public, State Registrar, or Elected County 
Official.  The Notarial Certificate or Certificate/Seal of the State Registrar 
or Elected County Official must be affixed to the document. If the document 
is not in English, a notarized translation of the entire document into 
English must be attached. It is recommended you contact the Embassy or 
a Consulate of the country where you intend to use the document to see 
what type of authentication is accepted before applying. Fees are $10.00 
for an Apostille and $5.00 for a Certification and is payable in advance. 
Request for authentication are only accepted in person at the BCS office 
(drop off for later pickup) or by mail.
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Choosing an Entity Type
When starting a business, you may choose from several business forms 
or organizations. A variety of organizational structures are available for 
transacting business in Arkansas. In deciding which form of business 
is appropriate for your venture, a lawyer, CPA, tax advisor or financial 
advisor can provide critical information. Choosing the proper business 
entity for your business is vital to the success of your project. This 
booklet outlines some of the issues involved, but is not a substitute for 
sound legal and financial advice from competent lawyers, accountants 
and advisors.  It is only a starting point.

One of the primary considerations in selecting a business organization 
is protection of the owners of the business from liability. Other 
considerations include tax treatment by the federal and state 
governments, management structure, future ownership, and 
capitalization. Arkansas laws determine how particular entities should 
be set up and conduct their business. These laws are very specific and set 
out the legal responsibility of each business form. Taxing authorities and 
regulatory agencies also have laws that pertain to business.

There is much written about choosing and setting up the proper form 
of business for your needs. Information can be found at libraries, small 
business development centers and on the Internet. Ultimately, however, 
legal counsel or a certified public accountant are probably needed to 
help you make the decision. The most common business structures are 
described in the following pages.

Sole Proprietorship
A business with a single owner with no formal or separate form of 
business structure is known as a sole proprietorship. The owner has sole 
control and responsibility of the business. A sole proprietorship is easily 
formed, allows important decisions to be made quickly, and typically has 
fewer legal restrictions. In this situation the owner and the business are 
indistinguishable. The business has limited life and cannot be transferred 
(as an entity) to others. The sole proprietor’s responsibilities include:
	 • Obtaining all capital
	 • Personal liability for all debts and claims against the business
	 • Claiming all profits and losses on the owner’s personal income tax return
	 • Obtaining state and local business licenses and permits
	 • Recording the name of the business with your local county clerk 

Partnership
A partnership is an association of two or more persons acting as co-owners of  
a business and can be created by an oral or written agreement between 
the parties involved among other methods. However, a written agreement is
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highly recommended.  This agreement should set out the responsibilities 
and obligations of the partners as well as the percentage of ownership.

General Partnership
General partnerships are not required to file official registration beyond that 
required for a sole proprietorship, but may file to be on record as a general 
partnership in the Secretary of State’s office. Check with your advisors.
	 General partnerships:
	 • Do not protect the personal assets of the business partners from 		
	  claims against the partnership.
	 • Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.
	 • Share their profits and losses among the partners according to their
	  ownership percentage or other legal means. Partners are then
	  required to claim this income or loss on their personal income 
	  tax return.

Limited Liability Partnership
A limited liability partnership (LLP) is like a general partnership. The LLP 
allows all the partners to take an active role in the management of the 
business while offering members some liability protection from actions 
of the other partners and the partnership and the partnership employees. 
LLPs are most often used by groups of professionals such as doctors, 
accountants or architects.
	 Limited Liability Partnerships:
	 • Are treated like partnerships by the Internal Revenue Service.
	 • Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.
	 • Do not provide liability protection to individual partners for 
	  their own actions.
	 • Are created by filing a Qualification of Limited Liability Partnership
	  with the Secretary of State.
	 • Must file an annual report with the Arkansas Secretary of State.

Limited Partnership
Limited partnerships (LP) are more intensely regulated than general 
partnerships. An LP may consist of general partners and limited partners. 
The general partner(s) manage the business and usually have no liability 
protection.  The limited partner(s) are usually investors that are not 
involved in the day-to-day running of the business and whose liability is 
normally limited to the extent of their investment.
	 Limited partnerships:
	 • Are treated like a partnership by the Internal Revenue Service.
	 • Are required to file informational returns with the Internal Revenue
	    Service and Arkansas Income Tax Division.
	 • Were originally developed for real estate development ventures.
	 • Are created by filing a Certificate of Limited Partnership with the
	    Secretary of State.
	 • Must file an annual report with the Arkansas Secretary of State.
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Limited Liability Limited Partnership
A limited liability limited partnership (LLLP) is a limited partnership 
which registers with the Secretary of State as an LLLP. One effect of 
registration is to limit the vicarious liability of the general partners in the 
same fashion that registration as an LLP limits the liability of the general 
partners of a general partnership.
	 Limited Liability Limited Partnerships:
	 • Are created by filing a Certificate of Limited Liability Limited Partnership.
	 • Are Limited Partnerships.
	 • Must file an annual report with the Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • Are required to file information returns with the IRS and DFA.

Corporation
A corporation is a more complex form of business organization. 
The corporation is a legal entity and exists apart from its owners or 
shareholders. As a separate entity, the corporation has its own rights, 
privileges and liabilities apart from the shareholders, officers and 
board of directors. A corporation can buy and sell property, enter into 
contracts, sue and be sued. Elected officers and its board of directors 
manage the corporation.
	 Corporations:
	 • Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas
	    Secretary of State.
	 • May be formed for profit or for nonprofit purposes.
	 • Are unaffected in their duration by death or transfer of shares by 	    	
   	    any of the owners.
	 • Require more extensive record keeping.
	 • Pay taxes on their profits; profits are distributed to the owners via
	    dividends and are taxable by state and federal taxing authorities.
	 • Must file annual franchise tax reports with the Arkansas Secretary
	    of State.
	 • Files returns with the IRS and DFA.

S Corporation
The S Corporation is a corporation that chooses to be taxed under 
Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Tax Code. Being an S Corporation is 
a tax matter only. S Corporations are “tax pass through” business entities, 
meaning their profits and losses are reported by their owners on the 
owners’ personal tax returns.
	 S Corporations:
	 • Are corporations in the view of the state and comply with state
	    corporation laws.
	 • Must have only one class of stock.
	 • Must be made up of shareholders that are individuals, estates, or
	    trusts, but not corporations.
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	 • Can only have shareholders that are United States citizens or residents.
	 • Cannot be members of  affiliated groups of corporations.
	 • Are limited to 75 shareholders.
	 • Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas
	    Secretary of State and then the Internal Revenue Service.
	 • Must file annual franchise tax reports with the Arkansas Secretary
	    of State.

Limited Liability Company
Limited Liability Companies (LLC) combines many favorable characteristics 
of corporations and partnerships. The LLC provides limited liability to its 
members.
	 Limited Liability Companies:
	 • Must file Articles of Organization with the Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • Allow members to manage a company themselves or to 
	    elect managers.
	 • Allow members to engage in management without risk of losing
	    their limited liability status.
	 • Are a relatively new form of business organization.
	 • Enjoy less regulation on record keeping.
	 • May be taxed by the Internal Revenue Service as corporations or as
	    partnerships, depending on their structure.
	 • Must file annual franchise tax reports with the Arkansas Secretary
	    of State.
	 • Are required to file information returns with the IRS and DFA.

Nonprofit Corporation
Nonprofit corporations are created for public benefit, for mutual benefit 
for its members, or for religious purposes. Nonprofit corporation status 
does not guarantee that the organization will be granted tax-exempt 
status, nor does it ensure that the contributions to the organization are tax 
deductible. Becoming a nonprofit corporation is generally a prerequisite 
to applying for tax-exempt status under IRS Code, such as section 501(c)
(3). To accommodate the vast number of entities choosing to file for 501(c)
(3) status with the IRS, the Arkansas Secretary of State provides a blank 
template with suggested IRS language as well as the traditional nonprofit 
articles of incorporation templates. If the nonprofit corporation intends 
to solicit charitable contributions, it must also register with the Arkansas
Attorney General’s office.
	 Nonprofit Corporations:
	 • May not have shareholders or pay dividends.
	 • May compensate members, officers, and trustees (in reasonable
	    amounts) for services rendered.
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	 • Must have specific provisions in its Articles of Incorporation 		
	    dealing with property distribution upon dissolution.
	 • Are created by filing Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas
	    Secretary of State.
	 • Must file an annual disclosure statement with the Arkansas 
	    Secretary of State.

Commercial Registered Agent
A commercial registered agent is an individual or entity that is in the 
business of providing registered agent services for registered entities in
Arkansas. The primary purpose of the commercial registered agent is to 
accept service of process on behalf of the entities it represents.
	 Commercial Registered Agents:
	 • Are created by filing a Commercial Registered Agent Listing with 		
	    the Arkansas Secretary of State.
	 • Are regulated by the Model Registered Agents Act (MoRAA) of 2007.

Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity
An entity that is not required to file or register in order to transact 
business in the state may choose to file a Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity 
Statement. This filing allows the entity to have its registered agent/
service of process information on file with the Secretary of State.
	 Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity Statements:
	 • Are created by filing a Nonfiling/Nonqualifying Entity Statement
	    with the Secretary of State.
	 • Do not qualify an otherwise nonqualifying entity.
	 • Do not provide any protection for the use of the name by the entity.

A corporation organized or admitted to do business in Arkansas is granted 
the exclusive use of a corporate name at the time it is file marked by the
Arkansas Secretary of State. However, according to Arkansas Code 4-27-
406, a corporate filing with the Arkansas Secretary of State does not 
necessarily give you the right to use your proposed corporate name, 
corporate name, assumed or fictitious name in this state if the use violates 
someone else’s trade name, trademark, or service mark rights under the 
trademark laws of the United States, this state, or the common law. Prior 
to your use of the name, you are encouraged to research the names and 
marks of other parties used or registered in this state, or registered in 
the United States Patent and Trademark Office, or consult an attorney to 
determine the existence of any conflicting rights.
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A. Requirements
	 1. The name of every Arkansas corporation must include the word
“Corporation,” “Incorporated,” “Company,” or an abbreviation of one of 
these words. The corporate ending may vary due to the section of Arkansas 
Code under which the entity chooses to file. (See Application for Filing 
Articles of Incorporation, available online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, 
or by contacting our office.)

	 2. No domestic or foreign corporation may take or assume a corporate 
name identical to the name of any other Arkansas corporation, or of any 
other foreign corporation authorized to transact business in Arkansas. 
The name must be distinguishable from other names on record.
NOTE: The name cannot be the same as the fictitious name of any Public Housing Authority.

B. Name Availability
	 1. Distinguishable names – If a proposed name begins with the same 
word or phrase as an existing name, the Arkansas Secretary of State will 
look for additional wording, which in some way significantly distinguishes 
the proposed name, such as a description of business purpose or activity.

	 2. All requests for name availability searches are available by contacting 
a business services representative or by conducting a name search on the 
Secretary of State’s web site www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. The name 
searches are strictly preliminary searches and do not guarantee the right of 
the filer until actual corporate papers are filed with the Secretary of State’s 
office. It is not advisable to buy stationery, stock certificates, literature 
advertising or other items based upon a name availability search.

C. Reservation of Names
	 1. Corporate names may be reserved prior to incorporation for a 
period of 120 days when the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office receives 
the correct filing fee and the proper name reservation forms. The forms 
are available for electronic filing or downloading from the Secretary of 
State’s web site, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, visiting the office or 
contacting a corporate representative. Name reservations filed under the 
corporate act are non-renewable. Name reservations filed under the LLC 
and LP acts have a one-time renewal period.

	 2. When a corporate name has been reserved, and the right to that 
name is transferred in writing during the 120-day period, it can only be 
reserved for the balance of time remaining on the original 120-day period. 
The fee for transfer of name reservation and the form can be found online 
at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/ or can be obtained by contacting a 
Business and Commercial Services corporate representative.
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This checklist helps to prevent some of the most common problems 
that delay the processing of documents filed with the Business and 
Commercial Services Division. Simply review the following checklist to 
ensure that your documents are complete and accurate.

A. All Documents
1. Check to see that every section of your document has been 
completed, including complete address (P.O. Box is not acceptable 
for registered agent). Incomplete documents cannot be approved 
and will be returned to the applicant for correction.  If the separate 
franchise tax contact information form is not completed, your 
annual franchise tax report (if applicable) and/or annual report 
may not reach you, causing your corporation to enter inactive or 
revoked status.  Franchise taxes will still accrue, even if unpaid, 
until the business is dissolved or withdrawn formally.
2. Make sure you have submitted the correct fee and that your check is 
not more than 60 days old. Sign your check and make it payable to the 
Arkansas Secretary of State. (A filing fee schedule may be obtained 
by accessing our website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, writing or 
calling our office or visiting the Business and Commercial Services 
Division of the Office of the Secretary of State.)
3. Confirm that all necessary parties have signed the documents.
4. File an original set of documents. Do not send copies.
5. Be certain you are filing the correct document. Check to see if the 
form is for a profit, nonprofit, foreign, or domestic corporation.
6. Reserve your corporate name by Internet, mail, or in person at the
Business and Commercial Services Division. A filing fee will reserve 
your name (upon availability) for 120 days. No reservations can be 
placed by telephone. A check for the availability of a corporate name 
by Internet or telephone is only a preliminary search and does not 
guarantee the name is available. It is not advisable to buy stationery 
or other items based upon a name search.

For all documents, the business must be current in its franchise tax filings 
and payments. Franchise taxes are due annually. Failure to pay can 
result in the imposition of additional fees, penalties and interest, or even 
revocation of the authorization to do business. Franchise taxes continue 
to accrue even for revoked businesses until the business is dissolved or 
withdrawn. Additional filings are prohibited for entities that fail to pay 
franchise tax.
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B. Articles of Incorporation For Profit and Nonprofit Entities
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Check to see if you have provided a principal office address and 
a physical registered agent address in Arkansas. P.O. Boxes are not 
acceptable.
3. Nonprofit entities must list what will be done with their assets 
upon dissolution. The IRS requires specific wording in the Articles 
of Incorporation regarding the disposition of assets. Please verify 
with the IRS, before filing with the Arkansas Secretary of State, if 
you have questions and are applying for federal nonprofit status. 
The IRS website is www.irs.gov. To accommodate the vast number 
of entities choosing to file for 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, the 
Arkansas Secretary of State’s office provides a blank template with 
suggested IRS language as well as the traditional nonprofit articles of 
incorporation templates.

C. Articles of Amendment
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Be certain to state clearly the text of each amendment and identify 
each article being amended.
3. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.

D. Dissolution
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.
3. Fill out and pay Final Franchise Tax Report.  All unpaid franchise 
taxes, penalties and interest must be paid.
4. Fill out and return correct dissolution form and fee.
(All tax exempt entities disregard items 2 and 3 above.)

E. Foreign Corporation Application for Authority to Transact Business
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Be sure to complete Article 7. This requires good faith estimates in 
dollar amounts.
3. A Certificate of Good Standing from the entity’s domestic state must 
be filed with all Foreign Corporation Applications for Certificate of
Authority to Transact Business in the state of Arkansas. This good 
standing must be dated within the past 30 days.

F. Foreign Certificates of Amendment
	 1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
	 2. Be certain to state clearly the text of each amendment and identify 	
	 each article being amended.
	 3. Include a certified copy of the amendment, merger or consolidation 
	 officially filed in the corporation’s domestic state, dated within 60 days.
	 4. Make sure annual reports/franchise taxes are current.
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G. Withdrawal
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. Make sure franchise taxes are current.  All unpaid franchise taxes, 
penalties and interest must be paid.
3. Fill out annual report and/or Final Franchise Tax Report and pay 
franchise taxes.
4. Fill out and return the correct withdrawal form and fee.

H. Mergers
1. Check all general points listed in Part A.
2. The agreement or plan of merger must be submitted with the
Articles of Merger. The agreement must detail:

a. The terms and conditions of the merger;
b. The manner of converting the shares of the non-surviving 
corporation(s) into shares or other securities of the surviving 
corporation; and
c. A statement of the amendments to the Articles of Incorporation 
of the surviving corporation necessary and/or desirable to effect 
the merger.

3. The effective date of the merger shall not be prior to, nor more than 
30 days after, the date of the filing and approval of the Articles of
Merger by the Secretary of State. If the effective date is not stated in 
the Articles of Merger, the effective date shall be the date of filing (and 
approval) of the Articles of Merger by the Secretary of State.
4. In a merger absorbing a domestic corporation into a foreign 
corporation, if the merger is filed in the foreign corporation’s 
home state or country first, the surviving foreign corporation must 
file a certified copy of the Certificate of Merger from the foreign 
corporation’s domestic state with the Arkansas Secretary of State 
within 30 days of the effective date of the merger. If the merger is 
filed in Arkansas first, the original signed documents merging the 
corporation must be filed with the Arkansas Secretary of State within
30 days of the effective date of the merger.
5. A surviving foreign corporation must seek admission to do business 
in Arkansas prior to or contemporaneously with the filing of the
Articles of Merger. If the surviving foreign corporation does not intend 
to transact business in Arkansas, it must surrender to the Arkansas
Secretary of State the Certificate of Admission and all amended
Certificates of Admission of all non-surviving foreign corporations 
that were parties to the merger.
6. Make sure all annual reports and franchise taxes are current.
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All filing fee schedules may be obtained by visiting our website, 
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, or by writing, calling or visiting the 
Arkansas Secretary of State’s Business and Commercial Services Division.

Corporation Filing Fees
Section 5

The following forms are available by downloading from the Arkansas
Secretary of State’s website, ww.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/, or visiting 
the office, contacting a corporate representative or electronic filing.
A. Domestic Corporations Forms

• Articles of Incorporation (also includes LLC, LP, LLP, LLLP, GP)
• Certificate of Amendment
• Change of Registered Agent Information
• Certificate of Dissolution
• Application for Reservation of Corporate Name
• Registration of Fictitious Name
• Articles of Incorporation for Nonprofit
• Annual Reports/Franchise Tax forms
• Franchise Tax Contact information form

B. Foreign Corporation Forms
• Statement of Corporation Seeking Authorization to do Business 
in Arkansas (also includes LLC, LP, LLP, LLLP, GP)
• Change of Registered Agent Information
• Certificate of Withdrawal
• Registration of Fictitious Name
• Registration of Corporate Name
• Application for Nonprofit Corporation to do Business 

 in Arkansas
• Certificates of Amended Certificate of Authority
• Application for Reservation of Name
• Annual Reports/Franchise Tax forms
• Franchise Tax Contact information form

Available Forms
Section 6
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A. Articles of Incorporation
A corporation is formed under the Arkansas General Corporation Act by 
filing Articles of Incorporation with the Office of the Secretary of State. 
Before the Articles are prepared, a corporate name should be selected 
and reserved with the Business and Commercial Services Division office 
of the Secretary of State. (See pages 8 and 9 for discussion of corporate 
names and reservation of names.) The Office of the Secretary of State will 
review and approve these Articles and issue a Certificate of Incorporation, 
which marks the beginning of the corporate existence. 

The filing must include one original of the Articles of Incorporation signed 
by all incorporators and containing the following information:

1. Name of the Corporation – Shall contain the word “Corporation,”
“Incorporated,” or “Company,” or an abbreviation of one of these 
words, but not as the final word of the actual company name. “Final 
word(s)” or abbreviation(s) are immediately preceded by “and” or 
any symbol for “and.” For example, the corporate name could be “XYZ 
Company.” “But “ABC & Company” must be formally named “ABC & 
Company, Inc.”
2. Number of shares, which the corporation shall have the authority 
to issue:

a. Class (optional)
b. Series (if any)
c. Par value per share or statement that shares are without par 
value;

3. The name and physical address (P.O. Box is not accepted) of the 
corporation’s initial registered agent;
4. Name and address of each incorporator;
5. Purpose(s) for which the corporation is organized;
6. The articles of incorporation may also set forth other provisions 
not inconsistent with law regarding identity of directors, limitations 
of purpose, management and shareholder liability.

B. Certificate of Amendment
Subsequent to the issuance of the Certificate of Incorporation, the 
corporation may need or choose to amend its Articles of Incorporation. 
The Board of Directors must adopt a resolution setting out the proposed 
amendment(s) and direct that they be submitted to a vote of the 
shareholders of the corporation. The shareholders of the corporation 
entitled to vote on amendments must then vote to adopt the proposed 
amendment(s) Articles of Amendment.  If all or a substantial number of

Domestic Corporations
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the articles are to be amended, Amended and Restated Articles of 
Incorporation may be filed which will supersede the original Articles 
of Incorporation.

An original of the Certificate of Amendment must be filed with the 
Arkansas Secretary of State with an officer’s signature and the following 
information, pursuant to Arkansas Code 4-27-101:

1. Name of corporation;
2. Statements certifying the following information:

a. Article(s) which was (were) amended, plus exact wording;
b. That at a special (or regular) meeting of the stockholders of said 
corporation, duly called and held at the office of the company (give 
city, state, and date), the amendment(s) to the Articles of
Incorporation was (were) offered and adopted; 
c. If an amendment provides for an exchange, reclassification, or 
cancellation of issued shares, provisions for implementing the 
amendment if not contained in the amendment itself;
d. If the amendment was adopted by the incorporators or board 
of directors without shareholder action, a statement to that effect 
and that shareholder action was not required;
e. An amendment approved by shareholders must list:

i. The designation, number of outstanding shares, number 
of votes entitled to be cast by each voting group entitled 
to vote separately on the amendment, and number of 
votes of each voting group indisputably represented at the 
meeting; and
ii. Either the total number of votes cast for and against 
the amendment by each voting group entitled to vote 
separately on the amendment or the total number of 
undisputed votes cast for the amendment by each voting 
group, plus a statement that the number cast for the 
amendment by each voting group was sufficient for 
approval by that voting group.

For filings pursuant to ACA 4-26-301 et. seq., please refer to the Arkansas Code 
or the template provided online by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office.

C. Change of Registered Agent Information
Every Arkansas domestic or foreign admitted corporation is required to 
register with the Arkansas Secretary of State its current principal office 
address in Arkansas and the name and address of the person designated as 
registered agent for service of process. If the corporation does not have an 
office or facility in Arkansas, the registered agent’s address can serve as the 
principal office address.  Changing the Registered Agent does not change 
the franchise tax credit information (which must be done separately).
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The location of the principal office, the designation of registered agent, 
or both, may be changed by filing with the Arkansas Secretary of State 
a certificate signed by the president or other officer and containing the 
following information:

• Name of corporation
• Entity type
• Previous name and street address of registered agent
• New name and street address of registered agent

(The address of its registered office and the address of the business office 
of its registered agent as changed will be identical.)

Some registered agents may choose to be filed as a commercial registered 
agent and comply with the Model Registered Agents Act (MoRAA) of
2007. A commercial registered agent can be either an individual or an 
entity and must list the following information with the Arkansas Secretary 
of State’s office:

• Name of individual or entity
• Jurisdiction
• Physical and mailing address for service of process along with an 
additional means of accepting service.

D. Domestic Limited Partnership
A limited partnership is a partnership formed by two or more persons, has 
as members one or more general partners and one or more limited partners.

Two or more persons desiring to form a limited partnership shall sign 
and swear to a certificate, which shall state:

• Name of the limited partnership; (Must contain the words limited 
partnership, L.P., or LP.)
• Physical and mailing address for designated office;
• Name and business address of each general partner;
• Any other matters the general partners determine to include therein.

E. Dissolution
A corporation may terminate its corporate existence by undergoing 
voluntary dissolution. The Board of Directors must first approve a 
resolution proposing dissolution. That resolution must then be adopted 
by a vote of the shareholders of the corporation. Upon adoption of the 
resolution by the shareholders, the Board of Directors may then proceed 
to dissolve the corporation by filing the Certificate of Dissolution signed 
by the president or other officer of the corporation and containing the 
following information:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. Date the dissolution was authorized;
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3. If dissolution was approved by shareholders:
a. The number of total possible votes on the proposal to dissolve;
b. Either the total number of votes cast for and against dissolution 
or the total number of undisputed votes cast for dissolution and 
a statement that the number cast for dissolution was sufficient 
for approval;

4. If the dissolution required approval by voting groups, the 
information in #3 above must be provided for each individual 
voting group entitled to participate.

F. Fictitious Name Registration
No corporation, foreign or domestic, shall conduct any business in 
Arkansas under a fictitious name unless it first files that name with 
the Arkansas Secretary of State. In case of a domestic corporation, 
a form supplied or approved by the Secretary of State must be 
filed with the county clerk of the county in which the corporation’s 
registered office is located (unless located in Pulaski County), giving 
the following information:

• Fictitious name under which the business is or will be conducted;
• Description of the character of the business;
• Corporate name of the applicant;
• The state of incorporation;
• Location of the registered office of the applicant corporation in
Arkansas;
• Statement that if applicant is a foreign corporation, it is admitted to 
and authorized to do business in Arkansas.

G. Name Reservation
1. The exclusive right to the use of a corporate name may be reserved 
by any person or corporation, foreign or domestic, by filing with 
the Arkansas Secretary of State a written application to reserve a 
specified corporate name. If the Secretary of State finds that the name 
is distinguishable upon its records from any other name reserved or 
registered or the name of any domestic corporation or any foreign 
corporation admitted to this State, it may be reserved for the exclusive 
use of the applicant for a period of 120 days.
2. The applicant may transfer the right to the exclusive use of a specific 
corporate name to another person or corporation by filing a Transfer 
of Reservation of Name form in the Office of the Secretary of State.
3. A name reservation filed under the corporate code section may not 
be renewed nor shall the same name be reserved on any subsequent 
application filed by, or for the benefit of, the original applicant or any 
person, firm or corporation identified with such applicant, or any 
transferee of the original applicant.
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4. A name reservation filed under the limited liability or limited 
partnership code section may by renewed one time by the original 
applicant by filing the appropriate form and fee.

H. Nonprofit Articles of Incorporation
Any association or persons choosing to be incorporated as a nonprofit 
organization shall file under the Arkansas Nonprofit Act by completing 
nonprofit Articles of Incorporation with the Secretary of State. Before the 
Articles are prepared, a corporate name should be selected and verified 
with the Business and Commercial Services Division. (See page 8 and 9 for 
a discussion of corporate names and reservation of names.) The Office of 
Secretary of State will review and approve the Articles and issue a Certificate 
of Incorporation, which marks the beginning of the corporate existence.

If filing for federal tax exempt status, of 501(c)(3) please refer to the 
special template provided by the Arkansas Secretary of State’s office.
The articles must include the following information:

1. Name of corporation;
2. Type of nonprofit corporation: Public-Benefit, Mutual-Benefit or
Religious Corporation;
3. List whether corporation will have members;
4. Statement of any provisions for the regulation of the internal affairs 
of corporation, said purpose, and any provisions for distribution of 
assets on dissolution or final liquidation; (If filing for federal tax exempt 
status, please check with the IRS for this statement at www.irs.gov.)
5. Physical address (P.O. Box not acceptable) of main office, principal 
place of business, and the name and address of the registered agent;
6. Name and address of each incorporator.
7. Reminder: Nonprofits are required to file an annual disclosure 
statement by August 1, every year.

I. Updating Annual Report / Franchise Tax Contact Information
It is imperative that all annual report and franchise tax filing entities 
maintain an up-to-date mailing address with the Arkansas Secretary of 
State.  The form can be download or electronically filed by visiting the 
BCS Website link https://www.ark.org/sos/ofs/docs/index.php and 
choosing the form, Application for Tax Contact Address Change. Tax 
Contact information can also be updated yearly when filing the entities 
annual report or franchise taxes. Franchise tax continues to accrue against 
all businesses each year until formally dissolved with the Arkansas 
Secretary of State.  Failure to pay franchise taxes will preclude business 
from any other filing, until paid.
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A. Certificate of Authority
Any foreign corporation proposing to do intrastate business in Arkansas, 
or permitted to continue to do intrastate business, shall file with the 
Arkansas Secretary of State the following information, signed by an 
officer of the entity:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. State, territory or foreign country under whose laws the corporation 
was incorporated along with incorporation date and duration;
3. Purpose of entity;
4. Address of the general office or principal place of business in the 
state of origin;
5. Name and physical address (P.O. Box is not acceptable) of the 
resident agent upon whom service of process is authorized in
Arkansas;
6. Address of the general office or principal place of business in the 
jurisdiction under whose laws the corporation was incorporated;
7. Number and par value, if any, of shares of the corporation’s capital 
stock owned or to be owned by residents of this state;
8. Certificate of Good Standing dated within a 30-day time frame from 
the state of origin.

B. Change of Registered Agent Information
See Section 7, Item C, pages 15-16.

C. Foreign Limited Partnership
Before transacting business in Arkansas, a foreign limited partnership 
shall register with the Arkansas Secretary of State. In order to register, a 
foreign limited partnership shall file with the Secretary of State a copy of 
its Certificate of Limited Partnership and all amendments thereto, duly 
authenticated and certified by the proper authority.

A foreign limited partnership must submit to the Arkansas Secretary 
of State an application for registration as a foreign limited partnership, 
signed and sworn to by a general partner and setting forth:

1. Name of the limited partnership;
2. State in which it was organized;
3. Date of formation;
4. General character of business;
5. Name and physical address of the agent for service of process 
in Arkansas;

Foreign Corporations
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6. Address of principal office in the state of organization;
7. Name and address of each general partner;
8. Copy of the Certificate of Limited Partnership (or equivalent 
document) and all amendments thereto. (Must be certified by the 
Secretary of State of the state of origin, dated within 60 days.)

D. Certificate of Withdrawal
When a foreign corporation wishes to discontinue doing business in 
the state, an officer must execute a Certificate of Withdrawal with the 
Business and Commercial Services Division.

The Certificate of Withdrawal shall set forth the following information:
1. Name of the foreign corporation;
2. State of origin;
3. Contact name and mailing address for the withdrawing corporation.
4. Reminder:  Franchise taxes must be current.

E. Registration of Fictitious Name
See Section 7, Item F, page 17

F. Reservation of Corporate Name
See Section 7, Item G, pages 17-18

G. Registration of Corporate Name
Any foreign corporation not authorized to transact business in Arkansas 
may register its corporate name, provided its name is distinguishable 
upon the records of the Secretary of State from the name of any domestic 
corporation existing under the laws of this state, or the name of any 
foreign corporation authorized to transact business in this state, or any 
corporate name reserved or registered by another corporation.

Registration of a corporate name shall be made by executing the 
application for registration. Such registration will contain the following:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. Jurisdiction under whose laws the corporation was incorporated;
3. Date of incorporation;
4. Description of business in which entity is engaged;
5. Certificate of Good Standing under the laws of the state or territory 
in which the corporation is originally incorporated; (Must be dated 
within a 30-day time frame.)
6. Name registrations are renewable yearly between October 1 and
December 31 by filing a renewal fee and form. (If a registration lapses, 
the corporation must complete name registration forms and obtain 
another registration for the initial fee instead of the renewal fee.)
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H. Foreign Nonprofit Corporation
Prior to conducting business in Arkansas, a foreign nonprofit corporation 
shall first procure a Certificate of Authority from the Secretary of State.
Application for such certificate of authority shall contain the following:

1. Name of the corporation;
2. State, territory, or foreign country under whose laws the corporation 
was incorporated;
3. Date of incorporation;
4. Period of duration;
5. Address of its principal office or place of business in the location of 
original incorporation;
6. Name and address of its proposed registered agent for service of 
process in Arkansas;
7. Names and business address of the corporation’s current directors 
and officers;
8. List of corporation members if applicable;
9. Which entity type the nonprofit would be classified as if filed as an
Arkansas domestic:

a. Public-Benefit Corporation
b. Mutual-Benefit Corporation
c. Religious Corporation

10. Reminder: Nonprofits are required to file an annual disclosure 
statement by August 1 each year.

I. Updating Annual Report / Franchise Tax Contact Information
It is imperative that all annual report and franchise tax filing entities 
maintain an up-to-date mailing address with the Arkansas Secretary 
of State.  The form can be download or electronically filed by visiting 
the BCS Website link https://www.ark.org/sos/ofs/docs/index.php 
and choosing the form, Application for Tax Contact Address Change.  
Tax Contact information can also be updated yearly when filing the 
entities annual report or franchise taxes.  Franchise tax continues to 
accrue against all businesses each year until formally dissolved with the 
Arkansas Secretary of State.  Failure to pay franchise taxes will preclude 
business from any other filing until paid. 
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Filing Trademarks and Service Marks
Individuals and entities, both foreign and domestic, may choose to 
register their trademarks or service marks with the state of Arkansas. 
A state trademark is recognized as a symbol of the business and its 
product, and is denoted by “TM” as a superscript or subscript beside 
the mark. Only a trademark registered with the federal government may 
use the ® mark.

A state service mark, denoted by “SM,” symbolizes the services an 
entity offers. For example, the Nike logo appears on products and is 
a trademark, while a bank provides a service and its logo is a service 
mark. A mark must be in use before being registered with the Arkansas 
Secretary of State. A foreign entity may choose to register its trademark 
or service mark in the state of Arkansas even if that entity is not 
registered to conduct business in Arkansas.

To register a trademark or service mark with the Arkansas Secretary of 
State, the applicant must send a completed form and appropriate fee.  
Applications are available online at www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/.  
The application form must reflect the date the mark was first used 
anywhere, and the date it was first used in Arkansas. The application 
packet must also include three specimens of the mark in use. These 
may include business cards and stationery, literature, apparel, etc. 
Photographs are not acceptable unless they depict the mark used in 
signage. The “TM” and “SM” marks are not required to be printed on the 
specimens.

Renewing and Transferring Trade or Service Marks
A trademark or service mark is registered for five years. It may be 
renewed by repeating the application process.

A trademark or service mark may be transferred to another entity upon 
submission to the Arkansas Secretary of State of the appropriate fees and 
notarized Assignment of Registration form, signed by a representative 
of the original mark holder (“assignor”) and a representative of the 
prospective mark holder (“assignee”).

Trademarks and Service Marks
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Commercial Registered Agent: an 
individual or a domestic or foreign 
entity listed under Arkansas Code
4-20-106 to receive service 
of process for a corporation. 
All corporations must have a 
commercial registered agent or a 
non-commercial registered agent 
on file 

Corporation: any company (Inc., 
Co., Incorporation, etc.) filed with 
the state of Arkansas

Dissolution: document filed by 
in-state (domestic) companies 
that have ceased doing business 
in Arkansas. Entities not formally 
dissolved continue to accrue 
franchise tax

Domestic: an entity originally 
established to conduct its business 
in the state of Arkansas

Entity: refers to any and all 
businesses filed with Arkansas, 
regardless of type

Foreign: an entity originally 
established in a state other than 
Arkansas, or in another country

Governor: a person by or under 
whose authority the powers of 
an entity are exercised and under 

whose direction the business and 
affairs of the entity are managed 
pursuant to the organic law and 
organic rules of the entity

Nonprofit: a corporation that 
exists for religious, mutual or 
public benefit. Funds derived from 
its operation cannot be distributed 
to members as profits. Its tax status 
is determined by the Internal 
Revenue Service

For Profit: a corporation that exists 
to make a profit for its owners or 
shareholders. The tax status of the 
corporation is determined by the
Internal Revenue Service

Registered agent: receives service 
of process for a corporation; all 
corporations are required to have 
a registered agent or a commercial 
registered agent on file

Withdrawal: document filed by 
out-of-state (foreign) companies 
that have ceased doing business in
Arkansas. Entities not formally 
withdrawn continue to accrue 
franchise tax

Glossary of Terms
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Contact Information

ii

You may find the contact information below helpful in obtaining additional 
information about small businesses, tax code, trademarks and other 
business questions.

Alcoholic Beverage Control
E-mail: abcadmin@dfa.state.ar.us
501-682-1105
Fax: 501-682-2221

Arkansas Attorney General
www.ag.arkansas.gov
323 Center Street, Suite 200
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
501-682-2007
1-800-482-8982

Arkansas Economic 
Development Commission
www.arkansasedc.com
501-682-1121
Fax: 501-682-7394

Arkansas Department of
Workforce Services
www.state.ar.us/esd/

Arkansas Home Inspector
Registration Board
http://www.ahib.org
501-683-3710
Fax: 501-244-2333

Arkansas Insurance Department
www.insurance.arkansas.gov
501-371-2600
Fax: 501-371-2618

Arkansas Manufactured 
Home Commission
501-324-9032
Fax: 501-683-3538

Arkansas Oil and Gas Commission
www.aogc.state.ar.us
North division: 479-646-6611
Fax: 479-649-7656
South division: 870-862-4965
Fax: 870-862-8823
Little Rock: 501-683-5814
Fax: 501-683-5818

Arkansas Securities Department
www.securities.arkansas.gov
501-324-9260
Fax: 501-324-9268
Arkansas State Board of

Arkansas Small Business and
Technology Development Center
www.asbtdc.org
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
College of Business Suite 260
2801 S. University
Little Rock, AR 72204
501-683-7700 or 1-800-862-2040
Fax: 501-683-7720

Arkansas State Bank Department
www.accessarkansas.org/bank
501-324-9019
Fax: 501-324-9028

Arkansas State Board of 
Public Accountancy
501-682-1520
Fax: 501-682-5538
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Contractors Licensing Board
www.arkansas.gov/clb
501-372-4661
Fax: 501-372-2247

Department of Finance 
and Administration
http://www.arkansas.gov/dfa

Professional Engineers and 
Land Surveyors
www.arkansas.gov/pels
501-682-2824
Fax: 501-682-2827

Small Business Administration
Arkansas District Office
www.sba.gov/ar
2120 Riverfront Drive, Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72202-1796
501-324-7379
Fax: 501-324-7394

United States Patent Office
www.uspto.gov/main/ 
trademarks. htm
Call the Trademark Assistance
Center at 1-800-786-9199 for help
on trademark matters.

(For general information regarding other taxes that may apply to 
your corporation, you may wish to contact the Department of Finance 
and Administration, Revenue Division at 501-682-4775, or online at 
www.arkansas.gov/dfa.)

Notice
The information contained in this guide is for informational purposes 
only and should not be used as legal advice. If you require legal advice, 
please contact a private attorney or CPA. You may find information on the
Arkansas Secretary of State’s website, www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/. You 
may address questions through the Business and Commercial Services 
Division at 501-682-3409 or 1-888-233-0325.

Fayetteville
35 E. Mountain
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
479-442-3948

Fort Smith
4905 Old Greenwood Rd.
Fort Smith, AR 72903
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
479-649-8602

Jonesboro
615 S. Main St.
Jonesboro, AR 72401
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
(Closed for lunch 11:30 a.m.- 
12:30 p.m.)
870-802-0219

Little Rock
700 W. Capitol
Little Rock, AR 72201
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
501-324-5111

Internal Revenue Service
www.irs.gov
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1401 W. Capitol
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1094
501-682-3409; 888-233-0325
www.sos.arkansas.gov/BCS/
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